To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)
What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once? Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1) Details

TitleTo All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 20th, 2015
PublisherPenerbit Spring
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1) Review

  • Avery TheLibrariansDaughter
    January 1, 1970
    If I wrote this book it would go a little something like this: To all the boys I've loved before... Fuck You.
  • Khanh, first of her name, mother of bunnies
    January 1, 1970
    There are certain lines that you do not cross, and coveting your beloved sister's ex-boyfriend is one of them. That's why this book made me gag a little.This book was purposeless. There was no ending. There was no romance. There was no character growth (and the main character was pretty dumb to begin with). I don't usually read contemporary YA novels, but when I do, I have certain expectations. I want sweetness, I want a character that matures, and I want some really cute romance. Yeah. Me. Want There are certain lines that you do not cross, and coveting your beloved sister's ex-boyfriend is one of them. That's why this book made me gag a little.This book was purposeless. There was no ending. There was no romance. There was no character growth (and the main character was pretty dumb to begin with). I don't usually read contemporary YA novels, but when I do, I have certain expectations. I want sweetness, I want a character that matures, and I want some really cute romance. Yeah. Me. Wanting a cute romance. It happens!That was what I wanted out of this book. I don't think it's too much to ask. I didn't get much of anything, so really, it felt like I read this book for no reason at all. I am left completely unsatisfied. Why did I waste my time?In short:1. There is no ending!!!!!!! If you want a definite conclusion or an HEA, get the heck away from this book.2. The main character (Lara Jean) is silly, childish, and privileged in a sheltered upper-middle-class kind of way. She never really matured.3. There was no true romance. There is a halfhearted love triangle. The romance is a literal "contract," a pretend one to make an ex-girlfriend and a former crush jealous. They are friends, nothing more.4. The main character has long since been crushing on her big sister's ex-boyfriend. Excuse me while I throw up my recently ingested dinner.5. There is almost no female friendship in the book. Lara Jean has a best friend (Chris) who is an outrageous, loud slut, and they so rarely talk and that their relationship feels pointless and artificial.The Plot: "[Josh] is into you.”I freeze. “No, he isn’t. He loves my sister. He always has and he always will.” Lara Jean has been in love with Josh for a long time. They've grown up alongside each other for the past five years; her dad and sisters all adore Josh. There's just one problem with her little crush: Josh is dating her older sister, Margot. Margot is about to leave for college, so she decides to do the decent thing and break up with him. Josh is left brokenhearted. Lara Jean sees him crying. She thinks... If you were mine, I would never have broken up with you, not in a million years. Lara Jean is a romantic. She has had a few crushes in her life, and she has written love letters to all of them. There has been five.And now there's a problem: someone has sent all her crushes the love letters that she wrote them (if you can't guess who it is, we seriously need to have a talk). This is problematic...because Lara Jean wrote a letter to Josh. And Peter. This is a nightmare. Peter Kavinsky is holding my letter in his hand. It’s my handwriting, my envelope, my everything. “How—how did you get that?”“It came in the mail yesterday.” Peter sighs. To a teenaged girl, to any girl or woman, really, this is truly a mortifying experience, having your crushes find out is just an unimaginable humiliation. When Josh finds out, Lara Jean has no choice but to save face. She pretends to be dating one of her letter recipients, Peter. It turns out that Peter is in need of a little distraction himself. “Let’s just do this for a little while.”“Do what?”“Let’s let people think we’re a couple.”Wait...what? Peter has recently been dumped by his girlfriend, Genevieve. He wants to make his ex-girlfriend jealous, Lara Jean needs to pretend that Josh means nothing to her. They enter into a dating contract. But then Lara Jean finds himself liking Peter...but is Peter truly over his ex-gf? And what happens when Josh realizes that he might have feelings for her after all? “Ever since I got your letter...I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you.” Lara Jean: Inoffensive, silly, stupid at times, and incredibly boring. Lara Jean reminds me of some of my baby sister's friends. She is so starry-eyed with innocence that I just wanted to slap some reality into her. She is stupid at times, she runs a stop sign, she takes some stupid risks involving her own baby sister and a car seat, she would probably buy the London Bridge from you if you offered it to her. I have a sudden revelation. I lower my voice and say, “Wait...can you read?”He bursts out laughing. “Yes, I can read! Geez, Lara Jean.” He snorts. “Can I read? I’ve written you multiple notes! You’re hilarious.” She never really matured throughout the novel. Her maturity at the end of the book equates to "I can order pizza for my dad and sister while my older sister is out of the country now!" She has the sort of wide-eyed innocence that makes me think, "Child, the real world is going to chew you up and spit you out one day." I want a certain toughness in my main characters, not a starry-eyed fluff of an overprotected, privileged upper-middle-class girl. Her definition of maturity includes admitting to her mistakes... I brighten up and then I remember how Margot said I’m in charge now. I’m pretty sure taking responsibility for one’s mistakes is part of being in charge. Lara Jean feels like a 13-year old.Your sister's EX, REALLY?!: I don't know about you, but I find the thought of dating my sister's ex pretty fucking nauseating, and I'm willing to bet that my sister feels the same way about my ex-boyfriend. Let's get one thing straight, if you're going to be in a relationship with someone, there's going to be some touching involved. You're going to go beyond first base.The last thing I need when I'm kissing a guy is thinking about my sister kissing the same pair of lips. The last thing I need when I'm *ahem* a guy is knowing my sister has probably done the same thing to him. The last thing I need when I'm sleeping with a guy is to be thinking "Has my sister been in this bed? Under these same sheet?"Gross. Gross. GROSS. No, thank you.To top it off, do you really want to be dating a guy who was thinking about you when he was dating your sister? What does that say about his behaviors, his morality? What does that say about his character. Is he going to do the same thing to your OTHER sister 10 years down the road? (Lara Jean has two sisters) Do you really want your sister's leftover? Do you really want to date him knowing that he's had sex with your sister? Why would you even consider that? What kind of a sister would you be? I don't care if your sister broke up with HIM. It's still a betrayal of the worst sort.Female Friendship: When I read a contemporary novel, one of the things I look forward to is a realistic, true portrayal of female friendship. Instead, I have this: I wish I’d made more friends. If I had more friends, maybe I wouldn’t have done something as stupid as kiss Peter K. in the hallway and tell Josh he’s my boyfriend. What Romance?: There really is no romance in this book. There is barely anything but Lara Jean mooning and daydreaming that she and Josh were Meant To Be, if only he could see it. Her fake relationship with Peter....petered out. Lara Jean may find herself liking Peter more and more every day, but there's the fact that Peter is not over his ex-girlfriend. He doesn’t know it, but when Peter talks about Genevieve, he gets a certain softness in his face. It’s tenderness mixed with impatience. And something else. Love. Peter can protest all he wants, but I know he still loves her. Lara Jean is supposed to be developing a true relationship with Peter, but how can she, when it's clear that Peter has a tremendous amount of emotional baggage. Peter shakes his head. “What Gen and I have is completely separate from you and me,” he says. I was truly disappointed by this book. I wanted a sweet romance. I wanted to be swept away. I didn't get anything, and the ending left me reeling with disappointment because, while it was not a cliffhanger, nothing ever got resolved.
