Where the Wild Things Are
One night Max puts on his wolf suit and makes mischief of one kind and another, so his mother calls him 'Wild Thing' and sends him to bed without his supper. That night a forest begins to grow in Max's room and an ocean rushes by with a boat to take Max to the place where the wild things are. Max tames the wild things and crowns himself as their king, and then the wild rumpus begins. But when Max has sent the monsters to bed, and everything is quiet, he starts to feel lonely and realises it is time to sail home to the place where someone loves him best of all.

Where the Wild Things Are Details

TitleWhere the Wild Things Are
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 29th, 2017
PublisherRed Fox
ISBN0099408392
ISBN-139780099408390
Number of pages37 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Fiction, Classics, Fantasy, Adventure, Young Adult, Kids, Animals, Juvenile

Where the Wild Things Are Review

  • Nathan
    November 3, 2007
    I have no doubt that this book damaged me, psychologically, as a small child. It is one of the earliest books I vividly remember reading aloud to myself, and I remember the first time my mother read it to me before she put me to bed. Here's the gist of the plot: A little boy named Max dresses up in a wolf costume, plays with a hammer, chases his dog with a fork, then threatens to cannibalize his mother. His mother, a master of irony, then puts him to bed with no dinner. Already, this story shoul I have no doubt that this book damaged me, psychologically, as a small child. It is one of the earliest books I vividly remember reading aloud to myself, and I remember the first time my mother read it to me before she put me to bed. Here's the gist of the plot: A little boy named Max dresses up in a wolf costume, plays with a hammer, chases his dog with a fork, then threatens to cannibalize his mother. His mother, a master of irony, then puts him to bed with no dinner. Already, this story should start creeping you out. Then a forest starts to grow in Max's bedroom. And no, no chemicals have been ingested anywhere in the story. Though the bit about chasing the dog with the fork does imply a delusional state. Regardless, a fucking forest grows in the kids bedroom. So naturally he gets in a boat and sails off to the other side of the world, to where all these "wild things" are. And promptly subjugates everyone he sees. I'm a damn toddler, and my mom is reading me a book about a sociopath. So Max has a ball with this gang he's conquered and converted, and they howl at the moon and hop through trees. Then he gets hungry and goes home, where his mother, no doubt terrified of his new army of foreign creatures, has left his food for him, still warm. I thought, "This woman aims to do me harm." Yes, please, mother. Read me a story about my bedroom becoming a forest inhabited by monsters, then put me to bed. Think I slept that night? No, I hid out under my bed with a plastic baseball bat, a water gun and flashlight, hoping to God that if this was the night it all went wrong, I had the courage to look those monsters in the eye and pretend I wasn't wetting myself. I made a nest with a giant teddy bear and two pillows and didn't come out until the next morning, when I heard my mom coming down the hall. All day long I pretended nothing was different. But I asked her to read me Where The Wild Things Are again that night. And the next night. For months. I would ask her questions like "Do you think I will have my monsters get you if you don't make me supper?" And she'd smile, and say "Go to bed, Nathan." Spooky shit, I'm telling you. I learned to read through fear and intimidation. A subversive masterpiece. NC
    more
  • fleegan
    August 16, 2007
    This book is crap, and let me tell you why. The kid is a jerk and is sent to his room without supper. He proceeds to go to some magical place where these monsters live and he bosses them around and is mean to them. Then he gets back home...having not learned that being a mean jerk is wrong...and there on his table in his room is dinner...and it's still warm. What's the lesson here exactly? Hate the book.
    more
  • Michael Finocchiaro
    October 2, 2016
    I have read the story of Max about 1,000,000 times and my kids love it too. The illustrations are magical and the text is beyond wonderful. It is one of the most fun and rewarding books for a parent to read to a kid (lots of fun making dancing sounds and monster sounds!) and features joyful plot. A must!
