The One (The Selection, #3)
The time has come for one winner to be crowned.When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.

The One (The Selection, #3) Details

TitleThe One (The Selection, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 6th, 2014
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN-139780062059994
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy

The One (The Selection, #3) Review

  • Mariam
    January 1, 1970
    For me there is no other way to express how I feel but through GIFS so...I had just recently finished The Elite and was more anxious than ever to find out about the next one. Then I see it, on Goodreads, The One...So I do my Happy Dance Then something catches my eye, and it takes me a while to absorb this informationMAY 6TH 2014!!!!!!!!!And naturally I flip a table..."After my freakout I decide that as long as America doesn't end up with Aspen, I'll be ok.So I'll wait...And take action if neces For me there is no other way to express how I feel but through GIFS so...I had just recently finished The Elite and was more anxious than ever to find out about the next one. Then I see it, on Goodreads, The One...So I do my Happy Dance Then something catches my eye, and it takes me a while to absorb this informationMAY 6TH 2014!!!!!!!!!And naturally I flip a table..."After my freakout I decide that as long as America doesn't end up with Aspen, I'll be ok.So I'll wait...And take action if necessary,All in all I really do like this series, and I would love it even more if America and Maxon ended up together, so have a good day, and enjoy life.
    more
  • Gillian Berry
    January 1, 1970
    Originally posted at Writer of WrongsGillian: Hey, Gillian. How are you doing today? You look nice.Gillian: You don't.Gillian: We're the same person, so you kind of just insulted yourself.Gillian: I need to talk to you about The One. You're the only one who understands me.Gillian: Well, yeah, that's because I am y--Gillian: I REALLY NEED TO TALK TO YOU CAN YOU PLEASE JUST FOCUS.Gillian: Sorry. Proceed.Gillian: So, that was a book. A book that happened.Gillian: Was it? Was it, though? Or did you Originally posted at Writer of WrongsGillian: Hey, Gillian. How are you doing today? You look nice.Gillian: You don't.Gillian: We're the same person, so you kind of just insulted yourself.Gillian: I need to talk to you about The One. You're the only one who understands me.Gillian: Well, yeah, that's because I am y--Gillian: I REALLY NEED TO TALK TO YOU CAN YOU PLEASE JUST FOCUS.Gillian: Sorry. Proceed.Gillian: So, that was a book. A book that happened.Gillian: Was it? Was it, though? Or did you hallucinate ninety percent of what occurred? You did read it really late at night.Gillian: This is a distinct possibility. Though even my fever dreams tie up loose plot threads better than... that.Gillian: But you liked it! You laughed! I heard you!Gillian: I laughed when a major character died.Gillian: Okay, but you laughed.Gillian: A major character's death that has nothing to do with the plot, is not born of the plot even though it so easily could have been, does not change the plot that follows or the main character in any way, and is executed SO POORLY that I could only guffaw in sadistic glee.Gillian: I think you might be a very evil person.Gillian: It was basically a sadness intermission. WE INTERRUPT THIS CORNY ROMANTIC SMOOCHERY TO BRING YOU SOME BREAKING SADNESS. America hardly felt sad at all, and I got the feeling this part of the book was meant to be seeeeped in grieeeeef, and yet there was no grief to be found. None. And heart trouble? HEART TROUBLE?! You kill off a major character in a series ender not through rebel shenanigans or anything, but HEART TROUBLE?!?!?!?!Gillian: Don't even pretend you weren't devastated when SPOILER died at the end.Gillian: Okay. That actually got me. FINALLY Kiera Cass writes an interesting character, and then she has to go and ruin everything with a COMPLETELY RIDICULOUS ENDING THAT COMES OUT OF NOWHERE WHEN THOSE STUPID REBELS DO THEIR STUPID REBEL THINGS AND IT MAKES NO DAMN SENSE AND OH MY GOD. I'm telling you. This wasn't real.Gillian: But what about the ship! You like shipping.Gillian: I do like shipping. I don't like when characters change their minds and hearts abruptly from one book to the next. I don't like it when a book has like fifteen cheesy declarations. I like where Cass meant to take her characters in terms of growth and epiphanies, but I cannot believe the way she took her characters there. One of the characters maintained a VERY STEADY position throughout both books, and poof! Book three, totes changes their mind. Because that happens.Gillian: But you didn't want to stab America in this one. Or even Asspen! That's progress!Gillian: Wow, you're right. I feel like I've grown as a human being. I no longer feel like committing fictional murder. America is no longer a waffling, waifish wattle-brain, and Asspen is less of a grunt grunt caveman, even though all of this growth occurs spontaneously in like the first chapter. BUT. THE. PLOT.Gillian: Oh, the plot wasn't that bad...Gillian: *stares*Gillian: Okay. It was that bad.Gillian: Hot. Freaking. Mess. There are two rebel groups: Northerners, who are Capital G Good, because they'e all YAY MONARCHY, and Southerners, who are Capital B BAD, because they want to shoot everybody and don't think the sun shines out of Maxon and America's royal behinds. Maxon and America are like, "Oh no! We can't let the bad rebels win!" And then things happen that have nothing to do with their actions. Asspen is somewhere in the background, being a noble ass. Marlee pops in for ONE SCENE and then pops right back out. Like um, thanks for visiting this supposedly epic series ender. Thanks for participating. Celeste the Bitch is abruptly and suddenly is humanized (which, actually, yay). The King continues to twirl his mustache, and the Queen continues to be the brainwashed victim of an abusive relationship who is canonized by every other character in the book.Gillian: Okay, but that's not a plot.Gillian: Don't be silly. Of course it is! There are romantical misunderstandings, pretty dresses, AMERICA IS A NOBLE HEEEEERO, Maxon what the fuck, ugh Asspen are you still here?, REBELS REBELS THE REBELSSSS!!!!, did that really happen how did that happen, the endddd.Gillian: That... wait, is that a plot?Gillian: No. It's not. And those god damn sketchily-assembled rebels and their stupid conflict. I don't want to talk about it.Gillian: Do you want to talk about how accidentally sexist this is? And how SPOILER needs a girl he can protect and SPOILER needs a man to shield her and guide her? And how these are held to be very, very good things?Gillian: No.Gillian: Fair enough. Do you want to talk about how stereotypically "Asian" Elise was made out to be, and that her life philosophy is apparently "Honor to Us All", and how offensive it was when Kriss pitied her for it?Gillian: No.Gillian: Should we bring up how the Palace security must be run by blind gerbils because that's the only way those fucking rebels could manage to get inside the fucking buildings six times a chapter?Gillian: No.Gillian: Do you want to talk about how pointless (and predictable) it was that SPOILER and SPOILER were secretly Good Rebels even though nothing came of that information. Gillian: No.Gillian: Well, we have to talk about something.Gillian: No. I don't want to. You can't make me.Gillian: It was your idea to talk in the first place!Gillian: I DON'T WANT TO TALK ABOUT THIS ANYMORE.Gillian: Should we talk about that cheesy ass epilogue?Gillian: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA oh my god was that a glorious thing. A comedic masterpiece, that was.Gillian: You don't have to be mean about it.Gillian: I EARNED THE MEANNESS, BUDDY. I bought this with my MONEY.Gillian: As opposed to buying it with your couch?Gillian: Shut up. I have no brains left after that. This book did not fit with the rest. This book did not feel like the continuation of the "plot" set up in anemic book one and frustrating book two. I couldn't even get mad at this book because I didn't believe this book. Not one freaking word of it. Gillian: Look, no one forced you to read this series.Gillian: MAXON DID. STUPID MAXON AND YOUR STUPID ENDEARING LAMENESS. Why do I care so much about you? Why are you doing this to me? Why were you a flip-flopping mess in this book? Why are there plot holes so large you could drop a truck or a 747 or California through them?Gillian: But Cass kind of did a Red Wedding thing there. That's... um, that's something, right?Gillian: Fungus is something. Sunburns are something. That ending is something.Gillian: That was way harsh, Tai.Gillian: LOOK. Endings, particularly to series, need to COME FROM SOMETHING. They can't just randomly happen and then conveniently the people who need to die for there to be a HEA die and then somehow that magically fixes EVERYTHING and NO. When George R. R. Martin kills people, he does it to complicate the plot. Not to just have it happen. Not to resolve things. NOT AS AN ENDING. And then there's the fact that the action is SO CLUNKY, so unrealistic, so poorly described, that i just laughed laughed because it lasted so long and some people could free and others bled out under tables and America did nothing and oh god horrible action scenes are horrible.Gillian: You should really breathe between rants.Gillian: I CAN'T EVEN.Gillian: Do you want to talk about the cliches?Gillian: There was a cheesy death fakeout. There was a cheesy "Save yourself! Live and be happy!" scene. There was a cheesy letter written from beyond the grave full of wisdom and truth. It was an endless avalanche of cliche. America and Maxon are the only non-cardboard characters. The worldbuilding is nonsense. The writing is clunky, amateurish, and obvious. I need a drink. I need several drinks.Gillian: Yes, but that's been true since the beginning, and yet you still read them all. Even those novellas.Gillian: I once described this series as being like a deep-fried Oreo, and it's mostly still good. It sounds like a better idea than it is, it has this weirdly addicting, saccharine-sweet junk food quality, and it has zero nutritional value. But then this third book happens and it's... it's just... it's so bad I can't even find an accurate food metaphor. A tomato and marshmallow smoothie.Gillian: I just vomited.Gillian: An appropriate way to end this.
