Reap the Wind (Cassandra Palmer, #7)
The newest book in Karen Chance's New York Times bestselling vampire series!Being a time traveler is a bitch, just ask Cassie Palmer. As the Pythia, or chief seer for the supernatural world, she's got responsibilities and powers — including the ability to travel through time — she still doesn't fully understand. Cassie is on what should have been a quick mission to rescue the near immortal mage John Pritkin, a friend lost in time. But nothing is ever simple where Cassie is concerned. For one thing, her friend isn't lost, his soul is, and she must hunt for it through the ages in different versions of himself. For another, Cassis is stuck traveling with Pritkin's father, the only one who can reverse Pritkin's curse . . . and an irascible demon who is high on Cassie's list of least-favorite people. And third, the guardians of the time-line don't want anyone mucking about with it — even a Pythia like Cassie — and especially not when she's dragging a powerful demon along!What's a poor Pythia to do?Well, if that Pythia is Cassie Palmer, it's to carry on anyway. And in between flitting about through time, to also stop the return of an ancient and very vengeful god. And to find out the startling truth about her parents. And to sort out a few things with her charming, evasive and completely maddening vampire lover. And you thought your week was packed!

Reap the Wind (Cassandra Palmer, #7) Details

TitleReap the Wind (Cassandra Palmer, #7)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 3rd, 2015
PublisherSignet Select
ISBN-139780451419071
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Vampires, Magic, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Romance

Reap the Wind (Cassandra Palmer, #7) Review

  • Christina
    January 1, 1970
    *Actual review is below my rantings :DThis had better be the book where her & Pritkin finally get together! I mean come on its been 6 books, the last 3 of which have been just a giant tease to us Pritkin fans! Mircea has had his time & I still think he treats Cassie more as a prized possession than as a person. She needs to seal the deal with John & get out from under Mircea's thumb aka those waste of pages known as her "bodyguards" (rolling eyes)UPDATE: Seriosly annoyed the book has *Actual review is below my rantings :DThis had better be the book where her & Pritkin finally get together! I mean come on its been 6 books, the last 3 of which have been just a giant tease to us Pritkin fans! Mircea has had his time & I still think he treats Cassie more as a prized possession than as a person. She needs to seal the deal with John & get out from under Mircea's thumb aka those waste of pages known as her "bodyguards" (rolling eyes)UPDATE: Seriosly annoyed the book has been delayed! Chance better live up to the claim that this book is so pivotal that she couldn't finish it by deadline! EPIC! That's right Chance we expect all kinds of EPIC from this book! There will be angry mobs otherwise; pitchforks & torches I tell ya!UPDATE: Nov 1, 2016!?!?!?!? That had better be a frakin mistake cause that is some serious BS from Chance if it isnt! I can understand being pushed back a few months but not 2 YEARS! UPDATE: Nov 3, 2015 & Apr 2016 . . . UGH! #RageQuitTableFlipREVIEW: Normally I would devour in a single day a book I patiently (okay maybe not so much ;p) awaited the release of for years but alas life got in the way. Which is very reminiscent of the entirety of this book; an epic shit ton of over the top situations being thrown at Cassie. Like every other book in this series, Chance manages to create a delightfully enjoyable clusterfuck that makes me want to throw things!While I wasn't lucky enough to get my hands on an ARC, thanks to the reviews of those who did, I had an idea what I was getting into when I finally got my hands on Reap the Wind. I was prepared for the cliffhangers & the frustrations so I think I ended up not being as irritated as I normally would be with that ending, but I digress. While unfortunately still left in Pritkin limbo come the end & the present day version of him getting zero page time in this installment, the sixth century Pritkin is a refreshing new facet that only seems to strengthen the bond with Cassie. It seems to really hit home for her that her & Pritkin are very much the same: uniquely damaged outsiders who had to find their own way in the world. The only thing I didn't enjoy about Cassie's trips back in time to save him were the past era Pythias. Now I could be wrong since it's been so long since I read the previous books but I don't ever recall any of the past Pythias ever being so annoyingly meddlesome whenever Cassie was jaunting back & getting into timeline trouble. Nor do I recall any of them being so adept in tracking her down until now. That aspect didn't seem to add much of anything to the story, the fey involvement later on creates difficulties but at least they serve a purpose to the overall plot. The Pythias just seem to be a convenient plot device obstacle, a thing I dislike quite a bit since it's kind of lazy writing wise & a waste of my reading time. I would much prefer Pritkin being the annoying pain in the ass obstacle himself instead of bringing in the other Pythias to cause drama. It would been far more entertaining as well as more time with our favorite war mage.As an avid fan of Pritkin, I immensely enjoyed this particular moment between him & Cassie: "Then he suddenly looked back at me. “I see you.” You always did, I thought, watching sparks dance in his eyes.” Such a simple thing that said so much. There is absolutely nothing that can ever compare to this, nothing. Coupled with this moment: "Mircea might love me, but he didn’t respect me. He wouldn’t have pulled that stunt tonight if he respected me.” Cassie is finally starting to see the truth of the people around her & I couldn't be happier. I would say that arguably the best thing to happen in the entire series is Cassie finally coming to this realization. She really grows a pair & stops taking shit from all the men in her life who're acting like they've the right to control her. It made me feel hope for the future of this series, that is if Chance can find it in her to stop ending the books with damn cliffhangers!
    more
  • Gab
    January 1, 1970
    I've noticed a few comments over last few books demanding Cassie & Pritken get together - I'm in the maybe quiet minority that don't want that. I'm happy for the author to take us where she will but I'm just as happy for Cassie to stay with Mircea (although I admit there needs to be growth in that relationship which would take time) or for her to develop/grow powerful enough to not have to choose either. She is after all the daughter of Chaos.I've re-read the books and almost all Cassie/Prit I've noticed a few comments over last few books demanding Cassie & Pritken get together - I'm in the maybe quiet minority that don't want that. I'm happy for the author to take us where she will but I'm just as happy for Cassie to stay with Mircea (although I admit there needs to be growth in that relationship which would take time) or for her to develop/grow powerful enough to not have to choose either. She is after all the daughter of Chaos.I've re-read the books and almost all Cassie/Pritken seductive scenes have come from Pritken's incubus influence/feeding - not the best thing to build a relationship from. I can't help but think part of Pritken's attraction to Cassie is her unavailability.I can see the attraction to Cassie for Mircea - as she would be his escape from the pressures and burdens of the senates, the war, Dorina, the family and so on. With Cassie he often gets to let his real self out to play and her crazy life shakes him out of his rut. Is this enough to get over what is a pretty massive age difference and the problems that brings?Cassie didn't have a safe anchor growing up & the feeling safety/security that Mircea brings would definitely be a fertile bed for a relationship. So it depends on how the relationship develops as to whether this would suffocate Cassie or be the safe base that allows her to grow and be chaotic when needed.
