Escape from the Lizzarks (Nnewts, #1)
The first book in the Nnewts series follows the story of Herk, a lovable Nnewt who longs for stronger legs, something his mother and father wish they could give him. When his quaint village is attacked by the reptile Lizzarks, he's forced to flee his home and leave behind the only life he's ever known. Now, all alone and on the run, Herk navigates a dangerous world filled with strange creatures and mysterious wonders, where friends are few and an evil lord is in hot pursuit.

Escape from the Lizzarks (Nnewts, #1) Details

TitleEscape from the Lizzarks (Nnewts, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 6th, 2015
PublisherGRAPHIX
ISBN0545676460
ISBN-139780545676465
Number of pages185 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Childrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Comics, Juvenile, Fiction, Adventure, Graphic Novels Comics, Science Fiction

Escape from the Lizzarks (Nnewts, #1) Review

  • Melissa Chung
    August 27, 2016
    This was an okay read. 3.5 stars. Love the illustrations. I'm just a bit confused about the story.This graphic novel is about a division of a Kingdom. Once a great king had a great kingdom, but his subjects grew greedy and selfish. There was civil unrest and the kingdom broke apart. One side going up river and the other headed south. The northern territory called Nnewtown used Engery bugs to power the homes and still believed in magic. The south used Plasma Chili's to power theirs. The southern This was an okay read. 3.5 stars. Love the illustrations. I'm just a bit confused about the story.This graphic novel is about a division of a Kingdom. Once a great king had a great kingdom, but his subjects grew greedy and selfish. There was civil unrest and the kingdom broke apart. One side going up river and the other headed south. The northern territory called Nnewtown used Engery bugs to power the homes and still believed in magic. The south used Plasma Chili's to power theirs. The southern town no longer believed in magic and were still at war. This time instead of each other they fought Rrats.The northerners were attacked one day by Llizzarks a magical lizard breed that were once thought to be myth. Herk the main character is trying to find his way in life without his parents and family. At one point there is a bit of poetry that talks about the afterlife. It was a little religious in nature. Orion being their god of choice. I'm not sure what kind of moral this story has. The other graphic novels by Doug TenNapel I was able to say that it was similar to a Disney movie like Finding Nemo and Pinocchio. This was a little harder. Maybe I need to see what the sequel is like to find out.
    more
  • Marlana
    July 2, 2015
    I struggled with the rating of this book.The artwork was marvelous and there did seem to be an interesting story trying to take place, but everything happened at breakneck speed and there didn't seem to be any type of pacing or flow going on throughout this book.I didn't find it confusing, but I can understand how children might.I also am not sure who the target audience is for Nnewts. There was far, far more graphic violence in this graphic novel than in any other children's or YA graphic novel I struggled with the rating of this book.The artwork was marvelous and there did seem to be an interesting story trying to take place, but everything happened at breakneck speed and there didn't seem to be any type of pacing or flow going on throughout this book.I didn't find it confusing, but I can understand how children might.I also am not sure who the target audience is for Nnewts. There was far, far more graphic violence in this graphic novel than in any other children's or YA graphic novel that I can call to mind. I would not feel comfortable recommending this to anyone under fourteen or fifteen at least and even I as an adult found some of the scenes a tad disturbing.Nnewts also ends in a cliffhanger which I personally detest.I could not see myself continuing to read if this becomes a series.
    more
  • Elaine
    January 11, 2015
    A sweet little Nnewt village is attacked by violent evil Lizzarks, but our unlikely hero, Herk, gets away to fight another day even though he lacks his newt legs and must crawl like a tadpole. Herk discovers an unknown Nnewt village (and here it takes on a Boneville turn) and is embraced by a new community. TenNapel’s Cardboard and Ghostopolis are more engaging stories. Here there’s nothing unique except an odd journey to the heavens when Herk’s parents die and Orion (Nnewt god) intervenes when A sweet little Nnewt village is attacked by violent evil Lizzarks, but our unlikely hero, Herk, gets away to fight another day even though he lacks his newt legs and must crawl like a tadpole. Herk discovers an unknown Nnewt village (and here it takes on a Boneville turn) and is embraced by a new community. TenNapel’s Cardboard and Ghostopolis are more engaging stories. Here there’s nothing unique except an odd journey to the heavens when Herk’s parents die and Orion (Nnewt god) intervenes when Herk has his closest call with death. PG cartoon violence will attract certain readers, but this amphibian vs. reptile tale is ultimately stale.