    more
  • Fafiliebe ♥ Warner ♥ Raffe ♥
    January 1, 1970
    After reading.. I'm just sooo emotional over this,, the sweet sweet sweetness, adorable emotional angsty love .. i love love love love this, i love it...fangirling.. AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!My Maxon ♥ ♥ ♥♥ ♥ ♥“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” "Shhh," I urged.“I'll love you until my very last breath. Every beat of my heart is yours. I don't want to die without you knowing that.”"Please don't," I choked.♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ After reading.. I'm just sooo emotional over this,, the sweet sweet sweetness, adorable emotional angsty love .. i love love love love this, i love it...fangirling.. AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!My Maxon ♥ ♥ ♥♥ ♥ ♥“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” "Shhh," I urged.“I'll love you until my very last breath. Every beat of my heart is yours. I don't want to die without you knowing that.”"Please don't," I choked.♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥“America, my love, you are sunlight falling through trees. You are laughter that breaks through sadness. You are the breeze on a too-war day. You are clarity in the midst of confusion.You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good. Without you, my life would still exist, but that's all it would manage to do.You said that to get things right one of us would have to take a leap of faith. I think I've discovered the canyon that must be leaped, and I hope to find you waiting for me on the other side.I love you, America.Yours forever,Maxon” ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥“I want everything with you, America. I want the holidays and the birthdays, the busy season and lazy weekends. I want peanut butter fingertips on my desk. I want inside jokes and fights and everything. I want a life with you.” ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥“In those seconds, I was mourning everything I'd lost. How I'd never get to see you walk down an aisle toward me, how I'd never get to see your face in our children, how I'd never get to see streaks of silver in your hair. But, at the same time, I couldn't be bothered. If me dying meant you living, how could that be anything but good?” ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥“I was nearly attacked. All because I missed your smell."sorry for this fangirl bomb !! but it was so sweet ♥ ♥ ♥..........OMG OMG OMG OMG OMGGGGGGGGGGG ... WAAAAAAAA333I CAN'T BELIEVE IT IS SOO BEAUTIFULLLLL!!!!!!..........IWANTYOU!!!! MAXON!!!!
    more
  • J
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT 21/04/2014The wait is almost over! Soon we'll find out - Maxon or Aspen, Aspen or Maxon? Maxon, Maxon, Maxon,Max.....----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------EDIT 27/09/2013Well, looks like I was right! The cover is gorgeous!Two more assumptions to go...Fingers crossed!----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Maxon and America will be together. Aspen and Lucy will fall in l EDIT 21/04/2014The wait is almost over! Soon we'll find out - Maxon or Aspen, Aspen or Maxon? Maxon, Maxon, Maxon,Max.....----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------EDIT 27/09/2013Well, looks like I was right! The cover is gorgeous!Two more assumptions to go...Fingers crossed!----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Maxon and America will be together. Aspen and Lucy will fall in love with each other....And the cover will be with a girl in a white gown on it:)But the question is - Can we wait till 2014??? I'm not sure :( I want it now!
    more
  • Tiea Martin
    January 1, 1970
    **UPDATED JANUARY 19, 2014**AMERICA!!!??? * Maxon & America<3For America, I expect her to be plain. Many times in the book, she is not viewed as the prettiest and continuously refuses to wear too much makeup or dress too fancy. Maybe in "The One", she will change her mind in order for the public to view her as the gorgeous girl her family, Aspen, Maxon, and many people see. I hope not. I like her stubborn ways! :)Extremely excited about "The One" but having to wait one year ?UGH. **UPDATED JANUARY 19, 2014**AMERICA!!!??? * Maxon & America<3For America, I expect her to be plain. Many times in the book, she is not viewed as the prettiest and continuously refuses to wear too much makeup or dress too fancy. Maybe in "The One", she will change her mind in order for the public to view her as the gorgeous girl her family, Aspen, Maxon, and many people see. I hope not. I like her stubborn ways! :)Extremely excited about "The One" but having to wait one year ?UGH. I AM SO READY FOR THE COVER! OMGI AM EXPECTING TO SEE A WEDDING DRESS FOR THIS COVER;)So I can NOT wait for 2014!
    more
  • Dixie Marie
    January 1, 1970
    I was immensely proud of America by the end of the Elite, and couldn't have been more happy with the end of the trilogy! We all knew who she would end up with! I was crying the "I'm so lonely!" tears all through the last chapter before returning to my single life. Haha
    more
  • Catriona (LittleBookOwl)
    January 1, 1970
    These books are such easy reads, though dealing with America's... America-ness was not so easy.I liked that she stood by her beliefs and values, but it drove me nuts how she flip-flopped all over the place with her feelings. Especially since it was very obvious how she felt, a lot of her indecision didn't have much justification. Throughout the series, I never felt like the rebels were truly threats, they never seemed very dangerous. Things changed towards the last half of The One, which I appre These books are such easy reads, though dealing with America's... America-ness was not so easy.I liked that she stood by her beliefs and values, but it drove me nuts how she flip-flopped all over the place with her feelings. Especially since it was very obvious how she felt, a lot of her indecision didn't have much justification. Throughout the series, I never felt like the rebels were truly threats, they never seemed very dangerous. Things changed towards the last half of The One, which I appreciated.I don't know how I feel about the ending. Things wrap up a little too nicely, and I feel like there were some things that needed to be properly sorted out between our characters. More of the flip-flopping feelings, where the past just seems to have been unrealistically forgotten. *pulls hair*I think that so much frustration could have been avoided if the characters had just thought things through and weren't so selfish. Then that would have meant there was more room for rebel-tension-goodness.
    more
  • Rhea
    January 1, 1970
    Wouldn't it be awesome if Maxon turned out to be gay? And then he ends up with Aspen!
