Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood, #1)
Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood, #1) Details

TitleSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 7th, 2015
PublisherBalzer + Bray
ISBN-139780062348678
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Lgbt, Romance

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood, #1) Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    Oh okay, you I-told-you-so people. You were right. This book is so much fun that I baked cookies and listened to unfortunate nineties pop music. No, really.And I seriously didn't want to read this. I mean, why would I? I don't particularly like cutesy romances, LGBT or not. The cover is kinda sucky and not attractive. The title is an inside joke that only makes sense after reading the book. And, let's be honest, it's always easier to convince me to read books with phrases like "mind-bending twis Oh okay, you I-told-you-so people. You were right. This book is so much fun that I baked cookies and listened to unfortunate nineties pop music. No, really.And I seriously didn't want to read this. I mean, why would I? I don't particularly like cutesy romances, LGBT or not. The cover is kinda sucky and not attractive. The title is an inside joke that only makes sense after reading the book. And, let's be honest, it's always easier to convince me to read books with phrases like "mind-bending twist", "dark secrets" and "twisted characters". The word "cute" doesn't draw me in.But I finally took a chance on it and I concede - this book is wonderful. Just so so entertaining from start to finish. I actually snorted aloud (like the sexy beast I am) at some of the hilarious scenes between Simon and his friends. Simon is that perfect mix of delightfully weird and totally normal - he makes us laugh and roll our eyes, but we secretly recognize many of the things he thinks.I giggled so much at scenes like this:I take a sip of my beer, and it’s - I mean, it’s just astonishingly disgusting. I don’t think I was expecting it to taste like ice cream, but holy fucking hell. People lie and get fake IDs and sneak into bars, and for this? I honestly think I’d rather make out with Bieber. The dog. Or Justin.Anyway, it really makes you worry about all the hype surrounding sex.A few minutes later...“Simon, how much did you drink?” asks Leah. I’m twisting the ends of her hair. Leah’s hair is so pretty, and it smells exactly like French toast. Except that’s Abby. Leah smells like almonds.“One beer.” One most excellent, most delicious beer.“One beer. I can’t even begin to express how ridiculous you are.”I know this sounds extremely lame - but this book genuinely made me happy. It doesn't hesitate to portray the reality of homophobia in a high school in the South, but it's ultimately such an uplifting story about friendship, family and the sweetest romance I may ever have read. You can read hundreds, perhaps thousands, of books about the difficulties of dealing with your sexuality and coming out - like the dark and powerful More Happy Than Not - and these are very important, but it was so refreshing to see a warm, fuzzy gay romance where the protagonist is supported by his friends and family.Very funny and heart-warming.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • Kat O'Keeffe
    January 1, 1970
    This was so great! It was funny and adorable and just left me with the biggest smile plastered on my face! It did take me a little bit to get into the story because there were so many characters I had trouble keeping them straight at times, but the main character Simon is well developed and relatable and really grounded the story. I thought the mystery was great (and was so excited when I correctly guessed who Blue was!) and I liked that despite the blackmail and the tension, it was still a most This was so great! It was funny and adorable and just left me with the biggest smile plastered on my face! It did take me a little bit to get into the story because there were so many characters I had trouble keeping them straight at times, but the main character Simon is well developed and relatable and really grounded the story. I thought the mystery was great (and was so excited when I correctly guessed who Blue was!) and I liked that despite the blackmail and the tension, it was still a mostly lighthearted uplifting kind of book.Overall, I really enjoyed this. I didn't love it quite as much as I've loved books by Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell, but I definitely felt that it was along those same lines. Looking forward to reading more from this author!
    more
  • Adam Silvera
    January 1, 1970
    Original Review (December 2013): If Becky wasn't a gay teenage boy with good grammar and a foul mouth in several past lives, then she's absolutely one of the most observant writers in the YA game.New Review (June 2017): Just finished my third or fourth reread of SIMON VS., this time on audio which is narrated by the amazing Michael Crouch, and wow, I love this book more each time. I'm 27 right now and SIMON remains the book I wish I had 10 years ago.
    more
  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a great read! Simon is a hilarious character and I loved reading through his perspective. I also liked that the story didn't just end right after the climax and how we got to see what happened past the big moment of the story.
  • Em
    January 1, 1970
    why is reading this book somehow the most homely feeling in the world? like stars realigning and flowers growing inside you and a thousand suns setting within your very bones?here’s the thing: this was the very first lgbtqia+ book that I've ever read. I was 16 and forever I will associate this story with the genuine feeling of connection, the comfort of realizing your experiences are universal, and the loveliness of knowing that you have a community. I remember finishing it the first time and th why is reading this book somehow the most homely feeling in the world? like stars realigning and flowers growing inside you and a thousand suns setting within your very bones?here’s the thing: this was the very first lgbtqia+ book that I've ever read. I was 16 and forever I will associate this story with the genuine feeling of connection, the comfort of realizing your experiences are universal, and the loveliness of knowing that you have a community. I remember finishing it the first time and thinking how wrong it felt that everything looked the same, as if the world should have registered the events and it should have changed the way that I changed.Simon vs. is a book every lgbtq+ teen should read. It's a beautiful coming-of-age story about a gay teen —Simon, who's still trying to define himself and all of his edges, to learn to be unafraid of wanting to be who he is and loving who he loves while facing conflicts that are too familiar to a lot of us. It's a story that advocates a world where being straight isn’t the default, where there isn’t any sexuality assumptions and where lgbtq+ people aren't being pressured to “come out”, while also firmly stating that coming out is a very personal thing for someone to do and no one should take that away from them.this book really has a place in my heart nothing else could ever have and I really cannot recommend it strongly enough!! “As a side note, don’t you think everyone should have to come out? Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it should be this big awkward thing whether you’re straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I’m just saying.” okay. this next section is going to be super spoilery and basically just me losing my shit, so if you haven't read the book, you know the drill!!✨ do you ever just sit and think about how cute a book is and get all smiley?? when you're trying to start your homework again and you can't because you have to stop and smile more??✨ I feel like roses and sunshine and glitter✨ I feel like Becky Albertalli personally broke into my house and tucked me into bed and made me a warm cup of tea and asked me how I'm doing✨ it literally does not matter what mood I am in or how crappy of a day I had, Simon vs. never fails to make me smile✨ and can you believe there are people out there who’ve never read this book???? how sad???✨ alright let's talk about this book✨ SIMON SPIER✨ Simon is basically me: 1) I too only understand 5% of life. 2) I too constantly think about how much I’ve changed in the past 3 years and just go like, thank god. (no really, if someone could erase any traces of my existence before the age of 14, I would really appreciate it). 3) I’m just so fucking [clenches fist] GAY. I mean you'd think after being gay my whole life I wouldn’t be so shook when a girl looks in my general direction, but there I am, still fucking shook.✨ and also, I too have made so many connections with people on the internet that I like so much I sometimes just sit there and think “holy shit. there are people who are LUCKY enough to see this person IN THE FLESH. ON A REGULAR DAILY BASIS. I hope they realize that the universe has aligned in their favor and that they're so goddamn LUCKY!!”✨ I love Simon. he's just so fucking likable. I mean he can be a piece of shit sometimes, but I have no right to judge him, for I too am a fucking swamp gremlin✨ but truly, I love how he came to realize that he needs to try to be a better friend and a better person in general. he starts asking Leah & Abby hard questions about their families, apologizes when he crosses a line with Abby and realizes that he hurt Blue by assuming he was white. I just love how he messes up, gets called out on it and strives to do better. I fucking love him✨ but let's move on to my ABSOLUTE FAV though ✨ BRAM GREENFELD✨ can you believe Bram has only made a grand total of like, 5 appearances in this book (most of which were towards the end) and my idiotic self still managed to love him so fiercely??