Off the Record (Record, #1)
Liz Dougherty has no idea that a single question is about to change her life.Her first big reporting assignment for her North Carolina college newspaper has her covering a state senator’s impromptu press conference. Brady Maxwell may have everything it takes to be a politician—a winning pedigree, devastating good looks, a body made to wear suits—but his politics rub Liz the wrong way. When Liz’s hard-hitting question catches the upstart senator off-guard, it impresses Hayden Lane, Liz’s editor who feels she’s headed for a promising career as a reporter.But Liz is also headed into a secret romance with Brady that could destroy both their ambitions. Though he’s a bachelor, potential voters might frown on Brady cozying up to a reporter. And Liz isn’t sure sneaking around is enough for her—especially when things between her and Hayden might be less platonic than she thought.USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s Record series begins with a sleek, sexy, and smart venture into a high-stakes political campaign and an even higher-stakes affair that, in the end, will leave you wanting more with one of Linde’s gripping cliffhangers.

Off the Record (Record, #1) Details

TitleOff the Record (Record, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 11th, 2014
PublisherMontlake Romance
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Off the Record (Record, #1) Review

  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    5 I ♥ Brady Maxwell stars! Is there anything better than a smart and sexy forbidden romance? How about one with fantastic writing, the perfect amount of angst and a leading man thats to die for? Off the Record had it all! It was the perfect package. Liz Dougherty is on her first big assignment as a reporter for her college paper. With her editor Hayden, she is covering the Senator Brady Maxwell III’s press conference. Liz is not afraid to speak her mind. She is strong, independent, and has opini 5 I ♥ Brady Maxwell stars! Is there anything better than a smart and sexy forbidden romance? How about one with fantastic writing, the perfect amount of angst and a leading man thats to die for? Off the Record had it all! It was the perfect package. Liz Dougherty is on her first big assignment as a reporter for her college paper. With her editor Hayden, she is covering the Senator Brady Maxwell III’s press conference. Liz is not afraid to speak her mind. She is strong, independent, and has opinions of her own. She doesn’t agree with most of Brady’s politics and when it’s her turn to ask him a question, he takes notice. When Brady and Liz meet, there is a pull. An instant attraction. They both feel it, and Brady wants to do something about it. Liz is conflicted at first. Any kind of relationship between the two would be bad. She is a reporter. He is a politician. It could destroy both of their careers. But theres something about Brady she has trouble resisting. “I didn’t come here to talk politics with you, baby” Brady said, pushing the door closed behind them. “Lecture me after I’m done with you.” One time together turns into more than once. Pretty soon, there seeing each other as much as possible, or as much as Brady deems possible. He calls the shots. When, where, how often. It has to be like this. He’s campaigning. Their relationship, if you want to call it that, has to stay secret. Liz sometimes wants more, but Brady can only give what he can give. She’s known that from the beginning. The longer Brady and Liz continue, the more serious their feelings become. Neither one is ready or able to admit this, but you can tell they both feel it.As the campaign continues, the secret part of their relationship becomes more critical and necessary. The lies, the secrets, and the feelings are starting to get to Liz. She feels like she’s starting to lose a little of that smart, confident and ambitious woman. Secrets were going to be her downfall. Her secrets now had secrets... And all of it together felt as if it wasn’t just caving in on top of her, but it was crushing her. Worst of all... it felt as if by holding on to all of her secrets, she was losing a part of herself. 
Just how long will Liz be able to feel like a dirty little secret? The best part of the book for me- Brady Maxwell. I’ve been a fan of K.A. Linde since I first read her Avoiding series. Not only was this book better for me than any of the Avoiding books, but I love Brady so much more than any of her other guys. Move over Jack and Ramsey- Brady is in the top spot! Brady is HOT. He is sexy, driven and swoony. The steam and between Brady and Liz will have you fanning yourself. Examples (view spoiler)[DESK SEX, cabana sex, just all kinds of HOT sex (hide spoiler)].There is a lot of conflict in this story. Choosing between attraction, careers, love, lust, relationships etc. I was never bored while reading. Not one time. Once I started, I didn’t want to put it down. I had to find out what happens next! I also had an instant connection to both of the main characters, something that doesn't always happen right away for me.Everyone wants to know if there was a cliffhanger- not really. It was small. I thought the book ended in a good place. It left me wanting more without freaking out about some dramatic way the story ended. I can’t wait to see what direction the author decides to take with the second book. I was so happy to read get an arc of this book- I can’t wait for March 11th so all of you can get a taste of my new book boyfriend Brady Maxwell! *ARC kindly provided by Montlake Romance via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • SueBee★bring me an alpha!★
    January 1, 1970
    ★★★★★! Off The Record, book 1 of 3. Prodigal son running for Congress wants clandestine affair with student reporter who is ill-equipped to resist him “Maybe it was because he was completely unattainable. Maybe it was because there was no way this could go anywhere at all. Maybe it was just because she wanted him.” Books in The Record Series should be read in order:Book 1: Off The RecordBook 2: On The RecordBook 3: For The RecordOff The Record (book 1) opens up to Morehead scholar, Univer ★★★★★! Off The Record, book 1 of 3. Prodigal son running for Congress wants clandestine affair with student reporter who is ill-equipped to resist him “Maybe it was because he was completely unattainable. Maybe it was because there was no way this could go anywhere at all. Maybe it was just because she wanted him.” Books in The Record Series should be read in order:Book 1: Off The RecordBook 2: On The RecordBook 3: For The RecordOff The Record (book 1) opens up to Morehead scholar, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Journalism student and school paper reporter Liz Dougherty attending her first press conference with her friend and editor Hayden Lane. State Senator Brady Maxwell III has called the press conference to announce he is running to US Congress. Liz is given the opportunity to ask a tough question that catches his attention.Later that evening while out with friends Brady sends Liz a drink and invites her to the VIP section for a candid chat followed by a proposition for more. But instead Liz spends the weekend writing a somewhat scathing article about the Senator. She is impressed with his good looks, charm, leadership and ability to manage the budget, but less impressed with some of his voting records and lack of focus on education.Liz is asked to cover the campaign division for the paper that summer and keeps running into Brady. He is charming, persistent, frank and up-front and she is smitten…. until one night the act on their attraction with some mind-blowing sex. But walking away proves difficult for both and against their better judgment they embark on a clandestine affair. “I’ll be up-front with you. I might hurt you. You’re going in knowing that. I’m choosing the campaign. I’m choosing Congress, because it’s what I want and what I believe in. Nothing, no one is getting in the way of me and the House of Representatives.” As they enjoy stolen moments of bliss lines soon get blurry, but it’s an impossible romance with no hope of a future. For Liz having an affair with a politician whose campaign she is supposed to cover impartially could call into question her integrity and jeopardize her career. Brady is on a set course to Washington that doesn’t include a too young student who has publically criticized him. Besides he is the prodigal son from a prominent family whose heritage can be traced back to President Thomas Jefferson. People like him marry for strategic reason not love…. “I didn’t come here to talk politics with you, baby ,” Brady said, pushing the door closed behind them. “Lecture me after I’m done with you.” Brady Maxwell III with his imposing presence and classic good looks has my vote! Eight words to describe Brady: Captivating, frank, elusive, secretive, charming, focused, persistent and collected . Liz Dougherty is young and in over her head…. Seven words to describe Liz: Smart, focused, goal-oriented, naïve, immature, impressionable and reflective.Off The Record is an addictive page-turner. At times story was a bit too detailed especially when they weren’t together, but not enough to deduct from my overall rating. I just wanted to keep on reading to know what’d happen next, pining for Brady and hanging on to his every word. This partly due to their impossible situation…. Needless to say it ended with a painful cliffy. I look forward to diving into book 2, On The Record for the continuation of their story.Spellbinding and forbidden plot! Brilliant story-telling! Larger-than-life Brady Maxwell III! All the ingredients for epic trilogy! “She couldn’t get enough, couldn’t breathe, couldn’t think. There was just Brady. She felt as if she was lost in a world of him, drowning in him, suffocating in him.” ***Hero rating: 5 stars Heroine rating: 4- starsSexual tension rating: 5 starsSex scenes rating: 4.5 starsSex scenes frequency: 4 starsPlot rating: 5 starsDialogue rating: 5 starsStorytelling rating: 5 starsStory ending rating: N/ABook editing rating (5 = no edits spotted): 4.5 stars************************************************Overall rating: 5 starsWould I recommend this series: Yes.Would I re-read this series: Yes.Would I read future books by this author: Yes.
