Battle of the Beasts (House of Secrets, #2)
Since the siblings' last adventure, life in the Walker household is much improved—the family is rich and the Wind Witch is banished. But no Walker will be safe until she is found, and summoning her to San Francisco brings all the danger that comes with her and puts the Walkers in the crosshairs of a mysterious journey through Denver Kristoff's books. As the Walkers travel from ancient Rome to World War II to Tibet, they'll be tested in ways that cut deeper than before, by Denver Kristoff, the Wind Witch, and each other.

Battle of the Beasts (House of Secrets, #2) Details

TitleBattle of the Beasts (House of Secrets, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMar 25th, 2014
PublisherBalzer & Bray/Harperteen
ISBN0062192493
ISBN-139780062192493
Number of pages465 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Adventure, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult

Battle of the Beasts (House of Secrets, #2) Review

  • Mohammed Arabey
    December 20, 2013
    كم مرة شعرت أن الهروب لمغامرة بداخل رواية أمرا أجمل من واقعنا الرتيب ومتاعبه؟لكن بالنسبة للثلاث أشقاء ووكر هذا يعتبر لعنة، فهم سجناء في عالم خيالي مزيج من 3 روايات رهيبة كابوسيةولكن هل هذا فعلا أسوأ من الواقع؟ألم يصير الجميع هاربا بالفعل؟هذه هي التيمة الأساسية بالجزء الثاني..هذه المرة يتلاعب بيت الأسرار بهم ليقنعهم أن العالم الخيالي هو أفضل من عالمهم الواقعي..المحطم،البائس"ما الذي تتحدث عنه؟"قالتها كورديلا التي شعرت فجأه أنها تدافع عن حياتها بأكملها"سان فرانسيسكو مبهرة""حقا؟ حيث كل الناس دائما ي كم مرة شعرت أن الهروب لمغامرة بداخل رواية أمرا أجمل من واقعنا الرتيب ومتاعبه؟لكن بالنسبة للثلاث أشقاء ووكر هذا يعتبر لعنة، فهم سجناء في عالم خيالي مزيج من 3 روايات رهيبة كابوسيةولكن هل هذا فعلا أسوأ من الواقع؟ألم يصير الجميع هاربا بالفعل؟هذه هي التيمة الأساسية بالجزء الثاني..هذه المرة يتلاعب بيت الأسرار بهم ليقنعهم أن العالم الخيالي هو أفضل من عالمهم الواقعي..المحطم،البائس"ما الذي تتحدث عنه؟"قالتها كورديلا التي شعرت فجأه أنها تدافع عن حياتها بأكملها"سان فرانسيسكو مبهرة""حقا؟ حيث كل الناس دائما يحدقون في تليفوناتهم، ويضغطون بأصابعهم؟ أنا أراهم من نوافذ المقاهي..ينقرون بأصابعهم كأنهم مصابين بمرض ما""أنت تبالغ بشدــ""وماذا عن هذه الأماكن التي تسمونها مركز اللياقة؟ كل هؤلاء الناس مرتبطون بأجهزة,يجرون في أماكنهم كفأر تجارب؟ ما المغزي؟""ليبقوا في لياقة وشكل مناسب""إذن لم لا يجتمع بعض الاصدقاء لدورة كرة قدم؟ النقطة هنا هي أن الناس في عالمك يفضلون البقاء وحدهم عن البقاء مع شخص أخر. ولكن هناـ" نزل ويل بالطائرة ورفعها مرة اخري ,فأطلقت كورديلا صرخة رعب "ـ"هنا نحن في مغامرة هذا العيب الرهيب بعالمنا.. كل منا في عالمه في هاتفه...والذي تحدثت عليه من قبل في مقالات أخترنا لك هي ما لعبت روح المؤلف الكابوسي كريستوف التي تطاردهم من خلال رواياته التي يعيشون أهوالهافي الجزء الثاني تستمر المغامرات، تستمر اللعنة والتي بالرغم من انها تبدأ بشكل مختلف هذه المرة الا انها ليست بالقوة التي بدأت بها أحداث الجزء السابقتبدأ بأن الأشقاء الثلاث يقابلهم مشاكل سواء عائلية أو في الدراسة.. وبسبب حدث ما في النادي البوهيمي بسان فرانسسكو بعودة كريستوف له أنفسهم مرة اخري ينتقلون بمنزلهم، منزل الأسرار ، لثلاث عوالم خيالية مختلفة من روايات كريستوف الجهنميةرواية في أجواء الرومان وصراعات المصارعين الوحشية مع وحوش رهيبة، والتي يشرف عليها امبراطور روماني سادي مجنونوآخري في اجواء الحرب العالمية الثانية ، ولكن هنا يقوم النازيون بإستخدام جنود من الروبوت، وحشية مصفحة ضد الموتوقصة ثالثة في اجواء التبت الجليدية القارصة، ومعبد للرهبان البوذيين يواجهه وحوشا خرافيةليجد أصدقائنا الثلاثة ، براندون و اليانور وكورديلا ، وينضم لهم ويل مرة اخري في عوالم كابوسية سجناء بها والخروج منها صار اصعبخاصا عندما يشعرون ان ذلك العالم الخيالي قد يكون افضل من الواقع...