Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, #2)
George and Harold are up to their usual tricks. Last time they hypnotized Principal Krupp into believing he was Captain Underpants. Now, by mistake, they bring to life the most disgusting, life-threatening monster -- the terrible Turbo Toilet 2000. Can anyone save the school from the terrifying attack of the Talking Toilets? Watch out world, big briefs are back!

Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, #2) Details

TitleCaptain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 16th, 2000
PublisherScholastic
ISBN0439995442
ISBN-139780439995443
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Humor, Fiction, Sequential Art, Comics, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Comedy, Middle Grade, Funny, Chapter Books

Readers also enjoyed


Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, #2) Review

  • Emily
    August 17, 2009
    You know, I almost don’t want to admit it, but I enjoyed Captain Underpants. Not to the point that I feel like I need to read another one, but certainly more than I expected. George and Harold are two bright yet… precocious young men who write their own comic books about a character they call Captain Underpants. Due to some accident that occurs in the first Captain Underpants book, their principal is occasionally hypnotized to believe he is Captain Underpants, during which time he sheds his clot You know, I almost don’t want to admit it, but I enjoyed Captain Underpants. Not to the point that I feel like I need to read another one, but certainly more than I expected. George and Harold are two bright yet… precocious young men who write their own comic books about a character they call Captain Underpants. Due to some accident that occurs in the first Captain Underpants book, their principal is occasionally hypnotized to believe he is Captain Underpants, during which time he sheds his clothes and his toupee and runs around the school in his tightie-whities with a curtain tied around his neck. The books have lots of drawings, including a few pages of George and Harold’s actual comic book, as well a “flip pages” where the action is entirely in pictures. However, I found the text to have some challenging vocabulary (when reading with my Reading Buddy, Bradley, we looked up “defiantly” and “gullible” in the dictionary, and I defined “toupee”), some important concepts (we talked about the difference between one dimensional, two dimensional, and three dimensional), and even irony. Yes, it’s primarily third-grade boy humor, like making the talking toilets throw up by stuffing them with creamed chipped beef from the school cafeteria, but it’s also quite fun.
    more
  • Jess Wilson
    February 15, 2010
    Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets opens with a comic strip giving a premise of the book- telling the true story of how they hypnotized their principal. Two boys, Harold and George transform their principal into Captain Underpants whenever they snap their fingers. To stay out of trouble, the boys receive detention but instead find themselves in a world of trouble. They stumble on a super copier that breathes life into 2-D illustrations. Harold and Greg copied their newest c Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets opens with a comic strip giving a premise of the book- telling the true story of how they hypnotized their principal. Two boys, Harold and George transform their principal into Captain Underpants whenever they snap their fingers. To stay out of trouble, the boys receive detention but instead find themselves in a world of trouble. They stumble on a super copier that breathes life into 2-D illustrations. Harold and Greg copied their newest comic strip about talking toilets that indeed attack. This ridiculous read is perfect for young children who love nonsense books with fun rhyme, cartoon artwork, and silly jokes. The pictures really make the reader feel as though they are reading a comic strip when they are actually reading a book. These fourth-grade boys and their crazy antics appeal to many children, boys and girls, throughout the elementary levels of readers.
    more
  • ⓢ✯ⓘ✯ⓔ✯ⓡ✯ⓡ✯ⓐ
    August 8, 2015
    Captain Underpants is an amazing childrens' series. I wish I would've read them when I was little. I regret that I haven't. But now I am, and I'm having a good time! "Captain Underpants" is an enjoyable and funny read. I like the pictures too. I find it impressive that the author writes and draws. Usually childrens' authors hire illustrators, but not this one. I'm looking forward to reading more of Dav Pilke's books.
    more
  • Amy
    July 28, 2013
    Decidedly less funny than the first Captain Underpants book. I'm not expecting high humor, here, but the kids didn't even really laugh at this one. Although they did engage in a lively debate about why toilets would even need to wear underwear. Who knows, maybe they're budding debate club members. Honestly, do our politicians even have debates much above this level?