    more
  • Candace
    January 1, 1970
    I've been working my way through some of the books that I've had sitting on my shelves for a long time. 'Off the Record' was one of those books that had been hanging out on my Audible shelf for a while. I'd heard great things about it, but always seemed to have another "priority" book to read. Finally, I decided to give it a try and it ended up being a good choice.The story is centered on the secret romance between a twenty year-old college reporter, Liz Dougherty, and a young State Senator, Bra I've been working my way through some of the books that I've had sitting on my shelves for a long time. 'Off the Record' was one of those books that had been hanging out on my Audible shelf for a while. I'd heard great things about it, but always seemed to have another "priority" book to read. Finally, I decided to give it a try and it ended up being a good choice.The story is centered on the secret romance between a twenty year-old college reporter, Liz Dougherty, and a young State Senator, Brady Maxwell. They meet after Liz puts him on the spot, asking a tough question at a press conference. The attraction is instant.Nonetheless, Brady's campaign to run for a U. S. Congressional seat is his top priority. He isn't willing to have any romantic relationship jeopardize his political aspirations, a fact that he is upfront about with Liz. Knowing that having their relationship exposed would potentially damage Brady's public image, Liz agrees to keep their relationship hidden.While I understood the reasons for the secrecy in the beginning, I found myself growing to resent Brady's treatment of Liz. I often felt that his behavior was insensitive, and even entitled. He treated her like his dirty little secret, adding insult to injury by parading other women in her face that apparently were "good enough" to be seen with him publicly. Despite spending a considerable amount of time wanting to knock some sense into Brady, I have to admit that I found myself reluctantly warming up to him. It was definitely a case of the heart wanting something that the brain knows it shouldn't. I couldn't help myself. I've always been a sucker for a jerk and he was one charming SOB.Similarly, I had conflicting feelings about Liz. I enjoyed her spunk. However, I had a hard time visualizing this spirited woman as the same person that allowed herself to be Brady's doormat. Yet, I felt the draw to him and could also see the appeal.Overall, I give it 3 1/2 stars, rounded up. This book did leave me hanging and I was curious to see where their story would go, so I started the next book immediately. With the twist at the end, I was hopeful that Liz might prompt some changes in Brady. As a whole, I liked it.
    more
  • Lady Vigilante (Feifei)
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 “COULD’VE BEEN BETTER” STARSJerk + Love Triangle + Angst = Typical K.A. Linde Jerk + Love Triangle + Angst + Politics = Off the RecordFor the most part I liked it. It peaked my curiosity to see how KA Linde would write a forbidden romance set against a political background and I have to say there, she nailed this part. I did feel the illicit thrill of two people who have different ideals starting up a clandestine affair. The politics were a bonus, IMO. It's one of the few aspects of the book 2.5 “COULD’VE BEEN BETTER” STARSJerk + Love Triangle + Angst = Typical K.A. Linde Jerk + Love Triangle + Angst + Politics = Off the RecordFor the most part I liked it. It peaked my curiosity to see how KA Linde would write a forbidden romance set against a political background and I have to say there, she nailed this part. I did feel the illicit thrill of two people who have different ideals starting up a clandestine affair. The politics were a bonus, IMO. It's one of the few aspects of the book that was clear cut, well-developed, and boosted the believability of the story. What I did not like:>>Their love<<What love?I failed to see how they could love each other. The author did such a good job of convincing me of their different political perspectives that when it came down to Liz changing her views and instead, supporting Brady, I didn't buy it. Then all they do when they meet is have sex, have sex, and have more sex. No words of love mentioned. "You can't even take this seriously. Why does it always have to be sex first and talk later?" Again...what love?>>The writing<<There's a stilted, habitual quality to the writing. It's not exactly fluid, and sometimes I did get bored with reading the mundane regurgitation of their daily life aspects. The best way to describe it is each chapter is like reading little summaries of something instead it be one entire story, all woven nicely together and intricately entwined. I was never bored to the point of not wanting to finish, but there were paragraphs I did decide to skim since to me, they were superfluous. As a result, no matter how many steamy scenes there were, they all felt redundant and seemed to reinforce the fact that the two of them could have sex and not because it's driven by passion or their longing for one another. Hence, there was no spark, no connection for me to feel and why I didn't buy into Liz and Brady's relationship.Love triangle aspect: While some say that the love triangle is just hinted at, I disagree: it's completely there. Thought not as prominent as the love triangle in the Avoiding series, there was this underlying feel that Hayden had the hots for Liz, even from page 1. And while Liz was fully engaged with her feelings for Brady, she was more than willing to kiss and encourage Hayden at the same time. Look, I get that her affair with Brady is in somewhat unique circumstances since he can't be seen with someone who writes articles opposing his views; however, that still doesn't give her the right to string both Brady and Hayden along. What infuriated me the most is that while there is NO relationship development between Brady and Liz, there IS with Hayden and Liz. It was so obvious that Hayden could be the one to maintain a stable, long-term relationship with Liz, and he actually puts her first so it irked me to the highest degree when Liz repeatedly chooses Brady, a class A jerk.Ending: I wouldn't call it a cliffhanger, but an unresolved ending. I think I'm going to be in the minority that says this, but I actually really liked the ending. It gave me hope that Brady would grow some balls, and it also convinced me that Liz does indeed have a brain in her head. The way it ends gives you this anticipatory feeling, like you know what's going to happen next; it just hasn't been written yet.I liked this enough to want to read the next book, but it easily makes my list of "Forgettable reads of 2014."ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    ★★★★ 4 stars!Off the Record was a refreshing, fast-paced, sexy story that I really enjoyed reading. Once I started it, I could not put it down and I was anxious to find out how the storyline would develop. The fascinating political aspects of the story and the many deliciously forbidden encounters made the story all the more fun to read!When young college reporter Liz Dougherty asks one question at State Senator Brady Maxwell III at her first press conference ever, she never expected her life to ★★★★ 4 stars!Off the Record was a refreshing, fast-paced, sexy story that I really enjoyed reading. Once I started it, I could not put it down and I was anxious to find out how the storyline would develop. The fascinating political aspects of the story and the many deliciously forbidden encounters made the story all the more fun to read!When young college reporter Liz Dougherty asks one question at State Senator Brady Maxwell III at her first press conference ever, she never expected her life to change so drastically. Her question managed to both impress the senator and catch him off guard. She intrigues him and when she runs into him later that day, he makes her a proposition. "You want to see me. I want to see you. Call me. If you don't, you'll regret it." At first, Liz is hesitant at pursuing an affair with such a public figure, especially since she doesn't exactly agree with many of the senator's public point of views on in his campaign. Still, the moment she first laid eyes on him she felt an instant attraction to the handsome eligible bachelor and the fact that he obviously felt the same way, makes it almost impossible for her to turn down his offer.And so their relationship begins. Or is it a relationship? The lines are a bit blurry seeing as everything has to happen on Brady's terms. He decides when and where they can see each other and they can never, ever be seen in public because then both of their careers would likely be destroyed. "This is almost whatever you want it to be. It's not public. It's not in the news. It's not a point the campaign can use against me. It's a woman and a man taking what they can in a world where it's not feasible for us to be together." What did bother me sometimes about Liz and Brady was their lack of communication and the fact that there was a case of insta-lust/love. At first it was lust and then it quickly turned into love. The first I could understand but I failed to see their strong emotional connection…at least during the first half of the story; after that their relationship did start to grow deeper even though there still wasn't a lot of talking. "Why does it always have to be sex first and talk later?" And then there's also Hayden Lane, the chief editor at the college newspaper where Liz works. For the past two years Liz has had a crush on him without him ever returning the sentiment. Now since she's started seeing Brady, Hayden has been showing more of an interest in her as well and her old feelings toward him bubbling up again only makes matters more complicated. I wouldn't say there was a full on love triangle between Brady, Liz and Hayden but there were some conflicting emotions and tough choices to be made.The story does end with a bit of a cliffhanger, but not the kind that makes you want to pull your hair out and regret you started reading the book before the sequel was out. It just leaves open a lot of possible outcomes for the future. Still, from now on I'll be anxiously awaiting the sequel and I do hope (view spoiler)[Brady will man up and confess his true feelings to Liz. And hopefully they will get their HEA in the end. (hide spoiler)]. "So...that's it then? You're choosing the campaign.""It's never been a choice. I'm stubborn. I want both." Release date: March 11th 2014. **ARC courtesy of the publisher in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • ♡Karlyn P♡
    January 1, 1970
    4 'Sex, Secrets & Scandals' Stars OFF THE RECORD is book 1 in a new NA romance series about a sexy yet forbidden political romance best left off the record. In politics, image is everything. And a romance with a political reporter, especially one who is clearly not in your camp, could wreck the upcoming election. But when lust and desire turns into more, the election is no longer the only thing at risk. Brady sighed. "This is almost whatever you want it to be. It's not public. It's not in t 4 'Sex, Secrets & Scandals' Stars OFF THE RECORD is book 1 in a new NA romance series about a sexy yet forbidden political romance best left off the record. In politics, image is everything. And a romance with a political reporter, especially one who is clearly not in your camp, could wreck the upcoming election. But when lust and desire turns into more, the election is no longer the only thing at risk. Brady sighed. "This is almost whatever you want it to be. It's not public. It's not in the news. It's not a point the campaign can use against me. It's a woman and a man taking what they can in a world where it's not feasible for us to be together. I'm not promising you much, but I'm only asking for discretion. Everything else you give me is up to you." Brady Maxwell III is a young, handsome, single 27 y/o US senator and member of a political powerhouse family. He has his sights set on the White House one day, and a career path mapped out in front of him. This year he is campaigning for a seat in Congress, and he has no time for a personal life. But when a sexy college reporter challenges him about his education policies and recent tax breaks for large donors, he is briefly knocked off his game. And intrigued. VERY intrigued. Liz Dougherty is an ambitious 22 y/o sophomore student at Chapel Hill University in North Carolina, studying to be a reporter. Guided by her friend and editor Hayden, she is on the path to making a name for herself. At a local political rally she gets a chance to ask Senator Maxwell a question she's been dying to ask, which soon begins her series of popular hard-nosed newspaper articles that questions his political choices and if he is the man for the job. So when he buys her a drink and challenges her to get to know the real him, and thereby his real political agenda, she can't resist.Their affair begins. Brady spots Liz at an exclusive political dinner, and soon seduces her into a hot night of passion that neither can quit thinking about. But to continue their heated affair, Brady needs assurance of her discretion. Under no circumstances can the world find out about them, so she must remain his dirty little secret or not have him at all. As