ولكن العالم الخيالي سيتحول لكابوسا بحق عندما تبدأ صراعات الوحوش~~~~~~~~~~~للأسف لم يتم استخدام جزء النادي البوهيمي بشكل جيد كما كان متوقعا ان يكون اكبر، فهو بالجزء الاول شعرت أنه سيربط الأحداث التاريخية بالفانتازيا بالأخص تم البناء لفكرة هامة به منذ الجزء الأول -ربما ايضا توقعت ان يكون هناك دورا للماسونية ربما ولكن يبدو أنها تم تأجيلها ربما من المؤلفان لكتاب قادم لا نعلم مصيره بعد- التطور في الشخصيات كان ممتازا واكثر واقعية ونضجا ، وأن كان غريب بالنسبة للتغير في حياة والدهم.. أيضا من الأسئلة المفتوحة حتي الجزء القادم أعجبني جدا بالربع الأول الشعور بروح وحياة الأخوات، المشاكل اليومية التي تواجههم في البيت او المدرسة، الأثارة لشراء طلب من عن طريق الأنترنت ، سخرية زملاء المدرسة من أمور تافهة ، وغيرها الكثيروبالرغم من أن الأنتقال للعوالم الثلاثة لم يكن جديدا ولكن الأحداث به هي التي كانت جديدة ومختلفة عن الجزء الأولعالم الرومان وحلبات الصراع الوحشيعالم الحرب العالمية الثانية -بعد الحرب العالمية الأولي بالجزء الأول- والنازيين الآليينثم عالم التبت ووحوش الجليد والرهبان البوذيينوظل التشويق والاثارة بها ممتدا حتي النهاية.. فكما قالت جي كي رولينج عن الجزء الاول انه كالارجوحة الافعوانية ترفعك وتهبط بك بسرعة في احداث متلاحقة لاهثة مثيرةستظل هكذا حتي النهاية، وهل سيخرج عائلة ووكر من تلك العوالم الكابوسية أم لا، وهل ستنتهي تلك اللعنة اخيرا؟لعنة بيت الأسرار~~~~~~~~~حسنا لكل رواية قيمة ماوأعتقد أنك ستدرك مغزاها بالنهايةحتي وأن كانت كنهايات الأفلام الهوليوودية التقليدية ,ألا أنك ستخرج من أحداث الرواية بشعور جيدان تقبل الواقع بتحدياتهوتواجه تلك التحديات ، اعتبرها وحوشك وواجهها واهزمها ولا تهرب منهاايا كانت تلك الوحوشجليدية، مفترسة، آلية، امبراطور او قائد عسكري فاسد مستبدكلها تحديات ولكن لا مانع من أضافة بعض السحر والخيال من حين لأخركانت أخر قراءة ب2014 لأبطال عشقت مغامراتهم من اخر قراءة معهم في العام الماضيوسأفتقد سحر مغامراتهم لحين معرفة هل سيصدر جزء جديد من بيت الأسرار أم لاDedicated to Ned Vizzini 1981 - 2013محمد العربي من 18 ديسمبر 2014إلي 25 ديسمبر 2014--------------ومن سحر الخيال , للعمل بنصيحة الرواية وقراءة التاريخ والواقع وعدم الهروب منهإلي رحلة لا أعلم بعد عقباها إلي الحرب العالمية الأوليبدون وحوشوأن كنت أري أن بعض البشر وقتها كانوا وحوشا بما فيه الكفايةأولي قراءتي التاريخية وكين فوليت ..ًصراع العمالقة
    more
  • Yana
    April 1, 2017
    What they thought was a continuation of their normal lives, the Walker kids unexpectedly found themselves at the start of another dangerous yet thrilling adventure. Although I haven't got the chance to know more of the kids' personalities in the first book. Battle of the Beasts made sure that its readers will be able to witness the development of our protagonists' characters and how well they have learned from their past journey. Minor characters came back at the beginning of this book but it's What they thought was a continuation of their normal lives, the Walker kids unexpectedly found themselves at the start of another dangerous yet thrilling adventure. Although I haven't got the chance to know more of the kids' personalities in the first book. Battle of the Beasts made sure that its readers will be able to witness the development of our protagonists' characters and how well they have learned from their past journey. Minor characters came back at the beginning of this book but it's so sad I have to say goodbye to them again at the end. Moreover, there are added characters that are as important as the original characters and they also contributed to a more entertaining story line. Although closing the book with a cliffhanger was a bit disappointing (I need more), I'm looking forward to the last book.
    more
  • Clara
    February 19, 2014
    I loved the book. So much emotion and thrilling adventure. Some books aren't as good without some loss but it is fabulous.
