Everything, Everything
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Everything, Everything Details

TitleEverything, Everything
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 1st, 2015
PublisherDelacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139780553496642
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Everything, Everything Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 1, 1970
    I was super excited when I read the description and heard the hype, but this story ended up being one of the worst things I've ever read. I’m in a very similar "bubble girl” situation as the main character, who has to stay in her house because going outside would kill her. But, (view spoiler)[ she actually doesn’t have any condition. It’s all a mistake/her life is a lie. (hide spoiler)] The cop-out ending combined with the tagline of “the greatest risk is not taking one” felt like such a dismiss I was super excited when I read the description and heard the hype, but this story ended up being one of the worst things I've ever read. I’m in a very similar "bubble girl” situation as the main character, who has to stay in her house because going outside would kill her. But, (view spoiler)[ she actually doesn’t have any condition. It’s all a mistake/her life is a lie. (hide spoiler)] The cop-out ending combined with the tagline of “the greatest risk is not taking one” felt like such a dismissal or slap in the face.For those of us who are in her situation & allergic to the world at large, the greatest risk is taking one, IS in every single “ordinary” thing like breathing or eating. I get that the poor depiction of the illness ties into the eventual plot twist, but I wish that the book description and story didn't revolve so heavily around it then. How is exploiting a serious health condition for the sake of some poorly developed YA romance remotely ok?! Market this book as Munchausen by proxy syndrome then. I'm aware that the condition was not intended to be portrayed correctly in this book, but the author still trivialized the whole situation to seem like some fear-driven hypochondriac thing (so just let me rant for a second). The lack of authenticity in the girl's daily life while she believed she was sick was just insulting... she was able to eat countless foods. And I don’t care how great the air lock is on the door: if her mom goes in and out of the house in the same clothing, that defeats the entire purpose. My poor parents spend at least 15 minutes daily changing their clothes and scrubbing down. I know this ignorance is probably meant to be a reflection that the girl is actually fine instead of a matter of the author not caring enough to do basic research... but that's still a weak plot then. Because how is the mother a doctor if she doesn't know something so basic?! This just felt like flagrantly irresponsible rep in the end with the way the book was marketed. Yes, I do understand that the illness was not the point of the story, but that's kind of what's even more frustrating. People in my situation are largely cast aside by the medical system & society at large and left without a voice. That feeling like nobody cares and we don't matter is just reinforced here. I'm getting a lot of messages saying that this story wasn't about her illness so that poor depiction shouldn't matter because it was about her romance or self-discovery or whatever. The mindset this book encourages is problematic because by supporting it and excusing such a central part of the story, you're saying who cares about that illness. And that's what I'm hearing from readers who are championing this story as well... "the illness is just something for her character to get past, not the actual story. It doesn't matter if it's realistic." I'm not sure if I can adequately explain how it feels to think that your situation is actually visible for the first time, but then realize halfway through the book that others see you as more like some kind of freak show that's a good plot device for a character to overcome so then she can actually start to live.The end message of the story is that your life is worth risking for the sake of being "normal" and the disability is something to wish away. It also implies that someone like me is not really living. "Everything's a risk. Not doing anything's a risk. It's up to you. That is such a completely privileged stance that it's beyond infuriating. Not everyone has that freedom of choice (and not doing anything is nowhere near the same "risk" as endangering your life). Trust me, I'm not sitting in my house for years on end because I lack initiative. I have worked SO hard to create a meaningful life without ever leaving this same small room for years or seeing another human besides my parents or sister. Books like this (or Me Before You) used to make me question if my life was less valid or meaningful but now I'm just over this crap. I'm definitely not judging anyone who chooses to read this book and enjoy it!! This is just my own personal reaction to the story. Please don't tell me to try reading the story again with a different mindset so I can learn to like it. I don't. We can have different opinions... both are valid. The diversity aspect of this story was awesome, but that doesn't really change the ableism. So here are a few other books coming out soon with diverse characters:- When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon- Radio Silence by Alice Oseman- That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim- A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi- Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik- The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee- Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali
    more
  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    This is a book I expected to LOVE.It's a book many of my GR friends have loved.It's a book I was kind of liking until the thing happens......the thing that just cheapens the entire story.I have been dying to read Everything, Everything. The reviews were all positive, it received a Kirkus star, it sounded so different... all these reasons added up to one of my most anticipated reads of the year. And it started quite beautifully-written with diverse characters, including an Afro-Asian narrator c This is a book I expected to LOVE.It's a book many of my GR friends have loved.It's a book I was kind of liking until the thing happens......the thing that just cheapens the entire story.I have been dying to read Everything, Everything. The reviews were all positive, it received a Kirkus star, it sounded so different... all these reasons added up to one of my most anticipated reads of the year. And it started quite beautifully-written with diverse characters, including an Afro-Asian narrator called Madeline. Madeline's condition aside - being allergic to the entire world outside her sterile home - it quickly became evident that the book wasn't as unique as I'd anticipated. It follows in the footsteps of the great doomed love cheesefest of our time - The Fault in Our Stars - and other clones like All the Bright Places.Unlike the aforementioned two, though, I found myself enjoying this book. It was more cheesy than sweet, in my opinion, but I still enjoyed the emphasis on the human need for more. I thought Madeline was incredibly selfish at times, but this offered complexity to her character and her yearning was palpable:“For the first time in a long time, I want more than I have.”“Wanting just leads to more wanting. There’s no end to desire.”I did get a whiff of instalove. It's like Madeline first sets her eyes on Olly and her whole concept of the world changes. But I did like the build of their relationship after this, through miming at the window, chatting online and sharing poems, jokes and philosophical musings with one another. Even if Olly is a classic manic pixie dream boy who exists only to make Madeline want more.And then... the thing. The twist that turns a story about an unusual, impossible relationship into JUST ANOTHER YA ROMANCE. If you don't care about being spoiled: (view spoiler)[Madeline discovers that it's all a lie! She isn't actually sick and her mother essentially made it up to protect her and keep her in the house after her dad and brother died (her mother isn't evil, just mentally ill).But it's so cheap because the author has built up this romance around the concept of one person having an illness that doesn't allow them to leave the house (an interesting idea) and then once they're all lurved up, she smashes the concept with a hammer and it crumbles into a story about two relatively normal teens in love. I thought we were doomed but... YAY, now we can be together! It was the laziest way to tag a happy ending onto the novel.Not only this, but how the hell did her mom get away with it for 18 years? Are we seriously supposed to believe that no one questioned it? Her mom is a doctor, but seriously - wtf?! She never had an official diagnosis! Did she never see any other doctors? This is set in California where I'm pretty sure they don't just let parents lock their kids in the house without some seriously good reason. (hide spoiler)]It wasn't a great book before, but I was enjoying it. The ending, however, ruined the entire thing.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Store
    more
  • Kat O'Keeffe
    January 1, 1970
    Really impressed with this one! Cute romance, funny dialogue, and the format/illustrations made this even more fun and unique. I also thought this book did a fantastic job at balancing the lightheartedness with the more serious stuff. Personally, I could've done with a bit more resolution at the end--it felt a little rushed, and I would've liked to linger for a few more pages. Also, there were some things that didn't quite add up when I stopped to think about them, but I was able to suspend my d Really impressed with this one! Cute romance, funny dialogue, and the format/illustrations made this even more fun and unique. I also thought this book did a fantastic job at balancing the lightheartedness with the more serious stuff. Personally, I could've done with a bit more resolution at the end--it felt a little rushed, and I would've liked to linger for a few more pages. Also, there were some things that didn't quite add up when I stopped to think about them, but I was able to suspend my disbelief and just go with it.Overall, I thought this was a fantastic debut novel! Funny and sad and romantic all at once! Definitely recommended, especially if you like cute, unique contemporary.
    more
  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)
    January 1, 1970
    this became an instant fave! beautiful writing, extraordinary story, & rich characters. full video review to come!