the campaign continues Liz not only attends the political events, but she must convince everyone around her that Senator Maxwell is a stranger to her. Crossing paths with him at these events get sticky, and as some of their secrets are revealed lies upon lies begin to build. Which begs the question: if someone is willing to lie, how far will they go to keep their secrets?My Thoughts OFF THE RECORD ended on a high note and I found myself really rooting for Brady and Liz (and anticipating the next book in this series), but the beginning left me a bit puzzled. It started a bit slow, taking its time to get to know the characters backgrounds, so it didn't immediately pull me in. Then as things heat up between Brady and Liz, the story got more interesting but I had a bit of trouble sensing any romance building between them as it was purely physical and not emotional. They exchange very few words before declaring their deep lust for one another, which struck me as odd. He promises her nothing, demands her silence, and wants only sex. With little thought to the consequences she quickly agrees to the affair on his terms, and continues to write articles that questions his political agenda. But by midway, the emotional aspect of the relationship changes and I could finally start to see these two together. I didn't always like their choices and felt some of them were obviously contrived to build some angst in the story, but I could now see what drove these two to continue their secret affair and risk so much. This is when the story got interesting for me, as their rules begin to change. They both want more from each other now, and they struggle to find ways to make it happen. The lies build on each other and threatens to break any trust these two have. Then shit hits the fan, and life suddenly gets real. So how long can they continue like this, now that it is no longer just a sexual affair? Is this enough?By the time this story ends both obstacles and conflicts abound, the stakes got a lot higher, and it looks like the drama for these two is just beginning. Book 2 should be promising. I am not sure this will be a favorite series for me, but I do look forward to continuing with this story. Some Side NotesWas there a cliffhanger? Yes, but not one I am stressing over. This is a series so obviously their story will continue into a few more books, but this one left off in a good place. Not an HEA yet, but much of this story was predictable so I feel pretty sure what will come next. There is a small (and I mean SMALL) hint of a love-triangle with her editor Hayden, which might be significant in a later book. If you avoid books with love triangles, this one shouldn't bother you. I think it's pretty clear who she chooses.The story is written in third-person but told from Liz's point-of-view, so with one small exception we never get to know what Brady is thinking or feeling. This was a bummer, as so often I really wanted to know what was going through his head.ARC provided by Montlake Romance through Netgalley.com
    more
  • Jennifer Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    4.5BRADY MAXWELL Stars "She wasn't willing to give up her dreams any more than he was willing to give up the campaign." K.A. Linde did a fantastic job of bringing the secret love story of college journalist Elizabeth Dougherty and the hot young State Senator, Brady Maxwell to the world. I honestly loved this story, the execution, the details and the added characters. I’m putting Maxwell signs on my front lawn level of excitement for more in this series.This story has a bit of angst but nothing l 4.5BRADY MAXWELL Stars "She wasn't willing to give up her dreams any more than he was willing to give up the campaign." K.A. Linde did a fantastic job of bringing the secret love story of college journalist Elizabeth Dougherty and the hot young State Senator, Brady Maxwell to the world. I honestly loved this story, the execution, the details and the added characters. I’m putting Maxwell signs on my front lawn level of excitement for more in this series.This story has a bit of angst but nothing like the Avoiding Series level, just the right amount to keep you turning the pages. Brady asks to keep their relationship quiet and it’s hard for both because they start to develop strong feelings for one another. ”I’m not promising you much, but I’m only asking for discretion. Everything else you give me is up to you.” Liz’s two year crush Hayden starts to show his interest in her as well so things get a little sticky for Liz. Brady tries to make time for Liz and keep her happy because it seems that he has strong feelings for her all the while they are hot and steamy. This story does end with a cliffhanger that didn’t hurt too badly. I’m excited for the next book in the series and the election! "The man has a plan, and he won't stop for anyone to get there."
    more
  • Beverly
    January 1, 1970
    5 You got MY vote Brady StarsLiz Dougherty is at the end of her Sophomore year, she is happy with where her life is going: she is on the student paper, enrolled in career promising courses for the summer, and has great friends. In her mind everything is on track, until one questions change everything. If there is one thing State Senator Brady Jefferson Maxwell III knows, its how to follow the rules. Son of a Senator, he was bred to be in politics. He understands that everything he says and does 5 You got MY vote Brady StarsLiz Dougherty is at the end of her Sophomore year, she is happy with where her life is going: she is on the student paper, enrolled in career promising courses for the summer, and has great friends. In her mind everything is on track, until one questions change everything. If there is one thing State Senator Brady Jefferson Maxwell III knows, its how to follow the rules. Son of a Senator, he was bred to be in politics. He understands that everything he says and does can be used against him, so he avoids controversy at all times, until he meets Liz.Liz thinks Senator Maxwell places his own agenda above his constituents, and refuses to hold back. When Liz and Brady officially meet Liz is shocked at her attraction to him and her inability to refuse him. Regardless Brady knows that getting involved with Liz would be nothing but trouble for his campaign for United States House of Representatives, but can they hold back their feelings and attractions?I loved this story. Senator Maxwell is hot as fuck! I loved the forbidden aspect of the story, sneaking around to avoid getting caught, the hot sex when they meet up…loved it! Okay, aside from the Senator, I loved how realistic Liz was, and how her feelings were what a normal 20 year old would be feeling in her situation. The writing in amazing. I am afraid to say this is my first book by K.A. Linde, but I am so impressed with her writing and will be reading her other books.I highly recommend this book!!
    more
  • Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer
    January 1, 1970
    4 "I Vote For Brady Maxwell Stars!!!"(ARC Provided by Montlake Romance via Netgalley)So...one day last week, I decided to put in a request for an ARC of "Off The Record" on Netgalley.I knew there was no way in hell I was going to get approved as I often get DENIED!!Then I'm sitting in my cubicle at work and I go on and low and behold, I see this book sitting on my approved Dashboard!I nearly screamed!!Oh happy day for me!!Yes and maybe I did a little dance, not as cool as Jensen, but you get the 4 "I Vote For Brady Maxwell Stars!!!"(ARC Provided by Montlake Romance via Netgalley)So...one day last week, I decided to put in a request for an ARC of "Off The Record" on Netgalley.I knew there was no way in hell I was going to get approved as I often get DENIED!!Then I'm sitting in my cubicle at work and I go on and low and behold, I see this book sitting on my approved Dashboard!I nearly screamed!!Oh happy day for me!!Yes and maybe I did a little dance, not as cool as Jensen, but you get the drift....I was ECSTATIC!! I have been waiting for this book since I first read a teaser to chapter one over a year and a half ago!This is a tale of an off the charts hot and scandalous romance between North Carolina Senator Brady Maxwell III and young UNC College Reporter, Liz Dougherty. Liz and Brady first meet at one of his press conferences, where he announces he is running for a spot in the United States House of Representatives. Their attraction seems to spark right from the moment they lay eyes on each other, and Liz actually knocks Brady for a loop with a hard hitting question.They run into each other a couple more times and seriously I was swooning a little over Brady and his charisma, and total bad boy persona underneath the straight laced politician facade.I was actually a little shocked at how forward he was with Liz in the beginning.Liz was not an easily likable character for me.Something about her personality rubbed me the wrong way.I can't really cast judgement on her for the choices she made where Brady was concerned.Readers might think she made stupid decisions but if a man like Brady was who you could spend time with, I think a lot of us may have done the same thing.I know I would!!! Brady is asking Liz to be with him on his terms.He can't give her a normal relationship.His #1 priority is his campaign.Everything comes after that, including her.They have some really hot booty calls!! WOW!!Senator Brady is a naughty boy!!!At times I was so cringing thinking they were being a bit reckless in their hookups.So worried they were going to be exposed. The problem with this arrangement is that ultimately feelings are going to get stronger, and can Liz be satisfied with being Brady's dirty little secret??It's in our nature as women to want more and ultimately Liz will have to decide, can she go on in secrecy in hopes one day they will be able bring their relationship out in the open? Although this is not a love triangle, there is another man that Liz had her eyes on before she met Brady.Hayden Lane, is her newspaper editor, and she had been crushing on him for the past two years.I don't know how to really take him yet.He seemed hot and cold.Giving mixed signals, which I didn't care for.But there is an easy way about things with him that Liz can't ignore.I will be interested to see how things play out there in the next book.I wasn't really liking Brady too much in the beginning of the story because there were things that happened earlier on that I had hoped would have played out a bit differently.Then he later explains some of his behavior and I started to forgive him and found myself swooning over him later on in the story.The ending leaves us with a bit of a cliffy.Nothing too crazy.So it's not torturous.I loved Brady's speech!!!So full of deep meaning where Liz is concerned.I'm thinking Liz is about to make the ultimate sacrifice.We will have to wait and see how it all plays out in book 2!! "Hey," he murmured softly, brushing his fingers across her jawline, "you want to see me. I want to see you. Call me. If you don't, you'll regret it." "I didn't come here to talk politics with you, baby," Brady said, pushing the door closed behind them. "Lecture me after I'm done with you." "I'm giving you what I can give you, and I'm telling you in advance you might get hurt. But it's worth it to take the risk. I can damn well promise you that it's worth it." Her eyes were suddenly cloudy with tears, because she knew then that in her heart what she really wanted was Brady. It had to be Brady. And yet... he couldn't give her what she needed. "You're the only person I've ever met who so completely disarms me. I feel like sometimes you aren't looking at me; you're looking through me. Like you know every single secret in my existence...like you know exactly what I'm thinking. That was exactly what I meant that very first day we met, when I told you that you were my airplane. You totally fuck me up, Liz!" Liz had simply acted like a passenger, letting him guide the car wherever it might go. She had been active and even demanding at times, but she never really pushed the limits. She never did anything drastic enough to make him say enough was enough.Their feelings bore down on them with a hopeless, crushing desire, with a need that bordered on addiction.
    more
  • Duchess Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, I didn't expect to love this book so much. I may have to break down and read this author's other books now.What initially started as a sort of opposites attract, reporter/politician romance turned out to be a very well put together tale of forbidden love. Brady is extremely single-minded and focused on his career, but his fascination with Liz is nothing short of a beautiful trainwreck. Full review to be posted in the February 2014 issue of InD'tale Magazinehttp://www.indtale.com/reviews/con Wow, I didn't expect to love this book so much. I may have to break down and read this author's other books now.What initially started as a sort of opposites attract, reporter/politician romance turned out to be a very well put together tale of forbidden love. Brady is extremely single-minded and focused on his career, but his fascination with Liz is nothing short of a beautiful trainwreck. Full review to be posted in the February 2014 issue of InD'tale Magazinehttp://www.indtale.com/reviews/contem...
