What Goes on Tour (The Texan Quartet #1)
What goes on tour, stays on tour … or does it?Few people know that socially awkward Adrian Hart is actually rock god Kent Downer, and that's the way Adrian likes it. His privacy is essential, especially now that he has guardianship of his orphaned, ten-year-old niece, Kate. But when the nanny quits in the middle of his tour Adrian finds himself in a bind.Until Libby Myles walks into his life.Libby has only ever wanted to become a full-time author and prove to her parents that she can make it on her own. On the surface, the temporary job as the nanny for Kent Downer's niece looks perfect—the pay is fabulous, the hours are short and Kate is a big fan—it's the rock star that's the issue.Arrogant and way too attractive for anyone's good, Kent Downer has enough swagger to power a small city. But when he's out of costume he's different—shy and uncertain. For Libby it's a far harder combination to resist. She needs to find a balance between work, writing and ignoring her attraction to the rock star, because if she falls for him, it could mean the end of her dream. But when a horrible scandal is unleashed—putting young Kate in danger—there's more heat between Libby and Adrian than just sexual attraction. Libby must figure out if Adrian ever cared for her, or if it was all just part of the show …

What Goes on Tour (The Texan Quartet #1) Details

TitleWhat Goes on Tour (The Texan Quartet #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 11th, 2014
PublisherMomentum Moonlight
ISBN1760080683
ISBN-139781760080686
Number of pages282 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Music, New Adult

What Goes on Tour (The Texan Quartet #1) Review

  • Lindsay
    February 5, 2014
    This was completely enjoyable. Once I started I just couldn’t put it down. I’m a huge sucker for rock stars so I was immediately drawn to this. I loved Adrian/Kent. And he was in a unique situation. After the death of his brother and sister-in-law, Adrian became the guardian to his 10 year old niece. And Kate was awesome. So much fun. Often times in books, kids come off as plot devices that do nothing but keep the couple apart. They are a reason why they can’t spend time together. But in this ca This was completely enjoyable. Once I started I just couldn’t put it down. I’m a huge sucker for rock stars so I was immediately drawn to this. I loved Adrian/Kent. And he was in a unique situation. After the death of his brother and sister-in-law, Adrian became the guardian to his 10 year old niece. And Kate was awesome. So much fun. Often times in books, kids come off as plot devices that do nothing but keep the couple apart. They are a reason why they can’t spend time together. But in this case Kate was what brought them together. I secretly love it when one of the main characters is an author. It’s like we get a secret behind the scenes scoop of what an author goes through to write a book. And I loved it that Libby got Kate into writing and talked her through writing her own story. My only complaint about this was that we didn’t get to see Libby actually read Kate’s story. I would have loved to see her reaction to it. Overall, this was such an enjoyable book. It drew me out of a book funk when nothing else appealed and I couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read more from this author.
    more
  • Sabrina
    July 8, 2015
    3.5 StarsAdrian Hart is a caring uncle who has guardianship over his niece, Kate. He's loving and fun and fun and goes out of his way to make sure Kate wants for nothing. Kent Downer is the complete opposite, he is the quiet rockstar that makes women's panties melt. They're the same guy, though.When Adrian's nanny quits suddenly he has to rush to find a new nanny while Kent is on tour. He finds the perfect fit in Kate's new friend, author Libby Myles. Libby and Kent met while on a talk show and 3.5 StarsAdrian Hart is a caring uncle who has guardianship over his niece, Kate. He's loving and fun and fun and goes out of his way to make sure Kate wants for nothing. Kent Downer is the complete opposite, he is the quiet rockstar that makes women's panties melt. They're the same guy, though.When Adrian's nanny quits suddenly he has to rush to find a new nanny while Kent is on tour. He finds the perfect fit in Kate's new friend, author Libby Myles. Libby and Kent met while on a talk show and she comforted him when he panicked after the lights went out. It was like fate when the two met up and again at her book signing, and Kate adored her within the first minute. Libby is struggling financially so she jumps on the opportunity of becoming Kate's nanny. She just never realized how hard it would be to keep her hands off the charming uncle/hottie rockstar.I loved this story and how sweet Adrian was with Kate and Libby. He invested everything he had in taking care of his niece and making sure that she wouldn't be hurt in the future like she was when her parent's died. He sheltered her from his life as a rockstar and and gave her anything she wanted, within reason. Which included the new, sexy, irresistible nanny. He didn't want to trust Libby or hire her but gave in for Kate's sake and it was the best decision of his life.I liked the two sides of Adrian, even though we didn't see too much of Kent. He had a troubled past but it made him try even harder to protect Kate from anything that would hurt her. Libby was great with Kate and I liked how she was so patient with Kate's writing and questions. She was pursuing her dream of writing and I loved that she wasn't giving up even when she wasn't the most successful. Adrian and Libby couldn't fight the attraction for long and it was wonderful when they finally got together. This was a great story that had some angst but nothing too over the top. I liked the characters and the sweetness of the story. It was a light read that went by pretty fast. I did want more of Libby's background because I felt like we only got glimpses, but that was my only issue. I thought it was great how this was a story about a rockstar but the celebrity part was pushed into the background and more of the focus was on the normal side of Kent.
