Of Witches and Wind (The Ever Afters #2)
In this second book in a series that Kirkus Reviews calls a “fast-paced combination of middle school realism and fairy-tale fantasy,” it’s up to Rory to save the Ever After School—and deal with her father’s fiancée.After taking part in a successful real-life fairy tale, Rory Landon is now an Ever After School veteran. She has better friends than she’s ever had, and she’s stronger, more confident, and ready to take on whatever comes next.Or so she thought. When a nefarious plan from The Snow Queen threatens the entire Ever After School program, it is up to Rory and Chase to save everyone. Between this new adventure and what is happening at home—where a potential stepmom has entered the picture—Rory wonders if she really has what it takes to come to the rescue.

Of Witches and Wind (The Ever Afters #2) Details

TitleOf Witches and Wind (The Ever Afters #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 23rd, 2013
PublisherSimon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN1442431490
ISBN-139781442431492
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fairy Tales, Childrens, Middle Grade, Magic, Fiction, Adventure, Juvenile, Young Adult, Fairy Tale Retellings

Of Witches and Wind (The Ever Afters #2) Review

  • Odessa Mclean
    August 15, 2013
    I literally stayed up to midnight so I could read this when it was delivered to my Kindle. I then commenced to stay up for plus two hours to read before realizing I should actually SLEEP (who needs sleep when you have Chase Turnleaf?!).Rory's back, baby, and she's better than ever! Now an Ever After School veteran, has just defeated ICE GRIFFINS in the first chapter, in another of Shelby's amazing book openers. There's also a whole new cast of characters, including King of Corny Ben, new and bea I literally stayed up to midnight so I could read this when it was delivered to my Kindle. I then commenced to stay up for plus two hours to read before realizing I should actually SLEEP (who needs sleep when you have Chase Turnleaf?!).Rory's back, baby, and she's better than ever! Now an Ever After School veteran, has just defeated ICE GRIFFINS in the first chapter, in another of Shelby's amazing book openers. There's also a whole new cast of characters, including King of Corny Ben, new and beautiful (oh, and you KNOW Adelaide's jealous) Mia, and mute girl Chatty (Chase came up with it), who shows up soaked and with seashells in her hair. Rory's excited to spend Spring Break at Ever After School with her two best friends Lena and Chase when the story really begins-Ben's quest to Atlantis begins- but this time, the stakes are Much, MUCH higher. If Rory and co. don't get the Water of Life in seven days time, everyone at Ever After School with perish, thanks to a poisoning done by Snow Queen's spy-but who is it?!You KNOW there's gonna be drama-but the good kind, since this is Shelby! Rory's insanely worried about sick Lena, everyone's pointing their poisoned fingers at Rapunzel, Chase is more complicated than ever, there's a new stepmom stepping into the picture, and we're introduced to a brand new mean girl (I'm sorry to say Adelaide wasn't in this much) Madison, there are hostile natives, and Rory's afraid of disappointing...well, EVERYONE.I have to say, I really, really, enjoyed a sequel. CRAZY! I was a little sad old characters like Adelaide, the triplets, and Kelly weren't in this much, BUT, it does make up for it with new ones, like Ben, Chatty, Mia, Kenneth, and the new secrets and plot twists to grasp.This book does take place one year after the first, and I was happy to see the characters HAD matured, and that there was clearly a difference from the two books, but just enough familiarity. Plus, Chase was in it a lot. Come on, this is CHASE! It perfectly mastered, action, friendship, humor, mystery, and drama, plus Rory getting some courage to stand up for herself, and had the same realistic problems that she shared (sort of) in the first book. Plus, Shelby was kind enough to provide an EPIC plot twist fifteen percent through-image yourself with your mouth hanging open trying to process it at 2:30 in the morning. She did not disappoint!
    more
  • Jen
    July 9, 2013
    Why is this book not available at ANY bookstores by me?????????? Someone please explain, Im getting frustrated! !!!! Seriously how do SIX barnes and nobles not have it, am I missing something?
  • Abby ~GoodMorningVietnam~
    March 8, 2017
    This book took my breath away. I felt what the characters felt, it was just, awesome. My favourite out of the first two! Things move very quickly in this book, if you can keep up, read this series!
  • Megan
    November 15, 2015
    I absolutely loved Of Witches and Wind. I love the characters, they just grabbed me. I liked how much they didn't know about each other, it made some interesting conflicts. I also loved the way everything ended up resolved. It was fitting and I felt all the characters got what they needed/deserved. This book was amazing, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a new series.
    more
  • Abby
    April 18, 2013
    This will be the best book on the planet. I can feel it.