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    August 17, 2013
    With the second book in the series, Pilkey picks up steam and presents a totally hilarious story. Following the same formula as the first book, this one ups the fun factor with a couple of comic sections and two Flip-o-ramas. Funnily enough toilet humour is limited to the presence of toilets and there were laugh out loud moments even for me! Book one was just OK however with the second outing for Captain Underpants Pilkey doesn't hold back and we get to see that he's fully capable of: making kid With the second book in the series, Pilkey picks up steam and presents a totally hilarious story. Following the same formula as the first book, this one ups the fun factor with a couple of comic sections and two Flip-o-ramas. Funnily enough toilet humour is limited to the presence of toilets and there were laugh out loud moments even for me! Book one was just OK however with the second outing for Captain Underpants Pilkey doesn't hold back and we get to see that he's fully capable of: making kids laugh, with outrageous silliness and humour of a kind that kids and adults will get on different levels. These books really helped my learning disabled reluctant reader become interested in reading and while not Newbery Medal material, this is what kids, and some adults, actually enjoy reading! Fun! I hope the next one continues on this level.
    more
  • Kira Simion
    October 1, 2016
    I know. I know. >.>Don't judge me.I read comics and go to the younger book section when I'm stressed. V-V
  • Ethan Kirkpatrick
    January 26, 2017
    Funny book
  • Maya Palavali
    February 28, 2017
    Lots of umm.... humor
  • Mehsi
    September 26, 2016
    My first book for the Banned Books Week (25-9 to 1-10). I guess most of you can imagine why this one would be banned. It was a fun book though, and I laughed a lot. I will definitely see if I can find the other books in this series as well, I was already surprised to find this one at Library #3 (then again they have a bigger English collection than my other libraries). I am sure a lot of people won't like the humour in this one (toilet humour, plus over-the-top evil teachers/principal), but I qu My first book for the Banned Books Week (25-9 to 1-10). I guess most of you can imagine why this one would be banned. It was a fun book though, and I laughed a lot. I will definitely see if I can find the other books in this series as well, I was already surprised to find this one at Library #3 (then again they have a bigger English collection than my other libraries). I am sure a lot of people won't like the humour in this one (toilet humour, plus over-the-top evil teachers/principal), but I quite liked it! The main characters were truly a delight, though boy, oh boy, their pranks are just wow. This is a new level of pranking. Not only gluing the teachers, but everyone else in attendance as well. :P I loved their invention for writing on a blackboard. Now that is one way to write all your sentences in one go. I am sure lots of kids wouldn't mind that, though then again, from what I hear most school are going digital with their boards, so I wonder how many will still be able to use this invention. Their comics were a delight (well at least the Captain Underpants one was, I was totally not interested in the dog one). They sure got talent, both in art and story. The story in this one, and all that happens in this book? Brilliant! When Captain Underpants turned up, the story picked up even more and I enjoyed it so much. Go go Captain Underpants! Rescuing the day, destroying toilets left and right! I do have to say that I liked the principal more when he was in CU mode. As principal he was just a bit too much for me. Too harsh, too dictatorial, too mean. Sure, those kids do some stuff that is not really good, but to treat them like that? No. The art (as this book is full of it) is pretty great, of course not the best, but it certainly fits the story and it made the book even more engaging to read.All in all, I would recommend this book. I am sure kids will adore this Captain Underpants, and will laugh themselves silly reading it.Review first posted at https://twirlingbookprincess.com/
    more
  • Michele Lee
    January 1, 2011
    Parents who aren't already on the Captain Underpants bandwagon are missing out. These books are fun, funny and most of all they get kids engaged with real books, not just game screens. Harold and George are best friends and a pair of truly mischievous kids. In the first book they kinda sorta accidentally brainwashed their mean principal into becoming Captain Underpants, the comic superhero they created. In this book Principal Krupp (Captain Underpants' alter ego) is holding the second annual In Parents who aren't already on the Captain Underpants bandwagon are missing out. These books are fun, funny and most of all they get kids engaged with real books, not just game screens. Harold and George are best friends and a pair of truly mischievous kids. In the first book they kinda sorta accidentally brainwashed their mean principal into becoming Captain Underpants, the comic superhero they created. In this book Principal Krupp (Captain Underpants' alter ego) is holding the second annual Invention Convention, and after George and Harold ruined the last one with a new body heat activated, super fast drying glue he's declared them not invited. Upset George and Harold break into the gym and prank all the other inventions. However their mischievous actions (which unfortunately in this book have no redeeming qualities) cause a bunch of trouble when they accidentally misuse an invention which brings the bad guys from their latest comic to life. The book is fun, well illustrated and beyond wacky. The collectors edition includes a cd with music videos, games and other fun side features (a must have for real fans, and also an extra way to engage those tough to reach kids. My son is autistic and he cannot get enough of this series and even asks to go to the bookstore to get the next in the series as we finish each one.) Highly recommended, despite the fact that Harold and George are at times jerks, because of how it reached kids. Contains: crude jokes & naughtiness Recommended for: 6 & up
    more
  • Dolly
    December 21, 2011
    This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. We really liked the first book and I'm not sure why we waited so long to read the next one. Our girls were howling with laughter and insisted that I read another chapter and another chapter until we finished the whole book in one reading (it's a quick read, but they still were up a little later than I'd like!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. They especiall This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. We really liked the first book and I'm not sure why we waited so long to read the next one. Our girls were howling with laughter and insisted that I read another chapter and another chapter until we finished the whole book in one reading (it's a quick read, but they still were up a little later than I'd like!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. They especially like the Flip-O-Rama pages. All in all, I find these stories to be very entertaining and perfect for getting reluctant readers to learn to love books. We will certainly move on to the next story and I expect that it won't be a year and a half before we do so. March 2012 update: Our youngest liked these books so much that she's borrowing them again from her elementary school library.
