Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Details

TitleSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 7th, 2015
PublisherBalzer + Bray
ISBN0062348671
ISBN-139780062348678
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Glbt, Romance, Fiction

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Review

  • Emily May
    June 10, 2015
    Oh okay, you I-told-you-so people. You were right. This book is so much fun that I baked cookies and listened to unfortunate nineties pop music. No, really.And I seriously didn't want to read this. I mean, why would I? I don't particularly like cutesy romances, LGBT or not. The cover is kinda sucky and not attractive. The title is an inside joke that only makes sense after reading the book. And, let's be honest, it's always easier to convince me to read books with phrases like "mind-bending twis Oh okay, you I-told-you-so people. You were right. This book is so much fun that I baked cookies and listened to unfortunate nineties pop music. No, really.And I seriously didn't want to read this. I mean, why would I? I don't particularly like cutesy romances, LGBT or not. The cover is kinda sucky and not attractive. The title is an inside joke that only makes sense after reading the book. And, let's be honest, it's always easier to convince me to read books with phrases like "mind-bending twist", "dark secrets" and "twisted characters". The word "cute" doesn't draw me in.But I finally took a chance on it and I concede - this book is wonderful. Just so so entertaining from start to finish. I actually snorted aloud (like the sexy beast I am) at some of the hilarious scenes between Simon and his friends. Simon is that perfect mix of delightfully weird and totally normal - he makes us laugh and roll our eyes, but we secretly recognize many of the things he thinks.I giggled so much at scenes like this:I take a sip of my beer, and it’s - I mean, it’s just astonishingly disgusting. I don’t think I was expecting it to taste like ice cream, but holy fucking hell. People lie and get fake IDs and sneak into bars, and for this? I honestly think I’d rather make out with Bieber. The dog. Or Justin.Anyway, it really makes you worry about all the hype surrounding sex.A few minutes later...“Simon, how much did you drink?” asks Leah. I’m twisting the ends of her hair. Leah’s hair is so pretty, and it smells exactly like French toast. Except that’s Abby. Leah smells like almonds.“One beer.” One most excellent, most delicious beer.“One beer. I can’t even begin to express how ridiculous you are.”I know this sounds extremely lame - but this book genuinely made me happy. It doesn't hesitate to portray the reality of homophobia in a high school in the South, but it's ultimately such an uplifting story about friendship, family and the sweetest romance I may ever have read. You can read hundreds, perhaps thousands, of books about the difficulties of dealing with your sexuality and coming out - like the dark and powerful More Happy Than Not - and these are very important, but it was so refreshing to see a warm, fuzzy gay romance where the protagonist is supported by his friends and family.Very funny and heart-warming.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • Kat O'Keeffe
    April 6, 2015
    This was so great! It was funny and adorable and just left me with the biggest smile plastered on my face! It did take me a little bit to get into the story because there were so many characters I had trouble keeping them straight at times, but the main character Simon is well developed and relatable and really grounded the story. I thought the mystery was great (and was so excited when I correctly guessed who Blue was!) and I liked that despite the blackmail and the tension, it was still a most This was so great! It was funny and adorable and just left me with the biggest smile plastered on my face! It did take me a little bit to get into the story because there were so many characters I had trouble keeping them straight at times, but the main character Simon is well developed and relatable and really grounded the story. I thought the mystery was great (and was so excited when I correctly guessed who Blue was!) and I liked that despite the blackmail and the tension, it was still a mostly lighthearted uplifting kind of book.Overall, I really enjoyed this. I didn't love it quite as much as I've loved books by Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell, but I definitely felt that it was along those same lines. Looking forward to reading more from this author!
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyInBookland)
    January 13, 2017
    Awesome. Video review to come.
  • Lola Reviewer
    March 29, 2015
    There’s this pause. We’re still looking at each other. And there’s this feeling in my stomach like a coil pulled taut. ‘‘It’s you,’’ I say. 3 stars? 3.5 stars? I’m honestly not sure. Prior to reading this novel, I had read maybe five, six, seven reviews that upped my anticipation like crazy. They all mentioned how ‘‘cute’’ and ‘‘adorable’’ this novel is. And it’s true. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda becoming a New York Times bestseller and would actually be p There’s this pause. We’re still looking at each other. And there’s this feeling in my stomach like a coil pulled taut. ‘‘It’s you,’’ I say. 3 stars? 3.5 stars? I’m honestly not sure. Prior to reading this novel, I had read maybe five, six, seven reviews that upped my anticipation like crazy. They all mentioned how ‘‘cute’’ and ‘‘adorable’’ this novel is. And it’s true. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda becoming a New York Times bestseller and would actually be proud of it. After all, it does deal with meaningful and important themes.Still… even thought beautiful and light and atmospheric, the author wrote a pretty simple story. Simon was easy to relate to and love, for sure, and genuine, undoubtedly, but apace did he get attached to people. I felt as if, throughout the story, Simon fell in love twice, and the third time could have been possible. It made me question the realisticity of his character and the story overall. I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again. When Simon’s exchanged e-mails with Blue are found by Martin, a classmate, this latter starts ‘‘blackmailing’’ Simon into putting in a good word for him with Abby, the girl he secretly likes. And Simon, by fear of embarrassing and ruining his relationship with sweet and not-ready-to-come-out-of-the-closet Blue, if Martin decides to show everyone the e-mails, does what Martin asks him to. But things don’t always go the way we want them to, and people don’t always react the way we wish they would.Maybe, just maybe, I would have enjoyed this book at least treble if it hadn’t been my third read with a gay character being apart of a play, the first two being Will Grayson, Will Grayson and My Most Excellent Year. This is an assumption, but I believe it to be applicable. After all, who truly enjoys reading about similar things over and over again? Fortunately, him being in a play wasn’t the highlight of this novel or so overly mentioned that it became annoying, but it simply wasn’t something that impressed me anymore. White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default. Also, what highly bothered me was Simon’s change of heart toward a character in the story, a person he seemed to be smitten with from the start. I understand the author wanting to really focus on Simon & Blue and not Simon and anybody else, but the character in question was so lovely that I felt bad when HE openly took interest in Simon and this latter didn’t care about him that much anymore.Not enough romance but, when there will be some, YOU WILL FEEL IT. It was heartfelt and, even though I wasn’t too excited about the person Simon ended up with, their chemistry was evident and, after all, if he’s happy, than I’m happy.
    more
  • Adam Silvera
    December 20, 2013
    If Becky wasn't a gay teenage boy with good grammar and a foul mouth in several past lives, then she's absolutely one of the most observant writers in the YA game.
