The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2)
The Fellowship was scattered. Some were bracing hopelessly for war against the ancient evil of Sauron. Some were contending with the treachery of the wizard Saruman. Only Frodo and Sam were left to take the accursed Ring of Power to be destroyed in Mordor–the dark Kingdom where Sauron was supreme. Their guide was Gollum, deceitful and lust-filled, slave to the corruption of the Ring. Thus continues the magnificent, bestselling tale of adventure begun in The Fellowship of the Ring, which reaches its soul-stirring climax in The Return of the King.

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2) Details

TitleThe Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 5th, 2003
PublisherMariner Books
ISBN0618346260
ISBN-139780618346264
Number of pages322 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Classics, Fiction, Adventure

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2) Review

  • Alejandro
    July 31, 2014
    The hope for saving Middle-Earth continues! THE FELLOWSHIP IS BROKEN There is some good in this world, and it's worth fighting for. So much for the fellowship made of representative of the races of good in the Middle-Earth with the task of destroying The One Ring in the hellish fires of Mount Doom, located right inside of Sauron’s domains.Members fell, member got tempted by The One Ring, members got trapped, the journey now has two roads and it’s not certain which way is the right one. Maybe The hope for saving Middle-Earth continues! THE FELLOWSHIP IS BROKEN There is some good in this world, and it's worth fighting for. So much for the fellowship made of representative of the races of good in the Middle-Earth with the task of destroying The One Ring in the hellish fires of Mount Doom, located right inside of Sauron’s domains.Members fell, member got tempted by The One Ring, members got trapped, the journey now has two roads and it’s not certain which way is the right one. Maybe no one is, but they need to take decisions, keep in movement and to trust that they are doing what is right.While they knew each other (in some cases) barely before the start of the mission, they now have a bond, a camaraderie, a friendship that it will be put to test to the maximum.New allies will rise but also the dark forces are getting stronger.And yet, HUGE surprises are ahead of them. Since it seems that in Middle-Earth certain things aren’t definitive. ISENGARD’S AGENDA A king will have his way in his own hall, be it folly or wisdom. Something that I liked while reading the book(s) (since I noticed it since the first one) is that Saruman is a servant of Sauron. Yes, the powerful wizard of Isengard wants The One Ring BUT not for giving to the Dark Lord or Mordor, oh no, no, no, Saruman knows that who gets The One Ring will rule in the Middle-Earth and since he is already one of the most powerful beings in that realm, it’s only logical to get The One Ring and with that key advantage, he will be able not only to challenge the armies of men, dwarves and elves but also the dark forces of Sauron.I have huge respect for the good King Théoden, BUT dang it! How can you have as your personal advisor somebody running with the name of Grima Wormtongue! Geez! It’s like the Green Lantern Corps: “Oh, who would think that SINESTRO will resulted a bad guy.” Geez!In the movies is understood that Saruman “works” for Sauron but in the books, at least in my humble analysis is quite clear that Saruman is a third column in this dangerous game in the Middle-Earth. And anybody who was not only member of The White Council but its leader and having forces trying to get control of the Middle-Earth, it’s never wise to underestimate his potential of causing destruction, suffering and pain. THE BATTLE OF HELM’S DEEP I have spoken words of hope. But only of hope. Hope is not victory. You don’t know the courage of men until they are tested against a challenge without hope.Some war strategists would say that battling a lost battle is pointless and it’s better to flee for fighting another day.But what happen when there isn’t another day?When there is nowhere to run away?When accepting that it’s a lost battle isn’t an option?It’s when you know of what you are made of. SAM RULES! Don't go where I can't follow! It’s obvious that the saga of Lord of the Rings have many heroes, many awesome characters, but many of them have training, skills, education and powers to help them, but……Samwise Gamgee shows one of the most amazing heroism of all, not matter that you can say that he everything against him.First of all, Sam is a Hobbit, not the most useful species in the Middle-Earth in matters of war, and even between Hobbits, he may not being the “best example” of his kind.Sam wasn’t as old as Frodo, Pippin and Merry, therefore less mature.Sam didn’t share a family bond like Frodo, Pippin and Merry shared.Sam wasn’t even of the same social status in The Shire as Frodo, Pippin and Mery, since they were from respected Hobbit families with lineage, while Sam was the son of Bilbo’s gardener.While Merry and Pippin were traveling with Frodo out of a family thing, for Sam was basically a unpaid job imposed on him.So, when the things got tough (and trust me that things couldn’t get tougher than what they got!!!), Sam could easily flee, throwing to hell that awful job, and getting back to safety, back to The Shire.But no.Not Sam.Sam keeps walking, keeps looking out for his master (Frodo) and keeps to amaze due his honest loyalty, his unconditional friendship and his unbelievable willpower.
    more
  • Kane
    February 8, 2011
    A review of Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by SauronAfter my review of the Fellowship of the Ring, my agent BBMed me and said that people still thought I was a bitter a-hole. He suggested that I learn to deal with my situation by talking with some likeminded people who have faced similar frustration. So he signed me up for Dark Lords and Villains Anonymous. At least that’s what it's called on the website. When I send out a FB invite to my peeps I usually use the subject line "Hatas Beware". B A review of Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by SauronAfter my review of the Fellowship of the Ring, my agent BBMed me and said that people still thought I was a bitter a-hole. He suggested that I learn to deal with my situation by talking with some likeminded people who have faced similar frustration. So he signed me up for Dark Lords and Villains Anonymous. At least that’s what it's called on the website. When I send out a FB invite to my peeps I usually use the subject line "Hatas Beware". Because General Zod is still trapped in that ridiculous Phantom Zone, we can't really meet in person so we IM. Every week a member discusses his or her public failure. This is the transcript from my week.Sauron: Hello, my name is Sauron, and it's been 56 years since the publication of my defeat.Group: Hello Sauron!Sauron: I'm…I'm not sure where to start. I just don't think I've been given a fair shake. I recently emailed an op-ed piece to the editor of the Times. In it, I argued that the name of Tolkien's "masterpiece" should be renamed "An Unprovoked Attack On Sauron the Merciful" and that the second book should be entitled "Saruman F*cks The Pooch". Crusty old cracker. It looked like my email was blocked so I tried another. None of them worked: [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected] Nothing. Anyways, my point is that none of this was my fault. I mean, things started off fine. That Boromir got what he deserved. I've never tried to destroy someone who cared more about their hair!General Zod: Can anyone help me!!??Agent Smith: Shut the hell up windowboy!Sauron: Thank you. Ahem. Darth Maul: Bllllllaaarrgghhh.Darth Vader: You'll have to excuse my associate. He's…useless.HAL 9000: Just what do you think you're doing, Dave? Agent Smith: OMG! Can anyone stop this light bulb from saying that every week!Moby Dick: ArrrrrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhuuuuuuuuuuuuflllllllllllllllllllAgent Smith: Jesus, now the whale is talking.Randall Flagg: Let…Sauron…talk.[silence]Sauron: If I may continue. Helm's Deep. My grandma could have tossed that joint before breakfast. But instead of sending her wheelchair-bound ass in to lead the charge I chose an Uruk-hai. In retrospect, since I took the time to hatch those suckers, I could have included some dolphin or chimpanzee in the mix to boost the IQ a little. Or at least supplied them with better loincloths. One Uruk-hai had a bad habit of talking to me while his leg was up on the table. We don't need to see that. Oh, and why don't I put all my faith in Gríma Wormtongue, he sounds reliable. Every time I looked at his multi-coloured eyes I wanted to puke.General Zod: That was pretty dumb.Khan: [shouts] THIS IS CETI ALPHA FIVE!Sauron: OooooK. I also regret relying on that damn Palantir for global communications! That freakin snowglobe basically told me that everything was going just fine. These days Saruman would have just texted me something like, "Yo, Sauron, we may have an issue." Instead his ass is whooped by trees. You know, man invented fire like 10,000 years ago. Trees.Jabba the Hutt: Sorry, I got here late. Has that loser Sauron started yet?[silence]Khan: I shall avenge you.Sauron: Thanks. Anyways, where was I? Oh yeah, Shelob. Stephen King's made me afraid of clowns and spiders. I don't want to discuss that bitch.Khan: You see, their young enter through the ears and wrap themselves around the cerebral cortex. This has the effect of rendering the victim extremely susceptible to suggestion. Later, as they grow, follows madness and death. Sauron: STOP! A-hole. That's why Kirk can beat you while simultaneous boinking a green chick. You're pathetic. Go back to selling coffee or whatever you've been doing. This is getting me nowhere. I never should have signed up for this. And there's no fracking way I'm writing a review of my demise in The Return of the King. [end transmission]Moby Dick: Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhuuuuuuuuuuuuflllllllllllllllllll[end transmission]
