The Little Prince
Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

The Little Prince Details

TitleThe Little Prince
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2000
PublisherHarcourt, Inc.
ISBN0156012197
ISBN-139780156012195
Number of pages83 pages
Rating
GenreClassics, Fiction, Fantasy, Childrens, Cultural, France

The Little Prince Review

  • Nataliya
    May 2, 2010
    *** For those who somehow have no idea about what happens in The Little Prince or cannot figure it out at a reasonable spot in the book, here is a warning - THERE WILL BE, as much as I hate applying this term to this incredibly famous classic that does not rely on Aha! moments to keep the readers' attention, SPOILERS! ****-----------'You do understand that the Little Prince died?' my mother asked as carefully and gently as only adults who know that loss of innocence can be crushing but is brutal *** For those who somehow have no idea about what happens in The Little Prince or cannot figure it out at a reasonable spot in the book, here is a warning - THERE WILL BE, as much as I hate applying this term to this incredibly famous classic that does not rely on Aha! moments to keep the readers' attention, SPOILERS! ****-----------'You do understand that the Little Prince died?' my mother asked as carefully and gently as only adults who know that loss of innocence can be crushing but is brutally necessary can do.'No, he didn't. He went back to his home planet and that stupid rose. It says so right here,' I replied with the comforting stubbornness of an eight-year-old.Later that night, I quietly reread the book and the sad truth clicked, and so did the belated thought that for all the gentle berating of adults in it, this strange and beautiful book was written by one of them and definitely for them, and not for me, and by luring me in with the beautiful pictures it pushed me just a bit further on the inevitable road to adulthood.Or so I see now.Back then, I decided to read the author's biography instead as a distraction from the thoughts that were trying to be a bit more grown-up than my heart cared for - I was the odd kid of a literature teacher mother, after all - just to learn that just after writing this book, Antoine de Saint Exupery died when flying his plane in a war to liberate his country, killed by adults who played a game of war, too dangerous and cruel. And that finally made me cry. And then I went back to the simple security of childhood.Then I grew up, inevitably, like most of us do. I learned to do my fair share of 'matters of consequence'. I learned the painful understanding of why certain vain but naive roses can hold such sad power over our hearts. I learned the comfort and longing of nostalgia, the fear of the crushing burden of loneliness, the understanding of fragile beauty of the world that can be so easily taken away at any moment. I became a grown-up, and I have to learn to reconcile my inner child with my outer age. "In the course of this life I have had a great many encounters with a great many people who have been concerned with matters of consequence. I have lived a great deal among grown-ups. I have seen them intimately, close at hand. And that hasn't much improved my opinion of them." Now, reading this intensely lyrical and mesmerizing book written by an ailing middle-aged adult far away from the country he loved in the middle of war-torn years, I am confronted with emotions that ruthlessly hurt, hidden in the deceiving simplicity of a (supposedly) children's story just like an elephant was hidden inside a boa constrictor - or was it simply a hat all along? - in the opening paragraphs of this book. I sigh and tear up, and try to resist the urge to pick up the golden-haired child that never stopped until he got answers to his questions and carry him away into safety. But I can't. Because if I do so, there will never be 500 billion bells in the stars, and we will never wonder whether the rose is still alive - and it needs to be, because we are responsible for those we have tamed. "But I was not reassured. I remembered the fox. One runs the risk of weeping a little, if one lets himself be tamed." This is not a book for children. It's for adults who remember being children and feel nostalgia for the simple comfort of childhood innocence but know they can never go back to it. Because they have met their Roses, and Foxes, and drank from a well with a rusty handle in the desert, and learned that a few thorns may not stand against the claws of a tiger. Unlike the Little Prince, they can no longer go back - but they can look at the night starry sky and laugh, and imagine that they hear an answering clear laughter. "In certain more important details I shall make mistakes, also. But that is something that will not be my fault. My friend never explained anything to me. He thought, perhaps, that I was like himself. But I, alas, do not know how to see sheep through t he walls of boxes. Perhaps I am a little like the grown-ups. I have had to grow old."'What makes the desert beautiful,' said the little prince, 'is that somewhere it hides a well.'
    more
  • Manny
    December 20, 2008
    The next asteroid the Little Prince came to was inhabited by a Quiz Addict. He sat hunched in front of his laptop, and barely looked up when the Little Prince greeted him. There was nowhere else to sit, since the whole asteroid was covered in books."Good morning!" said the Little Prince."I'm sorry, I don't have time to talk to you," said the Quiz Addict. "I am very busy. Wait. In Twilight, what color was Edward's car?""I don't know," said the Little Prince. "I have never read this book Twilight. The next asteroid the Little Prince came to was inhabited by a Quiz Addict. He sat hunched in front of his laptop, and barely looked up when the Little Prince greeted him. There was nowhere else to sit, since the whole asteroid was covered in books."Good morning!" said the Little Prince."I'm sorry, I don't have time to talk to you," said the Quiz Addict. "I am very busy. Wait. In Twilight, what color was Edward's car?""I don't know," said the Little Prince. "I have never read this book Twilight.""I think it was blue," said the man. "Damn! I was wrong. Silver. In Twilight, who joined the Cullen family first?""I told you," said the Little Prince, "that I haven't read this book. But it must be an interesting book if you answer questions about it all day long. I would very much like to read it.""It is the stupidest book ever written!" said the man."Then why do you answer questions about it all day long?" asked the Little Prince."Because if I don't," sighed the man, "then my friend on asteroid B451 will get ahead of me. "He has read the whole series. Luckily, he hasn't read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.""When you have finished the Quiz," asked the Little Prince, "I hope you will be able to read some of these books you have around you? I notice that you have had Atonement on your to-read list for the last six months.""It is a Never-Ending Quiz," answered the man. "In Twilight, what color was Edward's car?""I believe you said silver?" answered the Little Prince politely."Thank you," muttered the man. "Yes! You were right. I should have known that.""I'm sorry, I must be going," said the Little Prince. And he went on his way, thinking that grown-ups were very, very, very strange.
    more
  • Erin
    April 29, 2008
    We are all children in adults bodies. Yes we are, don't think we aren't for one moment. The fact that we WERE, indeed, children, is a huge part of each of us. It is possible to shed a few appreciative tears on every page of this book if you entertain the thought that the pilot IS The Little Prince. Maybe you won't think that--maybe you'll have your own take on the book---that's the magic about it. This book is translated to English from French. If you understand and/or appreciate French, the del We are all children in adults bodies. Yes we are, don't think we aren't for one moment. The fact that we WERE, indeed, children, is a huge part of each of us. It is possible to shed a few appreciative tears on every page of this book if you entertain the thought that the pilot IS The Little Prince. Maybe you won't think that--maybe you'll have your own take on the book---that's the magic about it. This book is translated to English from French. If you understand and/or appreciate French, the deliciousness of that fact can affect you in addition to the sweet storyline itself. The book won't even take you a whole day to read. Consider honoring the Little You that still remains, and resides within you, and read this 'salute' to childhood, to innocence, and to you. It just takes a 'Little' imagination and bravery.
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyInBookland)
    December 15, 2016
    So amazing. I can see many rereads of this in the years to come.
