Sink or Swim (Whatever After, #3)
Once again my brother and I are in hot water...We weren't planning to mess up the fairy tales. The first two times, we did it by accident. But when our magic mirror pulls us into the story of the Little Mermaid, we have no choice but to try and rewrite it. Let's just say the original story does NOT end happily!Now we need to:- Convince our mermaid to keep her tail- Plan a royal wedding- Avoid getting eaten by sharksWe've got to find a happy ending for the Little Mermaid . . . before she's fish food, and we're lost at sea forever!

Sink or Swim (Whatever After, #3) Details

TitleSink or Swim (Whatever After, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 30th, 2013
PublisherScholastic Press
ISBN0545415691
ISBN-139780545415699
Number of pages165 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fairy Tales, Mermaids, Childrens, Middle Grade, Magic, Retellings, Adventure, Fiction, Audiobook

Sink or Swim (Whatever After, #3) Review

  • Paige
    November 19, 2014
    This book is about Abby and her little brother Jonah going to another fairy tale. Instead of Snow white or Cinderella, they go to the little mermaid. Abby teachers the little mermaid to read and write, so that the prince and his family can understand her. But the prince doesn't care and the little mermaid doesn't like it. She breaks up the wedding and she made a deal with the sea which. Abby and Jonah take a potion that can make humans breathe under water for ten hours. They take the potion and This book is about Abby and her little brother Jonah going to another fairy tale. Instead of Snow white or Cinderella, they go to the little mermaid. Abby teachers the little mermaid to read and write, so that the prince and his family can understand her. But the prince doesn't care and the little mermaid doesn't like it. She breaks up the wedding and she made a deal with the sea which. Abby and Jonah take a potion that can make humans breathe under water for ten hours. They take the potion and go under the water. They find the little mermaid's sisters and father and go to the sea which. She gives the little mermaid's voice back for a date with the little mermaid's father. Just as the deal with the king was made, Abby and Jonah's potion ware off and they were starting to fall asleep and couldn't get out of the water. If you want to find out what happens next, then read the book.I liked this book because the little mermaid did want she wanted to and didn't care hat other people say. She went to the sea which and she got legs, but no voice and she was okay with that and I like how she is brave and kind. I think that this is a great book for girls and people who are brave and know what it is like to take huge changes. You should read this book.
    more
  • Sabine
    February 24, 2017
    "Sink or Swim" is a really good book. Abby and Jonah have a magical mirror that transports them to fairy tales. This time they go to The Little Mermaid. Abby and Jonah don't like the way the original story ends so they decide to change it. Hopefully nothing goes wrong!I liked this book because I'm a huge fan of the little mermaid so reading a different version really made this book fun. IO'd recommend this book to my little cousin Melody once she's old enough to read chapter books. She loves adv "Sink or Swim" is a really good book. Abby and Jonah have a magical mirror that transports them to fairy tales. This time they go to The Little Mermaid. Abby and Jonah don't like the way the original story ends so they decide to change it. Hopefully nothing goes wrong!I liked this book because I'm a huge fan of the little mermaid so reading a different version really made this book fun. IO'd recommend this book to my little cousin Melody once she's old enough to read chapter books. She loves adventures and fairy tales so this is a good book for her.
    more
  • Ellen
    May 17, 2015
    My students continue to enjoy this series. More surprising, so do I. This time we visit the original Little Mermaid tale and discover, despite Disney's Hollywood ending, we WANT Jonah and Abby to change this story. There must be some way to stop the Little Mermaid from dying at the end. Mlynowski does a great job of pointing out the story's morals without being heavy-handed and brings us a satisfying and not-quite-so-Hollywood rewrite. Fast and fun, this series just keeps putting out great tales My students continue to enjoy this series. More surprising, so do I. This time we visit the original Little Mermaid tale and discover, despite Disney's Hollywood ending, we WANT Jonah and Abby to change this story. There must be some way to stop the Little Mermaid from dying at the end. Mlynowski does a great job of pointing out the story's morals without being heavy-handed and brings us a satisfying and not-quite-so-Hollywood rewrite. Fast and fun, this series just keeps putting out great tales for burgeoning chapter book readers, especially girls.
    more
  • Lana
    March 10, 2014
    OK - A princess story where the princess is named LANA and the kingdom's favorite color is YELLOW!?!?! What's not to like!?