  • Rob Slaven
    March 13, 2014
    Firstly and as usual I received this book for free in exchange for a review. Despite that kind consideration I give my scrupulously honest opinions below.To begin, this is a children's book so I judge by different criteria than I would an adult novel. The first point of judgment, and one that has been known to blow a book out of the water by itself, is the presence of inappropriate content for children. I have absolutely no tolerance for sex, drugs and other such topics in kid's books. This book Firstly and as usual I received this book for free in exchange for a review. Despite that kind consideration I give my scrupulously honest opinions below.To begin, this is a children's book so I judge by different criteria than I would an adult novel. The first point of judgment, and one that has been known to blow a book out of the water by itself, is the presence of inappropriate content for children. I have absolutely no tolerance for sex, drugs and other such topics in kid's books. This book is safe on that account though it does have quite a bit of violence. It's nothing profoundly graphic but it will get young readers attention and might arouse a question or two. The second criterion is basically an answer to the question of whether the reader will learn anything or gain anything positive from the book. In this case, the book scores pretty highly. This is a rather broad romp through history and the author isn't afraid to throw out solid historical terms from Roman times through the P-51 mustang. These factoids are woven very skillfully through the narrative in such a way that the little ones might not actually be aware they're learning much of anything. So in this case the book is likely to cause more than a few questions and Wikipedia searches. I'm forty years old and I ended up doing some searches of my own throughout the course of the book so kids will get plenty of new tidbits.Lastly, I ponder whether kids will enjoy the book. Here's where I think the book may have problems. It is a wild and unpredictable ride to be sure but at times it's just utterly preposterous and openly defiant of logic. In general I'm OK with some of that, especially for a book aimed at very young children, but the reading level of this feels like it's more in the 10-13 range and that's the age where children start to question plausibility, when those exclamations of "cool!" started turning into "what?!" instead. To put is simply, I think the kids who can read it won't buy into it and the kids who are young enough to buy into it can't read it.In summary, this is a solid "maybe" in my book. It's great on many points but the last third of the book just wobbles too violently and I think readers will get lost in it. You'll need to be the judge of just how much your kids will tolerate wacky madcap zaniness in their magical adventure novels and make your decision from there.
    more
  • Kayla Eklund
    December 23, 2013
    If you've been following my reviews for a few years, you know that I absolutely hated the first House of Secrets book. There were very few redeeming qualities in it. At first, I was very iffy about whether I wanted to continue the series or not. When I got a chance to read the second book on Edelweiss, I figured that I didn't have much else to read, so I would give it a try. I'm so glad I did. Battle of the Beasts was a welcome change from the first House of Secrets book. The character's seemed If you've been following my reviews for a few years, you know that I absolutely hated the first House of Secrets book. There were very few redeeming qualities in it. At first, I was very iffy about whether I wanted to continue the series or not. When I got a chance to read the second book on Edelweiss, I figured that I didn't have much else to read, so I would give it a try. I'm so glad I did. Battle of the Beasts was a welcome change from the first House of Secrets book. The character's seemed like they had a lot of character development that the reader didn't get to see between the first and second books. They were more mature, which made reading the book a lot more enjoyable. I didn't want to pull my hair out at some of the things that they did. I also loved that the author brought back some of the minor characters. I wasn't expecting that at all, and it was a pleasant surprise.The plot was action packed. There was never a dull moment. At times, it was so tense that I wanted to jump up and down and tell at the characters that they could survive this, and that's a feeling that I've only ever gotten a few times while reading. It comes with the feeling that you know you're reading a really good book. My favorite scene was the one with the pirates. It was action packed and kept me on the edge of my seat. I had no idea what was going to happen.Battle of the Beasts ends on a surprising cliffhanger. I was not expecting it at all. It should be interesting to see where the story goes from here. I will definitely be reading the final book in the trilogy as soon as it is released. Even though I was hesitant in the beginning, I'm so glad I continued on with this trilogy.
    more
  • Lara
    June 8, 2014
    This is yet again another brilliant sequel, I loved this book it is even btter then the first one almost certainly, there is so much more to it then you realise. I would really reccomend this to anyone!!!!!!!!
  • Mary Grace Nakao
    June 5, 2014
    For the complete review, please visit this site: Three Blank Pages You could tell by how long I finished this book that I wasn't entirely caught up with it. Basically, if I like a book a lot or love it, I could finish it in a day and review it the next after containing all my feelings for the book. With this one however, it took me 10 days to complete it and another 3 days for me to make the review. And I couldn't even say Im busy! Teehee I am going to split my review into 2: the good and the b For the complete review, please visit this site: Three Blank Pages You could tell by how long I finished this book that I wasn't entirely caught up with it. Basically, if I like a book a lot or love it, I could finish it in a day and review it the next after containing all my feelings for the book. With this one however, it took me 10 days to complete it and another 3 days for me to make the review. And I couldn't even say Im busy! Teehee I am going to split my review into 2: the good and the bad. I suppose I could add the cliched "the ugly" but then it would only be filled with me bitching about a certain character. And after days of having to read her parts, it has gotten a toll on me emotionally so I would rather not dedicate a whole section about her. The Good. Story wise, this book is amazing! It shows a lot of promise when it comes to world building. The story line is interesting enough that the author could stretch this whole series out because there are just a lot of things you could branch into. The second book started out slow, and because of my intense dislike for Eleonor, I was tempted to drop it. Fortunately for me, I swallowed all my hatred and whatever negative feelings I had and braved the book once more. Thank goodness I did just that because this was actually not as bad as how I initially thought it would be. Aside from that, this book is very family-oriented. It shows how important it is to keep your family first, to love them no matter what and the importance of forgiveness and acceptance."We're family. We're supposed to screw up, make each other mad, and then forgive one another."The Bad. There were times when I couldn't differentiate the voices from each other. And to think that most of the time, each of them must have something to say in one setting. Its kind of like reading a script you make in school so each of your group members can participate. I could hardly tell that their group is composed of a 16, 13 and an 8 year old because either one of them desperately tries to act like an adult or do something stupid which would ultimately lead to their demise. Or so I hope. Because out of sheer luck, they always manage to get out of harm's way. Well, that's how most books operate but this is just me dissing on Eleanor. Teehee. I admit that she has her moments like how sensible and logical she is for her age but the next thing you knew, she turns out to be this whiny, Im-too-good-for-this-shit-know-it-all who couldn't keep her mouth shout. Her whining about eating Yak? Its the same as butchering beef and pig for their meat you pretentious little...kid! Stop eating meat altogether and become a vegetarian if it bothers you so much >.