Awakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon, #1)
Meet Benjamin Dragon.A boy with absent parents.A boy without friends.A boy with a gift...Benjamin is smart, really smart. Without asking Benjamin's opinion, his parents move to a new town and put him two grades ahead of where he should be. Now a full head shorter than other kids in his new school, Benjamin is a perfect target for bullies. Is he destined to be an outcast once again?Follow Benjamin as he discovers his unique 'gift' while swimming through the complexities of junior high, friends, bullies, camp and strange visitors."Benjamin Dragon - Awakening" is Book 1 in The Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon.

Awakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon, #1) Details

TitleAwakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 27th, 2013
PublisherCooper & Associates
Number of pages186 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Mystery, Magic, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Awakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon, #1) Review

  • Donald Hoffman
    November 21, 2014
    I was well into the Corps Justice series when I discovered that Carlos Cooper had written a book for young adults. Recently, my grandson had gotten me to read The One and Only Ivan and I accidently stumbled on The Dragon of Cripple Creek, I decided to give young Benjamin Dragon a shot. Now I have praised C.G. Cooper for the way he portrayed his characters in the Corps Justice books, drawing on his experience as a Marine and a leader. I must say that he has captured the essence of a 10-year-old b I was well into the Corps Justice series when I discovered that Carlos Cooper had written a book for young adults. Recently, my grandson had gotten me to read The One and Only Ivan and I accidently stumbled on The Dragon of Cripple Creek, I decided to give young Benjamin Dragon a shot. Now I have praised C.G. Cooper for the way he portrayed his characters in the Corps Justice books, drawing on his experience as a Marine and a leader. I must say that he has captured the essence of a 10-year-old boy perfectly. He has shown us an intelligent young man, on the cusp of adolescence, who suddenly discovered he has undreamed-of powers. Benjamin has to cope with very focused on success professional parents, being two grades ahead of his age group, peer pressure, bullies and worst of all...girls. Now he discovers he is part of a select few in the world who have a special power. Cooper weaves a wonderful tale, showing how the boy learns to cope with being "special" and also learns how to deal with the fact that power can be corrupting. This is a wonderful start to what I hope will be a long-running series.
    more
  • S.W.
    February 25, 2016
    In a Nutshell | Quite an enjoyable read that nicely sets up the series. Love the cover too. Book 2 is called Legacy.This is my first freebie from Bookbub. The name suggests Dragons, doesn't it? I will reveal that it does have Dragons, but I won't reveal the type.The story follows, Ben, a young gifted ten year old adjusting to his latest move to a new school. He's likable, he's vulnerable, he's different, and he's gifted.It's this gift that is the focus of the story as it explores the trials of h In a Nutshell | Quite an enjoyable read that nicely sets up the series. Love the cover too. Book 2 is called Legacy.This is my first freebie from Bookbub. The name suggests Dragons, doesn't it? I will reveal that it does have Dragons, but I won't reveal the type.The story follows, Ben, a young gifted ten year old adjusting to his latest move to a new school. He's likable, he's vulnerable, he's different, and he's gifted.It's this gift that is the focus of the story as it explores the trials of his journey to determine his path in life. Young Ben has some big decisions to make. It's an engaging read and I did find myself reading it whenever I had the chance. (Make sure you keep an eye out for the Hagridy guy.)Please drop by my website www.swlothian.com to see more of my reviews.
    more
  • Gail
    June 7, 2015
    Enjoyable- I like to read about kids who are gifted in some way and how they handle it. This book has a message about bullying interwoven in the story. A good kid- worried about going bad- meets up with someone like him who seems to have everything but was letting his gifts lead him down a path of hero worship. Benjamin can see through it-and discovers he has extra powers- I enjoyed it enough to look for the next book.
    more
  • Lois
    February 24, 2017
    WowThis is a very good story. The characters are well developed and the plot is interesting. The one thing that bothered me was (spoiler alert) the reference to one 'gifted' two thousand years ago. Not correct!
  • Marty
    March 5, 2017
    I was enjoying corps justice when I found this book. It seemed like something my kids would like so I read it to preview it. I think they will like it, I sure did!
