Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg
Send your kids on an adventure! This fun children's picture book is about a boy with red hair and freckles named Terry, yet everybody calls him Terry Treetop because he loves climbing trees. Terry finds a small egg, and his quest is to bring it back home to its mom. But where is the egg's home? Does the egg belong to a turtle on the sand or a crocodile's spring water? Did it come from a frog in a pond or a chicken in the wild? Do your kids love to listen to stories about the habitat and environment of different kinds of animals? Do your children like beautiful picture books? Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg is a sweet children's book, written especially for you and your age 2- 6 children with simple rhyming text and 18 colorful illustrations . The story is suitable as a read aloud book for preschoolers or a self-read book for beginner readers children.

Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg Details

TitleTerry Treetop and the Lost Egg
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 23rd, 2013
PublisherCreatespace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN1494430533
ISBN-139781494430535
Number of pages44 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Kids

Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg Review

  • Jane
    October 25, 2013
    I purchased Terry Treetop ant the Lost Egg and read it to my four-year-old preschool class for the first time. One of the things I look for in children's books is rhyming books so the children can hear the sounds in our language and begin to understand rhyming words and how word endings sound alike. The pictures are bright, attractive and the children loved the little redheaded boy in the story. The story was empowering for the children, as Terry was successful with his quest to solve the proble I purchased Terry Treetop ant the Lost Egg and read it to my four-year-old preschool class for the first time. One of the things I look for in children's books is rhyming books so the children can hear the sounds in our language and begin to understand rhyming words and how word endings sound alike. The pictures are bright, attractive and the children loved the little redheaded boy in the story. The story was empowering for the children, as Terry was successful with his quest to solve the problem of the lost egg with a happy ending. The book was an intro to talking about birds that lay eggs to make babies and building nests to bring a natural science discussion into the classroom. We will be reading this one often on my tablet.
    more
  • Barbara Ann
    November 10, 2013
    his is another book in a series from the Happy Inspired Children’s Books Collection featuring an endearing young boy named Terry Treetop because he loves climbing trees. In this one, Terry has found an egg lying on the ground. He vows to protect it at all costs until he can locate the mother. Terry meets several animals on his journey including a turtle, alligator, frog , hen and parrot. Along the way, the reader is introduced to the way each of these animals nourishes and takes care of its youn his is another book in a series from the Happy Inspired Children’s Books Collection featuring an endearing young boy named Terry Treetop because he loves climbing trees. In this one, Terry has found an egg lying on the ground. He vows to protect it at all costs until he can locate the mother. Terry meets several animals on his journey including a turtle, alligator, frog , hen and parrot. Along the way, the reader is introduced to the way each of these animals nourishes and takes care of its young. When Terry finally solves the puzzle and finds the true mother, he insists on remaining with the egg until it is hatched and the mother is present to take full charge.The entire story is written in verse which works most of the time, but seems forced in a few instances. The illustrations by Mindy Liang are simple but drawn in bold deep colors to attract even the youngest reader. Children will learn a lot about how animals take care of their young as well as lessons of loyalty, empathy and kindness for our fellow creatures. This book is marketed for ages two through six; older children will have the patience to listen to the entire text which is a bit on the long side for a picture book. I read the kindle edition which was nicely formatted. As a bonus, the author offers a link to obtain a fun creative kit that can be downloaded as well as a preview of another book in the series titled, Terry Treetop Finds New Friends.These books are a worthwhile addition to your bedtime story collection or useful as beginning readers for a child who has begun to read independently.
    more
  • Nancy
    January 2, 2014
    I was looking for books to read to my grandchildren. This was a free book from amazon. The artwork is cute. Terry Treetop has a big round head, with no neck, and a small body. He goes camping with his family, and finds an egg. He carefully puts the egg in a basket lined with soft leaves to protect the egg, and then starts looking for the eggs mother. He visits various animals, and learns the egg doesn't belong to them, but learns about those animals. He finally finds the mother, after the egg ha I was looking for books to read to my grandchildren. This was a free book from amazon. The artwork is cute. Terry Treetop has a big round head, with no neck, and a small body. He goes camping with his family, and finds an egg. He carefully puts the egg in a basket lined with soft leaves to protect the egg, and then starts looking for the eggs mother. He visits various animals, and learns the egg doesn't belong to them, but learns about those animals. He finally finds the mother, after the egg has hatched. The mother thanks Terry for helping her little one, whom she thought was lost in the fall from the tree. The kindle version has a lot of pages with just printing on them. The pictures are spread far apart, so I don't know if this will hold the children's attention.
