The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 5
It’s A Showdown! Four of the Sins have been reunited and it feels almost so good. Entering a fighting tournament where the grand prize is Diane’s weapon, the unthinkable happens when the Sins and Holy Knights clash on stage! But who is the other faction of Holy Knights, dubbed the “New Generation”, and what could this monstrous group of demon-like knights be planning?From the eBook edition.

The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 5 Details

TitleThe Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 5
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseNov 11th, 2014
PublisherKodansha Comics
ISBN1612629296
ISBN-139781612629292
Number of pages192 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Manga, Fantasy, Romance, Shonen, Comics, Action, Young Adult, Humor, Comedy, Fiction, Graphic Novels

The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 5 Review

  • Taylor
    September 5, 2016
    The Seven Deadly Sins posses legendary powers that surpass anyone in their world. Well, just how powerful are they, compared to their so-called "fellow man"? How powerful are they compared to one another? Just what does that kind of power look like? What better way to demonstrate their powers than in a fighting competition? This installment of the series gave all the readers a look at just how powerful the most powerful beings on the entire earth actually are. That being said, this book felt lik The Seven Deadly Sins posses legendary powers that surpass anyone in their world. Well, just how powerful are they, compared to their so-called "fellow man"? How powerful are they compared to one another? Just what does that kind of power look like? What better way to demonstrate their powers than in a fighting competition? This installment of the series gave all the readers a look at just how powerful the most powerful beings on the entire earth actually are. That being said, this book felt like it was more of a filler book, with a bunch of fan-service and pretty pictures to look at while the author came up with better ideas on how to go forth with the story. I also kind of felt as if he was using this book to draw in his male audiences, with plenty of naked ladies and fight scenes to turn the heads of any adolescent boy. All in all, this book was a filler, but a strategic and well written filler, nonetheless.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 8, 2015
    While this volume is primarily a tournament, I mostly enjoyed it nonetheless. The relationship between Meliodas and Elizabeth is starting to feel as if there is more emotional involvement, which is a plus, and seeing human-size Diane certainly changes the dynamics a bit. Not the strongest in the series, but still fun.
    more
  • Jessica Headlee
    February 26, 2017
    This volume is centered on a tournament with a few flashbacks that add depth to our characters. As tournaments go, this one isn’t really different, especially when it comes to manga. There are some really over powered players and some that are in really far over their heads. Still, the tournament is rather fun to read, mostly for the various commentary between the contestants. We get to see some new and old Holy Knights with this volume shedding some more light on some of the older ones. The one This volume is centered on a tournament with a few flashbacks that add depth to our characters. As tournaments go, this one isn’t really different, especially when it comes to manga. There are some really over powered players and some that are in really far over their heads. Still, the tournament is rather fun to read, mostly for the various commentary between the contestants. We get to see some new and old Holy Knights with this volume shedding some more light on some of the older ones. The one thing that really bugged me was Griamore’s ever changing body size; I swear, every time we see him in a new panel his body gets larger and he has more ripped muscles that don’t actually exist on the human body. Don’t get me wrong, I love the character, but the inconsistency kept drawing me away from the action, especially when his head looked so tiny compared to the rest of him. In this volume we also get to see more of Elizabeth and her relationships with the people around her, especially more development between her and Meliodas. I do have to warn some people though, if you’re uncomfortable with fan service this volume may be a bit tough for you to read because there is a lot more of it. There’s also a bit more gore, so this is not a read for the faint of heart.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    January 21, 2015
    This is a fun series with lovable characters. I like them all! And I love this cover as it has my favourite, the giantess Diane front and centre. This volume is framed with the new badguys plotting; who we don't know that much about yet except they're some new kind of Holy Knight group. Meanwhile, our gang and the Holy Knights who are after them meet up at a fighting tournament and we are in for a good old battle volume reminiscent of a Dragonball tournament. Numbers are picked and partners chos This is a fun series with lovable characters. I like them all! And I love this cover as it has my favourite, the giantess Diane front and centre. This volume is framed with the new badguys plotting; who we don't know that much about yet except they're some new kind of Holy Knight group. Meanwhile, our gang and the Holy Knights who are after them meet up at a fighting tournament and we are in for a good old battle volume reminiscent of a Dragonball tournament. Numbers are picked and partners chosen, then winners fight in the finals. A good rush of a volume, keeping things light and there is a hilarious element to this story as Diane and Elizabeth are shrunk, but I won't explain that any further. LOL
    more
  • Will Robinson Jr.
    April 29, 2015
    I am enjoying this manga series immensely. The Seven Deadly Sins gather to participate in a fighting tournament that could win them Diane's sacred treasure. But when Ban and Melodias have to fight each other it turns to a brawl that no one will ever forget. Unfortunately for the Sins a group of Holy Knights are participating as well. This could get ugly. This series has really fast pace fighting action and is always filled with humor. This is great shonen series for those looking for something a I am enjoying this manga series immensely. The Seven Deadly Sins gather to participate in a fighting tournament that could win them Diane's sacred treasure. But when Ban and Melodias have to fight each other it turns to a brawl that no one will ever forget. Unfortunately for the Sins a group of Holy Knights are participating as well. This could get ugly. This series has really fast pace fighting action and is always filled with humor. This is great shonen series for those looking for something a little different from Naruto, One Piece, Bleach, and other popular action manga.
    more
  • Amy Johnson
    May 19, 2016
    The best volume so far, and we get to see all of the Deadly Sins in action during a tournament to secure Diane's long-lost sacred treasure. The Holy Knights are also given a bit of depth and credibility instead of just being the annoying antagonists of the Sins. The one-on-one battles are spectacularly drawn and paced. Hope to see more of them in future.
    more
  • Jared Deocareza
    July 25, 2014
    What can I say? This manga is getting better each volume it releases! Plus more characters are adding up and the 7 deadly sins are starting to join forces! Wow so many twist and turns. Monsters there. Hot bodies everywhere. What more can I ask for?
  • Amy
    April 10, 2016
    Cool, the duel between Ban and Meliodas... Diane was doing great too! and that side-story was super engrossing, I would love to see that strong Elizabeth!
  • Christina
    September 30, 2016
    So happy to read this. It makes me so exhilarated. I'm getting caught in the feels and emotions of the characters. Makes me feel as though i'm one of the characters.
  • Zachary
    February 7, 2015
    Not the best volume in the series, but still good.
  • Nikki
    July 10, 2016
    this arc is more hilariously portrayed in the anime
  • Xcess090
    June 21, 2015
    Awesome battles all around!!
  • Melanie
    May 29, 2015
    Chapters 30 to 37
  • Elinor
    December 18, 2016
    Un tournoi ! Pas franchement mon ressort scénaristique préféré, mais l'auteur s'en sort admirablement bien ! Cette série devient à chaque tome un peu plus l'une de mes chouchoutes...
Write a review