✨ Bram is literally the softest human to ever exist. He's the human embodiment of sunshine and glitter and nice things. And I fucking love him. he's so gentle and so kind and he actually BLUSHES because that's just how BIG OF A CUTIE he is. And oh my god. I need to lie down for a second✨ I know he's fictional or whatever but I really hope that the universe is this kind to him whenever he's in need because I love him and he's one of those people who would genuinely make you feel wanted and beautiful because them even looking at you makes you feel special & they’re so amazing and how could someone that radiant even exist!!!✨I just really fucking love Bram, alright✨ aaaand✨ He's also so fucking relatable: 1) he doesn't know how to continue a conversation after saying hello & has zero communication skills. 2) He's an introvert who surrounds himself with extroverts because he doesn't think he's fun or funny and he would rather just sit there and listen while someone else has the burden of creating the mood and atmosphere. 3) he literally does not possess the barest modicum of chill when it comes to his crush. yeah. let's not forget how he dragged his best friend to this school play THREE times, solely because the boy he's been pining after had a NON-SPEAKING role in it. Bram, son, I hate to be the one to break this to you but you're a total mess and I wholeheartedly love and support you ✨ ok I'll shut up about Bram now✨ how about we move on to BRAM+SIMON✨ you'd think after two years my obsession with this otp would be quelled by now but I guess my feelings are well acquainted with the concept of recycling✨ I am in love with their love. it's so innocent and so warm and so sickeningly sweet… the kind that makes my insides go all gooey & glittery and causes my heart to flutter uncomfortably and feel like I am going to spontaneously combust!!! ✨I am probably being too corny but you can't look me in the eye and tell me you haven't gone through something when Bram showed up at the Ferris wheel & when he left the Elliott Smith t-shirt in Simon’s locker with the softest love note ever and when they skipped lunch and went on an oreos adventure to the convenience store ✨ and 'so hold it' when Simon said he really wanted to hold his hand and 'I thought I was just seeing what I want to see' because Bram really wanted it to be Simon✨I MEAN HOLY SHIT STAB BE WITH A FUCKING RUSTY NAIL I WANT THIS KIND OF SOFT LOVE WITH A SOFT GIRLFRIEND!!!✨ yeah anyway one day my life will not revolve around fictional characters. today is fortunately not that day✨ OK but can we also talk about the fact that Bram's hints in the emails were so subtle and so lowkey and very thought out so they would eventually reveal his identity if Simon ONLY knew where to look ?? and then there's Simon who's such a fumbling dork and who couldn’t be smooth for the sake of his fucking existence?? he was so blantantly obvious with the whole "Jacques a dit" thing and rambling about his teachers that it was too easy for Bram to put two and two together?? god I love them✨ and yeah. sometimes I’m sad and stressed out and feeling like shit but then, right before my eyes, I can see it: that scene where Simon calls soccer tryouts 'auditions' because he's such a massive theater dork and Bram smiles at him so softly and Simon has literally no idea what to do with himself ???? WHOLESOME✨ I’m still laughing because Simon spent a good portion of this book mocking overly cutesy couples on facebook but he ended up wanting TO HAVE EXACTLY WHAT THEY HAVE and even joking about it with his boyfriend?? what an incredible character development ✨anyway, I still can’t believe we get to witness Simon and Blue fall in love on the big screen. 2018 is truly a gays only event✨ ✨ is it just me or is this damn review getting so long✨ I wish I was this passionate about my college assignments✨ anyway ✨ LEAH!!!✨ I have an abundance of feelings about Leah ✨ first of all, I RELATE to Leah so much (look I know what you're thinking but everyone is relatable and this book has so much of me in it. it's unbelievable)✨ 1) my talent is also coming off as an inviting and warm and open person but still remaining fairly closed off?? 2)I'm also very familiar with those Moods where you need like, affection and validation from your friends but you resent that you have to ask for it so you end up just sulking alone in your bed wishing someone would psychically know that you need a three hours hug!! 3) I too automatically assume everyone dislikes me unless EVERY individual states otherwise, as in they have to constantly tell me that they actually enjoy my presence in order for me to believe that they don’t actually secretly hate me and constantly think I’m annoying and are just being friendly to be polite!!! ✨ I love Leah. and can we appreciate what a good friend she is?? how she emulates the open warmth only kind people effortlessly exude just by being their genuine selves??? I feel like she's one of those genuinely nice girls who tell you your hair looks good or gently let you know if you have lipstick on your teeth and make the world a little more brilliant✨ remember how Simon immediately knew she was the one who picked his birthday cake because it was perfect and if anyone would remember how simon could never commit to one flavor and how thinks red icing tastes too red, it would be Leah?? I don’t know, y’all, but friends who are so committed to recalling small details about you without you having to tell them are a warm luxury everyone deserves!!✨ I also love Abby, she's a soft summer girl dappled in sunlight and she's so cute with her casual displays of friendship and platonic love!! it's just so good and pure and beautiful always!!✨ Lastly, I hope all the Martins of the world are out there experiencing SHIT.
    more
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    in honor of me seeing the movie early and then seeing it again on a cheesy and gay movie date: THE BEST MOMENTS OF THIS BOOK, NEW AND IMPROVED!!🌷Simon putting Martin in his phone as “monkey’s asshole”🌹I can’t believe “mom, pick me up, kids are drinking alcohol” isn’t in the book🌷the Drarry fanfiction summer🌹“there are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom”🌷the suck and dick nice weather typo, and Blue subsequently bringing it up, like, eight times🌹the unfortunately correct representati in honor of me seeing the movie early and then seeing it again on a cheesy and gay movie date: THE BEST MOMENTS OF THIS BOOK, NEW AND IMPROVED!!🌷Simon putting Martin in his phone as “monkey’s asshole”🌹I can’t believe “mom, pick me up, kids are drinking alcohol” isn’t in the book🌷the Drarry fanfiction summer🌹“there are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom”🌷the suck and dick nice weather typo, and Blue subsequently bringing it up, like, eight times🌹the unfortunately correct representation of what high school theater is like. thoughts and prayers appreciated 🌷 “What’s a dementor?” she asks.I mean, I can’t even. “Nora, you are no longer my sister.”“So it’s some Harry Potter thing.” 🌹the entire chapter where Simon drinks a beer🌷 "I take a sip of my beer, and it’s - I mean, it’s just astonishingly disgusting. I don’t think I was expecting it to taste like ice cream, but holy fucking hell. People lie and get fake IDs and sneak into bars, and for this? I honestly think I’d rather make out with Bieber. The dog. Or Justin.Anyway, it really makes you worry about all the hype surrounding sex." 🌹thanks Simon this is the best quote I’ve read in my damn life🌷 Simon going on a rant about all the different places they came from and how they all got here and Abby replying with “slavery, in my case”🌹I still think Abby and Leah should have ended up together, especially after that one line about how they really were just "trying to impress each other"? why was that there if they‘re both Really Straight? [bi Leah theory is real and i'm so glad Becky agrees with me]🌷I cant believe the post-presidency Barack Obama joke wasn’t in the book because that was fucking awesome🌹all of Simon’s email titles. especially Reese’s are better than sex🌷“Maybe you should stop having heterosexual sex”🌹Blue being an asshole and attaching a picture of a Reese’s to an email🌷“Partying harder than Blue’s mom since 2014”🌹 Wednesday is gender bender day, which basically amounts to Southern straight people cross dressing. 🌷Simon thinking Blue dressing up like a cheerleader is cute, one chapter after they sarcastically intone the concept of ogling cheerleaders. 🌹 I am literally not joking, that actually happens in this book and it took me FOUR REREADS to notice it. that is the most next-level foreshadowing I have ever seen in my whole fucking life 🌷Leah dressing extra-feminine to protest gender bender day🌹 “being secure in your masculinity isn’t the same as being straight” –somebody finally fucking said it!!🌷Leah’s birthday haiku for Simon🌹“le fuck”🌷When Blue calls Simon cute and grammatical and Simon calls him that back. wow I love love🌹 “...or we could do things other than talking. I mean, I’m just saying” –Simon being a smooth bitch🌷did we all just forget that Simon ran a tumblr called Passion Pit OBSESSION🌹the part where Simon and Blue touch hands oh my god !!!!! 🌷 “I’m glad you find me distracting. It wouldn’t be fair otherwise” –Blue being a smooth bitch🌹Simon stealing Leah’s cut your eyes to the side strategy and using it on Martin🌷Simon giving into the Martin thing and immediately internal monologuing “I hate myself. I hate myself” is the most relatable content🌹Abby replying to Martin hitting on her with “I do like waffles. that’s why I got them” 🌷hashtag roasted🌹Blue’s dad getting him a book by Casanovathe fact that Blue says “as you would say, freaking Casanova” and Simon immediately replies with “FREAKING CASANOVA” that’s so pure🌷Blue being turned on by Simon’s sentence fragments🌹 “who are all these cute guys that make you so nervous? you better not love THEIR sentence fragments” 🌷THE FACT THAT WE’VE ALREADY SEEN BRAM FREEZE UP AROUND SIMON IN REAL LIFE AAAAAAAH🌹Martin singing at the Waffle House 🌷How sweet and soft Abby is after Simon comes out she freaking,, has him pull over and is so nice🌹Everything Abby does in this whole book?