    more
  • Dianechattaway
    August 30, 2014
    My kids and I are no stranger to the awesome adventures of Terry Treetop. In fact, we just had a lovely journey with him this week ... So lovely that we decided to go for another ride. This time we worried, we hoped and we celebrated as Terry Tree top struggles to find where an egg he found belongs. This book was a tad different than our first run in with Terry. This time we were dazzled with dr. suess like rhymes. "Which Avery, my lovely 7 year old" LOVED. We are big rhyming book lovers in t My kids and I are no stranger to the awesome adventures of Terry Treetop. In fact, we just had a lovely journey with him this week ... So lovely that we decided to go for another ride. This time we worried, we hoped and we celebrated as Terry Tree top struggles to find where an egg he found belongs. This book was a tad different than our first run in with Terry. This time we were dazzled with dr. suess like rhymes. "Which Avery, my lovely 7 year old" LOVED. We are big rhyming book lovers in this house. After reading this book which once again captured the full attention of my daughter. I asked her. What was your favorite part? She ABSOLUTELY no doubt about it, loved when he asked the turtle and again with the frogs. She loved the illustrations. Which I admit were adorably done. She loved when the egg hatched and thought that Terry was his mom. "She also says" I would have said yes and taken him home. LOL. Kid cracks me up. She really loved the happy heartfelt ending. All in all if you ask Ave's ... She gives this book a 5 out of 5 stars! If you ask me, I will agree, since I have read it 4 times now in less than a full day. Tali Carmi is definitely an entertainer of children. One that will have the written word in my home for years to come. From my children, passed down to theirs.
    more
  • Ruth Tel-tsur
    May 12, 2014
    I bought the second book in the series for my little niece because she loves "Terry Treetop" and his adventures...They are always fun, and rhyming makes her laugh so much, she will be making me read this book many times..The illustrations are cute, big and colorful..It's summer camping time and Terry finds a "lost little egg" on the ground..Terry is a good and happy boy so we follow him as he looks for the "Mom"....This is where it becomes educational because each new "Animal Mom", shows him the I bought the second book in the series for my little niece because she loves "Terry Treetop" and his adventures...They are always fun, and rhyming makes her laugh so much, she will be making me read this book many times..The illustrations are cute, big and colorful..It's summer camping time and Terry finds a "lost little egg" on the ground..Terry is a good and happy boy so we follow him as he looks for the "Mom"....This is where it becomes educational because each new "Animal Mom", shows him the importance and the different ways they take care of their own "babies"..Such as, "Sandy the Sea Turtle", which sits on her eggs in a hole in the sand...The new Mom tells him when her eggs hatch, all her adorable "baby turtles" then run into the water where they learn how to swim...Terry has his nickname because he is the best tree climber..He sees an "empty birds nest" way up high in a tree trunk..Terry protects the little lost egg and keeps it warm..What surprise will "Pipi" have when she returns home..What I like about this series is that it always shows how to make new friends, teaches different aspects of animal life and to be a good child by helping others....(For parents: even though this is a series, each book is a stand alone story and their only connection is cute, little 5 yr old boy Terry..So, you have your choices)
    more
  • Marcia Galovits
    October 31, 2014
    Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg is a delightful story written by Tali Carmi. Unlike Terry Treetop Finds New Friends, which is written in prose, this new book is written as a poem and some readers, not used to reading poetry to their children might not like it as well. However, I have an author's audio version of the book and Tali Carmi's reading was moving. It made my own attempt sound amateurish. I have a new respect for poets after reading the Lost Egg. And most children love books of rhyme, so Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg is a delightful story written by Tali Carmi. Unlike Terry Treetop Finds New Friends, which is written in prose, this new book is written as a poem and some readers, not used to reading poetry to their children might not like it as well. However, I have an author's audio version of the book and Tali Carmi's reading was moving. It made my own attempt sound amateurish. I have a new respect for poets after reading the Lost Egg. And most children love books of rhyme, so your child will most likely love this poetic book about 5 year old Terry who finds an egg on the ground while camping. Very nobly, Terry vows to locate the egg's owner. In the search, Terry learns how baby sea turtles, alligators, tadpoles, chicks and parrots are protected by their mothers.For those of you who are teaching your children about character qualities, you will find this book has opportunities for you to discuss Terry's perseverance in trying to reunite the mother with her egg and his self-sacrifice in doing so. Terry is a good example for children and I think you will love the book.I received a free copy of this book from Tomoson.com for my honest review.