  • Jessica (BookRockGoddess) Bolton
    July 12, 2015
    Really cute kids book but I think I am just to old for it. I love juvenile books but this one is more for elementary age. Still a story that my younger self would have loved.
  • Ashley
    January 3, 2017
    Yup this is the first book finished for the year of 2017! I started this series last year and I must say I'm thoroughly enjoying it. It's not the best writing in the world; however, it definitely makes for a fun read. Here are some things that I really love about this book and the series in general: -The author definitely takes the original concepts of fairy tales and flips them around making them unique and different. -She completely turns around the typical stereotypes associated with fairytal Yup this is the first book finished for the year of 2017! I started this series last year and I must say I'm thoroughly enjoying it. It's not the best writing in the world; however, it definitely makes for a fun read. Here are some things that I really love about this book and the series in general: -The author definitely takes the original concepts of fairy tales and flips them around making them unique and different. -She completely turns around the typical stereotypes associated with fairytales (example: all the girls have to be beautiful, they all need to be saved by princes, they can't do anything unless their kids)-They're all fast, quick reads. I love that I can literally sit down for a little while and listen to these books and fly right through them.-The narrator for the audiobooks is AMAZING. If you're considering reading or starting this series I would highly recommend the audiobooks. -I loved that they touched on the original Little Mermaid story, not the Disney version. -The change in name of characters and scenery is extremely entertaining. -This a great way to get younger kids into reading especially if they enjoy fairy tales. I would definitely recommend these stories. They all kind of have the same format with the concept that the kids get sucked into a fairy tale world and then they must figure out have to save the main character of that story; however, I will say that each story has it's own twists and turns so I wouldn't expect them all to be 100% the same. I really do enjoy these and probably will try to finish the series this year.
    more
  • Lgourley
    November 13, 2014
    Once upon a time in the kingdom of Mustard lived the REAL Little Mermaid (Lana) who's story didn't end up so happily ever after. In this book, the 3rd of the Whatever After series, Abby and Jonah are on a mission to change the story of the Little Mermaid for the better. When Abby was getting ready to go on vacation to see her grandma her mother informed her that the trip is going to be rescheduled. Upset about the change of plans, Abby and Jonah decide to go to their basement and pay a visit to Once upon a time in the kingdom of Mustard lived the REAL Little Mermaid (Lana) who's story didn't end up so happily ever after. In this book, the 3rd of the Whatever After series, Abby and Jonah are on a mission to change the story of the Little Mermaid for the better. When Abby was getting ready to go on vacation to see her grandma her mother informed her that the trip is going to be rescheduled. Upset about the change of plans, Abby and Jonah decide to go to their basement and pay a visit to Maryrose, the magic mirror. Maryrose sucks them in and spits them out to different fairytales, this time they start their adventure in the ocean. That's when they see Lana saving Prince Mortimer. When Lana swims away frightened Abby and Jonah decide they have to find her before she makes a deal with the sea witch that won't turn out so great. 3rd gradeHow would you compare Sink or Swim with the Disney version of the Little Mermaid?How would you compare and contrast the "true" story of the Little Mermaid, Sink or Swim, and the Disney version?How would you have changed this fractured fairy tale? Would you have done the same thing as Abby and Jonah? Why or why not?What is your opinion of the character Abby in this story? Do you think she needs to let fate happen or change the ending? Why?If you could change any fairy tale story which one would it be? How would you change it? Why?Mlynowski, S. (2013). Whatever After Sink or Swim (Vol. 3). New York: Scholastic Press.
    more
  • cathy st. sure
    February 2, 2014
    Go little mermaid!i love Abby and Jonah and their exciting adventures! Waiting for that fifth book to come out, you know?? :D
  • Lorelei
    January 24, 2016
    Lorelei loves these books, she loves the fairytale and the mystery aspect to them. They're quick reads (3-4 hours typically) and she has been listening to 1 to 1 and 1/2 a day recently.