    more
  • Desere
    January 16, 2014
    Most rock-star's faces are so well known they cannot even walk into a supermarket, they will be smothered by fans.So when the rock-star Aiden , in this read hides his real identity it is completely understandable. The privacy of course also helps since he has now become guardian to his ten year old niece, who by the way folks is as cute as a button! However he still does require a nanny to take care of ten year old Kate when he does go on tour, and in this lies his current dilemma, the nanny qui Most rock-star's faces are so well known they cannot even walk into a supermarket, they will be smothered by fans.So when the rock-star Aiden , in this read hides his real identity it is completely understandable. The privacy of course also helps since he has now become guardian to his ten year old niece, who by the way folks is as cute as a button! However he still does require a nanny to take care of ten year old Kate when he does go on tour, and in this lies his current dilemma, the nanny quits! This is where the read moves onto Libby, all she has ever wanted to be is a successful author, but with that only being a dream on the horizon she decides taking the job of nanny to Kate is seems the perfect solution out of her temporary slump, writing will still be there tomorrow.But her job does not prove to be all delightful song and dance, Aiden is one heck of a distraction and almost impossible to live with. But soon she finds herself not only in his bed but trying to understand why this arrogant man wants her in his bed and his life on a permanent basis, that just doesn't sound right at all. I really enjoyed this read, it was fun, fresh and exciting. The read did seem to start out just a little too slow like it was going to drag out and take quite a long while to get up to speed, but after a few chapters the author really got going and everything started blending very nicely.Books about rock-stars have been done before and most of them show a clear message about how we all need to remember that rock-stars are actual people and not the give the fans what they want puppets. This read was no different, however the author brought the message home with much more intensity, I could actually pick up on just how much emotion the author put into this book. There was also the added message of when someone loves you they do so unconditionally, they accept you for who you are simply because they love you and cannot live with you, do not question it, just go with it. Very heartfelt read, I recommend this read for anyone who enjoys romance reads set against a musical backdrop.4.5 star review " She just got front row seats to the tour of love"
    more
  • namericanwordcat
    March 5, 2017
    This book made me a bit batty I loved the idea of a stage persona for the hero and a shy off stage persona. The hero is great uncle and the kid is great. The heroine is pretty wonderful in personality too. Her writing life is engaging. Then, everything else is fairly lame. The lack of security made me nuts. The lack of complexity in the other characters and meanness was not enjoyable. The sudden I am going to have a 3 week affair didn't feel in tone. And the lack of communication about events as This book made me a bit batty I loved the idea of a stage persona for the hero and a shy off stage persona. The hero is great uncle and the kid is great. The heroine is pretty wonderful in personality too. Her writing life is engaging. Then, everything else is fairly lame. The lack of security made me nuts. The lack of complexity in the other characters and meanness was not enjoyable. The sudden I am going to have a 3 week affair didn't feel in tone. And the lack of communication about events as well as the heroine's deep scarring from one love event in the past. So, yeah, Not bad but not good for me.
    more
  • Give Me Books
    April 16, 2015
    A rock star and the nanny... How could I say no? I couldn't. I didn't! And I am quite pleased about that, because I might have missed this sweet little gem otherwise. Adrian Hart values his privacy. Shy, quiet and a little anxious, it's only when he's in costume as his alter-ego, superstar Kent Downer, that he has the rock star swagger his fans know and love. But Adrian isn't just a rock god; he's also uncle and guardian to his 10 year old niece, Kate. When her nanny leaves unexpectedly, he need A rock star and the nanny... How could I say no? I couldn't. I didn't! And I am quite pleased about that, because I might have missed this sweet little gem otherwise. Adrian Hart values his privacy. Shy, quiet and a little anxious, it's only when he's in costume as his alter-ego, superstar Kent Downer, that he has the rock star swagger his fans know and love. But Adrian isn't just a rock god; he's also uncle and guardian to his 10 year old niece, Kate. When her nanny leaves unexpectedly, he needs to find someone he can trust, fast... That someone is Libby Myles. All she wants is to be a full-time writer. With flexible hours allowing her time to write, and excellent pay solving her financial woes, the job is ideal for Libby. Except scandal comes looking for Kent and Kate, putting all three of them in jeopardy. Can the attraction between Libby and her employer survive the fallout, or will Libby be left licking her wounds?What Goes on Tour was a very fun, very easy-to-read book. It ebbed along nicely, a total page-turner, and was a little different to what I am used to. There is no crazy, dirty sex here. Oh, don't get me wrong, the chemistry between Adrian and Libby is noticeably steamy, but this one is definitely cleaner than most. Claire Boston does an excellent job of tastefully and sweetly bringing these two characters together.She also excels clearly delineating between Libby's attraction to Adrian and her (almost) distain for Kent. It's almost like they're two different people, and that's something a little different. I loved that Adrian wasn't all growly-Alpha-prick rock star without his Kent costume, instead just a normal guy trying to be the best father figure he could be in unique and somewhat heart-breaking circumstances. I would call What Goes on Tour a nice book. The characters were friendly. The story was gentle, relatively simple and very interesting. The writing was great. While I wasn't floored by it in a I-must-have-more-right-now-because-this-is-the-best-book-ever way, I found myself very invested in what happened to Libby, Adrian and Kate. And I was left with a smile on my face when all was said and done, because saying yes this rock star/nanny novel really was an excellent idea. ~ Beth, 4 stars
    more
  • Katie(babs)
    January 30, 2014
    I had big issues with this one. The set up is interesting with having an American rock star on tour in Australia, who's the loving uncle and guardian to his 10 year old niece, Kate after her parents (rock star hero's brother) die in a car crash. Adrian, who is Kent the rock star needs a new nanny for his niece because the nanny hit on him. Adrian isn't down with that, and after meeting up and coming children's author (or maybe teen author, that part is confusing)Libby, who is near broke even tho I had big issues with this one. The set up is interesting with having an American rock star on tour in Australia, who's the loving uncle and guardian to his 10 year old niece, Kate after her parents (rock star hero's brother) die in a car crash. Adrian, who is Kent the rock star needs a new nanny for his niece because the nanny hit on him. Adrian isn't down with that, and after meeting up and coming children's author (or maybe teen author, that part is confusing)Libby, who is near broke even though she has success in her writing, on a talk show (He rubs her the wrong way but the bond when the lights go out and she calms him down because of his fear of the dark), he asks her to be his niece's nanny. Libby accepts because she needs the money and thinks Adrian's niece is adorable, plus she's attracted to Adrian.So Adrian, Libby and Kate become a great unit, but Adrian is always wondering if Libby is using him for the money or her meal ticket where she can get top secret information about Adrian and report it to the tabloids. Adrian has trust issues and can't have anything more permanent with Libby because he lives in Houston, TX and Libby lives in Australia.What Goes on Tour reads like a Harlequin category romance. The sensuality factor is subtle here (love scenes are fade to dark). The writing has a lot to be desired though. Adrian has his moments where his southern drawl comes out, which is stated in dialogue tags or when he says "ma'am" but it comes and go and he ends up speaking more like Libby. Kate doesn't act like a typical 10 year most of the time either. What 10 year old American girl says, "I'm going to take a rest"? Also Adrian is this big rock star but he doesn't have an entourage to speak of, other than his manager of 20 years. Libby is very wishy washy and more of a downer and someone I couldn't figure out. There's a lot of "oh woes me" from her and her past is glossed over and not deep enough.Because of the weak writing that needs better editing, and the fact the American characters don't speak or act American, along with a last minute attempt for drama that puts Adrian in a bad light, What Goes on Tour is more of the lacking rock star romances published.Overall a mundane read.