    more
  • Mihaela Day
    November 11, 2014
    9 Things I Love & Learnt About Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg 1. This book is about a cute little boy with red hair and freckles named Terry…2. Everybody calls him Terry Treetop because he loves climbing trees, we come to find out from the book :)3. In this particular story Terry finds a small egg, and his quest is to bring it back home to its mom…the story is simple, yet interesting and beautiful!4. This story is the perfect tool to teach your little ones about the habitat and environment o 9 Things I Love & Learnt About Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg 1. This book is about a cute little boy with red hair and freckles named Terry…2. Everybody calls him Terry Treetop because he loves climbing trees, we come to find out from the book :)3. In this particular story Terry finds a small egg, and his quest is to bring it back home to its mom…the story is simple, yet interesting and beautiful!4. This story is the perfect tool to teach your little ones about the habitat and environment of different animals :)5. Just like in the other books, the children will find a life lesson to be learn also….6. The simple rhyming text and the 18 colorful illustration make for an entertaining and fun reading :)7. This ebook is part of an entire series of Terry Treetop illustrated children books written by Tali Carmi…8. The series is geared towards real young children 2-6 years old, however, the books can be enjoyed from young to old :)9. My 11 months daughter was captivated by the beautiful pictures the entire time…I highly recommend to give this series a try :)
    more
  • Niki
    August 24, 2014
    My son was happy to read a new book, especially since he likes the Terry Treetop series. Terry Treetop is a really cute little boy who loves to climb trees. In this book, he finds an egg and searches everywhere to return it to it's home. He comes across quite a few different animals who have eggs but a different kind. What I really like is that little kids can learn about the different eggs that some animals have. Kids will also learn about how nice it is to help others, like Terry Treetop alway My son was happy to read a new book, especially since he likes the Terry Treetop series. Terry Treetop is a really cute little boy who loves to climb trees. In this book, he finds an egg and searches everywhere to return it to it's home. He comes across quite a few different animals who have eggs but a different kind. What I really like is that little kids can learn about the different eggs that some animals have. Kids will also learn about how nice it is to help others, like Terry Treetop always does.Lastly, it rhymes! Don't kids love when things rhyme? My son sure does!This is a fun book with very cute and colorful illustrations like the other books in this series. The vocabulary is easy to understand for young children whether they are reading it themselves or being read to.Yes, I recommend for all the young readers out there, boys and girls. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are solely my own.
    more
  • Darlene
    November 30, 2013
    This was a free distraction for me. I liked that the kid was called chubby. Chubby kids need love, too! Though I loved the spirit of the book I found that had I been reading it to my children, way back when, I would have to spend a while explaining why a child shouldn't talk to reptiles like alligators and crocodiles, or even possible snapping turtles. I'm glad that the child is encouraged to climb trees and roam around, hopefully, at five years old, with an adult or older sibling. The other thi This was a free distraction for me. I liked that the kid was called chubby. Chubby kids need love, too! Though I loved the spirit of the book I found that had I been reading it to my children, way back when, I would have to spend a while explaining why a child shouldn't talk to reptiles like alligators and crocodiles, or even possible snapping turtles. I'm glad that the child is encouraged to climb trees and roam around, hopefully, at five years old, with an adult or older sibling. The other thing is how do deal with the stray egg. We've been taught to not handle the stray egg as the mother may reject it due to human scent. There is a way to do it. I hope Terry Treetop had learned how.The poetry was sweet and clear. The rhythms felt okay in my head. I think it would be fun to read to little ones, especially with the discussions I listed above.
