The Letter
Kathryn Hughes’ new ebook The Letter offers readers a chance to absorb themselves in the lives of two women, born decades apart but whose lives share a number of parallels. The novel explores two historical strands, bringing together an abused housewife from the 1970s and a young girl from the early 1940s in a story of love, loss and unexpected consequences.The Letter follows the life of Tina in the 1970s who seeks respite from her abusive marriage by volunteering at a charity shop. One day, while sorting through the pockets of a second-hand suit, she comes across an old letter. It is still firmly sealed and un-franked. Unable to resist the pull of curiosity, Tina opens the letter. It was written on 4th September 1939. She is so moved by the contents and bemused as to why the letter was never delivered, she embarks on a quest to find out what became of the writer and his intended recipient.The mystery of how this love letter ended up in Tina’s hands is also uncovered through Billy’s story from the early 1940s. He writes a letter that will change his life forever, unaware that it will not be read for another 34 years, and then by a complete stranger.With a swift pace, memorable characters and a wonderful conceptual depth, Hughes’ novel is one that simply can’t be put down.

The Letter Details

TitleThe Letter
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 2nd, 2013
PublisherTroubador Publishing Ltd
Number of pages265 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical Fiction, Fiction, Romance, Mystery, Audiobook

The Letter Review

  • Sue
    December 28, 2014
    I don't understand the number of 4 and 5 star reviews on this novel. I was swayed to buy it by the reviews. But it really is the most lazy kind of writing style and boring to read. It's not the story that's boring, that could be told well, although in this version the characters are one dimensional and annoyingly stupid. But the writing style is really simplified and repetitive. I'm 55% through and if I read another description of a "steaming mug/cup" of anything I shall boil the book. Hard, as I don't understand the number of 4 and 5 star reviews on this novel. I was swayed to buy it by the reviews. But it really is the most lazy kind of writing style and boring to read. It's not the story that's boring, that could be told well, although in this version the characters are one dimensional and annoyingly stupid. But the writing style is really simplified and repetitive. I'm 55% through and if I read another description of a "steaming mug/cup" of anything I shall boil the book. Hard, as it's a kindle version. The plot is see-through too.It feels like the author read a bunch of books and then wrote her own by copying the others. Sadly she didn't read anything well written to do this with. I get annoyed by poor books. There is no excuse. The world is full of great books. A lifetime isn't long enough to read them all. Why waste time writing something mediocre. Reading is a wonderful skill and experience, not to be thrown away. I like a bit of chick lit now and then for light relief. But only the well written chick lit. I don't know what category I'd put this book into.It's in the "gave-up!" pile I'm afraid. I'm off to find something better written to spend my time in.
    more
  • Lindsay
    January 4, 2017
    4 stars. This was an easy, enjoyable read. While the writing style was very simple, there are some heavy topics covered within this story - domestic violence, rape, a young mother forced to give up her baby. Though I found the author's writing to be quite basic, there was something about the book and the characters that were very likeable for me. My heart broke a few times throughout the novel, but I also had a heartwarming sense of closure at the end.
    more
  • ☼♄Jülie 
    August 27, 2016
    The Letter is a historical romance that spans across three generations, and like most love stories it tells about love found and love lost.Even though this subject is often predictable with its indiscriminate apportioning of pain and heartache...still each story has its own unique experiences...this is one such story.It's not a fluffy read, it's a story about two women, a generation apart, who's struggles have a lot in common, and how time and circumstance will conspire to bridge the gap between The Letter is a historical romance that spans across three generations, and like most love stories it tells about love found and love lost.Even though this subject is often predictable with its indiscriminate apportioning of pain and heartache...still each story has its own unique experiences...this is one such story.It's not a fluffy read, it's a story about two women, a generation apart, who's struggles have a lot in common, and how time and circumstance will conspire to bridge the gap between them to uncover their stories and bring some much overdue healing.This story was more compelling, I thought, in that it goes into the details of the lives of those involved and gave good depictions of the types of bias and misguided judgements of the time, along with a clear sense of the struggles brought about by the first world war. How these individuals were directly and indirectly affected and how, as individuals, they coped.The choices they made were not always the preferred choices, mostly they were borne out of necessity due to the circumstances of that era.Although it follows a remarkably incredible pattern of events, I found this story mesmerizing as each piece of a puzzle fell into place to build on a much bigger story.If you can somewhat suspend belief and read this at face value, it is quite a clever and satisfying read.We learn that even the smallest of oversights now, can sometimes count in the larger scheme of things, enabling the possibility of a later action which can have equally profound effects.I really enjoyed this read. 4★sMany thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for my copy to read and review.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    June 11, 2015
    THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, performed by Rachel Atkins is truly spellbinding! The most captivating, moving and emotional audiobook I have ever read (listened to)—from secrets, loss, pain, sacrifice, and love. Top 50 Books of 2015. "2015 Best Audiobook (tie), Best Historical Romance Fiction."A story of two women whose lives become entwined when one discovers a letter that was written in 1939 but never sent. (never posted; not online posted, but postmarked-stamped). Two powerful stories conn THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, performed by Rachel Atkins is truly spellbinding! The most captivating, moving and emotional audiobook I have ever read (listened to)—from secrets, loss, pain, sacrifice, and love. Top 50 Books of 2015. "2015 Best Audiobook (tie), Best Historical Romance Fiction."A story of two women whose lives become entwined when one discovers a letter that was written in 1939 but never sent. (never posted; not online posted, but postmarked-stamped). Two powerful stories connect; fate steps in; across history, time, and oceans- for an explosive reunion; a love story so profound- mesmerizing; leaving you utterly speechless when you reach the end; a novel and characters, you will remember long after the book ends.As the novel begins present day, we hear from a granddaughter and grandmother while visiting in the lovely garden, pulling weeds, (symbols for people in our lives-everything belongs). Readers then hear a tragic and heartbreaking story, told from the loving grandmother; her story, how she met the love of her life- as events unfold, which changed her life. From Manchester in 1973, the story begins with Tina Craig, a young woman married to a violent and evil man, Rick her husband-controlling, a drunk, lost his job, he drinks, smokes, and gambles and beats her. He has two personalities ranging from good to evil. She has been desperately saving her money in order to escape and leave him; as she has no