  • Raeleen Lemay
    August 30, 2014
    THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL.If a story about a cynical gay Harry Potter fan falling in love with somebody from the inside out sounds appealing to you, do yourself a favour and pick this up when it comes out in April.
  • Natalie
    May 11, 2016
    This review contains *spoilers*.If you love Oreos or waffles, boys kissing, and overall cuteness then please read this wonderful story, I promise that you won’t be disappointed.This is the kind of book that I had to read in one sitting while eating the best snacks and listening to my current favorite song because it was just fun fun fun.I’m still in a happy daze.Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda follows sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier, who prefers to save his drama for the sch This review contains *spoilers*.If you love Oreos or waffles, boys kissing, and overall cuteness then please read this wonderful story, I promise that you won’t be disappointed.This is the kind of book that I had to read in one sitting while eating the best snacks and listening to my current favorite song because it was just fun fun fun.I’m still in a happy daze.Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda follows sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier, who prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.“I actually think people would be cool about it,” Martin says. “You should be who you are.”I don’t even know where to begin with that. Some straight kid who barely knows me, advising me on coming out. I kind of have to roll my eyes.”Fun fact—I actually started this book a while back, but I absolutely hated Martin and I got so mad at his character that I had to put it down, and then I never picked it back up (unfortunately so).“Did you—did you take a screenshot or something?”“Well,” he says, “I wanted to talk to you about that.”“Sorry—you took a fucking screenshot?”He purses his lips together and stares over my shoulder. “Anyway,” he says, “I know you’re friends with Abby Suso, so I wanted to ask—”“Seriously? Or maybe we could go back to you telling me why you took a screenshot of my emails.”He pauses. “I mean, I guess I’m wondering if you want to help me talk to Abby.”Seriously, why did he think that was okay in any way?And Simon kept describing Martin as a goofy kid that everyone in their school loves, but Martin has some serious issues and needs to take a huge step back to reevaluate his life choices.I mean:“And then she looks up at me with raised eyebrows and a perfectly round mouth, and I can’t help but laugh.“That was so bitchy of me. I can’t believe I said that.”“It was super bitchy,” I say. “You’re like a stealth bitch.”“What did you call her?” asks Martin.I swear to God, that kid pops up out of nowhere and burrows into every conversation.“It’s okay, Marty. We’re just messing around,” says Abby.“Yeah, well, he called you a bitch. I really don’t think that’s okay.”Says the guy blackmailing a kid to 'help' him date someone.I seriously despised him. And after some time he, funnily enough, started reminding me of Gabe from The Office—remember when Gabe started obsessing over Erin? That’s how Martin sounded like when he talked about Abby.I’m sorry, but I just can’t get over how uncomfortable he made me.I feel like I need to go listen to some really relaxing music because Martin’s got me all riled up.And maybe I shouldn’t admit this, but I was rooting for him to have a horrible ending. The way he handled Abby’s rejection was just completely disgusting.To quote Simon, Martin is the biggest, most cavernous gaping asshole who ever lived. (And Martin's email at the end pissed me off even more.)But on a much more positive note, Blue Bram and Simon were so cute and grammatical.“I can’t believe Bram Greenfeld dressed up. Bram from my lunch table. He’s this quiet black kid who’s supposed to be really smart, but I’ve never heard him speak unless he’s forced to. He leans way back into the corner of the couch, shuffling the toe of one foot against the other, and I never noticed it before, but he’s actually kind of adorable.”Subtle foreshadowing. I love it.It was an absolute delight seeing Bram and Simon together at the start because SIMON HAD NO IDEA:“No fucking thank you, Abby,” Leah says, in this sickeningly pleasant tone. Except her eyes are like crackling fireballs of rage. She stands up abruptly, pushing her chair in without a word.As soon as she leaves, Garrett looks at Bram, and Bram bites his lip. Which I’m pretty sure is straight-dude code for Bram likes Leah.And I don’t know why, but it pisses me the fuck off.”Little do you know...Foreshadowing in books usually gives me too much anxiety, but because I spoiled the ending for myself (I couldn't handle the not knowing the first time I started this book), I was just smiling throughout my whole reading experience.“For one thing, both Garrett and Bram have been totally cool about the gay thing all day, which I guess I didn’t expect from a bunch of athletes.Also, Bram is cute. Like, really, really cute. He stands a foot or so back from the fence, totally sweaty, with a white turtleneck under his soccer shirt. And he’s not really talking, but he has very expressive brown eyes. And light brown skin and soft dark curls and cute, knobbly hands.”They are too cute.Also, I loved Ms. Albright, she's moderately badass for a teacher. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed reading about a teacher in a book. But she was definitely a pleasant surprise.“Then she walks over to me and squats down in front of my platform. “You okay, Simon?”I feel myself blush a little bit. “I’m fine.”“Okay, well,” she says quietly. “Just know that those assholes are getting suspended. I’m not even kidding. I will make it my hill to die on.”YES!Also also, I love emails in books so the interactions between Blue and “Jacques” were absolutely delightful (their emails about middle school memories still make me laugh):“Honestly, though? I think the real reason I had girlfriends was because I didn’t one hundred percent believe I was gay. Or maybe I didn’t think it was permanent.I know you’re probably thinking: “Okaaaaaaay.”—JacquesFROM: bluegreen118@gmail.comTO: hourtohour.notetonote@gmail.comDATE: Oct 19 at 8:01 AMSUBJECT: The obligatory . . .Okaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyy.(Eyebrows, butthole mouth, etc.)—Blue”Seriously, the cast of characters in this book were all so wonderful.And there was this one part with Leah that cracks me up every single time“And Leah’s also into slash fanfiction, which got me curious enough to poke around the internet and find some last summer. I couldn’t believe how much there was to choose from: Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy hooking up in thousands of ways in every broom closet at Hogwarts. I found the ones with decent grammar and stayed up reading all night. It was a weird couple of weeks. That was the summer I taught myself how to do laundry. There are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom.”I seriously laughed out loud.(And the email parts of this book kind of reminded me of A Cinderella Story and their interactions.)“And then someone slides in beside me.“Can I sit here?” he asks, and my eyes snap open.It’s Cute Bram Greenfeld, of the soft eyes and soccer calves.I loosen the seat belt to let him in. And I smile at him. It’s impossible not to.“I like your shirt,” he says. He seems nervous.“Thanks,” I say. “It’s Elliott Smith.”I’m kind of hardcore grinning right now.I'm really glad that we got to see those two get together and that it didn't end right there. But I was expecting for the book to have 10 more pages, so when I turned the last page in chapter 35 and saw Acknowledgments written, I was so let down. (And this particular situation has happened so many times, but it still gets me every single time.)This story was just so good and I’m truly happy that I gave it a second chance.Also, I’m really pleased that Martin didn’t get a happy ending.*Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission!* This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Catriona (LittleBookOwl)
    March 25, 2015
    4.5 stars... Maybe 5? I'm going to let things simmer and I'll get back to you on that, but OH YES THIS THIS THIS! Loved. So much. All of the things.