    more
  • Manybooks
    January 9, 2012
    It is often difficult to review a book that was and still is one of my favorite all-time picture books. I adore everything about Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are, from the brilliant text to the expressive accompanying illustrations. And I also with all my heart appreciate the message the author promotes here, a message of unconditional love, a message that even if one misbehaves, there will be supper waiting on the table (Max does get sent to his room, but no matter how much he has mis It is often difficult to review a book that was and still is one of my favorite all-time picture books. I adore everything about Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are, from the brilliant text to the expressive accompanying illustrations. And I also with all my heart appreciate the message the author promotes here, a message of unconditional love, a message that even if one misbehaves, there will be supper waiting on the table (Max does get sent to his room, but no matter how much he has misbehaved, his mother will always love him and cherish him). Of course, that particular message is only one of many. As essential as the concept of universal love is the philosophy, is the attitude that children's emotions and tantrums are to be taken seriously and not ever simply dismissed. Max might be seen and chastised as a "wild thing" by his mother, but his emotions, his actions are described as an integral part of his being, maybe not quite appropriate, but also not completely inappropriate, rather as a living, breathing part of Max's being. And it is these emotions, these feelings that are the impetus to Max's adventures in the realm of the Wild Things. However, once Max's emotions have been allowed and have flourished to the maximum, he retreats from the realm of the Wild Things and is happy to return home to his room, his waiting supper and his mother's love.I guess I should really mention that one of my more recent rereads of Where the Wild Things Are (in 2011 for the Picture Book Club in the Children's Literature Group) was the first time I had actually read this book in English. Prior to 2011, I had only ever read it in German translation, and I have to admit that I actually like the translated German version somewhat better than the original English. For those who know me, this is quite a contrary attitude, as I am as a rule very much in favour of original texts and keeping any translated narratives as close to the original as possible. In this particular case, I think that I appreciate the German translation more because it is the narrative that I had repeatedly read to me when I was a child, that I later read for myself (and in 2005 read to my young nieces). The German translation of Where the Wild Things Are therefore has a nostalgic hold on me that the Maurice Sendak's original text, no matter how ingenious, not matter that it is the master, the primordial, will simply never have (and for me, the ultimate version of this book will always, always be the German translation, Wo Die Wilden Kerle Wohnen.
    more
  • Angie
    September 11, 2009
    "Mom. Mom. Mo-om. Mom. MOM!"My mom whips around. "WHAT??!""CanIgetabook?""What?""Can... I... get... a... book...?""How much is it?""$8.50.""What is it?"I brandish a copy of Where The Wild Things Are from behind my back."Don't you already have that?""Nuh-uh.""Aren't you a little... old for a book like that?"I pout. "But Mo-om...""Okay," she sighs. "Put it in the cart."--ten minutes later--My mom leaves the car to go put the cart back.I look around suspiciously, making sure the coast is clear.I le "Mom. Mom. Mo-om. Mom. MOM!"My mom whips around. "WHAT??!""CanIgetabook?""What?""Can... I... get... a... book...?""How much is it?""$8.50.""What is it?"I brandish a copy of Where The Wild Things Are from behind my back."Don't you already have that?""Nuh-uh.""Aren't you a little... old for a book like that?"I pout. "But Mo-om...""Okay," she sighs. "Put it in the cart."--ten minutes later--My mom leaves the car to go put the cart back.I look around suspiciously, making sure the coast is clear.I lean over the back seat and start digging through the bags.Finding the book, I crawl back into the front seat with it.My mom returns."Couldn't you wait until we got home?""Nope." I'm turning the first pages, reading everything slowly.My mom starts the car. "Sometimes I can't tell if I have a twenty-four- or a four-year-old daughter."I'm still immersed in the book. "At least I no longer pull up my skirt in the grocery aisle and show everyone my Barbie underwear.""I certainly hope not!"I grin mischievously.