family or anywhere to turn; however, he finds her money in the coffee can, and now she is doomed once again. Tina has a wonderful caring friend, Graham at work, and he is worried about her. She also works at a charity shop volunteering and enjoys her customers, where she is not worried about everything she says or does. Her husband gives her money to bet (turns out, it was her coffee money); however, she does not do so, but her friend Graham places the bet for her and wins. He gives her the money, and she offers it to her husband and keeps the part she had saved, and moves out. She is finally happy. The race, March 31, 1973 Grand National horse racing, sealed her fate.However, Rick cleans up his act, gets a job and quits drinking. He wants her back and says he has changed. She wants so much for a family. She is torn and unsure if he has really changed, but she finds herself pregnant from the last violent time he raped her. When she goes back to pick up her clothes, he slowly turns on the charm and talks her into coming back. Her friends do not share in the joy, as they are very suspicious of Rick, doubting he has really has changed. It works for a while; however, soon thereafter his old ways return. She is afraid for her life and her unborn baby. He is drinking again and this time his violence is the worst ever, leaving her for dead, and baby? The reason for his anger, is due to The Letter. He finds a letter in her purse. A love letter. Drunk, jealous, and enraged. However, little does he know the letter was one Tina found in one of her customer’s coat pockets; a special love letter from over thirty some years earlier from a solider going off to war, to his pregnant girlfriend. Tina, now broken and alone, is haunted by the letter, obsessed with finding this Billy and his love. If she cannot be happy, she needs to someone to be. Why didn’t Billy post the letter? Chrissie, the pregnant intended recipient never received this letter. Are they still even alive? Little does Tina know this letter will later change the course of her own life. What became of this couple torn apart? Tina is moved by the contents of the letter but also puzzled as why such a heartfelt message was left in a pocket. She vows to find out what became of Billy and Chrissie.The second story is of a young woman and man, we meet later in the book, back in 1939- Billy and Chrissie. They are in love. Chrissie’s controlling father, a doctor (one evil cold man), does not like Billy, the boy she is dating. When Chrissie tells Billy she is pregnant he is overwhelmed due to the war, and the economy and unsure about their financial future. He leaves; however, later that evening, he begins to regret his harsh words and writes a letter to Chrissie. 4th September 1939. One of love. He declares his love and asks for her hand in marriage. When he stops by her house the next day the father informs him, she does not wish to see him. (Of course, she is unaware of any of this). Billy tells her father he has written her a letter and since the postal service is having issues, the father says he will deliver the letter, but he does not. He puts the letter in a coat pocket which is found years later by a woman. Chrissie is heartbroken, wondering why Billy has deserted her.Of course, the controlling father will not allow his daughter to bring shame upon the family name, so sends her off to a commune to live with hateful evil nuns and is forced to give up the baby. Her mother, dad, and aunt turned their back on her. Her baby is adopted by Americans. Two young women's lives destroyed by evil men and separated from their babies.Years later the boy, now a man has always wondered about his biological parents, so sets off to England to find answers. Chrissie (the biological mother)’s life in England is left empty of the life taken away from her so cruelly. In his search abroad, William runs into Tina working at the library, and tells her of his search for his birth mother and father. She has The Letter which will connect the two stories. The two of them, strangers, begin the search for the owners of the letter, William’s parents to solve the mystery of a past life. A letter which caused the death of one child, and the saving grace for another. When the two storylines connect, it is one of the most powerful reunions. Ordinary women who overcome extraordinary heartache. A beautiful poignant ending. Wow, I am not an emotional person; however, here I was traveling, driving in rush hour traffic with iPod, with tears rolling down my face, to the point I could barely see. The reunion scene was the most emotional and vivid scene, making you feel as though you were there. Rachel Atkins' performance was award-winning, even her voice was broken, and cracking, as she was speaking. I was literally hanging on every word, feeling the powerful emotion, pain, and feelings. Hughes and Atkins are in perfect sync! Hughes writing is amazing, and the way she created both storylines with pitch perfect pacing, and fabulous character development. Please, let this be the narrator for the next book. While in Costco, I finished the book, and re-listened to the last four chapters on the way home once again. It is that powerful; highly recommend the audio version. Not sure how I missed this stunning book along the way, however, I stumbled upon the audiobook (released May 7, 2015) on Audible and was hooked the first five minutes to the end. Could not put it down until I finished. (Oct 18, 2015 Paperback) Hard to believe this is a debut! Can understand why it hit number one on the Amazon Kindle Chart, spending 130 days in the top 100 with 2,000 reader reviews. I have since read, world rights including film have been attained from this self-published book (I want a front row seat), and cannot wait for her second book, coming in 2016. A definite pre-order. Kathryn Hughes has a rare talent, and trust me when I say, this gal can write and oh, can Rachel Atkins perform! A thought-provoking novel, The Letter, a story of two women, born decades apart, whose paths are destined to cross and how one woman's devastation leads to the other's salvation. My Top 30 Books of 2015, Hughes has been added to my favorite author list. SCORE 5 Stars+For readers who enjoy historical fiction and a suspenseful love story, recommend, The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley by Susan Ornbratt. JDCMustReadBooks Cannot believe I missed Hughes new book! It took my UK GR pal, Sue to inform me (thanks, Sue)! Immediately, purchased The Secret 2016 audiobook (same narrator, Rachel Atkins as The Letter - which I loved). So excited....Currently reading. Read Both, like NOW. Now available in Paperback 9/8/2016.
    more
  • Aleksandra
    March 2, 2017
    Jedno slučajno pronađeno pismo promijenit će život nesretne Tine, koja trpi zlostavljanje svog nasilnog muža. Priča koja se krije iza tog kratkog pisma razotrit će bolne i potresne tajne, patnju, ali i ljubav koju su nekada davno, pred sam početak Drugog svjetskog rata, proživjeli ljudi koje Tina sada želi pronaći. Potraga za rješenjem zagonetke pisma nastalog prije tridesetak godina će se pokazati nimalo lakim zadatkom, Tina će proživjeti najteže trenutke svog života, ali će ta očajnička potrag Jedno slučajno pronađeno pismo promijenit će život nesretne Tine, koja trpi zlostavljanje svog nasilnog muža. Priča koja se krije iza tog kratkog pisma razotrit će bolne i potresne tajne, patnju, ali i ljubav koju su nekada davno, pred sam početak Drugog svjetskog rata, proživjeli ljudi koje Tina sada želi pronaći. Potraga za rješenjem zagonetke pisma nastalog prije tridesetak godina će se pokazati nimalo lakim zadatkom, Tina će proživjeti najteže trenutke svog života, ali će ta očajnička potraga za tajnom iz prošlosti, zapravo nositi i ključ njene budućnosti. Roman veoma podsjeća na drugi meni omiljeni roman, Pisma izgubljenoj ljubavi, koji možda zbog nešto većeg broja stranica ima i malo bolje razrađene likove, ali u svakom slučaju i ovdje se radi o zanimljivoj, potresnoj i emotivnoj priči.