  • Riley
    July 21, 2016
    As someone who does not typically like books set in high school, I absolutely adored this book. It is possibly the cutest romance I've ever read. And I think it is mostly because Simon and Blue feel in love with each other without knowing what the other looked like. They 100% loved each other for what's inside and that made it all the more beautiful. Simon felt like a real person. His voice was so genuine and honest. And Blue is the most precious person ever. I can definitely see myself rereadin As someone who does not typically like books set in high school, I absolutely adored this book. It is possibly the cutest romance I've ever read. And I think it is mostly because Simon and Blue feel in love with each other without knowing what the other looked like. They 100% loved each other for what's inside and that made it all the more beautiful. Simon felt like a real person. His voice was so genuine and honest. And Blue is the most precious person ever. I can definitely see myself rereading this in the future to re-experience all the cuteness
    more
  • Emma Giordano
    January 12, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book!!! I'm so happy I finally had the motivation to read it. It was exactly as everyone described it; Cute, Fluffy, Healthy, a fast read, an *important* read, etc. I can clearly see why it's such an acclaimed novel for LGBT+ rep in the book community. I'm very satisfied with "Simon" and would recommend it to absolutely everyone in the world because y'all need this book in your life!
    more
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    January 3, 2017
    Some of my favorite quotes. :S -“White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”-“I’m too busy trying not to be in love with someone who isn’t real.”-“It feels like we’re the last survivors of a zombie apocalypse. Wonder Woman and a gay dementor. It doesn’t bode well for the survival of the species.” -“The closest thing I’ve ever had to a journalis probably you.”” If this beauty is any indication of how 2017 is going to turn out, I Some of my favorite quotes. :S -“White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”-“I’m too busy trying not to be in love with someone who isn’t real.”-“It feels like we’re the last survivors of a zombie apocalypse. Wonder Woman and a gay dementor. It doesn’t bode well for the survival of the species.” -“The closest thing I’ve ever had to a journalis probably you.”” If this beauty is any indication of how 2017 is going to turn out, I'm feeling hopeful!"Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight"^^The synopsis never really intrigued me. I've read nothing but magnificent things about Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda. Everyone raves about it. Still, I was convinced It wasn't my cuppa tea. Reasons?1) It's a contemporary. There are a few exceptions but mostly I try to stay away from this genre.2) "cute" and "adorable" are the most often used adjectives when it comes to describing SvtHSA. I am so not about that life! 3) The cover is kind of . . . not very prepossessing. What can i say, I have this horrible habit of judging books by their covers? Having said all this, I want to go back and slap my past self for ignoring this precious bundle of rainbows and beautifulness for this long. Lock her in a room then guard the door till she finishes the damn book, so we can both fangirl over it... can I fangirl with myself? THAT IS THE DREAM! _______________I was reading all 1-star reviews on this (i don't know why I always do that) I noticed they are all written by lesbian or bi readers. Though I loved this book with all my heart, I do think they have a point.
    more
  • Wendy Darling
    December 19, 2013
    "Hi," he says, quickly and softly. Like the word belongs to us. <3 <3 <3 <3Also, I am seriously craving both waffles and Oreos now. –--------------------------------------------"starring gay teenage boys with good grammar?"YES.We revealed the cover today on The Midnight Garden, where you can win the very first ARCs available. Plus cookies! We have cookies!Win a copy of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDAFun fact: this book jacket was designed by the art director who did a lot of R.E.M. "Hi," he says, quickly and softly. Like the word belongs to us. <3 <3 <3 <3Also, I am seriously craving both waffles and Oreos now. –--------------------------------------------"starring gay teenage boys with good grammar?"YES.We revealed the cover today on The Midnight Garden, where you can win the very first ARCs available. Plus cookies! We have cookies!Win a copy of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDAFun fact: this book jacket was designed by the art director who did a lot of R.E.M.'s album covers. So appropriate, since music is a big factor in this book.