    more
  • C.G. Drews
    January 1, 1970
    REREAD #2: February 2018So I absolutely frikkin ADORED this book when I first read it and proceeded to order book 2 immediately and then wait in agony for it to arrive. And then (remember: SO MUCH AGONY)...I proceeded to not read it. Because my ship. My ship. Anyway I went ahead and forgot the whole thing so that's great of me. I'm only now rereading it because I own the second two books and intend to read them soon.SOMEONE HOLD ME TO IT OMG or I'll just keep rereading this one until my heart ex REREAD #2: February 2018So I absolutely frikkin ADORED this book when I first read it and proceeded to order book 2 immediately and then wait in agony for it to arrive. And then (remember: SO MUCH AGONY)...I proceeded to not read it. Because my ship. My ship. Anyway I went ahead and forgot the whole thing so that's great of me. I'm only now rereading it because I own the second two books and intend to read them soon.SOMEONE HOLD ME TO IT OMG or I'll just keep rereading this one until my heart explodes.Reread Thoughts:• this book is so freaking cute and adorable• and all the fOOD• this is everything I need in a fluff contemporary• lowkey hate Josh and Margot (she is so callous and totally dismissive of Lara Jean's anxiety)• speaking of which I LOVE how Lara Jean's anxiety was represented. I don't think she has a disorder, she's just a bit anxious but !! I love this !! in books !! It's so relatable to have lowkey anxiety in books as well. <3• Kitty is absolutely fantastic and also Slytherin• Lara Jean is like the Hufflepuff amongst all these Slytherins it is good• Lara Jean's life is like "is this aesthetic because that's what matters" and that is such quality I can get behind• get this girl onto Pinterest• did I mention how hungry i am• ALSO MY SHIP IS LARA AND PETER SO BADLY I CAN'T STAND MYSELF PLS LET IT SAIL ARTHGGHAGH• omg fan**READ #1: Sept 2016I actually love this book FAR TOO MUCH. And I am actually genuinely in a mood because it's over and I NEED THE SEQUEL AND I DON'T HAVE THE SEQUEL. I'M SERIOUSLY UPSET. I'm supposed to be a Vulcan who doesn't even love contemporary that much...WHO AM I. WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO ME. I freaking loved this book and I'm just over here sobbing.[composes self]Okay okay let's talk about it SENSIBLY. (Omg where is my Vulcan soul, come back here you runaway.) And obviously I'll just write a list of all the things I NEED TO FLAIL OVER in this book:• It's delightfully diverse! With Lara Jean being half Korean ergo biracial.• And IT HAS SISTERS. Like I seriously love sister books because I have one or four of them myself. So it's enormously relatable. Plus Lara Jean sort of has this rift with her older sister when Margot goes off to school...and it just really hit home for me. 3 I really really really related to aaaaall the sisterly dynamics in here. This is so what it is to be sisters. YA WANNA KILL 'EM AND HUG 'EM SIMULTANEOUSLY.• Did I mention Lara Jean is fantastic?!? She is quiet and likes to be at home and she loves baking and she knits and scrapbooks and SHE IS HAPPY TO BE HER. I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH I COULD CRY!! Plus I generally find the "quiet" people in books tend to also be seriously boring. Was Lara Jean boring?? HAHAAH #NOPE. She was so interesting and fun and witty and also scared and reserved and just...she felt like absolutely a real person. Which is what I want to read about!• BLESS THESE CHARACTERS. BLESS THIS BOOK.• Okay it is a love triangle...but it is a downright amazing one. And it's complicated. Because Lara Jean writes letters to boys she's loved as a "let go" thing. But someone sends them (!!) and the boys get them (!!) and her sister's ex-boyfriend, Josh, gets one. In order to NOT lose face with Josh (hello, he's her sister's!) Lara Jean "pretends" to get together with Peter Kavinsky. Peter and Lara Jean are totally using each other and it's all a fake relationship...at first. But the basic gloriousness of it is: (A) both boys are interesting and complex characters, and (B) I liked them both a lot at the beginning, and (C) it wasn't a case of Lara Jean being "in love with two people". IT WAS NEVER LIKE THAT. So I loved this triangle!! Perfection!• I absolutely freakishly enormously LOVE PETER KAVINSKY. I can't breath. Someone send help. No no send cookies.• And Josh started off cool but then?? eh. No.• Also I kind of hated Margo, but whatever. Kitty (who is the 9yo sister) was fantastic so that makes up for it.• ALSO DID WE TALK ABOUT THE AMOUNT OF FOOD IN HERE YET??? This is true foodie fiction. I'm not even kidding: there is AT LEAST food mentioned in every chapter. Like meals and outings and ice cream and baking (SO SO MUCH BAKING) I literally died several times. NO I'M NOT EVEN KIDDING. I had to stop reading and go eat a banana muffin and sour cream because I was starving. Curse this book omg. • ALL BOOKS SHOULD BE THIS FOODIE. It fully gets an extra star for the food. It does. I'm not even ashamed.• Also the character development?!??!?? I AM IN LOVE WITH IT. I just...I ship Lara Jean and Peter so bad someone hold me I'm crying. I'm a wreck. UGHGGH. But I love how Lara Jean developed over the course of the book and I loved how the book wasn't completely angsty or anything. It was just beautifully written and interesting and fully captivating.• I like it.• HAHAHAH JUST KIDDING I LOVE IT.(Excuse me, I need to go sit down, I've fangirled too much and I don't know what to do with myself.)(Also I want to eat.)(Darn this book.)Lucas smiles. "You're so cute," he says, and I perk up again. Then he says, "Listen, can you not tell anybody though? I mean, I'm out, but I'm not out yet. You knwo what I mean?""Totally," I say, super confident."For instance, my mom knows but my dad only kind of knows. I haven't outright told him.""Got it.""I just let people believe what they please. I don't feel like it's my responsibility to quantify myself for them. I mean, you get what I'm talking about. As a biracial person, I'm sure people are always asking you what race you are, right?"I haven't thought of it that way before, but yes yes yes! Lucas just gets it. "Exactly. It's like, why do you need to know?""Exactly.""My favourite food is cake""What kind of cake?""It doesn't matter. All cake.""You jsut gave me so much shit for not picking," he begins."But it's so hard to pick one kind!" I burst out. "I mean, there's coconut cake, the kind with white forsting that looks like a snowball -- I like that a lot. But then I also like cheesecake, and lemon cake, and carrot cake. Also red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting, and chocolate cake with chocoalte ganache frosting." I pause. "Have you ever had olive-oil cake?""No. That sounds weird.""It's really, really goood. Really moist and delicious. I'll make it for you."Peter groans. "You're making me hungry."YOU AND ME BOTH, PETER. [SOBBING BECAUSE NEEDS CAKE]