    more
  • Jen Davis
    January 1, 1970
    I understand the concept of dangling a carrot in front of your audience and then using it to reel them in. In this series, since about book two, the carrot for me has been a pairing of Cassie and Pritkin. Every time I crack open another installment, I think to myself, this is going to be the one where the story really advances. Some have been more impressive than others. I loved Hunt the Moon. Others, like this one, don't really take us very far from where we started. To which I say, just give m I understand the concept of dangling a carrot in front of your audience and then using it to reel them in. In this series, since about book two, the carrot for me has been a pairing of Cassie and Pritkin. Every time I crack open another installment, I think to myself, this is going to be the one where the story really advances. Some have been more impressive than others. I loved Hunt the Moon. Others, like this one, don't really take us very far from where we started. To which I say, just give me the damn carrot. I'm tired of chasing it. I am tired of feeling jerked around with it. It's time to give readers a payoff and come up with something new to keep us excited.Two books back, Karen Chance ended Hunt the Moon on the epic cliffhanger of Pritkin being dragged to hell. Nearly the entirety of the next book was spent with Cassie trying to rescue him, only to have the Demon Council send his soul back in time, leaving us hanging again. Guess what happens at the end of this book. Guess if this thread is resolved. Guess whether you'll be able to walk away satisfied.It's not like I didn't enjoy the book. It would be so much easier if I didn't. Because I don't want to give up the stupid carrot, yes, but also because I like Cassie. She is such a great underdog. She is completely underestimated by everyone around her. Yet she is always left standing in the end. I like that she is slowly starting to build a team of her own, that she is relying less on the resources provided for her. Her first acolyte, Rhea, is a great addition. Cassie is not only growing stronger, but she is also recognizing that in herself, which I love.I'm still interested in the vampires and the senate, and even Mircea. But I am getting downright disturbed at the love scenes between him and Cassie. The last two books have been spent with Cassie's heart and soul devoted to saving another man and Mircea is there for a about 5% of the story and she is shagging him. I understand there is a Mircea team, but they can't any happier with this disparity than I am. It feels like Chance is trying to play both sides and it doesn't work anymore, if it ever did.I liked seeing Dorina, though again, we've been coyly pulling this thread for too long.Believe it or not, I liked Rosier. I enjoyed his interactions with Cassie. And boy, did I love 24-year-old Pritkin. There are some great scenes. But it's like taking a scenic drive for 6 hours that ends a mile away from home. The ride is good, but I also want to get somewhere. To be fair, I think Cassie has some good character building. I think her relationship with Rhea and her ties to the other girls she rescued will have an impact moving forward... as will her determination to seize the respect and power she is due. But, despite copious amounts of action and a few bits of sexy time, we just don't get anywhere.Do I really want to see what happens in Ride the Storm? Of course I do. The cliffhanger has done its job. But how many times will it keep working? The carrot is getting old.*ARC provided by publisher
    more
  • Helen 2.0
    January 1, 1970
    As promised, let's have a look at the whole series so far. Our main character is Cassie Palmer, a clairvoyant raised by vampire mafia who, with the help of her on-off vampire lover and a war mage with temper issues, becomes the world's most powerful (theoretically) seer/time traveler and tries to save the world from gods, demons, and mean bitches. “Think you can maybe not die for five minutes?""I'll try,"I told him seriously."You know, if anyone else said that, it would be funny.” Cassie's fav As promised, let's have a look at the whole series so far. Our main character is Cassie Palmer, a clairvoyant raised by vampire mafia who, with the help of her on-off vampire lover and a war mage with temper issues, becomes the world's most powerful (theoretically) seer/time traveler and tries to save the world from gods, demons, and mean bitches. “Think you can maybe not die for five minutes?""I'll try,"I told him seriously."You know, if anyone else said that, it would be funny.” Cassie's favorite pastimes include:- maintaining colorful internal dialogue-getting pushed to the sidelines by big strong men who will take care of the problem-falling headfirst into life-threatening trouble, with ZERO breaks-being woefully unprepared and under-informed to face said trouble -drooling over various men but never making up her damn mind about who she's actually in love with-running out of magic juice at the worst moments-driving me insane.For a love interest, we have Mircea. He stood with his back to us, the candlelight on his bare skin causing his muscles to fall into sharp relief. He’d washed the river gunk out of his hair and now he threw it back, the water droplets shimmering in the light. The scene looked for all the world like a really good romance novel cover. Mircea is an ancient & powerful vampire, old-fashioned and beautiful with fine diplomatic skills. Essentially, he's the classic PNR main man. However, the further Cassie's story progresses, the more he fades into the background. He's devolved from "major player" to "occasional mancandy" over the course of a few books. Call me happy, because Mircea really does not demonstrate any respect for his lover, choosing to be secretive, manipulative, and patronizing at every chance. And then there's Pritkin. Pritkin might be a hostile son of a bitch, but he was a damn good guy to have in a fight. He was an enigma, John Pritkin: a mad scientist with gun calluses and old scars and even more secrets than me.He didn’t take his eyes off me, as if he’d like to see my head mounted on his wall over a sign reading PROBLEM SOLVED. I am really biased when it comes to Pritkin because I'm in love with him. But beyond that he certainly is a compelling character, likable in a completely unexpected way. Why are scowls, temper flares, and an appalling lack of empathy so endearing? Pritkin just pulls it off well. The more I get to see of him, the more I love him and wish him happiness (even if that means him ending up with Cassie the klutz). It's a downward spiral.A myriad of other characters come and go, some especially fun (like Billy Joe) while some you just want to strangle (like Jonas. grrrrr) but none play as big a role as the above three. ------------------------------------------------ Some things I really love about the series: -Action, action, action. Cassie's misadventures are so numerous and stressful that there's never a boring moment. The pure entertainment value is what got me this far into the series. I've read some people saying there's too much action, never a moment to catch your breath, but I kind of like the breakneck pace.-The absurdity of it all. Karen Chance throws crazy tropes like body-swaps and meeting-dead parents-in-the-past right into the mix without blinking an eye, and given Cassie's constant snarky inner dialogue, it all turns out hilarious. -Steamy scenes. Gotta love em. Karen Chance writes them very well.------------------------------------------------ Some things that need work: -As you may have gathered, Cassie can really fray a reader's nerves. 7 books and she still has yet to come into her power fully, earn the respect of the supernatural community, and protect those in her care. In all that constant action, it would be nice if Cassie could actually accomplish something. Especially the way she lets the big, bad men who are supposedly her "allies" trample all over her plans and treat her with callous disrespect really pisses me off.-A love triangle? Seriously? Quit that shit.-The later books in the series really don't need to be as long as they are. Feels like we're getting fed a lot of filler and stalling material while we wait for the plot to FINALLY advance.------------------------------------------------Definitely look forward to book 8. I won't give up on this series just yet.
    more
  • Lucia
    January 1, 1970
    No sé qué pensar, estoy en shock y tengo un nudo en la garganta y no puedo pensar claramente . Todavía estoy reviviendo lo leído y pensando en que agarrarme y creo que de todos los libros de la serie éste fue el más duro hasta el momento, Cassie es jodidamente fantástica y creo siento que muero un poco pensando que faltan tantos meses para el siguiente libro y bueno varios personajes cada vez aparecen menos y el JODIDO FINAL ¡¡¡¡¡¡Pritkin!!!!
    more
  • T00zday
    January 1, 1970
    Of course it was a cliffhanger ending.I so much want to give this book 2 stars...Nothing was accomplished in this book. Cassie doesn't gain respect from anyone. Cassie doesn't progress in either knowledge or power.She doesn't rescue Pritkin.She doesn't get closer to or shake free from Mercia.She makes no new allies.We knew who the next big bad guy would be in THE LAST book before this one.The ONE sex scene was ' in spirit form' - and quite honestly it was not that hot. (People are raving...why?) Of course it was a cliffhanger ending.I so much want to give this book 2 stars...Nothing was accomplished in this book. Cassie doesn't gain respect from anyone. Cassie doesn't progress in either knowledge or power.She doesn't rescue Pritkin.She doesn't get closer to or shake free from Mercia.She makes no new allies.We knew who the next big bad guy would be in THE LAST book before this one.The ONE sex scene was ' in spirit form' - and quite honestly it was not that hot. (People are raving...why?)Even the scene with Dory? It was in the last Dory book that came out YEARS ago.This book began with all the promise of previous entries. Then the endless chain of running-escaping-fighting . The "skin of her teeth" thing has lost its charm, dear author. (Beating a dead horse...)Aside from the reveal of Rhea's parentage, this book can be COMPLETELY skipped.