  • *Jinglemarco - Nursery rhymes enthusiast*
    February 11, 2017
    2.5Well, I must admit this story didn't satisfy me overall, but it is waaay better than the previous installment in the series! Abby is more bearable, and she aknowledges her brother is a funny little guy (he is cute indeed, even if he doesn't read so much).
    more
  • Aliza Heslop
    March 17, 2017
    Best Whatever After book so far! Lana is too funny how she won't lay in her own bed. Good no one drowned.
  • Jamie Pfammatter
    January 12, 2017
    Review for series on book 1
  • Courtney
    February 22, 2017
    This is a fairy tale about a girl named Abby and her little brother Jonah. In all their adventures (in every book), they try not to mess it up. Most of the time they do though on accident and end up having to fix it. This is how the magic happens, so at first, right midnight the Jonah knocks on the mirror and it starts hissing then turns into a portal to a new fairy tale every time. In this one they land in The Little Mermaid story, they meet the mermaid and her father. They met Prince Eric, the This is a fairy tale about a girl named Abby and her little brother Jonah. In all their adventures (in every book), they try not to mess it up. Most of the time they do though on accident and end up having to fix it. This is how the magic happens, so at first, right midnight the Jonah knocks on the mirror and it starts hissing then turns into a portal to a new fairy tale every time. In this one they land in The Little Mermaid story, they meet the mermaid and her father. They met Prince Eric, they did not like him, he was very selfish and didn’t care about the mermaid’s beauty. So Abby and Jonah have to save her from him and solve her problem. Once she is saved, they want her to have a happy ending like every princess. And so they give it to the little mermaid, her own happy ending (by the way, it never said what the mermaid’s name was, but it wasn’t Ariel). I actually really liked this book, but more when I was in fifth grade. I read the first two books then and loved it but never finished the series. I decided to read another one and it is really good, I recommended it to girls though because it is really girly. What I love most is it's a fairy tale, my favorite books are when they relate to our classic fairy tales. Read it if you're into that kind of stuff! It’s a good one!
    more
  • Twinkle59
    May 19, 2014
    A Book Review of “What Ever After Sink or SwimWill they find a way back home or will they be stuck in the Little Mermaid story forever?Find out in what happens in What Ever After Sink or Swim, by Sarah Mlynowski. You will not be disappointed.Sarah is born in Montreal, Canada and writes the Ya Magic in Manhattan series.Sarah’s books have also been translated into twenty different languages.The story takes place in the Kingdom of Mustard(The Little Mermaid story) during the summer. Most of the sc A Book Review of “What Ever After Sink or SwimWill they find a way back home or will they be stuck in the Little Mermaid story forever?Find out in what happens in What Ever After Sink or Swim, by Sarah Mlynowski. You will not be disappointed.Sarah is born in Montreal, Canada and writes the Ya Magic in Manhattan series.Sarah’s books have also been translated into twenty different languages.The story takes place in the Kingdom of Mustard(The Little Mermaid story) during the summer. Most of the scenes take place in a castle that is entirely yellow and where mustard is served on ALL the food served. This story seems to take place in the past, but that is hard to tell because it is fantasy. The characters in What Ever After Sink or Swim are Abby and Jonah Abby is older and doesn’t like to get involved in the things like the little mermaid story. Jonah, on the other hand, is like Abby but doesn’t focus on things he needs to focus on.They are trying to solve how to get back home and fix the story. What in the world! Abby and Jonah get sucked into fairytales! And this time they get sucked into The Little Mermaid story.In the beggening (after they get sucked in the story)Abby and Jonah (Jonah is Abby's brother) mess up the story! How you might be thinking? Well, they get the little mermaid scared, so she swims away. Abby and Jonah try really hard to fix the story and find their way back home. Can they fix the story and get back home, before their parents find out thier gone? One thing I like about this book are the details. For example, “I stuff my bathing suit -it’s pale blue with cute white ruffles”. I like that because then I get an idea on what it looks like. Another thing I like about this book is that it goes to Abby’s thoughts.I like that because then I know what she is thinking.Now here are two things I don’t like about this book.One It always has the same ending.I don’t like that because it gets old after a while and I like something knew. I also do not like that the magic mirror in their basement (Maryrose) never talks to Abby and Jonah.I do not like that because I want to know why Abby and Jonah are getting sucked into fairytales and she only knows why. I would recommend this book to a friend because the book tells the reader Abby’s thoughts and feelings.I would rate this book five stars out of five. Will they find a way back home or will they be stuck in the Little Mermaid story forever? Find out what happens in What Ever After Sink or Swim.You won’t be disappointed.