    more
  • K.D. Absolutely
    August 23, 2009
    Tolkien did not design The Lord of the Rings to be read as three separate books. However, since the book is flawless, there is just no boring moment. Even if you chop it further to 6, 12 or 24 books, I think all of them deserve 5 stars. I am not a big fan of fantasy genre but this one is just over the top. It is about good vs. evil and the nature of evil. With a universal theme like that, the non-stop action, the memorable characters, the extricate design of the fictional world, Middle-Earth and Tolkien did not design The Lord of the Rings to be read as three separate books. However, since the book is flawless, there is just no boring moment. Even if you chop it further to 6, 12 or 24 books, I think all of them deserve 5 stars. I am not a big fan of fantasy genre but this one is just over the top. It is about good vs. evil and the nature of evil. With a universal theme like that, the non-stop action, the memorable characters, the extricate design of the fictional world, Middle-Earth and the lyrical prose, Tolkien wrote a book that will outlive all of us here on earth.The story begins with the four hobbits separated into two, Frodo and Sam who will later meet Gollum on their way to Mordor and Merry and Pippin lost in Fangorn and later meeting the Treebeard and the rest of the Ents. This is after the death of Boromir who is one of the members of the Fellowship (Book 1). He is killed by the Orcs after his attempt to steal the ring from Frodo and Sam. If Book 1 was mostly about the four hobbits, in this Book 2, Tolkien put them on a sideline and the focus here is the Fellowship fighting the Orcs. For most of the story in this book, the hobbits are at the sideline. They only came into action when the Ents with Merry and Frodo on top of Treebeard are destroying the first tower where Saruman resides: ORTHANC. Then the other two, Frodo and Sam battle with Shelob on their way to the second tower, CIRITH UNGOL where the other villainous wizard, the ultimate evil, Sauron lives. So, the two bad wizards stay in those two towers overlooking the Middle-Earth. Some crazy people say that the title "Two Towers" is a metaphor for two penises and there is a homosexual relationship between Frodo and Sam. Go to hell, I tell them. The book is so good and the movie is at par so please spare these works of art from your shallowness. I pity these people for not being able to appreciate good literature.On to Book 3. I am hoping that the third and final book will be as exciting as the two. Tolkien, sir, you are just so brilliant I'd like to open your grave and kiss your hands as a sign of my admiration and respect for you sir. There is just no other fantasy writer like you. Although I enjoyed The Game of Thrones and has a plan of reading the series where it belongs, A Song of Ice and Fire, I am sure that despite George Martin having the hindsight advantage, still your LOTR is better. I will not even say that yours is original. That could mean that his is better and yours are just the original. All of their works will not be able to top yours. Yours is simply incomparable and will always be better than all of their works. LOTR cannot be outranked. It will always be THE BEST epic high fantasy. Ever.
    more
  • Glenn Sumi
    March 5, 2016
    Herewith Some Notes On My Inaugural Journey Through The Second Volume Of Tolkien's The Lord Of The Rings Me after staying up all night reading The Two TowersI liked The Fellowship Of The Ring , but this book made me love Tolkien’s Middle-Earth epic. Some of the writing is astonishing (see quotes below). The author handles various storylines – the fellowship has scattered, after all – gracefully. And after having two of its main characters (and their slimy guide) spend a lot of time climbing up Herewith Some Notes On My Inaugural Journey Through The Second Volume Of Tolkien's The Lord Of The Rings Me after staying up all night reading The Two TowersI liked The Fellowship Of The Ring , but this book made me love Tolkien’s Middle-Earth epic. Some of the writing is astonishing (see quotes below). The author handles various storylines – the fellowship has scattered, after all – gracefully. And after having two of its main characters (and their slimy guide) spend a lot of time climbing up a cliff, the book ends on one whopper of a cliffhanger.• The Treebeard and Ent scenes are magical, if overly long. I love the ecological theme – destroying the countryside to fuel industry and war has consequences! – and the way the Ents are described.• Fewer songs and poems! (means fewer songs and poems to read while eyes are glazed over). With the exception of... • Sam's "Oliphaunt" poem: simply adorable. Here it is.• Loved the Théoden transformation scene. And really, people trusted Gríma Wormtongue? Wasn't his, you know name, a clue?• Saruman’s manipulative speech at Isengard, when he tries to use his evil wizard powers to win over Théoden et al: brilliantly written. Shame they had to cut down the exchange for the movie. And I love Saruman's coat-of-many-colours, which would have been too gaudy or campy for the film, I guess.• The Helm’s Deep battle wasn’t as sharply written as I expected. It went on forever and I had a hard time getting oriented. I was bored enough here to put the book down for a few days. (Now that I’m in partway through The Return Of The King, I think Tolkien’s battle-writing skills improved for the Minas Tirith fight.) Re: Helm’s Deep: Peter Jackson was smart to end the film with it.• Monologues. Now that we’ve met most of the major players, there are fewer of those “Hi, I’m X, son of Y, and here’s my story” passages.* But of course Gandalf gets one, cuz everyone needs to know what happened after he battled the Balrog in Moria, right? And I guess these monologues are meant to be stories told over firelight, good roasted food and mead. (People weren’t as distracted by things like social media back then.)• Shadowfax: I’m not even a horse lover, and I kinda fell in love with the gorgeous, noble steed, the pride of Rohan.• It took some major cajones to go 200 pages without dealing with Sam and Frodo. Talk about keeping us in suspense! And while we're talkin' Hobbits, Pippin gets way more to do than Merry in this book, including his scenes with that cool "seeing stone," the palantír.• Sméagol/Gollum. After all the stories other people told about him in Book One, we finally meet him, and wow. He’s the work's single tragic character. I’m sure there are PhD theses about how he represents the dark or greedy side of human nature. (Frodo knows he has to accept him.) I suppose he could withstand a psychiatric diagnosis, too. Schizophrenic? Addict suffering from withdrawal? Whatever, he’s fascinating, and earns our suspicion, fear and also pity.•The writing. Nearing Mordor, after they’ve survived the spooky Dead Marshes, Frodo and Sam come to another landscape that’s as bleak and desolate as death itself:Frodo looked round in horror. Dreadful as the Dead Marshes had been, and the arid moors of the Noman-lands, more loathsome far was the country that the crawling day now slowly unveiled to his shrinking eyes. Even to the Mere of Dead Faces some haggard phantom of green spring would come; but here neither spring nor summer would ever come again. Here nothing lived, not even the leprous growths that feed on rottenness. The gasping pools were choked with ash and crawling muds, sickly white and grey, as if the mountains had vomited the filth of their entrails upon the lands about. High mounds of crushed and powdered rock, great cones of earth fire-blasted and poison-stained, stood like an obscene graveyard in endless rows, slowly revealed in the reluctant light.• Introducing… Faramir, a brave man who knows how to speak, not just act! We’ve seen heroic warriors, funny Hobbits, gruff dwarves, arrogant wizards, and those damn elves deliver all their words with a mischievous twinkle. But Faramir impresses with the sheer graciousness and nobility of his character. When he meets Sam, Frodo and Gollum, and learns to trust the first two, he delivers this lovely speech about war, honour and what he's doing all this for: War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour all; but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend: the city of the men of Númenor; and I would have her loved for her memory, her ancientry, her beauty, and her present wisdom.• Shelob-POV! No spoilers, but I love learning the backstory of this character. The way Tolkien sets up the finale, from the stairs of Cirith Ungol, the cave, the smells, etc., and then seeing everything from the character’s point of view? Just masterful. • Shagrat and Gorbag, the bickering orcs in the cave in the final pages. They’re minor characters, but I love not just their awesome names but their complaining about what to do. Sure, they dispense information we (and Sam) need to know, but they’re also drones bitching about their jobs, as commonplace in Middle-Earth as it is on earth itself. On to the finale, The Return Of The King!---* Spoke too soon. Now that I'm reading The Return Of The King, there are a bunch more people being introduced. And so many place names! Glad there won't be a Middle-Earth geography quiz afterwards.