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    April 21, 2016
    I LOVED this book. Loved, with no ifs, ands, or buts. I don't often read YA for a few reasons. For one, there is nothing I hate more than silly drama, and I feel like so often YA authors resort to petty fighting or similar antics to put a "twist" in their plots. That makes me grumpy, and a grumpy Heather is a low-rating Heather. I don't like to give low ratings. However, this book has gotten SO much press, so I knew I had to try it. And I'm SO happy that I did. One thing that is special about YA I LOVED this book. Loved, with no ifs, ands, or buts. I don't often read YA for a few reasons. For one, there is nothing I hate more than silly drama, and I feel like so often YA authors resort to petty fighting or similar antics to put a "twist" in their plots. That makes me grumpy, and a grumpy Heather is a low-rating Heather. I don't like to give low ratings. However, this book has gotten SO much press, so I knew I had to try it. And I'm SO happy that I did. One thing that is special about YA is when they get that first romance magic right, they get it right. There is NOTHING like young, innocent love. There is nothing like that feeling of your thigh or hand brushing up against someone while studying in the library; nothing like looking at the back of someone's neck in class, wondering how their hair would feel in your hands; and nothing like that first, chaste kiss. I adore that first love, and I remember it well. This book captures young love perfectly and without condescension. I won't go too far into the plot because I don't want to reveal any spoilers. I will say, however, that I loved being in Simon's head. I absolutely fell head-over-heels for him in all of his geeky, introspective, funny glory. I even loved all of the side characters. They were ridiculously well developed, and I thought that each and every one of them added to the plot. This story perfectly captures both the feelings of falling for someone, and the stress and emotions that high school, that transitional time in your life, brings. I loved it so hard, and it easily grabs a spot on my favorites list. I even bought paperback copies to gift to friends, that's how much I loved this story.Oh, and one other comment. Spoiler-tagged. (view spoiler)[I found it really interesting that the author made a character who was both 1/2 Jewish and non-white. That is actually pretty rare, though there are a number of mixed-race Jews, but it is by far a minority. I can count on my hands how many mixed-race Jews that I know, and I've been a member of many Synagogues in my time. I enjoyed that the author went there, though I wouldn't have suspected a non-white Jew either. But Abraham Greenfeld.... yeah, that name says "home" to me ;) (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    June 16, 2014
    Okay but. HELP. THIS WAS SO INSANELY ADORABLE I SUFFOCATED. I was listening to the audiobook and GRINNING. Like an idiot. The ending = Cait losing all control of her Vulcanism and just GRINNING LIKE A SHEER IDIOT. (I might've mentioned that already, but it bears saying again.) So least to say I LOVED IT. Of course!! Everyone recommended me this book a zillion times and they were a zillion percent right. Why?! WHY IS IT SO GOOD?! Omg, let me write you a little list:• First of all Simon is freaki Okay but. HELP. THIS WAS SO INSANELY ADORABLE I SUFFOCATED. I was listening to the audiobook and GRINNING. Like an idiot. The ending = Cait losing all control of her Vulcanism and just GRINNING LIKE A SHEER IDIOT. (I might've mentioned that already, but it bears saying again.) So least to say I LOVED IT. Of course!! Everyone recommended me this book a zillion times and they were a zillion percent right. Why?! WHY IS IT SO GOOD?! Omg, let me write you a little list:• First of all Simon is freaking awesome. He's actually kind of a "lighter" personality. He hugs people and jokes and is easy to get along with and very, very relatable. He overthinks and he's angsty -- but it's like not as intense?! It felt really refreshing!! He was an UTTERLY enjoyable character to read about!!• Food. Food is good. This book has food. (Although, I confess: I have not had an oreo. I had a fake-oreo when I was in China once and it tasted like charcol toothpaste and I was assured it was fake and not a "real oreo". So I would like to try the real thing, please and thank you.)• IT IS AFDJSKALD ADORABLE IN TERMS OF ROMANCE ERK. EEP. FEEELLLP. *pauses to calm feels* No really! I'm not typically a huge fan of contemporaries but afjdksald this is one of my most favourite relationships of ever. I had misgivings. It's an anonymous internet friendship between Simon and "Blue" who goes to Simon's school but they don't know each other IRL. I totally get why they did it. I absolutely relate to the ease of online friendships. Of course Simon and Blue develop into something moooooore. And there are tons of emails between them AND THE FLIRTING IS SO STINKIN' CUTE. I did spend a while mad at Blue. I thought he was being selfish. I don't take that back, per se, but I can't hold it against him because aren't we all selfish at times?• All the characters were really flawed!! BUT LIKEABLE. And that's how I like to read characters. • I absolutely lost. my. brain. trying to figure out who Blue was really. I DID NOT GUESS RIGHT. But the reveal is the best of the universe. • And there are so many epic friendships in this book too!! I adore books about friendships! Simon has a tight-knit friends group of Nick, Abby, and Leah. I really loved Abby (she was just so bubbly and fresh and concerned and adorable) and I thought Nick was about as interesting as a paper fork. Leah? Ugh. Leah is like the only aspect of the book I didn't like. She's realistic, sure. But she was a super needy friend, and jealous and ragey and her attitude to her other friends really sucked, but THEY were the ones who had to apologise. I also dislike how at the end (view spoiler)[she's super annoyed at Simon for not coming out to HER FIRST [wut even, woman] and yet she never tells him she drums??!?! So what is this?! Leah is hypocritcal and yet that's never addressed at all. (hide spoiler)]• I had this stupid deluded moment thinking I was going to give it 4-stars. HAHAHAHHA NOPE. The ending totally blew my mind with its levels of adorableness. A MILLION STARS.• Although I have to have a little snobby poke at the writing. Because, often times I feel like the scenes cut off too abruptly. I know this is a debut, and I'm extra sure this author is on the path to epic writing. Just sometimes the writing did feel lurchy and I often felt when there was a scene of several characters, a few would always be left out of the conversation so much that I forgot they were even there. Erm.• And at one point Blue makes this comment about "people who are straight and white never having to have identity issues." And I thought that was a horribly narrow-minded comment. I think the book is SO epic in its thoughts otherwise, that maybe that was just Blue being a stupid teen? Everyone has issues. Loads of people wonder who they are and question things. Any skin colour. Any gender. Andy sexual orientation. Any walk of life basically.• Also I listened to the audiobook and it was PERFECTION. Definitely an audio recommend! It reminded me of the White Cat audios (which are entirely good, go listen to them now) too.• I loved how it was part mystery, part friendship book, part discovering your identity and just...a real coming of age story! I adored it. And it was funny and adorable and quirky (but not TOO quirky). And I liked how there were no awkwardly long soliloquies. I was so impressed that everything felt SO REAL. This book is just an oreo of perfection dunked in addictiveness with a good helping of hilarity and perfectly wonderful characters and just --- EEEEP. I LIKED IT A LOT.
    more
  • Ashley Nuckles
    March 2, 2017
    I read this so quickly that I never updated my Goodreads and by the time I got to the end I just kept thinking "it's okay it still feels like there's maybe 20 pages left" before I realized it was a sneak preview at The Upside of Unrequited and my world was crushed. So yeah, that's how I'm feeling about this. No but really I loved EVERY. SINGLE. BIT. And I don't know why it took me so long to actually pick this up because Simon is adorable and this story is adorable and even though not knowing wh I read this so quickly that I never updated my Goodreads and by the time I got to the end I just kept thinking "it's okay it still feels like there's maybe 20 pages left" before I realized it was a sneak preview at The Upside of Unrequited and my world was crushed. So yeah, that's how I'm feeling about this. No but really I loved EVERY. SINGLE. BIT. And I don't know why it took me so long to actually pick this up because Simon is adorable and this story is adorable and even though not knowing who Blue was (but in reality actually having guessed who Blue was early on) throughout the whole thing made me NEED TO CONTINUE. Did I mention ADORABLE??