  • Stephen
    August 15, 2010
    A "Daddy/Daughter nighttime reading hour" reviewThis was a toughy for me to review. I wasn't sure of the best perspective from which to provide comments so as to be of assistance to my fellow readers since this is a children's book (rather than YA which would be reviewed purely on its own merits). After a short session of "what should I do," I bravely decided to punt, figuring that there are already more than enough excellent reviews of this without my clogging up the cyber arteries with another A "Daddy/Daughter nighttime reading hour" reviewThis was a toughy for me to review. I wasn't sure of the best perspective from which to provide comments so as to be of assistance to my fellow readers since this is a children's book (rather than YA which would be reviewed purely on its own merits). After a short session of "what should I do," I bravely decided to punt, figuring that there are already more than enough excellent reviews of this without my clogging up the cyber arteries with another one. Therefore, I decided simply to share my experience of reading/listening to the book with my daughter along with a couple of thoughts on the concepts discussed in the story and hope that you can take something useful from it. So as part of our nightly routine, my youngest daughter, Sydney, and I have daddy/princess read time. The other night, she and I listened to the audio version of The Little Prince while we read along with a copy of the book. As usual, it was an AMAZING experience. I am convinced that I learn more about the stories we read from her and her reactions to the narrative than she does from me...and I love it. It's only a two hour audio (86 pages) and yet the two of us spent close to 4 hours listening and talking about the various chapters in the story (plus a brief 15 minute break for Mom to give her a bath while Dad helped big sister Kenzie with her math homework). Sydney had all kinds of questions (some just hysterically funny in how much sense they made from a kid-centric view of the world). We would stop the story after each planet or character to talk about what she thought the story meant and what messages the story was trying to deliver. For those of you with children, you know how wonderful this can be and I was on the ninth cloud watching my little girl ponder over the book. From this perspective, the story was perfect and deserves an easy 5 stars. However, since it's not very helpful to rate a book based on that kind of non-transferable experience, I didn't want to rely solely on that for its final rating. After explaining to Syd the goodreads star system, she would give this 4 stars as she really liked the British accent of the narrator and the crazy adventures the Prince experiences on the various planets. BTW, from Sydney's point of view, 4 stars is the absolute ceiling for any book dealing with ickies like boys and this would easily earn 5 stars had the story been called the "The Little Princess." Princes are still second class citizens at this stage in her life...and Dad is oh, oh, OH so perfectly fine with that).For me, looking at this sans Sydney, I liked it but was not smitten with it enough to go higher than 3 stars. The story is well written and has something to say about the human condition and how people spend too much of their lives focusing on the wrong things and not enough time enjoying where they are. A nice message and one I was happy to expose Sydney to, but I was not always enamored with the path the author took to get there. Overall, a good read on its own and a potentially a great experience if shared with your children...as most things in life are. 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Alejandro
    October 30, 2014
    Beautiful reading! WHEN A ROSE IS NOT A ROSE It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. I plan to read The Little Prince since many time ago, and I was aware that it was a quick reading, but still I hadn’t do it yet, until now.I went to the cinema theaters and I watched the new animated film about it, and while I hadn’t read the book, I watched the film and I loved it. I was aware that it wasn’t an exact adaptation per se, and then I knew th Beautiful reading! WHEN A ROSE IS NOT A ROSE It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. I plan to read The Little Prince since many time ago, and I was aware that it was a quick reading, but still I hadn’t do it yet, until now.I went to the cinema theaters and I watched the new animated film about it, and while I hadn’t read the book, I watched the film and I loved it. I was aware that it wasn’t an exact adaptation per se, and then I knew that it was about time to read the book. It was a quick reading, it took me like a couple of hours. Wonderful book.The Little Prince is a metaphorical and surrealist journey where a rose isn’t necessarily a rose, a fox isn’t always a fox, a small planet isn’t a small planet all the time...All those things and more that you can find in the book, they will be whatever you need to be. You just need to recognize what will be the rose, what will be the fox, what will be the small planet...And then, and only then you will be able to realice the power behind of this cute little book. HIDDEN THINGS What makes the desert beautiful,... ...,is that somewhere it hides a well... Also, a hidden wonder about this book is that you not only need to realice what things in your own life to interchange with the ones in the Little Prince’s journey, but moreover, you need to “see” with your heart and being able to find the “well” in every “desert”.Sometimes isn’t easy, and I guess that there will be moments when those deserts are truly dry, maybe there was a well some time ago, but it’s long gone. But only you, if you are careful and “observant” with your heart, you will be able to make the difference.At plain sight, your eyes can deceive you about what it’s in front of you, but if you learn to “watch” with your heart, rarely you will be fooled about it.So, not matter if you are in a desert or a little planet (most likely an asteroid), be prepared to take flight and be ready with paper and a pencil, since who knows? Maybe the Little Prince will need you to draw something beyond the evident...
    more
  • فرشاد
    February 24, 2016
    یاد آن روزها که بلندترین ساختمان شهر، سیلوی گندم بود بخیر، آن روز ها، عصر که میشد میرفتم در حیاط خانه و جایی پشت بوته گل رز پنهان میشدم، آن وقت به انتظار گربه های ی بخت برگشته مینشتم. سر و کله یکی شان که پیدا میشد، با لنگه کفش کهنه به سوی ش نشانه میرفتم و سپس پرتابی بی نهایت جانانه. با تمام این اوصاف چابکی گربه از دقت نشانه گیری من افزون بود و تیر هرگز به هدف اصابت نمیکرد. جز یکبار که کفش کهنه به کمر گربه نگون بخت برخورد کرد و گربه فریادی از سر درد و غافلگیر ی برآورد. آن روز اولین باری بود که خو یاد آن روزها که بلندترین ساختمان شهر، سیلوی گندم بود بخیر، آن روز ها، عصر که میشد میرفتم در حیاط خانه و جایی پشت بوته گل رز پنهان میشدم، آن وقت به انتظار گربه های ی بخت برگشته مینشتم. سر و کله یکی شان که پیدا میشد، با لنگه کفش کهنه به سوی ش نشانه میرفتم و سپس پرتابی بی نهایت جانانه. با تمام این اوصاف چابکی گربه از دقت نشانه گیری من افزون بود و تیر هرگز به هدف اصابت نمیکرد. جز یکبار که کفش کهنه به کمر گربه نگون بخت برخورد کرد و گربه فریادی از سر درد و غافلگیر ی برآورد. آن روز اولین باری بود که خود را یک فاتح یافتم.بزرگتر که شدم آزار گربه ها ارزشش را برآیم از دست داد. ظهر ها که در خانه تنها بودم چسب مایع را برمیداشتم و میرفتم سر وقت لانه مورچه ها، آن وقت یک دایره بزرگ چسب مایع اطراف لانه مورچه ها میکشید م و به تماشا ی محاصره ارتش سیاهشان مینشتم، لحظات ی بعد چسب را با کبریت آتش میزدم و به نظاره ی خط آتشی که دایره چسب مایع را میپیمود مشغول میشدم، آن وقت حشره کش را روی آتش اسپری میکردم، در یک آن کره اثیری آتش شکل میگرفت و ارتش مورچه ها به ناگاه به ذرات دوده سیاه تبدیل میشد و به بالا عروج میکرد. تا لحظاتی غرق در لذت بی انتها یی میشدم و برق غرور را در چشمانم احساس میکردم.آن روز ها پدر م شب ها برآیم حافظ و مولانا میخواند و گاهی داستان های کهن ایرانی، و من که به راستی انسانی آزاد بودم هر بار به بهانه ای محفل ادبی را ترک میکردم و از بند تعلق کتاب و فرهنگ آزاد بودم،جاه طلبی، ویژگی بارز من در آن دوره بود، در هر مسابقه ای که در مدرسه برگزار میشد فارغ از محتوای آن شرکت میکردم و برای اول شدن با تمامی توان تلاش میکردم، یادم هست یک روز که نوبت اهدای جوایز بود، مدیر نام مرا هیجده بار خواند و آن روز آنقدر جایزه گرفتم که مجبور شدم برای انتقال شان به خانه از کمک دوستان استفاده کنم، پدر م از دیدن این صحنه با حالتی متاسف به چشمهایم نگاه کرد و غم محوی در چهره اش آشکار شد، ضمن آنکه این اتفاق مرا به فردی منفور در میان همکلاسی ها تبدیل کرد، هرچند فاتح بودن ارزش آن تنهایی سهمگین را داشت،نمیدانم کودکی ام، آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپری را ناامید کرده یا نه، یا سبک طبیعی زندگی ام ریشخند بزرگی ست به آنچه آنتوان سعی در طبیعی خواندنش دارد یا نه، یا شاید دلیل این همه خستگی، آن همه صرف انرژی در کودکی باشد، یا آه مورچه ها که به تعبیر حافظ از گردون هم بگذرد، اما اولین بار که مادر م شازده کوچولو را برآیم خواند خود را با آن شخصیت پروتوگانیست لوس و آبکی غریبه یافتم.
    more
  • Franco Santos
    April 22, 2014
    Un libro tan brillante como una estrella. Me corrijo: mi estrella. La que, para mí, siempre será la más brillante.
