Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)
The third installment in the all-new series from the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater!Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.Friends can betray.Mothers can disappear.Visions can mislead.Certainties can unravel.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3) Details

TitleBlue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 21st, 2014
PublisherScholastic Press
ISBN0545424968
ISBN-139780545424967
Number of pages391 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Magic, Romance

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3) Review

  • Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner
    November 14, 2013
    I only need one thing----> Ronan x Adam. The story picks up where it left off. Boys are starting school again and Blue's mother is still missing. They're still trying to find Glendower, the long lost king. Gray Man's employed is in Henrietta looking for a payback. Now, I don't want to reveal anything else about the plot cause even the blurb is rather vague. What I want to talk about are the characters. It seems Adam is the main one this time. Others all had their chapters but I feel as if he I only need one thing----> Ronan x Adam. The story picks up where it left off. Boys are starting school again and Blue's mother is still missing. They're still trying to find Glendower, the long lost king. Gray Man's employed is in Henrietta looking for a payback. Now, I don't want to reveal anything else about the plot cause even the blurb is rather vague. What I want to talk about are the characters. It seems Adam is the main one this time. Others all had their chapters but I feel as if he was in all of them a lot more. He's my favorite Raven Boy, like I mentioned a hundred times already. He's still hardworking as ever. Honorable, honest and proud. He's also spending more time with Ronan, if you know what I mean. *wink, wink* Then there's Ronan. *sigh* This guy! I mean, he's like a feral cat you want to bring home but you're scared it's going to ruin your sofa. You never know what to expect from him. He's unpredictable, wild, but at the same time extremely loyal to his family and friends. There is still so much we don't know about him. Gansey is still a mystery to me. At times I think he has no personality and he's just there in every chapter. I know he's suppose to be the King of the gang but I don't see it. :/ Everybody likes him-boys in school, new people he meets and even Adam let go of his jealousy. He's helpful in a way a human can help a paranormal creature-basically not. I guess I'm the only one who doesn't care about his character. Blue's trying to find her missing mother and is dealing with her feelings towards Gansey at the same time. She was focused and determined throughout the whole book. She might even discover some hidden power deep inside her. If you're expecting kisses in this book, like me, you'll just going to have to wait for the 4th installment. Even though the book was focused towards the character development, romance was pushed even further out back. There were some progress and Pynch shippers will be happy to hear it. I can't wait for the next book because I feel that's when Pynch is going to happen. The pacing was perfect and every chapter ended on a cliffhanger which made me scream. The book was unputdownable. And the writing is poetic. At times I had to go back and re-read parts because I thought there was something between the lines. How Maggie does this every time, I don't know. She'll always be on my auto-buy list. Cover is beautiful. I love the colors but I'm not sure who's on it. Blue? It could be her.
    more
  • Natalie
    March 11, 2016
    “Queens and kingsKings and queensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue.”This review contains *spoilers*.And just like that, I'm finished.Now what?I’ve been reading this series back to back and it made me realize how much I’ve missed the joy (and sleep deprivation) marathoning books gives me.I already knew how dreadful I would feel once I finished Blue Lily, Lily Blue because I’m in love with these books, but I guess I didn’t prepare myself enough because I CAN “Queens and kingsKings and queensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue.”This review contains *spoilers*.And just like that, I'm finished.Now what?I’ve been reading this series back to back and it made me realize how much I’ve missed the joy (and sleep deprivation) marathoning books gives me.I already knew how dreadful I would feel once I finished Blue Lily, Lily Blue because I’m in love with these books, but I guess I didn’t prepare myself enough because I CAN’T believe I have to wait till April to find out what happens next.This series has affected me so much, I love love love the characters and the hilarious banter between all of them. They make me feel at home. And I already miss them. I had no idea going into this world that I would be so addicted to the writing style and the perfectly build up sequences—yet here I am writing this review in the middle of night because I can’t stop thinking about everything that went down in this book.This book is set shortly after the events of The Dream Thieves, Blue and the raven boys continue on with their quest to find Glendower, the Raven King.Maura is still underground in hopes to find Artemus and other mysterious things. And I really missed her in this story, I hadn’t realized what an impact she'd made on me.“But Maura was not some people. She had begun to dream the future when she was fourteen. She had spoken to her first spirit when she was sixteen. She had used remote viewing to see the other side of the world when she was nineteen. Time and space were bathtubs that Maura splashed in.”Blue terribly misses her mother, but she remains determined, strong, and compassionate. I loved her in this story.“After an extraordinary summer full of chasing kings and disappearing mothers, it was hard to really, truly picture herself going to class every day. What would any of this matter in two years? Nobody here would remember her, or vice versa. She would only remember that this was the fall her mother vanished. This was the year of Glendower.”Also, Blue and Gansey? I need more of them together.“Gansey was not sleeping.Because Blue had no cell phone, there was no way for him to break the rules and call her. Instead, he had begun to instead lie in his bed each night, eyes closed, hand resting on his phone, waiting to see if she was going to call him from the Phone/Sewing/Cat Room at her house.Stop it, he told himself. Stop wanting it —His phone buzzed.He put it to his ear.“You’re still not Congress, I see.”He was wide-awake.”Their night phone calls made me smile so much. And their late night outings even more so.“She turned to Gansey.“Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.”He breathed out.What was a kiss without a kiss?”So good and so heartbreaking.“Everything jumbled against everything else in just a few chaotic moments. Fingers in hair, hands cupping necks, mouths dragged on cheeks and chins in dangerous proximity.They stopped, noses mashed against each other in the strange way that closeness required. She could feel his breath in her mouth.“Maybe it wouldn’t hurt if I kiss you,” he whispered. “Maybe it’s only if you kiss me.”More of Gansay and Blue together, please. We got lovely little snippets of them together just so we could know how good it can be. But I really really really need more. Someone should get kissed in this series.Speaking of love, there wasn’t as much of Ronan as I would’ve liked but when he did show up—so good. I’m all starry-eyed.“I want you to whistle or hum or sing, Ronan, and keep track of time,” Gansey said.“You have got to be shitting me,” Ronan replied. “Me.”Gansey peered down the tunnel. “I know you know a lot of songs all the way through, and can do them the same speed and length every time. Because you had to memorize all of those tunes for the Irish music competitions.”My life will be made when I read more about Ronan’s music competitions. So cute.And Ronan and Adam’s interactions were so much fun to read, especially when you know that Ronan secretly has feelings for him.“Later, Adam walked out through the cool, damp night to his small, shitty car. As he sank into the driver’s seat, he found something already sitting on the seat.He retrieved the object and held it up under the feeble interior cab light. It was a small white plastic container. Adam twisted off the lid. Inside was a colorless lotion that smelled of mist and moss. Replacing the lid with a frown, he turned the container over, looking for more identifying features. On the bottom, Ronan’s handwriting labeled it merely: manibus. For your hands.”He’s so damn sweet and kind and marvelous.“As they moved through the old barn, Adam felt Ronan’s eyes glance off him and away, his disinterest practiced but incomplete. Adam wondered if anyone else noticed. Part of him wished they did and immediately felt bad, because it was vanity, really: See, Adam Parrish is wantable, worthy of a crush, not just by anyone, someone like Ronan, who could want Gansey or anyone else and chose Adam for his hungry eyes.Maybe he was wrong. He could be wrong.”So Adam knows? And does he not feel the same?I need answers.“You can be just friends with people, you know,” Orla said. “I think it’s crazy how you’re in love with all those raven boys.”Orla wasn’t wrong, of course. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.”I feel just as close to all the raven boys (especially Ronan).Oh, and Robert Parrish visiting Adam was something I definitely wasn’t expecting, but when he showed up at Adam’s door- tears appeared so quickly in my eyes. I still haven’t forgotten that awful night at Adam’s old home.“He did not want to get hit.He would do what he needed to do to not get hit.”Damn, I thought Adam wouldn’t break my heart in this book, but I was so wrong. I was really trying to hold in the tears when he arrived at the courthouse alone. “Even if I lose, he thought weakly, he can’t have me back, so it won’t matter. It will only be this hour of humiliation and then it will be over.”But I was so relieved when the bailiff told the judge that there were some witnesses for the case. I felt like a huge weight had been lifted off of me.“The door cracked open. Adam didn’t want to look, but he did anyway.In the hall stood Richard Campbell Gansey III in his school uniform and overcoat and scarf and gloves, looking like someone from another world. Behind him was Ronan Lynch, his damn tie knotted right for once and his shirt tucked in.Humiliation and joy warred furiously inside Adam.Gansey strode between the pews as Adam’s father stared at him. He went directly to the bench, straight up to the judge. Now that he stood directly beside Adam, not looking at him, Adam could see that he was a little out of breath. Ronan, behind him, was as well. They had run.For him.”And so much happened towards the end, I’m still trying to wrap my mind it.Especially around the fact that Persephone died. “We’ll get her back,” Adam said.But Calla was already crying.Blue, unconcerned with dignity, dragged Persephone out by her armpits. She was light and unresisting.They would pull her back, just as Adam said.Calla sank to her knees and covered her face.“Stop it,” snapped Blue, voice cracking. “Get over here and help.”She took Persephone’s hand. It was as cold as the cave walls.”When Calla started crying, I knew something was terribly wrong.Calla cries— I cry even harder.“Look, I told Calla we were going into the cave. To find Maura.” He corrected, more formally, “Your mother.”“Oh, seriously! Don’t Richard Gansey on me!” Blue snapped, and then, at once, she began to cry.It was against the rules, but Gansey crouched down beside her, one of his knees against her back, one against her knees, and hugged her. She curled against him, hands balled up against his chest. He felt a hot tear slip into the dip of his collarbone. He closed his eyes against the sun through the window, burning hot in his sweater, foot falling asleep, elbow grinding into the metal bed frame, Blue Sargent pressed up against him, and he didn’t move.”I love them.Their journey into to the cave had me literally on the edge of my seat. I felt like I was holding my breath for those last few pages.And when Ronan and Blue saw the lake, I really thought that Maura was gone. This book is seriously destroying me.“It’s not real,” Ronan told her, voice low. “It’s not real, Blue.”“I saw her,” Blue said, and she heard the sob in her voice. “My mother.”He said, “I know. I saw my father.”“But she was there —”“My father’s dead in the ground. And Adam saw your mother farther on in this godforsaken cave. That lake is a lie.”“For a moment they remained that way, Ronan holding her as tightly as he would hold his brother Matthew, his cheek on her shoulder. Every time she thought she could go on, she saw the face of her mother’s corpse again.Finally, she pulled back, and Ronan stood up. He looked away, but not before she saw the tear he flicked from his chin.“Fuck this,” he said again.”I could not handle it when Ronan shed a tear. I love him so much and he doesn’t deserve so much pain. They don’t deserve so much pain.I love them all so, so much and I could talk about them for hours (thanks Mom for listening).I seriously cannot recommend this book enough. I didn’t so much visit this world as get absorbed. I loved itThere wasn't a single moment where I felt bored or lost interest. The story flows so easily.It’s also really painful coming to realize that I won’t know what will happen until April. I can’t let go of the wonderful characters just yet, so I’ll probably read all the really cute scenes over and over.Oh, and I finally found the incredible fanart that got me interested in The Raven Boys.Adam Parrish Richard Campbell Gansey IIISourceI also loved listening to this song because my heart was definitely breaking while reading this book.*Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Blue Lily, Lily Blue, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission!* This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Wendy Darling
    June 8, 2013
    More heartbreaking kisses, please. Though I don't know if my heart can take it.