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    January 1, 1970
    Well... That was disappointing.I absolutely could not stand Lara Jean's voice. She sounded like a child, even though she's 16 years old. STOP. She also cried any time something mildly unfortunate happened, and that got old real fast.I fail to see how any of the romance in this book was cute. There are two love interests, and both of them were horrible. I wasn't rooting for either of them at all.ALSO, the letters, which I thought would be a big part of the story, were really only used as somethin Well... That was disappointing.I absolutely could not stand Lara Jean's voice. She sounded like a child, even though she's 16 years old. STOP. She also cried any time something mildly unfortunate happened, and that got old real fast.I fail to see how any of the romance in this book was cute. There are two love interests, and both of them were horrible. I wasn't rooting for either of them at all.ALSO, the letters, which I thought would be a big part of the story, were really only used as something to spice up the plot near the beginning, and once they had served their purpose, they stopped mattering. Lara Jean didn't even seem to care who sent them out, or why, and that really bothered me. Who would just be like OH WELL. LOL MOVING ON.It started out as a fun, light read, but it lacked substance, which is why I didn't really enjoy it.
    more
  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    The Blurb: Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.The Reality: Privileged, boring, 16-year-old girl (whose "voice" sounds closer to 12) feels sorry for herself because her sister's boyfriend doesn't want her. Until he does. Conclusion? There is none. Just a lot of faffing about, moronically pining, and an inconclusive non-ending.2014 Contemporary YA sucks. So many books I' The Blurb: Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.The Reality: Privileged, boring, 16-year-old girl (whose "voice" sounds closer to 12) feels sorry for herself because her sister's boyfriend doesn't want her. Until he does. Conclusion? There is none. Just a lot of faffing about, moronically pining, and an inconclusive non-ending.2014 Contemporary YA sucks. So many books I've been looking forward to have let me down. Other books that I've taken a chance on have also let me down. Honestly, where are the sophisticated but no less realistic and dramatic voices of authors like Melina Marchetta or Courtney Summers? Why does every YA narrator have the same recycled, immature narrative voice? I am seriously starting to wonder if Young Adult has ran its course. My reading of the past few years has been defined by trends in YA; I've been propelled towards dystopias and fantasy novels with teen protagonists and I've loved, hated, laughed, cried and obsessed. Now I have to wonder: has the "genre" finally ran out of steam?To All the Boys I've Loved Before is about a girl called Lara Jean who's been crushing on her sister's boyfriend since before they were together. Her sister, Margot, will soon be leaving for college so she breaks up with said boyfriend - Josh - leaving him behind and single and oh so heartbroken. Then there's the other part of this story: Lara Jean has written love letters to all her past crushes (5). Never sent them, of course, just written down the emotions and angst as a kind of release. Now a mysterious someone (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)] has sent all her letters to the respective crushes, including Josh. Obviously, Lara Jean is mortified and decides to deal with the embarrassment by pretending to be in a relationship with one of the recipients who has some issues of his own - Peter. Drama ensues. Josh changes his mind. Lara Jean starts to think that maybe she has feelings for Peter. But does Peter have feelings for her? It amazes me how little Lara Jean seems to realise that it's kinda weird for her to seriously pursue a relationship with her sister's ex. But whatever, it's not like that's my main problem with this book. My main problem is Lara Jean herself. She is immature, naive, silly, spoiled and behaves (and thinks) a lot younger than she actually is. I guess there's a fine line between innocence and annoying, upper middle class ignorance, but I find that Lara Jean is heading towards the latter. I know teenagers tend to have a silly obsession with boys (or girls, whatever) but her narrative voice is so childish, whiny and uninteresting that it's hard to sympathise with her at any point. And she never learns, never develops, never grows. Time and life experiences have come and gone by the time this novel ends, but LJ is the same old girl. Forever lacking in charisma.Very flat, dull and pointless book.For you lil whippersnappers out there who haven't heard the song with the same idea, get to it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZqryI...Blog | Leafmarks | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • Regan
    January 1, 1970
    I read this in a day. SO CUTE. Follows a girl called Lara Jean and through her life she has written letters to all the boys she has loved in her past, she keeps these letters safely tucked away from the word. However, one day she finds they are gone, her letters have been sent out, and everyone she has ever loved now knows. Including her older sisters ex-boyfriend. This story follows Lara Jean as she struggles with her relationship with her older sister and her past loves. It had so many levels, I read this in a day. SO CUTE. Follows a girl called Lara Jean and through her life she has written letters to all the boys she has loved in her past, she keeps these letters safely tucked away from the word. However, one day she finds they are gone, her letters have been sent out, and everyone she has ever loved now knows. Including her older sisters ex-boyfriend. This story follows Lara Jean as she struggles with her relationship with her older sister and her past loves. It had so many levels, yes it was a "love story" but it also focused on the relationship between sisters and family. I really really enjoyed this, and when I read the last page I actually got angry because I wanted more. I really hope this is a series.
