The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9)
A family road trip is supposed to be a lot of fun . . . unless, of course, you’re the Heffleys. The journey starts off full of promise, then quickly takes several wrong turns. Gas station bathrooms, crazed seagulls, a fender bender, and a runaway pig—not exactly Greg Heffley’s idea of a good time. But even the worst road trip can turn into an adventure—and this is one the Heffleys won’t soon forget.

The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9) Details

TitleThe Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 4th, 2014
PublisherAmulet Books
ISBN-139781419711893
Rating
GenreHumor, Fiction, Childrens, Middle Grade

The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9) Review

  • Bookworm007
    January 1, 1970
    Whoot! Whoot! Keep 'em comin', Kinney!!edit on November 10th, 2014This book was so, so, sooooo funny. When I got to the part about (view spoiler)[the seagull flying into their minivan to try and steal Greg's bag of cheese curls, only to end up wrecking havoc, I couldn't help but picture how awesome that scene would've been in a live-action movie. Too bad the movie franchise isn't going to continue. :(Rowley was only mentioned once in the entire book, but that was ok. (hide spoiler)] The road tri Whoot! Whoot! Keep 'em comin', Kinney!!edit on November 10th, 2014This book was so, so, sooooo funny. When I got to the part about (view spoiler)[the seagull flying into their minivan to try and steal Greg's bag of cheese curls, only to end up wrecking havoc, I couldn't help but picture how awesome that scene would've been in a live-action movie. Too bad the movie franchise isn't going to continue. :(Rowley was only mentioned once in the entire book, but that was ok. (hide spoiler)] The road trip was a nice break from Greg's usual school/home/neighborhood setting.
    more
  • Archit Ojha
    January 1, 1970
    Oink!#Everything that the pig did was hilarious and made me wish he come back. And guess what the prince got his elixir back.#Manny boasting his Spanish skills. I bet he's flying to space by the time he hits 5th grade.A family trip out of a magazine?Not quite like it.The looooooooooong haul was a cracker jacker. Lows and further lows of a family trip coming about.The book is a total laughter riot and if you have come as far as this, I can safely assume that you too are attached to this book. Add Oink!#Everything that the pig did was hilarious and made me wish he come back. And guess what the prince got his elixir back.#Manny boasting his Spanish skills. I bet he's flying to space by the time he hits 5th grade.A family trip out of a magazine?Not quite like it.The looooooooooong haul was a cracker jacker. Lows and further lows of a family trip coming about.The book is a total laughter riot and if you have come as far as this, I can safely assume that you too are attached to this book. Addicted, I may say. This series is so compelling. Like those chain messages which you can't ignore for the fear of a unlucky Saturday.(view spoiler)[The key being found in the pocket itself of none other than Greg. I wonder how many times that has happened to everyone of us? (hide spoiler)] GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES OF THE DECADE
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    January 1, 1970
    The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9), Jeff Kinney Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul is a children's novel written by Jeff Kinney and is the ninth book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. On April 28, 2014, Kinney announced the book's name and its cover color. The book was released on November 5, 2014 in the UK. After summer vacation starts, Greg's mother Susan announces that the family is going on a road trip. At a cheap low-end motel that night, Greg and Rodrick decide to go to the pool, The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9), Jeff Kinney Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul is a children's novel written by Jeff Kinney and is the ninth book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. On April 28, 2014, Kinney announced the book's name and its cover color. The book was released on November 5, 2014 in the UK. After summer vacation starts, Greg's mother Susan announces that the family is going on a road trip. At