  • Katerina
    March 14, 2015
    I know, I know. Please don't judge me, I'm sick.But it's the sweetest kind of addiction. The one that doesn't let you sleep at nights because your thoughts wander into faraway lands and your heart beats fast for the people you came to love deeply even though they're the products of someone else's brilliant mind and beautiful soul. And I'm not alone, because I'll see you all in therapy, right? Right? “Queens and kingsKings and QueensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, I know, I know. Please don't judge me, I'm sick.But it's the sweetest kind of addiction. The one that doesn't let you sleep at nights because your thoughts wander into faraway lands and your heart beats fast for the people you came to love deeply even though they're the products of someone else's brilliant mind and beautiful soul. And I'm not alone, because I'll see you all in therapy, right? Right? “Queens and kingsKings and QueensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue” One missing mother.Two arrivals that will endanger everyone in little Henrietta.Three sleepers, one to wake up, one to not wake up, and one in between.Four boys, a magician, a ghost, a dreamer, a king.And a promise of death as the result of true love's kiss. In most fairytales, true love's kiss is the beginning. In this one, it's the end. “A lot of promises get broken, Blue.” As the series progresses, as I fall deeper and deeper in love with the Raven boys and Blue and her crazy family, something cold and malevolent seizes my heart and steals my breath. It's fear. Life-sucking fear. Blue Lily, Lily Blue's atmosphere is heavy and ominous as time passes by, as Gansey's death seems more probable and Blue's love for him intensifies, as more and more people search for the Welsh king and the evil sleeper uses all his mighty force to make someone awaken him. While I dreamed under Henrietta's cloudy sky and heard the whispers of Cabeswater's ancient trees, I begged for a miracle. But I'm not sure I will get one. “I was here. I exist. I’m alive, because I bleed.” How many powerful emotions are evoked by characters brilliantly flawed and damaged! I finally grew fond of Adam, and sympathized with his loneliness and was happy with the way his relationship with Ronan started to develop. Perhaps they'll find a kindred spirit in each other and share their grief, their anger, and trade them with something more invigorating, something brighter! But while their futute seems full of possibilities, Blue and Gansey follow a path that will result in heartbreak and tears. Probably mine. “Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.” And it's incurable.Blue Lily, Lily Blue preludes an intense and all-consuming final book, so I will leave this mundane world for a while and dive into The Raven King exhilarated and terrified. Send a prayer my way. “The Raven King, make way for the Raven King.”
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    April 4, 2015
    *4.5*It's been a while since I've marathoned an unfinished series and I'm really upset that I have to wait like 5 months for the next book. Dang. Ronan still on point. Always and forever. 4/25/15 UpdateSCRATCH THAT. I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL FEBRUARY NOOOOOOO
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyInBookland)
    October 25, 2014
    SPOILER FREE REVIEW: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT3ya...So glad my order of The Raven King came in today so I don't have to wait to finish the series!
  • Kellie
    September 30, 2013
    *finishes The Dream Thieves**deep breath**dying whale noises*I NEED THIS BOOK NOWI CAN'T BELIEVE I HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER YEARTHE FEELS
  • Shambhawi P.
    September 11, 2013
    ×××May contain minor spoilers××× "Queens and kingsKings and queensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue" This book is nothing like I expected. This book was everything I wanted it to be. The book gave me chills, it broke my heart. It made me laugh, it made me mad. It made me crazy. It made me cry - not a lot, not as much as The Raven Boys or The Dream Thieves but little silent tears pooling up in my eyes.This book, at parts, made me forget that Richard Cam ×××May contain minor spoilers××× "Queens and kingsKings and queensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birdsSwords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue" This book is nothing like I expected. This book was everything I wanted it to be. The book gave me chills, it broke my heart. It made me laugh, it made me mad. It made me crazy. It made me cry - not a lot, not as much as The Raven Boys or The Dream Thieves but little silent tears pooling up in my eyes.This book, at parts, made me forget that Richard Campbell Gansey was going to die. Until something or the other would would violently remind me of that. "Blue", he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.She said, "I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could."He breathed out.What was a kiss without a kiss? This book had more Gansey x Blue moments in it. They were powerful moments with so many emotions that where nothing happens but both their feelings are laid bare for our inspection. And they touched me.And we have Adam. Poor, broken, stupid, proud Adam who promised himself to Cabeswater and is paying the due of his sacrifice. Adam who is in the middle of a lawsuit against his father. Adam who is doing school, after school jobs, realizing that Blue might not be for him after all, letting go of his stupidity a little at a time by realizing that letting Gansey be his friend is not necessarily being beholden to Gansey. Adam whom I hate a little less now. Adam who is the Magician of this quest for the sleeping king.We see a different side of Adam and Ronan's friendship in this book in light of the knowledge of Ronan's crush. It's sweet how much they fight and how much they disagree and how much Adam has guessed and how much of his real feelings is Ronan ready to show. It's sweet and slow and adorable and even though I am not sure whether Ronan x Adam is going to be a thing yet, it's a beautiful friendship nonetheless. I totally ship them.There is a lot happening in this book even if it is shorter than the other two. We have Maura who has run off to look for Butternut after leaving a cryptic note. We also have one not so new and one new character in Colin Greenmantle and his wife Piper who have come to Henrietta for reasons. We have Jesse Dittley - another someone whom Neeve saw and Blue wrote in the night when Blue had first seen Gansey. We have the mysterious cave and mysterious tombs and cryptic messages. And more sleepers.But most of all this is a book about friendship between the five different people and how they all work so well together. They are closer to Glendower now than they ever were and closer to the climax and if all goes as foretold Gansey's death. I wish I did not know it was going to happen at all.4.5 Stars 2015 is too faraway. This ARC was provided to me by the publishers in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Sameena H
    November 23, 2013
    If Gansey dies, I too, will die.
  • Kaylin
    March 21, 2017
    4.5 Stars Here’s the thing with this series. The plot is… odd. You open the first book expecting something about prep-school boys and maybe ghosts but then there’s magical trees and an expedition for a dead Welsh King. (Or at least, I did.)It’s definitely original and exciting—but it’s still odd. Somehow, despite how abstract and engrossing the plot points are, it doesn’t feel like the focus of the story. Instead, it’s the characters.(Actual convo I had with my friend tonight. I think he’s sta 4.5 Stars Here’s the thing with this series. The plot is… odd. You open the first book expecting something about prep-school boys and maybe ghosts but then there’s magical trees and an expedition for a dead Welsh King. (Or at least, I did.)It’s definitely original and exciting—but it’s still odd. Somehow, despite how abstract and engrossing the plot points are, it doesn’t feel like the focus of the story. Instead, it’s the characters.(Actual convo I had with my friend tonight. I think he’s starting to get it.) The character development here was as nuanced as it was subtle. We’ve all heard about "showing vs telling and this book handles this masterfully. At no point are we told “Character A is doing this because of X.” Instead, Steifvater understands her readers are smart enough to pick up on the character motivation if she shows it well. We’re given wonderful insights into the character’s heads, but we are never just told. I don’t understand people who claim this book is a ‘filler.’ The sheer amount of development here was phenomenal. Adam ”He left bloody fingerprints on the rock, but there was something satisfying about that. I was here. I exist. I’m alive, because I bleed.” - Arguably has the most development of anyone.- Still my fav <3- There such a focus on him finding balance. With Cabeswater. With his friends. With himself. AND IT'S GREAT.- He becomes so aware of his own agency here and I’m just so proud because he DESERVES happiness okay?Ronan “Adam was beginning to realize that he hadn't known Ronan at all. Or rather, he had known part of him and assumed it was all of him.” - Literally made me cry. - Like he thinks and feels with this intensity and it was captivating. Before I knew it I was crying witnessing what he pulls out of his dreams.- Jesus this boy is crushing haaaarrrrrddddd.- (I ship it so much omfg) - The image of Ronan curled up with that blue blanket at The Barns is so poignant and just beautifully done.Blue “It was amazing that she and Ronan didn’t get along better, because they were different brands of the same impossible stuff.” - So let’s talk about this firecracker for a second, shall we? - She is 200%, absolutely, completely flawed.- She overreacts. She’s rude. She can be insensitive without realizing it. Flaws. - But she feels real. - I don’t need perfect characters. None of the others are perfect either, and Blue shouldn’t be held to a higher standard.- She’s still super frustrating, but well-written.Gansey ““I don’t know what I’ll do if I find him, Noah. I don’t know what I’ll be if I’m not looking for him. I don’t know the first thing about how to be that person again.” - These freaking hornets. - Gansey’s whole arc this book revolves around fear and how it factors into his identify and it was GREAT- I’m so envious of his social skills, but also incredibly intimated. - Still a larger-than life hero, but he’s aware of it?- I actually love that he and Blue have their whole moral dilemma here. But I am 100% Team: No More Pain for Adam, but the whole plot really humanizes Gansey quite a bit. It’s fascinating to watch him struggle with something. - That sexy handholding tho.Others- Literally the only reason this isn’t a full 5 stars if The Gray Man. Just because you committed crimes on someone else's order doesn't absolve you of the crimes. He is still a violent man who did horrible things to Ronan’s brother and father but everyone was okay with it? He turned into the butt of a joke and a romantic hero, and I was not feeling it. - Calla and Persphone were expanded upon so much more in this volume! They really became their own individuals, and it was very interesting to see how they functioned together and with Maura. - Will Gwenlillian make more sense later? Because she was suppppeerr random here. What is the deal with the singing?- Henry Cheng seems to exist here primarily to set him up for the next book, and I’m not sure what to think. He seems… scattered? - This narrative is so… aware? I don’t have a better way to describe it. But it feels aware of so much. The fact that all these friendships are borderline-codependent isn’t glossed over. Self-proclaimed feminist Blue addresses characters who feel her ‘story’ didn’t start until she met the boys. It just feels acutely aware of the audience without being shaped by it? “I think it's crazy how you're in love with all those raven boys." Again. Same.