  • Khanh, first of her name, mother of bunnies
    January 1, 1970
    This book is about a the most special different unique girl half black-half-Japanese girl in the world who has a super ultra extraordinarily rare disease which nobody can figure out which makes her allergic to everything, therefore she has to stay inside all day, who meets a boy who moves in next door, and it is exactly as boring as it sounds. There is such a thing as trying too hard.I feel nothing for our doomed character. I don't really care that she could kick the bucket at any moment as she This book is about a the most special different unique girl half black-half-Japanese girl in the world who has a super ultra extraordinarily rare disease which nobody can figure out which makes her allergic to everything, therefore she has to stay inside all day, who meets a boy who moves in next door, and it is exactly as boring as it sounds. There is such a thing as trying too hard.I feel nothing for our doomed character. I don't really care that she could kick the bucket at any moment as she randomly develops an allergy to her clothes, her mom, the furniture. I don't care about her. I don't feel bad for her. She is sheltered, dull, emotionally underdeveloped. I have no fucks to give about whatever silly ass random hopes and wishes and dreams she has (go to Hawaii! Whoo! That's my dream too. Whoop de doo).There are cute little drawings! Whoo! There are book spoilers (the mouse in Flowers for Algernon died, and that book did make me cry in 5th grade).The Cute Boy Next Door(tm) sends her emails! They slowly fall in love! The end. It is that boring. Who gives a fuck?In all seriousness, I don't really read contemporary books, and I have criterias for them. They're supposed to make me feel for the main character. I want to suffer along with them. I want to fall in love along with them. I want to experience their joy, their pain. In a book in which a character is pretty much doomed from the start, I want to live each breath with them like it was their last.This book did nothing for me. There's a Bundt cake that "commits suicide" in the book. I felt more emotion for that cake than I did for anyone in this book.
    more
  • Zoë
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5I really enjoyed this, especially the last 1/3 of the book! It had a unique premise, a great main character, a nice romance, and a great message. I recommend to all of you looking for a good quick read, whether you are usually a fan of YA romance or not!
    more
  • Emma Giordano
    January 1, 1970
    3 Stars. Unfortunately, I was a little let down by Everything Everything. I have heard people raving about it since 2015, I've been dying to read it since 2015. I can't exactly tell if it was just overhyped (by others and myself) or if the book just all around was not the best for me.The overarching positive thing I have to say about this book is that it was entertaining. Although I wasn't 100% satisfied with the story as a whole, I wanted to keep reading. It was addicting and amusing, and it wa 3 Stars. Unfortunately, I was a little let down by Everything Everything. I have heard people raving about it since 2015, I've been dying to read it since 2015. I can't exactly tell if it was just overhyped (by others and myself) or if the book just all around was not the best for me.The overarching positive thing I have to say about this book is that it was entertaining. Although I wasn't 100% satisfied with the story as a whole, I wanted to keep reading. It was addicting and amusing, and it was an enjoyable read. Also, we get a main character who is biracial (African American/Japanese). Biracial characters don't always get their own stories in YA, so I was glad to see some positive representation on this front. I also really liked Olly and Maddie together. I thought they complimented each other well. Olly was always looking out for Maddie's best interests and was respectful and attentive to her needs. These are the types of love interests we need in YA and I was happy to see them together.That being said, I was irked by quite a lot of this book. Firstly, I felt there was way too much of a focus on romance being Maddie's drive to "truly live." I was very happy that at certain points, Maddie wanted to go outside for herself, to not feel restricted, and to be free. I may not agree with some of the risks Maddie took with her perceived condition, but if there was a reason for her to take those risks, a sense of taking control of your life and living for *you* is what I was glad to see. Unfortunately, I felt at a lot of time, that individual desire was overshadowed by a desire for love. There are so many points in this book where Maddie relays to Oly that she (view spoiler)[ "never would have gone outside if it wasn't for him", "wanted Olly to have a girlfriend who could do the same things as him" etc. (hide spoiler)] I felt that there was too much of a focus on the presence of Olly shaping Maddie's decisions, and at times her personal discovery was overshadowed by her love for him. I left this book, not with the message that you should live your life to the fullest, but that Maddie was okay with sacrificing her personal health for love, and that's something I'm vehemently against. Had there been a focus on Maddie accepting she made risky decisions for Olly and that she had a new-found desire to make those decisions for herself only, I would have been more okay with it. But whatever efforts were made to squash the idea that "putting yourself at risk is romantic" were not strong enough for me to condone those actions.(This section technically constitutes as "spoilers" so I'll hide it, but if you've seen the trailer or know what decisions of Maddie's that I'm talking about, you won't be spoiled.) (view spoiler)[ I was somewhat appalled at how little Maddie seemed concerned for her health when she was outside and went to Hawaii?? Let me be clear that I do not have SCID, I have no experience with SCID or other medical disabilities, so what I'm saying here is HELLA IREELEVANT and just my personal interpretation. AKA I'm not attempting to speak for people with conditions like SCID. But I was truly in shock that Maddie did not often make enough comments, even to herself, about the impending risk of getting ill and dying? This girl has spent her entire life being told she has a high probability of dying if she goes outside. Yet she is in an entirely new environment, swimming in the ocean, in contact with people she has never met, eating new foods, wearing new textiles. I just could not understand how this girl could not be nervous 24/7 about getting sick when she has spent her life being told everything she is currently doing will potentially make her sick. It honestly took away a huge chunk of the authenticity of the story and felt entirely unrealistic in my opinion, but again, I have no experience with this matter, so maybe my perception is skewed and Maddie had fully reasonable reactions to her new experiences. (hide spoiler)]Now we get to the issues with representation and research regarding SCID, which I'm not qualified to talk about, but feel it's important to address regardless.*I am incapable of accurately describing the issues of representation in Everything Everything.I read a review from Disability in Kidlit which wonderfully expressing why this book is harmful to people with disabilities. It spoils the ending for those of you that have not read it, but I feel it's an extremely well written review and I'd really recommend checking it out: http://disabilityinkidlit.com/2015/09... I've heard in passing that Nicola Yoon has addressed the issues in Everything Everything, but I'm unable to find any credible sources. If she has, that's great because 90% of authors do not do that.Overall, I liked Everything Everything. I had fun reading it. I liked the characters. I enjoyed the story. But I had a lot of issues with it, some deeper than I can personally convey. I personally prefer The Sun Is Also A Star and I would definitely read more from her in the future, but I just don't think Everything Everything lived up to my expectations.
    more
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    “Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything.” This was a combination of We Were Liars and The Fault In Our Stars. What concerns me is the We Were Liars part. Let me explain.This is a very dialouge-driven novel. Thoughtful but simple, cute and maybe a little cheesy. There's a whiff of insta-love but that isn't what bothered me. It's the plot.1. (view spoiler)[Madeline is sick. She cannot leave the house. Her mother does everything to keep her alive “Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything.” This was a combination of We Were Liars and The Fault In Our Stars. What concerns me is the We Were Liars part. Let me explain.This is a very dialouge-driven novel. Thoughtful but simple, cute and maybe a little cheesy. There's a whiff of insta-love but that isn't what bothered me. It's the plot.1. (view spoiler)[Madeline is sick. She cannot leave the house. Her mother does everything to keep her alive and far away from the world, because the Outside would kill her. Madeline however decides she wants do die so she can live. She leaves the house, runs away with a boy and leaves her mother a suicide note. God that was a bitch move. It made me so angry. Madeline acted like such a brat, and I hated her for it. (hide spoiler)]2. (view spoiler)[The twist. Turns out Madeline never was sick, her mother needs a therapist, and her whole life was a lie...and I still don't know what to think about it. I didn't like it and I didn't hate it. It just made everything seem so pointless. (hide spoiler)]There's one quote that I want to talk about, because it keeps nagging me even two weeks after finishing this:“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.”I call that bullshit. Honestly it annoyed me so much. That's a pretty depressing world view. Every teenager should scratch that out of their head. Now imagine you're an adult, you have a child and you're so incredibly proud of it. You watch it grow up, learn things, achieve goals, make decisions. You think your parents are disappointed when they look at you? Nuh-uh, I guess they'll be looking at you thinking "Look at that precious little human we created. Look at how bravely he/she/they just went to the grocery store and bought bread rolls" or something along these lines.I'm sure I'll pick up Nicola Yoon's other works. I enjoyed her writing and her characters, and I hope she'll keep surprising me. Just in a more pleasant way.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Wendy Darling
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars Pretty damned close to perfect. And this one is going to make a lot of top 10 lists this year, including mine. Review to come.