    more
  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    January 1, 1970
    (3.75?) With the movie coming out soon, I decided to finally pick this book up. It's a YA contemporary with a romance so really it's not my usual genre but I've been a bit in a slump and needed a pick me up.This was perfect for it! Lara Jean has loved 5 boys in her life and has written to each of a them a love letter that she hid before moving on. One day they are all sent and she has to deal with the consequences.This was cute! It's all about family, relationships and getting out of your comfor (3.75?) With the movie coming out soon, I decided to finally pick this book up. It's a YA contemporary with a romance so really it's not my usual genre but I've been a bit in a slump and needed a pick me up.This was perfect for it! Lara Jean has loved 5 boys in her life and has written to each of a them a love letter that she hid before moving on. One day they are all sent and she has to deal with the consequences.This was cute! It's all about family, relationships and getting out of your comfort zone. It wasn't cringy and yes there's a love triangle but I enjoyed the book.I'm continuing the series. UPDATE: After reading the second book, I'm reducing my rating to 3 stars. I already felt like this could have been a standalone but I now 100% think it SHOULD have been.
    more
  • Shreya (☆High Lady of The Night Court☆)
    January 1, 1970
    I was extremely shocked when I started reading this book. The intention was to read the first paragraph and if I didn’t feel like it I would pick another book. I couldn’t stop. I read the first sentence, the first paragraph, the first chapter and that's it, I was not going to stop, it just wasn’t an option anymore. There are few books that will rope you in so completely that you can't help but keep reading, this is definitely one of them. I loved everything about this book, the characters, the s I was extremely shocked when I started reading this book. The intention was to read the first paragraph and if I didn’t feel like it I would pick another book. I couldn’t stop. I read the first sentence, the first paragraph, the first chapter and that's it, I was not going to stop, it just wasn’t an option anymore. There are few books that will rope you in so completely that you can't help but keep reading, this is definitely one of them. I loved everything about this book, the characters, the story, the relationships. This is the fastest I've fallen in love with characters in a long time.Every word, every sentence, every paragraph is bursting with so much emotion, it shouldn’t be possible. The love, the happiness, the sorrow, the regret, all of it is so overwhelming yet so perfect. From the very start all the way to the end there is not a single moment I would change about this book. Every conversation, every interaction will have you hanging on each of the words both spoken and thought. The relationships, let it be family, friends, or something unrealised all have so much emotional weight to them I couldn’t help but love them.The characters are very well thought out. Each of them have a depth and realism to them that drew me in no matter what. Their secrets, the parts of them they refuse to reveal to the world, and all their emotional baggage just adds to my love of them. You'd think with all the love interests going on it would get slightly irritating but it doesn't, not in the least. The love interests and each of their attributes are so well written that no matter what happens with them, and in between them, I will continue to like each of them for the individuals they are. Our protagonist, Lara Jean is an amazing protagonist and for a story such as this I wouldn't have wished for anyone else. The familial bond between all of them, because of the past they share, or because of the responsibility they have towards each other is mesmerising.The story’s plot is that Lara Jean wrote letters to all the boys she has loved, they may be perceived as love letters but to her they are good bye letters. She writes down every single thing she feels towards them and by doing so she is free of the all consuming live she bears for them. But someone has posted these letters to the boys they were written for and her heart will face the most arduous experience in her life. This is the plot but all the little bits surrounding this plot are what makes the story so phenomenal. They add that tiny piece of love that completes this work of art. This story had me hanging on every syllable and I am a fool to have not picked this up earlier. The story was written from the heart and I wouldn't have it any other way. Love emanates from this book and I couldn’t help but reciprocate. Jenny Han has written one of the best contemporaries I have read and I rate it 5 stars without second thought. "Love is scary: it changes; it can go away. That's the part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore."
    more
  • Christine Delilah (Maramochabooks)
    January 1, 1970
    Straight out of a Taylor Swift song. Disclaimer: I do like Jenny Han, I love her covers, and I think she's a good writer. With all that being said, I have to comment on the characters. Please don't take this too seriously. Plot Rundown: Lara Jean is an invisible, Potterhead, Tumblrite, anime fan, non-partygoer, aka: Relatable teenager....So typical teen Lara Jean writes love letters which she never sends to her crushes, in order to get over them: “If love is like a possession, maybe my letter Straight out of a Taylor Swift song. Disclaimer: I do like Jenny Han, I love her covers, and I think she's a good writer. With all that being said, I have to comment on the characters. Please don't take this too seriously. Plot Rundown: Lara Jean is an invisible, Potterhead, Tumblrite, anime fan, non-partygoer, aka: Relatable teenager....So typical teen Lara Jean writes love letters which she never sends to her crushes, in order to get over them: “If love is like a possession, maybe my letter are like my exorcisms” One day, all her letters are accidentally sent! Now invisible girl is forced out of her shell, when popular cool boy asks her to be his fake gf in order to make his ex jealous! Things are even more complicated, since she has a major crush on her older sisters boyfriend. Like, she totally stole him from her! He was Lara Jean's friend first! What an interesting, never before seen, 10/10 romance, right? Let me show you how amazing these characters are through quotes: “Peter smiles, and ugh, it's annoying how handsome he is.” I know she's a teenager, but you'll be hearing how annoyingly handsome he is in every chapter. "He starts to run his fingers through my hair, and it feels so nice I can't think straight. It's better than getting my hair washed at the salon. I move my hands down his back and along his spine, and he shivers and pulls me closer. A boy's back feels so different than a girl's back- more muscular, more solid somehow." I'm sorry, but that sounds like how a middle schooler would describe a kiss. "A boy's back feels so different than a girl's back." No shit. "What girl wouldn't fall for Peter Kavinsky, handsome boy of all the Handsome Boys." I need to warn you, that this quote was mentioned in both novels... "He's Peter Kavinsky for Pete's sake. Kavinsky of Gen and Kavinsky. It doesn't matter that they're broken up. They're an institution at this institution." I don't even know what to say about this one... "Josh won't be in the cafeteria- that's for popular people-" What? Since when was eating lunch at a table, only for "popular" people? What does everyone else do, cram in the washroom? Eat on the lawn? “He's being sarcastic. I hate when people are sarcastic. It's so cheap.” God, I'm the cheapest person out there, then. “He deserves background music, he looks so good.” My background music would probably go from sophisticated instrumental all the way to heavy metal. Those are the two appearances either: Look at me this outfits new, or I don't care I'm comfortable. I'd probably turn the music down on both occasions. Overall thoughts This felt more middle grade, but there was some swearing. I wouldn't recommend this to readers who prefer meaningful reads when it comes to contemporaries. P.S. Exams are over! I'll be interacting with everyone much more now ♥
    more
  • Clau R.