    more
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “There was something unfamiliar about him. Something ferocious about his eyes, some sort of bite in his faint smile. Something altogether hectic and unsettled. She stood on the ledge of his smile and looked over the edge.”Even though I always feel like I don't understand a thing that is going on in those books, they are just beautiful. Maybe exactly because I don't understand a thing: They always surprise me, I never know what to expect next but I am never let down.I think this third installment “There was something unfamiliar about him. Something ferocious about his eyes, some sort of bite in his faint smile. Something altogether hectic and unsettled. She stood on the ledge of his smile and looked over the edge.”Even though I always feel like I don't understand a thing that is going on in those books, they are just beautiful. Maybe exactly because I don't understand a thing: They always surprise me, I never know what to expect next but I am never let down.I think this third installment was the best so far. I love to see the friendships and more-than-friendships grow. I really hope that Ronan and Adam are going to be a thing! Though I still think that Ronan is an asshole, he just makes me angry...And wow what this book made to my heart! I don't know what was stronger: my love for the characters or my fear they would die. Because Lord I was bloody scared! Worse than any horror movie. Imagination is a strong thing.The books are not perfect but they have this incredible atmosphere of mystery and magic, danger and adventure that make me adore Maggie Stiefvater as an author.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    September 7, 2015
    "Queens and KingsKings and QueensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birds Swords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue" I just bought about 16 books last week but they all can wait. I'm going to re-read this baby first! You know why? Because Ronan freaking Lynch, and Adam Parrish live in this. <3“Behind him, he heard Ronan say, "I like the way you losers thought Instagram before first aid. Fuck off.” I love this quote! It's just so... Ronan!Ronan:“I know when I'm awake and when I'm asleep,"Adam:"Do y "Queens and KingsKings and QueensBlue lily, lily blueCrowns and birds Swords and thingsBlue lily, lily blue" I just bought about 16 books last week but they all can wait. I'm going to re-read this baby first! You know why? Because Ronan freaking Lynch, and Adam Parrish live in this. <3“Behind him, he heard Ronan say, "I like the way you losers thought Instagram before first aid. Fuck off.” I love this quote! It's just so... Ronan!Ronan:“I know when I'm awake and when I'm asleep,"Adam:"Do you?"Ronan:" Maybe I dreamt you." Adam: "Thanks for the straight teeth, then,"No fictional character should have this kind of power over anyone! This was a perfect book to get over ToG series. Adam Parrish and Ronan Lynch are my new obsession! Ronan keeps joking he dreamt Adam i really hope it's not true, not that it matters. I loved them individually in previous books but together they are incomparable. Nothing is conformed or official yet... but then that is the beauty of their relationship, it's nobody else's business but theirs.“Ronan Lynch lived with every sort of secret."“Ronan was angry,every one of his emotions that wasn't happiness was anger.”[image error]“Ronan's second secret was Adam Parrish.”“Sometimes Ronan thought Adam was so used to the right way being painful that he doubted any path that didn’t come with agony.”“Adam felt Ronan’s eyes glance off him and away. Adam wondered if anyone else noticed. Part of him wished they did and immediately felt bad, because it was vanity, really:See, Adam Parrish is wantable, worthy of a crush, not just by anyone, someone like Ronan, who could want Gansey or anyone else and chose Adam for his hungry eyes.”
    more
  • Clau R.
    January 25, 2016
    Omaiga.
  • Giovanna
    September 10, 2013
    "Don't wake the third sleeper."Okay. I can do this. Just to be clear, I have to say that this is probably my favourite series of all time and I'm not even going to pretend that I can be coherent when it comes to it. Even now, after finishing the third book, I'm amazed at how many details Stiefvater put into this book. Right now I want to quote half the book. I devoured it and I never wanted it to end. Yes, it is that series for me, the one that actually changes you and affects you like no other. "Don't wake the third sleeper."Okay. I can do this. Just to be clear, I have to say that this is probably my favourite series of all time and I'm not even going to pretend that I can be coherent when it comes to it. Even now, after finishing the third book, I'm amazed at how many details Stiefvater put into this book. Right now I want to quote half the book. I devoured it and I never wanted it to end. Yes, it is that series for me, the one that actually changes you and affects you like no other.- The plot. It's, as always, unique and original. One of the reasons I fell in love with this series it's that the plot is so strange and different from every book I've ever read. I felt so invested in this quest, sometimes it felt like I could be there. And I wanted to be there so bad that I felt it in my bones. Anyway, in Blue Lily Lily Blue we see how Blue and the boys are dealing with what went down in The Dream thieves. The boys have put in motion something way bigger than themselves, something that attracted unwanted attention, that woke not only Cabeswater but something more...dangerous than they thought.- Our beloved characters. The previous books were almost completely character driven, but in BLLB there is character development and action. There was more balance in a way and I really liked that this time the plot was moving forward as much as the characters. We see Ronan in a different light, we discover more about Gansey and his restlessness and we can finally understand Adam's character. Also, I loved The Gray Man, the women at 300 Fox Way (even Gwenllian) and Jessie. And I hope there's more Henry Cheng in the next one. (view spoiler)[The characters that died...oh my. I really really liked Jessie, he was utterly adorable and strange. Persephone's death left me speechless, I still don't know what to say. Also, I can't believe that Matthew is Ronan's dream... (hide spoiler)]- Villains: I liked both (view spoiler)[Piper and Greenmantle, even though I didn't expect Piper to be the real threat. Also I wasn't exactly anticipating Neeve's return, but it is interesting I guess. (hide spoiler)]- Ships (aka what made me crazy): okay so. Let's start from the fact that finally there are more Gansey/Blue moments. I loved it because it wasn't too much, but it was in the small details, in the way Gansey was always looking forward to her calls, late at night, in the way they touched their hands, in their subtle glances. I LOVED IT. I found it touching and heart-warming, cute and way more real than your average relationship in ya. (Also, chapter 26 is...read it and come back because I need to talk about it.)"Blue called Gansey.He picked up at once. "I wasn't sleeping.""I know," she replied. "Come get me."(Best chapter ever=the feels.)“I'm glad you misdialed.""Well. Easy mistake to make," she said. Might do it again." A very, very long pause. She opened her mouth to fill it, then changed her mind and didn't. She was shivering again, even though she wasn't cold with the pillow on her legs."Shouldn't," Gansey said finally. "But I hope you do.”As far as my other ship goes...well, there were cute things. Plus (view spoiler)[at least Adam noticed. Which is something... (hide spoiler)]- Their friendship. It is just...everything. They biker to no end, laugh and fight and...it was beautiful. It will never cease to amaze me and make me incredibly happy. Because this is a true friendship, the one you would want in your life, the kind of relationship you never see in ya books. "But what she didn't realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn't all-encompassing, that wasn't blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she'd had this kind, she didn't want the other."- The ending is a cliffhanger. At least it is as confusing as the one in TDT. I CAN'T WAIT A YEAR.To sum it up: in BLLB there is everything you could have wished for.P.s. Thanks to my Goodreads friends who actually tolerated me while I went mad. (Iz and Claudia, and well, Anna because it's my fault she is reading it <3)
    more
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ (of badger and SNAKE)
    September 16, 2014
    ▒ My ten favorite things about Blue Lily, Lily Blue ▒ "Ronan kept going, his voice louder. "No. Do you hear me, Cabeswater? You promised to keep me safe. Who are we to you? Nothing? If you let him die, that is not keeping me safe. Do you understand? If they die, I die, too." To the surprise of absolutely nobody, Ronan takes the first place hands down even without having any chapter from his point of view. Actually, after the intensity of The Dream Thieves, getting to observe him through other's ▒ My ten favorite things about Blue Lily, Lily Blue ▒ "Ronan kept going, his voice louder. "No. Do you hear me, Cabeswater? You promised to keep me safe. Who are we to you? Nothing? If you let him die, that is not keeping me safe. Do you understand? If they die, I die, too." ➊ To the surprise of absolutely nobody, Ronan takes the first place hands down even without having any chapter from his point of view. Actually, after the intensity of The Dream Thieves, getting to observe him through other's eyes (who am I kidding : through Adam's) was so so so satisfying. I want more, though. ➋ Blue Lily, Lily Blue will be forever remembered as The Book Where I Finally Love Adam. Shocking, I know, given how much I wanted to slap his whiny ass in the previous books (sorry not sorry). First his evolution is freaking interesting on its own (who doesn't like a Magician with Slytherin-ish potential now tell me? Okaaaay, I might be *a little* subjective. Look at my profile! *waits patiently* Now you get it) and secondly I just can't ignore that 90% of his scenes are shared by The Boy Who Dreams Baby Ravens. Duh. "With a savage smile, Ronan shoved the cart off the kerb and belted towards the BMW. As they picked up speed, Ronan called out a joyful and awful swear and then jumped on to the back of the cart himself. As they hurtled towards the BMW, Adam realised that Ronan, as usual, had no intention of stopping before something bad happened. He cupped a hand over his nose just as they glanced off the side of the BMW. The unseated cart wobbled once, twice, and then tipped catastrophically on to its side. It kept skidding, the boys skidding along with it.The three of them came to a stop."Oh, God," Adam said, touching the road burn on his elbow. It wasn't that bad, really. "God, God. I can feel my teeth."Ronan lay on his back a few feet away. A box of toothpaste rested on his chest and the cart kneeled beside him. He looked profoundly happy. " ➌ I'm gonna throw a PYNCH on there, because I'm redundant like that. Seriously, though. SE-RIOU-SLY. 80% of my favorite quotes are reformulations of something like... meanwhile, Ronan and Adam kept disappearing together.