🌷 “she didn’t seem to believe me when I told her I’m not sexually active, so I guess that’s flattering” 🌹Simon calling his future inlaws “Ms. Every Time Including Oral and Mr. Let’s Read About Freaking Casanova” 🌷all the conversations about letting the walls down in this book are so freaking relatable. it really does feel like there’s no going back once you tell one person and I’m so impressed that Becky Albertalli managed to get that down.🌹THE ENTIRETY OF PAGE 129🌷a sophomore snuck into the chem lab and got his junk stuck in a beaker? 🌹Taylor getting more characterization than basic mean girl !! [make her Leah's love interest in Leah on the Offbeat. I beg and pray]🌷Blue slipping a joke about how good Simon is at distracting him into his Upset Monologue🌹 “It’s like he’s our age telling his parents he knocked someone up. Which is totally the straight person equivalent of coming out” –Simon being a freaking savage🌷I don’t know about you but I can’t read the why is straight the default paragraph without thinking about OH GOD HELP ME JESUS🌹and Blue replying with “the Homosexual Agenda” I’m freaking crying🌷“You have me curious. Banana? Hot dog? Cucumber?” –a real thing Simon actually typed and sent🌹“More like a giant baguette” –a real thing Blue actually typed and sent🌷“I love your giant baguette” –a real thing Simon actually typed and sent🌹Simon calling Blue “my Jewish-Episcopalian email boyfriend” in his internal monologue🌷the fact that Nick likes to talk about social media as a vehicle for constructing and performing identity 🌹“Whatever the hell that means” —Simon🌷 “Who would post something like that?” “Someone who doesn’t know that “anal buttsex” is redundant” 🌹“I’m pregnant”🌷the fucking smiley face on page 171🌹Simon calling Target “an office supply Justice League”🌷 “one girl even confirms that Jesus still loves me” 🌹HERE IT IS GUYS. THE MOST ICONIC AND RELATABLE LINE FROM THIS WHOLE BOOK: I’m just so sick of straight people who can’t get their shit together 🌷the fact that Simon says this about Bram, the most heterosexual of straights, the straightest, just call him Straighty McHetero🌹AUDITIONS !! SIMON CALLING BRAM CUTE !! WOW IF PAGE 195 AINT A PAGE🌷also Simon’s entire arc means the fucking world to me and I am so proud of him🌹why does Simon get drunk so much in this book🌷the Elliot Smith shirt !!🌹Simon trying to crank Sufjan Stevens and it going about as well as you could expect 🌷the NOTE IN THE SHIRT🌹ALL OF THE FERRIS WHEEL SCENE. PAGE TWO SIXTY SIX TO TWO SIXTY EIGHT IN THE US HARDCOVER EDITION WOW LOVE IS REAL 👏👏👏🌷 “Bram’s gone too. how strange :)” —Abby being a savage🌹“you’re THE cute guy” —BRAM BEING THE MOST ROMANTIC🌷SHOUT OUT OUR ANNIVERSARY EVERY WEEK🌹Bram’s dad using Casanova being bisexual as a reply to him coming out🌷the fact that a 2015 bestselling YA novel used the word bisexual twice and it’s 2018 and I still feel like I have to recognize that🌹the “happy two day anniversary!!!!!!!!!” text🌷“don’t you dare cry” “what? no way” *has a full breakdown*aaaaaaanddddddd most importantly 🌹WHY WOULD I WANT TO WATCH OTHER PEOPLE KISSING🌷WHEN I COULD BE KISSING YOUthat’s all, folks, thank you for coming to my Ted Talk !! please read this book it’s eight levels of purity, cleansed my soul, and made me into the lesbian I am today. also I technically read most of it from 4 am to 6 am on Jan 18 because priorities, and if that's not an endorsement, what is? → elise nitpicks her faves ← Nick is lowkey there for added heterosexual romance drama, there is a reference to coming out being easier for gay girls that I think is an oversimplistification, and that is literally it. I do my best to criticize things but my guy sometimes you just gotta accept masterpieces for what they areBlog | Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    January 1, 1970
    Read for Popsugar's 2018 Reading Challenge #12: A Book with an LGBTQ+ ProtagonistI'm trying to spend more time this year re-reading some of my favorite books, and this was a great start! I actually listened to it on audiobook this time around, and the narration was amazing. No complaints! Also I'm SO FREAKING EXCITED FOR THE MOVIEfirst read in 2015THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL.If a story about a cynical gay Harry Potter fan falling in love with somebody from the inside out sounds appealing to you, do y Read for Popsugar's 2018 Reading Challenge #12: A Book with an LGBTQ+ ProtagonistI'm trying to spend more time this year re-reading some of my favorite books, and this was a great start! I actually listened to it on audiobook this time around, and the narration was amazing. No complaints! Also I'm SO FREAKING EXCITED FOR THE MOVIEfirst read in 2015THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL.If a story about a cynical gay Harry Potter fan falling in love with somebody from the inside out sounds appealing to you, do yourself a favor and pick this up when it comes out in April.
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyinBookland)
    January 1, 1970
    Awesome. Video review to come.
  • Ariel
    January 1, 1970
    This. Book. Was. So. Much. FUNNNN.It has been ages since I stayed up late reading a book, propping my eyes open just to keep going. This book had me up at 2AM wanting to find out what would happen to our precious Simon. The family relationships were fantastic, the friendship dynamics were really well done, the musical was too much fun, I loved that the romance took place over the internet, I just completely soaked it all up!If you're looking for a very readable, very happy, super fun book PLEASE This. Book. Was. So. Much. FUNNNN.It has been ages since I stayed up late reading a book, propping my eyes open just to keep going. This book had me up at 2AM wanting to find out what would happen to our precious Simon. The family relationships were fantastic, the friendship dynamics were really well done, the musical was too much fun, I loved that the romance took place over the internet, I just completely soaked it all up!If you're looking for a very readable, very happy, super fun book PLEASE PICK THIS ONE UP AND WARM UP YOUR HEART.
    more
  • Nat
    January 1, 1970
    This review contains *spoilers*.If you love Oreos or waffles, boys kissing, and overall cuteness then please read this wonderful story, I promise that you won’t be disappointed.This is the kind of book that I had to read in one sitting while eating the best snacks and listening to my current favorite song because it was just fun fun fun.I’m still in a happy daze.Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda follows sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier, who prefers to save his drama for the sch This review contains *spoilers*.If you love Oreos or waffles, boys kissing, and overall cuteness then please read this wonderful story, I promise that you won’t be disappointed.This is the kind of book that I had to read in one sitting while eating the best snacks and listening to my current favorite song because it was just fun fun fun.I’m still in a happy daze.Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda follows sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier, who prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.“I actually think people would be cool about it,” Martin says. “You should be who you are.”I don’t even know where to begin with that. Some straight kid who barely knows me, advising me on coming out. I kind of have to roll my eyes.”Fun fact—I actually started this book a while back, but I absolutely hated Martin and I got so mad at his character that I had to put it down, and then I never picked it back up (unfortunately so).“Did you—did you take a screenshot or something?”“Well,” he says, “I wanted to talk to you about that.”“Sorry—you took a fucking screenshot?”He purses his lips together and stares over my shoulder. “Anyway,” he says, “I know you’re friends with Abby Suso, so I wanted to ask—”“Seriously? Or maybe we could go back to you telling me why you took a screenshot of my emails.”He pauses. “I mean, I guess I’m wondering if you want to help me talk to Abby.”Seriously, why did he think that was okay in any way?And Simon kept describing Martin as a goofy kid that everyone in their school loves, but Martin has some serious issues and needs to take a huge step back to reevaluate his life choices.I mean:“And then she looks up at me with raised eyebrows and a perfectly round mouth, and I can’t help but laugh.“That was so bitchy of me. I can’t believe I said that.”“It was super bitchy,” I say. “You’re like a stealth bitch.”“What did you call her?” asks Martin.I swear to God, that kid pops up out of nowhere and burrows into every conversation.“It’s okay, Marty. We’re just messing around,” says Abby.“Yeah, well, he called you a bitch. I really don’t think that’s okay.”Says the guy blackmailing a kid to 'help' him date someone.I seriously despised him. And after some time he, funnily enough, started reminding me of Gabe from The Office—remember when Gabe started obsessing over Erin? That’s how Martin sounded like when he talked about Abby.I’m sorry, but I just can’t get over how uncomfortable he made me.I feel like I need to go listen to some really relaxing music because Martin’s got me all riled up.And maybe I shouldn’t admit this, but I was rooting for him to have a horrible ending. The way he handled Abby’s rejection was just completely disgusting.To quote Simon, Martin is the biggest, most cavernous gaping asshole who ever lived. (And Martin's email at the end pissed me off even more.)But on a much more positive note, Blue Bram and Simon were so cute and grammatical.