Peace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16)
Harry Dresden is back and ready for action, in the new entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dresden Files series. When the Supernatural nations of the world meet up to negotiate an end to ongoing hostilities, Harry Dresden, Chicago's only professional wizard, joins the White Council's security team to make sure the talks stay civil. But can he succeed, when dark political manipulations threaten the very existence of Chicago--and all he holds dear?Peace Talks is the sixteenth novel in the Dresden Files series and follows Harry’s adventures after the events of Skin Game.

Peace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16) Details

TitlePeace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 16th, 2020
PublisherOrbit
ISBN-139780356515298
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Magic, Vampires, Science Fiction Fantasy, Adult, Urban

Peace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16) Review

  • Serack
    January 1, 1970
    Edited 9/23/15Jim said at yesterday's reddit AMA that the manuscript is due January 1st. Generally a 4 month turnaround is necessary after that, 6 preferable. Penguin has managed to bring that down to as low as 1 month, but that is unlikely. (Props to "Priscellie" for most of the above info).Here is Jim's 50 word summary of what Peace Talks is about:"The various supernatural powers are gathering together in Chicago to kind of hash things out in the wake of the Red Court’s destruction and all the Edited 9/23/15Jim said at yesterday's reddit AMA that the manuscript is due January 1st. Generally a 4 month turnaround is necessary after that, 6 preferable. Penguin has managed to bring that down to as low as 1 month, but that is unlikely. (Props to "Priscellie" for most of the above info).Here is Jim's 50 word summary of what Peace Talks is about:"The various supernatural powers are gathering together in Chicago to kind of hash things out in the wake of the Red Court’s destruction and all the chaos in the world. So basically they will all sit around a campfire and tell stories and sing kumbayah and everything will be fine."Jim announced on twitter that the first line is (view spoiler)[My brother ruined a perfectly good run by saying, "Justine is pregnant." (hide spoiler)]Edit(12/30/2014): At the 2014 Dragoncon Jim said that Peace Talks will take place about 3 months after the events of Skin Game (in the middle of Summer) and Harry will be "living with his daughter" and trying to be a dad when the events happen.The name makes me think that Listens to Wind (LtW) will be rather central (remember the foreshadowing of LtW doing some mentoring for Harry back in Turn Coat?), but Jim has said that Molly will have some exposition. I moved everything about other future DF books into my Mirror Mirror review. This includes information about much more than just Mirror Mirror.
    more
  • Robert Brown
    January 1, 1970
    Butcher risks declining interest in the Dresden Files. He's got such an interesting "world," with huge potential stories and story-lines that he's setup, and an interested fan-base. However, with the snail's pace publishing of the "adult" version of the Files, Butcher is risking a growing disinterest as readers turn to other authors/books that are a bit more proliferate. Certainly, I find my interest in the next book to be fading as time moves on: it is not something I'm burning to buy as soon a Butcher risks declining interest in the Dresden Files. He's got such an interesting "world," with huge potential stories and story-lines that he's setup, and an interested fan-base. However, with the snail's pace publishing of the "adult" version of the Files, Butcher is risking a growing disinterest as readers turn to other authors/books that are a bit more proliferate. Certainly, I find my interest in the next book to be fading as time moves on: it is not something I'm burning to buy as soon as it is released. I barely was interested in Skin Game and didn't find the story as riveting or interesting as previous stories. Since Ghost Story, I've found this apathy to be growing. You're going to lose readers Butcher....