*Almost* every favorite scene stars them : the BARN. The CHURCH. The GROCERY STORE. Oh. My. Gosh. From the shortest looks and grips to the most adorable and heartbreaking interactions, these boys put my heart into overdrive.#Can't Compute#ISHIPIT.ISHIPIT.ISHIPIT. "Light, or something like light, reflected off it onto Ronan's chin and cheeks, rendering him stark and handsome and terrifying and someone else. Then he blew on it. His breath passed through the word, the mirror, the unwritten line.Adam heard a whisper in his ear. Something moved and stirred inside him. Ronan's eyelashes fluttered darkly. What are we doing -" ➍ Granted, we can say what we want about these books, about the confusion of their plots and the true love bits and Mallory's dog (okay sorry dog, that wasn't called for), but the beauty of the relationships pictured will forever make them special for me. The loyalty despite the doubts, the trust - even if sometimes begrudgingly given at first - the support and the BANTER between Blue and her boys is EVERYTHING. Honestly? They're just all kinds of amazing and a little heartbreaking. "Ronan's arms were still locked around her; she felt them quivering. She didn't know if it was from muscle strain or worry. He had not even hesitated before grabbing her.I can't let myself forget that." You better not is the only thing I will say. "The door cracked open..." You know what I mean, guys. The FEELS. ➎ ♪ SQUASH ONE, SQUASH TWO, S-♫➏ Greenmantle and Piper. Erm- this is the moment I'm supposed to feel bad for loving the villains, right? But-but-b- they're funny! Who am I to resist them tell me? ➐ JESSE THE YELLER. BECAUSE HIS CURSE IS BADASS TOO. ALSO, I HAVE A SOFT SPOT FOR CHARACTERS WHO USE CAPS. BECAUSE OF REASONS.➑ There's nothing better than late night calls, don't you think? (here's the moment 99% of my friends think, FUCKING FINALLY, ANNA! Oops)➒ Calla and the Pretty One's argument. Or is it Richie Rich? I can never remember. ➓ It's official : there's nothing like a Raven Boys reread to make yourself feel a special kind of stupid; so many hidden details that came to light, I can't even. Really, though : how in the world did I miss so many things the first time? HOW? Was I high or something? Oh, nope. Maggie Stiefvater's plot is just way more layered and complex than I first imagined. Or, I'm smarter now (somehow I doubt it) (it's been 2 years, not 2 decades)Sigh. Now I wait. For more of my reviews, please visit:
    more
  • Destini Mia~ ♕ Sassy Lassie
    April 29, 2014
    “Queens and kings, Kings and queensBlue lily, lily blue, Crowns and birds Swords and things, Blue lily, lily blue” This series has reduced me to a barely functioning mess, making fan art and listening to fan mixes in my spare time. Which isn't anything wrong, except responsibilities. Responsibilities I have grossly neglected that really need to stop being grossly neglected. These books just suck you in and take you prisoner. I feel like Maggie Stiefvater is a mad genius or something. The way sh “Queens and kings, Kings and queensBlue lily, lily blue, Crowns and birds Swords and things, Blue lily, lily blue” This series has reduced me to a barely functioning mess, making fan art and listening to fan mixes in my spare time. Which isn't anything wrong, except responsibilities. Responsibilities I have grossly neglected that really need to stop being grossly neglected. These books just suck you in and take you prisoner. I feel like Maggie Stiefvater is a mad genius or something. The way she makes me feel for these characters, it's like a physical ache. Each book makes you feel like a friend, like a familiar, leaving little inside jokes here and there for you to pick up on. It makes you feel like you're a part of their quest, their awfulness and strangeness. “Everything has gotten so ugly. It wasn’t supposed to be this way.” This is the conclusion of my reread, and I am more convinced than ever that I was so oblivious. What was I do when I thought was I reading this book. I had such a superficial understanding of the workings of this plot and it's only with this reread that I truly understand and am impressed by the intricacies of the tale and complexities of the characters. Piper and Colin Greenmantle were awesome additions to the Raven Cycle universe. I feel like my review of this story give off a semi depressing perspective of this series, which isn't a really accurate description because as hopeless and things may be, Maggie Stiefvater finds ways to break the bleak ice. Enter, the Greenmantles. “Will you marry me?” she asked. He thought about it. “I love myself the most, though. Are you okay always coming in second?”“Samesies,” she replied. I would love to think I would be the type of girl who'd answer with the same hilariously offhand comment and mean it, but I know my response would be more on the lines of "go sit on a cactus and lose my number" "lol no".However, these two were so unapologetically 'evil', and so hilariously... married, that despite how badly they were fucking everything up, I wouldn't have wished it any different. (foreshadowing: I am 100% certain I will regret this statement with the release of The Raven King)MY SHIPS ARE STRONGER THAN EVER. “And then we never speak of it again,” Gansey said, mocking himself softly, and Blue was so glad of it, because she had played the words from that night over and over in her mind and wanted to know he had, too. The impossibility of them together makes it so savagely sweet. Every moment they spend together leaves you heady, waiting on the next moment before the first one has even finished. You know these stolen moments are not enough. You know Gansey is living on borrowed time and even that will give out soon enough. Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together... Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together...Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together... Ronan and Adam kept vanishing places together... RONAN AND ADAM KEPT VANISHING PLACES TOGETHER...*screaming internally**screaming externally**screaming eternally* It was time to find Glendower. They all knew it. My heart is so full. Full of Welsh kings, and late night phone calls, secret meetings, stolen touches, lost mothers, whispering trees, and the unavoidable awareness that each moment brings us closer to the end. When Glendower is found. When Gansey is dead. When everything will have to go back to normal, except we've all forgotten what normal even is. Soon it would be behind him. Soon this school year, too would be behind him. Soon they would find Glendower, soon they would all be kings. Soon, soon. OLD REVIEW-->(view spoiler)[I'm still awestruck by how incredible that was. I had ridiculously high expectations for this book . . . so high that I pretty much set Blue Lily, Lily Blue up for failure. And yet, Maggie Stiefvater still managed to astound me. There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.Friends can betray.Mothers can disappear.Visions can mislead.Certainties can unravel. I am such a huge fan of this series. I feel like I could reread these books for years and still find something new to be fascinated by. The story and characters are so complex that you can't help but be sucked right in. It's been some loooooonnnngggg, torturous months since I finished The Dream Thieves and I was able to sink into the story as if I had started this series yesterday. “It is not the outside of people that bothers me, but the inside.” Blue Lily, Lily Blue and the rest of the Raven Cycle series has a really unique story. Yes, it deals with the paranormal . . . witches, clairvoyance, etc. but Stiefvater puts an extraordinary twist on a simple concept, that you can't compare it to anything else. The characters are so real and so layered that you immediately form and attachment to them. They're constantly evolving and growing and I'm constantly learning something new about them and trying to catch up. They take a life of their own and I've become such a hardcore fangirl. What a lie unknowable was. The only person who didn't know Adam was himself.I love how, although there is romance in this series, it doesn't take up its entire focus. I usually like my books heavy on the lovey-dovey stuff but this story is strong enough to stand on its own. Don't get me wrong, it's always welcome *nudges author with not so subtle hint* but I'm just as entranced by the story. Maggie Stiefvater has a gift for storytelling and the writing in Blue Lily, Lily Blue was beyond amazing. She creates such witty and organic characters that she even has me liking the villains. If I had a physical copy, half it's weight would be due to all the highlighter ink that would've been used. That's how much I love her writing. Instead, I have an endless scroll of quotes on my iPad. So, just some things . . . 1. (view spoiler)[ Ronan x Adam –> I will not rest until this happens. (hide spoiler)]2. Oh, Noah . . . we see the least of him out of all the Raven Boys but he holds a special place in my heart. He's so fragile that I just want to take him in my arms and never let anything happen to him again. 3. Adam . . . surprised me. He really grew as a character and I felt like a proud mom watching him mature *sniffles a little* 4. Ever since The Dream Thieves, Ronan has had my heart and will forever have my heart. He can be an asshole, but I just take that as a sign that he cares. 5. Gansey x Blue –> it seems so hopeless and inevitable . . . I don't know whether to cheer for that or rage over the fact that if they ever act on their feelings it'll all end in disaster. Raven Cycle without Gansey = death of my heart . . . Raven Cycle without Blue x Gansey = death of my heart . . . I have a problem here. I could literally dedicate a whole review on why they belong together. Happy . . . in love . . . ALIVE.“And then we never speak of it again,” Gansey said, mocking himself softly, and Blue was so glad of it, because she had played the words from that night over and over in her mind and wanted to know he had, too.All in all, book 3 is just another reason why I love this series so much and why it will always be my favorite. . . . what she didn't realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. (hide spoiler)].::MY REVIEW FOR::.⚬ The Raven Boys (book 1)⚬ The Dream Thieves (book 2)⚬ The Raven King (book 4).::ALSO, FOR ANYONE INTERESTED::.⚬ This is the most Bluesy song I have ever heard: DriveYour laugh echoes down the hallwayCarves into my hollow chest, spreads over the emptinessIt's blissIt's so simple but we can't stayOver analyze again, would it really kill you if we kissed?All we do is driveAll we do is think about the feelings that we hideAll we do is sit in silence waiting for a signSick and full of prideAll we do is drive⚬ This is the most Pynch song I have ever heard: Take Me To ChurchNo masters or kings when the ritual beginsThere is no sweeter innocence than our gentle sinIn the madness and soil of that sad earthly sceneOnly then I am humanOnly then I am cleanAmen. Amen. AmenTake me to churchI'll worship like a dog at the shrine of your liesI'll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knifeOffer me that deathless deathGood God, let me give you my life_________________________((f.d: the visuals above were edited by myself-- base images were found on google))
    more
  • Bgurl (don't h8 me cuz I'm honestful)
