The Lore of the Evermen (Evermen Saga, #4)
The fourth book in the epic Evermen Saga.The Lord of the Night is coming. The future of civilization is at stake.Miro, high lord of Altura, is in the Imperial capital to prepare the Empire for the onslaught. He knows his homeland lies directly in the enemy's path but struggles to form the alliances he needs.As the high lords bicker, Ella seeks the help of the newly crowned emperor, Killian. But, amid the growing tensions, their responsibilities drive them apart and, as emperor, Killian can't be seen to favor Ella's homeland.Against a backdrop of old hurts, guilty secrets, and shaky new allegiances, people of all nations and abilities must learn to trust one another again, and form a united front against a powerful enemy intent on destroying them once and for all.

The Lore of the Evermen (Evermen Saga, #4) Details

TitleThe Lore of the Evermen (Evermen Saga, #4)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 26th, 2014
Publisher47North
Number of pages514 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Magic, Fiction, Young Adult

The Lore of the Evermen (Evermen Saga, #4) Review

  • Sally
    January 13, 2015
    Ok, so. James Maxwell has ripped off every single fantasy author who has ever written. I was sitting counting them off on my fingers as I read. J.K. Rowling, Philip Pullman, Ursula Le Guin, he's got them all! However, they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, and this guy is clearly a fantasy buff. He has written an homage to the genre, and poured all his love into it. For that, I applaud him. Yes, these books are poorly characterised and predictable, but they are written with admira Ok, so. James Maxwell has ripped off every single fantasy author who has ever written. I was sitting counting them off on my fingers as I read. J.K. Rowling, Philip Pullman, Ursula Le Guin, he's got them all! However, they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, and this guy is clearly a fantasy buff. He has written an homage to the genre, and poured all his love into it. For that, I applaud him. Yes, these books are poorly characterised and predictable, but they are written with admiration pouring from their spines. Give them a go if you want to read a love letter to fantasy.
    more
  • Leserling /Belana
    June 4, 2016
    I enjoyed this book, although again, there was a lot of fighting involved. What struck me, were a few inconsistencies (I noticed in the last volume, too, but then forgot all about it again). The Revenants are dead, and as such, don't bleed -- except when they do. I wonder that no editor seems to have noticed that they either bleed, or they don't. You can't really have it both ways, although admittedly, having your heroes covered in blood (which isn't their own) adds to the dramatic effect. ;-)
    more
  • Kelly
    September 13, 2015
    Absolutely marvellous! I was riveted all the way through.I went through so many emotions. The book is well written with fantastic characters who aren't transparent and have a lot of depth.I actually felt very sad when I finished it purely because that's the end, over, finite :(I didn't think I could find a fantasy series that's on a par with Feist's Magician series, but I hit the mother lode with James Maxwell.I would highly recommend this four book saga, it is riveting!
    more
  • Anna-louise
    April 19, 2015
    A great ending to a great series :) The ending made me smile and then laugh out loud! The series is a must read for fantasy lovers!
  • Robert Jr.
    December 25, 2015
    James Maxwell saved the best of this series for last. As usual in this book he as combined magic, war. and love so well that you can't put this book down to sleep.
  • Angela
    September 15, 2016
    Another excellent action packed book. I imagine epic war scenes as the details are laid out. I would love to see this series become movies like The lord of the Rings series. The characters are richly detailed and there are many heroes to root for. They know the evil is coming. Will they be prepared to fight in time? There is a legion of the dead, Revenants, that are driven by a god hell bent on making them all slaves for the war machine he plans to use to take over every world he encounters. The Another excellent action packed book. I imagine epic war scenes as the details are laid out. I would love to see this series become movies like The lord of the Rings series. The characters are richly detailed and there are many heroes to root for. They know the evil is coming. Will they be prepared to fight in time? There is a legion of the dead, Revenants, that are driven by a god hell bent on making them all slaves for the war machine he plans to use to take over every world he encounters. There is one who is much like the evil god. Killian has gained much of the same powers and intends to protect his people. Will he be strong enough?Ella has encountered loss all through her life. All she has left is Miro, her brother. When she tentatively reaches out to share her feelings with Killian, disaster strikes and they are sent on their separate paths. Are they really separate though? Death and loss surround them all but out of this epic war is born an epic hero I never expected.