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received from the publisher via NetGallery.Off the Record is the story of forbidden love, politics and secrets. Liz has wanted one thing her entire life, to be a reporter. She’s never wavered on her goals, she’s never risked anything that could tear her dream from her grasp. But that was before she met Brady, the Senator – the man who is running for Congress. Brady has been groomed to be the perfect politician. He’s not settling for being just a Senator, for just running for Congress. His pl ARC received from the publisher via NetGallery.Off the Record is the story of forbidden love, politics and secrets. Liz has wanted one thing her entire life, to be a reporter. She’s never wavered on her goals, she’s never risked anything that could tear her dream from her grasp. But that was before she met Brady, the Senator – the man who is running for Congress. Brady has been groomed to be the perfect politician. He’s not settling for being just a Senator, for just running for Congress. His plans are big, White House, big. He’s got a clean image, there’s no skeletons to be found.When Liz finds herself posed in front of the Senator throwing a question his way, she had no idea that one moment was about to change her entire world. But beyond his charm and good looks, he is not her candidate. But it doesn’t take long for him to become something else, her lover.As the campaign gears up, Brady can’t afford to have his relationship with a college reporter exposed. But he can’t seem to stay away from the woman who caused his heart to race and his stomach to twist with just a few words. He knows he should stay away – he knows he will never put his political aspirations second, but he can’t let her go.As Liz follows the mid-term campaigns for her college paper; she doesn’t just have to worry about the next time she’ll see Brady, or if someone might catch them. She has to also worry about the still present feelings for her crush, Hayden. Her editor, a man she could have in public – on that she could not have to hide. The only problem is, is that he’s not Brady. As the primary election comes to a close, their relationship continues and becomes far bolder than ever before, but Brady made it clear – he would never choose between his winning or her, his political career was never going to come second, to anything...even love. “Make up for staring at me like you didn’t know me by coming over and fucking me like you do.” What did I love about this story? I think it really came down to the angst that only K.A. Linde can deliver. Although there was not the same ‘I want to throw my kindle across the room’ feelings that the Avoiding Series evoked, it was still present. But in Off the Record, this was far more subtle. With the chance of a love triangle thrown into the mix, the knots in your stomach are taking up permanent residency. Although there was not too much of the ‘who will she pick’ dilemma going on, you were still left with this feeling of trying to figure out if the spark with Brady was worth the risk when there was a sweetness kind of love that seemed to be possible with Hayden. But this wasn’t Hayden’s story. He may play a larger role in the next book, but in this one – it was all about Brady. Liz’s friend, Victoria was also a treat. She sort of reminded me of Chyna with her crazy out there personality. I hope that her sassy self is a little bit of a bigger role in the next book. “Sometimes men are pussies, and they need you to dangle yours in front of them to remember that they’re all dicks.” I loved the premise of this story. I loved that although the theme of this story involved politics it was done in a fantastic way. I am a political junkie but can’t stand it when political views are pushed upon me. At no time during this book did I feel like I was being forced any political ideology, there were clear lines drawn down the aisle but never was it shoved at you to be anything more than what the story was about. Bravo, Kyla for being able accomplish a story with such a political focus that allowed the reader not feel like they were reading a political book.I love the theme of forbidden love, and this certainly falls into that category. Since Liz and Brady were obviously not able to spend too much time together, the chance for the reader to experience the whole fall-in-love feeling wasn't really able to be showcased. Although we only really got hidden moments of their shared time together, I still felt that there was something deeper forming through their relationship. I have a feeling that Brady’s desire for Liz might have more to do with the fact that she is outside of his prim and proper political world. A world that may be challenging in the arena of politics but in private might be far more stifling.I could not tear myself away from this story and by the time I got to the end, which could be considered a cliffhanger – but light in the sense of how it could have ended – I felt far more emotional than I would have expected. It wasn’t like you were given a reason to break down. But yet, I found myself at a point where the tension had built to a point where I wanted to let it all out. I felt like I needed a good cry after finishing this one and feeling a bit ridiculous at the idea given the direction that this was going. A few moments that took place in the final chapter were probably my favorite of the entire book. It was a perfect way to bring about the ending of the first book. I can’t wait to read the second in this series, I have a feeling that we are going to be taken on one helluva ride.
    more
  • Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Four Brady-licious Stars! What a refreshing spin on contemporary romance! I was a bit unsure going into this book how the political aspect of it would play out and I was pleasantly surprised it was seriously one of the highlights for me!Liz Dougherty is a sophomore journalism major, working on the school newspaper. When she gets her first chance of attending a press conference, she's armed and ready with questions she knows will disarm the candidate. Senator Brady Maxwell III steps up to th ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Four Brady-licious Stars! What a refreshing spin on contemporary romance! I was a bit unsure going into this book how the political aspect of it would play out and I was pleasantly surprised it was seriously one of the highlights for me!Liz Dougherty is a sophomore journalism major, working on the school newspaper. When she gets her first chance of attending a press conference, she's armed and ready with questions she knows will disarm the candidate. Senator Brady Maxwell III steps up to the podium and after his speech, Liz presents her question...one that completely catches Brady off guard. Political face mask on, he answers her and quickly moves on...until later that evening at a swank nightclub, he eyes her from his VIP room. He sends her a drink...and an invitation to chat. Let the games begin... Brady has one goal...winning the bid for US House of Representatives in his home state of North Carolina. Coming from a prominent political family, nothing can come between him and winning. Until he meets Liz Doughtery. She completely disarms him. Maybe they can manage a completely secret affair, no strings, no public sightings, just sex. This is totally not Liz' style to be so reckless but Brady brings something out in her...she's bold and confident. She doesn't like being his dirty little secret but understands that everything is about image and him dating a young college reporter who's written a scathing article about him in the past doesn't look good for his image. I give Liz a lot of credit. She was more understanding than most. Watching Brady parade into galas with models and beauty queens on his arm while she stands in the shadows...a wallflower...not sure I could stomach it. She knows why he can't be public about their relationship (if that's what you call it) but it hurts because her feelings are growing for him. The book is seriously quite hot. On the surface you want to smack Brady but then he meets up with Liz and you've fallen for him all over again. But Liz wonders how long she can stand being in the shadows when she wants to shout from the rooftops her feelings for Brady. She knows the feelings are mutual but he can't publicize it. It would be political suicide. Liz' editor in chief, Hayden Lane invites her to visit him one weekend in his summer job in DC. Having always crushed on Hayden, she begins to really debate if it's in the cards for her and Brady. With Hayden she can enjoy the sites and sounds, hold hands in public, no worries... Ah, but he's not Brady. I guess you can call the book a tad bit of a love triangle but it was so mild, I wasn't phased. Hayden, at least in this book, doesn't hold a candle to the feelings Liz has for Brady. Hayden has what she can't get from Brady though...freedom to be public in their relationship..in their feelings. The book is fairly long but I buzzed through it quickly. I really liked the tug of war between his career goals he's lived for and his feelings for Liz. Sometimes Liz' age came through where I seriously questioned their fit for each other. She IS a sophomore so drinking and getting crazy isn't out of the realm for her age....but not kosher for a State Senator's young girlfriend, right? The book ends in a bit of a cliffy. Not horrible but I cannot wait to move on to the next installment! So if you're looking for something different, a book where it's clear the author knows her way around politics and campaigning but still writes a great sexy love story, I strongly recommend this one. And please write fast Ms. Linde. And I thank you, Arc reviewed from Montlake Publishing via NetGalley in exchange of my honest review.