“I can’t believe Bram Greenfeld dressed up. Bram from my lunch table. He’s this quiet black kid who’s supposed to be really smart, but I’ve never heard him speak unless he’s forced to. He leans way back into the corner of the couch, shuffling the toe of one foot against the other, and I never noticed it before, but he’s actually kind of adorable.”Subtle foreshadowing. I love it.It was an absolute delight seeing Bram and Simon together at the start because SIMON HAD NO IDEA:“No fucking thank you, Abby,” Leah says, in this sickeningly pleasant tone. Except her eyes are like crackling fireballs of rage. She stands up abruptly, pushing her chair in without a word.As soon as she leaves, Garrett looks at Bram, and Bram bites his lip. Which I’m pretty sure is straight-dude code for Bram likes Leah.And I don’t know why, but it pisses me the fuck off.”Little do you know...Foreshadowing in books usually gives me too much anxiety, but because I spoiled the ending for myself (I couldn't handle the not knowing the first time I started this book), I was just smiling throughout my whole reading experience.“For one thing, both Garrett and Bram have been totally cool about the gay thing all day, which I guess I didn’t expect from a bunch of athletes.Also, Bram is cute. Like, really, really cute. He stands a foot or so back from the fence, totally sweaty, with a white turtleneck under his soccer shirt. And he’s not really talking, but he has very expressive brown eyes. And light brown skin and soft dark curls and cute, knobbly hands.”They are too cute.Also, I loved Ms. Albright, she's moderately badass for a teacher. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed reading about a teacher in a book. But she was definitely a pleasant surprise.“Then she walks over to me and squats down in front of my platform. “You okay, Simon?”I feel myself blush a little bit. “I’m fine.”“Okay, well,” she says quietly. “Just know that those assholes are getting suspended. I’m not even kidding. I will make it my hill to die on.”YES!Also also, I love emails in books so the interactions between Blue and “Jacques” were absolutely delightful (their emails about middle school memories still make me laugh):“Honestly, though? I think the real reason I had girlfriends was because I didn’t one hundred percent believe I was gay. Or maybe I didn’t think it was permanent.I know you’re probably thinking: “Okaaaaaaay.”—JacquesFROM: [email protected]: [email protected]: Oct 19 at 8:01 AMSUBJECT: The obligatory . . .Okaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyy.(Eyebrows, butthole mouth, etc.)—Blue”Seriously, the cast of characters in this book were all so wonderful.And there was this one part with Leah that cracks me up every single time“And Leah’s also into slash fanfiction, which got me curious enough to poke around the internet and find some last summer. I couldn’t believe how much there was to choose from: Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy hooking up in thousands of ways in every broom closet at Hogwarts. I found the ones with decent grammar and stayed up reading all night. It was a weird couple of weeks. That was the summer I taught myself how to do laundry. There are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom.”I seriously laughed out loud.(And the email parts of this book kind of reminded me of A Cinderella Story and their interactions.)“And then someone slides in beside me.“Can I sit here?” he asks, and my eyes snap open.It’s Cute Bram Greenfeld, of the soft eyes and soccer calves.I loosen the seat belt to let him in. And I smile at him. It’s impossible not to.“I like your shirt,” he says. He seems nervous.“Thanks,” I say. “It’s Elliott Smith.”I’m kind of hardcore grinning right now.I'm really glad that we got to see those two get together and that it didn't end right there. But I was expecting for the book to have 10 more pages, so when I turned the last page in chapter 35 and saw Acknowledgments written, I was so let down. (And this particular situation has happened so many times, but it still gets me every single time.)This story was just so good and I’m truly happy that I gave it a second chance.Also, I’m really pleased that Martin didn’t get a happy ending.*Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission!* This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Emma Giordano
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book!!! I'm so happy I finally had the motivation to read it. It was exactly as everyone described it; Cute, Fluffy, Healthy, a fast read, an *important* read, etc. I can clearly see why it's such an acclaimed novel for LGBT+ rep in the book community. I'm very satisfied with "Simon" and would recommend it to absolutely everyone in the world because y'all need this book in your life!
    more
  • C.G. Drews
    January 1, 1970
    READ #2: May 2018I an't even with how freaking adorable this is. It's been 3 years since I first read it but I just...😍I seriously ended up smiling like nothing else for those last chapters. The cute'o'meter is broken, ok. This book BROKE it. It just makes me so happy...but also balances that with a lot of anxiety through Simon being blackmailed.I think books just get the 5/5 when they make you feel all the things.(Also it's SO much fun rereading and knowing who Blue is!! Blue is frikkin ADORABL READ #2: May 2018I an't even with how freaking adorable this is. It's been 3 years since I first read it but I just...😍I seriously ended up smiling like nothing else for those last chapters. The cute'o'meter is broken, ok. This book BROKE it. It just makes me so happy...but also balances that with a lot of anxiety through Simon being blackmailed.I think books just get the 5/5 when they make you feel all the things.(Also it's SO much fun rereading and knowing who Blue is!! Blue is frikkin ADORABLE.)And I can't stop smiling. I mean, there are times when it's actually more work not to smile.ME RN☆~☆ READ #1: December 2015 ☆~☆Okay but. HELP. THIS WAS SO INSANELY ADORABLE I SUFFOCATED. I was listening to the audiobook and GRINNING. Like an idiot. The ending = Cait losing all control of her Vulcanism and just GRINNING LIKE A SHEER IDIOT. (I might've mentioned that already, but it bears saying again.) So least to say I LOVED IT. Of course!! Everyone recommended me this book a zillion times and they were a zillion percent right. Why?! WHY IS IT SO GOOD?! Omg, let me write you a little list:• First of all Simon is freaking awesome. He's actually kind of a "lighter" personality. He hugs people and jokes and is easy to get along with and very, very relatable. He overthinks and he's angsty -- but it's like not as intense?! It felt really refreshing!! He was an UTTERLY enjoyable character to read about!!• Food. Food is good. This book has food. (Although, I confess: I have not had an oreo. I had a fake-oreo when I was in China once and it tasted like charcol toothpaste and I was assured it was fake and not a "real oreo". So I would like to try the real thing, please and thank you.)• IT IS AFDJSKALD ADORABLE IN TERMS OF ROMANCE ERK. EEP. FEEELLLP. *pauses to calm feels* No really! I'm not typically a huge fan of contemporaries but afjdksald this is one of my most favourite relationships of ever. I had misgivings. It's an anonymous internet friendship between Simon and "Blue" who goes to Simon's school but they don't know each other IRL. I totally get why they did it. I absolutely relate to the ease of online friendships. Of course Simon and Blue develop into something moooooore. And there are tons of emails between them AND THE FLIRTING IS SO STINKIN' CUTE. I did spend a while mad at Blue. I thought he was being selfish. I don't take that back, per se, but I can't hold it against him because aren't we all selfish at times?• All the characters were really flawed!! BUT LIKEABLE. And that's how I like to read characters. • I absolutely lost. my. brain. trying to figure out who Blue was really. I DID NOT GUESS RIGHT. But the reveal is the best of the universe. • And there are so many epic friendships in this book too!! I adore books about friendships! Simon has a tight-knit friends group of Nick, Abby, and Leah. I really loved Abby (she was just so bubbly and fresh and concerned and adorable) and I thought Nick was about as interesting as a paper fork. Leah? Ugh. Leah is like the only aspect of the book I didn't like. She's realistic, sure. But she was a super needy friend, and jealous and ragey and her attitude to her other friends really sucked, but THEY were the ones who had to apologise. I also dislike how at the end (view spoiler)[she's super annoyed at Simon for not coming out to HER FIRST [wut even, woman] and yet she never tells him she drums??!?! So what is this?! Leah is hypocritcal and yet that's never addressed at all. (hide spoiler)]• I had this stupid deluded moment thinking I was going to give it 4-stars. HAHAHAHHA NOPE. The ending totally blew my mind with its levels of adorableness. A MILLION STARS.• Although I have to have a little snobby poke at the writing. Because, often times I feel like the scenes cut off too abruptly. I know this is a debut, and I'm extra sure this author is on the path to epic writing. Just sometimes the writing did feel lurchy and I often felt when there was a scene of several characters, a few would always be left out of the conversation so much that I forgot they were even there. Erm.• And at one point Blue makes this comment about "people who are straight and white never having to have identity issues." And I thought that was a horribly narrow-minded comment. I think the book is SO epic in its thoughts otherwise, that maybe that was just Blue being a stupid teen? Everyone has issues. Loads of people wonder who they are and question things. Any skin colour. Any gender. Andy sexual orientation. Any walk of life basically.• Also I listened to the audiobook and it was PERFECTION. Definitely an audio recommend! It reminded me of the White Cat audios (which are entirely good, go listen to them now) too.• I loved how it was part mystery, part friendship book, part discovering your identity and just...a real coming of age story! I adored it. And it was funny and adorable and quirky (but not TOO quirky). And I liked how there were no awkwardly long soliloquies. I was so impressed that everything felt SO REAL. This book is just an oreo of perfection dunked in addictiveness with a good helping of hilarity and perfectly wonderful characters and just --- EEEEP. I LIKED IT A LOT.