    more
  • Laura
    December 10, 2016
    This story contains many of the aspects I love about the art of fiction writing: love, loss, time-travel and brilliantly developed characters. I thought the modus operandi was inspired; I love it when an author can confidently jump between time periods to deliver a beautifully interwoven story. Taking the reader on a journey from the east coast of America, the rustic farmlands of Southern Ireland and the bustling streets of Manchester, I was gripped from start to finish. I even unashamedly wiped This story contains many of the aspects I love about the art of fiction writing: love, loss, time-travel and brilliantly developed characters. I thought the modus operandi was inspired; I love it when an author can confidently jump between time periods to deliver a beautifully interwoven story. Taking the reader on a journey from the east coast of America, the rustic farmlands of Southern Ireland and the bustling streets of Manchester, I was gripped from start to finish. I even unashamedly wiped away a tear or two on more than once occasion!After a recent spate of very underwhelming books, The Letter has been a welcome revival to my 2016 year of reading. I can only hope the authors second book is just as pleasing.
    more
  • Lena Papanikolaou
    June 28, 2016
    Απροσδόκητα υπέροχο ανάγνωσμα!Λιτή και περιεκτική γραφή, υπέροχη σκιαγράφηση χαρακτήρων και πλοκή που κρατά τις αισθήσεις σε επιφυλακή από την πρώτη μέχρι και την τελευταία σελίδα!Τέλεια αρμονία παντού.Είναι το πρώτο βιβλίο της συγγραφέως που κυκλοφορεί στη χώρα και ελπίζω πλέον και σε επόμενα. Με κέρδισε από το πρώτο δευτερόλεπτο συγκινήθηκα έκλαψα θύμωσα λυτρώθηκα. Τόσα συναισθήματα τα ένιωσα όλα στο μέγιστο βαθμό!Ελπίζω να δούμε σύντομα στην Ελλάδα και άλλα βιβλία της. Τελικά κάποια βιβλία δε Απροσδόκητα υπέροχο ανάγνωσμα!Λιτή και περιεκτική γραφή, υπέροχη σκιαγράφηση χαρακτήρων και πλοκή που κρατά τις αισθήσεις σε επιφυλακή από την πρώτη μέχρι και την τελευταία σελίδα!Τέλεια αρμονία παντού.Είναι το πρώτο βιβλίο της συγγραφέως που κυκλοφορεί στη χώρα και ελπίζω πλέον και σε επόμενα. Με κέρδισε από το πρώτο δευτερόλεπτο συγκινήθηκα έκλαψα θύμωσα λυτρώθηκα. Τόσα συναισθήματα τα ένιωσα όλα στο μέγιστο βαθμό!Ελπίζω να δούμε σύντομα στην Ελλάδα και άλλα βιβλία της. Τελικά κάποια βιβλία δεν έχουν την ανάλογη διαφήμιση αλλά σου κάνουν το ''κλικ''από την αρχή! Στην συγκεκριμένη περίπτωση λοιπόν έπαιξε ρόλο το ένστικτό μου και δεν βγήκα χαμένη αντίθετα κερδισμένη .Μην το προσπεράσατε!!
    more
  • Océano de libros
    May 26, 2016
    Tina Craig espera el momento adecuado para poder abandonar su casa y su matrimonio con un hombre que la maltrata. Mientras tanto se embarca de lleno en la función de encontrar a la persona a la que está destinada una carta que encuentra en un viejo abrigo, así inesperadamente se relacionarán dos vidas.La verdad es que esta novela te pone los pelos de punta y logras empatizar totalmente con su protagonista con el tema de los malos tratos que tanto está de actualidad. Tina debe soportar una vida d Tina Craig espera el momento adecuado para poder abandonar su casa y su matrimonio con un hombre que la maltrata. Mientras tanto se embarca de lleno en la función de encontrar a la persona a la que está destinada una carta que encuentra en un viejo abrigo, así inesperadamente se relacionarán dos vidas.La verdad es que esta novela te pone los pelos de punta y logras empatizar totalmente con su protagonista con el tema de los malos tratos que tanto está de actualidad. Tina debe soportar una vida de miedo con su marido Richard Craig en una época en la que todavía no existe esa “sensibilidad” por este asunto. Nos encontramos con personajes interesantes como Graham el amigo de Tina que la ayuda incondicionalmente, bueno dejando aparte que siente un especial interés. Tina es un fiel reflejo del personaje que representa: una mujer maltratada, maniatada por el miedo, alentada por falsas ilusiones y con resquicios de valentía en ocasiones contadas. Y Rick es el fiel reflejo de un hombre maltratador que no solo lo hace físicamente sino que sobretodo juega con la mentalidad de su víctima. Es curioso como también al final podemos tenerle cierta consideración porque él también es víctima de sus circunstancias.La pareja formada por Christina y Bill despierta mi cariño, una historia preciosa, con sus buenos y malos momentos.También tenemos otros dos personajes más que me gustaron como son William Lane y Jackie. Y luego personajes como el padre de Christina y las monjas que despertaron en mí el más absoluto de los desprecios.En suma, dos momentos distintos en el tiempo que reflejan sociedades dispares, una más dura, intolerante en ciertos aspectos, esa que se basaba en el qué dirán y que ofrece soluciones más drásticas. Si lo resumiese en una frase diría que: es una novela con encanto.Aún no había tenido el placer de leer nada de esta autora pero me ha encantado la forma sencilla y ágil de narrar, la manera de ambientar la novela. Sólo se desarrolla en momentos clave y dejándonos enganchados con el siguiente capítulo con las ansias de saber cómo continua la historia. Todo esto también es gracias a que va alternando esas dos épocas con dos historias muy interesantes, tanto la de Tina como la de Bill y Christina.La novela a pesar de tener sus momentos agridulces me ha conquistado por esa calidez y detalle con la que está escrita. En definitiva que me ha dejado con muy buenas sensaciones.
    more
  • Vincent
    December 28, 2014
    Having struggled through Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch, a book that took me almost three weeks to read, I was looking for something light to read over the Christmas. The name Kathryn Hughes caught my attention because I have a niece who spells her name the same way, with a K and a Y. When I read in the acknowledgements that her husband's name is Robert Hughes, my nephew's name, I smiled at the coincidence and decided to give the book a read. Of course, the coincidences didn't stop there. It is a b Having struggled through Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch, a book that took me almost three weeks to read, I was looking for something light to read over the Christmas. The name Kathryn Hughes caught my attention because I have a niece who spells her name the same way, with a K and a Y. When I read in the acknowledgements that her husband's name is Robert Hughes, my nephew's name, I smiled at the coincidence and decided to give the book a read. Of course, the coincidences didn't stop there. It is a book of coincidences, and if you don't believe in fate, then you will probably think that the story is a bit too contrived. I loved the book. I read it in one sitting by the fireside and found myself totally gripped from start to finish. It is a very skillfully written story. The characters are very well drawn and very real. I cared about them. I will remember Christmas 2014 for the very pleasant hours I spent reading this lovely book.