    more
  • Jason Koivu
    June 24, 2010
    Like a gremlin crouched in the back of a dim cave, Where the Wild Things Are lay on my cousin's bedroom floor. My cousin was in kindergarden and I was being babysat by my aunt, busy in the kitchen downstairs - might as well have been miles away. The bedroom shades were drawn, the house quiet, the room empty. That book with its-its things in it called to me. I'd never seen anything like it. My books had colorful, happy animals that didn't make me feel this way....what was this feeling? Was this w Like a gremlin crouched in the back of a dim cave, Where the Wild Things Are lay on my cousin's bedroom floor. My cousin was in kindergarden and I was being babysat by my aunt, busy in the kitchen downstairs - might as well have been miles away. The bedroom shades were drawn, the house quiet, the room empty. That book with its-its things in it called to me. I'd never seen anything like it. My books had colorful, happy animals that didn't make me feel this way....what was this feeling? Was this what was known as fear? And what were those things? Were they, maybe, those things called monsters? I'd not fully experienced fear before, perhaps because I'd not put a face on it. I crept closer. Those faces looked mean, ferocious. I stopped in the middle of the room, neither advancing towards the book, nor fleeing. I was terrified...and I loved it! Appendixed!: It's Maurice Sendak's birthday today. (Thanks Google!) If he hadn't died last year, he would be 85 now....85 crusty old years. Right around the time he died NPR was playing archival interviews of him. It was the first time I'd heard him speak. I could've done without the experience. I have nothing against his voice, rather the things that come out of his mouth. The man was curmudgeonly to the core it seems. I can be a bit of a pill myself sometimes, so I should cut him some slack, but I was surprised by his grouchiness. I suppose I always assume children's authors are bright, cheerful sorts. Heck, they write happy little stories about colorful, good-hearted characters that usually come out on top. How could such stuff come from a sourpuss? Well, Sendak was proof that it can. Hm. That's funny. I'm 40 and I'm still learning things from children's lit.
    more
  • Kirk
    April 8, 2012
    Where the Wild Things Are What's the moral of this story? Some might say Sendack's work is a testament to the unbridled powers of a child's imagination. Others would posit that the true virtue of Where the Wild Things Are stems from the reversal of a timeless power dynamic in which monsters frighten children. In Sendack's carefully rendered world, monsters submit to the whims of children, which appears to suit Max well enough. I assume it works well for other children as well. If you can't convi Where the Wild Things Are What's the moral of this story? Some might say Sendack's work is a testament to the unbridled powers of a child's imagination. Others would posit that the true virtue of Where the Wild Things Are stems from the reversal of a timeless power dynamic in which monsters frighten children. In Sendack's carefully rendered world, monsters submit to the whims of children, which appears to suit Max well enough. I assume it works well for other children as well. If you can't convince snot-nosed brats that monsters don't exist, at least you can convince them that monsters are friendly. Children, after all, are like neo-conservatives. You can only reason with them on their own delusional terms. Here's the summary: Max is an asshole. His mother calls him a monster, so he flies into a cannibalistic rage. She sends him to his room without dinner, which doesn't seem to be the best of ideas since he just threatened to eat her f*&% face off, but whatever. This book isn't heralded as a classic because of its promotion of high-quality parenting techniques. I'll get to that in a moment. I couldn't help but notice the parallels between the story of Max and the early years of Siddhartha. Both starve themselves until they hallucinate. But the similarities end there. Siddhartha realizes that his approach to transcendentalism is misguided, and he eats once more. Max, on the other hand, starves himself for a night and trees grow in his room. Then he proceeds to get on a boat and fast for an entire year, at which point he starts seeing giant monsters. The fact that these monsters cater to his delusions of grandeur--cowering in his presence and sharing his flesh-eating inclinations--lets us know that Max has externalized his fantasy world through strict fasting. On one hand, I respect this kid. I can rarely push through four days without wheat before the weekend starts and I pack in 80lbs of corporate-grown meat and bleached bread. On the other hand, what the hell is this book teaching our children? I'll tell you.That middle finger means "I was raised on Sendak!" Aside from self-imposed starvation, the book teaches children to give up on their aspirations as soon as the slightest temptation arises: "he smelled good things to eat so he gave up being king." It sends the message that those who love you would just as happily rip your entrails out and feast upon them as soon as you decide to leave: "Oh please don't go-we'll eat you up-we love you so!" And, finally, it shows them that parents' threats are temporally limited, and eventually love will cause them to cave in. At the end of the story, Max returns to his room "where he found his supper waiting for him." Way to be strong, mom. Pushover.I bet Satan loves this book.