    more
  • Ferdy
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars - SpoilersI was disappointed in all the action scenes, they really bought the book down. Karen Chance writes the worst action scenes I've ever come across, they were boring, poorly described, and hard to follow. I wouldn't have minded the crappy action scenes so much if they didn't take up the majority of the story, but they did. The quieter moments were positively brilliant in comparison, there was actually interesting and engaging development and interactions between Cassie and the o 2.5 stars - SpoilersI was disappointed in all the action scenes, they really bought the book down. Karen Chance writes the worst action scenes I've ever come across, they were boring, poorly described, and hard to follow. I wouldn't have minded the crappy action scenes so much if they didn't take up the majority of the story, but they did. The quieter moments were positively brilliant in comparison, there was actually interesting and engaging development and interactions between Cassie and the other characters. Unfortunately, there wasn't enough quieter moments to make up for all the fast paced rubbish that was going on.LIKED:-All the non-action scenes with Cassie just being able to have a rest and reflect on things and have proper conversations. She was far more endearing when she wasn't running around like a fool. -Rosier and Cassie's banter was great, their relationship was plain fun.-Loved Rhea becoming more of a prominent character, it was also nice to have Cassie engaging with other females instead of the usual men that surrounded her. -Cassie finally realising her relationship with Mircea was ultimately doomed as he would always push her and use her for his own gain, and her realising that to be a good pythia she needed to distance herself from him and the senate.-Cassie having her own court and making plans to set up her own place instead of relying on the senate/vampires. Although, I would have liked Cassie's people to not be so vulnerable and for her to have had some kickass members in her court instead of them being mostly young children who couldn't look after themselves. -Young Pritkin was quite interesting in that he was so easy going and innocent in comparison to older Pritkin.-Loved the world and all the various secondary characters.DISLIKED:-There was very, very little plot progression. Cassie was STILL trying to save Pritkin and by the end of the book she hadn't achieved that. It was just one silly mishap after the other. Every time she failed to save Pritikin, it just made her come across as nothing but incompetent.-There were way too many action scenes, I wouldn't have minded so much if they were written clearly, but they were messy and confusing. It was difficult to follow what was going on when all the action kicked off (which it seemed to do all bloody the time).-Cassie being a general mess 90% of the time, she seriously needed to get some control over her life, instead various crap happened to her and she just flailed around in response. I guess she wasn't as bad as she used to be though, because she did finally start to realise she needed to get her crap together.-How little time had passed between the first book and this one, I think it was only about four months or something that had passed. It made some of the feelings and relationships seem hollow and unbelievable, I couldn't fully believe all the loyalty and love and friendship going on when in the grand scheme of things a lot of the characters barely knew each other.-Cassie being naked all of the bloody time! Any time something serious was going down she always seemed to be naked or dressed in a ridiculous way. I think it was meant to be funny but all it did was make Cassie look like even more of an inept fool.-The dragging out of the Dorina reveal, Cassie should have been properly introduced to her by now, instead she's still clueless about who she is. -How did Prikin not remember Cassie when they first met in book 1? So far Cassie has had quite a few encounters with past Pritkin, even if they did meet centuries ago he would surely remember her when the encounters he had with her were so action packed and memorable? Also, someone as eagle eyed and smart as Pritkin would have easily recognised Cassie as soon as he properly met her.-I really hope the next book isn't all about Cassie trying to save Pritkin, she's been doing that for the last 3 books, there really doesn't need to be another book dedicated to Pritkin's rescue.
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    I'd rather have a Dori book.... Kind of tired of Cassie
  • Tanya Urban Fantasy Freak
    January 1, 1970
    I love the Cassie Palmer series I really do, it's just that I feel this title should be renamed:I am reserving my rating until the release of Ride the Storm and here's why:(view spoiler)[ So the plot really has not advanced at all, Cassie still has not 'rescued' Pritkin. Oooooh the 'Gods' are coming back - yeah, we know this! Ok Rhea is (view spoiler)[ Jonas and Agnes's (hide spoiler)] daughter! Big whoop. I admit the whole time Cassie & Pritkin were in the past in Fairie it was very entert I love the Cassie Palmer series I really do, it's just that I feel this title should be renamed:I am reserving my rating until the release of Ride the Storm and here's why:(view spoiler)[ So the plot really has not advanced at all, Cassie still has not 'rescued' Pritkin. Oooooh the 'Gods' are coming back - yeah, we know this! Ok Rhea is (view spoiler)[ Jonas and Agnes's (hide spoiler)] daughter! Big whoop. I admit the whole time Cassie & Pritkin were in the past in Fairie it was very entertaining to read. And it was nice to see Pritkin when he was young & playful, instead of jaded, bitter & grumpy! And Mircea's 'wife' isn't dead - I wasn't surprised to see that - I'll bet that she became a vampire long ago, or that somehow Cassie changed the past during her many romps into the past.... Sooo that's how the whole love triangle will be resolved??? IDK with Cassie getting busy with Mircea for the past 4 months. I also feel 'meh' about the timeline - all this ish has happened over only 4 months?! (hide spoiler)]We will soon be EIGHT books into this series! I truly love Karen Chance's writing and world building & characters, but if it goes nowhere how can I rate it positively!??
    more
  • Gabbie
    January 1, 1970
    4-8-14Here I was thinking RtW was coming out this May, when I realized its actually in November, WHICH IS STILL 6 MONTHS AWAY!!!But yeah, anyway, TEAM PRITKIN!!! Yes yes I know Mircea is hot and whatever but the guy's an ass. If I were Cassie I'd have teleported the son of a bitch to the time of the freaking dinosaurs. Someone else said on here in a review that he treats her like property and I completely agree! Cassie, wake up and see the Pritkin! Forget about Mircea! What the hell do you see i 4-8-14Here I was thinking RtW was coming out this May, when I realized its actually in November, WHICH IS STILL 6 MONTHS AWAY!!!But yeah, anyway, TEAM PRITKIN!!! Yes yes I know Mircea is hot and whatever but the guy's an ass. If I were Cassie I'd have teleported the son of a bitch to the time of the freaking dinosaurs. Someone else said on here in a review that he treats her like property and I completely agree! Cassie, wake up and see the Pritkin! Forget about Mircea! What the hell do you see in him anyway? I get it at first but now? Uh-uh. You need to leave his ass sistah. And bodyguards? What a bunch of bullshit. More like spys making sure Cassie doesn't leave him for someone better, like Pritkin or ANY OTHER GUY (besides Tony of course).Could you please pick Pritkin? Please? I won't be held responsible for what I do if you don't. >:D**UPDATE** 8-7-14God damn will this book EVER come out? I'm dying here! :'(**UPDATE 2** 12-11-14Okay, yeah, 2015?? By now I've already forgotten 70% of this series, and while I do still love Cassie, the only reason I keep remembering her is because of the notifications I get when someone likes this review. I am still excited, but it's kind of worn down on me now. I just think that maybe teasers or something would be nice every once in a while. If it is truly so big, there must be some little things that you could release for the people aching for this book like me (not to say I didn't thoroughly enjoy reading the first few chapters, and am greatful that Ms. Chance posted them!). Pretty please? *insert super cute pretty please face*
    more
  • Bell Curran
    January 1, 1970
