The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 1
When they were accused of trying to overthrow the monarchy, the feared warriors the Seven Deadly Sins were sent into exile. Princess Elizabeth discovers the truth - the Sins were framed by the king's guard, the Holy Knights - too late to prevent them from assassinating her father and seizing the throne! Now the princess is on the run, seeking the Sins to help her reclaim the kingdom. But the first Sin she meets, Meliodas, is a little innkeeper with a talking pig. He doesn't even have a real sword! Have the legends of the Sins' strength been exaggerated...?

The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 1 Details

TitleThe Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 25th, 2014
PublisherKodansha Comics
ISBN1612629210
ISBN-139781612629216
Number of pages192 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Manga, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Comics, Shonen

The Seven Deadly Sins, Vol. 1 Review

  • Χαρά(Chara)_ MimL
    November 3, 2016
    This is a fun manga <3 A princess who is experiencing the world for the first time and is trying to bring back a group of people in order to fight the corrupted authority. She meets this dude and they are out on a journey to save the world. I think i'm gonna love it <3
    more
  • E.A.
    April 20, 2015
    Again, I started with the anime first. I sat there and thought, how the flaming hell did I not know about this sooner!!?After binging on Yu Yu Hakusho, I was in the mood for something new. I first saw the manga on crunchyroll, and was meh about it. I don't know why I didn't start reading it. I didn't get a good feeling form the cover. I'm an idiot, I run a blog called Don't Judge read and here I am judging.... excuse me while I pull my foot out of my mouth. How wrong I was to pass over such an Again, I started with the anime first. I sat there and thought, how the flaming hell did I not know about this sooner!!?After binging on Yu Yu Hakusho, I was in the mood for something new. I first saw the manga on crunchyroll, and was meh about it. I don't know why I didn't start reading it. I didn't get a good feeling form the cover. I'm an idiot, I run a blog called Don't Judge read and here I am judging.... excuse me while I pull my foot out of my mouth. How wrong I was to pass over such an astonishing story!The fighting is outstanding, the story and world building is topnotch, even the heroin isn't tool. I'll admit I didn't like her at first but, she's strong, not physically, but emotionally. A true leader. Take a chance on this, the story will move you, and having you laughing tears over every emotion. Cheers Happy reading. -Emily
    more
  • MC
    March 19, 2015
    The Seven Deadly Sins is set in a fantasy world representing medieval Europe, where a brave princess is seeking the help of legendary criminals and warriors to save her kingdom.As the story begins, we find Elizabeth, third princess of the kingdom of Britannia, in disguise searching for the titular "sins". Now, why exactly they are called the "sin" they (wrath, envy, so on), and what their crimes in the past were, no one has a clue. All that is known is that they are believed to have plotted to o The Seven Deadly Sins is set in a fantasy world representing medieval Europe, where a brave princess is seeking the help of legendary criminals and warriors to save her kingdom.As the story begins, we find Elizabeth, third princess of the kingdom of Britannia, in disguise searching for the titular "sins". Now, why exactly they are called the "sin" they (wrath, envy, so on), and what their crimes in the past were, no one has a clue. All that is known is that they are believed to have plotted to overthrow the kingdom, and were chased into hiding.The order that used to oversee the Sins, the Holy Knights, are incredibly powerful, well-trained warriors themselves, who have taken over the kingdom, and thus Elizabeth's quest to stop them.The characters are not exactly that original, and are very common for an ensemble cast in a shonen work. What makes the characters cool is that they have an aura of mystery, and that the plot is more complex than might seem at first.The characters (to be introduced in future volumes given what I saw in the anime) of Ban and King are said to be fan-favorites. Me? I like Melodias best. I find him interesting, though I admit that Ban is more interesting. I think part of it is that he is voiced by Yuki Kaji, the seiyuu who voices such roles as Hyoudou Issei in High School DxD and Eren Yeager in Attack on Titan.The first volume might be a tad bland to some, but trust me, if you this and future volumes a chance, I think you will like them. The anime is great and the manga's story should be compelling as well.
