Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected...Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5) Details

TitleHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 10th, 2004
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN0439358078
ISBN-139780439358071
Number of pages870 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Audiobook, Novels

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5) Review

  • Sasha Alsberg
    December 11, 2015
    I finished this book with tears in my eyes and laughter on my lips.Just wow, excellent book!
  • Regan
    February 11, 2016
    (obviously a reread) *cries*
  • Diane ϟ [ Lestrange ]
    March 28, 2010
    Interview with JK Rowling... Stephen Fry: Can we settle an important question?JK Rowling: Yes.Stephen Fry: How do you pronounce your last name?JK Rowling: It is Row-ling. As in rolling pin.Stephen Fry: So if any of you hear someone pronounce her name “Rohw-ling”, you have my permission to hit them over the head with — not with Order of the Phoenix, that would be cruel. Something smaller, like a fridge.
    more
  • Jessika
    July 1, 2008
    I cried like a little baby. J.K. Rowling really starts taking the series down a darker road in this book. She is so talented at character development, and it really shines in this book. Here, Harry is 15 years old, and for most of the book, he's whiny and self-centered, just like a typical teenager. I also adore Dumbledore's role in this book--his conversation at the end with Harry put me to tears. Rowling did an amazing job with the character of Umbridge...never have I hated a fictional charact I cried like a little baby. J.K. Rowling really starts taking the series down a darker road in this book. She is so talented at character development, and it really shines in this book. Here, Harry is 15 years old, and for most of the book, he's whiny and self-centered, just like a typical teenager. I also adore Dumbledore's role in this book--his conversation at the end with Harry put me to tears. Rowling did an amazing job with the character of Umbridge...never have I hated a fictional character more than I hated her. I do have to admit, I'm curious to see whether she makes any more appearances or not. For me, this book was stronger for character development than plot. Yes, this is a key book for the series, but I felt like most of the book was spent with characters' internal issues and development rather than the plot. I love how Harry and the crew are dealing with more adult issues now, such as relationships and death. As with all of her books, I have a really difficult time putting these books down, but especially within the last 100 pages, I physically could not separate the book from my hands. Overall, another outstanding addition from J.K. Rowling.
    more
  • Navessa
    March 13, 2013
    Seriously, don't read this review if you haven't read the books. The biggest compliment I can think to give an 870 page book is that I wish it had been longer. I wish this had been longer. This book has always been my favorite in the series. Up until it, Harry’s story had been filled with light. Sure, there were some tough parts earlier on, and while it's true that some darkness crept into the ending of the previous installment, for the most part, that was a pretty happy book compared to this. R Seriously, don't read this review if you haven't read the books. The biggest compliment I can think to give an 870 page book is that I wish it had been longer. I wish this had been longer. This book has always been my favorite in the series. Up until it, Harry’s story had been filled with light. Sure, there were some tough parts earlier on, and while it's true that some darkness crept into the ending of the previous installment, for the most part, that was a pretty happy book compared to this. Ron got over his jealousy, the school eventually got behind Harry as a Champion, and good still triumphed over evil. Our hero surmounted impossible odds in the Triwizard Tournament and then managed to escape Voldemort, yet again, and warn the wizarding world of his return. And then BAM!The beginning of this book hits you in the face. Where you expect Harry to be in the know, he’s in the dark, where you expect The Daily Prophet to be filled with stories about the ministry pursuing Voldemort, there’s only silence, where you expect excitement about returning to Hogwarts there is only frustration and angst. And you know what? You get it, you frigging get it, man. Because you were with Harry when he faced Voldemort and his Death Eaters alone, you stood beside him as the shades of his parents appeared from the tip of his enemy’s wand and helped save his life. And when he made it back to safety, you were just as dumbfounded as he was when the minister of magic refused to believe him, refused to believe Dumbledore. So how dare they? How dare they let him rot, alone, in a house full of people who hate and ridicule him, while the murderer of his parents begins to rebuild his army? How dare they feed him snippets like “We can’t tell you anything about what we’ve been doing, and we’ve been doing A LOT. But don’t worry, we’ll see you soon, we just can’t tell you when”? As if he hasn’t been through enough. If anyone has the right to know what’s going on, it’s Harry. Doesn’t anyone KNOW him like we do? Or do they just think that they know what’s best for him better than he does? And that’s part of the genius of this installment. This book grows up. Where the previous four could be labeled as children’s stories, this one cannot. There are so many hard lessons and difficult themes in this, ones that a child’s mind cannot fully grasp. Gone are the heroes, gone are the happy endings. This book teaches you that adults aren’t the perfect protectors you thought they were. Sirius isn’t infallible. James Potter isn’t infallible. Albus frigging Dumbledore isn’t infallible. None of them are. None of them are even fully good. And come to find out, those you thought were fully evil might not be either. This book introduces you to shades of grey, and each revelation seems to hit you harder than the last. Normally, I hate angst. This is mostly because I find the vast majority of what I see these days to be a sorry excuse to lengthen a story or a shoddy attempt to distract a reader from glaring issues. Trying to cover up weak characterization? Add some angst! Want to hide those holes in your plot? Add some angst! The only type of angst I can stand is believable angst. Rowling delivers on this. And that’s one of the many reasons that I love this book. There are a lot of other reasons, Fred and George’s badassery, Ginny Weasley finding her voice and becoming a character in her own right, the undiluted rage that coursed through my body every time I read a scene that included Delores Umbridge, the incredible courage and honesty of Hermione Granger, the loyalty of Ron Weasley, Neville Longbottom coming into his own, the failed Occlumency lessons (I WILL ALWAYS HATE SNAPE) and the way the entire school ended up doing exactly what the sorting hat suggested at the beginning of the year and banded together as one against the ministry’s interference. I even loved the ending. YES, I SAID IT! And do you know why? Because life isn’t sunshine and roses and you don’t always get to say goodbye to those you love. You don’t get the sense that Sirius’s death was a righteous one. You don’t get resolution. He didn’t make some grand sacrifice to save the lives of many others. He died taunting the bad guys, smiling at them, egging them on as though he was still that ego-inflated teenager you glimpsed through the pensieve. And then you find out that it was all for nothing. That there were so many ways that it could have been avoided. How do you deal with that? The best you can, I guess. So while I don’t necessarily "enjoy" this book as much as I do the others, it remains my favorite in the series for the reasons I listed above.This review can also be found at The Alliterates.
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    June 26, 2010
    Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To Youok. I will start by saying that this is one of my least favorite books in the series, and that isn't because it's bad, BECAUSE IT IS DEFINITELY NOT. It's mainly due to the fact that I hate Umbridge more than words can translate, and having to read about her so much just infuriates me, rather than giving me warm fuzzies the entire time I'm reading.That being said, here are some of my thoughts on the book:-mention of Regulus Black near the beginni Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To Youok. I will start by saying that this is one of my least favorite books in the series, and that isn't because it's bad, BECAUSE IT IS DEFINITELY NOT. It's mainly due to the fact that I hate Umbridge more than words can translate, and having to read about her so much just infuriates me, rather than giving me warm fuzzies the entire time I'm reading.That being said, here are some of my thoughts on the book:-mention of Regulus Black near the beginning of this book. I've noticed particularly during this re-read that J.K. Rowling tends to mention characters a book or two before they will have any importance to the story. She seriously knew what she was doing while writing these books.-it's so weird to think that Sirius is related to Narcissa and Bellatrix! Sirius is such an amazing human, and he was born into a terrible family, which is pretty true of a lot of people. Just because you come from something/somewhere terrible, that doesn't mean you can't be different and be good.-Ron and Hermione becoming prefects is just so great. Surely there would be a better candidate in their year to be the male prefect, yet Dumbledore chose Ron. Why? Because Dumbledore knows that Ron always feels worthless in comparison to his five older brothers, and him becoming prefect was enough to make him feel like a winner at something. Dumbledore is cool like that.-Quite often I forget that St. Mungo's exists since it's not in the movies at all. Here, we get to see Neville's parents, as well as Gilderoy Lockhart (who is adorable now and not at all annoying), and I WISH THAT WAS IN THE MOVIES.-it sucks that Harry was banned from playing Quidditch this year, as I LOVE Quidditch. and Harry was so sad because of it, which made him cranky and quite insane. HOWEVER, I love that Ginny took over for him as Seeker. I feel like Ginny has grown up so much already, and it's particularly in this book that I grew to really like her. She's so much better in the books than in the movies.-In the epic fight near the end of the book, NEVILLE IS SO BADASS. If you ever think that Neville isn't brave until the last book, you are wrong. He was throwing himself at Death Eaters and Stunning the shit out of everybody. It was awesome.-As usual, lots of information was revealed in the last couple of chapters of the book. This particular book reveals A LOT of stuff that most people were probably wondering about whilst reading the other four books, as well as information that you probably didn't even think of. I love how many answers we get in this one.I THINK THAT'S IT FOR NOW. I have a lot of feelings, so I might add more later.
    more
  • Inge
    September 12, 2011
    Dear Dolores Umbridge, (view spoiler)[R.I.P. Sirius Black. Best friend, godfather, member of the Order. The injustice of it all hurts me every time I read this book. You will never be forgotten. <3 (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kassidy
    June 21, 2014
    SO many feels!!!I really love this book. The plot and world gets so complex, and I'm very happy to get answers and explanations at the end!This one was a crazy, scary, and ... frustrating.. (Umbridge) ride, but still so fun.
