I'll Give You the Sun
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

I'll Give You the Sun Details

TitleI'll Give You the Sun
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 16th, 2014
PublisherDial Books
ISBN0803734964
ISBN-139780803734968
Number of pages371 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Glbt, Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Coming Of Age, Teen, Family, Art

I'll Give You the Sun Review

  • Kat O'Keeffe
    October 21, 2014
    SO FREAKIN GOOD. This just became one of my favorite books of the year, and one of my favorite contemporary novels of all time! It was funny and romantic and touching and so beautifully written! I loved it. I literally just finished it and I already want to reread it. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
    more
  • Emily May
    September 16, 2014
    This book should be called I'll Give You Death by Artistic Metaphor. It seems like I'm in the minority on this one, but I did not like the writing style at all.I guess it should be noted that I was also not a fan of the author's first novel - The Sky is Everywhere - which everyone but heartless little me seemed to love. Unlike many people I know, I picked this one up because the premise intrigued me and not because of a love for the author's previous work.You may be thinking: this is a poetic no This book should be called I'll Give You Death by Artistic Metaphor. It seems like I'm in the minority on this one, but I did not like the writing style at all.I guess it should be noted that I was also not a fan of the author's first novel - The Sky is Everywhere - which everyone but heartless little me seemed to love. Unlike many people I know, I picked this one up because the premise intrigued me and not because of a love for the author's previous work.You may be thinking: this is a poetic novel about life and loss and love... how can you be so cold?! *sigh* You would not be the first. But while I appreciate that there are some good aspects to this book like the complex characters and the frank portrayal of teen sexuality in both a heterosexual girl and a homosexual guy, the style, the endless bloody metaphors and the way it became heavy on the romance... all of that just did nothing but irritate me.There was a brief moment early on when I thought I might be reading a magical realism novel because of some of the bizarre things that seemed to be happening. But, as the story unfolded, it turns out that these are actually just overly ambitious artistic metaphors that turn almost every single paragraph into a purple and downright weird mess. Check them out: “Mom picks up a knife and thrusts it into his gut, twists. Dad forges on, oblivious.”“Jude barfs bright blue fluorescent barf all over the table, but I’m the only one who notices.”“All the hornet’s buzzed out of her. And there’s no spider to her at all.” None of these things are actually, literally happening, of course. When I read the first few paint-splattered metaphors (hehe, that's a metaphor too!), I did my single raised eyebrow face (it's epic, I assure you), but it was when I'd read over a hundred pages of constant flowery prose that I started to feel like I'd overdosed on cotton candy. I guess it's a certain type of reader who will fall in love with this prose - in short: I am not that type of reader.I am the kind of person who forges strong emotional connections with characters; or at least I do if the book is working its magic. But I also find it really difficult to engage with characters - who would otherwise pull me in - when the prose is so nauseatingly bloated with metaphors. Do any of you remember Shatter Me? Bloody hell... do I remember Shatter Me *silently fumes*And it's a shame because there were moments when I came close to feeling for these characters. Noah tugged at my heart strings because of his passion for art and how he wasn't allowed to pursue it fully; Jude's feelings of guilt and grief felt like genuine pain. But I never got into their heads because I was too busy being drowned by the metaphorical prose. Plus, I'm not even going to get started on the stereotypical way the British guy is portrayed... I'll just say that we really do not use slang words in every single sentence.The reveal at the ending can easily be guessed from reading Jude's first POV and it was a little anticlimactic. Not just because it was guessable but because it was kind of blah. I still won't give this book one star because there were some touching moments that I liked but, overall, I was pretty disappointed.Blog | Leafmarks | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • karen
    November 6, 2014
    "I love you," I say to him, only it comes out, "Hey.""So damn much," he says back, only it comes out, "Dude."♥ i think this one was also a 3.5 for me. there were things i liked SO MUCH about it, and then there were things that bothered me a little. (and not just my fear of twins this time) first to the good. i enjoyed the unusual structure - the fact that it alternates between the voices of twins noah and jude where noah's story takes place when they are 13 and jude's takes place when they are 1 "I love you," I say to him, only it comes out, "Hey.""So damn much," he says back, only it comes out, "Dude."♥ i think this one was also a 3.5 for me. there were things i liked SO MUCH about it, and then there were things that bothered me a little. (and not just my fear of twins this time) first to the good. i enjoyed the unusual structure - the fact that it alternates between the voices of twins noah and jude where noah's story takes place when they are 13 and jude's takes place when they are 16. in the three years separating the stories, a number of circumstances have driven them apart to the point where they have gone from being spookily twinclose to barely speaking. both threads are compelling - in noah's, we see an introverted young artist falling in love for the first time; discovering that with brian, he is able to really be himself, gawky dorky bits and all. this is the first time in his life he has been able to make an emotional connection with someone he hadn't once shared a womb with, and their scenes are all giddy excitement and quiet uncertainty and incredible attraction. it is perfectly written. but things in his life are not all puppy love and romps through the woods. the twins have always been competitive for their parents' attention, and at this point in their lives, the feisty cliff-diving surfer girl jude is daddy's favorite, while the talented noah is the apple of his artist mother's eye. their parents are going through a rough patch, fighting constantly. jude is growing into a young woman and carrying her wildness and risk-taking into new realms, and she's in a reckless emotional tailspin as she begins to covet what little noah has of his own - his mother's affection, a spot at the art school he desperately wants to attend, and even brian. three years later, so much has changed. jude is living a life of self-imposed penance, dictated by superstitious rituals, wearing only baggy jeans and sweatshirts, talking to the ghost of her dead grandmother, and on a complete boycott from boys. she is attending the school of noah's dreams, but is wracked with guilt over what she has done to get there, and what