    more
  • TheMadHatter
    January 16, 2016
    Late last year, my seven year old son told me that he didn't like reading. This floored me a little as he is a really good little reader, but apparently he reads what he is told to at school and knows the words he sees on the page, but doesn't really enjoy it (and after listening to the school readers with him each week, I am not overly surprised).Anyway, I was told by a local librarian that these are books that young boys love. At just under 150 pages, the length is perfect. We read a few chapt Late last year, my seven year old son told me that he didn't like reading. This floored me a little as he is a really good little reader, but apparently he reads what he is told to at school and knows the words he sees on the page, but doesn't really enjoy it (and after listening to the school readers with him each week, I am not overly surprised).Anyway, I was told by a local librarian that these are books that young boys love. At just under 150 pages, the length is perfect. We read a few chapters over a few nights which didn't push his boredom metre too much. On a few of the nights he even asked for one more chapter to find out what was going on. There was interactive parts of the book and some very cool drawings. The story line was about two ratbag kids, so I guess for him that is pretty close to home :-). I wouldn't say he has been converted, but at least it is a step in the right direction.
    more
  • Lion
    September 5, 2009
    So far, my favorite in the series. Harold and George go to the detention room. Mr Krupp their principal tells them to write the sentence "I will never do anything which angers my handsome and charming principal, Mr Krupp, ever, ever again." Once they finished writing the sentences, they had a lot of time to write a new comic to sell at the playground. Mr Krupp said if they left the detention room, they would be suspended. But George and Harold snuck out and tried to make copies of their book wit So far, my favorite in the series. Harold and George go to the detention room. Mr Krupp their principal tells them to write the sentence "I will never do anything which angers my handsome and charming principal, Mr Krupp, ever, ever again." Once they finished writing the sentences, they had a lot of time to write a new comic to sell at the playground. Mr Krupp said if they left the detention room, they would be suspended. But George and Harold snuck out and tried to make copies of their book with Melvin's PATSY2000. When they try to copy it, a lot of evil toilets come out of the PATSY2000! The best part when the evil toilet swallowed the gym teacher whole! Then the toilets ate up all the other teachers in the school! George and Harold turned Mr Krupp into Captain Underpants and fired some yucky cream chipped beef into the toilets mouth. This killed the toilets and freed the teachers.
    more
  • Mandy Jennings
    May 25, 2011
    Ever since The Super Diaper Baby 2 book I received from class and introduced to my boys, they are crazy mad over Dav Pilkey and Captain Underpants! This is a comic-like chapter book written by Harold and George, 2 students. They have turned their principal into Captain Underpants by using the Patsy 2000, a copying machine that turns pictures into real life people/objects. The principal must save the day when the toilets come to life and take over the school and town. This is such a silly story b Ever since The Super Diaper Baby 2 book I received from class and introduced to my boys, they are crazy mad over Dav Pilkey and Captain Underpants! This is a comic-like chapter book written by Harold and George, 2 students. They have turned their principal into Captain Underpants by using the Patsy 2000, a copying machine that turns pictures into real life people/objects. The principal must save the day when the toilets come to life and take over the school and town. This is such a silly story but my kids enjoy it so much. They laugh when I read it and when I put it down, they want to pick it up. They've been asking the media specialist for Dav Pilkey books and they can't stay on the shelves. (smile). This book is especially good for boys and writing. This shows them that they can use their imagination to create a stilly story.
    more
  • The Reading Countess
    February 23, 2011
    Back by popular demand, more night readings with flip-o-rama and tra-la-laaaa! Good times....and let's not forget the explanation of why boys need urinals and girls don't, and the Uranus joke that flew over youngest's head.All boy humor, all the time.Good times!It may not be classic literature, but I sure do enjoy the time youngest and I spend together. He would probably tell you that his Mama really gets into the characters, too. Thankfully, no recording devices are around. I'm turning out to b Back by popular demand, more night readings with flip-o-rama and tra-la-laaaa! Good times....and let's not forget the explanation of why boys need urinals and girls don't, and the Uranus joke that flew over youngest's head.All boy humor, all the time.Good times!It may not be classic literature, but I sure do enjoy the time youngest and I spend together. He would probably tell you that his Mama really gets into the characters, too. Thankfully, no recording devices are around. I'm turning out to be quite the theatrical reader.