    more
  • Tim
    January 4, 2014
    As with UQ Holder, I read this through Crunchyroll's digital manga service. This is definitely a shounen manga as it's about a boy and girl trying to find seven legendary heroes (the titular seven deadly sins) to free the land from "Holy Knights" who are often capricious in their treatment of the populace. While I like the main characters (including Pig who is an actual pig), there isn't anything to particularly distinguish it from many other similar manga. I'll keep up with the series, but I'd As with UQ Holder, I read this through Crunchyroll's digital manga service. This is definitely a shounen manga as it's about a boy and girl trying to find seven legendary heroes (the titular seven deadly sins) to free the land from "Holy Knights" who are often capricious in their treatment of the populace. While I like the main characters (including Pig who is an actual pig), there isn't anything to particularly distinguish it from many other similar manga. I'll keep up with the series, but I'd instead recommend UQ Holder 1 for an alternative shounen battle manga, or Uchū kyōdai: 1 (Space Brothers) which is about two brothers. One who is an astronaut going on a mission to the moon and the other who is an astronaut candidate. UQ Holder is better in the same overall genre, while Space Brothers is more appealing to a broader audience.It's decent, it's just that there are others that are better written.
    more
  • Nanna
    November 5, 2015
    Menceritakan tentang seorang gadis mencari anggota Seven Deadly Sins, untuk menghentikan tindakan semena-mena dari Holy Knights.Tidak ada yang baru di komik ini, ide cerita tipikal komik shonen pada umumnya, dan cenderung membosankan. Bagaimana ga bosan kalo pola cerita sama dengan komik-komik shonen terkenal lainnya macam Bleach, Fairy Tail, Rave, Samurai X, dll ? --> Tokoh utama +hewan peliharaan bertemu dengan damsel-in-distress, lalu melakukan perjalanan bersama, lalu membentuk kelompok. Menceritakan tentang seorang gadis mencari anggota Seven Deadly Sins, untuk menghentikan tindakan semena-mena dari Holy Knights.Tidak ada yang baru di komik ini, ide cerita tipikal komik shonen pada umumnya, dan cenderung membosankan. Bagaimana ga bosan kalo pola cerita sama dengan komik-komik shonen terkenal lainnya macam Bleach, Fairy Tail, Rave, Samurai X, dll ? --> Tokoh utama +hewan peliharaan bertemu dengan damsel-in-distress, lalu melakukan perjalanan bersama, lalu membentuk kelompok. Sampe sini dah ketebak alurnya bakal gimana -_- Terus belum lagi tokoh utamanya,, kelakuannya itu ga bisa dimaafkan! Masa berbuat mesum sambil pokerface? Mana dalam wujud anak-anak,, lebih ga bisa dimaafkan! Yah, tapi gitu-gitu juga saya cukup terpukau sama superpower-nya tokoh utama ( ´ ▽ ` )Untuk artnya bagus banget, suka sama lining-nya, tipis-tipis gitu. Latar belakangnya juga detil banget! Tambahan: 1. Gambar Meliodas yang diposter lebih keren daripada aslinya.2. Hawk dan mamanya (ibu babi dan anaknya),, imut banget! Apalagi pas Hawk make baju besi ksatria karatan, cara jalannya imut banget!
    more
  • Mohammed Mortada
    October 23, 2015
    Every one has a past and a sin no one is a saint but when you learn to accept this past or sin the result will be having the enough strength to turn the world upside down
  • ✿ cassandra ✿
    January 2, 2016
    Uh, this was so weird. There was too much groping and fanservice for my liking though...
  • Gavin Abdollahi
    February 16, 2017
    Mix up60% sword fights...20% laughs...&20% melon grabbing...And you've got The Seven Deadly Sins. Princess Elizabeth is on a quest to find the Seven Deadly Sons, powerful knights who were exiled for committing heinous crimes.Upon her quest, she stumbles upon a small bar, the owner of which is the melon grabbing/panty stealing/young faced Melodias, the captain of the Seven Deadly Sins. Together, they embark on a quest in search of the other Deadly Sins... However, as the two make progress on Mix up60% sword fights...20% laughs...&20% melon grabbing...And you've got The Seven Deadly Sins. Princess Elizabeth is on a quest to find the Seven Deadly Sons, powerful knights who were exiled for committing heinous crimes.Upon her quest, she stumbles upon a small bar, the owner of which is the melon grabbing/panty stealing/young faced Melodias, the captain of the Seven Deadly Sins. Together, they embark on a quest in search of the other Deadly Sins... However, as the two make progress on their journey, it becomes unclear whether the Seven Sins are the actual villains... This has the potential to become one of my all time favorites. The story is exactly what a Shounen story needs, a man who looks like a boy along with a well proportioned girl and a talking pig embarking on a quest...I've only gone through one volume, and I can already tell that sill be great.4/5 stars.
    more
  • Darnell
    September 22, 2016
    Some interesting pieces, but ultimately it's a little too generic shonen for my taste.