  • Barbara Ann
    July 10, 2016
    Benjamin Dragon: Awakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon Book 1)Written by C.G. Cooper Ten year old Benjamin Dragon is a very bright child who has already skipped two years in school. He is the son of Tanya and Timothy Dragon, a powerful lawyer and businessman. Their frequent moves plus Benjamin's small statue and last name provide fertile ground for bullies. On the first day of a new school Benjamin is bullied on the playground. Egging him on to fight, Nathan lies on the ground bloodied and in Benjamin Dragon: Awakening (Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon Book 1)Written by C.G. Cooper Ten year old Benjamin Dragon is a very bright child who has already skipped two years in school. He is the son of Tanya and Timothy Dragon, a powerful lawyer and businessman. Their frequent moves plus Benjamin's small statue and last name provide fertile ground for bullies. On the first day of a new school Benjamin is bullied on the playground. Egging him on to fight, Nathan lies on the ground bloodied and injured. But Benjamin is puzzled because he never even touched the boy.When his parents urge him to go to the hospital to apologize, Benjamin discovers that he and Nathan have a lot in common. They become good friends, but Nathan is just as puzzled about what happened. When Benjamin is at the scene of a close-call car crash, and the car swerves away to avoid hitting a young girl, Benjamin begins to suspect he had something to do with it. Weird things begin happening. Benjamin swears Nathan to secrecy.A strange old man named Kennedy pays a visit to Benjamin and explains that there are certain special people in the world. Some have the gift of healing, some the gift of growing, and others the gift of destruction, which roughly translates to telekinesis. He informs Benjamin that he will be trained in his gifts.Benjamin is scared, but he is elated that he will be attending Camp Walamalican with his friends Nathan and Aaron. There he meets another gifted one named Wally who is a healer. On the other hand, Benjamin will come face to face with a destructor who threatens to corrupt him and destroy people that he loves. Will Benjamin learn how to use his powers? How can he adjust to living a normal live, while coping with extraordinary power?Recommended for a middle grade, young adult and adult audience. The characters and plot are well developed. Addresses lots of issues pre teens and teens face like bullying, fitting in with peers, being gifted, and getting along with parents. Look forward to more in the series.
    more
  • Laura Magana
    November 17, 2016
    Summary:Little Benjamin Dragon has always been a special person. Whether it be having to change schools often, skipping two grade levels, having a lawyer mom and a businessman dad, or his lack of height, Benjamin can’t seem to stay out of the spotlight. With this spotlight comes bullying on varying levels. There’s the stares and snickers as he walk through the halls, and then there’s Nathan Pratt, the big kid. When getting ready to leave school one day, Benjamin is confronted by Nathan and made Summary:Little Benjamin Dragon has always been a special person. Whether it be having to change schools often, skipping two grade levels, having a lawyer mom and a businessman dad, or his lack of height, Benjamin can’t seem to stay out of the spotlight. With this spotlight comes bullying on varying levels. There’s the stares and snickers as he walk through the halls, and then there’s Nathan Pratt, the big kid. When getting ready to leave school one day, Benjamin is confronted by Nathan and made fun of for his size. The moment things start to get violent, something amazing happens. Benjamin is somehow able to throw Nathan several feet away without even touching him. This lands Benjamin in the principal's office and Nathan in the hospital. Miraculously, after their parents force them to apologize, the two boys become best friends.Although he’s happy to have made a friend, Benjamin can’t help but wonder how he pushed Nathan. Then one day after school, while the two are walking home, it happens again. By some crazy miracle, Benjamin saves a little girl, Emily, from being hit by a car. Even after everything that’s happened, Benjamin’s life still gets more hectic. Who is Old Man Kennedy and how does he know about Benjamin’s “powers”? And what’s this about having to go to summer camp? Camp Lake Whatwhatwhat?!5 Higher level discussion questions:Compare and contrast Benjamin and Nathan. What do you think made them become best friends?What would you do if you had to keep a secret from everyone around you?What would you have done about the boy that was kidnapped by the Mohawk Tribe?How do you think Jacee Travane’s “accident” changed him?If you had the chance to convince Jacee to change, what would you say to him?APA citation:Cooper, C.G. (2013). Awakening: Chronicles of Benjamin Dragon #1. New York, NY: Cooper & Associates.