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    April 28, 2008
    574. The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéryشازده کوچولو؛ مسافر کوچولو، شهریار کوچولو و عنوانهای دیگر - آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپری (امیرکبیر و ...) ادبیاتبا این عنوانها چاپ شده است: شازاده بچکۆله - مهتاب حسینی در 100 ص؛ شازاده چکوله - کردی مترجم مصطفی ایلخانی زاده در 154 ص؛ با همین عنوان ترجمه آرش امجدی در 136 ص؛ با همین عنوان وهاب جیهانی در 119 ص؛ شازده وه شله - کردی با ترجمه کورش امینی در 96 ص؛ شازایه توچگه - کردی ترجمه محسن امینی در 127 ص؛ شازده چکول - کردی میلاد ملایی در 54 ص؛ شازده کوچولو مت 574. The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéryشازده کوچولو؛ مسافر کوچولو، شهریار کوچولو و عنوانهای دیگر - آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپری (امیرکبیر و ...) ادبیاتبا این عنوانها چاپ شده است: شازاده‌ بچکۆله‌ - مهتاب حسینی در 100 ص؛ ش‍ازاده‌ چ‍ک‍ول‍ه‌ - کردی مترجم مصطفی ایلخانی زاده در 154 ص؛ با همین عنوان ترجمه آرش امجدی در 136 ص؛ با همین عنوان وهاب جیهانی در 119 ص؛ شازده وه شله - کردی با ترجمه کورش امینی در 96 ص؛ شازایه توچگه - کردی ترجمه محسن امینی در 127 ص؛ شازده چکول - کردی میلاد ملایی در 54 ص؛ شازده کوچولو مترجم ها: شورا پیرزاده در 99 ص؛ محمد قاضی در 113 ص بیش از شصت چاپ دارد؛ ترجمه ابوالحسن نجفی در 117 ص؛ بابک اندیشه در 106 ص؛ احمد شاملو در 103 ص بارها چاپ شده؛ فریده مهدوی دامغانی در 316 ص؛ مصطفی رحماندوست در 127 ص ده بار چاپ شده؛ اصغر رستگار در 101 ص؛ دل آرا قهرمان در 96 ص؛ حسین جاوید در 120 ص؛ ایرج انور در 140 ص؛ سحر جعفری صرافی در 160 ص؛ مهرداد انتظاری در 87 ص؛ کاوه میرعباسی در 112 ص؛ رضا خاکیانی در 110 ص؛ فرزام حبیبی اصفهانی در 112 ص؛ مرتضی سعیدی در 120 ص؛ مجتبی پایدار در 119 ص؛ رضا زارع در 120 ص؛ پرویز شهدی در 128 ص؛ محمدرضا صامتی در 112 ص؛ محمدعلی اخوان در 105 ص؛ جمشید بهرامیان در 148 ص؛ هانیه فهیمی در 120 ص؛ رامسس بصیر در 104 ص؛ سمانه رضائیان در 104 ص؛ غلامرضا یاسی پور در 96 ص؛ مریم صبوری در 192 ص؛ حسین غیوری در 170 ص؛ مهسا حمیدیان در 51 ص؛ میلاد یداللهی در 102 ص؛ مهری محمدی مقدم در 96 ص؛ زهرا تیرانی در 103 ص؛ لیلاسادات محمودی در 164 ص؛ محمدجواد انتظاری در 120 ص؛ غزاله ابراهیمی در 128 ص؛ مریم خرازیان در 120 ص؛ مدیا کاشیگر در 136 ص؛ محمدعلی عزیزی در 152 ص؛ الهام ذوالقدر در 189 ص؛ فاطمه نظرآهاری در 136 ص؛ زهره مستی در 128 ص؛ حمیدرضا غیوری در 98 ص؛ اسدالله غفوری ثانی در 116 ص؛ شادی ابطحی در 152 ص؛ محمدتقی بهرامی حران در 104 ص؛ محمدرضا صامتی در 176 ص؛ محمدرضا محمدحسینی در 112 ص؛ فهیمه شهرابی فراهانی در 131 ص؛ بهاره عزیزی در 120 ص؛ مولود محمدی در 143 ص؛ شهناز مجیدی در 184 ص؛ هانیه حق نبی مطلق در 111 ص؛ سعید هاشمی در 96 ص؛ سمانه فلاح در 96 ص؛ حمیدرضا زین الدین در 120 ص؛ شبنم اقبال زاده در 88 ص؛ رضا طاهری در 72 ص؛ فاطمه امینی در 220 ص؛ محمد مجلسی 142 ص؛ بهزاد بیگی در 112 ص؛ با عنوان: شاهزاده سرزمین عشق، چیستا یثربی در 54 ص؛ با عنوان: شاهزاده کوچک: مریم شریف در 112 ص؛ هرمز ریاحی در 99 ص؛ با عنوان: شاهزاده کوچولو؛ شاهین فولادی در 120 ص؛ علی شکرالهی در 148 ص؛ با عنوان: شهریار کوچولو: احمد شاملو در 103 ص؛ با عنوان: مسافر کوچولو: فائزه سرمدی در 58 ص؛ علی محمدپور در 12 م؛ با عنوان نمایشنامه شازده کوچولو: عباس جوانمرد در 97 ص؛ با عنوان : شازا بووچکه‌له‮‬‏‫: رضوان متوسل؛ موسسه انتشارات نگاه، چاپ دوم این اثر را با نام «شهریار کوچولو» و برگردان «احمد شاملو» در سال 1373 منتشر کرده است متن: ...؛ اما سرانجام، پس از مدت­ها راه ­رفتن در میان ریگ­ها و صخره ها و برف­ها، به جاده­ ای برخورد. و هر جاده ­ای یکراست می­رود سراغ آدم­ها. گفت: سلام. و مخاطبش گلستان پر گلی بود. گل­ها گفتند: سلام. شهریار کوچولو رفت تو بحرشان. همه ­شان عین گل خودش بودند. حیرت­زده، ازشان پرسید: شماها کی هستید؟ گفتند: ما گل سرخیم. آهی کشید و سخت احساس شوربختی کرد. گل­ش به او گفته بود که از نوع او، تو تمام عالم تنها همان یکی هست، و حالا پنج­هزارتا گل، همه مثل هم، فقط در یک گلستان. فکر کرد: اگر گل من این را می­دید، بدجوری از رو می­رفت، پشت سر هم بنا می­کرد سرفه کردن، و برای این­که از هوشدن فرار کند، خودش را به مردن می­زد. و من هم مجبور می­شدم وانمود کنم به پرستاریش، وگرنه برای سرشکسته کردن من هم که شده بود راستی راستی می­مرد. و باز تو دلش گفت: مرا باش که با یک گل، خودم را دولتمند عالم خیال می­کردم، در صورتی­که آنچه دارم یک گل معمولی ست. با آن گل و آن سه تا آتشفشانی که تا سر زانوم هستند و شاید هم یکی­شان تا ابد خاموش بماند، شهریار چندان پرشوکتی به حساب نمی­آیم. افتاد رو سبزه­ ها و زد زیر گریه. آن وقت بود که سر و کله ­ی روباه پیدا شد. روباه گفت: سلام. شهریار کوچولو برگشت، اما کسی را ندید. با وجود این با ادب تمام گفت: سلام. صدا گفت: من اینجام، زیر درخت سیب. شهریار کوچولو گفت: کی هستی تو؟ عجب خوشگلی. روباه گفت: یک روباهم من. شهریار کوچولو گفت: بیا با من بازی کن. نمی­دانی چه قدر دلم گرفته. روباه گفت: نمی­توانم بات بازی کنم. هنوز اهلی­ ام نکرده ­اند آخر. شهریار کوچولو آهی کشید و گفت: معذرت می­خواهم. اما فکری کرد و پرسید: اهلی کردن یعنی چه؟ روباه گفت: تو اهل اینجا نیستی. پی چی می­گردی؟ شهریار کوچولو گفت: پی آدم­ها می­گردم. نگفتی اهلی کردن یعنی چه؟ روباه گفت: آدم­ها تفنگ دارند و شکار می­کنند. اینش اسباب دلخوری است. اما مرغ و ماکیان هم پرورش می­دهند و خیرشان فقط همین است. تو پی مرغ می­گردی؟ شهریار کوچولو گفت: نه، پی دوست می­گردم. اهلی کردن یعنی چه؟ روباه گفت: چیزی است که پاک فراموش شده. معنی­ اش ایجاد علاقه کردن است. ایجاد علاقه کردن؟ روباه گفت: معلوم است. تو الان واسه من یک پسربچه ­ای مثل صدهزار پسربچه ­ی دیگر. نه من هیچ احتیاجی به تو دارم نه تو هیچ احتیاجی به من. من هم برای تو یک روباهم مثل صدهزار روباه دیگر. اما اگر منو اهلی کردی هردوتامان به هم احتیاج پیدا می­کنیم. تو برای من میان همه­ ی عالم موجود یگانه ­ای می­شوی و من برای تو. شهریار کوچولو گفت: کم ­کم دارد دستگیرم می­شود. یک گلی هست که گمانم مرا اهلی کرده باشد. روباه گفت: بعید نیست. رو این کره زمین هزار جور چیز می­شود دید. شهریار کوچولو گفت: اوه نه. آن روی کره زمین نیست. روباه انگار حسابی حیرت کرده بود و گفت: رو یک سیاره دیگر است؟ _ آره. _ تو آن سیاره شکارچی هم هست؟ _ نه. _ محشر است مرغ و ماکیان چطور؟ _نه. روباه آه کشان گفت: همیشه خدا یک پای بساط لنگ است. اما پی حرفش را گرفت و گفت: زندگی یکنواختی دارم. من مرغ­ها را شکار می­کنم، آدم­ها مرا. همه ­ی مرغ­ها عین هم اند، همه ی آدم­ها هم عین هم اند . این وضع یک­خرده خلقم را تنگ می­کند. اما اگر تو منو اهلی کنی، انگار که زندگیم را چراغان کرده باشی. آن وقت صدای پایی را می­شناسم که با هر صدای پای دیگری فرق داشته می­کند. صدای پای دیگران مرا وادار می­کند تو هفت تا سوراخ قایم بشوم، اما صدای پای تو، مثل نغمه­ ای مرا از لانه ­ام می­کشد بیرون. تازه، نگاه کن آنجا، گندمزار را می­بینی؟ برای من که نان نمی­خورم گندم چیز بی ­فایده ­ای است. پس گندمزار هم مرا یاد چیزی نمی­اندازد. اسباب تأسف است. اما تو، موهایت رنگ طلا است. پس وقتی اهلی­ ام کردی محشر می­شود. گندم که طلایی رنگ است، مرا به یاد تو می­اندازد، و صدای باد را هم که تو گندمزار می­پیچد دوست خواهم داشت. خاموش شد و مدت درازی شهریار کوچولو را نگاه کرد. آن وقت گفت: اگر دلت می­خواهد منو اهلی کن. شهریار کوچولو جواب داد: دلم که خیلی می­خواهد، اما وقت چندانی ندارم. باید بروم دوستانی پیدا کنم و از کلی چیزها سر درآرم. روباه گفت: آدم فقط از چیزهایی که اهلی می­کند می­تواند سر درآرد. آدم­ها دیگر برای سر درآوردن از چیزها وقت ندارند. همه چیز را همین جوری حاضر آماده از دکان می­خرند. اما چون دکانی نیست که دوست معامله کند، آدم­ها مانده ­اند بی دوست. تو اگر دوست می­خواهی خب منو اهلی کن. شهریار کوچولو پرسید: راهش چیست؟ روباه جواب داد: باید خیلی خیلی صبور باشی، اولش یک­خرده دورتر از من می­گیری این جوری میان علف­ها می­نشینی. من زیرچشمی نگاهت می­کنم و تو لام تا کام هیچی نمی­گویی، چون سرچشمه همه ی سوء­تفاهم­ها زیر سر زبان است. عوضش می­توانی هر روز یک خرده نزدیک­تر بنشینی. فردای آن روز دوباره شهریار کوچولو آمد پیش روباه. روباه گفت: کاش سر همان ساعت دیروز آمده بودی. اگر مثلا سر ساعت چهار بعد از ظهر بیایی، من از ساعت سه تو دلم قند آب می­شود، و هرچه ساعت جلوتر برود بیشتر احساس شادی و خوشبختی می­کنم. ساعت چهار که شد دلم بنا می­کند شورزدن و نگران شدن. آن وقت است که قدر خوشبختی را می­فهمم. اما اگر تو هر وقت­ و بی­وقت بیایی من از کجا بدانم چه ساعتی باید دلم را برای دیدارت آماده کنم؟ هر چیزی برای خودش رسم و رسومی دارد. شهریار کوچولو گفت: رسم و رسوم یعنی چه؟ روباه گفت: این هم از آن چیزهایی است که پاک از خاطره ها رفته. این همان چیزی است که باعث می­شود فلان روز با باقی روزها و فلان ساعت با باقی ساعت­ها فرق کند. مثلا شکارچی­های ما میانِ خودشان رسمی دارند و آن اینست که پنجشنبه ها را با دخترهای ده می­روند رقص. پس پنجشنبه ها بره کشان من است. برای خودم گردش­ کنان می­روم تا دم موستان. حالا اگر شکارچی­ها وقت و بی­وقت می­رفتند رقص، همه ی روزهای شبیه هم می­شد و من بیچاره دیگر فرصت و فراغتی نداشتم. به این ترتیب شهریار کوچولو روباه را اهلی کرد. لحظه ی جدایی که نزدیک شد روباه گفت: آخ. نمی­توانم جلو اشکم را بگیرم. شهریار کوچولو گفت: تقصیر خودت است. من که بدت را نخواستم، خودت خواستی اهلی ات کنم. روباه گفت: همین طور است. شهریار کوچولو گفت: آخر اشکت دارد سرازیر می­شود. روباه گفت: همین طور است. شهریار کوچولو گفت: پس این ماجرا فایده ای به حال تو نداشته. روباه گفت: چرا، برای خاطر رنگ گندم. بعد گفت: برو یک بار دیگر گل­ها را ببین تا بفهمی که گل تو، تو عالم تک است. برگشتنا با هم وداع می­کنیم، و من به عنوان هدیه رازی را به تو می­گویم. شهریار کوچولو بار دیگر به تماشای گل­ها رفت و به آن­ها گفت: شما سر سوزنی به گل من نمی­مانید و هنوز هیچی نیستید. نه کسی شما را اهلی کرده، نه شما کسی را. درست همان جوری هستید که روباه من بود: روباهی بود مثل صدهزار روباه دیگر. او را دوست خودم کردم و حالا تو همه ی عالم تک است. گل­ها حسابی از رو رفتند. شهریار کوچولو دوباره درآمد که: خوشگلید اما خالی هستید. برایتان نمی­شود مرد. گفت ­و گو ندارد که گل مرا هم فلان رهگذر، گلی می­بیند مثل شما. اما او به تنهایی از همه ی شما سر است، چون فقط اوست که آبش داده ام، چون فقط اوست که زیر حبابش گذاشته ام، چون فقط اوست که با تجیر برایش حفاظ درست کرده ام، چون فقط اوست که حشراتش را کشته ام (جز دو سه تایی که می­بایست پروانه بشوند)، چون فقط اوست که پای گله گذاری­ها و خودنمایی­ها و حتا گاهی بغ­ کردن و هیچی نگفتن­هایش نشسته ام، چون او گل من است. و برگشت پیش روباه. گفت : خدانگهدار. روباه گفت: خدانگهدار. و اما رازی که گفتم خیلی ساده است. جز با چشم دل هیچی را چنان که باید نمی­شود دید. نهاد و گوهر را چشم سر نمی­بیند. شهریار کوچولو برای آن که یادش بماند، تکرار کرد: نهاد و گوهر را چشم سر نمی­بیند. روباه گفت: ارزش گل تو به قدری است که پاش صرف کرده ای. شهریار کوچولو برای آن که یادش بماند، تکرار کرد: ... به قدر عمری است که پاش صرف کرده ام. روباه گفت: آدم­ها این حقیقت را فراموش کرده اند، اما تو نباید فراموشش کنی. تو تا زنده ای نسبت به آنی که اهلی کرده ای، مسئولی. تو مسئول گلتی. شهریار کوچولو برای آن که یادش بماند، تکرار کرد: من مسئول گلمم. ا. شربیانی
    more
  • Anne
    May 10, 2007
    There's a huge place in my heart for this little world-in-a-book; I read it first when I was wee, again many times since. A review won't do it justice, so I'll quote one of my favorite passages and risk sentimentality:---"Nothing is perfect," sighed the fox.But he came back to his idea."My life's very monotonous," he said. "I hunt chickens; men hunt me.All chickens are just alike, and all the men are just alike.And in consequence, I am a little bored.But if you tame me, it'll be as if the sun ca There's a huge place in my heart for this little world-in-a-book; I read it first when I was wee, again many times since. A review won't do it justice, so I'll quote one of my favorite passages and risk sentimentality:---"Nothing is perfect," sighed the fox.But he came back to his idea."My life's very monotonous," he said. "I hunt chickens; men hunt me.All chickens are just alike, and all the men are just alike.And in consequence, I am a little bored.But if you tame me, it'll be as if the sun came to shine on my life.I shall know the sound of a step that'll be different from all the others.Other steps send me hurrying back underneath the ground.Yours will call me, like music out of my burrow.And then look: you see the grain-fields down yonder?I do not eat bread. Wheat is of no use to me.The wheat fields have nothing to say to me. And that is sad.But you have hair that is the color of gold.Think how wonderful that will be when you have tamed me!The grain, which is also golden, will bring me back the thought of you.And I shall love to listen to the wind in the wheat…"---
    more
  • Rajat Ubhaykar
    December 20, 2011
    Written as a children's book, I find myself unable to pin down firmly as to what makes The Little Prince such a universally likeable book, be it children or grown-ups. What makes it the Hotel California of literature? Is it because most grown-ups secretly love being treated like kids? I think as a grown-up you ought to know better than that. Grown-ups like to be petted around now and then in jest, but that's the end of it. Often, when grown-ups are indeed treated like kids and they're not in the Written as a children's book, I find myself unable to pin down firmly as to what makes The Little Prince such a universally likeable book, be it children or grown-ups. What makes it the Hotel California of literature? Is it because most grown-ups secretly love being treated like kids? I think as a grown-up you ought to know better than that. Grown-ups like to be petted around now and then in jest, but that's the end of it. Often, when grown-ups are indeed treated like kids