    more
  • Jason Koivu
    November 23, 2008
    The Two Towers suffers from the Jan syndrome. It's the middle child, and one that wasn't even meant to exist. Tolkien didn't intend The Lord of the Rings to be a trilogy, but rather one whole book, so inevitably the second volume was doomed to have no true beginning nor a satisfying finish.When I first read it as a teen I didn't enjoy it much at all, and it's still not my favorite of the three, but having read it again recently I warmed to it. It provides an admirably strong bridge between the f The Two Towers suffers from the Jan syndrome. It's the middle child, and one that wasn't even meant to exist. Tolkien didn't intend The Lord of the Rings to be a trilogy, but rather one whole book, so inevitably the second volume was doomed to have no true beginning nor a satisfying finish.When I first read it as a teen I didn't enjoy it much at all, and it's still not my favorite of the three, but having read it again recently I warmed to it. It provides an admirably strong bridge between the first and last book, while including some very memorable moments and revealing interesting background details. Who could forget the Ents or the creepy Dead Marshes? The fight with Shelob was quite exciting. The struggle with Saruman and the Battle at Helms Deep is a great primer for things to come. All of these things and more are sometimes forgotten when comparing the quality of the three books side by side. Personally I love the first book when the four hobbits are on their own in the Old Forest, evading black riders and picking their perilous way through the Barrow Downs. And of course the final book is the satisfying pay off with the added bonus of all those info-laden appendixes, great for the hearty fan.The Two Towers may not get its due, but it is a fine book.
    more
  • Alex Farrand
    December 16, 2016
    The Two Towers is the second novel of the trilogy The Lord of the Rings. The companions are split to do their own bidding for the cause against darkness that is coming over their world. One group fights Saruman. The other group searches their way to Mordor with the ring's burden. What perils await? Will they come out on top?*Smacks face with book and cries out "I LOVE YOU"*This is one of the greatest novels that I have ever read. I bet everything has been said about this trilogy, so I will try t The Two Towers is the second novel of the trilogy The Lord of the Rings. The companions are split to do their own bidding for the cause against darkness that is coming over their world. One group fights Saruman. The other group searches their way to Mordor with the ring's burden. What perils await? Will they come out on top?*Smacks face with book and cries out "I LOVE YOU"*This is one of the greatest novels that I have ever read. I bet everything has been said about this trilogy, so I will try to keep it as short as possible. J.R.R Tolkien has another huge fan. Furthermore, I never want to watch the movies ever again, because this book is GREAT. From the first chapter I was under Tolkien's spell. It was a lot more actioned pack and a lot more fun to read compared to the first book. I did not find it parts boring unlike in The Fellowship of the Ring. The writing did make me sleepy, which caused me to only read two chapters at a time. His writing is very detailed, but beautify written. I could imagine every crook and nanny, all the fields of battlement, the lush forest, and whatever in between. I will say this again that Tolkien has an amazing imagination, and he made an entrancing world for his characters. It still amazes me.I love all the companions. I would love to hug them all. All of them play to their strengths and have the moral courage to fight back against the evil that lurks. They all put a smile on my face. I love Sam and Frodo's relationship. Sam would do absolutely anything for Frodo. As I recall, Frodo is a lot more weaker in the movie than in the novel. I like Frodo in the novel, and I wish the movie made him a little bit more stronger. BUT there is a new race that tops over them all, and it is the Ents. I love the Ents. I love how relax they are, and how passionately they feel for their fellow trees. "Do not be so hasty." I would love to meet an Ent, if they were real. Even Smeagol I have pity for. Sorry to go back to science, but I can't help but notice sometimes. Thinking about science makes me happy. I started thinking about natural selection and what traits were being passed down to the races. I noticed this when Treebeard was asking Merry and Pip about Entwives. Legolas has far sight, great hearing, fair skin, and soft feet. The Hobbits short, light footed, and good hearing. Those traits were passed on from generation to generation, and it is helping them survive. NATURAL SELECTION FOLKS! The Hobbits are not the greatest fighters, so they can hide easier in smaller places to avoid the enemies. Elves protect their homes, so they have qualities of fighters in night or day. GOSH that made me very happy. I can't wait to read the Return of the King next month, but I will be really sad for it to end. The series has been amazing so far and I just don't want it to end. I absolutely love it! This review and the one on my blog are practically the same, but incase you forgot visit my site. haha http://dancingbetweenthecovers.com/re.... If not, oh well. Read well folks!
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    February 15, 2017
    I feel guilty rating this book because I kid you not, I just BARELY absorbed anything in this book. I listened to it on audio, and I was maybe only attentive for 50% of that experience. It doesn't help that my professor gets so off track during class that we never actually discuss what we've read, so I don't have any incentive to read what we've been assigned. This series is definitely something I want to revisit in the future when I'm not skim-reading it out of a 10-pound series bindup and I do I feel guilty rating this book because I kid you not, I just BARELY absorbed anything in this book. I listened to it on audio, and I was maybe only attentive for 50% of that experience. It doesn't help that my professor gets so off track during class that we never actually discuss what we've read, so I don't have any incentive to read what we've been assigned. This series is definitely something I want to revisit in the future when I'm not skim-reading it out of a 10-pound series bindup and I don't have to read the entire series in 4 weeks. I love Frodo and Sam and Gollum. So much. I wanted to love this, but reading it was unbearable because of the size and page requirements, so hopefully when I reread this one day from the box set I already own, I will enjoy it and see its merit enough to rate it higher.
    more
  • Foad
    June 11, 2016
    جان رونالد روئل تالکین، در جبهه های جنگ جهانی اول در فرانسه شرکت کرد، در نبرد "سُم" که بیش از یک میلیون نفر در آن کشته و زخمی شدند. و بنا به گفته ی خودش هیچ یک از دوستانش از آن نبرد زنده برنگشتند.تالکین به علت ابتلا به تب خندق، بیماری ای که بین سربازان جنگ جهانی اول که در خندق ها کمین گرفته بودند شیوع پیدا کرده بود، از خدمت مرخص شد و به انگلستان بازگشت. در طول دوره ی نقاهت، یادداشت های اولیه ی خطّه ی میانه را نوشت، که در طول جنگ جهانی دوم، به خلق "ارباب حلقه ها" منجر شد.تالکین، هر چند انکار کرده جان رونالد روئل تالکین، در جبهه های جنگ جهانی اول در فرانسه شرکت کرد، در نبرد "سُم" که بیش از یک میلیون نفر در آن کشته و زخمی شدند. و بنا به گفته ی خودش هیچ یک از دوستانش از آن نبرد زنده برنگشتند.تالکین به علت ابتلا به تب خندق، بیماری ای که بین سربازان جنگ جهانی اول که در خندق ها کمین گرفته بودند شیوع پیدا کرده بود، از خدمت مرخص شد و به انگلستان بازگشت. در طول دوره ی نقاهت، یادداشت های اولیه ی خطّه ی میانه را نوشت، که در طول جنگ جهانی دوم، به خلق "ارباب حلقه ها" منجر شد.تالکین، هر چند انکار کرده که نبرد حلقه نمادی از جنگ جهانی باشد، اما صادقانه اعتراف کرده: نویسنده نمی تواند از تأثیر تجربیات خود برکنار بماند.و تأثیر تجربیات دو جنگ فاجعه بار بر سر تا سر ارباب حلقه ها بیش از آن آشکار است که نیاز به اثبات داشته باشد: نیروی تاریکی در "شرق" (بخوانید: آلمان نازی) و متّحد مطیع و در عین حال خیانتکارش، جنگی فاجعه بار و خانمان سوز و همه گیر، به طوری که همه ی خطّه ی میانه (بخوانید: اروپا) را در بر می گیرد، وحشت حاکم بر داستان، وحشتی که کسی امیدی به پایان یافتنش ندارد، نبرد صنعت و طبیعت، استفاده از مواد منفجره با این که ارتباطی به زمان داستان ندارد، و جزئیات بسیار دیگر، همچون خاموشی سراسری گوندور از ترس دیده شدن نیروها، یا پرنده هایی هولناک که با جیغ هایی "فراصوت" مدام در آسمان گشت می زنند، یا جاسوس های دشمن که همه جا حضور دارند، یا تلاش دشمن برای ساخت نژادی جدید و قدرتمند و شیطانی و...فکر کنم این رگ و روح این داستان را، عمق وحشت این داستان را، کسانی به طور کامل درک کرده اند که همچون تالکین فرزند آن دو جنگ ویرانگر بوده اند.
