Making and Breaking the Grid
153276 Features: -Making and Breaking the Grid.-Category: Design/Graphic Arts/Commercial and Corporate.-Format: Paper text.-Number of pages: 208. Dimensions: -Overall dimensions: 9" H x 11" W.

Making and Breaking the Grid Details

TitleMaking and Breaking the Grid
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2005
PublisherRockport Publishers
ISBN1592531253
ISBN-139781592531257
Number of pages208 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Nonfiction, Art, Reference, Art Design, Web Design, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Anthologies, Collections, Computer Science, Technical, Academic, College

Making and Breaking the Grid Review

  • michaelben
    March 12, 2011
    I am not a designer. But I sometimes have to play one at work. So I picked up this book for quick insight into the world of design/layout, and I am glad I did. The first part provides a very quick overview of the history of the grid, which was interesting on its own. This did help in later sections in the discussion of specific layout and design examples. The last section covered working outside of the grid concept under the premise you have to understand the rules before you flout them. I would I am not a designer. But I sometimes have to play one at work. So I picked up this book for quick insight into the world of design/layout, and I am glad I did. The first part provides a very quick overview of the history of the grid, which was interesting on its own. This did help in later sections in the discussion of specific layout and design examples. The last section covered working outside of the grid concept under the premise you have to understand the rules before you flout them. I would be surprised if this book was of value to a trained professional. It seems more appropriate for a lay person with a general interest or specific need. I am certain my work was better for having used it, and it will stay on the shelf for future reference.
    more
  • Erika Mulvenna
    December 16, 2016
    This book makes an effort to demonstrate how grid systems are used to organize information in print, and how you can break away from the grid to create more interest. The book includes an interesting but brief history lesson about "the grid" in publications, but it's not as in-depth of a book either in information presented or in offering skill building exercises as I had hoped.What this book does do is show through multiple examples taken from real publications how a grid is used to organize in This book makes an effort to demonstrate how grid systems are used to organize information in print, and how you can break away from the grid to create more interest. The book includes an interesting but brief history lesson about "the grid" in publications, but it's not as in-depth of a book either in information presented or in offering skill building exercises as I had hoped.What this book does do is show through multiple examples taken from real publications how a grid is used to organize information on a page, both in a traditional and non-traditional way.
    more
  • Serith
    September 7, 2013
    When I first signed up for Graphic Design in college, I did not really know much about typography, nor did really I get it when teachers tried to explain. This book changed all of that because it opened my mind when I had been limiting myself to regular boring layouts – and I think that is why it hadn’t interested me. This proves how you can follow rules and think outside the box. And it’s all eye candy: it puts the logic in action and visually proves itself. Beautiful and inspiring book.I wish When I first signed up for Graphic Design in college, I did not really know much about typography, nor did really I get it when teachers tried to explain. This book changed all of that because it opened my mind when I had been limiting myself to regular boring layouts – and I think that is why it hadn’t interested me. This proves how you can follow rules and think outside the box. And it’s all eye candy: it puts the logic in action and visually proves itself. Beautiful and inspiring book.I wish this were a textbook in our class and not just one my teacher lent me. I’d really love a copy on my shelf.
    more
  • Roger
    October 9, 2007
    This book has an extensive gallery of projects for comparison's sake, but very limited instruction and some history which goes by too fast and too much like a parade of facts to possibly sink in. The commentary on the projects never offers any additional insight that could be gained by interviews with the designer or anything further than what's visible to the attentive reader. Good to flip through, but I was looking for more of a manual on good grid practices.
    more
  • Kieran
    October 15, 2013
    outdated and useless full of bad designs. maybe useful if you are a very early beginner otherwise its poop. Dont believe the hype
  • J. Pedro Ribeiro
    January 23, 2010
    Making and Breaking the Grid, by Timothy Samara, is an analysis of the construction and deconstruction of grid-based designs. Featuring a comprehensive showcase of works in different media and across several decades.The BookThe book is basically divided into 2 parts. The first one about the creation of the grid-based designs and its usage. The second one explains the deconstruction of the grid, a different approach on design in which the grid doesn’t have to obey any rules.In the first few pages Making and Breaking the Grid, by Timothy Samara, is an analysis of the construction and deconstruction of grid-based designs. Featuring a comprehensive showcase of works in different media and across several decades.The BookThe book is basically divided into 2 parts. The first one about the creation of the grid-based designs and its usage. The second one explains the deconstruction of the grid, a different approach on design in which the grid doesn’t have to obey any rules.In the first few pages the reader will be immersed into the historical facts surrounding the development of the grid-based design. There is a lot of information here – about 150 years of art & design evolution in only 7 pages – maybe a timeline would be interesting. But then again, this is not a history book.The next chapter the author slows down the pace and starts a workshop about grid design. The content here is precise, clear enough for beginners and a good read for advanced designers. Concepts and styles are illustrated in a simple yet effective way and the examples are spot on.Then the showcase begins. Pages and pages of great artwork from different decades and styles. Each of them with its own grid style – column, modular grid, etc. Description and comments explain how it was used and the effect generated by it.ConclusionAs an introduction to grid-design, Making and Breaking the Grid does its job. It will give the initial hints and ideas of layout structure in a few pages but doesn’t go very deep. The highlight of the book, without any doubt, is the showcase of designs. Big illustrations and photographs with detailed information. Definitely a must-have on any designer library.[Visit my website and read the book review.]