    more
  • Bradley
    January 1, 1970
    My dear friends, I just finished reading Peace Talks.Yes, I finally read a book that I (and approximately 1k other reviewers) have been so vocal about wanting ever since Skin Game. If I was going to be super precise about the actual waiting time, I'd say it's a TON. For those who like to challenge themselves with a little basic math, the last Dresden novel came out in May of 2014.And so, when I got an ARC for this, I spit out my soup in surprise and started screaming.You understand. It's just on My dear friends, I just finished reading Peace Talks.Yes, I finally read a book that I (and approximately 1k other reviewers) have been so vocal about wanting ever since Skin Game. If I was going to be super precise about the actual waiting time, I'd say it's a TON. For those who like to challenge themselves with a little basic math, the last Dresden novel came out in May of 2014.And so, when I got an ARC for this, I spit out my soup in surprise and started screaming.You understand. It's just one of those things.But now that I've read Peace Talks, I'm afraid to actually SAY that I've read Peace Talks.Why?Because you FANS ARE NUTS. I feel like I'm starting a war! I can hear you getting your guns out and your magical weapons and all your supernatural hoards and you're COMING FOR ME because I got it early and read it early and now I feel like my only recourse is to run and hide on Demonreach!Of course, if you weren't coming for me with hate-filled eyes, I might tell you that the book was AWESOME and Mr. Jim Butcher pulled off something SWEET AS HELL in the new novel. I could tell you that nothing is lost, nothing is ignored, and all things serve a purpose.You remember the book where the Council and all the other baddies stood to face the wall that kept the Outsiders on the other side, and you read the scene with wonder and a crazy feeling that things were ABSOLUTELY NOT GOING TO GO WELL? That feeling has survived quite nicely in this book.And you know what? Mr. Jim Butcher is spoiling us.Look to October this year for BOOK 17! That's right. Battle GroundThe crap is going to hit the fan.Please don't hurt me, fellow fanboys and fangirls! But even if you do, I think it was worth it. The book was great. :) Peace, friends!
    more
  • Eric Allen
    January 1, 1970
    Holy crap, Butcher... Don't you ever sleep? ...Not that I'm complaining... Carry on.
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Update 7/24/19: THEENDI love typing that.— Jim Butcher (@longshotauthor) July 22, 2019 RELEASE DATE SOON.- - -That title is ironic, right?[insert pause here]Hahahahahaha, who am I kidding. Of course it is. Update 7/24/19: THEENDI love typing that.— Jim Butcher (@longshotauthor) July 22, 2019 RELEASE DATE SOON.- - -That title is ironic, right?[insert pause here]Hahahahahaha, who am I kidding. Of course it is.
    more
  • Hyzenthlay
    January 1, 1970
    Now that I've read Skin Game (and Jim's confirmed that this one will be more about Molly as Winter Lady (view spoiler)[FUCK YEAH (hide spoiler)]) I'm even more looking forward to this one.What I'm not looking forward to? The constant bitching that it's going to be "A WHOLE YEAR" til this one comes out. Stop being that asshole that whines about how long it takes an author to write a book. They get rushed, the story suffers.Just shut up.Skin Game's not even out yet, and I'm trying to keep my TBR n Now that I've read Skin Game (and Jim's confirmed that this one will be more about Molly as Winter Lady (view spoiler)[FUCK YEAH (hide spoiler)]) I'm even more looking forward to this one.What I'm not looking forward to? The constant bitching that it's going to be "A WHOLE YEAR" til this one comes out. Stop being that asshole that whines about how long it takes an author to write a book. They get rushed, the story suffers.Just shut up.Skin Game's not even out yet, and I'm trying to keep my TBR non-existent, but still.[eta] Clock the date this was originally posted and my most recent comment. I sincerely do not care how angry you are that it has been four years. Read something else.
    more
  • Nick
    January 1, 1970
    Can't wait for this book.My first thought when I heard the title was "Knowing Harry Dresden, why isn't it called 'Piece Talks'?"
  • Jules
    January 1, 1970
    Update: 3/6/17. No cover. No date. For way over a year. I don't think it's ever coming out, folks...Update: 24/3/16. Uhh, the date has disappeared... and there's no cover. Sh*t is about to get real up in here, methinks.May 10.... 2016? Are you kidding me right now? Update: 3/6/17. No cover. No date. For way over a year. I don't think it's ever coming out, folks...Update: 24/3/16. Uhh, the date has disappeared... and there's no cover. Sh*t is about to get real up in here, methinks.May 10.... 2016? Are you kidding me right now?
    more
  • Sheyla ✎
    January 1, 1970
    2018 is here...WHEN CAN I HAVE THIS???I need a release date 2018 is here...WHEN CAN I HAVE THIS???I need a release date
  • Kari Mcmanus
    January 1, 1970
    Why’s Peace Talks Taking So Long?(An explanation, so you can stop emailing complaints to the feedback box, which doesn’t reach Jim, and mainly just frustrates the folks running this site.) Personal problems/life events spanning the past several years are what gummed up the works.Got divorced, with all the fallout that comes from that.His dog died, who was “the brains of the operation” as Jim tells it.Got engaged, then remarried.Moved to another state to live with his fiancee, now wife.Lived in a Why’s Peace Talks Taking So Long?(An explanation, so you can stop emailing complaints to the feedback box, which doesn’t reach Jim, and mainly just frustrates the folks running this site.) Personal problems/life events spanning the past several years are what gummed up the works.Got divorced, with all the fallout that comes from that.His dog died, who was “the brains of the operation” as Jim tells it.Got engaged, then remarried.Moved to another state to live with his fiancee, now wife.Lived in an apartment with no private writing space for years longer than intended because the contractor building his new house blew the deadline by a couple years at least.That last bit made it especially hard for him to get traction on Peace Talks. Thankfully, the house is finally finished and Jim is back at work, under the guidance of his new canine buddy Bru and his wife’s four majestic cats.As of March 12th, 2019, the current draft of the novel is up to chapter 49. Progress!
