Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10)
Mercenary Kate Daniels must risk all to protect everything she holds dear in this epic, can't-miss entry in the thrilling #1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series.Kate has come a long way from her origins as a loner taking care of paranormal problems in post-Shift Atlanta. She's made friends and enemies. She's found love and started a family with Curran Lennart, the former Beast Lord. But her magic is too strong for the power players of the world to let her be.Kate and her father, Roland, currently have an uneasy truce, but when he starts testing her defenses again, she knows that sooner or later, a confrontation is inevitable. The Witch Oracle has begun seeing visions of blood, fire, and human bones. And when a mysterious box is delivered to Kate's doorstep, a threat of war from the ancient enemy who nearly destroyed her family, she knows their time is up.Kate Daniels sees no other choice but to combine forces with the unlikeliest of allies. She knows betrayal is inevitable. She knows she may not survive the coming battle. But she has to try.For her child.For Atlanta.For the world.

Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10) Details

TitleMagic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 28th, 2018
PublisherAce
ISBN-139780425270714
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10) Review

  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    ⚠ Repeatedly bumped this review shall be, until finally published this book is. Which can be loosely translated as: "if you are one of those freaks who convulse whenever they see the same review in their feed more than once, please feel free to unfriend and block me! You are most welcome and stuff!" ⚠ » March 17, 2018: FIRST TWO CHAPTERS. AVAILABLE. HERE. NOW. BRB DEAD AND STUFF.➽ Feb. 2, 2018: tiny snippet time! Gotta love Roland's "phone calls," hahahaha.➽ Jan. 15, 2018: the publishing date ha ⚠️ Repeatedly bumped this review shall be, until finally published this book is. Which can be loosely translated as: "if you are one of those freaks who convulse whenever they see the same review in their feed more than once, please feel free to unfriend and block me! You are most welcome and stuff!" ⚠️ » March 17, 2018: FIRST TWO CHAPTERS. AVAILABLE. HERE. NOW. BRB DEAD AND STUFF.➽ Feb. 2, 2018: tiny snippet time! Gotta love Roland's "phone calls," hahahaha.➽ Jan. 15, 2018: the publishing date has been pushed back to August 28, 2018! Shock! Outrage! Dismay! Consternation!In order to try and prevent mass suicides all over the universe assuage the Book Devouring Horde, Ilona most graciously revealed a delightful spoiler: "Rocks fall. Everyone dies." [image error]➽ Jan. 12, 2018: it's available for pre-order!!!![image error]➽ Dec. 16, 2017: Sharrim and Sharratum and Roland and oh my bloody shrimp what a bloody shrimping snippet! And look at that beaaauuuuuutyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!![image error]Okay, so it turns out the snippet isn't from Magic Triumphs but from Magic Binds *waves at xun* Shame on me for not identifying it and stuff. Still, it's KD and it's a snippet, so there. HA.➽ Dec. 7, 2017: Kate. Curran. A bed. Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler. Redacted in the driveway. A mysterious blond woman...It's Argh I Want to Know More Snippet Day (AIWtKMSD™)!!!!!!!!![image error]➽ Nov. 28, 2017: Desandra snippet !!!!!!!!! My favorite plum lover/pork sword fanatic is finally back!!!!!!![image error]➽ Nov. 13, 2017: these revoltingly tiny baby Conlan snippets are going to kill me with cute one of these days. And I don't even like disgusting little kids, for shrimp's sake! This is outrageous![image error]P.S. I want a fire truck with an enchanted water engine and stuff.➽ Nov. 6, 2017: it's Guild News Snippet Day (GNSD™)!!![image error]➽ Oct. 28, 2017: Derek snippet alert !!! Let's dance!!![image error]➽ Oct. 9, 2017: a very snippety Monday to you![image error]➽ Oct. 3, 2017: it's official, the Andrews are trying to kill us with Conlan Cuteness Overload (CCO™) ►► Da Phhhft!!!!! [image error]➽ Sept. 21, 2017: all hail the Holy Fishing Snippet of Utter Wondrousness (HFSoUW™)!!!➽ Sept. 8, 2017: it's Snippety Snippet Time (SST™)! And after reading it, I can tell you this: bloody shrimping hell, I want a Conlan, too! Poof! Gone! Kidnapped! Adopted![image error]➽ August 16, 2017: we have a cover!!!!!!!➽ August 12, 2017: Ilona posts a Slightly Wondrous Snippet (SWS™) on the blog and all of a sudden chihuahuas start channeling Carmen Miranda. That's the Somewhat Stupendous KD Effect (SSKDE™) for you.