    more
  • Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞
    January 1, 1970
    Liv is a reporter for a college newspaper and she's all about the facts. There's no room for any gray in her life, only black and white. That's a pretty strong stand for someone who has just completed her second year of college but she's wanted to be a reporter all her life. When she's given the opportunity to question Brady, she lets him have no holds barred. Little does she know he doesn't hold back from what he wants either. Brady's always wanted to be in politics and that certainly cannot be Liv is a reporter for a college newspaper and she's all about the facts. There's no room for any gray in her life, only black and white. That's a pretty strong stand for someone who has just completed her second year of college but she's wanted to be a reporter all her life. When she's given the opportunity to question Brady, she lets him have no holds barred. Little does she know he doesn't hold back from what he wants either. Brady's always wanted to be in politics and that certainly cannot be surprising since he was bred for it. Following his father's footsteps, he is now a Senator but he wants in the House of Representatives and he won't let anything...or anyone stop him. So, when Liv steps up with a question for him, he is floored and he definitely can't let her get away. Unfortunately, it takes a bit for Brady to get Liv to give him a chance and for her to accept how he needs their relationship to be and that's secret. They immediately fall into an extremely passionate sexual relationship but one where Liv never knows when or where she will hear from Brady. Not the best way to start any relationship and it is fraught with insecurities. I think that Liv does a pretty good job for someone so young. And she does so well keeping their secret, not even telling her best friend and roommate, Victoria. Naturally, Brady is not the only one wanting Liv. The editor of the college newspaper who Liv has had a crush on for two years is also interested. It just takes Hayden a while to make a move. I really felt a sense of "Avoiding" déjà vu with some of the characters. Brady of course was Jack and Hayden was Ramsey. Victoria is obviously Chyna and thankfully there is no Bekah unless Heather might possibly fill that slot. We'll have to wait and see. There are a few other characters that have sparked my interest. Chris, Brady's college roommate, plays a nice part in a couple of their get togethers. A friend of Liv's, Justin, had a bit of a quirky part (I kept wondering if there was more to that whole driving offense?). There's a reporter named Calleigh that has a history with Hayden that could be a problem...not really sure what her angle is yet (She could be a Bekah too). And a new possible player is Brady's sister, Savannah who just started going to UNC and Liv is her new boss. One person I didn't talk about is Cole, Brady's brother. There is definitely something up with him. He first comes across as really nice but then u find out more. I don't know but I can see him going either way. There's also two people in Brady's inner circle that are pretty sketchy. One is Heather, Brady's press secretary and the other is his lawyer, Elliot. We find out they all have a history and they all have an end goal in mind. I really wanted to hear how all this started and why they are the way they are. There's some minor dramas but they all get solved pretty easily. I enjoyed all the sneaking around and trying to get together. I thought Brady did some really sweet things for Liv as well. We actually get a chapter from Brady's POV and I LOVED it. It was great hearing what he felt and what he wanted. Unfortunately, we get to see Liv do something and even though we get the gist of it especially since she was going over it in her POV in a prior chapter, I definitely missed reading what she was thinking. And that's it! Lots of unfinished business but certainly enough to keep your interest. The next book, On the Record, comes out August 26 and I can't wait! Recommendation: Great series if you enjoyed K.A. Linde's Avoiding series and if you enjoy political stories with a secret romance. Favorite quotes: ♥ “You want to see me. I want to see you. Call me. If you don’t, you’ll regret it.”♥ “You’re the only person I’ve ever met who so completely disarms me. I feel like sometimes you aren’t looking at me; you’re looking through me. Like you know every single secret in my existence…like you know exactly what I’m thinking."
    more
  • Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Vote for Maxwell Stars!After meeting K.A. Linde at a book event last month with Juanita (who told me I just had to read this series!), Linde told us that she worked on President Obama's 2012 campaign and my reaction was I NEED THIS BOOK LIKE NOW! There's nothing like an author writing from experience! I really liked this story! I think I loved it actually. Maybe cause I'm a sucker for political reads (ahem American Queen). I wasn't sure going in how I would feel about this one, but I fell in 4.5 Vote for Maxwell Stars!After meeting K.A. Linde at a book event last month with Juanita (who told me I just had to read this series!), Linde told us that she worked on President Obama's 2012 campaign and my reaction was I NEED THIS BOOK LIKE NOW! There's nothing like an author writing from experience! I really liked this story! I think I loved it actually. Maybe cause I'm a sucker for political reads (ahem American Queen). I wasn't sure going in how I would feel about this one, but I fell in love with Senator Brady Maxwell...that man made me swoon! And I equally loved the heroine Liz Doughtery. Gosh I felt for her. My emotions about their relationship was all over the place! The ending made sad and frustrated so of course I had to jump into book 2 right away! This is a book about a complicated relationship and even though they both love each other, theres so many obstacles in their way! My heart hurt for this couple.Going into book 2.....
    more
  • ☆ Sammy ☆彡
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 Strictly Off the Record StarsLiz Dougherty is working her first major assignment as a reporter for her university's newspaper. With her editor and boss Hayden at her side, Liz's job is to cover Senator Brady Maxwell III's press conference. Liz is a very driven to become a successful reporter so she hopes that the press conference will be her to chance to prove herself as a serious journalist. Liz disagrees with many of Brady's political standpoints so to prepare for the conference she drafts 3.5 Strictly Off the Record StarsLiz Dougherty is working her first major assignment as a reporter for her university's newspaper. With her editor and boss Hayden at her side, Liz's job is to cover Senator Brady Maxwell III's press conference. Liz is a very driven to become a successful reporter so she hopes that the press conference will be her to chance to prove herself as a serious journalist. Liz disagrees with many of Brady's political standpoints so to prepare for the conference she drafts several questions that will challenge many of the decisions he has made as a senator. To Liz's surprise, Brady actually selects her as one of the few reporters to ask him a question. While her question definitely catches Brady off guard, it also draws his interest in Liz romantically. What follows is a forbidden romance between a senator and college reporter and the complications that come with the relationship.My ThoughtsI really loved both Liz and Brady's characters! I found it refreshing to read about a female main character who is strong, independent, and isn't afraid to think for herself. I loved the fact that Liz wasn't afraid to be open and honest with Brady; even if she knew he might not like or agree with what she was telling him. Brady pretty much had all the characteristics that I find sexy in a hero! I loved his confident, cocky, outspoken, and direct attitude! Especially when it came to his feelings for Liz♥ AND he can work it in a suit. Enough said! Off the Record could have easily been a four or five star read for me but I felt there was something missing. Throughout the book, Brady and Liz's relationship was pretty much all about sex. We really didn't get to see their relationship grow emotionally as they got to know one another. It felt like a lot of their scenes together were really short and most of the time the scenes were all about sex. I didn't completely understand their emotional attachment to one another because, as a reader, I didn't get to experience the more significant and meaningful moments between the two main characters. Overall, I enjoyed this unique story about the forbidden relationship between a senator and reporter with differing political views. Despite the fact that I found the emotional aspect of the relationship lacking, I do plan to continue the series. I am hoping that the next book in the series will show more development in Brady and Liz's relationship. ARC courtesy of Amazon Publishing via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • S.M. West
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 VOTE FOR BRADY STARSI really enjoyed this political romance that had secrets, forbidden love, angst and a whole lot of sexual tension...yes, there was more to the story than that! But like I said, that's what I enjoyed! Liz Dougherty is a journalism student working at the North Carolina college newspaper covering the political beat. It begins with her attending a press conference of the State Senator. State Senator Brady Maxwell III has presence, charisma, oozes sex appeals and Liz becomes 4.5 VOTE FOR BRADY STARSI really enjoyed this political romance that had secrets, forbidden love, angst and a whole lot of sexual tension...yes, there was more to the story than that! But like I said, that's what I enjoyed! Liz Dougherty is a journalism student working at the North Carolina college newspaper covering the political beat. It begins with her attending a press conference of the State Senator. State Senator Brady Maxwell III has presence, charisma, oozes sex appeals and Liz becomes the object of his desire. He makes her a proposition that most would find hard to refuse - a secret affair - and while this man has a cocky confidence that might rub some people the wrong way, it did all kinds of warm and fuzzy things to me! "Hey," he murmured softly, brushing his fingers across her jawline, "you want to see me. I want to see you. Call me. If you don't, you'll regret it." While Liz certainly doesn't agree with Brady's political POV, the chemistry between them is intense and sizzling and the poor girl doesn't stand a chance. Liz isn't THAT woman and yet she found herself agreeing to his terms. As with any forbidden love, the obstacle or the reason why they must keep their tryst a secret, is his campaign and the potential harm their relationship could do to him and to some extent to her career. Throughout the book, there was an ongoing tug of war - "He was offering her so much, but holding back even more." I'd liked Liz but at times I really questioned her judgement because as much as I liked Brady, I was also skeptical of him and she was giving his SO MUCH. This story is mainly in Liz's POV but Ms. Linde gave us a treat and ended this book with Brady's POV. For me, that was golden. It certainly put my doubts about him to rest yet, it added to the angst and uncertainty of the ending of this one. I need to read the second on soon!
    more
  • Sarah ❤️ Literary Obsessive
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 'OMG this book drove me bloody nuts! please excuse me whilst I rant' stars.Ok so I seriously don't know how to review this book. If I base a book on whether it gripped me and entertained me and made me want to keep turning the pages then this would be a 4.5 star book. HOWEVER..... I have never in all my life read a book where the heroine drove me so completely and utterly fecking insane and the hero, well I started out loving him, but by the end I just wanted to kick him in his non existent 3.5 'OMG this book drove me bloody nuts! please excuse me whilst I rant' stars.Ok so I seriously don't know how to review this book. If I base a book on whether it gripped me and entertained me and made me want to keep turning the pages then this would be a 4.5 star book. HOWEVER..... I have never in all my life read a book where the heroine drove me so completely and utterly fecking insane and the hero, well I started out loving him, but by the end I just wanted to kick him in his non existent balls ........so on that basis, and due to this books 'head f*ck' abilities it would have been a 2.5 stars .......so that's why in the end I settled on 3.5 stars.Don't get me wrong, like many of the high rated reviews state, it was a very readable, very entertaining story, and it had some good erotic scenes and the storyline was easy to follow and captivating. But seriously the main character Liz.....what the f*ck was going on there????? I'm sorry but there were many times when I was actually shouting at my iPad........"grow some bloody balls woman". It just seemed like the classic case of non communication, which I know we read a lot about these days, but it just got a bit ridiculous. I suppose I prefer my heroines to be strong minded and independent women, I don't mind seeing vulnerabilities but on a whole I like a women with a back bone.....yet Liz just drove me nuts and didn't really show any real balls until the very last part......which made me think why the hell did she put herself through everything in the first place!!!!!! And then there is Brady.....yes I loved him to start off with, who doesn't love a hot man in a suit but he to, by the end just pissed me right off and had me shouting..... "pull your head out of your arse and make a bloody decision for gods sake man" oh and "for the love of god just talk to each other instead of just shagging all the time. Not that I don't like shagging, and believe me this author can write a very decent shagging scene, but come on...... These characters needed to use their mouths for something more than oral sex!!!Oh and don't even get me started on the ending!!!!!!So herein lies my reviewing problem because despite all my internal anger at the characters, the author still had me intrigued, she still had me manically turning the pages and she still had me wanting more..... So yes a definite solid 3.5 stars but PLEASE GOD in the next book lets have these characters grow some flipping balls please!!!!!!