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    There’s this pause. We’re still looking at each other. And there’s this feeling in my stomach like a coil pulled taut. ‘‘It’s you,’’ I say. 3 stars? 3.5 stars? I’m honestly not sure. Prior to reading this novel, I had read maybe five, six, seven reviews that upped my anticipation like crazy. They all mentioned how ‘‘cute’’ and ‘‘adorable’’ this novel is. And it’s true. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda becoming a New York Times bestseller and would actually be p There’s this pause. We’re still looking at each other. And there’s this feeling in my stomach like a coil pulled taut. ‘‘It’s you,’’ I say. 3 stars? 3.5 stars? I’m honestly not sure. Prior to reading this novel, I had read maybe five, six, seven reviews that upped my anticipation like crazy. They all mentioned how ‘‘cute’’ and ‘‘adorable’’ this novel is. And it’s true. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda becoming a New York Times bestseller and would actually be proud of it. After all, it does deal with meaningful and important themes.Still… even thought beautiful and light and atmospheric, the author wrote a pretty simple story. Simon was easy to relate to and love, for sure, and genuine, undoubtedly, but apace did he get attached to people. I felt as if, throughout the story, Simon fell in love twice, and the third time could have been possible. It made me question the realisticity of his character and the story overall. I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again. When Simon’s exchanged e-mails with Blue are found by Martin, a classmate, this latter starts ‘‘blackmailing’’ Simon into putting in a good word for him with Abby, the girl he secretly likes. And Simon, by fear of embarrassing and ruining his relationship with sweet and not-ready-to-come-out-of-the-closet Blue, if Martin decides to show everyone the e-mails, does what Martin asks him to. But things don’t always go the way we want them to, and people don’t always react the way we wish they would.Maybe, just maybe, I would have enjoyed this book at least treble if it hadn’t been my third read with a gay character being apart of a play, the first two being Will Grayson, Will Grayson and My Most Excellent Year. This is an assumption, but I believe it to be applicable. After all, who truly enjoys reading about similar things over and over again? Fortunately, him being in a play wasn’t the highlight of this novel or so overly mentioned that it became annoying, but it simply wasn’t something that impressed me anymore. White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default. Also, what highly bothered me was Simon’s change of heart toward a character in the story, a person he seemed to be smitten with from the start. I understand the author wanting to really focus on Simon & Blue and not Simon and anybody else, but the character in question was so lovely that I felt bad when HE openly took interest in Simon and this latter didn’t care about him that much anymore.Not enough romance but, when there will be some, YOU WILL FEEL IT. It was heartfelt and, even though I wasn’t too excited about the person Simon ended up with, their chemistry was evident and, after all, if he’s happy, than I’m happy.
    more
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so damn cute and extremely sweet and incredibly adorable! XDIt tasted like a hot cup of coffee in early spring,it felt like warm summer rain caressing your skin, it was as beautiful as a colourful sunrise in September and it smelled like a clear night sky in the middle of a cold winter night. In short: It gave me all those awesome fluffy, cozy and happy feels!! ! =)))I loved everything about “Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda”! From the bands and the music that was mentioned throug This book was so damn cute and extremely sweet and incredibly adorable! XDIt tasted like a hot cup of coffee in early spring,it felt like warm summer rain caressing your skin, it was as beautiful as a colourful sunrise in September and it smelled like a clear night sky in the middle of a cold winter night. In short: It gave me all those awesome fluffy, cozy and happy feels!! ! =)))I loved everything about “Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda”! From the bands and the music that was mentioned throughout the entire book right up to the "Harry Potter" and "Fruits Basket" references. And OMG Simon’s and Blue’s mails!!! Gosh they were so damn cute, they were argh! I can’t even say how much I loved those two!!! This book was just marvellous and as a Fangirl I really felt like I finally arrived in seventh heaven! *lol*”I have to admit I like to imagine you as a kid fantasizing about junk food. I also like to imagine you now fantasizing about sex. I can’t believe I just wrote that. I can’t believe I’m hitting send.I began to read this book and at some point realised that I couldn’t stop anymore. The mystery about Blue’s true identity pushed me to read on and even though I had my suspicions I still found great pleasure in collecting the hints and trying to make some assumptions. XD I’ve to admit that this book got me hooked and I’m not ashamed to confess that I actually loved every second of it! ;-P“Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it shouldn't be this big awkward thing whether you're straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I'm just saying.”So yeah, now that I got this off my chest, I finally should be able to write my actual review! The Plot:Simon is sixteen years old and has a huge secret. He’s gay and he’s flirting with a guy who calls himself Blue and is more than just adorable. Well, that’s Simon’s opinion and I’ve to confess that I agree! He’s really damn cute! XD Anyway, Simon has never met Blue in real life and all they have ever done was to write very personal e-mails, personal e-mails that unfortunately end up in the wrong hands. Martin, a classmate of Simon accidentally stumbles upon them and since he has a huge crush on one of Simon’s friends, he decides to use them as leverage to force Simon to help him. Martin wants a date with Abby and if Simon doesn’t assist him, he’s going to out him to the whole world. What a mess!!! XDThe Characters: Spoiler alert! You may stop here or continue to read at your own risk! ;-) Simon:”So here’s the thing: Simon means ‘the one who hears’ and Spier means ‘the one who watches.” Which means I was basically destined to be nosy.I loved, loved, loved and adored Simon!!! Gosh that boy is such a precious cutiepie!!! He’s funny and he’s refreshingly honest (well except of his little secret of course)! I could understand him so well and I think in some way I found myself in him. I mean Simon and I have a lot in common and I guess that’s probably the reason why I liked him so much! XD I hated that other people made him feel so insecure and I could understand his wish to get to know Blue in real life! Jeez! I was at the same point when I got to know my husband and it was so damn easy for me to relate to Simon’s struggle! =) Still, no matter what happened to him, he always stood his ground and I truly loved him for it!! Simon is so brave and I swear when he told Martin his opinion about his post on Tumblr I was all like: YEAH! Damn right, tell him what he did!!! XD“And you know what? You don’t get to say it’s not a big thing. This is a big fucking thing, okay? This was supposed to be – this is mine. I’m supposed to decide when and where and who knows and how I want to say it.” Suddenly, my throat gets thick. “So, yeah, you took that away from me. And then you brought Blue into it? Seriously? You fucking suck, Martin. I mean, I don’t even want to look at you.”Still, it hurt to know that Blue was too shy to show himself and the fact Simon was so down made me sad as well! Gosh! I think Simon actually is the most relatable character I ever had the pleasure to encounter. *lol* Everything he thought and did affected me so deeply! XDAnd I swear the moment Blue found out about Simon’s identity just took my breath away!!!”Jacques a dit. Right?I was all like OH. MY. GOD!!!! It was kind of unfair though. I mean Blue obviously knew who Simon was, but Simon actually had no clue who Blue might be! XD What made it even worse, was that he didn’t even know if his feelings were reciprocated, because they actually stopped to write mails right after Simon’s identity was revealed! Oh my poor Simon! It was so painful to read!!! =(((”Obviously, I don’t know what the hell I’m doing here, but what I’m trying to say is that I like you. I more than like you. When I flirt with you, it’s not a joke, and when I say I want to know you, it’s not just because I’m curious. I’m not going to pretend I know how this ends, and I don’t have a freaking clue if it’s possible to fall in love over email. But I would really like to meet you, Blue. I want to try this. And I can’t imagine a scenario where I won’t want to kiss your face off as soon as I see you. Just wanted to make that perfectly clear.”This scene resonated so much with me! I actually once wrote a pretty similar mail as well! *lol* Blue:”I completely understand what you mean about feeling locked into yourself. For me, I don’t even think it has anything to do with other people thinking they know me. It’s more that I want to leap in and say certain things and do certain things, but I always seem to hold myself back. I think a big part of me is afraid.”Oh Blue, he was so insecure and shy and somehow this only made him even more adorable! There were moments when he was so brave and then all of a sudden he was too intimidated by Simon’s mails to even give him his number. XD Blue had his own struggles to deal with and just too see how much those two tried to support each other and the way they fell in love. OMG! It was just too much! *lol* I loved so many things about Blue. His correct grammar, the way he expressed himself and the words he used! It was obvious he was a smart kid and *lol* I guess deep down within me I already knew who was behind his nickname! ;-P I needed to read it though! *LOL*”And I do think you’re cute. You’re absurdly cute. I think I spend a little too much time thinking how adorable you are in emails and trying to translate that into a viable mental image for daydreams and the like.