The Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories, #2)
After decades of hiding, the evil Enchantress who cursed Sleeping Beauty is back with a vengeance.Alex and Conner Bailey have not been back to the magical Land of Stories since their adventures in The Wishing Spell ended. But one night, they learn the famed Enchantress has kidnapped their mother! Against the will of their grandmother, the twins must find their own way into the Land of Stories to rescue their mother and save the fairy tale world from the greatest threat it's ever faced.

The Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories, #2) Details

TitleThe Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 6th, 2013
PublisherLittle, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN0316201545
ISBN-139780316201544
Number of pages517 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fairy Tales, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult

The Enchantress Returns (The Land of Stories, #2) Review

  • Bookworm007
    April 8, 2013
    HOLY MOLY I CAN'T EVEN EXPRESS MY EXCITMENT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THE COVER LOOKS aMAZing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BUT AUGUST ????? DO THESE PEOPLE HONESTLY THINK I CAN SURVIVE THAT LONG???????!!!!!!#@*^$edit on Oct 11, 2013Either my reading improved, or Chris Colfer's writing deteriorated, cuz this time I actually noticed his writing style. It was very.....childish.....or rather, I suppose it was because the targeted audience is younger than myself that I felt that some sentences didn HOLY MOLY I CAN'T EVEN EXPRESS MY EXCITMENT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THE COVER LOOKS aMAZing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BUT AUGUST ????? DO THESE PEOPLE HONESTLY THINK I CAN SURVIVE THAT LONG???????!!!!!!#@*^$edit on Oct 11, 2013Either my reading improved, or Chris Colfer's writing deteriorated, cuz this time I actually noticed his writing style. It was very.....childish.....or rather, I suppose it was because the targeted audience is younger than myself that I felt that some sentences didn't flow well, or were unnecessary. But I was willing to overlook these flaws and still give the book 5 stars, even if it did take Alex and Connor 9 chapters of 126 pages to return to the Land of Stories, and then another 8 chapters of 157 pages to actually begin their quest.Why? Well, first off, any book that grabs me and doesn't let go until 1 am in the morning, (not that I wanted to sleep but I really had to rest my eyes), deserves a high rating. I LOVED how this book was another item-collecting quest. It's just so exciting to read about! The ending was sooo sad that tears actually welled up in my eyes a bit. I felt like I could totally understand (view spoiler)[Connor's devastation at losing Alex. Even though I know they would definitely probably be reunited in the next book, I still felt really sad. (hide spoiler)]I'm wondering if the next book will be blue, red, or yellow? Food for thought!
    more
  • Josie
    August 16, 2013
    Arrrgh these books frustrate me. The story is really fantastic. The characters are fun and interesting for the most part. Red is hilarious. But the wink wink, nudge nudge quality to the writing makes me crazy. Colfer definitely has a talent for storytelling, but it is so very obvious that he knows this. The entire time reading these books I got the distinct impression that there is a LOT of self flagalting going on. It isn't enough to write a great little bit of dialouge, there has to be a "see Arrrgh these books frustrate me. The story is really fantastic. The characters are fun and interesting for the most part. Red is hilarious. But the wink wink, nudge nudge quality to the writing makes me crazy. Colfer definitely has a talent for storytelling, but it is so very obvious that he knows this. The entire time reading these books I got the distinct impression that there is a LOT of self flagalting going on. It isn't enough to write a great little bit of dialouge, there has to be a "see what I did there?!" moment immediately following it. Which comes across as pompous and condescending to the reader. I get it, you're clever, you can stop beating me over the head with it. That being said, Colfer is very young and very smart and I have little doubt that his tendency to self congratulate will dissapate as he matures as a writer. And of course none of this is to say I haven't enjoyed these books, I truly have. I'll just enjoy them more once Colfer relaxes and realizes his audience can and will find his cleverness without him having to hand feed it to them.
    more
  • Panda
    May 2, 2013
    AHHH WHYYY. this book was amazing but the ending was truly the stand out... and i think there will be a third one (maybe, hopefully, or else). the real strength in this series is Colfer's ability to create sympathy. his characters although they may be well known, are given back-stories that change how you see both their fairytale and their character, he adds detail to the fairytale world creating shades of grey between the good and evil that characterizes them. Colfer's use of humor was wonderfu AHHH WHYYY. this book was amazing but the ending was truly the stand out... and i think there will be a third one (maybe, hopefully, or else). the real strength in this series is Colfer's ability to create sympathy. his characters although they may be well known, are given back-stories that change how you see both their fairytale and their character, he adds detail to the fairytale world creating shades of grey between the good and evil that characterizes them. Colfer's use of humor was wonderful and he knows just how to pull on heart strings all in all a beautiful book in a beautiful series.
    more
  • Brad Sells
    May 19, 2013
    Oh gosh, that was fantastic. Even better than book one. This series has so many incredible elements of fairytales that makes me fall in love with this series harder and harder with each book. So, so, so amazing.Look for my full review soon!