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    June 17, 2015
    OMG THIS BOOOOOOOOOOOK
  • Aimee
    January 10, 2015
    FOR THE LOVE OF OREOS (which I'm eating right now), GO READ THIS BOOK NOW!“But I'm tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.”Guys, Simon is just the most honest, realistic, clever, hilarious and adorable character you'll ever come across. He's a sassy gay teenager with perfect grammar and all the wit in the world--oh how I wish Simon was r FOR THE LOVE OF OREOS (which I'm eating right now), GO READ THIS BOOK NOW!“But I'm tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.”Guys, Simon is just the most honest, realistic, clever, hilarious and adorable character you'll ever come across. He's a sassy gay teenager with perfect grammar and all the wit in the world--oh how I wish Simon was real and that we could be best friends. He may not have been the most amazing friend or family member all the time, but that just made him flawed and more real. Plus he likes Oreos.He's also one lucky guy to have the sweetest love interest in the world. But I won't get too much into that because... spoilers! But let me just tell you that SIMON AND BLUE ARE THE MOST PERFECT SHIP EVER. They will make you grin until your face hurts and swoon until you faint. (Bonus points since Blue's identity was really surprising--hooray for contemporaries with a bit of a mystery!And that crazy, supportive family we're always looking for in books? Simon's got it. He has such a big support system from his family who accept him for who he is. They're a really fun family, too. Lots of cute moments with his parents and fabulous sister.Simon also had some not-so-perfect friends who he had not-so-perfect relationships with. This aspect I loved mostly because of how realistic it was--I mean, we don't always get along with our friends, right? Sometimes we can feel left out, and sometimes we leave someone out. We fight, we make up. And that's what Simon did with his friends (who were, by the way, also pretty supportive about his sexuality).“White shouldn't be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn't even be a default.”This book isn't just about adorableness (although there's a ton of that), Simon also sometimes has some pretty deep thoughts about issues in the world that need change. This book is also a lot about acceptance and thinking outside what is "normal" for most of us. Lots of beautiful messages were conveyed here, and I'm extremely happy about that.Becky Albertalli is one awesome writer. The dialogues were so natural, the characters had great chemistry (!!!), and she just wrote what overall was one of the most adorable and beautiful books I've read. This book is a perfect fit for anyone looking for a fun book that isn't shallow at all.4.5 stars!*A digital review copy was provided by Balzer + Bray via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Steph Sinclair
    May 14, 2014
    I think I just felt my heart explode in my chest from all the cute! Review to come, but put this on your list, people.
  • Trina (Between Chapters)
    December 11, 2014
    This book was SO good. There are 10 million great things I could say about this book but here's the shortlist:-It kept me up til 6 am to finish the whole thing.-It made me cry 3 times. (Big deal because I am not a book crier.)-I am actually heartbroken that these characters are not real and I am not friends with them.-OTP status.-Beautiful, beautiful first love.-Heck yes, diversity! This book was representative and inclusive of sexual orientations, race, and interracial relationships.-Fantastic This book was SO good. There are 10 million great things I could say about this book but here's the shortlist:-It kept me up til 6 am to finish the whole thing.-It made me cry 3 times. (Big deal because I am not a book crier.)-I am actually heartbroken that these characters are not real and I am not friends with them.-OTP status.-Beautiful, beautiful first love.-Heck yes, diversity! This book was representative and inclusive of sexual orientations, race, and interracial relationships.-Fantastic portrayal of friendships. The friend group has many conflicts that resolved with characters actually apologizing and learning.-AMAZING adult role models and interactions.-Plot includes actual involvement in school activities beyond school just being a backdrop for the age range. Bonus: it's drama club.-Real teen emotions without the extra dose of angst.-Heavy dose of mystery due to the unknown identity of the person Simon is e-mailing with, which upped the pacing and investment.- I'm already positive this book will be at the top of my Best of 2016 list.As soon as I finished this book I IMMEDIATELY read it again! The ending gave a whole new meaning to some previous scenes so I picked up on many new details and got a fuller picture of the story. I love it even more the second time.
    more
  • Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
    September 12, 2016
    Possibly a 4.5 I haven't decided yet. This was so adorable people are giving me looks on the train because I'm grinning in a possibly frightening level of happiness. I loved this.