    more
  • Melanie
    April 18, 2014
    I liked this book! It takes place in Australia. Libby is an author and meets Kent Downer when they're both guests on a talk show. Kent is an American rock star and has no personality when they're in the Green Room but turns on the charm when he's in front of an audience. Something happens during the talk show which reveals one of Kent's fears and Libby helps him get through it.Then we get to know Kent as Adrian Hart who is shy and sweet and takes care of his niece, Kate, since her parents were k I liked this book! It takes place in Australia. Libby is an author and meets Kent Downer when they're both guests on a talk show. Kent is an American rock star and has no personality when they're in the Green Room but turns on the charm when he's in front of an audience. Something happens during the talk show which reveals one of Kent's fears and Libby helps him get through it.Then we get to know Kent as Adrian Hart who is shy and sweet and takes care of his niece, Kate, since her parents were killed in an accident. Her nanny, Emily, propositions Adrian and quits in a huff when he rejects her so he needs to find a new nanny fast. Libby is able to fill in and, since Kate is already a huge fan of her books, they become fast friends. Libby and Adrian are attracted to each other, but he and Kate will be returning to America soon so what they have is only temporary. Or is it?I liked Libby and thought she and Kate had some great scenes together. She's an author so it was fun to read about that aspect of her life. I also liked how her relationship with Adrian/Kent progressed. It was gradual and took time to develop, especially since they each started out not being impressed with the other one. Adrian's biggest rule was his privacy and when the scandal occurred, he made some rash judgments which affected his relationship with Libby. I was hoping she would fight back more but it made for more drama that she didn't.The plot was more complex than I originally thought it would be and I enjoyed it. There were some twists and turns and I knew how I wanted it to end, but wasn't sure if it would turn in that direction. This book is close to being clean but has a couple of short scenes that might go beyond some people's comfort levels. If you enjoy contemporary rock 'n roll adult romance, this is the book for you!Content: Mild language and a couple of short scenes which has some description of intimacy but nothing too graphic.Mel's Shelves
    more
  • Jackie
    March 3, 2016
    I have been on a kick lately reading contemporary romances and it just so happens this one ticked off 2 faves of mine in the genre, a rocker hero who is from Texas.Kent Downer AKA Adrian Hart or vice versa is one of those talented people whose actual persona could not for the life of him get up on stage and make an audience eat out of the palm of his hand. However once Adrian dons the makeup and clothing changing himself into Kent the rock star emerges allowing the introverted shy man to channel I have been on a kick lately reading contemporary romances and it just so happens this one ticked off 2 faves of mine in the genre, a rocker hero who is from Texas.Kent Downer AKA Adrian Hart or vice versa is one of those talented people whose actual persona could not for the life of him get up on stage and make an audience eat out of the palm of his hand. However once Adrian dons the makeup and clothing changing himself into Kent the rock star emerges allowing the introverted shy man to channel the cocksure attitude necessary for him to sing on stage to a huge crowd of strangers and in doing so make them his for the duration of his performance.This was one of those impulse reads that came about when it caught my eye when free on Amazon, being a lifelong Texan love to read about people or places based on the state as they always resonate with me easily.Not much Texas in the book, Adrian's drawl, a mention here and there of Houston where he lives when not on tour and that seemed to be the sum total.I liked Adrian until he decided that Libby had done something she did not, never gave her the chance to defend herself against his suspicions and in an act of haste cut her loose.Libby was sweet, kind, smart, talented and a complete pushover.Glad she finally allowed her anger to overcome her tendency to avoid standing up for herself and happy that in the end she and Adrian worked things out.Kate Hart was a total 10-year-old with an infectious bubbly personality and a finely honed sense of right and wrong. Reading her scenes filled with her enthusiasm for adventure and heartache from her nightmares made her even more lovable as a character.In most cases of rocker romances there is all out graphic scenes of bedroom antics, in this one sex was mentioned but not described and the slow boil relationship was a nice change of pace.
    more
  • Kellie Maddox-Ward
    April 6, 2014
    Claire Boston has literally smashed it out of the park on her debut novel. I saw the cover and thought HOTI read the description and went hmm I’ll give it a go. I’m sooooo glad I did. I for one gladly put my hand up as a groupie. Give me a bad boy rockstar and I’m putty in his hands. This book was not like that. And you know what? I liked it so much better for it. Adrian Hart is shy, awkward and afraid of the dark. His Alter Ego Kent Downer is everything he is not. And everything he needs to be Claire Boston has literally smashed it out of the park on her debut novel. I saw the cover and thought HOTI read the description and went hmm I’ll give it a go. I’m sooooo glad I did. I for one gladly put my hand up as a groupie. Give me a bad boy rockstar and I’m putty in his hands. This book was not like that. And you know what? I liked it so much better for it. Adrian Hart is shy, awkward and afraid of the dark. His Alter Ego Kent Downer is everything he is not. And everything he needs to be to go on stage every night and become a rock god! As soon as he is home though, the make up comes off, the clothes change and he is just “Uncle Ade” to his beautiful 10 yr old niece, Kate. Kate’s parents died a few years ago in a car accident and Adrian has guardianship of her. She is on tour with him and his best friend/manager George. The Nanny on tour with them leaves leaving them stuck. Enter broke Author Libby Myles. She meets Kent at a TV Station and helps him when the lights black out. The next day she meets Adrian and Kate at her book signing. Kate is a huge fan! They end up at coffee and well things just go from there. Yes there is chemistry but no they do not just jump into bed together. Remember Adrian is socially awkward? Anyway! Everything they do is for Kate. But when someone threatens to take Kate away from Adrian things start to turn sour. Adrians past comes back to haunt him and he starts to blame and push Libby away. I won’t say much more than that about what happens but I will let you know we get a HEA. And it is pretty sweet! So all in all I liked this book. A different take on the rockstar life.