    more
  • Lucia
    March 19, 2017
    U ovoj se knjizi isprepliću poglavlja o životima dviju žena, jedne iz 70-ih godina prošlog stoljeća i jedne sa samog početka Drugog svjetskog rata.Prvo upoznajemo Tinu Craig, odanu suprugu i veliku radnicu koja osim što radi od jutra do mraka, vikendom volontira u trgovini rabljenom robom. Tina se skriva iz tog silnog posla kako bi što manje bila kod kuće sa svojim suprugom zlostavljačem. Tina ih uzdržava jer je Rick nezaposlen pa vrijeme provodi kod kuće kladeći se i svakodnevno opijajući. Tina U ovoj se knjizi isprepliću poglavlja o životima dviju žena, jedne iz 70-ih godina prošlog stoljeća i jedne sa samog početka Drugog svjetskog rata.Prvo upoznajemo Tinu Craig, odanu suprugu i veliku radnicu koja osim što radi od jutra do mraka, vikendom volontira u trgovini rabljenom robom. Tina se skriva iz tog silnog posla kako bi što manje bila kod kuće sa svojim suprugom zlostavljačem. Tina ih uzdržava jer je Rick nezaposlen pa vrijeme provodi kod kuće kladeći se i svakodnevno opijajući. Tina živi iz dana u dan u strahu svako jutro strepeći kakav će biti njen muž kad se probuditi. Pokorno se pobrine da ga dočekaju cigarete na noćnom ormariću i friško pripremljen čaj kako bi izbjegla prodike i udarce. Njen muž je manipulativan i agresivan pijanac koji se skrušeno pokaje i rasplače svaki put kad digne ruke na nju. Od dana njihovog vjenčanja Rick ju redovito maltretira i zlostavlja. Udario ju je i rasjekao usnicu, ugasio cigaretu na njenoj ruci, silovao i ukrao njenu ušteđevinu kako bi ju uložio na konja. Tina mu se sve oprašta misleći da će se popraviti. Njegovo ponašanje varira od pasivno pokajničkog do nasilno agresivnog. Tina skuplja snagu i uspijeva pobjeći. U međuvremenu, Tina pronalazi u džepu starog odijela pismo koje joj daje motivaciju i unutarnju snagu. Tina pod svaku cijenu pokušava saznati tko su bili ljudi i odluči dostaviti pismo osobi kojoj je namijenjeno. Pismo nas vraća na ljubavnu priču s početka Drugog svjetskog rata. Upoznajemo Tininu imenjakinju, Chrissie, djevojku koja odrasta u izrazito patrijarhalnoj obitelji. Njen otac posjeduje ambulantu i uvaženi je liječnik. U zajednici ima ugled liječnika koji može izliječiti svaku bolest. Osim toga, strog je i zahtijeva disciplinu, ne samo od žene i kćeri već i od pacijenata. Chrissie prema njemu osjeća strahopoštovanje i boji ga se. Kad se jedne večeri ogluši na stroga pravila svojih roditelja i ode sa svojom prijateljicom u plesnu dvoranu, upozna šarmantnog i zgodnog Billyja i njegovog prijatelja Clarka. Misleći da se nikad neće svidjeti nekom kao što je Billy, večer provodi u ugodnom razgovoru i plesu s Clarkom. U međuvremenu, Billyja odmah zgrabi njena prijateljica. Skriveni pogledi i ogromna kemija između Chrisse i Billyja tijekom cijele večeri potaknuli su Billyja da riskira svoje dugogodišnje prijateljstvo s Clarkom i započne vezu s Chrisse. Chrissin otac je protiv njihove veze i spreman je učiniti sve kako bi ju uništio. Naposljetku, Billy nema izbora i povjerava mu pismo za Chrissie. Chrissie nikad ne dobije pismo, a upravo ga Tina pronalazi nakon 35 godina. Osim ljubavne priče, ova knjiga obrađuje jedan veliki problem: zlostavljanje. Tinu suprug zlostavlja od prvog dana vjenčanja, a ona se svesrdno nada da će se on popraviti. Uz zlostavljanje, Rick je teški alkoholičar i kockar. Kad skupi snage i napokon ga napusti, Tini počinje nedostajati njen dom i suprug. Je li normalno da ti nedostaje suprug zlostavljač? Ovdje je jasno opisano kako zlostavljane žene uvijek gledaju samo dobro kod muža zlostavljača, uvjerene su da će se promijeniti i uvijek mu nađu opravdanje jer žarko žele da sve bude kao prije, prije nego što opijanje i zlostavljanje sve upropastili. Zlostavljač ih čak uvjeri da su one krive za sve i one povjeruju u to. Iako su prijatelji Tini govorili da se Rick nije mogao preko noći promijeniti, da mu je potrebna stručna pomoć da bi se izliječio, Tina ih nije poslušala. Povratak mužu je zauvijek obilježio i promijenio njen život jer je izgubila nešto najdragocjenije u životu.Ova priča govori i o teškom položaju trudnih neudanih žena s početka 40-ih godina prošlog stoljeća. Na takve žene gledalo se kao na posrnule žene i razvratnice, društvo bi ih odbacilo, a obitelji bi ih se odrekle. Takav događaj smatrao se kao sramota za cijelu obitelj pogotovo ako je riječ o obitelji najuglednijeg liječnika. Tako je Chrissie zbog svog čina prognana daleko od kuće, a naposljetku u samostan gdje je rodila. Tamo su se prema njoj odnosili kao prema bludnici, trebala je mukotrpno raditi, podnositi zlostavljanja i udaranja i još biti zahvalna što imaju hranu i krov nad glavom. Nakon što se dijete rodilo, Chrissie ga se trebala odreći i potpisati papire da ga nikad neće potražiti. Vrlo zanimljivo i lagano štivo. Knjigu sam pročitala u jednom danu. Autoricu krasi jednostavan stil pisanja, bez složenih opisa, razrađenih likova i fabule. Međutim, to je ono što mi je nedostajalo. U priči sudjeluje puno likova jer se priča gradi kroz dvije različite priče koje se na kraju povezuju. Likovi nisu duboko profilirani pa ova knjiga nije ostavila dubok trag na mene. Na trenutke emotivna i zanimljiva, ali ne u takvom razmjeru da bih dugo razmišljala o njoj i ponovno ju uzela u ruke.