[image error]➽ July 17, 2017: a Most Wondrous Monday Snippet (MWMS™)? Yes, please.[image error]➽ July 14, 2017: should you click on this insignificant little link here, there is a slight chance you might stumble upon a Oh My Bloody Shrimping Hell snippet for this insignificant book absolutely NO ONE is impatiently waiting for.[image error]➽ April 28, 2017: we have a title!!!!!!!!!!!![image error][image error]➽ February 16, 2017: we have a release date!!!! May 2018 it is!!! Don't scream and faint, my Little Barnacles! The more we will wait, the better the book will be!!! Read about it here![image error]• Book 1: Magic Bites ★★★★★• Book 2: Magic Burns ★★★★★• Book 3: Magic Strikes ★★★★★• Book 4: Magic Bleeds ★★★★★• Book 5: Magic Slays ★★★★★• Book 6: Magic Rises ★★★★★• Book 7: Magic Breaks ★★★★★• Book 8: Magic Shifts ★★★★★• Book 9: Magic Binds ★★★★★
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more
    January 1, 1970
    It’s been a fun ride, Kate. I know we’ll see other again, but it won’t be the same. You’ve fought your battles, and now you’re letting someone else pick up the torch. Enjoy the peace and quiet. You’ve earned it. Full RTC. BUT. Know this—it’s everything you could possibly wish for it to be. 2/13/18:B/c why? B/c CURRENTLY READING. *flails* *moonwalks* *booty shakes*10/26/17 - Derek SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/do-you-m...10/8/17 - Scooby SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/dear-bar...10 It’s been a fun ride, Kate. I know we’ll see other again, but it won’t be the same. You’ve fought your battles, and now you’re letting someone else pick up the torch. Enjoy the peace and quiet. You’ve earned it. Full RTC. BUT. Know this—it’s everything you could possibly wish for it to be. 2/13/18:B/c why? B/c CURRENTLY READING. *flails* *moonwalks* *booty shakes*10/26/17 - Derek SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/do-you-m...10/8/17 - Scooby SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/dear-bar...10/02/17 - Conlan SNIPPET (*dies of cuteness*): http://www.ilona-andrews.com/da-phhhft/9/21/17 - SNIPPET (#2, courtesy of Authorlord spawn): http://www.ilona-andrews.com/are-you-...9/21/17 - (baby, twitter thread) SNIPPET: https://twitter.com/ilona_andrews/sta...9/7/17 - SNIPPET (as delicious bribe): http://www.ilona-andrews.com/read-for...8/11/17 - SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/snippet-...7/17/17 - SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/snippet-6/7/13/17 - SNIPPET (as delicious bribe): http://www.ilona-andrews.com/the-pend...7/7/17 - (tiny) SNIPPET: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/friday-f...My other reviews for this series: A Questionable Client (Kate Daniels, #0.5) Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1) Magic Burns (Kate Daniels, #2) Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3) Magic Mourns (Kate Daniels, #3.5) Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels, #4) Magic Dreams (Kate Daniels, #4.5) Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, #5) Magic Tests (Kate Daniels, #5.3) Magic Gifts (Kate Daniels, #5.4) Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels, #5.5) Retribution Clause (Kate Daniels, #5.6) An Ill-Advised Rescue (Kate Daniels, #5.8) Magic Rises (Kate Daniels, #6) Magic Steals (Kate Daniels, #6.5) Magic Breaks (Kate Daniels, #7) Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels, #8) Magic Stars (Kate Daniels, #8.5, Grey Wolf, #1) Magic Binds (Kate Daniels, #9) Iron and Magic (Kate Daniels, #9.5) Curran POV Collection
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    WOW!!! WHAT AN ENDING TO A SERIESI Laughed...so many timesI was emotional, a lotI was stumped on occasionI loved every minute of reading itI was blown away by the endingThis was everything and wanted it to be and so much more. The Andrews have done it again and surpassed every expectation I had. This was better than I hoped for and my hopes were HIGHFull review to Come.Thank you to the Andrews for letting me be involved with the beta read of their final book for the Kate Daniels Series. I am hon WOW!!! WHAT AN ENDING TO A SERIESI Laughed...so many timesI was emotional, a lotI was stumped on occasionI loved every minute of reading itI was blown away by the endingThis was everything and wanted it to be and so much more. The Andrews have done it again and surpassed every expectation I had. This was better than I hoped for and my hopes were HIGHFull review to Come.Thank you to the Andrews for letting me be involved with the beta read of their final book for the Kate Daniels Series. I am honored.
