Chain of Gold (The Last Hours, #1)
From #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Cassandra Clare comes the first novel in a brand-new trilogy where evil hides in plain sight and the only thing more dangerous than fighting demons is falling in love. Chain of Gold is a Shadowhunters novel.Cordelia Carstairs is a Shadowhunter, a warrior trained since childhood to battle demons. When her father is accused of a terrible crime, she and her brother travel to Edwardian London in hopes of preventing the family’s ruin. Cordelia’s mother wants to marry her off, but Cordelia is determined to be a hero rather than a bride. Soon Cordelia encounters childhood friends James and Lucie Herondale and is drawn into their world of glittering ballrooms, secret assignations, and supernatural salons, where vampires and warlocks mingle with mermaids and magicians. All the while, she must hide her secret love for James, who is sworn to marry someone else. But Cordelia’s new life is blown apart when a shocking series of demon attacks devastate London. These monsters are nothing like those Shadowhunters have fought before—these demons walk in daylight, strike down the unwary with incurable poison, and seem impossible to kill. London is immediately quarantined. Trapped in the city, Cordelia and her friends discover that their own connection to an dark legacy has gifted them with incredible powers — and force a brutal choice that will reveal the true cruel price of being a hero.

Chain of Gold (The Last Hours, #1) Details

TitleChain of Gold (The Last Hours, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 3rd, 2020
PublisherMargaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-139781481431873
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Chain of Gold (The Last Hours, #1) Review

  • Giovanna
    January 1, 1970
    People: "Emma and Jules and TDA!!!"Me: "I WANT JAMES HERONDALE"
  • Khalia
    January 1, 1970
    You know what this means? MORE WILL HERONDALE! Update: First review for this book. Claiming it! (27/03/13)Edit 10/05/15 Since writing this review I've fallen out of love with Clare's novels, and in fact most novels I used to love (*shakes fist* "curse you, maturity!"), but I'm strangely proud that this semi-positive review is one of the top liked reviews amongst all these nasty reviewers... Seriously, why are you wasting your time with such redundant commentary? If I'd created a world as expansi You know what this means? MORE WILL HERONDALE! Update: First review for this book. Claiming it! (27/03/13)Edit 10/05/15 Since writing this review I've fallen out of love with Clare's novels, and in fact most novels I used to love (*shakes fist* "curse you, maturity!"), but I'm strangely proud that this semi-positive review is one of the top liked reviews amongst all these nasty reviewers... Seriously, why are you wasting your time with such redundant commentary? If I'd created a world as expansive as Clare's of-fucking-course I'D like to write about it as much as I can!!So boo on you fellas. Don't buy the books, save a tree, & save us from your bitterness ( ˘ ³˘)♥
    more
  • Nasty Lady MJ
    January 1, 1970
    Note December 18, 2018: With much regret I requested that GR freezes the comments for this review. I am tired of constantly getting alerts and having to delete harassment. I really don't know why people can't get it into their thick heads that this is my review. They can disagree with it, but they don't have to come on here and attack me. God, just grow up already. Disclaimer: Fanbots and trolls will be blocked. I don't care if you think I'm mean to Cassandra Clare. I really doubt she's read thi Note December 18, 2018: With much regret I requested that GR freezes the comments for this review. I am tired of constantly getting alerts and having to delete harassment. I really don't know why people can't get it into their thick heads that this is my review. They can disagree with it, but they don't have to come on here and attack me. God, just grow up already. Disclaimer: Fanbots and trolls will be blocked. I don't care if you think I'm mean to Cassandra Clare. I really doubt she's read this review and I doubt she's hurt by it. I really don't care if you think these books are great and that having a grand total of eighteen plus books in a series is a good idea. If you want to whine about it write your own damn