    more
  • Pamela Marks
    August 24, 2014
    Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg is about a little boy who loves to climb trees. While climbing a tree during a camping trip he spots an egg, and sets out on an adventure to return it to the rightful owner.The illustrations were very cute. My 6 year old daughter Dorothy listened while I read this to her. She loves our Snuggle and Story time.In 1st grade they learned a lot about animal habitats so this fit right in with what she had learned.To be honest I learned a few things about habitats while r Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg is about a little boy who loves to climb trees. While climbing a tree during a camping trip he spots an egg, and sets out on an adventure to return it to the rightful owner.The illustrations were very cute. My 6 year old daughter Dorothy listened while I read this to her. She loves our Snuggle and Story time.In 1st grade they learned a lot about animal habitats so this fit right in with what she had learned.To be honest I learned a few things about habitats while reading this as well.Kids love adventure, Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg delivered this in a fun and thoughtful way.I would love to read more books like this with my daughter.Dorothy is in between 1st and 2nd grade. Her favorite part of the book was the the happy ending.
    more
  • Gisela Hausmann
    June 24, 2015
    Tali Carmi’s “Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg” is one of these awesome books, which tell, teach, and engage. Undoubtedly, younger readers of this book will be eager to solve the puzzle, “who is mom of the egg that Terry found." Terry’s questions various animals, who tell him how about their eggs – what they look like, how the protect them, and how they’ll take care of their babies.It’s a well tested, successful teaching system, and this book is no exception. In particular I appreciated that the a Tali Carmi’s “Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg” is one of these awesome books, which tell, teach, and engage. Undoubtedly, younger readers of this book will be eager to solve the puzzle, “who is mom of the egg that Terry found." Terry’s questions various animals, who tell him how about their eggs – what they look like, how the protect them, and how they’ll take care of their babies.It’s a well tested, successful teaching system, and this book is no exception. In particular I appreciated that the author show how Terry takes care of the egg he find. Young children are bound to learn a valuable lesson here.5 stars for Terry!Gisela Hausmann, author & blogger
    more
  • Jenessa Mullen
    August 26, 2014
    The kids and I loved reading about Terry Treetop and his adventure to find the mother of the lost egg. The kids loved the pictures, the story and the animals. We are now reading other books by Tali Carmi and the kids love Terry Treetop!Tali CarmiTerry Treetop and the Lost Egg
    more
  • Jennifer
    August 24, 2014
    Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg was a cute story that followed Terry Treetop as he tried to find the Lost Egg's home. Throughout the story kids are introduced to animals, their habitats, and how they take care of their eggs/babies.The only problem I found with the book was that the writing/rhyming was a little rough at the beginning. Regardless I still thought that the story was cute and the illustrations were fun and colorful. My 5 year old said that he would like to read the other books in the Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg was a cute story that followed Terry Treetop as he tried to find the Lost Egg's home. Throughout the story kids are introduced to animals, their habitats, and how they take care of their eggs/babies.The only problem I found with the book was that the writing/rhyming was a little rough at the beginning. Regardless I still thought that the story was cute and the illustrations were fun and colorful. My 5 year old said that he would like to read the other books in the Terry Treetop series.*Disclosure: I was able to get a free copy of the eBook in order to write an honest review.*
    more
  • E.C. Kraeft
    October 2, 2016
    This rhyming story is cutely written with facts about animals that lay eggs. I agree with the author’s book description in that it is good book for read alouds. It is also a good book for beginning readers who are transitioning into becoming independent. The text could send the wrong message to kids to pick up birds’ eggs or approach different wild animals if the child is not good at depicting the difference between real and make-believe. Please note: I acquired this book for free on Kindle.