  • Booknut
    January 1, 1970
    Update: 25/9/14 I am officially changing my rating from 2 stars to 3 stars! Why, you may ask?The answer: http://unlocktheselection.com/And with that lovely webpage comes an exclusive bonus epilogue for The One which made me a very, very happy fangirl! There's even some irony in there:'I made my way across the floor, sampling some hors d’oeuvres on my way. None of the food seemed terribly appealing, though. Maxon’s favorites weren’t necessarily mine, I just had to trust that everyone else would e Update: 25/9/14 I am officially changing my rating from 2 stars to 3 stars! Why, you may ask?The answer: http://unlocktheselection.com/And with that lovely webpage comes an exclusive bonus epilogue for The One which made me a very, very happy fangirl! There's even some irony in there:'I made my way across the floor, sampling some hors d’oeuvres on my way. None of the food seemed terribly appealing, though. Maxon’s favorites weren’t necessarily mine, I just had to trust that everyone else would enjoy the selection.'From a selection of girls to a selection of food, huh?! There's also an excerpt from the upcoming book The Queen on that page as well, so check it out it get the chance :)With more books in this series to come, it seems like The One - despite its flaws - doesn't have to carry the weight of being the final book and summing everything up nicely, any longer. Looking forward to seeing what this series brings us readers soon :)Review:Hmm. How to feel, how to feel, how to feel...It's hard to know exactly how I'm meant to feel about this book.On one hand, I'm kinda happy that the series managed to close in such a way (unlike some series' *cough* Divergent *cough*). On the other hand...I'm not totally convinced The One was well thought out.Why, you may ask?Simple. Because nothing is actually simple. Nothing! I mean, we've spent two whole books emphasising the fact that nothing about this world, or its characters, is simple. And yet here we are, simplifying things in the final book.Exhibit A: the over-simplification of emotionsOne word: Maxon.For those who have read The One, only that word is needed to convey my feelings on the issue. For those who haven't read The One, I'll put it a different way. Needless to say, even now, I'm still totally Team Maxon. But I'm Team Maxon 'Who Actually Has A Detailed & Varying Range of Emotions'.Not Team Maxon 'My Anger Brings All The Available Girls To The Yard'.Maxon's anger is often justified (seeing that America has not yet ceased to be an annoyingly predictable mess of a heroine). But it's so...2D. He has tantrums. Yes, you read that right - Maxon has tantrums. And not grown-up ones either. As Sophie's review of The One put it: 'Newsflash, Maxy-boy. You already did that when you agreed to the Selection. And throwing a temper tantrum like a little boy is not the way to solve your problems.' I couldn't agree more, Sophie! As for Aspen...let's not even go there.I have zero cares to give about Aspen at the moment. End of story! Welcome to an ending that will make you weep.True, it isn't Veronica Roth's. But at least Veronica Roth had the decency to write Allegiant's ending properly. She didn't go on a killing spree. She didn't include some major character reversals. She finished things off in the same style she began them...even though she broke all of our hearts in the process!Basically, nothing about The One flowed.Flow is so important in books. Stories shouldn't be put together like leftover puzzle pieces. Dialogue shouldn't be stilted, or robotic & forced. The easy way out of the situation shouldn't be just to kill as many characters as possible.Spoiler alert: lots of characters die.And most of their deaths can be described in the same way The One's plot can be: pointless. Totally, facepalm-inducingly, pointless.But, that said, it's still the end of a good series.This series started off with some amazing concepts and potentially great characters. And although The One didn't manage to reach the same level of awesomeness the previous books did, it's still part of a reasonably good YA series. So, my rant aside, if you want to find out how it all ends feel free to pick up The One for yourself.Or...go read some fanfiction. Or write your own ;)Pre-read review:The cover. Is. So. PRETTY! And I'm just like: Because you all know what this book is going to give us, right? Right?! MORE MAXON TIME!!This book cannot come soon enough!
    more
  • Kat O'Keeffe
    January 1, 1970
    It had some flaws, but as far as series finales go, it was actually rather satisfying! This series is super addictive, and even though I was frustrated a lot, I was also totally invested in the story--I laughed, I cried, I gasped out loud, I shook the book (pretending it was America). This series isn't too deep, with more focus on the romance plot than the dystopian plot, but it's still gripping and extremely entertaining, like a good reality TV show. If you're looking for something fast-paced a It had some flaws, but as far as series finales go, it was actually rather satisfying! This series is super addictive, and even though I was frustrated a lot, I was also totally invested in the story--I laughed, I cried, I gasped out loud, I shook the book (pretending it was America). This series isn't too deep, with more focus on the romance plot than the dystopian plot, but it's still gripping and extremely entertaining, like a good reality TV show. If you're looking for something fast-paced and fun (and can handle a frustrating protagonist) then this is definitely the series for you!
    more
  • Stacia
    January 1, 1970
    10-2-12; 10:47pm : Team Maxon! :)9-26-13: W o w. Look at this BEAUTIFUL cover. In my review of The Elite I said I wanted the book green, but I'm COMPLETELY won over by the white. It's gorgeous. I can't wait! 03-12-15 Hey guys! So, I FINALLY got back into reading/reviewing and I'm happy to say that THE ONE is gonna be my first review back!I read THE ONE when it first came out and I've been DYING to do a review on it because I've been a fan since like... day two of THE SELECTION release. Ha!Any 10-2-12; 10:47pm : Team Maxon! :)9-26-13: W o w. Look at this BEAUTIFUL cover. In my review of The Elite I said I wanted the book green, but I'm COMPLETELY won over by the white. It's gorgeous. I can't wait! 03-12-15 Hey guys! So, I FINALLY got back into reading/reviewing and I'm happy to say that THE ONE is gonna be my first review back!I read THE ONE when it first came out and I've been DYING to do a review on it because I've been a fan since like... day two of THE SELECTION release. Ha!Anyway, I know we all talked about the covers being red, white and blue because of her name and the fact that the colors were statement dresses in the books but MAN, I STILL wish for a green one. I don't hate the white, I just like green better.I haven't read/looked into Kiera Cass too too much, but I believe she's written other books and I have to say- I wonder if she's ever written any ACTION scenes. Don't get me wrong- I know the series was meant to be romance, but the idea of "rebel attacks" seemed so so great until... I actually read the scenes and there wasn't REALLY any action packed into them. I mean that in the best way I can think of. It was like "okay here's a problem, let me solve it in two to three pages and everything will just be all fine."I'm glad the king got what he deserved. I wish things could have ended differently for some of the girls, though. And honestly, I'm kind of weirded out by America's maids crush on Aspen.I pictures the maids older like the fairies in Sleeping Beauty, so it was kinda weird.BUT LETS JUST GET TO THE CHASE.TEAM MAXON! TEAM MAXON! TEAM MAXON!Honestly, for a minute there, I thought America was going to choose Aspen- which I would have respected, but not like. I'm happy with the end results and can't WAIT to read THE HEIR, to see of their are any hints of their life together (secretly hoping Cass will do something with that).Overall, the romance side of the story was great. The action?- not the action pack that I was hoping for.Can't wait for THE HEIR.
    more
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    Team MAXON!!!!!!!!!!! Omg the name is out and it is awesome. The c-c-c-c-COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it.... is..... AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *super happy dance*Update in the middle of book:The feeelllllsss and OMGJust finished the book, good ending but the feels, this book made me cry so much. It's killing me!