a cheap low-end motel that night, Greg and Rodrick decide to go to the pool, but find that there is no water in it. There is a hot tub nearby, but it is occupied by a family and they cannot convince the family to let them use it. They return to their room to find that the rest of the family has fallen asleep, taking up the bed. Rodrick proceeds to make a bed for himself out of sofa cushions leaving Greg to sleep in the closet. He falls asleep for a few minutes before being woken up by kids who were playing with a cleaning cart. Greg yells at them for causing a commotion, making the smallest kid cry and call for his father, who nearly catches Greg. Greg nicknames the family the "Beardos". ...تاریخ نخستین خوانش: دوم ماه مارس سال 2016 میلادیعنوان: خاطرات یک بیعرضه: جلد 9، دفترچه نارنجی؛ نویسنده و تصویرگر: جف کینی؛ مترجم: ندا شادنظر؛ مشخصات نشر: تهران، ایران بان، چاپ نخست 1394، در 224 ص، مصور، فروست: خاطرات یک بیعرضه جلد 9، شابک جلد 9: 9786001881978؛ موضوع: داستانهای فکاهی مصور، دفترچه های خاطرات، مدرسه ها، داستان؛ گروه سنی ب و جا. شربیانی
    more
  • সালমান হক
    January 1, 1970
    মনটা একদম ফুরফুরে হয়ে গেল। একটানা কলাস করে সটরেস এর একদম চূড়ানত পরযায়ে পৌছে গিয়েছিলাম, কিনতু এই বইটা শেষ করার পর সতযি একদম রিফরেশড লাগছে। :) গত দুইটা বই এ সিরিজ এর হিউমর এর যে কাম বযাক ঘটেছিল তা এই বইতে একদম পরিপূরণতা পেয়েছে, আর এইবারের পলটটাও একটু আউট অফ দয বকস । কারণ বই এ গরেগ আর ওর ফযামিলিকে ঘিরেই পুরা কাহিনী। বাড়তি কযারেকটার একদম নেই বললেও চলে যার কারণে আরো বেশী ভালো লেগেছে। গরেগ এর ছোটবেলার কিছু কথা আর গলপ যে বিভিনন যায়গায় বের হয়ে এসেছে তা সতযিই মজার। :D এইবারের কাহিনীতে গরেগ এর মার বুদধিত মনটা একদম ফুরফুরে হয়ে গেল। একটানা ক্লাস করে স্ট্রেস এর একদম চূড়ান্ত পর্যায়ে পৌছে গিয়েছিলাম, কিন্তু এই বইটা শেষ করার পর সত্যি একদম রিফ্রেশড লাগছে। :) গত দুইটা বই এ সিরিজ এর হিউমর এর যে কাম ব্যাক ঘটেছিল তা এই বইতে একদম পরিপূর্ণতা পেয়েছে, আর এইবারের প্লটটাও একটু আউট অফ দ্য বক্স । কারণ বই এ গ্রেগ আর ওর ফ্যামিলিকে ঘিরেই পুরা কাহিনী। বাড়তি ক্যারেকটার একদম নেই বললেও চলে যার কারণে আরো বেশী ভালো লেগেছে। গ্রেগ এর ছোটবেলার কিছু কথা আর গল্প যে বিভিন্ন যায়গায় বের হয়ে এসেছে তা সত্যিই মজার। :D এইবারের কাহিনীতে গ্রেগ এর মার বুদ্ধিতে ওরা পরিবারের সবাই মিলে রোডট্রিপে বের হয়। আর যেহেতু হেফলী ফ্যামিলির রোডট্রিপ, শুরু থেকে শেষ পর্যন্ত একের পর এক মজার ঘটনা। মজা আরো বেশী লেগেছে ম্যানি আর ওর ছোট শুকরের বাচ্চার ঘটনা গুলোতে । আর এবার ম্যানির দিকে জেফ আরো বেশী মনোযোগ দিয়েছে মনে হল। সাথে রডরিকের চালাকী মার্কা কাজকর্ম তো ছিলই। :) সব মিলিয়ে নি:সন্দেহে সিরিজ এর অন্যতম সেরা বই এটা। হাতে টাইম থাকলে বসে যেতে পারেন। হাসি থামাতে পারবেন না।
    more
  • Vani
    January 1, 1970
    What a lovely way to start my new year! I bought this book as a gift for a kid and ended up finishing it before she had even read the first page. So as it happens, Greg Heffley, a middle schooler had planned to spend his summer holidays in front of the TV when his mother announced: "Pack your bags, we're going on a road trip!" Not a surprise, Greg is peeved. To complicate his life, his Mom has picked up all her crazy holiday ideas from an article she read in Family Frolic magazine. Greg's family What a lovely way to start my new year! I bought this book as a gift for a kid and ended up finishing it before she had even read the first page. So as it happens, Greg Heffley, a middle schooler had planned to spend his summer holidays in front of the TV when his mother announced: "Pack your bags, we're going on a road trip!" Not a surprise, Greg is peeved. To complicate his life, his Mom has picked up all her crazy holiday ideas from an article she read in Family Frolic magazine. Greg's family is nothing like those "perfect families" they show on the cover of travel magazines, but that matters nothing. His life turns a hell as he squeezes himself alongside all those overfull bags piled on the last seat of their family car. As if his brothers, Rodrick and Manny were not enough, he picks a fight with the kids of a weird family; there is a pig that his mother wins at a village fair that must now stick with them; the dirty hotels where they stay; their car that conks off; loss of hotel room keys that they must deal with; unsavoury food and much more. This book is packed with all the spice that's typical of Jeff Kinney. Funny gags. Relatable characters. Greg is my favourite. Rodrick too. Oh, and by the way, the pig is really cute. Very well-written, indeed! Waiting for the movie adaptation now.