    more
  • ☆★Tinja★✮ A Court of Pizza and Laziness
    January 1, 1970
    OH MY GOOOOOD OH NOOOO THE LAST KATE DANIELS!!!! *SCREAMS*WHAT I WANT HOPE TO HAPPEN 💖💖- ROLAND BEHEADED - LOTS OF ACTION & EPIC BATTLE - LOTS OF DEREK AND JULIE ERMERGERD MY SHHIIPPP (SPIN-OFF SPIN-OFF PLEASEEE I BEG) I SHIP THEM SO HARD IT [email protected]%^$PLEEEEASEEEEEEEEEEEEE - JULIE DOING SOMETHING EPIC- KATE DOING EPIC SHITT- ROMAN MY SWEETIE - B & C = BEYOND CUTE- SMEXY TIMES AND COUPLES AND ROMANCE LOL #sorrynotsorry - ALL MY FAVS (WHICH ARE MANY) TO LIVE <3 <3 - OH AND DESSAN OH MY GOOOOOD OH NOOOO THE LAST KATE DANIELS!!!! *SCREAMS*WHAT I WANT HOPE TO HAPPEN 💖💖- ROLAND BEHEADED - LOTS OF ACTION & EPIC BATTLE - LOTS OF DEREK AND JULIE ERMERGERD MY SHHIIPPP (SPIN-OFF SPIN-OFF PLEASEEE I BEG) I SHIP THEM SO HARD IT [email protected]%^$PLEEEEASEEEEEEEEEEEEE - JULIE DOING SOMETHING EPIC- KATE DOING EPIC SHITT- ROMAN MY SWEETIE - B & C = BEYOND CUTE- SMEXY TIMES AND COUPLES AND ROMANCE LOL #sorrynotsorry - ALL MY FAVS (WHICH ARE MANY) TO LIVE <3 <3 - OH AND DESSANDRA WITH NICK IT WOULD BE DELICIOUS AND HILARIOUS- MORE SHORT STORIES TO THIS AAMAAAAZINGGG WORLD (I WANT ASCANIO'S POV MAYBE IN A SHORT STORY??)- OOOH OOH AND LUTHER. LOVE THAT DUDE.I'M NOT TOO EXCITED ABOUT(view spoiler)[I'm sorry but I'm so nervous about the baby stuff. Babies tend to ruin the series I love:((( *hides behind corner* And I really want them to love Julie as much as the baby. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    17/03/18ExcerptThe first two chapters of Magic Triumphs:http://www.ilona-andrews.com/magic-tr...29/11/17SNIPPET! Your Favorite Female Wolf Says Hi!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/your-fav...17/10/17SNIPPET! http://www.ilona-andrews.com/do-you-m...2/10/17SNIPPET! Do not read if you haven't read book 9! (view spoiler)[It took me thirty minutes to get from Biohazard to Casino, which I spent stewing in my own anger. Normally the sight of an ethereal white castle, strategically back-lit with colored lig 17/03/18ExcerptThe first two chapters of Magic Triumphs:http://www.ilona-andrews.com/magic-tr...29/11/17SNIPPET! Your Favorite Female Wolf Says Hi!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/your-fav...17/10/17SNIPPET! http://www.ilona-andrews.com/do-you-m...2/10/17SNIPPET! Do not read if you haven't read book 9! (view spoiler)[It took me thirty minutes to get from Biohazard to Casino, which I spent stewing in my own anger. Normally the sight of an ethereal white castle, strategically back-lit with colored lights and framed by fountains, made me pause. It was so unexpected in the middle of grim ruins and utilitarian post-Shift housing, a beautiful declaration of arrogance and human resilience. But today I didn’t care. I was so pissed off, by the time I reached the ornate gates, my cloak was fraying. I walked into the Casino with my magic boiling.The first journeyman who saw me, a skinny kid with blue hair and a collection of piercings in random places, started to bow, then caught a whiff of my magic and took off running. I strode through the gaming floor, ignoring the din and garish light show of the slot machines.A journeywoman swung into my way, swallowing. “May I help…”I made a heroic effort to get a hold of myself. None of what happened was their fault. “Find someone in charge. Now. Please.”“Yes, ma’am!” She sprinted up the stairway ahead of me.I waited. Conlan stared at the dancing lights of the gambling floor, mesmerized.Rowena hurried down the stairs, the journeywoman at her heels. Today Rowena wore a dress the color of brown garnet that shimmered as she walked. Combined with her perfect figure and ridiculously long red hair, she looked like a living flame. Against all that red and brown, her green eyes stood out and right now they brimmed with alarm.She saw Conlan and stumbled. The female journeywoman lunged and caught her, before Rowena tumbled down the stairs.“I need to get a hold of my father.”Rowena recovered enough to speak. “Please come with me.”We took the stairs down.“What happened?”