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?""Yes.""You called her a liar?""Yes.""You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?""Yes.""Have a biscuit, Potter.”This is my favourite book in my favourite series of all time. It's so rich of detail, so full of mysterious and often dark magic. So much character development, so many brave people sticking up for their friends. It's also the book that introduces us to my most hated fictional character ever. Never have I hated anyone as much as Um “Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?""Yes.""You called her a liar?""Yes.""You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?""Yes.""Have a biscuit, Potter.”This is my favourite book in my favourite series of all time. It's so rich of detail, so full of mysterious and often dark magic. So much character development, so many brave people sticking up for their friends. It's also the book that introduces us to my most hated fictional character ever. Never have I hated anyone as much as Umbrige. And being able to create such deep anger and loathing in me, with only words!, shows again what a fantastic writer Mrs. Rowling is.Here are some of my favourite scenes, characters and details:1. Mrs. Figg beating up Mundungus and cursing Dudley2. Grimmauld Place and the Order3. Thestrals4. McGonagall vs. Umbrige (Harry's Career Advice appointment is one of the funniest scenes in the whole series)5. McGonagall and Trelawney vs. Umbrige6. The Teachers vs. Umbrige7. Peeves giving Umbrige hell8. Hermione setting up a meeting with Luna & Rita Skeeter9. Dumbledore's Army meetings10. Ginny dating whoever she likes and not giving a damn11. St. Mungo's12. The Department of Mysteries13. "Have a biscuit, Potter."14. Professor Sprout giving Harry 20 points for Gryffindor for handing her a watering canFind more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Mikee Andrea (ReadWithMikee)
    October 1, 2015
    ❝Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.❞ Rating: ★ ★ ★ I feel like I'm going to get attacked for only rating a Harry Potter book 3.75 stars but Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is probably my LEAST favorite of the series thus far. It went by so slow and I felt like too much went on but at the same time nothing really happened. This book could've easily been made at least 200 pages shorter if J.K. Rowling got rid of all the point ❝Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.❞ Rating: ★ ★ ★ ¾I feel like I'm going to get attacked for only rating a Harry Potter book 3.75 stars but Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is probably my LEAST favorite of the series thus far. It went by so slow and I felt like too much went on but at the same time nothing really happened. This book could've easily been made at least 200 pages shorter if J.K. Rowling got rid of all the pointless details and chapters that added nothing significant to the storyline. The movie was never really one of my favorites either and that was probably the primary reason it took me more than a month to get through Order of the Phoenix.On top of that, I wasn't a big fan of Harry in this book. I understand that he went through a whole lot after the events of Goblet of Fire but he was moody and a jerk to everyone around him 98% of the time and although I can empathize with him, it became too over the top for me and I got tired of it real fast. He just kept snapping and going off on all the wrong people and it got really annoying. All the constant CAPITALIZED yelling didn't help too much either.Even though Order of the Phoenix was my least favorite movie and book, I LOVED the concept of Dumbledore's Army. I just loved seeing all the students in action and actually putting everything they learned into good use. We finally get to meet Luna Lovegood, one of my favorite Harry Potter characters of all time, and I was so ecstatic every time her name was mentioned.As for Umbridge, she was also the ultimate villain in this book. She was the woman you LOVED to HATE and I felt the movie nailed this portrayal so perfectly. If J.K. Rowling's goal was to make you want to rip your own hair to shreds, she succeeded that and more.Overall, I felt the book was unnecessarily long but the movie itself was not much better. Where the book felt too slow, the film adaptation felt too rushed leaving out key details. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix will probably always be my least favorite book and movie in the series, but the worst Harry Potter book is still a whole league better than a lot of other books.
    more
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    January 3, 2013
    I still can't believe my sixth grade self devoured all 870 pages in two sittings. Only you Jo, only you.
  • Manny
    August 12, 2011
  • Nour Sharif
    June 22, 2012
    Edit #3: 27/3/2015 I am still getting positive feedback over this and every time I read what you guys and girls have told me, my heart swells. Gosh, I am so proud of this review. Edit #2: 25\7\2014So I came across this article today, and for some reason, it made me happy!! I feel evil *evil laugh* http://mea-news.net/en/index.php/2014... Edit #1: 8\3\2014It has been four months that I posted this review. And so far I have received great feedback. Thank you everyone for yo#ur support ^^ Rememb Edit #3: 27/3/2015 I am still getting positive feedback over this and every time I read what you guys and girls have told me, my heart swells. Gosh, I am so proud of this review. Edit #2: 25\7\2014So I came across this article today, and for some reason, it made me happy!! I feel evil *evil laugh* http://mea-news.net/en/index.php/2014... Edit #1: 8\3\2014It has been four months that I posted this review. And so far I have received great feedback. Thank you everyone for yo#ur support ^^ Remember, this is not a benign cause. 6/11/2013I know that I have neglected the subject of the new Goodreads policy a lot recently, and I ought not to have done that. You see, I wasn’t very free recently, and well because I didn’t know what to either say or on what book should I post it. And then I read this book, and the rebelliousness in this book made me think that hey, this book is perfect for what I have in mind. Oh, and guess what! I am going to be aggressive. Let me tell you something maybe a lot of you people are not aware of. We, people who live in the Middle East, look up towards the west, where presumably, everyone is free to say and do whatever they want, bounded by no tradition or religious law whatsoever. But when this kind of law is forced upon everyone from the west itself, we lose hope. We lose hope that anything will be good again. And well for someone (me), who has suffered a lot because of that (Facebook only made my freedom of speech more restricted), I found a haven for myself in Goodreads, where apparently no one gives a damn whether you insult or disagree with them because well, they don’t care. And because they are mature enough to ignore any insults under the pretext that it is “your opinion”.Do you know how much I love that? I have suffered A LOT because of that. Let me tell you something about myself. I never EVER stay quiet about something that I believe to be true – even if I was wrong to many other people – and now Mister Money-Head-Of-Amazon has to ruin that for me. All right, I realized that everything that was said about the new policy was said in the utmost civilized way. But guess what! I am a teenager. I don’t give a damn about manners, and I am about to say what everyone has wanted to say for a long time. Goodreads by succumbing to the green papers have restricted my freedom of speech. In the last few years, I have been bullied, put down, humiliated, insulted, punished… just because I wanted to say what I had in mind, just because I always stand up to what I believe in. And since because ALL OF THAT HAPPENED TO ME, I turned towards Goodreads where I was surprised that no one cared about whatever I said, and always respected me when I wanted to express myself. No review of mine has been removed, but a lot of people’s reviews have been removed. Since it didn’t affect me yet, I should shut up, right? No! Just the fact that it exists is bothering me. It is like having this law around forbidding people to eat chicken, and I hate chicken, but that doesn’t mean I should keep quiet. Okay, that was a bad example, but the closest I had to the ridiculousness of what we are fighting for. No one should fight for his right to express himself freely. It is a right. We are born with that right. And no number of reviews removed is going to change that. It is not going to frighten us. It is not going to make us back out. You can remove all the reviews you want, Goodreads, but this is something I believe in. So I am fighting, even if you have to ban me. Well, according to your own policy, you can't do that. Well, you can't even remove the reviews that have been put before the declaration of that censorship but you do it anyway. So you are bunch of hypocrites. You, Goodreads managers, anyone with the IQ of a peacock can realize that what you have done is so wrong on so many levels. If I were the Goodreads manager, I would say this to the Amazon Manager when he came offering the new law “You can take your money and your pathetic ass out of my office! You cannot threaten us with money or hold it over our heads! This company has so far made you millions of money just by existing and promoting your books! More than half of our members buy regularly from your website! In fact, according to this logic, you owe us!” GR Manager slaps Amazon Manager. Jackie Shan bursts into the scene wearing nothing but a newspaper around his waist. Kung fu! Jackie kicks Amazon Manager’s head off, and his body goes around looking for its head. Meanwhile, GR Manager holds both the head and the body and throws them from the window of the headquarters. BOOM! The end. This policy is so wrong. If people like us cannot express themselves online, then where will they? I might not insult your precious little authors, Amazon Manager (in my opinion they shouldn’t be called authors if they can’t take god damn criticism. Not everyone should approve with them), but I have every god damn right to express myself freely without having to worry whether my review would be removed or not. The management even has no right to go around reading whatever we say online because well, I thought they had better things to do. It turns out I was wrong, don’t you think? Anyway, what we say online is OUR concern, not yours. You shouldn’t threaten us. You shouldn’t condemn us. Maybe to you, you are only deleting a review, but to us you are restricting our freedom. And no one really appreciates freedom but the ones who have been deprived from it. I wonder how the Goodreads Management even agreed to this. I had a lot more to say about this on my mind, but I think I have made my point quite clearly. Us, readers, and the ones who write a bit like I do, find words our strongest weapon. Back to my review about this book. THIS WAS THE WORST BOOK I HAVE READ! I have cried 50 pages straight. (view spoiler)[ why did she have to kill Sirius?WHAT DID HE EVER DO TO HER? I AM STILL CRYING YOU KNOW! (hide spoiler)]The 5 stars I have given it, it was not a “WOW I LOVED THIS BOOK AUTOMATIC FIVE STARS!” No. It was this kind of books “it deserves 5 stars, with a little dash of wow at the end”. This is the kind of perfect books that makes you feel as though all happiness, innocence and hope had been sucked out of the world, and until everything in the book is fixed, nothing in the world will ever be right again. I have really a lot of controversial feelings about this book, but it all goes down to one point. It is good. It is worthy of five stars. And it had hooked me up five days straight.