    more
  • G
    February 15, 2008
    The classic. I would take this on a desert island. So much to explore and interpret in the words and the pictures. I'm afraid my girls don't like the book as much as I do. But sooner or later, they'll come around.I see quite a few people complaining about Max being a little shit and not learning a lesson in "Where the Wild Things Are." Well, guess what, a lot of kids are little shits. And I believe Max did learn a few things on his journey. Sometimes it's not so good to be the king. Even with al The classic. I would take this on a desert island. So much to explore and interpret in the words and the pictures. I'm afraid my girls don't like the book as much as I do. But sooner or later, they'll come around.I see quite a few people complaining about Max being a little shit and not learning a lesson in "Where the Wild Things Are." Well, guess what, a lot of kids are little shits. And I believe Max did learn a few things on his journey. Sometimes it's not so good to be the king. Even with all his power over the wild things, he still missed home. And even when he's bad, he can count on his Mama. That's a lesson in appreciating what you got. It's too bad people have to be so one-dimensional about children's books -- but given the amount of 4 & 5-star reviews this book gets on Goodreads alone, I'm certain the naysayers are way off the mark... Anyway, just had to say that.
    more
  • Apokripos
    June 15, 2011
    Through a Child’s Eye(A Book Review of Maurice Sendak’s Where The Wild Things Are)I’m glad that I recently scored a vintage 1963 edition (pictures here) of Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are in Booksale during one of the mini Meet Ups with my Goodreads-The Filipino Group friends. I breeze through the book in a matter of minutes while waiting for them, and right there and then something just hit me. Without a doubt, it certainly earns its place as a classic storybook of Children’s Literat Through a Child’s Eye(A Book Review of Maurice Sendak’s Where The Wild Things Are)I’m glad that I recently scored a vintage 1963 edition (pictures here) of Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are in Booksale during one of the mini Meet Ups with my Goodreads-The Filipino Group friends. I breeze through the book in a matter of minutes while waiting for them, and right there and then something just hit me. Without a doubt, it certainly earns its place as a classic storybook of Children’s Literature.Where the Wild Things Are tells the story of the rascal Max, who dresses up in his wolf suit and causes trouble enough to make his mother order him to go to bed without supper at all. As the title alludes, the picture book shows a child’s unbound and limitless wild rumpus of an imagination exhibited when Max reaches deeper within his imagining and sees his room transformed into a forest inhabited by the Wild Things — roaring and gnashing monsters with yellow eyes, sharp teeth and horns — where he, by a mere stare, can tame and be the king of them all.I think what endears every child who reads Sendak’s picture book is that most of them can identify with Max’s feeling of resentment, that though he had had his share of fun out of it, he eventually grows weary and lonely, permitting him later on to go back to the place where he most wants to be and appreciate the most important thing he left behind: the need to feel loved.At home, after a tiring yet fun-filled day with friends and before hitting the sack, I’m still at it, staring mesmerized by Sendak’s impressive work of art with its muted colors and cross-hatchings, that looks like sketches, add further magic, energy and excitement to every kid who reads it they would love to be in the shoes of Max, playing with the Wild Things on their “wild rumpus” where they can howl at the moon and swing from tree to tree in bold celebration of all the wildness they possess.I rue the fact that I stumbled upon this picture book well into my manhood, but it definitely touched something in me — the book has this uncanny ability to enchant itself to the nostalgic memory of childhood, rekindling its innermost emotions. It’s as if I’m seeing the world again through a child’s eye.Nevertheless, this is a book worth keeping — for every reading always brings a new perspective, a nuanced view of the book’s message — which I will one day read to my future children and let them discover for themselves a world of their own creation; a world where the wild things are, where only they has the power to tame._________________________Book Details: Book #24 for 2011Published by Harper & Row, Publishers(Hardcover, 1963 First Edition)42 pagesRead on: June 15, 2011My Rating: ★★★★★[See this review on my book blog Dark Chest of Wonders and for many others.]