  • Nariman
    March 10, 2017
    My 10 years old son is obsessed with this series, and he practically forced me to listen to this book with him - even though he could read it by himself , and we barely had spare time to listen together without interruption - because he enjoys ( a little too much ) discussing every small detail to death with someone who knows what's going on in the story , and it happened that I just finished the first book when he decided to begin the second , and i am very glad that he forced me , I enjoyed th My 10 years old son is obsessed with this series, and he practically forced me to listen to this book with him - even though he could read it by himself , and we barely had spare time to listen together without interruption - because he enjoys ( a little too much ) discussing every small detail to death with someone who knows what's going on in the story , and it happened that I just finished the first book when he decided to begin the second , and i am very glad that he forced me , I enjoyed this book far more than the first , it has more adventure in it , the challenge was more complicated and harder , and has heart breaking ending. That Red Riding Hood has a larger appearance in it didn't hurt either , she is my favorite character so far , followed closely by Connor.
    more
  • Cecilia
    January 13, 2015
    I was crying at the end of this book - so good was it!
  • Margaret
    January 1, 2014
    Easily the biggest Middle Reader dud of 2013. True, this book has enjoyed popular success on the NYT Children's list, in part thanks to the author's acting fan following that helped build the fan base for his first TLOS installment. I enjoy Colfer's acting, including his self-penned film debut. But I'm not reviewing Colfer the actor, I'm reviewing Colfer the writer. Given the target audience / genre and other truly good intermediate titles out there, this book suffers from cliche character trope Easily the biggest Middle Reader dud of 2013. True, this book has enjoyed popular success on the NYT Children's list, in part thanks to the author's acting fan following that helped build the fan base for his first TLOS installment. I enjoy Colfer's acting, including his self-penned film debut. But I'm not reviewing Colfer the actor, I'm reviewing Colfer the writer. Given the target audience / genre and other truly good intermediate titles out there, this book suffers from cliche character tropes and a poorly mapped plot arc. It should not take half the book before the main characters undertake the main quest / journey, nor should each 'major' hurdle of that journey be resolved in a single chapter. Given the age range for middle reader fiction, there are numerous language and situational choices in TLOS:TER that are more suited for a YA base. In fact, I can envision this series transformed for the mainstream tween audience; hopefully with more sophisticated character development -- right now it plays like plastic Disney Channel fare. I would not, ex., recommend this book for an above-level reader in the 2nd - 4th grade or even for a 5th - 8th grader who gravitates toward chewier plots. TLOS:TER is 'fast food' reading at best, though that is a kind assessment.
    more
  • Alice
    May 17, 2013
    Ok, so I read this book a LONG time ago, and I am only now getting around to reviewing it, so I apologise for vagueness.Firstly, I need to say that I am madly in love with Chris Colfer, so anything he does in my opinion is going to be amazing. The Wishing Spell was fantastic, and I was more than excited to read The Enchantress Returns.This book was incredible. It was amazingly written, well thought out and developed, and it had great character development. It also worked really well as a sequel; Ok, so I read this book a LONG time ago, and I am only now getting around to reviewing it, so I apologise for vagueness.Firstly, I need to say that I am madly in love with Chris Colfer, so anything he does in my opinion is going to be amazing. The Wishing Spell was fantastic, and I was more than excited to read The Enchantress Returns.This book was incredible. It was amazingly written, well thought out and developed, and it had great character development. It also worked really well as a sequel; it had it's own story, but at the same time continued from the first book. Generally, this book was an amazing read and I love being transported into this incredible fairy tale world. And that ending-WOW!However, this book was incredible long. This isn't a negative, in fact many will see it as a positive,however for me, it took a lot of time and effort to read, which I was willing to give. But if I had to nit pick, it would have helped me if it was shorter! Also, this book follows the same formula as the first; looking for items in the fairy tale world. I did not mind one bit and I was just as enthralled as I was with the wishing spell, but I wonder if this formula will continue throughout the series, and if so, if it will become a bit samey. However I have utmost confidence in Chris Colfer's abilities and I absolutely adored this book. Any negatives I have was just me trying really hard to find negatives in order to have a balanced review. This book is fantastic and good for all ages. I highly recommend.