and they're not in the mood, there is a tiny matchstick inside each one of them, an insecure ego which flares up angrily like it has been wildly struck against a matchbox. In my experience, grown ups like to be taken very seriously. Very very seriously. Is it the clear, simple language? No, it can't be just that. There have been books that have been written with clarity and have been criticized by pedants and pontificating bores for their simplicity. Grown ups like to feel wise and learned by having claimed to read complicated texts that engaged them at an 'intellectual' level. They don't like important things being pointed out to them in simple language, after all they're the know-it-all grown-ups and don't need anybody patronizing them. Is it because the book is so short and grown-ups are always keen on finishing books real quick? No, it can't be just that either. I know grown-ups who believe that a good book, like a well-mixed drink, must be held between the fingers and tended to lovingly at length to let it get to your head.Is it the timeless lessons that the book cushions behind layers of delightful story-telling? Is it the sense of wonder that the book inspires in the most cynical, world-weary adult, if not for posterity then for a day or an hour? I don't know, could be, could be. Worthy contenders they are, but I think I'm not still not home. If I had to lay a bet on it, I'd say everyone adores The Little Prince because we are tired of meeting people from Earth everyday who speak the same dry language of numbers and would love to encounter a sunset-loving, wise prince from the room-sized planet of Asteroid B-612 who talks animatedly about butterflies, baobabs and volcanoes to the child inside us that we've buried long ago underneath the grey tomb of grown-up babble. Kurt Vonnegut once expressed how laughable a critic taking himself too seriously is in these memorable words, "Any reviewer who expresses rage and loathing for a novel is preposterous. He or she is like a person who has put on full armor and attacked a hot fudge sundae.” That is exactly how ridiculous critics who despise The Little Prince are. For The Little Prince is that hot fudge sundae garnished with generous toppings of lost innocence, shared loneliness, deliciously recycled perspective and lessons worth repeating to yourself to keep from succumbing to the unsavoury, contagious disease of adulthood. To make your job easier, here are some lessons from the book worth remembering and repeating:"It is only with the heart that one can see rightly. What is essential is invisible to the eye.""People have forgotten this truth," the fox said. "But you mustn’t forget it. You become responsible forever for what you’ve tamed.""One only understands the things that one tames,' said the fox. 'Men have no more time to understand anything. They buy things all ready made at the shops. But there is no shop anywhere where one can buy friendship, and so men have no friends any more. If you want a friend, tame me.""“Grown-ups love figures... When you tell them you've made a new friend they never ask you any questions about essential matters. They never say to you "What does his voice sound like? What games does he love best? Does he collect butterflies? " Instead they demand "How old is he? How much does he weigh? How much money does his father make? " Only from these figures do they think they have learned anything about him.”
    more
  • Nandakishore Varma
    September 14, 2011
    I have read only three books which I felt were magical: One Hundred Years of Solitude, To Kill a Mockingbird and this one. However, what separates this from the other two is that this is a book for all ages.There was a magazine called "Imprint" (now defunct) during my childhood, in India. It used to publish literary articles and stories. My father got official copies and he brought them home regularly. One issue contained this story, and he gave it to me for reading. I was maybe 10-12 at that ti I have read only three books which I felt were magical: One Hundred Years of Solitude, To Kill a Mockingbird and this one. However, what separates this from the other two is that this is a book for all ages.There was a magazine called "Imprint" (now defunct) during my childhood, in India. It used to publish literary articles and stories. My father got official copies and he brought them home regularly. One issue contained this story, and he gave it to me for reading. I was maybe 10-12 at that time.It left an indelible impression on my mind: I was sad for the little prince and his proud rose, and constantly worried whether the goat would eat it. I chuckled at the silly grownups on the various planets, following their inane pursuits. I was sad when the fox and the prince had to separate, after he had tamed it. And I broke down and cried at the end.I read this book again after a long time... and suddenly realised that I had become one of those adults on the asteroids. I was still sad after reading it-but now the sorrow had a deeper meaning. It was the death of childhood that I was reading about.This book is an absolute treasure.PostscriptJuly 22, 2015 - I gave this book to my son a couple of days back. Hopefully he'll read it - he has yet to fully transform into a silly grown-up.
    more
  • Paul Bryant
    October 9, 2007
    In a grimy underground locked public toilet The Little Prince wakes slowly, he’s been out cold for hours. He’s bleeding from a gash on his upper arm. He finds he is chained by leg irons to the wall. There is another person sharing his predicament. It’s a bear, also chained to the opposite wall. In the center of the floor is the corpse of what appears to be donkey in a pool of blood. Near the corpse are a gun, a tape recorder and a saw. “Grownups are very strange,” said the Little Prince to himse In a grimy underground locked public toilet The Little Prince wakes slowly, he’s been out cold for hours. He’s bleeding from a gash on his upper arm. He finds he is chained by leg irons to the wall. There is another person sharing his predicament. It’s a bear, also chained to the opposite wall. In the center of the floor is the corpse of what appears to be donkey in a pool of blood. Near the corpse are a gun, a tape recorder and a saw. “Grownups are very strange,” said the Little Prince to himself, sadly.