    more
  • Abby Johnson
    March 29, 2015
    Oh, Doug TenNapel, you are so weird but in the best way. This graphic novel, like TenNapel's other works, reads very cinematically; I could imagine I was watching a TV show as the action unfolded in front of me. This is an imaginative start to a new series.
    more
  • Scott Asher
    December 17, 2014
    The Nnewt city is beset by evil Lizzarks in an unprovoked attack that devastates the people and leaves young Herk alone and on the run. The problem is that Herk is handicapped by under developed legs. As he struggles to survive he also searches for a way to restore his legs and find his destiny.At times the story seems disconnected and problems are solved too conveniently and quickly. For instance, Herk has a disability but instead of overcoming it he [SPOILERS] fights the god of the Lizzarks wh The Nnewt city is beset by evil Lizzarks in an unprovoked attack that devastates the people and leaves young Herk alone and on the run. The problem is that Herk is handicapped by under developed legs. As he struggles to survive he also searches for a way to restore his legs and find his destiny.At times the story seems disconnected and problems are solved too conveniently and quickly. For instance, Herk has a disability but instead of overcoming it he [SPOILERS] fights the god of the Lizzarks who stole them from him as a child. It's over with a single blow off a rock to the head. How did he get there? At a temple in the ruins of the Nnewt city, where he finds himself after his family is murdered, and guided by an old king who appears and disappears just as quickly. Then he's at a huge city of Nnewts ams is saved by an arrow from a constellation. [END SPOILERS] I know there is a lot left untold at this point as this is only book one but I felt things really moved quickly with very little back story. Hopefully future books clear some of this up.This is a book written with 8-12 year old kids in mind and I think that's the right age group for reading skill and interest. It may be rough on some to see the content depictions of Herk's parent and siblings killed. As my 8 year old said, [SPOILERS] "The book is interesting but a lot of people die." (See pictures to the left for the death of the mother.) [END SPOILERS]The art is great - something you'd expect since the author created Earthworm Jim - and the story, while abrupt is fun and complex. I recommend it to older - 3rd grade and up - readers.This book was provided by the publisher for review via Amazon Vine.
    more
  • Melissa
    October 17, 2014
    I received an ARC for my local library and read this to present a review.Nnwets: Escape from the Lizzarks follows the first in a series of adventures featuring Herk, a nnewt with little legs but a lot of courage. When his town is attacked by lizzarks, he flees, beginning a journey he never knew he was destined for.The premise, world, and characters of Nnwets all seem to spring into existence from nothing. While these are all good building blocks for a story full of encouragement and inspiration I received an ARC for my local library and read this to present a review.Nnwets: Escape from the Lizzarks follows the first in a series of adventures featuring Herk, a nnewt with little legs but a lot of courage. When his town is attacked by lizzarks, he flees, beginning a journey he never knew he was destined for.The premise, world, and characters of Nnwets all seem to spring into existence from nothing. While these are all good building blocks for a story full of encouragement and inspiration for young minds looking for adventure in their lives, the story moves too quickly to allow readers to fully grasp the emotions needed to carry them through the book with the determination of Herk finding his true purpose. With nods to Greek mythology, the book is more engaging for those who dissect the subtext of these references and adds another layer to the tragedies and triumphs of the characters.Overall, while I am a fan of TenNapel's other works, this one misses the mark with a rushed feeling of incomplete thoughts. I would be interested to see how this story develops and would hope that with the addition of more background to the story and the mythology we can see a bigger picture form.