“My father happened.”She didn’t ask anything else. We descended deep into the underground bowels of the Casino, walked through the maze, and emerged into the vampire stables, rows of cells where the Casino housed their undead. The vamps, chained to the walls within their individual enclosures, strained on their chains, their eyes glowing, their foul magic polluting my mind like dirty smears on the window.“Daa phhhf!” Conlan declared.“Yes, phhhf is right.” (hide spoiler)]22/9/17SNIPPET! Do not read if you haven't read book 9! (view spoiler)[A thud jerked me awake. I was up and moving, my sword in my hand, before my brain processed that I was now standing. I paused, Sarrat raised.A thin sliver of watery, predawn light broke through the gap between the curtains. The magic was up. On my left, in the little nursery Curran sectioned off from our bedroom, Conlan stood in his crib, wide-awake.The room was empty except for me and my son.Thud-thud-thud.Someone pounded on my front door. The clock on the wall told me it was ten till seven. We kept shapeshifters hours, late to bed, late to rise. Everyone I knew was aware of that.“Uh-oh!” Conlan said.Uh-oh is right. “Wait for me,” I whispered. “Mommy has to take care of something.”I ran out of the bedroom, moving fast and quiet, and shut the door behind me.Thud-thud-thud.Hold your horses, I’m coming. And then you’ll have some explaining to do.It took me two seconds to clear the long staircase leading from the third floor to the reinforced front door. I grabbed the lever, slid it sideways, and lowered the metal flap covering the small window. Teddy Jo’s brown eyes stared back at me.“What the hell are you doing here? Do you know what time it is?”“Open the door,” Teddy Jo breathed. “It’s an emergency.”It was always an emergency. My whole life was one long chain of emergencies. I unbarred the door and pulled it open. He charged in past me. His hair stuck out from his head, windblown. His face was bloodless, and his eyes wild.A sinking feeling tugged at my stomach. Teddy Jo was Thanatos, the Greek angel of death. Freaking him out took a lot of doing. I thought it had been too quiet lately.I shut the door and locked it.“I need help,” he said. “Is anybody in danger right now?”“They’re dead. They’re all dead.”Whatever happened has already happened.“I need you to come and see this.”“Can you explain what it is?”“No.” He grabbed my hand. “I need you to come right now.”I looked at his hand on mine. He let go.I walked into the kitchen, took a pitcher of iced tea out of the fridge, and poured him a tall glass. “Drink this and try to calm down. I’m going to get dressed and find a baby sitter for Conlan and then we’ll go.”He took the glass. The tea trembled.I ran upstairs, opened the door, and nearly collided with my son. Conlan grinned at me. He had my dark hair and Curran’s grey eyes. He also had Curran’s sense of humor, which was driving me crazy. Conlan started walking early, at ten months, which was typical of shapeshifter children, and now he was running at full speed. His favorite games included running away from me, hiding under various pieces of furniture, and knocking stuff off horizontal surfaces. Bonus points if the object broke.“Mommy has to go work.” I pulled off the long T-shirt I used as a night gown and grabbed a sports bra.“Baddaadada!”“Mhm. I’d sure like to know where your Dada is. Off on one of his expeditions.”“Dada?” Conlan perked up.“Not yet,” I told him, reaching for my jeans. “He should be coming back tomorrow or the day after.”Conlan stomped around. Besides early walking and some seriously disturbing climbing ability, he showed no signs of being a shapeshifter. He didn’t change shape at birth, and he hadn’t shifted yet. By thirteen months, he should’ve been turning into a little baby lion on regular basis. Doolittle found Lyc-V in Conlan’s blood, present in large numbers, but the virus lay dormant. We always knew it was a possibility, because my blood ate vampirism and Lyc-V for breakfast and asked for seconds. But I knew Curran hoped our son would be a shapeshifter. So did Doolittle. The Pack’s medmage kept trying different strategies to bring the beast out. Except I’d pulled the plug on that.About six months ago, Curran and I visited the Keep and left Conlan with Doolittle for about twenty minutes. When we came back, I found Conlan crying on the floor with three shapeshifters