    more
  • Meg
    June 8, 2008
    Another 5 star! Man, I'm getting generous. You guys just keep bringing up stories that KICK TRASH! This is the greatest children's book in the history of time as far as I'm concerned. And I'll tell you something WICKED AWESOME about it that I figured out when I researched it for a play adaptation I wrote. **GET OUT THE COPY OF YOUR CHILDREN'S BOOK RIGHT NOW**... Flip through the pages, and notice that on the first page the artwork is a small rectangle... then it grows larger and larger on every Another 5 star! Man, I'm getting generous. You guys just keep bringing up stories that KICK TRASH! This is the greatest children's book in the history of time as far as I'm concerned. And I'll tell you something WICKED AWESOME about it that I figured out when I researched it for a play adaptation I wrote. **GET OUT THE COPY OF YOUR CHILDREN'S BOOK RIGHT NOW**... Flip through the pages, and notice that on the first page the artwork is a small rectangle... then it grows larger and larger on every page, until the forest takes up one entire side by itself... then as Max sails on the ship it begins to creep into the other half of the page... and grow... and GROW... getting wilder and wilder until the Wild Rumpus Dance (made up of six solid pages of GORGEOUS artwork, NO WORDS)... then Max decides he misses home... and the artwork shrinks... and shrinks... until the last page, which contains no artwork at all, but simply the words, "and it was still hot." Subconsciously, your mind goes on this fantastical journey into the extreme creative right brain where there are no concrete thoughts or language, just drug-trippy monsters and mayhem... then it returns just as abruptly. IS SENDAK A FRIGGIN' GENIUS OR WHAT???? Man, I love that guy.
    more
  • Brad
    March 26, 2008
    Of all the books I read my kids, and there are many, this is my favourite to perform.It is so easy to turn Where the Wild Things Are into a a big, rollicking tickle fest, and I am never able to resist the urge. When those Wild Things show up with their "terrible roars" and "terrible eyes" and "terrible claws," I attack my kids with everything I've got until they are reduced to quivering masses of giggled out jelly.And Max, the King of the Wild Things, is one of the coolest kids in any kids book Of all the books I read my kids, and there are many, this is my favourite to perform.It is so easy to turn Where the Wild Things Are into a a big, rollicking tickle fest, and I am never able to resist the urge. When those Wild Things show up with their "terrible roars" and "terrible eyes" and "terrible claws," I attack my kids with everything I've got until they are reduced to quivering masses of giggled out jelly.And Max, the King of the Wild Things, is one of the coolest kids in any kids book ever. Sure he's being too much of a "Wild Thing," which gets him sent to bed, but he's not your modern kid. There's no brattiness and entitlement. Just a cool kid getting a little crazy on fun before being sent off to bed and a great adventure in his dreams.And when he comes back from his adventure he finds his dinner waiting for him...and it's still hot.Super cool fun for you and your kids.
    more
  • SheReadsALot
    March 17, 2016
    So not my normal choice of read. But it was a me and little one book, where I read and he listens or pretends to...hopefully we can nail down the 'pretend to listen' game with the kid. (But not with me, because I'm the favorite aunt--duh.)Anyway, the story was...meh to me. I remember when I was younger and saw this book. I bypassed it then. Apparently, I was onto something because I totally would bypass it now, especially after reading. I couldn't stand Max. Why would the awesome beasts/monsters So not my normal choice of read. But it was a me and little one book, where I read and he listens or pretends to...hopefully we can nail down the 'pretend to listen' game with the kid. (But not with me, because I'm the favorite aunt--duh.)Anyway, the story was...meh to me. I remember when I was younger and saw this book. I bypassed it then. Apparently, I was onto something because I totally would bypass it now, especially after reading. I couldn't stand Max. Why would the awesome beasts/monsters be tamed by him? He didn't do anything but show up even if he's the one pulling the strings.But the pictures were nice.What did the kid think? Fucking enthralled! Seriously glued to the pages. Or it could have been the sound of my voice. *shrugs* If he could speak, he'd rate it: 10/10 would read again. So...Me: 2 starsKid: 5 starsLet's meet middle ground and average, 3.5 stars. I'll round up because...ugh...we'll be rereading.
    more
  • Hayat
    December 26, 2011
    My kids weren't so keen on this beloved children's story but I loved the illustrations, although, the story was a little bit disturbing if you pay close attention to what the little boy is doing or threatening to do. Hmmm?
