Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he's packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.And strike it does. For in Harry's second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockhart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley's younger sister, Ginny. But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone, or something, starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects: Harry Potter himself?

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) Details

TitleHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 2nd, 1999
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN0439064864
ISBN-139780439064866
Number of pages341 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Childrens

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) Review

  • Sasha Alsberg
    August 10, 2015
    JK Rowling really knows how to write a great book, thats for sure! Although this wasn't my favorite book in the series, it definitely wasn't because it was bad. I loved the plot and conflict, even though it wasn't as intense as the others were. I was definitely shocked at the end...so epic and mind blowing!
    more
  • Zoë
    June 9, 2012
    “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” CHILLS.(REREAD)Okay DUH 5/5 stars. I actually liked this book more than I remembered! This used to be my least favorite of the Harry Potter books and, while that still might be true, I was more entertained than I expected! I always forget how different Book Ginny is from Movie Ginny (way better all around) and how she has such a bigger role in the books than the films.NOW ONTO HP AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN!
    more
  • Khanh (the Grinch)
    November 25, 2012
    I love this book, of course I do, but the fact remains that this book prominently featured two of my most hated Harry Potter characters. Ginny Weasley and Dobby. There, I said it. I hate them both. In my Harry Potter hate list, Ginny and Dobby probably rank somewhere below Umbridge and Peter Pettigrew. Yeah, you heard me. I hate them that much.The reason I hate Ginny is---well, never mind. I don't want to start another shipping war here, the last one was terrible enough, so let the reason for my I love this book, of course I do, but the fact remains that this book prominently featured two of my most hated Harry Potter characters. Ginny Weasley and Dobby. There, I said it. I hate them both. In my Harry Potter hate list, Ginny and Dobby probably rank somewhere below Umbridge and Peter Pettigrew. Yeah, you heard me. I hate them that much.The reason I hate Ginny is---well, never mind. I don't want to start another shipping war here, the last one was terrible enough, so let the reason for my hatred be implicit and unsaid. Dobby is freaking annoying, yo. All his eagerness and shit - and yeah, I know what happens in the end. Doesn't matter. I still hate Dobby. Dobby is the equivalent of fingernails on chalkboard for me. If he had been my elf, I'd have given him a sock already so he could his whimpering, sniveling ass out of my life. He means well, I know he does, it's just that he's such a frustratingly well-meaning bumbling idiot. “You know what, Harry? If he doesn’t stop trying to save your life he’s going to kill you.” Aaaaaaaand one final note. “Ginny!” said Mr. Weasley, flabbergasted. “Haven’t I taught you anything. What have I always told you? Never trust anything that can think for itself if you can’t see where it keeps its brain?" No particular reason I included that, except for the fact that it reminded me of my ex-boyfriend :3
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    June 26, 2010
    Re-Read in December 2015 for Harry Christmas to YouThis time around I realized how much more entertaining this book is compared to the movie. Nothing against the movie because I LOVE it, but this book has so many more fun scenes! Like Arthur and Lucius PHYSICALLY FIGHTING EACH OTHER and Dobby tossing Lucius down a flight of stairs at the end. Reading this aloud with Kyle literally had us laughing like crazy. I love this series so much oh my Rowling.Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas to Re-Read in December 2015 for Harry Christmas to YouThis time around I realized how much more entertaining this book is compared to the movie. Nothing against the movie because I LOVE it, but this book has so many more fun scenes! Like Arthur and Lucius PHYSICALLY FIGHTING EACH OTHER and Dobby tossing Lucius down a flight of stairs at the end. Reading this aloud with Kyle literally had us laughing like crazy. I love this series so much oh my Rowling.Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas to YouOH MY LORD VOLDEMORT.In this book we get more little hints to events to come in future books (Horcrux stuff, a mention of Voldemort having left a part of himself/his powers in Harry, etc.) WHICH WAS AWESOME. I find that every time I read these books I notice more things, which was definitely true this time around. One thing I did notice, which COULD HAVE SOLVED EVERYTHING:At the beginning of the book when they're leaving for King's Cross, Ginny forgets her diary and has to back for it. SHE NEARLY LEFT IT BEHIND. OH MAN. Overall, this was a great time, but I'm excited to finally get to my favorite books in the series!!!
    more
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.”-Me, reading Harry PotterTo say it with the words of my 7 year old brother: "It was good but badder than the first book."This is Harry Potter. Nothing can ever beat a Harry Potter book. Apart from another Harry Potter book. And in this 7 (and a half) part series, this is my least favourite book. There's just so many things I don't like reading about. Harry and Ron stealing the car and flying it to Hogwart? Gilderoy Lockhart? N “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.”-Me, reading Harry PotterTo say it with the words of my 7 year old brother: "It was good but badder than the first book."This is Harry Potter. Nothing can ever beat a Harry Potter book. Apart from another Harry Potter book. And in this 7 (and a half) part series, this is my least favourite book. There's just so many things I don't like reading about. Harry and Ron stealing the car and flying it to Hogwart? Gilderoy Lockhart? Nah, I could happily go without it.But then there's things that are just brilliant. The Valentines dwarf singing Harry a love song! Hermione Granger being a genius through and through! Fawkes! Unwillingly funny Moaning Myrtle!I think one of the reasons this may be the weakest part of the series is, that it resembles Part One so much: Someone tries to hurt Harry during Quidditch, there's a hidden chamber deep underneath Hogwarts and Harry has to face Voldemort in said chamber.Now, you have to understand that there is nothing I love more than Harry Potter, and this book is one of the most brilliant things ever written. I'm a proud Potterhead and Gryffindor and will forever love this world. Always.
    more
  • Wil Wheaton
    June 29, 2014
    Overall, I loved this, and I can't wait to start Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban today. Quick thoughts on the things that stood out to me: Wow, the Dursleys were even more loathsome in this book than the first. I love the Weasleys even more than I already did.I am so glad my mother never sent me a Howler.I thought Dobby was annoying in the movie (which I saw when it came out over a decade ago, not having read the book) but I thought he was awesome in the book. In fact, we rewatched the Overall, I loved this, and I can't wait to start Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban today. Quick thoughts on the things that stood out to me: Wow, the Dursleys were even more loathsome in this book than the first. I love the Weasleys even more than I already did.I am so glad my mother never sent me a Howler.I thought Dobby was annoying in the movie (which I saw when it came out over a decade ago, not having read the book) but I thought he was awesome in the book. In fact, we rewatched the movie last night, and not only was it as unsatisfying as I remember it, it's just a shit adaptation of this book.I thought it was delightful that (view spoiler)[the flying car went into the Forbidden Forest and went feral (hide spoiler)].Tom Riddle's diary was really, really awesome. The entire idea and execution were fantastic.I loved it when Dumbledore told Harry, "It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." I hope that, as the series goes on, we have more scenes with him, because I really love his wisdom.My minor complaints seem a little nitpicky, and I suppose that if I'm going to suspend disbelief to accept that wizards are real, I should be able to accept that (view spoiler)[none of the adults at Hogwarts would look in Hermione's fist to see the paper that Harry and Ron found after she was Petrified (hide spoiler)] and (view spoiler)[Fawkes somehow just found his way into the Chamber of Secrets (hide spoiler)], but I'm an adult and if I'd read this as a kid I wouldn't have cared for a single moment.