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    November 2, 2012
    Forget the movie, it's just a 2 hours trailer for the Novel..أول أجزاء هاري بوتر التي يغلفها أجواء ثورية أورويليةعن الوزارة التي تدفن رأسها في التراب، تراقب الجميع وتمنع الحديثعن قمع الحرية، الصحافة التي تتحول لبوق السلطةوعن الشباب..الذي يثور بسبب القهرحيث بمجرد ظهور خطر يهدد مجتمع السحرة، خطر يجب أن يتم اﻷعداد لمواجهته ومحاربته فإن الوزارة نفت تماما الخبر لأنه جاء من هاري بوتر..ودمبلدوررأت أنها لن تصدق شابا صغيرا ورجل له شعبية تفوق وزير السحر..لظنهم إنه يسعي لتولي منصب الوزيرفرات الوزارة أن الت Forget the movie, it's just a 2 hours trailer for the Novel..أول أجزاء هاري بوتر التي يغلفها أجواء ثورية أورويليةعن الوزارة التي تدفن رأسها في التراب، تراقب الجميع وتمنع الحديثعن قمع الحرية، الصحافة التي تتحول لبوق السلطةوعن الشباب..الذي يثور بسبب القهرحيث بمجرد ظهور خطر يهدد مجتمع السحرة، خطر يجب أن يتم اﻷعداد لمواجهته ومحاربته فإن الوزارة نفت تماما الخبر لأنه جاء من هاري بوتر..ودمبلدوررأت أنها لن تصدق شابا صغيرا ورجل له شعبية تفوق وزير السحر..لظنهم إنه يسعي لتولي منصب الوزيرفرات الوزارة أن التعتيم الأعلام للمجتمع هو الحل ...بثت الأكاذيب عنهما ووصفت هاري بالكذب والسعي للشهرة..بل وقامت بتلفيق التهم لهقامت بالرقابة المشددة علي الطلبة خوفا من ثورتهم، عينتّ عليهم مفتش من الوزارة ، كانت شخصيتها آورويلية بشكل كبير.. منعت تجمعات الطلبة وتجهيزاتهم للدفاع ضد الخطر الذي يتهدد المجتمعكل هذا لأجل الخوف علي المنصب..الكرسي..الوزارة. فكان التكذيب والتخوين هو حلهم البديل عن المواجهة هذا ما كتبته جي كي رولينج في الجزء الخامس من سلسلة هاري بوتر وجماعة العنقاءصورت النظام الضعيف وأساليبه الرخيصة للحفاظ علي مكانته بغض النظر عن أي إخطار تواجهه مجتمعهوكيف كانت ثورة الطلبة بقيادة هاري أو جماعة العنقاء بقيادة دمبلدور ليس طمعا في السلطة وإنما للحفاظ عن المجتمع وتوحيده وتقويته ضد الخطر الخارجي..وليس بدفن الرأس بالرمال كالنظام الفاشل.صورت كيف يحاول الشباب التدريب بالرغم من المراقبة الصارمة وحتي محاولات التوقيع بينهم بمكافاة الوشاةستطاردك أثناء القراءة كيف كانت تلك المفتش البغيضة من الوزارة تؤكد لهاري بوتر “لا يجب أن تنطق بالكذب” بينما الخطر الأكبر يتحرك في الظلام ولا يستطيع هاري وجماعته فعل شئهذا الوجه الثوري لسلسلة هاري بوتر هو ما أخترته في مقال "أخترنا لك" بالروايات الاوروليةمقال ثلاث روايات ثورية بأجواء آورويلية------------------هذا الجزء الضخم يستحق ريفيو أعلي..وهو مااتمني الانتهاء من كل الريفيوهات والوجوه المختلفة لتلك السلسلةولكن لا ننسي أن هذا الجزء أيضا به الكثير من المشاعر العائلية بين عائلة ويزلي..والأبن المارق "الضال" بيرسيوعودة اللقاء ولم الشمل بين هاري وابيه الروحي سيريس بلاكونظرة أعمق لشخصية نيفيل لونجبوتوموعن الصداقة والحب وحقوق الأقليات "الجني المنزلي - ايلف" التي تدعمها هيرميونيعن التميز وغيرة الأصحاب كحبكة رؤساء الأبطالوعن الغضب والتحكم فيه كما يحدث مع نوبات هاري بوتر الغاضبةوعن حكمة دمبلدور وعن ماضي سنابوعن النبؤاتوعن الوقوف للحق..لفعل الصحيح وان لم يكن سهلاجيش دمبلدور... رمز صراع الخير والشر..الذي للاسف يمر الزمان ولكنه لا ينس تكرار نفسهمحمد العربيقراءة العربية الأولي من الطبعة الأولي ذات الترجمة المختصرةمنتصف يناير 2005قراءة عربية ثانية من الطبعة الثانية المنقحةفي يوليو 2005
    more
  • Annie
    June 28, 2007
    hrrmmpp.This is my least favourite of the Harry Potter series, and almost borders on the "don't bother". It is saved only by the virtue that it is a Harry Potter book and moves the series along to the still yet unknown finale.My issues with it:- deals with complex social/political problems in a simplified, extreme, and dichotomous manner- characterisations are too easy/lazy- all good or all bad (with the exception of Snape who's good/evil intentions are yet unknown), all courageous or cowardly, hrrmmpp.This is my least favourite of the Harry Potter series, and almost borders on the "don't bother". It is saved only by the virtue that it is a Harry Potter book and moves the series along to the still yet unknown finale.My issues with it:- deals with complex social/political problems in a simplified, extreme, and dichotomous manner- characterisations are too easy/lazy- all good or all bad (with the exception of Snape who's good/evil intentions are yet unknown), all courageous or cowardly, the righteous or the corrupt. - Malfoy junior is the most incompetent nemesis in the history of evil. And whilst this was acceptable in the earlier books where there was an element of the comical in his attempts to be evil, by book 5, where the themes have become signifantly darker, he and his side-kicks' unchanging and inane attempts to foil Harry's ultimate fate have just become annoying. The only saving grace is that Harry has more than enough true and worthwhile enemies and obstacles for the reader to really get bogged down by Malfoy's silliness. - the laudable themes of power/corruption/propaganda/censorship are played out with such naive characterisations, extreme situations and melodramaticism that it results in inflammatory knee-jerk reactions rather than furthering understanding of the subleties of these ideas. - the plot seems confused, as if JK Rowling has all these ideas, but is unsure of where she ultimately wants to go, thereby leaving in all these subplots that neither has entertainment, wisdom nor story-advancing value. EG what's with Grawp and the freaking giants??Overall- read it only as a part of the greater goal of coming closer to the ending of the series.