    July 16, 2016
    Blue Lily, Lily Blue (RC 03), by Maggie Stiefvater: 5 “Barrel of Monkeys” Stars.“ ‘What’s that slowly phrase?’ Noah asked. ‘Slowly, slowly …’‘… catchy monkey,’ Gansey finished.” ~ Noah Czerny & Richard Gansey III.According to the Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs, the phrase Noah refers to is actually: Softly, softly, catchee monkey. Basically, it means that in very tricky situations – like catching monkeys – prudence, preparation, and patience are more effective than impulsiveness, irrationalit Blue Lily, Lily Blue (RC 03), by Maggie Stiefvater: 5 “Barrel of Monkeys” Stars.“ ‘What’s that slowly phrase?’ Noah asked. ‘Slowly, slowly …’‘… catchy monkey,’ Gansey finished.” ~ Noah Czerny & Richard Gansey III.According to the Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs, the phrase Noah refers to is actually: Softly, softly, catchee monkey. Basically, it means that in very tricky situations – like catching monkeys – prudence, preparation, and patience are more effective than impulsiveness, irrationality, and impetuosity. In other words, the characters in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series better stock up on smarts and endurance because all of them have a shit-ton of monkeys to catchee. “I think I miss this part. The beginning. This is the beginning, right? Oh, wait, no, it’s the other one. I forgot. I actually hate this part.” ~ Noah Czerny.If The Dream Thieves (Raven Cycle 02) is about secrets and fears, then Blue Lily, Lily Blue is about endings and beginnings. Before new things can begin, old things must end. Which means: Blue and her psychics must catch Maura. Maura must catch Blue’s father. Ronan and Mr. Grey must catch a very bad man, before a very bad man catches them. And Adam must catch himself. Then, everyone must help Gansey catch Glendower because no one wants Gansey to die. “All I’d like to know is if there is any way to get here from what I’m doing now.” ~ Blue Sargent.While catching specific monkeys will no doubt be hella hard, catching general monkeys will be darn near impossible. Generally speaking, there are some mega ginormous general monkeys in Henrietta and they all want to teach our brave, little group some mega ginormous lessons about life and adulthood (in general), and themselves (in particular). And, therein lies another main theme of, The Raven Cycle series. Because:TRUTH: There’s always a way to get where you want to go. TRUTH: Getting there will be difficult. TRUTH: If you want to get there bad enough, you’ll find a way. TRUTH: It’s easier if you remember to Softly, softly catchee monkey, because if you take the wrong path, you can always turn around, but it'll take a hell of a lot longer to get where you want to go. “Well, this looks like a barrel of monkeys, pun intended!” ~ Ms. Shiftlet (Blue’s Guidance Councilor).Indeed it does, Ms. Shiftlet! Indeed it does! In fact, the whole Raven Cycle series not only looks like a barrel of monkeys, it is a barrel of monkeys, pun intended! But hey! I’ve got one book left to read, so I better quit monkeying around and get to it. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Raven Cycle 03), by Maggie Stiefvater: 5 “Barrel of Monkeys” Stars.LINKS TO REVIEWS OF BOOKS 1-2 & 4:The Raven Boys (RC #1): Click Me Baby!The Dream Thieves (RC #2): And Again!The Raven King (RC #4): One More Time!
    more
  • Sofii♡ (A Book. A Thought.)
    January 23, 2016
    “Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.” This is my favorite so far, I'm in love! “Queens and kings, Kings and queens. Blue lily, lily blue, Crowns and birds. Swords and things, Blue lily, lily blue” I feel like a lot of things right now, I just finished the book and making a mental review of what has been, I can say “Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.” This is my favorite so far, I'm in love! “Queens and kings, Kings and queens. Blue lily, lily blue, Crowns and birds. Swords and things, Blue lily, lily blue” I feel like a lot of things right now, I just finished the book and making a mental review of what has been, I can say that I can't be happier and in accordance with it! Warning Warning! : So many good lines in this book, I can become something hysterical with them in this review, to abstain! “You can be just friends with people, you know," Orla said. "I think it's crazy how you're in love with all those raven boys."Orla wasn't wrong, of course. But what she didn't realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn't all-encompassing, that wasn't blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she'd had this kind, she didn't want the other.” Speaking of the book in general was very interesting, with a lot of mystery, as always, and especially full of love, friendship and revelations!I liked the addition of new characters, especially a special mention for Jessie Dentley, who seemed to me the best !, is a character for which I am very fond of and the dialogue with Blue were the best! :) “It kills Dittleys and does terrible things to my friend.""YOUR DEAD FRIEND.""That's not his fault. Why didn't you say you could see him?""I DIDN'T SAY I COULD SEE YOU, EITHER.""But I'm not dead.""BUT YOU ARE PRETTY SHORT.” I can't stand it, I have to talk about my loversBlue and Gansey! , This relationship is growing so much that drive me crazy, I found the sweetest moments , their dialogues leave me pining, every time I finished reading a chapter about them and their relationship I needed to read another immediately ... I really hope to see more and more of this in the end, I have both expectant and nervous about what will to happen, so we'll see. “Don't tell the others," Gansey said."I'm dead," Noah replied, "not stupid.” PS: One of the things I love most about this relationship is that it manages to catch you and fall in love without being cloying at all, is in the perfect dose and that is merit of Maggie's incredible script ! .And I can't not overemphasize the relationship in this book between Ronan and Adam, I'm surprised about this, but they catch me with its mysterious and private moments, die of love !. At first I confess that took me by surprise and I was like WTF, LOL but then I couldn't stop thinking about what was happening. Very clever scenes and dialogues between them!. “I know when I'm awake and when I'm asleep," Ronan Lynch said.Adam Parrish, curled over himself in a pair of battered, greasy coveralls, asked, "Do you?""Maybe I dreamt you," he said. "Thanks for the straight teeth, then," Adam replied.” Incorporating the point of view of Greenmantle and his wife seemed to me the best, because we can know the characters of better way . Piper surprised me!, a character who start to being a very secondary to have much involvement in the plot, and I liked it.While Colin has left me a bittersweet feeling, it is that I expected a lot more, but still is not the end so it can be more about.The end only makes me want to grab the next book even more !. It scares me what happens from now on but I have to be strong and go for it, I hope all ends well for my boys, it is that I never believed be so in love with this characters :) “I'm glad you misdialed.""Well. Easy mistake to make," she said. Might do it again." A very, very long pause. She opened her mouth to fill it, then changed her mind and didn't. She was shivering again, even though she wasn't cold with the pillow on her legs."Shouldn't," Gansey said finally. "But I hope you do.”
    more
  • Hannah
    May 7, 2016
    Hands down my favorite one in the series so far <3
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    May 8, 2015
    I really like these books even though i'm like wtf did I just read?Around the Year in 52 Books Challenge Notes:- 4. A book by an author you discovered in 2015
  • Emma Giordano
    March 4, 2016
    Update 2/20/17 - Lowering my rating from 4 stars to 3 because although this was the most enjoyable book of this series that I've read, my enjoyment was not that great. Finally caught up on The Raven Cycle! I've been more open about this series than I usually am on Goodreads, so I wanted to update you on my feelings on this third installment. To backtrack, I gave The Raven Boys one of my all time-lowest ratings for a book on here. I REALLY did not like book one. As for The Dream Thieves, I gave i Update 2/20/17 - Lowering my rating from 4 stars to 3 because although this was the most enjoyable book of this series that I've read, my enjoyment was not that great. Finally caught up on The Raven Cycle! I've been more open about this series than I usually am on Goodreads, so I wanted to update you on my feelings on this third installment. To backtrack, I gave The Raven Boys one of my all time-lowest ratings for a book on here. I REALLY did not like book one. As for The Dream Thieves, I gave it a full star higher! It still wasn't the best book I ever read, but I noticed a significant improvement in how much I enjoyed book two. And now we're on to book three, and I actually really enjoyed it! Not "enjoyed it compared to the previous books", but enjoyed it as a book on it's own, if that makes sense. It wasn't just "good for The Raven Cycle", as I know a lot of people rate books compared to the previous books of a series. It was generally a really enjoyable book for me!For the first time since starting this series, I actually WANTED to listen to the audiobook and was able to stop saying "I should PROBABLY listen to this book now to get through it." There were a lot of scenes were I felt myself totally intoxicated with what was going on, which is totally new for me concerning this series. Though I'm still not completely in love with this series, I'm really glad I finally gave it a chance and am starting to warm up to it. Despite the fact that I wasn't the BIGGEST fan of the first two, I'm still really happy I continued on with it and don't regret reading these books at all. I'm DEFINITELY picking up The Raven King and I'm really excited to see how this story wraps up!
    more
  • byeol
    October 9, 2013
    1st read: Oct 20142nd read: Apr 2016UPDATE 2014-06-03:(source)AHA! So it won't be "Adam's book" after all!*cries one or two overly dramatic crocodile's tears*Okay...UPDATE 2014-04-25:Gorgeous cover, not sure how I feel about the title (actually, I am pretty sure but I don't want to rain on anyone's parade xD).UPDATE 2014-02-24:(source)OH NO YOU DIDN'T!---adamparrishadamparrishadamparrishadamparrishadamparrish/fangirl modeBook 3 ASAP please!Also, please just make (view spoiler)[Ronan x Adam (hide 1st read: Oct 20142nd read: Apr 2016UPDATE 2014-06-03:(source)AHA! So it won't be "Adam's book" after all!*cries one or two overly dramatic crocodile's tears*Okay...UPDATE 2014-04-25:Gorgeous cover, not sure how I feel about the title (actually, I am pretty sure but I don't want to rain on anyone's parade xD).UPDATE 2014-02-24:(source)OH NO YOU DIDN'T!---adamparrishadamparrishadamparrishadamparrishadamparrish/fangirl modeBook 3 ASAP please!Also, please just make (view spoiler)[Ronan x Adam (hide spoiler)] a thing, yes?
    more
  • Maureen
    April 19, 2015
    OMG I NEED FOURTH BOOK NOW.Reread April 22-23, 2016 in preparation for The Raven King.This might tie with The Raven Boys for my favorite but we'll see what happens after The Raven King. I just love these characters so much.