  • Camille
    March 3, 2014
    3.8Again, I could see and note the flaws but, it remains, I could not put this book down.Engrossing, intriguing, amusing, and insightful. I enjoyed.
  • Amanda Thompson
    October 26, 2013
    Original BookTube review HEREI finished this book a couple of weeks ago, and I still keep flipping through and reading bits of it. I just can’t let it go yet. It was that good. This is one of those rare books where I’m torn between zipping right through it or only reading a little at a time so I can savor it and stretch it out forever. Or at least until the next book comes out. I did not want this story to end!This is the sequel to Of Giants and Ice, which I reviewed awhile back. If you’ve seen Original BookTube review HEREI finished this book a couple of weeks ago, and I still keep flipping through and reading bits of it. I just can’t let it go yet. It was that good. This is one of those rare books where I’m torn between zipping right through it or only reading a little at a time so I can savor it and stretch it out forever. Or at least until the next book comes out. I did not want this story to end!This is the sequel to Of Giants and Ice, which I reviewed awhile back. If you’ve seen it, you know how much I adored that book. And if you haven’t, there’s a link to it below.So, what did I like about this book? Holy crap, what didn’t I like about this book?! There are so many things to love! Let’s start with story. While the first book was far from simple, this book is much more complex, between the number of plot twists and subplots. The adventure is gripping and addictive. I loved how it started out, because we get to a better look into the Ever Afters training program and we learn more about the characters associated with it. Bach has a perfect balance between main character Rory’s family problems, personal crises and her goals for the actual adventure throughout the book. There is never a dull moment in these stories, whether it be a sword fight or dealing with the repercussions of her parents’ divorce.Rory is a fantastically relatable character. Characters always have flaws, but Rory’s are so perfectly related in her actions and perception, it’s hard not to love this depth. Rory’s particular kryptonite is self-doubt and it’s marvelously portrayed. In moments of peril she acts with confidence, but alone in the quiet, doubts worm through her brain and they continue to fester there, which I also felt was realistic. How many kids confide things like that to others before they’ve given in to it?There is not only a satisfactory amount of depth here, but also development. In both books the crux of Rory’s problems remains the same, though she deals with different off-shoots of the core issue –mainly helplessness and lack of self-confidence. This way the issues are fresh and new each time instead of repetitive.But what I really loved about this book –what really made it for me –was Chase Turnleaf. Chase was my favorite character in book one, and he keeps getting better, and more interesting. ‘Of Witches and Wind’ delves deeper into his character and back story and it’s so awesome! But I can’t really talk about that. I’ve got to leave something for you to find out for yourself, don’t I?There were many plot twists throughout the story to keep you on your toes, and at least one of them I never even saw coming, which is always a great bonus. The writing is engaging and never lost my attention. As with the first book, Bach integrates not only fairy tales into her world, but its lore and mythology as well. The use of these lesser known ingredients of the folklore is another reason I love this story so much. It adds another layer of depth to the Ever Afters world, and it also makes it unique in the hundreds of retold fairy tales out there now.Another thing that I appreciate about this book is how it remains in its middle grade genre. It’s a relief to see a twelve-year-old girl character who isn’t talking about boys or love. There is some crushing in these stories, which I think is more realistic, but it’s nice to see that it isn’t the main focus of the story. This book is about family and friends –oh, and the quest to stop a homicidal sorceress from taking over the world. Right. That too.There is so much that I love about this –the characters, the universe, Ben’s cheesiness, Bach’s version of Atlantis, and the ending! I just have to say that this book had THE perfect ending. You got that?Of Witches and Wind receives five stars and if you haven’t read The Ever Afters by Shelby Bach, you need to. RIGHT NOW.
    more
  • Carol Hill de Santos
    February 7, 2014
    After reading the first book in this series, I was so eager to read the next one that I was constantly looking to see when the next book was being published. Now I am anxious for book 3. I really like all the characters and how they are developing. I also like how we get hints of what might be coming when Rory finally gets her own story which is why I always ready for the next book since I can never quite guess what will happen next. As a youth service librarian, I have come across quite a few b After reading the first book in this series, I was so eager to read the next one that I was constantly looking to see when the next book was being published. Now I am anxious for book 3. I really like all the characters and how they are developing. I also like how we get hints of what might be coming when Rory finally gets her own story which is why I always ready for the next book since I can never quite guess what will happen next. As a youth service librarian, I have come across quite a few books which use fairy tales and fairy tale characters. Many have been for older young adult readers. I am glad to see more middle school books with these elements, especially one like the books in this series, which are fresh and fun.