    more
  • Geri Reads
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars!This is my first K.A. Linde. Yes, you read that right. And definitely not my last. The StoryOff the Record is a story about Liz Dougherty, a college reporter who's embroiled in a love forbidden love affair with State Senator Brady Maxwell. He's running for Congress and she's a reporter whose politics doesn't match his own and she's still a student. Simply put she's not the kind of girl that an aspiring congressman should be involved with. But their attraction to each other was too much 3.5 stars!This is my first K.A. Linde. Yes, you read that right. And definitely not my last. The StoryOff the Record is a story about Liz Dougherty, a college reporter who's embroiled in a love forbidden love affair with State Senator Brady Maxwell. He's running for Congress and she's a reporter whose politics doesn't match his own and she's still a student. Simply put she's not the kind of girl that an aspiring congressman should be involved with. But their attraction to each other was too much for them to resist, so they started a hot affair. The consequences of the affair being made public would be disastrous to both Liz and Brady. Aside from that, Liz's editor in chief also has the hots for her. So what's a girl to do? My ThoughtsI quite enjoyed this book. I know that KA Linde does angst like no other so I was bracing myself for the onslaught of it. It wasn't that bad. And I really enjoyed the political aspect of the story. It was unique and the idea of reading about a clandestine affair between a reporter and a young, hot, up-and-coming politician is just too delicious to pass up, yes? I thought so too. That said, the love triangle between Brady, Liz and Hayden ruined it, IMO. And no, it's not because I hate to read love triangles in my books. I read the blurb, so it wasn't like I was unaware of it. But I felt that the love triangle wasn't really needed, IMO. Why was it there? It doesn't add any substance to the story or to Liz's character except to add drama. And to prove maybe that Liz is so special that one guy falling in love with her just won't do. So she needs two. That's it. Those were the only reasons I could think of why a triangle has to be in this book. I felt that Brady and Liz's relationship in and of itself is already fraught with tension and conflict. There's really no need to add Hayden there. Plus, it doesn't add anything to the character development. In fact, putting a female MC in front of two guys is surefire way to make me hate the female MC. That's not good angst for me.But since I'm already invested with Liz and Brady's story, I'll definitely be reading the rest of the books in the series. So KA Linde, bring on the angst!!ARC provided by MontLake Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Natalie The Biblioholic
    January 1, 1970
    I was going through Scandal withdrawal and a friend of mine recommended this series. I expected some Olitz-type happenings. Not quite what I got but the story was interesting nonetheless. Add one part politician, one part college co-ed, and a dash of a secret love affair and that's what this book is about. I think I was looking for more suspense, but the only anticipation I felt was wondering when they would get caught. They were pretty ridiculous in their subterfuge because they definitely were I was going through Scandal withdrawal and a friend of mine recommended this series. I expected some Olitz-type happenings. Not quite what I got but the story was interesting nonetheless. Add one part politician, one part college co-ed, and a dash of a secret love affair and that's what this book is about. I think I was looking for more suspense, but the only anticipation I felt was wondering when they would get caught. They were pretty ridiculous in their subterfuge because they definitely weren't subtle!I've read some other reviews and I saw a lot of Team Brady readers. I'm not there yet. I don't feel like I really got to know him. The little of him I did see was through the eyes of Liz, and she was just too silly for words. I had to keep reminding myself that she was a very young woman. Her outlook on life, her reality, just wasn't relatable to me. Her reactions were so out there sometimes. I saw myself shaking my head at her way too much.So, to conclude, right now I'm Team Hayden. I believe he has more to offer her. A public relationship for one. And his heart was much clearer to me than Brady's. Maybe that will change in book 2.
    more
  • Kayla at MyBookMuse
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*Sigh. It hurts to write this and after reading other reviews I might be in the minority but Off the Record left me underwhelmed. Liz Dougherty, a journalist major at UNC, gets her first stab at reporting when she attends the political press conference of state Senator Brady Maxwell. There with her editor-in-chief and current crush, Hayden, Liz is determined to finally prove her worth as a reporter to Hayden and herself. When Brady selec *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*Sigh. It hurts to write this and after reading other reviews I might be in the minority but Off the Record left me underwhelmed. Liz Dougherty, a journalist major at UNC, gets her first stab at reporting when she attends the political press conference of state Senator Brady Maxwell. There with her editor-in-chief and current crush, Hayden, Liz is determined to finally prove her worth as a reporter to Hayden and herself. When Brady selects Liz during the Q&A part of the press conference, Liz makes quite the impression when she throws Brady a hard hitting question that throws him off guard. But Liz's question not only impresses Hayden, but Brady as well. Brady then pursues Liz despite the harm a relationship could cause to his career as well as Liz's credibility as a reporter and the two of them decide to carry out a secret relationship. But the reality of their relationship leaves Liz constantly questioning Brady's motivations for secrecy and her own hang-ups with being his mistress. My biggest problems with Off the Record has to do with the characters and the lack of depth in Brady and Liz's relationship. Liz has no personality. I could not connect with her character and nor could I feel sympathy for her when it came to her feelings towards Brady. For someone that is so determined to be a serious reporter she seemed more than willing to throw away her credibility in order to prove that she was Brady's woman. Plus every male in a 5 foot radius wanted her. Brady, Hayden, some random guy at the bar, etc. Really? I also couldn't connect with Brady. I love men in power but I didn't find him that charming. Well, maybe I did when he first pursued Liz, but after I couldn't understand why Liz was so willing to ruin her reputation to be with him. He was cold and indifferent unless he was trying to get into Liz's pants. And the two of them together? Boring. I hate to say it but there was no depth between them. Liz and Brady basically just get together to have sex and that magically transforms into love. How or why I don't know. I didn't feel anything between them but their own lust for one another. Especially when Brady showed almost NO emotion towards Liz until the very end of the book. The only character I actually found charming was Hayden. He and Liz had a relationship that wasn't focused in the bedroom. There was actual development between them personally and professionally. If I was Liz, I would have dropped Brady in favor of Hayden who actually made her a priority in his life. On top of all that there is are a few secondary characters brought into this book that I cannot help but feel are reincarnated from the Avoiding series. For example, Liz's best friend, Victoria, reminds me of Chyna 2.0, the book smart version. As well as Clay, who reminds me of John. I wish I could have loved this. I really really do. K.A. Linde is a great writer and she definitely knows her stuff when it comes to the political portion of this book but I found myself getting bored and skimming the pages. I hope this is one of those "everyone loved but me" books and that I haven't turned any one off on what is a very promising series, but I just could not connect with these characters or this story. 2 stars*
    more
  • Bridget
    January 1, 1970
    No one does forbidden romance better!K.A. Linde owns this genre. The illicit pull that her characters have toward one and other is searing hot. The reasons why they keep their distance, initially, are believable and solid. Could the public accept their relationship, or would it damage their careers and aspirations that have defined them as individuals? I fell in love with Liz and Brady’s chemistry and was really pulling for them to find a way to be together.Liz is a smart, hard working, likeable No one does forbidden romance better!K.A. Linde owns this genre. The illicit pull that her characters have toward one and other is searing hot. The reasons why they keep their distance, initially, are believable and solid. Could the public accept their relationship, or would it damage their careers and aspirations that have defined them as individuals? I fell in love with Liz and Brady’s chemistry and was really pulling for them to find a way to be together.Liz is a smart, hard working, likeable college student who’s romantic relationships in the past haven’t grabbed her like what is about ready to wreck her life. Intense, passionate, captivating, all while being intellectually stimulating, is her clandestine attraction to Brady Maxwell. I fell for this combination hard. The element of secrecy, without either party being a cheater, was fun and kept me on my toes worrying that their relationship would be found out. Brady isn’t always perfect. He’s a bossy, alpha male that can be stubborn and make mistakes. However, I never questioned his growing feelings for Liz. They just needed to find a way to work through their obstacles. For me this book had all the great elements of a fun and steamy romance. I can’t wait to see where the other books in this series will lead this couple. This is one of my favorite reads of the year!