review. Let me tell you a little story, boys and girls. It's how to over milk a series.Pre Step One: Start a ridiculous popular fan fic that you later use for the basis on your work. Never mind the fact you might occasionally borrow quotes and passages from other sources. If you get enough reviews you'll get noticed and eventually.....hello, publishing contract.Step One: Write a fairly decent YA series. It doesn't have to be great, but decent enough to have interest and a catchy theme that you can use over and over again. It also helps if you get a blurb from Stephenie Meyer.Step Two: Come up with a spin off (note, spin off should be fairly decent and better than the original).Step Three: Restart first series even though it had a decent ending so you can add in future conflicts. Add a bunch of annoying characters and unnecessary plot to claim there's room for more story.Step Four: Sell movie rights after a substantial amount of time so you don't look like a sell out and build a substantial fan base.Step Five: Graphic novel adaptions. Note, once spinoff is successful rinse and repeat step five.Step Six: After your first series starts sagging and your second series is about to wrap up announce a new series in addition to a lot of info books about your world.Step Seven: Edit your own info books and gets your b.f.f.s to write the essays so they portray you in the best light. Also, state you and your hubby are going to write a guide to your own universe as well. Because hey, info books worked for Stephenie Meyer and JK Rowling has mentioned a Harry Potter encyclopedia throughout the years as well. So that must be the cool thing to do.Step Eight: Get your b.f.f.s to help you write a spinoff with your best character-spread this out over time so you can keep getting those royalties.Step Nine: After second series wraps up and the hype for your movie starts announce you'll be writing at least two more series (it also helps if final book in said series has a family tree which will make fanoholics want to know what happens with these characters and write fan fic that might be better than your own work).Step Ten: Relish in the green. You're a true success now. Also work on licensing out games, toys, etc. Heck, maybe you can get your own theme park/production company if you're successful enough.Amendment Post City of Heavenly Fire:1) Pimp your new series with brand new characters in your last book. So that it's almost a prequel to that series. And furthermore, feature your other spinoff so fans and people who want to know what's actually going on other than feeling stupid the entire book, will have to read the eight other books prior to this epic finale.
    more
  • Nick
    January 1, 1970
    You can't imagine how long I have waited for this. Will and Tessa's story will live on.
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    JEEZ!!! My heart stopped beating when I saw this cover. It's so gorgeous I want to marry it. <333___________________________I've been dying to read more about James Herondale ever since I read "The Midnight Heir" in "The Bane Chronicles". I love all those Herondales and Carstairs and Lightwoods and Blackthorns. Gosh just give me all those awesome Shadowhunters! I need them like I need air to breathe! <333I genuinely hope Cassie Clare never stops to write those books because it certainly wo JEEZ!!! My heart stopped beating when I saw this cover. It's so gorgeous I want to marry it. <333___________________________I've been dying to read more about James Herondale ever since I read "The Midnight Heir" in "The Bane Chronicles". I love all those Herondales and Carstairs and Lightwoods and Blackthorns. Gosh just give me all those awesome Shadowhunters! I need them like I need air to breathe! <333I genuinely hope Cassie Clare never stops to write those books because it certainly would be the death of me. *lol*
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    13.12.18LOOK AT THAT COVER I AM IN LOVE!————28.07.18 So I’m reading TID (Clockwork Prince) and it’s just dawned on me.Page 300“We who are immortal, we are chained to this life by a chain of gold, and we dare not sever it for fear of what lies beyond the drop” said MagnusCoincidence? I think not!—————When you need a book more than life itself, because your one true love is finally coming back to you... I. need. this. now.WILL HERONDALE, sooooooooooooon!