    more
  • Clare Flynn
    January 22, 2015
    The premise of finding an unposted 30 year old letter in a suit pocket in a charity shop was a very good one - but oh dear the story was stretched out. The book was over-reliant on coincidences. It also stretched The limits of credibility that Chrissy lived for 30 years within 5 miles of the convent, blissfully unaware that of the fact that Grace, who had befriended her in the convent, lived just down the road. In fact nobody appeared to know anybody – something very hard to believe in rural Ire The premise of finding an unposted 30 year old letter in a suit pocket in a charity shop was a very good one - but oh dear the story was stretched out. The book was over-reliant on coincidences. It also stretched The limits of credibility that Chrissy lived for 30 years within 5 miles of the convent, blissfully unaware that of the fact that Grace, who had befriended her in the convent, lived just down the road. In fact nobody appeared to know anybody – something very hard to believe in rural Ireland. On the other hand, in metropolitan Manchester people ran into each other all the time! I found the characters very one-dimensional and black and white with no subtlety or nuance. Characters either had hearts of gold or were unmitigated evil. In particular William was a poorly drawn character who was a classic example of a woman trying and failing to write a man. There was also too much restatement of things the reader already knew for the benefit of other characters. I did finish it though - so the author managed to keep me turning the pages - even though I knew exactly what was going to happen. Oh and one thing in particular jarred for me - a 34 year old man in 1973 saying "awesome" - i don't think so!
    more
  • Paula Sealey
    April 1, 2015
    In the 1970's, while searching through the pockets of a suit bought into the charity shop she works at, Tina discovers a heartfelt letter written in the 1940's by Billy, outlining his love for someone named Chrissie. The letter has a stamp affixed, but was never posted and Tina sets out to find the intended recipient and hand the letter over. Suffering from abuse in her marriage, she sees it as a little escape from her situation, but soon finds herself in terrible danger because of it. The story In the 1970's, while searching through the pockets of a suit bought into the charity shop she works at, Tina discovers a heartfelt letter written in the 1940's by Billy, outlining his love for someone named Chrissie. The letter has a stamp affixed, but was never posted and Tina sets out to find the intended recipient and hand the letter over. Suffering from abuse in her marriage, she sees it as a little escape from her situation, but soon finds herself in terrible danger because of it. The story also follows Chrissie and Billy in the lead up to war, as they meet and fall in love, and the reason for Billy's letter is revealed.A touching tale, 'The Letter' manages to successfully combine stories from different time periods with interesting characters and situations. Tina and her abusive relationship was deftly handled, especially the torment over her decision to leave or stay with her husband. Chrissie and Billy's story intersected well and the loss and heartbreak Chrissie suffers was sympathetically captured, defining the sorrow so many young girls had to endure during the time. A lovely debut novel worth adding to your bookshelf.*Thank you to the publishers for providing a review copy through NetGalley.
    more
  • Ioanna Xristodoyloy
    November 2, 2016
    Ενα πραγματικα υπεροχο βιβλιο...Απο της πρωτες σελιδες του σε κραταει σε εγρηγορση!ιστορια στο χτες και το σημερα δυο διαφορετικων γυναικων που με μαεστρια η συγγραφεας καταφερερνει να δεσει και να μας αποκαληψει ολα τα μυστικα ...μια ιστορια με πολλα κοινωνικα μηνηματα και ενα υπεροχο φιναλε!
    more
  • Ana Rodrigues
    March 24, 2017
    Gostei muito apesar de abordar temas pesados.Mesmo assim, é de fácil leitura e uma pessoa não descansa enquanto não descobrir o que acontece às personagens.
  • Sarah
    April 21, 2015
    I actually won a copy of this book in a giveaway on Twitter and I am so glad I did as I don't know when or if I would have come across this wonderful book and the author otherwise.This truly is a wonderful book, I found it to be very deep and beautifully written and it is one book that I think will stay with me for a long time.The story starts with Tina who works in a charity shop and comes across a letter dated many years before. Intrigued by the people and the story behind the letter Tina sets I actually won a copy of this book in a giveaway on Twitter and I am so glad I did as I don't know when or if I would have come across this wonderful book and the author otherwise.This truly is a wonderful book, I found it to be very deep and beautifully written and it is one book that I think will stay with me for a long time.The story starts with Tina who works in a charity shop and comes across a letter dated many years before. Intrigued by the people and the story behind the letter Tina sets out to find the person who the letter was intended for. The story then swaps between present day with Tina and her troublesome marriage and years before where the story of the people behind the letter unfolds.I loved the characters and even felt sorry for a couple of the unlikeable ones towards the end. I think Tina, Chrissie and Billy especially will stay with me for quite a while yet.The Letter takes you through a mixture of emotions, it is very much a compelling read that once you've started you will struggle to put down. Can't recommend highly enough.
    more
  • Γιώτα Παπαδημακοπούλου
    July 3, 2016