    more
  • Tara | Slow Readers Blog
    January 1, 1970
    I have been waiting for this book for what feels like forever. I remember reading the first chapter in the back of one of the Avoiding series books and being hooked instantly. Time went by faster than I expected but then once the cover was revealed it slowed to a crawl. It was like the last month of pregnancy. If you've had a baby, you know what I'm talking about. That last month never ends. Seeing the cover was like seeing a sonogram picture and waiting to get my hands on the book was like wait I have been waiting for this book for what feels like forever. I remember reading the first chapter in the back of one of the Avoiding series books and being hooked instantly. Time went by faster than I expected but then once the cover was revealed it slowed to a crawl. It was like the last month of pregnancy. If you've had a baby, you know what I'm talking about. That last month never ends. Seeing the cover was like seeing a sonogram picture and waiting to get my hands on the book was like waiting for the birth of my child. Alright, so I may be exaggerating a bit, but it felt like a really long time! So with that said... Happy Birthday... err, Release Day! Off the Record is finally here!One of the things that hooked me instantly to this story was Senator Brady Maxwell. I loved the premise. Politics is not a common theme and that made me excited. Because as much as I love some of these books, sometimes you need a breath of fresh air. Sometimes you need a break from billionaires with kinky fetishes. And I love me some billionaires. But Brady Maxwell was exactly what I needed.It was also a very enjoyable read because the last few years I've gotten very into politics so there was another element there for me. But the beauty of this book is that you don't have to know a thing about politics to read it. It makes it interesting if you keep up with politics and easy to understand if you don't.Liz Dougherty is the main character and the story is told from her point of view. She's a feisty journalism major at the University of North Carolina with a pretty strong crush on Hayden Lane, the editor of the school newspaper she works on. But when the two attend a press conference for Brady Maxwell together, Liz asks Brady a question that throws him for a loop and sets Liz right in his sights.Brady wants Liz. He's instantly attracted to her but the public won't understand him dating a reporter, much less one that has publicly and vehemently disagreed with him. So he proposes a secret relationship. It's Liz's turn to be thrown for a loop when she thinks Hayden may be beginning to show romantic interest in her after all.This was a fun, smart, sexy and intriguing read and it was just as good as I expected it to be. Which, to be honest, I was surprised after anxiously awaiting this book for so long. My hopes were so high. They were not let down.K.A. Linde hooked me with the Avoiding series. She made me an instant fan-girl. And although for some reason I was under the impression that this was a standalone novel, when I got to the end and saw "To be continued..." I was so excited. Because another flawless series from Ms. Linde is exactly what I need!
    more
  • Lori ~Lover of Books~
    January 1, 1970
    5 Off the Charts Amazing Stars Off the Record is the first installment in the Record Trilogy by K.A. Linde. I was really excited about this book. It didn't disappoint! I don't know how K.A. Linde does it, but I can never put her books down once I start them. Since the book will not be released until March 2014, I am going to try to keep this completely spoiler free and stick to the basic information that you can read in the description. After it is released, I will add some additional detail. L 5 Off the Charts Amazing Stars Off the Record is the first installment in the Record Trilogy by K.A. Linde. I was really excited about this book. It didn't disappoint! I don't know how K.A. Linde does it, but I can never put her books down once I start them. Since the book will not be released until March 2014, I am going to try to keep this completely spoiler free and stick to the basic information that you can read in the description. After it is released, I will add some additional detail. Liz Dougherty is a college student at UNC. Journalism is Liz's passion. She is excited about her first big assignment for the college paper. She attends a press conference for State Senator Brady Maxwell with her newspaper editor Hayden Lane. Liz has a crush on Hayden so she is excited about more than just hearing from the senator. When Brady Maxwell takes the stage Liz is immediately taken in by him but, she doesn't necessarily agree with some of his political views. Liz is fortunate enough to ask the senator a question during the press conference and it catches Brady off-guard. Hayden, Liz's editor is impressed with Liz's hard hitting question and believes she has a big future with the UNC newspaper. Senator Brady Maxwell is attracted to Liz after she questions him. Brady and Liz start seeing one another privately but their relationship could ruin Brady's political aspirations and it could destroy Liz's credibility as a journalist. Throughout the story, Liz and Brady are joined by a wonderful group of supporting characters besides Hayden Lane. I have a feeling we will see and hear a lot more from Clay Maxwell(Brady's brother) and Calleigh Hollingsworth (a journalist) in the next installments. This book ends in true K.A. Linde style. Off the Record has a cliffhanger, so K.A. Linde will keep us guessing until we can get our hands on the next installment. Liz Dougherty Brady Maxwell Hayden Lane*****What I liked*****1. I love strong female characters and Liz was smart, sassy, and independent. The story is told in her POV (until the very end) and I thought she was very likable and easy to connect with. 2. I LOVED Brady Maxwell! He was conflicted, selfish, arrogant, driven, and sexy! He also had a romantic and loyal side I adored! We get a surprise at the end because we get to read a little in his POV. 3. I loved the character's emotion and need! There was so much they wanted to do and say but couldn't. It kept me glued to my Kindle. 4. Brady and Liz had great heat! There were some really great steamy scenes! I thought my Kindle overheated a few times! *****What I didn't like****1. I really liked this book! There really wasn't anything I didn't like. If I had to chose something I would say, I wanted to read more from the supporting characters. But, I have a feeling they will play a big part in the next books. I am excited to read more about Clay. He seems like he might be a bit of a mouthy trouble-maker and I am definitely intrigued! Clay MaxwellQuick Book Stats-Genre- ContemporarySeries- Yes, it's a trilogy.Writing Style- Liz's POVEditing- I had an unedited ARC, and it was still pretty good.Story- It had a unique storyline, and I liked that.Heat- Great, Very SteamyHEA- (view spoiler)[ Cliffhanger (hide spoiler)]Recommendation-I recommend this book to all Avoiding Series fans and any and everyone else! I freaking loved it! Until the next book this will be me....OMG what is going to happen? Waiting for the next installment in this series may make me a little crazy! I can't wait to get my hands on it! ARC provided by Amazon
    more
  • Paula
    January 1, 1970
    Forbidden love story between a politician and a college reporter written by K.A. Linde – it was a no brainer had to read it! And who knew a Senator could be so sexy. Brady Maxwell is delicious!Liz Dougherty dreams of being a big-time reporter one day. She is an upcoming junior at UNC, works at the newspaper, and finally getting her first shot at being a reporter while at a political press conference for NC’s state Senator Brady Maxwell. She’s there with her editor Hayden Lane, who she’s had a cr Forbidden love story between a politician and a college reporter written by K.A. Linde – it was a no brainer had to read it! And who knew a Senator could be so sexy. Brady Maxwell is delicious!Liz Dougherty dreams of being a big-time reporter one day. She is an upcoming junior at UNC, works at the newspaper, and finally getting her first shot at being a reporter while at a political press conference for NC’s state Senator Brady Maxwell. She’s there with her editor Hayden Lane, who she’s had a crush on for two years. While at the press conference, Liz gets a chance to prove her worth during the Q&A when the Senator selects her to ask him a question. The last thing she expected was to stump the Senator with her question and make such a big impression that he pursues Liz and asks her for a no-strings-attach relationship that will be kept a secret and completely on his terms. "This is almost whatever you want it to be. It's not public. It's not in the news. It's not a point the campaign can use against me. It's a woman and a man taking what they can in a world where it's not feasible for us to be together. I'm not promising you much, but I'm only asking for discretion. Everything else you give me is up to you." – Brady Now Liz is a smart girl and she doesn’t even know if she likes Brady or if it was infatuation, but there is something about Brady that completely disarms her. She knows she shouldn’t see him and that it isn’t professional for her future career in journalism but she is allured by his sexiness and charm, finding it hard to say no to his proposition. “He had this pull on her, and their connection was like nothing she had ever experienced before. I might be wrong, but she wanted this to happen.” State Senator Brady Maxwell III surprises everyone by announcing at the press conference he’s running for Congress. He’s gorgeous, ambitious, driven, and has been groomed for politics his whole life. At 27, he’s quite young to be running for The House of Rep, which is why image is everything to him. What he didn’t expect is to be thrown a curveball when a sexy and smart reporter asks him a question he was completely unprepared for and be drawn to her. Even though Brady has no time for relationships and knows sleeping with a reporter (who disagrees with him, mind you!) could destroy his career, he still wants Liz in his bed. And the secret, forbidden affair begins.As their affair continues, secrets and lies start to pile on top of each other. It becomes more and more difficult for Liz to remain in the shadow of Brady’s life as her feelings grow stronger. She’s not sure if she can continue to be his secret girlfriend anymore. She wants more from Brady, even though he made it clear from the beginning his career comes first. She’s torn. She wants the charismatic man who consumes her thoughts, exhilarates her, and helps her grow as a person. But what happens when things become extremely serious between? “They were slipping away from their arrangement. The more he let her in, the more she craved from him.” Brady and Liz are definitely hot and steamy together. The physical chemistry between them was intense. But because this story is told from Liz’s POV, it was hard to get a read on what Brady was feeling. He wanted her physically – that much was obvious, but he kept his feelings under wraps, never making declarations of love, or making any promises of the future. But then there were times when I would get a hint of Brady’s emotions when his campaign mask would come off. He was a different man – laid back, caring, fun-loving man who let Liz see inside his heart. And I knew deep down he wanted more with Liz when he started bending his own rules to be with her. Which is when the emotional connection snapped into place and the relationship becomes more real and very intense.I must admit I had many moments of frustration with the main characters. I didn’t always like the choices they made. I know image is everything in the political world but it saddened me and even pissed me off when Brady kept Liz at arm’s length and their relationship a secret. Liz could’ve always said no to him, but she didn’t, and it made her look like Brady’s door mat at times. But this is K.A. Linde and that's how she rolls. She makes you feel frustrated and heartbroken over the bad choices her character’s make. She makes you want to slap them silly yet, at the same time, she makes you root for her characters the entire way.These two have a long way to go before they get their happy ending. Does that mean there is a cliffhanger? Not really, but there is no resolution for this couple either. This is a trilogy. I mentioned Hayden above, who Liz has had a long-term crush on – does this mean there is a love triangle? Sort of… but not really. I despise love triangles sometimes but considering this isn’t a full fledge triangle it didn’t bother me. But Hayden does play an important role in the story. In true K.A. Linde fashion we have a forbidden love story, a love triangle, drama, and angst. Though I say that, this story is very different from her Avoiding series. I love the Avoiding series, despite the fact that I… ahem… didn’t read the last book for personal reasons. That didn’t keep me from wanting to read this book. In fact, I inhaled this book I enjoyed it so much. It was thought-provoking, sexy, frustrating, heartbreaking and enthralling. I’m looking forward to continuing this story with On the Record. I feel like we’ve barely scratched the surface with this couple and the next book will have a lot more emotional depth between Brady and Liz. Rating: B+Heat: Hot-- A Romantic Book Affairs Review Find us on Twitter and Facebook too!
