Star Wars
The Rebel Alliance's newest recruits are teamed with its greatest heroes to hatch a plot and pull off a heist right under the noses of the Empire's finest. Can Han Solo, Princess Leia, and others live up to their legends, or will they be found to have feet of clay? Or, is it possible, that their most obvious weaknesses might also be their greatest strengths?Matt Kindt, the acclaimed author of MIND MGMT and 3 Story, and artist Marco Castiello of Halo: Initiation, step into the Star Wars galaxy to weave a tale of danger, intrigue, and outrageous misdirection.Collecting: Star Wars: Rebel Heist 1-4

Star Wars Details

TitleStar Wars
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 21st, 2014
PublisherDark Horse Comics
ISBN1616555009
ISBN-139781616555009
Number of pages94 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Media Tie In, Star Wars, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics

Star Wars Review

  • April Cote
    April 6, 2015
    This beautiful cover with Han Solo had me sold without reading it. Drooling! But I did read it and loved it. It's Star Wars, with Ham Solo being his cool, handsome self. Can't wait to read more of this series.Merged review:This issue was all Princess Leia being her bad-ass self. Love the cover art! Enjoyed this issue.
    more
  • A Voracious Reader (a.k.a. Carol)
    October 6, 2015
    *Book source ~ LibraryFrom Goodreads:The Rebel Alliance's newest recruits are teamed with its greatest heroes to hatch a plot and pull off a heist right under the noses of the Empire's finest. Can Han Solo, Princess Leia, and others live up to their legends, or will they be found to have feet of clay? Or, is it possible, that their most obvious weaknesses might also be their greatest strengths? Matt Kindt, the acclaimed author of "MIND MGMT" and "3 Story," and artist Marco Castiello of "Halo: In *Book source ~ LibraryFrom Goodreads:The Rebel Alliance's newest recruits are teamed with its greatest heroes to hatch a plot and pull off a heist right under the noses of the Empire's finest. Can Han Solo, Princess Leia, and others live up to their legends, or will they be found to have feet of clay? Or, is it possible, that their most obvious weaknesses might also be their greatest strengths? Matt Kindt, the acclaimed author of "MIND MGMT" and "3 Story," and artist Marco Castiello of "Halo: Initiation," step into the "Star Wars" galaxy to weave a tale of danger, intrigue, and outrageous misdirection.While I like the artwork it tends to be a bit on the Dark Side. <--see what I did there? hehe I crack me up. Anyway, what I mean is a lot of it is in the greys and blues. Which I guess makes some sense because the Alliance works in the shadows and such. Or am I putting too much thought into it? So, it’s not all sneaky-looking. There are some very colorful scenes as well.The story is told from several POVs and I really enjoyed how all the pieces came together in the end. There’s action, mystery, suspense and fun to be had in this volume. I recommend it for any Star Wars fan.
    more
  • Scott (GrilledCheeseSamurai)
    July 30, 2014
    What a great way for Dark Horse to say goodbye to its long and illustrious friendship with Star Wars. Rebel Heist was far to short, and I would have been happy reading at least another 4 issues of it. I loved the different viewpoints, the narration from B-list characters talking about our beloved Star Wars heroes was a nice refreshing spin on things.All in all, a great little caper. I can only hope that Marvel will bring us new Star Wars tales that will live up to the legacy that Dark Horse has What a great way for Dark Horse to say goodbye to its long and illustrious friendship with Star Wars. Rebel Heist was far to short, and I would have been happy reading at least another 4 issues of it. I loved the different viewpoints, the narration from B-list characters talking about our beloved Star Wars heroes was a nice refreshing spin on things.All in all, a great little caper. I can only hope that Marvel will bring us new Star Wars tales that will live up to the legacy that Dark Horse has already provided.
    more
  • Ruel
    January 21, 2015
    2.5 stars.Set during the time between Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back, Rebel Heist features Luke, Leia, Han, and Chewie in a mission to get an imperial code. It's a familiar story with plenty of Star Wars-isms. Unfortunately, the multiple points of view all read like a fanboy appreciation of whatever character is being followed. All of the rah-rah-go-Luke-Leia-Han-Chewie-go-aren't-they-great of the different narrators gets real old real fast.The ending was corny, but at least the art was t 2.5 stars.Set during the time between Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back, Rebel Heist features Luke, Leia, Han, and Chewie in a mission to get an imperial code. It's a familiar story with plenty of Star Wars-isms. Unfortunately, the multiple points of view all read like a fanboy appreciation of whatever character is being followed. All of the rah-rah-go-Luke-Leia-Han-Chewie-go-aren't-they-great of the different narrators gets real old real fast.The ending was corny, but at least the art was terrific and the pace of the story was fast. Bonus: no Jar Jar! I'd recommend Rebel Heist for diehard Star Wars fans only.