    more
  • Niki Hawkes - The Obsessive Bookseller
    January 1, 1970
    [4.5/5 stars] Worth the wait! ^_^ Full RTC closer to publication...
  • Sarah's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I've put together a compilation of everything I've found that Jim has said about Peace Talks.You can see it here (http://ssbookreviews.blogspot.com/201...) if you're interested.If you've heard something I missed, I would love to hear about it! I've put together a compilation of everything I've found that Jim has said about Peace Talks.You can see it here (http://ssbookreviews.blogspot.com/201...) if you're interested.If you've heard something I missed, I would love to hear about it!
    more
  • John Driscoll
    January 1, 1970
    I rarely comment on the books I mark "to read," but the whining on this page is so ridiculous I couldn't help myself.Jim Butcher is not George R.R. Martin. He didn't stop writing the books because he doesn't care about his fans, or because he made so much money he's not interested in finishing the series, or anything like that. With 10 seconds of Google, you can find out that the reasons why this book has taken so long to complete. Among other things: Jim got divorced, his dog died, he met someo I rarely comment on the books I mark "to read," but the whining on this page is so ridiculous I couldn't help myself.Jim Butcher is not George R.R. Martin. He didn't stop writing the books because he doesn't care about his fans, or because he made so much money he's not interested in finishing the series, or anything like that. With 10 seconds of Google, you can find out that the reasons why this book has taken so long to complete. Among other things: Jim got divorced, his dog died, he met someone else and got engaged, he moved to another state, his new living space at the time had no private writing space, and he was stuck living there longer than expected because the contractor building his new house kept missing deadlines.And guess what? The first draft is done now, so the book is going through revisions and all that other stuff it needs to do on the road to publication. Y'all can put your pitchforks back in the shed, put out the torches, and find some other books to read while you wait. Heck, if you need something to scratch that urban fantasy itch, how about one of these?Alex Verus series by Benedict JackaIron Druid Chronicles by Kevin HearneKate Daniels series by Ilona AndrewsMercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggsor check out the TV series Lost Girl, which is kind of urban fantasy where the main character is a succubus.TL;DR relax, the book is coming soon, and Jim Butcher wasn't just faffing off, he was going through some stuff that made delays unavoidable.
    more
  • Kelsey Snuffleupagus
    January 1, 1970
    Seriously dude. 4 freaking years since the last book. I was as in love with the series as the next person but my interest has pretty much died. It just feels blatantly disrespectful to the fans and unprofessional at this point which is a damn shame. I loved the world and characters. So much wasted potential.