has happened between herself and noah to drive them apart. the writing is very gimmicky in noah's thread. it is full of these little imaginative flourishes like Jude barfs bright blue fluorescent barf all over the table, but I’m the only one who notices.andMom picks up a knife and thrusts it into his gut, twists. Dad forges on, oblivious.andWe're sprinting at the speed of light when the ground gives way and we rise into the air as if racing up stairs.and he captions every scene as though it is a painting:PORTRAIT: Jude Braiding Boy After Boy into Her HairPORTRAIT, SELF-PORTRAIT: Gray Noah Eating Gray Apples on Gray GrassPORTRAIT, SELF-PORTRAIT: Brother and Sister on a Seesaw, Blindfoldedwhich can be cloying after a while if that kind of thing irritates you, but once you get past the first couple of instances, you just kind of roll with it and it didn't personally bother me overmuch. however, because of this writerly quirk, this is one of those books i hope they never ever try to make into a movie, because the temptation to film those bits would be there, and would be the worst kind of student-film indulgence to attempt to reproduce visually. seriously - big shudders when i think of it. okay, now on to the other stuff that i wasn't crazy about.oscar. oh, oscar. i assume we are meant to swoon over oscar, a boy who appears in both noah's 13-year-old and jude's 16-year-old storylines, but i just couldn't take him seriously. oscar is the boy who tests jude's boy boycot, and he's essentially just a collection of every stereotypical teen-girl dreamboy list. - older man- english accent- motorcycle- scars- tattoos- dark past. says things like "I'm pretty sure the things I've done are far worse than whatever it is you've done.- bad boy vices- romantic cheesy lines: "Your eyes are so ethereal, your whole face is. I stared at pictures of you for hours last night. You give me chills.- leather jacket- james dean slouch- tomcat tendencies but oh-so capable of troo luv if given the opportunity- tough-guy posturing but also soooo sensitive- orphan- enigmatic- unconventional good looks- charismatic and passionate speechifier: he's like a roller coaster that talks.he's just a little silly, to me. but i am not a teenage girl, so that probably accounts for it. here is something else that bothered me: (view spoiler)[the jude and zephyr thing. so, yes, i get the fact that jude feels, in hindsight, that she was too young to have lost her virginity to an older dude, and i get that the fact that their sexytimes coinciding with her mother's death is completely psychologically scarring. but he was not an asshole, and she is putting him in the asshole role, to the extent that she spits on him when he is in the middle of helping her. he gave her several opportunities to say "no" during the act, making sure she was okay with it, which is more than most teenage boys would do in the heat of the moment. he tried to contact her after her mother died, and she refused to speak with him. he continued to watch out for her brother, as promised, despite her cutting all ties with him, and he never told anyone about what happened when noah got that unfortunate erection. these are all positive qualities in a human, and yet he is being being blamed for something she went into consensually. he wasn't some sexual predator going after the jailbait; they were both teenagers and it was clear that he had feelings for her. so while she seems to think it is really empowering to spit on him when his back is turned, it just seems really petty. there are much worse ways to lose one's virginity. better ones, too, yeah, but also much much worse ones. (hide spoiler)]and another rant about something that seems to happen in every book ever and MAKES NO SENSE: (view spoiler)[why don't people talk to each other when confusing and upsetting things happen? i understand why writers are fond of preventing these conversations - it prolongs the tension and it makes the inevitable reunions so much more satisfying because of all the unhappiness that was allowed to fester FOREVER FOR NO REASON, but why don't readers complain about it more? i seem to be the only person that this rankles.i think it's completely lazy writing. your characters can't manage one three-minute conversation? really? brian goes away after that party without bothering to say, "oh hey, by the way noah - i totally didn't kiss your sister. we cool? miss you!" but no - he goes back to school without a phone call, without an email, without a LETTER to this guy who has been the center of his social life all summer and not a peep until he comes back for break, and the misunderstanding goes on and on for the purpose of what - character building?? deferred passion allowed to grow in absentia?? it's bullshit. it just doesn't ring true. teenagers don't behave like that. NO ONE behaves like that. and yet it's practically a convention in novels. and it grates on me like nothing else. (hide spoiler)]there's one or two other things that bothered me - their father's transformation, the convenient arrival of oscar at the end, that other novelistic convention of characters making revealing speeches when (ostensibly) alone that other people overhear, a couple of other things i can't recall just now…but overall, i liked it. i don't think i looooved it as much as most people seem to, but the early scenes between noah and brian are themselves worth the price of admission. which in my case was free (thanks, nancy!) but you get my point. it's a sweet and sad little book that gets a little cloying in parts, but its heart is in the right place, and it's ultimately a charming little book."When Castor died," he says, "Pollux missed him too much, so he made a deal to share his immortality with him and that's how they both ended up in the sky.""I'd do that," I say. "Totally.""Yeah? Must be a twin thing," he says, misunderstanding....I feel my face flush because I'd meant him, duh, I'd share my immortality with him. I meant you, I want to holler.sigh. NOAH! you kick oscar's ass in the "romantic dude" contest.♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
    more
  • Brian Yahn
    November 23, 2014
    One of the best books I've read in a long long time, I'll Give You the Sun, gave me the chills, gave me a heart attack, gave me everything I ever wanted from a love story.(Self-portrait: boy in love with a book)The narrators have such fun voices, the writing and use of artistic metaphors is beautiful, and the pacing is amazing. Pretty much everything about this book is perfect. It's essentially Gone Girl meets Romeo and Juliet. The characters connect so cohesively with their incredibly dark-twis One of the best books I've read in a long long time, I'll Give You the Sun, gave me the chills, gave me a heart attack, gave me everything I ever wanted from a love story.(Self-portrait: boy in love with a book)The narrators have such fun voices, the writing and use of artistic metaphors is beautiful, and the pacing is amazing. Pretty much everything about this book is perfect. It's essentially Gone Girl meets Romeo and Juliet. The characters connect so cohesively with their incredibly dark-twisted histories that all collide into the craziest, most fulfilling love story ever.Jandy Nelson, thank you. I needed this.
    more
  • Clau R.