    Υπάρχουν ορισμένα βιβλία τα οποία δεν πολυδιαφημίζονται κι όμως, όταν τα συναντήσεις, κάτι σε προκαλεί να τα πάρεις στα χέρια σου και να τα διαβάσεις. Άλλοτε είναι το εξώφυλλο, άλλοτε η περίληψη, καμιά φορά ο συνδυασμός των δύο, υπάρχουν όμως και οι φορές εκείνες που ένα ανάγνωσμα το περιβάλλει μία παράξενη αύρα στην οποία δεν μπορείς ν' αντισταθείς. Μια τέτοια περίπτωση είναι και "Το γράμμα" της Kathryn Hughes, που πρόσφατα κυκλοφόρησε από τις εκδόσεις Διόπτρα, και που χωρίς να είναι κάτι το ξε Υπάρχουν ορισμένα βιβλία τα οποία δεν πολυδιαφημίζονται κι όμως, όταν τα συναντήσεις, κάτι σε προκαλεί να τα πάρεις στα χέρια σου και να τα διαβάσεις. Άλλοτε είναι το εξώφυλλο, άλλοτε η περίληψη, καμιά φορά ο συνδυασμός των δύο, υπάρχουν όμως και οι φορές εκείνες που ένα ανάγνωσμα το περιβάλλει μία παράξενη αύρα στην οποία δεν μπορείς ν' αντισταθείς. Μια τέτοια περίπτωση είναι και "Το γράμμα" της Kathryn Hughes, που πρόσφατα κυκλοφόρησε από τις εκδόσεις Διόπτρα, και που χωρίς να είναι κάτι το ξεχωριστό ή το ιδιαίτερο -έχουμε διαβάσει αρκετές φορές παρόμοιου περιεχομένου κι αισθητικής ιστορίες-, καταφέρνει να σου προκαλέσει όμορφα και τρυφερά συναισθήματα.Βρισκόμαστε στο 1970, και η Τίνα Κρέγκ, μια κακοποιημένη από τον σύζυγό της γυναίκα, που δυστυχεί βαθιά μέσα στο γάμο της, βρίσκει ένα γράμμα στην τσέπη ενός κοστουμιού που κάποιος έχει προσφέρει ως δωρεά, στο Κέντρο όπου η ίδια εργάζεται εθελοντικά. Το γράμμα σφραγισμένο, μην έχοντας ανοιχτεί ποτέ, κι εκείνη ανίκανη ν' αντισταθεί στην περιέργειά της. Μέσα στο γράμμα, μια επιστολή από το 1939, που ποτέ δεν έφτασε στον προορισμό της. Και μια ακατανίκητη επιθυμία που γεννάτε στην καρδιά της Τίνας, ν' ανακαλύψει περισσότερα σε σχέση με τον αποστολέα και τον παραλήπτη του γράμματος αυτού, που όχι μόνο της δείχνει πως η αγάπη έχει πολλά πρόσωπα, αλλά πως μπορεί να μας αλλάξει τη ζωή και να μας βγάλει από τα σκοτάδια μας τις πιο σκοτεινές μας ώρες.Το πρώτο πράγμα που σκέφτηκα διαβάζοντας την περίληψη του βιβλίου αυτού, ήταν πως μια ιστορία σαν κι αυτή θα μπορούσε εύκολα να είναι γραμμένη από κάποιον συγγραφέα όπως ο Sparks. Και κάτι μου λέει πως η Hughes είναι βαθιά επηρεασμένη από το έργο του μεγάλου -στο είδους του- αυτού συγγραφέα, αφού μπόρεσα να εντοπίσω αρκετά σημεία στον τρόπο αφήγησης της ιστορίας, έστω κι αν η ίδια έχει ακόμα μεγάλο δρόμο μπροστά της για να φτάσει την ανεπιτήδευτη ευαισθησία και έκφραση του τελευταίου. Όπως και να 'χει, όμως, το πρώτο πράγμα που πρέπει να παραδεχτεί κανείς στο βιβλίο αυτό είναι πως καταφέρνει με αρκετά άμεσο τρόπο ν' αγγίξει μερικές από τις πιο λεπτές κι ευαίσθητες χορδές σου. Ταυτίζεσαι με αρκετούς από τους ήρωες των διάφορων υποϊστοριών και βιώνεις το προσωπικό τους δράμα σαν να ήσουν εσύ στη θέση τους, αν και η αλήθεια είναι πως αρκετές φορές θα πιάσεις τον εαυτό σου ν' αποσπάται.Κι εδώ φτάνουμε στο μειονέκτημα του βιβλίο αυτού που δεν είναι άλλο από το ότι προσπαθεί να χωρέσει πολλά καρπούζια κάτω από την ίδια μασχάλη. Η συγγραφέας δεν αρκείται στην ιστορία του παρελθόντος -που σχετίζεται άμεσα με το γράμμα που βρίσκει η Τίνα-, ούτε όμως και στο προσωπικό δράμα της βασικής της πρωταγωνίστριας. Ενδιάμεσα, και όσο το ταξίδι της εξελίσσεται, αφήνει δεκάδες άλλες μικρές ιστορίες να κάνουν την εμφάνισή τους και κατά συνέπεια, πολλούς ακόμα χαρακτήρες, χωρίς να δίνεται ο απαραίτητος χρόνος και χώρος, σε όλα και σε όλους, να εξελιχθούν και ν' αναπτυχθούν έτσι όπως θα μπορούσαν και κυρίως, έτσι όπως θα έπρεπε. Αντιλαμβάνομαι την επιθυμία της συγγραφέως να θέλει να πει πολλά μέσα από το έργο της, αλλά θεωρώ πως το καλύτερο που έχει να κάνει στο μέλλον είναι να βρει τις ισορροπίες ανάμεσα στα "θέλω" της και στο "μπορώ να ενσωματώσω και αυτήν την προέκταση στην αφήγησή μου".Η Τίνα βρίσκει ένα γράμμα και μέσω του "ταξιδιού" της προς την ανακάλυψη της αλήθειας πίσω απ' αυτό, καλείται να βρει ξανά τον εαυτό της και να πάρει καθοριστικές αποφάσεις. Αποφάσεις που θα την καταδικάσουν στο να συνεχίσει να ζει μια μίζερη ζωή, ή μια ζωή στην οποία θα μπορεί ν' αναπνέει ελεύθερα, να βιώνει, να ονειρεύεται, να ελπίζει και κυρίως, θα μπορεί ν' αγαπάει ειλικρινά και αληθινά, βρίσκοντας η καρδιά της ανταπόκριση σε όλα αυτά που εκείνη νιώθει. Και αυτό είναι που αγάπησα στο βιβλίο αυτό. Την τρυφερή του αισιοδοξία, αλλά και την απλότητα πάνω στην οποία στηρίζει την προσωπική του αλήθεια, όσο πολύπλοκη κι αν προσπάθησε να την καταστήσει η ίδια η αφήγηση, εμπλέκοντας δεκάδες γεγονότα και καταστάσεις στον βασικό της άξονα. Γιατί, ακόμα και τις πιο συννεφιασμένες μέρες της ζωής μας, ο ήλιος παραμονεύει πίσω από το σύννεφα. Κι εμείς, το μόνο που έχουμε να κάνουμε, είναι να περιμένουμε υπομονετικά για να τον αντικρίσουμε.
    more
  • Lisa
    August 4, 2013
    I was totally taken away by this novel which tells a moving if sad story of love lost and found; two stories thirty years apart which become one. It is 1973 and Tina is in an abusive marriage and contemplating her future when she comes across a letter in the pocket of a suit donated to the charity shop in which she works. Addressed to another Christina - Tina's full name - Tina is intrigued by the coincidence and her imagination fired when she realises that the letter was never franked and thus I was totally taken away by this novel which tells a moving if sad story of love lost and found; two stories thirty years apart which become one. It is 1973 and Tina is in an abusive marriage and contemplating her future when she comes across a letter in the pocket of a suit donated to the charity shop in which she works. Addressed to another Christina - Tina's full name - Tina is intrigued by the coincidence and her imagination fired when she realises that the letter was never franked and thus never sent. What could possibly have been the reason that this letter never reached the recipient? 1939 and Billy and Chrissie have met at a dance. Chrissie is the daughter of a local doctor and midwife, an only child, she is allowed very little freedom and when she falls for Billy she falls hard. With Britain on the brink of war, when Chrissie discovers she is pregnant with Billy's child she has no idea what turn her future will take. The story moves back and forth between the stories of Tina and Chrissie, women who both face hard choices. Tina has decided that the letter needs to finally be delivered to its intended recipient and begins her efforts to track down Chrissie unaware that on the other side of the world another person is also setting out in the task to track down the unknown Chrissie Skinner. It's inevitable that their paths will cross but will they find Chrissie and will they discover the story of why she never did get that letter? This is quite a simple story but told with a great depth of human understanding and a deal of warmth. The story moves along at a nice pace keeping the reader interested and never once veering from the story with irrelevant detail. I loved the little details of the Seventies - tinned peaches and Carnation cream, the power cuts and black and white TV. The characters were all very realistic and I couldn't help but warm to the main ones. The subject of abusive marriage was dealt with accurately and sympathetically as was the pregnancy out of wedlock and I felt the author had really captured the feelings of the times in which the stories were set. I can honestly say that I really enjoyed this novel, finding it easy to engage with and never losing interest in either the story or the characters and I thought the ending was just right - yes, I admit, it even brought a tear to my eye! I'll look forward to more by this author.