    more
  • Maud
    March 29, 2015
    2.5 stars, I had so many issues with this book. Watch my review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyzRN...The beginning of this book was slow in boring. The plot felt like it was just a recycled version of the first book (they need to collect 6 items to complete a spell... doesn't that sound familiar to you?!). The evil characters tell you right away why they are evil, there is no mystery to them at all. The female characters were horrible. Snow White, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty... I could 2.5 stars, I had so many issues with this book. Watch my review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyzRN...The beginning of this book was slow in boring. The plot felt like it was just a recycled version of the first book (they need to collect 6 items to complete a spell... doesn't that sound familiar to you?!). The evil characters tell you right away why they are evil, there is no mystery to them at all. The female characters were horrible. Snow White, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty... I could not for the life of me keep them apart! Their voices are so much the same, they could have been one and the same character! The only two female characters that had a voice of their own were Goldilocks and Red. And they too were horrible characters! Red is CHOSEN queen, the people picked her out of everyone to be their queen. You would think that they would go with someone who is smart and kind right? Well think again, Red is extremely vain and the only moment when she is not busy with herself is when she is fighting Goldilocks.And finally the cheesiness in this book was horrible, it made me feel sick!I'm not sure if I want to pick up the next book in the series, are the twins going to collect things to use a spell AGAIN?!
    more
  • Aleri
    March 12, 2017
    En sencillas palabras no me gusto...
  • Karen
    November 26, 2013
    While it is helpful to have read the first book in the series, The Wishing Spell, the book does a good job of summarizing how 13-year-old twins Alex (a girl) and Connor (a boy) first discovered that their deceased father came from the fairy tale world and that their grandmother is in fact the Fairy Godmother. While they ended up in The Land of Stories by accident last time, in this tale they actively seek a portal to the other world to rescue their mother, who has been kidnapped by an enchantres While it is helpful to have read the first book in the series, The Wishing Spell, the book does a good job of summarizing how 13-year-old twins Alex (a girl) and Connor (a boy) first discovered that their deceased father came from the fairy tale world and that their grandmother is in fact the Fairy Godmother. While they ended up in The Land of Stories by accident last time, in this tale they actively seek a portal to the other world to rescue their mother, who has been kidnapped by an enchantress bent on seizing power. Colfer reimagines fairy tale characters from a variety of sources and gives them new personalities, and I enjoyed the way he weaves what we think of as separate stories together. (Would you have imagined there was a rivalry between Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks?) A fun read.
    more
  • Annie
    February 13, 2017
    Reseña completa--- http://bit.ly/2kpT5hDFrases del libro--- http://bit.ly/23zrIDAEs difícil hacer reseñas de segundos libros, no quieres contar un resumen del primero y tampoco quieres hacer spoilers, es un equilibrio algo difícil de lograr; en este caso debo decir que el segundo libro supera al primero, tanto en trama, personajes, manejo de la historia e incluso en madurez, tenemos situaciones más duras, más adultas, personajes que están entrando a la adolescencia y que ya no son tan inmaduros Reseña completa--- http://bit.ly/2kpT5hDFrases del libro--- http://bit.ly/23zrIDAEs difícil hacer reseñas de segundos libros, no quieres contar un resumen del primero y tampoco quieres hacer spoilers, es un equilibrio algo difícil de lograr; en este caso debo decir que el segundo libro supera al primero, tanto en trama, personajes, manejo de la historia e incluso en madurez, tenemos situaciones más duras, más adultas, personajes que están entrando a la adolescencia y que ya no son tan inmaduros ni infantiles como en el primer libro y siempre se agradece que se note el crecimiento de los protagonistas. Otro punto que me encanto es que al autor juega con la genealogía de los cuentos de hadas y logra trazar puntos de unión entre la historia de La Bella y la Bestia con La Bella Durmiente y a la Bella Durmiente con algunos cuentos más, al final nos entrega un mundo donde todos los cuentos están conectados y cada vez que salían a relucir estas conexiones yo me emocionaba demasiado, estoy segura que ustedes también se emocionaran y les encantara la forma en que Chris Colfer maneja este mundo mágico que nos resulta conocido pero que en su pluma se convierte en algo totalmente nuevo.