    December 17, 2014
    NOT JUST 5 STARS, ALL OF THE STARS!!!This book was perfect and beautiful and everything. EDIT: 04/02/2015Quería editar este review porque aunque ya he hablado maravillas de este libro en mi canal, siento que también merece que diga aquí cuánto me gustó. I'll Give You the Sun es un libro muy hermoso y conmovedor, lleno de cosas que no me había encontrado en otros libros. Creo que la escritura de Jandy Nelson es la razón principal por la que este libro me pareció tan arrollador. Como he dicho ya e NOT JUST 5 STARS, ALL OF THE STARS!!!This book was perfect and beautiful and everything. EDIT: 04/02/2015Quería editar este review porque aunque ya he hablado maravillas de este libro en mi canal, siento que también merece que diga aquí cuánto me gustó. I'll Give You the Sun es un libro muy hermoso y conmovedor, lleno de cosas que no me había encontrado en otros libros. Creo que la escritura de Jandy Nelson es la razón principal por la que este libro me pareció tan arrollador. Como he dicho ya en mis videos, Jandy escribe de una manera única y llena de vida, sus palabras están cargadas de pasión y de magia y de electricidad pura. Además, tiene un talento increíble para cambiar de POV. ¿Ya ven cómo algunos autores utilizan dos perspectivas y ni siquiera se nota el cambio? ¡Con Noah y Jude se nota muchísimo! Cada uno tiene una personalidad y un estilo tan entrañable y especial que incluso si al inicio del capítulo no viniera "NOAH" o "JUDE" en grande, podrías saber quién lo está narrando. ¡Bravo por eso!También quiero decir que aunque la familia y la hermandad son la parte más importante en esta novela (por lo menos para mí), los romances me han fascinado. La relación entre Noah y Brian me tenía fangirleando, llorando y gritando de a ratos, y la de Jude con Oscore simplemente me quitaba el aliento, ese amor que tenían ellos dos era tan fuerte, que hasta lo sentía palpable.Además me gusta demasiado que el libro tiene su razón de llamarse "Te daría el sol", uff, lo recuerdo y se me pone la piel de gallina. No quiero spoilear por aquí, ¡pero simplemente me fascinó! “I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”Todo dentro de este libro me tiene enamorada. Vale la pena mencionar que Jandy Nelson le da al arte un significado más allá del que yo conocía. Claro, sé apreciar el arte, pero verla a través de los ojos de Noah y Jude fue una experiencia nueva para mí. Y ay, Guillermo, qué bello señor...Le recomiendo a todos este libro. En español se llama: "Te daría el mundo" y lo publicará Alfaguara este 19 de Febrero.
    more
  • Christine Riccio
    January 13, 2015
    LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH. IT MOVED ME SO MUCH IN SO MANY WAYS <3
  • Samantha
    August 9, 2016
    This was the perfect book to finish on my birthday. I adored Jandy Nelson's first book, and didn't think I could love this one just as much!
  • Tiff at Mostly YA Lit
    April 9, 2014
    Review originally posted at Mostly YA LitI don't think I can properly review this book without just throwing flails and gifs and barbaric yawps into the air. It's that lovely, that exquisite that any review I write will just pale in comparison to the writing in the book. That said...I want you to read this book, so I have to try.P.S. I borrowed all the quote gifs from Penguin Teen, because who doesn't want to see more of that gorgeous cover?! I'll Give You The Sun is probably the most literar Review originally posted at Mostly YA LitI don't think I can properly review this book without just throwing flails and gifs and barbaric yawps into the air. It's that lovely, that exquisite that any review I write will just pale in comparison to the writing in the book. That said...I want you to read this book, so I have to try.P.S. I borrowed all the quote gifs from Penguin Teen, because who doesn't want to see more of that gorgeous cover?! I'll Give You The Sun is probably the most literary and imaginative YA novels I've ever read.   Everything works - the writing is expressive and nuanced, with unique imagery. You can really tell that Jandy Nelson thought and thought, and thought again about every word in the novel. Every metaphor, every description fits in with the themes of breaking and remaking, family and relationships, art and inspiration. It's an incredibly tight novel, and it's one that could easily have been placed in the literary fiction section of a bookstore. The themes of I'll Give You The Sun are explored exquisitely - and the plot follows in a very sophisticated manner. This is a definitely a form-follows-function book - but it's done so damn brilliantly that you'll be in awe. The premise/form of the book is that Noah and Jude, fraternal twins, each have their own side of the story, Noah at age 13 and Jude at age 16.  As a reader, we see both sides and how mistakes and choices change and shape each of them. The brilliance comes through how each reveal is made - to the reader and to the characters. And what makes the book even more complex is how each of those reveals follows the themes of breaking and remaking, of splitting apart and coming together that shape the characters and the novel.The characters and relationships between them are full and clearly realized. I already mentioned the premise of the book, but let me just say that Noah and Jude are probably the most flawed and complex teen characters I've read EVER. I honestly can't think of more broken, fragile and alive characters that exist in YA fiction. We get every crazed, messed-up thought in their heads, all of their stupid actions, all of their esoteric behaviors...and it's just gorgeous to behold. I'll Give You The Sun has one of the most realistic - and sexy - LGBTQ relationships I've ever read. This sounds weird to say, but in most YA I've read, I've never had to fan myself at a gay relationship - maybe that says more about what I read than what I don't read. This book, however, had what I imagine to be a very realistic gay relationship in its teens, and it's tumultuous and hard and beautifully steamy at a few moments. The portrayal of art and the way it touches people will leave you inspired. I am probably the worst artist in the world (I can't even draw a straight line), but I was amazed and gratified by how art shapes the characters, how it changes and hurts them, and how it strengthens them. Art is almost like a secondary character in this book, and the way that Noah and Jude create and destroy is not just a metaphor for what they do but it almost turns into a way of living for them. The romances are soul-crushing and soul-illuminating. Here's the thing: when Noah and Jude meet their respective partners, it's pretty much instantaneous intrigue. It's not quite total insta-love, but it's close. You guys know how I feel about insta-love (and one of them is a bad boy!)...but somehow, Jandy Nelson's writing can break all my rules and make me believe. I'm just going to give you one unbelievable passage, and you tell me you're not intrigued and kind of in love: I know he's taking a hundred pictures, but I don't care anymore. A hot series of shivers is running through me as he continues clicking and saying: Yes, thank you, this is totally bloody it, perfect, yes, yes, sodding hell, God, look at you. It's like we're kissing, way more than kissing. I can't imagine what my face must look like. "You're her," he says finally, putting the cover over the lens. "I'm sure of it.""Who?" I ask.But he doesn't answer, just walks down the aisle toward me, a lazy, lanky walk that makes me think of summer. He's completely unwound now, went from high gear to no gear the moment he covered the lens. As he approaches, I see that he has one green eye and one brown eye, like he's two people in one, two very intense people in one. Jandy Nelson perfectly understands how closely entwined joy and sadness are. Guys, Jandy Nelson KNOWS. She understands why exquisite happiness is sometimes achieved only through understanding loss. She understands how grief can engulf and change and break a family, and how art can save and remake us.  I don't know how else to explain the mingled feelings of happiness, bittersweet joy, and infinite sadness that engulfed me while reading except to say that Jandy Nelson is the YA Walt Whitman.The Final Word:  I could go on and on about I'll Give You The Sun, but honestly, it won't hold a candle to the book itself. If you like literary novels, if you want all the feels, this book needs to be on top of your TBR list. Read it now. Bask in the beauty. And then give it to a friend, because a book this good demands to be shared.
    more
  • Jessica (priceiswong)
    June 10, 2015
    Finished my first book for the BookTube-a-Thon!This was definitely one of my favorites of the year.I honestly love everything about it. The writing was so beautiful... The way it switched between young Noah and older Jude's perspectives. The love stories, the art. Literally everything. Read this book. It's so beautiful and now I just want to read every single thing by this author.
    more
  • Katie
    July 24, 2014
    OH MY GOSH this book was so beautiful. It was a little bit of a slow start for me, but wow. I loved everything about it.
