Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Captain Underpants, #8)
Dav Pilkey's eighth epic novel promises evil, horror, and "laffs," and delivers on all three. In this rowdy episode, George and Harold take a wrong turn somewhere and wind up in a surrealistic alternate reality where everything defies expectation. As they try to adjust to a realm where teachers are nice and cafeteria food is good, our heroes encounter evil versions of themselves. Unless our dynamic duo can stop them, these diabolical twins plan to destroy their hometown.

Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Captain Underpants, #8) Details

TitleCaptain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Captain Underpants, #8)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 1st, 2006
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN0439903815
ISBN-139780439903813
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreHumor, Fiction, Childrens

Readers also enjoyed


Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Captain Underpants, #8) Review

  • Camicastillo11
    March 25, 2010
    This is the last book opf the collection and is about that their are two harolds two Jorges and two Captain Underpants but the clones (boyus) are bad and captain underpants good and in the "real"world is viseversa so is very funny and confussing read it !!
    more
  • Jamie
    October 22, 2013
    George LOVES these books. When I described the star rating system to George he said "I guess 4 stars cause I like it and 5 cause I love it".
  • Ch_jank-caporale
    February 17, 2010
    Self-proclaimed "cool kids" Harold and George, hypnotize their mean Principal, Mr. Krupp, and convince him he has an alter-ego as Captain Underpants! In this eighth adventure, author Dave Pilkey has the Purple Potty time machine malfunction and George and Harold must face their own mean alter-egos, mean George and Mean Harold, who kidnap their treasured pets: Crackers and Sulu. Mass craziness ensues.The most redeeming aspect of the book comes at the opening of chapter 2 in an explanation of grow Self-proclaimed "cool kids" Harold and George, hypnotize their mean Principal, Mr. Krupp, and convince him he has an alter-ego as Captain Underpants! In this eighth adventure, author Dave Pilkey has the Purple Potty time machine malfunction and George and Harold must face their own mean alter-egos, mean George and Mean Harold, who kidnap their treasured pets: Crackers and Sulu. Mass craziness ensues.The most redeeming aspect of the book comes at the opening of chapter 2 in an explanation of grownups who "spend the first two years of their children's lives trying to make them walk and talk...and the next sixteen years trying to make them sit down and shut up." Sad, but maybe too true. A further explanation follows when the author comments "One day you're a superstar because you pooped in the toilet like a big boy, and the next you're in the principal's office because you said poopy in American History class..." !!!! Again true. We do seem to send mixed m,essages to kids! I understand why kids like this silly and degenerate humor, but I'm also glad I'm way beyond enjoying it!A combination flip book, cartoon strip, fantasy chapter novel- I have little appreciation for the juvenile humor of Captain Underpants, which may explain why I haven't read it before now. Probably appreciated by 2nd-4th graders or very immature 5th graders!
    more
  • Megan Kaeb
    June 12, 2013
    I never thought I'd let my kids read Captain Underpants. Then my boys had a hard time finding books they liked and they grabbed one off the library shelf and I went with it because at least they were reading. And then I read it and learned that my gut reaction to Captain Underpants was correct.I really don't want my boys reading Captain Underpants. To give this series a few props, it is incredibly creative and fun. I totally get why they are so popular. But they are also full of "potty words" an I never thought I'd let my kids read Captain Underpants. Then my boys had a hard time finding books they liked and they grabbed one off the library shelf and I went with it because at least they were reading. And then I read it and learned that my gut reaction to Captain Underpants was correct.I really don't want my boys reading Captain Underpants. To give this series a few props, it is incredibly creative and fun. I totally get why they are so popular. But they are also full of "potty words" and a little disrespectful to adults. It feels like a kids version of movies like Dumb and Dumber. They have their place, they are fun and entertaining, they make us laugh, but I really don't want my kids ingesting a steady diet of that kind of material now when I have a little more control over what they put in their brains. So for now, no more Captain Underpants at our house.
    more
  • Oliver
    August 2, 2014
    It was awesome!!! So, George, Harold, Sulu and Crackers went in the purple potty time machine 2 days in a row even when in the last book Mr Melvin told them not too, or something bad would happen, and because they did that they appeared in an alternate dimension where the teachers were nice and Harold and George were mean. And instead of Captain UnderPants, there was Captain BlunderPants, a villain. When George and Harold went back to their dimension, Nice Mr Krupp, and mean Harold and George ca It was awesome!!! So, George, Harold, Sulu and Crackers went in the purple potty time machine 2 days in a row even when in the last book Mr Melvin told them not too, or something bad would happen, and because they did that they appeared in an alternate dimension where the teachers were nice and Harold and George were mean. And instead of Captain UnderPants, there was Captain BlunderPants, a villain. When George and Harold went back to their dimension, Nice Mr Krupp, and mean Harold and George came with. Then they hypnotized Sulu and made him be big and mean. What do you think happens next? READ IT!!
    more
  • Daniel O.