    more
  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    America, my love, you are sunlight falling through trees. You are laughter that breaks through sadness. You are the breeze on a too-warm day. Cue the eye roll, this is definitely going to be one of those kind of books. Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway. Picking up where we left off, Maxon Schreave (points for having the world's worst last name) has to make a crazy-hard decision. And there we were, in the background of it all, hold America, my love, you are sunlight falling through trees. You are laughter that breaks through sadness. You are the breeze on a too-warm day. Cue the eye roll, this is definitely going to be one of those kind of books. Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway. Picking up where we left off, Maxon Schreave (points for having the world's worst last name) has to make a crazy-hard decision. And there we were, in the background of it all, holding on to one another. The Perfectionist, the Sweetheart, the Diva . . . and me. He has four choices left and only one will remain. And that One will marry him and become the queen. America is still in the competition, but as the crown draws ever nearer, she will have to come to the ultimate decision - face her own demons and become queen or run away from it all forever.This one was definitely better than the last (honestly, Cass could've cut the entirety of book 2 and nothing would've been missed.) but I still think it was missing far too much.The world building didn't feel nearly as fleshed out as I would've hoped. There's Southern Rebels and Northern Rebels but no one in the kingdom really knows what they want. If they were truly a threat, wouldn't they be called terrorists? "Terrorist" contains the connotation that the country is being attacked while "rebel" invokes feelings of freedom. Also - did the king give the rebels a spare key? How do they break into the palace every other week? How?The queen competition just didn't feel realistic to me - you would think that every girl chosen for this competition would've been an excellent choice for queen (after all, why risk anything?) but all the girls seem so flawed and ill-suited to the task. America, you are full of nothing but bad ideas. Great intentions but awful ideas. America doesn't know anything about foreign policy, internal politics or even basic palace manners and yet she was chosen! This girl doesn't even like to study - is this really the girl you want in charge of the country?I did like the ending - it is very sweet and charming...it just took too far long to happen. There was too much filler drama inserted just to keep the plot going. Audiobook CommentsRead by Amy Rubinate - who did a wonderful job with narrating this one. Truly an excellent book to listen to.Blog | Instagram
    more
  • Belle
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT: May 6th, 2014Well, The One is finally out today and I'm not sure when I'm going to get to read it, but hopefully it will be very soon! However, I did get a chance read the first 10 chapters at unlocktheone.com and it has made me even more skeptical than I already was, but I guess I'll have to wait see! Also, I would be really grateful if you guys wouldn't post any spoilers for The One in the comments of this review, or if you do at least tag them as such, because I do read all of them and EDIT: May 6th, 2014Well, The One is finally out today and I'm not sure when I'm going to get to read it, but hopefully it will be very soon! However, I did get a chance read the first 10 chapters at unlocktheone.com and it has made me even more skeptical than I already was, but I guess I'll have to wait see! Also, I would be really grateful if you guys wouldn't post any spoilers for The One in the comments of this review, or if you do at least tag them as such, because I do read all of them and have had books ruined on me this way before. Happy reading!THOUGHTS ON THE ELITE:.......................I'm not gonna lie, I was a bit upset with The Elite. And that makes me sad because I loved the selection and I love Kiera Cass because she's hilarious, but... Maxon. I don't want to spoil this on anybody who has not read it, but as a warning... YOU ARE GOING TO WANT TO RIP HIS HEAD OFF. Not in the first 50 pages of course, because the first 50 pages rock. Even up until about half way through The Elite you say, "Nothing to worry about this can be fixed!" Then as you go on you realize it can't. I still don't really like Aspen so I don't want her to end up with him, but Maxon was acting like America wasn't the only girl for him any more and I can't accept that. If this is what it is going to take to make the series interesting then maybe it should have been only two books instead of three. I still gave this book three stars because It was interesting and I still love Marlee and the maids. Even Kriss was fun when I didn't wanna rip her head off too. Over all I just felt betrayed by Maxon. Not in a fun, "This is going to be so cool to see the outcome," way. It was in an, "I will never forgive you," way. I do HOPE that I can forgive him in the next book, but I am not very sure if that is going to happen. I also would have liked to see the queen more (on a side note) and also the maids, they are just too funny. I hope you don't fail me Kiera Cass, but we shall see.Also, is it seriously called "The One" ... UPDATE 9/26/13: As much as I wish the cover was purple I do actually like the white. Before the reveal I was dreading the wedding dress color because it just seemed so typical. I think purple would have really looked nice with the other covers, but this one turned out better than I expected. And am I the only one that thinks her dress looks super edible? Update 10/27/13: A lot of the people in the comments seem to think that America's actions in The Elite were worse than Maxon's. I understand why you're angry with her because I was too. But the difference here is that Maxon knew that America was conflicted about their relationship before. So why would Maxon be surprised that she didn't want to talk to him when he acted like a jerk. In The Selection book Maxon told America that it was fine if she had doubts, and I understand that she also told him that she was over it in The Elite, but he completely ditched her when she needed comforting and then hung out with Kriss. So, knowing that even though America had chosen him, Maxon should have known she still wasn't in a stable state of mind and could decide she wanted to leave just by even the smallest of actions. Maxon had made it seem like he was so ready for his relationship with America and that he was 100% loyal to her. And he does all of this, knowing very well how she feels? And even worse, we find out that he was seeing Celest before the whole thing with Marlee even happened. So, yes I understand America was wrong for sneaking around to see Aspen, but I think Maxon was far more at fault than America here.P.S. Did anyone else get super uncomfortable when her and Aspen would meet in secret. Every time I was just waiting for them to get caught because they were being so careless. It made me so nervous. Not like I'm justifying what they did because it was wrong, but sheesh please don't make me so uneasy!
    more
  • Rachel (APCB Reviews)
    January 1, 1970
    Read my full review @A Perfection Called Books It's non-spoilery and gif-filled! All right. Enough is enough. I need to stop putting off writing this review. Maybe I feel that writing this review will truly mark the end of this series. And you know what? I don't want it to be over. This book gets a five star rating for so so many reasons. Ok so this book was not flawless. There were so many things that totally made up for it though: the plot, the romance, the characters, and the ending. Here ar Read my full review @A Perfection Called Books It's non-spoilery and gif-filled! All right. Enough is enough. I need to stop putting off writing this review. Maybe I feel that writing this review will truly mark the end of this series. And you know what? I don't want it to be over. This book gets a five star rating for so so many reasons. Ok so this book was not flawless. There were so many things that totally made up for it though: the plot, the romance, the characters, and the ending. Here are my thoughts on this book accompanied with gifs that embody my thoughts quite well. The Plot:The story flowed much better in this book than the others; our questions were answered. The One was fast-paced, action-packed, aww-inducing, and heart-wrenching. There was the perfect blend of everything. The Characters:America - American Singer is rash, stubborn, feisty, a rule-breaker, indecisive, annoying, daft, brave, and many more things... I am glad that her character and personality has greatly improved. In this book she's learned to hold her tongue and just deal with things. She doesn't whine and complain and cry and pout anymore. Nope. She's fierce. She's gonna suck it up and be a big girl! (about time). And she's learned to speak up for herself. She's not gonna cower and babble and wrack her brain for a comeback that never surfaces. Nope. She's gotten more assertive and direct. She knows what she wants, and she's going to fight for it. "'I can't believe you're going through with this' he shot back... I whipped my arm from his, hissing my words at him. 'You've been here almost as long as I have. In all that time, did you ever not deliver one of the sentences you were ordered to?' He considered. 'No, but-' 'Then don't judge me'... Aspen's eyes were pleading. 'Mer, I know it's scary, but you've-' I put up my hand. 'Do your job. Take me downstairs.'" -YAY she finally told Aspen to can it! "'Then tell me how did a girl of no means, no connections, and no power manage to get this country within the reach of something it's been trying to achieve for years?'... 'Maybe if you were simply more welcoming, you'd have had your alliance with Italy years ago.'" -YAY she stands up to the king :)Maxon - Oh sweet Maxon <3 He learns to trust in this book. He learns to open up and actually share his thoughts and feelings. He becomes more confident. He's going to be a great leader. Maxamer - The one thing that made me so mad and angry was both Maxon's and America's refusals to just come out and admit their feelings for one another. I wanted to rip my hair out. They both were like "Why should I say it first? Why won't he say it? If he's not gonna say it, I'm not gonna say it." Come on. Are you freaking kidding me. I was literally shaking my iPad during these moments of character stupidity. I was thinking:Why couldn't they just say:"'I'm always interested in hearing how you feel.' Oh, no. Nope. I was not putting it out there first." -*glares at words*"You are denying me your love. It's the only thing I've wanted in this entire competition, and you still hold back. I keep waiting for you to say it, and you won't. If you couldn't say it out loud in front of him, fine. But if you had simply agreed, that would have been good enough for me.'" -AMERICA, JUST FREAKING SAY "I LOVE YOU" *boom* The Selection is over. But nooooo, America needs to be classic stubborn America. *eye rolls*or my favorite *sarcasm*"Maybe Maxon did love me, but if he wasn't man enough to say it out loud..."