> Definitely NOT cute at all. Over-all the book is a good read! Looking back at my written review, there were fairly a lot more good points than the bad but why 3 stars? Aside from my unwavering dislike for Eleanor (how many times have I written this already?? Ahaha), it wasn't gripping enough for me to finish it in a day or two. And that usually means something because if you really find a book great then you would finish it no matter what. Even if you have a million things to do, you would prioritize it. And sadly, I did not feel that way for this book. Hence, the 3 stars. Additional 0.5 stars for the illustrations! Too bad the Arc I received contains some rough draft of the illustrations and there were some missing ones too. I would totally buy the next book for the complete experience. And it also helps that the third one is going to be the last installment :DThank you Megan for HarperCollins for the review copy. Teehee
    more
  • Dayla
    March 19, 2014
    Review first appeared on my blog: Book Addict 24-7I received a copy via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewBattle of the Beasts is the sequel to the middle grade novel, House of Secrets, written by Chris Columbus and the late Ned Vizzini. Though I entered this book with a few doubts, I ended up liking it a lot more than its predecessor. The action was more fluid and the characters were more realistic (with a few exceptions). I also felt like the pacing was a lot better, making it a much f Review first appeared on my blog: Book Addict 24-7I received a copy via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewBattle of the Beasts is the sequel to the middle grade novel, House of Secrets, written by Chris Columbus and the late Ned Vizzini. Though I entered this book with a few doubts, I ended up liking it a lot more than its predecessor. The action was more fluid and the characters were more realistic (with a few exceptions). I also felt like the pacing was a lot better, making it a much faster read--and if you look at the print edition of this book, it's not a little book. More addicting, more exciting, and more gruesome, Battle of the Beasts serves up an awesome adventure. One of the main issues I had with the previous installment in this series was how immature the narrating felt. I'm one of those readers that reads whatever age group of fiction that I want to, but reading House of Secrets was tough because it felt so young (despite the content). Imagine my surprise when I began reading Battle of the Beasts and seeing a much more mature narrator. I know that some time passed since the last adventure the Walker kids had, but it had only been a few weeks, so I attribute it to a better writing style. I felt like the narrating in this one was more welcoming for an older audience. I also liked the Walkers a lot more this time around. The character growth was a lot greater in this one for the two older children, Cordelia and Bren. I love the idea of this book teaching kids how some of their selfish choices can not only affect the people around them, but also the children themselves. The one character that was slightly disappointing was Eleanor. Other than the fact that the name Eleanor is old-fashioned and often alludes to a person full of wisdom, this character is only eight years-old. A reviewer of the first book stated that it seemed a bit unrealistic that a child with dyslexia could nearly read a full adult novel on her own, and I have to agree. In the short time between the first book and the second book, Eleanor has become a much better reader and though this is a fantastic boost of self-esteem for other children in similar situations when it comes to reading, it's also unrealistic. Plus, there were instances where she acted like a mini adult in Battle of the Beasts, but then regressed to acting like a child again. This discontinuity made Eleanor a bit intolerable at times. If it weren’t for the gore and slightly disturbing cinematic moments, this could almost be read as a hallmark movie book adaptation. Especially when the children share their love and teach each other life lessons through mistakes and dangerous situations. I would recommend this one to kids who are on the cusp of teenage-hood. The descriptions and situations in this installment are a lot darker than the first novel, making it a bit too old for the 9-12 age group. If you like adventure, quirky characters, and a story that doesn't revolve around romance, then you'll enjoy this one!
    more
  • ♠ Tabi ♠
    June 18, 2014
    This sequel follows the crazy, fast-paced, twist-filled plot of the first book...only a little more. The Walker siblings survived being stuck in Denver Kristoff's novels once, but now they're going to have to do it again. And this time, there's more at stake then just getting home - they're going to have to try and stick together as well, which is harder than it seems.I loved this book just as much as I loved the first. Again, it is written in an omnipotent voice that bounces between characters This sequel follows the crazy, fast-paced, twist-filled plot of the first book...only a little more. The Walker siblings survived being stuck in Denver Kristoff's novels once, but now they're going to have to do it again. And this time, there's more at stake then just getting home - they're going to have to try and stick together as well, which is harder than it seems.I loved this book just as much as I loved the first. Again, it is written in an omnipotent voice that bounces between characters pretty frequently, but it at least it isn't confusing. You always know whose head you're in. And as far as the writing, as fresh and action-packed as always.As far as the characters, they're still awesome: Brendan with his snappy wisecracks, Eleanor with her honesty and courage no matter what is happening, Cordelia with her book-knowledge and wits, and Will with his British charm, derring-do attitude, and humor. But there are also a few new characters thrown in: the monks from any part of the world who battle frost creatures, Nazi cyborgs (yes, you heard that right), a crazy Roman emperor, and Felix, the Greek gladiator who kinda ended up getting married to Cordelia (spoiler, whoops).I read this book in little under three hours. I laughed quite a few times, was surprised at some points, and then shouted "Whaaat??? no!!!!" at several parts as well. Let's just say that I'm hoping there will be a third book soon, because there needs to be. Please. This series can't end like this!