    more
  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    February 18, 2016
    I know I overwhelmed Goodreads with my abundant reviews this week but I promise this is the last I’ll post until I finish Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince which will probably take a week. Lol.The following is mostly rubbish because I was dreadfully ill when I read the fifth Harry Potter book (my faithful, loyal companion while my own respiratory tract conspired against me.) Merlin’s Beard! What has happened to my English? It has fully converted to British. Bloody brilliant! My husband will I know I overwhelmed Goodreads with my abundant reviews this week but I promise this is the last I’ll post until I finish Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince which will probably take a week. Lol.The following is mostly rubbish because I was dreadfully ill when I read the fifth Harry Potter book (my faithful, loyal companion while my own respiratory tract conspired against me.) Merlin’s Beard! What has happened to my English? It has fully converted to British. Bloody brilliant! My husband will surely be gobsmacked!I know that I should be using my days off to rest but I just couldn’t keep my hands off Harry Potter. Even though this is even longer than the fourth book, I finished it triumphantly in three days to be exact. As usual, the ff. are my usual gibberish while and after reading HP books: 1. A crabby Harry is new!2. Percy has always pissed me off but the ingrate! I can’t believe he’s a Weasley!3. I always thought drawling is cool except when Lucius does it.4. I swear Prof. Umbridge is the reincarnation of a professor I once had in college. Getting to know her is like reliving those dreadful days. Her carefully structured theory based method=blech!5. Brilliant, Prof. Mc Gonagall. You show that Umbridge woman off!6. When has Ginny started to become so clever and funny?7. Romance is quite in the air but not for long really. Lol.8. Hermione fell nothing short of brilliant and as usual, she is right. She’s always right. When will you learn that, Harry?9. Prof. Lockhart turned up! Poor thing.10. Woohoo! Show that old bat, Fred and George! What a legendary departure.11. I have never taken a liking to Peeves until now.12. Kreacher, you treacherous elf!13. Looney, I mean Luna Lovegood has been a great help. 14. The best Defense against Dark Arts Professor Award goes to Harry Potter!15. Oh Dumbledore! *gasps* Indeed, you got style.^^16. Hagrid has a little brother! (view spoiler)[Graupy-lol (hide spoiler)]17. NOOOOOOOO! Please stop killing people, J.K. I don’t think I can take anymore. (view spoiler)[ Sirius! (hide spoiler)] *wails for one hour!* 18. Thank you, Order of Phoenix. It’s about time the Dursleys learned their lesson. * I didn’t bother taking notes of the things the movie missed or gotten wrong because there are just too many but I have to say the Umbridge actress played the character spot on and so did Luna Lovegood, Bellatrix and of course Voldz. One thing I commend the movies for from the first one up to the fifth would be the choice of actors and actresses who gave justice to their characters.^^ Goodbye, real world! Hello, wizarding world! *poof!*
    more
  • Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★
    October 2, 2016
    REVIEW TO COME TOMORROWEdit : Guys, I'm sorry that I have to review it on Monday. There's blackout here ;_; 4.9 Stars 'Yeah' said Harry, 'but you, unlike me, are a git, so get out and leave us alone.' I supposed to post the review yesterday but there was a blackout while I was reviewing and you can imagine how pissed I was when suddenly my computer was off and the review was already quite long. I was like this : well, I wasn't screaming because it was midnight but I was really really angry. wel REVIEW TO COME TOMORROWEdit : Guys, I'm sorry that I have to review it on Monday. There's blackout here ;_; 4.9 Stars 'Yeah' said Harry, 'but you, unlike me, are a git, so get out and leave us alone.' I supposed to post the review yesterday but there was a blackout while I was reviewing and you can imagine how pissed I was when suddenly my computer was off and the review was already quite long. I was like this : well, I wasn't screaming because it was midnight but I was really really angry. well let's talk about this book :D *breaths in Breaths out* there were lots of tears, laugh, sadness, happiness and anger while I was reading it and I'm here still can't accept the death of the guy I cared care. I mean, why do I always lose charcters that I love or care?!?! why Sirius?! not Kreacher or anyone, anyone means Cho Chang actually...okay let's begin with Cho Chang. I Ship Harry With Ginny Not Cho Chang I totally HATE this girl. She is a cry baby and she is also weird. one minute she is happy and then suddenly she bursts into tears and she always exaggerate problems. little problem can be big problem with her and I still don't know why Harry had feelings to her. yes, had. because he doesn't like Cho Chang anymore. YAY! finally he opened his eyes! and these scenes made me hate her so much : ➜ He turned to saw Cho standing in the middle of the room, tears pouring down her face. ➜ 'I thought,' she said, tears spattering down on to the table, 'I thought you'd u - u - understand! I need to talk about it! Surely you n - need to talk about it t - too! I mean, you saw it happen, d - didn't you?' ➜ 'I'll see you around, Harry,' she said dramatically , and hiccoughing slightly she dashed to the door, wrenched it open and hurried off into the pouring rain.➜ 'I'm really, really sorry. That interview was so brave ... it made me cry.' ➜ 'That was a really horrible trick of Hermione Granger's,' said Chp fiercely. 'She should have told us she'd jinxed that list -''I think it was brilliant idea,' said harry coldly, Cho flushed and her eyes grew brighter.'Oh yes, I forgot - of course, if it was darling Hermione's idea -''Don't start crying again,' said Harry warningly.'I wasn't going to! she shouted.'Yeah ... well ... good,' he said. 'I've got enough to cop with at the moment.''Go and cope with it then!' Cho said furiously, turning on her heel and stalking off. ➜ 'Yeah,' said Ron slowly, savouring the words, 'we won. Did you see the look on Cho's face when Ginny got the snitch right out from under her nose?''I suppose she cried, did she?' said Harry bitterly,'Well, yeah - more out of temper than anything, though ...' Ron frowned slightly. 'But you saw her chuck her broom away when she got back to the ground, didn't you?' and she was totally insane, why did she have to ask about Cedric to Harry while they were dating. of course Harry didn't want to talk abou Cedric! and Didn't she have feelings?! I'm sure Harry didn't want to remember that horrible memory. I ship Harry with Ginny because : ❤ Ginny is funny ❤ Ginny is not a crybaby ❤ Ginny is brave ❤ Ginny is more beautiful than Cho❤ She is basically more perfect than Cho I Don't Like Harry's Temper I know, Harry was having a hard time but that didn't mean he had the rights to be harsh to his best friends. they will always on his side and there was a scene where he snapped at Hermione. 'Been having a nice little chat with her about whether or not I'm a lying, attention-seeking prat, have you?' Harry said loudly.'No,' said Hermione calmly. 'I told her to keep her big fat mouth shut about you, actually. And it would be quite nice if you stopped jumping down our throats, Harry, because in case you haven't noticed, Ron and I are on your side.'There was a short pause.'Sorry,' said Harry in a low voice.'That's quite all right,' said Hermione with dignity. Then she shook her head. 'Don't you remember what Dumbledore said at the last end-of-term feast?' and they continued talking.oh! I also didn't like Harry when he shouted at professor Dumbledore because he just saved his life and he's clearly older than Harry, So Harry had to talk calmly to him even though he was angry and the most annoying thing was that he destroyed Dumbledore's possessions. he was totally rudeI know, I know he was sad because Sirius just died and I was sad too! I cried a lot! but I didn't angry with Dumbledore. I was angry with Kreacher, Bellatrix and Voldemort. I still am, actually. how could I forgive them?! they killed Sirius! I Love Sirius Especially Young Sirius With another shock of excitement, Harry saw Sirius give James the thumbs-up. Sirius was lounging in his chair at ease, tilting it back on two legs. He was very good-looking; his dark hair fell into his eyes with a sort of casual elegance neither James's nor Harry's could ever have achieved, and a girl sitting behind him was eyeing him hopefully, though he didn't seem to have noticed.OH.MY.GOD. HE IS SO HANDSOME. BUT WHY!?! WHY DID HE HAVE TO DIE?!?! I LIKE SIRIUS SO MUCH!! AND NOW, I WILL NEVER SEE HIM ANYMORE! LIFE IS SO UNFAIR. thank you for reading and liking this review, guys! hope you guys have a great day! ❤❤P.S. I like Luna so much! she is funny xD
    more
  • Christy
    November 2, 2016
    I finished this book and now I’m sad AF. I seriously cried through so much of the last few hours of the audiobook. One of my favorite characters is gone, and I had to listen to Umbridge for hours and hours. Yeah. Sad AF.