-Well obviously you're too chicken to say it out loud so ditto Ms. Singer. And to both Maxon and America I just wanted to say:The Elite - The Elite (Elise, Celeste, Kriss, and America) bonded in this book. Their scenes together in this book were great and so much fun. Elise isn't actually a robot. Celeste had a 180 personality change. I actually like her now! I will never like Kriss though :P The Romance:Despite the trouble my OTP had with saying "I love you," the romance was still amazing. It was perfect. It was so adorable and sweet and steamy. I swooned and awwwwed so much in this book. I had a goofy grin on my face basically the whole book. I could gush and fangirl about it forever but I think these quotes sum it up quite nicely:"I spent my life waiting for you, for all of you." "'I want you, America,' he murmured into my ear. 'I want you to be mine alone. And I want to give you everything.' His lips kissed their way across my cheek, stopping at the corner of my mouth. 'I want to give you things you didn't know you wanted.'""I'm going to love you more than any man has ever loved a woman, more than you ever dreamed you could be loved. I promise you that.""I want everything with you, America. I want the holidays and the birthdays, the busy seasons and the lazy weekends. I want peanut butter fingerprints on my desk. I want inside jokes and fights and everything. I want a life with you."When I read those lines I just went:To get you excited for The One: - You learn shocking & unexpected things- Maxon and America have a huge blowout fight- People die-That's all I'm saying ;)The Ending:It was a bit rushed. It seems as though Cass ran out of steam near the end and just tried ending it as quickly as possible. I'm happy with the ending, but wish she'd slowed it down a bit. That big thing that happened near the end (you know those TWO THINGS that happened to those TWO people) seemed like an easy way out. It didn't resolve the conflict the way it needed to be solved. It just ended the conflict... (That won't make sense to those who haven't read the book yet.)The Epilogue:PERFECTION. I would have liked a bit more though...Overall:I laughed. I cried. I awwed. I gasped. I swooned. I celebrated. I can't believe this series is over. A great ending to a great series. PRE READING UPDATE 5/6 Oh my god. Just finished this. Oh my god. PERFECT. Oh my god. HEA. Oh my god. I'm speechless and in tears. Review to come. UPDATE 5/5OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK COMES OUT IN LESS THAN 9 HOURS!! *FANGIRLING X 100,000,000,000*So my dearest copy of "The One" in a few short hoursUPDATE 5/4THE ONE COMES OUT IN TWO DAYS. I AM SO EXCITED!! Read the first TEN chapters of "The One." TEN CHAPTERS, and I'm already mad at the characters and infuriated with this book. And I wouldn't have it any other way ;) XD Isn't it so pretty?! ^^When I saw the cover:When I saw the publication date:America and Maxon:Or else:Please make me happy with this ending Kiera Cass. My heart can only take so much.
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: 1.5 StarsSPOILERS. Please read on if you 1. Have no intention of ever reading this book (good for you) 2. Have read the book (my condolences)3. Just want to see me rant about sleazy men and brainless women (isn't that why we're all here?) The One. This title can mean so many things, but let me tell you what it means to me. It is the one book in this series that got a higher rating than a 1 from me, mostly because of an ending that completely surpassed my expectations of wtfery. It is a Rating: 1.5 StarsSPOILERS. Please read on if you 1. Have no intention of ever reading this book (good for you) 2. Have read the book (my condolences)3. Just want to see me rant about sleazy men and brainless women (isn't that why we're all here?) The One. This title can mean so many things, but let me tell you what it means to me. It is the one book in this series that got a higher rating than a 1 from me, mostly because of an ending that completely surpassed my expectations of wtfery. It is a story about one prince who is a huge dick, one annoying main character who makes observations that make me want to throttle her, and one kingdom whose existence is baseless and ridiculous. But it doesn't stop at just one! This book does not have just one, but many stupid characters and plot holes large enough for me to fall into. There are so many problems that I want to address with this review that I don't even know where to start. First of all, there's Maxon. From the first two books, I already knew that he knew jack shit about the kingdom that he was about to rule. In the second book, I could see his idiocy in the way he handled his situation with America. But in this book, boy did he outdo himself. “There was a long moment of silence before he lost his temper. “I will not have anyone else telling me who I can and cannot marry! This is my life you’re playing games with!” Newsflash, Maxy-boy. You already did that when you agreed to the Selection. And throwing a temper tantrum like a little boy is not the way to solve your problems. Throughout the story, Maxon does not act like a king or a prince or anything close to royalty. He cannot make adult decisions, he foolishly argues with America over situations that he doesn't understand (and she doesn't understand either), and I honestly cannot understand how anyone would trust this kid to rule over an entire kingdom. Quite frankly, Maxon is useless, and he actually says so himself. His life is spent either getting whipped by his father (in the literal sense), getting whipped by America (in the figurative sense), or hanging out with "his girls." Really, the fact that he always referred to the Elite as "my girls" just made me uncomfortable. His treatment of America and Aspen when he catches them together and tells Aspen to get out of his face or die reinforced my lack of faith. Maxon would probably do a better job as a pimp than a king. And that is the gospel truth. Then, there's America: I could handle my dad telling me I was a beautiful singer or Aspen saying I was the prettiest thing he’d ever seen . . . but this? It was almost overwhelming. “America, you are full of nothing but bad ideas. Great intentions but awful ideas.” Don't know about the first part, but the second is definitely true. America... How do I even describe her? She's so flat and uninteresting that I don't even have any colorful adjectives. I hated Maxon more than I hated her, but that was how little of an impression she made. I don't know if it's Cass's writing style or the characterization, but she will forever sound like a child to me. A spoiled, self-obsessed child who thinks she understands the world, mostly because the idiots around her inflate her already balloonish head. Yes, she's a total Mary Sue with her crying and fainting, but she's also kind of an ignorant bitch. “What if Maxon picks someone else? I can’t walk away from this with nothing. At least if Aspen still thinks there’s a chance, maybe we could try again when everything’s over.” And there we were, in the background of it all, holding on to one another. The Perfectionist, the Sweetheart, the Diva . . . and me. “He was on one knee, taking aim, firing deliberately into the crowd. He must have been very sure of his target to do that.” Basically, she purposely leads on her ex-boyfriend and stereotypes all the girls that she's supposedly friends with. And her observations are so painfully immature that I want to shake her. Tell me why someone like her should ever be trusted to ascend a throne? Maxon and America deserve each other, and I pray for all the people in their kingdom who were unfortunate enough to be ruled by two peanuts such as they. Anyway, enough about them. What about the plot? I must say, there was more of a plot in this book than there was in the other two, and towards the end, I actually got pulled in a little, which is the reason for the .5 star. Why did I get pulled in? Because finally, after all the glitz and glamor and fancy dresses, there was blood, and also a semblance of a climax instead of the watered down drivel of books 1 and 2. But... why, Cass? Why did you have to kill off Celeste, who was one of my favorite characters? Cass attempted a version of the Red Wedding (Game of Thrones fans, you get me), but it was basically an opportunity for her to wrap up the story by killing off any of the characters that caused a problem. King Clarkson, who was the only thing stopping America and Maxon from marrying? Dead. Anne, who liked Aspen, but couldn't have him since he loves Lucy? Dead. Cass took the cheapest way out possible, and I am disgusted. There is no thought, no tact put into this book, its characters, its structures, or its plot. These are merely somebody's fanciful notions transcribed and marked as some sort of literature. Some of the names in this book made me want to retch. There is a place called "Honduragua," for goodness sakes! Then, when America's father dies, the part where Maxon tells her is so stilted that I stared at the page for a couple minutes before realizing that someone had died and this was supposed to be a big deal. And then there are things that America says, like "he breathed into me" and "his eyes were fixed on my curves" that also make me die a little inside. Nothing that the characters in this book do would ever be something that we would do. The plot is too far-fetched to be remotely believable. And the ending was just a massive copout that shows how Cass lacks the dexterity and mindset to finish what she started. Think about what all the little girls who read this are going to think! The universal solution is mass murder! I'm not proud of reading all the books in this series, but I do admit I had some fun flaming them. Now that it's over, hopefully Cass will take some time to polish her writing, and the next book she publishes will be marginally more readable. --This title. Why. (Assuming the cover is pretty... Otherwise this book will have nothing going for it.)