    more
  • Zachary Flye (Zach's YA Reviews)
    October 10, 2013
    Real Rating: 4.5 starsOriginally posted on my blog, Zach's YA Reivews (zachsyareviews.com)Review:Protagonists: Alex and Connor Bailey haven't been back to the Land of Stories in nearly a year, and when they get back things aren't quite as they had left them. One of the things I was hoping to get out of this installment was some serious character development in our two protagonist and while we do get that, it happens a lot less gradually than I would have liked. Maybe I missed the subtle hints, b Real Rating: 4.5 starsOriginally posted on my blog, Zach's YA Reivews (zachsyareviews.com)Review:Protagonists: Alex and Connor Bailey haven't been back to the Land of Stories in nearly a year, and when they get back things aren't quite as they had left them. One of the things I was hoping to get out of this installment was some serious character development in our two protagonist and while we do get that, it happens a lot less gradually than I would have liked. Maybe I missed the subtle hints, but regardless of whether or not there were hints these characters still developed way too quickly. For a large portion of the book they were how they were when we left them at the end of The Wishing Spell, however fairly close to the end there's a moment when they change and develop but it happens so fast that I had wished it would be more gradual and less like a spell had been cast upon them that forced them to mature a bit more (just to be clear that was a metaphor and not a spoiler.)World-Building: I love how much more of this world we got to see. With a large focus on the villains of fairy tales we are treated to back stories and twists to the classic tales that we know and love. While some of these villains have nearly redeeming backstories there are others that are evil for the sake of being evil, I appreciated this mix because it's hard to believe that everyone at one point was good, or that no one is evil for evil's sake. While shades of gray exist so do black and white. My only complaint is that with seeing so many villains, it's hard to see who could oppose our heroes in future installments. There are more parallels to the Narnia books, which the characters even comment on, and believe it or not there is an appearance by a Narnian character, but that's all I'm saying for now. Another thing that this book does was take some fan favorite minor characters and give them a larger part in this new journey which makes for the most hilarious group of travelers you could ever think of.Predictability: I was actually surprised with how surprised I could be with the twists of this installment. While there were moments that were fairly predictable there was one moment in particular that I was so utterly shocked, not only by the gravity of the revelation and the impact it had on the story, but also by the fact that the twist could have been fairly easily figured out if the pieces didn't seem so unrelated. There were a few other moments that weren't as shocking but still caught me by surprise, mainly because things never really worked out in the way I would have thought.Ending: It wasn't until the very last sentence that I let out a breath of relief. Up until then I was so convinced that this series was going to be made into a duology, because up until then everything seemed to be ending. Not ending in the way the first book had, where a sequel may or may not happen, but a real, honest to God ending that no one could come back from. So up until the very last line I was scared that this series would end far before it's time. Luckily my fear was all for nothing as the last line delivers a very definitive answer as to whether a sequel would be written.Rating:I may have loved this installment a bit more than the first one though I think that may just be my mind playing tricks on me as the first installment to this series was beyond amazing. I would highly, very highly, recommend this series to those who enjoy their favorite childhood stories being twisted and reinterpreted in fun and thought provoking ways.
    more
  • Connie Tang
    August 20, 2013
    His writing has definitely tightened considerably since the first novel of this series. The plot arc was way better, and he's learned from his first in such that you don't build up impossible dilemmas and dangers only to have them be saved by luck.The twins in this story had more agency, and did more things. Helped themselves out more - as opposed to having all these other characters help them. The grandmother is very well-written, in voice, character and personality. She has flaws, but ones tha His writing has definitely tightened considerably since the first novel of this series. The plot arc was way better, and he's learned from his first in such that you don't build up impossible dilemmas and dangers only to have them be saved by luck.The twins in this story had more agency, and did more things. Helped themselves out more - as opposed to having all these other characters help them. The grandmother is very well-written, in voice, character and personality. She has flaws, but ones that are understandable, acceptable and human. The princesses are a little too perfect for my taste, but they served their function well and were interesting enough. His story-telling abilities have not wavered in the least. It is oddly, and unexpectedly compelling to read. For its commentary on ambition and vengeance and pain, but also oddly, and unexpectedly creative. The stakes are higher, the twins find themselves a little more. Was I a little annoyed that it plays on the typical Young Adult trope of: super special snowflake by birthright, but you never knew/realized it until now? Yes. But that's every YA book I've read, and I don't expect it to change. Colfer does need to learn to balance his characters. There's a lot of unnecessary characters in the novel, and I could've done without them and their incredibly long backstory introductions, because they weren't crucial to the plot and quite replaceable in their functionality. So I don't need three paragraphs of this character's life story. Also, there has to be a better way to present these expositions, because nobody has a quick speech on hand of their life's woes, ready to be recited. There are things woven into this story, as opposed to plot-by-plot action. Things and characters reoccur, unpredictable things link together. The magical quest for the 'ultimate' spell to solve their problem storyline is repeated, but I didn't mind that so much. I did really like the ending, and it's cliche and stereotypical but also very appropriate and... heartwarming, for lack of a better word. And that's pretty cool and intricate for a novel intended for 9-12 year olds, but read by an 18 year old. Mostly, I am impressed by the sheer production-productivity of this kid. It's his third novel in a calendar year, and while novels should always always be quality over quantity - the book is very, incredibly decent for what it is.