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    I can see how this book might be offensive to some people (if you've read it, you know exactly what I'm talking about), but the author absolutely didn't mean it to be and it is just fiction. Plus, if we want to be mad at someone, we should be mad at a specific character. Just sayin'. When I first saw this book and read its synopsis, I mentally took a step back. ‘‘Hey, didn’t I read this one already?’’ A big déjà vu moment occurred. I, of course, was thinking of Magonia, which features a characte I can see how this book might be offensive to some people (if you've read it, you know exactly what I'm talking about), but the author absolutely didn't mean it to be and it is just fiction. Plus, if we want to be mad at someone, we should be mad at a specific character. Just sayin'. When I first saw this book and read its synopsis, I mentally took a step back. ‘‘Hey, didn’t I read this one already?’’ A big déjà vu moment occurred. I, of course, was thinking of Magonia, which features a character with a similar disease… Except, in Magonia, the heroine is slowly dying but able to wander outside, whereas Maddy can’t leave her own house. As long as she doesn't and isn't exposed to the outside world, everything inside her functions normally. That being said, Magonia and Everything, Everything are two completely different novels that are worth the read.In fact, it reads so, so well. I started it thinking I would like to finish it sometime this week, but turns out I read it in less than three hours and I'm a slow reader. (Incidentally, uni is kicking my ass b/c of that.)I'm not gonna go ahead and say that the romance is a never-seen-before one, because let's face it. It's the usual boy-next-door story, but with a twist, seeing that the girl can't leave her house... I SO love that the heroine is Black and the love interest White. Interracial romances happen ALL THE TIME, and yet, they aren't as frequent in books and movies and I'm even going to go as far as to say songs. The writing is mesmerizing. TRY to resist it. And hey, there are cute little pictures. How often do you see those in YA? Try never. I have to watch the movie now... Do not disappoint me...Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Steph Sinclair
    January 1, 1970
    I loved everything, everything about this book. *hugs book closely* review to come.
  • Raeleen Lemay
    January 1, 1970
    *4.5/5*WeeEooOOW. THIS WAS GREAT. You guys know I typically despise romance in YA novels, but the relationship and the characters in this book were SO CUTE and so well done that I couldn't do anything but love them. Really unique main character, and the ending was sort of open which I felt worked really well with how the story went.
    more
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    “Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”I’ve had about 36 hours to think about “Everything, Everything” and now that I’m actually beginning to write this review I still don’t know how I feel about the book. It’s a really good and interesting story and to claim that it didn’t captivate me definitely would be a lie. So why do I have those mixed feelings? And why is it still so hard to sort out my feelings and thoughts? I really don’t know, but maybe this review will hel “Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”I’ve had about 36 hours to think about “Everything, Everything” and now that I’m actually beginning to write this review I still don’t know how I feel about the book. It’s a really good and interesting story and to claim that it didn’t captivate me definitely would be a lie. So why do I have those mixed feelings? And why is it still so hard to sort out my feelings and thoughts? I really don’t know, but maybe this review will help me to realise what’s been missing. And there certainly was something missing, I just can’t seem to be able to put my finger on it. XDWell, I guess we’ll just have to find out, right? ;-)The plot:Madeline Whittier has been ill ever since she’s been born. She has a rare disease that’s called SICD and due to this illness she’s unable to leave her house. Just to get in contact with other people and even other things might easily be the death of her, so that poor girl is actually eighteen and has never seen more than the room she’s living in. Well, and the neighbours that just moved in… Of course their handsome and nice son Oliver has immediately attracted Maddy’s attention and if you think that the shit just hit the fan, well, then you’re actually right! *lol*”I keep picturing myself floating high above the earth. From the edge of space I can see the whole world all at once. My eyes don’t have to stop at a wall or at a door. I can see the beginning and the end of time. I can see infinity from there. For the first time in a long time. I want more than I have.”So far, so good! Now that this is settled we can finally move to the character’s section and I bet to write about them will help me to figure everything, literally everything out! (No pun intended, I swear! ;-P) Warning: From now on there are going to be many spoilers!!! So yeah if you don’t want to be spoiled you better don’t continue!!! XD The characters:”Is it always like that?” I ask, breathless.“No,” he says. “It’s never like that.” I hear the wonder in his voice. And just like that, everything changes.”Maddy:”Ever since Olly came into my life there’ve been two Maddys: the one who lives through books and doesn’t want to die, and the one who lives and suspects that death will be a small price to pay for it.”I liked the way she saw the world and thought about things. I loved that she was a bookworm and didn’t only want to see the world but also wanted to be an active part of it. I could understand her longing for more and I swear knowing about her complicated life I really, really, really felt sorry for her. Which she most certainly would kill me for, because Maddy is such a strong person and actually hates it to be pitied for being ill. After they came back from Hawaii my heart ached for her and to read about her struggle was so painful that I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to hug her or yell at her instead! I know why she banned Olly from her life and it definitely was the sensible thing to do… but well your head and your heart sometimes want different things and I think this is a life lesson Maddy had to learn the hard way. =(”I think of Olly, decontamination-cold and waiting for me. He’s the opposite of all these things. He’s not safe. He’s not familiar. He’s in constant motion. He’s the biggest risk I’ve ever taken.”Olly: I loved that boy ever since they moved in. Yes, for me it was insta love as well and to all of you who think this is impossible: No it’s not! You can fall for someone and you can fall hard and even though I know that many people claimed it was too fast I still have to disagree. Call it personal experience, but I definitely know what I’m talking about! ;-) So yeah, back to Olly! I loved his humour and the fact that he could be serious as well. I swear the story about “The Bundt” made me laugh so hard!!!”The thing about my mom’s Bundts is that they are not very good. Terrible. Actually inedible, very nearly indestructible. Between you and me.””I gasp. Did the cake just commit suicide? I crane my neck to see what’s become of it, but it’s too dark out. Just then a spotlight illuminates the cake. Unbelievably, it’s still intact. What is that thing made of?” *LOL* Just *lol*!!!That boy certainly was awesome boyfriend material and the more I got to know him the more I wanted him to be with Maddy! I mean seriously there is no better first boyfriend than a guy who’s funny, cheeky, quick-witted, brave, responsible and caring! Those two were just too cute together and I really wanted their ship to sail!! ”In my head I know I’ve been in love before, but it doesn’t feel like it. Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and the only time all at once.”Madeline’s mom:”How could you do this to me? After everything?”I want to say something, I open my mouth to say it, but nothing comes out. My guilt is an ocean for me to drown in. Oh man!!! Don’t even get me started! At the beginning of the book I really liked her relationship with Maddy and I thought that they were a good team, but the more I read, the more I began to dislike her mom! Yes, she wanted to protect her girl but she really could have shown a little more sympathy for her daughter! I mean that poor girl lived her entire life in a bubble and then she falls in love and all her mother does is to fire the only person who was ever really close to her. Looking at it in retrospective the entire incident with Carla definitely made sense and I still can’t believe that I’ve been so blind. Still, what Maddy’s mother did is U.N.F.O.R.G.I.V.A.B.L.E !!! I understand that she seems to have a mental illness, but damn if I’d be Maddy I’d be sooo angry at her!! No, scratch that, I know I wouldn’t be angry, I would be furious!!! How could she? How could she do that to her own daughter??? To her own flesh and blood!!! I can’t!!!! I can’t even put into words how much I loathe her for doing this to poor and innocent Maddy! ”I knew it was more than that. I had to protect you. Anything can happen to you out here.” She looks around. “Anything can happen to you out here. In the world.”Well and maybe I just found the reason why my feelings for this book seem to be so contradictory. As a mother of a child I know that