    Will Cassie Palmer, the Pythia and chief seer of the supernatural world, be able to travel through time to save the soul of John Pritkin, the half-incubus war mage?Wrong question.Readers of Karen Chance’s urban fantasy series were left with something of a cliffhanger in the last two books of the series, Hunt the Moon and Tempt the Stars, wondering what would happen to John Pritkin, one of the series’ main characters. You could be forgiven, by the way, for not thinking him a main character at the Will Cassie Palmer, the Pythia and chief seer of the supernatural world, be able to travel through time to save the soul of John Pritkin, the half-incubus war mage?Wrong question.Readers of Karen Chance’s urban fantasy series were left with something of a cliffhanger in the last two books of the series, Hunt the Moon and Tempt the Stars, wondering what would happen to John Pritkin, one of the series’ main characters. You could be forgiven, by the way, for not thinking him a main character at the start of the series, because in the first book, Touch the Dark, Pritkin appears to be simply a prop who exists only to allow Cassandra Palmer, the series’ heroine, to explain a lot of backstory to the reader and do some quick worldbuilding. Chance could be forgiven for needing a foil; her world is richly complex, full of historical characters (she has a PhD in history, and most of her vampires are famous characters from history, from Cleopatra to Dracula) and supernatural creatures (vampires, war mages, ghosts, and dozens if not hundreds of varieties of demons and Fae) and shifting political alliances (my brain hurts) and mind-bending changes to the historical timeline as a result of Cassie’s time travel (my brain hurts more) and complex rules about magic and vampirism. But Chance doesn’t write paper characters, and in subsequent books it became clear that Pritkin was no one-dimensional prop. He had a surprisingly deep back story that Chance peeled away by layers until it became clear that he was not only central to the series but a serious contender for Cassie’s affections. Over the books and years, thousands of posts on Goodreads message boards have been devoted to debates between members of Team Pritkin and Team Mircea (Cassie’s master vampire lover) over who is the better man: The tortured half-incubus war mage whose sexiness (because incubus!) is only enhanced by his permanent scowl and his kill-first-don’t-bother-to-ask-questions-later attitude?Or the devastatingly handsome, charming, but secretive master vampire whose love for family overrides everything Cassie thought she knew about vampire self-interest?So when the last book ended with the demons cursing Pritkin’s soul to travel backward in time until his life was undone, but then having a change of heart and giving Cassie the counter-curse and a grumpy incubus ally to find and save him, I wasn’t too worried. Fortunately for Team Pritkin members, Karen Chance is not (yet, at least) a member of the George R. R. Martin School of Killing Off Major Characters. But that doesn’t mean Chance doesn’t leave her readers guessing. In every book of this series, I have always been left shaking my head over the unexpected plot twists and saying, “Wow. I did not see that coming.” That’s why I figured it would be too simplistic to expect Reap the Wind to be mainly about Cassie saving Pritkin. The only thing I could definitely predict about Reap the Wind was that it would take some totally new direction that I’d never expected.So, before I started reading Reap the Wind, I came up with a long list of questions that I was hoping would be answered in this book:(1) If Cassie does save Pritkin back in time, will he be the same Pritkin she knows and won’t admit to loving? Or will he be some past version of Pritkin? And is past-Pritkin more or less angry than present-day-Pritkin?(2) Master vampire Mircea Basarab has been interested in Cassie since she was just a little kid. In Tempt the Stars, we discovered that he’s been working since long before Cassie’s lifetime to befriend a Pythia, the supernatural world’s chief seer and mediator. Why? The fan message boards have been rife with speculation. My favourite theory has always been that, just as Mircea used Cassie to save his brother Radu from a century of torture that broke his mind, he’s been trying to get a Pythia in his pocket so that he could go back in time and save his wife from the long and excruciating death she suffered at the hands of his older brother, Vlad. Mircea surely feels guilty about that, not only because he loved his wife but because he indirectly triggered her torture-death by leaving her when he was made a vampire. It might not be possible for a Pythia to fix, since the further back in time an event happened, the less likely it is that a Pythia can change it. But if it is possible, and if Cassie is a tool for saving Mircea’s wife, what happens to Cassie, whom Mircea has one-sidedly claimed as his own wife? What will Mircea’s wife think about being saved by her husband’s future wife? (Brain. Hurts.)(3) In the last book, Cassie accidentally got into Mircea’s mind. He locked shut the mental connection and avoided her for the ENTIRE BOOK. (Team Mircea was NOT PLEASED.) So is Mircea just generally afraid of his girlfriend’s new powers? Or is there something in particular that he’s afraid she’ll find out if she spends any time in his head? The plot thickens.(4) Readers of Chance’s other intertwined series know that (spoiler if you haven’t read that series) Mircea has a 500-year-old half-vampire daughter, Dorina Basarab, who was recently appointed to the Senate. But Cassie doesn’t know a thing about Dory, because while Mircea never lies (one of the reasons Cassie has always trusted him), he’s the master of withholding information. A couple of books ago, Cassie found a photo album devoted to Dorina and assumed it was a secret lover of his. She doesn’t know who is the sidepiece: her, or the other woman. There’s a delicious scene in the last Dory book where Cassie finds Dory at the injured Mircea’s bedside and, pissed off and jealous, Cassie uses her magic to poof Dory out of there (leaving Dory completely bewildered). In Reap the Wind, will Cassie and Dory cross paths again? Will Cassie discover the relationship between Dory and Mircea? And if she does, will she be relieved that his supposed lover is actually his daughter, or will she be pissed off that he’s kept his hidden from her all this time? Will Dory be pissed that her dad hasn’t mentioned he’s married (sort of) to the Pythia? Will Cassie and Dory band together to denounce the duplicity of vampires and run off to kick butt together? (5) To say that Mircea is a master of withholding information would be an understatement. Nobody really knows what he’s got planned, or what the extent of his mental abilities are, but we have plenty of hints suggesting that his mental powers are far in excess of what the other vampires realise. And he’s been building alliances -- with the Fae, with the Pythia, with the European Senate, even with the Silver Circle and the war mages. The Consul of the North American vampire senate suspects that he’s manoeuvring to seize power. Is he? Even if he’s not, will the Consul’s paranoia lead her to do something to Mircea and his allies that will provoke him to seize power to protect those he loves?(6) If and when Cassie saves Pritkin, will he finally man up and declare his love, which he was on the verge of doing in the last book? And does this mean the curse the demons placed on him that prevented him from ever having sex again is null and void? INCUBUS SEX!(7) Where is Tony hiding? Will Cassie ever get revenge on him for killing her parents? If she has a chance to kill him, would she be able to?(8) What’s the story with her father? Now that we know he wasn’t really the powerful black mage everyone says he was, why was he using the Black Circle to siphon off power? What did he need that power for?(9) Both Cassie’s dad’s ghost and the power of her mother were trapped together in a paperweight when they died, so why has Tony been lugging that paperweight around Faerie? Why does the fate of the world hinge on that paperweight? Can her dad’s ghost be released from the paperweight? (10) And if Cassie finds her dad, will he be Team Mircea or Team Pritkin?(11) Will we see Caedmon again? Because he was hot. (12) Will Marlowe confess his love for Mircea and the two of them get it on? (Shout-out to Lannister, Lady Marlowe!) We know, after all, that Mircea is open minded when it comes to matters of sex. His only rule: “If the lady can’t say it, we won’t do it.”(13) Of course, there’s also all the stuff about Ares coming, the renegade adepts of the Pythian Court, war between Fae households, and what’s Tomas up to?SO... What can I tell you without giving away too many spoilers?This is another great installation in the Cassandra Palmer series, and with every book of this and the parallel Dorina Basarab series, we see the two series’ universes getting closer and closer to colliding. The world-building is incredible. The relationships are complex and deep. The philosophical questions being raised are profound. The storytelling is gripping. The pace is as relentless as ever. I devoured the book greedily, and Chance fans will love it. I dog-eared every page that, I thought, offered new key insight into characters or the major and minor plot arcs that we’ve been following throughout the series. By the time I was done, the whole top half of my copy of the book was half a centimetre thicker than the bottom half because it is now so dog-eared. This installation answers some questions, and it raises a lot more. Every plot thickens. But there’s enough back-story provided along the way that someone who hadn’t read any of the earlier books in the series could pick this one up and follow along. Let’s go through the points above and see how much of them I can answer without ruining the story for you:(1) Past-Pritkin is ... wow. Team Pritkin will be HAPPY. Let’s just say we find out a lot more new stuff about Pritkin’s magical and incubus powers, and also about his past.(2) I don’t think I can even say whether or not these questions get answered without spoiling things, much less answer them, so I’m zipping my lips here.