  • Chesca
    March 16, 2016
    I CAN’T EVEN. “ People really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.” Actual Rating: 4.75 starsNOTE: I honestly won’t call this a review. It’s a reflection paper. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the most honest and most uplifting books I’ve ever read. This is not just Simon’s story, but ours too.I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO AWAKE IN READING A CONTEMPORARY NOVEL UNTIL THIS-MOUTHFUL-OF-A-TITLE. It’s like dr I CAN’T EVEN. “ People really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.” Actual Rating: 4.75 starsNOTE: I honestly won’t call this a review. It’s a reflection paper. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the most honest and most uplifting books I’ve ever read. This is not just Simon’s story, but ours too.I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO AWAKE IN READING A CONTEMPORARY NOVEL UNTIL THIS-MOUTHFUL-OF-A-TITLE. It’s like drinking a huge cup of coffee! I enjoyed that it was making me figure things out. It was challenging, and I loved that I had wrong and dead-end guesses before I got the right one a few chapters ahead of the anticipated reveal of Blue’s identity.The other chapters in email formats are not only adorable, but very useful in constructing the plot. They showed two strangers getting to know each other truly and deeply, making things more revealing than anyone could ever experience in knowing another individual face to face. I know that it’s not unique anymore for it was used in other books as well like in This Is What Happy Looks Like, but what makes Becky Albertalli’s work more thrilling than other works of fiction alike is how she unraveled Blue little by little, affecting Simon’s way of viewing people. He became more observant than before.How the author approached coming-out was light and fun. It was encouraging that she treated it that way, because it’s not supposed to be difficult and awkward for anyone to be true to others, and most especially, to themselves. There’s nothing to be afraid of. It is okay if others can’t accept us for who we are. We should never let that hinder us in expressing our truth. The only disadvantage of this way of telling it is that those who’ve been through pain in coming out might not appreciate it. Some might think it’s too happy.Simon Spier is a very lovely protagonist. He is not perfect but he is admirable. He developed neatly, and I adored how he realized all the things that he never noticed before in his relationship with others. Also, his sense of humor is hilarious and it shows in the casual writing of the book.I honestly didn’t care much about the other characters, not because I didn’t like them, but because my full attention was on Simon and Blue. I just saw them as factors that would affect Simon into becoming who he is in the end. They are the people he neglected in ways he didn’t even notice, so I just got curious about them when Simon did in the process of searching for Blue. If there’s one thing I liked about them, it is that they have expressed themselves and their feelings too. It was so beautiful to witness these characters unfold as Simon learns who he is to them.Now let me talk about Blue without spoilers. How his persona was woven into the plot was really clever. He is a very interesting guy even through the emails. I just wish that I got to see more of him and Simon, together, in the end. They were so annoyingly adorable! I hate it but I like it too.The writing is gorgeous although it seemed casual and a handful of cussing was thrown into it. It has a personality - Simon's, which made it feel like he was talking to the readers. There's a sense of familiarity to it which made reading it easy.One of the problems I had with this story, the same one I had with The Biggest Scoop, is the use of pop culture references. I know that some of the jokes in this book were based on a number of them and they’re really funny, but not every reader would know each and every one of those things or people mentioned. I’m not saying that it’s bad, but speckling them into a fiction book would not always be effective when it comes to trying to connect with people.Overall, I highly recommend this! It’s everyone’s story and I know a lot of people would be able to relate to it.
    more
  • Chantal (Every Word A Doorway)
    April 19, 2015
    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda isn’t my usual cup of tea. I don’t tend to gravitate towards YA contemporaries, especially not those that are described as “cute” and “adorable”. If I read contemporary, it’s usually for the dark themes, twisted characters or exciting plot. But although this book doesn’t really contain any of these things (though it does deal with some heavier issues) I thought it was fantastic. It’s one of those novels that does everything right, and is entertaining to boot. Re Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda isn’t my usual cup of tea. I don’t tend to gravitate towards YA contemporaries, especially not those that are described as “cute” and “adorable”. If I read contemporary, it’s usually for the dark themes, twisted characters or exciting plot. But although this book doesn’t really contain any of these things (though it does deal with some heavier issues) I thought it was fantastic. It’s one of those novels that does everything right, and is entertaining to boot. Reading it put me in a good mood; it’s such an uplifting, funny and beautifully told story that I can almost guarantee will give you all the feels.There are so many wonderful reviews from my friends out there that will perfectly describe to you how wonderful this book is, so instead I thought I would just give you six reasons why you should pick it up.1. Diversity. Not only is our protagonist Simon gay, but we also have two side characters that are African American and two side characters that are Jewish. The novel explores homophobia, as well as religion and inter-racial relationships, and it does it brilliantly. Part of me was waiting for the moment when the author would take a misstep and say something disrespectful, but I am happy to say that this never happened. 2. Fabulous adult characters. A YA contemporary with active and supportive adults, you say? Does such a thing exist? Thank goodness it does. Simon’s parents are actually important to the story and involved with him. They care about Simon and try to support him as best they can. Yet, the familial relationships always stayed realistic: Simon’s parents aren’t perfect, they sometimes do and say the wrong thing, but they always try their best to make their children happy. Additionally, there is also an amazing adult teacher character in Simon’s life who steps in and stands up for him. Well done, Becky Albertalli!3. Amazing friends. This was definitely one of my favourite aspects of this novel. The cliques in this book are mixed. It’s not all the geeks vs. all the jocks vs. the cheerleaders etc. Instead, what we get is a realistic portrayal of high school friend groups and non-stereotypical characters. His friends support Simon and accept him for who he is, yet they are flawed and they fight with each other. There is so much love between them, but also rivalry and jealousy and the whole thing was so incredibly honest, something I say very rarely. The conflicts arose organically and I never felt like they were put in just for the sake of adding drama. 4. Lack of angst. All of the characters are so real and raw without ever being overly angsty. There is some angst because of the situation Simon finds himself in, but it never takes the upper hand and isn’t stretched out unnecessarily. I never felt frustrated or annoyed, but instead appreciated how Simon dealt with all of his problems. 5. Simon, our main character. He’s just the right amount of quirky and very funny and witty as well. I also found him to be so relatable and clever. Plus, he loves Harry Potter. “What's a dementor?"I mean, I can't even. "Nora, you are no longer my sister.""So it's some Harry Potter thing," she says. 6. The romance. You guys know I’m not very big on romance. But this one was just so adorable! I was actually swooning just from Simon and Blue’s emails and if a book can do that to me, I’m impressed. On top of all this, the story is also well-writtenn and includes some beautiful quotes that I will remember for a long time to come. People really are like house with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it's a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other. I do wish that the book would have been a little longer and some of the side characters a little more developed, but regardless, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is a wonderful, heart-warming novel that I recommend to everyone.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 28, 2015
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Oh my God, what is happening to me????? Who am I? Mitchell isn’t gonna like this : ( My apologies. This is just going to be a big hot mess. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the sweetest little love stories I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. I don’t even know where to begin. Maybe this is one of those times where the book needs to do most of the talking. Let’s start with our MC . . . “In reality, I’m not the leading guy. Ma Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Oh my God, what is happening to me????? Who am I? Mitchell isn’t gonna like this : ( My apologies. This is just going to be a big hot mess. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the sweetest little love stories I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. I don’t even know where to begin. Maybe this is one of those times where the book needs to do most of the talking. Let’s start with our MC . . . “In reality, I’m not the leading guy. Maybe I’m the best friend.” I’m not so sure about that. Simon was a delight to get to know. A boy who could “give precisely zero shits about video games,” who won’t eat red frosting because it tastes “too red,” and washes his own laundry because “there are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom,” who has mix tapes named things like “The Great Depression,” and puts the contact info for the guy who is blackmailing him in his phone as “Monkey’s Asshole” . He was a completely adorkable, Draco-loving, bedhead having, teenage dream boy . . . who hoped to one day actually meet the guy he was falling for anonymously via e-mail . . . and was soooooooooo loveable he made it possible for me to forgive him for having a dog named Bieber. Hear that, Erica???? BIEBER . . . . Simon was a character who got called out for being an asshole when he was being an asshole, but surrounded himself with some amazing people who just got it . . . “It is definitely annoying that straight (and white, for that matter) is the default, and the only people who have to think about their identity are the ones who don’t fit that mold.” He made me see that “people really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows.” And made me laugh. SO. HARD. “What are you thinking about?”“Your mom.”“NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” He reminded me that when all else fails, sometimes you just need to “Try a Little Tenderness” . . . “And I can’t stop smiling. I mean, there are times it’s actually more work not to smile.” If you want to read something that just makes you feel good, Simon might be the choice for you. I’m still smiling and I’m giving it all the stars. . . Why you gotta deny me the ARC, NetGalley? I told you I 5 Star stuff sometimes ; )
    more
  • Samantha
    February 13, 2017
    3.5 stars!