  • Christy
    December 6, 2015
    5 stars I’ll Give You the Sun is different than any other book I’ve read. The writing style (it was lyrical to me), the story line, that themes, the characters, they were all excellent. There were a few things that I didn’t love, but overall it was a memorable and brilliant story that deserves 5 stars. Also, I listened to the audio version of this one and the narration was fantastic. Twins Jude and Noah are both artists. So is their mother. This story is written in dual POV, from past to presen 5 stars I’ll Give You the Sun is different than any other book I’ve read. The writing style (it was lyrical to me), the story line, that themes, the characters, they were all excellent. There were a few things that I didn’t love, but overall it was a memorable and brilliant story that deserves 5 stars. Also, I listened to the audio version of this one and the narration was fantastic. Twins Jude and Noah are both artists. So is their mother. This story is written in dual POV, from past to present. We get the perspective of 13 year old Noah in the past, and 16 year old Jude in the present. Noah and Jude are so different. Noah draws, he sees things in techni-color and paints in his head. Noah is by far my favorite character in this story. His past chapters were the best. His relationship with Brian, it was the best part of this book. Something between Noah and Jude broke around the 14 year mark. And we are left with 16 year old Jude who is nothing like her 13 year old self (and this is a good thing- 13 year old Jude annoyed me) When we first get to the present chapters, I’m so curious as to what happened with Noah and Jude. Why is Noah different? Why has Jude completely changed? Little by little things start to come together and we see what happened and what made these two change. After finishing this one, my first thought was- I really need to start reading more YA books. When you read so much of the same genre (for me, it’s romance) sometimes you need something different. I’ve picked up a lot more YA this year and I’ve loved a majority of the ones I’ve read. I didn’t love every single thing about this book, but it was so well written, so powerful and so stunning that there was no way I could give it less than 5 stars. Nelson is an author I will for sure be reading more from! If you’re looking for a powerful and whimsical YA book, pick this one up!
    more
  • Juliana Zapata
    May 25, 2016
    Una historia maravillosa, perfectamente narrada, sin una sola frase de relleno, con personajes perfectamente construidos, con un ritmo que no cansa, con frases que llegan al corazón, con imágenes que aportan magia y con un mensaje que te deja una sonrisa en la cara.Este es uno de los pocos libros que he leído en los que me encariñé con todos los personajes principales, todos tan diferentes, tan imperfectos y tan reales; es imposible no amarlos, no vivir sus historias, no sufrir con sus errores y Una historia maravillosa, perfectamente narrada, sin una sola frase de relleno, con personajes perfectamente construidos, con un ritmo que no cansa, con frases que llegan al corazón, con imágenes que aportan magia y con un mensaje que te deja una sonrisa en la cara.Este es uno de los pocos libros que he leído en los que me encariñé con todos los personajes principales, todos tan diferentes, tan imperfectos y tan reales; es imposible no amarlos, no vivir sus historias, no sufrir con sus errores y fracasos y no sonreír con sus alegrías.Me encantaron todas las referencias al arte que tiene el libro, a pesar de que no se nada de arte, los sentimientos estan tan bien plasmados, los colores, los momentos, no se como es que el autor logra que sientas y que veas el arte como lo ven los personajes.Un libro absolutamente maravillosa y altamente recomendable, creo que 5 estrellas no es suficiente para calificar esta historia.
    more
  • Liam
    December 1, 2014
    what a truly beautiful book!!I CRIED ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT OVER HOW BEAUTIFUL THIS BOOK IS!I got so emotionally invested in this book that I became hooked and fell completely in love with it!When I first started reading it took a while to get into purely because of how unique the writing style is. But when you do get used to it you see just how amazingly well written this book is.One of my favourite things was the way the story was told from different point of views from years apart! It kept me gr what a truly beautiful book!!I CRIED ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT OVER HOW BEAUTIFUL THIS BOOK IS!I got so emotionally invested in this book that I became hooked and fell completely in love with it!When I first started reading it took a while to get into purely because of how unique the writing style is. But when you do get used to it you see just how amazingly well written this book is.One of my favourite things was the way the story was told from different point of views from years apart! It kept me gripped as I desperately needed to find out how it would all end. The book ties together in such a beautiful way and it has such a fantastic ending that overloads you with a vast amount of emotions!!I will never forget this book. It will always have a special place in my heart!