    more
  • Jake Hartnett
    March 26, 2015
    *in voice of Noah and the Whale*"It was fun, fun, fun...when we were reading, it was fun, fun, fun..."Did I mention that this book was fun?I'm so glad The House of Secrets is back, and am equally delighted that there's going to be a third book in the series—the grand finale, I am told.Though not as good as the first book in my opinion, this was still a joy to read. It may not be the best book ever written, nor will it ever go down in history as a children's classic—like Harry Potter. But it was *in voice of Noah and the Whale*"It was fun, fun, fun...when we were reading, it was fun, fun, fun..."Did I mention that this book was fun?I'm so glad The House of Secrets is back, and am equally delighted that there's going to be a third book in the series—the grand finale, I am told.Though not as good as the first book in my opinion, this was still a joy to read. It may not be the best book ever written, nor will it ever go down in history as a children's classic—like Harry Potter. But it was an exciting ride full of light-hearted humour. As I've mentioned more than once above: it was "fun". After all, isn't that what you want from a book?—to fall into the fictional world and to enjoy yourself with the characters? It is for me, anyway.On this outing, the Walkers go to Rome to battle lions and Gladiators in the colosseum; fight against cyborg-nazis who try to steal their house; visit some freaky monks at their monastery in the Tibetan mountains; and fight some seriously ferocious frost beasts in the snow. But if that's not enough for you, you'll be living these moments with Cordelia, Brendan and Eleanor who, in my opinion, are up their with the most likeable children's-book characters I've come across.I'd certainly recommend this book as a nice, easy, fun-packed read. But make sure you read the prequel first.Bring on the finale!
    more
  • Книжни Криле
    September 25, 2016
    След като вече прочетохме с голям интерес и отразихме първата книга от трилогията, идва ред и на „Къщата на тайните: Битката на зверовете”! Режисьорът и сценарист Крис Кълъмбъс в ново амплоа, този път се изявява като писател на детско фентъзи, а компания му прави неговият съавтор Нед Везини. След като в предния том от трилогията сестрите Кордилия и Елинор Уокър и брат им Брендан се оказаха хванати в капана на смъртоносното въображение на окултния писател Денвър Кристоф, сега тяхното шеметно пъте След като вече прочетохме с голям интерес и отразихме първата книга от трилогията, идва ред и на „Къщата на тайните: Битката на зверовете”! Режисьорът и сценарист Крис Кълъмбъс в ново амплоа, този път се изявява като писател на детско фентъзи, а компания му прави неговият съавтор Нед Везини. След като в предния том от трилогията сестрите Кордилия и Елинор Уокър и брат им Брендан се оказаха хванати в капана на смъртоносното въображение на окултния писател Денвър Кристоф, сега тяхното шеметно пътешествие през света на книгите продължава с пълна пара. Прочетете ревюто на "Книжни Криле":https://knijnikrile.wordpress.com/201...
    more
  • Sarah
    December 19, 2013
    Disclaimer - I won this book before it was published!This book was better than the first! The adventures in this book were more adventurous and seemed to mesh very well together. I'm glad at the outcome but I'm curious to see how Fat Jagger gets out of this new sticky situation he has gotten himself in - can the Walkers save him? Also I wonder if Felix and Will, will return in the 3rd book because I think Will plays a major role in the Walker life but I'm not sure if Felix should return but I'm Disclaimer - I won this book before it was published!This book was better than the first! The adventures in this book were more adventurous and seemed to mesh very well together. I'm glad at the outcome but I'm curious to see how Fat Jagger gets out of this new sticky situation he has gotten himself in - can the Walkers save him? Also I wonder if Felix and Will, will return in the 3rd book because I think Will plays a major role in the Walker life but I'm not sure if Felix should return but I'm sure he will have to because of what happened between Cordelia and him - plus we have to know what happens to him!I also hope that the next book covers more of how this book ended. It didnt really explain what happened and why. I guess I will just have to wait!
    more
  • Nicole
    March 21, 2014
    This one was less engaging then the other one but still had that fun, light, doesn't make sense but let your imagination run wild kind of vibe. I can see it's set up for another sequel but this one ended on a more "finished" note and seems to remain less dark of a cliffhanger. It'll be interesting to see what other books are brought over, though I'm not sure I'd want another sequel with the kids stuff in three books, having characters like Queen Daphne cross over and try and conquer San Francisc This one was less engaging then the other one but still had that fun, light, doesn't make sense but let your imagination run wild kind of vibe. I can see it's set up for another sequel but this one ended on a more "finished" note and seems to remain less dark of a cliffhanger. It'll be interesting to see what other books are brought over, though I'm not sure I'd want another sequel with the kids stuff in three books, having characters like Queen Daphne cross over and try and conquer San Francisco and having the rebels come stop her/meet up with Brendan again would be cool. This sequel is a shadow of the original but still maintains that fantastical meshing of worlds.