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads
    August 27, 2012
    Before I say anything else, it's important you know that I LOVE HARRY POTTER. In my fingers and my toes. LOVE.That being said, this is my least favorite of the early books (I'll let you know whether it's my least favorite overall after I reread HARRY POTTER AND THE ORDER OF THE PHOENIX).The reasons are LEGION:1. Gilderoy Lockhart is a prat, and I hate him.2. Deathday party. It's creepy and gross.3. Poor Ginny.4. The trouble Harry and Ron get Mr. Weasley into stresses me out.5. I don't like snake Before I say anything else, it's important you know that I LOVE HARRY POTTER. In my fingers and my toes. LOVE.That being said, this is my least favorite of the early books (I'll let you know whether it's my least favorite overall after I reread HARRY POTTER AND THE ORDER OF THE PHOENIX).The reasons are LEGION:1. Gilderoy Lockhart is a prat, and I hate him.2. Deathday party. It's creepy and gross.3. Poor Ginny.4. The trouble Harry and Ron get Mr. Weasley into stresses me out.5. I don't like snakes.6. I HATE spiders.7. Dobby needs to calm the eff down:BUT. This is Harry Potter we're talking about, so there's also plenty of awesomeness:1. Dwarves dressed as cupids, delivering singing valentines.2. MOLLY WEASLEY.3. Ford Anglia in the wilds of the Forbidden Forest.4. Polyjuice Potion5. Gnomes shouting "geroff."6. (view spoiler)[Lucius Malfoy getting taken down a peg. (hide spoiler)]SO. Even if this is my least favorite, it's still Harry Potter, and Harry Potter = AWESOME. If you haven't already, READ IT. If you have read it, read it AGAIN. That is all.My other reviews for this series: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    more
  • Evgeny
    July 31, 2012
    In memory of Alan Rickman who showed us what Severus Snape looks like on the Big Screen.I made myself a promise not to use any stills from any Harry Potter movies in my reviews for any book of the series, but I have to make an exception today January 14, 2016 thus the image above.Even people who somehow managed to avoid reading the books and seeing the movies can guess that this book is about Harry Potter's second year the School of Wizardry, Hogwarts. Before he gets there though he had to fight In memory of Alan Rickman who showed us what Severus Snape looks like on the Big Screen.I made myself a promise not to use any stills from any Harry Potter movies in my reviews for any book of the series, but I have to make an exception today January 14, 2016 thus the image above.Even people who somehow managed to avoid reading the books and seeing the movies can guess that this book is about Harry Potter's second year the School of Wizardry, Hogwarts. Before he gets there though he had to fight the depression from loneliness as his adopted family does not care about him much and his Hogwarts friends seemingly forgotten about him. Fortunately a magical creature called Dobby shows up and instantly makes Harry's life full of excitement: he is convinced Harry's life is forfeit if the latter goes to Hogwarts, so Dobby makes everything in his power to stop Harry from doing this. Injures and maiming are fair game as long as Harry remains alive. To add to the fun it seems Harry's life as well as that of his friends might really be in danger Dobby hinted at. Like the first one, this book can still fully qualify as a children book however it is darker and it does have some very gloomy and depressing moments; children grew up and matured a little and so is the tale. We get to meet characters familiar from the first book and see their development as well as new interesting ones. Speaking about new people, Gilderoy Lockhart is so full of himself he is excellent. His whole Valentine celebration made me laugh out loud. I think this is the first time we get to meet Lucius Malfoy in person - he is another interesting guy; the last scene with him is excellent. I would like to talk about Harry Potter a little. I saw lots of people say he is not the main hero of the series; he is just a guy who always gets either lucky, or have a helpful friend handy in tight spots. I saw Hermione named the main hero - she is the brainpower behind Harry's successes most of the time. I saw Neville named the main hero - he has the greatest and most unexpected development of all characters. I would respectfully disagree: Harry Potter is the main hero albeit a reluctant one (compare him to Lockhart to see why). For the proof of this look no further than the final confrontation in this novel. This was my reread of the book; I knew exactly what to expect and I was sure I would rate it with 4 stars until I found myself awoke well in the early morning hours finishing this reread despite the fact that I had to wake up early. Any book which can do it to me deserves 5 stars. I do not have anything else to add to what I already said; each installment of the series was analyzed and reviewed countless number of times by better qualified people. I will stop right here.
    more
  • Lora
    June 3, 2011
    "It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." - Albus DumbledoreSuch a wise wizard.You know how sometimes when you read the first in a series and it turns out so much better than you originally anticipated, it makes you a little apprehensive when starting the sequel? Well, I felt that way before starting this, but I can definitely say that Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is another fabulous installment in the rightfully beloved Harry Potter series! "It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." - Albus DumbledoreSuch a wise wizard.You know how sometimes when you read the first in a series and it turns out so much better than you originally anticipated, it makes you a little apprehensive when starting the sequel? Well, I felt that way before starting this, but I can definitely say that Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is another fabulous installment in the rightfully beloved Harry Potter series!And while I will admit to not loving it quite as much as its predecessor, I still enjoyed it a great deal. I think the reason for my not liking it as much can be mostly credited to the introduction of a new character, Professor Lockhart. Lockhart is an annoyingly pretentious wizard who is completely full of himself, and the majority of his teachings were based on his own life and his supposed brushes with death that he escaped only because of his "heroism" and great knowledge of the magic arts. (view spoiler)[Riiiiiiiiight. (hide spoiler)]In a summary, I didn't find the story involving Lockhart quite as interesting as Harry's realization of his true abilities and the escapades of his first year at Hogwarts.But HP II undoubtedly still has plenty of hilarious moments and magical wonders - not to mention the lovely cast of characters - to more than compensate for this particular installment's slightly lacking plot. Hence the five stars. :)(view spoiler)[Very clever Ms. Rowling, very clever indeed. (hide spoiler)]FAVORITE QUOTE: "I've heard you hate those Muggles you live with," said Ernie swiftly."It's not possible to live with the Dursleys and not hate them," said Harry. "I'd like to see you try it."Next up is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and I'm very much looking forward to it.**********************************************************My reviews of other titles in this series:Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    March 30, 2016