    more
  • Rebecca
    September 2, 2015
    In the Nnewt village, magician's son Herk is sick of being stuck in the spawning pool with the eggs, as his legs are still too weak to allow him to walk around with the older newts. When his village is sacked by the evil Lizzarks, Herk is the only one to escape alive (or is he?). Fleeing by water and other means, always pursued, he has a string of adventures that lead him to some truths he never suspected--and both danger and kindness. But the story is far from over...I usually love TenNapel's b In the Nnewt village, magician's son Herk is sick of being stuck in the spawning pool with the eggs, as his legs are still too weak to allow him to walk around with the older newts. When his village is sacked by the evil Lizzarks, Herk is the only one to escape alive (or is he?). Fleeing by water and other means, always pursued, he has a string of adventures that lead him to some truths he never suspected--and both danger and kindness. But the story is far from over...I usually love TenNapel's books, and the graphics in this and the creativity of the Nnewt world is right on target with his earlier works. It's beautiful to look at, and the details are intriguing and fantastical. I did have some issues with this one, though. The writing felt a bit rough, and there's a whole sort of going-to-heaven sequence in the middle that seems very out of place in terms of plot, pacing, and the overall feel of an adventure story. I'm not sure why it was there, to be honest, and think it could easily have been left out or shortened to a couple of frames. I think kids will mostly like this, though, especially if they're fans of his other books.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    November 3, 2015
    Doug TenNapel is one of my favourite graphic novelists. I don't think I could not like anything he did :-) This is a cute fantasy for kids, not his very best work however still good for middle schoolers and elementary. Though the death of the main character's family may be too much for sensitive younger children. Very cute main characters, the nnewts, and scary-looking bad guys but also kind of creepy-cute. Basically an underdog story, where the protagonist has withered legs and cannot walk. It' Doug TenNapel is one of my favourite graphic novelists. I don't think I could not like anything he did :-) This is a cute fantasy for kids, not his very best work however still good for middle schoolers and elementary. Though the death of the main character's family may be too much for sensitive younger children. Very cute main characters, the nnewts, and scary-looking bad guys but also kind of creepy-cute. Basically an underdog story, where the protagonist has withered legs and cannot walk. It's amphibians vs lizards and a classic good vs evil story. At this point, volume one is an entertaining story without any earth-shattering moments, but the book ends with several plotlines dangling and the promise of something more to come. Knowing TenNapel's other work, I'm interested to see where he goes with the story.
    more
  • Cheryl
    December 18, 2014
    This is a fun, quick, entertaining book. I love the graphics and the story. Herk is the perfect hero. I was cheering for him the whole time. The author did a good job of not getting too wordy with the story. What I mean by this is that he did not use a lot of big words or too much description, which for the age range he was going for the attention span of these younger readers is still short so less is more in this case. Plus the author knows how to write for this age group as the Lizzarks are s This is a fun, quick, entertaining book. I love the graphics and the story. Herk is the perfect hero. I was cheering for him the whole time. The author did a good job of not getting too wordy with the story. What I mean by this is that he did not use a lot of big words or too much description, which for the age range he was going for the attention span of these younger readers is still short so less is more in this case. Plus the author knows how to write for this age group as the Lizzarks are scary and mean but not too scary to give children nightmares. Again Herk is cool. I can't want to continue this journey with him and see what happens next.
    more
  • Earl
    July 5, 2015
    I wanted to like this since I'm in search of a new fantasy graphic novel series but Nnewts just didn't do anything for me. Everything seemed done before and was predictable. I did like the illustrations.
  • Ann
    June 8, 2015
    Many of my students enjoyed this graphic novel this year. Fans of Cardboard will like this one.
  • Jason
    April 20, 2016
    There's a lot of great stuff going on here, but it's almost too much. the pace is almost frantic and it's tough to keep up with everything that's going on. But it's good enough to keep reading!
  • Dorcas
    July 16, 2015
    Fun middle grade read. Every time I thought it might be a little young the story veered into some thoughtful passages, deeper emotions, and/or dismemberment.
  • Colona Public Library
    February 26, 2017
    I loved the artwork in this especially the colors. The story I feel there is something there but I was absolutely bored. The story pace seemed forced and the story we get is mostly told through exposition. ~Ashley
  • Tony Last
    October 5, 2016
    it is a realy great book but i want to read it again
  • Hazel Headland
    September 30, 2016
    I put this book up due to its colourful cover and it didn't fail to disappoint . It was beautiful colour from page one. It picture were very descriptive and my son also enjoyed reading it. Something about the book was how it mirrored real life and disability. Not matter how hard it is if you try you can achieve hero status. I have gone on to read the rest of the books now and loving them.