“And the like…” Haha oh boy did that one sentence mess with Simon’s head! Truth be told, I wouldn’t have reacted any different, though. See, once again a moment where I could relate to Simon’s POV!!! XD”P.S. I love the way you smile like you don’t realize you’re doing it. I love your perpetual bed head. I love the way you hold eye contact a moment longer than you need to. And I love your moon-gray eyes. So if you think I’m not attracted to you, Simon, you’re crazy.”Awww… just Aww! I melted when I read that note and to think Simon found it so late and didn’t even know it was there!! Holy moly! It killed me! *lol* Martin:I didn’t like him! Yes, I know he apologised in the end but damn what he did was just soo freaking mean and horrible! I mean he outed Simon on Christmas!! Who would ever do such a thing? My poor Simon had to deal with all this on a day that’s supposed to be one of the nicest of the entire year!! And this just because a stupid oaf called Martin had a crush on his friend Abby and couldn’t accept that she wasn’t interested in him!! I mean! ARGH!! That boy didn’t even think twice about the consequences his actions would have! And yesh, there were plenty of consequences for poor Simon!!! Simon’s friends:”But I’ve known Leah since sixth grade, and Nick since we were four. And this gay thing. It feels so big. It’s almost insurmountable. I don’t know how to tell them something like this and still come out of it feeling like Simon. Because if Leah and Nick don’t recognize me, I don’t even recognize myself anymore.”They were amazing! Sure, sometimes I was angry with them because they didn’t understand Simon’s situation and thought everything was about them. I mean I understand why Abby was pissed but seriously, what was Simon supposed to do? He couldn’t really tell her that he was blackmailed by Martin and in the end nothing of what Simon did actually had any consequences for her. She chose Nick and Martin as well as Leah had to accept it. Period. And Leah? I know she felt left out, but it wasn’t like Simon could have done anything to stop Nick and Abby falling in love! *lol* I mean alone the thought is kind of ridiculous! XDStill, no matter their feelings, they always stood up for Simon and I think that’s the important thing! You quarrel with your friends because you love them and when it comes down to it they’re always there for you! ;-)“Did you just tell us you're gay?" asks Nick."Yes.""Okay," he says. Abby swats him. "What?""That's all you're going to say? ‘Okay’?""He said not to make a big deal out of it," Nick says. "What am I supposed to say?""Say something supportive. I don't know. Or awkwardly hold his hand like I did. Anything."Nick and I look at each other."I'm not holding your hand," I tell him, smiling a little."All right" - he nods - "but know that I would.”Simon’s family:”My dad invented the concept of Simon logic, and I can’t seem to outgrow it. It means whishful thinking supported by flimsy evidence.”I loved how they interacted with each other! They were so open and amazing and I had to laugh about their strange family habits. I mean alone the idea of scavenger hunting on Facebook! That was hilarious! *lol* To be a guest in their house certainly would have been funny as hell!! XD And the way Simon outed himself to his family? Haha it was priceless!!! Sure his father made many jokes but in the end he still loved his son and he felt sorry for being so oblivious and careless! =)) Alice and Nora were darlings and I guess to have two sisters like that is actually more than just a blessing! ”Well, I’m just going to put this out there, in case the message got lost somewhere. I love you. A lot. No matter what. And I know it’s got to be awesome having the cool dad.”“Ahem,” says my mom.“Excuse me. The cool parents. The hardcore, badass, hipster parents.”“Oh, it’s awesome,” I say.“But rein us in if you need to, okay? Rein me in,” he says. He rubs his chin. “I know I didn’t make it easy for you to come out. We’re very proud of you. You’re pretty brave, kid.”And the ending?! It was perfect!!! I was so happy I grinned like a Cheshire Cat!!! I just couldn’t stop! *LOL*Gah, it was so cute and adorable and the way Blue finally made his appearance!!! I think I actually died!!! XD”The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat – soft and persistent, underlying everything.”If you haven’t read “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda” , you definitely should do it now!!!!Drop everything you’re reading because Simon definitely will bring happiness into your life! ;-)Just allow yourself to be enchanted! XD
    more
  • Riley
    January 1, 1970
    As someone who does not typically like books set in high school, I absolutely adored this book. It is possibly the cutest romance I've ever read. And I think it is mostly because Simon and Blue feel in love with each other without knowing what the other looked like. They 100% loved each other for what's inside and that made it all the more beautiful. Simon felt like a real person. His voice was so genuine and honest. And Blue is the most precious person ever. I can definitely see myself rereadin As someone who does not typically like books set in high school, I absolutely adored this book. It is possibly the cutest romance I've ever read. And I think it is mostly because Simon and Blue feel in love with each other without knowing what the other looked like. They 100% loved each other for what's inside and that made it all the more beautiful. Simon felt like a real person. His voice was so genuine and honest. And Blue is the most precious person ever. I can definitely see myself rereading this in the future to re-experience all the cuteness
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    i wrote about why this book's movie adaptation is better (plz don't revoke my bookworm status) https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...--------I DO NOT KNOW HOW I FEEL ABOUT THIS BOOK. AT ALL.And the fact that I am the last person in the mapped universe to have read it is not helping me define my emotions.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...In fact, it is actually only informing me that my feelings should be “THIS BOOK IS AMAZING IT IS THE BEST THING I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE IT’S ADORABLE i wrote about why this book's movie adaptation is better (plz don't revoke my bookworm status) https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...--------I DO NOT KNOW HOW I FEEL ABOUT THIS BOOK. AT ALL.And the fact that I am the last person in the mapped universe to have read it is not helping me define my emotions.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...In fact, it is actually only informing me that my feelings should be “THIS BOOK IS AMAZING IT IS THE BEST THING I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE IT’S ADORABLE AND LIFE-CHANGING AND I AM GOING TO GIVE IT FIVE STARS AND BLUSH CUTELY WITH HAPPINESS WHENEVER MY MIND BLESSEDLY DRIFTS TO IT.”And my feelings are definitively not that.But they are also not, “This book made me feel nothing. I am emotionless. I am the void. I hated this book as I hate sunlight and flowers and the smell of cookies baking on an autumn day and anything capable of producing joy. Joy in others that is, because, as mentioned, I am fully immune to happiness.”Closer to the second one, probably, but that’s because there’s something wrong with me.I guess my feelings are that...this book is…(picture me literally gulping like a cartoon character, which is not something that people do in real life but people in books do all the time)...um...overrated?I am prepared to be pelted with spitballs and rotten tomatoes and framed photos of Becky Albertalli’s face.Here is what this book is, to me:-occasionally fun-quick to read-decent-impressively diverseHere is what it is not, to me:-life-changing-equal in terms of magic-ness to a rainbow or a child laughing for the first time-better than cookies (and how dare anyone even think it)-worthy of even four starsI liked the first half of this book. I liked it a lot, in fact. But the thing about (most of) the second half of this book is that it is literally the same as the first half, and that repetition is no fun whatsoever.Also, I found the reveal of the crush-character to be really predictable.Also, I found a lot of it to be brutally unrealistic. To the point of nonsense. (A good person doesn’t blackmail other people, and thus if you want to make a character blackmail another character, please don’t try to make the point of the conclusion be that long-term blackmail about someone’s sexual orientation including threats and, later, a brutal outing of someone can be something that a misunderstood but friendly loner does by mistake. That’s ridiculous and also f*cked up.)Also, some of the characters are SO UNLIKABLE. (If Leah got hit by a car in front of me I’d hesitate before I called 911.) Buuuut...it is really diverse, you guys. And like, pretty effortlessly diverse. And it’s not a long read, or a boring one. Is it annoying sometimes? Yes, it really is. And I have a lot of problems with it. AND IT’S NOT AS MAGNIFICENT AS EVERYONE SAYS IT IS.But God, it’s so much better than The Upside of Unrequited.Bottom line: Honestly whatever. That’s all I have to say. (I claim as if I didn’t just write a page and a half of opinions before it.)-----i figured it was about time i give this book a try, so i sat down to read a few pages and SUDDENLY I'M A QUARTER OF THE WAY THROUGH IT.HOW IS THIS THE SAME AUTHOR AS ONE OF MY LEAST FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR.IS THIS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE.WILL THERE EVER BE ANY RHYME OR REASON IN THIS MESSED UP UNIVERSE.stay tuned to find out the answers to none of these questions because i have no goddamn clue
    more
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    “White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”4,5/5 starsI read this book exactly two years ago. Since the trailer was released and the film release isn't too far away either, I thought it was time to do a quick reread.The first time around, I liked this book. It was cute, it was fun, most of all it was real. I liked the story and the characters, but I didn't connect with them. For me, it was a nice book, but not an outstanding o “White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”4,5/5 starsI read this book exactly two years ago. Since the trailer was released and the film release isn't too far away either, I thought it was time to do a quick reread.The first time around, I liked this book. It was cute, it was fun, most of all it was real. I liked the story and the characters, but I didn't connect with them. For me, it was a nice book, but not an outstanding one and I really didn't get the hype about it. I had also figured out who Blue was after less than half of the novel, which kind of took the excitement away from reading it.The second time around, I loved this book. It was still fun and cute and real, but now (for some weird reason) so much more relatable.Emotionally,I was more invested than before, though. Most of all I connected with Leah. I have been in similar situations as her. I have felt the hurt and anger that she has felt. I've been through it all. This is also why I am even more excited to read her side of the story in Leah on the Offbeat.Overall I must say that Becky Albertalli definitely knows her way around teenagers and their feelings. She understands what is going on in our/their minds - I'm technically not a teenager anymore - which is why this book is so perfect in that way. And why it's so popular.I can't put my finger on why I won't give five stars. Maybe it's the writing? It is perfectly adequate for a high school novel, but I'm a sucker for a beautiful style. Or it's something else entirely. I can't say, but something is still missing.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Catriona (LittleBookOwl)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars... Maybe 5? I'm going to let things simmer and I'll get back to you on that, but OH YES THIS THIS THIS! Loved. So much. All of the things.