    Okay, I'm going to do a little *spoilery* in this review so those of you that haven't read the book then you might just want to look at the pictures. I have picked a ton of pictures from the book but believe me, there are plenty more beautiful ones in the book. Plus, if your a Harry Potter fan you will be getting the book anyway if you haven't already!So poor Harry is stuck back with the Dursley's on Privet Drive. And even though Harry is a relative, they still treat him like poo because he's ma Okay, I'm going to do a little *spoilery* in this review so those of you that haven't read the book then you might just want to look at the pictures. I have picked a ton of pictures from the book but believe me, there are plenty more beautiful ones in the book. Plus, if your a Harry Potter fan you will be getting the book anyway if you haven't already!So poor Harry is stuck back with the Dursley's on Privet Drive. And even though Harry is a relative, they still treat him like poo because he's magical. Ewwwwww. Harry is depressed because he has be cut off from talking to his friends or getting any kind of correspondence. Even poor Hedwig has been locked in her cage and hasn't been able to fly around. CRUEL! But Harry can't use magic inside the muggle world. Then Harry meets Doby - the little house-elf that is waiting for him in his room. It turns out that Doby has been intercepting his correspondence because he fears for Harry's life and doesn't want him to return to Hogwarts. So Doby causes some problems at the house that get Harry in trouble. I had to add this cute little picture of Doby running off, look at his little butt. lol ↓Then one night, Ron, George and Fred pull up outside Harry's window in their dads flying car to save Harry. It's pretty funny how they get it all going but that is okay as long as Harry gets away from his evil relatives. Of course, Mrs. Weasley is not pleased when they get back home. The sneaking out part didn't work very well, but she welcomed Harry with open arms and he stayed with them until it was time for them all to go back to school. I love that picture of the Weasley house =) Life at The Burrow was as different as possible from life in Privet Drive. The Dursleys liked everything neat and ordered; the Weasleys' house burst with the strange and unexpected. Harry got a shock the first time he looked in the mirror over the kitchen mantlepiece and it shouted, 'Tuck your shirt in, scruffy!' The ghoul in the attic howled and dropped pipes whenever he felt things were getting too quiet, and small explosions from Fred and George's bedroom were considered perfectly normal. What Harry found most unusual about life at Ron's, however, wasn't the talking mirror or the clanking ghoul: it was the fact that everybody there seemed to like himPoor sweet Harry and I would love to live with the Weasleys' for a bit =) Look at cute, fat little Scabbers ↓The kids are going to meet Hermione to get some shopping done. But ole Harry takes a wrong turn down the chimney hole and ends up in some creepy shop. He hides and gets to hear some things Malfoy and his father are talking about.Finally Harry makes it out of the store and Hagrid finds him and gets him to the right place with his friends. Then Ron and Harry are blocked from getting on the train soooooo back to stealing the flying car. AND of course they get into trouble when they get to Hogwarts but it wasn't anything too bad. Snape looked as though Christmas had been cancelled. He cleared his throat and said. 'Professor Dumbledore, these boys have flouted the Decree for the Restriction of Underage Wizardry, caused serious damage to an old and valuable tree . . . surely acts of this nature . . . 'It will be for Professor McGonagall to decide on these boys' punishments, Severus,' said Dumbledore calmly. 'They are in her house and are therefore her responsibility.' He turned to Professor McGonagall. 'I must go back to the feast, Minerva, I've got to give out a few notices. Come, Severus, there's a delicious-looking custard tart I want to sample.'There is a new Defence Against the Dark Arts professor named Gideroy Lockhart. He's a bit off but still . . . Anyway things are not right at Hogwarts. (are they ever?) And Harry and the gang must figure out what's going on. Poor ole Hagrid gets sent off to Azkaban for something he didn't do! Malfoy is a jerk, as if we didn't know that. lol Harry and Ron go out in the woods to meet Aragog the spider that is friends of Hagrid to find out some truth behind some stuff. Comes to find out there is this diary of a person named Tom Riddle. I'm not telling you who this person really is but they are the one causing all kinds of trouble for a lot of people. In the end Harry has to end up fighting a Basilisk to set things right. He has the help of the sorting hat for reasons, Dumbledore's Phoenix and a sword. Oh happy day! There is loads more to the book then the things I have described but you can just read it and if you haven't, why haven't you? Harry Potter rocks and always will. There is another happy ending for sweet Doby! ♥Harry gives Dobby his stinky sock so this releases Doby. He now has his freedom from the evil Lucius Malfoy! Woot! 'Come, Dobby, I said, Come!'But Dobby didn't move. He was holding up Harry's disgusting, slimy sock, and looking at it as though it were a priceless treasure. 'Master has given Dobby a sock,' said the elf in wonderment. 'Master gave it to Dobby.''What's that?' spat Mr. Malfoy. 'What did you say?''Dobby has got a sock,' said Dobby in disbelief. 'Master threw it, and Dobby caught it, and Dobby-Dobby is free.'Lucius Malfoy stood frozen, staring at the elf. Then he lunged for Harry. 'You've lost me my servant, boy!'But Dobby shouted, 'You shall not harm Harry Potter!'There was a loud bang, and Mr. Malfoy was thrown backwards. He crashed down the stairs, three at a time, landing in a crumbled heap on the landing below. He got up, his face livid, and pulled out his wand, but Dobby raised a long threatening finger. 'You shall go now,' he said fiercely, pointing down at Mr. Malfoy. 'You shall not touch Harry Potter. You shall go now.'Lucius Malfoy had no choice. With a last, incensed stare at the pair of them, he swung his cloak around him ad hurried out of sight.This book is wonderful, it always has been and always will, and the graphics in this book make it even better. ♥MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List
    more
  • Maxwell
    November 27, 2014
    Re-read #?: November 27-28, 2014Re-read #??: November 29-December 3, 2016While this is probably one of my least favorites of the series, it's still a fantastic book. I can't say for sure why I don't love it as much as the others, but it's just never stood out to me.However, upon rereading it, I am reminded again how great Rowling is at developing a story arc! There are so many hints to later parts of the series in this book! Especially with Tom Riddle showing up, the diary, hints of Ron's affect Re-read #?: November 27-28, 2014Re-read #??: November 29-December 3, 2016While this is probably one of my least favorites of the series, it's still a fantastic book. I can't say for sure why I don't love it as much as the others, but it's just never stood out to me.However, upon rereading it, I am reminded again how great Rowling is at developing a story arc! There are so many hints to later parts of the series in this book! Especially with Tom Riddle showing up, the diary, hints of Ron's affection for Hermione, and overall just building up the characters and storyline. It's also really fun to see things of importance show up early in the story come into significance later on.Here are some thoughts on things I noticed or didn't remember about this book while I was reading it:-Like in one of the Harry Potter video games, Ron and Harry de-gnome the Burrow's garden at the beginning of the book. -Hermione's parents actually go to Diagon Alley and exchange Muggle money at Gringott's!-Why wasn't Nearly Headless Nick's deathday party in the movie? Also he died in 1492 which is when Columbus 'discovered' America. Significant?-"And some old witch in Bath had a book that you could never stop reading! You just had to wander around with your nose in it, trying to do everything one-handed." (p.231) Sounds familiar.-I really wish they had the Valentine's Day party in the movie, with all the dwarves walking around dressed as cupids and delivering love messages.-Aragog is literally my biggest fear.-Apparently Dumbledore, back in the day, was a Transfiguration professor at Hogwarts.-And finally, I knew Voldemort was an heir of Slytherin, duh, but I didn't realize he was the last heir of Slytherin. Dun dun duuuun.5/5 stars because even when it's my least favorite of the seven, it's still perfect.