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    Yeah, this cover just slayed me and resurrected me in the same second. I'm already prepared to die for James and Lucie Herondale.Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
  • Jude
    January 1, 1970
    Here We Go Again.First, I want to make clear to everyone that I Looooove TMI and TID, Loved them. But there's already The Dark Artifices coming and now this? The thing about lots of books in a series is that, for them to work well, the author has to built this whole excellent world that is just so well written and so thought of that you can't help but want continue to be in it - for example Harry Potter. The Nephilim world is amazing and I've loved learning more and more about it and I can't se Here We Go Again.First, I want to make clear to everyone that I Looooove TMI and TID, Loved them. But there's already The Dark Artifices coming and now this? The thing about lots of books in a series is that, for them to work well, the author has to built this whole excellent world that is just so well written and so thought of that you can't help but want continue to be in it - for example Harry Potter. The Nephilim world is amazing and I've loved learning more and more about it and I can't seem to get enough of CC's books but.... no more.Let's think about TMI and TID for a minute.... they are different periods of time and yada yada... but what are the similar things??? ....Oh Hell, I'll just say it: Characters. Now please don't hate me for this, but Will is Jace, Jem is Simon, Jessamine is/was Isabel just as Tessa was Clary. Of course there were differences, like how Clary was more... feisty? not sure if that's the word I want to use, but whatever. While Tessa has a more quiet strength in her. Still, they are very similar. The same theory that applies to the story applies to the characters: Jace for example, was an Amazing character to read, he was refreshing, funny, charming, EVERYTHING. Which is why it did not bother me at all to see the same qualities in Will, but... but.... no more. CC is an amazing writer, but I would just love to see something new from her. She seems to have so much potential and I really think she has the talent to create a whole other new world, with more new and refreshing characters, I would just really like to see her explore that side. That being said... maybe I'll read her new Nephilim books. I did not continue reading the second part of TMI, but I did love the whole TID series... I just think that too much of something can really be a turnoff. Personal opinions people, I just felt like ranting.
    more
  • Booknut
    January 1, 1970
    By the Angel. She's done it again.Like the proverbial 'rabbit-out-of-a-hat' trick, Cassandra Clare has whipped out another series based in the Shadowhunter world...this time, taking us on an unnecessary journey through the married life of Will and Tessa.At the end of Clockwork Princess I was like: But nope. Cassandra Clare decided that our fanfiction and daydreams weren't good enough - so she concocted a way to drag out continue the stories of two of our favourite characters.
    more
  • ~Poppy~
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! Cordelia Carstairs with Cortana. I love it!!!James Herondale, son of William Herondale!!!!!
  • Lucy Qhuay
    January 1, 1970
    Update: July, 16th 2013So, today I read The Midnight Heir, the fourth installment in The Bane Chronicles. I loved it, by the way.And I only have two things to say:1 - James Herondale...2 - Grace Blackthorn...------I'm already seeing everything in my mind: Featuring JAMES fucking HERONDALE, son of WILL fucking HERONDALE, bad boy extraordinaire, and TESSA fucking GRAY/HERONDALE.
    more
  • Eryn
    January 1, 1970
    See's William Herondale in the synopsis. *Screams*
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    14 December, 2018THIS HAS JUST GOTTEN REAL!! CORDELIA CARSTAIRS IS ON THE COVER AND I AM FREAKING OUT!! REALEASE DATE 19 NOVEMBER 2019 COVER RELEASE VIDEO WITH CASSIE AND CHRISTINE RICCCIO HERE17 Nov, 2018I kinda agree that Cassie is milking the Shadowhunter Universe. BUT I DON'T GIVE A DAMN. SHE CAN HAVE MY MONEY. HER BOOKS ARE GOLD TO ME. I spent my teen years reading Cassie's books and I will—and am spending my 20's doing the same. #shamelessWhither thou goest, I will go10 May, 2017DOES THIS 14 December, 2018THIS HAS JUST GOTTEN REAL!! CORDELIA CARSTAIRS IS ON THE COVER AND I AM FREAKING OUT!! REALEASE DATE 19 NOVEMBER 2019 COVER RELEASE VIDEO WITH CASSIE AND CHRISTINE RICCCIO HERE17 Nov, 2018I kinda agree that Cassie is milking the Shadowhunter Universe. BUT I DON'T GIVE A DAMN. SHE CAN HAVE MY MONEY. HER BOOKS ARE GOLD TO ME. I spent my teen years reading Cassie's books and I will—and am spending my 20's doing the same. #shamelessWhither thou goest, I will go10 May, 2017DOES THIS MEAN I GET MORE WILL HERONDALE? FUCK YESSSS