    May 10, 2011
    THE BEST CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS BOOK YET.george and herold use thier time machine but something bad happens theey teloported into a world where the teacher's are nice and no villians in sigth and mr.krupp is nice but they met mean and evil clones of themselves and that Mr.krupp ends up to be the WORST villian yet he is CAPTAIN BLUNDERPANTS.the evil george and herold stolen sulu and crackers and sulu turn into a big monster will the real captain underpants save the world and will george and his best THE BEST CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS BOOK YET.george and herold use thier time machine but something bad happens theey teloported into a world where the teacher's are nice and no villians in sigth and mr.krupp is nice but they met mean and evil clones of themselves and that Mr.krupp ends up to be the WORST villian yet he is CAPTAIN BLUNDERPANTS.the evil george and herold stolen sulu and crackers and sulu turn into a big monster will the real captain underpants save the world and will george and his best pal will return into there normal world.
    more
  • Lubna
    May 28, 2015
    It's really fun to read one of those every once in a while
  • Griffin
    April 26, 2012
    Awesome awesome awesome
  • C.M. Albert
    January 2, 2013
    Okay, Captain Underpants fans - another fun one and we're back to the potty humor! I love the TRUE introduction about "those wacky grown ups" and how they "spend the first two years of their children's lives trying to make them walk and talk...and the next sixteen years trying to get them to sit down and shut up." Pilkey also reverts back to fantastic potty humor with a look at potty training and how paretns are all down with poo the first few years of life, cheering their kids on everytime they Okay, Captain Underpants fans - another fun one and we're back to the potty humor! I love the TRUE introduction about "those wacky grown ups" and how they "spend the first two years of their children's lives trying to make them walk and talk...and the next sixteen years trying to get them to sit down and shut up." Pilkey also reverts back to fantastic potty humor with a look at potty training and how paretns are all down with poo the first few years of life, cheering their kids on everytime they take a poo (and even celebrating and giving them candy for it). Then, once kids have it down, it's all like, don't talk about poo or potty talk. It's not polite. Huh!? (I actually had a 6 year old friend of my son's tell me I said a bad word when I used the word fart instead of toot. That's how we roll around here, I guess.) Anyway, I appreciate Dav's humor with protest signs stating "Make Poo, Not War!" on one side of the debate and "Down With Poop" on the other. This tells you nothing about the story, but you can see Dav's summary for that! While I didn't appreciate my son learning the word "anarchy" at six, or trying to put a straw in his forehead to see if it'd really dent in like Captain Blunderpants's did when he got a "cane in the brain" at the end of the book, I do LOVE that Professor Poopypants, er, I mean, Tippy Tinkletrousers, is baaa-aaaack! Another wonderful book in the Captain U series! (As Pikey askes, "Have you read yor underpants today?") Can't wait now for my son to "earn" the next books in the series, because I'm, er, I mean HE is dying to read them :)
    more
  • Dolly
    February 26, 2012
    This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. Our girls really like these books and insist on reading them independently (so I don't have the excuse that I read the book with them, but I enjoyed reading it, too!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. Our girls especially like the Flip-O-Rama pages and often argue over who gets to read the book first. All in all, I find these stories to be very entertaining This is another hilarious book in the Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey. Our girls really like these books and insist on reading them independently (so I don't have the excuse that I read the book with them, but I enjoyed reading it, too!) The humor is quite juvenile and the storyline is very predictable, but we all really liked it. Our girls especially like the Flip-O-Rama pages and often argue over who gets to read the book first. All in all, I find these stories to be very entertaining and perfect for getting reluctant readers to learn to love books. We will certainly move on to the The Adventures of Super Diaper Baby as we await the next book in this series, Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers.
    more
  • Nael P.