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    Definitely my favorite K.A. Linde book so far!! 😍I can't wait to read more about Senator Maxwell! ❤ Although there were moments I wanted to slap some sense into them, especially to the heroine that wasn't clear to the people around her. But I understand how she felt, so I'm giving to her the benefit of the doubt and can't wait to how this series is going to continue & delve deeper into the story!
    more
  • Tough Critic Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Double layered Moon Pies…who knew.All I really know about politics is that, "I did not have sexual relations with that woman," and elephants. That being said, my interests weren't all that interested in reading Off the Record. It's exactly like Moon Pies. I've known about MPs since I was a kid, but nothing about them sounded appetizing. Graham crackers….they're okay. Chocolate….generic. Mallows….could totally live without. Well, a year ago, I ate one. I ate a Moon Pie. It was at that very moment Double layered Moon Pies…who knew.All I really know about politics is that, "I did not have sexual relations with that woman," and elephants. That being said, my interests weren't all that interested in reading Off the Record. It's exactly like Moon Pies. I've known about MPs since I was a kid, but nothing about them sounded appetizing. Graham crackers….they're okay. Chocolate….generic. Mallows….could totally live without. Well, a year ago, I ate one. I ate a Moon Pie. It was at that very moment, my tongue grew a pair of tiny lips...and smiled. Individually those three ingredients didn't appeal to me at all, but something about the combination created something that caused my tongue to smile. K.A. Linde created a Moon Pie. She nailed the political aspect while combining it with engaging characters, romance, love, and lust creating the perfect combination.I wasn't even bothered by the instant relationship between Brady and Liz. It was founded on attraction, intrigue, lust and sex. Not love. The evolution of that physical relationship is what drives the book. However, I was concerned about it's depth. The relationship wasn't something that was developed to it's full extent until I read the very last chapter. The chapter that gave me new eyes. The chapter that delivered something that I had found to be lacking with the relationship between Brady and Liz. It. Changed. Everything. At first I didn't see the mini-love triangle as necessary. It was a distraction. I enjoyed Hayden, felt sorry for him, but was he just a catalyst to create some drama? Then I reminded myself that this is a trilogy. I think Hayden's character will prove significant; the foundation being laid for what's to come. I was blown away by the speed in which I finished this book. I wouldn't consider it an angst filled read, a fact that I believe fueled the pace. I was not drowning in drama, angst, and emotion. I was teased by it. I was also left wanting more, needing more. If not for the ending, my rating might not have been as high. I wouldn't call it a cliffhanger. I'd call it perfectly irresolute. Having it from Brady's POV changed everything.I can't wait for the sequel!READ ON!More reviews at: http://www.toughcriticbookreviews.com
    more
  • KathyAnne
    January 1, 1970
    I just could not wrap my head around the idea that this relationship was supposedly forbidden??? He is a young, twenty something, SINGLE guy running for the state Senate. She is a SINGLE gal who is at the tail end of her college career and she works for her college campus newspaper. They aren't famous... they aren't married... so what is the problem?? Honestly, there really was not a good reason that they could not openly be together except that she did not agree with some of his political decis I just could not wrap my head around the idea that this relationship was supposedly forbidden??? He is a young, twenty something, SINGLE guy running for the state Senate. She is a SINGLE gal who is at the tail end of her college career and she works for her college campus newspaper. They aren't famous... they aren't married... so what is the problem?? Honestly, there really was not a good reason that they could not openly be together except that she did not agree with some of his political decisions and published them in the campus newspaper. Who cares?? This is not something that would hurt a political career. But, having a secret mistress that you use for booty calls definitely will! If politicians think that we care that much about who they date... they are definitely out of touch with the ordinary average American. It's not like she was Anti-American or something. She just didn't agree with him. He tells her after one sexual encounter that he wants to continue to see her but it has to remain a secret so it doesn't damage their careers and his desire to rise up the political chain. He says that his career will always come before her AND that he can only meet with her in secret on HIS time not hers... but, that's okay he says... it will be worth all of the trouble. This guy really thinks too much of himself... He came across as arrogant and self absorbed. The fact that she even agreed to this arrangement was just confusing. Why would any college educated, beautiful, mature, respectable woman agree to such a one sided relationship after only two encounters?? I'm sorry, but no guy is worth that much trouble. I would have liked this story more if it had been approached as a love/hate relationship. They disagree on everything outside of the bedroom politically BUT connect perfectly in the bedroom department. As a forbidden mistress/love romance?? No... I found it to be a weak storyline in that regards. ARC provided by Montlake Romancewww.ktbookreviews.com
    more
  • Harriet ~ bookworm
    January 1, 1970
    2.5/3 StarsI guess you're thinking why such a low rating? Well Brady the hero I didn't find him swoony or romantic, I found him to just be annoying and selfish. I just didn't find the connection between him and Liz. Liz although a nice heroine just became a door mat, if Brady asked her to jump she would say how high (I hate that expression but for this it's perfect.) So yes this had a love triangle.. (Yay) I just love to torture myself with them, but oh wait, no I didn't actually care about the 2.5/3 StarsI guess you're thinking why such a low rating? Well Brady the hero I didn't find him swoony or romantic, I found him to just be annoying and selfish. I just didn't find the connection between him and Liz. Liz although a nice heroine just became a door mat, if Brady asked her to jump she would say how high (I hate that expression but for this it's perfect.) So yes this had a love triangle.. (Yay) I just love to torture myself with them, but oh wait, no I didn't actually care about the stupid love triangle because Liz the mug will just keep going back to Brady. The whole politics story I actually enjoyed and found interesting but I also found this storyline so bloody unrealistic. Yes like Brady could just go in a club with hardly any security and be ok, this Brady can I just say is leading up to be president one day, not like Barack Obama could just waltz into a club and not have any attention. Oh and another thing, another thing I just fricking hate, yup you guessed it.. insta fricking love, Yeh that stupid old thing, that was just a big fat eye roll from me. Yes this ends on a good old cliffy (another sarcastic remark) will I be reading the second book? That would be a hell no! So I haven't wrote a review in such a long time due to my job and finding time and I've missed it so much, so this is my first one (little I know) and not the greatest of ratings for my first one in a long time but hey I'm just getting back in the swing of things :)!
    more
  • Taryn
    January 1, 1970
    I'm going to make this short and sweet..."Are you going to kiss me?" she murmured. "Senseless."In true Linde fashion, she knows how to hook, line, and sinker the reader nearing the end. The last 35% had me on the edge and where it drew the most emotion. It was the best for me and I couldn't put it down at that point! For once I am thankful I waited to read a book since the second one comes out in the next few days. I don’t consider the ending to be a cliffhanger, but it did leave me wanting for I'm going to make this short and sweet..."Are you going to kiss me?" she murmured. "Senseless."In true Linde fashion, she knows how to hook, line, and sinker the reader nearing the end. The last 35% had me on the edge and where it drew the most emotion. It was the best for me and I couldn't put it down at that point! For once I am thankful I waited to read a book since the second one comes out in the next few days. I don’t consider the ending to be a cliffhanger, but it did leave me wanting for more. The political element of this book was a little too much for me. I skimmed quite a few scenes. However, I think it was absolutely necessary for those scenes to be present in this book or else it wouldn’t have been authentic. It’s honestly just a personal preference since I don’t care for politics very much, but I knew the basis of this story and it intrigued me. So I think the author made the right choice for the book."Are you done?"Liz shrugged. "Don't use that face with me.""What face?" he asked, scrunching his brows together."Your campaign face. All serious with no emotion. I know you're thinking something underneath there," she said.Looking forward to the next one! Brady, Liz... Hayden. Oh man. I hope Liz toughens up! I can't help but feel bad for Liz even though Brady was very clear what they were from the beginning. I have my reservations, but I can't wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • It's just me Shelly B
    January 1, 1970
    I'm in the minority here.....this is a simple case of "everyone loved this book but ME!!!"I couldn't connect with either character....I felt no bond between the two characters! I don't even remember the chick's name....sad but true. I skimmed the sex scenes not because they were not well written only because I felt NOTHNG for either character.Now let me say this.....this author wrote ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORTIE SERIES so in no means am I bashing her I LOVE her I just didn't connect with this boo I'm in the minority here.....this is a simple case of "everyone loved this book but ME!!!"I couldn't connect with either character....I felt no bond between the two characters! I don't even remember the chick's name....sad but true. I skimmed the sex scenes not because they were not well written only because I felt NOTHNG for either character.Now let me say this.....this author wrote ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORTIE SERIES so in no means am I bashing her I LOVE her I just didn't connect with this book. I ADORE and LOVE her Avoiding series.....so it's not the writing it just simply didn't work for me:(Which makes me sad because I wanted to love it like I loved the Avoiding series. Maybe after the series is complete I may give it a shot again and feel differently about it....only time will tell. Since I only made it to 45% I will refrain from rating it.
    more
Write a review