    more
  • Matt
    January 12, 2015
    Having all the story lines connect at the end worked really well. I enjoyed each individual story, but not always the narration. Two of the narrators come to some kind of realization at the end, and their change of heart wasn't very convincing to me. The ending didn't make much sense to me. Was this going to continue at one point?
    more
  • Katie
    November 2, 2015
    Oops, forgot to review this. This was a weird time. It wasn't really a story? It was more like a bunch of perspectives of new rebel recruits as they encounter the OG Star Wars crew. I kinda...didn't like how they portrayed them, either? But it was different, I'll give them that.
    more
  • Nia Dragin
    July 11, 2014
    Awesome. Chewbacca is one of those silent and strong characters in the world, and those are the most difficult to write because all the strength revolves around their actions, how they interpret the world around them and how they influence the characters around them. So Kindt did an amazing job with this issue, as it follows Chewbacca while he gets the codes to the rest of the Rebel Forces. He’s leading a traitor of the Empire, who carries important codes of the Empire within his DNA, and the ma Awesome. Chewbacca is one of those silent and strong characters in the world, and those are the most difficult to write because all the strength revolves around their actions, how they interpret the world around them and how they influence the characters around them. So Kindt did an amazing job with this issue, as it follows Chewbacca while he gets the codes to the rest of the Rebel Forces. He’s leading a traitor of the Empire, who carries important codes of the Empire within his DNA, and the man doesn’t have much respect for Chewbacca, spending half the issue calling him and “it”. But that’s the cleverness of the writing, it shows not only that characters growth, but it also shows the strong dynamic, the impressionable air that Chewy carries.Weekly Comic Reviews
    more
  • La Espada en la Tinta
    January 22, 2015
    Los héroes de la trilogía clásica protagonizaron el año pasado en Dark Horse una miniserie de cuatro números ("Rebel Heist" en el original) antes de que Marvel tomara las riendas de los cómics de la saga galáctica. La edición en rústica de esa miniserie es la que ahora ha publicado Planeta Cómic en España con la portada alternativa de Adam Hughes, artista que ha trabajado para diferentes editoriales como DC, Image o la propia Marvel.Asalto Rebelde está protagonizado por los héroes de las películ Los héroes de la trilogía clásica protagonizaron el año pasado en Dark Horse una miniserie de cuatro números ("Rebel Heist" en el original) antes de que Marvel tomara las riendas de los cómics de la saga galáctica. La edición en rústica de esa miniserie es la que ahora ha publicado Planeta Cómic en España con la portada alternativa de Adam Hughes, artista que ha trabajado para diferentes editoriales como DC, Image o la propia Marvel.Asalto Rebelde está protagonizado por los héroes de las películas originales de Star Wars, esto es, Han Solo, la Princesa Leia, Luke Skywalker y Chewbacca. Cada uno de ellos...Sigue leyendo...
    more
  • Robyn
    September 18, 2014
    The first issue of Rebel Heist was brilliant and promising, and now that I have finished the last issue I am entirely disappointed. All of the comics explore the different main rebels from a third person, birds-eye kind of view, which is interesting but evolved into a repetitive annoyed fan dedication. All of the issues basically said the same thing, "I am in awe blank persons, don't blanks persons kick ass? Look how dedicated blank persons are,"....and then the story just sort of evaporated. My The first issue of Rebel Heist was brilliant and promising, and now that I have finished the last issue I am entirely disappointed. All of the comics explore the different main rebels from a third person, birds-eye kind of view, which is interesting but evolved into a repetitive annoyed fan dedication. All of the issues basically said the same thing, "I am in awe blank persons, don't blanks persons kick ass? Look how dedicated blank persons are,"....and then the story just sort of evaporated. My suspicion is that Dark Horse simply brushed this series under the rug and didn't care about a cohesive or progression story like for the redundant last HOO-RAH!