    January 1, 1970
    AHHHHHHHHHHHH.
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    “Do you know what it’s like to like someone so much you can’t stand it and know that they’ll never feel the same way?” To All The Boys I've Loved Before is as quirky and cute as it's protagonist.After the first few pages I wasn't sure I would finish this book. Everything seemed so picture perfect, so girlie. The way Lara Jean always said "Daddy", how Kitty outwitted any other living nine-year-old, etc. But I'm glad I kept reading, even though the plot wasn't overexciting and very predictable. N “Do you know what it’s like to like someone so much you can’t stand it and know that they’ll never feel the same way?” To All The Boys I've Loved Before is as quirky and cute as it's protagonist.After the first few pages I wasn't sure I would finish this book. Everything seemed so picture perfect, so girlie. The way Lara Jean always said "Daddy", how Kitty outwitted any other living nine-year-old, etc. But I'm glad I kept reading, even though the plot wasn't overexciting and very predictable. Nothing new or original, but nevertheless a lot of fun.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    Reread in June 2015 for my Goodreads group readalong! Loved it just as much the second time! 1st read:SO CUTE. I loved the Song sister's relationship! Can't wait for book two! I didn't realize at first that there were going to be more and I was so sad that this book was over :(Keep watching for my full review! PLUS a giveaway is coming soon near you soon!! *wink wink*
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so dramatic and childish that I just could not enjoy it. Lara Jean's plan was so foolish and the love triangle in this was so irritating that I found myself craving the scenes that focused on family rather than relationships. I gave this book some stars though because I listened to it on audiobook in two sittings and it was rather addicting, even though I hated Peter and the ending was a bit of a let-down. You might like this if you're into dramatic, cheesy YA books about jealousy This book was so dramatic and childish that I just could not enjoy it. Lara Jean's plan was so foolish and the love triangle in this was so irritating that I found myself craving the scenes that focused on family rather than relationships. I gave this book some stars though because I listened to it on audiobook in two sittings and it was rather addicting, even though I hated Peter and the ending was a bit of a let-down. You might like this if you're into dramatic, cheesy YA books about jealousy and angst and love triangles, but it was not my cup of tea. Which is a shame, because I really liked The Summer I Turned Pretty.
    more
  • Natalie Monroe
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT 8/2/2014: Marking this down to one star. My original 3-star review can be found below.Let's kick off this review with a little music:Look at me, I'm Lara Jean!Lousy at figuring out mysteriesWon't drive a car unless I absolutely have toI can't! I'm Lara Jean!Watch it! Hey, I'm Miss Goody Two-shoesI was not brought up that wayScandalized byPeter cheating off a quizBecause cheating is so wrooooong.That, ladies and gentlemen, is our protagonist. The girl whose head we have to live in for 288 pa EDIT 8/2/2014: Marking this down to one star. My original 3-star review can be found below.Let's kick off this review with a little music:Look at me, I'm Lara Jean!Lousy at figuring out mysteriesWon't drive a car unless I absolutely have toI can't! I'm Lara Jean!Watch it! Hey, I'm Miss Goody Two-shoesI was not brought up that wayScandalized byPeter cheating off a quizBecause cheating is so wrooooong.That, ladies and gentlemen, is our protagonist. The girl whose head we have to live in for 288 pages. The saintly, ineffable Lara Jean. "I brighten up and then I remember how Margot said I'm in charge now. I'm pretty sure taking responsibility for one's mistakes is part of being in charge" In other words, the new Hannah Montana.Lara Jean is a half-Korean, half-American teenager (the book never lets you forget this) and the story starts with her big sister Margot leaving for college, thus, breaking her now ex-boyfriend's heart. Lara Jean helps pick up the pieces because unbeknownst to anyone, she's been crushing on Josh for years. But since he's Margot's, she bundles up her feelings, only expressing them through a letter and hides that letter away along with others dedicated to the boys she's loved over the years. But one day, those letters are sent out and LJ, on impulse, decides to fake-go out with another letter recipient, Peter from grade school, to show Josh how she's totes not into him. How will this love triangle end?Honestly though, I may make fun of it, but I actually liked the romance element. It was sweet and Lara Jean's gradual feelings for one boy made me smile multiple times while I was reading. The main problem was Lara Jean. She is extremely, near painfully innocent. She calls her dad Daddy. She doesn't like swearing. She is absolutely scandalized when she finds out Peter cheated on a test in seventh grade.This is not a teenager. This is your local kindergarten tattletale, who will inevitably get the stars punched out of her eyes when she goes out into the real world. Or my house works too.Her love interest, Josh is no better. He's the one who told on Peter for cheating. Seriously, who the hell does that?Peter was the most realistic out of the three. He's not perfect or particularly sensitive. He teases Lara Jean. He has a tendency to take the last piece of food without asking people. And when his friends confront him on whether he had sex with Lara Jean, he reacts the way I think a normal teenage guy would—by neither confirming or denying anything and letting the rumors run its course. But he can also be incredibly sweet without bordering on wish fulfillment. He apologizes to Lara Jean for the rumor thing. Peter is not a douche nor is he a Ken doll. He's a regular boy, trying to do right by his fake girlfriend. And I love him for it.The plot is alright, though anyone with two functioning brain cells could've figured out who sent the letters. Plus, I don't see the point of Lara Jean's wild best friend, Chris. Her existence has no weight on the plot or Lara Jean's character. I personally think the author just stuffed her in so Lara Jean can have a semi-social life that consists of leaving the window open so Chris can sneak in after a night of bar-hopping.The ending is satisfying if a tad open-ended. But I cannot, for the life of me, figure out why there needs to be a sequel. (view spoiler)[We've already established that Josh is off-limits and Lara Jean is in love with Peter. The author could've tacked on one more chapter with them getting together for real this time and that should be it. I would've even been happy with the ending as it is now. But I guess cash is powerful incentive for dragging out series. (hide spoiler)]To conclude, if you enjoy rainbow sprinkled-romances and don't mind Disney-sitcom-ish heroines, this book is for you. At the very least, it'll teach you not to hide your most prized possessions out in the open. Live and learn, Lara Jean, live and learn.Rebel of the SandsTo All the Boys I've Loved BeforeThe Last Ever AfterAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseThe Afterlife of Holly Chase
    more
  • Brianna H
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds adorable!And looks pretty adorable too!