    more
  • Afshar
    May 19, 2014
    دوروز پیش یعنی 25 دی ماه 93 بالاخره برای بار سوم شازده کوچولو رو تموم کردمبا خودم قرار گذاشتم هر سال یه بار بخونمش تا شازده کوچولو رو فراموش نکنم و دنیا برام رنگ عادت نگیره و هر چیزی که میبینم مثه شازده کوچولو و زوربا شگفت زده ام کنه و این قسمت وجودم همیشه بیدار بمونهاولین بار ترجمه شاملو رو خوندم و زیاد تحت تاثیرش قرار نگرفتم و بخودم میگفتم این همه تعریف از کتاب برای چی بوده؟؟ بار دوم که کتاب رو خوندم برای همیشه عاشقش شدمنمیدانم تاثیر دقت کردن در بار دوم بود یا ترجمه زیبای محمد قاضی!!؟؟ شازده ك دوروز پیش یعنی 25 دی ماه 93 بالاخره برای بار سوم شازده کوچولو رو تموم کردمبا خودم قرار گذاشتم هر سال یه بار بخونمش تا شازده کوچولو رو فراموش نکنم و دنیا برام رنگ عادت نگیره و هر چیزی که میبینم مثه شازده کوچولو و زوربا شگفت زده ام کنه و این قسمت وجودم همیشه بیدار بمونهاولین بار ترجمه شاملو رو خوندم و زیاد تحت تاثیرش قرار نگرفتم و بخودم میگفتم این همه تعریف از کتاب برای چی بوده؟؟ بار دوم که کتاب رو خوندم برای همیشه عاشقش شدمنمیدانم تاثیر دقت کردن در بار دوم بود یا ترجمه زیبای محمد قاضی!!؟؟ شازده كوچولو از سياره اي مي آيد كه تنها يك گل سرخ و چند تا آتشفشان نيمه روشن داردشازده كوچولوي ما روزي از خودخواهي و غرور گلش خسته مي شود و از سياره اش خارج مي شود وبه ديگر سيارات سفر مي كنددر هر سياره يكي از خصلت هاي زشت آدم ها با تشبيه هاي ساده به خواننده نشان داده مي شود... نكته جالب كتاب اين است كه هرازگاهي خواننده ناخودآگاه نگاهش را از روي صفحات كتاب برداشته و نظري مملو از شك به درون خويش مي اندازد تا شبیه يكي از ساكنان اين سياره ها نباشداين قدرت كتاب را مي رساند كه انسان را وادار به تامل و تفكر در خود و اعمالش مي نمايداز جنبه محبوبيت اين كتاب مي توان به اين مورد اشاره كرد كه بعد از كتاب مقدس انجيل دومين كتاب پر فروش دنيا مي باشد.
    more
  • Fabian
    January 11, 2011
    For a kid's story, this one has rather heavy-handed intentions embedded into a system of symbols that exists to produce a strong & emotional effect. Like Voltaire in "Micromegas", Antoine de Saint-Exupery plays with sizes & scales, meddles with the allegorical and even plays with time. He knew, like an astute psychoanalyst, precisely which images to use to convey the mere representation of Mortality. Le Petit Prince is the Everyman who has a deep passion somewhere inside of him and only For a kid's story, this one has rather heavy-handed intentions embedded into a system of symbols that exists to produce a strong & emotional effect. Like Voltaire in "Micromegas", Antoine de Saint-Exupery plays with sizes & scales, meddles with the allegorical and even plays with time. He knew, like an astute psychoanalyst, precisely which images to use to convey the mere representation of Mortality. Le Petit Prince is the Everyman who has a deep passion somewhere inside of him and only with childlike wonder and awe (he asks questions on top of questions: no matter the degree of absurdity) is he able to show us glimpses of it. Externalizing feelings like only a child can. I find the golden-tressed titular child a very peculiar emblem in the middle of the Saharan desert... an eerie, living monolith (almost an oxymoron when one comes to think of it.) So, kids, let me ask you this one: Are we just placed on this planet to remain forever alone?
    more
  • Heba
    October 23, 2014
    من يقرأ "الأمير الصغير" فليدرك انه سيحبه ويصدقه"...تذكر مقولتي تلك حينما تقرأه :))وكيف لا تحب الامير الصغير وهو يُحدث قلبك... ..وحديث القلب لا تتعثر خطواته ولا يُخطىء مرماهلن يترك لك فرصة ذلك الفيلسوف الصغير لكى تُعمل عقلك فى محاولة لفهم ما تنطوى عليه قصصه القصيرة من حكمة إنسانية وفلسفة رمزيةلذا سيُصدق قلبك لا مُحال حديثه لأنه وحده من سيفهم لغة الأمير الصغير...."النجوم قد تكون مُرشدة لأحدهم فى ظُلمة الليل ..وقد تكون لُغزاً يتوجب معرفته من عالم فلك بارعوقد ترفع رأسك ذات ليله لترى فى كل نجمة زهرة من يقرأ "الأمير الصغير" فليدرك انه سيحبه ويصدقه"...تذكر مقولتي تلك حينما تقرأه :))وكيف لا تحب الامير الصغير وهو يُحدث قلبك... ..وحديث القلب لا تتعثر خطواته ولا يُخطىء مرماهلن يترك لك فرصة ذلك الفيلسوف الصغير لكى تُعمل عقلك فى محاولة لفهم ما تنطوى عليه قصصه القصيرة من حكمة إنسانية وفلسفة رمزيةلذا سيُصدق قلبك لا مُحال حديثه لأنه وحده من سيفهم لغة الأمير الصغير...."النجوم قد تكون مُرشدة لأحدهم فى ظُلمة الليل ..وقد تكون لُغزاً يتوجب معرفته من عالم فلك بارعوقد ترفع رأسك ذات ليله لترى فى كل نجمة زهرة وتحسب ان النجوم كلها قد ازهرت جميعها...والنجوم على اختلافها تظل صامتةوقد يعتقد أصدقاؤك انك مجنون"هل لي أن أخبرك امراً تصديقاً للأمير الصغير...إن كان هذا جنوناً فلا بأس من كونك مجنوناً :))
    more
  • Laurel
    May 6, 2007
    It was the first time in quite a while that I'd seen my uncle. He had crossed the country to visit us. When he reached our house, he hugged and kissed us all, then pulled out the English version of this book."This is for you," he said, "and on the next starry night, I'm going to read it to you."I gave him a puzzled look.He explained, "you have to read this on a night when you can see the stars. Don't worry, you'll understand."The starry night came, and we settled in for a few hours of reading. A It was the first time in quite a while that I'd seen my uncle. He had crossed the country to visit us. When he reached our house, he hugged and kissed us all, then pulled out the English version of this book."This is for you," he said, "and on the next starry night, I'm going to read it to you."I gave him a puzzled look.He explained, "you have to read this on a night when you can see the stars. Don't worry, you'll understand."The starry night came, and we settled in for a few hours of reading. As he finished the last page, we became silent. Then we stood up, went outside, and gazed up at the twinkling laughter of the little prince.I've been meaning to read the French version for a long time, and I've finally dedicated myself to reading it when I can spare a few minutes. So far, it is just as good as its English counterpart. Everyone, and I mean everyone, needs to read this book. It may break your heart a little bit.Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le coeur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.-Antoine de Saint-ExupéryLe Petit Prince
    more
  • Clau R.
    February 4, 2014
    Pero qué cosa tan más hermosa.Tengo un vago recuerdo de haberlo leído cuando estaba pequeña, pero ni de cerca me impactó como me ha impactado ahora.