    August 11, 2011
    started june 8 ended june 15Pilkey,Dav (pp 175)Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the purple potty people (Scholastic inc.) New yorkNot again? What have they gotten themselves into. This looks like a job captainunderpants cant do alone this time. DAHDAHDAHDAAAAHHHHH now its time for george,harold,sulu and crackers to join in some action. Its time to show you guys this fun filled journey to another dimension. Its going to be good.One day this brainiac Melvin showed up and made a ti started june 8 ended june 15Pilkey,Dav (pp 175)Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the purple potty people (Scholastic inc.) New yorkNot again? What have they gotten themselves into. This looks like a job captainunderpants cant do alone this time. DAHDAHDAHDAAAAHHHHH now its time for george,harold,sulu and crackers to join in some action. Its time to show you guys this fun filled journey to another dimension. Its going to be good.One day this brainiac Melvin showed up and made a time machine out of a purple potty. Geoge and Harold wanted to use it and Melvin said sure but dont use it two days in a row. As always they didnt listen. So the time machine took them to another dimension. Everything was backwards,the teachers were nice and the students had opposite personalities. They explored and eventually came across oppisite them. Then there opposites went to there dimension and thats where the battle starts. Their opposites made sulu evil terrorized the city. They called captainunderpants but they needed more power. So then they made thier grandparents superheroes. If i say more i might give away the ending. If you liked it then read on to find out what happened next. Will they prevael or fail.
    more
  • Jennifer Bagazin
    July 13, 2013
    I was very amused and entertained while reading this book. Even though it's target audience was obviously kids below my age bracket, but its got humor that suits both age gaps. I found it really amusing that Dav Pilkey would attack himself as a writer when a character in the book said "No way. That kind of thing only happens in poorly written children's stories whose authors have clearly begun runnig out of ideas!" It was hilarious. I also liked the plot of the story, where an Evil Harold and Ge I was very amused and entertained while reading this book. Even though it's target audience was obviously kids below my age bracket, but its got humor that suits both age gaps. I found it really amusing that Dav Pilkey would attack himself as a writer when a character in the book said "No way. That kind of thing only happens in poorly written children's stories whose authors have clearly begun runnig out of ideas!" It was hilarious. I also liked the plot of the story, where an Evil Harold and George and an Evil Captain Blunderpants from an alternative and parallel universe attacked our faithful heroes. And the misspelled words in the mini-comic books never fail to amuse me. Me and my sister have always had a passion for Captain Underpants and we always scavenge through bookstores just to find one. I love Dav Pilkey, but most of all, I super love his humor. ヽ(゜∇゜)ノ
    more
  • Indah Threez Lestari
    March 19, 2010
    637 - 2013#Program BUBUPertama kali dibeli dan dibaca pada tanggal 20 Maret 2010.Aku kira seri Kapten Kolor sudah berakhir di buku tujuh, tapi ternyata salah, cerita yang menggantung di buku tujuh ternyata bersambung ke sini. Hm... baguslah, tidak penasaran karena nasib George dan Harold yang tidak jelas.Tapi ternyata... di akhir buku ini tamatnya dibuat menggantung lagi, dengan muncul kembalinya musuh lama, Profesor Puppi P. Pupipet, yang nama terakhirnya kini jadi Tippy Tinkletrousers (yang en 637 - 2013#Program BUBUPertama kali dibeli dan dibaca pada tanggal 20 Maret 2010.Aku kira seri Kapten Kolor sudah berakhir di buku tujuh, tapi ternyata salah, cerita yang menggantung di buku tujuh ternyata bersambung ke sini. Hm... baguslah, tidak penasaran karena nasib George dan Harold yang tidak jelas.Tapi ternyata... di akhir buku ini tamatnya dibuat menggantung lagi, dengan muncul kembalinya musuh lama, Profesor Puppi P. Pupipet, yang nama terakhirnya kini jadi Tippy Tinkletrousers (yang enah kenapa tidak diterjemahkan, susah cari padanan yang pas barangkali).Mungkin Dav Pilkey terinspirasi sinetron Indonesia, yang tiap akhir episodenya sengaja dibuat menggantung dan bikin penasaran...