the love for your little one is unconditional and true. You always try to do what’s best for your child, but in Maddy’s case her mother actually did something completely wrong. Sure, from her POV and in her mind her daughter was ill, but this still doesn’t change anything about the fact that she basically ruined her daughter’s life! With her actions she took away all of Maddy’s choices and in the end she even managed to make her ill. ”And it’s the wanting that pulls me back down to earth hard. The wanting scares me. It’s like a weed that spreads slowly, just beneath your notice. Before you know it, it’s pitted your surfaces and darkened your windows.”So yes, I think that’s the main reason why the book left a bitter taste in my mouth and resulted in the fact that I don’t know whether I liked it or not. The ending and the repercussions of her mother’s actions made me so angry, but then there was the fact that Maddy and Olly got a second chance at love and this actually made me hopeful and happy again. Do you see how much I’m struggling with this review? *lol*All things considered I still think that “Everything, Everything” was a very good book. Sure it had its weaknesses and flaws, but in the end this didn’t change anything about the fact that it was one hell of a page turner. I constantly found myself wanting to know what would happen next and when it comes down to it, this is actually one of the many things that make a good book, a really good book. Right? XD
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    Buddy read with Mini-me!Ok. So this isn't my kind of book. There is literally nothing about the blurb that would tempt me to read something like this of my own free will. Unless this chick sported some mutant powers, came from another planet, or fought vampires in her spare time? No. Everything...everything...about this story sounds sappy and gross. Gonna have to give it a HARD pass.And let me go ahead and apologize to all the people who feel marginalized or disgusted at the way this book treate Buddy read with Mini-me!Ok. So this isn't my kind of book. There is literally nothing about the blurb that would tempt me to read something like this of my own free will. Unless this chick sported some mutant powers, came from another planet, or fought vampires in her spare time? No. Everything...everything...about this story sounds sappy and gross. Gonna have to give it a HARD pass.And let me go ahead and apologize to all the people who feel marginalized or disgusted at the way this book treated such a serious subject as this girl's illness. <--I get it. Not cool.However.My Everything is the 12 year old little girl pictured above, and after seeing the trailer to the movie, she asked me to read this with her.I know what you're thinking:But Anne, you have 4 kids! How can that one mean everything to you.I don't know! I love each one of them with all my heart. There's no science that can explain it, but it's true. Each one is the center of my entire world, each one is my favorite, and each of one of them is the best thing that ever happened to me. Why?Because I said so.It's Mom Logic. You don't argue with that shit.Anyway.She's always been my reluctant reader, so it wouldn't have mattered what the hell this was about, there was no way I was turning this opportunity down. So. Here I am, reviewing Everything, Everything.sighWarning: SpoilersSo this is basically a sugary Nicholas Sparks-lite romance for teens. Minus the horrifying endings that come with most of his books...Which is exactly what I thought it would be, and exactly why my 12 year old loooooooved it. And that's FINE. I mean, the only thing that I really thought was great about the story was the length. I was able to finish it in a day, which was a HUGE bonus because I'd promised her that I would read the damn thing before we saw the movie in the theater. Cha-ching! Slid in under the wire, just in time to sit through an hour and a half of teenage kissy face and fade to black sex.The ending is pretty controversial, but until I'd read some of the reviews, I really didn't understand why. Mainly, because I don't read shit like this. Ever. But I suppose it should have been marketed as a 'Mama's Fucking Crazy' story instead of a 'Sick Chick Falls In Love' story. Personally, I liked the fact that she wasn't really ill.And here's why:I got to lean over to my daughter during the movie and whisper, "See?! THAT'S what a bad mom looks like! I'm not looking so evil for not buying you those (f-ing overpriced!) shoes now, am I?"Damn straight.Ok. And this was the COOLEST part of the whole experience. After we left the theater, she turned to me and said the four little words I've been dying to hear her say for years:The book was better.Anyway, my kid gave it 5 OMG-IT-WAS-AMAZING! stars.I'm giving it 3 OMG-MY-DAUGHTER-VOLUNTARILY-READ-A-BOOK! stars.
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Update: 10/29/16 - $1.99 on kindle. Not sure for how long!www.melissa413readsalot.blogspot.comHoly freaking hell! How do I write a review for this book without spoilers! I can't give out spoilers! This book must be read!! Oh. My. God. I CAN NOT believe what Maddy goes through. And the ending! I thought I was going to have a panic attack reading what happens!!!!Madeline Whittier (Maddy) has SCID, basically meaning she is allergic to everything and has been sealed inside of her house since she was Update: 10/29/16 - $1.99 on kindle. Not sure for how long!www.melissa413readsalot.blogspot.comHoly freaking hell! How do I write a review for this book without spoilers! I can't give out spoilers! This book must be read!! Oh. My. God. I CAN NOT believe what Maddy goes through. And the ending! I thought I was going to have a panic attack reading what happens!!!!Madeline Whittier (Maddy) has SCID, basically meaning she is allergic to everything and has been sealed inside of her house since she was four-years-old or she will die. Her mother is a doctor and they have a woman named Carla that watches her when her mom is out. She has to take her vitals every few hours. They stand in an air-lock at the door until they are safely decontaminated. The house has filters, well you name it. This girl is 18 and doesn't know the real world.... until.... Olly moves in next door. He's hot, he's sweet and he is really good with Maddy. You know that they are going to fall in love and it's so sweet, it's so sweet and so damn sad. I can't take it!!!!! Hmmmm... what else can I say... shit... let me just say a little about the end but not too much. Maddy decides she wants to get out and see the world. She lies to Olly, gets him to go on a trip and things happen and she almost dies, but if these things didn't happen... if Olly didn't come into her life.... she wouldn't have found out the biggest thing she needed to learn about her life. And it made me cry damn it!! I love this book. Kudos to the author!
    more
  • Justin
    January 1, 1970
    Alright, alright... four stars. Fine. I did it. We're good. But let's talk about how much I wanted to hate this stupid book. Oh I don't know, maybe because it borrows from like every popular young adult novel ever written. Funny illustrations, one sentence chapters, hipster chapter titles, nods to classic films and books, unique spins on popular board games, boys who wear black, Tumblr book reviews, mushy romance, wild unchaperoned craziness, the internet, super cheesy descriptions of how beauti Alright, alright... four stars. Fine. I did it. We're good. But let's talk about how much I wanted to hate this stupid book. Oh I don't know, maybe because it borrows from like every popular young adult novel ever written. Funny illustrations, one sentence chapters, hipster chapter titles, nods to classic films and books, unique spins on popular board games, boys who wear black, Tumblr book reviews, mushy romance, wild unchaperoned craziness, the internet, super cheesy descriptions of how beautiful someone is, a boy describing himself as sexy, some rare disease that love can overcome, boy and girl falling in love but would never actually in real life so you have to really suspend belief, parents who just don't understand, teenage angst, a bright colorful book cover with giant title font, an author with a cool name, first person narrative...But why... why am I here 24 hours later having finished the book in two sittings and now somehow rating it four stars? God, I have no idea. I didn't even wanna read it. I put it on hold at the library for some stupid reason and when I went to pick it up they couldn't find it. I told them not to even bother because the book probably sucks anyway, and I'd rather read something much better. They insisted and went to check in the back and then came back after taking forever and handed it over. The bright, happy cover pissed me off and I almost threw it back in the librarian's face and told her to forget it. I'm not reading this garbage. It sits around the house for a few days. I finish a couple books, and it sits there beckoning to me from afar. I gave in. I read a few pages and then they just keep turning. I'm thinking about how I've seen all that stuff before. Move along. Nothing new to see here. Pages keep turning. The romance is so over the top and obnoxious. I keep reading. It kinda gets outta control. I keep going. The ending. I really enjoyed it. It's not the most original book in the world, but it far exceeded my expectations on a gray Sunday afternoon. Suspend belief and just go with it. That's what I always say.