  • Taschima
    January 1, 1970
    This book was actually super engaging. I loved the main character, her navigation through her crushes and past loves, and her family!Full review to come.Old Update:I love this title. Like, really love it. It's just, we all have boys we have loved before so it resonates. Plus it sounds like quite a beginning to an awesome letter to all your past loves about why it didn't quite work out. We can only hope for a very juicy/scandalous explanation.
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    This was...fine.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...Like...it didn’t take a long time to read. It was fun sometimes. Significantly less fun at others. Good characters, bad characters, couldn’t-care-less-will-forget-their-names-ASAP-could-you-BE-any-flatter characters. It was just a very eh read this time around.Well, I can say a lot. This is me we’re talking about, guys. You could hand me a sewing machine instruction manual and I’d end up writing a thousand-word review on the “not like other This was...fine.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...Like...it didn’t take a long time to read. It was fun sometimes. Significantly less fun at others. Good characters, bad characters, couldn’t-care-less-will-forget-their-names-ASAP-could-you-BE-any-flatter characters. It was just a very eh read this time around.Well, I can say a lot. This is me we’re talking about, guys. You could hand me a sewing machine instruction manual and I’d end up writing a thousand-word review on the “not like other girls” trope.Which, speaking of...That beast rears its ugly f*cking head in this book. Good lord. Most books go for the subtle infusion of girl-hating, like...lowkey slut-shaming, or something. No, this book drops it right in there. Shamelessly, in the middle of some dialogue. Direct and straight to the veins: “You’re not like other girls.”And it doesn’t end there. Okay, wait. I’m getting ahead of myself. For the six Goodreads users who haven’t read this book, we follow Lara Jean, a very cutesy lil thing who wears ribbons in her hair and calls her father and dead mother “Daddy” and “Mommy.” She has two sisters, Margot, the replacement mother who leaves for college at the beginning of the book, and Kitty, who is nine and my absolute life force. When Lara Jean wants to get over a crush, she writes a letter, puts it in an envelope, adds the address and return address for some reason, and then puts it into a box, never to be seen again.God, I love Michael Scott. Anyway, all of Lara Jean’s letters get sent - gasp! Including the one to her family friend and sister’s newly-ex-boyfriend, Josh. In order to avoid any awkwardness, Lara Jean immediately launches into a Fake Relationship™ with popular boy extraordinaire and letter recipient Peter Kavinsky. It makes very little sense. But then again, fake relationship storylines rarely do.So, Josh is the skeezeball who brought you that delightful incorporation of the not-like-other-girls trope, and he has more hits coming! Notably, when rubbing his dumb little nose in Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship: “You don’t act like you. You act like...like how all girls act around him. That’s not you, Lara Jean.”Also, there are like, no healthy girl friendships in this book. Lara Jean has one female friend, Chris, who has no characteristics except being rebellious/slutty and rarely communicates with Lara Jean, except to make fun of her. (Oh, my God. I am barely into this review and I am already so tired of typing out “Lara Jean.” GET A ONE-WORD NAME.) Lara Jean makes a handful of friends in this, kind of, but they’re all male and Peter’s. And a girl is also the total villain here. So that sucks. Not a female-friendly or feminist book.Except...the sisters. Yay, the Song sisters. I love them so much. (Mostly Kitty.) Their relationship is a tad idyllic, except when it suddenly veers into Drama, but it’s so cute and fun to read about them. Especially Kitty. Ah, Kitty. She’s not realistic, but she’s a teeny, manipulative nine-year-old badass who says stuff like “I want to watch my shows.” Ugh. Please give me a book that’s just Kitty. A TRILOGY that’s just Kitty. I'm tempted to put this book on my i-love-these-characters shelf on her merits alone. (But there's an S on the end of characters, y'all, so I can't, and I shan't.)Let’s talk more about the characters. Lara Jean, as I mentioned, is a baby. So that’s pretty exhausting. She’s just, like, very immature and everything freaks her out and she cries a lot. She’s also a bad sister a lot of the time. Like, Margot will be in flippin’ SCOTLAND and she’ll email her like “School is fine for me. Boring, boring. No further questions.” Plus she makes fun of Kitty for having a crush in front of her crush. HOW COULD YOU.In terms of the male characters...Josh is the worst. I never saw his appeal, let alone why all three Song sisters would have a crush on him at the same time. Let alone why Lara Jean would threaten her relationship with her best friend/sister over him. He’s a total snoozefest and a dweeb and he says stuff like what I’ve quoted above and he’s the worst.Peter is also just so eh. I probably liked this book more when I first read it because I probably had a crush on a him-type at the time. Like, some sporty popular guy who was funny but also kind of a d*ck and I wanted to ignore all red flags and pretend he was into me.No shame if that describes you. We all go through it, man. That’s what high school is, in a nutshell.Anyway. I’m not very into that type anymore, so ol’ Pete just didn’t do it for me. He just seemed kind of skeevy, even manipulative - a couple times Lara Jean says things like, “Peter always has a way of getting me to do things I don’t want to do.” Give me the nerdy type any day, man.More good stuff: This book is real descriptive and I loved it. There’s always an in-depth look at Lara Jean’s outfits, and the mentions of food made me get up and cook something twice. TWICE. A grilled cheese and some snickerdoodles. (Well, in reality there wasn’t enough sugar to make snickerdoodles, but I’ll get there.)When I first started reading this - like, first fifty pages or so - I thought this was going to be one star. So many dumped-in descriptions and the writing was really choppy and it was just...ugh. I knew that past-me was a far kinder reviewer, but I didn’t think it was a four-star difference.And then, it got better!And then, it got bad again.The ending of this book was so awful! I can’t believe it was supposed to be a standalone originally. It was just so rushed. The sister relationship was suddenly healed, the relationship drama was suddenly over, Josh suddenly didn’t suck with no explanation. Bleh. And then it just...ended. Literally on a fragment of a sentence. Guh.Bottom line: This wasn’t awful. It was exactly eh.
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 1, 1970
    Still just as cute and lovely as the first time I read it (back in 2015). I love these characters so much. These books just make me want to spend time with my family. Love!