    more
  • Jordan
    August 11, 2013
    Chris Colfer wrote yet another surprising book that I enjoyed. His first one took us into a land where we got to read about our favorite childhood characters and find out what happened to them after their happily ever after. We got to go on an adventure with two unlikely hero's and travel around trying to save the whole world from an evil queen.A year later; Alex and Connor Bailey spent the past year since their last adventure living their lives as normal as can be. On a day when everything seem Chris Colfer wrote yet another surprising book that I enjoyed. His first one took us into a land where we got to read about our favorite childhood characters and find out what happened to them after their happily ever after. We got to go on an adventure with two unlikely hero's and travel around trying to save the whole world from an evil queen.A year later; Alex and Connor Bailey spent the past year since their last adventure living their lives as normal as can be. On a day when everything seemed to be going great for them, their whole world was turned upside down. Their Grandmother was quick to make sure they were protected and wouldn't let them intervene in what was taking place in the Fairy-Tale World.Unbeknownst to Alex and Connor the evil Enchantress has return to the Land of Stories and is causing havoc all over, ruining the once beautiful land, pushing her plans to take over the world. Alex and Connor must find their own way into the Land of Stories before it is to late and save their friends from her powers. They work with their good friends Froggy, Goldielocks, Jack and Queen Red to travel across the land and collect special objects that may help them vanquish the evil Enchantress for good.I feel this time around Chris Colfer threw in a lot more to the story, it amazed me at how much more was put into this book. Not only did it take you on the adventure of a life time, but it handed you a plot that just kept you guessing the entire time, with clues and riddles throughout. He was quick to fall back on his previous plot, sending his characters on a giant chase through the land collecting items to create one giant magical item, but still managed to keep the reader wanting more. The ending to this one was by far more of a tear up for me, which is what made it by far one of my favorite books this year.
    more
  • ~* Yardéna Lucretia *~
    July 30, 2013
    Makes you feel like a little kid again! I was already a big fan of Chris Colfer on Glee, I was a big fan of him with his first Land of Stories Book but again he knows how to amaze me. I'm an adult and even I fell in love with the story!So if you want a nice read, full of adventure that makes you want to be a kid again, read the Land of Stories novels!
    more
  • Evelynne
    August 9, 2013
    The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is the second in Chris Colfer's children's book series. However, it's not nearly as enjoyable as the first one. The setting and characters are still enchanting, but the plotline seems a little repetitious. Once again our hero twins set off on a quest to gather magical objects that will allow them to cast magic to defeat the evil Enchantress. Additionally, this book suffers from too much of a tendency to show rather than tell; too many stretches where The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns is the second in Chris Colfer's children's book series. However, it's not nearly as enjoyable as the first one. The setting and characters are still enchanting, but the plotline seems a little repetitious. Once again our hero twins set off on a quest to gather magical objects that will allow them to cast magic to defeat the evil Enchantress. Additionally, this book suffers from too much of a tendency to show rather than tell; too many stretches where characters explain about something that happened rather than being shown it. Perhaps the novelty of the setting and characters carried the first book much further, and papered over inadequacies in writing style, but in this second installment it is not enough to cover up the recycled plotlines and the somewhat clunky narration.I'm not saying it isn't a fun read to pass a couple of hours - I do love the world Colfer has built - but I do feel that with better editing and perhaps a different emphasis on story lines it could have been so much better. I gave it 2.5 stars out of five.
    more
  • Sin ✿
    August 8, 2013
    Oh, my gosh. If the first one was so perfect, this one goes above and beyond to levels of near flawlessness (view spoiler)[.. even the end which was like a punch in the stomach with emotions ♥ (hide spoiler)]Chris just has such a gift for writing memorable characters; I just couldn't help picturing them all in my head as I read and wanting a movie adaption so much. Picking up where the last book left off, we dived into to so much more character development with (view spoiler)[Queen Red, Froggy, Oh, my gosh. If the first one was so perfect, this one goes above and beyond to levels of near flawlessness (view spoiler)[.. even the end which was like a punch in the stomach with emotions ♥ (hide spoiler)]Chris just has such a gift for writing memorable characters; I just couldn't help picturing them all in my head as I read and wanting a movie adaption so much. Picking up where the last book left off, we dived into to so much more character development with (view spoiler)[Queen Red, Froggy, Goldilocks, and Jack (hide spoiler)] and I just ADORE ALL OF THEM SO MUCH NOW. asdfghjklIt's absolutely clear that Chris has such a bright future as a writer because the sequel was well written, cleverly paced, and full of rich character goodness. I'm so proud of him! ^_^(view spoiler)[And Brian too, who was fantastic in the role that was clearly based about him. :) (hide spoiler)]PS: I absolutely adore (view spoiler)[Ezmia (hide spoiler)]. She might have been evil but, let's face it, she was perfectly evil.PPS: (view spoiler)[MOTHER GOOSE (hide spoiler)], EVERYONE. HOW SASSY WAS SHE?