    more
  • Samantha
    September 5, 2014
    While she is waiting for her tale, Rory has a lot to worry about. A deadly disease has hurt almost all of the ever afters. SHe is one of the few not affected. Because of this she must quest for the water of life. Along the way many items are needed and there are battles to be fought. They all will learn that friends aren't always as we think. This is a great sequel and an amazing adventure. There is a lot of suspense and action. I would recommend this to readers 10 and older.
    more
  • Sarah W
    July 23, 2013
    I enjoyed this sequel to Of Giants and Ice. We learn much more about Chase in this book. I am now impatient for the next book.
  • Brenda
    July 29, 2013
    In Book Two, Rory is feeling more confident. She's just finished battling ice griffins after all. Doesn't that make you a veteran or something? Yet, the Evil Snow Queen is working against the Ever After Program and Rory quickly finds herself as a companion in a new quest. The stakes in this book are much higher then before as the entire school has been poisoned. Rapunzel sets forth a prophecy that five characters must travel forth and in seven days time draw the water of life from the spring in In Book Two, Rory is feeling more confident. She's just finished battling ice griffins after all. Doesn't that make you a veteran or something? Yet, the Evil Snow Queen is working against the Ever After Program and Rory quickly finds herself as a companion in a new quest. The stakes in this book are much higher then before as the entire school has been poisoned. Rapunzel sets forth a prophecy that five characters must travel forth and in seven days time draw the water of life from the spring in order to save the school. Rory begins to have doubts whether she will be able to help to save the school and her friend Lena. Of Witches and Wind is filled with many light moments, snarky comments, puns, humor and a plot that escalates the tension just the right amount. There are some beautiful moments between Rory and Chase where she finds that she doesn't really know everything about him. That he has had a lifetime before she was even born. So yeah, plenty of secrets, prophecies and a story that I really enjoyed reading. Bach has a lovely way of capturing the angst of a middle grader and at the same time developed a beautiful story about friendship. She captures the voice of a middle grade girl with the doubts, insecurities that they may feel. My favorite quote, "Doubts can conquer a person more quickly then an army. If you know yours, you can conquer them instead." In the end, as Bach puts it best in her acknowledgments, "Of Witches and Wind is all about how surviving middle school is so much easier when you have great, caring, loyal friends."
    more
  • Jasmine
    April 9, 2013
    Wow. Just wow. How is this so good? This is one of the better fae books I've ever read, and a rollicking adventure. I mean, it's possible that I just don't know how to read critically any more (working morning shifts will do that to you), but I don't think that's it. This one manages to be honestly perilous, deal with friendship, heroism, and truth. And also be hilarious and include a train made out of pumpkins.
    more
  • Maggie H
    May 25, 2014
    There are some books that have a great first book but the sequel makes it worse. Not so with this book. Ms. Bach has woven a beautiful tale of magic, hardship, and friendship while the humor adds life to everything. As a sequel, it is beautifully written. It moves the story forward but adds new and exciting elements. The characters change but they're still the same people you fell in love with the first time. I sincerely enjoyed this book and simply cannot wait for the next one.
    more
  • Kate Adams
    November 13, 2015
    This is a very important part of Rory's story, and although I won't reveal them, Chase has a major character backstory. I absolutely love this book, and there are a lot of funny parts. I love how Shelby Bach uses the fairy tales and it's just an amazing series.
    more
  • Ravynsong37
    November 12, 2016
    This series just keeps getting better and better. This book? Intense. Secrets are revealed and there also a lot of quality bonding time for two of my favorite characters. I'm about 110% sure they're gonna be your favorites too, trust me. These books are beautiful and perfect for all ages, so get it. If you can't find it, the internet is a wonderful place. Check out Amazon. And besides that, your library should be able to get it for you, so you have no excuse to miss this. There is plenty of acti This series just keeps getting better and better. This book? Intense. Secrets are revealed and there also a lot of quality bonding time for two of my favorite characters. I'm about 110% sure they're gonna be your favorites too, trust me. These books are beautiful and perfect for all ages, so get it. If you can't find it, the internet is a wonderful place. Check out Amazon. And besides that, your library should be able to get it for you, so you have no excuse to miss this. There is plenty of action and the battles are really well written and easy to follow. So enjoy, book lovers! Another great series!