in half form growling at him, while Doolittle looked on. I kicked one out of the window and broke the other’s arm before Curran restrained me. Doolittle assured me that our baby wasn’t in any danger, and I informed him that he was done torturing our baby for his amusement. I might have underscored my point by holding Conlan in one hand and Sarrat sheathed in my blood in the other. Apparently, my eyes had glowed and the Pack’s Keep trembled. It was collectively decided that further tests were not necessary.I still took Conlan to Doolittle for his scheduled appointments and when he fell or sneezed or did any of the other baby things that made me fear for his life. But I watched them like a hawk the whole time.I buckled my belt on, slid Sarrat into the sheath on my back, and pulled my hair back into a pony tail. “Let’s go see if your aunt will watch you for a few hours.”I scooped him up and went downstairs. Teddy Jo was pacing in our lobby like a caged tiger. I grabbed the keys to our Jeep and went out the door.“I’ll fly you,” he said.“No.” I marched across the street to George and Eduardo’s house. I would have to buy George a cake for all the baby sitting she’s been doing lately.“Kate!”“You said nobody is in immediate danger. If you fly me, I will dangle thousands of feet above the ground in a playground swing and I’m not doing that. You can fly overhead and lead the way.”“It will be faster.”I knocked on George’s door. “Do you want my help or not?”He made a frustrated noise and stalked off.The door swung open and George appeared, her tight black curls floating around her head like a halo.“I am so sorry,” I started.She opened her arms and took Conlan for me. “Who is my favorite nephew?”“He is your only nephew.”“Details.” George smooched Conlan on his forehead. He wrinkled his nose and sneezed.“Again, so sorry. It’s an emergency.”“She waved. “Go, go…”I turned right and headed toward Derek’s house.“Now what?” Teddy Jo growled.“I’m getting back up.” I had a feeling I would need it. (hide spoiler)] 8/9/17SNIPPET! Do not read if you haven't read book 9! (view spoiler)[My son shrugged the shreds of his clothes off himself and showed Robert his fangs. “Rawrrawrrr!”“Is he challenging me?” Robert eyes sparkled.I put my hand over my face.“Rawrwrwa!”“That’s the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen.”“Conlan,” Curran said, putting some growl into his voice. “Come here.”“Rawr.”Curran got up and strode toward Conlan. My kid lunged sideways, but Curran was too fast. His hand snapped out, and he lifted Conlan by the scruff of his neck. “No.”Conlan settled into his father’s arms, eyeing Robert like he was a cobra. If we survived my father and I got to raise him, I was in for a hell of a time.“I want one,” Robert declared. (hide spoiler)] 15/07/17 Tiny snippet for this book!! Please do not read if you haven't read the previous book!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/the-pend...Edited 22/07/17* All info regarding Hugh's book has been moved to the appropriate place which is Kate Daniels 9.5 Regarding this book
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    OH NO. It's over. The series is over. *dies**remembers two more Hughs and potential same world books and kind of perks up a little tiny bit**throws temper tantrum*Review to come on release date. And if you thought there was even a chance this would get less than five stars, you're delusional. ALL THE STARS.NOTE: READING IRON AND MAGIC BEFORE READING MAGIC TRIUMPHS IS REQUIRED. DO IT. DON'T SKIP IT.
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    Yes!Yes!Yes!Ilona Andrews just released the first two chapters of this book (unedited) on their website here!It's awesome!!!Except, now the torture of waiting is worse......Some of us are not getting any younger over here.
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.1.) Magic Bites ★★★★2.) Magic Burns ★★★★3.) Magic Strikes ★★★★★4.) Magic Bleeds ★★★★★5.) Magic Slays ★★★★★6.) Magic Rises ★★★★7.) Magic Breaks ★★★★8.) Magic Shifts ★★★★8.5) Magic Stars ★★★★9.) Magic Binds ★★★Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  •  ⚔ Sh3lly - Grumpy Name-Changing Wanderer ⚔
    January 1, 1970
    August 16, 2017: Oh look at the cover....