    more
  • Bianca
    June 27, 2015
    I've received this novel via NetGalley, thanks to the publishers for the opportunity to read and review.This wasn't a bad novel, but it felt familiar like I read the story before. Tina is a battered wife in the 1970s. She volunteers in a second-hand shop, and there she finds a letter in a donated suit. The letter was from 1939 and it was addressed to Chrissie. Touched by what she read, she decides to find out more about the sender and the addressee.There are quite a few characters and stories fr I've received this novel via NetGalley, thanks to the publishers for the opportunity to read and review.This wasn't a bad novel, but it felt familiar like I read the story before. Tina is a battered wife in the 1970s. She volunteers in a second-hand shop, and there she finds a letter in a donated suit. The letter was from 1939 and it was addressed to Chrissie. Touched by what she read, she decides to find out more about the sender and the addressee.There are quite a few characters and stories from different decades. I thought the characters were unidimensional, not developed enough. While I liked that the story was written in the third person, there was a lot of head hopping going on - I found that distracting.Given that this novel had lots of elements that usually tug at my heartstrings: a sad love story, a battered woman, stories about the odious Catholic nuns and their treatment of unmarried mothers, child death etc., I felt detached and unengaged through most of it. In many ways, this novel felt like one of those LifeTime (?) movies, which can be enjoyable, but they're no Oscar winners.
    more
  • Andreia Silva
    February 10, 2016
    Confesso que não esperava um livro tão bom . Por ironia do destino , uma carta vem parar às mãos de uma mulher que realmente precisa de ajuda para enfrentar um casamento violento . O destino é uma coisa engraçada . Não vou revelar mais , acho que é um livro que merece ser lido e ser reconhecido .
    more
  • Carol
    September 9, 2015
    Predictable. Would make a great Lifetime movie.
  • Joanne Robertson
    March 20, 2015
    This is such a "can't put it down" read that I advise you to clear your day once you pick it up because you won't be putting it down again anytime soon. What started as a "I will have a little read for half an hour" led to a very lazy day and night on the sofa and our Sunday roast being 2 hours later than normal!The prologue is a sweet opening of a granddaughter asking her grandparents how they met then BANG (literally) as we meet Tina who is living with her abusive, possessive husband. Tina esc This is such a "can't put it down" read that I advise you to clear your day once you pick it up because you won't be putting it down again anytime soon. What started as a "I will have a little read for half an hour" led to a very lazy day and night on the sofa and our Sunday roast being 2 hours later than normal!The prologue is a sweet opening of a granddaughter asking her grandparents how they met then BANG (literally) as we meet Tina who is living with her abusive, possessive husband. Tina escapes on Saturdays to her job at the charity shop and while there finds "The Letter" hidden in the pocket of a donated suit. She is stirred, while reading it, into trying to reunite it with the recipient and so we are led into the story of Chrissie and Billy 34 years earlier.I had seen this book in the best sellers chart for such a long time but had been put of it and I am really not sure why as I feel a prize idiot now! It isn't the normal sort of genre for me as I am not keen on "historical" fiction but this blew me away. I loved the characters especially Billy (would have liked to find out what happened to his best friend though) and really wanted everything to work out well for them. I found some bits very emotional to read and I certainly had a tear (oh alright then more than one!) in my eye by the epilogue. That's really unusual for me and a sign of a much loved read! Off to tell my mum now to download this one immediately!I received a copy of this book via netgalley in return for an honest review so many thanks to them and the publisher.
    more
  • Chris N
    August 1, 2013
    This book had me angry, sad and happy pretty much throughout the book. It starts with Tina and Rick. Rick is an abusive drunkard who is a jealous man. Tina is a gentle soul who after much abuse leaves her husband after he rapes her only to go back to him when she finds out she is pregnant. Tina works a full time job and a part time one in a charity shop to get away from Rick on Saturdays. A suit is brought in to the shop and in the pocket there is a letter to Chrissy from Billy. This letter star This book had me angry, sad and happy pretty much throughout the book. It starts with Tina and Rick. Rick is an abusive drunkard who is a jealous man. Tina is a gentle soul who after much abuse leaves her husband after he rapes her only to go back to him when she finds out she is pregnant. Tina works a full time job and a part time one in a charity shop to get away from Rick on Saturdays. A suit is brought in to the shop and in the pocket there is a letter to Chrissy from Billy. This letter starts another part of the book and brings Tina on a journey that will change her life.I really wanted to shake Tina sometimes for going back to the abusive relationship but this book is set in the early 70's in England, things were different back then and pretty much everywhere. There were so many parts of that story that just broke my heart.The second story of Billy and Chrissy which takes place in 1939 is another heartbreaking part of the book as well. Their story was a love story torn apart by her controlling father and a war.I love how the author wove the two stories together seamlessly and brought all the characters together from the past and present to present a beautiful book that not only breaks your heart but also restores your faith in true love.This was an incredible book that brought out so many emotions in me and one that lingered with me.This book was provided to me as an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Tracy Shephard
    March 30, 2016
    Tina's life is miserable. Married to Rick who is an abusive drunken bully and controls her every move in the name of love.Working in a charity shop she finds an unposted letter in a donated suit pocket and sets on journey to find the recipient.Billy Stirling, whose story of his adoption and his life before it is both sad and poignant. Girls loved Billy, but it was Chrissie who eventually stole his heart and the person to whom the letter is written.War is declared and Chrissie discovers that the Tina's life is miserable. Married to Rick who is an abusive drunken bully and controls her every move in the name of love.Working in a charity shop she finds an unposted letter in a donated suit pocket and sets on journey to find the recipient.Billy Stirling, whose story of his adoption and his life before it is both sad and poignant. Girls loved Billy, but it was Chrissie who eventually stole his heart and the person to whom the letter is written.War is declared and Chrissie discovers that the old wives tale of not being able to get pregnant whilst standing up is completely untrue.With the settings of Manchester and Ireland Kathryn Hughes novel tells a tale that is both heartbreaking and beautiful. It is a captivating and stirring read that will completely break the readers heart then piece it back together with momentous joy.Tina and Chrissie's lives are connected by circumstance and the events that eventually bring them together is an emotional road.Kathryn Hughes is able to tell a tale that has a hint of true fact and a lot of fictional charm. I loved this novel, even though I was a complete mess while reading.It would make a fabulous book club read, as there are a lot of issues surround the main characters.Stunning.