    more
  • Ailith Twinning
    January 1, 1970
    You know, the thing about the Dresden Files is that they're pulp fiction. Fun fact about cliffhangers, they're not fun anymore after 4 years. The series has so many threads, so much to mine out at this point Butcher has 2 options. Cancel the entire series, or license it out. Because there is absolutely no way to make 16 worth the wait, seeing as it just leaves room for yet another book (and another and another and so on), which at this point I'm not willing to be waiting for. If 16 ever comes ou You know, the thing about the Dresden Files is that they're pulp fiction. Fun fact about cliffhangers, they're not fun anymore after 4 years. The series has so many threads, so much to mine out at this point Butcher has 2 options. Cancel the entire series, or license it out. Because there is absolutely no way to make 16 worth the wait, seeing as it just leaves room for yet another book (and another and another and so on), which at this point I'm not willing to be waiting for. If 16 ever comes out at all, I won't be picking it up until 17 comes out, which I'm thinking is pretty damn unlikely :P. Seriously tho -- this is why I get hung up on copyright man, either get more people, be magically prolific, or license the shit out. Preferably all three.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC copy of Peace Talks from Penguin Publishing Group - Ace. This is my honest and voluntary review.Jim ButcherSeries: DRESDEN FILES (#16)FRONTLIST | On Sale Date: July 14, 2020Hardcover | 352 pagesFiction / Fantasy / Urban $28.00 USD, $37.00 CADISBN 9780451464415, 0451464419
    more
  • Rebekah
    January 1, 1970
    Well, it’s a Dresden book, so it only takes a few pages for everything to be (literally) on fire. Seriously. Harry Dresden is the epitome of that one meme. You know the one. With the cartoon dog sitting in the middle of a room that’s on fire and saying “it’s fine” with a wide, wooden gaze into the middle distance. That’s it. That’s Harry. And I love Harry—and Jim Butcher—for it. There’s a lot going on in Peace Talks, including a peace convention of all sorts of monsters and beasties which, surp Well, it’s a Dresden book, so it only takes a few pages for everything to be (literally) on fire. Seriously. Harry Dresden is the epitome of that one meme. You know the one. With the cartoon dog sitting in the middle of a room that’s on fire and saying “it’s fine” with a wide, wooden gaze into the middle distance. That’s it. That’s Harry. And I love Harry—and Jim Butcher—for it. There’s a lot going on in Peace Talks, including a peace convention of all sorts of monsters and beasties which, surprisingly, doesn’t become the actual focus until near the end. There are a lot of cogs being set in place and starting to turn in preparation of opening a curtain on the big finale, a lot of plot threads being sewn in and left hanging, pick your metaphor. But that’s background to the central theme of family—specifically the family ties between Harry, Thomas, and McCoy, but also the ties of Harry’s found family. It’s not a unicorn-framed outlook on family, but is set in a sort of reality that the rest of Dresden’s world is not. Harry, who has been craving family all of his life, really confronts the fact that family can hurt precisely because he loves them—and they love him—more than anything. I think this was a good choice in what is essentially an action-packed set-up for a finale of an arc or maybe even the series (yes, it leaves off on a cliffhanger, but we survived the one in Changes and we can survive this one, I have faith). The theme of family really grounds the characters, makes them human and relatable, before they are pitted against mythical enemies that are (or seem) entirely unrelatable. I liked Peace Talks and welcomed the tumultuous, action-packed adventures of Human Disaster Harry Dresden with glee. And I returned to old fictional friends with deep satisfaction. I will always recommend this series to action-junkies and fantasy enthusiasts. I will always recommend this series to someone who hasn’t read fantasy a day in their life—because the humor and grit Harry brings to the (sometimes very) dark times he experiences will always be something really important and special.
    more
  • Marielle Authier
    January 1, 1970
    1- Expected publication: 2015 by Orbit2- Change to no date!3- change to Expected publication: May 10th 2016 by Orbit4- Change to no date *sigh*5- Change to Expected publication: 2017 by Orbit6- Change to NO DATE *sigh*7- Change to Expected publication: April 16th 2020 by Orbit How did I miss we suddenly had a release date??????????? I hope it is real! Crossing fingers and toesChange to July 14, 2020
    more
  • Mizuki
    January 1, 1970
    year of release: 2016There are talks about the release date being pushed to 2017.*groans* Fuck. my. life.
  • Maraya21 (The Reading Dragon)
    January 1, 1970
    FUCKING FINALLY! WE HAVE A RELEASE DATE!JULY 14, 2020https://www.tor.com/2019/12/16/jim-bu... FUCKING FINALLY! WE HAVE A RELEASE DATE!JULY 14, 2020https://www.tor.com/2019/12/16/jim-bu...
  • Linda ~ they got the mustard out! ~
    January 1, 1970
    Pre-ordered! Is it July yet?https://www.amazon.com/Peace-Talks-Dr... Pre-ordered! Is it July yet?https://www.amazon.com/Peace-Talks-Dr...
  • Max
    January 1, 1970
    The fact that Jim Butcher is doing a lot of Dresden files stuff -RPGs, card games and other stuff- tells me, that he doesn't have a writers block, but is just killing the Dresden Files cashcow.Due to that AND a waiting time equal to the one of These George R R Martin, I will NOT but the book, nor any further one.I'm sorry, but I went from fanboy to heavy desinterest.
    more
  • Karna
    January 1, 1970
    when this is getting published. I am loosing interest .