    more
  • Emily May
    March 26, 2011
    I'm one of very few people in the world that actually really hate the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and 'The Hobbit' as well. I've read 'The Hobbit' twice, trying to capture the second time what I was sure I must have missed the first time round... but no. And then I read The Fellowship of the Ring and found Frodo's story to be as drab and long-winded as that of Bilbo. I would have stopped there but my friends told me that I should definitely read this book, promising me great adventure and well-wr I'm one of very few people in the world that actually really hate the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and 'The Hobbit' as well. I've read 'The Hobbit' twice, trying to capture the second time what I was sure I must have missed the first time round... but no. And then I read The Fellowship of the Ring and found Frodo's story to be as drab and long-winded as that of Bilbo. I would have stopped there but my friends told me that I should definitely read this book, promising me great adventure and well-written fantasy worlds. And still no.I realise I am in the minority and I don't know why. But I've looked for what everyone loves so much about these books and everytime I find pages and pages of boredom. These novels are the kind that make me want to skip pages - and I really hate doing that because I feel like a cheat, but ack! What is it? Really, what am I missing?
    more
  • Brian
    December 20, 2014
    2016 UpdateI'm grateful I abandoned the movies. The book reads in a different way, yet I feel the movies present a dazzling and significant interpretation. The books start to take on an earthy, ancient, Pagan-like feel. I'm not talking about the Dragnet version of Pagan; I mean the earth religion, the ancient one, before my own religion oppressed them and categorized them with an evil entity they didn't even believe in.I also experienced some personal revelations for my life, and a glimpse of th 2016 UpdateI'm grateful I abandoned the movies. The book reads in a different way, yet I feel the movies present a dazzling and significant interpretation. The books start to take on an earthy, ancient, Pagan-like feel. I'm not talking about the Dragnet version of Pagan; I mean the earth religion, the ancient one, before my own religion oppressed them and categorized them with an evil entity they didn't even believe in.I also experienced some personal revelations for my life, and a glimpse of the spiritual nature of the book, and of Tolkien. I have a Pentecostal background, which includes speaking in tongues, although I now attend a Baptist church and if I speak in tongues there they may tackle me and pin me down and try to cast demons out of me. In the book, Sam holds up the Phial of Galdriel against Shelob: "And then his tongue was loosed and his voice cried in a language which he did not know...." That describes the biblical and experiential gift of tongues, to me.I felt the time spent with Faramir paced slow and dragged on; my thoughts threatened to wander, but it provides a backdrop for the rest of the masterpiece.Frodo felt a coldness in his arm spreading to his heart when the Rider flew over him. His world blackened and his thought patterns turned negative and despairing. This made me realize some of my own thought patterns have been inspired by some form of darkness, within or without, and I need to abandon these patterns.This year I went through a divorce. I've often wondered at my life, at the pointlessness of some things, and wonder what God is thinking, putting me through some of the destructive and pointless things I've experienced. I sat on break, at work pondering this story a couple days ago. Another important character manifests in this book. Tolkien introduced this Being in The Silmarillion. Middle-Earth calls him Illuvitar. I see his influence in this story, although not once does JRRT mention the name. Can you imagine the reaction of the council, if they had planned it this way? "Okay, so Gandalf will need to die. Boromir, you'll need to die too, and Aragorn, you'll need to be absent while two Hobbits split the party and need rescued. Frodo, you and Sam need to go into The Land of Shadow alone, to face wild beasts and threat of exposure, without a guide and only on your tiny little strength. Sorry, it just has to be this way, everyone." Elrond and the rest would have laughed at this, yet it turned out to be the best plan, although the most foolish. Some things happen in life we don't understand, but a hidden Person works things out we don't understand. He does it so our Saurons and Morgoth don't understand the battle plan either. He does it for a greater purpose, to bring about some greater good, and to reward us for our effort and suffering. That describes how I see things in my version of spirituality. I'm more impressed with Tolkien's depth every year. Only a twenty year effort could produce such a masterpiece.2015 Update I didn’t expect this, but my fourth read thrilled me more than the last three. I found nothing to criticize here. I believe my reading skills have strengthened this year because I’ve increased my daily reading and writing. Where I would wander in my mind before, I find I can follow the words into deeper descriptions. The imagery in this book transports the mind into a real place. No movie can do this. I’ve experienced utmost pleasure in these pages, and have closed the book at night wanting to dream and go there again. I noticed something about Gandalf in this fourth journey. In the first book, although I didn’t mention it in the previous 2015 review, Gandalf seemed to be a grumpy old worn out man, using his wisdom and intelligence to shut everyone else down. He disagreed with everything people said and corrected them. I never noticed that before. Then he fell into shadow. [SPOILER – SKIP TO NEXT PARAGRAPH IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS OR SEEN THE MOVIES.] In the second book he reappears, and he has changed. He has been renewed, and has more joy, more confidence and charisma, like he took a long nap and feels better. I never noticed this change until this read. I like Gandalf the White better than the Gray. He treats people nicer and he doesn’t act as grumpy. Tolkien has a strong ability to describe settings and create mood. When the mind follows his words, they seem to bring this reader into a trance. Writers have mentioned being entranced by the writing process. What incredible talent to put the reader in a trance. How does Tolkien do it? How many times will I read before I see it? His trilogy puts a kind of spell over me. I feel it, literally feel…something…when I read. Perhaps he organizes his word patterns in a way or manipulates the language. I don’t know, but I have never experienced this with any other book quite the same way. I feel he literally takes me into this other world. 2014 ReviewThe beauty and history of middle earth is introduced through a snapshot of that history in the War of the Ring. Rohan is introduced to the reader. Eowyn, Eomer, Faramir, King Theodin, Saruman and Wormtongue come onto the scene. The Ents have a meeting with the Hobbits and tear apart Isengard. The book is wonderful, as the history goes as deep as the roots of the Guardians of Fangorn. Every character has depth and personality, history, and inner struggles. I fell in love with every one of them.
    more
  • Laz
    December 20, 2013
    “The world is indeed full of peril, and in it there are many dark places; but still there is much that is fair, and though in all lands love is now mingled with grief, it grows perhaps the greater.” The quote above is just one reason to get yourself to read this. This was the second part in one of the most-beloved series of every fantasy lover. If you're a person who loves a good adventure, with twists, surprises, great characters, fun & drama then you cannot continue living on this earth w “The world is indeed full of peril, and in it there are many dark places; but still there is much that is fair, and though in all lands love is now mingled with grief, it grows perhaps the greater.” The quote above is just one reason to get yourself to read this. This was the second part in one of the most-beloved series of every fantasy lover. If you're a person who loves a good adventure, with twists, surprises, great characters, fun & drama then you cannot continue living on this earth without reading this piece of dream.It explores the dark & full of wonders world that is Middle-Earth. It just goes on to show us that there is hope even in the bleakest of moments. Our characters never lose their hope, they are endlessly brave and courageous. There is war and action, it's a must-read. “War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour all; but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.”