    more
  • Whitney (First Impressions Reviews)
    July 12, 2013
    The Letter is a Lifetime movie. It has all the elements, with a battered wife, discovery of one's past and unexpected love (not to mention a heartfelt reunion). Kathryn Hughes' book would be a good Saturday morning film on a rainy day. Don't get me wrong, I like Lifetime movies, they are my guilty pleasure, I've just seen enough to know one when I see it. Having said that, I enjoyed The Letter but it isn't something I'd be bragging to my friends about. Even though The Letter held my interest, I The Letter is a Lifetime movie. It has all the elements, with a battered wife, discovery of one's past and unexpected love (not to mention a heartfelt reunion). Kathryn Hughes' book would be a good Saturday morning film on a rainy day. Don't get me wrong, I like Lifetime movies, they are my guilty pleasure, I've just seen enough to know one when I see it. Having said that, I enjoyed The Letter but it isn't something I'd be bragging to my friends about. Even though The Letter held my interest, I found it predictable and at times lacked substance, such as Tina's naivety in her abusive marriage. Both she and the plot were weak and could have used a pick-me-up. Christina, who the letter was written for I found more interesting. She has a riches to rags which I found more compelling and richer with a 1940s backdrop. The blurring of the two stories was nicely done but it irked me that both the two main characters in each story were named Christina and William. It was just too cutesy for me. Overall, The Letter was a fluff of a book but would fit the bill for a decent mindless read.
    more
  • Sedaca
    September 26, 2016
    Klasik Arkadya kitaplarımızdan birisi daha bitti. Chrissie'in Billy'nin mektubunu okuduktan sonra iç huzura kavuşması bir nebze içimi rahatlatsa da keşke Billy'de az buçuk mutlu olabilseydi. :/ Tina-William cephesinde yaşananlar bu kitabın en sevdiğim kısmı oldu. :) Hayat zaten zaman zaman zor ve sıkıntılı bir süreç, en azından kitaplarda bir şeyler yolunda gitsin ama demi :)Geçmiş-günümüz bağlantılı, hem hüzünlü hem mucizelerle dolu harika bir hikaye. Tavsiye ederim
    more
  • Margarita Morris
    April 1, 2015
    Dreadfully dull. Complete drivel. Clunky passages of back story. Gave up after chapter three.
  • Jeanie
    December 17, 2014
    Rating 3.5A great Historical fiction engages the reader in history and I thought this one did it well. How does a love letter tie two women together? The letter was written to Christina before WWII. Decades later was found by Tina, never opened. The narration is told by the two women. Christina the daughter of a prominent Doctor, who also helped her family with her father’s practice, falls for the guy on the other side of the tracks and her life is never the same. Her father makes her life miser Rating 3.5A great Historical fiction engages the reader in history and I thought this one did it well. How does a love letter tie two women together? The letter was written to Christina before WWII. Decades later was found by Tina, never opened. The narration is told by the two women. Christina the daughter of a prominent Doctor, who also helped her family with her father’s practice, falls for the guy on the other side of the tracks and her life is never the same. Her father makes her life miserable as Christina falls more in love during a time when the world is at war.Tina is going thru a war of her own in her marriage. Tina is married to an abusive husband and she is fighting to make things right. Volunteering at a charity store (equivalent to Goodwill) sorting thru clothes, she finds the letter written by Billie to Christina. The letter is sealed and Tina is perplexed that Christina never read the desperate letter to her. She makes it her mission to solve the mystery of what happened to this couple. In doing so, she finds the strength to discover love for herself.The pain that each woman faced and fought thru is what makes this an engaging read. The character development was a little mechanical for me but I was very engaged in the plot!A special thank you , Matador and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ireadnovels.wordpress.com
    October 21, 2015
    review by www.ireadnovels.wordpress.comEvery so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Tina Craig works all the hours she can and volunteers in a charity shop in Manchester to avoid going home to her drunken abusive partner. After all it was her wages that paid the rent, while Rick spent his time getting drunk and betting. Tina can not take any more of Rick's abusive drunken ways and leaves him. In Tina's bag she fo review by www.ireadnovels.wordpress.comEvery so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Tina Craig works all the hours she can and volunteers in a charity shop in Manchester to avoid going home to her drunken abusive partner. After all it was her wages that paid the rent, while Rick spent his time getting drunk and betting. Tina can not take any more of Rick's abusive drunken ways and leaves him. In Tina's bag she found a letter that she had found in old suit in the charity shop address to My darling Christina and was signed from Billy. Tina found a bond with this Chrissie as Tina was christened Christina. Tina wondered what happened to Chrissie and their baby. Tina thought maybe she could try to find out who these people were and deliver the letter to its rightful recipient. At least it would welcome distraction from all her other problems since she has left Rick.The letter has moving themes of love and loss. It has brought many readers to tears.
    more
  • Tim Worley live
    December 5, 2014
    If you choose one book this weekend make sure you read this. A fantastic debut novel that explores two parallel lives of how love can hurt in similar circumstances. Set in 1973 and 1939 it is a powerful realisation of how missed opportunities can impact the lives future generations.. The story follows Tina who is in an abusive relationship, yet tries to unravel a mystery from 35 years previously. This is essentially a love story. It made me happy, sad, and angry. The plot carefully drives this s If you choose one book this weekend make sure you read this. A fantastic debut novel that explores two parallel lives of how love can hurt in similar circumstances. Set in 1973 and 1939 it is a powerful realisation of how missed opportunities can impact the lives future generations.. The story follows Tina who is in an abusive relationship, yet tries to unravel a mystery from 35 years previously. This is essentially a love story. It made me happy, sad, and angry. The plot carefully drives this story however the ending is too predictable. Get the tissues ready. I liked the fact that various issues were explored such as domestic violence and adoption without it becoming an issue led narrative. Key to this was strong characterisation - the principle characters were well thought out. I felt that although the book tied up all the loose ends to the mystery, it left me wanting more. Maybe the story finished a chapter too early. Was this a love story destined to have a happy ending as I felt the ending too rushed. Will deffo be reading another from Kathry Hughes.
    more
  • Lynn
    July 23, 2013
    I received this book through Net Galley.comAt first, I thought The Letter was going to be predictable chick-lit. But, the more I read, the more I began to see how a letter penned but not posted can have huge, unforeseen consequences on many, many lives. The Letter of the title was written in 1939, as England prepared for war, meant to smooth over a poor decision. Addressed to Chrissie [Christina], undelivered, it lays forgotten in a jacket pocket until 1973, when another Christina [Tina] finds i I received this book through Net Galley.comAt first, I thought The Letter was going to be predictable chick-lit. But, the more I read, the more I began to see how a letter penned but not posted can have huge, unforeseen consequences on many, many lives. The Letter of the title was written in 1939, as England prepared for war, meant to smooth over a poor decision. Addressed to Chrissie [Christina], undelivered, it lays forgotten in a jacket pocket until 1973, when another Christina [Tina] finds it and sets out to find the owner.This is a tale of motherhood denied, of love unshared, of violence and remorse, of friendship, of perseverance, and of second chances and forgiveness. A wonderful read!
    more
Write a review