    more
  • Nathaly Alvarez Jimenez
    May 19, 2014
    What Goes on Tour nos cuenta la historia de Adrian Hart, socialmente incomodo quien es actualmente la estrella de rock Kevin Downer. Adrian le gusta su privacidad, por eso mantiene a su alter ego separados lo mas posible del otro. Y tambien para proteger a su sobrina Katie. Pero cuando la niñera de su sobrina lo abandona en mitad del tour, Adrian no tiene ni idea como resolverá esto. Entonces Libby Myles entra en su vida, y se ofrece para el trabajo, Kate la adora y parece adecuada ¿que impide a What Goes on Tour nos cuenta la historia de Adrian Hart, socialmente incomodo quien es actualmente la estrella de rock Kevin Downer. Adrian le gusta su privacidad, por eso mantiene a su alter ego separados lo mas posible del otro. Y tambien para proteger a su sobrina Katie. Pero cuando la niñera de su sobrina lo abandona en mitad del tour, Adrian no tiene ni idea como resolverá esto. Entonces Libby Myles entra en su vida, y se ofrece para el trabajo, Kate la adora y parece adecuada ¿que impide a Adrian contratar a Libby? ¿La atracción que siente hacia ella? Primero vamos a decir que los protagonistas son insoportables, la trama es cliché y la sinopsis promete una estrella de rock arrogante en tour y no nos da nada de eso. Estoy decepcionada porque esperaba una autora valiente e interesante que conoce a un arrogante cantante con un pasado oscuro y un alter ego bastante tranquilo, pero no. Nos dieron a la débil patética Libby y al tímido desconfiado Adrian, así que se pueden imaginar mi disgusto mientras leía. Lo único que se salva de esta historia es el personaje de Kate, porque es adorable y siempre esta ahí alegrando cada vez que Adrian o Libby arruinan algo.
    more
  • Kristiej
    February 14, 2016
    I was kind of disappointed with this book. It started out great and if it had stayed the way it started I would have rated it much higher. I love the idea of the hero in essence being two different people, the rock god he plays on stage and then the shy rather awkward person he is in real life. But alas, the book went downhill after the good beginning. I didn't really care for the heroine. I found Libby to be a bit bland and quite a bit of a doormat. And Katie, the niece didn't act like a 10 yea I was kind of disappointed with this book. It started out great and if it had stayed the way it started I would have rated it much higher. I love the idea of the hero in essence being two different people, the rock god he plays on stage and then the shy rather awkward person he is in real life. But alas, the book went downhill after the good beginning. I didn't really care for the heroine. I found Libby to be a bit bland and quite a bit of a doormat. And Katie, the niece didn't act like a 10 year old in any stretch of the imagination.And I'm afraid Adrian worked his way down my hero list when there was a misunderstanding and rather than wait for an explanation, he treated Libby like crap. In fact I didn't find he treated her all the great all the way through the book. He just seemed to use her when he needed her 'nanny' services and then ignored her when he didn't.While other may enjoy this book, sadly for me, not so much
    more
  • Helen
    January 26, 2014
    This is a great story it had me from the start and I just fell into it. Libby Myles is an author and wants to write full time and Adrian Hart is an American rock star singing under the name of Kent Downer and they meet on a TV talk show but Adrian has had a dreadful childhood and is very shy he also has custody of his 10 year old niece Kate who he has bought on tour to Australia, Libby helps him through a problem during the show but she leaves before he gets a chance to thank her so when Kate wa This is a great story it had me from the start and I just fell into it. Libby Myles is an author and wants to write full time and Adrian Hart is an American rock star singing under the name of Kent Downer and they meet on a TV talk show but Adrian has had a dreadful childhood and is very shy he also has custody of his 10 year old niece Kate who he has bought on tour to Australia, Libby helps him through a problem during the show but she leaves before he gets a chance to thank her so when Kate wants to meet Libby they turn up at a book signing Libby has and Kate and Libby hit it off. And when Kate's Nanny leaves Libby steps in to help but a scandal erupts and the sexual pull between Adrian and Libby gets stronger.This is an emotional sensual story and I loved it I highly recommend this one you won't want to put it down. The characters add so much to the story and it shows what a good love can do :)
    more
  • Karen
    August 14, 2015
    Cover & title images of the rock & roll life, right... ah not in this one, a neurotic rock star, an unloved struggling writer & child dealing with grief, mistrust drawing courage from a character she's developing.While interesting I felt for the most part emotionally detected from the characters.