    more
  • Kieran Cobb
    November 4, 2016
    George and Harold see a sign on there way to school it says "second annual invention convention" then suddenly Mr.Krupp there principal jumps out of the bushes behind the sign and says they cant go but George and Harold are prepared they sneek into the gym and find melvin they make a deal with him that they wont mess up his invention if he says they were never here, he agrees then they sbotage all the other inventions and get to work then melvin changes his mind and tells Mr.Krupp.I would recomm George and Harold see a sign on there way to school it says "second annual invention convention" then suddenly Mr.Krupp there principal jumps out of the bushes behind the sign and says they cant go but George and Harold are prepared they sneek into the gym and find melvin they make a deal with him that they wont mess up his invention if he says they were never here, he agrees then they sbotage all the other inventions and get to work then melvin changes his mind and tells Mr.Krupp.I would recommend this book to a second grader.
    more
  • Michelle
    August 22, 2011
    If I was in second or third grade, I'd probably give this a 5. It definitely is not written for 24 year old librarians, but Dav Pilkey's book is awesomely clever and hilarious, and many reluctant and non-reluctant readers will love this book (though they might have already read it).I'm sure there are those who will object to the subject of toilets/toilet humor etc. In this case, I'm not one of them.
    more
  • Jase
    August 17, 2016
    one day the was 2 kids named George and Harold they hypnotized the mean principle to be captain underpants when some snaps there finger so when the evil toilets attacked a woman snapped her fingers and then the principle turned into captain underpants then the toilets ate 3 teachers and then captain underpants destroyed the toilets I liked the flip o rama because it looked like a cartoonwhy is Harold and George always mess up the sighs
    more
  • Jayden Olsen
    February 17, 2013
    George and Harold are usually responsible kids... whenever anything bad happens, George and Harold are usually responsible!And it looks like they're up to their old tricks again! First, they ruined the school's science fair with a series of silly pranks. Then, they accidentally created an army of evil, vicious, talking toilets, intent on taking over the world. Who will stop the carnivorous commodes?!!!? This looks like a job for Captain Underpants!
    more
  • Siobhan
    September 7, 2015
    A wonderful read from my childhood, one I’d certainly suggest for other youngsters. Whilst it is not my all-time favourite childhood read I can still recall all the details of this one meaning it certainly left a lasting impression upon my young mind. And isn’t that what we want with children’s books, for them to leave a positive lasting impression?
    more
  • Leo Cheng
    April 29, 2016
    This book completes the requirement for reading a book I haven't read since elementary school, a book I can finish in one day, a book that has a sequel, and a graphic novel. There are interesting and very creative ideas in this book. Pilkey writes," In fact they accidently almost destroyed the whole planet with an army of evil vicious talking toilets!"
    more
  • S.K. Levy
    March 30, 2015
    A hilarious, gross, entertaining, imaginative, wonderful middle grade series that left me in stitches when I was young, and I have no doubt it would have the same effect on me now at 25. Grab it for your kids and yourself and you will undoubtedly lol all the way through.
    more
  • Brody
    February 28, 2011
    Well i liked this book. It is really silly. They battle the toliets in their school by throwing food at them, when ever you snap your fingers he turns into capitan underpants and saves the day. The main charecters names are George and Harald . I liked this book because it is really funny.
    more
  • Sophia Cambron
    November 8, 2016
    I really enjoyed this book because it was super funny and easy to read. The two main characters George and Harold are really pranksters and smart when it comes to saving the world from giant evil talking toilets.
  • Stacy
    February 2, 2011
    This is another one I read with my son. He LOVES it. He was giggling all through the book. I'm not so sure I'm a big fan of the 'captain underpants'. It was fun laughing with my boy though.
  • Oscar Parra
    October 6, 2016
    Still holds up as one of the best books out there.
  • Kayla
    June 23, 2009
    it is very great and i just started but it is very great.i love it is very great it is also funny crazy great for very goofy peole.ilike this book because it makes me laugh.
  • Dree
    September 21, 2009
    Here we go AGAIN!
  • Ailsa Hogben
    October 7, 2014
    interesting......
  • Brianna
    May 2, 2012
    hillarios
Write a review