  • keikii Eats Books
    January 1, 1970
    Everything I waited for. From the very first sentence, I never wanted to stop reading. Especially because that first sentence is a doozy. Amazing book. Also, good news, this takes place only about a month after Skin Game! I'll post my longer review a bit closer to release.Very big thanks to Ace Books and Edelweiss for providing this copy for review.To read more reviews, check out my blog keikii eats books! Everything I waited for. From the very first sentence, I never wanted to stop reading. Especially because that first sentence is a doozy. Amazing book. Also, good news, this takes place only about a month after Skin Game! I'll post my longer review a bit closer to release.Very big thanks to Ace Books and Edelweiss for providing this copy for review.To read more reviews, check out my blog keikii eats books!
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    Advance copy provided by NetGalleySpoiler alert for previous booksI was so excited to get an ARC of the new Dresden Files! I had been planning on rereading the series in preparation for the summer release, but when I got my hands on it early, I had to drop everything and read it. I still think I’ll go back and reread from the beginning because I had so much fun with a long series reread last summer of the Mercyverse. The Dresden Files will be fun to blow through back-to-back too. If you haven’t Advance copy provided by NetGalleySpoiler alert for previous booksI was so excited to get an ARC of the new Dresden Files! I had been planning on rereading the series in preparation for the summer release, but when I got my hands on it early, I had to drop everything and read it. I still think I’ll go back and reread from the beginning because I had so much fun with a long series reread last summer of the Mercyverse. The Dresden Files will be fun to blow through back-to-back too. If you haven’t read Brief Cases yet, I recommend reading it before this, even if you usually skip the short stories. I love this series, and this was a good installment after an extra long stretch between novels. There were some great action sequences, and it was good to be back again with Harry and the gang. The stakes are extra high in this one, and the last half of the book especially had me turning pages (whatever you call it with an e-book) as fast as I could. I’m not thrilled with the cliffhanger ending, and I really wish I hadn’t had to hear about Lara Raith’s sexy White Court allure quite so much, but I feel like that probably won’t change as long as she’s a character. It’s clear where his heart is, and one scene in particular in that regard really warmed my heart, and that covered a multitude of Laras. I think series fans will be as glad as I was to have Harry back.
    more
  • Sammm
    January 1, 1970
    Updates: (posted on Jan. 17, 2020)I see people are all patiently waiting for the official image without the watermark >:3. But yeah, cover revealed: www.jim-butcher.com/posts/2020/peace-... Feels exceptionally girly imo? lmao. I honestly wish they would bring back a particular UK paperback set that stopped after Book #11.---Previously 3: (posted on Jan. 8, 2020)Guys, what the holy actual EFF!? (This is an excited WTF, don't get me wrong lmao.) Like thank Gwad Butcher wasn't a frequent Tweeter so Updates: (posted on Jan. 17, 2020)I see people are all patiently waiting for the official image without the watermark >:3. But yeah, cover revealed: www.jim-butcher.com/posts/2020/peace-... Feels exceptionally girly imo? lmao. I honestly wish they would bring back a particular UK paperback set that stopped after Book #11.---Previously 3: (posted on Jan. 8, 2020)Guys, what the holy actual EFF!? (This is an excited WTF, don't get me wrong lmao.) Like thank Gwad Butcher wasn't a frequent Tweeter so that's how I got notified when he Tweeted after "not having Tweeted for a while," https://twitter.com/longshotauthor/st... , anyhow, wow just WOW. I'm probably getting overexcited but whatever, 52 updates this year! I'm hoping it wouldn't be just one piece of microfiction out of all the updates, so fingers crossed! =D (The first one released, "Mike", is self-explanatorily super short, but I like binge-reading stuff so won't attempt to start it until I can read more Dresden Files stuff at once, muahahahaha.)---Previously 2: (posted some time after late Dec. 2019)So, the only reason I was a few days late about the news (Dec. 2019) was because... Well, I don't think anyone I followed or friended on GR has updated their pre-review to share the joy that this time it's for reals lmao. Found out about it on a Facebook group no less! After some deliberation, I figured since I've already written something before, might as well share it in case some people still don't know ahahahaha. Let it be known, even if I'd be in a humongous reading slump in 2020, you can count on me to at least read one book: This one. =D I so can't wait for James Marsters narration muahahahahaha.www.tor.com/2019/12/16/jim-butchers-n...Previously: (posted on Mar 14, 2017)Wait, did Book Depository always list it with the publishing date as September 14, 2017? I mean, on Butcher's site, he was still working on it this February... How long does it usually take for it to be published after he is done? Surely more than half a year...? IDK, I didn't follow the series when it was more considerably active... Which is a great thing cuz Sighs... The wait. Well. I know I can survive but seeing the date just now kinda gave me some unnecessary false hope lol.