    more
  • (Tori-Smexybooks) smexys_sidekick
    February 7, 2014
    Originally posted at http://smexybooks.com/2014/02/review-...Adrian Hart aka Kent Downer, is a Texas born and bred rock star whose social phobia and an abusive childhood forced him to adopt a different personality for the stage. This personality is suave, sexy, and confident in all the ways Adrian is not. Touring in Australia, Adrian finds himself in a bind when his niece’s nanny comes on to him and then quits when he refuses to sleep with her. Enter Libby Miles.Libby Miles, a semi famous youth Originally posted at http://smexybooks.com/2014/02/review-...Adrian Hart aka Kent Downer, is a Texas born and bred rock star whose social phobia and an abusive childhood forced him to adopt a different personality for the stage. This personality is suave, sexy, and confident in all the ways Adrian is not. Touring in Australia, Adrian finds himself in a bind when his niece’s nanny comes on to him and then quits when he refuses to sleep with her. Enter Libby Miles.Libby Miles, a semi famous youth author, first meets Adrian when they are scheduled on the same talk show. Adrian’s fears manifest during the show and Libby helps him stay grounded. They meet again at a bookstore signing and a friendship develops between Libby and Adrian’s niece, Kate. Circumstances a line and Libby becomes Kate’s nanny while Adrian finishes up his tour.Libby and Adrian fight their attraction to one another, citing employer/employee conflicts but soon decide to give into fate and indulge in one another until the tour ends. When a scandal breaks, blowing open all of Adrian’s closely guarded secrets, Libby finds herself on the outside looking in. Can Adrian see past his mistrust or will he push Libby and her love out of his life?What Goes On Tour is a mild romance contemporary about a socially awkward rock star and a semi popular youth author. The book has a strong Mills & Boons feel to it with decent if not heavily developed characters and a simplistic storyline. Predictable from the first page, the story has most of the necessary aspects to ensure you are casually entertained to the very end. While the story had a nice flow and is well written, it wasn’t an explosive romance that elicits reactions across the emotional spectrum. It’s…nice. Nice characters, nice situations, nice off scene sexual relationship. Slow to start, it isn’t until the last quarter that we see the author dig a little deeper into her characterization and storyline to give us the drama I wished we had seen throughout the entire book.The story is riddled with benign day to day scenes that don’t allow for the reader to connect to the protagonists past an entry level. The connection is told to us but not shown. The progression to love wasn’t fully explored on paper and left me feeling ambivalent. Adrian and Libby are interesting in their own rights but spend too much time second guessing themselves and each other. I did enjoy the time spent on the mechanics behind Libby’s writing career and the explanations behind Adrian/Kent metamorphosis. Both have trust issues but Adrian’s childhood and fame causes him to lay a lot of his issues at Libby’s feet. She is guilty until proven innocent. There is a faint “woe is me” attitude that permeates the story, leaving you feeling slightly sorry for the couple but also wanting them to take charge of their lives and stop being so complacent. The romance is so subtle, you aren’t really sure there is one until you see them in bed together. Sex scenes are off scene.Secondary characters add to the story but take from the romance. Kate, Adrian’s niece, is an exuberant child whose voice is too reminiscent of the adult writing her. The fact she holds so much power is determining if Adrian and Libby will even have a relationship was disconcerting. George, Adrian’s manager, holds Adrian’s ear and career in the palm of his hand but seems to drop the ball a lot when the scandal rears it’s ugly head.The ending wraps everything up and gives the readers what they wanted-a happily ever after. While I’m sure many will love this simplistic low key romance, I’m afraid I needed more oomph for my buck.Rating: C
    more
  • Stacy Sabala
    June 11, 2014
    Book Review- What Goes on Tour by Claire BostonLibby is an author and promoting her latest book. She meets Kent, the world famous American rock star on a talk show. It didn’t go well and is surprised to see him as his normal self, Adrian, when he brings his niece to her book signing. She gets invited by his niece, Kate, to the concert that night. Libby is excited to see the behind the scenes of a concert. That night Kate begs Libby for her help in writing a book. Libby, of course, agrees which l Book Review- What Goes on Tour by Claire BostonLibby is an author and promoting her latest book. She meets Kent, the world famous American rock star on a talk show. It didn’t go well and is surprised to see him as his normal self, Adrian, when he brings his niece to her book signing. She gets invited by his niece, Kate, to the concert that night. Libby is excited to see the behind the scenes of a concert. That night Kate begs Libby for her help in writing a book. Libby, of course, agrees which leads to a job as Kate’s nanny. Libby is excited to have the job that allows her to write and hang out with Kate. Her only hesitation is Adrian. Libby is attracted to Adrian but she wants to be professional and can’t let her feelings go anywhere, besides he has made it clear that she will only be with them for the rest of the tour.Adrian is also drawn to Libby but his top priority is Kate. When they give in and start growing closer, a person from his past goes to the media. His tour erupts into a media circus with all sorts of negative press. Kate becomes his focus and his trust in Libby is shaken. Their lives blow up with the promise of never being the same.This book was a great read. The characters had a lot of depth. The storyline focused more on the characters during the rock tour instead of the rock tour itself. In fact the concerts were only mentioned really in passing except for that very first one. The storyline centered on what happened in the time around the concerts. The characters were normal people with their own issues. I liked how the reader saw them in the behind the scenes setting instead of in your face rock star fame. The author did a unique job of writing around most of Adrian’s fame as Kent. I really liked that aspect of the story. The point of interest was different from most rock star stories that concentrate on the fame. I give it a 4 out of 5.