  • Katie Michaels
    January 1, 1970
    Ilona Andrews probably could have written Kate Daniels books for another 10 years and made a fortune. They are wildly successful and even after 10 books, fans love them every bit as much as they did years ago... if not more. I know I do. But that makes it all the more impressive that they decided to end this series on top. They finished Kate’s story and they did it in spectacular fashion, giving me everything I wanted and needed from an epic conclusion. I can’t imagine the kind of pressure they Ilona Andrews probably could have written Kate Daniels books for another 10 years and made a fortune. They are wildly successful and even after 10 books, fans love them every bit as much as they did years ago... if not more. I know I do. But that makes it all the more impressive that they decided to end this series on top. They finished Kate’s story and they did it in spectacular fashion, giving me everything I wanted and needed from an epic conclusion. I can’t imagine the kind of pressure they were under to satisfy their readers with Kate’s swan song, but somehow, they pulled it off with their trademark blend of humor, action, and heart.There are so many things that make this book awesome, but the clearest front-runner is an adorable, fascinating, and powerful one year-old named Conlan Lennart. That’s right, Kate and Curran’s baby is born in the prologue and we scoot ahead in time a bit for the bulk of this book. It was a brilliant move, because Conlan has grown enough to feel like a real character here. He is clearly smart and extremely gifted with magic, but at the end of the day he is also a toddler that loves his mommy and daddy. And man, do they love him too.You think love for her husband and her friends motivated Kate? Just watch out for this mama bear protecting her cub.I really thought this book was going to be all about Kate's big face off with her father. And that is part of the story, but far from the only conflict. I’ll stop here and say if you have not read Iron and Magic, Hugh's book, go back and read it now before you jump in here. The events of that story are vitally important to this one. Because those bad guys? They’re going to look awfully familiar. Only here, we are finally understanding their origins and their goals. It is the biggest and baddest force that Kate has ever had to fight. And she knows that she still must deal with her dad and his eminent attack on her and her son. So much is happening.And that means calling in all of the big players. From the family of her heart like Julie and Derek... to the ties of her blood, like Erra and Rowena... to her allies: the Pack, the People, even Atlanta herself. And then there are the men who were basically like estranged brothers, Nick and Hugh. They know better than anyone what kind of foe Roland is. Saiman, Roman, Christopher, Teddy Jo. The list just goes on and on. And they all matter to the story. They all have a part to play, and for long-time readers of this series, it is so gratifying to see all of these pieces come together in this amazing tapestry.I laughed out loud. I cheered out loud too. But even as I approached the last two chapters, I kept wondering how the authors were going to manage to make everything work out in the end. And I don’t know why I even questioned it, because they have never let me down and they certainly did not start here.I couldn’t be happier with Kate’s HEA. And I love that they have dangling threads which will allow them to return to this world in the future with stories centered on other characters. I definitely will continue with Hugh’s books and I feel total confidence in a future series for Julie. All the dominoes are set up just right.I will miss this series terribly, but I am so grateful that I got to see it go out with the kind of quality story it deserved. Thank you, Ilona Andrews for bringing this world to life... and for letting me love Kate Daniels.Rating: A*ARC provided by Ace
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    Of course 5 stars. What else?!I’m not allowed to post a proper review yet butIT’S BLOODY AWESOMEwill do for now.
  • Geri Reads
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalleyJust based on the snippets and the updates I've read from IA's twitter, I think I'm going to need plenty of alcohol while reading this book. I'm not prepared for any of the major characters to die. Especially not Curran and Kate. I mean, IA won't kill them off, right? RIGHT???
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    1st Read - July 20182nd Read - August 2018Holy shit, first I get approved for Archangel's Prophecy (which I already started reading!) and then I get Magic Triumphs!!!!!! The excitement of this weekend's reading may just kill me LOL
  • Erin ☕ *Proud Book Hoarder*
    January 1, 1970
    Best cover of the series so far. Hopefully also the best book? I loved the 9th
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    I'm not even pretending that this review is easy to write.4.5 starsFull review to come!!✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you want to chat with me about books, find me on Instagram For more of my reviews:My Blog: Book Twins ReviewsFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Ina
    January 1, 1970
    Update from the newest snippet(21/09/2017)(Snippet can be found here: Snippet Conlan grinned at me. He had my dark hair and Curran’s grey eyes. He also had Curran’s sense of humor, which was driving me crazy. Conlan started walking early, at ten months, which was typical of shapeshifter children, and now he was running at full speed. His favorite games included running away from me, hiding under various pieces of furniture, and knocking stuff off horizontal surfaces. Bonus points if the object b Update from the newest snippet(21/09/2017)(Snippet can be found here: Snippet Conlan grinned at me. He had my dark hair and Curran’s grey eyes. He also had Curran’s sense of humor, which was driving me crazy. Conlan started walking early, at ten months, which was typical of shapeshifter children, and now he was running at full speed. His favorite games included running away from me, hiding under various pieces of furniture, and knocking stuff off horizontal surfaces. Bonus points if the object broke. Oh man, I love that kid already. I want to see Conlan interact with so many people - starting with Curran, through Derek to Roland. Update (07/09/2017)Kate and Curran's