    more
  • Luis Diaz
    February 21, 2017
    This is more of a 2.5 book to me. There are good moments, but in general the story is a little clumsy. I think it needed to be worked on 3x longer to get where it would feel closer to the other stories he's written. I think he was trying to make this book and Epic and so far it's not a really good start. The characters are okay and the drama is interesting, but there is something lacking. I think magic comes when you really take the time on something and TenNapel seems to be trying to crank all This is more of a 2.5 book to me. There are good moments, but in general the story is a little clumsy. I think it needed to be worked on 3x longer to get where it would feel closer to the other stories he's written. I think he was trying to make this book and Epic and so far it's not a really good start. The characters are okay and the drama is interesting, but there is something lacking. I think magic comes when you really take the time on something and TenNapel seems to be trying to crank all these out. He's put a little too much of his religious mumbo jumbo in this one and I think that is probably why this isn't working for me. I don't think it's needed. You don't have to explain a lot. I think sometimes just leave it up to the reader. The bad guys so far don't seem to have a real motivation for their destruction. Perhaps it will be defined in Book 2. I like the art, but there are parts in the action sequences you get lost. Again somethings are as worked out. The coloring is also a little off on this one. Some color choices in some panels are too dark and does nothing to bring out the clarification of some scenes.
    more
  • Karissa
    November 24, 2014
    I got a copy of this book to review through the Amazon Vine program. I have read nearly all of TenNapel’s graphic novels and really enjoy them. I was very excited to see that TenNapel had a new graphic novel out. This graphic novel is the first in TenNapel’s new Nnewts series.This is the story of Herk, Herk would love to have stronger legs so that he can leave the tadpole pond and venture out with the other hunters. However, when the evil Lizzarks attack his village Herk is forced to leave his p I got a copy of this book to review through the Amazon Vine program. I have read nearly all of TenNapel’s graphic novels and really enjoy them. I was very excited to see that TenNapel had a new graphic novel out. This graphic novel is the first in TenNapel’s new Nnewts series.This is the story of Herk, Herk would love to have stronger legs so that he can leave the tadpole pond and venture out with the other hunters. However, when the evil Lizzarks attack his village Herk is forced to leave his parents behind and ends up being the only Nnewt to escape. Herk makes an unbelievable journey to a far away land with an evil lord in hot pursuit.I got an ARC for review and the first few pages of it were in beautiful full color. However the rest of it was not (this was kind of disappointing since I love TenNapel’s coloring). I think final copy will be amazing once it is all in full color. For those who are familiar with TenNapel’s illustration style, this is more of the same. The illustration has beautiful color, wonderful detail, and is easy to follow.The story is well done as too. It’s kind of your typical “underdog finds a way to do something exceptional” type of story. Herk is obviously suffering from a disability of sorts with his weak legs. However he still manages to escape the Lizzarks and do amazing things. This is just the start of Herks amazing adventures and I very curious to see where the story goes. There is a lot of adventure and some magic in here and all in all it was an entertaining story. My only small complaint was that I didn’t find Herk to be that engaging as a character, but I am guessing that will change as we get to know Herk in future books.Overall this was a very fun and well done fantasy adventure graphic novel. It’s beautifully done, has an engaging story, and is appropriate for all ages. Recommended to those who love fantasy graphic novels. While this isn’t my favorite graphic novel by TenNapel (I like Ghostopolis and Cardboard better), it is really well done.
    more
  • Claudia Tapia
    January 21, 2017
    TenNapel, Doug. Escape from the Lizzarks. New York: Graphix, 2015. Print.Genre: Graphic Novel/ Fantasy Summary and Analysis: The 185 page graphic novel "Escape from the Lizzarks" follows the story of a young Nnewt named Herk. This first During his journey to develop stronger legs, his village is attacked by reptile Lizzarks. Now with no village to call home he encounters strange creatures, makes new friends, and battles an evil lord for an item that originally belonged to Herk. I personal enjoye TenNapel, Doug. Escape from the Lizzarks. New York: Graphix, 2015. Print.Genre: Graphic Novel/ Fantasy Summary and Analysis: The 185 page graphic novel "Escape from the Lizzarks" follows the story of a young Nnewt named Herk. This first During his journey to develop stronger legs, his village is attacked by reptile Lizzarks. Now with no village to call home he encounters strange creatures, makes new friends, and battles an evil lord for an item that originally belonged to Herk. I personal enjoyed the illustrations of this book, but I would have to say that the story was a bit all over the place. The story itself was portrayed very cinematically, as though I could see it unfolding on a movie screen. I rated this book 3/ 3.75 stars out of five because although it is a nice story for myself, I feel as though there is to much death for the age range of 8-12 year olds. It also discusses some very deep material, and maybe just discusses way to many ideas in one book of TenNapel's series. This story a cute fantasy for younger kids, my only complaint is how rushed the entire story feels rushed. Overall, I feel as though it contains a magical adventure that will keep middle/ elementary school kids entertained. Teaching Ideas:This book would be best for students in sixth or seventh grade. It would fit well in a unit of "Overcoming a Hardship" and maybe even "Intro Graphic Novels." It is a good way to teach students about how to read a graphic novel, and to explain how to use the gutters on the pages. I think this book would be appealing to read individually, but we will still have in class fish bowls to discuss sections of Herk's journey. Fish bowls are a good technique to use because it allows each student to participate. I will also offer extra credit to my students by allowing them to continue Herk's journey by either writing a sequel or illustrating what might happen next.