    more
  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    January 1, 1970
    Let's pretend this never happened...Can't believe I read the whole series but I can now move on with my life.I couldn't stand the main character nor the love triangle. At least in this book, there was less girl-hate. The whole series could have been one book!Still... I did read them all....
    more
  • Aly's Bookish Wonderland
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT 18/11/2014: Did anyone else read the second epilogue on the website?What the crap? Did Cass write it? It sounded like fanfiction. Really bad, bland fanfiction. Booooo. And, really, it was to be expected they'd have a kid, right? Couldn't that have been put in as a flashback thing in the next book? And maybe written with a bit more love? No? Okay.WARNING: Major ranting ahead. I will be swearing, screaming and butchering this book like there's no tomorrow. If you don't want to hear the rants EDIT 18/11/2014: Did anyone else read the second epilogue on the website?What the crap? Did Cass write it? It sounded like fanfiction. Really bad, bland fanfiction. Booooo. And, really, it was to be expected they'd have a kid, right? Couldn't that have been put in as a flashback thing in the next book? And maybe written with a bit more love? No? Okay.WARNING: Major ranting ahead. I will be swearing, screaming and butchering this book like there's no tomorrow. If you don't want to hear the rants of a hot-blooded Italian, then please do not carry on reading.I shan't be held responsible for my actions.It's a fucking shame, really, that I wasted six months of my life waiting for this shitty book to come out. I wish I could give it ZERO stars, because this was the most unsatisfying, ridiculous, rubbish book since the last shitty YA story I read.You wanna know what the major problem for me was?America. Fuck America. I once respected her as a character, but reading this last instalment made me realise how shallow, stupid and dumb this girl really is. Her stupidity alone made me rethink my first opinions on the series, so here's a fun fact: I'm going to re-read the books, and probably end up 1 starring them, because they are not worth the time. America, you're a stupid bitch, you know that, right? Instead of causing havoc by defying the king, hooking up with your ex-boyfriend in the palace and being a fucking wimp, here's a fucking suggestion for you: grow a pair, you dumb fuck!The entirety of this book is America rubbing herself up against Prince Maxon to win his affection, rebel against the king and his orders and screwing around with Aspen, her ex-boyfriend who works (conveniently) as a palace guard. She not only puts herself in trouble, but she puts the LIVES of other people at risk constantly and recklessly. Then, when Maxon laughs at her, she moans and bitches and runs to the corner to cry because "Ugh, he doesn't want me! I'm not good enough! OMG I want to hook up with Aspen! Oh my life is so fucking difficult and complicated!"She's a stupid fucking main character, I do NOT see the point in her and I do NOT see the point in her acting like a two-penny prostitute for the crown. At least the other girls had some sort of CLASS.It wasn't just America that was the problem for me. The narrative SUCKED. It went from smooth and enjoyable in the first and second book to childish, whiny and ugh in this last one. It came off sounding like fan-fiction gone wrong. It just didn't work.(view spoiler)[And what the fuck was up with killing half the characters in the last ten pages? What the hell, man? Sure, a rebel fight is a rebel fight, but they basically killed off everyone that would be competition to Dumb Fuck's crown. WHAT THE FUCK. (hide spoiler)]The romance with Maxon was so forced, it made me gag. You know when you go on an awkward date, and the guy is being really forceful with his words, like, "Hey, honey, you're so hot. Let's get together again," or "Baby, I can't wait to get you back home tonight" and you get that awkward feeling ballooning in your stomach which is half pity and half I'm-going-to-puke-on-your-cheap shoes? That's what I felt when reading the 'romance' side of this book. It was awful, fake, boring. I came into this book wanting competition, growing up and maturing and was left with a whiny brat, no competition whatsoever and a whole lot of ass kissing.Fuck this book.
    more
  • Lia Bonnibel (pidgey)
    January 1, 1970
    I'd give this book a few more stars if I didn't find the main character and most of her decisions and actions extremely annoying and stupid. Seriously, who even thought writing a heroine like America Dumbhead Singer was a good idea? The only thing I like about her, is her boyfriend (singular, not plural *cough cough*). Actually, just pretend this one solitary and miserable star is all for Maxon because he deserves the world. *mouths desperately* protect him.
    more
  • Maggie
    January 1, 1970
    review deleted
  • Josu Grilli
    January 1, 1970
    Siendo honesto, no ha sido el mejor libro de la saga, que es algo que todo el mundo me decía. Es bueno, sí, y tiene muchísimas cosas que podrían hacerlo el mejor, pero le ha faltado algo que tenía The Selection y que este no tiene... ¿Quizá esa magia propia de la saga? No sé. En cualquier caso, eso no quita que tenga las cinco estrellas porque me esperaba un final superhappy. Y no ha sido para nada así.PARA NADA.Me han gustado muchísimas cosas, desde la evolución de America hasta los increíbles Siendo honesto, no ha sido el mejor libro de la saga, que es algo que todo el mundo me decía. Es bueno, sí, y tiene muchísimas cosas que podrían hacerlo el mejor, pero le ha faltado algo que tenía The Selection y que este no tiene... ¿Quizá esa magia propia de la saga? No sé. En cualquier caso, eso no quita que tenga las cinco estrellas porque me esperaba un final superhappy. Y no ha sido para nada así.PARA NADA.Me han gustado muchísimas cosas, desde la evolución de America hasta los increíbles giros que da la trama. Creo que toda la trama política tiene una madurez y está tratada de una manera que muchas otras novelas juveniles querrían. Que la trama de los rebeldes tuviese tanta importancia me ha encantado, porque era una de mis partes favoritas de la saga. El balance romance/acción está muy bien equilibrado, y ninguna de las dos partes resulta sobrante ni sobrecargada.En general todos los personajes me han conquistado, desde las criadas de America hasta Celeste, Kriss y Elise. Maxon, Aspen... Dios, es que podría enumerar tantos. Y encima con ese final que te destroza la vida y te deja MUERTO. Es que no puedo. Maldita Kiera Cass...No sé qué decir, o cómo resumir lo que he sentido, porque es el final temporal de una de mis sagas favoritas. Sí, que está The Heir pero es distinto. TENÉIS QUE LEER ESTA SAGA Y PUNTO, JODER. LA MANERA EN LA QUE LA TRAMA TE SUMERGE, EL CÓMO TE SIENTES IDENTIFICADO CON AMERICA Y CÓMO NO PUEDES DEJAR DE LEER HASTA SABER TODO LO QUE PASA EN PALACIO. ES LA PUTA SAGA MARAVILLOSA Y YA ESTÁ.
    more
  • Clau R.