    more
  • zapkode
    July 23, 2015
    {My Thoughts} – Abby and Jonah get to go on another exciting adventure in the fairy tale world within the pages of the book. Abby is upset in the beginning of the book because she finds out that she and her mother aren’t going to go on a trip they were suppose to go on to go and see her grandma. She even had her suitcase packed and everything and then she learned the trip wasn’t happening. In an attempt to figure out how to deal with the poor news she’d gotten her and Jonah go down to the baseme {My Thoughts} – Abby and Jonah get to go on another exciting adventure in the fairy tale world within the pages of the book. Abby is upset in the beginning of the book because she finds out that she and her mother aren’t going to go on a trip they were suppose to go on to go and see her grandma. She even had her suitcase packed and everything and then she learned the trip wasn’t happening. In an attempt to figure out how to deal with the poor news she’d gotten her and Jonah go down to the basement with the suitcase she packed, they even add some extra things inside for Jonah and they visit the magic mirror. They hope against all odds that they have what they need with them to go on a trip through the mirror. It appears they did because they were able to travel to the Kingdom of Mustard and got to meet Lana the Little Mermaid.It is up to Abby and Jonah to help Lana so that her story can become a happy ending, instead of a sad ending like the original tale had been. Abby and Jonah know all the original tales because their grandma had read them to them as they were growing up. I quite personally don’t think I could have been able to read such gruesome tales to my children, so in my house we stick with happy re-writes. My daughter seems to be the only one that is interested in them to say the least, but its an interest her and I both share.I am really enjoying being able to bond with my daughter over these books, I am also enjoying reading about how things could have been instead of what they were. These stories as old as they are, will always be subject to rewrites. I haven’t read many rewrites that I haven’t been able to fall in love with, there are so many out there and most of them have the ability to capture my attention until the very end. I truly enjoy reading this series for that reason. I want to get to the end, I want to read all the happy ending rewrites, and I am totally in love with Jonah and Abby. They make such a wonderful character duo within the pages of these books, they each have such a unique personality but when you blend the two together in conversation it turns into something amazing.If you want to know what happens in Lana’s story your going to need to read the book. I am going to be moving onto the next book within the series shortly.
    more
  • DeAnna
    January 25, 2013
    Sink or Swim was probably the Whatever After book that I was most looking forward to so far (I think book #5 is Rapunzel, which I’m really excited for), as it centers around The Little Mermaid, which is one of my favorite fairy tales. However, I forgot at the time that Sarah’s books are retellings of the original Grimm fairy tales, and not the Disney movies, so it was going to be very different.Sink or Swim starts off with Abby packing for a trip to see her Nana with her mom. When the trip is un Sink or Swim was probably the Whatever After book that I was most looking forward to so far (I think book #5 is Rapunzel, which I’m really excited for), as it centers around The Little Mermaid, which is one of my favorite fairy tales. However, I forgot at the time that Sarah’s books are retellings of the original Grimm fairy tales, and not the Disney movies, so it was going to be very different.Sink or Swim starts off with Abby packing for a trip to see her Nana with her mom. When the trip is unexpectedly cancelled, she decides to try to get through the mirror again. This proves to be successful, but Abby is surprised to find herself nearly drowning when the mirror pulls them through. It quickly occurs to her that they’re in The Little Mermaid fairy tale.Though there were some humorous aspects of Sink or Swim (such as them landing in the Kingdom of Mustard, where everyone wears yellow and ketchup is a four-letter word), overall, it felt more like a story about the ultimate vacation. It also seems like at any given time, Abby has no idea what’s going on, and her little brother doesn’t care.I didn’t find myself really caring for the Prince or the Little Mermaid in this tale, so it was hard for me to get invested in their story. I felt like the story dragged for quite a while, and then the ending was rushed.Overall, I thought that Sink or Swim was a cute retelling but that it wasn’t as clever or interesting as the previous Whatever After books.This review was originally posted on my blog, here.
