Hello, New York
Anyone who hearts New York will love this illustrated homage to the city. Artist, author, and New Yorker Julia Rothman brings humor and tenderness to an eclectic assortment of historical tidbits (how the New York Public Library lion sculptures got their names), idiosyncratic places to visit (where to find the tennis courts at Grand Central Station), interviews with locals (thoughts on love from a Hasidic Jewish landlord), and personal recollections from growing up in the Bronx (fried fish at Johnny's Reef)—all illuminated in her beloved signature style. A uniquely entertaining and informative city guide, this slice of the Big Apple will delight New York locals and visitors alike.

Hello, New York Details

TitleHello, New York
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMar 18th, 2014
PublisherChronicle Books
ISBN1452109842
ISBN-139781452109848
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Nonfiction, Travel, New York, Art

Hello, New York Review

  • Kayley Hyde
    January 8, 2015
    So cute & lovely. Really wish it had been longer. I can't get enough of these graphic/illustrated travelogue type books right now!
  • Nabila Cyrilla Imani
    June 22, 2015
    I've never been to New York but I'm a big fan of the city and by reading this, I want to go there even more.The book is well organized and written by Julia. Love every pieces of drawing that she made to illustrate the places and situations. I also love how this book is a mixture of travel guide, memoir, and letter with wonderful illustrations. Only two things that I don't like, it's short and the font. I'd still be happy reading 500 pages of her writing and drawing, and there are some parts wher I've never been to New York but I'm a big fan of the city and by reading this, I want to go there even more.The book is well organized and written by Julia. Love every pieces of drawing that she made to illustrate the places and situations. I also love how this book is a mixture of travel guide, memoir, and letter with wonderful illustrations. Only two things that I don't like, it's short and the font. I'd still be happy reading 500 pages of her writing and drawing, and there are some parts where the font is too small and curvy which made it hard to read.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 6, 2016
    I expected this to be a pleasant piece of nostalgic fluff, but was delighted to find it substantial and current. It comprises short and very informative pieces about various places and other features of the city. It includes famous places and quirky off-the-beaten-track places--some of which I know and some of which I wish I'd heard about before moving away from NYC last year.
    more
  • Anna
    September 24, 2016
    "New York, Neeeeew York...".Yes. Finally.Woof.
  • Gosia
    January 30, 2015
    Wonderful and lovely and very small; just what I needed today, unable to focus on anything else. I'm also sure I'd be spending my 40s in NY.
  • Katie Padfoot
    December 16, 2016
    wonderful illustrations, anecdotes and handy recommendations. her love for the city is obvious and infectious
  • Jessica Rosner
    February 20, 2017
    There is a library patron at the library where I work who always checks out interesting books. I have noticed there are lots of books by illustrators I'd not heard of. Julia Rothman is one. I have always want to do an illustrated book so when I spot some I put myself on hold for them. This is a nice book. It would make a great gift for someone new to NY. It amazed me that of the hundreds of places she highlights I have hardly been to any, even though I lived in NYC from age 2 to age 27 with an i There is a library patron at the library where I work who always checks out interesting books. I have noticed there are lots of books by illustrators I'd not heard of. Julia Rothman is one. I have always want to do an illustrated book so when I spot some I put myself on hold for them. This is a nice book. It would make a great gift for someone new to NY. It amazed me that of the hundreds of places she highlights I have hardly been to any, even though I lived in NYC from age 2 to age 27 with an interruption for college in Ohio. This book makes me think I can do a book. Maybe that is delusional. Anyway, if you like NY and if you like nice illustration, it's a gem.
    more
  • Sara
    January 21, 2016
    I just bought this book because I do love Julias art, but read this book was a little surprise. Julia opens her heart with this book, she speaks about her life in NY and share with the readers many unusual places off the tourist path. Read this book let you know her a little bit, and discover NY as a common citizen. By the other hand, I find surprising that her life in NY when she was a child wasnt so different from mine in Spain, I think most of the people of my age played the same plays on the I just bought this book because I do love Julia´s art, but read this book was a little surprise. Julia opens her heart with this book, she speaks about her life in NY and share with the readers many unusual places off the tourist path. Read this book let you know her a little bit, and discover NY as a common citizen. By the other hand, I find surprising that her life in NY when she was a child wasn´t so different from mine in Spain, I think most of the people of my age played the same plays on the street.I highly recommend it, specially to give as a gift.
    more
  • Am Y
    June 7, 2015
    I found the font a bit small and difficult to read. Some illustrations could also have been done better as they appeared sloppy. But the overall experience reading this was a pleasant one, and I learned some fun and interesting things about New York in the process (e.g. Dead Horse Bay, Coney Island, etc). I also liked the author's interviews with the cab driver and sommelier. The book comes across as personal yet informative.
    more
  • Diz
    July 6, 2015
    This is a sketchbook introduction to New York City. It is filled with interesting personal stories and includes out of the way places as well as famous ones. The art is charming and really draws you to the city. The only complaint I have is that there is a page with the pests of New York on it, which includes a drawing of a cockroach. I hate cockroaches and I couldn't stand to look at it. Without that picture, I would have given this five stars.