    more
  • Andrea Izquierdo
    January 1, 1970
    ME MUERO. ME MUERO. ME MUERO. LLORO MUCHO. ES PERFECTO. (Relectura en verano de 2016)
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    This book was overall enjoyable, and the first half I absolutely adored! Amazing writing, realistic characters. I love how Olly was smart, but not wise beyond his years *cough* John Green *cough*. However, the last half of this book just went by too fast, developed instalove, was unrealistic, and predictable. Amazing idea, but the way the book was written (unrealistically) i was able to guess the outcome, which was frustrating because it could have taken such a better twist. But it was cute and This book was overall enjoyable, and the first half I absolutely adored! Amazing writing, realistic characters. I love how Olly was smart, but not wise beyond his years *cough* John Green *cough*. However, the last half of this book just went by too fast, developed instalove, was unrealistic, and predictable. Amazing idea, but the way the book was written (unrealistically) i was able to guess the outcome, which was frustrating because it could have taken such a better twist. But it was cute and interesting and I loved the doodles and extra pictures! Also POC main character!!!!!
    more
  • Angela
    January 1, 1970
    "Maybe we can't predict everything, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly... It's almost certainly going to be a disaster." Can we first just talk about this cover??? Amazing right?! Stunning. It fits the story so well.Everything Everything is a novel about a girl named Madeline who is suffering from SCID... or as I knew it "bubble boy syndrome". Madeline has spent the last 18 years trapped inside her house. The only people she comes in con "Maybe we can't predict everything, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly... It's almost certainly going to be a disaster." Can we first just talk about this cover??? Amazing right?! Stunning. It fits the story so well.Everything Everything is a novel about a girl named Madeline who is suffering from SCID... or as I knew it "bubble boy syndrome". Madeline has spent the last 18 years trapped inside her house. The only people she comes in contact with are her nurse Carla and her mother. That is until Olly moves in next door. Madeline is a very sweet lead. Also loved how diverse she is. She is a combination of Asian and African American, this set her apart from other YA characters right off the bat and was a huge plus for me. The other thing is her kind heart. I've read characters before who are caring, kind, and sweet but something about how Yoon presents Maddy's traits made it something special. She is a lead that you will easily be able to fall for. She was a lead that I thought I would mainly just sympathy for, but Yoon has this way of just making you more hopefully for her than anything else. Then we have Olly the adorable boy next door. He is another character that you will have no trouble liking. I did want a little more out of him, but overall happy with what he gives us. My favorite part of the whole book is with him and his mother bundt cake... So cute I found myself blushing the whole scene. Olly is charming, funny, and I think he seems his age. You might be a little confused about what I just said so I'll sum it up real quick... You know how in other "sick kid books" such a TFIOS a lot of people's issues with Hazel and Gus is that they speak so mature for their age and it's off putting for a few. Some get that it's because they are dealing with a more adult issue of realizing that they are going to die way before their time but some still think they seem a little too mature... So if you didn't like TFIOS for that reason Everything Everything might be more up your alley. Both Olly and Maddy feel, talk, and act more their age. Their relationship can be summed up in one word: Sweet. It's so so sweet. The fact that neither of them is put of by the others life situations is so endearing. You will be cheering for these two and without a doubt you'll want to see them end up together with a happy ever after. Everything Everything's plot is pretty steady through out. But not gonna lie, the plot was actually my "biggest" issue with this novel. The story is predictable. There was never a time when I didn't know what was going to happen next. As soon as Olly is introduced I was like "well... I know exactly where this story is headed". Sure enough I was waiting around for some kind of big surprise twist that I never ended up getting. So why the higher rating? Well because all of the adorable and perfectly placed extras. Yoon gives of these cute little sidenotes, little letters, poems and more. They're just wonderful and wiped away any "errors" I might have felt the plot had. And even with me saying that the book was predictable I really did enough the story. "Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything." I am not a contemporary fan... in fact it is my least favorite genre so liking this book was kind of a big deal for me. Everything Everything is the prefect quick sweet summer read.READ THIS REVIEW AND OTHERS OVER ON OUR BLOG:
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyinBookland)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*Video review to come!Took off a half star because I have very mixed feelings about the last bit
  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up. Because it was a cute story dammit.My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but you know it as "bubble baby disease".Madeline is allergic to the world. Just about anything can make her sick and that would be the end for her. Her world exists of her doctor mom, her nurse Carla and her books. Her books have to come to her vacuum sealed so that no contaminants can get to her. She has never been inside a used book store, Madeline h 3.5 stars rounded up. Because it was a cute story dammit.My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but you know it as "bubble baby disease".Madeline is allergic to the world. Just about anything can make her sick and that would be the end for her. Her world exists of her doctor mom, her nurse Carla and her books. Her books have to come to her vacuum sealed so that no contaminants can get to her. She has never been inside a used book store, Madeline has never left her house. It's never really bothered her though. She has books to read and adventures in them to escape too. "Flowers for Algernon again?" she asks. "Doesn't that book always make you cry?""One day it won't," I say. "I want to be sure to be reading it on that day."Then one day new neighbors move in next door. Madeline looks out the window and sees Olly. That boy next door. He and his family become interesting and she starts watching them. Olly and Madeline take small steps, they begin IM'ing each other. Ever since Olly came into my life there've been two Maddy's: the one who lives through books and doesn't want to die, and the one who LIVES and suspects that death will be a small price to pay for it.So begins the romance with that boy that lives next door but that she can't touch. Or even breathe the same air as. This little book is not bad. Not bad at all. I loved the writing style and the story was just what I needed right now. Fun, sweet and hopeful. I did have a few problems with it. The mom and Maddy. Maddy being eighteen and never having an argument with her mom just felt weird. Even for someone as sheltered as she had been. The ending kinda was blah for me too. I wanted a little bit more but I'll over-look it because I did like the book. In the beginning there was nothing. And then there was everything.Chaos theory says that even a small change in initial conditions can lead to wildly unpredictable results. A butterfly flaps her wings now and a hurricane forms in the future.Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    confession time: i actually saw the film first before i read this, which i rarely do. but in this case, it didnt bother me at all! bookworm blasphemy, i know! :Peven though i already knew the story beforehand, the book still had plenty to offer. i especially loved the little nuances and details of maddys notes - it made the story so much more tangible and easier to accept, because lets be honest. this story is a little unrealistic at times (i guess thats the beauty of fiction). also, its very in confession time: i actually saw the film first before i read this, which i rarely do. but in this case, it didnt bother me at all! bookworm blasphemy, i know! :Peven though i already knew the story beforehand, the book still had plenty to offer. i especially loved the little nuances and details of maddys notes - it made the story so much more tangible and easier to accept, because lets be honest. this story is a little unrealistic at times (i guess thats the beauty of fiction). also, its very insta-lovey, but i thought the interactions between maddy and olly were cute and adorable enough to make up for it. overall, this kept me entertained and engaged. its short with relaxed writing, so this is the perfect book for someone looking for a quick and unique afternoon read!↠ 4 stars
    more
  • Val...Shameless.Skanky.B*tchy.
