Star Wars (Star Wars: Crimson Empire #3)
Kir Kanos, the last surviving member of Emperor Palpatine's Royal Guard, is ready to settle a score with Luke Skywalker and those others whom he blames for the death of his Emperor. But standing in Kanos's path is his former adversary and almost love interest Mirith Sinn. And both of them have become pawns in a secret plot by an Imperial cabal!*The final chapter in the Crimson Empire saga!

Star Wars (Star Wars: Crimson Empire #3) Details

TitleStar Wars (Star Wars: Crimson Empire #3)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 19th, 2012
PublisherDark Horse
ISBN1595829342
ISBN-139781595829344
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics

Star Wars (Star Wars: Crimson Empire #3) Review

  • Maria Dimitrova
    February 24, 2016
    And here's the end of Crimson Empire. I really enjoyed these stories. I liked CE III a lot more than the previous ones especially the art. The third instalment was publish more than ten years after previous part and you can see how much the quality as gone up. Partially it's the change of style and partially the fact that it has more ties with the rest of the stories in the Legends timeline. WARRNING: UNTAGGED SPOILERSIn this instalment we see the end of Kir Kanos as we know him. Unfortunately b And here's the end of Crimson Empire. I really enjoyed these stories. I liked CE III a lot more than the previous ones especially the art. The third instalment was publish more than ten years after previous part and you can see how much the quality as gone up. Partially it's the change of style and partially the fact that it has more ties with the rest of the stories in the Legends timeline. WARRNING: UNTAGGED SPOILERSIn this instalment we see the end of Kir Kanos as we know him. Unfortunately because of the Disney acquisition of Lucasfilm we'll never see more of him. The story takes place a few years after the events of CE II and we can see how much Kanos has grown. He has finally opened his eyes and no longer searches blind vengeance for a man that never cared for anyone but himself. But that doesn't mean that there aren't people that want to use him as a symbol - after all everyone knows that he is the last Royal Guard and his oath to destroy those responsible for Palpatine's death. And while these people pretend that they want to restore the old Empire because of their loyalty to Palpatine, Kanos sees through the rhetoric to the true reason - greed and hunger for power. It's showing that he doesn't accept to work for Devian as a means to end Skywalker. In fact he even tries to warn the New Republic - it's a big change from the man that left at the end of CE II. At the same time Mirith Sinn works as chief of security at the Royal Palace on Coruscant. Her connection with Kanos as well as her conflict regarding guarding the daughter of the man who murdered her husband make her seem suspicions in Skywalker's eyes. To Leia's credit she doesn't doubt Sinn. Sinn shows that her inner conflict doesn't prevent her from doing her job during an attempt on the Solo family. However a message from an old friend and known Imperial supporter addressed to Sinn combined with Kanos arrival on Coruscant make Luke even ore reluctant to trust her. The message is the first seed of the peace treaty between the Imperial Remnant and the New Republic that will take place in 5 years in-universe time. I always like to see these ties between the novels and comics cause they sometimes seem as if they're from different universes. Another such tie was Nom Anor's appearance and his work on Adumar. Sinn and Kanos are sent to meet with the Empire's representative only to walk into an ambush by Devian's forces. Thanks to them Devians attempt to spark the hostilities between the New Republic and the Remnant while he wipes the Remnants forces fail. The final showdown between Devian and Kanos shows that the Guards had that reputation for a reason. I have to admit that I was a bit annoyed at Devian during that fight - he talked too much for someone trained by Vader. Arrogance was his undoing more that lack of skills. In this volume we got to see a lot of our beloved characters including the Big Three (and not just for a panel or two) which is always a bonus for me. Also I got to enjoy the presence of the Solo children and the fact that they were behaving like children. Those who have read the Young Jedi Knights and the Junior Jedi Knight series know that they are often portrayed in a way that makes them seem older than their age. In the end it was a good place to stop with the series with all (almost) loose ends tied neatly. I'm disappointed that Sinn and Kanos didn't end together but I can live with that.
    more
  • Online Eccentric Librarian
    September 11, 2013