    more
  • Dean Deters
    December 11, 2014
    SummaryThis story is about Abby and Jonah going into the story of the Little Mermaid! When they arrive they see the Little Mermaid pulling the prince to shore. They talk to her and try to convince her to keep her tail. Thinking she listened,Abby and Jonah go to the prince's palace.But they find out that NOTHING went well!SetingThe setting takes place i a castle, on a beach, and in the sea. They are important because these three places are where Abby and Jonah meet the prince, plan a wedding, tal SummaryThis story is about Abby and Jonah going into the story of the Little Mermaid! When they arrive they see the Little Mermaid pulling the prince to shore. They talk to her and try to convince her to keep her tail. Thinking she listened,Abby and Jonah go to the prince's palace.But they find out that NOTHING went well!SetingThe setting takes place i a castle, on a beach, and in the sea. They are important because these three places are where Abby and Jonah meet the prince, plan a wedding, talk to the Little Mermaid, and find the portal home.Character TraitsAbby is the main character in this story. A few character traits about her are:She is genourous because she tries to find the Little Mermaid her happy ending. Funny because the way she narrates the book makes me laugh. She is careful because she looks out for her little brother and tries to keep everybody safe.Most Important EventOne of the most important events in this book is this: spoiler alert! Abby and Jonah find out that the little mermaid doesn't want to get married! So they go to the sea witch and try to reverse the spells that the witch put on the little mermaid!ReccomendationAny one who likes fairytales, the color yellow, and beaches will love Whatever After Sink or Swim by Sarah MlynowskiCourtney
    more
  • Jen (That's What I'm Talking About)
    January 10, 2015
    The third tale of Sarah Mlynowski's cleaver Whatever After series was entertaining, although I didn't like it as much as the previous two titles. This time around Abby and Jonah find themselves stuck in the story of the Little Mermaid - but not the Disney version we are familiar with. I like that the author chooses the original tale, with its gruesome outcome and that she jokes about the more family-friendly tale.As always, I appreciate the message of "girl-power" and making one's own path to "h The third tale of Sarah Mlynowski's cleaver Whatever After series was entertaining, although I didn't like it as much as the previous two titles. This time around Abby and Jonah find themselves stuck in the story of the Little Mermaid - but not the Disney version we are familiar with. I like that the author chooses the original tale, with its gruesome outcome and that she jokes about the more family-friendly tale.As always, I appreciate the message of "girl-power" and making one's own path to "happy." It's also nice to see protagonist Abby learning and growing as she takes on each adventure. But I'm not really happy with the underlying cause of some of the issues - that her parents are just too busy for the kids. It's to the point where the laundry isn't being done. I also didn't like the setting for the story all that much. I found the Kingdom of Mustard to be a bit too silly, with a King, Queen, and Prince who showed little character and were pretty selfish and superficial. Narrator Emily Eiden filled the story with her usual enthusiasm, which is very fitting for the tale, although it's starting to wear on me a bit. It could be because I just didn't care as much for the story that the narration was a little annoying.Story: CNarration: B-
    more
  • Kami
    January 3, 2015
    - I have to admit these are becoming a little bit of a guilty pleasure for me. - Abbey and Jonah are so much fun. Jonah really won the spotlight in this one. His fun loving nature just brings a smile to my face.- My daughter is on an Ariel kick right now, and I think she'd love this book. I need to start reading middle grade to her. She is getting old enough.- I can relate to Abbey on a few levels. It is werid to be able to relate to a 10 year old, but there you go. I used to be scared of water - I have to admit these are becoming a little bit of a guilty pleasure for me. - Abbey and Jonah are so much fun. Jonah really won the spotlight in this one. His fun loving nature just brings a smile to my face.- My daughter is on an Ariel kick right now, and I think she'd love this book. I need to start reading middle grade to her. She is getting old enough.- I can relate to Abbey on a few levels. It is werid to be able to relate to a 10 year old, but there you go. I used to be scared of water and swimming as well.- I really like how these retellings are based on the original fairy tales and not Disney's versions. The Little Mermaid is not a happy story, and I love how that came into play.- I really like how the mermaid took her life into her own hands. She made her own decisions in the end.- Things are so much simpler in the eyes of child, and I love how the author used that.- If you want a light, fluffly, and cute quick read, this series is for you!