    more
  • Becky B
    September 29, 2014
    Herk is a little Nnewt fry with even littler legs, but that doesn't stop him from going on a big adventure after his town is attacked by Lizzarks. Herk starts off his epic journey by following the wishes of his mother, escaping from town, meeting an ancient Nnewt who helps him find his legs, and eventually finding a new Nnewt town. But he's still being tracked and the Wizzark has his eyes on Herk.Found this in a bookstore yesterday and snatched it up since I hadn't seen it available in Thailand Herk is a little Nnewt fry with even littler legs, but that doesn't stop him from going on a big adventure after his town is attacked by Lizzarks. Herk starts off his epic journey by following the wishes of his mother, escaping from town, meeting an ancient Nnewt who helps him find his legs, and eventually finding a new Nnewt town. But he's still being tracked and the Wizzark has his eyes on Herk.Found this in a bookstore yesterday and snatched it up since I hadn't seen it available in Thailand before. And now I'll be anxiously awaiting the next Nnewts book, as I'm sure will all the students who will fall in love with Herk in August once they return to school. I tried to look around and see if I could find anything TenNapel said about the inspiration for Nnewts. It has a very Shakespearian/Ancient Greek epic journey feel to it in the patterns of speech of some characters. Not that they speak too old style for modern readers, it's just the patterns and roles of the characters that made me think Shakespeare and then Herk's journey has a bit of a mythological quest feel to it. I'm sure an English teacher would have loads of fun dissecting this one. I like the different scale/non-scale world conflict TenNapel has going on, and of course the artwork is fantastic and eye-catching. Notes on content: No language issues. No sexual content. There are a few deaths on page, one shows scratches in a character but not blood, and another shows a spear through a character, but again, no blood. Some of those who die in the battle with the Lizzarks are depicted as spirits for a little while as the life after death mythology of the Nnewt world is laid out a little, but it is not spooky and the dead don't display injuries.
    more
  • Barbara
    March 17, 2015
    It's always challenging to review the first book in a planned series since there must be dangling ends in order for there to even merit a continuation of the story. In the case of this graphic novel series, the importance of Orion who saves the protagonist, Herk, just at the right moment, is clear but not why he intercedes. Nor is Herk's parentage certain. I'm assuming these issues will be explored further in the next installment, and I can raise my rating. On its own, though, the book is creati It's always challenging to review the first book in a planned series since there must be dangling ends in order for there to even merit a continuation of the story. In the case of this graphic novel series, the importance of Orion who saves the protagonist, Herk, just at the right moment, is clear but not why he intercedes. Nor is Herk's parentage certain. I'm assuming these issues will be explored further in the next installment, and I can raise my rating. On its own, though, the book is creative as it explores identity, friendship, and Herk's disability. A Nnewt with very weak legs, Herk longs for the day when his legs will be strong enough to support him on land. But when the Lizzarks attack his village while his magician father is out hunting, Herk flees and looks for sanctuary. Readers will enjoy all the twists and turns in the story and root for Herk to survive as the enemies are determined to destroy him. Sadly, one of his father's friends is turned by the enemies, and he is just as determined to kill Herk as everyone else. There are many scenes of violence, including Herk's mother's dispatching of her would-be killer with her own knife. The scenes in which those who have died are reunited in some sort of celestial fashion are touching and make me curious to know more about his world being painted in the book.