    more
  • Kim
    August 29, 2014
    4.5 starsA thrilling conclusion to an excellent fantasy series! All of the houses must band together to stop the Lord of the Night and his army of revenants. Between non-stop military action, treachery, and romance, this book has a little bit of everything and was a lot of fun to read. I only wish we got to see a little more of Ella and Killian together.I felt Maxwell did a good job in wrapping up the series nicely. Sometimes I feel series endings can be too abrupt, but this one gave us a good i 4.5 starsA thrilling conclusion to an excellent fantasy series! All of the houses must band together to stop the Lord of the Night and his army of revenants. Between non-stop military action, treachery, and romance, this book has a little bit of everything and was a lot of fun to read. I only wish we got to see a little more of Ella and Killian together.I felt Maxwell did a good job in wrapping up the series nicely. Sometimes I feel series endings can be too abrupt, but this one gave us a good idea of what all my favorite characters will be up to in the future. And the scene at the very end was fantastic! I laughed out loud to the point where my boyfriend started giving me funny looks :-).Overall, I really recommend this series to young adult and adult readers alike. And particularly to fans of Cinda Williams Chima's Demon King series or Jim Butcher's Codex Alera.
    more
  • Becky
    November 30, 2014
    WARNING SPOILERS!I have only one criticism of this book, and its kind of a bad one, and a spoiler. (view spoiler)[Only a few people really died. For such a huge war I would have expected more of the main characters to die in battle! I thought Mr Maxwell was really brave when I thought Rogan had died, but then it was all a ruse! And when Ilathor almost died, and Bartolo and Miro, and Fergus and well pretty much everyone! More should have died, it was one hell of a war. Well done to Mr Maxwell for WARNING SPOILERS!I have only one criticism of this book, and its kind of a bad one, and a spoiler. (view spoiler)[Only a few people really died. For such a huge war I would have expected more of the main characters to die in battle! I thought Mr Maxwell was really brave when I thought Rogan had died, but then it was all a ruse! And when Ilathor almost died, and Bartolo and Miro, and Fergus and well pretty much everyone! More should have died, it was one hell of a war. Well done to Mr Maxwell for Beorn, Layla, Everin (I cried for the last two, as in I bawled my eyes out!) (hide spoiler)] But other than that it was a really good conclusion to an amazing series!
    more
  • Tamsin Ramone
    November 4, 2016
    If you love war books this is for you. Pretty much 80% battle scenes. Very enjoyable read! If it wasn't for the last 5% I would have given it 5 stars. The ending was weak, he had a lot of threads to finish off and did it very poorly. It seemed rushed and thoughtless. Maxwell spent 4 books building up a relationship between Ella and Killian and wrapped it up in one page, big let down I say. The ending was super tacky, but if you stop reading after Ella, Miro and Amelia all talk with Rogan on his If you love war books this is for you. Pretty much 80% battle scenes. Very enjoyable read! If it wasn't for the last 5% I would have given it 5 stars. The ending was weak, he had a lot of threads to finish off and did it very poorly. It seemed rushed and thoughtless. Maxwell spent 4 books building up a relationship between Ella and Killian and wrapped it up in one page, big let down I say. The ending was super tacky, but if you stop reading after Ella, Miro and Amelia all talk with Rogan on his death bed then you will have a great read on your hands.
    more
  • Boosmummy
    December 1, 2015
    Amazing finish to the series. Could not put this book down and found myself waking early to finish it. Not quite the ending I was expecting but better. Definitely recommend this 4 book series.
  • Kevin Black
    July 26, 2016
    A great ending to the series.