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    so when does the sequel come out bc i feel like i need 300 more pages of this
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    January 1, 1970
    OMG THIS BOOOOOOOOOOOK
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    January 1, 1970
    reread update holy freakin hell how is this book so fucking incredibly cute? Everytime Blue was mentioned (but like, actual Blue) I'd be like fjghkf my sweet sweet soft boy !!! I love (view spoiler)[Bram (hide spoiler)]so much. HE'S SO SWEEET. I adored this book just as much as I did the first time and I read it in one sitting, again. So It is STILL an all time favourite. What a blessed book. Keeping my OG review bc it's actually good. “Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to decla reread update holy freakin hell how is this book so fucking incredibly cute? Everytime Blue was mentioned (but like, actual Blue) I'd be like fjghkf my sweet sweet soft boy !!! I love (view spoiler)[Bram (hide spoiler)]so much. HE'S SO SWEEET. I adored this book just as much as I did the first time and I read it in one sitting, again. So It is STILL an all time favourite. What a blessed book. Keeping my OG review bc it's actually good. “Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it shouldn't be this big awkward thing whether you're straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I'm just saying.” HAPPY PRIDE MONTH EVERYONE 🌈 🌈 🌈 and honestly could not have started it any better because this book is so cute and I'm gonna be emo for YEARS. (By buffonia on tumblr )I am, literally, two years late to this party and I'm embarrassed okay, I hate who I am as a person and I hate that I left this so long and I hate that I ever doubted it wouldn't live up to the hype because it did. At this point everyone except me has read it, so I'm just going to talk about all the reasons it was great and why I loved it and maybe that will convince the last few stragglers like me to finally read this. “The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat -- soft and persistent, underlying everything.” First of all, this whole book is incredibly cute and it makes you feel all mushy gooey inside because the characters and their friends and family are just all so sweet and you're so happy for them when they have their good days and get their happy endingsIt goes by so fast, it's so short and enjoyable and the mystery of "who is Blue?" kept me reading I cannot believe how addicted I got to this book so quickly. But what I also liked about this is even though it's fun and hopeful and full of joy it's also really realistic and honest and relevant. It addresses some issues facing lgbt+ teens and why being a young gay person is still really hard. I also liked the role straight allies played here and how it was shown just because you have good intentions or a gay brother or whatever it doesn't mean you can't do some really harmful and damaging things to the lgbt+ people around you. I've never really read a book that dealt with outing people in the closet like this one and I'm so happy this book did that because I think that fear that someone you trust will out you before you're ready is really crippling. In my highschool experience, I saw so many people outed by those they'd trusted because people wanted to be edgy and declare who they knew to be gay and it's awful and I really like that Becky Albertalli took that fear and showed exactly why it's so important people DON'T OUT THOSE IN THE CLOSET. I also think this really addressed so many little microaggressions lgbt+ people deal with and showed why lgbt+ fears about coming out are still so understandable. This book just did so many things so right for me? Because even though there was homophobia and hate when Simon was outed, there was also so much support and love and that was so nice to see too. I liked that Simon brought up parenting and how heternormative most people's upbringing is and how we should consider what we're saying around our kids, what we're implying to them and how we're raising them. I giggle, but it comes out too sharp. "The awkward moment when you realise you've been making gay jokes in front of your gay kid for the last seventeen years" I've not seen ANYONE else mention this quote but it's so fucking true honestly ? ON A SMALL SIDE NOTE: There was a small comment in this book which was pretty lesphobic. Basically, Simon says coming out as lesbian/bi/pan isn't as hard for girls because boys find lesbians hot. When I read that I thought it was a pretty fucking shit thing to say but it was since addressed by Becky Albertalli and she's apologised and so that was pretty good to see and I'm glad she learnt/moved on ect. ( by loserps on tumblr )Moving onto the characters !. I love .. everyone?Simon is really such a good, strong and resilient character? I loved his point of view and I never really found him exhausting or annoying. He's a really sympathetic character and he deals with alot of shit but he comes through it pretty gracefully and I liked that he took a stand where he needed to and he said what should be said and he's pretty nice and I don't know I just really liked his character? Also, his Harry Potter references made me so happyMartin is sucj a fucking dick and I hate him but I liked the purpose he served and I think he was a well written character and a good example of why "having a gay relative" doesn't make you immediately exempt from doing shitty and homophobic things. (view spoiler)[ there was an awful period of time when I thought he was Blue and I was so so done. So glad that was fake. Also, I liked he sent the apology and I liked it was left ambiguous on if Simon would do anything about it (hide spoiler)]Lean and Abby I liked individually but their relationship with eachother kinda annoyed me but I hope it gets cleared up more in Leah on the Offbeat BLUE I love Blue! I loved who he turned out to be !! I just wish he'd been in it a little more as who he was actually and not as Blue. (view spoiler)[ How he and Simon met up at the end was so cute, I loved the way he talked to him and how they were just really sweet together and I liked that he was really understanding tbh? And just overall YES I LOVE BLUE. I loved he was a poc and jewish too like yass (hide spoiler)] “You don’t get to say it’s not a big thing. This is a big fucking thing, okay? This was supposed to be—this is mine. I’m supposed to decide when and where and who knows and how I want to say it.” Suddenly, my throat gets thick. “So, yeah, you took that from me.” I really freakin loved this, I wish I had read it back in '15 when everyone else was, but I'm so glad I've read it now. This really is one of my favourite lgbt+ reads and probably contemporaries in general. I am completely #SHOOKETH.
    more
  • Ben Alderson
    January 1, 1970
    Can I just give this book a hundred stars...
  • Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
    January 1, 1970
    Reread update 3/16/18:I love Simon Spier so much my heart is ready to burst. Also, I’m now fully prepared to go see Love, Simon a second time• • • • • •Original review 9/12/16:This was so adorable people are giving me looks on the train because I'm grinning in a possibly frightening level of happiness. I loved this.
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    this book is the equivalent of getting a hug from someone you deeply care about - warm, comforting, strong, and loving. my heart is so full. and i know, no matter how many times i re-read this, it will forever feel like coming home. <3↠ 4 stars
  • Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》
    January 1, 1970
    Some of my favorite quotes. :S -“White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”-“I’m too busy trying not to be in love with someone who isn’t real.”-“It feels like we’re the last survivors of a zombie apocalypse. Wonder Woman and a gay dementor. It doesn’t bode well for the survival of the species.” -“The closest thing I’ve ever had to a journalis probably you.”” If this beauty is any indication of how 2017 is going to turn out, I Some of my favorite quotes. :S -“White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”-“I’m too busy trying not to be in love with someone who isn’t real.”-“It feels like we’re the last survivors of a zombie apocalypse. Wonder Woman and a gay dementor. It doesn’t bode well for the survival of the species.” -“The closest thing I’ve ever had to a journalis probably you.”” If this beauty is any indication of how 2017 is going to turn out, I'm feeling hopeful!"Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight"^^The synopsis never really intrigued me. I've read nothing but magnificent things about Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda. Everyone raves about it. Still, I was convinced It wasn't my cuppa tea. Reasons?1) It's a contemporary. There are a few exceptions but mostly I try to stay away from this genre.2) "cute" and "adorable" are the most often used adjectives when it comes to describing SvtHSA. I am so not about that life! 3) The cover is kind of . . . not very prepossessing. What can i say, I have this horrible habit of judging books by their covers? Having said all this, I want to go back and slap my past self for ignoring this precious bundle of rainbows and beautifulness for this long. Lock her in a room then guard the door till she finishes the damn book, so we can both fangirl over it... can I fangirl with myself? THAT IS THE DREAM! _______________I was reading all 1-star reviews on this (i don't know why I always do that) I noticed they are all written by lesbian or bi readers. Though I loved this book with all my heart, I do think they have a point.
