Romeo, Juliet, and Jim
Shakespeare meets Gossip Girl in this modern-day tale of two star-crossed lovers that soon becomes a love triangle in the first book of a trilogy.Romeo and Juliet seem to have it all. They are heirs to the two greatest and oldest fashion houses Paris has ever seen, the House of Montague and the rival House of Capulet. They live in stunning penthouses, attend glamorous parties, count celebrities and supermodels among their closest friends. Yet the one thing they want most they can’t have—each other. Juliet is tired of a clandestine relationship. She wants to run off together and escape. Enter Jim, a mysterious rugged American who swoops in and befriends the young lovers. They don’t have to hide their romance from him—they can be themselves. But just who is Jim, really? Once Romeo and Juliet find out that their new friend has his own troubling connections within their world, all three of them have a lot to figure out. Because there’s a lot at stake. And on top of it all, Juliet and Jim are falling in love. Can Romeo win back his lover's heart? Or will Juliet and Jim rewrite the ending of the world's most famous love story?

Romeo, Juliet, and Jim Details

TitleRomeo, Juliet, and Jim
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Retellings, Contemporary

Romeo, Juliet, and Jim Review

  • Stacee
    June 3, 2017
    Anything R+J is an auto buy and I loved this premise...sadly it was severely disappointing. This Romeo and Juliet are so dramatic it's ridiculous. The story pretty much went from "omg we're so in love, let's run away together" to "omg why didn't he/she email more than one sentence" to "he/she clearly loves someone else even though they're doing the exact same things they always have." It was a lot of interpreting glances and photos. There are entire chapters without dialogue. Needless to say, it Anything R+J is an auto buy and I loved this premise...sadly it was severely disappointing. This Romeo and Juliet are so dramatic it's ridiculous. The story pretty much went from "omg we're so in love, let's run away together" to "omg why didn't he/she email more than one sentence" to "he/she clearly loves someone else even though they're doing the exact same things they always have." It was a lot of interpreting glances and photos. There are entire chapters without dialogue. Needless to say, it got really old really fast. I did like the addition of Jim, but he quickly added to the drama. It felt like he stirred things up whenever he had the chance. It was interesting to see how a modern day R+J made it: the shared email account was pretty clever. But why not get some burner phones or something?The last few chapters were absolutely infuriating and it literally ends with the narrator of sorts asking various questions. Is this going to be a series or are we supposed to be satisfied with the disjointed epilogue?Regardless, I was disappointed in how R+J were portrayed and the entire book felt like a clever idea with a horrible execution. **Huge thanks to Henry Holt for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Rachel (APCB Reviews)
    March 5, 2017
    This book instantly intrigued me because it's basically a modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet with a Gossip Girl twist to it.In this reimagining of Romeo and Juliet, the Houses of Capulet and Montague are fashion companies. I loved that this story is centered around the fashion world of Paris! I love following the lives of the uber wealthy in novels and their rich people problems, and this book definitely captivated me. The setting of this novel is Paris, France, and I love the inclusion of Fre This book instantly intrigued me because it's basically a modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet with a Gossip Girl twist to it.In this reimagining of Romeo and Juliet, the Houses of Capulet and Montague are fashion companies. I loved that this story is centered around the fashion world of Paris! I love following the lives of the uber wealthy in novels and their rich people problems, and this book definitely captivated me. The setting of this novel is Paris, France, and I love the inclusion of French fashion, culture, and the language in the book. I hope the subsequent book expands on the setting and utilizes it to its full potential. And yes, this is apparently the first book in a trilogy! This book lacks the carefree nature of Gossip Girl and the plot was definitely heavy at times. It definitely plays off of the drama of Romeo and Juliet. The authors did a great job modernizing the tale, and I really appreciated the nods to the play and the parts where the authors took liberties to make the story different. Adding a third wheel to this tale, Jim, is what really drew me to this book. I wanted to see how the star-crossed lovers would respond with a confidant in the middle of their mess.The romance in this book felt as dramatic, helpless, and doomed as the romance in the play. I just felt so bad for these characters! They love each other, and they can't be together because of their families. This book did so much more "tell" than "show" but the little romance and affection shown on the pages was pretty cute. The writing in this book is simple and addictive. Some of the plot was really predictable while a few scenes were a shock to me. I wish I had more to say about this book, but overall I just wasn't really impressed. I was entertained enough to keep reading though, and I will definitely read the next book!
    more
  • Bookevin
    June 18, 2017
    DNF: 19th JuneI think I'll set this aside for the time being. I might pick this up again in the future, but right now, I am not in the mood for this.