    more
  • Truly
    July 19, 2015
    http://trulyrudiono.blogspot.com/2015...Bagian favorit saya:Sebuah rak buku.Benda itu mirip rak kayu apung yang mereka lihat di petualangan terdahulu. Rak itu benar-benar berada di bawah permukaan air kolam. Dan di setiap raknya, terlihat jelas meski berada dalam air, berjejer lusinan manuskrip. Sebuah rak penuh buku berada di bawah air tanpa merusak buku! OK saya mau pesan satu zat atau mantera apalah yang bisa membuat koleksi saya menjadi seperti itu. Lumayan, menghemat tempat penyimpanan.
    more
  • Kari
    October 8, 2014
    I didn't read book one, so I was a little lost at times, but not so much as to distract from the story line. The a Walker children are running from the Wind Witch and find themselves transported to another of Denver Kristoff's books, landing in the middle of the roman Collesium. After defeating the lions by magic, the Emperor thinks Bren is the highest warrior. Adventures also include a trip to a cold mountain top where the kids battle the frost beasts. The adventures divide them, but in the end I didn't read book one, so I was a little lost at times, but not so much as to distract from the story line. The a Walker children are running from the Wind Witch and find themselves transported to another of Denver Kristoff's books, landing in the middle of the roman Collesium. After defeating the lions by magic, the Emperor thinks Bren is the highest warrior. Adventures also include a trip to a cold mountain top where the kids battle the frost beasts. The adventures divide them, but in the end, they realize that family binds them together.
    more
  • Fernanda
    December 22, 2014
    http://www.segredosemlivros.com/2014/...
  • Cece
    May 7, 2014
    Awesome!!
  • Anna van Hemert
    July 6, 2016
    It is awesome. Even though I am still reading the first book
  • Amanda
    February 14, 2017
    A fun follow up to the first book, but again I would recommend it for the older crowd just because of some of the content. An adventure series that I would recommend to fans of The Red Pyramid series.
  • Jeremiah
    March 22, 2017
    3.75 stars
  • Brendan
    March 15, 2017
    Brendan can finally chill but things are not going his way. Will he be able to overcome these obstacles in a way that he and his family can gain from? Something's wrong with Cordelia and it's literally crawling under her skin. What is all that frost doing there? Eleanor just can't keep her mouth shout and wants things to be back to normal, or as normal as things can get. Will she make her wish come true in a book? This is a good book for thrill seekers and the House Of Secrets fans.
    more
  • Danii
    February 22, 2017
    Read as part of the PopSugar Reading Challenge 2017, to fill 15) A book with a subtitle.This series might be fun and adventurous for kids, but it's really going downhill for me. There are just way too many plot holes and coincidences for it to even be slightly believable.The only mildly likeable character is Eleanor, and even she gets on my nerves sometimes. The relationship between Cordelia and Will is ridiculous; the whole first book she was swooning over him and he had no interest, in this bo Read as part of the PopSugar Reading Challenge 2017, to fill 15) A book with a subtitle.This series might be fun and adventurous for kids, but it's really going downhill for me. There are just way too many plot holes and coincidences for it to even be slightly believable.The only mildly likeable character is Eleanor, and even she gets on my nerves sometimes. The relationship between Cordelia and Will is ridiculous; the whole first book she was swooning over him and he had no interest, in this book the roles are completely reversed for no apparent reason other than Will's jealousy.Also I'm pretty sure the Nazi storyline is horrendously offensive.I'm reading the third book, but only because I already own it.
    more
  • Dane Cobain
    March 4, 2015
    Disclaimer: While I aim to be unbiased, I received a copy of this for free to review.When I’m reading a book, I quite often start to formulate a rough idea of what a book’s rating is going to be when I’m only part of the way into it. The ratings quite often change, but it’s rare for them to change as much as this one did!See, I didn’t think much of it to start with – sure, there was nothing wrong with the writing, but something just didn’t feel right. And I was worried that it was heading toward Disclaimer: While I aim to be unbiased, I received a copy of this for free to review.When I’m reading a book, I quite often start to formulate a rough idea of what a book’s rating is going to be when I’m only part of the way into it. The ratings quite often change, but it’s rare for them to change as much as this one did!See, I didn’t think much of it to start with – sure, there was nothing wrong with the writing, but something just didn’t feel right. And I was worried that it was heading towards a cliche, and nobody likes a cliche.But then something strange happened – I got drawn in by the characters and began to need to know what happened next. It turns out that this is the second book in the series, and that the publicist who sent me this copy had also popped the first book in the post to me – by the time it had arrived, I’d already finished this one.Perhaps that’s why it took me a while to get into it, but once I got to know the characters and their adventure really began, I started to lose myself in the story. Loosely speaking, we’re following three young members of the Walker family as they try to make their way back home after being transported inside a strange world comprising of a mixture of several different (fictional) books.And so our heroes end up in Ancient Rome at the Colosseum, on top of an ice mountain with a weird order of monks who are trying to take down some ice monsters, and in the middle of a heated battle between American airmen and Nazi cyborgs. As you can imagine, it can get pretty heated at times, but the writers have got a flair for the story they’re telling and so it’s a thrill to read, throughout.Speaking of the writers, there’s a story there, too – Columbus is the director of the first two Harry Potter films and Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief, as well as the writer of The Goonies and Gremlins and the mind behind Home Alone, Mrs Doubtfire and Night at the Museum. Vizzini, meanwhile, sadly passed away in 2013, and was the best-selling author of a number of book for teens.With that kind of pedigree at the helm, as well as the might of Harper Collins behind it, you can see why this would be a pretty good book. I’m sure it’s not for everyone, but as a piece of YA fantasy fiction, you can’t do much better than this. I mean, I’m 25 and I enjoyed reading it, even if I thought Brendan, the family’s younger brother, was a dick.Now I just need to catch up on the first book and wait for the sequel to come out. It should be a fun ride!