    more
  • Chester Dean
    February 15, 2017
    El regreso de la Hechicera es la segunda parte de la saga La tierra de las historias del autor Chris Colfer. Si no han leído el primer libro (¡HÁGANLO!) no lean la reseña ya que podría accidentalmente hacerles spoilers. Y si no saben si animarse a iniciar a leerlos, aquí les dejo mi opinión sobre el primer libro: La tierra de las historias.En El regreso de la Hechicera podemos ver a los mellizos Alex y Conner de vuelta a casa, pero con un vacío enorme en sus corazones, ya que desde que regres El regreso de la Hechicera es la segunda parte de la saga La tierra de las historias del autor Chris Colfer. Si no han leído el primer libro (¡HÁGANLO!) no lean la reseña ya que podría accidentalmente hacerles spoilers. Y si no saben si animarse a iniciar a leerlos, aquí les dejo mi opinión sobre el primer libro: La tierra de las historias.En El regreso de la Hechicera podemos ver a los mellizos Alex y Conner de vuelta a casa, pero con un vacío enorme en sus corazones, ya que desde que regresaron de la tierra de las historias no volvieron a ver a su abuela por más de un año, y por ende, tampoco habían regresado a ese mágico lugar donde los cuentos de hadas eran reales. Aunque habían intentado sin mucho éxito abrir un portar por cuenta propia para visitar a su abuela. Lo que los gemelos no sabían, era que tanto secreto era para protegerlos del nuevo peligro que corría el mundo mágico donde vive su abuela y los personajes de cuentos de hadas. La Hechicera más poderosa y despiadada había regresado cuando todos la daban por muerta, y la tierra de las historias y todos en ella estaban en peligro eminente ¿Qué podrán hacer los gemelos para ayudar a sus amigos?En ésta segunda parte, volveremos a ver a personajes como Rani, la reina Roja, a Jack y a Ricitos de Oro, en una aventura casi impposible. Y en ésta ocasión veremos a otros personajes literarios como a la madrastra y hermanastras de Cenicienta, a Mamá Gansa, o a la bruja del mar que convirtió en espuma a la Sirenita. De verdad me encanta el giro que le dio el autor a las historias clásicas y a los personajes que todos conocemos bien, y cómo los convirtió en algo fresco y novedoso, y no tan trillados como ha pasado en otros re-tellings que cambian nombres y lugares, pero relativamente cuentan siempre la misma historia. En el caso de La tierra de las historias, Chris Colfer, logró meter a muchos personajes perfectamente conocidos en una historia totalmente nueva y divertida.La forma de escribir del autor es simple pero llena de detalles, no se le escapa nada, y cada personaje tiene una historia de fondo bien definida e importante, sin que ningún personaje se sienta de relleno, innecesario o puesto ahí sólo en momentos de conveniencia. Todos tienen un peso y una importancia en la historia. Chris Colfer logró crear todas éstas historias sin mezclarlas o confundirlas, y sin embargo, muchas de ellas están unidas de algún modo. Simplemente me encantó su forma de escribir.Por momentos se puede considerar un poco cursi, o mejor dicho, las lecciones morales son un tanto obvias, pero a mí en lo personal no me molestó en ningún momento, ya que es parte del encanto de la historia, y tiene muy buenos mensajes para los lectores más pequeños.¿Lo recomiendo? ¡Absolutamente! Como ya dije, es una lectura apta para todas las edades, los pequeños van a amar las aventuras interminables de los personajes y los adultos sentiremos una pizca de nostalgia al leer sobre personajes con los que crecimos, pero fascinados con las historias nuevas que están viviendo. Definitivamente me quedo con enormes ganas de continuar con la saga ¡Espero el siguiente libro salga pronto!
    more
  • La Fenice Book
    September 3, 2015
    Avevo già recensito precedentemente il primo volume come ricorderete; La Terra delle Storie è una vera e propria saga per ragazzi che lascia inesorabilmente il segno su tutti i fronti. Chris Colfer non è solo un bravo attore ma è anche un fantasioso e bravissimo scrittore. Dopo esserci catapultati nel primo volume con i due fratelli Alex e Conner in un nuovo mondo fatto di storie e fiabe ci ritroviamo un anno dopo ad affrontare un problema ancora più grande, l'incantatrice ...che sta minacciando Avevo già recensito precedentemente il primo volume come ricorderete; La Terra delle Storie è una vera e propria saga per ragazzi che lascia inesorabilmente il segno su tutti i fronti. Chris Colfer non è solo un bravo attore ma è anche un fantasioso e bravissimo scrittore. Dopo esserci catapultati nel primo volume con i due fratelli Alex e Conner in un nuovo mondo fatto di storie e fiabe ci ritroviamo un anno dopo ad affrontare un problema ancora più grande, l'incantatrice ...che sta minacciando la Terra delle Storie e il nostro mondo. Ritroviamo vecchi personaggi e un paio di nuove new entry, come Bob (il fidanzato della madre) e Mamma Oca (deliziosa nella sua veste come non ce l'eravamo mai immaginata). E bhè se state pensando alle classiche favole che conoscete, SCORDATEVELO, perché qui si parla di tutta un' altra storia!!!Il libro misura più di 600 pagine ma è un piacere assicurato poterlo leggere e osservare i disegni che ci sono a ogni inizio capitolo. La storia è coinvolgente e affascinante allo stesso tempo. Ci riporta a quando eravamo bambini e a tutti i nostri affetti più cari: Cenerentola, Biancaneve, La Bella Addormentata, le ritroviamo tutte qui , con vite reali e con problemi di ogni giorno. L'idea dell'autore di inventare in maniera alternativa le storie famose e trasformale in qualcosa di più attuale, vero e sentito è davvero geniale! La scrittura è scorrevole, facile e intuitiva, si legge in un soffio. L'intreccio che si viene a creare è davvero sorprendente e unico. I personaggi stilizzati e elegantemente costruiti ci riportano a una fiaba che ci fa piangere, ridere e arrabbiare. Non starò qui a raccontarvi una seconda storia modificata in breve, riassunta e specificata punto per punto, sarebbe inutile e uno spreco di tempo ma voglio che voi leggiate e sfogliate le pagine di questo libro, potrete finalmente comprendere di cosa parlo, la trama che fitta fitta vi porterà verso un mondo incantato.La magia delle vite che si intrecciano, l'amore, la passione che sgorga da ruscelli fatati è davvero affascinante e pregna di buoni propositi! Una nuova avventura dei fratelli Bailey, una nuova change per loro, che vi lascerà magicamanete incantati...Buona Lettura!