  • Jenniffer Larkin
    January 23, 2017
    astounding This series, this book, the people, all the low and battles around and within each of them, had my heart racing, tears in my eyes and many smiles on my face. I've even hear many dreams with the people in the book. I listened while read, and let me tell you, what an amazing experience. The writing and the stories are spectacular, but with the voice lending more emotions and character you'll feel your there with them. read, you won't regret it.
    more
  • Susan
    December 8, 2016
    I absolutely loved this entire series and felt this book finished strongly. I'm sad to see it end.
  • Edward
    March 16, 2017
    Not a boring bit in sightReally entertaining and definitely worth getting the 4 books together as you get through chapters quickly. My only criticism may be in parts it was a little too easily read. I dont mind investing in characters if i benefit at the end
    more
  • Sandie
    October 1, 2016
    In this fourth and final novel in the Evermen epic series, humanity is facing a greater threat than it ever has. The Lord Of The Night has his banishment to another land where he and the other Evermen have been trapped for millenia. He has no love for humans; he sees them only as slaves and fodder to make essence to support his grandiose plans to conquer and rule the Earth.All of humanity comes together to fight this threat. They are led by Killian who is the new emperor but who has an Everman f In this fourth and final novel in the Evermen epic series, humanity is facing a greater threat than it ever has. The Lord Of The Night has his banishment to another land where he and the other Evermen have been trapped for millenia. He has no love for humans; he sees them only as slaves and fodder to make essence to support his grandiose plans to conquer and rule the Earth.All of humanity comes together to fight this threat. They are led by Killian who is the new emperor but who has an Everman father so has some of their power. But Killian is new to his powers and ruling and doesn't know everything he is capable of. Miro leads the troops into battle and is the veteran of many campaigns and wars. His sister, Ella the Enchantress, is at the side of these men and her willingness to do anything she can to serve her country means she puts her personal feelings on hold. Humanity is facing a threat they have never seen, an army of the undead. This means that even as their forces are reduced by battle, the opposing forces continue to gain in strength and numbers. Can humanity win this final battle for Earth?Maxwell has created an intriguing world with magnificent characters. Readers will be fascinated with the land which is built on magic but where human choices and alliances mean the difference between life and death. The main characters are interesting with many secondary characters whose lives are also fully developed. The battle scenes are well done and the sweep and scope of the novels keeps the reader intrigued. This book is recommended for fantasy readers.
    more
  • Chynna Ridenbaugh
    March 6, 2017
    One of my favorites Loved this series. Adventure, lots of fighting, and a little romance. I'm so sad it's over. I feel like the characters and I have been through a lot together. Great read. I also enjoyed listening also.
  • Chris Jackson
    February 23, 2017
    Great bookThis book has a few twists and turns, very little of which I saw coming, which is always good in a fantasy story you haven't read or seen beforeAs always, there was room for improvement, but very little that I could pick out
  • P
    November 19, 2016
    Review of This BookAs a standalone book, I think The Path of the Storm, was better. This fourth book had a greater dependency on the previous books in the series in my opinion. As the ending book to The Evermen Saga, though, Lore of the Evermen was fantastic.Politics has returned to the Evermen Saga, but it was brief and did not drag the story like the first book. Similar to the first two books, this book was mainly about war and battles.The flow was more traditional with the linear rising from Review of This BookAs a standalone book, I think The Path of the Storm, was better. This fourth book had a greater dependency on the previous books in the series in my opinion. As the ending book to The Evermen Saga, though, Lore of the Evermen was fantastic.Politics has returned to the Evermen Saga, but it was brief and did not drag the story like the first book. Similar to the first two books, this book was mainly about war and battles.The flow was more traditional with the linear rising from the start to the climactic final battle and then followed by a few chapters of epilogue. The final battle felt a bit clichéd, but at the same time was an enjoyable read. No war stories come to mind that did not end in a clichéd way, although I must admit I have not read fantasy books in a long time.There were a few unanswered questions which meant that the author could come back and revisit the world, although, most of the loose ends were tied up very nicely to finish the four book saga.Review of the SeriesIt started off with a boring half of book one but progressed nicely until the fitting end with the last book. Although most of the story focused on war and battles there were small party adventure quests with most of book three being dedicated to it.Magic was a wonderful component of the series, beginning with how the complex system works and continuing with how the characters use it in different ways.The one thing I found lacking throughout the series is monsters. There were only a handful of creatures that I would consider monsters. Most were more like modified humans like Chaos Space Marines of the Warhammer 40k fame.Having not read fantasy books in a very long time, I did find The Evermen Saga to be a very good read in my return to the genre and reading in general.