  • أحمد
    April 7, 2009
    يقولون إنه من كُتب الأطفال! وأظن أن من يعتقد ذلك عَجَز عن فهم الكتاب. فهو ليس كتابا للأطفال، وإنما هو حُلمٌ عجيب لطفل كبير حكيم! حلم يبحث في دهشة عن حقيقة هذا العالم، ويسخر من شوائبه الزائلة، وممن يعتقد أنه "نضج" وفهم "الأمور المهمة" جيدا! هذا الكتاب ميزان للناس، من يقرؤه يعرف مكانه، ومن قرأه ولم يعرف مكانه، فهو في لا مكان!أحمد الديبمايو 2010تحديث: كتبت مقالًا عن الفيلم المتحرك المبني على قصة الأمير الصغير، وهذا رابطه:https://www.goodreads.com/author_blog...
    more
  • بثينة العيسى
    February 20, 2013
    كتاب لذيذ، شهي، عذب، لامسني في أعمق شغافي، في طفولتي. فتنني وعشقته، يندرُ أن أقبّل كتبي - إذ يجب التحفظ قليلا مع هذه الكائنات - ولكنني قبلتُ هذا الأمير الصغير، وردته ونجمته وبراكينه الخامدة، قبلته في قلبه.عودوا أطفالاً هنا :)
    more
  • Rowena
    January 4, 2013
    Oh this book! The Little Prince has been my faithful and trusted friend since I was a child. It's amazing how differently I looked at the book as an innocent 9 year old to the adult who I am now. The simple truths in this book are amazing, I could quote them for days and days. They are very philosophical and even though they are often over-quoted, it doesn't make them less true. The illustrations are simple. I re-read this book at least once a year to remind myself to be as inquisitive as a chil Oh this book! The Little Prince has been my faithful and trusted friend since I was a child. It's amazing how differently I looked at the book as an innocent 9 year old to the adult who I am now. The simple truths in this book are amazing, I could quote them for days and days. They are very philosophical and even though they are often over-quoted, it doesn't make them less true. The illustrations are simple. I re-read this book at least once a year to remind myself to be as inquisitive as a child. Having read both the English and French versions, I can say I love them equally in both languages.This book will always have a special place on my bookshelf.
    more
  • K.D. Absolutely
    April 8, 2009
    Review After Re-Reading - February 9, 2012Rating: 3 stars! Although I still liked it, I have to lower the rating by two stars because:1. The book is really intended for children as it is very whimsical and illogical. We husbands cannot give an empty wallet to our wives and tell them that there is our salary inside and expect them to be happy. Honey, here is my wallet, what is essential is invisible to your eyes!2. Saint-Ex contradicted himself so several times via his characters. For example, he Review After Re-Reading - February 9, 2012Rating: 3 stars! Although I still liked it, I have to lower the rating by two stars because:1. The book is really intended for children as it is very whimsical and illogical. We husbands cannot give an empty wallet to our wives and tell them that there is our salary inside and expect them to be happy. Honey, here is my wallet, what is essential is invisible to your eyes!2. Saint-Ex contradicted himself so several times via his characters. For example, he left his small planet because he was unhappy with his rose. So, why did he not go back right away since he was able to do so via the migratory birds. Why did he have to let the snake bite him for his soul to go back to his planet? (Ok. This is just my interpretation). 3. This just cannot be in the same rank together with my other top favorite books like Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude, Doris Lessing's The Golden Notebook or Vladimir Nabokov's Lolita. Although I admire Saint-Ex, his works (I read two including this) cannot hold candle to the works of these 3 favorite authors of mine. I know this is debatable but it's just a matter of preference. However, this is still my favorite children's book along with E. B. White's Charlotte's Web.To took me so long to figure this for myself: sometimes we love books not because they are really good but because of the memories associated with them. I think that's the main reason why I rated this 5 stars when I joined Goodreads.Don't get me wrong. While re-reading, this book still put a smile on my face. I just figured today that the reason was the memories. Had this been my first time to read this, I would have rated this, for whatever it's worth, also with 3-stars (I like this!)Original Review in March 2009 when I joined GoodreadsRating: 5 stars! First read in full sometime in 1992 when I was in college I will not be ashamed to admit that this is my favorite novel of them all. I read this when I was young and I can still recall the detail of each encounter or planet where he went. Who can also forget the famous line: "What is essential is invisible to the eye"? Even Ruffa Gutierrez quoted this line when she competed in Miss World beauty pageant a couple of decades ago. For all its ethereal beauty, meaningful lines and timeless messages, this novel is one that I will read again before I die and I hope Jillian will encourage her kids in the future to read this too.
    more
  • Michael Finocchiaro
    October 8, 2016
    One of the most poetic prose books I have ever read, The Petit Prince is a gorgeous and heart-warming story. Who could not resist this space-traveling Candide in his search to secure a home for his favourite flower and not guffaw at all the crazy bureaucrats and nutcases he encounters before meeting the narrator. The lessons for children are legion in this book: what does love mean, what is friendship, why do parents warn children about things, why are people mean sometimes, and this list goes o One of the most poetic prose books I have ever read, The Petit Prince is a gorgeous and heart-warming story. Who could not resist this space-traveling Candide in his search to secure a home for his favourite flower and not guffaw at all the crazy bureaucrats and nutcases he encounters before meeting the narrator. The lessons for children are legion in this book: what does love mean, what is friendship, why do parents warn children about things, why are people mean sometimes, and this list goes on into infinity. It is impossible not to be moved deeply by this masterpiece and also become enamoured with its naïve but beautiful artwork by Saint-Exupéry himself (even if he can't draw a sheep to the Prince's satisfaction). To be read, and re-read, and re-read and cherished ad infinitum. Draw me a sheep...
    more
  • Rinda Elwakil
    October 23, 2014
    "إن هؤلاء الكبار لا يدركون شيئاً من تلقاء نفوسهم، فلا بد للصغار أن يشرحوا لهم و يطيلوا الشرح و يكرروا، و لا يخفي ما في هذا من التعب و العناء"..كانت هذه معاناة طفل صغير ملّ أن الكبار لا يروا ما يراه، أقول لك أن هذا الرسم ثعبان بوا يهضم فيلاً، فلِم تصر علي أنه قُبعة؟!"الكبار جادون، جادون للغاية"رحل الصغير مُغضباً بطائرته الخاصة إلي صحراء أفريقية، في مكان يبعد ألف ميل عن كل أرض مسكونة..فلك أن تتخيل ذعره و هو يري طفلاً آخر أشقر الشعر يطلب منه أن يرسم له خروفاً..طفلاً يُدعي الأمير الصغير..صحبه الطفل "إن هؤلاء الكبار لا يدركون شيئاً من تلقاء نفوسهم، فلا بد للصغار أن يشرحوا لهم و يطيلوا الشرح و يكرروا، و لا يخفي ما في هذا من التعب و العناء"..كانت هذه معاناة طفل صغير ملّ أن الكبار لا يروا ما يراه، أقول لك أن هذا الرسم ثعبان بوا يهضم فيلاً، فلِم تصر علي أنه قُبعة؟!"الكبار جادون، جادون للغاية"رحل الصغير مُغضباً بطائرته الخاصة إلي صحراء أفريقية، في مكان يبعد ألف ميل عن كل أرض مسكونة..فلك أن تتخيل ذعره و هو يري طفلاً آخر أشقر الشعر يطلب منه أن يرسم له خروفاً..طفلاً يُدعي الأمير الصغير..صحبه الطفل القادم من كوكب صغير بعيد يستكشف إلي الكواكي و النجوم جميعها علّه يجد مكاناً أفضل..كان أحد الكواكب هو كوكب به ملك لم أر من هو أعدل منه، ملك عرف أنه من العدل ألا تطلب شيئاً من أحد لا يقدر عليه..إلا و هو خطؤك وحدك..فهو يطلب منك ما تقدر علي عمله، في الوقت المناسب تماماً و بهذا فهو الملك المُطاع بلا مخالفة دون أن يكرهه أحد..من هذا الكوكب إلي كواكب أخري في كل منهم عبرة و عظة..حتي ملّ الأمير الصغير و رحل إلي عالمه تاركاً مكان سقوطه في السماء نجمة، تاركاً كاتبنا هنا وحده..برجاء مرره إلي جميع من قرأ بالبحث عن الأمير الصغير :) أوافقك القول يا صديقي، الكبار جادون للغاية، الكبار مقززون..لا تَكبُر يا صغيري، ابق صغيراً بريئاً بسيطاً تماماً كالأمير الصغير..هي قصة للأطفال، و انا أحب قصص الأطفال كثيراً..إن لم تكن من هواة هذا النوع لن تروقك، فلا تلُمني :)
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    February 5, 2017
    I'm having one of those awkward moments where I, um...I just don't get it. Look, I've never been good with metaphors and absurdism books. I just get left in a small puddle of confusion. I think this book just wanted to say that adults suck because they don't listen to children. Which can be true. But being an adult doesn't always mean you've lost your imagination. (Hello?? Artists!!) So I don't know. It's either an allegory or a big metaphor or just one of those whimsy classics that are talking I'm having one of those awkward moments where I, um...I just don't get it. Look, I've never been good with metaphors and absurdism books. I just get left in a small puddle of confusion. I think this book just wanted to say that adults suck because they don't listen to children. Which can be true. But being an adult doesn't always mean you've lost your imagination. (Hello?? Artists!!) So I don't know. It's either an allegory or a big metaphor or just one of those whimsy classics that are talking about beautiful flowers but REALLY talking about something else. #helpme
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    August 24, 2016
    This was undoubtedly one of the most charming and beautiful things I have ever read! I clearly lived a very deprived childhood (lol) and had not previously read this, but the brilliance and lasting power of this story is such that it can be enjoyed by both adults and children alike. Indeed, much of the text seemed aimed at grown-ups, rather than the childhood audience this book is marketed at, and their inability to enjoy and devour the beauty that lives in the world. It has a philosophical and This was undoubtedly one of the most charming and beautiful things I have ever read! I clearly lived a very deprived childhood (lol) and had not previously read this, but the brilliance and lasting power of this story is such that it can be enjoyed by both adults and children alike. Indeed, much of the text seemed aimed at grown-ups, rather than the childhood audience this book is marketed at, and their inability to enjoy and devour the beauty that lives in the world. It has a philosophical and moralistic edge to it, which is offset wonderfully by the simplistic writing style and sweet illustrations. It might have come to me late in my life, but this will forever be a firm favourite.