    more
  • Marisa
    February 24, 2015
    This was a book that is fairly good, but moved so quickly that I felt you had to take quite a few leaps of faith to follow what was going on. It would have been nice to have additional background on the characters and the culture of the Nnewts. Of course, some of these gaps may be filled in by future books.My other main complaint would be that there is a lot of violence for such a short book. In the vein of so many Disney movies (SPOILER), both parents and eggs die in the beginning. I could cert This was a book that is fairly good, but moved so quickly that I felt you had to take quite a few leaps of faith to follow what was going on. It would have been nice to have additional background on the characters and the culture of the Nnewts. Of course, some of these gaps may be filled in by future books.My other main complaint would be that there is a lot of violence for such a short book. In the vein of so many Disney movies (SPOILER), both parents and eggs die in the beginning. I could certainly see this being a bit much for younger readers. Those two main concerns aside, this was a pretty good book with the potential for more as the story expands!Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange of an honest review courtesy of the publisher.Warning: Contains violenceWho should read it? Older middle grade children.See all my reviews and more at www.ReadingToDistraction.com or @Read2Distract
    more
  • Sean
    October 7, 2015
    I am a huge Doug TenNapel fan. I have read many of his graphic novels and I personally recommend Cardboard as an example of quality story telling via graphic novel. This book was a lot of fun. I love the art. TenNapel has a way of keeping his art goofy and yet emotionally powerful at the same time. The story was also quite enjoyable. It is obvious that this is a big setup for something epic. It does go a bit fast at times but I also found myself slowing down at certain points due to the emotiona I am a huge Doug TenNapel fan. I have read many of his graphic novels and I personally recommend Cardboard as an example of quality story telling via graphic novel. This book was a lot of fun. I love the art. TenNapel has a way of keeping his art goofy and yet emotionally powerful at the same time. The story was also quite enjoyable. It is obvious that this is a big setup for something epic. It does go a bit fast at times but I also found myself slowing down at certain points due to the emotional weight of panels. There are many moments in this book where I can picture my students going "ooooooooh". So excited to see where this series will take readers. This book is funny, action packed, and mysterious. It will leave the reader wanting more with each turn of the page. Great for 3rd through 5th graders.
    more
  • Eddy Contreras
    November 30, 2016
    Nnewts is a graphic novel that takes place in a town called "Nnewt Town". The graphic novel has a lot of action in it. Once you make half way through the book you could connect to the characters. The main character Herk was born with withered and weak legs. He TRIED to believe that he would get normal legs one day. His father is a magician who spends time in his "lab" than with his family. One night Herk's father went "hunting" with his friends. While they were out "hunting" the legend of Lizark Nnewts is a graphic novel that takes place in a town called "Nnewt Town". The graphic novel has a lot of action in it. Once you make half way through the book you could connect to the characters. The main character Herk was born with withered and weak legs. He TRIED to believe that he would get normal legs one day. His father is a magician who spends time in his "lab" than with his family. One night Herk's father went "hunting" with his friends. While they were out "hunting" the legend of Lizarks attacked Nnewt Town. They invaded Nnewt Town and Herk had to escape Nnewt Town so he found a carriage and he jumped in and found himself all alone trying to find his family and he is trying to get his normal legs. If you want to know more you have to read the book yourself. I would recommend this book.
    more
  • Carrie
    May 1, 2015
    The art was compelling, especially the Kindle version (read on my iPad). Some of the species seemed similar, but that might be due to the overall theme of what makes species different isn't always as detrimental as one might think. The story started out okay, but then seemed rushed/forced halfway through, as if the author was only concerned with setting up multiple storylines for future publications. The dialogue did too much of the storytelling, where the characters were filling in gaps that ex The art was compelling, especially the Kindle version (read on my iPad). Some of the species seemed similar, but that might be due to the overall theme of what makes species different isn't always as detrimental as one might think. The story started out okay, but then seemed rushed/forced halfway through, as if the author was only concerned with setting up multiple storylines for future publications. The dialogue did too much of the storytelling, where the characters were filling in gaps that expository text would generally do; it was awkward to see characters always talking to themselves or explaining things to other characters that were in the same scene. I purchased the book for an 8-year old boy, but found that the opening scenes were a bit too traumatic for his age-range. I was going to hold on to the book for when he was older, but the story isn't compelling enough.
