Graphic Artist's Guild Handbook Pricing & Ethical Guidelines
· Completely revised and updated to reflect the latest trends· Features the latest information on pricing graphic design workGraphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines, is the industry bible, containing information all graphic artists and their clients need to buy and sell work in a professional manner. The twelfth edition of this classic reference has been revised and updated to provide all the information creative professionals need to keep up with current trends and compete in an ever-changing industry.

Graphic Artist's Guild Handbook Pricing & Ethical Guidelines Details

TitleGraphic Artist's Guild Handbook Pricing & Ethical Guidelines
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 12th, 2007
PublisherGraphic Artists Guild
ISBN0932102131
ISBN-139780932102133
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Art, Reference, Nonfiction, Business, Art Design

Graphic Artist's Guild Handbook Pricing & Ethical Guidelines Review

  • Katharine
    April 23, 2008
    I haven't actually read this cover-to-cover; it's not the kind of book you sit down and just read. But it IS a great resource for a freelance graphic designer. This gives an overview of good business practices, with standard forms at the back. That information could be found elsewhere, even online if you spend a little time researching. What I found the most helpful are the detailed descriptions of different kinds of projects, what each might entail, processes and procedures expected, and pricin I haven't actually read this cover-to-cover; it's not the kind of book you sit down and just read. But it IS a great resource for a freelance graphic designer. This gives an overview of good business practices, with standard forms at the back. That information could be found elsewhere, even online if you spend a little time researching. What I found the most helpful are the detailed descriptions of different kinds of projects, what each might entail, processes and procedures expected, and pricing based on levels of complexity and type of client. While the handbook gives designers a great basic foundation for deciding on pricing, it is a little more directed at higher-end corporate projects and is less helpful for the kind of small business and personal jobs that I've been working on. That's the reason I gave it four instead of five stars. Still, I'd recommend buying it. It's definitely a good investment to have all this information handy.
    more
  • S Suzanne
    August 15, 2014
    This is a great reference, and I know there are many wonderful reviews here. I mainly want to let people know this updates regularly, and if you want to buy it, the latest version was released in 2013.This is an earlier edition - not sure why Goodreads was recommending it to me, but I would be very angry if I simply ordered it then found there was a newer edition. This is not updated every year. Anyone buying should get the latest version!
    more
  • Michael Rowley
    October 29, 2008
    Here's what I love about these books. Someone in marketing gets the great idea, 'Hey, let's have a logo design contest and the winner gets... um, $100.'I feel like saying, 'Hey, our toilet's broken. Let's have a plumbing contest..'Instead I retain my professionalism and say that's unethical. You see it's so in the Ethical Guidelines of the Graphic Artists Guild Handbook.People woefully underestimate the value of design (both clients and designers). This helps.
    more
  • Alison
    May 23, 2012
    I would never have survived as a freelance artist without this book. It is a must read for any designer or for anyone planning to hire a designer. It covers everything from pay scales to deliverables and even includes sample contracts and invoices to help new freelancers get started.
    more
  • Cara
    July 16, 2013
    Got this by ILL. Unfortunately, it's the 2002 edition. Not too useful for a book about the current laws and pricing standards for my industry. Oh well. It did open my eyes to one thing: apparently all the "work for hire" I've been doing as a freelancer is actually not legally eligible to be considered "work for hire," at least by the laws of 2002. If I wanted to pursue some of these rights, I might have a case.
    more
  • Jen
    January 11, 2011
    A requirement for a class. This is a handy reference for anyone in the arts, though as I'm not a graphic artist, I was constantly mentally editing out what wasn't applicable. Sometimes it felt as though I were reading want ads for job descriptions that I was unqualified for (the graphic arts comments)... a classmate told me she felt the same way. Good general guidelines, though.
    more
  • Chrissy
    March 3, 2008
    There were some helpful tidbits to help get my design business going, but for the most part I found the pricing suggestions to be astronomically higher than anyone in this area charges, and the formalities advised for dealing with clients were too, well, formal to be much use to me.
    more
  • Ashley the Magnificent™
    September 2, 2011
    *Spoiler Alert!!! After you read this book you'll be a smarter designer.Sure, you can design without having business sense. Unless you want to make money. :) I found this brick very useful when I was first starting out, and still occasionally turn to it for advice. GREAT resource!
    more
  • Marisa
    September 13, 2009
    Possibly the Graphic Designers' very own bible. Has nearly everything a graphic designer or illustrator could ever want to know about selling their art. Be it freelance or working for a company. Highly recommended!
  • Inggita
    August 7, 2007
    you need this book if you're a graphic designer/illustrator practicing outside Indonesia. For those in Indonesia, you'll want to check the book as a reference of the myriads of jobs available in the industry and how to use the off-the shelves agreement and quotes.
    more
  • กิตติ เอี่ยมผดุง
    June 22, 2014
    Thank you
  • Melissa
    March 24, 2011
    A must have and invaluable resource for designers working both in studio, in-house, or freelance settings.
  • Eldes
    September 28, 2011
    Excellent reference tool for day-to-day of my illustration studio - especially when setting up a business proposal.
  • Janice Schwarz
    December 23, 2014
    A must-read for anyone in the graphic design business. This is The Bible for the industry. It can also be helpful for web designers too. But a total must for graphic design.
  • Karol Muñoz
    October 7, 2012
    must have reference for independent workers.
  • Eric p-h
    January 18, 2009
    this is the coolest thing, like, ever.
  • Lindsay
    December 5, 2010
    Must own for any freelance designer. Really helps figure out everything it takes to get the job done and cover your business bases.
  • Toby
    July 7, 2008
    A simple must if you freelance, if you don't have it don't talk to me about freelancing. :D
  • Katrina Sutton
    August 6, 2011
    This book is suppose to be helpful in understanding how to price, do contracts, and other things when it comes to working with clients and vice-versus.
  • Natalie
    March 20, 2012
    An indispensable guide for anyone starting out in the graphic design or illustration industry.
  • Chris
    June 25, 2012
    I had the 1997 version (9th edition), and finally in 2012 decided to get rid of it and look into a more current edition. Plenty of good information.
  • Tim
    May 19, 2015
    This is how to use this book:1. Client questions the price of your work2. Show them that you do not charge as much as GAG Handbook
  • Patrick Wood
    June 15, 2010
    Covers a lot of material critical to being in the media business.
  • Kathy Ferrell
    November 12, 2012
    Essential to the business. Exceedingly useful.
  • Rita Christine
    December 2, 2013
    A great resource for independent designers/freelancers. I continue to reference this book on a daily basis.
Write a review