child has a name! Snippet hereUpdate (16/08/2017)We have a cover! And a synopsis. Does anyone else have chills?Update (13/07/2017)We have a snippet!!! (Are Kate and Curran really talking about their kid eating raw meat and mice? Is there a time jump before the last book? If so, how big?)Snippet hereUpdate (11/07/2017)Ilona just posted soundtrack they listen to while writing Magic Triumphs. It includes songs called Two Steps From Hell and Epic Persian Battle Music. I hear words "hell", "epic", "battle" and all I can see is Kate kicking Roland's ass. Update (27/06/2017)Ilona and Gordon did an interview with Cosmopolitan. My favorite part: Ilona: We don’t really veto each other — we discuss. For example, today we were discussing names for a baby [in one of our series] and Gordon picked one that was really nice but was very close to [another character’s name]. We talked about it and I was like, “Well, I like the name, but it’s too close.” Anyone else curious about the name? By the way, if you want to read the full interview, you can find it here.Update (29/04/2017)It has a name! Magic Triumphs. That sounds optimistic. I mean, you can't name a book Magic Triumphs and then have one of the main characters die... RIGHT?!Update from Ilona Andrews Facebook page (16/02/2017):*Kate 10 Release Date*We are looking at May of 2018. Before you scream, here are the reasons why:*We’re pretty fried and we want to write a good book.*We have two new books coming out this year, which means a lot of additional publicity, and we want to be there for important things such as our youngest – hopefully – graduating from high school. Knocked on wood and spat over my shoulder just now. When your kid tells you, “I want to do IB,” and you say “Okay,” you don’t realize exactly how much work IB courses are. She has a 4.4 GPA but so much stress.*It takes about 6 months from turning in the first draft for the editorial process and printing process to happen, and the 2017 is already scheduled, so if we forced a book in at the end of the year, we’d be taking away marketing from someone else. A little more on the way it works: publishers have a monthly budget. They can only put out X number of releases per month, otherwise books conflict with each other and releases from other publishers. There is only so much retail space. It’s similar to the movie business. If there are too many similar movies, they eat into each other’s profits and publicity, because there are only so many movie screens. The first solid opening they have is May 2017, where we wouldn’t conflict with Patty or Anne Bishop. We don’t want to compete with other Ace authors.*But the main reason for the delay is that Kate and Curran have fundamentally changed. There was Kate, then Kate and Curran, and now there is Kate, Curran, and a baby. What powers will the baby have? How will he affect things? We have to figure all this out and it takes time for things to line up. We’ve got the first couple of baby scenes and they are funny, but nothing concrete yet.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Initial ThoughtsThis was amazing. I went into this book with really high expectations and it was so much better than I could have even hoped it would be. Things I Loved:1. Kate was kick ass as always2. Curran was wonderful as always but he kept me guessing3. Conlan <------ wait until you meet this kid!4. So much action5. Humor worked into the story flawlesslyI am kind of sad to see the series wrap up but this book really brought everything to a very satisfying ending. ARC provided by the publ Initial ThoughtsThis was amazing. I went into this book with really high expectations and it was so much better than I could have even hoped it would be. Things I Loved:1. Kate was kick ass as always2. Curran was wonderful as always but he kept me guessing3. Conlan <------ wait until you meet this kid!4. So much action5. Humor worked into the story flawlesslyI am kind of sad to see the series wrap up but this book really brought everything to a very satisfying ending. ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley. Full review to be posted closer to the publication date.
    more
  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    Awesome book cover!You can read the first two chapters here:http://www.ilona-andrews.com/innkeepe...Unfortunately this will be the final book of the series :(
  • Corinne
    January 1, 1970
    I need this now. Tell me how am I supposed to wait until freaking August?
  • Anna Serene
    January 1, 1970
    I am NOT going to be reading the first 2 chapters because I'm positive it will make me go insane from wanting the whole book. THERE ARE TOO MANY MONTHS TO GO!!...WE HAVE A COVER AND IT'S MAGNIFICENT!!!!...Goddammit I need a date for when this is released! I need to know how many times I will be forced to reread the entire series before it comes out! -.-
    more
  • (Tori-Smexybooks) smexys_sidekick
    January 1, 1970
    A brilliant ending to a brilliant series written by two brilliant authors. My brilliant review to come.
  • Marianne
    January 1, 1970
    SPOILER ALERT!Oh, lookie here, Ilona Andrews' assistant just released a snipped behind their back;-) My son shrugged the shreds of his clothes off himself and showed Robert his fangs. “Rawrrawrrr!”“Is he challenging me?” Robert eyes sparkled.I put my hand over my face.“Rawrwrwa!”“That’s the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen.”“Conlan,” Curran said, putting some growl into his voice.  “Come here.”“Rawr.”Curran got up and strode toward Conlan. My kid lunged sideways, but Curran was too fast.  His SPOILER ALERT!Oh, lookie here, Ilona Andrews' assistant just released a snipped behind their back;-) My son shrugged the shreds of his clothes off himself and showed Robert his fangs. “Rawrrawrrr!”“Is he challenging me?” Robert eyes sparkled.I put my hand over my face.“Rawrwrwa!”“That’s the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen.”“Conlan,” Curran said, putting some growl into his voice.  “Come here.”“Rawr.”Curran got up and strode toward Conlan. My kid lunged sideways, but Curran was too fast.  His hand snapped out, and he lifted Conlan by the scruff of his neck.  “No.”Conlan settled into his father’s arms, eyeing Robert like he was a cobra.  If we survived my father and I got to raise him, I was in for a hell of a time.“I want one,” Robert declared.  -Yeah well; I want THIS BOOK!
    more
  • Alex ☣ Deranged KittyCat ☣
    January 1, 1970
    2017?