    more
  • Barbara
    July 6, 2013
    Since her mother's demanding job prevents Abby from going to visit her grandmother, she and her brother Jonah decide to step through the magic mirror in their basement once again and take their own vacation to the fairy tale world. They arrive in the kingdom of Mustard in time to see a prince saved from drowning, and meet Lana, a mermaid willing to give up everything for the human she loves. Although the two children had agreed not to change anything in the fairy tale, Abby knows that the mermai Since her mother's demanding job prevents Abby from going to visit her grandmother, she and her brother Jonah decide to step through the magic mirror in their basement once again and take their own vacation to the fairy tale world. They arrive in the kingdom of Mustard in time to see a prince saved from drowning, and meet Lana, a mermaid willing to give up everything for the human she loves. Although the two children had agreed not to change anything in the fairy tale, Abby knows that the mermaid's story does not end well, and she wants to save Lana from death or an even worse fate. This is a great addition to the Whatever After series as it is humorous at points while also touching on gender and identity issues. After all, why should Lana be the one to sacrifice everything for the self-absorbed Prince Mortimer, her would-be-true-love?
    more
  • Colette
    April 21, 2013
    Sink or Swim is the third book in Sarah Mlynowski's children's book series, Whatever After. It follows two siblings, Abby and Jonah, as they travel through different fairytales and must give each story a happy ending before they return home. In Sink or Swim, Abby and Jonah must help The Little Mermaid survive her story, and a sea witch. Mylnowski's character, Abby narrates the story. She has a well-written voice that is relatable to Tweens, yet still implements lively descriptions. The only nega Sink or Swim is the third book in Sarah Mlynowski's children's book series, Whatever After. It follows two siblings, Abby and Jonah, as they travel through different fairytales and must give each story a happy ending before they return home. In Sink or Swim, Abby and Jonah must help The Little Mermaid survive her story, and a sea witch. Mylnowski's character, Abby narrates the story. She has a well-written voice that is relatable to Tweens, yet still implements lively descriptions. The only negative is the overall plot between the three books, I wish there were more details that moved carried over story-lines at a faster pace. Overall 4/5 stars; readers who enjoy Sink or Swim should check out the other books in the Whatever After series and Wendy Mass's Twice Upon a Time series.
    more
  • Daniel Middleton
    September 16, 2015
    Book 3 of the Whatever After series finds our heroes Abby and Jonah in the very yellow Kingdom of Mustard, where a Little Mermaid falls for a dashing and obnoxious prince named Mortimer. In their quest to aid in finding a happy ending for the Little Mermaid, danger threatens and is narrowly escaped, and along the way, we learn the very important lesson of self-acceptance, which is particularly important for young boys and girls. The message should go over well with the target pre-teen readership Book 3 of the Whatever After series finds our heroes Abby and Jonah in the very yellow Kingdom of Mustard, where a Little Mermaid falls for a dashing and obnoxious prince named Mortimer. In their quest to aid in finding a happy ending for the Little Mermaid, danger threatens and is narrowly escaped, and along the way, we learn the very important lesson of self-acceptance, which is particularly important for young boys and girls. The message should go over well with the target pre-teen readership author Sarah Mlynowski has in her sights. While the behavior and attitudes of the lead characters isn't always acceptable, they fit the mold of the typical pre-teen to a tee, and the various life lessons these books serve up are well worth the read.