    more
  • Reid
    November 20, 2012
    There's certainly plenty of take-homes from this book, but not many of the case studies have aged well (especially the websites). And yes, the graphic-designer speak gets somewhat irritating. "Continuity is created through rhythmic, spatial interconnection between pages." "Repeating the poster format on top of itself, eventually bleeding outward beyond the poster's real format, elevates the communication to a sophisticated level where the image becomes signifier and signified, a poster that show There's certainly plenty of take-homes from this book, but not many of the case studies have aged well (especially the websites). And yes, the graphic-designer speak gets somewhat irritating. "Continuity is created through rhythmic, spatial interconnection between pages." "Repeating the poster format on top of itself, eventually bleeding outward beyond the poster's real format, elevates the communication to a sophisticated level where the image becomes signifier and signified, a poster that shows a posting of posters." etc.
    more
  • Leonard Houx
    March 16, 2013
    Not as great as I was expecting. It seemed as if Samara was only explaining grids and modern design as a foil to introduce postmodern design, most of which I couldn't get into. So much postmodern graphic design from the 80s and 90s just looks tacky now. There was some interesting historical information (like that Emil Ruder was one of the first designers to break the grid), but I was disappointed to learn very little about how to actually use (or not use) grids.
    more
  • Nikki
    March 20, 2008
    This book was recommended in an 'introduction to graphic design' class. Creating a design from scratch can be daunting when you have a blank screen or sheet of paper, but it becomes much easier when you start to work from a grid. I love this book because it gives you so many options and ideas regardless of the media you are working with.
    more
  • Mellie
    September 3, 2012
    This book was actually really interesting and easy to read, which is something that I don't often get to say about design books. They usually only tick one of those boxes. It's given me a lot to ponder, and as someone without formal design training it's cleared up how other designers get their work to look so good.
    more
  • Rita Christine
    December 2, 2013
    This was a college requirement that I've liked so much that I use now as a freelance designer. It's important information all graphic artists should be aware of. I've even asked my front-end web developer husband to read it and he found it helpful as well.
    more
  • R.Friend
    August 15, 2007
    Rockport has really set the bar for design books within the past few years, and this one is no exception. As always, great examples showcased and solid substance throughout. Organization of the book itself is quite impressive.
  • Tejas
    December 23, 2011
    Although all the examples are from the field of print design, this is a very good starting point to understand the grid and how it can be used in different ways. Breaking the grid, is not much implementable in the digital web world as of now, but it still gives a required direction to the learner.
    more
  • Felicity
    November 21, 2009
    A more advanced look at different types of grids with beautiful examples.
  • Giegie
    August 23, 2010
    membatu banget buat klo lagi mampet ide buat nge-layout, bisa liat2 trus di jdin refrensi abis itu kita modifikasi sendiri gridnya ^^v
  • Sebastián Romero
    April 26, 2013
    Muchos ejemplos más que útiles para entender cómo crear, usar y "destruir" sistemas de grillas.
  • Tori Mueller
    March 26, 2011
    I bought this book for class, but I keep it around because it is great to look at when I am working on a design project and need a little inspiration grid-wise.
  • Lauren
    January 5, 2009
    Another great design book. Helps with layouts and the many parts of putting a design together successfully. I met the author of this book and did a workshop with him in West Virginia.
  • David Skorepa
    February 11, 2014
    Amazing. Must read for junior designers especially.
  • Abbas Malek Hosseini
    September 29, 2012
    هرکسی از دوستان تمایل داره مدل های مختلف چیدمان در طرف های گرافیکی رو یاد بگیره حتما این کتاب گرید بندی رو بخونه.
  • Michelle Pereira
    January 24, 2012
    Helps with everything involving a grid, especially helpful with editorial work.
  • Pedro Albuquerque
    May 18, 2010
    Um bom guia com boas referências de melhores práticas em diagramação.
  • Amanna
    September 14, 2009
    nknm,m,m,m,m
  • Kelvin
    August 24, 2010
    Wonderful
  • Dan
    March 7, 2012
    Good explanation of the grid and how to work with it (or around it) and why it is important to maintain it weather you're Vignelli or Carson
  • Michael Sirbu
    March 6, 2016
    Michael Sirbu
  • Brian
    September 13, 2016
    Making and Breaking the Grid is a wonderful design book for any designer. From web layout to poster design, the grid can bring structure to any design.Highly recommend A+
  • Emily
    November 5, 2012
    Remarkable. Before reading this book, I never thought there was so much to say about grids. A fabulous source of inspiration for visual projects!
  • Guilherme Gontijo
    September 7, 2015
    ótimo!
  • Katy Watkins
    June 2, 2012
    Great resource, full of beautiful examples and brief explanations of how grids are used. I just had a tough time forcing myself to read it.
Write a review