    January 1, 1970
    I CAN'T EVEN---!!!ALL THE FEELS. I'm crying with JOY!!!I can't give this book less than 5 stars because I got what I wanted. Sure, the world building is as poor as it has always been in this series, but GOD, the romance was so BEAUTIFUL. I finished this book in less than one day because it was so easy and fast to read! It has a huge amount of drama and it had me hooked till the very end! I think I liked America better in this book than in the other books. She was more decided and she made choice I CAN'T EVEN---!!!ALL THE FEELS. I'm crying with JOY!!!I can't give this book less than 5 stars because I got what I wanted. Sure, the world building is as poor as it has always been in this series, but GOD, the romance was so BEAUTIFUL. I finished this book in less than one day because it was so easy and fast to read! It has a huge amount of drama and it had me hooked till the very end! I think I liked America better in this book than in the other books. She was more decided and she made choices and stood for them! Bravo! And Maxon was as charming as ever, I really really love that prince <3.I don't know what else to say, for me, this book was the perfect ending to the series. The way it ended was all I ever wanted. So yes, I'm really happy right now!
    more
  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    I think I may have liked this the best out of the three. America was still obnoxious, but I've come to expect that, so maybe I got more used to it? I liked Maxon more BUT still obnoxious. Every character in this book is obnoxious to some degree.The ending was great, for me. I got real emotional at one part and was NOT EXPECTING THAT because I don't really love these characters, but I guess I grew to like them? I don't even know.I wish more had been done with the rebels and other relationships in I think I may have liked this the best out of the three. America was still obnoxious, but I've come to expect that, so maybe I got more used to it? I liked Maxon more BUT still obnoxious. Every character in this book is obnoxious to some degree.The ending was great, for me. I got real emotional at one part and was NOT EXPECTING THAT because I don't really love these characters, but I guess I grew to like them? I don't even know.I wish more had been done with the rebels and other relationships in the book, but such is life. It could've been really really cool but it was just alright in the end.I personally think that was a solid end to the trilogy. It's not an amazing mind-blowing book by any means, but it's really enjoyable, easy to read, and fast-paced.
    more
  • Lisa RC
    January 1, 1970
    The One (Abridged Lisa's Edition) BEWARE: This is a very "interesting" plot. If you're easily offended by fan fiction, don't read this. American (A): I choose you, Maxon! I really do! Forget about Aspen. I believe that the castes should be eliminated, but I like you. So let's just take it SLOW but get married first because everyone needs to know who you choose. Maxon (M): Oh, Darling! Let's get married. GO CELESTE. My fiance doesn't want you here! I hate you, Natalie. Now please get lost. A: Oh The One (Abridged Lisa's Edition) BEWARE: This is a very "interesting" plot. If you're easily offended by fan fiction, don't read this. American (A): I choose you, Maxon! I really do! Forget about Aspen. I believe that the castes should be eliminated, but I like you. So let's just take it SLOW but get married first because everyone needs to know who you choose. Maxon (M): Oh, Darling! Let's get married. GO CELESTE. My fiance doesn't want you here! I hate you, Natalie. Now please get lost. A: Oh I'm getting married! Oh wait. I don't care. Haha. IN YOUR FACE, CELESTE. NO WAIT. Should I marry you? (LAST MINUTE THOUGHTS) [They get married. After...]M: You know, America. I want to come clean. I've been hiding a ton of secrets from you, and I need you to understand that the things I've done are for the greater good. A: What? Maxon! What's wrong? M: Thing is, I lied when I said I haven't read those journals. I actually have. At a young age, I was whipped to be shaped by my father. A: But you turned out fine! M: No America. By your standards, I'm not. To be honest, I've always agreed with my family's thinking. It was smart of my forefathers to manipulate his way into winning the throne. If it weren't for him, I wouldn't be here today. A: But...But... M: And I know about you and Officer Leger. I'd be stupid if I didn't. DO you really think you guys can sneak around MY palace? That show with Celeste, I purposely set it up so you know how I felt every time I see you with HIM! A: But...But.. M: And this phone number from the Italians! You think I wouldn't know. I saw her hand this to you. She's planning to overthrow me, isn't she? it ain't happening. A: But...But... M: It was all a show, darling. Everything. A: Why am I here? M: To prove to Leger that I'm better to him! To marry you so I can shut your damn mouth. To make it seem like you're on my side. I need people to know that you can stand up for the cause as much as they want, but at the end, I always win. I find a way to win. [Takes out a knife] A: What!?! NO! Why would you marry me to kill me?M: Because in the eyes of the public, I love you. So they'd never suspect me being the murderer if I married you. Plus, I hate to say this, but Kriss is waiting for you to die so she could replace you. [kills her] (evil laughter) END OF BOOK THREE. SEPTEMBER 2013 UPDATE THEY GOT A COVER. SHE'S WEARING A WEDDING DRESS LOOKING THING. I THINK THAT MEANS MY PREDICTION MIGHT HAPPEN! JANUARY 2014 UPDATE THERE'S A FAN FICTION CONTEST. I might enter with this entry. Wish me the best of luck, guys! ...Sh!t. Missed the deadline. APRIL 2014 UPDATE HAS ANYONE WATCHED THE TRAILER? Trailer review: That was just plain soft. I couldn't even tell who was saying what. At one point, I thought Max was the one who was the one giving the dialogue about the sky being blue and shiz, but turns out to be Aspen. OH COME ON. At least mention something about the overthrowing. And that moment when America "opens her eyes", that was just plain cheesy and over dramatic. America closes her eyes and she's all, "I must choose between Aspen and Max" as if that's the major concern in her life. #FirstWorldProblems. Trailer for those who want to see shiz: http://shelf-life.ew.com/2014/04/16/k... In all seriousness, this is what's probably going to happen The last three are Celeste, Kriss and America. The north and south continuously attack. The south comes to look for books and America gives 'em away for peace. They ask her to join them and be some undercover spy and she agrees. They contact Italy and attempts to get the throne. America is still choosing between Aspen and Maxon. In the end, they attack and Aspen dies for America. Halfway, Maxon goes against his father and KILLS HIM! She ends up going with Maxon, who becomes the ruler, but in a democratic country without castes.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    OMG. I don’t even know where to start with this one. I am an emotional wreck after reading this book. An absolute wreck.America was herself to the best of her ability again in this book. She did make some stupid decisions at times, but I was nice the way she managed to uphold her integrity, and it was nice to see the way she realised her feelings for Maxon, even if she wouldn’t share them with him!Maxon, was just, ahhhhh, Maxon ♡ Loved him!( Although I have to say that continuing to snog other g OMG. I don’t even know where to start with this one. I am an emotional wreck after reading this book. An absolute wreck.America was herself to the best of her ability again in this book. She did make some stupid decisions at times, but I was nice the way she managed to uphold her integrity, and it was nice to see the way she realised her feelings for Maxon, even if she wouldn’t share them with him!Maxon, was just, ahhhhh, Maxon ♡ Loved him!( Although I have to say that continuing to snog other girls when you’ve pretty much made up your mind is infuriating!)The storyline in this was pretty good, although I did feel like there was a bit of a slow patch in the middle. We had loads going on in this book though – rebel activity, secret bargains, possible moles, death, destruction, assassination attempts, lots of changing of minds, lovey-dovey scenes, angry scenes, ‘why won’t you tell him?!’ scenes, ‘What are you doing?!’ scenes, ‘You’re going to get in trouble for that!’ scenes, ‘will you hurry up and do it already?!’ scenes, and finally, finally, finally – a wedding!!Overall; I just loved it!9 out of 10.**************************************************************************************************************************************************OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT ARRIVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!You have no idea how hard it is to stop myself from reading the epilogue first!**************************************************************************I cannot wait any longer HarperCollins! I can't!!I want it now!!!Please?!!
    more
  • Karla
    January 1, 1970
    AFTER READ: I'm pretty content with the end of this series. Review to come.-----------WOWWW THE COVER! I am so in love.All I want is a royal wedding between Maxon and America, okay. That's it.