    more
  • Kerry (The Roaming Librarian)
    March 18, 2015
    So this one was a little off for me. I liked it, and I think the illustrations are beautiful (fans of the Amulet series will be pleased by the style) but I'm not so convinced about the story. I found it a little disjointed and confusing. Not bad, but the characters felt a little young while the situation they were in seemed a little too old. Plus, I felt like several things kind of came out of left field, and there wasn't enough explanation of how or why something was happening. I know that migh So this one was a little off for me. I liked it, and I think the illustrations are beautiful (fans of the Amulet series will be pleased by the style) but I'm not so convinced about the story. I found it a little disjointed and confusing. Not bad, but the characters felt a little young while the situation they were in seemed a little too old. Plus, I felt like several things kind of came out of left field, and there wasn't enough explanation of how or why something was happening. I know that might sound weird for a graphic novel, but I've seen it done better in other books. That said, kids might not have as much of a problem with this as I did. It may just be a taste thing...
    more
  • Nancy Kotkin
    January 1, 2017
    Story: 3 starsArt: 4 starsGraphic novel series opener in the fantasy adventure genre for middle grade. Lots of action right from the beginning, but not quite enough character development. The pace is so fast and the characters introduced so briefly that it is difficult to follow the story line at times. This is compounded by the fact that this story isn't as well-constructed as Doug TenNapel's other books. For example, there is a long-lost brother who is never mentioned until page 165. But the a Story: 3 starsArt: 4 starsGraphic novel series opener in the fantasy adventure genre for middle grade. Lots of action right from the beginning, but not quite enough character development. The pace is so fast and the characters introduced so briefly that it is difficult to follow the story line at times. This is compounded by the fact that this story isn't as well-constructed as Doug TenNapel's other books. For example, there is a long-lost brother who is never mentioned until page 165. But the art is very good and the story is interesting enough that I feel compelled to read the second book in this series. Be aware that there is violence and several deaths, including both parents.
    more
  • Debra
    April 21, 2016
    I was excited to discover a new graphic novel by Doug TenNapel. I like his perspective of close family relationships and portraying parents as caring forces in the family life. In this story the Lizzarks invade to destroy the entire race of the Nnewts and it looks as if they will succeed, but they did not reckon with Herk, a slow to develop tadpole with legs that do not let him walk on land. While his legs are not strong, his heart is fierce. His fight for survival and his cunning has him trave I was excited to discover a new graphic novel by Doug TenNapel. I like his perspective of close family relationships and portraying parents as caring forces in the family life. In this story the Lizzarks invade to destroy the entire race of the Nnewts and it looks as if they will succeed, but they did not reckon with Herk, a slow to develop tadpole with legs that do not let him walk on land. While his legs are not strong, his heart is fierce. His fight for survival and his cunning has him traveling, meeting usual characters, and discovering hidden resources inside himself. There are also several story lines waiting for development.
    more
  • Jen
    March 11, 2015
    This graphic novel was okay, but that's about it. The art was pretty weird, the story rather odd and the action hard to follow. The main character is apparently Herk, a young Nnewt with tiny legs; and most of the tale seems to just be back-story related to him. Many of the characters that are supposed to be of the same species don't look much alike, and yet the majority of creatures who are supposed to be different look surprisingly similar. There was quite a lot of violence for a book that seem This graphic novel was okay, but that's about it. The art was pretty weird, the story rather odd and the action hard to follow. The main character is apparently Herk, a young Nnewt with tiny legs; and most of the tale seems to just be back-story related to him. Many of the characters that are supposed to be of the same species don't look much alike, and yet the majority of creatures who are supposed to be different look surprisingly similar. There was quite a lot of violence for a book that seems to be targeted at the middle-grades market. The scene of the afterlife was totally weird. Maybe the next installment will make some of all this make sense, but it is hard to see how.
    more
  • Cornmaven
    September 4, 2016
    TenNapel created Earthworm Jim many years ago, and fans loved that little guy. Cardboard was my next exposure to TenNapel's talents, and I find myself showing that to kids all the time as they search for books. They end up loving it.Now, NNewts, which just blew me away for its unlikely superhero, the absolutely breathtaking art, and an archetypal story about good and evil. Embedded in the action is little Herk's education about not all of a species being bad, despite what you have been taught, t TenNapel created Earthworm Jim many years ago, and fans loved that little guy. Cardboard was my next exposure to TenNapel's talents, and I find myself showing that to kids all the time as they search for books. They end up loving it.Now, NNewts, which just blew me away for its unlikely superhero, the absolutely breathtaking art, and an archetypal story about good and evil. Embedded in the action is little Herk's education about not all of a species being bad, despite what you have been taught, trust, courage, perseverance, and more.Kids will love this one, too.
    more
Write a review