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    January 20, 2014
    AHHHH I AM FINALLY FINISHD. *collapses in a puddle* Peoples, I usually read a book in a day, two days if it's big, three if it's super huge. THIS BOOK TOOK ME FOREVER. I know there a lot of super-keen Potter fans out there, so, um, you may not want to read this review. But! But! WAIT! The biggest thing you need to know is: I seriously love this series. I do. It's so detailed and thorough and interesting and I totally see why it's captured the world in it's wizarding claws. BUT. I didn't grow up AHHHH I AM FINALLY FINISHD. *collapses in a puddle* Peoples, I usually read a book in a day, two days if it's big, three if it's super huge. THIS BOOK TOOK ME FOREVER. I know there a lot of super-keen Potter fans out there, so, um, you may not want to read this review. But! But! WAIT! The biggest thing you need to know is: I seriously love this series. I do. It's so detailed and thorough and interesting and I totally see why it's captured the world in it's wizarding claws. BUT. I didn't grow up reading it. And now? Reading it? I love a lot of things, but there are so many things that bother me, particularly about The Order of the Phoenix. THINGS THAT BOTHERED ME:+ The freaking gargantuan size. This is the most important thing to note. IT IS HUGE AND IT SHOULD NOT BE THIS BIG. The first 100-pages are numbingly boring...they cleaned house? SO WHAT. + Ron/Hermione's bickering drove me nuts. This trio of "friends" act so often NOT like friends, it just really grates on me. I know friends have their ups and downs, but Ron is downright rude. Harry is usually oblivious, but he doesn't help things much either. Of COURSE I'm Team Hermione here, and I know she gets together with Ron...but I ain't shipping it.+ The last 50-pages were so intense and interesting...WHY WERE THEY SO SHORT?? It's like the book FINALLY warmed up and got going and got exciting and -- BOOM! -- it's done now. Plus so many interest reveals just come as a Dumbledore info-dump. Um. Seriously?+ The characters, in general, drove me nuts. I love Dumbledore, don't get me wrong, but he's awfully passive. There's this whole attitude around like "Awww, well nothing TOO BAD is going badly, so let's just wait until it gets absolutely horrific before we do anything, shall we?" AND ARGHHH YOU STUIPD STUPID WIZARDS.+ And Harry's logic...I mean, lack thereof...was frustrating. Like "Omg, a teacher is physically abusing me...I won't tell! I'm a strong brave little melon!" NO YOU'RE A FREAKING IDIOT. Harry's whole mantra of just suffering in silence made me so so angry.+ Snape. Because it's a grand idea to have a teacher who abuses and bullies students because he had a crappy childhood. Solid work hiring him, Dumbledore. I HATE SNAPE, BTW.+ In general, the book's huge GARGANTUAN themes of "injustice". This one is very very much me, but social injustice and discrimination against children and adults exercising their age as a way to control/lord over younger humans -- I HATE IT WITH THE FIRE AND PASSION OF A THOUSAND SUNS. Sure, yes, it has it's place in books. It's realistic. But every time I pick up a Potter book, I just get smothered with how unjust everything is and it makes me SO ANGRY. And while there are 2 dozen things I love about these books, THAT is what makes me wait, like 9 million years between picking up volumes. There should be more balance. There should be more fighting back instead of passiveness.+ And please, someone remind me why Harry still needs to live with the Dursley's? Because I think we've established he doesn't. Another = injustice for no reason.OKAAAAY BUT YOU GUYS PROBABLY THINK I HATE HARRY POTTER NOW AND IT'S NOT TRUE.I also have a list of things I freaking loved. And at the end of the day, I do like this series. I don't "adore" it like a true Potterhead, I 'spose. But I do enjoy it.THINGS I ABSOLUTELY LOVE:+ The detail. okay, I do complain that the books are too big (they are) but I have to admit this makes the worlds SO INCREDIBLE DEEP. Like all the food details, the off-handed comments, the descriptions, the subjects. IT'S INSANELY AWESOME. It's not like reading about a bunch of kids going to school...it's like genuinely being there.+ The fact that they actually had to DO SCHOOLWORK. So often I read books about characters who are not "geniuses" but still manage to save the world AND score uber well in school without doing a scrap of homework. NO. So I love that Harry Potter makes them save the world AND do their homework. And half the time I think their homework sounds freakishy fascinating. Yes, I'm having a Hermione moment.+ HERMIONE. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE HER. She is like one of the biggest reasons I love this series and would even consider rereading (seriously!! I just said that!! Even though I complain!! I'd like to try audios one day...) because she's smart and into equality and rights and I just love her, yes okay?!+...oh and McGongall. I love her too. SO SO MUCH. She does not take a single piece of crap from anyone. SHE IS AMAZING. I love how she fought Umbridge, although I think she could've done more (like stabbed Umbridge in the eye or something) and I love how she's fiercely protective of her students. She's like a super scary mum.+ The Weasleys. ALL OF THEM! Even Ginny is getting more a personality now! YAAAY. I particularly love Fred and George and I'm glad they're living their dream. (Oh, but obviously I hate Percy.) Ron is not my favourite person unfortunately, because I think he's very self-obsessed and I do find him irritating at times. BUUUUT MRS. WEASLEY IS SO FEIRCE AND WONDERFUL.+ Also Luna...although I wish she had a bigger part. Maybe she will in future books?! I love her and her whimsical attitude. She's totally fascinating.+ And Neville is amazing. I particularly love how when Harry was teaching the secret Dark Arts class how Neville was just THRIVING. He didn't feel threatened, and he had one-on-one help with a peer he likes and respect. EQUALS = HIM DOING SO WELL. YAY!! I feel so so annoyed at this book too because I feel Neville has a learning disability and everyone just ignores it. Some teachers do a bit more, but mostly he gets abused - by teachers and students alike. I knoooow stuff like that happens IRL. But we're not reading real life are we??? We're reading about a WIZARD school and I'll be damned if I don't sit here and demand things like learning disabilities should be given respect and help. I love Neville. KEEP FIGHTING NEVILLE.+ And no matter how much I complain...I actually lost track of time while reading this!! That's right! I was reading and my eyes were burning at night and I was like "OMG WHAT'S THE TIME?!" so I totally read a lot later than I would usually. A book that absorbs me is definitely a good book.SEE?! I DO LIKE IT. Mostly. (I hated Umbridge of course, but duh. Who doesn't?) Ultimately it was too big and I got a wrist sprain just holding the jolly hardback, BUT! It's intense and magical and intriguing and I want to know what happens next. Also I want to see the movies.