    more
  • Maggie
    September 3, 2016
    ❝It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.❞ Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets stars off where Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone left off. Harry goes back to his old home for summer and spends time with his ugly family, The Dursleys. They are no different then they were before but in fact are even more rude. As Harry thinks about going back to Hogwarts, a new and ugly creature appears in Harry's bedroom as Harry returns upstairs. His name is Do ❝It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.❞ Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets stars off where Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone left off. Harry goes back to his old home for summer and spends time with his ugly family, The Dursleys. They are no different then they were before but in fact are even more rude. As Harry thinks about going back to Hogwarts, a new and ugly creature appears in Harry's bedroom as Harry returns upstairs. His name is Dobby and he is known as a house-elf, one that is treated badly. But Dobby didn't come to chat with Harry, he came to warn him. Warn him about Hogwarts and save him, telling him he must not return to Hogwarts. He says this because he is trying to warn Harry and tell him that he can put the whole school in danger including his friends and himself. But because Harry does not listen and is actually able to go back to Hogwarts thanks to his best friend Ron, a lot of things happen this second year and some aren't the best. Some include agony being made and being taken back in time, a new professor named Gilderon Lockheart, a spirit/ghost who died in Hogwarts and now haunts the girls bathroom named Moaning Myrtle, and even events having to do with Ron Weasley's younger sister, Ginny. These aren't the only events happening and the only ones making Hogwarts suffer. They actually have nothing to do with it. There is something—or maybe someone—who is leading Hogwarts to danger and putting everyone at risk. This person, or thing, is turning students into stone, writing on the walls, and killing a professor's cat. As rumors spread, nobody knows who this might be. It might be Draco Malfoy, since he is known as an evil child wizard in Slytherin, or maybe Hagrid, since he has been in Hogwarts for a very long time, including his studying years there. Or any other professor, including Snape, Dumbledore, McGonagall, or even Lockhart. But if it isn't any of those, then it might just be Harry himself.I really don't know what to say. Words aren't possible because this book was just so wonderful and so fun. There were even more magical journeys and I was so glad everyone has changes and J.K. Rowling decided to changer everyone's character. Well, almost. Where do I start? Harry is still the cute cinnamon roll and I love his precious and cute character. I hate how he had to suffer even more with the Dursley's and had to even go back as the second year ended. I hope he escapes one day for good and never returns because I am so tired of him being treated like shit and like he really does not exist. His family is the only family he really has, yet they treat him like they wish he was dead and didn't survive The Chamber of Secrets. Sure, that's what they wish, but they should show a little more empathy with him and treat him a little better, maybe feed him more food and give him better clothes, let him go out with his owl and have some freedom, let him write back to his friends when they know he is miserable with them, and just be the young Harry Potter he was made to be. Other than that, he is growing and growing into a much better wizard and is slowly learning even more spells, which he ended up using some to defend his friend and fight Draco with.Ron, oh Ron he is so cute and precious but so dumb in such cute ways. He still can't figure out the right magic spells and how to use them, making the rest of the crowd laugh at him because of his silly actions. He's so funny and when he's worried, his face reactions are so cute but so heartbreaking at times because he is just so adorable. Draco didn't mock him like he did in the previous book and I was glad for that but he still received laughter from others because of the message he got from his mother, the way he tried learning transfiguration, and for needing his mother to defend him. He isn't learning quick like Harry but I know the time will come and he will become a good wizard and be able to change things into the right objects, be able to drive a flying car correctly, and defend his friend like he defended him when he needed the saving. Hermione was probably my favorite. She has changed so much and isn't a bossy high-top nerd anymore. She's always at the top, able to answer questions before anyone and earning Gryffindor points, and that is the reason I loved her a lot more. What would Gryffindor, Harry, and Ron do without Hermione? Like my friends have said, probably dead or lost because they can't figure out what to do or how things work. She actually breaks rules in this book to help Harry and Ron and is also helping them with the secrets they are trying to discover. She still supports Harry with his Quidditch matches and is there for them when they need help, even when she wasn't supposed to.You might be wondering what the 4 stars mean? Well, like others, Ginny was my least favorite character. I wish she didn't get in the way and wasn't the reason for the secrets, but she was also really dumb. She acted dumb in front of Harry and tried stepping up for him, only embarrassing herself. She was embarrassed by her mom because she was accepted into Gryffindor, but she was still dumb. She didn't have to listen to Riddle and could've made the choice of leaving everything out. Of course, the book would be different and maybe quite boring if it wasn't for her, but I still didn't like her character majority of the time. I hear she's one of the least favorite characters and I can see why. She's pretty annoying and is always blushing when she sees Harry. I'm guessing she likes him? Dobby was not my favorite either, only because he tried telling Harry what to do but at the end, sure, I liked him and was glad he was free because Malfoy was not a good master for him. He kicked and hit him for no reasons, so I'm sure that the reason for his actions when Harry told him to sit.The friendship has definetely grown and Hermione, Ron and Harry are just best friends. They worry about each and everything about them together is just so cute. I will admit that I liked this one a little less than the first one, but just a little bit. I don't use half stars or anything anymore, so don't be thinking the first one was better and this one had its flaws because it really didn't disappoint me. I just hated some characters and that happens in all novels, and Draco is still one of them. He's an asshole, fight me! Like him or not, I feel like I will always hate him. I feel like he will grow out to be just like this father and become an evil wizard like all Slytherins do. I know his appearance won't change and his personality won't either. He treats Harry like shit as well because of who he is and sometimes he thinks he's cool because of his father. But his father is nothing but a lousy and loud man that tries to show off because of his son and because of what he can afford. There was nothing new about him and I hate him for almost everything. Well, everything actually.Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets did not disappoint and left me upset, but it had different flaws than the first one. Bad ones, but I'm sure they'll be fixed sometimes. I just didn't like Dobby at the beginning, but like I said, I was glad he was free at the end and defended Harry from Lucius Malfoy. I know every story has its own improvement and all analyze, but this one might be my least favorite. It's like I see it coming. Overall, I can't wait to see where the next journey takes off and how Harry will escape the Dursley's again.
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    October 27, 2012
    هل كنت لتصدق منذ عقدين أن الجرائد قد تقرأها علي جهاز لوحي خفيف بلا أسلاك، تنقل لك الخبر بالصوت وفيديو وقت حدوثه اينما كنت وتقلب صفحاتها علي الجهاز كأنها جريدة بجدKnight Ridder علي فكرة الموضوع بدأ 1994 ,قبل أبل بسنوات لشركة أسمهالماذا أذن أعتبر البعض أن ما يحدث في رواية هاري بوتر 1997 من جرائد ذات صور متحركة سحر محرم؟ بل وحرقوا كتب الرواية في ساحات حرق الكتب لانها حرام؟طب انت عارف أن من وقت للتاني يظهر أشخاص نادرة بأي مكان بالعالم وعلي مر الزمن ولدوا بقدرات غريبة،ممكن تكون موهبة عقلية فذة ، أو م هل كنت لتصدق منذ عقدين أن الجرائد قد تقرأها علي جهاز لوحي خفيف بلا أسلاك، تنقل لك الخبر بالصوت وفيديو وقت حدوثه اينما كنت وتقلب صفحاتها علي الجهاز كأنها جريدة بجدKnight Ridder علي فكرة الموضوع بدأ 1994 ,قبل أبل بسنوات لشركة أسمهالماذا أذن أعتبر البعض أن ما يحدث في رواية هاري بوتر 1997 من جرائد ذات صور متحركة سحر محرم؟ بل وحرقوا كتب الرواية في ساحات حرق الكتب لانها حرام؟طب انت عارف أن من وقت للتاني يظهر أشخاص نادرة بأي مكان بالعالم وعلي مر الزمن ولدوا بقدرات غريبة،ممكن تكون موهبة عقلية فذة ، أو موهبة غريبة كتحريك الاشياء عن بعد، قراءة الافكار وغيرهاودائما هناك تلك التفسيرات سواء العلمية -كهربا ف المخ او التفسيرات الطبية -اورام لا قدر الله او التفسيرات الدينية -دول بتوع ربنا او التفسيرات اﻷخري الشائعة -ده شغل نصابين ولامؤخذةماذا لو هناك مكان يقوم بتعليمهم التحكم بهذه القدرات وتحويلها لخدمة العلم؟مكان لا يفرق بين الأديانحسنا ,لنتعرف عن المزيد عن الموضوع أدعوكم معي في رحلة جديدة ومقال جديد من سلسلة أخترنا لك وهاري بوترمقال عن العلم و السحر والحبومنتظر أرائكم أن شاء اللهمحمد العربي
    more
  • Inge
    September 12, 2011
    The Harry Potter series is like one giant puzzle, and during every book, tiny puzzle pieces start fitting together and forming a whole. There are hints everywhere about what's going to happen, sort of like inside jokes for people who've already read the books, but the mystery remains. J.K. Rowling keeps you guessing up until the final pages.I love how every character brings something else to the table. Ron's dry comments, Fred and George's pranks, Hermione's cleverness, Dumbledore's charming str The Harry Potter series is like one giant puzzle, and during every book, tiny puzzle pieces start fitting together and forming a whole. There are hints everywhere about what's going to happen, sort of like inside jokes for people who've already read the books, but the mystery remains. J.K. Rowling keeps you guessing up until the final pages.I love how every character brings something else to the table. Ron's dry comments, Fred and George's pranks, Hermione's cleverness, Dumbledore's charming strangeness. Even side characters like Mr and Mrs Weasley have such a strong individuality. They're all fleshed out.Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is an exciting, thrilling read. It makes you think along with the Golden Trio and laugh out loud. It makes you cheer characters on and boo others. You're engaged for the entire story and there's no way out. You can't escape. Hogwarts is your home.