    more
  • [Shai] The Bibliophage
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of the best books in this series that I've read so far. The funny road trip of the Heffley family will definitely make anyone laugh including that part where Manny won that pig. I thought that pig will never be reunited with Manny but in the end, that pig saved them.
    more
  • Ryk Stanton
    January 1, 1970
    I've been critical of the last few books in this series, feeling they were played out. Not so with this book! Kinney has revitalized this series with this latest installment - there were some genuine laugh-out-loud moments :)I think what he did was abandoned all of the static characters he had relied on for cheap yuks and instead focused on Greg interacting with his family as they go on a road trip -- an awful, chaotic, hilarious road trip.You could read ths book solo, but I think the series is I've been critical of the last few books in this series, feeling they were played out. Not so with this book! Kinney has revitalized this series with this latest installment - there were some genuine laugh-out-loud moments :)I think what he did was abandoned all of the static characters he had relied on for cheap yuks and instead focused on Greg interacting with his family as they go on a road trip -- an awful, chaotic, hilarious road trip.You could read ths book solo, but I think the series is with the time and money. These are fast reads for adults, fun reads for kids, and funny reads for all.
    more
  • Erin ☕ *Proud Book Hoarder*
    January 1, 1970
    3.5As always, cute. My son and I read these every year when they come out. I genuinely laugh out loud at least three times with each book. This one was just as funny in ways, but weaker in others since it took a hilarious situation and amped it up a little unrealistically. Sure, its all kids fiction, but this one is more far-fetched than the others. The magic and charm is humor that can be related to. This one has plenty to relate to, but goes over the top at the same time. It's a humor for kids 3.5As always, cute. My son and I read these every year when they come out. I genuinely laugh out loud at least three times with each book. This one was just as funny in ways, but weaker in others since it took a hilarious situation and amped it up a little unrealistically. Sure, its all kids fiction, but this one is more far-fetched than the others. The magic and charm is humor that can be related to. This one has plenty to relate to, but goes over the top at the same time. It's a humor for kids who can sympathize, and adults who remember. Love these books and they haven't grown old.
    more
  • James
    January 1, 1970
    O my goodness I had no idea you were giving out a new book! I have all of your DOAWK books and they all deserve 5 stars.I know you have been writing stories for a while so it is not as hard as it is for me at the end of third grade. Meanwhile I love your stories and definitely would appreciate it if you would give me your next book for half price.
    more
  • Viuna
    January 1, 1970
    I love dairy of wimpy kid
  • Pooja
    January 1, 1970
    I loved loved loved this book!This is the best of the best.A road trip, that too Greg's family, what can anyone ask for more?This diary reminded me of all the travel diaries I wrote myself and how funny they would be to read in this age.Gregory tells his story with such a pace, simplicity that he knew it was meant to happen with him, so yeah, just chill, get your seat belts on and stay amazed because this book is an adventure in itself.But hey, hey, hey, if you think that only Gregory's family i I loved loved loved this book!This is the best of the best.A road trip, that too Greg's family, what can anyone ask for more?This diary reminded me of all the travel diaries I wrote myself and how funny they would be to read in this age.Gregory tells his story with such a pace, simplicity that he knew it was meant to happen with him, so yeah, just chill, get your seat belts on and stay amazed because this book is an adventure in itself.But hey, hey, hey, if you think that only Gregory's family is having a vacation because Mom suggested it from her equally funny magazines, then hold on, they are not alone.A boat, a pig, seagull, a mini van, funeral cars, water park, lockers, motels, Beardos, theft, Manny speaking Spanish, beach, Mom's weird games and what not. All of it, making the trip, indeed, a long long haul!I'm so glad to finally have read this book.