    more
  • Becky
    November 23, 2015
    Quickie review: -This book contains my favorite non-fellowship character: Faramir. His family situation is dealt with more in the next book, but the fact that he turned out so good and fair, as shown in this book, makes me just love him. He is badass when necessary and wise when that is necessary, and generally gets to the point with only a minimum of the usual plethora of talk first.- There's one single named woman in this book, and that's Eowyn. She got short shrift in this book, much like Arw Quickie review: -This book contains my favorite non-fellowship character: Faramir. His family situation is dealt with more in the next book, but the fact that he turned out so good and fair, as shown in this book, makes me just love him. He is badass when necessary and wise when that is necessary, and generally gets to the point with only a minimum of the usual plethora of talk first.- There's one single named woman in this book, and that's Eowyn. She got short shrift in this book, much like Arwen does in the whole series, but at least her time is coming soon. - Ents! Compared to the movie, where Merry and Pippin basically have to manipulate the Ents into going to war against Saruman, the Ents decide all on their own, and pretty quickly too. - Battles. Helms Deep and Isengard were such small potato battles in this book. The movies definitely do them better justice, though it would have been awesome if they'd kept the Huorns in. :DI do love this book though. I love Rohan as a whole, and love the regiment at Osgiliath where we meet Faramir. The second half, with Frodo and Sam, drags a bit, but it's necessary. We can't just skip them. On to The Return of the King!
    more
  • Ariel
    July 5, 2016
    I'm not sure why it took me so long to finally pick up Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings; I love fantasy and this is such a godfather read in that genre, as with its sub-genres. Every time a movie would come out a distant clonk would crash about in my head as a reminder that I should dive into the books at some point but our paths just never crossed at the right time. Either I was reading something else or I took a moment to stand in front of the books at the library, quietly intimidated with wher I'm not sure why it took me so long to finally pick up Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings; I love fantasy and this is such a godfather read in that genre, as with its sub-genres. Every time a movie would come out a distant clonk would crash about in my head as a reminder that I should dive into the books at some point but our paths just never crossed at the right time. Either I was reading something else or I took a moment to stand in front of the books at the library, quietly intimidated with where to start - which came first, The Hobbit or The Silmarillion? just sounded like a bad joke even after confused contemplation and a foray into internet geekdom where everyone had a different opinion on where to start, even what parts of books were worth reading. Not to mention which editions to read and which ones included worthwhile information. Sheesh. Recently one of my GoodReads groups posted a third quarter challenge concerning series reads. The goal being to draw up a list of books you'd like to read selected from any series/trilogy/et. al. that you've been meaning to get through/start on or that you've been working through already. I figured this was as good a time as any to pack some provisions and start walking my way through The Lord of the Rings, that I could always double back and read/reread books should I want to so I didn't need to be overly concerned with the order of any book besides the trilogy itself. It's been a good journey so far. I enjoyed traveling along with The Fellowship and that initial enjoyment hasn't ceased even though The Two Towers had a different feel to it. For one, it's less focused on the lyrical and the heroic odes that establish The Fellowship are largely absent. As mentioned in my review of book one, the odes tended to follow the tune of Greensleeves in my head thanks to a past music teacher's obsession, but that's not to say I didn't like Tolkien's songs. I think that their absence in book two makes sense; it's a darker read and the inclusion of these establishment odes would have interrupted the build of Towers' intensity whereas they serve to highlight the era and tone of book one. Another obvious shift between the two books was equally important in my opinion: for the larger part of the book, Sam Gamgee and Frodo are absent. I believe it speaks to Tolkien's talent and desire to establish both Middle Earth and its brewing, broiling conflict that he was able to perform such a smooth slight of hand with his characters as The Fellowship is broken. I found each plot line immensely interesting as they separated, converged, and reestablished along the way. I wasn't as enraptured with the battle at Helm's Deep as Gimli was with its depths. I ended up setting the book aside for a bit around this time because the battle began to seem long in the tooth. However, it was easy to jump back into things after a short break and it swiftly picked up. The appearance of Treebeard and the Ents is awesome. I liked Tolkien's take on Wood Spirit/Dryad lore and the added layer of the Ents 'long sorrow,' as well as the ecological perspective of the damage and chaos bred by war and ignorance. How such ignorance can blunt our perception of the intensity and worth of the world right around us until we're simply a dumb axe chopping away, manipulated by the hands of another. Plus, we get more Pippin and Merry! When Sam Gamgee and Frodo reappear, the intensity of the book seems to escalate as harrowingly as the erratic and crumbling stairs to Cirith Ungol. There are a couple moments of levity and light such as Sam's poem on oliphaunts and the grace and nobility of Faramir. Faramir's talk of war is currently my favorite Tolkien quote from The Two Towers:"War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour all; but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend: the city of the men of Númenor; and I would have her loved for her memory, her ancientry, her beauty, and her present wisdom."I was also impressed with the introduction of Shelob, for different reasons. Tolkien's shifting POV is very consuming as he provides us a glimpse through her many eyes. Everyone has a villain they love to hate, sometimes a villain that has a backstory they can identify with or just find incredibly interesting, but I haven't come across a portrayal of a villain that stirred me quite as much as Shelob does. Probably because I enjoyably eat up atmosphere in fantasy books and the building grotesquery and claustrophobia of Sam and Frodo's ascent to Shelob was easy to sink into and Tolkien's shift of POV made it even more so. I know Tolkien never meant for The Lord of the Rings to be a trilogy. It would be very easy to pick up book after book, in my opinion, because it's easy to get caught up in the action and the characters. I am glad for how the trilogy is broken up however - both books have left off in the midst of an intense journey and can readily be defined as cliffhangers. I'm not a fan of cliffhanger endings in series; I have an insatiable urge to raze my way through to the next book when left with one, whether I enjoyed the previous book or not to be perfectly honest. Which can be quite annoying as cliffhangers have become akin to part and parcel of modern fantasy books; anywhere you look it's 'trilogies, trilogies everywhere and not a standalone to read.' The difference being that, often, these cliffhangers come off as pure plot manipulation; you have a ho-hum, even formulaic plot for 300+ pages and then you're smacked cattywompus by a massive dun dun dunnn that is formulated for the sole purpose of launching you onto that new release with fangirl hunger. Often not because the author seems passionate about the world they've led you into but about a multi-release book contract. With The Lord of the Rings on the other hand, I'm interested in continuing but I'm also satisfied with the quality and intensity throughout, the stopping points have felt natural - a well placed intermission with an easy to get into continuation waiting in the wings. Okay, so maybe I'm a little bit fangirl over Sam's character. Give a girl a break. And maybe I'm going to skip my way to the library for book three as soon as possible which makes the above point rather moot. I can live with that.