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    April 26, 2008
    574. The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéryشهریار کوچولو - کتاب قرن بیستم - آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپری (امیرکبیر و نگاه)، برگردان احمد شاملو، ادبیاتاز بچه ها عذر میخواهم که این کتاب را به یکی از بزرگترها هدیه کرده ام. برای این کار یک دلیل حسابی دارم: این «بزرگتر» بهترین دوست من، تو همه ی دنیاست. یک دلیل دیگرم هم این که این «بزرگتر» همه چیز را میتواند بفهمد، حتا کتابهایی را که برای بچه ها نوشته باشند. عذر سومم این است که این «بزرگتر» تو فرانسه زندگی میکند، و آنجا گشنگی و تشنگی میکشد، و سخت محتاج 574. The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéryشهریار کوچولو - کتاب قرن بیستم - آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپری (امیرکبیر و نگاه)، برگردان احمد شاملو، ادبیاتاز بچه ­ها عذر می­خواهم که این کتاب را به یکی از بزرگترها هدیه کرده ­ام. برای این کار یک دلیل حسابی دارم: این «بزرگتر» بهترین دوست من، تو همه ی دنیاست. یک دلیل دیگرم هم این که این «بزرگتر» همه چیز را می­تواند بفهمد، حتا کتابهایی را که برای بچه ­ها نوشته باشند. عذر سومم این است که این «بزرگتر» تو فرانسه زندگی میکند، و آنجا گشنگی و تشنگی میکشد، و سخت محتاج دلجویی است. اگر همه­ ی این عذرها کافی نباشد، اجازه می­خواهم این کتاب را تقدیم آن بچه­ ای کنم، که این آدم بزرگ یک روزی بوده. آخر هر آدم بزرگی هم روزی روزگاری بچه ­ای بوده (گیرم کمتر کسی از آن­ها این را به یاد می­آورد). پس من هم اهدانامچه­ ام را به این شکل تصحیح میکنم: به لئون ورث، موقعی که پسربچه بود، آنتوان دو سنت اگزوپه ­ریمن هم برگردان فارسی این شعر بزرگ را به دو بچه ­ی دوست­داشتنی دیگر تقدیم میکنم: دکتر جهانگیر کازرونی و دکتر محمدجواد گلبناحمد شاملو
    more
  • Nishat
    July 21, 2015
    "Only the children know what they are looking for"A child is mysterious. He doesn't know much. The time that is offered to him, is the time he passes lavishly. Memories that he make, are the memories that will wound and comfort him later in his life. Secrets that he lock in his sweet, stubborn heart, are bits of the unattainable truth that he will search for later. Because a child knows enough. Because he knows what he wants."Wait for a time, exactly under the star. Then, if a little man appears "Only the children know what they are looking for"A child is mysterious. He doesn't know much. The time that is offered to him, is the time he passes lavishly. Memories that he make, are the memories that will wound and comfort him later in his life. Secrets that he lock in his sweet, stubborn heart, are bits of the unattainable truth that he will search for later. Because a child knows enough. Because he knows what he wants."Wait for a time, exactly under the star. Then, if a little man appears who laughs, who has golden hair and who refuses to answer questions, you will know who he is."The Little Prince is the most mesmerizing and unforgettable tale of liveliness, affection and loss of innocence, shaped and drawn by the very talented Antoine de Saint-Exupéry that has been making us laugh and weep for years.The narrator who crashes in the desert as the author, Saint-Exupéry once did, believes that the grown-ups, in his view, can’t really see past the surface of things. And miraculously he meets a tiny boy in the desert wandering alone, referred as The Little Prince who shares the same perspective. Together they dissect the very human nature which is enough I believe, to shake the readers who are all too wrapped up in their own affairs and make them to contemplate on their priorities. "It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye."Who is to tell a child that in stars dead do not linger? Who is to tell a child that he does not know what he thinks he does? We live in a shell. Only when you pierce through that shell that we put proudly on, you will know the truth. Because only then the heart will have eyes and the heart will see. Because only then a mediocre poem of a hard working poet will be cared for. Because what matters most is always bigger than us !This is not a children's book clearly. The flower represents the author's Salvadoran wife whom he cheated on several times, but yet could not leave or forget. Because in other flowers, he found merely emptiness, but in her he smelled of love and dedication that he solely owned. The grasping baobab trees represented Nazism attempting to destroy the planet. The little prince is widely believed to be the author's own self."There is a flower. And I think that she has tamed me"In each heart, lives a bunch of people who have loved us and whom we have loved. Through storm and sunshine, they will choose us again and again like they have before and we will choose them back. Because they are the ones we call our own, because they are the ones who have tamed us.And I guess, The Little Prince has tamed me as well.[ Read and reviewed when I was as well a child ]
    more
  • Juliana Zapata
    May 8, 2015
    No hay ninguna crítica que hacer a este libro. Recuerdo haberlo leído cuando estaba en el colegio, pero volver a leerlo ha sido increíble. Siento que este es un libro para cualquier edad, porque dependiendo de la edad que tengas le darás una interpretación u otra. Simplemente hermoso Reseña Completa: http://bastvilard.blogspot.com/2015/0...
    more
  • Μaria Vrisanaki
    February 3, 2017
    Πόσο γλυκό!Πόσο τρυφερό!Και πόσο συγκινητικό!Εντάξει, το παραδέχομαι, έκλαψα... λίγο. Όσο το διάβαζα, χαμογελούσα σαν χαζή. Ευχόμουν να ξαναγίνω έτσι, αθώα! Δεν ήθελα να τελειώσει με αυτό τον τρόπο, αλλά ξέρω ότι αυτό έπρεπε να γίνει.Αγάπησα αυτό το μικρό βιβλίο για τα μεγάλα διδάγματα του και τα συναισθήματα που γεννά με τον πιο παιδικό τρόπο!Θα το διάβαζα και θα το ξαναδιάβαζα και θα το ξαναδιάβαζαΚαι θα το ξαναδιαβάσωΕυχαριστώ για το τόσο όμορφο δώρο :)
    more
Write a review