    more
  • Tammy
    May 31, 2013
    I received this book to read over and review (for free I might add). It is supposed to be for those 9+ in age. It is definitely for the younger set, but as I read through it, I found myself wanting to know more about 10-year-old Benjamin. It all begins with his starting in a new school. This is not the first time he has been enrolled in a new school...related to his mother's job as a lawyer and his father's job as well, they travel a lot. Being a very smart boy, his parents enroll him two grades I received this book to read over and review (for free I might add). It is supposed to be for those 9+ in age. It is definitely for the younger set, but as I read through it, I found myself wanting to know more about 10-year-old Benjamin. It all begins with his starting in a new school. This is not the first time he has been enrolled in a new school...related to his mother's job as a lawyer and his father's job as well, they travel a lot. Being a very smart boy, his parents enroll him two grades above his age group. This comes with its own set of problems (middle school). Needless to say, he is bullied his first day and many interesting things begin to happen to Benjamin from then on. Very cute story, one I probably would not have picked up related to intended age group. Now that I have, however, I may have to discover what becomes of young Benjamin. Would definitely recommend for the intended age set.
    more
  • Marilyn Ostermiller
    July 17, 2016
    Benjamin Dragon is a 10-year-old boy with three strikes against him. He's small for his age. He was moved ahead two grades in school, which makes his stature even more noticeable. And, his mother is a high-powered lawyer on a career fast track that requires the family to move frequently. That means Benjamin doesn't get to put down roots and make close friends. When we meet Benjamin he is being bullied again. But this time, when he puts his hand out to ward off the blow, he sends his attacker fly Benjamin Dragon is a 10-year-old boy with three strikes against him. He's small for his age. He was moved ahead two grades in school, which makes his stature even more noticeable. And, his mother is a high-powered lawyer on a career fast track that requires the family to move frequently. That means Benjamin doesn't get to put down roots and make close friends. When we meet Benjamin he is being bullied again. But this time, when he puts his hand out to ward off the blow, he sends his attacker flying so hard he lands in the hospital with three broken ribs. That's when Benjamin discovers his secret power. From that moment on, this book is an exciting mix of discovery and boyish antics. It is the first in a series that's bound to appeal to first to fourth grade boys as Benjamin faces the dark side of his exhilarating power.
    more
  • Denae Christine
    October 6, 2016
    DNF about 50%It was all just too simple. There's no complexity to the scenes; they each accomplish one thing (show Benjamin using his power for the first/second/third time or show that Benjamin has made a friend). It would be nice if the scenes did three or four things at once, but they weren't.Benjamin and his friend sound about 10, despite the book telling us Benjamin is really smart. Everyone has flat personalities. The book was really slow.Then there's a guy who shows up, reveals that Benjam DNF about 50%It was all just too simple. There's no complexity to the scenes; they each accomplish one thing (show Benjamin using his power for the first/second/third time or show that Benjamin has made a friend). It would be nice if the scenes did three or four things at once, but they weren't.Benjamin and his friend sound about 10, despite the book telling us Benjamin is really smart. Everyone has flat personalities. The book was really slow.Then there's a guy who shows up, reveals that Benjamin is a destroyer, and says he can't tell anyone about his powers or else.There was nothing new in any of it except Benjamin's last name. I only read so far because it's a short book, and I thought I'd still be able to finish it.I liked the writing style with Benjamin's pov, although not his voice.
    more
  • Natalie Rottinghaus
    February 5, 2017
    Wow, cool!I read this to my son, who loved it and wanted to rate it five stars. I chose 4 due to having to censor a couple parts and having to get around editing errors. Overall, we loved the balance of a descriptive, peaceful, idyllic life mixed with supernatural adventure.
    more
  • Bill Tillman
    August 8, 2013
    The type of read you cannot put down until you have reached the last page, great fun! Benjamin was a quiet and shy guy with lots of smarts, (he is two grades ahead of himself). It is not until he is confronted by a bully on the playground that he discovers something is radically different about him. Benjamin pushes the bully away from himself only to see him fly through the air and land ten feet away with several broken ribs. Benjamin has a secret power known as 'destructive', and this is the ta The type of read you cannot put down until you have reached the last page, great fun! Benjamin was a quiet and shy guy with lots of smarts, (he is two grades ahead of himself). It is not until he is confronted by a bully on the playground that he discovers something is radically different about him. Benjamin pushes the bully away from himself only to see him fly through the air and land ten feet away with several broken ribs. Benjamin has a secret power known as 'destructive', and this is the tale about how he discovers the power for good or evil and what he does with it.