  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    On further consideration, this is more of a 3.5 star for me.
  • Prami{reader and dreamer}
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsThey're turning this into a movie now! *Squeee*Lara Jean is a half Korean teenager who is the middle sister to older Margot and little Kitty. Their mother passed away nine years prior to the events in the novel. So basically it's Lara Jean and Margot who looks after the family. In the start of the book, Margot goes away to Scotland for college. And thus the responsibility of her Dad and little sister Kitty falls under Lara jean's shoulder. It is a very sweet portrayal of a family who de 3.5 StarsThey're turning this into a movie now! *Squeee*Lara Jean is a half Korean teenager who is the middle sister to older Margot and little Kitty. Their mother passed away nine years prior to the events in the novel. So basically it's Lara Jean and Margot who looks after the family. In the start of the book, Margot goes away to Scotland for college. And thus the responsibility of her Dad and little sister Kitty falls under Lara jean's shoulder. It is a very sweet portrayal of a family who depend upon each other to make life livable. The way Han writes the story it's like the family comes into life easily in your imagination.As the blurb suggests, Lara jean is a hopeless romantic. With her sister going away and breaking up with their next-door neighbor, the guy Lara Jean used to crush upon, Josh, the story starts building up in an enthralling way. You may like this book or you may not but one thing is sure,you will not want to leave this book until you're finished with the story. “My letters are for when I don't want to be in love anymore. They're for good-bye. Because after I write in my letter, I'm not longer consumed by my all-consuming love...My letters set me free. Or at least they're supposed to.” The story builds up with Lara Jean's old hatbox missing. So when she meets her classmate Peter Kavinsky in the school and he confronts her about the love letter she sent him, it's a shock for Lara Jean that not only did her hatbox and the letters inside it went missing but they were mailed to whoever those were written to. All in all there were 5 letters to her 5 crushes and looks like one of her earlier crush was the one and only Josh, her sisters ex-boyfriend.Now let me not spoil the whole story for you but let's just say that there's some fake contract and fake boyfriend included in the story which surprisingly goes well with the teenage drama.There were a few references to other books that made me happy. Like the one with the harry potter reference. Considering I finished this book in one sitting, I enjoyed it. There were just some moments when the drama got overwhelming, Lara Jean acted like a foolish 11-year old but there were also moments which made me sad, happy and looking forward to where all this angst was leading.I thought this book was a stand alone so it was a shocker to find the story ending the way it did but now that the next book is lined-up, I'm very much looking forward to reading it. Pre-read Intriguing!!Me wants this book like right now...
    more
  • just here for desi sapphics
    January 1, 1970
    i hate lara jean more than i hate people who hate lila bard and that's all you need to know about this book
  • Danielle ❤️ Pretty Mess Reading ❤️
    January 1, 1970
    ****4 STARS****I will be honest and say that the first part of this book was getting on my nerves. I didn’t think I would end up liking it at all. I am glad I stuck with it because by the end I was feeling like I was back in high going through the same things Lara Jean was going through.It wasn’t the best written book by any means. I wouldn’t hold my breath for a Pulitzer, but it was well written to appeal to a younger audience. It was for the lack of a better word. . .simple. It’s one of those ****4 STARS****I will be honest and say that the first part of this book was getting on my nerves. I didn’t think I would end up liking it at all. I am glad I stuck with it because by the end I was feeling like I was back in high going through the same things Lara Jean was going through.It wasn’t the best written book by any means. I wouldn’t hold my breath for a Pulitzer, but it was well written to appeal to a younger audience. It was for the lack of a better word. . .simple. It’s one of those books where you can enjoy it with feeling emotional drained at the end. Its book popcorn.The plot itself is not all that deep but it was super cute and funny. There were plenty of moments where I was crazy annoyed with the characters. I wanted to shake them a time or two and say, “This is high school! It gets better! Who gives a shit?!”, but I had to remember that I was dealing with teenagers. That’s the thing with YA books – you have to put yourself into the mindset of young adults who are impulsive and stupid. I know I was. Shit, I still am.We all know the basics of the book. Girl like boy. Boy finds out in a letter. Girl gets embarrassed. Right? Well, let me be the first to tell you that it is more than that. I was pleasantly surprised at the direction the book went.Lara Jean is your average teenage girl. She has insecurities and is often times very anxious and definitely naive. She wants to be accepted for who she is, but hasn’t quite figured out who she is yet. A big part of her process in understanding herself is writing. She also likes to write letters to boys she’s had crushes on but doesn’t want them to know.There are several boys mentioned in this book throughout Lara Jean’s quest to find those letters but some stand out more than others.At the end of it all I decided to give the book good solid 4 STARS. I want you to understand that I’m not giving it 4 STARS because it was well written or anything like that. I’m giving it 4 STARS because it was super fucking cute and I had fun reading it.Do I recommend this book? Yes, I do. I think it is a perfect filler book. You’re not going to put it down feeling like it’s the best book in the world but you’ll have fun with it.Will I read another book by this author? I will read the next two books in the series but that’s it. Her writing style is for me.Remember to follow all things messy. . . Subcribe/Listen to my podcast
    more
  • Hailey (HaileyinBookland)
    January 1, 1970
    SPOILER FREE REVIEW: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WG3FN...*Reread April 2016Still enjoyed it!That ending though...That's all I have to say
  • April
    January 1, 1970
    Surprisingly good. Absolutely loved the relationship between the Song/Covey family.
  • Steph Sinclair
    January 1, 1970
    Actual rating 2.5 stars. This might change after I think more on it. I really enjoyed the dynamic between Margot and Lara Jean, the banter between Lara Jean and Peter and the Harry Potter scene with Josh and Lara Jean. The novel had a few high points, but it didn't consistently hook me scene after scene the way I was hoping for. Still, I can completely see why it's a beloved book by many of my friends. Full review to come maybe.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    I literally read this book in one sitting!I really enjoyed it and can't wait to read the next one!