    more
  • Ratna
    September 20, 2016
    Petualangan kedua anak-anak Walker. Mereka terjebak (lagi) ke dalam tiga buku karya Kristoff yang lain. Pertama, mereka terjebak di zaman Gladiator Roma, lalu bertemu dengan pasukan cyborg di perang dunia, dan terakhir adalah mengusir manusia salju. Di buku yang kedua ini, lebih seru dari yang pertama. Karena ada persaingan antara Will dengan salah satu gladiator dalam memperebutkan cinta Cordelia. Selain itu, terungkap rahasia besar antara keluarga Walker & Kristoff, apa itu? Baca aja sendi Petualangan kedua anak-anak Walker. Mereka terjebak (lagi) ke dalam tiga buku karya Kristoff yang lain. Pertama, mereka terjebak di zaman Gladiator Roma, lalu bertemu dengan pasukan cyborg di perang dunia, dan terakhir adalah mengusir manusia salju. Di buku yang kedua ini, lebih seru dari yang pertama. Karena ada persaingan antara Will dengan salah satu gladiator dalam memperebutkan cinta Cordelia. Selain itu, terungkap rahasia besar antara keluarga Walker & Kristoff, apa itu? Baca aja sendiri bukunya. hahaha
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    December 23, 2013
    The Walker children are back in the Kristoff house after their adventure in House of Secrets, but all is not well. Their father is gambling away the money Eleanor wished for, school is difficult for Brendan, and Cordelia is cold all of the time and her teeth are falling out. Before you know it, they are whisked off (along with Will, who has sent some time in jail) to another adventure. It turns out that the Wind Witch was living inside Cordelia, and in trying to escape, the children end up in an The Walker children are back in the Kristoff house after their adventure in House of Secrets, but all is not well. Their father is gambling away the money Eleanor wished for, school is difficult for Brendan, and Cordelia is cold all of the time and her teeth are falling out. Before you know it, they are whisked off (along with Will, who has sent some time in jail) to another adventure. It turns out that the Wind Witch was living inside Cordelia, and in trying to escape, the children end up in another Kristoff story, this time set in ancient Rome. In a panic, Eleanor wishes that the Book of Doom and Desire would disappear, not thinking that this might also trap them and the house in Rome. Brendan feels right at home and is willing to stay and train to be a gladiator, but when the Nazis attack, Will, the girls, and a gladiator named Felix set off to head them off and end up in the Himalayas. They find more books by Kristoff as well as his wife's diary, which uncovers a very big secret about the Wind Witch. They also battle cyborg Nazis. . Not willing to leave Brendan behind, Cordelia heads back to Rome to get Brendan while Eleanor stays behind to fight off the frost monsters with the monks. Eventually the three unite and try to return home through the Door of Ways, which shows each of them both a good and a terrible vision of their future. When they finally return home, the children fear that the bad versions will come true, since the family has indeed lost the Kristoff house because of their father's gambling. Strengths: This has lots of action and adventure, and the locations to which the children travel are fun. There is a tiny bit of romance with Cordelia and Will, but it doesn't come to anything. This is great fantasy adventure for elementary and middle school students. I can think of about ten right now who will enjoy this.Weaknesses: Cliff hanger ending is a bit annoying to me, since I weary of series, but my students will like it.
    more
  • Clare
    May 23, 2014
    You know I am surprised that I am the only one who has made a review because this book was freaking awesome!In the first one it is about the walker kids having to go on an adventure to save themselves. In this book they were just sick of adventures and did everything possible to get home.Well, I thought that Ned Vizzini is a great author, but he died (at only 32!) chris needed a but of help with this one because it is the middle of the trilogy and it needs to be a book that you can't put down, y You know I am surprised that I am the only one who has made a review because this book was freaking awesome!In the first one it is about the walker kids having to go on an adventure to save themselves. In this book they were just sick of adventures and did everything possible to get home.Well, I thought that Ned Vizzini is a great author, but he died (at only 32!) chris needed a but of help with this one because it is the middle of the trilogy and it needs to be a book that you can't put down, yet it really wasn't.I loved the storyline yet it seemed a bit more childish compared to the gory first one! They had to travel to places that didn't interest me as much as they should have. It has been ages since I read the first one (I was nine) and it was a little scary! But now it is a little childish. The end is a YA definitely the start isn't really though.The whole thing where Eleanor isn't really dyslexic kind of ruins the plot. She can read and even taught someone who is a roman gladiator to read.I have said the thing that aren't positive a bout the book and now well here I goes.I loved the character of Brendan, the wind witch, fat jagger and the monks but not really anyone else.I like how the (SPOILER) wind witch is related to the walkers. I like how she shows them the two possible futures.I also like how cordelia is acting at the start like embarrassing. I enjoyed the diary and the fact that (SPOILER) will goes off with the American airforce.I have thoroughly enjoyed this book and most of its characters.