    January 1, 1970
    When the ending doesn't matter...I, like a lot of you, I'm sure, totally called the ending of this thing before I even opened the book - and, for once, I didn't even care. I really enjoyed this story and the characters. And I really love Yoon's writing style. The mixed media format was really fun and creative and I had a lot of fun with it. I have read a LOT of books in my life - over 1700 - and, I must say, this is the first time I have ever found myself physically spinning a book in circles li When the ending doesn't matter...I, like a lot of you, I'm sure, totally called the ending of this thing before I even opened the book - and, for once, I didn't even care. I really enjoyed this story and the characters. And I really love Yoon's writing style. The mixed media format was really fun and creative and I had a lot of fun with it. I have read a LOT of books in my life - over 1700 - and, I must say, this is the first time I have ever found myself physically spinning a book in circles like a total jackass to read some of the text. So that was fun. Most of all, I just really liked how Yoon posed some good questions - is life without risk really living? - in such a smooth and lighthearted fashion. Anyway, I know this book has probably been reviewed and booktubed to death, so I'l stop there. I have been on quite the high fantasy, YA fantasy, and YA fiction kick lately, so of course I already bought the other book this author recently put out. #NoSelfControlPrepare to be bombarded with random AF reviews, my friends.
    more
  • Maggie
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: 7/31/17I'm deciding this is actually 2 stars because as I educate myself further with mental illness', I realize this "love cures all" thing isn't the solution to everything, for everyone, and that's something this book had. Love that cured "the problem." Also, (view spoiler)[ the fact that the mental illness was never really even true yet the love conquers all is? How did that work? Her falling in love cured her fake mental illness? Makes sense. (hide spoiler)] :) ❝Love is a terrible th UPDATE: 7/31/17I'm deciding this is actually 2 stars because as I educate myself further with mental illness', I realize this "love cures all" thing isn't the solution to everything, for everyone, and that's something this book had. Love that cured "the problem." Also, (view spoiler)[ the fact that the mental illness was never really even true yet the love conquers all is? How did that work? Her falling in love cured her fake mental illness? Makes sense. (hide spoiler)] :) ❝Love is a terrible thing and its loss is even worse.Love is a terrible thing and I want nothing to do with it.❞ The only reason why I decided to buy Everything, Everything was because it's currently checked out by my friend from the library and I had been wanting to read this novel for so long, I couldn't wait any longer. Typical Maggie sees books at Target and decides to buy 4, all being some available at the library but wanting to be bought instead. I didn't completely enjoy it, I actually loved the beginning and part of the middle. But I was completely shocked and upset with the ending and the plot twist. I didn't see it coming, I didn't expect anything, and I had nothing predicted. So, I had no future plans to what this book would bring. I just expected to cry and sob like All the Bright Places did. This was really nowhere near making me cry. Spoiler alert: You don't exist if no one can see you. Everything, Everything is about a 17 year old girl named Madeline, who turned 18 in the beginning, who is pretty much allergic to the world, and the outside of her house. She has a rare disease called Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, SCID for short, or known as "bubble baby disease." She's known as being allergic to anything and isn't able to go outside because she could either contaminate anyone she touches or anyone she touches. Her room is plain white including her shelves and walls, t shirts and shoes. She's lucky to have a computer, even though there's really no one she's able to talk to. The only people who are able to talk to her and touch her are her mother, who is also her doctor, and her nurse, Carla. They both know about her famous yet rare disease and known the triggers and sickness that come from it.Madeline is allergic to people as well. She takes online schooling and normally skypes with her teachers. She doesn't go to school because if she takes a step outside and feels the fresh air, wind, and weather, she could explode and pretty much die, according to Madeline herself. Something severe could happen and her nurse and mother have never allowed her to go out or have decided to risk themselves and see what happens. Neither has Madeline, until she met Olly.Olly is her new neighbor. He moved in right next to her and was known as an angel of death, a boy who wears plain black clothes—black t-shirt, black jeans, black shoes, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. There isn't much about Oliver, Olly for short. He doesn't tell Maddy a lot (Maddie is Madeline's nickname he made for her) and there isn't much background information about him. All I know is that his father gets drunk and is one of those abusive and violent fathers and husband and decides to slam the door shut when he gets mad. Even though Olly said he has his secrets while Maddie has hers, hers were told but his were kept silent. As the two start communicating, kind of hating each other at the beginning because of the situation with Olly, his sister and Maddie's mom and the Bundt cake, they were able to form a friendship throughout emailing and somehow be able to meet each other. It all started with conversations, and they weren't awkward. Some were deep and some were just random, trying to make each other smile and laugh without being able to actually see it. Some were deep and full of secrets, wanting to not talk about the topic. Olly straight up tells Maddie he wants to meet her, so they both arrange meetings with Carla. Olly knows about her disease, sort of. She has told him that they can't touch or be really close to each other because bad things could happen to her, but Carla let him know again just in case. When Olly is waiting in a room and Maddie walks in, they both weren't exactly what they were expecting.Olly is muscular, and is pretty tall, not being able to show his full heigh when he's in another building, communicating. Madeline is the same Maddie, but to Olly she's different. She's beautiful and smart, and she's different than other girls he's fallen in love with. She has big, brown and curly hair while his is black and has his own curls as well. They both have their own similarities and differences, arguing in some but in a good way, being able to make up for them and become good friends. Little did Maddie know that meeting her next door neighbor would change her life, the way she looks at it, and the way she thinks about it. Respect. It's mother nature at her finest—awesome, beautiful, impersonal, murderous. Think about it: All that water and you could still die of thirst. And the whole point of waves is to suck your feet from under you so that you drown faster. The ocean will swallow you whole and burp you out and not notice you were even there. Madeline was a character I didn't completely enjoy reading about. I was confused about her personality and actions and couldn't tell if she was a stalker or not. I was asking myself is she was and thinking she was, sine she knew the schedules of her neighbors, including Olly, and would know where he is, what he was doing, and what was really happening at the moment. Other times, it was just open and anyone would be able to see since it was shown as publicity what was happening with Olly and his family. Her relationship with Olly was actually cute, even though it's a bit insta-lovish. I mean, she completely predicted her future and would know she would fall in love with him. She also thought he was attractive when they actually saw each other and would always be thinking about him, would be thinking about their emails, would be wondering if he would email her back or anytime soon, and would be wondering what he was doing or up to. Even when there was another girl at Olly's house, his friend or Kara's, Olly's sister, she would think she was someone trying to win Olly and take him from her, when he wasn't even with her or together in any way. Other than that, Maddy wasn't a realistic character because of her disease and her allergy to people, the outside, and the rest of the world, but her relationship with Olly grew and I was glad they were able to work things out throughout the book until the end. They had their cute moments and never really fought or argued, so I wasn't always on the "something bad is gonna happen" spot since I kind of knew nothing was gonna happen. Olly was pretty understandable towards her and was able to give her time and space when needed. But then we come again to Maddy being a little too caring, where she was thinking about Olly and wondering why he hadn't emailed her when she literally told him to not. I mean, she didn't completely, but asked for time and space because of a situation was having, yet she was in freak mode at some point because he hadn't emailed her. Why let him know you don't want to talk at the moment and then freak out because he hasn't talked to you?Olly was quite perfect in his own ways. His style is great, that's first. Like he would say, too sexy. He wouldn't wear any other color of clothing besides black and I was glad there was finally a book character that is similar to my type, where I just buy a specific color of any kind of clothing because it blends in with anything and is able to match with anything or its own. I can't tell if he completely fell in love with Maddie since she's the one who told him she's loved him since the beginning or something and he just said she was pretty when he saw her. I mean, just because he thought she was a pretty girl and he was wondering why she was looking out at her window, staring at him, doesn't mean he completely fell for her immediately after seeing her, like her. Other than that. Olly was understandable like I said. He didn't get mad at Maddie for lying to him when she needed to and would worry about her as well because she was outside, trying to defend him and worrying about him. He decided to go on a road trip with her when he knew the consequences that could happen and he would give her time to think. I was glad he wasn't a complete freak and didn't act a bit too imature for his age, unlike Maddie. Or maybe he was, but because there was no point of view from him I couldn't tell. I just knew he would worry about Maddie as well.Maddie's mom was a bit too controlling, and I was glad her relationship with Maddie kind of faded. (view spoiler)[She had been lying to Maddie her her whole and the worst thing is, Maddie found out herself. Her mother acted like she didn't know and it was all a mistake, but Maddie was never sick. There were no papers for proof and the only reason her mom pretended she was sick was so she could keep her to herself and not lose her like she lost her husband and son. She was a bit too controlling and everything would've been better if Maddie knew. Maddie's brother and father were killed due to a crash, not because it was a purpose. The driver was drunk, but Maddie would probably stay with her mom and keep listening to her like she always has. Maybe the relationship would've improved and been better if she knew the truth. I don't think it would be easy to make up a lie a mother had been keeping from her daughter for the past 17 years. The truth was found and I was glad Maddy decided to move on and literally move away, take some time off, knowing the outside world can't kill her and would only make her sick but no awful sickness that would end up killing her. (hide spoiler)]Carla was probably my favorite character. She was also understanding but she was really nice, positive, and encouraging. She would make sure Maddie was okay and would be okay and nothing happen would come along and happen. She would give Maddie positive ideas and positive encouragements, telling her positive things that can be used for the future and seen as real things. She was always there for Maddie, and she was one of her only friends. The writing wasn't my favorite thing. The doodles and pictures were something I did enjoy, but the story itself felt short. Some chapters were, the max, 5 pages long, and others were 1 or 2. I was always thinking why it was like that but then I realized the pictures took over them at times or other times the picture was the chapter. Besides that, the writing was a problem I had with the book, believing some things and trying to not believe others. It was also cute, but maybe that was the problem, I found it to be a little cute when it should've felt more realistic. Some lines were poetic and were able to blend in, but other times they felt too quick. A butterfly flaps her wings now and a hurricane forms in the future. Overall, Everything, Everything was not everything I expected. It was still a very quick read and I'm actually glad I got it off my TBR list because I remember wanting to read this novel for so long, not knowing anything about it and not having mixed thoughts about it.