  • Pineapplez & Coconutz ♡
    January 1, 1970
    NO this is not over! I need more, so many questions unanswered, so many things I want to know!! What happens to Maxon and America?! <3 How many sexy babies will they produce?! Will Aspen & Lucy get married?! Was there a funeral for the Queen and King?! OMFG. What happened to the rebels?! Was Celeste's funeral glamorous?! Why didn't America seem so sad about it?! What would happen if that rebel attack didn't occur at the end?! Would he still have married Kriss?! WHAT THE HELL!!! I NEED TO NO this is not over! I need more, so many questions unanswered, so many things I want to know!! What happens to Maxon and America?! <3 How many sexy babies will they produce?! Will Aspen & Lucy get married?! Was there a funeral for the Queen and King?! OMFG. What happened to the rebels?! Was Celeste's funeral glamorous?! Why didn't America seem so sad about it?! What would happen if that rebel attack didn't occur at the end?! Would he still have married Kriss?! WHAT THE HELL!!! I NEED TO KNOW.*sighs* We've been through a lot, Mrs. Cass. Thank you.Thank you for making my heart race and my blood pressure rise. Thank you for sleepless nights. Thank you for countless scenarios and attempts of fan fiction. Just thank you for perfectly ruining my life.From The Selection, The Elite, and now The One. I am utterly speechless.Beautiful, dazzling, enchanting, romantic, annoying, terrible, cliched, predictable, yet - PERFECT. Simply, flawed and perfect.The One was so intense, action-packed, America's and Maxon's love growing stronger, their love being tested. Maxon's love letters.. America's strong comebacks!.. Aspen's strength and bravery.. The Elite's growing friendship ♥ and omfg... CELESTE. I LOVE THAT BITCH. We went through a lot, too, Ms. Newsome. You were one mega-bitch, but I love how you opened yourself up and tried to change for the good. I appreciate it, and I'm sure the other girls did too. Well..I hope there's a line of super hot angel guards waiting for you ;)Anyway...Kiera Cass, you are one of my favorite women. Your series has ruined my life and I just don't know how to cope with it anymore. Now please excuse me as I twirl around and try to dance to Trap Music in the fluffiest and whitest dress I could find in my room.Always a Loyal Reader,Gela xo ♥P.S. I got the signed copy! Thanks!
    more
  • manda
    January 1, 1970
    8 May 2014 You know what the biggest problem is with this book?It is a little random.There is no way to explain without going into details and giving out spoilers, so I'll refrain from that. Let's just say that... events and transitions were not as smooth and seamless as they could be. I should give a nod to the author's attempt of improving on her art, though.While I really appreciate the way Cass tried to remedy the girl-on-girl hate and develop the girls' friendship into a more sisterly and 8 May 2014 You know what the biggest problem is with this book?It is a little random.There is no way to explain without going into details and giving out spoilers, so I'll refrain from that. Let's just say that... events and transitions were not as smooth and seamless as they could be. I should give a nod to the author's attempt of improving on her art, though.While I really appreciate the way Cass tried to remedy the girl-on-girl hate and develop the girls' friendship into a more sisterly and productive bond, the change did come a little too sudden and a little too drastic, making it seem forced and completely out of character.Another plus point is that America was not as insufferable as she was in the previous two books; however, she is still the author's "golden child" and it shows -- rebels winging for her, street urchins opening up to her, even fellow competitors strangely devoted to her ... everything still comes a little too easily for America.At least Cass learnt from her previous two books, because she does try to break the monotony and toneless wuv-wuv drama from The One. Her action scenes grew more and more, erm ... tense? dangerous? to say the least ... but because we all know America is her golden child, we also still know nothing (serious) would have ever happened to her.Cass's way of placating her readers, however, is to take away several precious characters in America's stead. Cass goes into extremely great pains to redeem the character we were built to hate, and once we were beginning to like, immediately removes them out of the picture. A very typical move in the world of literature -- one that, for me, undermines the effect Cass was going for.Most of the book was still too vapid and juvenile for my liking. I skipped a lot of the sections -- Maxon's letter to America for one -- and only found myself vaguely enjoying the sisterly scenes between the remaining contestants.Even the scenes with the rebels somehow still managed to be trite. It's as if Cass has a fear of writing action scenes, as even when America was in actual danger, she quickly whisks her out of the main action and pulls her away somewhere where she can contemplate on her feelings again.Another issue I have to point out is the author's habit of leaving minor -- but important -- plot points hanging and left to fade away. Again, no actual examples as I want to avoid spoilers.BUT. All in all, good effort. Not a surprising ending by far, but fans of her previous two books would certainly be satisfied with this conclusion.> My review of The Selection> My review of The Eliteyou can also read more reviews over at my blog 29 Apr. 2014 Out May 6, fangurls. Only a couple days now. Calm your tittays. 24 Apr. 2013 Having read the previous two books: (view spoiler)[*whispers* she chooses Maxon. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    January 1, 1970
    This review is SAFE and SPOILER FREE!The One is book three in The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I first want to say that I fell in love with this series right away in book one. So, I did not anticipate that I could fall MORE in love with its final book but that is exactly what has happened. As soon as I started reading it, I was pretty much useless for anything else. I tried today to accomplish a few other things but couldn’t concentrate on anything until I finally gave up and just read! Oh A This review is SAFE and SPOILER FREE!The One is book three in The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I first want to say that I fell in love with this series right away in book one. So, I did not anticipate that I could fall MORE in love with its final book but that is exactly what has happened. As soon as I started reading it, I was pretty much useless for anything else. I tried today to accomplish a few other things but couldn’t concentrate on anything until I finally gave up and just read! Oh America, how I love you. I might have gotten a little frustrated with you now and then, maybe even wanted to give you a little shake, but I do love you. And I have to say that you have grown and matured into a strong, dedicated woman with a beautiful heart. There are four women left, America, Elise, Kriss and Celeste. During the course of The One, we see all four of these women grow and mature. We learn who really loves Maxon and who doesn’t. I think I most enjoyed the changes in Celeste. As we know, she has been pretty vindictive and vengeful. But we do see remorse and friendship grow. I actually liked her by the end of the book. Maxon has struggled throughout this process but from the start we saw his preference for America. I think what frustrated me most was both of their unwillingness to confess their feelings. So many problems could have been avoided if they had just told one another how they felt. But also, Maxon constantly felt the obligation to give all the girls a fair chance. We also learn more about the rebels. The differences between the northern and southern rebels. And this book, I think more than the others, has plenty of intense and gripping scenes. My heart was beating out of my chest so many times. And Aspen, oh Aspen. It seems like he often is neglected in all of this. Is there still a chance for a future with America? Or has she completely fallen for Maxon? America has all of the true qualities of a future Queen. Her compassion and bravery shine through. But she also makes so many impulsive decisions, many of which don’t go well. “We were the other’s opposite in many ways but also so very similar. I couldn’t call our relationship fate, but it did seem bigger than anything I’d known before.” I think one of my favorite parts of the entire book are the letters that Maxon writes to America. I could not help but “sigh” many times while I read them. Although I rushed to get through this so I could see how it all ended, I now feel kind of sad that it’s over. But, Kiera Cass did bring everything to a conclusion with nothing left unresolved. I want to say again that this is a fantastic series and has a beautiful and heart stopping conclusion. If you have not started the series yet, I hope that these words will inspire you to read it. I don’t think you will regret it.
    more
  • Monica :)
    January 1, 1970
    Cover reveal! Who gave you the right to be so beautifulI love this cover much more than the other ones because America looks fierce and confident. Whatever she wants, she'll get it. EDIT 4/25/13*dances* I got it riiiigghhtttt I got it riiighhtttt But now I have to wait until the weekend to get my finished copy of The Elite. Let's play a game! It's called GUESS THE TITLE.Alright, here we go ...The RoyalCredit to Karo for this oneThe OneThe ChosenThe EndI'm bad at names but I really like THE ONE Cover reveal! Who gave you the right to be so beautifulI love this cover much more than the other ones because America looks fierce and confident. Whatever she wants, she'll get it. EDIT 4/25/13*dances* I got it riiiigghhtttt I got it riiighhtttt But now I have to wait until the weekend to get my finished copy of The Elite. Let's play a game! It's called GUESS THE TITLE.Alright, here we go ...The RoyalCredit to Karo for this oneThe OneThe ChosenThe EndI'm bad at names but I really like THE ONE because in the trilogy The Selection is being narrowed down to one girl.
    more
Write a review