    more
  • Samantha Chow
    January 1, 1970
    Reading the snippets of this book makes me want to reread the entire series. That's just 15 books, no biggie.I would happily do that in a heartbeat but there are minor issues such as life, work and sleep that require a little attention... Reading the snippets of this book makes me want to reread the entire series. That's just 15 books, no biggie.I would happily do that in a heartbeat but there are minor issues such as life, work and sleep that require a little attention...
    more
  • Audrey
    January 1, 1970
    2016?! But I want it nooooowwww
  • J.A. Ironside
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewMore like 3.5 stars although I genuinely think that the later books in the series are better crafted and have better structure, so rounded up to 4 stars.It's been a long wait since Skin Game - although the excellent collection Brief Cases tided fans over - and while I definitely enjoyed this, I'm not sure it covered quite enough ground to compensate. That said, the cast is now huge and everyone has their favourites. Butcher has done a de ARC received via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewMore like 3.5 stars although I genuinely think that the later books in the series are better crafted and have better structure, so rounded up to 4 stars.It's been a long wait since Skin Game - although the excellent collection Brief Cases tided fans over - and while I definitely enjoyed this, I'm not sure it covered quite enough ground to compensate. That said, the cast is now huge and everyone has their favourites. Butcher has done a decent job of cameos happening without over powering the plot or reducing it to roll call exercise. I suspect that since we're getting Battle Ground just a few months after this is due to drop, that originally it was one book with way too much plot. Since you get a complete plot arc here - even though it takes place in 48hrs - I don't feel cheated. Two books was obviously the right choice - particularly considering the set up for the next one. That said, those who have most keenly felt the wait between this and Skin Game may well not be happier at being presented what amounted to a quieter episode. I found it worked and I enjoyed the ride. Harry's maturing judgement and sense of place were well depicted. It felt as if he was finally questioning his own origin story rather than just being an improbable idealist. Yes the book drips femme fetales but there were some nice touches and by comparison to earlier episodes, it wasn't especially offensive. I still think Murphy can do better, mind. One of the high points for me was Butters. Butters will always be a high point because he's wonderful. And that sword adaptation was a work of genius. Cracks me up every time. The main plot of this one is that there is a huge conclave gathering to discuss the accords, and then Thomas - Harry's white court vampire brother - causes a major diplomatic incident. Harry is torn between duty to family, his role as Winter Knight, his role as warden of the white council and fielding trouble from his mentor and grandfather. Naturally everything goes pear shaped.This was a lot of fun. Not a stand out in the series but still very enjoyable. Worth the wait IMO.
    more
  • Mike
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy via Netgalley for review. First the good news: this is novel is full of the action, snark, and the snowballing complications we have come to know and expect from the life of one Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden. Butcher's game is on point here and we see some serious growth in Harry's relationships and a deeper commitment (for good or ill) by Harry to follow his own moral compass. There are major changes in the life of Harry here and huge revelations about the threat that H I received a copy via Netgalley for review. First the good news: this is novel is full of the action, snark, and the snowballing complications we have come to know and expect from the life of one Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden. Butcher's game is on point here and we see some serious growth in Harry's relationships and a deeper commitment (for good or ill) by Harry to follow his own moral compass. There are major changes in the life of Harry here and huge revelations about the threat that Harry, his allies, frenemies, and sometime enemies are facing. There wasn't a dull moment over the course of the novel.Now, the bad news: the novel ends abruptly after Chapter 36 (for reference, Grave Peril was 39 Chapters and 346 pages) making the novel feel rather short. Hit the spoiler tag below for some details (I'll try to speak generally but this is most definitely a spoiler):(view spoiler)[In Chapter 29 there is an ultimatum with a deadline of midnight issued. We never get there as the novel ends 7 chapters later. (hide spoiler)]While Butcher has left us with cliffhangers in the past (looking at you Changes) this didn't quite feel like a cliffhanger but just a strange place for things to end. It's possible that the publisher is trying to protect the ending; if that is the case some notice would have been appreciated. I made some effort to reach out to people in the know but have heard nothing back. Without knowing for certain this is where the novel ends I'm holding off on adding any stars.
    more
Write a review