    more
  • Bookworm007
    May 22, 2013
    3.5 stars, slightly higher than what I gave for Fairest of All and If The Shoe Fits.Sink or Swim was definitely more interesting than its 2 predecessors. I really liked the way Mlynowski's version of The Little Mermaid turned out.Not really interested if Abby's 2 friends develop bigger roles, or if they get dragged into a fairytale with her. I prefer to focus mainly on Abby and Jonah.Looking forward to seeing if the Magic Mirror, aka Maryrose, will have a bigger role, seeing as how she (view spo 3.5 stars, slightly higher than what I gave for Fairest of All and If The Shoe Fits.Sink or Swim was definitely more interesting than its 2 predecessors. I really liked the way Mlynowski's version of The Little Mermaid turned out.Not really interested if Abby's 2 friends develop bigger roles, or if they get dragged into a fairytale with her. I prefer to focus mainly on Abby and Jonah.Looking forward to seeing if the Magic Mirror, aka Maryrose, will have a bigger role, seeing as how she (view spoiler)[spoke at the end of the book. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • BookCupid
    August 20, 2013
    Children are fascinated with the Little Mermaid. But as an adult, watching the movie, brings out lots of questions: why would the mermaid give up her home, her family, her tongue for a man she barely knows -- a man whom she saved and not the other way around? In a way, it feels like the Little Mermaid became a mail order bride. So, I'm glad that for feminists everywhere, Mlynowski asked herself that question when writing this book and gave the story a different spin. Abby and Jonah are back and Children are fascinated with the Little Mermaid. But as an adult, watching the movie, brings out lots of questions: why would the mermaid give up her home, her family, her tongue for a man she barely knows -- a man whom she saved and not the other way around? In a way, it feels like the Little Mermaid became a mail order bride. So, I'm glad that for feminists everywhere, Mlynowski asked herself that question when writing this book and gave the story a different spin. Abby and Jonah are back and headed to the beach, where not only do they help Lana, a mermaid, but Abby also gets to learn the value of independence and responsibility. Lots of laughs and (mustard?). A great addition to the series.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 6, 2017
    The third installment in the Whatever After series did not disappoint this elementary library media specialist! I enjoyed seeing the slight transformation Abby undergoes and big transformation the Little Mermaid (named Lana in this version) undergoes, as both learn the importance of taking risks and not staying content with the expected, comfortable, or status quo. Reading and writing as vital skills are emphasized in an exciting way that helps change the ending of the original Hans Christian An The third installment in the Whatever After series did not disappoint this elementary library media specialist! I enjoyed seeing the slight transformation Abby undergoes and big transformation the Little Mermaid (named Lana in this version) undergoes, as both learn the importance of taking risks and not staying content with the expected, comfortable, or status quo. Reading and writing as vital skills are emphasized in an exciting way that helps change the ending of the original Hans Christian Andersen tale. I'm looking forward to learning more about Abby's friends from school, Robin and Frankie, and find out where the mirror takes Abby and Jonah next.
    more
  • Amanda
    June 28, 2016
    My only disappointment here was that the author, while true to Andersen's original tale, didn't go into the sea foam, angel stuff at all. This only twinges at disappointment because I know she has no trouble delving into the gruesome Grimm's versions, so I worry that further detail here was curtailed for being "too religious." A shame, but not exactly provable, so I'll try not to let it embitter me. ;) Still a nice series. I genuinely like that even though Abby complains about the annoyances of My only disappointment here was that the author, while true to Andersen's original tale, didn't go into the sea foam, angel stuff at all. This only twinges at disappointment because I know she has no trouble delving into the gruesome Grimm's versions, so I worry that further detail here was curtailed for being "too religious." A shame, but not exactly provable, so I'll try not to let it embitter me. ;) Still a nice series. I genuinely like that even though Abby complains about the annoyances of a younger brother, it's obvious she and her brother feel actual affection for each other, and have a good brother/sister understanding and bond.