    more
  • Cale
    October 28, 2016
    This is a kind of strange piece - it's kind of a recruitment collection, with each issue focused on a different person's perspective of the classic Star Wars characters, although they all end up tying into one main story. The perspective is interesting - especially the first one whose perspective on Han is definitely colored by circumstances. It's an interesting approach and it does succeed, but it's hampered a bit by an art style that doesn't quite capture the classic characters. It's a nice ad This is a kind of strange piece - it's kind of a recruitment collection, with each issue focused on a different person's perspective of the classic Star Wars characters, although they all end up tying into one main story. The perspective is interesting - especially the first one whose perspective on Han is definitely colored by circumstances. It's an interesting approach and it does succeed, but it's hampered a bit by an art style that doesn't quite capture the classic characters. It's a nice addition to the Star Wars canon, but it's not something I would point new readers to read first.
    more
  • Michael
    March 20, 2015
    Good graphic novel, but not the best send off from Dark Horse. The characters seemed very violent, which I didn't like that much. I find it hard to believe that Leia would poison Imperial Spies to death and that Chewbacca could kill a Rancor single-handedly...Other than that, the book was paced well, fit together in the end, and had an interesting narrative. Would have been better if the art weren't so sketchy, but the characters were easy enough to read.
    more
  • John Bonilla
    November 11, 2015
    Esos últimos 5 cuadros me desconcertaron, Sí, robaron el generador para la base en Hoth, eso lo entendí, pero esos últimos 5 cuadros ¿qué?Al menos estuvo genial como relacionaron los 5 tomos para un solo rescate, aunque estuvo de más que se entregaran o aún no capto la idea de los rebeldes al hacer eso, o tal vez sí.Estuvo medio confuso, pero me gustó al final, la parte de la guerra sin super combates, solo estrategia.
    more
  • Michael Alexander Henke
    November 15, 2014
    A quick 4 issue Star Wars story. The story takes place in between Episodes IV and V and was quite fun. Each issue focuses on one of the core heroes, Han, Leia, Chewie, and Luke. At first each issue feels disparate and doesn't seem to have anything to do with the others, but they are all tied together in the end. Good stuff.
    more
  • Chris
    September 27, 2015
    It should have worked better than it did. I'm not sure whether it was too short, the narrators of various sections were too impressed with the heroes, or whether the format - graphic novel/comic book - was somehow not right for the story. So, interesting idea - seeing Han, Leia, Luke, and Chewie from the point of view of other rebels - disappointing execution.
    more
  • Jedi Sunni
    April 4, 2016
    Really great read which has quite a bit of the star wars universe we know so well. Some notables include an ephantmon and Rancor which were very cool. I think it's pretty neat to see how the empire rallied others to their cause. My rating for this issue is 4.5 out of 5.0.
    more
  • Maria
    January 27, 2015
    3.5I liked the last of the 4 the best. Not sure why - but the structure of the stories just didn't resonate for me. The narrator captions felt intrusive. I liked the last because it pulled all the pieces together and that narrator's voice didn't feel as our of place.
    more
  • Mathew Carruthers
    February 18, 2015
    Good story and art - interconnected views of original canon characters as seen by newly recruited rebels. All in all, a fun caper story set in the Rebellion era Star Wars universe.
  • Dony Grayman
    January 1, 2016
    Edición argentina. Primer tomo del Coleccionable Prestige de Clarín/Ovni.
  • Jason
    September 9, 2015
    An interesting perspective, no doubt--the main characters of Star Wars as seen exclusively through others' eyes, but the story itself was a little disjointed and anticlimactic.
  • James
    March 5, 2016
    Great story. Tells what it is like for the little people in the Rebellion when they are around Luke, Leia, Han and Chewbacca.
  • Craig
    October 22, 2014
    This one was a lot of fun and a different take on the typical hero story - a first person view from someone watching them in action.Dark Horse, I'm going to miss you...
  • Kelly K
    March 9, 2015
    It's the stories like this that make me glad the EU isn't canon.
  • Jemiah Jefferson
    May 16, 2015
    Oddly disappointing. Everything should have worked, but none did, at least not in dialogue. Kindt's covers are good, though, so it adds a star to the rating.
  • Keith
    October 26, 2014
    Dark Horse saved the one of the best Star Wars whole-gang stories for last.
  • Robert
    May 18, 2016
    Interwoven issues - high style for a star wars comic.
  • Daniel
    October 8, 2014
    It was a good comic book. It was interesting. It was as if I got to live beside the original four stars of Star Wars. It was cool.Too bad it's not canon anymore.
Write a review