    more
  • George Stewart
    June 7, 2016
    A great paranormal storyA big change after the military stories. It took awhile for the paradigm shift in my mind to jell. Young Benjamin learns he has special paranormal powers. Then he finds he has a mentor. He also has someone else who wants to negatively influence him. Then the forces of good and evil fight to draw him to one of their sides. You're going to have to read for yourself to learn of the surprising ending.
    more
  • Jonathan Reskof
    February 25, 2016
    Dragon1I am a Sr. Citizen and really enjoyed this book even though it was aimed at a much younger population. The underlying value system that is being taught is a wonderful thing. I highly recommend this story.
  • helen bosch
    July 11, 2015
    Benjamin is my kind of kid.I read the book looking forward to every new chapter. It totally kept my interest. I loved his family, friends and adventures.....going to start on the next book tomorrow.
  • Valerie
    July 26, 2016
    What a great story! Destroyers who can be bad or good, healers and growers! Superpowers at its best! Such a different read from the author of Corps Justice! I have fallen into realm of Benji....on to book 2! Recommend for both young and young at heart!
    more
  • Grace Sain
    January 6, 2014
    Loved itThis is about a young shy ten year old boy has just moved... again. He is super smart and unusual things start happening to him. I love the unique take on powers and responsibilities and that the author gives the young characters such smart personalities.
    more
  • Mary Barb
    February 13, 2016
    Great book but....The story is one which pulls you back to middle school days, awkward moments, bullies and friendships. Mr. Cooper good story but take more time with your grammar and in some places missing works to complete the thoughts of the situation or of the character.
    more
  • Richard Kratche
    August 1, 2016
    Great ReadI was very surprised that I e joyed Coopers Ben Dragon.I am not a sic fi person. Thank you for some unexpected relaxed reading. I have enjoyed Coopers writing and gave this a try because of him.
  • Lindberg
    December 16, 2016
    Super Heroes in my backyard lI can only say "'What took you so long!This is a concept I have played with in my head for years and now someone has put it on paper. I look forward to seeing the next book my this series with bated breaths.
  • Roland Minden
    January 24, 2016
    Fantastic coming of age fantasy story.Fantastic coming of age fantasy story. I enjoyed the story and how it deals with bullies. Good character development. Good contrast in story line.
  • Kimberly Griffith
    June 6, 2013
    I got this book to review and fell in love with it. It is for young readers age 9+ but also thoroughly entertained this old granny. Looking forward for the next installment and recommending it to all the young readers I know.
  • Marilyn Lewis
    February 26, 2016
    Enjoyable ReadEnjoyed this book very much. Great read for middle school. Even we older folks can enjoy it, although the writing is often much more fitted to the younger reader. Definitely recommended for a good guys bad guys story.
  • Mikel Rhodes
    August 10, 2015
    A fantastic story of good vs evil.I wasn't sure that I would finish this story once I began since I wasn't a fan of sci-fi or other such works but I soon realized that I couldn't put the story down & I am looking forward to the next Dragon book.
  • mirba
    January 3, 2014
    Ok, so i suppose that this book has a very specific target, which is nerdy outcast boys between 10 to 11 years old. Oh, and they have to be american.I don't fall in any of those categories, so probably that's why most of the good in the book leaves me quite untouched.
    more
  • Meryem Sevda Tok
    August 4, 2016
    What can I say???Amazing amazing amazingGreat great great Awesome awesome awesomeThis book was so cool that I can't tell. Please let the next book be free
  • Thomas Roth
    September 12, 2016
    A most entertaining story about fantastic powers in a world desperate for heros and young people growing to become amazing.
  • Janet
    July 10, 2016
    very good, look forward to reading more
  • Mitch Saunders
    October 23, 2016
    Great startGreat start to what I can only imagine to be an ever changing plot twisting adventure. I can't wait to read more
  • Darlene
    August 12, 2016
    Good story for YACute story. Defiantly for the young adult crowd. I was impressed with young Benjamin to make the right decisions. I'm curious as to how he will turn out.
Write a review