  • Anne Martin
    January 12, 2014
    When I finished reading The Dream Thieves...After gathering my inner thoughts and feels, I was like...ASDFGHJKLQWERTYUIOPZXCVBNMAAAAAHHH!!! Hello there, my ships!Gansey x Blue (forever and ever)Noah x BlueRonan x KavinskyRonan x AdamBut Kavinsky's effing dead and Blue should be for Gansey only (bec I said so, ok)so maybe Noah and Kavinsky can be dead mates. LMAO, bye.Now, I'm just like...OH MY HOLY SMACK WE HAVE THE TITLE+COVER+BLURB+RELEASE DATE!! LET THE COUNTDOWN BEGIN!!//UPDATE!//"The Raven When I finished reading The Dream Thieves...After gathering my inner thoughts and feels, I was like...ASDFGHJKLQWERTYUIOPZXCVBNMAAAAAHHH!!! Hello there, my ships!Gansey x Blue (forever and ever)Noah x BlueRonan x KavinskyRonan x AdamBut Kavinsky's effing dead and Blue should be for Gansey only (bec I said so, ok)so maybe Noah and Kavinsky can be dead mates. LMAO, bye.Now, I'm just like...OH MY HOLY SMACK WE HAVE THE TITLE+COVER+BLURB+RELEASE DATE!! LET THE COUNTDOWN BEGIN!!//UPDATE!//"The Raven King, make way for the Raven King."So, I just finished reading this book and oh..my..wow. I am speechless. I just want more, more, more! Gansey, how I wish I could find someone like you in my life. Sigh. I LOVE YOU, BOOK. MARRY ME?
    more
  • Kisses A
    May 24, 2016
    So bumping this up by 1*. Whoa! Loved it!!!! Favourite book so far! Can't wait to start The Raven King.Gansey As usual Gansey is my favourite. He is just up to his usual weirdness; eating mint leaves, chasing after dead Welsh kings, being overly smart, wearing ugly shoes, liking Blue despite their best intentions, calling her Jane. He invites one of his professor Mallory and Dog to help him figure out an alternative entrance to the underground grave(caves and all) Mallory is such a cool and funn So bumping this up by 1*. Whoa! Loved it!!!! Favourite book so far! Can't wait to start The Raven King.Gansey As usual Gansey is my favourite. He is just up to his usual weirdness; eating mint leaves, chasing after dead Welsh kings, being overly smart, wearing ugly shoes, liking Blue despite their best intentions, calling her Jane. He invites one of his professor Mallory and Dog to help him figure out an alternative entrance to the underground grave(caves and all) Mallory is such a cool and funny character.And Dog!BlueSo Blue.... Jane. She is dealing with her feelings for Gansey and dealing with real life issues at the same time such as mommy problems, finances and school,the future. Eating yougart, oh and I love her interactions wt Noah!!! Listening to trees talk...the norms.Making new giant friends who eat their green beans. Being short.RonanI liked Ronan a lot more in this book. I understood him better. He is just so funny and always singing that squash squash murder song! I enjoyed his chapters although it was a lot less than book 2. And he cares so much for Adam! Hmmm so what will TRK have in store fore me? Chainsaw is cute as always...And his kitchen/ laundry room.....Adam ParrishAdam is still the most pained character. He is cabeswater eyes/ ears. He is still struggling financially while at the same time trying to keep his dignity. He is getting creepy messages from Cabeswater and has to interpret it. Meanwhile having a crush and developing feelings for someone else other than Blue....So all in all I really loved the setting and atmosphere. It reminded me of book 1 a bit and the humour was on point. ( can't find a picture for Noah though;( Noah is great and I hope by the end he is given back his life as a human! That would be so great)One thing I find it lacked a bit was in the romance department. I usually don't complain for this but I get it was a bit scanty in this book. Hoping for more of that in book 4. .Sorry if there are Typos. I am editing on my tablet.
    more
  • Sophia
    June 29, 2015
    oh my god WHAT WAS THAT EPILOGUETHERE'S LITERALLY ONLY ONE WORD TO DESCRIBE THIS ENDING AND IT IS THIS: RUUUUUUUDEif i'm being honest, i'm not that interested in the overall plot of this series. what make me love these books so much are the characters. the beautiful, complex, flawed, wonderful, infuriating, ohmygod-i-need-to-hug-every-single-one-of-them characters. I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.v excited for the raven king. I FEEL PHYSICALLY INCAPABLE OF WAITING.
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    December 19, 2013
    5 Don’t you Richard Gansey the III me StarsRE-READING AGAIN before The Raven King with my lovely friends at Buddies Books and Baubles #savegansey The last two books were slightly more lyrical in the writing. But this has more interesting character development and the Cave. It was wonderful all over again. I don't think I'm really do say goodbye to this world and these characters next week....but are we ever ready to say goodbye to the ones we love. Once upon a time it began withAnd then Blue’s l 5 Don’t you Richard Gansey the III me StarsRE-READING AGAIN before The Raven King with my lovely friends at Buddies Books and Baubles #savegansey The last two books were slightly more lyrical in the writing. But this has more interesting character development and the Cave. It was wonderful all over again. I don't think I'm really do say goodbye to this world and these characters next week....but are we ever ready to say goodbye to the ones we love. Once upon a time it began withAnd then Blue’s life changed forever because she will either kill Gansey or he will be her one true love or both.The thing I really LOVE about this series is the ‘Otherness’ of it. Strange things happen all the time, every important character in the series has something different, unique and intriguing about them. I shift from loving Gansey the most, to Blue, then to Noah, from Piper to the Gray Man and then another character just steals the show *cough* Persephone *cough*. I’m stuck in a section of a tangled spider web, trying to seeing where all the strands meet and wondering where the spider is that wants to devour me. Because let’s face it if Gansey dies and Blue kills him my insides will feel like spider mush.The friendship between Gansey, Blue, Adam and Ronan is something I adore in this book. I love how they all look out for one another and help each other. Sure they bicker and argue at times but really the dynamic between the four of them is awesome. They have all helped each other become more than they were before. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. The quest is still to find Glendower, more important now than ever since Blue’s mother is underground with him somewhere. Time is running out, Gansey could die at any time and the people who know are starting to think the only way to save him would be to wake the Welsh king and get the favor. This book also plays on one of my guilty pleasures of the forbidden love. I ship Gansey and Blue so much and there is just enough romance between them in this to keep me on the edge with them. I want them to kiss so badly and at the same time I don’t. It is so delicious I could eat it with a spoon. She had thought it was such a simple thing to avoid kissing someone when she’d been with Adam. Her body had never known what to do. Now it knew. Her mouth didn’t care that it was cursed. She turned to Gansey. Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey. She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.” But it isn’t just the romance it is the friendships and the journey to find the King. The boys keep becoming more than they were before and I totally love the language Maggie Steifvater uses when she describe everything/everyone in this book. There was something unfamiliar about him when he arrived in the Pig. Something ferocious about his eyes, some sort of bite in his faint smile. Something altogether hectic and unsettled. She stood on the ledge of his smile and looked over the edge. This wasn’t the Gansey she’d seen in the kitchen earlier; this was the Gansey she secretly called at night.…it seemed impossible for all of Ronan to exist in one person. Adam was beginning to realize that he hadn’t known Ronan at all. Or rather, he had known part of him and assumed it was all of himHe had been wrong to come here alone. Why did he care if Gansey and Ronan saw this? They already knew. They knew everything about him. What a lie unknowable was. The only person who didn’t know Adam was himselfBlue’s sensible, pleasant expression was at odds with the fire that burned furiously inside. School was imminent, love was in the air, and Blue’s mother had vanished on some mysterious personal quest more than a month before, leaving behind her newly acquired assassin beau. Blue was a hurricane lurking just offshore. The other thing I love are the women of 300 Fox way. I really want to be a fly on the wall in that house. It seems like it would be the most interesting place in the world to be at times. Living with those women would be insane, but I really love the feel of the house and how the women inside of it seem to be just on the edge of everything. The way they cryptically speak in riddles or half explanations is really one of my favorite parts of this entire series. “Do you remember how I said that there were three sleepers, and Maura’s job was to not wake one of them, and your job was to wake one of the others? Remember how I didn’t say anything about the other one? I did not mean bring her to my kitchen.” I don’t want to give too much away because I really love the way that Maggie Steifvater dishes out little clues along the way as to the bigger picture and even when some questions are answered others rise up. Every character in the series serves a purpose and belongs there. When she adds a new character you know that they are not there just for padding, they will have a purpose. And the new characters added in this installment shine just as brightly as The Gray Man did in The Dream Thieves. Piper and Gwenllian are the most notable additions, although there are a few more.Gwenllian is a peculiar and fun addition. Her interactions with the women of 300 Fox way and the Gray man sometimes steal the page as you try to decipher her craziness “Hello, handsome sword! Have you killed anyone today?”