    more
  • Deborah Bean
    April 23, 2014
    Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg by Tali Carmi has good illustrations to capture a young child’s attention. I am, however concerned about the content of the story. First of all, we teach our children not to touch animal’s eggs, and this book has him taking it all around. Second, is the alligator, do we really want to teach the children to walk up to such a dangerous animal? I applaud that the author is making books fun for the little ones, but we have to keep in mind that these same little ones be Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg by Tali Carmi has good illustrations to capture a young child’s attention. I am, however concerned about the content of the story. First of all, we teach our children not to touch animal’s eggs, and this book has him taking it all around. Second, is the alligator, do we really want to teach the children to walk up to such a dangerous animal? I applaud that the author is making books fun for the little ones, but we have to keep in mind that these same little ones believe everything that comes out of our mouths. 3 stars is all I can give this book.
    more
  • Sara Reis
    February 24, 2014
    I've just read this great story to my son. I think I enjoyed it more than him because he is still too young to fully understand it. This is a great educational book with amazing rhymes and good illustrations. The first time I heard about this book was here in Goodreads' giveaways, and then I was lucky and got the kindle edition for free on Amazon. I really enjoyed this book and I will be buying next Tali Carmi books.
    more
  • Brenda Perlin
    June 8, 2014
    "Kids: Terry Treetop and the Lost Egg" by Tali Carmi is a sweet story about Terry’s adventures. Terry Treetop goes camping and it is then that he discovers an egg. He is on a mission to find the mother. It’s an educational story as well as a fun escape. This is a happy tale with wonderful vivid illustrations. I love that this teaches kids to appreciate nature. I found this to be a touching book that children and their parents can share together.
    more
  • Vanessa
    August 25, 2014
    This is a cute little story of a boy helping out another creature where he lives. Instead of seeing the egg and continue to walk by, he takes it upon himself the help it. We need a little more of that these days, so I really like reading it to my daughter. She also enjoys the pictures and playing eye spy with it.
    more
  • Fireslily
    August 25, 2014
    Like the other books, I love the illustrations and the educational content. The biggest problem with this one is that the author tries too hard for the rhymes. It makes the story awkward to read. Overall, a pretty good book, but could use a bit of work.I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Mandy
    April 5, 2015
    Okay, let me just start with the character, Chubby. He is so adorable! I thought my 6yr old daughter may be too old for this book but she absolutely loved it! So much so that she wanted to read it the following night as well. She loved the rhyming too. We need to dig into more Terry Treetop books tonight!
    more
  • Marielle Altenor
    August 24, 2014
    I had fun reading this story to my little man. We also went and got the coloring page and did the coloring together. The story is cute and easy to read. Looking forward to more stories about Terry Treetop and his adventures.
  • Sara
    January 25, 2014
    I received this book after winning a giveaway for it. I enjoyed this book with my daughters aged 8 and 4. They really enjoyed listening to how helpful terry was and they loved seeing all the different animal eggs. It was a very enjoyable read and I would love to read the other terry treetop books.
    more
  • rebecca bryant
    August 24, 2014
    This book was so cute. It reminded me of the Dr. Suess book Are you My Mother. Terry is the cutest kid and such a kind soul. Your child will enjoy reading this book and learning about different animals and their habitat.
  • Wendy Unsworth
    November 28, 2013
    Wonderful illustrations and a great little story with a nice message about caring for nature. I enjoyed Terry's adventure as he looked for the true home for the egg he found. For me, the rhyming text didn't always work, but the author did a good job conveying this cute story.
    more
  • Stacie Wyatt
    June 19, 2014
    I read Terry Treetop and the lost egg in exchange for honest review from Tomoson. I wanted to read the book for my kids. The book teaches kids about eggs and their mothers. I also loved the graphics in the book. Great quick read.
  • Angela Hopson
    September 23, 2014
    Entertaining and educationalThis book is a great way to get children to learn about the environment and making friends. I highly recommend this book for kids.
  • Clacie
    February 10, 2014
    Thought it was just okIt was ok. The kids weren't really impressed. Probably they won't ask me to read it again, which is fine with me.
  • Stephanie
    November 6, 2013
    A potentially good book. But the rhymes are off, and the spelling and punctuation are amiss.
  • Nannette P
    October 10, 2014
    This is another great book for the family. get your copy today and read it to your kids.
  • Jonathan Vine
    February 4, 2014
    cute story, loved the rhymes
Write a review