    more
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    Clare. Wat r u doing?Clare. STAHP.What is this? Now there's going to be a fourth series? (And the Infernal Devices wasn't even that good!) Oh God, it's like Warriors. IT JUST DOESN'T END. Clare just needs to get some new ideas already. Stop milking this cow; she's done. Get over it.I'll probably read Clockwork Princess eventually, just because I don't like reading only 2/3 of a trilogy. Even though I'm not all that thrilled to read it. I refuse to read TMI for various reasons. In case you don't Clare. Wat r u doing?Clare. STAHP.What is this? Now there's going to be a fourth series? (And the Infernal Devices wasn't even that good!) Oh God, it's like Warriors. IT JUST DOESN'T END. Clare just needs to get some new ideas already. Stop milking this cow; she's done. Get over it.I'll probably read Clockwork Princess eventually, just because I don't like reading only 2/3 of a trilogy. Even though I'm not all that thrilled to read it. I refuse to read TMI for various reasons. In case you don't know, Clare is a cyberbully and a plaigarist. (If you don't know anything about her thief-ness, CLICK THAT LINK. NOW.)That is plagiarism, people. Why am I not hearing the sounds of an angry mob? It's like just like my dad was talking about yesterday: outrage is dead. Unless it becomes trendy, like being anti-SOPA. But seriously...why do her books sell? Why do people support this stuff? To be clear, I'm not marking this as to-read. I'm marking it as "watch list", which is what I do when I either a) have no desire to read a book but want to keep an eye on the cover reveal b) have no desire to read it but want to keep an eye on it otherwise c) am not sure whether I want to read it or d) just want to make comments about the book. This series falls under a, b, and d. Goodreads really needs a way for me to comment on books without marking them.Well, this has not done good things for what little faith I have left in mankind. To restore a little of that, here's a GIF of Tom Hiddleston, who gives me hope that good people still exist.Edit: How has this review survived under Goodreads' new review policy? I'm fascinated by this in a weird way. Yay for freedom of speech.
    more
  • monet
    January 1, 1970
    6/4/2013hey you guys, I really don't know why you're complaining. THIS MEANS MORE WILL HERONDALE AND ALSO TESSA CAUSE THEY'RE STILL TOGETHER! YES YES YES MORE WESSA!!!And I have a theory, after reading the family tree for The Infernal Devices, that one of the mains are going to be Gideon and Sophie's lovechild Thomas Lightwood. Why? Because none if the other Lightwood children of theirs marry and Thomas does because it say 'See Extended Lightwood Family Tree' and then at the end of this series W 6/4/2013hey you guys, I really don't know why you're complaining. THIS MEANS MORE WILL HERONDALE AND ALSO TESSA CAUSE THEY'RE STILL TOGETHER! YES YES YES MORE WESSA!!!And I have a theory, after reading the family tree for The Infernal Devices, that one of the mains are going to be Gideon and Sophie's lovechild Thomas Lightwood. Why? Because none if the other Lightwood children of theirs marry and Thomas does because it say 'See Extended Lightwood Family Tree' and then at the end of this series WE WILL KNOW.
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Yes! It’s pre-ordered!! God!! That cover!! I thought the last book cover was beautiful! Help me! These beautiful covers are blowing my mind!
  • Natalie Monroe
    January 1, 1970
    Dear lord, will someone take this woman's pen away!?
  • Laurel
    January 1, 1970
    FUCKING CHRIST, CLARE.I am so goddamn done that I'm almost Tumblr done.I'm done with this.I'm really really done with this woman.
  • ambsreads
    January 1, 1970
    GIMME GIMME GIMME GIMMEi will buy and read every shadowhunters book every cassie needs to milk this cow forever
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    January 1, 1970
    me, watching the release date get closer and closerTHE COVER BETTER LIVE UP TO MY FAIRLY HIGH EXPECTATIONS
  • Shirley ♡
    January 1, 1970
    LOOK AT MY BABY CORDELIA !!! I LOVE THIS BOOK ALREADY AND I HAVENT EVEN READ IT YET.