(3) ditto (4) ditto(5) ditto(6) this is getting repetitive.No, really, these are all questions to debate once everyone has read the book. Some get answered, but a lot don’t. For the sake of a (mostly) spoiler-free review, I’m going to have to set most of them aside. So here’s where the real review starts:In Reap the Wind, Cassie is running all over the place -- Earth, the Shadowlands, Faerie -- everywhere and everywhen. But one adventure just leads to another, revealing new layers of politics and factions and complicated histories that she didn’t even know about but which all have huge impact on the alliances that are forming. The god Ares is preparing to invade Earth, though no one is totally sure if he is coming alone or if he’s going to bring the other gods with him. The gods are really just ancient, powerful creatures from another world who were banished by Cassie’s mom, the goddess Artemis, but now that Artemis is dead, they want to return to Earth to prey. There’s a big battle coming and this book sets the stage, clarifying and complicating alliances and enemies, battlefield and weapons. Cassie has new allies, but also, several surprising new opponents, including someone she thought was an ally. Maybe he’ll be an ally again in the future, but right now, he’s just being an ass, and a major obstacle. Even her so-called supporters doubt her abilities, and she’s getting sick of people thinking that she’s just a bumbling weakling who got lucky, on the one hand, or that she can singlehandedly save the world, on the other. Above all, she’s tired of people who think she’s just a gun for them to point and shoot. Her allies are keeping secrets from her, and think they can coerce her into going along with them. One thing that hasn’t changed, though, is her loyalty to her friends and family. The vampires are her family. She has a whole new Pythian court to take care of, and no resources to do it with. Even Casanova, the whiny incubus-possessed eye candy vampire who never does Cassie any favours unless he’s strong-armed into it, is family of sorts, and Cassie is always willing to put her life on the line for family and friends. Heck, for strangers, even.In fact, it’s Cassie’s loyalty that makes her weak, because people use her love and protectiveness toward others to manipulate her. But it’s also what makes her strong, because even as alliances are fragmenting and their leaders are manoeuvring to maximise their power, every single one of them is drawn to her selflessness, as they come to recognise that she’s not in it for her own personal gain. Cassie’s goals are to protect first, and survive second. And in the process, she’s grappling with some of the same questions that have been themes in the past couple books, but in new contexts: What is the relationship between power and strength? Can Cassie take care of others and also take care of herself? Can she be a Pythia and love at the same time, without that lover -- whichever one she ends up choosing -- using her to his advantage? Even if she doesn’t allow herself to be used, won’t just the knowledge of her personal relationships taint how people interact with her, what kind of access they think they have to her and which faction has the most power in the supernatural world? In short, is it possible for Cassie to be an independent, neutral Pythia and still have her own life?In terms of personal relationships, for many hours/pages I was feeling very pessimistic about our chances of seeing Mircea, since he’s only a fleeting, tantalising figure for the first half of the book. But then when he comes on scene, WHEW! Is it ever hot. And fascinating. And it all leads up to the best line in the book, which is Marlowe’s. I think it’s safe to say that there’s something for both Team Pritkin and Team Mircea.So, to sum it up:Team Pritkin or Team Mircea? Both.Best minor character: I’m going with Marco, but this is hard to decide. There’s lots of good ones.Gets his comeuppance, but could do with some more: Jonas.Sneakier than I thought: Fred.Least page time: Billy.No page time: Tomas.Most new information about: Rhea.Most redeemed bad-guy: Rosier. We see a whole new side of: the Consul.My new vampire crush: Rico.Most mysterious new character: Sky Lord. Is this who I think it is? (Please oh please say yes!)Hitchcock movie reference: The Birds.Time travel: Further than I ever thought Cassie could go.Tarot card: the devil.Chapters that end with a kiss: 3Chapters that start or end with Cassie passing out: 5Sex: closest we’ve gotten to a threesome! *fanning self*Best line: “God does exist, and he loves me.”Second best line: “You’re too soft for a peasant girl! ...I meant that in a good way!”Running gag: “Ohshit!”Biggest holy-hell moment: When Dory and Cassie meet -- the same scene from Fury’s Kiss, but this time, from Cassie’s perspective -- and we see what it felt like for Cassie.Timeline: Covers a lot of the same timeframe leading up to the major battle that we saw in the last Dory book.Will you love it: Yes.
    more
  • Erin *Proud Book Hoarder*
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsKaren Chance has a track record of dragging out certain story-lines and leaving readers hanging on the edge. It's kind of ridiculous there's still a love triangle element by this point in the series, but she pushes it to the background for the plot's sake, although most readers like myself keep picking it apart looking for it. Cassie is a wonderful lead because she's kind of ditzy, funny a lot of the time, but there's something likable about her.The story was good. As always, lots of ac 3.5 starsKaren Chance has a track record of dragging out certain story-lines and leaving readers hanging on the edge. It's kind of ridiculous there's still a love triangle element by this point in the series, but she pushes it to the background for the plot's sake, although most readers like myself keep picking it apart looking for it. Cassie is a wonderful lead because she's kind of ditzy, funny a lot of the time, but there's something likable about her.The story was good. As always, lots of action in this one, intense pacing, but it's not so manic that I felt dizzy, with the exception of the last few chapters. She dialed back some of overdone action scenes to give me breathing room, but there's so much going on in this book still. She involves all areas of magic - twists with the mage world and unsettling potentials of that, revelations about previous Pithias, involvement with the demon council in a scene or so, of course more maddening annoyance with the vampires...there's plenty that kept me entertained and hooked to this book's story.The characters who were present well done - she brought in some new characters who offered welcome additions to the story, sketched out some like Rico who I didn't notice much before, and revisited favorites like Marco and Fred. A lot of progression on the de-progression of a certain relationship. Now, of course, the big question? Yep, a lot of waiting on the Pritkin angle. We get time with him, several times, but not the him we're used to. I had a feeling she'd drag that out for a lot of the book - what I didn't know would be it would be all the book. I still don't get some things by the end of it. Mircea... I fall more into the category still of not trusting him for the right reasons any longer. I don't think he views her with the same love intensity she expects and needs. To him and all the vampires, it's consistently blended with possession, power and principle. It was a long wait, and it doesn't progress in some important areas we're wanting, but it was still well done. Not quite a filler, but almost there, kind of the toe in the line between filler and non-filler. Argh.
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    Can't wait!!!! Please be some more love scenes with Pritkin....,
  • Cathy (cathepsut)
    January 1, 1970
    The action scenes in this series are usually great fun to read and were always the best part for me. But there can be too much of a good thing. The final conflict / battle / action sequence went on for several chapters and was so over the top, that it was ridiculous.And the rest of the story just dragged. What little there was of it. The plot progression in this book was minimal. A whole lot of very little, interspersed with frantic action.Too much thinking and mulling over things. Too much "woe The action scenes in this series are usually great fun to read and were always the best part for me. But there can be too much of a good thing. The final conflict / battle / action sequence went on for several chapters and was so over the top, that it was ridiculous.And the rest of the story just dragged. What little there was of it. The plot progression in this book was minimal. A whole lot of very little, interspersed with frantic action.Too much thinking and mulling over things. Too much "woe is me" and how horrible everything is. Pages and pages and pages of internal monologue, moving in circles. And then, when our MC Cassie is actually having a conversation, it's pages and pages and pages of talking in the same circle again. Followed by Cassie having page-long arguments with herself. Yawn. I did a lot of skimming from around the middle of the book.And the plot is not only minimalistic, it is also allover the place. It starts off by Cassie needing to save someone, desperately. That plotline goes on for some time and then just seems to disappears into thin air. She hasn't saved him yet, but instead of following up on that, she does other things and doesn't even think about him. All the plotlines and subplots are kept hanging for some confusing chapters, that make no sense at all and for the plot to then take off in a completely different direction. Chapter 19, what was that supposed to be? Boxes? And who was that dude? Was he important? Will he show up again? What was the point of that chapter?So, some action scenes aside, the plot is allover the place, the inner monologue and many conversations are too long and dragged out. Cassie is also starting to become annoying with all her whining about nobody respecting her and giving her what is hers. Girls, stop whining and just take it, end of problem!And then the epilogue. The book just peters out, everything is just left hanging. I am not entirely sure I want to skip-skim through another almost 500 pages of more of this. Karen Chance used to be an auto-buy for me, but I am seriously reconsidering that.