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    Update 1/15/18: Anyone else hyperventilating over the movie trailer?!! OMG!!!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykHeG... ___________I LOVED this book. Loved, with no ifs, ands, or buts. I don't often read YA for a few reasons. For one, there is nothing I hate more than silly drama, and I feel like so often YA authors resort to petty fighting or similar antics to put a "twist" in their plots. That makes me grumpy, and a grumpy Heather is a low-rating Heather. I don't like to give low ratings. Howeve Update 1/15/18: Anyone else hyperventilating over the movie trailer?!! OMG!!!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykHeG... ___________I LOVED this book. Loved, with no ifs, ands, or buts. I don't often read YA for a few reasons. For one, there is nothing I hate more than silly drama, and I feel like so often YA authors resort to petty fighting or similar antics to put a "twist" in their plots. That makes me grumpy, and a grumpy Heather is a low-rating Heather. I don't like to give low ratings. However, this book has gotten SO much press, so I knew I had to try it. And I'm SO happy that I did. One thing that is special about YA is when they get that first romance magic right, they get it right. There is NOTHING like young, innocent love. There is nothing like that feeling of your thigh or hand brushing up against someone while studying in the library; nothing like looking at the back of someone's neck in class, wondering how their hair would feel in your hands; and nothing like that first, chaste kiss. I adore that first love, and I remember it well. This book captures young love perfectly and without condescension. I won't go too far into the plot because I don't want to reveal any spoilers. I will say, however, that I loved being in Simon's head. I absolutely fell head-over-heels for him in all of his geeky, introspective, funny glory. I even loved all of the side characters. They were ridiculously well developed, and I thought that each and every one of them added to the plot. This story perfectly captures both the feelings of falling for someone, and the stress and emotions that high school, that transitional time in your life, brings. I loved it so hard, and it easily grabs a spot on my favorites list. I even bought paperback copies to gift to friends, that's how much I loved this story.Oh, and one other comment. Spoiler-tagged. (view spoiler)[I found it really interesting that the author made a character who was both 1/2 Jewish and non-white. That is actually pretty rare, though there are a number of mixed-race Jews, but it is by far a minority. I can count on my hands how many mixed-race Jews that I know, and I've been a member of many Synagogues in my time. I enjoyed that the author went there, though I wouldn't have suspected a non-white Jew either. But Abraham Greenfeld.... yeah, that name says "home" to me ;) (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Trina (Between Chapters)
    January 1, 1970
    Audiobook Reread (2018):Not much to add. Loved this just as much the third time around! Still warmed my heart. The audio narration was really great for Simon, my only gripe is that the narrator read all the female characters in the same unamused sounding voice which usually didn't fit their emotions.Original Review (2016):This book was SO good. There are 10 million great things I could say about this book but here's the shortlist:-It kept me up til 6 am to finish the whole thing.-It made me cry Audiobook Reread (2018):Not much to add. Loved this just as much the third time around! Still warmed my heart. The audio narration was really great for Simon, my only gripe is that the narrator read all the female characters in the same unamused sounding voice which usually didn't fit their emotions.Original Review (2016):This book was SO good. There are 10 million great things I could say about this book but here's the shortlist:-It kept me up til 6 am to finish the whole thing.-It made me cry 3 times. (Big deal because I am not a book crier.)-I am actually heartbroken that these characters are not real and I am not friends with them.-OTP status.-Beautiful, beautiful first love.-Heck yes, diversity! This book was representative and inclusive of sexuality and race.-Fantastic portrayal of friendships. The friend group has many conflicts that resolved with characters actually apologizing and learning.-AMAZING adult role models and interactions.-Plot includes actual involvement in school activities beyond school just being a backdrop for the age range. Bonus: it's drama club.-Real teen emotions without the extra dose of angst.-Heavy dose of mystery due to the unknown identity of the person Simon is e-mailing with, which upped the pacing and investment.- I'm already positive this book will be at the top of my Best of 2016 list.As soon as I finished this book I IMMEDIATELY read it again! The ending gave a whole new meaning to some previous scenes so I picked up on many new details and got a fuller picture of the story. I love it even more the second time.
    more
  • Maria
    January 1, 1970
    4.3/5 Stars ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ “Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it shouldn't be this big awkward thing whether you're straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I'm just saying.”Look, this book started very slow for me. And I was very very hyped for it, for obvious reasons. Everyone has been talking about it for months, everyone is crying about it for months, there is a fucking movie about it, I mean, come on, I had high hopes. But for the first 150 pages I was a b 4.3/5 Stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ “Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it shouldn't be this big awkward thing whether you're straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I'm just saying.”Look, this book started very slow for me. And I was very very hyped for it, for obvious reasons. Everyone has been talking about it for months, everyone is crying about it for months, there is a fucking movie about it, I mean, come on, I had high hopes. But for the first 150 pages I was a bit let down. I didn't feel the characters, the dialogue didn't speak to me, the pace wasn't the best, I expected more. But now let's talk about the last 150 pages, which I read in one sitting and finished the book.This book follows Simon, a gay 16 year old teenager, who has been hiding his sexuality from the world for several years. When someone called Blue posts anonymously on the school's Tumblr blog about his sexuality, Simon finds his one true love. Their relationship will grow via email, but a goofy guy named Martin will jeopardize it after finding these emails and screenshotting them to blackmail Simon into hooking him up with one of his best friends, Abby, or else he'll out him. What will he do? Will love prevail? Will his best friends stand by him when he needs it the most? What will the world say?Now, as I promised, let's talk about the last 150 pages. The pace quickened, lots of real shit was happening, I couldn't leave the book down! I was pleasantly surprised, because the first half of the book didn't do me much, the characters felt too one-dimensional for some reason, but oh man how I feel now. This book did an amazing job at not making Blue's identity obvious... I was confused till the last minute. The relationship between Simon and Blue was magnificent, their little jokes, their innuendos, their understanding of each other's situations, made them so real. I WANT A RELATIONSHIP LIKE THAT PLEASE LIFE.Now, let's talk about Simon's close people. His parents, for a start. FUCKING EPIC. I don't know if parents like that exist anywhere but I want to be like them. I want to be as cool as them when I have kids. So strict parents, listen up. Loose and happy parents who let their kids live their lives, make happy children. I have lived through situations with friends of mine with strict parents and they end up badly. LET YOUR KIDS LIVE DAMN IT. YOU ALL WILL BE HAPPIER IN THE END. Anyway. Let's talk about his closest friends, Leah, Nick and Abby. At the beginning I didn't even remember their names. For real. But then I totally fell in love with them. Especially Leah. And the fact that there is a book about her MAKES ME SO HAPPY I HAVE ALREADY ORDERED IT. She deserves the fucking spotlight. His friends were so supportive of him and it showed so much in the book. Everyone wants friends like this. Simon, you're so fucking lucky I envy the shit out of you. But you deserve these friends. Cause you're an amazing cool bitch.I believe this book did an amazing job with the LGBTQI themes. I'm not gay myself to understand the situations and the feelings throughout the process, but this book did good. And now I understand its popularity. I also enjoyed the diversity in race. Abby, Nick, Bram... amazing. ALSO TWO BISEXUAL CHARACTERS FUCK YES??? THIS WORLD NEEDS THE REPRESENTATION. Right after I finished the book, I watched the movie. I was pretty pretty excited cause I had so many feels after the book ended. And I had heard such positive reviews about the movie adaptation, so I stayed up late to watch it. And I have to say this... I HAVEN'T SEEN A MOVIE COMING FROM A BOOK THAT'S SO DIFFERENT FROM THE BOOK BUT YET IN ITS OWN WAY AMAZING. Seriously, I won't even begin to name the differences, but they were so many it would takes hours. And I thought I would hate that, but it actually made the movie more of its own. It added something to it. I don't know how to explain it, but I loved the book and the movie alike. For different reasons each. And I'm so happy I picked up this book after so long and discovered the movie as well. In conclusion, I loved this fucking book to pieces. It's not in my favorites self, but it will keep a special place in my heart and I will remember it for a long time to come. I'm so happy I get to live inside the Simon universe for another book... I can't wait for my order for "Leah on the Offbeat" to come. I hear Simon appears too? FUCK YEAH MAN MY BOIIIIII. So till the next one... K BYE!
    more
  • Charlotte May
    January 1, 1970
    “People are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows.” I loved this! No idea why I seem to stay away from contemporaries because all the ones I’ve read this year I’ve loved! Simon was a wonderful character. He is kind, sweet and hilarious! After seeing a post on Tumblr, Simon starts up an online email relationship with another person - Blue, that way both can keep their identities hidden. This doesn’t last very long until another person finds out about these emails and uses them to blackmai “People are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows.” I loved this! No idea why I seem to stay away from contemporaries because all the ones I’ve read this year I’ve loved! Simon was a wonderful character. He is kind, sweet and hilarious! After seeing a post on Tumblr, Simon starts up an online email relationship with another person - Blue, that way both can keep their identities hidden. This doesn’t last very long until another person finds out about these emails and uses them to blackmail Simon. I loved the characters! They were real and flawed and believable. Leah was so relatable, I loved her and her self consciousness. I loved that Blue’s parents were both religious but when he comes out they are supportive. It’s so good when we get positive reps of religious people and homosexuality, they aren’t all ignorant bigots. So I liked that a lot 😊Overall, I had great fun trying to work out who Blue was, and how everything would pan out. It was just such a lovely, feel good, read. *********************************************1. I don’t think I’ve ever cried happy tears at a book until now2. I want to punch old me in the face for thinking I wouldn’t enjoy this! RTC
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars! “Sometimes it seems like everyone knows who I am except me.” Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the best YA books I’ve read in a long while. I started this book (the 6, almost 7 hour audio) and listened to the entire thing in one day. So I pretty much didn’t read at all, just found useless things to do around the house so I could listen. I loved it so hard! Meet Simon… Simon is amazing. Seriously one of the most lovable and endearing heroes ever. I loved everything about hi 5 stars! “Sometimes it seems like everyone knows who I am except me.” Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the best YA books I’ve read in a long while. I started this book (the 6, almost 7 hour audio) and listened to the entire thing in one day. So I pretty much didn’t read at all, just found useless things to do around the house so I could listen. I loved it so hard! Meet Simon… Simon is amazing. Seriously one of the most lovable and endearing heroes ever. I loved everything about him. “What's a dementor?"I mean, I can't even. "Nora, you are no longer my sister.""So it's some Harry Potter thing," she says.” 
Perfect, right? I loved the emails, Simon’s relationship with his friends, his sisters, and his parents. This one is YA gold. The book was completely adorable and I couldn't keep the smile off my face! I loved the narration and highly recommend it!
    more
Write a review