    more
  • Mary Catelli
    October 12, 2013
    The second "Ever Afters" book. Spoilers ahead for the first, Of Giants and Ice.It opens at EAS (Ever After School) with a fight with ice griffins, and one boy named Ben (new to the school) gets dumped in a lake and found again with a girl named Mia. Another girl shows up, mute, unable to write, and is dubbed by Chase "Chatty" -- they assume she is one of the many mute Tales, in progress.Rory suffers through the last day of school before her break, which she is going to spend at EAS with her good The second "Ever Afters" book. Spoilers ahead for the first, Of Giants and Ice.It opens at EAS (Ever After School) with a fight with ice griffins, and one boy named Ben (new to the school) gets dumped in a lake and found again with a girl named Mia. Another girl shows up, mute, unable to write, and is dubbed by Chase "Chatty" -- they assume she is one of the many mute Tales, in progress.Rory suffers through the last day of school before her break, which she is going to spend at EAS with her good friends Lena and Chase. Even after stumbling on something about Chase she hadn't known. Except that at a banquet, the dessert is poisoned. Rapunzel tries to warn them all with her usual cryptic phrasings, and only a handful go unpoisoned. The Snow Queen signsIt's time for another Tale: "The Water of Life." Rory is once again not the main Character but is chosen for a Companion, as is Chase and two others -- more than the usual two because it is a special case. It will take permission from the Fey court, at that. (Lena ate some of the food, but keeps in touch with them by her magic mirrors.)So they are on a quest across Atlantis, though the Companions change somewhat with rings of return when they are injured. It involves a magical ring of the West Wind, a captive talking horse, using fancy shoes as a distraction, being rescued from a rip tide, a train with pumpkins for cars, discovering a lot about Chase's past, dreams about seeing Mia decapitated, dreams about a birthday cake, Rory using a visit to her father as a pretext to find a different object, and a truly nasty mirror maze among other things.
    more
  • Barbora
    January 13, 2017
    Možná že to nebylo na čtyři hvězdy úplně celou dobu, ale poslední třetina byla fakt dobrá. Tuhle série dočtu docela určitě, protože mě prostě baví. Autorka se snaží jít na přepracování pohádek s inovativním přístupem a opravdu je tam pár nápadů, které toto poněkud provařené téma oživují. (Akorát se jí pokus o co nejoriginálnější popis fantasy/pohádkového světa trochu vymkl kontrole, protože čarodějky popisuje jako, že jsou všechny zasažené kletbou a už se rodí jako hnusné babice, proto mají všec Možná že to nebylo na čtyři hvězdy úplně celou dobu, ale poslední třetina byla fakt dobrá. Tuhle série dočtu docela určitě, protože mě prostě baví. Autorka se snaží jít na přepracování pohádek s inovativním přístupem a opravdu je tam pár nápadů, které toto poněkud provařené téma oživují. (Akorát se jí pokus o co nejoriginálnější popis fantasy/pohádkového světa trochu vymkl kontrole, protože čarodějky popisuje jako, že jsou všechny zasažené kletbou a už se rodí jako hnusné babice, proto mají všechny bradavice a jiné estetické nedostatky. Upřímně, podle mě to v tomto případě přepískla, protože to vysvětlení působí dost divně. Myslím, že mě vadí např. to, že jde o myšlení typu ošklivý = zlý a že za celou dobu se nenašel nikdo, kdo by kletbu zlomil.)Zajímavým nápadem je, že hlavní hrdinka bude mít "macechu", přestože její biologická matka zatím žije. Ale rodiče se rozvedli a tatínek si našel novou paní. Ovšem tátova přítelkyně je sympatická, žádná harpyje, takže jde opět o prolomení klasického pohádkového klišé. Tentokrát pozitivním způsobem.Rory - hlavní hrdinka - je cool. Ale uvěřitelně cool. A má skvělé přátele. Myslím, že the Ever Afters mě díky akčním scénám, humoru i postavám asi baví víc než Škola dobra a zla. Chainani nepíše zle, ale některými pasážemi se čtenář prokousává stěží. Kdežto knížky Bach se čtou v podstatě samy. (Ta čtecí pauza mezi srpnem min. roku a letošním lednem byla způsobena hlavně tím, že jsem knihu neměla po ruce, jinak už bych jí měla přečtenou dávno.)