    more
  • Marta Cox
    January 1, 1970
    Finally we get another book about the insane world that Cassie Palmer lives in! So much goes into these books that I'm not surprised it takes so long to write them but I really could do without the cliffhangers . The last book ( Tempt the Stars) left her friend John Pritkin in dire straits and Cassie is right back doing what she does best, travel back in time and take on any and all who get in her way! She's a tough little cookie having grown up surrounded by vampires and I think it's safe to sa Finally we get another book about the insane world that Cassie Palmer lives in! So much goes into these books that I'm not surprised it takes so long to write them but I really could do without the cliffhangers . The last book ( Tempt the Stars) left her friend John Pritkin in dire straits and Cassie is right back doing what she does best, travel back in time and take on any and all who get in her way! She's a tough little cookie having grown up surrounded by vampires and I think it's safe to say that she understands vampires and their politics far more than she does her fellow humans and magic users. Now this time she has the help ( hindrance?) of Rosier who as Pritkins dad you would think has his sons interests at heart but never underestimate this wily fellow, no Cassie is well and truly in a pickle and this review is so hard to write without spoilers but I will try my best.Ok Cassie can time travel , cast spells but never as well as others it often seems, she's stubborn , resourceful and frustrates the hell out of those around her. This instalment was hilarious when Cassie and Rosier popped up in Wales but it's the pathos woven into the story that gets me. Cassie is being challenged from all sides but she has a strong protective urge and we see her at her best. Cassie may appear fragile and weak but she is a survivor and will fight for those she considers hers and let's face it as Pythia , the worlds leading psychic doesn't the whole world in some way belong to her? So yes this author makes me smile but she has the reader routing for Cassie and when the action gets going it's unstoppable . It's like a movie playing in the theatre of my mind worthy of any of the best directors out there. Beware though so much is going on that at times the reader is in danger of whip lash! I waited so long for this book but it was worth it. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    In Reap the Wind, Cassie must team up with some very unlikely and reluctant allies to rescue John from the depths of hell. A crazy curse, sends Cassie time hopping as John's clock runs down. Her hopping doesn’t go unnoticed, leaving her battling quite a few of her predecessors as well as enemies from the past. Lots of fun, humor and quirkiness balances the heart felt emotions and dire circumstances Cassie faces.I flat out love immersing in Cassie Palmer’s world. Chance weaves another marvelously In Reap the Wind, Cassie must team up with some very unlikely and reluctant allies to rescue John from the depths of hell. A crazy curse, sends Cassie time hopping as John's clock runs down. Her hopping doesn’t go unnoticed, leaving her battling quite a few of her predecessors as well as enemies from the past. Lots of fun, humor and quirkiness balances the heart felt emotions and dire circumstances Cassie faces.I flat out love immersing in Cassie Palmer’s world. Chance weaves another marvelously exciting, fast paced story that sucked me deep into this world that I love. I can admit this is a lengthy read, but I devoured every second and didn’t want it to end. Chance truly pulled out all the stops, Reap the Wind does the Cassandra Palmer series proud.I received this ARC copy of Reap the Wind From PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication November 4, 2015.My Rating: 5 StarsWritten by: Karen ChanceSeries: Cassie Palmer Sequence in series: Book 7Mass Market Paperback: 528 pagesPublisher: Signet Publication Date: November 4, 2014ISBN-10: 0451419073ISBN-13: 978-0451419071Genre: Urban Fantasy | ParanormalAmazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews and More Check out: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Kristin
    January 1, 1970
    This is where I'm getting off the crazy train. I don't even... I'm gobsmacked... why did I... Damn it - I don't even know how to write a review for what I just read. It's going to end up being word vomit, no matter what I try to put into words. I give up.I'm going to go with a middle of the road 3 stars. Karen Chance is a fabulous writer, she writes humor and banter like nobody's business. Her worlds are immense! I've been with Cassie through thick and thin, tattoo and sans tattoo. I just can't This is where I'm getting off the crazy train. I don't even... I'm gobsmacked... why did I... Damn it - I don't even know how to write a review for what I just read. It's going to end up being word vomit, no matter what I try to put into words. I give up.I'm going to go with a middle of the road 3 stars. Karen Chance is a fabulous writer, she writes humor and banter like nobody's business. Her worlds are immense! I've been with Cassie through thick and thin, tattoo and sans tattoo. I just can't handle EVERYTHING all at once anymore. It hurts, it just hurts... need closure for something, anything! See? Word vomit. I'll be in the corner, rocking back and forth in the fetal position if you need me.
    more
  • Feminista
    January 1, 1970
    Completely and utterly dissatisfied. The book does not get anywhere.Suspicions are forming that the author is dragging out this series for monetary purposes. Not very nice, but I can't stop my brain from thinking.
  • JAIME
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series - and my love for it may have earned it an extra star from me. Unfortunately, I just feel like nothing really happens in this series anymore. Despite this being the seventh book of the series, and a bunch of action packed scenes throughout the series - the plot is still progressing at a snail's pace. The two main love interests are just dangling away here and there -one whom Cassie always seems to be trying to save; and the other she keeps trying to push away whilst he tries t I love this series - and my love for it may have earned it an extra star from me. Unfortunately, I just feel like nothing really happens in this series anymore. Despite this being the seventh book of the series, and a bunch of action packed scenes throughout the series - the plot is still progressing at a snail's pace. The two main love interests are just dangling away here and there -one whom Cassie always seems to be trying to save; and the other she keeps trying to push away whilst he tries to placate her with sexy times (YAS) . But for reals, ENOUGH WITH THE TEASING.Though, Cassie mostly pisses me off, I am glad that she *seems* to be looking for ways to stand on her own two feet now. *We finally got the Cassie/Dory scene!**Young Pritkin is SWOON**Rosier FTW*ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    "Karen Chance definitely outdid herself with REAP THE WIND."Read this review in its entirety at Fresh Fiction
  • Duca
    January 1, 1970
    I just finished this marvellous book over an hour ago. And even as I sit here and write my fingers are still thrumming with adrenaline. What a ride! I feel the same way I did when I walked out of the cinema after seeing Fury Road for the first time. If I didn’t feel so passionate about writing this review I think I’d do about 100 sit-ups instead! There’s so much to say about this book that I hardly know where to start.Firstly, if you’ve been following this series as long as I have, you’ll receiv I just finished this marvellous book over an hour ago. And even as I sit here and write my fingers are still thrumming with adrenaline. What a ride! I feel the same way I did when I walked out of the cinema after seeing Fury Road for the first time. If I didn’t feel so passionate about writing this review I think I’d do about 100 sit-ups instead! There’s so much to say about this book that I hardly know where to start.Firstly, if you’ve been following this series as long as I have, you’ll receive several narrative bombshells that will have your eyes bugging out at the possible implications for future plotlines and rubbing your hands excitedly in anticipation of all the theories that will be conjured up by fellow fans. And writing your own notes too, if you’re a huge nerd like I am.Not that there was much time to take notes! Or at least that’s the way it felt, with Chance’s signature hyperdrive-pacing at work once more, leaving my heart pounding and my lungs forgetting to breathe throughout most of the book. I say hyperdrive because, well, you do get a neat little star wars reference. And a whole host of other film references that had a film fan like me giggling into my paperback. There’s also plenty of action (would it be a Chance novel otherwise? I did say I got a huge adrenaline rush) interspersed with loads of stomach-achingly funny moments in situations that can only be unique to Cassie’s world (I’m thinking in particular of a scene with many naked people running about, which would have suited the Benny Hill theme tune to a T). In fact the originality of the humour in this series is like crack to me, I just keep coming back for it!For Pritkin fans you’re going to see him in a way you’ve never seen him before that is just DELIGHTFUL (that was very lightly hinted at in the previous book) and you’re gonna kiss the book many times for giving you this rare gift (did I actually kiss the book? Yes. Yes I did). For Mircea fans I can say the same, and I think you’ll be intrigued at yet another facet of this man’s complicated personality! (Like Marlowe I, too, wanted popcorn at one point)There’s another thing in this instalment of the series that made me very happy. This book should have a subtitle, like – Reap the Wind: Cassie gets real! Cassie finally gets round to some long-needed self-reflecting and it is wonderful. For once, she doesn’t lie to herself or ignore some issues that have been building for