    more
  • Miranda Lynn
    February 8, 2014
    DNF after 116 pages.I feel like I'm probably going to get shot for this, considering the (currently) 4.30 rating and plethora of rave reviews on Goodreads...but I honestly really did not like this book. I made it to page 116 before I had to give up because I just couldn't take it anymore. I kept hoping that it would get better or that I was missing something that would somehow finally click — but it never did. This book is just  not for me .First of all, the chapters are so long. I don't think I DNF after 116 pages.I feel like I'm probably going to get shot for this, considering the (currently) 4.30 rating and plethora of rave reviews on Goodreads...but I honestly really did not like this book. I made it to page 116 before I had to give up because I just couldn't take it anymore. I kept hoping that it would get better or that I was missing something that would somehow finally click — but it never did. This book is just  not for me .First of all, the chapters are so long. I don't think I've ever read a YA book that had chapters this long. I mean, I made it to page 116 and I was still on the third chapter. How is that even possible? It made the whole thing even more torturous, because I felt trapped, like it was forcing me to keep reading and reading and reading when I really didn't want to.My biggest problem with the book was its writing style. Normally I'm a fan of unique and different writing styles (i.e. the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi), but I could not stand how this book was written. I thought that it sounded a little immature (not helped by the fact that one of the characters is 13, which in my opinion is too young for YA — I prefer the characters to be at least 15-16), and it all seemed very herky-jerky, like the prose version of "shaky cam," and had some super weird hyperbolic metaphors that seemed kind of pointless and just plain weird (like when one of the characters said that he threw up bright green puke all over the dinner table...but, like, he didn't actually do that). The word "toilet-licking" was also used no less than 8 times in the first hundred pages (as in, another word for "stupid." Like: "this conversation is so toilet-licking, I hate it.") I just...umm...what??There also wasn't really a plot. Sometimes a plotless book can be fine...I like being able to simply sit in a character's head and experience their life. If it's well-written. But I was very bored with this book. Nothing happened. And the male protagonist came off as really annoying to me with his constant complaining and general immaturity. If there's nothing going on and the protagonist is unlikable...it's hard for me to be able to like that kind of book. There's nothing for me to connect with or enjoy.Ultimately, while I think that this book had potential — I really liked the idea of alternating perspectives of twins at different ages (one is in the past and one is in the present) — and I appreciate it's LGBT content, I could not get into this book enough to keep reading. It might've somehow ended up being great if I'd managed to get beyond the third chapter, but unfortunately this book and I did not get along.**ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Kai
    April 4, 2015
    “Maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people. Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time. Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.” This novel started out weird and confusing and colourful. It took me a while to adjust to the style of writing and a few pages in I finally started to und “Maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people. Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time. Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.” This novel started out weird and confusing and colourful. It took me a while to adjust to the style of writing and a few pages in I finally started to understand what was actually going on. It was still weird and colourful, but not confusing anymore.I fell in love with the characters, all of them. I normally have difficulties picturing a book's characters, like really seeing them in front of me, but not this time. I could actually perfectly imagine all of them, head to toe, and it was amazing.There are so many thoughts in my head but I can't really put them into words, especially not in English words so let me just say that this book was beautiful, in every way.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Sophia
    May 3, 2014
    emotionally, this book deserves 13049820394234 stars.when i take into account the rushedrushedrushed ending and the predictability, i feel like it deserves 4 stars.so, 4.5 stars it is.the characters are so alive, so well-developed, so flawed, and so beautiful. the story is gorgeous.this book is a must-read.
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    October 28, 2014
    I JUST WANT TO ART NOW. This book has inspired me so much I simply cannot contain the beautifulness of it. It definitely goes down as one of the most BEAUTIFULLY written books ever.Although I did have a rocky start with it. I'm a pretty much black-and-white thinker...I'm creative (I write!) but sometimes when things get too metaphorical and lyrical and off-the-universe-imaginative...I LOSE IT. So the beginning of the book had me floundering. I found Noah's chapters really hard to grip onto with I JUST WANT TO ART NOW. This book has inspired me so much I simply cannot contain the beautifulness of it. It definitely goes down as one of the most BEAUTIFULLY written books ever.Although I did have a rocky start with it. I'm a pretty much black-and-white thinker...I'm creative (I write!) but sometimes when things get too metaphorical and lyrical and off-the-universe-imaginative...I LOSE IT. So the beginning of the book had me floundering. I found Noah's chapters really hard to grip onto with his way of painting words. But by the end? I was so in love I nearly ran away and married the book. The book is about art, but it IS art. Seriously the writing is just that beautiful. I'm in awe. WHAT ARE WORDS? WHAT SUMS UP THIS KIND OF INSANE AUTHORLY TALENT?“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.” The thing with Noah and Jude is...I relate. Not to the extent of how they buried themselves in dream-shredding lies and secrets. But I just related TO them. They were so real. Everyone in this book is just so darn real. It's like being Jude and Noah. I felt like I was them for their chapters and I just...I could barley contain the thrill of experiencing their world. Even the secondary characters pop off the page with the tinest paragraph. Oscar, G., Brian, the crazy parrot, the parents, the dead grandma...woah. It was so so real and beautiful and messy and cruel and heartbreaking. (I also love their names. NOAH! JUDE! Love it!)My only tiny twitchiness came with one half of the romance which is (view spoiler)[ Noah and Brian. I just...I LOVED them at the beginning, but at the very end when Brian finally gets in contact and comes back? I just didn't ship it. Maybe I'm being too harsh. he was scared. He had his life ahead of him. But he burned Noah, and then Noah burned him back. I didn't really see them together after that. BUT HEY. Love doesn't have to make sense. (hide spoiler)]I just want to art, okay? I just need to go away and art after this incredible masterpiece. And I'm already at my library to find The Sky is Everywhere , because I need more of this author in my life. ASAP. Jude and Noah are my favourite. Eccentric. Rash. Hateful. Real. Wickedly artistic. Wickedly painful. THEY ARE ADORABLE AND I LOVE THIS BROTHER AND SISTER BOOK MORE THAN ANYTHING.
    more
  • Maureen
    August 6, 2016
    I actually really enjoyed this book! I know everyone said it was great but I halfway didn't believe them and I was happy to be proven wrong! I really loved being in Noah and Jude's heads and I LOVED their stories and how strongly they loved and cared about people.The plot was so great and I cared SO MUCH about everyone and how things happened and what was going to happen and it was so wonderful to be so invested. What I didn't love was the suspended disbelief I had to carry through this whole bo I actually really enjoyed this book! I know everyone said it was great but I halfway didn't believe them and I was happy to be proven wrong! I really loved being in Noah and Jude's heads and I LOVED their stories and how strongly they loved and cared about people.The plot was so great and I cared SO MUCH about everyone and how things happened and what was going to happen and it was so wonderful to be so invested. What I didn't love was the suspended disbelief I had to carry through this whole book. Usually magical realism is super clear (or at least pretty obvious) and in this case it was more of me saying "is this magical realism? Or is this just someone imagining things?" How things came together was slightly too convenient for me as well. Obviously there were hardships but things lined up a bit too perfectly in the end. I also don't know if it was just me but it was pretty predictable as well. The writing was off and on for me. On the one hand it was beautiful and I liked it most of the time, but sometimes it was a little too much. It felt like it was being flowery and beautiful just to be that way and not for any other purpose.Other random notes: loved Oscar (SO MUCH), v happy to have LGBTQ+ representation with Noah (and discussion about his orientation), Jude's romance bothered me a bit (even if it was adorable), loved the discussion about Jude's sexual experiences & blurry lines in that area.Overall pretty great read.