    more
  • Anna
    January 1, 1970
    Συνήθως τα οικογενειακά roadtrips είναι ευχάριστες οικογενειακές εμπειρίες που ενδυναμώνουν τις σχέσεις των μελών τους κλπ κλπ... Αν πρόκειται για την οικογένεια Χέφλι, πάντως, οι διακοπές θυμίζουν κάτι από το τρελό θηριοτροφείο πάει διακοπές! Περιπέτειες που ξεπερνάνε κάθε φαντασία, μια σειρά από ατυχή γεγονότα που όλα ξεκινάνε με καλές προθέσεις, αλλά καταλήγουν... άκρως δραματικά!!!
    more
  • Aysha
    January 1, 1970
    The Long Haul
  • Ariel
    January 1, 1970
    I have read this entire hilarious series along with my daughter who grew up with it and is now in High School. I have also substituted in an elementary school media center for several years I can attest that nothing flies off the shelf faster than a Wimpy Kid book. The kids fight over who gets to check them out. In this latest installment the Heffley family decide to take a road trip that fortunately for the reader goes horribly wrong. If you work with grade school children or have them you are I have read this entire hilarious series along with my daughter who grew up with it and is now in High School. I have also substituted in an elementary school media center for several years I can attest that nothing flies off the shelf faster than a Wimpy Kid book. The kids fight over who gets to check them out. In this latest installment the Heffley family decide to take a road trip that fortunately for the reader goes horribly wrong. If you work with grade school children or have them you are probably familiar with Flat Stanley and the popular Captain Underpants series and Kinney lampoons both of them hysterically. The family road trip begins with a dive hotel that seemed familiar to some I have encountered. From there things go downhill with the acquisition of a pig ( you have to read it to see how cute the pig is), stalking by another family road tripping, numerous mishaps to the family vehicle, and a run in with a seagull. I am not a person prone to laughing out loud when reading but I did so several times with this book. I can empathize with the mom's desire to get rid of her husbands toy that is clogging the yard. Some of my favorite moments from the book included the high jinks that ensue when the dad tries to take a conference call in the car with an important client and the episode that results in the father running across a hotel parking lot with his pants around his ankles. Anyone who is in a family, kids, or parents, will find this book highly relatable. As an aside my daughter waited in line six hours to meet Jeff Kinney at the Miami Book Fair when he released Cabin Fever. He brought down the kids who are in the movies to sign posters too. The wait was absolutely worth it as it was the highlight of my daughter's life. Even though Jeff Kinney signed thousands of books that day he took time to speak to my daughter and was so incredibly nice. Kids also love his educational poptropica site so if you have them check that out as well.
    more
  • Philip
    January 1, 1970
    Greg Heffley is my hero:He can do no wrong.I guess technically Jeff Kinney is my hero who can do no wrong. Heffley gets himself into all kinds of trouble for being able to only make the wrong decisions - his words, not mine. (He compares his life to a Choose Your Own Adventure; even in those books his decision making is suspect...)As always, parts of this were a little too unrealistic - dangling Manny into the van through the sunroof via a fishing pole, for instance. That kind of humor is too mu Greg Heffley is my hero:He can do no wrong.I guess technically Jeff Kinney is my hero who can do no wrong. Heffley gets himself into all kinds of trouble for being able to only make the wrong decisions - his words, not mine. (He compares his life to a Choose Your Own Adventure; even in those books his decision making is suspect...)As always, parts of this were a little too unrealistic - dangling Manny into the van through the sunroof via a fishing pole, for instance. That kind of humor is too much for me. (Where was that guy from the animated gif above when you need him?)But part parts were a little too realistic as well. The end of the swimming pool scene, for instance? Oh, man: that could totally happen exactly as written. And it's horrifying.As to how that whole thing plays into the ending of the book, the choice is obvious: (view spoiler)[plant the key in Roderick's clothes and never speak of it again. In fact, before he even outlined the options, I thought to myself - why doesn't he just hide it in Roderick's stuff? Or his parents? It may not be completely honest, but no blood, no foul. And the best way too keep everybody a little bit more stress-free is to choose that outcome. (hide spoiler)]Side note: "That guy" from the animated gif above is actually Filip Horvat, a musician in the band October Light. You can see the music video where I got the gif HERE. It's really good. It's even better if you know Croatian.