    more
  • Vani
    September 18, 2013
    I love the LOTR books and there are no words I can use to describe the beauty of the prose and the beautiful, absolutely stupendous wordplay that's been used to create life like imagery. Seriously, there is a reason why LOTR series is considered the finest work of the 20th century. There is no parallel to it. It has inspired generations of writers and will continue to do so for many centuries to come. Before I get to my favourite phrases from Book 4 and 5 or ‘The Two Towers’, a few lines about t I love the LOTR books and there are no words I can use to describe the beauty of the prose and the beautiful, absolutely stupendous wordplay that's been used to create life like imagery. Seriously, there is a reason why LOTR series is considered the finest work of the 20th century. There is no parallel to it. It has inspired generations of writers and will continue to do so for many centuries to come. Before I get to my favourite phrases from Book 4 and 5 or ‘The Two Towers’, a few lines about the story so far:A company comprising men (Aragorn, Boromir), elf (Legolas), dwarf (Gimli), wizard (Gandalf) and hobbits (Frodo, Sam, Pippin, Merry) has started from Rivendell for Mordor with one purpose in mind: to destroy the dark lord Sauron’s ring. However, first Gandalf and then Boromir are lost to them and then as fate would have it, their journey is waylaid by a cruel army of Orcs called the Uruk-hai.Despite being outnumbered, the company decides to fight. It is at this time that Frodo, the ring bearer, decides to leave the others, and make this perilous journey on his own, but he hasn’t gone far when he realises that his servant, Samwise, has followed him, so has Gollum to whom the ring previously belonged. Will they be able to make it to Mordor or perish mid-way? Will Frodo be able to destroy the ring of power or succumb to its charms? Will Samwise stay true to his master till the end and be able to protect him from the devilry of Gollum or not? With Gandalf gone, the others are now under the charge of Aragorn who has his own challenges to face. For starters, the Uruk-hai have taken Merry and Pippin as prisoners and they must now be rescued before they are presented to Saruman, a wizard who has his stronghold in Isengard and is perhaps acting at the behest of the dark lord. Isengard needs to fall but Aragorn and his companions cannot do it alone. Will he have help from the others? How will he do it?Some of my favourite phrases from these books:*My heart speaks clearly at last: the fate of the Bearer is in my hands no longer: Aragorn*There is some will that lends speed to our foes and sets unseen barrier before us: a weariness that is in the heart more than in the limb: Aragorn* 'And ere morning it will be in the East,’ said Legolas. ‘But rest, if you must. Yet do not cast all hope away. Tomorrow is unknown. Rede oft is found at the rising of the Sun.'*'I would cut off your head, beard and all, Master Dwarf, if it stood but a little higher from the ground,' said Eomer.* 'Halflings!’ laughed the rider that stood beside Eomer. 'Halflings! But they are only a little people in old songs and children’s tales out of the North. Do we walk in legends or on the green earth in the daylight?''A man may do both,' said Aragorn. 'For not we but those who come after will make the legends of our time. The green earth, say you? That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!'*Uruk-Hai'But what are we going to do at sunrise?’ said some of the Northerners.'Go on running,’ said Ugluk. ‘What do you think? Sit on the grass and wait for the Whiteskins to join the picnic?'*There might be all the difference between an old cow sitting and thoughtfully chewing, and a bull charging; and the change might come suddenly.*'We have journeyed a long way round,’ said Legolas. ‘We could have all come here safe together, if we had left the Great River on the second or third day and struck west. Few can foresee whither their road will lead them, till they come to its end.’‘But we did not wish to come to Fangorn,’ said Gimli.‘Yet here we are- and nicely caught in the net,’ said Legolas. ‘Look!’*Gandalf to Aragorn (about Sauron): That we should wish to cast him down and have no one in his place is not a thought that occurs to his mind. That we should try to destroy the Ring itself has not yet entered into his darkest dream.* ‘Dawn is not far off,’ said Gamling, who had now climbed up beside him. ‘but dawn will not help us, I fear.’‘Yet dawn is ever the hope of men,’ said Aragorn.*‘You rascals, you woolly-footed and wool-pated truants! A fine hunt you have led us! Two hundred leagues, through fen and forest, battle and death, to rescue you! And here we find you feasting and idling–– and smoking! Smoking! Where did you come by the weed, you villains? Hammer and tongs! I am so torn between rage and joy, that if I do not burst, it will be a marvel!’‘You speak for me, Gimli,’ laughed Legolas. ‘Thought I would sooner learn how they came by the wine.’‘One thing you haven’t found in your hunting, and that’s brighter wits,’ said Pippin, opening an eye. ‘Here you find us sitting on a field of victory, amid the plunder of armies, and you wonder how we came by a few well-earned comforts!’‘Well-earned?’ said Gimli. ‘I cannot believe that!’*‘The treacherous are ever distrustful,’ answered Gandalf wearily.* 'It a greater honour to dangle at your tail, Gandalf,' said Merry. 'For one thing, in that position one has a chance of putting a question a second time. Are we riding far tonight?'* I wish there was a clear path in front of us: then I'd go on till my legs gave way: Frodo Baggins*We only wish to catch a fish so juicy-sweet: Gollum*'We are famisshed, yes famisshed we are, precious,' Gollum said. 'What is it they eats? Have they nice fisshes?' *I suppose it's no good asking "what way do we go now?" We can't go no further-- unless we want to ask the Orcs for a lift: Frodo*What's more, if you turn over a new leaf, and keep it turned, I'll cook you some taters one of these days: Sam to Gollum*'I don't like anything here at all,' said Frodo, 'step or stone, breath or bone. Earth, air, water all seem accursed. But so our path is laid.''Yes, that's so,' said Sam. 'And we shouldn't be here at all, if we'd known more about it before we started. But I suppose it's often that way. the brave things in the old tales and songs, Mr Frodo: adventures, as I used to call them. I used to think that they were things the wonderful folk of the stories went out and looked for, because they wanted them, because they were exciting and life was a bit dull, a kind of a sport, as you might say. But that's not the way of it with the tales that really mattered, or the ones that stay in the mind. Folk seem to have just landed in them, usually-- their paths were laid that way, as you put it. But I expect they had lots of chances, like us, of turning back, only they didn't. And if they had, we shouldn't know, because they'd have been forgotten. We hear about those as just went on-- and not all to a good end, mind you; at least not to what folk inside a story and not outside it call a good end. You know, coming home, and finding things all right, though not quite the same-- like old Mr Bilbo. But those aren't always the best tales to hear, though they maybe the best tales to get landed in! I wonder what sort of a tale we've fallen into?'*Summary of the story as per Treebeard: ‘By root and twig, but it is a strange business: up sprout a little folk that are not in the old lists, and behold! the Nine forgotten Riders reappear to hunt them, and Gandalf takes them on a great journey, and Galadriel harbours them in Caras Galadhon, and Orcs pursue them down all the leagues of Wilderland: indeed they seem to be caught up in a great storm. I hope they weather it!’
    more
  • Vanessa
    May 18, 2011
    Yes, my rating upon this re-reading of The Two Towers bumped it up a whole star! I enjoyed this book more than The Fellowship of the Ring (surprisingly as that's my favourite film out of the three), and a lot more on a re-read.The narrative follows a bit of a slip at this stage of the story, with Part 3 being dedicated entirely to Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, Merry, and Pippin (amongst others), whereas Part 4 solely follows Frodo, Sam, and Gollum. It was an understandable split, but one I didn't thi Yes, my rating upon this re-reading of The Two Towers bumped it up a whole star! I enjoyed this book more than The Fellowship of the Ring (surprisingly as that's my favourite film out of the three), and a lot more on a re-read.The narrative follows a bit of a slip at this stage of the story, with Part 3 being dedicated entirely to Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, Merry, and Pippin (amongst others), whereas Part 4 solely follows Frodo, Sam, and Gollum. It was an understandable split, but one I didn't think was entirely necessary - in fact, having them interwoven would have helped balance out the complete and utter darkness of Frodo and Sam's story...Things I loved about this book: the Ents (I love Treebeard so much), Merry and Pippin's adventure with the Orcs, and Gollum. Everything Gollum.Amazingly I didn't find that this book dragged at all, although I thought it might do so in the Frodo and Sam sections. I can't help it, I absolutely adore Sam - he is one of the best characters in the story in my opinion, and I love how he talks and his interactions with Gollum and his incredible love and respect for Frodo. The only section where I found my mind wandering a little was in the sections with Faramir, and then only for a few pages at a time.I'm incredibly excited to finally get to (and finish reading for the first time) The Return of the King in December, and finally finish reading The Lord of the Rings!
    more
  • Stephen
    June 5, 2010
    4.0 stars. As good as this was, I have to go ahead and blame Peter Jackson for this book not getting 5 stars. The Two Towers was my favorite installment of the movie trilogy and there were portions of the movie version that I actually preferred to the book. I especially liked the visuals of the battle of Helm's Deep (including the large contingent of bad-ass elves showing up at the right moment). The battle was the major event of the movie and was of a much more minor nature in the book. I prefe 4.0 stars. As good as this was, I have to go ahead and blame Peter Jackson for this book not getting 5 stars. The Two Towers was my favorite installment of the movie trilogy and there were portions of the movie version that I actually preferred to the book. I especially liked the visuals of the battle of Helm's Deep (including the large contingent of bad-ass elves showing up at the right moment). The battle was the major event of the movie and was of a much more minor nature in the book. I preferred the handling in the movie. In addition, I also preferred the movie treatment of Wormtongue and the "pre battle of Helm's Deep" details showing Saruman building his army, creating the weapons and then sending them off. This last part was not addressed in the book and I thought it added to the story. That said, there were a number of scenes in the book that I thought were amazing (i.e. 5 star worthy) including: (1) the dialogue with Saruman on top of the Tower of Orthanc, (2) the background and descriptions of Shelob, the (3) description and background of Treebeard and the Ents and (4) the sending out of Sauron's army from Minas Morgul.Looking forward to finishing the final installment. Overall,
    more
  • Franco Santos
    October 30, 2014
    Raros son aquéllos capaces de prever a donde los llevará el camino, antes de llegar. Excelente continuación. En este tomo Tolkien no se demora en darnos el primer golpe. Empieza con todo y el ritmo se acrecienta conforme pasan las páginas.Una mano quemada es el mejor maestro. Luego cualquier advertencia sobre el fuego llega derecho al corazón. Me encantó. Una maravilla.