    more
  • Chris
    January 31, 2008
    Since pretty much everyone I know has read these books, I figure reviewing them is pretty pointless. But with the new book coming out in a couple of weeks, I have to go through them beginning to end. To make the reviews more entertaining, I will be doing them in a variety of unexpected formats. For this review, I will be writing as someone who's just getting into Freudian theory.From the very beginning, the true nature of this story is quite obvious - The Chamber of Secrets. There is only one "c Since pretty much everyone I know has read these books, I figure reviewing them is pretty pointless. But with the new book coming out in a couple of weeks, I have to go through them beginning to end. To make the reviews more entertaining, I will be doing them in a variety of unexpected formats. For this review, I will be writing as someone who's just getting into Freudian theory.From the very beginning, the true nature of this story is quite obvious - The Chamber of Secrets. There is only one "chamber of secrets" that is of any human concern, and it is no coincidence that the book of such a title was written by a woman.By sending her young, immature male character, Harry (whose name, along with Tom and Dick, just happens to be one of the "universal" male names) into the mysterious Chamber, Rowling is exploring her memories of early childhood sexuality. The Chamber is filled not only with mystery, but danger and legend - its very existence is debated, which no doubt refers to the elusive female orgasm.Ms. Rowling, whose sexual impulses have no doubt been unfulfilled over the years, is attempting to fulfill them by way of her own fiction. She has created a perfect sexual explorer in Harry Potter - a young, innocent and noble young man whose powers have not yet matured. Obviously a male that Rowling would feel comfortable with. This is especially interesting given the actual resident of the Chamber of Secrets - a huge, deadly serpent. And there's only one thing that a huge, terrible serpent can represent.Rowling's sexual past is the fertile ground in which this book was grown. It is her cathartic attempt to win over the guilty feelings that she's repressed from her former sexual life, the one she regrets more than anything else, by manufacturing a hero. That hero, in Harry Potter, represents the type of man for whom she would "open" her "chamber - pure of heart and noble of intention and, most importantly, under her control. The vanquishing of the serpent-symbol is her victory, leaving her free to explore other aspects of her life, including the eventual resolution of the Electra complex that appears to have been built up around Professor Dumbledore...
    more
  • Alyssa Helvar ♡
    December 20, 2016
    Last read of 2016! Which house are you in? I would love to know! :D2,000,000 Stars!This was me at the beginning of the book:This was me during the book:This was me at the end of the book:Why did I give this one 5 stars? Well, duh. It's Harry Potter. This book was just as good as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, if not better! This one definitely gave me the feels, you know what I mean? Harry, Ron, and Hermione's characters really did improve in a lot of ways. I should explain, but c'mon. I Last read of 2016! Which house are you in? I would love to know! :D2,000,000 Stars!This was me at the beginning of the book:This was me during the book:This was me at the end of the book:Why did I give this one 5 stars? Well, duh. It's Harry Potter. This book was just as good as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, if not better! This one definitely gave me the feels, you know what I mean? Harry, Ron, and Hermione's characters really did improve in a lot of ways. I should explain, but c'mon. Im pretty sure you're aware of the fact that everything in this series is pure perfection. The plot was a roller coaster ride! The ending was an on-my-fucking-god-just-happened-moment. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was perfection. Everything in this baby was so good and well-written, I just can't put into words how much I enjoyed reading this :) ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ Super excited for this one! :)
    more
  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    January 17, 2016
    After the last book I read, I thought I deserved a treat and decided to read the second HP book and true to everyone’s claim, I enjoyed and savored every single page on which everything written magically fits one another, exactly like the 10 year old me dreamed of. The experience was ten times better when I used Professor Mc Gonagall’s voice to read the entire thing. Lol! Just a few of the abundant awesome moments/stuff: 1. The heroic, flying car, duh!2. Mrs. Weasly’s feistiness and Mr. Weasly’ After the last book I read, I thought I deserved a treat and decided to read the second HP book and true to everyone’s claim, I enjoyed and savored every single page on which everything written magically fits one another, exactly like the 10 year old me dreamed of. The experience was ten times better when I used Professor Mc Gonagall’s voice to read the entire thing. Lol! Just a few of the abundant awesome moments/stuff: 1. The heroic, flying car, duh!2. Mrs. Weasly’s feistiness and Mr. Weasly’s fascination over Muggles.3. Plate of delicious sandwiches refilling itself. (Yum!)4. The Howler. (lol!) 5. Harry catching the snitch (awesome!)6. Basically all scenes with Prof. Lockhart (LMAO!)7. Harry’s ultimate battle. (freaky but awesome!)8. The scary monsters! (view spoiler)[The giant spiders and the basilisk. Eeep! (hide spoiler)] (Aaah!)9. All Dobby scenes. (Awe, Dobby. <3)10. And how can I forget Prof. Dumbledore’s wisest words! "It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” RIP, Sir Alan Rickman- the indomitable, unforgettable Professor Snape. *sniffs*
    more
  • Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★
    August 21, 2016
    REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY! ^^4.8 Stars " It is our choice, Harry, That show what we truly are, Far more than our abilities " Okay guys, before I started reviewing this book, I wanted to tell you something. This saturday, I read this book until 04:30 am and I completely didn't realise that I was reading for 4 hours or so and on that same day I had an economy course with my teacher and I completely forgot about that too until my mom reminded me of it. the course started at 10:00 am o'clock and I REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY! ^^4.8 Stars " It is our choice, Harry, That show what we truly are, Far more than our abilities " Okay guys, before I started reviewing this book, I wanted to tell you something. This saturday, I read this book until 04:30 am and I completely didn't realise that I was reading for 4 hours or so and on that same day I had an economy course with my teacher and I completely forgot about that too until my mom reminded me of it. the course started at 10:00 am o'clock and I woke up at 11:00 am and maybe I'll get into a little bit trouble when I'm coming to school on Monday because of this. But I really couldn't help it! THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD AND I COULD NOT STOP READING IT!!okay now let's talking about this book! My Opinion omg! this book! I had a lot of feelings! Anger. Sadness. Happiness and many more and the chapter I most loved was The Duelling Club. it was so funny to see Professor Snape disarmed Lockhart until he was flying because of the impact of Professor Snape's spell hahaha. xDI don't like calling Lockhart a Professor because he clearly didn't know any spells that were usefull for his students or anyone... Maybe just a Memory Charm. but it was only usefull for him to do his nasty business. ugh and he was a liar too. all those books he wrote were all faked. If Hogwarts were real, I would be really happy to learn all about Defence Against The Dark Arts. this is the most interesting subject that have really caught my interest since I began reading the first book. what about you guys? tell me on the comment section below! ^^and that Duelling Club was so amazing! learning how to fight with spells! and what schocked me was that Voldemort was used to be a human! and Voldemort was not his real name. His real name was Tom Marvolo Riddle but he changed it. I mean, not an ordinary human,of course. he was a muggle-born. his father was a muggle and his mother was a witch. I knew he was a Slytherin and he studied at Hogwarts too but I never thought him as muggle-born or a child or a teenager. because he was so evil that I couldn't even imagine what he would look like in the past and he *coughs coughs * used to be handsome...oh! I love Quidditch too! I don't really like sports but it's different with Quidditch. Quidditch is wonderful and amazing! I even always scream like " YOU CAN DO IT HARRY! YOU CAN CATCH IT!" and when Gryffindor wins I always scream like " YAY!! GRYFFINDOR! GRYFFINDOR! " Am I weird? hahaaha. AHHH. I wish Hogwarts were real. I wish I were at least a muggle-born. I have only read two books in Harry Potter series but they already have changed my life. thank you guys for reading and liking this review! I hope you guys have a great day and Happy Reading!! ❤❤