  • Lila
    January 1, 1970
    So...we wait.
  • mich
    January 1, 1970
    August 2017: Expected publication date is almost a year away (May 2018), and yet this book is on the Amazon kindle store top 100 best sellers list RIGHT NOW.Ilona and Gordon are badass.
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    January 1, 1970
    I honestly can't believe the KD series is now over!! At least it is for Kate & Curran. This is probably my all-time favorite urban fantasy series, so it's bittersweet to say goodbye to them after 10 incredible books. It's a very well-deserved ending for them, jam-packed with action and humor. Luckily, I saved Hugh's book to read after this so I won't have quite the book hangover, and I'll rest easy knowing that there definitely is more to tell in the KD world.Full review to come!Thanks to th I honestly can't believe the KD series is now over!! At least it is for Kate & Curran. This is probably my all-time favorite urban fantasy series, so it's bittersweet to say goodbye to them after 10 incredible books. It's a very well-deserved ending for them, jam-packed with action and humor. Luckily, I saved Hugh's book to read after this so I won't have quite the book hangover, and I'll rest easy knowing that there definitely is more to tell in the KD world.Full review to come!Thanks to the publisher for generously providing me an ARC to review.
    more
  • Leila bibliofagos
    January 1, 1970
    I have decided that I ship Dessandra and Nick. It's a must I believe. Please? Pretty pretty please??
  • Aila
    January 1, 1970
    This book reigns TRIUMPHANT in all ways.Ilona Andrews does not disappoint with this finale of the Kate Daniels series. I’ve been eagerly anticipating this book, and my expectations were WAYYY up there. How could they not be, after I basically devoured all of the authors’ books and short stories after discovering Kate Daniels? Ilona and Gordon Andrews really know how to write a grand finale, and MAGIC TRIUMPHS hits readers in all the right ways. There’s the usual fast-paced action, witty dialogue This book reigns TRIUMPHANT in all ways.Ilona Andrews does not disappoint with this finale of the Kate Daniels series. I’ve been eagerly anticipating this book, and my expectations were WAYYY up there. How could they not be, after I basically devoured all of the authors’ books and short stories after discovering Kate Daniels? Ilona and Gordon Andrews really know how to write a grand finale, and MAGIC TRIUMPHS hits readers in all the right ways. There’s the usual fast-paced action, witty dialogue, unique characters, and daring expositions. But tying these aspects – and this series – all together is Kate herself (Kate Lennart now!), and her stubborn exterior that guards the care, love, and loyalty she has to the people around her.Fans will NOT be disappointed. “Atlanta would come together. We weren’t just one thing. We were many: shapeshifters, necromancers, witches, mages, mercenaries… We came in all shapes and sizes, in every age, in every human color, in every variation of magic, and from that we drew our strength. We were surprising and unexpected, and we were united.Atlanta would hold its own. It always did.” A huge thank you to Berkley and Netgalley for the review copy!
    more
  • Betul
    January 1, 1970
    Perfect ending to a phenomenal series!- Review will be posted on release day -
  • Kira
    January 1, 1970
    As happy as I am to have gotten to read this early, I'm also sad because I'll never get to read a new Kate Daniels book ever again. This series is amazing! I love the way it ended. It was better than anything I imagined.It was funny. It was touching. I didn't want to put it down. I read the whole thing in one sitting while battling a migraine. It was that damn good. Some parts were really gruesome. So much was going on. All of my favorite side characters were there. Kate was great at balancing b As happy as I am to have gotten to read this early, I'm also sad because I'll never get to read a new Kate Daniels book ever again. This series is amazing! I love the way it ended. It was better than anything I imagined.It was funny. It was touching. I didn't want to put it down. I read the whole thing in one sitting while battling a migraine. It was that damn good. Some parts were really gruesome. So much was going on. All of my favorite side characters were there. Kate was great at balancing being a badass and being a mom. Why can't more UF do this? Curran frustrated the hell out of me. The man is too secretive. Hugh's appearance was fun. He's such a lovable asshole. The epilogue gives me hope for a spinoff series with some characters I love.Full review to come closer to release date.Thank you so much to Netgalley and the publisher for giving me this in exchange for an honest review!!!
    more
Write a review