  • K.D. Absolutely
    July 15, 2011
    What kind of mother will send his child to bed without dinner?Statistics say the many Filipinos go to bed with empty stomach. They just sleep so that they'll forget that they are hungry. Living in a Pacific island when I was a young boy, our family was poor too. However, my mother made sure that we ate something before going to bed. If my parents were hard up on cash because there were four of us young kids in the family and their only source of income were the coconut trees, there were times wh What kind of mother will send his child to bed without dinner?Statistics say the many Filipinos go to bed with empty stomach. They just sleep so that they'll forget that they are hungry. Living in a Pacific island when I was a young boy, our family was poor too. However, my mother made sure that we ate something before going to bed. If my parents were hard up on cash because there were four of us young kids in the family and their only source of income were the coconut trees, there were times when we had to eat rice with a couple of fresh raw eggs with pinches of salt. But as small kids, we enjoyed it as we took turns eating from the same spoon and big plate while our mother was chasing each one of us while we ran around the house trying to have fun as we felt very happy with out mother chasing us. She ran after each of us with a spoonful of rice with egg and we keep on evading her until she got angry (you could tell this by the tone of her voice). Or its decibel depending on how long it took her to complete our feeding time which meants how long would it take for her to lose her patience. She called out our names according to our age: To!... Ningcoy!... Mon!... K.D.! (joke... I am only using this alias here in GR).Chasing us. Wanting to feed us. However, this Max's mother called him "WILD THING" and Max said "I'LL EAT YOU UP" and he was sent to his room without dinner. Poor Max got hungry and started having delusions seeing forest, ocean, boat inside his bedroom then later all those scary-looking monsters with who he had a rumpus with.And many of my friends are saying her in Goodreads that this is the best children's book ever. I came from another culture probably and I did not grow up with this book (no sweet memories attached to it). However, I do appreciate the uniqueness of the story. A mischievous child turns on his imagination similar to the boy in Dr. Seuss' 1937 children's book To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street which for me is a better book on how powerful children's imagination can be. I see and got amazed too at how imaginative Sendak's drawings that are becoming bigger and bigger as you turn the pages. Regarding the appearance of the characters, my problem is that I had seen the movie before reading the book and I found the moving pictures more interesting than the still pictures. However, of course the basic plot is the same. I just don't remember regarding the absence of food as punishment and the food showing up at the end of the movie. Which I think makes more sense being more rational.Overall, it is nice to have finally read this classic work. Mo Twister of Good Times told us his listeners one morning last year that this is his favorite children's book. Mine is still Saint-Exupery's The Little Prince. Thank you, Jzhun for lending me this book. 2 stars means "It's Okay!". Please please don't let your future children go to bed hungry. It is inhumane.
    more
  • Omnya
    November 16, 2016
    شوفت الفيلم الأول معرفتش إنه كتاب إلا بعدهاوده من مساوئ إنك تشوف الفيلم الأول انا معرفتش إنه كتاب مصور برضه إفتكرته نوفيلا صُغيرة وفي حاجات بطبيعة الحال في الفيلم زيادة أو موجودة بطريقة تانية بس في العموم الاتنين أحلا من بعض في بعض الأقتباسات في الفيلم كانت جميلة والكتاب اتمنيت يكون عندي أخ صغير أو اي طفل اقرأه ليه بسبب حميميته
    more
  • Alex
    August 30, 2016
    As far as I know, "Let the wild rumpus start" is the best sentence ever written.
  • Otis Chandler
    December 27, 2006
    I didn't want to add any children's books - but this one was just too cool...Update: Saw the movie - the book was much better!