    more
  • P
    June 8, 2015
    “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.” Re-read - Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the twin of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. This book is not so far from the first one and I love how joyful it is. Harry Potter comes back to his family, if I can call them that. For this summer, Dobby prevents Harry from going back to Hogwart. He says something will happen and it means death for Harry Potter and everyone.J.K. Rowling never lets us down with her “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.” Re-read - Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the twin of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. This book is not so far from the first one and I love how joyful it is. Harry Potter comes back to his family, if I can call them that. For this summer, Dobby prevents Harry from going back to Hogwart. He says something will happen and it means death for Harry Potter and everyone.J.K. Rowling never lets us down with her second installment of Harry Potter. The book itself flows smoothly without dropping. Harry, Ron and Hermione are the lead characters that I love most. They try to carry out their plans about the clue that left behind. I enjoyed watching the way they solve the problem and while they're conducting something, Ron is the one that always made me laugh out loud. Hermione is the brain of this group, though, she's smart and subtle. And Harry is the brave one, although he is so scared about the whispers, he drives into the pipe without hesitation in the end. I really adored him !This book is entertaining for many reasons. Lockhart is a colorful character, without him, this book will not be complete. The only thing I want to say about this series is it gets better and better. When you pick the book up, you can't put it down for hours. Harry Potter is my addiction and life. That's all !! “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” And for the Dark lord, this book isn't your time to slay. You have to wait until (view spoiler)[book four (hide spoiler)] ! Oops ! so sorry for the spoiler.More at http://goo.gl/AxXBQp
    more
  • emma
    December 14, 2016
    I posted this review with an addendum over at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! Check it out if you like. Thanks pals!-------------------------------------------------------3.4/5Hm. Okay. So I didn’t love that one. I liked it, I did! But it didn’t have the same irresistible charm as Sorcerer’s Stone for me.I’m being vague but I don’t know if I can specify. Let me try to.For one thing, this didn’t have the same mastery of language as the first. It seemed in Sorcerer’s Stone that every wor I posted this review with an addendum over at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! Check it out if you like. Thanks pals!-------------------------------------------------------3.4/5Hm. Okay. So I didn’t love that one. I liked it, I did! But it didn’t have the same irresistible charm as Sorcerer’s Stone for me.I’m being vague but I don’t know if I can specify. Let me try to.For one thing, this didn’t have the same mastery of language as the first. It seemed in Sorcerer’s Stone that every word was a careful choice. Here, the phrase “after all” was used three times in one measly paragraph. It wasn’t poorly written by any stretch of the imagination...but it could be a bit sloppy.Two: not as exciting. The second act plot-line may have been better than the first book’s, but it took forever to get to that point. The first two-thirds or three-quarters of this book dragged for me, really. And I needed some excitement to break up the endless studying and work of finals week!Three: as I mentioned in my HPSS review, my favorite part of this series is the worldbuilding. Every aspect of this world drips with magic, and it’s so lovely. I’ll never tire of reading about Diagon Alley, or Hogwarts feasts, or Quidditch - and I cannot wait for Hogsmeade! There was a lot less discussion of the world here. God, how I wish there was. Is there more in the other books? It seems there’d have to be in Goblet of Fire, no?Four: I missed Hermione! I didn’t realize how much of the appeal of this series for me was based on her. At least this book really confirmed my adoration of her. Absolutely one of the best YA characters ever, in my opinion. I missed Neville, too! At least Hermione had a reason for not being there, but where was the lovely Neville this whole time?Five: In general, this book seemed a bit...stuck. Sorcerer’s Stone has a great variety of characters, and features different classes and aspects of Hogwarts life. This installment gave me cabin fever. The whole thing is limited almost entirely to Harry and Ron. They’re great, don’t get me wrong, but...I wanted there to be other people too. Hagrid wasn’t here much, nor Fred and George. Quidditch only happened, what, once? The only class truly described was Lockhart’s, which made me want to bang my head against the wall. In short, I missed everybody. All the new characters introduced here are just unbearable. (Colin, Lucius, Gilderoy...even Dobby at some points. Sorry.)On the bright side, I don’t think this is anybody’s favorite Harry Potter book. I’m a bit deflated, but overall rather excited to get on with this reread. (Once a few of my finals are done with, though. Shiver.)Bottom line: every series has its weak points. I’m still thrilled to be doing this reread, and am sure I’ll love the next one!
    more
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    November 29, 2016
    BRING BACK TOM RIDDLE ALREADY!!Fav character: Draco Malfoy.Least favorite: Harry Potter.
  • Christy
    September 10, 2016
    I enjoyed Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secrets even more than Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. I loved that I read a few scenes that were new to me. A few things I noticed were not in the movie. I expect that will happen more and more as the series goes on. I listened to the audiobook and I thought the narration was fantastic. In fact, it may have convinced me to do the rest of the series in audio!
    more
  • Pearl Angeli
    May 4, 2016
    4 StarsI think there's no need to make a proper review for this book because everyone knows how great this book and this series is. So I have to put everything through GIFs. :)Things I loved in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:THE AWESOME FLYING CAR! THE WHOMPING WILLOW! (I couldn't even imagine how cute and hilarious this tree when it punched Ron and Harry in the earlier chapters. Ha!)MOANING MYRTLE (I haven't seen the movie yet, but is this Moaning Myrtle? The character grew in me and I 4 StarsI think there's no need to make a proper review for this book because everyone knows how great this book and this series is. So I have to put everything through GIFs. :)Things I loved in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:THE AWESOME FLYING CAR! THE WHOMPING WILLOW! (I couldn't even imagine how cute and hilarious this tree when it punched Ron and Harry in the earlier chapters. Ha!)MOANING MYRTLE (I haven't seen the movie yet, but is this Moaning Myrtle? The character grew in me and I felt sad for what happened to her. :(( )HAGRID (One of the best characters ever!)THE BATTLE BETWEEN BASILISK AND FAWKES (I think this one is the best part here. It was pure epicness!)What I didn't quite like:Not much happened in the first half of the book which brings me to realize that I enjoyed Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone a lot better. Needless to say, I did have fun going to Harry's adventure here. His character continues to amaze me and his friendship with Ron and Hermione is goals! I have to read the next books ASAP!