  • Meriana
    May 29, 2016
    Dari segi gambar, nilai 3. Gambarnya bagus dan sangat cocok dengan tipe cerita shonen yg diusung. Dari segi ide cerita & konsep, nilai 2,5. Ceritanya cukup menarik, meski udah umum. Tapi dari segi packaging, nilainya 1. Mungkin -1 ato -2.Cerita dengan setting kerajaan medieval dimana pihak yg selama ini dianggap benar secara diam-diam mengkudeta Raja, selama pihak yg selama ini dianggap pemberontak oleh masyarakat, malah sebenarnya merupakan pihak yg benar. Lalu satu-satunya Putri Raja terpa Dari segi gambar, nilai 3. Gambarnya bagus dan sangat cocok dengan tipe cerita shonen yg diusung. Dari segi ide cerita & konsep, nilai 2,5. Ceritanya cukup menarik, meski udah umum. Tapi dari segi packaging, nilainya 1. Mungkin -1 ato -2.Cerita dengan setting kerajaan medieval dimana pihak yg selama ini dianggap benar secara diam-diam mengkudeta Raja, selama pihak yg selama ini dianggap pemberontak oleh masyarakat, malah sebenarnya merupakan pihak yg benar. Lalu satu-satunya Putri Raja terpaksa harus berkelana menemukan pihak "pemberontak"--yg selama ini hanya dianggap legenda--demi menyelamatkan kerajaannya.Konsepnya menarik. Mengambil istilah 'Seven Deadly Sins' sebagai sebutan ketujuh "pemberontak". Jadi kesannya unik dan tiap karakternya terasa spesial. Petualangan sang Putri dalam menemukan ketujuh pemberontak itu pun juga menarik meski unsur shonen dengan segala imajinasinya kental banget Hanya sajaaaa. . . kenapa tokoh utamanya harus mesum seperti itu??!!!!! Padahal wajahnya polos, lho!! Harus ya komiknya dikasih bumbu-bumbu model gitu?? Si Putri juga kok mau2nya dilecehkan seperti itu?? Ga peduli "mantan" pahlawan kerjaan ato siapapun, sebagai seorang Putri kok dengan mudahnya mau dibegitukan??? Berulang kali dalam satu volume lagi!!!Saya, sih sebetulnya ga begitu masalah dengan pan service. Tapi kalo yg melecehkan dan grepe-grepe ga penting gitu, dan berulang kali,, IT IS A BIG NO, NO, BOO!!!