    more
  • Lila
    January 1, 1970
    I laughed out loud as the family embarks on a road trip. Mom wants the trip to be fulfilling and educational. This trip is anything but! Stinky shoes win a prize at the fair. That prize is a baby pig that imprints on Manny. Clothes are stolen, accidents happen, and an attack of seagulls makes a giant mess.
    more
  • Jacko
    January 1, 1970
    i love it
  • Zainab Alaraibi
    January 1, 1970
    This book is very interesting and fuuny. It can relate to many people lives especially mine. It's hard having a baby sister/brother who always snitches. The funniest part was when Greg's mom and brother Many won a live baby pig and they had to take it. The baby pig was cute and smart.This book starts off with summer vacation. Greg is psyched and ready for no school, that until his mom came up with a plan. His mom likes to read magazine called "Family Frolic". She got the plan from an artical abo This book is very interesting and fuuny. It can relate to many people lives especially mine. It's hard having a baby sister/brother who always snitches. The funniest part was when Greg's mom and brother Many won a live baby pig and they had to take it. The baby pig was cute and smart.This book starts off with summer vacation. Greg is psyched and ready for no school, that until his mom came up with a plan. His mom likes to read magazine called "Family Frolic". She got the plan from an artical about family bonding through a car trip. Greg was a little uneasy at first. After a while of explaining, he was convinced. Along the trip many bad things happen,ranging from minor to extremely major.Greg's mom is extremely positive about things. She also likes to teach things, even if there is no reason for teaching. She has great intention on doing things, but they do not turn out.I would recommend this book to everyone, any age, any gender. It is so good.
    more
  • katyjanereads
    January 1, 1970
    1. I laughed so hard several time: a) basically everything about the pig was hilarious to me b) when Greg had to go to the vet and they filled out a pet form for him c) the seagulls attacking them in their van.2. I was very happy with this book. Some of the series wasn't as funny as the original but this one was great.3. Is this the first one where it's completely away from home and school? 4. Also, I went on a road trip this summer with my friends and the backseat was the same kind of deal. We 1. I laughed so hard several time: a) basically everything about the pig was hilarious to me b) when Greg had to go to the vet and they filled out a pet form for him c) the seagulls attacking them in their van.2. I was very happy with this book. Some of the series wasn't as funny as the original but this one was great.3. Is this the first one where it's completely away from home and school? 4. Also, I went on a road trip this summer with my friends and the backseat was the same kind of deal. We called it "the hole." 5. What kind of water park doesn't write down the person's locker number?6. Rodrick having to use a bandage for another shoe. Hahaha
    more
  • Ola Al-Najres
    January 1, 1970
    Even the trip turned into a disaster , but the Heffley's adventures were entertaining as always , and honestly speaking ... Manny is the one who makes this series fascinated 😄!
  • Prathmesh Bagul
    January 1, 1970
    very awsome book'The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Sun'Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet' - Independent'The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Big Issue'Hilarious' - TelegraphAs well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtua very awsome book'The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Sun'Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet' - Independent'The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Big Issue'Hilarious' - TelegraphAs well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, Poptropica. Jeff has been named one of TIME magazine's most influential people in the world. His original Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted 'Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years' by UK readers. Jeff lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.Get ready, Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul is coming!Greg Heffley and his family hit the road in author-illustrator Jeff Kinney's ninth installment of the phenomenal bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.