    more
  • Tracy
    February 6, 2014
    This was a cute story. I say a solid 3-3.5 stars for me. I enjoyed reading it. It's a perfect "put you in a good mood book." This was not a hot and steamy rocker book; the physical relationship is implied, but not detailed in this story.Adrian (the shy guy) / Kent (the make-up covered arrogant rocker) has taken on the responsibility of guardian of his niece after her parents died in a car crash. Libby, the children's author, is broke and finds the perfect opportunity to earn some good money whil This was a cute story. I say a solid 3-3.5 stars for me. I enjoyed reading it. It's a perfect "put you in a good mood book." This was not a hot and steamy rocker book; the physical relationship is implied, but not detailed in this story.Adrian (the shy guy) / Kent (the make-up covered arrogant rocker) has taken on the responsibility of guardian of his niece after her parents died in a car crash. Libby, the children's author, is broke and finds the perfect opportunity to earn some good money while still able to write her story by being a nanny for Adrian. A very slow relationship starts between these characters. Both wanting to make sure they were doing what's best for Kate.This is a very light read, most "issues" that arise are anticlimactic and quickly solved. Each character has their own personalities, although some were not so realistic and definitely not stereotypical. Our rocker was not a parting womanizer. He was a Texas boy, although some of the dialogue was not very "Texan" or American for that matter; I had to take a double take on some of the wording but it didn't take away from the story. Libby was cute, although one broken heart made her put up her guard. I never really got a feel for why her heart was broken in the first place, never heard anything about the ex that should have made her fall in love in the first place.I liked the story and found it a nice change from the hardcore bad boy rocker novels that are out. *ARC copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • ***Cheryl***
    January 31, 2014
    This isn’t your typical bad boy rock star romance read that I expected it be but what I got was a rock star who was portrayed as real man who is a family man first and foremost. The book is about Libby who is young adult author and Kent/Adrian who is rock star by night and guardian to his 10 year old niece by day. When Libby and Kent first meet on a TV show there is an instant connect between them. The pair later run in to each other again when Adrian takes Kate (his niece) to a book signing Lib This isn’t your typical bad boy rock star romance read that I expected it be but what I got was a rock star who was portrayed as real man who is a family man first and foremost. The book is about Libby who is young adult author and Kent/Adrian who is rock star by night and guardian to his 10 year old niece by day. When Libby and Kent first meet on a TV show there is an instant connect between them. The pair later run in to each other again when Adrian takes Kate (his niece) to a book signing Libby is holding. Libby quickly finds herself becoming friends with both Adrian and Kate and when Adrian is in need of nanny to look after Kate, Libby offers to help out as she needs the money.This was a very quick paced read and there was lots and twists in the story that keep you hooked throughout. I love both Libby and Adrian’s characters. Adrian has been through a lot and it great to see the way he cares for Kate. He always puts her first and being the rock star second. It was also good to get an insight into life of an author through Libby’s eyes. I thought this book very refreshing read with a great original plot that made a change from your bad boy rock star romance read. The book is very well written and flows really well. This is a standalone book with HEA.Overall an enjoyable, light-hearted romance read. I received a copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Christine
    February 23, 2014
    I was really excited to read this one, but it was not what I hoped it would be. I really liked Libby. I did not like Adrian. I really hoped and thought that his “attitude” would change but after 55%, but it did not. He was not likable. Adrian hires Libby as the nanny for Kate. Libby thinks it is the perfect job since it will give her extra money and also the time to write her book. The story is very simple. Libby is sweet and kind and at first I thought Adrian would be perfect for her too since I was really excited to read this one, but it was not what I hoped it would be. I really liked Libby. I did not like Adrian. I really hoped and thought that his “attitude” would change but after 55%, but it did not. He was not likable. Adrian hires Libby as the nanny for Kate. Libby thinks it is the perfect job since it will give her extra money and also the time to write her book. The story is very simple. Libby is sweet and kind and at first I thought Adrian would be perfect for her too since he is also quiet and shy when he is not playing “Kent, the rock star.” However, after a while I discovered Adrian, in my opinion, is just not a nice person. I did not like how he always thought the worst of Libby no matter how many times she proved herself to him. I felt like she was always being tested. I was hoping after a while, after she proved herself time and time again that he would believe her even after those false reports came out. However, it did not make a difference. Therefore, it was hard for me to feel connected to them as a couple. The premise of the story was interesting, but I think the whole story could have been executed better. The romance felt forced. I think Libby deserved better. The relationship did not feel right. A copy was provided by Momentum Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mary-Lynn
    February 23, 2014
    What a nice story - and not your typical rockstar romance - as the hero's not tattoed, nor does he jump from groupie to groupie or abuse drugs or alcohol. This rocker - Texan Kent Downer - has an alter ego in shy, mild-mannered Adrian Hart who keeps his off-stage persona a secret to protect himself and his 10-yr old niece Kate.While on tour in Australia things go south with Kate's current nanny, leaving Adrian & his mgr/bff George in a bind. Enter Libby Myles, a children's book author promot What a nice story - and not your typical rockstar romance - as the hero's not tattoed, nor does he jump from groupie to groupie or abuse drugs or alcohol. This rocker - Texan Kent Downer - has an alter ego in shy, mild-mannered Adrian Hart who keeps his off-stage persona a secret to protect himself and his 10-yr old niece Kate.While on tour in Australia things go south with Kate's current nanny, leaving Adrian & his mgr/bff George in a bind. Enter Libby Myles, a children's book author promoting her latest. Currently strapped for cash as a struggling writer she takes on the temporary position of nanny to Kate during the tour which would also allow her time for her writing.But then it all hits the fan when the former nanny makes public accusations that expose Adrian and consequently Kate.Well written & edited, with great characters - especially the feisty matchmaker Kate. This is not a swoony steam-filled romance but rather an endearing tale of an atypical rockstar who overcame his abusive childhood - and his adorable, capricious niece who lost her parents in a tragic accident - and the road they take to become a true family. *4 Stars*
    more
  • Heather in FL
    April 8, 2015
    The premise to this one was interesting. Rock star and author are both guests on a talk show. The lights go out, and the author recognizes that the rock star is having a panic attack, and she's able to help ground him, without making the panic attack known, until the lights come back on. She leaves before he can thank her. He leads a double life. His stage persona is confident and outgoing, but his off-stage persona is a shy uncle with sole custody of his 10-year-old niece. I'm not sure how simp The premise to this one was interesting. Rock star and author are both guests on a talk show. The lights go out, and the author recognizes that the rock star is having a panic attack, and she's able to help ground him, without making the panic attack known, until the lights come back on. She leaves before he can thank her. He leads a double life. His stage persona is confident and outgoing, but his off-stage persona is a shy uncle with sole custody of his 10-year-old niece. I'm not sure how simply makeup can make him look so different that he can walk around and not be recognized, but OK. This is fiction. Anyway, it turns out that Kent/Adrian's niece loves Libby's books, so he finds her signing the next day so they can meet and he can thank her. And somehow, she becomes the niece's nanny for the two weeks they'll be in Australia before returning home to Texas. As much as they try to keep things platonic, there's chemistry between Adrian and Libby, and they have fade-to-black sex. And when things get complicated, Adrian jumps to some major conclusions and things get rocky. It ends in an HEA and doesn't take a super long time to get there, but it's sweet.