  • Ronyell
    October 27, 2009
    “Where the Wild Things Are” is Maurice Sendak’s most popular children’s book and has won the Caldecott Medal for being the most distinguished picture book of the year. Many libraries across the country have dedicated themselves to this book because of its imaginative creatures and illustrations. This book deserves the title “best children’s book” that it gained over the years.Maurice Sendak beautifully illustrates this book with pastel colors and occasional pencil scratching for the wild things’ “Where the Wild Things Are” is Maurice Sendak’s most popular children’s book and has won the Caldecott Medal for being the most distinguished picture book of the year. Many libraries across the country have dedicated themselves to this book because of its imaginative creatures and illustrations. This book deserves the title “best children’s book” that it gained over the years.Maurice Sendak beautifully illustrates this book with pastel colors and occasional pencil scratching for the wild things’ hair. The illustrations that were the true highlights of this book were of the wild things having a party in six pages of the book and of Max sailing in his private boat at night when he comes back home from where the things are. Max’s character is also highlighted in this book as he responds to what a child would face if their reality is harsh and usually most children would try to imagine a world where they can do anything they want and not get in trouble with the things they do. However, when Max realizes that the wild things do not love him as much as his mother does; he decides to face reality when he returns home from where the wild things are.Parents should know that for children who have not read “Where the Wild Things Are” might be frightened by the images of the monsters in this book. The monsters are portrayed as being half human, half animal, and half of other various creatures such as a monster on the cover of the book that has human feet and the body of a bull. These monsters may be too scary for small children as they appear to be extremely threatening towards the main character, Max, at the beginning of the book when they showed their terrible claws and teeth. However, as the book progresses, the monsters turned out to be a bit timid around Max which may lessen the fear that children would have for these monsters.“Where the Wild Things Are” is clearly a distinguished children’s book ahead of its time and has remained to be one of the best picture books of all time. Its theme about how children use imagination to occasionally escape the perils of their lives is clearly defined in this book and would help many children realize how helpful imagination can be for their lives. However, parents may want to read this book before they show it to their children and see if their children like the monsters in this book. I would strongly recommend this book for ages five and over because while the book is easy to read, the monsters may be too much for children under five to handle.This review is also on: Rabbit Ears Book BlogAlso, check out the movie!And tell me what you think!
    more
  • Miguel
    April 22, 2015
    Não costumo catalogar nem inventariar os livros infantis que leio na plataforma GoodReads. Sem cerimónia, tenho receio de ser justiçado e linchado, porque o atinente género literário é objeto de discriminação e sofre de um tratamento desigual - este preconceito e esta intolerância estão a ser gradualmente erradicados, através do significativo fomento de colóquios e conversações sobre o tema visado. Onde Vivem os Monstros não merece ser secundarizado; justamente pelo contrário, quero particula Não costumo catalogar nem inventariar os livros infantis que leio na plataforma GoodReads. Sem cerimónia, tenho receio de ser justiçado e linchado, porque o atinente género literário é objeto de discriminação e sofre de um tratamento desigual - este preconceito e esta intolerância estão a ser gradualmente erradicados, através do significativo fomento de colóquios e conversações sobre o tema visado. Onde Vivem os Monstros não merece ser secundarizado; justamente pelo contrário, quero particularizá-lo, sem referir circunstanciadamente todos os seus atributos.Com uma diagramação admirável, esta história conjuga eximiamente as propriedades do texto com a envergadura das ilustrações.Quando grita com a mãe, Max experimenta uma viagem perturbadora pelos recessos da imaginação, positivada pelas moralidades que daí granjeia – alimenta a tua própria aventura; não colapses; arrosta os teus medos; desprende-te das tuas responsabilidades e comprometimentos; não deprecies o crédito da família e dos amigos; afasta-te da realidade inexorável, tendo metas e finalidades realistas.A adaptação cinematográfica foi consumada pelo Spike Jonze - um dos génios loucos do cinema contemporâneo!
    more
  • Robin Hobb
    February 22, 2013
    We have read it until it fell apart. Then we bought another copy and read it some more."That very night, in Max's room, a forest grew."Best line ever!
  • Kathryn
    January 18, 2012
    "Where the Wild Things Are" is one of the books I remember vividly from my childhood. While I'm not sure I would call it a "favorite" (it didn't completely resonate with me as some books did, nor was it a "cozy" sort of story that I loved reading over and over), there was something utterly fascinating about it... I found the Wild Things so intriguing, I at once admired and felt ashamed of Max's behavior, I felt bad that he had to leave the Wild Things but yet happy that he went home, that his mo "Where the Wild Things Are" is one of the books I remember vividly from my childhood. While I'm not sure I would call it a "favorite" (it didn't completely resonate with me as some books did, nor was it a "cozy" sort of story that I loved reading over and over), there was something utterly fascinating about it... I found the Wild Things so intriguing, I at once admired and felt ashamed of Max's behavior, I felt bad that he had to leave the Wild Things but yet happy that he went home, that his mother forgave him and still loved him, and that his dinner was "still hot". I felt much the same reading this as an adult. But, I appreciated it in different ways, too. Some days, I think we all feel like a "Wild Thing"--some days, I wear my "wolf suit" and life seems to be havoc around me. I love that Max was able to channel his feelings in a positive way, using imagination to have a wild time with the Wild Things, yet also to calm them (his feelings), and to realize that he would rather have safety and comfort and love. The illustrations are amazing! The sparse words, paired with the illustrations, create a pitch-perfect story, compel you to turn the page, and to immerse yourself in Max's adventure. The bedroom transforms in such a wonderful way, The Wild Things are sooo memorable, Max's expressions are so telling... I just loved all of it!We read this for the Children's Book Group January theme for the Picture Book Club, "Children Going on Adventures and Exploring". Max's adventure, into his imagination and his feelings, is one that I think I will appreciate for many years to come and look forward to sharing with my future children, little "Wild Things" that they may be at times, someday.