    more
  • Ryan
    September 21, 2016
    We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story." 4.5/5 stars(Mild spoilers ahead?)I'll Give You the Sun was not at all what I expected. For the first fifty pages, the poetic writing style was throwing me off. I had to re-read sentences a few times to decipher if that actually happened, or if it was just some weird metaphor. (99% of the time, it was a metaphor. Just FYI.) But everyone was raving about this book, We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story." 4.5/5 stars(Mild spoilers ahead?)I'll Give You the Sun was not at all what I expected. For the first fifty pages, the poetic writing style was throwing me off. I had to re-read sentences a few times to decipher if that actually happened, or if it was just some weird metaphor. (99% of the time, it was a metaphor. Just FYI.) But everyone was raving about this book, so I kept reading, and goddammit, everyone was right. This was incredible. "There are times when surfing where you'll take on a wave only to realize the bottom's dropped out of it and so suddenly without warning you're free-falling down the entire face.It feels like this." I mostly read I'll Give You the Sun on the bus, putting it down quite a few times so I wouldn't cry in the presence of thirty other people who were already silently judging me for literally flailing whenever I read a cute line. (Oh, did you think I wasn't going to put a gif in this review? Hi. You must be new here.)As soon as I finished this book, I just sat there with tears in my eyes, and the biggest, most ridiculous smile on my face. Why the hell didn't I read this sooner? Jandy Nelson has reduced me to mess of emotions, and I don't know what to do anymore. I just want to smile and cry and re-read my favourite lines over and over again. "Good. That is it. You will see with your hands, I promise you. Now I contradict myself. Picasso he do too. He say pull out your brain, yes, he also say, 'Painting is a blind man's profession' and 'To draw you must close your eyes and sing.' And Michelangelo, he say he sculpts with his brains, not his eyes. Yes. Everything is true at once. Life is a contradiction. We take in every lesson. We find what works." I'd consider myself a decent artist. I can draw well enough, but I'm certainly no Michelangelo. I'm never happy with my final product. I erase. I re-draw. I give up. Wash, rinse, repeat. One of my friends, on the other hand, is always drawing - and she's damn good at it, too. While I always have a book on hand, she always has a sketchbook on hand. Reading from the POV of someone who is constantly creating, whether it be in his head, or on paper, was fascinating for me. I hold artists in such high respect. To draw something new every time, create something that impacts people and makes them think without ever using words. That's some hard shit right there. “I didn’t know you could get buried in your own silence.” Have you ever read a book where you sometimes forget the characters are fictional because of how fleshed-out and real they seem? That's how I feel about I'll Give You the Sun. These characters seem so much like real, living, breathing people to me. They remind me of myself, of people I know, of people I love. I guess that's just another thing that makes this book so amazing. "If only there was something to unflip the car…unshatter the windshield, uncrinkle the guardrail, unspin the wheels, unslick the road. Something to unbreak the twenty-two bones in her body including the seven in her neck, uncollapse her lungs, unstop her heart, and unhemorrhage her brilliant brain. But there isn't." "That I'm fucking terrified of you. That I can't seem to keep you out like I can everyone else. That I think you could devastate me…I'm so dead," he says into my hair, "so dead," into my neck, then pulls back, his eyes shining. "You're going to obliterate me, aren't you?" The ending. The ending. Don't mind me. Just fangirling over here in the corner. I'll be there in a minute. "Because who knows? Who knows anything? Who knows who's pulling the strings? Or what is? Or how? Who knows if destiny is just how you tell yourself the story of your life?...No one knows.So we grapple with mysteries, each in our own way.And some of us get to float around on one of them and call it home." My rating for this book is based solely on emotion. Will this book change the world? Maybe. Maybe not. Who knows? It changed me. "Quick, make a wish.Take a (second or third or fourth) chance.Remake the world."
    more
  • Kassidy
    August 24, 2014
    Wow, this is truly a powerful story!*4.5*Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-sr3L...
  • Kristina Horner
    May 13, 2015
    This book was beautiful. The ways in which everything intertwined, and the amount of growth the characters went through, and seeing this story through both Noah and Jude's eyes from different moments in time - it was just perfection. I don't even care that it all fit together TOO well, it was perfect and amazing and I loved it.
    more
  • alexandra
    October 5, 2014
    this book is so complex, so poetic, so emotional, and so powerful. it's the kind of book i want to reread a million times, overanalyze, and cover the margins with notes. i felt every sentence's second meaning and it hit me really really hard. it made me feel SO MANY FEELINGS and i can't even pinpoint exactly why.i'll admit the first few pages were a bit rough. the writing is very different from what i'm used to; everything is a metaphor and i wasn't sure if this was literally happening or if it this book is so complex, so poetic, so emotional, and so powerful. it's the kind of book i want to reread a million times, overanalyze, and cover the margins with notes. i felt every sentence's second meaning and it hit me really really hard. it made me feel SO MANY FEELINGS and i can't even pinpoint exactly why.i'll admit the first few pages were a bit rough. the writing is very different from what i'm used to; everything is a metaphor and i wasn't sure if this was literally happening or if it was all in his head. (it was all in his head.) after i got over that, i began to fall in love with the beautiful and complex prose. the depth of everything is... crazy.the story is told from two POVs: one twin – noah – at age 13, and the other – jude – at age 16, three years later. there are a lot of layers as to why this or that happened and we truly get to watch the story unfold. it's more complicated than the average "love triangle" or average contemporary issue; it's much more tangled than that with family issues, romance, sexuality, etc. i had such a strong connection with the two of them even though their voices are COMPLETELY different. and even though they were different, there were still undeniable parallels that connected them as siblings.what surprised me most about I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN is the family aspect. a lot of the problems arise between the twins and parents themselves and i find everything else is the "subplot." although i really liked the romance, i felt just a biiiiit insta-love-y and too good to be true but eh that's alright.all in all, this book blew me away. it definitely holds a spot on my favorites of 2016 shelf and it's only been ten days into the new year. although there were parts of the book that felt a little artificial or a little dragged, i think that's all irrelevant compared to the impact it had on my perspective. truly and completely eye-opening. go read it.
