Talent Is Not Enough
Presents what designers need - besides talent - to turn their artistic success into business success. This work helps you learn things such as: How to get on the right career path; How to market your services successfully; How to avoid common legal pitfalls; How to structure projects for success; The secrets of successful teams; and, more.

Talent Is Not Enough Details

TitleTalent Is Not Enough
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 1st, 2005
PublisherNew Riders Publishing
ISBN0321278798
ISBN-139780321278791
Number of pages391 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Business, Nonfiction, Productivity, Art, Art Design

Talent Is Not Enough Review

  • Tatiana Jimenez
    June 10, 2010
    I may be a bit biased because I read this book as a required text for a class taught by the book's author, but I found this to be an incredibly helpful resource. From tax preparation to copyright infringement, Shel Perkins has a wealth of knowledge that he generously shares in this easily digestible book about how to be a successful business person in the world of creative professions. I highly recommend this book for designers. I'm sure I'll be hanging on to this text for a while.
    more
  • Tim Hogan
    December 1, 2009
    Great foundation for small business owners in the creative field.
  • Doug Cheever
    December 1, 2010
    This book already has some of the great names in design giving it 5 stars, so who am I to be any different.In short, every designer should have this book. As an AIGA member, which is a professional group for designers, and board member I can say that this is the resource for anyone planning a professional development workshop or speaker engagement for designers. FYI, there's also a new addition as well as chapter updates on Shel's site. If you've met the man, or heard him speak you get a sense o This book already has some of the great names in design giving it 5 stars, so who am I to be any different.In short, every designer should have this book. As an AIGA member, which is a professional group for designers, and board member I can say that this is the resource for anyone planning a professional development workshop or speaker engagement for designers. FYI, there's also a new addition as well as chapter updates on Shel's site. If you've met the man, or heard him speak you get a sense of how brilliant he is, but you really have to read this book to appreciate how well he can explain the landscape of the design business. There's even a chapter on in-house designers...the most overlooked group of creatives. Nuf said.
    more
  • Shanti
    October 16, 2008
    This book should have been text in my design department. So many designers leave school without knowing a lick about how to run a business for themselves or even work within one. We are given the tools and guidance for space management, but few of us are advised how to make money and sustain ourselves in the industry.Talent is Not Enough offers great advice, line after line and I highly recommend this to anyone in the creative industry who freelances or manages a small firm.
    more
  • Tiffany
    December 10, 2010
    Excellent detail and well-organized, useful information. This book is a great reference for both freelancers and small-business owners. It's thorough and thoughtful, which is always nice when one is just starting out.
  • Aals
    August 16, 2009
    AWESOME! This book helped me and is helping me restructure some things within my business! A MUST READ for freelancers, designers, CEOs, Project Managers, etc.
  • Sara McAllister
    February 9, 2009
    Good read with practical advice for designers, particularly those wanting to set up shop. As a design note, the outer margins were annoyingly wide.
  • Krista
    December 2, 2009
    Good, basic information on running a profitable creative business.
  • Clint Walkingstick
    January 21, 2016
    If you want to run a creative business, you MUST read this book.
  • Erik
    May 11, 2008
    Lots of valuable information for folks who want to be freelance designers. There's always something you think you know about but don't really know. Get this book and stay out of trouble.
Write a review