  • Teresa
    November 25, 2016
    Alright, this book was difficult for me to like but there were some great aspects of this story so I am going to start with what I liked and go from there.Things I liked: 1. The setting, Paris...one of my favorite cities in the world. When reading the parts where the characters are roaming the streets, seeing the sights...it made me what to be walking right there with them. 2. I have to say that I really did like the way the characters were introduced. Romeo and Juliet as heirs to the uber famo Alright, this book was difficult for me to like but there were some great aspects of this story so I am going to start with what I liked and go from there.Things I liked: 1. The setting, Paris...one of my favorite cities in the world. When reading the parts where the characters are roaming the streets, seeing the sights...it made me what to be walking right there with them. 2. I have to say that I really did like the way the characters were introduced. Romeo and Juliet as heirs to the uber famous, wealthy houses of fashion that rule the scene, not only in Paris but around the world as well...IMO I felt that was a pretty great setup for a retelling of a classic.Now for some of the things I didn't care for: 1. The characters...mainly because I felt like I couldn't relate to any of them, I am sure that it is a personal thing. 2. I don't know anything about fashion, seriously...I am completely lost when it comes to anything trendy, hip, famous..you name it. I just felt that I couldn't connect with the fashion aspect of the story because I couldn't connect, and the story didn't focus on that part very much. (Maybe that will grow in the following books.) Overall, I just felt meh...I really wanted to like this book and I believe that maybe as the series progresses that I will be able to like the story. Maybe I was just at a point in my life where this just wasn't a book for me, who knows. Thanks to MacMillan and Edelweiss for the ARC!
    more
  • Reenie1721
    June 28, 2017
    Lately, all the books I randomly pick up with high hopes because the description is intriguing are really crappy. Like why-did-you-read-it crappy. Romeo, Juliet, and Jim was no exception.The rating on Goodreads should have been a clear warning that a bunch of crap was going to be shoved in a book. But stupid little me decided to spend two and a 1/2 hours reading a book I have so many feelings on. Mostly negative.Why. Just why. All of the characters are bland and boring and so stupidly clingy tha Lately, all the books I randomly pick up with high hopes because the description is intriguing are really crappy. Like why-did-you-read-it crappy. Romeo, Juliet, and Jim was no exception.The rating on Goodreads should have been a clear warning that a bunch of crap was going to be shoved in a book. But stupid little me decided to spend two and a 1/2 hours reading a book I have so many feelings on. Mostly negative.Why. Just why. All of the characters are bland and boring and so stupidly clingy that I was over it within the first few pages. The ending. WTF was even going. I reread it twice trying to get over how poorly written it was. WRAP. IT. UP. ALREADY. I swear, if Larry writes a sequel, I will burn every copy. I was hoping for a more modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet, but it's more like Larry chose to reuse the names in a bland story, hoping to sell more copies. Substitute the names of Romeo and Juliet with any common name and you will see it has no effect on the story. Because the names have no effect and meaning.Juliet. DECIDE. THERE IS NO CHEMISTRY BETWEEN YOU AND ROMEO AND YOU'RE ONLY LUSTING AFTER THIS OTHER GUY BECAUSE YOU NEVER SEE YOUR ACTUAL BOYFRIEND. She is so dependent and meaningless and selfish it was almost comedic. Like, hahahaha. Look how stupid and anti-feminist she is. I'm a feminist, and this book was an insult to all feminists out there. She is a spoiled brat that bounces from guy to guy and has no admirable qualities.Jim. The OMG HE'S SO HOT BECAUSE HE'S RICH AND HAS A MOTORCYCLE AND HAS ABS guy. DID I MENTION HE HAS ABS. BECAUSE HE HAS ABS. What Juliet was probably thinking and what made me gag. Sure, break up the steady couple and make out with the grieving girl who has a boyfriend. Take notes, guys, on how to be a douchebag.Romeo. The WHY IS HE THERE WITH "STRUGGLES" WHEN HIS PARENTS CLEARLY JUST WANT HIM TO SHOW UP AT A PARTY BUT HE ACTS LIKE IT'S THE END OF THE WORLD WHEN HIS GIRLFRIEND HAS TO CANCEL FOR FAMILY. Clingy, much? And the LET ME HAVE AN EXCUSE TO CHEAT/NOT CHEAT ON MY "GIRLFRIEND" WITH THIS SUPER HOT MODEL BECAUSE MY GIRLFRIEND'S NOT AROUND AND I CAN'T BE FAITHFUL. I'm sorry for the caps lock, but man, that felt good to release steam.