a long time now, and it just feels so good to hear it out in the open (read it on the open page?) and know that Cassie is aware of these things and is finally putting her foot all the god damn way down and deciding to DO something about it.Characters that made a place in my heart forever with this book: Rico, Fred and Rhea. RHEA!! She’s everything I’ve wanted for Cassie for a long time and everything she has so sorely needed. With the return of her old friend Tami I feel like Cassie is finally getting the female support that’s been missing for too long in her life.Characters that burrowed their way even deeper into my heart (because they were already there): Marco! He said once that Cassie reminded him of his little girl, and you’re gonna get a bit more detail about that this time and it’s going to hurt you emotionally. Marco’s almost fatherly love for Cassie makes you melt, especially a scene towards the end where Marco shows you just how much he’s got Cassie’s back. Ok, that’s it for now. My profound and adoring thanks go to Karen Chance herself for sending me a copy after winning one on a competition from her website. I’m not going to give away anything else specific. I just will not ruin the surprises for you. Read it and enjoy the feeling after a patented “OH MY GOD WHAT” Karen Chance moment.And because I have a musical brain, here are just some of the songs that popped into my head while I was reading:Benny Hill ThemeStrangers Like Me – Phil Collins (if you know Disney as well as I you might make this connection too)Suffragette City - David Bowie (think 80’s style movie dress up montage)Hit Me With Your Best Shot – Pat BenatarLet’s Boot and Rally – Iggy Pop and Bethany ConsentinoGold Dust Woman – Fleetwood MacOne Way Or Another - Blondie
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    I really had to talk myself out of being disappointed with this book. Like so many others, my borderline obsession with Pritkin seems to be ruining my reading experience because anything not about him slides on past me with barely any effect. I want him saved and I want something to be sorted between him and Cassie.Yet...what happens then? Fireworks and happily ever after? Lovey dovey romance and couples clothing? I'm forgetting that the build up is often more exciting than what comes next. The I really had to talk myself out of being disappointed with this book. Like so many others, my borderline obsession with Pritkin seems to be ruining my reading experience because anything not about him slides on past me with barely any effect. I want him saved and I want something to be sorted between him and Cassie.Yet...what happens then? Fireworks and happily ever after? Lovey dovey romance and couples clothing? I'm forgetting that the build up is often more exciting than what comes next. The book was full of character development and story building, but I may need to read it again to actually take it in. Also, reading the comments on this book/series has indictaed that I would benefit/enjoy reading the linked series about Mircea's daughter, Dory. So...i'm going to start with Midnight's Daughter.
    more
  • Steph
    January 1, 1970
    From me to you: These books are insanely difficult to review for my future remembrance while not spoiling the hell out of others. So, I've spoiler blocked a lot - maybe too much. But, I figure better to be safe than sorry (read: the bitch that ruined it for someone else). The first two spoilers I consider to be okay for fans of the series who are current and want a little sneak peek. The spoiler in the middle highlights some of Cassie's challenges in this installment, but not super specific or s From me to you: These books are insanely difficult to review for my future remembrance while not spoiling the hell out of others. So, I've spoiler blocked a lot - maybe too much. But, I figure better to be safe than sorry (read: the bitch that ruined it for someone else). The first two spoilers I consider to be okay for fans of the series who are current and want a little sneak peek. The spoiler in the middle highlights some of Cassie's challenges in this installment, but not super specific or spoilery, IMO. Those spoilers that reveal more in-depth info from this installment are marked with a footnote (¹²³) and revealed in further detail at the bottom of my review. To be super safe, each of those footnotes has its own block, so you can pick and choose what you read and/or avoid. ( Full Rating: ✮✮✮✮½ ) Reap the Wind picks up where Tempt the Stars' cliffhanger left us dangling for the past two years. (view spoiler)[Cassie and Rosier, Pritkin's demon father, are jumping through time in hopes of finding Pritkin, who is lost in time as a result of a regression curse. (for full details, see my review for Tempt the Stars, specifically spoiler footnote ²) Thankfully, Cassie was given the counterspell. If she can just catch up to him before it's too late. (hide spoiler)] Yet, as is always the case in the world of Cassandra Palmer, nothing is ever easy.Cassie, the ... time-traveling, ghost-whispering, somewhat clumsy clairvoyant is at it again. She's on a mission (view spoiler)[ to save Pritkin (hide spoiler)] and she's trying to keep it hush-hush. That's easier said than done when she continues to pop into her hotel suite dirty and disheveled only to pop back out again after some food and sleep. The vampires charged with her care and safety, most especially Marco, are becoming frustrated - how can they keep her safe when they don't know where she's going or what she's doing? "You are Pythia. Someday, people will die for you."I don't want people to die for me!""And that is why they will do it." (view spoiler)[ Nevertheless, right now, Cassie is annoyed that, in spite of her past accomplishments others, most notably in her mind Mircea, see her as 'lucky' instead of skilled. And, while she does have a tendency to get rather lucky when her life is on the line she always comes out on top. Furthermore, she's beginning to feel like "... everyone thinks [she's] just a gun for them to fire." Each of her allies¹ has an agenda, yet while they want her help, they are not always completely honest with her instead believing they can coerce her into doing what they want. Cassie's always been loyal to those she loves and her actions in this installment further prove that she's willing to sacrifice herself for others. But, it's often her loyalty to others that is used against her.She's well aware of her lack of knowledge. Having come into her position without the training others received, she's often, sometimes literally, flying by the seat of her pants. Thankfully, in this installment, she gets some much needed help². (hide spoiler)]Fans of the series know to expect action and chaos in each and every installment. Reap the Wind is no exception. On occasion, the time jumps and all that was learned on them became a bit confusing. Fans will also know that Chance has a way of bringing side characters to the forefront on occasion. And, in this installment, master vampires Fred, Rico and primarily Marco had larger parts in Cassie's story. Billy, on the other hand, has little page time.I need to remember to either re-read the previous books or, at the very least, read my reviews before jumping into a new installment. Similar to the previous books, another two years have passed since we last saw Cassie and gang in Tempt the Stars. Although the cliffhanger at the end of this installment isn't as painful as some others, fans of Chance's other series Dorina Basarab will enjoy a great déjà vu moment at the end where Chance merges a scene from Fury's Kiss³. That said, because of the long time gap between installments, I appreciated Karen Chance's mini info dumps throughout. They help refresh details about the lives of the characters and past events. Some questions were answered while others were raised. Cassie raises quite a few questions herself. I'm anxious to see if her discovery in the past will affect the future in the way I envision it or not. These books are always quite a ride and, more often than not, I'm left a bit dizzy when the ride stops.(view spoiler)[¹allies: (view spoiler)["If you can unmake a vampire, you can do the reverse." Although she wholeheartedly, unequivocally refused, Mircea's request (read: demanding insistence) that she help him create an army of master vampires was probably the most damaging of them all. He went against his deal to keep their work and personal lives separate. And, he expects her to believe that once their enemies (currently the fae) were defeated this army of masters wouldn't turn on others? (hide spoiler)]²helping hands: (view spoiler)[ from Rhea, a member of her (the Pythia's) court and her new acolyte as well as from Tamika Hodges, a magical null. Tami helps her with the mass of children from her court that are now her responsibility. She went back in time to rescue them when their home was bombed. They're currently living in her suite. Tami is a take-charge type and sets things to rights as much as is possible. She also provides Cassie with some much needed motivation and organization, which is why Cass offered her a job as her "chief coordinator". (hide spoiler)]³Fury Kiss/Reap the Wind scene merge: (view spoiler)[The son of a bitch had hurt Mircea. And nobody got to do that but me. Around 80% into Dorina's last book Fury's Kiss, Dorina is tending to an injured Mircea, sitting bedside when Cassie pops into the room. Scene from Fury's Kiss “You can go,” I repeated. “Vamoose, amscray, make like a tree. Do you get it?” “Yeah.” The voice had gone flat, cold. “I get it.” And then the next thing I knew, I was sitting all alone in the middle of a field filled with mud and some very startled cows. Where Fury's Kiss gave us Dorina's perspective, previous discoveries made by Cassie have her confused as to just who this gorgeous brunette is and what connection she has to Mircea. (hide spoiler)] (hide spoiler)]Thank you to Penguin Group/Berkley NAL and NetGalley for a review copy of this book. All quotes are taken from the pre-published copy and may be altered or omitted from the final copy.