    more
  • Alicia Scully
    July 4, 2016
    The third book in the Whatever After series may very well be my favorite yet. We continue to see feminist qualities here, where the Little Mermaid wants to better herself and be taken seriously. I also really enjoyed watching our main character TRY to ruin the story since it originally had such a bad ending for the Little Mermaid. It was a nice shift. I am curious to see if that comes up again. For: fans of fairy tales and fractured fairy tales. Possible red flags: misogyny; threatened murder (n The third book in the Whatever After series may very well be my favorite yet. We continue to see feminist qualities here, where the Little Mermaid wants to better herself and be taken seriously. I also really enjoyed watching our main character TRY to ruin the story since it originally had such a bad ending for the Little Mermaid. It was a nice shift. I am curious to see if that comes up again. For: fans of fairy tales and fractured fairy tales. Possible red flags: misogyny; threatened murder (not very impending doom-like, but it's still there); maiming (loss of tongue, though we don't see it).
    more
  • Betsy Pauzauskie
    September 9, 2014
    My granddaughter, who started 3rd grade, enjoyed this book and shared it with me. I found lots of conversation starters after reading the book! Abby and her younger brother (Jonah) travel through their magic mirror, finding themselves in salt water near a beach. Upon seeing a mermaid rescue a person, who turns out to be a prince, Abby realizes they're in The Little Mermaid fairy tale. Magic, potions, a sea witch and a total fracturing of the original fairy tale lead to a creative and satisfying My granddaughter, who started 3rd grade, enjoyed this book and shared it with me. I found lots of conversation starters after reading the book! Abby and her younger brother (Jonah) travel through their magic mirror, finding themselves in salt water near a beach. Upon seeing a mermaid rescue a person, who turns out to be a prince, Abby realizes they're in The Little Mermaid fairy tale. Magic, potions, a sea witch and a total fracturing of the original fairy tale lead to a creative and satisfying ending. Could love at first sight be overrated? Getting to know others, getting to know oneself, and following one's dreams can lead a person or a mermaid to bliss.
    more
  • Kaytee
    January 7, 2016
    it was really good i can`t believe that ariel does not get married i think i spoieled it but that is impossible and i can not believe she learns so fast how to write and this is the most crazy thing i heard the prince loved her so much but when she wrote a story about how they met he does not read it thats the crazy thing becase he loved her and at the end it is even crazier he marris sombody else instead of ariel that was shocking to me but this was also shocking to i think this bookm is the mo it was really good i can`t believe that ariel does not get married i think i spoieled it but that is impossible and i can not believe she learns so fast how to write and this is the most crazy thing i heard the prince loved her so much but when she wrote a story about how they met he does not read it thats the crazy thing becase he loved her and at the end it is even crazier he marris sombody else instead of ariel that was shocking to me but this was also shocking to i think this bookm is the most shock ing in the whole series.
    more
  • Maddie Wong
    September 2, 2015
    Whatever After Sink or swim is one of the better books in the series. Sink or Swim is about how Abby and her brother Jonah try to help the little mermaid from making the biggest mistake in her life. She falls in love with a prince that she doesn't even know and she cuts of her tongue so the sea witch can make her into a human so she can meet the prince. But before Abby and Jonah can even get there, she already cut off her tongue. Now Abby and Jonah go on this amazing journey to save the little m Whatever After Sink or swim is one of the better books in the series. Sink or Swim is about how Abby and her brother Jonah try to help the little mermaid from making the biggest mistake in her life. She falls in love with a prince that she doesn't even know and she cuts of her tongue so the sea witch can make her into a human so she can meet the prince. But before Abby and Jonah can even get there, she already cut off her tongue. Now Abby and Jonah go on this amazing journey to save the little mermaid and change her mind about the prince. That is what I remember about Sink or Swim.
    more
Write a review