    more
  • Rachel
    February 2, 2012
    This book is very basic and babyish so I would avoid reading this American trash!The story line is very stupid and unrealistic:Two dudes called George and Harold make a stupid comic book about their 'story' so far while travelling in a so called toilet time machine with their bionic hamster and a pterodactyl(Erm...Hello!)they meet their evil clones and get into a big pointless fight with their enemies.Then Captain(wets his pants)goes off in a mardy and doesn't save the dayand then some old grann This book is very basic and babyish so I would avoid reading this American trash!The story line is very stupid and unrealistic:Two dudes called George and Harold make a stupid comic book about their 'story' so far while travelling in a so called toilet time machine with their bionic hamster and a pterodactyl(Erm...Hello!)they meet their evil clones and get into a big pointless fight with their enemies.Then Captain(wets his pants)goes off in a mardy and doesn't save the dayand then some old grannies in their underwear finishes off his evil cloneand fly off with their walking frames kissing( not a pretty sight.)This book is Boring and is really unrealistic so avoid it at all costs!
    more
  • Swankivy
    March 19, 2008
    I have to say that while on the front it advertises "Evil," "Horror," and "Laffs," the only actual "horror" I saw was the description of two people in their eighties sloppily kissing each other. Weirdly, one of the other books advertises "Romance! Just kidding!" on the cover, yet this one mentions nothing and it does sort of have romance! Besides that, the hypnotized evil bionic hamster, the description of how adults are bonkers, and the pretend violence that you animate yourself by flipping the I have to say that while on the front it advertises "Evil," "Horror," and "Laffs," the only actual "horror" I saw was the description of two people in their eighties sloppily kissing each other. Weirdly, one of the other books advertises "Romance! Just kidding!" on the cover, yet this one mentions nothing and it does sort of have romance! Besides that, the hypnotized evil bionic hamster, the description of how adults are bonkers, and the pretend violence that you animate yourself by flipping the page back and forth is the usual Pilkey classic humor. And the title of an upcoming book really, really amused me: Frankenfart vs. the Bionic Barf Bunnies from Diarrhea Land by Evil Dav Pilkey. Hmmm.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    December 19, 2013
    Dav Pilkey does it again! He continues with his usual tropes as expected but like last book manages to keep them fresh; for instance the switching of letters on the sign doesn't happen until after the "before I tell that story I must tell this story" bit. I love this book. Pilkey is back in perfect form! The kids go to an alternate world where everything in their lives is backwards. Added to the story is their grandparents who accidentally drink the last of the super juice creating Boxer Boy and Dav Pilkey does it again! He continues with his usual tropes as expected but like last book manages to keep them fresh; for instance the switching of letters on the sign doesn't happen until after the "before I tell that story I must tell this story" bit. I love this book. Pilkey is back in perfect form! The kids go to an alternate world where everything in their lives is backwards. Added to the story is their grandparents who accidentally drink the last of the super juice creating Boxer Boy and Great-Granny Girdle. The whole book was laugh-out funny. One of my favourites in the series. Once again as has been happening in the last few books, the set up is made for the next book with the introduction of the arrival of the next villain who is the return of an old favourite!
    more
  • Alexia Alston
    July 27, 2010
    this book that im reading write now is very good its getting better and better while im reading it. the book is about harold and george discover a invection and were there school is at the teachers are very mean.im finish the book now at the end there grandparents help them try and kill the principle from the other world and i think that other people should read the book because its very intersceting. im going to try and get another captain underpants book . they boys from the other world was me this book that im reading write now is very good its getting better and better while im reading it. the book is about harold and george discover a invection and were there school is at the teachers are very mean.im finish the book now at the end there grandparents help them try and kill the principle from the other world and i think that other people should read the book because its very intersceting. im going to try and get another captain underpants book . they boys from the other world was mean and harold said nothing bad can happened now because they are gone but as soon i turned the page they was getting locked up because the people that looked like them robed the bank.
    more
  • Tandie
    November 5, 2012
    My three sons have all loved reading these Captain Underpants books. Even my husband laughed when he read the to the kids. I remember my grandmother Barbara, who used to be a school teacher, complaining about these 'disgusting books for kids'. I gave my kids that look that communicates "Say NOTHING!" I'm sure it's completely unacceptable for many of her generation & I respect her feelings.What can I say? We appreciate potty humor at our house. These books made my boys laugh & want to rea My three sons have all loved reading these Captain Underpants books. Even my husband laughed when he read the to the kids. I remember my grandmother Barbara, who used to be a school teacher, complaining about these 'disgusting books for kids'. I gave my kids that look that communicates "Say NOTHING!" I'm sure it's completely unacceptable for many of her generation & I respect her feelings.What can I say? We appreciate potty humor at our house. These books made my boys laugh & want to read more. My daughter wasn't very into them.