    more
  • Mike
    February 17, 2017
    Wow! Wonderful final installment to a series I'm calling true epic fantasy of a very high order!Scope, imagination with all the bells and whistles within an intricate plot making a magnificent story.Thanks again Mr Maxwell, please keep writing.
  • Dan Qantaqua
    July 30, 2014
    The final book in the Evermen saga.I felt that the author did a great job of taking so many different threads from the first 2 books and the expanded world introduced in the 3rd book and wrapped them up all well. The feeling of being overwhelmed, heroics, and all the side stories of the people introduced all along feel like they have been wrapped up and completed.There is room at the end for more, but the fact that it doesn't end in the reader's mind is a good thing for this series and allows fo The final book in the Evermen saga.I felt that the author did a great job of taking so many different threads from the first 2 books and the expanded world introduced in the 3rd book and wrapped them up all well. The feeling of being overwhelmed, heroics, and all the side stories of the people introduced all along feel like they have been wrapped up and completed.There is room at the end for more, but the fact that it doesn't end in the reader's mind is a good thing for this series and allows for you to wonder "what if" at the end. As much of this series has been about trying to understand the Evermen, the power of lore, and people's use of power over others, it was nice to see that the story wrapped up in a way that didn't feel that was cheap and overly simplified.Based on the strength of this book, I would read further from this author if he kept going in this world as well as I would try the beginnings of something new from him if he were to branch out. The prose is quick, not overly bogged down by description, and full of imaginative ideas. By the end of the series, there are things that I wish had been covered more - Bladesinger lore and elementalists both I felt were used enough without ever being fully invested in on the same level as other lore types. I did get tired of the always impending doom and escape plots, but they were handled much better and more believably in this book than in the previous 3.I would recommend this series to those who like Name of the Wind, Dragonlance series, and Tigana. The writing style is more Dragonlance but the feeling of discovery is more like the other two while not on the same literary plane. This is a series that should be more well known than it is given the world building and imagination alone.
    more
  • Jacqueline Walker
    February 15, 2017
    Another great storyJames Maxwell is a brilliant storyteller who keeps u enthralled right to the very end. I got scared when the characters did, felt the joy of victory and cried with them at the losses. Can't wait for the next one.
  • Paliden
    May 19, 2016
    The Lore of the Evermen starts off with a bang and never lets up throughout the entire book. The Lord of the Night is coming with his revenant hordes to conquer the Empire and bring back the rest of the Evermen. Miro and Amber are trying to warn everyone of what is coming, but most people are skeptical of their stories. Killian is still trying to learn the ropes as the new Emporer, and feels torn between his duty and his heart. Ella seems to be needed everywhere. And although she feels deeply fo The Lore of the Evermen starts off with a bang and never lets up throughout the entire book. The Lord of the Night is coming with his revenant hordes to conquer the Empire and bring back the rest of the Evermen. Miro and Amber are trying to warn everyone of what is coming, but most people are skeptical of their stories. Killian is still trying to learn the ropes as the new Emporer, and feels torn between his duty and his heart. Ella seems to be needed everywhere. And although she feels deeply for Killian, circumstances seem determined to keep them apart. Prince Ilathor is determined to win Ella as his wife, and when a private discussion happen to be overheard, Killian feels betrayed by Ella. As always, there is evil in the world, whether it comes from the Evermen or from greedy men thinking only of themselves. Ultimately, the battle for the world will be decided by so many individuals. Every choice we make defines who we are, and the repercussions can be immense. Will the Evermen return to rule the world? Or will freedom and good will prevail? How many friends will we lose before the end? Will Killian and Ella ever realize the love they share for one another? In the end, the secret of the Lore of the Evermen will leave you astonished! Wow! Once again, I couldn't put this book down! This book has all the marks of a great fantasy novel. It flows smooth and will hold you spell-bound until the end. Without giving any spoilers, let me just say that I loved the ending! I thoroughly enjoyed this entire series and recommend it to anyone that enjoys fantasy. You won't regret it!