    more
  • Frankie Lovely
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsFind this review and others at A Thousand Lives of Frankie Lovely blogI really did not love this book really at all ... oops? The Story Madeline Whittier lives in a bubble. No seriously she suffers from SCID, also known as bubble boy syndrome. She has never left her house, her bubble. She has no friends except her mother and nurse. She is alone. Until one day, a black clad, daredevil boy moves in next door.What I Liked There were some interesting and enjoyable aspects to this story. I r 2.5 starsFind this review and others at A Thousand Lives of Frankie Lovely blogI really did not love this book really at all ... oops? The Story Madeline Whittier lives in a bubble. No seriously she suffers from SCID, also known as bubble boy syndrome. She has never left her house, her bubble. She has no friends except her mother and nurse. She is alone. Until one day, a black clad, daredevil boy moves in next door.What I Liked There were some interesting and enjoyable aspects to this story. I really enjoyed learning about Madeline’s medical condition, SCID, though I think I would have liked a bit more of this? Also I liked Madeline’s accounting of her day to day mundane and the difficulties of things that those of us without such medical complications often don’t even think about. I also didn’t mind Maddy and Olly’s developing friendship, but it felt like it moved way too fast and without enough development in place.What I Did Not LikeThe romance developed way too fast for my liking and then dove way too deep. It was a sweet budding friendship and attraction one day then it’s full blown infatuation the next. This is a problem. It’s not cute. The author never addresses this in any sort of negative way either which I found to be a bit irresponsible. I don’t actually see this as a lifetime love situation to be honest. Maybe a “I needed this at the time” sort of relationship. Olly is the catalyst for freedom for Maddy, but I do not feel like that means he is the rest of her life. And this girl is going to have some therapy to go through before she’s as stable as this book makes her out to be. I don’t know … I just felt like this “love of my life” thing was a bit much considering the situation and the age. But I'm an old lady so …I did have some plot issues with this book as well. *MEDIUM SPOILER* (view spoiler)[I found the trip to Hawaii to be a bit overly dramatic when this would have been the perfect opportunity to highlight the normal everyday luxuries that simply being free had to offer. I mean they are in Los Angeles, California for goodness sake. There must be plenty of things to do there. In fact … I think the story of the mundane luxuries would have worked anywhere … small town nowheresville even. I don’t know … I just feel like we could have done without the dramatics which actually would have fixed a lot of my plot issues. Issues like … how does a girl who has never been a part of the outside world ecru enough credit to apply for and be approved for a credit card limit high enough for this Hawaiian vacation?! Like … I'm struggling to get to Hawaii someday and she just applies and goes … no pre existing credit whatsoever and no cosigner needed. Must be nice I guess. (hide spoiler)]Also I had a bit of issues with the fact that she had no friends at all yet she was decent with the computer and had the internet. Why wasn't she in chatrooms and Facebook or ... Goodreads considering how much she loves to read? I would have been her internet friend. Poor girl. It just seems like a few basic internet searches or a word from her nurse Carla (who has her own teenage daughter) could have given her a bit of solace in her lonely day to day life. Another issue I had was with the plot twist … *MAJOR SPOILER*(view spoiler)[As it turns out, Maddy does not actually have SCID at all. Her mom imagined the whole thing as a way of coping with the sudden loss of her husband and son. No, I do not believe that dear old mother did any of this maliciously, it is quite clear that she acted out of fear and the desire to protect her daughter. She honestly believes it to be true even when evidence is presented to her. She is struggling with mental illness obviously … but this is never adequately addressed either. They discuss how her mother is sick in a way, but mom doesn't get help and the whole thing is pretty much glazed over. Not to mention that everyone starts hammering Maddy about forgiveness pretty much immediately. I feel like they needed to back off quite a bit actually! I am a huge proponent of forgiveness as a way to free yourself from negative energy, absolutely. Even when it is not deserved. But give the girl some space! She just learned that her entire life till this point was basically stolen from her by the one person in the world she thought she could always trust. Let her go through some therapy for a minute before we expect forgiveness geeze! (hide spoiler)]But even after all this, I felt like my major issue with this book had to do with my lack of connection to anyone. I just didn’t care. This book didn’t make me feel anything … and I’m an extremely emotional wreck of a human so this is actually quite rare. This book should have been a remarkable journey of first love and sacrifice and hurt feelings etc., but I just felt meh at best.In ConclusionI did not love this book. It is possible I didn't even like this book. There were a lot of plot issues and relationship issues but in the end it comes down to the fact that this book utterly failed at connecting with me emotionally.