    more
  • Samantha
    January 31, 2017
    The only reasons this book is 4 instead of 5 stars: they do use the Lord's name in vain a few times, which bugs me, and the author does have a habit of moving the scene along too quickly, which can prompt me to go back and figure out what's happening. Or maybe that's just me skipping too many things because I'm excited to read this. ;) Seriously, though - I wish I could BE Rory. Her emotions are realistic, tangible, and understandable. She's got spunk and sass, and isn't perfect, which makes her The only reasons this book is 4 instead of 5 stars: they do use the Lord's name in vain a few times, which bugs me, and the author does have a habit of moving the scene along too quickly, which can prompt me to go back and figure out what's happening. Or maybe that's just me skipping too many things because I'm excited to read this. ;) Seriously, though - I wish I could BE Rory. Her emotions are realistic, tangible, and understandable. She's got spunk and sass, and isn't perfect, which makes her even more endearing. Also, I think I may be slightly in love with Chase. ;) And Lena of course is still brilliant, still fantastic, and more honored in this book than the last (I think, anyway). Great plot, and although I could see one of the "plot twists" a mile away - sorry, Shelby Bach - I enjoyed this book tremendously. 4.5 stars out of 5!
    more
  • Bana
    June 24, 2014
    Finishing up the series, I decided to reread the first three books because I couldn't leave the world of Rory Landon yet. What can I say about this book that can describe how phenomenal it is? Shelby Bach has created a grand adventure for all ages and characters that will always have you laughing and crying. Rory is an extremely sympathetic and flawed protagonist that is easy for kids to relate to and have a blast with. Her friends are just as incredible and well fleshed out. The modern world an Finishing up the series, I decided to reread the first three books because I couldn't leave the world of Rory Landon yet. What can I say about this book that can describe how phenomenal it is? Shelby Bach has created a grand adventure for all ages and characters that will always have you laughing and crying. Rory is an extremely sympathetic and flawed protagonist that is easy for kids to relate to and have a blast with. Her friends are just as incredible and well fleshed out. The modern world and the Ever After world blend well together; natural and never forced. This book is a page turner and I never loose a chance to recommend it to my friends. Percy Jackson fans out there will enjoy the Ever After Series immensely and I highly recommend.
    more
  • MomoTheReader
    July 26, 2013
    This book was really good. I have to admit at some parts it was a little complicated, though. This book mainly focuses on insecurity. Rory is more unsure of herself now. The Snow Queen is becoming more powerful and has begun to play with their minds. Who is friend and who is foe? O.O The Snow Queen somehow poisoned the EAS..DUN Dun dun now Rory and Chase have to help find the cure or they will die. I have to admit I enjoyed the book..and I am sure you will too. Bach adds twist and turn and revea This book was really good. I have to admit at some parts it was a little complicated, though. This book mainly focuses on insecurity. Rory is more unsure of herself now. The Snow Queen is becoming more powerful and has begun to play with their minds. Who is friend and who is foe? O.O The Snow Queen somehow poisoned the EAS..DUN Dun dun now Rory and Chase have to help find the cure or they will die. I have to admit I enjoyed the book..and I am sure you will too. Bach adds twist and turn and reveals hidden secrets and brilliant characters. The Snow Queen may be a puppet master but she is nothing compared to this author.
    more
  • Launna
    February 26, 2014
    We enjoyed this book. We read a lot of fractured fairy tales, and this falls in that genre. It kept us interested, developed the characters, and kept us guessing for the sequel. I dropped two stars because of the language and a couple of themes. I don't like to recommend books that I have to edit for small ears as I read it aloud to them. I am fairly sensitive to language, so it may not bother some.- For example, I change the word crap- just to let you know if the language I'm talking about woul We enjoyed this book. We read a lot of fractured fairy tales, and this falls in that genre. It kept us interested, developed the characters, and kept us guessing for the sequel. I dropped two stars because of the language and a couple of themes. I don't like to recommend books that I have to edit for small ears as I read it aloud to them. I am fairly sensitive to language, so it may not bother some.- For example, I change the word crap- just to let you know if the language I'm talking about would bother you or not.