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 10, 2016
    Harry Potter reread...HARRY POTTER REREAD....already 2016 is looking awesome.Reading with a few other Potter heads at Buddies Books and Baubles. Let the magic commence. Me: Harry Potter Reread! YAY *squee*Hubs: Seriously, you are rereading them. Haven't you read them already and watched all the movies.Me: Yes....but I like to reread them every few years. They are magical like that and I want to jump back into that whole world again.Hubs: *Blank Stare* but you already know what happens.Me: That d Harry Potter reread...HARRY POTTER REREAD....already 2016 is looking awesome.Reading with a few other Potter heads at Buddies Books and Baubles. Let the magic commence. Me: Harry Potter Reread! YAY *squee*Hubs: Seriously, you are rereading them. Haven't you read them already and watched all the movies.Me: Yes....but I like to reread them every few years. They are magical like that and I want to jump back into that whole world again.Hubs: *Blank Stare* but you already know what happens.Me: That doesn't mean anything. Well it does, it means that I now have time to over-analyze the whole thing and catch little things I missed the first few times. That is the best thing about rereading the HP books.Hubs: I don't understand....you could just watch the movies it would take less time.Me: *blank stare* How did we ever end up together? The book is always better than the movie. Except Stardust and The Princess Bride those I liked the movies more.Hubs: Inconceivable.Me: There 'that' is how we ended up together.Still it is amazing to me to reread these with a group of people and relive all the little things I'd forgotten along the way. I love growing up with Harry, Hermione and Ron all over again and going through all those trying times that solidify them as a great trio of friends.Chamber of Secrets is so well done and I absolutely loved having the why would they ever hire Lockheart as a professor. Well....I now know definitively why according to JKR but we had some fun ideas too.For a children's book I can't stress how well thought out all these are and the magical feeling I get when reading one. I'm almost always sad to realize that I'm probably a muggle *gasps* or a squib but either way I don't care I'll always try on occasion to cast a spell...because yes I have a wand and I'm convinced that one day it will work so I just have to keep trying.*wyngardium leviosa*
    more
  • Delee
    May 1, 2015
    I have been so far behind in my reading and reviews...dealing with...life. I spent the whole month (so far) of August trying to play catch up. And now that I have sort of done that- I left this one review till the end...because even though the last thing that my lovely Stepheny aka Ms. Thaaaaaaaaaaang would want for me is to feel pressure- I do...OH, I really do. I feel the pressure to put out the best review that I can possibly think of right now...just for her- for her favorite series. The ser I have been so far behind in my reading and reviews...dealing with...life. I spent the whole month (so far) of August trying to play catch up. And now that I have sort of done that- I left this one review till the end...because even though the last thing that my lovely Stepheny aka Ms. Thaaaaaaaaaaang would want for me is to feel pressure- I do...OH, I really do. I feel the pressure to put out the best review that I can possibly think of right now...just for her- for her favorite series. The series that got her through the hard times in her life. Books she thinks of as family.I'm not worthy. But I am going to try...Gryffindor[image error]- Passionate about their beliefs, and standing up for what they believe in. First to defend their friends. They prefer to deal with a situation directly, even if it means a fight - and they want that fight to be a fair one.Ravenclaw[image error]- Defined by curiosity and the love of learning- first and foremost. A Ravenclaw will always seek knowledge. They want to know the why of everything. They love learning, and will want to seek as much knowledge as possible.Hufflepuff[image error]- Ultimately, Hufflepuffs are interested in helping both people and animals- much less confrontational or daring than the other houses. They are also the least likely to care about individual achievement or House points- more apt to to focus on their relationships to others rather than things they personally have done.Slytherin[image error]- Slytherins are seeking individual greatness, and the dark and mysterious appeals to them greatly, even if it seems dangerous. They’ll go for experiences that other houses are too afraid to touch.Which house are you?http://www.allthetests.com/quiz30/qui...[image error]Harry has spent another horrible summer dealing with the Dursleys...but hope comes with a rescue from one of his best friends- Ron Weeeeeeeeeasley *said with a squeaky British accent*- and his father's flying car.[image error]So in the dead of night- they arrive at Hogwarts- ready for what the year ahead awaits them...[image error]As usual I will not give too much away...but excitement lurks behind these pages- for young and old....and I for one (somewhere in the middle)- am looking forward to what comes next.* Even though I like for people to think I fall under the mysterious Slytherin- No matter how much I try- I am still a Hufflepuff at heart...apparently.
    more
  • Luke Taylor
    August 20, 2016
    So, what is Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets?Why perhaps one of the greatest sequels ever written?Ha! Then why is it the lowest rated of the 7? Why do so many consider it to be their least favorite?I don't know! I thought it was flipping amazing.Why?Because Jo Rowling, so very English and erudite, with her topsy turvy hilarious and creepy narrative, her human characters and her timeless topics; Jo, who knows the human heart like Hermione knows the works of Gilderoy Lockhart, hides the mot So, what is Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets?Why perhaps one of the greatest sequels ever written?Ha! Then why is it the lowest rated of the 7? Why do so many consider it to be their least favorite?I don't know! I thought it was flipping amazing.Why?Because Jo Rowling, so very English and erudite, with her topsy turvy hilarious and creepy narrative, her human characters and her timeless topics; Jo, who knows the human heart like Hermione knows the works of Gilderoy Lockhart, hides the motives of every character till the perfect moment of revelation. Even those that should be above suspicion are not with the taint of pride and ambition, and even the most beloved characters breathe with the fragility of humanity as the story relentlessly runs along through the darkened halls of Hogwarts. Beware, second-year students, the desire to be great is a double-edged sword beset with rubies.I first became a fan of Jo with Cuckoo's Calling and it occurred to me, breathlessly reading through Chamber of Secrets, that the Riddle was solved. Finally. Why is Jo Rowling so good? It's simple. She's a mystery writer.Harry Potter soars above Muggle mystery books because of its special additives. Magic, yes, and undeniably malleable lenient fantasy elements that Jo masterfully weaves and waves her wand over to manipulate and beef up the story as she sees fit, but truly, how many mysteries have we read (collectively) where we set them down and forget who the detective was, or the suspect, or whatever. Why is that? Because of Jo's reverse engineering (no doubt an ancient Slytherin technique) where the character comes first. No matter what, and no matter which character. The books are entirely character driven and because we love The Boy Who Lived and He Who Shall Not Be Named and The Weasleys and Rubeus Hagrid and Ginny (the cutest human being on planet earth) and on and on and on, we find ourselves shoulder to shoulder with our would-be sleuths and puzzle solvers and their "we must we must" attitude. Chamber of Secrets was an outstanding mystery, chock-full of red herrings, an incredible combative climax, and too many laugh-out-loud lines to count. Dear Diary, I have a new favorite book.Oh really, what is it?*Throws diary out the window and runs away screaming*And, shivers, at the mere mention of Azkaban, I read Chamber of Secrets with far too much excitement and anticipation, because, knowing I was going into Harry Potter, The Prisoner of Azkaban, following Chamber of Secrets, was the book I was waiting for the most, and for that I blame Gary Oldman. (I am a Sirius fan of Gary Oldman) That said, I had no idea that Chamber of Secrets would be so outstanding and leave me thinking the incredible Philosopher's Stone was a perfectly-pitched welcome handshake compared to the books to come.For those who like to feel up a book for flaws, I have none, and I see none. I see the sheer verve of adventure and the scintillating luster of mystery, gleaming hungry-eyed and ready for more. You see, as Philosopher's Stone was about love, Chamber of Secrets was about fearlessness. Fearlessness to speak the truth in the face of a lie, fearlessness to stand up for what's inside your heart. Fearlessness to take a leap of faith and follow the path of destiny.Also, I am very interested in how the issues gain maturity as Harry and the other characters age. Obviously there are deaths to come, but in the case of Chamber of Secrets versus Philosopher's Stone, I could feel that sense of maturity creeping in just a bit, and am so very excited for the continuation of the series (I'll have to go buy some more chocolate frogs now) as everything in the Wizarding World becomes increasingly dangerous and unhinged and wild and wondrously unforgettable.Recommended for everyone.And 50 points for Hermione for being epic even whilst being petrified.