    more
  • Carrie Stevens
    February 3, 2014
    ~*~My Thoughts~*~A 4.5 Star Romance I was so glad i requested this book of NetGalley. It's awesome!! Definitely not your typical rock star story and that was refreshing. The characters in the book were great Libby was an awesome character who awesomely didn't have anything i couldn't stand about her. Adrian was awesome he was such a shy little nerd that it was endearing lol. And i have to say Kate was probably my favorite character i adored her she was such a great character. Okay now the reason ~*~My Thoughts~*~A 4.5 Star Romance I was so glad i requested this book of NetGalley. It's awesome!! Definitely not your typical rock star story and that was refreshing. The characters in the book were great Libby was an awesome character who awesomely didn't have anything i couldn't stand about her. Adrian was awesome he was such a shy little nerd that it was endearing lol. And i have to say Kate was probably my favorite character i adored her she was such a great character. Okay now the reason this wasn't a 5 star read is because I wanted more romance between Libby and Adrian. To me it seemed like it took forever for us to get there. Now not saying i didn't enjoy the forever lol the book was definitely interesting enough to keep me reading to get to the romance. All in all a great read and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Kimberly
    February 3, 2014
    Review featured on www.books-n-kisses.comI really enjoyed this book. It’s story is different than what I imagined it would be from the synopsis. The characters are very well formed and enjoyable to read about. The different sides of Adrian/Kent were interesting but the side of Adrian is the one that the reader will fall for. He is sweet and shy and yet has a heart of gold. Libby has a maternal side that is so adorable. She has also been hurt before so she is a little gun-shy. Kate is a great cha Review featured on www.books-n-kisses.comI really enjoyed this book. It’s story is different than what I imagined it would be from the synopsis. The characters are very well formed and enjoyable to read about. The different sides of Adrian/Kent were interesting but the side of Adrian is the one that the reader will fall for. He is sweet and shy and yet has a heart of gold. Libby has a maternal side that is so adorable. She has also been hurt before so she is a little gun-shy. Kate is a great character too (even though she is written as much holder than 10) she steals every scene she is in. I look forward to more stories by this author. Maybe a second in the series about George? Disclaimer:I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim Person
    February 24, 2014
    A sweet fast read for me! Different than your typical rocker reads and if you know me if it's about rock stars i.e. music than I've got the book! Very well written and held my interest from the get go!
  • Nicki Edwards
    July 11, 2014
    Fabulous book by debut author Claire Boston. I was interested to read a book published by Momentum and I must say I'm super impressed with the quality of this book! Well done Claire on a terrific romance.
  • Eli Diago
    March 26, 2016
    3.5 estrellas
  • Vani
    July 24, 2014
    Bastante bueno para pasar el rato ^^
  • Liz
    February 11, 2014
    It was ok.. I did finish the whole book. Not enough steam for me at all.
  • Itara ~*My Midnight Fantasies*~
    February 23, 2014
    "Didn't your mama ever teach you not to stare?"These were the first words Kent asked Natasha & yeah she was staring, so would I if I had a rock star sitting in the same couch as me. "You don't need to worry," the girl told her uncle. "You're stuck with me forever. Someone has to take care of you.""I'm so glad," Adrian said."Yep. We're gonna show them we're meant to be together."'His heart swelled and he relaxed further. Amazed him how much joy Kate brought into his life, just by being a kid. "Didn't your mama ever teach you not to stare?"These were the first words Kent asked Natasha & yeah she was staring, so would I if I had a rock star sitting in the same couch as me. "You don't need to worry," the girl told her uncle. "You're stuck with me forever. Someone has to take care of you.""I'm so glad," Adrian said."Yep. We're gonna show them we're meant to be together."'His heart swelled and he relaxed further. Amazed him how much joy Kate brought into his life, just by being a kid. She made every moment exciting, made you see it from her perspective, and it included him in a childhood he'd never had.''As if on cue, Adrian's song came on the radio.But he's wrong. He shouldn't be yearning to feel, to be hurt. The absence of felling was so much better than feeling too much. Loving people who didn't love you was the worse pain of all.'I really loved this story! I loved Adrian with his double persona, witty comments, rude at times but he's a Rock God so who cares it's expected. I loved him both as Adrian and as Kent. Adrian was so sweet, sensitive and hurt because of his childhood, so he looked at the world differently than everyone else. He was shy and quiet, so he decided to become Kent, as him he could come out of his shell, do and say things he wouldn't normally. I really enjoyed his relationship with Kate his niece; he wanted what was best for her and tried as best as he could to protect her from the craziness of his career but some things are inevitable. He was so caring and patient with her that you'd think it was his own daughter, he was always there for her when she needed comfort. I also loved the fact that Natasha was a writer, she had a few books out and was writing the whole span of the book. I got a peak at what going on from an author's point of view from deadlines to tours signings, it was all very interesting to me. I like knowing the process of how books are made and where ideas come from, it's something I always ask authors. Natasha and Adrian tried so hard to not get involved, and then to not have feelings for each other after they got involved, it was just ridiculous to me because I would have fallen in love with him. He cared so much for Kate that seeing that would make you fall for him so quick. He was a sensitive guy who was broken and insecure, who knew he would make a great father one day. It was so easy to fall for him. I knew it was only a matter of time for him to fall for her as well, how she was there for him when he needed her, how understanding she was, how encouraging she was towards him, and when he would second guess himself about decisions regarding Kate she was always supportive. Uh yep, they were meant to be together. I also liked George, Adrian's best friend/bodyguard/manager. He played many roles and always helped Adrian through everything. His family was such a blessing for Adrian, I'm so glad they were there, I just wish he didn't have the childhood he had, it was really sad to read and at times I would have to stop myself and debate on continuing to read. It was intense for me and hard to read. But it all turned out good, I got the happily ending I always look forward to in every book. Everything came together in the end really well. Claire's writing was smooth and calming, in a way that you forget that you're reading cause you're so deep in the story. It all flowed nicely to great ending.