    More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Star Wars Crimson Empire III - Empire Lost is the final volume in this series. Each of the volumes gives a lot for the money - intricately drawn scenes, beautiful full color, and a mature plot featuring the Star Wars universe. The idea to use Palpatine's last guard as a main character was an intriguing one and the author/artist did create an interesting story with a solid ending.This volume features quite a bit of Leia, More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Star Wars Crimson Empire III - Empire Lost is the final volume in this series. Each of the volumes gives a lot for the money - intricately drawn scenes, beautiful full color, and a mature plot featuring the Star Wars universe. The idea to use Palpatine's last guard as a main character was an intriguing one and the author/artist did create an interesting story with a solid ending.This volume features quite a bit of Leia, Luke, and Han (as well as the Solo children). But the heart of the story (and story arc) is not so subtly outlined in the title of volume III - it's about Kir Kanos recognizing that the Empire he knew is truly gone and just a shadow of itself - an empire lost.My overall thought is that the empire lackeys/goons were just a bit too over the top in their mustachio twirling evilness. I think it is at the point that one of the empire heads kills one of his subordinates to prove that he's evil that I had to roll my eyes at the cliche. There's evil - and then there's "cut off my foot and cripple myself to prove I'm evil."The art was solid though a bit blocky and square. Normally that wouldn't be distracting but when dealing with recognizable real-life characters, it was a bit problematic. Side characters lost the distinctive elaborate and unique costume design of the Star Wars world - one especially looking more like a 1940s screen siren. So in all, solid as are all Star Wars spin off graphic novels but not quite the satisfying read I would have hoped. All the same, I have no problem recommending it to Star Wars fans, either.
    more
  • Alan
    September 3, 2013
    I'll be upfront about it. Kir Kanos and Mirith Sinn are not the most complex characters you'll meet in space opera. Truth to be told there is something that I liked, and still like, about Kanos over the course of three TPBs.He is a honest and honorable man. By the time we reach the halfway point (or so) of this installment Kanos' goals have changed. Hell, he may not even know what he wants for an end game. He just has finally realized that the Empire he served is truly gone, and cannot be restor I'll be upfront about it. Kir Kanos and Mirith Sinn are not the most complex characters you'll meet in space opera. Truth to be told there is something that I liked, and still like, about Kanos over the course of three TPBs.He is a honest and honorable man. By the time we reach the halfway point (or so) of this installment Kanos' goals have changed. Hell, he may not even know what he wants for an end game. He just has finally realized that the Empire he served is truly gone, and cannot be restored. And, that those who seek to restore it do not meet his standards for who should run an Empire.Overall this series (I am pretty certain this will be the last installment) has given readers a glimpse into what makes up a member of the Crimson Guard (because we never saw them do anything in the movies). Paul Gulacy's art remains solid, and his action choreography is fine after three decades in the business (give or take a decade or two).
    more
  • Alexandra
    July 31, 2012
    The conclusion of Crimson Empire brings Kir Kanos' journey full circle, and back to face the last of the traitorous red guards. Mirith Sinn's role as personal bodyguard to the Head of State, Leia Organa, places her central to the story. When an assassination attempt forces Sinn to team up with Kanos, the New Republic council makes it clear they they do not trust either party. This is the redemption part of the Crimson Empire Saga, and it shines. While I'm sad to see Kanos and Sinn go in the end, The conclusion of Crimson Empire brings Kir Kanos' journey full circle, and back to face the last of the traitorous red guards. Mirith Sinn's role as personal bodyguard to the Head of State, Leia Organa, places her central to the story. When an assassination attempt forces Sinn to team up with Kanos, the New Republic council makes it clear they they do not trust either party. This is the redemption part of the Crimson Empire Saga, and it shines. While I'm sad to see Kanos and Sinn go in the end, their story is concluded, and in a marvelously bittersweet fashion. It's rare that a licensed property comic can dig so deep and create something as fresh as Crimson Empire, but it's a trilogy of tales well worth your time. Must reads for any "Star Wars" fan.
    more
  • Christopher Tang
    January 12, 2013
    A review with spoilers and no synopsis:I enjoyed the first Crimson Empire and missed the second. Then I saw this in the library. While it is a good story overall, I felt that the driving passion of revenge felt much weaker in this volume and less personal. Perhaps because I missed volume II I did not really buy into the relationship between Kir Kanos and Mirith Sinn. Overall, I'm happy to stick with the first volume that I own and return this to the library.
    more
  • Eulercauchy
    June 22, 2014
    Bad, bad, bad. Story was bad, art was awful. I've never seen a comic with so many wall eyed characters.
  • Justin
    March 7, 2015
    This story's nearly as fun as the first, if a little rushed. You'll have to overlook some erratic art.
  • Andrew Rose
    May 13, 2014
    A satisfying conclusionThe third chapter of this series leads Kir to question his previous loyalties and help those who killed his Emperor.
  • Cristhian
    January 1, 2016
    A mi parecer, la mejor de las 3 partes que integran la trilogĂ­a de Kanos, le da un farewell adecuado al personaje que era leal al imperio de Palpatine sin dejar de ser "bueno".
  • Gabrielle.
    February 1, 2016
    this volume was better than the others but I didn't loved it. It was just ok.
Write a review