  • Lyanna (I need a Herondale in life)
    January 1, 1970
    OKAYDEEP BREATHS DEEP BREATHS I have 2 reactions because I'm that kind of person, GET OVER ITLET'S BEGIN WITH THE POSITIVEWill Herondale WILL SEXY-AS-HELL HERONDALE WILL FUCKING HERONDALEAS. A. FATHER.and then there'sJAMES HERONDALEJUST LOOK AT HIM WITH THE GOLD EYES AND OH fuck but back to Will HerondaleWE GET MORE OF WILL HERONDALEAND BRO ZACHARIAHI NEED IT NOWNOW, MY NEGATIVE REACTION:I'd like to get this straight:Cassie Clare has 3 published series (TMI, TID & TBC), 1 unfinished (will OKAYDEEP BREATHS DEEP BREATHS I have 2 reactions because I'm that kind of person, GET OVER ITLET'S BEGIN WITH THE POSITIVEWill Herondale WILL SEXY-AS-HELL HERONDALE WILL FUCKING HERONDALEAS. A. FATHER.and then there'sJAMES HERONDALEJUST LOOK AT HIM WITH THE GOLD EYES AND OH fuck but back to Will HerondaleWE GET MORE OF WILL HERONDALEAND BRO ZACHARIAHI NEED IT NOWNOW, MY NEGATIVE REACTION:I'd like to get this straight:Cassie Clare has 3 published series (TMI, TID & TBC), 1 unfinished (will be finished on 5-27-14) series, 3 graphic novels, Companion books, a codex, movie tie-ins, 2 upcoming series & 1 untitled series.And now THIS HEAVY SIGH I love, love, LOVE The Infernal Devices, I do. It's my favourite series but enough is ENOUGH. Cassandra Clare there's TOO MUCH. Please just..., stop!I will read TLH, TDA and whatever series you spew out about shadowhunters but it gets old Cassie, as much as I love you (and I do I also fucking love WILL HERONDALE) you need to move on, just like most of the readers who've finished TID, we were all happily distressfully sad and hung-over content after Clockwork Princess. We've ended that chapter of our lives and now you want to drag the characters back out…?I understand that you have the right and so does every other author out there to write as many books as you are able to but… perhaps it's time to give these Shadowhunters a break, move on and build a new world.You're probably confused by my reaction but, hey I'm human!
    more
  • Katlyn
    January 1, 1970
    Why? Why don't you plan a fifth series because you seem to have some big dreams (that you couldn't hope to accomplish in a reasonable time frame.) You haven't even published one book in the Dark Artifices series and TMI isn't done. How about you get your head out of the clouds and actually finish the series you are working on. You need to stop talking about all these different spinoffs that will be published in seven years and just calm down.And to all those people freaking out about this being Why? Why don't you plan a fifth series because you seem to have some big dreams (that you couldn't hope to accomplish in a reasonable time frame.) You haven't even published one book in the Dark Artifices series and TMI isn't done. How about you get your head out of the clouds and actually finish the series you are working on. You need to stop talking about all these different spinoffs that will be published in seven years and just calm down.And to all those people freaking out about this being published.Edit: Cassandra has said that this will contain a love triangle between two girls and one guy. Oh for fucks sake...
    more
  • Jiana
    January 1, 1970
    Update 13/Dec/2018: HOLY! SHIT! HOLY SHIT!!!!! I think I'm hyperventilating look at this cover!!!!!! Okay, this is CC's best cover yet!!! I can't wait I'm going to pass out
  • Tara ☽
    January 1, 1970
    Three whole books starring Will Herondale as a DILF? Sign me tf up 👀 👀 👀
  • Natalie (Never trust a duck)
    January 1, 1970
    WILLIAM IS IN IT
  • Mary H
    January 1, 1970
    Haters gonna hate. If you don't like Cassie, don't like her books, cool. That's your opinion, and you are absolutely entitled to it. But don't get all in my face cause I'm a fan. Going to squee now!
  • Leona Carstairs
    January 1, 1970
    TAKE MY MONEY CASSIE, TAKE IT
  • ℨαrα
    January 1, 1970
    THIS COVER IS SO STUNNING. The “my heart skipped a beat when I saw it” type of stunning. It’s tied with Lady Midnight as my favourite out of all the Shadowhunter covers.And Cordelia Carstairs (who is HALF PERSIAN. I didn’t know this, but I love that now) holding Cortana in Kensington Gardens. I am officially excited.
    more
  • Anika
    January 1, 1970
    OMG. Best cover yet?!?!
Write a review