  • Brianna
    January 1, 1970
    I was one of the few people who was lucky enough to win this book in the giveaway. I had been a huge fan of Jenny Han ever since The Summer I Turned Pretty, and couldn't wait to read her newest novel. Unfortunately, this book was just one giant disappointment for many reasons.First of all, the main character was completely unrelatable and unrealistic. While in this YA novel she was supposedly in her later high school years, it seemed more like she was an annoying 13 year old girl trying to grow I was one of the few people who was lucky enough to win this book in the giveaway. I had been a huge fan of Jenny Han ever since The Summer I Turned Pretty, and couldn't wait to read her newest novel. Unfortunately, this book was just one giant disappointment for many reasons.First of all, the main character was completely unrelatable and unrealistic. While in this YA novel she was supposedly in her later high school years, it seemed more like she was an annoying 13 year old girl trying to grow up. She relied so much on her older sister and even her younger 9 year old sister seemed like she was older than she was. Maybe Han has lost touch with what it's like to be a teenage girl in high school, because the whole thing felt extremely forced and just overall fake. Second of all, the main character's family is half Korean, half American, and in case you didn't pick that up the first time it was mentioned you will be reminded, over and over, until you are convinced that maybe you might be half Korean half American. I understand the need to set up context and create a culture in the novel, that's what can make a novel so intriguing and beautiful, but in this case it was painful. It was almost like the author was trying to force this Asian culture too much, like she felt it was more important to remind you she was Asian than it was to focus on what was being said, or the quality of the writing. Lastly, this book was all over the map. I never knew what the main character was feeling because everything that went through her head was scattered and inconsistent. I couldn't figure out which guy she liked or why, and I will even admit for a bit it got so confusing that I even began to think she might be in love with her older sister. And then suddenly she comes to a solid conclusion about who she has feelings for and the book ends. No grand finale, no final conclusion, not even a cheesy happily ever after. It just ended, out of the blue leaving you with a million questions. So obviously you could say this book was not an enjoyable. Which is really sad considering I am pretty open to any kind of book, and can usually find some type of positive even in the worst books. The only emotion this book evoked out of me was anger, after realizing I had wasted so much time reading it and the hope that I had riding on it to be one of the best books of 2014. I was and actually still am very disappointed in Jenny Han and this book, and if you still have the guts to read it after reading all this I applaud you, and hope that you enjoy it better than I did.
    more
  • Tabetha
    January 1, 1970
    Sixteen year old daydreamer Lara Jean has written love letters to all the boys she has ever had crushes on. These are not typical love letters but are more like good bye letters that help Lara Jean have some closure over the boys that broke her heart. When the letters are mailed without her knowledge, she is beyond upset. As her crushes begin to receive the secret letters, Lara Jean must provide an explanation to the boys, and a romantic comedy soon begins to unfold..."To All the Boys I've Loved Sixteen year old daydreamer Lara Jean has written love letters to all the boys she has ever had crushes on. These are not typical love letters but are more like good bye letters that help Lara Jean have some closure over the boys that broke her heart. When the letters are mailed without her knowledge, she is beyond upset. As her crushes begin to receive the secret letters, Lara Jean must provide an explanation to the boys, and a romantic comedy soon begins to unfold..."To All the Boys I've Loved Before" made me smile, then laugh, then want to spend every minute reading page after page until the very end. It brought back memories of high school, filled with so much drama, and unfulfilled crushes. Josh and Peter are the main boys that Lara Jean focuses on throughout the story. Josh is the boy next door, and Peter is described as the "Handsome Boy from a different time. He could be a dashing World War I soldier, handsome enough for a girl to wait years for him to come back from war, so handsome she could wait forever. "Aside from the romance, there are deeper messages, such as the importance of family, the bond of sisters, and that, in life, you may need to take on a more adult role, even if you are not quite ready for it. Her Korean culture is important to Lara Jean, but her culture is not what solely defines her. There is a surprise turn in the book, that I did not see coming, and there is the inevitable cliffhanger, which I was expecting. I am definitely looking forward to more of Lara Jean's adventures in "P.S. I Still Love You"...
    more
  • Kristina Horner
    January 1, 1970
    This is a 3.5 for me. These kinds of contemporary romances tend to be addictive, so I did read it quickly, -- but I did not enjoy the story very much. I found Lara Jean to be immature and childish (referring to her parents as 'Mommy' and "Daddy' at 16 was so irritating and her innocent views of the world made her often seem younger than Kitty) and I found I disliked almost every character in the book.Neither Peter nor Josh seemed like someone I wanted to root for. When your choices are "the guy This is a 3.5 for me. These kinds of contemporary romances tend to be addictive, so I did read it quickly, -- but I did not enjoy the story very much. I found Lara Jean to be immature and childish (referring to her parents as 'Mommy' and "Daddy' at 16 was so irritating and her innocent views of the world made her often seem younger than Kitty) and I found I disliked almost every character in the book.Neither Peter nor Josh seemed like someone I wanted to root for. When your choices are "the guy who seems kind of douchey" or "her sister's exboyfriend" - I was kind of left feeling a little icky. And I hated the way Josh treated Lara Jean - he was constantly telling her what she was like and what she should do, and I honestly thought it made him worse than Peter. Also, what kind of guy gets dumped by a girl and immediately moves on to her sister, letter or no? Were we supposed to believe he really loved Margo but moved on to try to mend his broken heart? Yuck. Or were we supposed to believe he always loved Lara Jean? Double yuck! It was a very confusing situation.I did appreciate the "growth" of Lara Jean and Peter's relationship, but on the other hand, it was also childish and so very high school and if they'd ever just TALKED about anything, most of the problems wouldn't have happened. I realize this is inherently high-school behavior, but maybe I can't really get much out of that anymore. I have a hard time relating to high school seeming problems and that makes a book hard to care about for me, because I am so removed from that part of my life.I was also disappointed by how little the letters actually had to do with the story. I thought this was going be more about Lara Jean solving the mystery of why they got sent out, but she sort of had an attitude like "OMG WHO DID THIS oh well guess that's that" and that bothered me.Anyway. I'm getting really tired of books whose main conflict is "the characters don't talk to each other about things" and because of that, I couldn't really love this book. I know many many people were so charmed by this book, but I think Jenny Han just doesn't do it for me. Sorry!
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    This is about a 3.7. I read this in one day. I honestly didn't want to put it down and I barely did. Jenny Han does contemporary really well. The way it ended was not how I thought it would when I started, which is always cool. I loved the relationship between the three sisters so much and found it really sweet and believable. Sometimes with contemporaries I find the mundanity of daily activities in the stories boring, but that didn't happen here. Which was really, really nice.
    more
Write a review