“One sword knows another,” he told her mildly, placing his car keys in his pocket. “Have you killed anyone?”She was so delighted that she turned off the vacuum cleaner so that her insane smile could be the loudest thing in the hall. Gwelliian also seems to know something of magic and mirrors. She will definitely have a part to play in the next book as well and might have a few tricks up her sleeve to teach Blue along the way. Piper might be crazy in a different way. A more dangerous kind of cray-cray and it seems like she will probably play a much bigger role in the next book. Piper is the wife of Greenmantle, the man who was pulling Mr. Gray’s strings in the last book. She is a very perplexing character and a full bundle of trouble. He was so impressed with her ingenuity. He should not have been, really, because Piper was a very ingenious creature. It was just that she didn’t normally use her powers for good, and when she did, they usually weren’t pointed at him. This is what I can say about this book. I loved every rollercoaster fun-filled moment of the ride. I am so happy that there was more time in spent in Cabeswater because that creepy forest that belongs on the Island in LOST is amazing. I laughed, I teared up, I pondered, I got lost in the language and metaphors, I highlighted 103 passages and read them over a few times. I’m even more in love with all of the characters in this world now than I was before and I am totally looking forward to listening to the audiobook when it comes out on Nov 1 and taking the journey all over again.……AND THAT ENDING. She has done it again MS has left us hanging in such a weird place at the end that the next book can’t come out soon enough. I have no idea how she is going to wrap it up but I’m putting all my hope into MS that it is just as fantastic as all the books in this series have been.I just wanted to add some of my favorite highlights to the end of this since I had soooooo many. Some of them will be spoilery so do not open unless you want to be spoiled(view spoiler)[I’m serious you were warned (view spoiler)[She was beginning to suspect that she might just be using the same minute over and over. This might have troubled some people. Some people might not have noticed at all. But Maura was not some people. She had begun to dream the future when she was fourteen. She had spoken to her first spirit when she was sixteen. She had used remote viewing to see the other side of the world when she was nineteen. Time and space were bathtubs that Maura splashed in.Blue leaned back as her heart vacated her chest cavity. Of course it was impossible. It had been impossible before she arrived and would continue being impossible forever. It was just that spending time with Gansey and the others had made her think that the impossible might be more possible than she’d thought before. Maura was always telling her, Look at all the potential you hold inside yourself! Potential for other people, though. Not for Blue. It wasn’t worth shedding tears over something she had known for so long.She was furious at her body for betraying her, for wanting him differently than any of the other boys, for refusing to listen to her insistence that they were just friends.Ronan was always saying that he never lied, but he wore a liar’s face.Gansey didn’t so much visit as get absorbed.He loved it. He wanted to be a part of this world, even though he understood there were endless reasons why he could never be. Blue was the natural result of a home like this: confident, strange, credulous, curious. And here he was: neurotic, rarified, the product of something else entirely.He dropped his coat on the chair by the front door, and then, after a moment’s consideration, his pants as well. Piper’s lust was like a single bear trap in the wilderness. It was nearly impossible to find if you were looking for it, but it was something you wanted to be prepared for if you stepped into it by accident.“You guys have a death list?” Ronan broke in. “That is fucking dark. Am I on it?” “Some days, I wish,” Blue said. “Can I see it?” Adam asked. “What?” “Can I see the list?” Blue turned away to make herself a cup of tea. “I don’t have it. Mom took it with her. I just remembered his name. I mean, I thought it was a girl, with an ie at the end, but the Dittley part was memorable.”Calla raised one sharp eyebrow, but said nothing. Ah, Adam thought with grim and sudden certainty. Here it is. So one of us is on it.She said, “You won’t be able to unknow it.”“I have to know,” Adam said. “Don’t you get it? That will be the favor. That’s what I’ll ask for. I need to know so we can make that what we ask, if there’s only one.”Chainsaw’s defection felt wrong, too. Turned sideways, somehow, or inside out. Everything seemed unpredictable — which was in itself strange, because it had to mean that everything to this point had been predictable. No — inevitable. Now it felt like anything could happen.“My name is that of all women,” the woman replied. “Sorrow.”One of Calla’s eyebrows momentarily considered punching the woman. She said, “Why didn’t you just leave her?”Why haven’t they untied you yet?”“We thought she might be … dangerous?” Gansey answered lamely. Persephone cocked her head at him. “And you thought tying her hands would change that?”Earlier that year, when Blue had first met the boys, there had been a moment when she had been suddenly struck by how she was being drawn into their tangled lives. Now she realized that she had never been drawn in. She had been there all along, together with this woman, and all the other women at Fox Way, and maybe even Malory and his Dog. They were not creating a mess. They were just slowly illuminating the shape of it.“An efficient way to get your naked soul stolen by forces of raw evil, maybe,” Noah said.Blue exchanged a look with Adam. “I don’t believe in raw evil.” Noah said, “It doesn’t care if you believe in it.” She turned in her seat to face him. “I don’t normally like to point out when you’re being creepy. But you are.Things are always growing to three or shrinking to three. Best to start there. Two is a terrible number. Two is for rivalry and fighting and murder.”“Or marriage,” Adam said, thinking. “Same thing,” Persephone replied.Blue had never believed in death until then. Not in a real way. It happened to other people, other families, in other places. It happened in hospitals or automobile crashes or battle zones. It happened — now she remembered Gansey’s words outside Gwenllian’s tomb — with ceremony. With some announcement of itself. It didn’t just happen in the attic on a sunny day while she was sitting in the reading room. It didn’t just happen, in only a moment, an irreversible moment.It was against the rules, but Gansey crouched down beside her, one of his knees against her back, one against her knees, and hugged her. She curled against him, hands balled up against his chest. He felt a hot tear slip into the dip of his collarbone. He closed his eyes against the sun through the window, burning hot in his sweater, foot falling asleep, elbow grinding into the metal bed frame, Blue Sargent pressed up against him, and he didn’t move.“Much of my father,” she replied. “Much of my father in you. That is Artemus, the tree at night. Your mother looks for him, blue lily? Well, then you should seek my father.Huh. Hi, Dad. Then she thought, Really, with these genetics, I should be taller.He twisted his hands so the light showed on her a bit better. “You do, in fact, look a little like her.”“Good God, man,” Blue said. “Are you still on that? Do you know who else I look a little like? Your face. Have a think on that and I’ll just figure this out myself.”(hide spoiler)] (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Jenny
    April 2, 2015
    ***21. April 2016***Just in time for The Raven King! Additional observations to my The Dream Thieves review: Who is Henry?? Interestingly Adam thinks he might've been one of the sleepers. Does that mean the sleepers are metaphorical? What about Gwenllian or that creature then? Questions upon questions! ***3. April 2015***Everyone's level 100. And Gansey is bae.*Additionally*And Pynch needs to happen. Yes I went and found out their ship name.
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    March 10, 2016
    1st Read: January 20152nd Read: March 2016Idek how it's possibly...BUT I LOVE THIS BOOK EVEN MORE THIS TIME AND I ALREADY LOVED IT ASTRONOMICALLY SO THE FIRST TIME. *shrieks* The thing that most makes me sob in this series (apart from precious #Pynch moments) is the fact that it makes me think so so much. Like I have theories! I see little nuggets and clues! I just feel like I got SO SO MUCH MORE OUT OF IT THE SECOND TIME. And everything makes me want to hold it and shriek and cry basically. Eve 1st Read: January 20152nd Read: March 2016Idek how it's possibly...BUT I LOVE THIS BOOK EVEN MORE THIS TIME AND I ALREADY LOVED IT ASTRONOMICALLY SO THE FIRST TIME. *shrieks* The thing that most makes me sob in this series (apart from precious #Pynch moments) is the fact that it makes me think so so much. Like I have theories! I see little nuggets and clues! I just feel like I got SO SO MUCH MORE OUT OF IT THE SECOND TIME. And everything makes me want to hold it and shriek and cry basically. Everything. ADJFAKSLDFThings I Appreciated During This Re-Read:• Everything #Pynch. Because duh.• Realising Adam's INCREDIBLE character development...where he even admits his pride is an idiot.• Realising Ronan's INCREDIBLE character development...he is not a drunk raging asshole so much anymore. Still nasty. But wonderful. But nasty. BUT WONDERFUL.• The fact that the way the title is REPEATED probably is a nod to Blue being a mirror. Yes?? Yesss?? DO YOU THINK???• I accidentally love the Gray Man. He is a good father to Blue. <3• PERSEPHONE. 3 *SHRIEKS*• Gansey darling. His panic attack was the best thing in the world. Not because I want him to suffer but because GANSEY + ANXIETY = ADORABLE COOKIE POT WHOM IS RELATABLE AND I LOVE.•I love Gansey.• GANSEEEEY. • #SaveGansey• Blue's feminist fights were the best.• Also Jesse Dittley. 3 *SHRIEKS MORE*• Also is it just me or is Greenmantle like Metatron from Supernatural? Yes. Say yes basically.• THIS SERIES FREAKING SPLITS ME IN HALF AND I LOVE IT. I CANNOT STOP THINKING ABOUT IT.• I ACTUALLY FEEL LIKE RE-READING IT AGAIN IMMEDIATELY. WHAT'S WRONG WITH ME.• How is this book so so good.• I need a moment• possibly nine moments.• If I could only pick one favourite series...just ONE...it would be this one. I wouldn't even hesitate.• DO YOU REALISE HOW MUCH I LOVE IT NOW?!?! OKAY. OKAY. I'M CALMING. Caaalming. • I shall be over here, rocking gently and cry and waiting for The Raven King.