    more
  • Guguk
    May 10, 2016
    Hadiah dari lomba ngisi balon dialog SDS - Elex ヽ(^^ヽ) Thank you!!Gambar : 3.5 bintang...bukan favoritku, tapi semakin lama dipandang semakin menarik karena berasa unik dan "beda dari biasanya" ^ ^Cerita :1) Kemesuman si Meliodas : -1001 bintang...tipe cowok yang biar mau dihukum gantung, disetrum di kursi listrik, lalu di-guillotine sekalipun masih kurang berat hukumannya! ((╬◣﹏◢))(view spoiler)[Fans-service udah biasa ada sih di komik shonen, tapi ini benar-2 menjijikkan karena Meliodas melaku Hadiah dari lomba ngisi balon dialog SDS - Elex ヽ(^^ヽ) Thank you!!Gambar : 3.5 bintang...bukan favoritku, tapi semakin lama dipandang semakin menarik karena berasa unik dan "beda dari biasanya" ^ ^Cerita :1) Kemesuman si Meliodas : -1001 bintang...tipe cowok yang biar mau dihukum gantung, disetrum di kursi listrik, lalu di-guillotine sekalipun masih kurang berat hukumannya! ((╬◣﹏◢))(view spoiler)[Fans-service udah biasa ada sih di komik shonen, tapi ini benar-2 menjijikkan karena Meliodas melakukannya ke cewek yang lagi pingsan. Pun ketika sadar, si Elizabeth ga melakukan sesuatu (biasanya tokoh cewek yang dilecehkan langsung menghajar si cowok) tapi ini malah kayak tersipu(?) (╯°益°)╯彡┻━┻ NO! (hide spoiler)]2) Selain no.1 di atas : 4 bintang...aku lemah sama tipe cerita shonen kayak gini, apalagi perjuangan sekelompok orang + ada babinya (ˆ(oo)ˆ) Seru pula~Kesimpulan : galau lagi, mau nerusin atau nggak~ `、ヽ(ノ><)ノ `、
    more
  • Luke Reynolds
    November 11, 2015
    I definitely enjoyed the first volume of The Seven Deadly Sins. Meliodas's perverted nature will definitely be too much for some readers, but he's definitely a courageous person when he needs to be. Also, I find Hawk adorable and Elizabeth to be a kind and cute female lead. Hopefully she'll have more involvement in the future.The art style for the character designs is nice, and Nakaba Suzuki is good at detailed scenes (view spoiler)[like the falling apart of the cliff face (hide spoiler)]. The o I definitely enjoyed the first volume of The Seven Deadly Sins. Meliodas's perverted nature will definitely be too much for some readers, but he's definitely a courageous person when he needs to be. Also, I find Hawk adorable and Elizabeth to be a kind and cute female lead. Hopefully she'll have more involvement in the future.The art style for the character designs is nice, and Nakaba Suzuki is good at detailed scenes (view spoiler)[like the falling apart of the cliff face (hide spoiler)]. The only problem I have with the art is that everything looks slightly pudgy, but I think it's just part of Nakaba's style.I'm excited for the next volume, but I'm definitely most excited for Ban. Let me grab a fan and some water before I start reading though, because I'm pretty sure I will become a crazy fangirl.
    more
  • Brad
    June 3, 2015
    I wanted to see what the talk was about, so I checked out the first volume, and I have to say, I'll probably get around to reading the rest sometime. The stakes are rather usual for manga. Uber powerful friends and foes, betrayal, ecchi, and talking pigs. The art is pretty damn good, but it's not absolutely fantastic. The story has potential, but I'd have to read at least 4-5 volumes before I'll know for certain.Is it grabbing my attention enough for me to continue on at this moment? Probably no I wanted to see what the talk was about, so I checked out the first volume, and I have to say, I'll probably get around to reading the rest sometime. The stakes are rather usual for manga. Uber powerful friends and foes, betrayal, ecchi, and talking pigs. The art is pretty damn good, but it's not absolutely fantastic. The story has potential, but I'd have to read at least 4-5 volumes before I'll know for certain.Is it grabbing my attention enough for me to continue on at this moment? Probably not. I'll just have it stew a bit and return to it at a later time.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    April 8, 2014
    An entertaining shounen fantasy with a lot of action and sexual humour. The cover is a bit deceptive as it comes across cutesy, but that is not the case at all. In fact, I think the book just slightly crosses the line for T+ appropriateness. A sniff at a girl's crotch, ie, puts it into the OT rating in my opinion. However, I enjoyed the tale and the beginning search for the Seven Deadly Sins. Both Elizabeth and Meliodas get good character development, especially for a first volume but my favouri An entertaining shounen fantasy with a lot of action and sexual humour. The cover is a bit deceptive as it comes across cutesy, but that is not the case at all. In fact, I think the book just slightly crosses the line for T+ appropriateness. A sniff at a girl's crotch, ie, puts it into the OT rating in my opinion. However, I enjoyed the tale and the beginning search for the Seven Deadly Sins. Both Elizabeth and Meliodas get good character development, especially for a first volume but my favourite character by far is the opinionated talking pig, Hawk.
    more
  • Jared Deocareza
    July 8, 2013
    What caught my attention in this manga at first is its name nanatsu for it reminds me of Natsu from Fairy Tail. Turns out it was related to seven deadly sins! I've always been fascinated to the 7 deadly sins for each character represents a symbol and power. As the story progress the intensity or tension also increases.