    more
  • n* Dalal
    November 2, 2009
    I never read this book as a child; in my immigrant family, the childhood tales were of Akbar and Birbil, not Max and the Wild Things. With the movie coming out, and so much talk about it, I started feeling like maybe I was missing something. But I also felt trapped, because what I had already missed out on reading this book as a child. Reading the book now means I'll know what all of you are talking about, but the childhood memories of relating to Max just can't happen. I've missed something I'l I never read this book as a child; in my immigrant family, the childhood tales were of Akbar and Birbil, not Max and the Wild Things. With the movie coming out, and so much talk about it, I started feeling like maybe I was missing something. But I also felt trapped, because what I had already missed out on reading this book as a child. Reading the book now means I'll know what all of you are talking about, but the childhood memories of relating to Max just can't happen. I've missed something I'll always miss.So the other day I bought the book, and that night, Craig read it to me before we went to sleep. And though I'll never have the experience of reading this book as a child, I fell in love with this book in an entirely childish way.I asked Craig to read it again. That story again. Just once more.
    more
  • Ana Carolina
    September 15, 2015
    Awn this book... it subtly carries the essence of childhood.
  • Jenny
    March 9, 2015
    Εξαιρετική εικονογράφηση και μια ιστορία με μπόλικη φαντασία!Μικρό,απλό,ωραίο.
  • Franco Santos
    September 11, 2014
    Buen cuento infantil que deja una linda enseñanza. Me esperaba mucho más por las críticas que recibe, pero aun así lo disfruté. Se lee en unos minutos. Si tenés un breve tiempo libre, te recomiendo este relato ilustrado.
  • Bam
    November 29, 2016
    One of the best children's books of all time. You can be a 'wild thing' and have adventures but home is still the best place to be!
  • Havenisle
    March 24, 2008
    This is where is all started. This tore down the walls in my imagination and let me run wild with the animals!!!
  • Richard
    January 10, 2017
    This book filled me with questions. To wit:What exactly, besides terrorizing the dog, did Max do that earned him a scolding and a punishment from Mommy?How did a jungle, an ocean and a private boat appear in his room? Seems unbearably claustrophobic.If he sailed for such a long length of time, how did he survive on no supper? Did he shoot albatrosses or something?And, perhaps more importantly, how did he handle the call of nature?Did the wild things have names? How did they get there? And why wa This book filled me with questions. To wit:What exactly, besides terrorizing the dog, did Max do that earned him a scolding and a punishment from Mommy?How did a jungle, an ocean and a private boat appear in his room? Seems unbearably claustrophobic.If he sailed for such a long length of time, how did he survive on no supper? Did he shoot albatrosses or something?And, perhaps more importantly, how did he handle the call of nature?Did the wild things have names? How did they get there? And why was their behaviour so meek when clearly they could easily have overpowered the brat and eaten him?As you can see, this was a thoroughly mystifying narrative.
    more
  • orsodimondo
    July 9, 2012
    FINISCE SEMPRE COSI'Sì, per fortuna finisce sempre così. E meno male che c'è qualcuno che ce lo ricorda, aiutandosi con splendidi disegni come fa Maurice Sendak.Se qualcuno volesse far approfondire l'argomento al proprio bambino, consiglio caldamente "La Grosse colère" di Mireille d' Allancé.
    more
  • Angela
    June 26, 2011
    It's hard to believe I never read this book as a child, but it's true. I'm glad to read it as an adult, when I can fully appreciate Sendak's artwork and subtle humor. This is a children's book that truly deserves every accolade and award showered upon it. It has a home in our permanent library now, for any child that comes along to enjoy.
    more
Write a review