    more
  • Anzu The Great Destroyer
    May 6, 2011
    Since this is LOTR and I guess I’m supposed to be nice in this review I’ll start by posting a character sheet or whatever this is. It’s been a while since I wanted to find one and luckily I did using our wonderful friend, Google. So here are the most popular characters:Some don’t look as I imagine they would be but let’s appreciate the people who did the casting for the movie. They did a pretty good job.Now back to my main problem about this book. Why can’t I make a funny review for Lord of the Since this is LOTR and I guess I’m supposed to be nice in this review I’ll start by posting a character sheet or whatever this is. It’s been a while since I wanted to find one and luckily I did using our wonderful friend, Google. So here are the most popular characters:Some don’t look as I imagine they would be but let’s appreciate the people who did the casting for the movie. They did a pretty good job.Now back to my main problem about this book. Why can’t I make a funny review for Lord of the Rings?!?! Seriously this sucks… and I keep on thinking about how the first season of Game of Thrones ended… watched it about an hour ago… I know it’s irrelevant but damn I’m troubled. So far I’m sad to tell you that I found the story boring. I hope I’m not turning into a LOTR hater… God no!!!! Please!!! Anything but that!!!!If this Tolkien dude wrote LOTR in a comic book way, or say like a RPG game like Dragon Age or something… imagine!!! There are LOTR games out there anyways but even those are boring… why oh Lord do they tend to ruin it like this? But still imagine something a bit more dynamic! How awesome would that be?? I was so damn close to falling asleep while reading this and I’m not happy about it. I was fascinated by the story but for some unknown and really freaky reasons I get sleepy while reading the book… Is this revenge someone is taking on me? Am I cursed? Will The Vampire Diaries never end? I must know the answers to all of these questions!!!What’s the solution to making this book better you ask? Well if it was up to me I’d bring in Batman. Trust me, anything that has Batman in it becomes epic. “Because I’m batman!!!” check out this vidAnother problem I encountered was about the ugly creatures being bad and the pretty ones being good. Why are things always like this? Now the army of Saruman is full of orcs… Why wasn’t it full of unicorns? I find unicorns as scary as orcs… I mean they can get all psycho and bite your head off… Imagine that on the battlefield. Anyways I’ll try to be serious now. I guess this book needs you to be in a certain mood in order to savor it properly…. Unfortunately I wasn’t in this particular mood so I had some difficulties enjoying it. I’m not going to give it a bad rating since it’s a pretty good book and I respect the series and the author. Maybe some other day I’ll re-read it and enjoy it more.What I loved about this book? Mostly the scenes with Gollum. I may be strange but I really love the creature and actually seeing him illustrated in the movie made me like him even more. I also liked the story towards the end even though Sam and Frodo were a bit too gay for my taste. I get the whole brotherly love thing but some scenes were too much for me to handle.Since I didn’t find so many quotes that I liked I couldn’t build the Top Five Quotes soooo I’ll just hit you with something else that I loved:ENT. When Spring unfolds the beechen leaf, and sap is in the bough;When light is on the wild-wood stream, and wind is on the brow;When stride is long, and breath is deep, and keen the mountain-air,Come back to me! Come back to me, and say my land is fair!ENTWIFE. When Spring is come to garth and field, and corn is in the blade;When blossom like a shining snow is on the orchard laid;When shower and Sun upon the Earth with fragrance fill the air,I'll linger here, and will not come, because my land is fair.ENT. When Summer lies upon the world, and in a noon of goldBeneath the roof of sleeping leaves the dreams of trees unfold;When woodland halls are green and cool, and wind is in the West,Come back to me! Come back to me, and say my land is best!ENTWIFE. When Summer warms the hanging fruit and burns the berry brown;When straw is gold, and ear is white, and harvest comes to town;When honey spills, and apple swells, though wind be in the West,I'll linger here beneath the Sun, because my land is best!ENT. When Winter comes, the winter wild that hill and wood shall slay;When trees shall fall and starless night devour the sunless day;When wind is in the deadly East, then in the bitter rainI'll look for thee, and call to thee; I'll come to thee again!ENTWIFE. When Winter comes, and singing ends; when darkness falls at last;When broken is the barren bough, and light and labour past;I'll look for thee, and wait for thee, until we meet again:Together we will take the road beneath the bitter rain!BOTH. Together we will take the road that leads into the West,And far away will find a land where both our hearts may rest."Read the review on ZombieHazard.
    more
  • Mary
    January 2, 2014
    I had forgotten how much Frodo and Sam's parts bored me, but still. Wonderful read. Also, Frodo and Sam are so gay for each other, it's ridiculous.
  • Kaitlin
    February 11, 2017
    I wish that the bad guys won. Smeagol is my favourite character after this book and I can't help but wish he managed to actually take over the story and have his own adventures. He's a sad little creature, but he's the most interesting one for me and I can't help but to root for him. I think having read many different fantasy books in the past, the 'good' characters do just kind of bore me. However, this book (well, the second half!) had way more 'bad' characters and I really liked those bits. T I wish that the bad guys won. Smeagol is my favourite character after this book and I can't help but wish he managed to actually take over the story and have his own adventures. He's a sad little creature, but he's the most interesting one for me and I can't help but to root for him. I think having read many different fantasy books in the past, the 'good' characters do just kind of bore me. However, this book (well, the second half!) had way more 'bad' characters and I really liked those bits. The problem I have with LotR overall is just how slow it moves and how a lot of the book is just travel. I like seeing it every now and then, I just enjoy the conversations and the dangerous and plot-driven bits so much more. Will definitely finish the book, but I already know the end (book #3 I mean) so maybe it would have been better if I didn't. I can't help but think it would have been more epic for the 'baddies' to triumph... 2.5*s
    more
  • Chris
    October 10, 2008
    The Two Towers is the second part of LOTR. In this installment, the Fellowship is rent and struggles to survive. This book is made up for mirrors and doubling. In the first section, you follow closely the Three Hunters as they hunt their prey across the landscape. With Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli, Tolkien presents a group in chase. It feels like a hunt, and it is a hunt of the sagas.There second trinity is made up of Frodo, Sam, and Gollum. This second threesome echoes in a way the first. They t The Two Towers is the second part of LOTR. In this installment, the Fellowship is rent and struggles to survive. This book is made up for mirrors and doubling. In the first section, you follow closely the Three Hunters as they hunt their prey across the landscape. With Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli, Tolkien presents a group in chase. It feels like a hunt, and it is a hunt of the sagas.There second trinity is made up of Frodo, Sam, and Gollum. This second threesome echoes in a way the first. They two are on a quest, not to just save two lives, but to save anyone. It is this trinity; however, who faces the most general and is in some ways a false trinity, for Gollum is a reluctant main.Other doubling occurs in the novel. The reader is introduced to Faramir, brother to Boromir, and a worthy and true he is. The character of Faramir is also doubled to a degree by the character of Eomer. Both young men serve in dark and dangerous times, both show the worthiness of men, both protect their country. They represent the new order that will come after the War of the Ring.The sense of change that began in the Fellowship is continued here. There is a sense that Theoden will son give place to his sister-son, Eomer. That he has grown too blind to be an effective leader for much longer. This is not due surely to the influence of Grima Wormtongue (who has the coolest bad guy name ever), but is revealed also in his own character. Look at his treatment, his forgetfulness of Eowyn. When to leave on his war path, he acknowledges Eomer, but is confused when Hama says the people wish to be protected by the House of Eorl. Hama must point Eowyn to her uncle. Shades of Queen Elizabeth II in WWII, perhaps? This theme of disregarding worthiness will also be picked up in The Return of the King.Eowyn is not the only female in the story, and in this installment, she doesn’t have a very big part to play. The other female in the story is Shelob, perhaps the most controversial female character in Tolkien’s work. After all, she is a deadly female spider and that must mean that Tolkien has issues.Unless, he is just afraid of spiders and knows that the female is the deadlier of the species.Joking aside, Towers contains one of the most moving passages anywhere in Tolkien. This passage concerns the character of Gollum. During their trek, Sam and Frodo finally succumb to tiredness, and Frodo falls asleep with his head resting in Sam’s lap. Gollum returns and sees them. Tolkien then writes, “Gollum looked at them. A strange expression passed over his lean hungry face. The gleam faded from his eyes, and they went dim and grey, old and tired. A spasm of pain seemed to twist him, and he turned away, peering back up towards the pass, shaking his head, as if engaged in some interior debate. Then he came back, and slowly putting out a trembling hand, very cautiously he touched Frodo’s knee – but almost the touch was a caress. For a fleeting moment, could one of the sleepers have seen him, they would have thought that they beheld an old weary hobbit, shrunken by the years that had carried him far beyond his time, beyond friends and kin, and the fields and streams of youth, an old starved pitiable thing.”And then Sam wakes and ruins the spell. What makes the passage so moving, what the reader knows here but Samwise doesn’t, is Gollum could have been saved there. If Sam had not been Sam, if he had spoken softly, Gollum would have turned from evil. The passage speaks of loss and missed opportunity so poignantly.Added 12/11/12 - Is just me or is Wormtongue somewhat like Shakespeare's Richard III? It's strange, each time I re-read this series, at least after the release of the Jackson movies, I gain a more respect for the Jackson adaptions, even with the changes in regards to Faramir. The TTs is the fastest paced of the books because it starts with a hunt. But it is also very emotional because of the father/son relationships that appear as well as those of the brothers in all forms.