    more
  • Melanie
    May 27, 2015
    Chapters 1 to 4~~~This may be my new obsession. *giggles*I love the plot. And even though Meliodas does annoy me because he's such a pervert, and Elizabeth annoys me more because she doesn't realise that he's a pervert, they are both very interesting protagonists (especially Meliodas) and I'm very curious as to where the story will go.
    more
  • illias
    February 28, 2015
    Nanatsu no Taizai (the seven deadly sins) is a mix of Dragonball & Naruto in my opinion.This story is simple, fun and cliche(in a positive way..). I enjoy every page of every volume of this manga. The characters are fun and sweet. All in all for me it was very enjoyable. If you liked DBZ and Naruto I am positive you will love The seven Deadly sins.
    more
  • Emma
    April 24, 2015
    DNF in the second chapter. I was really disturbed when the main character identifies the other main character by sniffing her crotch on page 12. WTAF. Then in the second chapter he says he's stolen panties and groped breasts all over the country. Womp, womp. Too dumb. Do not care. Moving on.
    more
  • Christina
    September 28, 2016
    Love this!!! I put off reading this for a while and now I did so i'm very happy that I finally made myself read it.
  • Gustavo
    January 10, 2016
    This volumen was good the main character is interesting and the princess is nice, I don't like all the fanservice that is on the manga,
  • kim song ng
    February 21, 2015
    3.5 | couldn't really get into the story in the beginning, but now it's starting to get real interesting. Can't wait to pick up the next one.
  • Anto
    December 8, 2016
    Comencé la serie y me atrapó desde el primer capítulo y como vi que estaba basado en un manga, lo busqué. La historia es súper original, tiene acción, magia, intriga y muchas situaciones cómicas. Los personajes son de lo mejor! Meliodas es el fucking amo. Es el primer volumen así que todavía hay muchas preguntas sin responder, pero tiene muuucho potencial esto :D Este volumen contiene los primeros cinco capítulos: •Los siete pecados capitales.•La espada del Caballero Sagrado.•Algo que debo hacer Comencé la serie y me atrapó desde el primer capítulo y como vi que estaba basado en un manga, lo busqué. La historia es súper original, tiene acción, magia, intriga y muchas situaciones cómicas. Los personajes son de lo mejor! Meliodas es el fucking amo. Es el primer volumen así que todavía hay muchas preguntas sin responder, pero tiene muuucho potencial esto :D Este volumen contiene los primeros cinco capítulos: •Los siete pecados capitales.•La espada del Caballero Sagrado.•Algo que debo hacer por mi cuenta•El Pecado del Bosque Durmiente.•Memorias en las tinieblas.
    more
  • A. C. Pernia
    January 22, 2017
    I loved this Manga.I watched the Anime a couple of weeks ago, and I fell in love inmediatly, so I, as the obsesive reader that I am, needed to read the Manga, I was certainly no dissapointed.The first thing I realized was the awesome details in each square of tha pages, and the well linked of the text. You do not miss anything, and certainly you do not think that exist voids in the story more than the necessaries for the storyline.Now... Talking about the story we have some mayor things to say.1 I loved this Manga.I watched the Anime a couple of weeks ago, and I fell in love inmediatly, so I, as the obsesive reader that I am, needed to read the Manga, I was certainly no dissapointed.The first thing I realized was the awesome details in each square of tha pages, and the well linked of the text. You do not miss anything, and certainly you do not think that exist voids in the story more than the necessaries for the storyline.Now... Talking about the story we have some mayor things to say.1.- The manga is called "The Seven Deadly Sins" and the first thing that you may thought is ... "How can be the good guys named in order of the seven things that make despicable humans" ... Later, you will learned a little bit of how their sins are truly related with them, but not defines who they are.2.- Believe it or not, Elizabeth is the truly reason of keep together the story. Elizabeth is a shy princess, who needs help, and even when she is not a warrior, she is the reason that push Meliodas to try harder to search the sins.3.- Meliodas may have a big amount of darkness in his heart, but he is ready to be the hero. At the beggining, he wont create a big impact in you, furthermore, you may think that is just another pervert character, but he proves himself as a selfless person, and a man with some high level of moral (excluding spying and trying to hook up with Elizabeth). He also is pretty attached to Hawk, his talking pig.4.- Meliodas does not looks like his "Wanted" poster. He is a child, not a grown up men. When the story beggins, you learn that has been 10 years since the last time "the seven deadly sins" were seen, so.... why Meliodas is still a kid?5.- And ... why Elizabeth is running from the Knights ... and why the knights took the kingdom?I need to recognize that I already have some answers to that questions because I already watched the Anime and it is unbelievable faithfull to the manga .... but for the things showed in this volumen of the manga who represents also the firsts chapthers of the Anime, these ones are the main questions and impressions you will probably have.