    more
  • Michael
    December 13, 2014
    Alex and Connor are only teenagers but has seen enough for their age. After living in a fairytale land for quite some time, they believe that anything is possible. Some time has passed since they have lived in the Land of stories book, yet that does stop Alex from reminiscing about the good times they shared. Alex on the other hand has put all the magic and land of stories behind him, looking forward to live his own reality.Connor education has improved over the past year or so, not earning the Alex and Connor are only teenagers but has seen enough for their age. After living in a fairytale land for quite some time, they believe that anything is possible. Some time has passed since they have lived in the Land of stories book, yet that does stop Alex from reminiscing about the good times they shared. Alex on the other hand has put all the magic and land of stories behind him, looking forward to live his own reality.Connor education has improved over the past year or so, not earning the lackluster grades that he use too. Also he manages to stay awake for five seconds when he is in class, a huge milestone for him. Unknown of his talents, he is encouraged to be a writer, something he is convinced to pursue by an unlikely person. Additionally, he wonders if his writing is enough for the real world.Furthermore Alex and Connor misses their grandmother presence, longing to see her again. While their mother tries to reassure them that they will see her again, Alex and Connor feels abandoned. On top of her disappearance, they are in for a rude awakening when their mother falls in love. Although they want her to be happy, they are not fond of a new romance being a secret in the beginning. Soon they grow accustomed to having another man in the house besides their deceased father.Under peculiar situations, their grandmother reappears with startling news, now the twins must do all what they do to save their mother. As their story comes to a halt, Connor must leave Alex behind in a magical world that is foreign to him.I enjoyed the first book way better than this one but this was still a great followup. In particular, I liked how Connor matured from the first book, that was a nice touch. Alex and her mother developed somewhat but not as much as I would like. Despite these qualities, I felt that this book was lengthy for all the wrong reasons. I began to not care as it got towards the end, mainly skimmed a huge portion of it. However I did love the ending, that mainly contributed to the four stars.All of that being said, Colfer is a talented writer, glad he introduced me to fantasy novels.
    more
  • Matt Randall
    August 24, 2013
    In my review of the first book in The Land of Stories series, I wrote that Colfer has written an enjoyable book that had a lot of room for improvement. In The Enchantress Returns, he does show that he's grown as a writer. The characters speak more naturally, and while he does at times show instead of tell, on the whole, this was a much better written novel. The plot once again involves Conner, Alex, and their friends on a quest to find the six pieces of the Wand of Wonderment in order to defeat In my review of the first book in The Land of Stories series, I wrote that Colfer has written an enjoyable book that had a lot of room for improvement. In The Enchantress Returns, he does show that he's grown as a writer. The characters speak more naturally, and while he does at times show instead of tell, on the whole, this was a much better written novel. The plot once again involves Conner, Alex, and their friends on a quest to find the six pieces of the Wand of Wonderment in order to defeat the Enchantress. It felt somewhat like a rehash of the first novel in a way since both dealt with finding magical items spread across the Land of Stories. The stakes were a bit higher this time around. Colfer also continued twisting the traditional fairy tale stories in interesting ways. However, the fact that he devoted only a chapter or so to finding each item made their quest seem fairly rushed in places.From the ending, it certainly looks like there will be a third novel in this series. I'd like to see Colfer focus his story a little more. The "collect items" plot is almost too much for these books, even with their 500+ pages. I think he's trying to do too much. If he paces his plots better, I think his fantasy novels could be very good. I'm very curious about his other novel, Struck By Lightning, which is not a fantasy. The writing in the movie was quite good, and I think he may do better with the more mature tones presented in it.Overall, The Land of Stories series is a fun read, and book #2 shows some definite improvement in the writing. I look forward to book #3.