    more
  • Steph Sinclair
    February 22, 2014
    True facts: I almost DNF'd this book because of the writing style alone. There's just no other way to say this, but it was just so damn purple. Some of it was really nice, like so:“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”Other times I felt like I was stuck in paintball war of words:“My heart leaves, hitchhikes right out of my body, heads north, catches a ferry across the Bering Sea and plants itself in S True facts: I almost DNF'd this book because of the writing style alone. There's just no other way to say this, but it was just so damn purple. Some of it was really nice, like so:“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”Other times I felt like I was stuck in paintball war of words:“My heart leaves, hitchhikes right out of my body, heads north, catches a ferry across the Bering Sea and plants itself in Siberia with the polar bears and ibex and long-horned goats until it turns into a teeny-tiny glacier.Because I imagined it.”Then some of the time, it made me laugh:“For the record, I’m in the midst of a penis panic attack.”Only to feel like I was drowning in a rainbow ocean:“He floated into the air high above the sleeping forest, his green hat spinning a few feet above his head. In his hand was the open suitcase and out of it spilled a whole sky of stars.”WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN? I think I'm way too much of a cynic to jive with this kind of writing. It was like Shatter Me went on an acid trip and threw up all over my pages. Still, I'm impressed with Jandy because both Noah and Jude's chapters were VERY different from each other, containing two different narration styles. Honestly, she pulled it off well. I never had trouble figuring out whose chapter I was reading: Noah liked to abuse metaphors and Jude talked in fragments to her dead grandmother. How Jandy managed to do this so flawlessly is beyond me, but clearly it's the mark of a very talented writer.Your love for I'll Give You the Sun will depend entirely on how you feel about the writing style. It's can be VERY jarring in the beginning, but the story itself is good. I loved how it wasn't necessarily a love story -- though, there is the cutest romance between Noah and the boy next door that I wanted so much more from -- but a story about second chances and the relationship between siblings.But I really have to talk about the scene between Noah and Brian where they are in Noah's room together... figuring things out... and wow. I did not see it going there and was rather pleased Jandy didn't shy away from such a powerful moment for those boys.
    more
  • TheCrazyWorldOfABookLover
    December 28, 2015
    I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT.I loved it so much in fact I had to actually have my BF hide my kindle in order to get anything done. Because once this book was in my hands, I was completely immersed and nothing was interrupting me. I wouldn't have cared if there was a freaking fire engulfing the house. I wasn' I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT I LOVED IT.I loved it so much in fact I had to actually have my BF hide my kindle in order to get anything done. Because once this book was in my hands, I was completely immersed and nothing was interrupting me. I wouldn't have cared if there was a freaking fire engulfing the house. I wasn't putting it down for ANYTHING.I can't put into words how FREAKING FANTASTIC this book was. How unique, and clever, and touching, and breathtakingly beautiful, and incredibly written, and JUST SO AMAZING it all is! This right here. This is why I read. To experience genius like this.Read it.Read it read it read it. Seriously if it's not on your TBR right now, stop reading this, go add it, then READ IT!Go.Right now.Why are you still reading this?…Seriously, what are you doing?ADD THIS BABY NOW! AND READ IT! |http://amzn.to/1UDvwm3 Find Me On:Instagram ★ FB ★ Blog
    more
  • Juanpa
    September 24, 2014
    Reseña completa: I'll Give You the Sun (Te daría el sol) Les juro que no tengo palabras para describir lo mucho que me encantó este libro, lo amé y lo puedo considerar como uno de mis libros favoritos. No me había sentido tan abrumado por un libro desde hace muchísimo tiempo. Lloré, sufrí, reí, disfruté, me enamoré, todo gracias a este libro. Es una historia muy real, con una carga social sumamente grande, con unos personajes completamente entrañables y lo mejor de todo, con un final feliz.Algo Reseña completa: I'll Give You the Sun (Te daría el sol) Les juro que no tengo palabras para describir lo mucho que me encantó este libro, lo amé y lo puedo considerar como uno de mis libros favoritos. No me había sentido tan abrumado por un libro desde hace muchísimo tiempo. Lloré, sufrí, reí, disfruté, me enamoré, todo gracias a este libro. Es una historia muy real, con una carga social sumamente grande, con unos personajes completamente entrañables y lo mejor de todo, con un final feliz.Algo que hizo que me gustara mucho esta historia fue que en ella se habló sin tapujos de temas que aún se consideran "tabú" en nuestra sociedad, como es la homosexualidad. Noah, en un comienzo, es un joven muy retraído, amante del arte y aún descubriendo como sentirse con respecto a su homosexualidad. Me encantó que su sexualidad fuera un tema tan normal y disfruté mucho de la historia de amor de Noah con su vecino, porque es un amor tierno, puro y auténtico. Nos hace recapacitar mucho sobre la percepción que hay en la sociedad de la homosexualidad, y que estas personas no son unos bichos raros, son humanos común y corrientes y los debemos tratar como tal. A pesar de que creo tener una mente muy abierta con respecto a este tema, el libro me hizo reflexionar aún más y cambió mucho mi mentalidad. "Meeting your soulmate is like walking into a house you've been in before—you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to." "Conocer a tu alma gemela es como caminar en una casa donde ya has estado antes—reconocerás los muebles, las fotos en las paredes, los libros en los estantes, el contenido de los cajones: Podrías ubicarte en la noche si así lo necesitaras." Noah me pareció un personaje excelente. Es un chico muy entrañable, con una personalidad maravillosa y con mucho para aportar al mundo. Por su parte, Jude es una chica muy particular. No me agradó tanto como a Noah, pero aún así la amé. Las historias de amor de ambos están muy bien construidas, nada sucede de forma precipitada y les aseguro que los romances que hay en este libro no se parecen en nada a otro romance que haya leído. Como ya mencioné, el romance es muy puro, sincero, real, auténtico, bonito, enternecedor. Me encantó. A parte de los mellizos, tenemos muchos personajes muy importantes y que también lograron ganarse un lugar en mi corazón: los padres, Guillero (que por cierto, es colombiano), Oscar, la abuela, Brian, y Prophet. Si esta historia se destaca por algo es por lo reales y auténticos que son sus personajes. Es un libro que vale la pena leer, compartir, recomendar, releer, de todo. Por favor, léanlo, sé que no se arrepentirán. Con este libró me enamoré y soñé en grande, y jamás me cansaré de describir lo perfecto que es.Para los que me preguntaban, el libro ya está disponible en español. Su nombre es Te daría el mundo y está publicado por editorial Alfaguara
    more
  • Christina
    October 13, 2015
    5 stars!The heart doesn't listen to reason. It doesn't abide by laws or conventions or other people's expectations either.This is a story about Jude and Noah, twins. The story is told in dual perspectives. At 13, Noah is constantly drawing and a bit isolated...his only true friend being Jude, until Brian moves in next door. Brian and Noah strike up a friendship in which Noah wants more from. Jude is a daredevil, acting out against their mother and falling in with the wrong crowd. Then their moth 5 stars!The heart doesn't listen to reason. It doesn't abide by laws or conventions or other people's expectations either.This is a story about Jude and Noah, twins. The story is told in dual perspectives. At 13, Noah is constantly drawing and a bit isolated...his only true friend being Jude, until Brian moves in next door. Brian and Noah strike up a friendship in which Noah wants more from. Jude is a daredevil, acting out against their mother and falling in with the wrong crowd. Then their mother dies in a car accident.At 16, Jude and Noah barely speak anymore, and are completely different from their younger selfs. So many events have happened to wreck them in different ways. They don't realize that they each only have half of the story. They need to find their way back to each other to make everything make sense again.I absolutely loved this book! It dealt with grief over a lost family member, Noah's emerging sexual orientation, and mostly love. Love in all forms! It was beautifully written and I really enjoyed the dual perspectives, one being Noah at 13 - 14 and the other Jude At 16. I liked being in Jude's head a bit more, but I adored how Noah seemed, for the most part, pretty sure of who he was. He just had trouble showing that side to others. I wish though that I could see how their lives turn out in maybe 5 more years? Guess I'll just have to base my happily ever after for everyone on the last couple pages :) This book more than deserves all the praise that it's gotten!People die, but your relationship with them doesn't. It continues and is ever-changing.Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.