    more
  • Melody Richardson
    September 23, 2013
    This book is absolutely hilarious. My little brother used to collect the series. It was funny when I saw a little boy in my first grade class reading the same. This book is great for early readers because the words are not too difficult but they're certainly very funny. There are a lot of time twisters which can be difficult for the younger students but it also helps them learn to pronounce their words properly. This book is probably not the best for read aloud but definitely good for guided rea This book is absolutely hilarious. My little brother used to collect the series. It was funny when I saw a little boy in my first grade class reading the same. This book is great for early readers because the words are not too difficult but they're certainly very funny. There are a lot of time twisters which can be difficult for the younger students but it also helps them learn to pronounce their words properly. This book is probably not the best for read aloud but definitely good for guided reading for individual reading
    more
  • Aj Degrate
    October 11, 2012
    this book was recomended by my 6th grade teacher. It is about two boys who write comics about their mean principle. Everytime they snap he turns into Captin Underpants and fights crime."TRAAA-LAAAAAAA-LAAAAAAA" because its what Captine Underpants says when he turns into a super hero. Its is funny and creative. He grabs the readers attention in such a short amount of pages. I would recomended to people who dont read a lot.
    more
  • Sam
    February 6, 2012
    Probably the best of all the Captain Underpants books. If you think that one Captain Underpants is better than two, YOU'RE WRONG, bub! Two waistband warriors are WAY better than one, and we'll have a whole story of examples to show you! Clever writing, darkly humorous action, and plenty of laughs along the way, this book will appeal to all who love good and evil heroes flying in underwear, gigantic monstrous hamsters, and tomfoolery-terminating grandparents in their underwear.
    more
  • Jj
    March 22, 2012
    The boys had alot of trouble in this book. They had their own little twins to deal with and they had evil boss and invaders trying to take over the planeted. It was very interesting books to read. Like I always say, I am in love with the Flip a Roma. It is a fast easy read and for me it takes me baby an hour or 45min to finish it. If I read straight through with no intruptions. Lol. So I love it.....can't wait to read more Pikey books.
    more
  • Edgar Villasenor
    October 2, 2015
    George and Harold went to time machine, and they broke the rules.When they arrived, they were at school. They saw their self, they were meaner. And the principal was nicer, and when he turn into captain underpants. He's a villain.I like this book because it's funny and also has action. I recommend this book to the second graders because it really easy.It took me only 10 minutes.
    more
  • Jerome
    March 11, 2015
    A more enjoyable Underpants tale: George and Harold plan to travel back in time but enter into a bizarre alternate reality where the opposite of their own world is always true (the teachers are nice, the cafeteria food is good, etc.) And George and Harold’ evil twins show up and create villain dubbed Captain Blunderpants.Funny and intriguing.
    more
  • Santhosh
    May 23, 2015
    I like the was the writer continues the story in the next book, the 8th epic novel. This book had one of the most problems and cool fights. Purple potty people creat a huger problem which must be solved. George and Harold did stop this problem but it continues in the next book. In the next book professor poopy pants returns!!!!! What a shocking entry. Indeed,very entertaining to read.
    more
  • Siobhan
    September 7, 2015
    A wonderful read from my childhood, one I’d certainly suggest for other youngsters. Whilst it is not my all-time favourite childhood read I can still recall all the details of this one meaning it certainly left a lasting impression upon my young mind. And isn’t that what we want with children’s books, for them to leave a positive lasting impression?
    more
  • Liban Said
    May 14, 2014
    :-/rd dc gytf thru ruff .nth:-/rd dc gytf thru ruff .nthpant manlinamendndbdndnndmdaiisiwjeieidkdjdeeidjdkdjjdjdjdidididididjdjdiejekdidiskskksksksksososksskkskskskskskdkdkfjfffrreddddfffffcccddecidedsdddeddddddee
  • Alan 김 승 주
    December 2, 2016
    The opposites of George, Harold, and Captain Underpants are brought to the modern world. Who's gonna save them now, with Sulu on a rampage and a crazy monster?
  • William Newton
    February 1, 2014
    It's a kids book but it's laugh out loud funny and it has a well structured story
  • Aiden Mcknight
    January 27, 2014
    This for me is my 3rd favorite book!
Write a review