    more
  • Khadidja
    November 8, 2016
    “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.” “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”even after all these years i'm still amazed by the magic and the world J.K. Rowling has built. Amazing Author. what i really love about this series is Dobby(the trouble maker) and Ron's family, There’s a real sense of home and family with the Weasleys and Harry being so welcome there(In the book you definitely get a better sense of Harry's lo “I'll be in my bedroom, making no noise and pretending I'm not there.” “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”even after all these years i'm still amazed by the magic and the world J.K. Rowling has built. Amazing Author. what i really love about this series is Dobby(the trouble maker) and Ron's family, There’s a real sense of home and family with the Weasleys and Harry being so welcome there(In the book you definitely get a better sense of Harry's loneliness) so it feels comforting reading it. Their feelings for Harry are genuine and have nothing to do with his fame. Despite their bickering, there is so much love, acceptance, and fun amongst the Weasley's
    more
  • Anniebananie
    October 28, 2015
    Das ist doch mal ein würdiges erstes Buch für das Jahr 2017! Der Schmuckband war seinen unverschämten Preis wieder absolut wert! So tolle, liebevolle und detailreiche Zeichnungen. Und die Geschichte war wie immer perfekt! Eine der wenigen, die man wieder und wieder aufs neue genießen kann und für mich immer eine Erinnerung an meine Kindheit sein wird! Also wird es für Harry Potter nie weniger als 5 Sterne geben. Im zweiten Band gefallen mir Lockhart und Dobby immer am besten! Wobei ich beide im Das ist doch mal ein würdiges erstes Buch für das Jahr 2017! Der Schmuckband war seinen unverschämten Preis wieder absolut wert! So tolle, liebevolle und detailreiche Zeichnungen. Und die Geschichte war wie immer perfekt! Eine der wenigen, die man wieder und wieder aufs neue genießen kann und für mich immer eine Erinnerung an meine Kindheit sein wird! Also wird es für Harry Potter nie weniger als 5 Sterne geben. Im zweiten Band gefallen mir Lockhart und Dobby immer am besten! Wobei ich beide im Buch sogar noch witziger finde als im Film. Schließe ich meine Lobhudelei mal mit meinem Lieblings-Dumbledore-Zitat aus diesem Band: "Viel mehr als unsere Fähigkeiten sind es unsere Entscheidungen, die zeigen, wer wir wirklich sind."
    more
  • Elisa
    January 6, 2010
    A lot of people cite this book as their least favorite in the Potter saga; many of my friends included. When I asked one of my friends why he felt it was the worst of the bunch, he gave me a very reasonable reply. He'd come in late on the Potter game, having only read them last year in fact, when a Professor of his was walking them through what it takes to be a good mystery-- using Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone as an example of a perfectly fashioned mystery.Moving on to the second book, A lot of people cite this book as their least favorite in the Potter saga; many of my friends included. When I asked one of my friends why he felt it was the worst of the bunch, he gave me a very reasonable reply. He'd come in late on the Potter game, having only read them last year in fact, when a Professor of his was walking them through what it takes to be a good mystery-- using Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone as an example of a perfectly fashioned mystery.Moving on to the second book, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, my friend (let's call him Rex) found that this book wasn't up to standard mystery-wise in the way the first book had been, which is what he'd been expecting. Maybe it's because I first read it as a child, or it's maybe because I was more interested in the fantasy aspect, but I never really cared, nor do I care now that it doesn't follow the same standard mystery guidelines. Rex was the only person who gave me an answer other than "I don't know, I just don't like it as much," so therefore his is the only one that I'm able to analyze. But enough negativity, allow me to explain what I do like about it.Um, Ron's broken wand? Hysterical. Well, if I'm being honest, any single scene including Mr. Ron Weasley is bound to make me smile and any interaction between him and Hermione (yes, even this early on) is bound to make me squee!!!!!!!!!! Notice how quick he is to jump to Hermione's defense; notice how distraught he is over Hermione's being petrified. Oh, how I love them.To add a few more- Harry's first trip to the Burrow! The flying car! Fred and George marching ahead of Harry, announcing him mockingly as the Heir of Slytherin! The singing Valentine's Day Dwarves! And our introduction to the Whomping Willow! Come on people, this is classic stuff!I also love the part Ginny Weasley plays in this book; not so much the whole "helping the Heir of Slytherin thing," but her mad crush on Harry. Maybe because I was granted the fortune/misfortune of having a brother a grade above me, I also had the wonderful fortune/misfortune of crushing on all his super hott (yes with two t's) friends. Ah, how I remember the days of pining for them, of whining over their lack of return interest, of cursing my blasted gapped teeth and frizzy hair. Of course, unlike Ginny I was never able to woo any of them in the end, (even after my braces!) but I still think I did alright as far as men go;)Okay, back to the text. I even enjoy ol' Lockhart, for what he's worth. Yeah, he's obnoxious, but that's the point, right? And yeah, the degree to whch he is obnoxious is a little cartoony and unrealistic, but let's not forget- this is a children's book, after all. Chamber of Secrets also sees Harry destroying his first Horcrux, and offers us our first insight into one Tom Riddle. I would never discount this book, or cast it so carelessly aside as least favorite of the bunch (I don't believe in ranking these books, by the way). Anyway, it receives a full five stars from me with zero hesitation. I appreciate it's contribution to the Potter world and will look forward to reading it again when the time comes...which it will.
    more
  • May
    March 7, 2016
    Me ha gustado, pero menos que el primero.Espero engancharme como vosotrxs a la saga en el tercero... ¡a ver si hay suerte!PD: Estoy intentando leerlos todos antes de navidad y hacer un vídeo jejeje
Write a review