    more
  • Sydney
    June 11, 2017
    I won an ARC copy of Romeo, Juliet, and Jim from a giveaway, hosted by Fierce Reads. Romeo, Juliet, and Jim is a retelling of the classic story of the world's most famous star-crossed lovers. In this novel by Larry Schwarz and Iva-Marie Palmer, fate introduces a third party to the doomed star-crossed duo.The synopsis of Romeo, Juliet, and Jim captured my interest when it was first introduced. I was curious on reading about a new twist of fate for Romeo and Juliet. Sadly, I was disappointed wi I won an ARC copy of Romeo, Juliet, and Jim from a giveaway, hosted by Fierce Reads. Romeo, Juliet, and Jim is a retelling of the classic story of the world's most famous star-crossed lovers. In this novel by Larry Schwarz and Iva-Marie Palmer, fate introduces a third party to the doomed star-crossed duo.The synopsis of Romeo, Juliet, and Jim captured my interest when it was first introduced. I was curious on reading about a new twist of fate for Romeo and Juliet. Sadly, I was disappointed with this book. The characters of the novel were hard to connect with and appealed to me as whiny children. I felt like this version of Romeo and Juliet were only in love and pining for each other because they couldn't be together. They would constantly doubt the other's love for the other, and whine about it for chapters before going to confront the other and sort things out. Romeo, Juliet, and Jim did have it's good qualities too. I liked that the cover connects with a scene right at the beginning of the book where Juliet is on Love-Lock Bridge. I did also enjoy the aspect of the third party, Jim, the daring, mysterious American.Overall, I wouldn't necessarily recommend this to anyone because of the whiny characters, but I think anyone who is interested in Romeo and Juliet taking on a new twist of fate they may like the plot line.
    more
  • Andria Henry
    June 16, 2017
    This novel was surprisingly better than I thought it was going to be, it wasn't the same retelling we hear over and over again. Especially since we get a new person in the story named Jim. I think I enjoyed reading from Jim's view more than Juliet's and Romeo's, his was more interesting. I never knew what was going to happen with Jim. Romeo and Juliet's love story was cute, but I could tell when reading the book that they lack some trust in their relationship. The friendship that formed between This novel was surprisingly better than I thought it was going to be, it wasn't the same retelling we hear over and over again. Especially since we get a new person in the story named Jim. I think I enjoyed reading from Jim's view more than Juliet's and Romeo's, his was more interesting. I never knew what was going to happen with Jim. Romeo and Juliet's love story was cute, but I could tell when reading the book that they lack some trust in their relationship. The friendship that formed between the three was my favorite part. Many predictions are going through my head after reading the cliffhanger and they all turn out bad. It's crazy this is going to be a trilogy, how much tragedy do you want in this series?
    more
  • Donna Foster
    June 8, 2017
    You will become immersed in this teen / young adult novel that has it all.
  • Teresa Jensen
    April 28, 2017
    Melodramatic but not in a good way.
  • TJ Burns
    June 28, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from McMillan Children's Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Write a review