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ (of badger and SNAKE)
    May 2, 2015
    Edit 06/30 : Since I can't stop rereading quotes and that my smile turns bigger and bigger, it seems right to upgrade it at a 5 - it's definitely not perfect, but reading it leads to a 5 rating level of happiness. Also, it appears that I'm (maybe) pessimistic. *side-eyes* (view spoiler)[♡ (hide spoiler)]▶ This book was a serious breath of fresh air, and I end up with the biggest smile on my face. "I take a sip of my beer, and it's - I mean, it's just astonishingly disgusting. I don't think I was Edit 06/30 : Since I can't stop rereading quotes and that my smile turns bigger and bigger, it seems right to upgrade it at a 5 - it's definitely not perfect, but reading it leads to a 5 rating level of happiness. Also, it appears that I'm (maybe) pessimistic. *side-eyes* (view spoiler)[♡ (hide spoiler)]▶ This book was a serious breath of fresh air, and I end up with the biggest smile on my face. "I take a sip of my beer, and it's - I mean, it's just astonishingly disgusting. I don't think I was expecting it to taste like ice-cream, but holy fucking hell. People lie and get fake IDs and sneak into bars, and for this?" ▥ What you need to know if the fact that we have no idea who is this Blue guy that Simon is emailing until almost the very end. However, we get to know him - and Simon, in another way - through theirs emails and I can say without doubt that it was the part that I preferred. Strangely, Blue became pretty fast my favorite character. Strangely because we only know him through messages and all. What can I say? I'm a sucker for emails and messages inserted in a book. Damn, I'm such a stalker (shut up). All of that is to say that I can completely understand how Simon could fall in love with him without meeting him - Hell, I barely kept in check my crush on him (what? He is so freaking cute!). Don't get me wrong, I really liked Simon as well. Simon, who made me burst of laughing with his Draco-Harry fan fictions (for real, I had to explain why I was laughing like crazy and all that), roll my eyes smiling because he was so clueless, Simon who is freaking adorable and funny.Simon who sounds like a real teenager and who has multiple crushes. I'm sorry but yes, that's high school for you (or was I the only one? Please say no). And then, there's this moment we learn who Blue is. Happy sigh. (view spoiler)[Can I just say that I KNEW IT!! YESYESYESYES! Now I kind of want to reread the whole book. (hide spoiler)]To sum up, Simon, I really liked you, even if sometimes, ▥ Friendship is portrayed in a realistic way in my opinion, because even if Leah, Nick, Abby and Simon share a strong connection, that did not prevent them from arguing or being jealous or whatever else feeling we humans feel sometimes. That's why I really appreciated to follow this bunch of realistic and supportive characters. However, I would have loved it if the characterization of the characters outside Simon was more developed. Indeed if Simon's and Blue's characters are fleshed-out (which is amazing concerning Blue, because we know him only through his emails during the most part of the book) unfortunately the others lack depth in my opinion, especially Nick and Leah. Now, we're following Simon's journey, so on the other hand it can be explained. "If she thinks me drinking coffee is big news, it's going to be quite a fucking morning." ▥ Truth be told, I absolutely adored the dynamic between the different members of Simon's family. Indeed they're far from perfect, a little on the crazy side, unable to mind their own business, but the most important is that they rang true to me. Perhaps that's because my family always was a little anti-conformist either? Even if yes, we do the Blue's Christmas thing where we open our presents one after the other but that's pretty awesome in my opinion and I so stick out my tongue at you, Simon. "It is definitely annoying that straight (and white, for that matter) is the default, and that the only people who have to think about their identity are the ones who don't fit that mold." ▥ Finally, this book deals with pretty hard subjects as bullying, blackmailing, and above that, the difficulties to find and express our identity. Actually, I'm not sure of what I think about the way they are handled here. Indeed if they aren't completely dismissed (which would have maddened me for sure) they're not completely treated either and I got the feeling that everything was wrapped too nicely in the end. Perhaps am I too pessimistic? I don't really know. Maybe. But in my opinion it would have been more interesting to explore these issues further, even if it would have impacted the general happy feeling we get when reading this book. Not that we don't come across some heartbreaking moments. We do, and that's what make the whole book beautiful in its own way - flawed, but sincere. ✐ As for the writing, the fact that I read it in one sitting says something, doesn't it? While I can't brag about amazing metaphors or original writing, in my opinion it's perfect how it is, that is to say, addictive as a book from Kody Keplinger or Kasie West can be, with the right amount of fluffiness and laughter to keep you in a good mood. That was the case for me, anyway. PS : I so reread the parts with Blue. Awesomeness in bottle <3
    more
  • Paula M. of Her Book Thoughts!