    more
  • emma
    February 4, 2017
    my extended review of this is up NOW at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! I talk about Cho. How did I forget about Cho?-----------------------------------------------Me: Okay, I’m not going to have ANY time to read for the next two weeks, and I’m close to falling behind on my reading goal, so I should be careful what I pick up.Me to me: 870 pages sounds about right.I don’t even know if I can write a cohesive review of this. I’ve been reading it for SO LONG. The notes I took at the beginn my extended review of this is up NOW at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! I talk about Cho. How did I forget about Cho?-----------------------------------------------Me: Okay, I’m not going to have ANY time to read for the next two weeks, and I’m close to falling behind on my reading goal, so I should be careful what I pick up.Me to me: 870 pages sounds about right.I don’t even know if I can write a cohesive review of this. I’ve been reading it for SO LONG. The notes I took at the beginning have long since disappeared and I just can’t remember vast swaths of this book. This might be a review of the last 200 pages.Okay, the extreme Ravenclaw in me is coming out here - WHY DON’T HARRY AND RON EVER DO THEIR HOMEWORK? I swear to God the sub-plotline in the middle of every single book is them falling behind in their classes, and it stresses me out. Get on top of your work!And then every once in awhile, the stakes will be way higher...and these boys still apply the same procrastination to it. It happened in Goblet of Fire, when Harry would put off working on the task hints - WAY MORE IMPORTANT THAN DIVINATION DREAM CHARTS. And it happened in this book, when Harry just...didn’t try at Occlumency. I know you don’t like Snape, kid. Neither do I. In fact, my list of notes for my anti-Snape rant just kept growing through this book. BUT IT’S FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY AND THE SAFETY OF COUNTLESS OTHERS! PEOPLE YOU LOVE!And poor Ron in this book, right? He finally gets good at Quidditch - good at something - and there’s no one there to see him. His brothers leave him at school. Harry just...freaks out at him sometimes. Things are always rough for poor unappreciated Ron, but this is particularly tragic. And don’t even get me STARTED on Neville in this book. The Gryffindor in him really comes out. His life is so hard, and he is still so brave and loving. Oh my God, I’m legitimately getting choked up.Well, not actually. But as close as I get. And disclaimer, 25 percent of that sadness is because “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” just came up on my Spotify and LA LA LAND IS AN EMOTIONAL FILM.Rating this book is going to be a struggle. I didn’t enjoy the first 600 pages, like, at all. And then I goddamn loved the last 200. Oh god. Now I have to both delineate why the first 600 pages - which I can barely remember - were bad, while the last 200 were good.Alright, I’ll try to do this quickly because clearly I’m ramble-y tonight. The first 600 pages were a terrible combination of boring AND upsetting. I’m still surprised by how Grimmauld Place managed to be such a snoozefest. A secret rebel order of wizards inhabiting a hidden house filled with dangerous relics manages to make me doze off? Unreal. Then we have to watch as a world we all hold dear is torn apart by terrible leadership - Umbridge, yes, but I also think we don’t discuss Minister of Magic Fudge’s incompetency enough.As if that weren’t enough, all these fabulous characters we know and love are at their WORST in this book. I won’t go off on Snape yet, but I’ll explain for the others. Harry is a massive brat throughout. Hermione, my absolute fave, is a bad friend, pretentious and untrusting the whole time. Hagrid has his head particularly shoved up his ass. Dumbledore acts like an idiot, a self-admitted idiot. And Sirius ruins himself for me in this book. When he says, “You’re less like your father than I thought [...] The risk would’ve been what made it fun for James,” he is shaming a fifteen year old, guilting him into acting against his own interest and safety by bringing up his DEAD FATHER. Disgusting.DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON THE JAMES FLASHBACK. Lupin and Sirius’s speech to Harry on it? Seriously. Lacking. James and Lily should never have ended up together, never. I get why Sirius and James were so close. THEY BOTH SUCK. But there were bright sides. Neville and Ginny are absolutely fantastic in this book, and did their best to rescue it from itself. But Luna is eh for me. I just don’t care about her. AND WE LOSE FRED AND GEORGE. I didn’t realize how much I loved their hijinks until they ruckus’d their way out of Hogwarts.But if the first 600 pages were one, one and a half stars, the last 200 were four and a half or five. I love the setting of the Department of Mysteries, I loved that big Death Eaters battle scene. I sort of liked Dumbledore’s speech, but still was kind of like...okay buddy, you should know what the Right Thing is. Most importantly, I felt like Harry’s mourning at the end was really well captured. Which is, you know, not an impression I get often from these books. (The Harry Potter series isn’t renowned for, like, its capturing of the human experience.) And that last moment at the train station? Where all of Harry’s loved ones are defending him? Killed. Me.Bottom line: I don’t know what to rate this, so I’ll give it that old placeholder, three stars. Not my favorite Harry Potter book, but featuring some of my favorite moments...alongside some of my least favorite.
    more
  • P
    June 16, 2015
    “Wit beyond measure is a man's greatest treasure.” Reread - Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix always gives me a challenge whenever I start reading. It's 870 pages for US edition and 1000+ pages for Thai edition. The book starts off with a summer when Harry banters with Dudley, and there comes the Dementors. So Harry has to use his magic to expel those nasty things. He never knows before his act will bring him to M.o.M. In the beginning, J.K. Rowling used the first few chapters to intro “Wit beyond measure is a man's greatest treasure.” Reread - Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix always gives me a challenge whenever I start reading. It's 870 pages for US edition and 1000+ pages for Thai edition. The book starts off with a summer when Harry banters with Dudley, and there comes the Dementors. So Harry has to use his magic to expel those nasty things. He never knows before his act will bring him to M.o.M. In the beginning, J.K. Rowling used the first few chapters to introduce us about the Order of the Phoenix. That got me chilled the first time I was reading about this order. I loved to see the good guys being together and figthing the Dark Lord. I was so excited about this book anyway.I have a feeling that Harry in this book is not like Harry, the one I know, he throws a tantrum when his friends don't believe about what happened last year. I understand about his age making him not stable, if I can call it. The only person I want to talk about is Professor Umbrige, I call her the pink toad, she's the character that unify everything around this book impeccably. Seeing everyone fighting with her and restraining her not to destroy the Hogwart's system make this book unique unlike the first four books. I couldn't stop laughing then. “Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?""Yes.""You called her a liar?""Yes.""You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?""Yes.""Have a biscuit, Potter.” I laughed out loud because of this scene. This book contains many emotions I can't describe all of it in one review. Do you believe me ? It is far better than the movie and the last M.o.M. scene is beyond exciting. The movie cut it out and I was so angry for that ! “You know, Minister, I disagree with Dumbledore on many counts...but you cannot deny he's got style...” The sad thing in this book is about Sirius. If you've read it, you'll know why. Every time I get my head around it, I want to cry and cry. It's so touching and heartwrenching to see that thing happens. Nonetheless, reading this book is like growing up. There's not only happiness in your life, you have to face so many regrets and learn how to move on like Harry and his friends. All I can say is this book is not just a book, it's my life !More at http://goo.gl/GMGytx
    more
  • jamieson
    February 8, 2016
    listen if i was harry james potter i would have literally had my ""“emo episode""” in the first fucking book after being forced to live in an abusive home for ten years because the most powerful wizard of all time killed my parents and was out to kill me specifically but instead my teenaged son, harry james, goes through FIVE YEARS of traumatizing experiences and suffers people discrediting and silencing him at every turn before justifiably reaching his breaking point after watching his father f listen if i was harry james potter i would have literally had my ""“emo episode""” in the first fucking book after being forced to live in an abusive home for ten years because the most powerful wizard of all time killed my parents and was out to kill me specifically but instead my teenaged son, harry james, goes through FIVE YEARS of traumatizing experiences and suffers people discrediting and silencing him at every turn before justifiably reaching his breaking point after watching his father figure die and you all have the nerve to call him “whiny”^^ I've never related to a post moreOH MY GOD. I don't even have words for how much I LOVE this book. It's second in the series, to Deathly Hallows in my favourites list I just love it so much Everything about it makes me so happy. Why? Well first of all, there's leaps and bounds in terms of plot development. Things are starting to get dark, they're starting to get serious and it sets the tone for the next two books to come. I love Harry coming to take on his role as "The Chosen One"Secondly, side characters! Thanks to the DA, we get to see soo much more of the school aside from the golden trio. Neville, Luna, GINNY, Fred and George, Dean, Seamus, Tonks, Sirius, Remus, Cho and soo many other characters who I just adore SHINE and it makes me so happy. I love the side characters as much as the trio and they get so much more screen time (page time?) then in earlier booksSO MANY COOL SCENES: I mean, the Weasley escape, the interview in three broomsticks, every DA meeting, Harry's first date, THE QUIDDITCH PITCH BRAWL, Umbridge being taken by Centaurs, the fight in the ministry, Dumbledore and Voldermorts epic duel ! There are so many scenes to love in this one. Literally iconic scenes like DA and the Weasley's leaving school can be exclusively found in ootp and I love them so much. I also just think OoTP is SO funny? I mean, the whole school rioting against Umbridge, the twins pranks, the DA meetings, the things said about Harry / that Harry says back. I laugh out loud when I'm reading this book, and I don't usually properly laugh when I'm reading. I literally just don't understand how anyone can not like ootp. I mean, beside the very sad events at the end, it's perfect. And EVEN that sad event (view spoiler)[RIP SIRIUS ORION BLACK YOU DESERVED BETTER (hide spoiler)] gives us such a beautiful moment between Albus and Harry, that is sad, but also so incredibly human and heartbreaking and such an insight into the humanity and love that drives Harry's character it's amazing. anyway, tbh it's harry potter I shouldn't have to say much I loved reading this with all my heart, obviously.