    more
  • Ash
    March 26, 2015
    Julia Rothman's Hello New York: An Illustrated Love Letter to the Five Boroughs is a cute and light tome about Rothman's experiences with New York City. I enjoyed the art and I really liked that Rothman's New York City is not the same as mine even though we're native city dwellers. I liked how she showed the hidden attractions if the City. I heard of something I didn't heard of: Spa Castle. Her Grandmother's immigration story was touching as well.
    more
  • Ariane
    March 4, 2014
    I LOVED this book. My only complaint is that I wish it had been twice as long! Love the art, love the stories. I actually found that Julia Rothman's art style lent well to feeling very immersed in the scenes in the book, as it leaves a lot to the imagination. Hope I get to see it all in person someday!
    more
  • Amanda
    May 10, 2014
    Part memoir, part travel guide, this is a stunning look at the five boroughs of New York, told in gorgeous illustrations and lovely personal narratives by one of my illustrator-heroes. If you've ever wanted to explore NY's little-known treasures and off-the-beaten-path highlights, this book is for you.
    more
  • Lew
    January 1, 2015
    I loved the book. It reminded me of my days at Columbia almost 50 years ago and of my visits to my daughter-in-law and son in Brooklyn.Full disclosure: My daughter-in-law and son are close friends of Julia and been contributors to some of her other books. We have also known Julia since she was a college classmate of my son.
    more
  • Renee
    June 5, 2016
    "Hello, New York" is a lovely little book combining a travel guide and a memoir. The illustrations are great, and I learned several new things about well-known NYC attractions and off-the-beaten track sights. The author/illustrator covers several neighborhoods, foods, animals, taxis, history, and more. It's a fun, light, quick read. I would LOVE to read more books like this about other cities.
    more
  • Wan Ni
    February 4, 2015
    A charming read on the 5 boroughs of New York from a Native New Yorker perspective. Beautiful quaint modern illustrators and a balanced feature on the history and present-day charm of New York. She delves until some lesser-known secrets of the city, such as how to get to the secret tennis court in Grand Central Station and the different (none-authentic) pizzerias named after Ray's Pizza.
    more
  • Ashly
    August 10, 2015
    Very informative, She talks about some places/things you may know about in New York, but she also talks about places you may not know about. She also adds a little History into it too. I really love the drawings.
  • Dcnewman
    October 28, 2016
    Fun bookBought the book mostly for the style of illustrations which I really like. The stories and illustrations are fun and informative. Great tour of New York! Love the illustrations.
  • Jeff
    February 24, 2015
    Fun sketches of the city from a native New Yorker. As a native, Julia Rothman, has a little more credibility than the authors of similar books I've read on the city, although she is of a younger generation than I.Very quick read.
  • Cate
    February 28, 2016
    Really cool illustrated snapshot of NYC, filled with the author's memories, mini interviews of real New Yorkers (including a librarian at the NY PublicLibrary), and tips on where to go. Reminded me of Lucy Knisley's travel and food memoirs.
  • Shannon
    May 11, 2015
    This book is personal and nostalgic at the same time pointing out some universally enjoyed tourist locales in New York. It made me want to make my own hometown sketch journal. It's that modern art conundrum: I could do that! Yeah, but you didn't.
  • Seashanties
    May 4, 2015
    Oh, I loved this book. Gorgeously illustrated and lovingly written, it is indeed a love letter to New York. I am now even more desperate to go back there and check out lots of the little-known places the author mentions. Really cheered me up on a wet Bank Holiday.
    more
  • Diana
    April 20, 2014
    Native New Yorker Julia Rothman writes and illustrates a lovely book about New York with quirky information, profiles of New Yorkers and mini reviews. I bought this to give as a gift but decided to read and keep it!
  • Deborah
    September 1, 2015
    I loved this book and hope to buy it soon; as an ex-NYC-er and continuing lover of the city it was fun to reminisce and also to learn new things about tucked away places or things I've heard about but haven't yet experienced.+
  • Amanda
    April 21, 2014
    I wish I could draw a picture showing you how much I love this book. Or, I wish Julia Rothman could draw me that picture. Such a wonderful tribute to NYC, a hometown I share with the author. I want to give this to every one of my friends who visits the city. Brava!
    more
  • Carrie Shaurette
    June 12, 2014
    This fun tribute is nothing more than an enjoyable celebration of some of the things that make New York great. There are plenty of fun facts and lesser-known spots to hit in this browsable book that would make a good gift book for anyone living in New York.
    more
  • Jenny
    April 30, 2015
    Cute! I learned a few things even having lived in NYC for 7 years (I can't wait to find the Grand Central tennis court!). And it's very giftable for artsy NY noobs. Down a star for an obvious typo on page 13 (Triangle is missing the L!) within such a high-quality book.
    more
  • Lisa Urso
    August 15, 2015
    Beautifully illustrated book about New York City, with many unusual spaces and places off the tourist path. Julia Rothman made you feel like you were right there with her, walking along the city streets.
  • Renee
    July 12, 2014
    Added thanks to this review on Goodnight Little Spoon:http://www.goodnightlittlespoon.com/2...Looks gorgeous!
  • Sophie
    June 28, 2014
    A lovely portrait of NYC. :) Perhaps just a bit too short...
Write a review