***Here is my 2015 Review:I've put off reviewing this because I just feel ALL OF THE THINGS. And my reviews for these kinds of books never adequately sum up how much I love them. So...I LOVE THIS BOOK A LOT OKAY AND YOU SHOULD GO READ IT AND THERE IS NOTHING BETTER THAN A MAGGIE STIEFVATER BOOK AND I WILL LITERALLY BEG ON MY KNEES FOR THE FINAL BOOK THAT CLIFFHANGER WAS WICKED. GANSEEEEEY.I am a huge Maggie Stiefvater fan and basically give all her books 5-stars...so maybe i'm a little biased but THIS WAS AMAZINGLY FANtASTIC. I think The Raven Boys is still my favourite of the trilogy because it introduced me to these amazing characters. But the Dream Thieves broke my heart and Blue Lily Lily Blue just extended my craziness of passionate obsession for this series. Since it's the 3rd in a series, it's hard to review without spoilers. While The Dream Thieves was more about Ronan, this one is back to being more about Blue. Everyone makes great leaps and bounds in character development. Ronan will forever break my heart...and there was quite a few shippable Ronan/Adam moments. I'm not EXACTLY sure how I stand with my shipping. I want to ship ALL OF THE THINGS like the fangirl I am. But I'm also very aware that I want everything to stay the same with my Raven Boys And 1 Girl. I want their epic tight-knit group of friendship to just stay exactly the same. And once people start getting together, that all gets ruiend. And Gansey knows this, which is why he won't admit he likes Blue. Also the whole if-she-kisses-him-she'll-kill-him.Can I take a moment to say I'm FREAKING TERRIFIED FOR GANSEY?!! He's going to die. Blue predicted it in book 1. BUT I CAN'T HAVE GANSEY DIE. I've been with him for 3 books and I just love him more and more and he and Blue are adorable. They ring each other up in the middle of the night even thought it's "against the rules" (their own private rules of not liking each other) and they talk about birds or congress. Never each other. It is the sweetest most adorable relationship I've ever read. And I LOVE it. I love how different they are to typical YA books. I love how this book is book is focused on dead Welsh kings and FRIENDSHIP mostly...and then shippable things secondly. I really love books about friendship, okay?But let's talk a little about all the characters, shall we?! (Yes, yes we shall.)BLUE: She's as feisty but calm/sweet as ever. I love how Blue has such a huge personality but she's kind of serious and not prone to losing her mind over anything. She will not be belittled. She will stand up for herself. She's such a feminist and doesn't need a boy to save her. She's also short. I didn't actually realise till this book how short she is! BUT IT'S HILARIOUS. There are so many short-jokes.GANSEY: I love Gansey. He is smooth and he keeps everyone together so well. But he has secrets...like a bit more comes out about his immense secrets in this book. For some reason Gansey seemed more boyish than usual. Like he's so collected al of the time...but....it's like death is closer and I AM FREAKING OUT OAKY?!!ADAM: Is finally starting to grow a brain and he's whole mantra is "don't fight with Gansey don't fight with Blue" and I appreciate that. Adam is so tough and strong and he's so fragile. But I love him. He and Ronan fight something vicious but they are THERE for each other, which just gives me ajfdsklad feels. Even not as a couple. JUST AS FRIENDS TOO. I think Ronan would stab Adam in the eye, still. But you know, every friendship has their rough patches.RONAN: I LOVE RONAN SO MUCH HE IS MY FAVOURITE. He is so ferocious and such a giant jerk...but adorable. And so full of secrets. I kind of guessed that (view spoiler) Ronan makes himself so difficult but he really really needs the others. SO BADLY.NOAH: We're losing Noah. I am terrified. He's going a little more crazy as a ghost and I really really really want htem to fix him because I love Noah.Basically I love everyone. Are you shocked. HAH AH. No you're not.The writing is as beautiful as always. I think this is the fastest moving book of the 3 so far! There's a lot of scenery changes. There's villainous action. There's cursed caves and Jesse Dittley. AND I AM SO IN NEED OF BOOK 4 BEFORE I EXPLODE, OKAY???!!descriptionFAVOURITEST QUOTES:"You can just be friends with people, you know," Orla said. "I think it's crazy how you're in love with all those raven boys."*It was true that Blue was just shy of five feet and it was also true that she hadn't eaten her greens, but she'd done the research and she didn't think the two were related.*As they moved through the old barn, Adam felt Ronan's eyes glance off him and away, his disinterest practised but incomplete. Adam wondered if anyone else noticed. Part of him wished they did and immediately felt bad, because it was vanity, really: See, Adam Parrish is wantable, worthy of a crush, not just by anyone, someone like Ronan, who could want Gansey or anyone else and chose Adam for his hungry eyes. Maybe he was wrong. He could be wrong. I am unknowable, Ronan Lynch.(pg. 158)*"YOUR DEAD FRIEND," Jesse noted, sitting down opposite her at the tiny drop-leaf table. The mirror lay between them, face down. "That's not his fault. Why didn't you say you could see him?""I DIDN'T SAY I COULD SEE YOU, EITHER.""But I'm not dead," Blue pointed out."BUT YOU ARE PRETTY SHORT."(pg. 183)*She lay there and told herself to go back to sleep, but instead, she got angrier. She was tired of Persephone and Calla and her mother withholding information because Blue wasn't psychic. Of not being able to daydream of fancy colleges because she wasn't rich. Of not being able to hold Gansey's hand because they couldn't hurt Adam's feelings and not being able to kiss Gansey's mouth because she didn't want to kill him. She was tired of knowing that he was going to die and being afraid that her mother would, too. (pg. 196)*Ronan pointed at the cart. "Get in there.""What?"He just continued pointing. Adam said, "Give me a break. This is a public parking lot.""Don't make this ugly, Parrish."As an old lady headed past them, Adam sighed and climbed into the basket of the shopping cart. He drew his knees up so that he would fit. He was full of the knowledge that this was probably going to end with scabs. Ronan gripped the handle with the skittish concentration of a motorcycle racer and eyed the line between them and the BMW parked on the far side of the lot. "What do you think the grade is on this parking lot?""C plus, maybe a B. Oh. I don't know. Ten degrees?" Adam held the sides of the cart and then thought better of it. He held himself instead. With a savage smile, Ronan shoved the cart off the kerb and belted towards the BMW. As they picked up speed, Ronan called out a joyful and awful swear and then jumped on to the back of the cart himself. As they hurtled towards the BMW, Adam realised that Ronan, as usual, had no intention of stopping before something bad happened. He cupped a hand over his nose just as they glanced off the side of the BMW. The unseated cart wobbled once, twice, and then tipped catastrophically on to its side. It kept skidding, the boys skidding along with it. The three of them came to a stop. "Oh, God," Adam said, touching the road burn on his elbow. It wasn't that bad, really. "God, God. I can feel my teeth."Ronan lay on his back a few feet away. A box of toothpaste rested on his chest and the cart kneeled beside him. He looked profoundly happy. (pg. 233)*"What do we do now?" Gansey asked.From the other room, Calla bellowed, "GO BUY US PIZZA. WITH EXTRA CHEESE, RICHIE RICH."Blue said, "I think she's starting to like you." (pg. 243)* Behind him, he heard Ronan say, "I like the way you losers thought Instagram before first aid. Fuck off." (pg. 288)
    more
  • Simona Bartolotta
    March 7, 2016
    Buddy read n°3 with The Raven Cycle (Re)readathon"I know when I'm awake and when I'm asleep," Ronan Lynch said.Adam Parrish, curled over himself in a pair of battered, greasy coveralls, asked, "Do you?""Maybe I dreamt you," he said. "Thanks for the straight teeth, then," Adam replied.Four stars! Maggie Stiefvater and her Raven Boys finally managed to get four stars from me -they're not really full, I am still not attached to this story and I feel no urge to have the fourth book in my hands, but Buddy read n°3 with The Raven Cycle (Re)readathon"I know when I'm awake and when I'm asleep," Ronan Lynch said.Adam Parrish, curled over himself in a pair of battered, greasy coveralls, asked, "Do you?""Maybe I dreamt you," he said. "Thanks for the straight teeth, then," Adam replied.Four stars! Maggie Stiefvater and her Raven Boys finally managed to get four stars from me -they're not really full, I am still not attached to this story and I feel no urge to have the fourth book in my hands, but there is no need to specify that. Four stars it is.So, I liked Blue Lily, Lily Blue slighly more than I liked The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves (click on the titles to read my reviews). And when I say slightly, I meanso take that with a grain of salt.•Everything I already wrote in my two previous reviews about the writing keeps being true, also the fact that, in my opinion, the book in which Stiefvater exceeded herself -rigorously writing-wise- is the first. This series is written in a melodic, delicate prose, and reading it is the mental and auditory equivalent of putting a teaspoon of honey on your tongue and letting it melt in your mouth.•For what concerns the characters, I am extremely satisfied of Adam's development. Adter the last book, I was afraid that Stiefvater would make the easy mistake of letting him drown in his self-pity, which would have meant cutting off the growth of the character. Luckily, instead, Stiefvater skillfully pushed Adam to the next step on his path, the one of redemption, and I am so glad for it I can't even begin to explain. Ronan is logically (the previous book was basically centered on him) a bit more static in this installment, but I didn't mind.It's official: I can't stand Blue. She has these out-of-the-world moments of hysteria, and I get that she's going through a lot, but she got under my skin way too much. As for Noah, there was a moment when I thought he would finally have the space he deserves, but at the end of the day it was a feint, so it's not as if I can say something about him if not to confirm the fact that he actually is the fifth wheel of the wagon. •Last but not least, Gansey (yes, he has to have a parapgraph of his own). I think that Stiefvater idolises him, and that this series, and this book especially, is her version of a Gansey-Bible. If I selected all the things the others characters think about Gansey and wrote them separatedly, I would have a list of the Reasons Why You Should Love Gansey. Congratulations, Maggie, you just made me feel manipulated.And by the way, never heard the sacrosanct 'Show, don't tell' rule? Flash news: it usually works. Flash-flash news: to work, it has to be employed.•The plot, bah. It's not a secret that I am not a fan of this plot, and this didn't change. When I think about the "plot", I start wondering why I rated this four instead of the dear old three-point-five, so it's better if I don't think about it at all. Seriously. So. Flat. And it doesn't help that The Raven Boys clearly is a character-driven series, because the characters are not intriguing enough to hold up the whole story on their own.Long story short, Stiefvater still has a chance to win me over. I don't think it's too late -late, maybe, but not too late. It is never too late until it's over. So, yes, I believe I can still love The Raven King. Come on, TRK. My mind is waiting to be blown away.
    more
Write a review