    more
  • Julie
    February 18, 2017
    Fantastic series Wish there were more of Killian and Ella but overall a fantastic series. Wish it wasn't over and that it wasn't the end of such great characters.
  • Stephanie
    January 25, 2017
    I loved this story!!!! But.....I have loved this series from book 1. The story is beautiful and brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone! With that being said there were a few things that I found to be minor annoyances. Example: Halrana and Hazara...... The names were just to similar. Much like Oltura and Altura. It might read ok but when listening to the audio I often had to remind myself of what was going on so I knew which part of the world they were referring to. I also struggled with th I loved this story!!!! But.....I have loved this series from book 1. The story is beautiful and brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone! With that being said there were a few things that I found to be minor annoyances. Example: Halrana and Hazara...... The names were just to similar. Much like Oltura and Altura. It might read ok but when listening to the audio I often had to remind myself of what was going on so I knew which part of the world they were referring to. I also struggled with the Akari people..... They were often described as fierce and pain skinned with pain hair in braids... Yet with the way they acted or were referred to I couldn't help but picture dark skinned African tribal warriors with dreadlocks lol. But perhaps that is just me. My one other annoyance (SPOILERS!!!!) is the "love triangle" Between Ella, Killian, and Ilathor. When it first started I inwardly groaned all I could think was " God I hope this triangle doesn't suck like Twilight did" but in the last book Ilathor suddenly just releases Ella from the proposal he never really got to make. There was no subtle hint no slight indication. One minute it was there the it was gone. On the flip side I was grateful so I didn't have to slog thru the turmoil of Ellas choice, but it felt incomplete in a way. All that said I would still read this again and recommend it to anyone! The minor annoyances are don't take away from the heart of the story at all and it still remains a wonderful story.
    more
  • Cerah Gray
    June 12, 2016
    A Truly Satisfying End to a Brilliant SeriesI rarely find a series that ends in a way that is not just highly satisfactory but also complete. Often, or perhaps inevitably, many questions are left unanswered. I realize that many authors do this by design, leaving it up to the imagination of the reader and some authors simply don't write well enough to complete their stories. Not only did James Maxwell complete his story about the orphaned siblings and their struggles, he also neatly provided clos A Truly Satisfying End to a Brilliant SeriesI rarely find a series that ends in a way that is not just highly satisfactory but also complete. Often, or perhaps inevitably, many questions are left unanswered. I realize that many authors do this by design, leaving it up to the imagination of the reader and some authors simply don't write well enough to complete their stories. Not only did James Maxwell complete his story about the orphaned siblings and their struggles, he also neatly provided closure for the supporting characters. I love the depth he put into each person in this series both as they were introduced and then as their individual stories unfolded, each with a purpose. Maxwell brilliantly wove these tales into the main story as few authors have the talent to do. He is a master of his craft and I would read anything he writes.However, while I have no questions left unanswered, I do wish that Maxwell would have let us see Jerhal reunited with his wife in Hazara. The strong desert warrior deserves a good woman and I would've liked to read about them more. I also wish that we could've been privy to the meeting of Lady Alise and Ella for the first time. I know that Lady Alise approved but it would've been fun to see the interaction between the two women in Killian's life. Overall, I enjoyed this series more than anything I've read in a long time. I look forward to reading more by James Maxwell in the not-to-distant future...like tonight.
    more
  • Randy Curtis
    September 13, 2016
    Wonderful seriesThoroughly enjoyed the plot line and the character development. The villains were diabolical and the heroes flawed, but in very human ways. I look forward to reading more from Jeff.