    more
  • DeA
    March 13, 2017
    An interesting read, not something I normally read but I will be continuing the series. The characters and story have a nice start and I am engaged enough in the story to continue reading. I'm not sure yet if I will continue for long. A nice start, will recommend to boys into action adventure with a slow start and humor.
    more
  • Anne VALENTIN
    January 19, 2017
    Une bonne entame de série, ça démarre vite et bien !
  • Gabriella
    March 12, 2017
    What an idea, the seven most evil knights are perhaps the least corrupted by power and the only way to save a kingdom from those supposed to be protecting it. Magic and fighting with a good dose of humour and a talking pig to boot. Cant wait to read more,
    more
  • Özgün Yeşilbaş
    January 11, 2017
    Wrath'i hep overpower yapıyorlar ve sıkıcı bir hal alıyor. Meloidas was a big mistake diyorum. Biraz sapık da olsa hentai kıvamına yakın komiklikler güldürdü.
  • Wandering Librarians
    November 30, 2014
    In Britannia, The Seven Deadly Sins, feared worries, have been exiled. But when the king's guards, the Holy Knights, imprisoned the king and stage a coup, princess Elizabeth goes off to search for The Seven Deadly Sins, the only ones who could fight the Holy Knights.Dammit, The Seven Deadly Sins. I am so disappointed in you. It all started off so promising. "This is great," thought I. A middle grade manga with action and adventure and a cool story. But no. No. It is not to be.Because of the grop In Britannia, The Seven Deadly Sins, feared worries, have been exiled. But when the king's guards, the Holy Knights, imprisoned the king and stage a coup, princess Elizabeth goes off to search for The Seven Deadly Sins, the only ones who could fight the Holy Knights.Dammit, The Seven Deadly Sins. I am so disappointed in you. It all started off so promising. "This is great," thought I. A middle grade manga with action and adventure and a cool story. But no. No. It is not to be.Because of the groping and the breast grabbing and ass touching and obnoxious innuendo turns what would have otherwise been a delightful middle grade read into something I can't justify putting in my library. And I am highly annoyed.The first of the Sins Elizabeth comes across is Meliodas, who's apparently Wrath despite the fact he's perpetually cheery. Elizabeth faints pretty much as soon as she gets in the door of Meliodas' tavern. She was dressed in armor, so he's surprised to see she's a girl. He proceeds to confirm the fact she's a girl by sniffing her (the drawing is him sniffing her crotch) and squeezing her breasts.The first chapter has Meliodas rescuing Elizabeth from various near death experiences. She keeps getting flung into the air. Meliodas catches her, and every time he does, we get another breast grabbing picture.Elizabeth is portrayed as naive and dense. At no point does she tell him to knock off groping her. She is just so grateful for his help. At one point, they're searching for another one of the Sins in a forest. Elizabeth says, "Something's touching my butt." "Don't worry. It's just me" (illustration of him with her hand under her skirt touching her ass) "Oh, that's a relief. I was scared for a second there" is her response. Ew. Gross. Making me uncomfortable. Meliodas has a talking pig, Hawk, who tells Meliodas to "stop," and "this is not the time," and "That shouldn't be a relief!" I think having a character say those things is suppose to make the fact that those things are happening OK. But it doesn't. It doesn't stop it from being icky or from Elizabeth submissively taking it.And it doesn't make it any better for a middle school librarian looking for manga. I cannot put this in my library, and that's frustrating, because there's nothing wrong with the story. Why'd the smarmy groping have to be put in? It doesn't add anything. Meliodas isn't even the Sin of lust. At least then he'd have a reason (although not an excuse) for his actions.. All it accomplishes is limiting who can read this book.The Seven Deadly Sins is rated T, which is 13+ but I don't think that's appropriate. I mean, the story is definitely T, but the fondling puts it out of the T range. Again, it's a shame.