    more
  • Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookworms
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Reap the Wind is extremely fast-paced, and so much is going on both in Cassie's world and in other places and times...The overall storyline in Reap the Wind didn't cover as much as I had expected, especially with everything that happened! Cassie traveled a lot through space and time, in order to save people, and herself, and to figure out more about her power. She also had more help in this story than in the prior ones, and that wa This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews Reap the Wind is extremely fast-paced, and so much is going on both in Cassie's world and in other places and times...The overall storyline in Reap the Wind didn't cover as much as I had expected, especially with everything that happened! Cassie traveled a lot through space and time, in order to save people, and herself, and to figure out more about her power. She also had more help in this story than in the prior ones, and that was certainly a relief. I felt almost frantic while listening, because there is a lot to cover, even if most of that has to do with Cassie herself.I loved the interactions between Cassie and her very own acolytes, because while they might not know everything, the knew enough to show Cassie the right direction for her to go in. I also really appreciated the vamp Marco, because he was one of the few people who were supposed to be on her side who was really on her side. He trusted in her and her power, and he also felt sure she would do the right thing. Of course, she also brought quite a bit of excitement to his boring life, and he enjoyed that as much as I did.At the beginning of the story, I tried to listen in my car, but that didn't work for me - I got distracted and went too far on the highway, having to turn back and rather concentrating on driving than on the story I was enjoying. This led me to listening at home, either as I was doing stuff around the house, or as I was coloring in my adult coloring books.Reap the Wind finally showed Cassie becoming more sure of herself, and also more than a little fed up with all those who only wanted to use her, those who didn't truly respect her even if they did somewhat believe in her. I thought she was long overdue to be angry, and it was refreshing to see her rage against everything that didn't go the way she expected it to.The narration was great, and I need to find more books narrated by Jorjeana Marie, she made the different voices and accents for the various characters effortlessly, and I found that she brought a lot to Cassie's world that I didn't get when reading it for myself. Written mostly from Cassie's point of view, I felt like I was in the middle of the breakneck action with her, through planes I hadn't thought I'd ever visit. The only downside to Reap the Wind was that I wanted more of a resolution to what happened towards the end of Tempt the Stars.“This is getting surreal," Marlowe murmured. "Even for this place.""Cassie is here-mentally," Mircea told him."I gathered that.""She seems to find it difficult to understand why I do not wish to have her in my head, unannounced, any time she pleases--"Marlowe gave a bark of a laugh. "Oh this should be fun.”“I see you.” You always did, I thought, watching sparks dance in his eyes.”
    more
  • All Things Urban Fantasy
    January 1, 1970
    Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyAs I've come to expect from this series there is no time for breathe in REAP THE WIND. Everything that could go wrong for Cassie goes wrong that I just want the girl to get a break eventually. Cassie is continuing to learn about her powers and what she can do along with trying to stop the end of the world and saving her mentor Pritkin. All in a day's work for your typical Pythia. There is a ton going on in this book and at times it does feel a tad overw Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyAs I've come to expect from this series there is no time for breathe in REAP THE WIND. Everything that could go wrong for Cassie goes wrong that I just want the girl to get a break eventually. Cassie is continuing to learn about her powers and what she can do along with trying to stop the end of the world and saving her mentor Pritkin. All in a day's work for your typical Pythia. There is a ton going on in this book and at times it does feel a tad overwhelming considering the sheer amount of time travel happening. I guess feeling like that is a great way to get an understanding of how Cassie must feel.I always admire Cassie's work ethic and ability to just keep going in this series. I would have quit a long time ago and just go find someplace quiet to be for a very long time. Cassie does have help from a large cast of secondary characters and this cast expands a touch in this book. Cassie goes back in time and meets up with 'past' Pritkin (he counts as a new-ish character!) and meets some new people including new acolytes and some angry past Pythias. I liked seeing the old Pythias and seeing how they use their powers and I also enjoyed learning a bit more about Pythia acolytes and how they lived and about their duties to the Pythia.While I did enjoy REAP THE WIND and Cassie's at times hilarious time traveling hijinks I felt like the book was stalling. There always seems to be a small fraction of forward momentum in the overall plot and Cassie's learning curve always moves forward a touch but mostly it feels like treading water as the series goes on. I really do love the story and will read the next book but I just want more forward momentum and less cliffhangers.
    more
  • Clare dooley
    January 1, 1970
    Hurry the eff up
  • Galla
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 - It's starting to feel like the wheels are doing a whole lot of spinning in this series, but we're not really getting anywhere.
  • Roxanne
    January 1, 1970
    Gimme gimme gimme!!!!!
  • Lynsey (A Bookish Life)
    January 1, 1970
    Another whirlwind, whistle stop tour through time with my best girl Cassie, on yet another Pritkin rescue mission!So, if you've seen my last review you'll know I completely adore this series. I adore it to a point where although I can understand other people's frustration with the lack of progress in a certain area, and that the thing we're all desperately hoping will happen is still just. Out. Of. Reach.... I'm just here with my arms splayed wide saying, "Tease me, Karen chance, tease me you wi Another whirlwind, whistle stop tour through time with my best girl Cassie, on yet another Pritkin rescue mission!So, if you've seen my last review you'll know I completely adore this series. I adore it to a point where although I can understand other people's frustration with the lack of progress in a certain area, and that the thing we're all desperately hoping will happen is still just. Out. Of. Reach.... I'm just here with my arms splayed wide saying, "Tease me, Karen chance, tease me you wicked temptress!" It's almost like I don't actually want to move forward because then there will be no more books!Even without "that thing" I just simply enjoyed being in this world again. I love the characters, the time travel, the vampire politics, the humour, the complicated romantic storyline... All of it. I've also enjoyed seeing Cassie's development over the series. She's not your typical UF heroine who's seemingly born a badass. She's absolutely had to learn every meagre skill she has the hard and long way, often with Pritkin's help. Do you remember when he helpfully pushed her off a cliff so she could learn to Shift under pressure? He's a sweetiepie, that man.I always enjoy the pace of Chance's books. They're thrilling, high octane adventures sprinkled with humorous respites and the occasional emotional and/or romantic scene. For me, they're perfection and I can't wait for the next book, and the one after that, and the one after that........5 Stars ★★★★ A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • HJ
    January 1, 1970
    Can't believe I'm saying this, but there was simply too much going on in this book for me. I know, I know, you say. But it's a Cassie Palmer, you say, there's ALWAYS too much going on!Yeah, pretty much, but for some reason, this time, it made for hard reading. I found myself forgetting what the point of the previous adventure was when each new interruption adventure popped up. At least the triangle is becoming clear/working toward rectification, and Cassie starts finding her backbone in this one Can't believe I'm saying this, but there was simply too much going on in this book for me. I know, I know, you say. But it's a Cassie Palmer, you say, there's ALWAYS too much going on!Yeah, pretty much, but for some reason, this time, it made for hard reading. I found myself forgetting what the point of the previous adventure was when each new interruption adventure popped up. At least the triangle is becoming clear/working toward rectification, and Cassie starts finding her backbone in this one.I'll still keep on in the series, but this one just wasn't a favorite for me.
    more
Write a review