  • Dianna
    October 5, 2015
    Just sped through reading the last book in the series and everything wraps up nicely. I was worried that there wouldn't be enough time for Maxwell to cover everything, since so much goes on all at once, but I didn't have anything to worry about given the speed at which everything happens.There's plenty of battles and you get to see some more interesting ideas executed by both Ella and Miro. Even now I'm not sure about Miro's idea at the end to defeat the army of revenants, but it seems to have w Just sped through reading the last book in the series and everything wraps up nicely. I was worried that there wouldn't be enough time for Maxwell to cover everything, since so much goes on all at once, but I didn't have anything to worry about given the speed at which everything happens.There's plenty of battles and you get to see some more interesting ideas executed by both Ella and Miro. Even now I'm not sure about Miro's idea at the end to defeat the army of revenants, but it seems to have worked.Fewer characters died than I expected for a war of this scale. Don't get me wrong, some did, but there were so many characters that were wounded on the battlefield with some serious sounding wounds, to the point where I expected more deaths.And I'm frustrated by the lack of Ella/Killian scenes. It's something that I've been complaining about since the second book and have been eagerly anticipating reading in future books, but alas there was not much of it here in this book. When Carla made her appearance I mentally smacked my forehead. Last thing I wanted was another setback in their relationship when it already was a bit rocky.Overall enjoyed reading this series.
    more
  • samantha
    February 13, 2017
    worth readingwhen i began the saga i wondered at first if i would like it. then the more i read the less i could put it down. the characters begin to become a type of friends to you and you begin to be caught up in the adventure.
  • Christopher
    August 6, 2016
    I think this series would have been at least a book shorter and better rated had 1/2 the battles been completely excised. Maxwell loves writing about large high-fantasy battles, but just doesn't do it well enough to make them memorable. Oh sure, the armies have unique abilities and it's not JUST wizards flinging lightning balls at each other, but other than some unique weaponry, there's no real tension or sense of purpose in the multiple battle scenes that make up a rather substantial chunk of t I think this series would have been at least a book shorter and better rated had 1/2 the battles been completely excised. Maxwell loves writing about large high-fantasy battles, but just doesn't do it well enough to make them memorable. Oh sure, the armies have unique abilities and it's not JUST wizards flinging lightning balls at each other, but other than some unique weaponry, there's no real tension or sense of purpose in the multiple battle scenes that make up a rather substantial chunk of these books. The underlying story of the "Evermen" (gods that have fled the world and are returning to enslave humanity) is an intriguing one as is the notion of "essence" being responsible for the magic in the world and also quite deadly to the touch.The more Maxwell focus on those aspects of the story, the better it is. And the series ends conclusively well (especially insofar as the Evermen plotline is concerned). It's just a shame we had to wade through RIVERS of nameless blood to get there.
    more
  • Nick
    September 14, 2014
    I received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.Quick disclosure, I have not read the previous 3 books in this series. I don't feel that the story relied entirely on previous books, but reading the other 3 books may have been a wise choice.This book starts slow. As a rule, I give books 100 pages before putting them down. The story developed pretty slow, and I was starting to root for the bad guys to show up and start some drama. Fortunately, as I hit page 100, stuff starts to happen. The pacin I received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.Quick disclosure, I have not read the previous 3 books in this series. I don't feel that the story relied entirely on previous books, but reading the other 3 books may have been a wise choice.This book starts slow. As a rule, I give books 100 pages before putting them down. The story developed pretty slow, and I was starting to root for the bad guys to show up and start some drama. Fortunately, as I hit page 100, stuff starts to happen. The pacing kicks up quickly and it turned from a book that I could take or leave to one that I struggled to put down.The action throughout the story (after page 100) was fairly intense, somewhat predictable, but well written. I felt the ending chapters were just ok, nothing to spectacular happened to the characters at the end. With one minor surprise at the end, everything else seemed predictable. I'd recommend this book to people who have read the previous parts of the series.
    more
Write a review