    more
  • Broadway Girl Book Reviews (Beth Lattanzi)
    April 16, 2014
    First let me start by saying this isn’t your typical rock star romance novel. It isn’t full of sex and drugs but has a deeper value of family and loyalty. When you are a famous rock star is it possible to separate the ‘rock star’ life from your personal life??? Most of us would probably answer no because paparazzi are everywhere just waiting for a chance to catch a photo of a star while they are living their everyday lives. Rock god, Kent Downer struggles with keeping his personal life as Adrian First let me start by saying this isn’t your typical rock star romance novel. It isn’t full of sex and drugs but has a deeper value of family and loyalty. When you are a famous rock star is it possible to separate the ‘rock star’ life from your personal life??? Most of us would probably answer no because paparazzi are everywhere just waiting for a chance to catch a photo of a star while they are living their everyday lives. Rock god, Kent Downer struggles with keeping his personal life as Adrian Hart a secret and it isn’t for his own purposes but to keep his ten year old niece safe. He has guardianship of Kate and takes her with him on tour but she stays behind at the hotel with the nanny. What happens though when your nanny quits?? Thankfully for Adrian there is a struggling author available willing to take on the role of Kate’s nanny. Libby Myles comes in and saves the day and suggests that she be Kate’s new nanny. The connection between Kate and Adrian is heart-warming. While reading you can tell how much Adrian truly cares for Kate and puts her needs first. She definitely has her uncle twisted around her finger. There is a bond there that no one can come close to touching. But, Adrian isn’t like that with everyone. His past haunts him and he lets it rule him to an extent and is unable to get close to anyone else. The connection between Libby and Kate is instant. Kate has read and loved Libby’s books and Kate soon develops a passion for writing like Libby. It is sweet how they interact and Libby helps Kate plan out her book. My heart warmed to their relationship as it unfolded throughout the book. They had their ups and downs but Libby and Kate had a special bond. Libby had a way of communicating with Kate and talking on her level. I must admit I was pulling for a relationship between Libby and Adrian from the very beginning. I didn’t want her to fall for the ‘Kent’ version of Adrian but for who he really was. He was shy and very secretive about his life but there was a pull towards Libby that Adrian felt. I wanted to encourage their relationship even though it might complicate things with Libby being the nanny. You could tell Libby loved Kate as if she were her own. You knew Adrian loved Kate so why couldn’t they all just be a happy family. Eventually the ‘personal life’ and ‘rock star life’ worlds collide. I knew that had to happen to bring a big finish and I knew who the sneak was. I didn’t expect a person from Adrian’s pass though to come out in the spotlight the way they did though. I was hoping that the past would just leave him alone. I felt that the relationship aspect at the end of the book was a little rushed. It happened all too fast for me to have believed everything. If it would have been just a relationship that was one thing but for it to go as far as it did… it made it feel over the top (trying to keep it as spoiler free as possible). Other than that, I thought the ending was great! I would have liked a little more from Libby’s parents…possibly an acceptance of her writing ability or something.
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    February 10, 2014
    Slick‘s review posted on Guilty Pleasures Book ReviewsReview copy provided for an honest review4.5 STARSI think most women are suckers for bad boy rockers and I love reading romance books that center around them, so I truly appreciate it when a book shows a whole different side to this type of hero. Author Claire Boston does just that in her debut novel What Goes On Tour; a rock god with life-long secrets, an author trying her best to get to the point where she can write full time, and a little Slick‘s review posted on Guilty Pleasures Book ReviewsReview copy provided for an honest review4.5 STARSI think most women are suckers for bad boy rockers and I love reading romance books that center around them, so I truly appreciate it when a book shows a whole different side to this type of hero. Author Claire Boston does just that in her debut novel What Goes On Tour; a rock god with life-long secrets, an author trying her best to get to the point where she can write full time, and a little girl who has lost so much but is blessed beyond belief. This is a book of loss, of sacrifice, and of love and it will warm you down to the bottom of your heart.I flat out loved the fact that rock god Kent Downer (Adrian) is actually a man who is socially awkward and afraid of the dark. Adrian Hart has had a rough life filled with abuse and neglect but with the love of his now deceased brother and a foster family whom he is eternally grateful for he is determined to do the best job he can do raising his niece, Kate. He’s learning to balance his career and being a full time parent/guardian and is doing a great job until one nanny quits after being rejected and his new nanny’s identity becomes the subject of gossip.There was just so much great about this book. I was fascinated how Adrian kept his rock star persona under wraps; he truly was two different people. When author Libby Myles helps him through a particular rough time during a talk show, he never expects to see her again but taking his niece to a book signing, he finds himself intrigued by her. So when she offers to help him out with Kate they are put in almost constant contact which has them both trying to deny their feelings. Libby was so great with Kate encouraging her to write and helping her without be overbearing. Yes there were issues; because of Adrian’s past he doesn’t trust easily and Libby worries about her future as a writer and money cause her a lot of stress. The one thing that they both had no problem with was Kate and they always put her needs first. When the do finally admit their attraction, they know that it will be short lived because Adrian’s tour is over soon and he and Kate will be returning home to Texas while Libby will remain in Australia. However, when the media discovers Adrian is Kent and pictures begin to surface of him with Libby and Kate their little bubble is burst and their quiet affair comes to an abrupt and messy end.What Goes On Tour is the sweeter side of romance, yes they have sex but it is not graphic and for this book that worked and it worked well. I was so caught up in this story; the two sides of a rock god, the incredible bond between the hero and his niece, the intense feelings between the hero and heroine, the ugly side of being in the public eye, and working on moving on from the past. I love with a first time author comes out of the gate strong and Claire Boston has definitely done that and I can’t wait to see what she puts out next!
    more
Write a review