    more
  • Liza
    September 7, 2015
    I really did want to enjoy this book...however parts of it just rubbed me the wrong way that I just had to give it a 3.5/5 instead of a 4/5.I'm not really in the mood to write out a full blown review so here's something really quick to say what I felt about this book in terms of why I didn't like it as much:My issue with it is that it reuses the "fetch quest" from book 1. Sure they are looking for something else but it is still a fetch quest. The fetch quest didn't even come in until almost half I really did want to enjoy this book...however parts of it just rubbed me the wrong way that I just had to give it a 3.5/5 instead of a 4/5.I'm not really in the mood to write out a full blown review so here's something really quick to say what I felt about this book in terms of why I didn't like it as much:My issue with it is that it reuses the "fetch quest" from book 1. Sure they are looking for something else but it is still a fetch quest. The fetch quest didn't even come in until almost half of the book was done but in the end it was still a fetch quest.Also, another thing that annoyed me was that it seems like I switched on which twin I liked. Book 1 I liked Alex and disliked Conner but this time I liked Conner and disliked Alex. I dunno.The other characters were great though and I loved the incorporation of all of the fairy tale characters into one world.
    more
  • Olivia
    October 20, 2015
    My, my, what a ride!I'm so impressed over how Chris Colfer manages to entwine so many fairy tales in this book. It's really amazing. The beginning was a bit slow but once they got to the Land of Stories... wow.Alex was a bit annoying at times but Connor was just hilarious. And Red, oh god, she's my new favorite. I liked her in the first book but now I totally love her! And Froggy, I like him too :)Jack and Goldilocks never did it for me. They could've stayed out of this book for all I care. The My, my, what a ride!I'm so impressed over how Chris Colfer manages to entwine so many fairy tales in this book. It's really amazing. The beginning was a bit slow but once they got to the Land of Stories... wow.Alex was a bit annoying at times but Connor was just hilarious. And Red, oh god, she's my new favorite. I liked her in the first book but now I totally love her! And Froggy, I like him too :)Jack and Goldilocks never did it for me. They could've stayed out of this book for all I care. The ending was just so cute and heartbreaking at the same time. Really looking forward to read the next book.
    more
  • Shandra
    December 25, 2015
    Actual rating: 2.5 stars. I'm so disappointed in this book, it's not even funny. I was soooooo into the first book in this series. It had a couple of flaws, but nothing that ruined the story for me. This one, however, was ridiculous. It read like I was 6 years old. The writing was dumbed down. It spelled out things that the reader should've been left to deduce themselves. After that, I'm not sure I'm going to be continuing the series.
    more
  • Haley *Books, Boys, Baking, and Horses*
    May 8, 2015
    Super duper exciting!! I know it is a kids book but I read the first one a long time ago and it was really good!! And when I saw a series after it I was so excited!! I have already started the next book!
  • Bella
    August 22, 2016
    This book was so interesting and it had so many twists! This book was full of adventure and you always wonder what will happen next! I recommend this book because you will definitely enjoy it!!
  • Karla
    February 23, 2017
    Este libro es hermoso!!! Cuando creí que no superarían al primer libro de la saga, llega este y... es perfecto!!! Aunque ese final me destrozo por completo el corazón, pero ame cada página de esta historia, amo las enseñanzas y moralejas, cada personaje y aventura que se vive dentro de esta increíble tierra de las historias <3 a esperar con ansias la siguiente entrega!!!
    more
  • Taylor frederick
    March 14, 2017
    i loved this book so much i cant wait to read the third book
  • Becca
    January 1, 2014
    While the prose may, at times, land a little too clunkily for my taste, and the story almost repetitively shares large plot devices with its predecessor, those are the perceptions of an adult reader. If you are looking for an author claiming to be writing for children while attempting to also hook the adults, this is not the book for you. Colfer is, undoubtedly, writing toward children, he knows it, and he succeeds marvelously well. He writes a sibling relationship with rivalry and humor that ri While the prose may, at times, land a little too clunkily for my taste, and the story almost repetitively shares large plot devices with its predecessor, those are the perceptions of an adult reader. If you are looking for an author claiming to be writing for children while attempting to also hook the adults, this is not the book for you. Colfer is, undoubtedly, writing toward children, he knows it, and he succeeds marvelously well. He writes a sibling relationship with rivalry and humor that rings very true, making his protagonists charming and funny, and wrapping up their sidebar adventures in the progression of the story (and the stories generally) with a proper eclat that older readers (such as myself, I suppose.), will find charmingly reminiscent of series such as Nancy Drew or Hardy Boys.I can also say this: Colfer knows how to tell a story. He breathes a witty life into childhood fantasy favorites, and puts a wonderful spin on the fairy tale "world" that left my nine-year-old son absolutely enchanted. At a time when far too many authors are trying to doublewrite for both children and adults, and not succeeding with either, this was a wonderfully age appropriate story with some meat to it.
    more
Write a review