    more
  • Lauren
    December 12, 2016
    *This was a reread for me*This has always been my least favorite book and movie in the entire series and I’ve never really understood why. I didn’t know whether it was the plot, the characters OR the fact this book super long. Despite this being my least favorite I still, of course, loved it but now that I’ve reread it I’ve noticed many different things I’ve missed when I read it for the first time. This book is still amazing and I obviously will give it five stars. Let me start off by saying th *This was a reread for me*This has always been my least favorite book and movie in the entire series and I’ve never really understood why. I didn’t know whether it was the plot, the characters OR the fact this book super long. Despite this being my least favorite I still, of course, loved it but now that I’ve reread it I’ve noticed many different things I’ve missed when I read it for the first time. This book is still amazing and I obviously will give it five stars. Let me start off by saying this book as many can tell, is humongous and requires a lot of commitment. I know that many including myself are intimidated by this book. Can I also just say the writing also very small. Don’t get me wrong I have nothing against long books. In fact, I prefer long books over books with only 100 pages but this book was just unnecessarily too long. I’ve realized that there is a huge amount of pointless information. I know sometimes authors can’t help it but I feel like I’m reading for so long but am not getting anywhere. Now you’re probably asking why I gave it 5 stars if I think some of it was unnecessary. I am a big fan of Harry Potter and I know what I’m saying isn’t true but if I gave HP less than 5 stars it would make me (and I’m not saying this about anyone else) feel like I'm not a true fan. I know that’s not true but it’s what I think of myself. I don’t know about anyone else but in bookstores, HP has always been in the children’s section. And I know I know HP is a supposed to be children series but honestly, I do not consider this a children’s series because well 1. I think anyone of any age can read it and 2. I cannot imagine 7 years or whatever reading an 800-page book. I don’t maybe there are children that age that do but personally I can’t imagine it. This book made me realize something I never realized before which is…Harry Potter is the most stuck up person ever and thinks he’s amazing. Honestly, this book made realize why Draco is so mean to him. I’m warning you right now I am going to rant so I’m sorry. ***** WARNING WARNING WARNING**********SPOILERS AHEAD SPOILERS AHEAD**********FOR THE FIRST FIVE BOOKS**********SKIP IF YOU WANT***** What I hate so much is how Harry gets all the credit! He’s not that amazing and without his friends, he would have done nothing. Do you think in the first book he could have going to through that place where they had to play chess and figure out the potion without his friends? Ron figured the chess game and Hermione found out which potion. The only reason he could defeat Voldemort was because he couldn’t be touched. Also in the second book do you think he would have any idea what was down in the chamber of secrets and what was freezing all the student without Hermione. I guess in the third book he did do a Patronus, I’ll give him that. In the fourth book, he only won because someone was helping him but I’ll give him credit for escaping Voldemort but that was because of his wand and that Voldemort told him to fight him. I get he is powerful but most of it was done with help. Without Ron and Hermione, he couldn’t have done even half the things he did. I can’t even imagine what would have happened. He needs to stop thinking he’s amazing and that he is the only person to have gone through tough times because he isn’t. I actually understand Draco’s POV in the situation now. It pisses me off because Harry is actually so DUMB (I'll get into more detail about that in the 6th book) but manages to become famous and everyone thinks he so powerful. I'd like to see what he'd achieve without his friends.Wow…I needed to get that out ***** SPOILERS FINISHED********** SPOILERS FINISHED********** SPOILERS FINISHED***** Overall I still think this book was great. Although it wasn’t the best book to try and finish a reading challenge. I’m glad I reread this book because I realized a lot and picked up things I missed before. I still loved this book and thought it was amazing. Also, I understand sometimes books need to be long and cutting out sections is not easy which is why books are sometimes so long.
    more
  • Councillor
    July 4, 2016
    A lot of people consider The Order of the Phoenix to be the weakest book in the entire Harry Potter series. I haven't read the last two installments yet, but from what I have read so far ... this one was my favorite. I enjoyed two other books in the series more than this one (The Sorcerer's Stone and The Goblet of Fire), but enjoyment is not necessarily the only aspect allowing a book to turn into a favorite.Let's go on the dark side here. While the previous books were still light-hearted in the A lot of people consider The Order of the Phoenix to be the weakest book in the entire Harry Potter series. I haven't read the last two installments yet, but from what I have read so far ... this one was my favorite. I enjoyed two other books in the series more than this one (The Sorcerer's Stone and The Goblet of Fire), but enjoyment is not necessarily the only aspect allowing a book to turn into a favorite.Let's go on the dark side here. While the previous books were still light-hearted in the overall atmosphere in spite of certain parts of the storylines, this one consisted to approximately 95% of darkness and a lack of happiness for all the characters involved. Studying at Hogwarts is not enjoyable anymore, life has become dangerous for everyone everywhere, favorite teachers have been replaced by unlikeable ones, dangers and traps are looming wherever you set your feet. Life is not easy for Harry Potter and his friends in this book, because not only do the dangers floating above their heads cloud their moods - they also slowly enter puberty with all the feelings and emotions involved with the process of growing-up. Not only because of the darkness of the various themes, but also due to the character development is it impossible to call this book a children's book anymore. Justice is what a lot of readers - including myself - probably missed in this book. Harry has won the Triwizard Tournament, but nobody truly acknowledges his victory. He still has to spend the summer with his merciless family, he still has to fight for his reputation and his dignity. After everything Harry achieved, life reveals itself to him in its cruelest colors, the Dark Lord's return only being one of the many aspects influencing his decline of happiness. This book also introduces one of the most despised characters in the Harry Potter universe, Dolores Jane Umbridge. Who could possibly like such a woman? Apart from imagining Imelda Staunton's inspiring portrayal from the movies which helped a lot with exploring Dolores' role in the book, her unforgiving decisions and her unforgettable appearances, it can be discussed whether Dolores Umbridge is truly a realistic character, but she supported J.K. Rowling's general direction into the dark themes of the series, and if there is one thing Dolores Umbridge's presence was good for, then it is this: It made Harry and his friends, but also the book's readers realize that life is never the way you imagine it to be. Life is cruel, life is hard, life is merciless.I love this book because it doesn't beautify things. Death is presented as a necessary part of everyone's life. All the characters are created as human beings who are full of faults and mistakes. The perfect images everyone had in their minds of characters like Albus Dumbledore, James Potter or even Sirius Black are shattered in the course of the book, only to allow the readers to form new opinions on those characters again. Those books are set in the fantasy genre, but it all felt so realistic that it was impossible not to share the thrill and the excitement of those pages - mainly because the characters felt so realistic. They are flawed. They are full of emotions. They come to decisions, and they regret decisions. But in their essence, they are human. Which is perhaps why so many readers love this series - because it feels like you accompany people into a completely different world who might as well be your friends who are sitting at your school desk next to you.[Major spoiler for this novel: (view spoiler)[I am not even angry with J.K. Rowling for killing off Sirius Black. Obviously, he was a character beloved by a lot of readers, and I would have loved to see Sirius being redeemed officially as not having committed the crimes he was accused of. But that's the very reason for why this is my favorite novel in the series so far: Just like in real life, it's not a given that the good people survive and the bad people die. You can't even always say who is good and who is evil, because there is a thin line because good and bad. (hide spoiler)]]A lot of fantasy authors tend to kill off the antagonists and create a happy ending with the good-hearted major characters, which is my main reason for my troubles with the fantasy genre. J.K. Rowling doesn't mind all this; with her novels, you never know who is going to survive and who is going to die, because it could be everyone. As long as you haven't been spoiled already, that is.Yes, maybe this book is too long indeed. I needed more days to finish it than I needed for all the other four books combined (considering only the respective reading time I spent with them). Yes, maybe it could be shortened, although I am the last one who knows how that could possibly be done. Yes, it is darker than all the other books in the series so far. And yes, I loved it for all those reasons. “Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.” -----------Pre-Review (4th July):It has been three months since I finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and only now do I finally begin reading this fifth book in the series. (Which I am reading for the first time. Can this confession become even more embarassing?)Maybe it can be accepted as an explanation that I left the fourth book feeling like this and obviously needing to recuperate:So, let's continue my journey through the world of Hogwarts!Review to come once I'm finished. Which might take a while, because while it's evidently Harry Potter and shouldn't take much time to get through, my copy of this book has 1040 pages. That's loooong. And, of course, a pretty good thing, considering that it's Harry Potter we talk about.My reviews in the Harry Potter series:1) Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone: Go to review2) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: Go to review3) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: Go to review4) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Go to review
    more
  • Juliana Zapata
    June 2, 2015
    Maravilloso, increíble!! Este libro me dejó destrozada, con los ojos hinchados de llorar y con el corazón en pedacitos.La historia y los personajes han madurado mucho, el libro tiene un ritmo perfecto y es una ruleta rusa de emociones. Hay nuevos misterios y nuevos descubrimientos, amé este libro como he amado a los demás de la saga. Odie con mi alma a Dolores UmbridgeReseña Completa: http://bastvilard.blogspot.com/2015/0...