    July 24, 2015
    I am the grandma. Sorry y'all. I don't think I'll even leave a proper review for this book because A) Even writing the review is boring me and B) nobody will care (I assume) because they all loved it. And I'm glad! Seriously, I am. I wish Simon appealed to me too. I mean, with his adorableness... why wouldn't I like him, right?But I expected too much. I never expected that it would be THAT boring and THAT mundane. People didn't tell me that this is a diary. And I don't have the time and patience I am the grandma. Sorry y'all. I don't think I'll even leave a proper review for this book because A) Even writing the review is boring me and B) nobody will care (I assume) because they all loved it. And I'm glad! Seriously, I am. I wish Simon appealed to me too. I mean, with his adorableness... why wouldn't I like him, right?But I expected too much. I never expected that it would be THAT boring and THAT mundane. People didn't tell me that this is a diary. And I don't have the time and patience for that right now. And the writing keeps bugging me. I know I should be a fan of it because it has a tone of Rowell laced over it but I feel like the author is trying too hard and instead of giving me the cutesy and adorable feelingssss, it pissed me off.Also, it annoys me so much that Simon can be a push over like that. Letting this person blackmail him? Psh! And I pretty much guessed who the culprit was immediately so I didn't even feel the mystery affect that the book is trying to achieve. The truth is.. Simon is a a cute book. And that's all it is. Cute. And MEH. At least Green and Leviathan has some profound and deep message in their book. But this one was just.. EH. Crazy predictable. The disappointment should make me feel sad but I'm just pissed.
    more
  • Christy
    February 10, 2017
    5 stars! “Sometimes it seems like everyone knows who I am except me.” Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the best YA books I’ve read in a long while. I started this book (the 6, almost 7 hour audio) and listened to the entire thing in one day. So I pretty much didn’t read at all, just found useless things to do around the house so I could listen. I loved it so hard! Meet Simon… Simon is amazing. Seriously one of the most lovable and endearing heroes ever. I loved everything about hi 5 stars! “Sometimes it seems like everyone knows who I am except me.” Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of the best YA books I’ve read in a long while. I started this book (the 6, almost 7 hour audio) and listened to the entire thing in one day. So I pretty much didn’t read at all, just found useless things to do around the house so I could listen. I loved it so hard! Meet Simon… Simon is amazing. Seriously one of the most lovable and endearing heroes ever. I loved everything about him. “What's a dementor?"I mean, I can't even. "Nora, you are no longer my sister.""So it's some Harry Potter thing," she says.” 
Perfect, right? I loved the emails, Simon’s relationship with his friends, his sisters, and his parents. This one is YA gold. The book was completely adorable and I couldn't keep the smile off my face! I loved the narration and highly recommend it!
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    September 29, 2016
    After being recommended this book approximately 500,000 times, I decided it was high time I finally read it! And I am so, so glad that I finally took the plunge: I am in absolute love with this book and its characters!Simon Spier, is struggling with his closeted sexuality and secret online boyfriend, as well as the myriad of other trials and tribulations that come with the territory of being a teenage high-school student. When a classmate discovers his covert secret, life as Simon knows it sudde After being recommended this book approximately 500,000 times, I decided it was high time I finally read it! And I am so, so glad that I finally took the plunge: I am in absolute love with this book and its characters!Simon Spier, is struggling with his closeted sexuality and secret online boyfriend, as well as the myriad of other trials and tribulations that come with the territory of being a teenage high-school student. When a classmate discovers his covert secret, life as Simon knows it suddenly becomes whole lot harder to navigate. Each and every character displayed a uniqueness of personality and a rawness of emotion, that endorsed their age, and completely stole my heart. They felt relatable authentic and palpable, as did their individual dissensions and disparities. Simon, in particular, proved to be a little bae! It would have been so easy to portray him, and his story, in a stereotypical and unoriginal way, but both felt fresh and substantive.This is the sweetest and most heart-warming of contemporary stories that I adored with every fibre of my being. All of the feels and all of the stars!
    more
  • Kat Kennedy
    March 20, 2015
    Every now and again you stumble onto a book that’s just magical, and for me, this one was it.In it, Simon Spier is being blackmailed by a student because Simon is gay. If Simon doesn’t help Martin, then Martin will publish his personal emails with Blue, an anonymous boy from his school who he’s quickly falling in love with.Simon has to deal with Martin, his burgeoning attraction to Blue, his close-knit family and his friends. It’s all a lot to take in but makes for a very rounded, fulfilling sto Every now and again you stumble onto a book that’s just magical, and for me, this one was it.In it, Simon Spier is being blackmailed by a student because Simon is gay. If Simon doesn’t help Martin, then Martin will publish his personal emails with Blue, an anonymous boy from his school who he’s quickly falling in love with.Simon has to deal with Martin, his burgeoning attraction to Blue, his close-knit family and his friends. It’s all a lot to take in but makes for a very rounded, fulfilling story. Everyone in this novel has agendas and secrets.This is a well written book, Simon has a strong narrative voice that is realistic and still whimsical. I really felt for Simon’s struggles and the position he was in. This book deals with race, sexuality and gender and blends it all in beautifully.This book was exactly what I needed. Something light, fluffy and satisfying. If you’re looking for something deeper with more angst, maybe skip this one. But if you’re looking to walk away on cloud 9 feeling amazing about life than this is the book for you.Its writing was solid though felt a little rushed in some parts. Toward the end, Simon’s narration became less precise and more general as the book raced toward an ending.But over all, a really solid book from Albertalli and I’m excited to see what she does next. This book gave me all the feels and I’m sure it’ll do the same for you.
    more
  • Tran Thanh Tu
    March 8, 2017
    Awww... This is my very first book on the subject of LGBT (don't bite my head off people) and I actually like it :) Easy story line to follow, lovely characters, accurate teens' reaction (especially Simon and Blue's) with perfectly normal school theme, Becky Albertalli has found a way to the readers' heart. No wonder why this book receives so many positive reviews and awards.I would definitely recommend this one to everyone, especially to other teenagers, for it is important to realize how uniqu Awww... This is my very first book on the subject of LGBT (don't bite my head off people) and I actually like it :) Easy story line to follow, lovely characters, accurate teens' reaction (especially Simon and Blue's) with perfectly normal school theme, Becky Albertalli has found a way to the readers' heart. No wonder why this book receives so many positive reviews and awards.I would definitely recommend this one to everyone, especially to other teenagers, for it is important to realize how unique each individual is, and that we should all be treated equally and respected by who we truly are.
    more
Write a review