    more
  • Meg McGregor
    January 27, 2016
    Rory, Chase, and Lena are off on another adventure - this time to save the lives of everyone at Ever After Schools. Lena is so sick she can only help with the aid of her M3 player - magical of course.Rory and Chase have a new leader - Ben, a boy who has only been at EAS for a few days but he does step up to the challenge. His Mother is among the ones poisoned and he has vowed to save her and everyone else.The action slows down a bit in places but overall it is a wild ride; can't wait to read the Rory, Chase, and Lena are off on another adventure - this time to save the lives of everyone at Ever After Schools. Lena is so sick she can only help with the aid of her M3 player - magical of course.Rory and Chase have a new leader - Ben, a boy who has only been at EAS for a few days but he does step up to the challenge. His Mother is among the ones poisoned and he has vowed to save her and everyone else.The action slows down a bit in places but overall it is a wild ride; can't wait to read the next one.I loved the ending so much! Chase really knows how to take care of "mean girls!"
    more
  • April
    September 16, 2013
    Rory is to spend spring break at EAS with Lena and Chase. A banquet is being held to pass the canon to a new Red Riding Hood. Most at EAS are poisoned by dessert. Rory, Chase, Ben, Mia and Kenneth go to Atlantis to search for the water of life to cure everyone at EAS including Lena.Lena communicates with Rory and Chase via M3 mirror.Rory has to go to LA in search of a scepter to save the rest of the questers from the Fae.Rory has trouble with her parents since they don't know about EAS and the n Rory is to spend spring break at EAS with Lena and Chase. A banquet is being held to pass the canon to a new Red Riding Hood. Most at EAS are poisoned by dessert. Rory, Chase, Ben, Mia and Kenneth go to Atlantis to search for the water of life to cure everyone at EAS including Lena.Lena communicates with Rory and Chase via M3 mirror.Rory has to go to LA in search of a scepter to save the rest of the questers from the Fae.Rory has trouble with her parents since they don't know about EAS and the needs of her quest.
    more
  • Madi Seamons
    February 6, 2017
    So good!
  • Sydney Sandstrom
    June 20, 2014
    If you haven't read the book yet I suggest not reading this review or at least not past the next paragraph. Thank you. This book is great! Like the first one it's got the perfect combination of fantasy, adventure, and drama. It was a good read. My favorite part would have to be the end of the book. It's my favorite part because the party was ritten in such detail it was like I was actually there and saw the expression on Chase's face when he saw the party that Rory had arranged for him. I also l If you haven't read the book yet I suggest not reading this review or at least not past the next paragraph. Thank you. This book is great! Like the first one it's got the perfect combination of fantasy, adventure, and drama. It was a good read. My favorite part would have to be the end of the book. It's my favorite part because the party was ritten in such detail it was like I was actually there and saw the expression on Chase's face when he saw the party that Rory had arranged for him. I also liked the part when Chase apears at Rory's school and she was just too stund to speak.
    more
  • Julia Coppola
    November 3, 2015
    I found this book to be enjoyable. At first I thought that this book was going to be one of those books which was just similar to the first book in the series but I was pleasantly surprised to find that that was not the case and that this book was actually, in my opinion, better than the original book. I did however feel that at points, this book seemed to have too many convenient things added in such as the
    more
  • Chrissy
    August 12, 2014
    This series is still going strong and I'm interested to see how it's going to progress. I love the new twists on all the different fairy tales and how the stakes just get higher and higher. I also loved that this story explored more of Rory's relationship with her parents and how that affects her involvement with Ever After School (I'm wondering if they'll find out about it eventually and how that will happen). Off to start the third one!
    more
  • Lula
    February 9, 2013
    I finally (FINALLY), got this book via B&N.com, and it was everything I had wanted and more! Rory is such a great character, she has doubts and insecurities about herself just like all kids her age, but she's strong and determined to protect her family and friends. Chase and Lena were both wonderful. I really love the dynamic between Rory and Chase, and I am now a totally devoted Chaurora shipper.
    more
  • Leah
    December 31, 2014
    The last book I read in 2014. And I loved it!!! Couldn't put it down. Fantastic plot, adventures and character development. We learned so much about chase! Rory deals with the same issues we all dealt with, especially in middle school. Except she's also trying to save the world and all her friends. Love this series!
    more
  • Beth
    April 14, 2013
    Wow. This book is slightly darker than the first one, if not better, but things evolve well. Also, Zipes triplets mean I need to study up on my fairy tales, the series is going to give my one quarter of folk tales class (mostly Grimm based) a run for it's money.If you love fary tales and kids being the heroes, read this series ASAP.
    more
Write a review