    more
  • (9 3/4) Gerasimos
    August 10, 2012
    Harry Potter changed my life. If I hadn’t read Harry Potter when I did I would not be the same person today. What I am today, in a part is due to Harry. I cannot really say enough to make you understand how much Harry Potter means to me. The copy I own is not signed by J. K. Rowling but it is signed by Daniel Radcliffe!
    more
  • Darth J
    April 1, 2013
    Instead of a review, I’m just going to share my memories of this book. Back when this came out was the high time of midnight bookstore release parties. Yes, I did go to one and no, I didn’t dress up.It was held at a Barnes and Noble and of course John Williams’s soundtrack for the first 2 movies was played on a loop throughout the night. Amidst the crowd eagerly awaiting the stroke of 12, were tired adult chaperones and sullen workers who had had enough already. My brother brought me to the stor Instead of a review, I’m just going to share my memories of this book. Back when this came out was the high time of midnight bookstore release parties. Yes, I did go to one and no, I didn’t dress up.It was held at a Barnes and Noble and of course John Williams’s soundtrack for the first 2 movies was played on a loop throughout the night. Amidst the crowd eagerly awaiting the stroke of 12, were tired adult chaperones and sullen workers who had had enough already. My brother brought me to the store and one of his friends was working there; of course being the only ginger on staff he had to dress up like Ron and did not appreciate it. I think he actually hated Harry Potter so that kind of made it worse.Let me preface this next paragraph with the following: I grew up in Las Vegas, so some weird stuff went down that probably wouldn’t have happened anywhere else that night. Not only did the Mayor show up, but “Master Magician” Lance Burton did too. They are local celebs, though why they put in an appearance is beyond me. More on this in a minute.So at about 11:30 everyone starts lining up to get our books. The store decided to release them before midnight and that made it all the more like catnip. I remember seeing some four year olds plopped down in an aisle with their copies, pretending to read them…and I thought, who would stop me if I just took it from the kid and ran out? I didn’t though, obviously, but Potter fever makes you think strange thoughts, especially while waiting in line for a highly anticipated book.Both the Mayor and the “Master Magician” were signing copies of the book. I don’t understand this at all, and still think that somewhere on ebay somebody must have bid on an “autographed copy” and gotten one signed by one of these men. While that’s technically true, can you just imagine the disappointment??When I did finally have it in my hands… oh, that beautiful gloriously blue cover. You knew from Mary GrandPré’s artwork that something major was going to go down, and it did. I started reading it with a booklight on the drive home but was told that the light was distracting my brother’s driving. Buzzkill. Didn’t he know how important this was?!?!?!?!Arriving home, I went straight to bed and stayed up all night reading. At some point, I think at about 2am, my mom came into my room. She took the book from me, and flipped towards the end, read about Sirius’s death, then gave it back to me without a word. (She had read the first 4 to her third grade class and still chokes up at the mention of “the boy who lived”). She never actually read the fifth book or the rest, but always insisted I tell her everything that happened once I finished them.I finished it later that day. I didn't care too much that Sirius died, but I do remember being slightly miffed that Rowling never cleared up more about that Veil in the Department of Mysteries. That was such a cruel tease, Jo.
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    July 5, 2013
    So much teenage angst, so many feelings, such epic
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    December 12, 2016
    I liked the book, but it easily could have been 500-600 pages long. THIS IS ALMOST 900 PAGES LONG! Damn, you call this children's book?This is the only movie i have not watched yet. Therefore, i have zero idea what goes down in this. Maybe that's why i was so lost in Half-Blood Prince.
    more
  • J.G. Keely
    May 24, 2007
    This is my favorite installment of the quintessential modern bildungsroman. Nevertheless, it has its problems, familiar to any reader of Rowling's.She never seems to gain control of her writing, which spirals out into thousand-page doorstops filled with unimportant side characters and rambling plots. The story is moved along by arbitrary plot devices, often magic. Instead of using the magic to make her world seem more strange and wondrous, she uses it to cover up plot holes. Why write a consiste This is my favorite installment of the quintessential modern bildungsroman. Nevertheless, it has its problems, familiar to any reader of Rowling's.She never seems to gain control of her writing, which spirals out into thousand-page doorstops filled with unimportant side characters and rambling plots. The story is moved along by arbitrary plot devices, often magic. Instead of using the magic to make her world seem more strange and wondrous, she uses it to cover up plot holes. Why write a consistent plot when you can just put in a spell or two to fix the problems?Likewise her world is poorly defined. She did not start by constructing the 'wizarding world' and then base her stories off of it, rather she changes her setting to fit whatever she needs at the moment. This constantly shifting setting means the world doesn't make much sense if you take the time to sit and think about it.Her fractured plots are not the result of 'realism', which some authors use to create a sense of a 'real world', separate from archetypes. Rowling is just trying to fit in all the disparate ideas and characters she has in her notepad. She becomes so attached to her characters and ideas that she is unwilling to sacrifice them for a more streamlined book.She has problems connecting the many dots of her story, but uses her magical 'plot devices' to keep us from noticing that the scaffolding behind the facade is rather bare (indeed: crumbly). Her rabid plot movement points away from the cracks in her storytelling: "move along, nothing to see here".I find it somewhat ironic that Rowling wants to 'graduate' from Potter to writing adult mysteries. A mystery needs to have a tight plot, based not in the characters but in the events surrounding them. Though many people tried to 'figure out' the Potter books and predict them, in truth there is nothing to figure out. Rowling's foreshadowing is vague and unsupported, and there are just as many clues as red herrings. The only reason some of the elements seem predictable is because there was a crack team of several million people making every guess under the sun. Combine that with the fact that the final book introduces completely new elements to finish the plot, and we can see that Rowling is not really in charge of her own pen. She is a slave to her own sentimentality. Then again, so are millions around the world.The only thing which makes these meandering plots move along at a reasonable pace are her characters. They connect us to the magical world, so that even if it doesn't make sense, at least we can see how it might work for the people who live in it.Her characters are vivid, emotional, motivated, and archetypal without being banal. They may not be psychologically deep, but for a monomyth like this, that is hardly the point. Most people aren't that complex, either.In the series, this book gets the prize for the most psychological depth and also the most consistent mood. Before this, Rowling was still trying to get her footing, figuring out what exactly she was writing, and trying to explain the world to her readers. She finally hit her stride in 'Prisoner of Azkaban', and got much of her unsure world-building out of the way in 'Goblet of Fire'. This is before she started feeling the pressure to wrap things up in a neat package, which again begins to take its toll on her consistency. This is the first, and really the last of her books where Rowling is able to write without being overly concerned with either the beginning or ending of her series.Instead of placing a scattered plot over her characters, Rowling was instead able to let the characters travel through their own path of growth and self-exploration. The change is the most apparent in Harry himself, and though his transformation is somewhat sudden, it is still honest and believable for the character.By focusing chiefly on her strength--character building--and escaping the constraints of the monomyth, if only for a moment, Rowling is able to avoid her weakest points as a writer and turn out her strongest book.My Fantasy Book Suggestions
    more
Write a review