    more
  • Barack Osama
    January 16, 2015
    House of Secrets: Battle of BeastsNed Vizzini & Chris ColumbusIn this book Ned and Chris attempt to take you on an adventure with Brendan, Eleanor, and Cordelia as they travel into yet another world to battle the Wind Witch. This is a great book that truly shows you the power of family.Cordelia, Eleanor, and Brendan are three siblings that are transported into different books due to an evil criminal known as the Wind Witch. She wants them dead so that she may acquire The Book of Doom, the m House of Secrets: Battle of BeastsNed Vizzini & Chris ColumbusIn this book Ned and Chris attempt to take you on an adventure with Brendan, Eleanor, and Cordelia as they travel into yet another world to battle the Wind Witch. This is a great book that truly shows you the power of family.Cordelia, Eleanor, and Brendan are three siblings that are transported into different books due to an evil criminal known as the Wind Witch. She wants them dead so that she may acquire The Book of Doom, the most powerful book in the universe. It can grant you any wish, all you must do is write of few words.This book is great when it comes to watching a group of kids work together. They all must work past their personal gain to realize that family must be first. I think that the authors were very good at showing this aspect of the book. They made sure that you could see their point and that you could also find a good lesson out of it.These three siblings are pressured to work and think like adults. The question here is whether they can accomplish that or not. This is an amazing book and I could barely peel my eyes from it. I think it’s a good read for anyone looking for a magical adventure.
    more
  • Nobody
    September 8, 2016
    Reading the first book was a little difficult for me to be honest. The story was interesting but most of the character's annoyed me. The only character I can say I truly enjoyed reading about was Brenden and if I am being blunt, his humor is the only thing that got me through the first book.But I am pleased to say that the second book didn't feel like that at all. The characters were more likeable and seemed to express more emotion and thoughts than they did in the first book. The most interesti Reading the first book was a little difficult for me to be honest. The story was interesting but most of the character's annoyed me. The only character I can say I truly enjoyed reading about was Brenden and if I am being blunt, his humor is the only thing that got me through the first book.But I am pleased to say that the second book didn't feel like that at all. The characters were more likeable and seemed to express more emotion and thoughts than they did in the first book. The most interesting character in my opinion was the Wind Witch, as I could never figure out what she was truly doing. It seemed as if she was toying with me as much as she was with the actual characters. The ending left me uncertain about what was going to happen next which is amazing since usually I have a pretty good idea of what to expect.Whereas in the last book I felt as if I were challenging myself to finish reading it, this one I found simply enjoyable. All the characters seemed to mature throughout the story as characters. I'm not saying I hated the first book, but in this rare case, I can say that I liked the second book more than the first one.
    more
  • Alia
    July 23, 2015
    (( 4.5 stars ))So there is it.I'm done with the sequel! WOHOOO!After waiting a few months finally i got the second book of House of Secret series! I can't believe it because usually the sequel of a book in translation edition will be release at least 6-12 months after the first book released. But Oh-My-Gosh, when I seeking for new book informations from Publisher/ Bookstore website, I found this book was released! I FOUND IT!Back to the review.I enjoyed this book. I always wonder what's gonna ha (( 4.5 stars ))So there is it.I'm done with the sequel! WOHOOO!After waiting a few months finally i got the second book of House of Secret series! I can't believe it because usually the sequel of a book in translation edition will be release at least 6-12 months after the first book released. But Oh-My-Gosh, when I seeking for new book informations from Publisher/ Bookstore website, I found this book was released! I FOUND IT!Back to the review.I enjoyed this book. I always wonder what's gonna happen next, and Cordelia still be my favorite Character. Then Felix, a new character from Roma, give more sense to the book. But, although I enjoyed this book so much, I didn't enjoyed it so much as I very enjoyed the first book. I give 4,5 stars out of 5 stars. Sometimes Brendan personality kinda sucks. I liked his character but in this sequel I think I even less liked him.My Rates:Character: ☆☆☆☆Plot: ☆☆☆☆☆ (4.5 stars)Writing style: ☆☆☆☆☆ (4.5 stars)Cover: ☆☆☆☆Note: I currently find the third book.
    more
  • Chloe K.
    July 6, 2014
    This book was a great adventure for me, and I got very attached to all the characters-mainly Cordelia. I think Brendan joining the Occipus was quite interesting, and helped build the story and teach a lesson, but the 'training' was a little inappropriate. I liked the parts where Eleanor was the only one to know something, and that she'd have a hard time getting her siblings to believe her. It made the story more tense.Another thing I liked was at the end, how the Wind Witch told them about her b This book was a great adventure for me, and I got very attached to all the characters-mainly Cordelia. I think Brendan joining the Occipus was quite interesting, and helped build the story and teach a lesson, but the 'training' was a little inappropriate. I liked the parts where Eleanor was the only one to know something, and that she'd have a hard time getting her siblings to believe her. It made the story more tense.Another thing I liked was at the end, how the Wind Witch told them about her being their great-great grandmother (as it showed that they were family), and the part where they could see their possible futures.One more thing I liked was how Fat Jagger had followed them into San Francisco, and got himself into a bit of a problem.I would definitely like there to be a 3rd book, and I think that possibly Will should show up again (since he was quite an important character). As I said above, this book was a great read, and I would recommend it to most kids.
    more
Write a review