    more
  • DanielC_C1
    January 1, 1970
    Honestly, this book was a disappointment to me. Before, in the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, the things that happened were actually believable. Now I feel like Jeff's lost that spark for good ideas. It's normal for a health teacher to assign eggs to students as homework to keep them alive and for the girls to decorate them and for the boys to throw them at lockers. It is NOT normal, however, to have a 3 year old kid know how to put the keys in a car and start the engine. It's also not normal Honestly, this book was a disappointment to me. Before, in the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, the things that happened were actually believable. Now I feel like Jeff's lost that spark for good ideas. It's normal for a health teacher to assign eggs to students as homework to keep them alive and for the girls to decorate them and for the boys to throw them at lockers. It is NOT normal, however, to have a 3 year old kid know how to put the keys in a car and start the engine. It's also not normal to run into the same family for 5 times in a row. It's really not normal when your dad's on the phone with a work client, and a pig is squealing, a Spanish CD is playing, a 3 year old is crying, a giant pickup truck is honking beside you, and air is making a jet turbine sound through the sunroof of a car. It just doesn't sound believable anymore, and that's what used to draw me into the previous Wimpy Kid books. Personally I'd rate it a 3, because the things that happen are still really funny, but just not as realistic. Realistic stories in books is a big deal to me because it basically says that this could have happened right down the street. Without the realistic part, you can only think that this never happened. Which is a bummer.
    more
  • Ammar Al-qura'n
    January 1, 1970
    As a fan of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, I found this no less entertaining than the rest of the books written by Jeff Kinney. It is the latest one and only came out on Tuesday, November 4th, 2014. The book is about Greg Heffley and the rest of his family going on a surprise trip planned by their mom, and with no advance warning. The adventure that they go on is truly amazing and pretty shocking. There are countless twists and turns and things you learn later in the book that make you realize As a fan of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, I found this no less entertaining than the rest of the books written by Jeff Kinney. It is the latest one and only came out on Tuesday, November 4th, 2014. The book is about Greg Heffley and the rest of his family going on a surprise trip planned by their mom, and with no advance warning. The adventure that they go on is truly amazing and pretty shocking. There are countless twists and turns and things you learn later in the book that make you realize a number of things you couldn't before. With adventurous experiences came disastrous experiences throughout the story, and it was inevitably hilarious during most parts. This made for an overall outstanding book, and a classic by a #1 Bestseller.
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    Stayed up until the wee hours finishing this in one sitting, because once I read the first page, I couldn't stop laughing. (Or reading.) I always forget what page-turners these are, and this one was probably my favorite since Cabin Fever. Just imagine yourself crammed into a minivan for a fun family road trip . . . imagine the smelly feet, the irritating noises, the uncomfortable seat with too many boxes and bags wedged in around you . . . So. Much. Fun.And then, of course, add in the pig your l Stayed up until the wee hours finishing this in one sitting, because once I read the first page, I couldn't stop laughing. (Or reading.) I always forget what page-turners these are, and this one was probably my favorite since Cabin Fever. Just imagine yourself crammed into a minivan for a fun family road trip . . . imagine the smelly feet, the irritating noises, the uncomfortable seat with too many boxes and bags wedged in around you . . . So. Much. Fun.And then, of course, add in the pig your little brother wins at the fair, and the threatening and possibly criminal family you keep running afoul of . . . wait, that never happened to you? Well, lucky you! Because that's what happens to the Heffleys, and it's hilarious!
    more
  • Natalie Elizarraras
    January 1, 1970
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid The Long Haul was absolutely hilarious! My favorite part was when Manny spoke perfect Spanish on page 211. I wonder if Greg, Rodrick, or Manny named the pig. I also liked when the pig ate and drank all the stuff in the minibar when the Heffleys stayed at the hotel. Jeff Kinney should definitely write a tenth book! I recommend this series to readers who like to laugh when reading. This is going to be a trip Greg and you will never forget.
    more
  • Moiz Shaikh
    January 1, 1970
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
  • Gary Butler
    January 1, 1970
    1st book read in 2015.Number 303 out of 429 on my all time book list.Follow the link below to see my video review:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5f6M...