    more
  • Ian
    November 7, 2015
    This book is rated Teen and has fantasy violence as well as some limited mature material such as the main character groping the young woman accompanying him on his travels so use your best judgement if either of these bother you.Set in Britannia (much like the stories of King Arthur) this story revolves around Elizabeth the 3rd princess of King Liones (who was overthrown by his own Holy Knights) by seeking out seven individuals who each bore a tattoo of a beast upon their bodies and were one of This book is rated Teen and has fantasy violence as well as some limited mature material such as the main character groping the young woman accompanying him on his travels so use your best judgement if either of these bother you.Set in Britannia (much like the stories of King Arthur) this story revolves around Elizabeth the 3rd princess of King Liones (who was overthrown by his own Holy Knights) by seeking out seven individuals who each bore a tattoo of a beast upon their bodies and were one of the strongest of the kingdom's order of knights until they were accused of a great crime forcing them to be attacked and dispersed. With a seemingly impossible task ahead of her Elizabeth escaped to seek out the seven villains/heroes who were her only hope as the Holy Knights which were busy enslaving the population as well as excessively taxing to prepare for further war. With a cast of easily rememberable characters(such as Hawk the talking pig), powerful attacks(just wait till you see what a Holy Knight can do with a spear), and grand artwork I was easily caught up in the story and am looking forward to see how soon or if Elizabeth is actually going to complete her mission. Of course I worry about the poor girl sine the captain of the Seven Deadly Sins seems to like her and very casually gropes her as though it was no big deal. Hopefully that poor naive princess will not have to put up with that a whole lot more as they discover the other members of the group.My favorite part of the book would have to be when one of the Holy Knight hears someone pulled his sword out of the ground that was plunged into it to punish a village. Taking a spear he launched it toward the village where the person might still be and the Captain felt it coming toward them and walked outside to intercept the projectile and returned it to sender. I have a feeling this is just the beginning of the wild back and forth action. :)
    more
  • Jessica Headlee
    August 1, 2016
    It was so much fun reading this manga, and the covers are so beautiful. The chapter pages are so well done too, some are really detailed while others are simple but worth more than a thousand words!The story’s flow is nice and smooth, doing well to introduce new characters without making it stutter. The action is well drawn and detailed, and fits the bill for overdramatic fantasy fighting. The setting for the story is also pretty cool; it’s a place some people are already familiar with, making i It was so much fun reading this manga, and the covers are so beautiful. The chapter pages are so well done too, some are really detailed while others are simple but worth more than a thousand words!The story’s flow is nice and smooth, doing well to introduce new characters without making it stutter. The action is well drawn and detailed, and fits the bill for overdramatic fantasy fighting. The setting for the story is also pretty cool; it’s a place some people are already familiar with, making it easier for readers to get into the story. One thing that I found that might make some readers uncomfortable, especially those new to manga, is the fan service in the story. The main hero is a little bit of a pervert and there was some groping and panty shots in this volume, but not nearly as much as there could have been or that I’ve seen in other stories. Honestly, the slightly perverted nature of Meliodas is pretty funny and a nice contrast to his otherwise calm, collected personality.And at the end of the volume you can find some bonus material from the writer/illustrator! I always love reading through these, they can be so informative. The character sketches were pretty cool to look at and read all the little notes the writer had for them, even though they were a bit rough. The best part though was to see the sketches from The Seven Deadly Sins oneshot they did way back, it was a totally different story with different designs and characters.After reading this first volume I have to say the synopsis is a bit misleading…and partly wrong. Just to clarify, and it says it in the first chapter or two, Elizabeth is the third daughter of the king, not the only one. I’m not sure if there was a misprint or anything, but just thought that needed to be known. But all-in-all, this was a fantastic first installment and I can’t wait to read the other volumes!
    more
Write a review