    more
  • Warda
    April 23, 2015
    Reread: March 2016My heart. Words will fail me. This book did something to my soul. My heart exploded about a hundred times whilst reading it and I cannot express how much I loved it! How much I'll continue to love it. It was expressive, imaginative, and god-damn gorgeous. I wanted to bask it its beauty. Everything about it just worked! I was gushing throughout the entire thing, internally weeping, because it was just perfect. Utter perfection. Sublime. I absolutely drowned in it and had no inte Reread: March 2016My heart. Words will fail me. This book did something to my soul. My heart exploded about a hundred times whilst reading it and I cannot express how much I loved it! How much I'll continue to love it. It was expressive, imaginative, and god-damn gorgeous. I wanted to bask it its beauty. Everything about it just worked! I was gushing throughout the entire thing, internally weeping, because it was just perfect. Utter perfection. Sublime. I absolutely drowned in it and had no intention to come back up. It's the type of book you want to shove into everyone's hands, urging them to read it, so they can relish in its beauty. It left me with a renewed sense of wonder for the world, about people, our capabilities, myself. It's tragic and it breaks you, and it puts you back together again in the best possible way. And what's better is that as soon as I finished it, I wanted to pick it back up again.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    February 23, 2017
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ “They do make love stories for girls with black hearts after all. They go like this.” Oh God, what is happening to me?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Here’s the back story to me reading this so tune out if you don’t want to know even more about my boring life. About a million and a half years ago around Christmastime I was on the phone with a buddy and there’s the teeniest of chances one or both of us might have been drunk. Fastforward to me waking up Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ “They do make love stories for girls with black hearts after all. They go like this.” Oh God, what is happening to me?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Here’s the back story to me reading this so tune out if you don’t want to know even more about my boring life. About a million and a half years ago around Christmastime I was on the phone with a buddy and there’s the teeniest of chances one or both of us might have been drunk. Fastforward to me waking up the next more in desperate need of coffee and Tylenol when I discovered a message telling me my Christmas presents had arrived and to crank up my Kindle. What I found was a bevy of books from my “Want To Read” list and since I suck I still haven’t read most of them. I probably wouldn’t have read this yet either, but everything I was thinking about reading was of the dark and stormy variety and I had just finished Mystic River so I wasn’t sure I wanted to go down that road. I knew nothing about I’ll Give You The Sun aside from the fact that at some point I put it on the TBR due to seeing the “if you like John Green, David Levithan or Rainbow Rowell, you’ll probably like Jandy Nelson aiiiiiight” blurb. Now that I’ve read it, let me tell you the first ten percent MINIMUM is quite possibly the worst thing I’ve ever read in my life. We’re talking absolute gobbledygook. Gibberish. I have never been able to “DNF” before, but I was seriously thinking this would be my first time and I logged on to Goodreads to see if I could find a lifeline. What I found were several friends had also given up the good fight and one shining beacon of hope in the form of Allisa’s review. I’ve been friends with Alissa long enough to know her reviews don’t spoil anything and I was happy to see I wasn’t the only one having a WTF is this???? type of moment (which I’m pretty used to because I read stuff wrong all the time, but I’m pretty sure I read that first chunk right this time). Anywho, long story long I kept on keeping on. And this is going to go down in history as one of my favorite Young Adult novels ever. Simply put, I'll Give You The Sun is a coming of age story about twins written by each in their own perspective at two different formative points during their adolescence. You’re either going to love it or hate it and it really won’t bother me one bit if you hate it because it is so difficult to love at first. But if you stay with it, you’ll find magic. Jandy Nelson is a wordsmith and (thankfully) not of the purple prose variety. Her turn of phrase would probably seem like nothing without the full context, but boy oh boy does she know about how “ass licking” life can be and when it comes to falling in love – and I mean real love, not the insta variety – she is spot on with “she said you would feel like family.” One last thing should my children ever read this review: I promise you, when I die I most definitely will be your parachute and PLEASE give a girl an orange and you truly do need to “see the miracles for there to be miracles” and make sure to “make a wish. Take a (second or third or fourth) chance. Remake the world.” Every star. I’m just pretending that first 10% didn’t happen.
    more
  • Jamie-leigh Haughn
    June 10, 2014
    This book was a beautiful piece of art. I can completely understand why everyone loves this so much. The writing is so incredibly poetic and creative, the imagery is out of this world. I also really liked having duel perspectives from twins as opposed to a couple, not to mention how it went back and forth between the years, it was so different and I loved it. I preferred Jude's sections to Noah's, but really I loved them both. The emotion in this story is real. I highly recommend this book and I This book was a beautiful piece of art. I can completely understand why everyone loves this so much. The writing is so incredibly poetic and creative, the imagery is out of this world. I also really liked having duel perspectives from twins as opposed to a couple, not to mention how it went back and forth between the years, it was so different and I loved it. I preferred Jude's sections to Noah's, but really I loved them both. The emotion in this story is real. I highly recommend this book and I look forward to reading more books from Jandy Nelson!
    more
  • Theresa
    December 17, 2014
    I read this gorgeous book about a year ago and it still stays with me. Jandy Nelson's prose is beautiful and fluid like poetry. "I'll Give You The Sun" made me cry so many times. I loved how zany and emotionally intense the twins, Noah and Jude were. A must-read! :)
    more
Write a review