  • Fizzgig76
    January 1, 1970
    Summer break is a time for relaxing, but Greg Heffley’s summer is about to get a lot less fun. When his mother decides family time means a family trip with no destination (and no electronics!), even Greg realizes that this is a bad idea. Loading up the car, Greg, his mother and father, his brother Rodrick, and his little brother Manny hit the road with the destination of…ADVENTURE!!!! Be it a doomed trip to the beach with an angry gull, a county fair with a piglet as a prize, or the mysterious B Summer break is a time for relaxing, but Greg Heffley’s summer is about to get a lot less fun. When his mother decides family time means a family trip with no destination (and no electronics!), even Greg realizes that this is a bad idea. Loading up the car, Greg, his mother and father, his brother Rodrick, and his little brother Manny hit the road with the destination of…ADVENTURE!!!! Be it a doomed trip to the beach with an angry gull, a county fair with a piglet as a prize, or the mysterious Beardo family that seems to be following their every footstep, Greg’s just hoping he makes it home in one piece.Written and illustrated by Jeff Kinney, Diary of a Wimpy Kid 9: The Long Haul was released on November 4, 2014. Followign Diary of a Wimpy Kid 8: Hard Luck in 2013, Kinney’s successful line of illustrated books continues to be bestsellers.I read the first Diary of a Wimpy Kid book shortly after it was released and enjoyed it immensely as an adult. Kinney’s stories within the book definitely echo some true events and Greg’s attitude toward them is very real as a kid. While some entries in this book play down Greg’s age, this volume does keep with Greg’s appropriate age but the story is sometimes less compelling and more surreal than some of the entries.I was one of the few people that liked family trips at any age (it was just great to get away from home). I do recognize however that family trips often turn into disaster (a marathon one-day drive from Maine to Indiana and struggles to find a hotel is an example of that). Much of this aspect of the book ring true to me, but this entry in the series does dip into less than realistic storylines as well.Though the pig was cute, I don’t see these characters taking a piglet on a journey, keeping it in a hotel (expecting their return back), and getting it to use a toilet. I had laugh-out-loud moments with the aggressive seagull because that could happen and a majority of the story could happen. Greg’s parents always have meant well in the series, but they aren’t idiots and something like a puppy or a kitten would have been a more realistic approach with the same results (besides who forces a pig on a person…even at a fair?)I also felt that the ending was a bit of a letdown. It was pretty obvious where it was leading and events in the book series always payoff (like the Spanish), but referring back to the Choose-Your-Own-Adventure book for the actual ending sequence was a bit of a copout on Kinney’s behalf (though I loved the reference to every choice is horrible in Choose-Your-Own-Adventure books…no matter how mundane).Diary of a Wimpy Kid 9: The Long Haul shows that the series still has teeth, but some of them are a bit loose. I like when Kinney sticks to more realistic portrayals of characters and really had hoped that they were going to Disney World (as a past trip was mentioned at the beginning) because it would have given the characters more of a Wallyworld goal in a National Lampoon’s Vacation sense. Still it is a quick and fun read and kids will enjoy it and gobble it up…like an uncooked can of cinnamon biscuits.
    more
  • Jesse Salcido
    January 1, 1970
    What I thought of the book was very funny. In the book the Heffleys are going on vacation to Disney Land and with everything in the back including Greg, their trip will have many things up against them.My favorite part was when Greg's younger brother Manny won a baby pig from a contest and they took the pig it had to go to the bathroom Greg had to take it and himself to the restroom, but the pig refused to use it and used Manny's little plastic potty instead. I reccomend this to anyone like thes What I thought of the book was very funny. In the book the Heffleys are going on vacation to Disney Land and with everything in the back including Greg, their trip will have many things up against them.My favorite part was when Greg's younger brother Manny won a baby pig from a contest and they took the pig it had to go to the bathroom Greg had to take it and himself to the restroom, but the pig refused to use it and used Manny's little plastic potty instead. I reccomend this to anyone like these books.
    more
  • Brandon
    January 1, 1970
    This book is very funny. It’s about a kid named Greg who has many bad and unlucky experiences. Greg’s mom wants the family to go on a road trip. The road trip was a complete failure. For example, at the fair, the family unintentionally won a pet pig. Greg and his family had to take the pet pig with them for much of their road trip. I would recommend this book if you like humorous books because it often had me laughing out loud.
    more
Write a review