    more
  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    January 1, 1970
    Second Read: August 11, 2017First Read: November 4, 2015Wow! I didn’t think I’d like it even more the second time around. Just look at the amount of time I spent copying quotes and excerpts and taking photos of the pages. “WHO IS AFFECTED BY HAR? (Hysterical Abdominal Rhopalocera)The disease affects at least one teenaged American girl every 30 seconds” and a particular 31 year old woman in the Philippines everytime she’s reading a sweet romantic read like this book. “You’re not living if you Second Read: August 11, 2017First Read: November 4, 2015Wow! I didn’t think I’d like it even more the second time around. Just look at the amount of time I spent copying quotes and excerpts and taking photos of the pages. “WHO IS AFFECTED BY HAR? (Hysterical Abdominal Rhopalocera)The disease affects at least one teenaged American girl every 30 seconds” and a particular 31 year old woman in the Philippines everytime she’s reading a sweet romantic read like this book. “You’re not living if you’re not regretting.” “Love is worth everything. Everything.” Time passing techniquesPre-Kiss ChecklistKiss Mechanics Creating the Correct Kissing AtmosphereHilarious right? Now that I already know the plot, I’m more empathetic with the characters and their motives. I no longer felt tricked or misguided by the plot twist and I have become more appreciative of the dialogues and the themes of the story. It’s also only now that I took notice that Ms. Nicola Yoon’s husband, Mr. David Yoon is the illustrator. How adorable is that? I watched the movie right after I finished the book and I quite liked it too. I think the actors gave justice to their roles. There was enough chemistry between them and I’m thankful they didn’t make the story seem so cheesy with their cute romance. I liked the cinematography for creative effect. Of course there are several alterations but only to minor details like Maddy’s hair is supposed to be really long while Olly’s doesn’t have a lot of hair except in the last part of the book. But you know me, I notice insignificant stuff all the time. Lol._ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ Original Review 3.5 stars Brief intermission Madeline’s question: "Who actually slaps their knee while laughing?"Aj’s answer: "Uh, fifty percent of the Filipino population, I think?!" *slaps her knee while laughing* -end of intermission-^^Everything, everything about the first eighty percent of this book is adorable in a “this-is-so-cute-I-want-to-pinch and smooch you” way. The story line is something very new because Madeline, a half-Japanese, half -African-American teenage girl is diagnosed with SCID, a special kind of illness that makes the person highly vulnerable to infectious diseases. For this reason, Maddy for the entire 18 years of her existence hasn’t gone anywhere except her super sterilized home. Living life under such condition is unimaginable but Maddy has made it through because of her loving mom, caring nurse, love for books, passion for writing one-line spoilery reviews and her creativity in general. She seems okay with everything, everything until she meets her charming new neighbor, Olly, a young man full of life and energy. Everything, everything from then on is certainly never going to be the same. (I’m purposely trying to annoy you by saying “everything” twice.^^)The writing is completely charming and really funny. I enjoyed how the book was written like the most artistic journal complete with diagrams, dictionary (Maddy’s version) and illustrations. Its creativity is very entertaining which makes the reader want to keep turning the pages for more surprises that despite the succeeding paragraph, I’m still giving this a good score.I was a bit disappointed at the turnout of the plot. Actually, disappointed is downplaying it. I was frustrated that I had to stop reading for an entire day and when I picked it up again, some of the charm and magic of the book got lost on me. Also, that alternate sort of happy ending didn’t sit perfectly well for me. It ended too quickly and I felt like there were still certain important things that needed to be resolved.Still, the message of the story is very prominent and certainly moving. We may find it worn-out but no matter how we reverse the world, tilt it sideways or turn it upside down, the truth that “love makes the world go round” or in this case, “love makes everything, everything go round” will always be true and more often than not, love doesn’t make us go for the most rational decisions. Love in more ways than one is both ugly and beautiful and yet people still live with and for it. ^^Do check out Masooma's wonderful, wonderful review. <3
    more
  • Jeff
    January 1, 1970
    Literally me trying to write this review:"this book was......"*backspace*"I was so..."*backspace*"why was this book so good?...."*backspace**backspace*....*tears out hair*(Now, after giving you a very detailed explanation of the past 30 minutes,here's my actual review!:)Ok. You've already seen my attempts at writing a review that won't bore you to death. But does this really matter when I'm this shook?? Repeat: I'm SHOOK! I really have no words, besides the fact that book was probably the most b Literally me trying to write this review:"this book was......"*backspace*"I was so..."*backspace*"why was this book so good?...."*backspace**backspace*....*tears out hair*(Now, after giving you a very detailed explanation of the past 30 minutes,here's my actual review!:)Ok. You've already seen my attempts at writing a review that won't bore you to death. But does this really matter when I'm this shook?? Repeat: I'm SHOOK! I really have no words, besides the fact that book was probably the most brilliant contemporary novel I've EVER read!! Maddy is a girl who has a mysterious disease where she is allergic to the world and people and everything in between. Including Olly. But we already know that this isn't going to stop them from talking and falling in love and all that stuff those star-crossed lovers do, right?? OF COURSE WE DO.So what happens??SHIT.The WORLD EXPLODES.OLLY AND MADDY CAN"T BE TOGETHER.EVERYBODY'S FLAILING THEIR ARMS AROUND CAUSE THEY"RE ARE CRAZY FANGIRLS/BOYS.See, you get the point. And what do crazy teenagers like them do??RUN AWAY. I swear, this is every teenager's life.They're plan is just:A. Run Away.*If plan A fails...then.....*B. Run Farther Away.*If that fails....*C. Run Even Farther to the 'Corner of the World'And the list just keeps on going!But besides they're insane, yet brilliant plan, they have fun. Which is probably squished in somewhere between plan B and C. They experience the ocean, the world, the love of one another, and honestly, it's great to read it. :) So if you're a sucker for romance, here ya go!And with this new found experience, here's when the shit happens! Whoopee.Maddy gets extremely sick, and unfortunately, shuts Olly out from her world. Now from here, I obviously can't blab on since it would break the rule of no-spoilers, but when you're done with the book, you also realize.....that the author left a lot of stuff out of this story too!!Like:What happens now??Is Maddy going to lie there forever??What about her sickness?WHAT"S WITH THIS ENDING THAT HAS LEFT MY GIDDY, YET ANGRY AT THE SAME TIME??!!! WHAT"S THAT ALL ABOUT??!!*calms herself*.....Great!! Reviews over!! This book was a brilliant, great read, so please try it!(and fangirl with me about Olly, and Maddy, and more of Olly........)*smiles maniacally*I swear I'm not a creep!! :)And now........leave me in peace to figure out this story and tear every last strand of hair out from my head.....
    more
  • Felicity Jackson (gowithflick)
    January 1, 1970
    Finished in one sitting - couldn't get enough!!!
  • James Trevino
    January 1, 1970
    Well, this was as YA as they get, with all the good and bad things that come with that.Let’s start with the good: the characters are likable. This is probably why I gave this 4 stars instead of 3. Both Maddy and Olly are interesting enough to make you turn pages. That being said, we have almost instalove here. Gosh, I wish I would understand why YA authors always do that. I’m not saying their love story is badly written. Just that it happens waaaaay too fast. Slow down! Make me care first!!The n Well, this was as YA as they get, with all the good and bad things that come with that.Let’s start with the good: the characters are likable. This is probably why I gave this 4 stars instead of 3. Both Maddy and Olly are interesting enough to make you turn pages. That being said, we have almost instalove here. Gosh, I wish I would understand why YA authors always do that. I’m not saying their love story is badly written. Just that it happens waaaaay too fast. Slow down! Make me care first!!The novel itself, plot wise, is pretty simple. At some point, before that twist, I was thinking it will go for the classic The Fault in Our Stars ending, but it actually managed to avoid that in a pretty clever way. Oh, it made me mad, but that is good. It means it made me care. So good job!Now look, if you are a YA reader you will probably like this. If not, it is a 50/50 gamble. I enjoyed this more in a guilty pleasure way than the fact that it is an actually a great book. It keeps you engaged, but it doesn’t really bring nothing new to the table. Make of that what you want.
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 1, 1970
    Reread: just as beautiful and addictive as the first time. Can't wait to see the movie!This book was wonderful. I had heard quite a lot of hype, and a lot of great reviews about it, and I went into it with caution. I'm happy to say the hype is well deserved! The story was interesting from the first page, but it was probably around page 50 or so when something happened (I'll just say it was very swoon-worthy), when I became completely sucked in. I read this book in one sitting and enjoyed every s Reread: just as beautiful and addictive as the first time. Can't wait to see the movie!This book was wonderful. I had heard quite a lot of hype, and a lot of great reviews about it, and I went into it with caution. I'm happy to say the hype is well deserved! The story was interesting from the first page, but it was probably around page 50 or so when something happened (I'll just say it was very swoon-worthy), when I became completely sucked in. I read this book in one sitting and enjoyed every second. It reminded me of what it feels like to fall in love for the first time. I fell in love with the story, as well as the characters. Maddy and Olly are definitely my new OTP. Highly recommend this one guys!
    more
Write a review