    more
  • Kevin Cambronero
    September 22, 2015
    Una mano quemada es el mejor maestro. Luego cualquier advertencia sobre el fuego llega derecho al corazón.Me gustó más que el anterior, sin duda. Pasan más cosas, y por mi parte había más interés en lo que sucedía. En general me pareció bastante emocionante. Además, ahora que la Compañía está separada, hay dos historias paralelas, una en el oeste, con batallas aquí y allá, y otra en el este, acercándose el portador y sus acompañantes cada vez más a Mordor. Eso se me hizo muy ameno.Sentí un cambi Una mano quemada es el mejor maestro. Luego cualquier advertencia sobre el fuego llega derecho al corazón.Me gustó más que el anterior, sin duda. Pasan más cosas, y por mi parte había más interés en lo que sucedía. En general me pareció bastante emocionante. Además, ahora que la Compañía está separada, hay dos historias paralelas, una en el oeste, con batallas aquí y allá, y otra en el este, acercándose el portador y sus acompañantes cada vez más a Mordor. Eso se me hizo muy ameno.Sentí un cambio en los personajes, fueron menos planos de lo que me habían parecido en el primer libro. Los diálogos me parecieron mejor construidos, como que tenían más sentido y eran verosímiles. Bueno, realmente no sé si de verdad hubo un cambio, o si fue que a la hora de leer el primer libro yo no estaba lo que se dice muy dispuesto, pero lo cierto es que éste lo disfruté mucho más. Además, aparecieron muchos personajes nuevos, hubo una gran variedad y una interacción entre ellos que me gustó.Aunque a veces se hagan tediosas sus descripciones y empiece a divagar, Tolkien tiene una forma muy agradable de escribir, y eso yo no lo había apreciado antes. Y no solo paisajes hermosos rodean a la Tierra Media, también hay parajes ensombrecidos y tenebrosos; Las dos torres es un libro mucho más oscuro que su antecesor, se nota cómo va cambiando el ambiente y las tribulaciones de los personajes, conforme la misión encargada a la Compañía va tocando su fin y la guerra está más cerca. La muerte se va haciendo presente también.Creo que en cada punto mejoró con respecto al anterior, me pareció una excelente continuación.Sólo atravesando la noche se llega a la mañana.
    more
  • Denisse
    July 19, 2014
    PERFECT! "La noche se extiende sobre Isengard" Si bien este libro es un poco mas bélico que la Comunidad del Anillo, sigue teniendo ese sentido de aventura muy marcado, solo que esta vez las cosas van mas rápido, en cada capitulo suceden cosas demasiado importantes que al final desataran una guerra.Me encanta ver como se chingan a Saruman, porque una cosa es Sauron con su maldad y bla bla bla, el sabe que es malo, la Tierra Media sabe que es malo, pero Saruman, ese bastardo era un amigo, un cabe PERFECT! "La noche se extiende sobre Isengard" Si bien este libro es un poco mas bélico que la Comunidad del Anillo, sigue teniendo ese sentido de aventura muy marcado, solo que esta vez las cosas van mas rápido, en cada capitulo suceden cosas demasiado importantes que al final desataran una guerra.Me encanta ver como se chingan a Saruman, porque una cosa es Sauron con su maldad y bla bla bla, el sabe que es malo, la Tierra Media sabe que es malo, pero Saruman, ese bastardo era un amigo, un cabecilla, en el depositaron fe y lealtad y amistad, y ese hijodesureputisimamadre los traiciono a todos, si, ya se que Sauron lo manipulo, pero me vale madres, es un traidor y merece morir. Como ahora la comunidad se dividió en 3, este libro te da oportunidad de valorar mas a cada personaje y de quererlos mas y mas conforme vas leyendo. Fluidez, mas historias de los primeros años, mas acción, mas de todo! Las dos Torres es lo que todos los segundos libros de trilogía deberían de ser, un puente que te anime a terminar la historia. Pero con trama propia. Si terminaste la Comunidad y creíste que era muy pesado, te animo a leer el segundo, es mucho mas rápido y mas al grano. :DSon muy claras las moralejas, por así decirlo, de este libro, fuerza y perseverancia, ante todo lo que hagas, aunque aun falte mucho camino por recorrer. "Porque solo se habla de los que continuaron hasta el fin." tears, that quote. :')PD: Esa es la película que mas me hace llorar de las 3 por el rollo que dice Sam casi al ultimo. Es tan "keep going, don't give up". :`)
    more
  • Tilly
    January 24, 2017
    I will not go into very much detail in this review about Tolkiens beautiful descriptive writing style, the amazing world-building or the brilliant plot which is remembered over generations because I already mentioned all these things in my review for "The Fellowship of Ring" and just to be clear: It doesnt get worse. All these aspects are just as great as in the first book and "The Two Towers" is still hundred percent worth your time. The reason why I gave this book "only" 4 of 5 stars is mostly I will not go into very much detail in this review about Tolkien´s beautiful descriptive writing style, the amazing world-building or the brilliant plot which is remembered over generations because I already mentioned all these things in my review for "The Fellowship of Ring" and just to be clear: It doesn´t get worse. All these aspects are just as great as in the first book and "The Two Towers" is still hundred percent worth your time. The reason why I gave this book "only" 4 of 5 stars is mostly because I had some problems with the division of the story parts. Unlike the movie version, where the viewer switches relatively regularly between the scenes with all the different main characters, the original book tells the story about Aragon, Gimli and Legolas in the complete first half and the journey of Frodo, Samwise and Gollum in the complete second half. The first is overall more fast-paced and more exciting stuff happens. An outstanding highlight for me were the Ents, they are probably my favorite species in the whole Middle-earth universe. The second half was slower and I had too force myself a few times to read. I still love Sam and his absolute loyalty to Frodo is very impressive to me, he is my favorite character of the series, but Frodo himself can be very frustrating at times and for a long part of their journey not that much happens. However, the second half became much more gripping in the end and made me excited to read "The Return of the King" very soon. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Inge
    November 25, 2013
    A comparison: it took me a month to finish The Fellowship of the Ring, and only a little over a week for The Two Towers.This installment was superior in every way. The characters came to life more, allowing me to see the movie in front of my eyes, and the events were thrilling. There was a bit of humour in it, and I was reading it because I wanted to, not because I was forcing myself.Having said that, the pace was still rather slow and people need to shut. Up. Characters hold entire monologues o A comparison: it took me a month to finish The Fellowship of the Ring, and only a little over a week for The Two Towers.This installment was superior in every way. The characters came to life more, allowing me to see the movie in front of my eyes, and the events were thrilling. There was a bit of humour in it, and I was reading it because I wanted to, not because I was forcing myself.Having said that, the pace was still rather slow and people need to shut. Up. Characters hold entire monologues or make up songs on the spot, and it really takes away from the experience. If they didn't talk so much and Tolkien hadn't wasted so many pages on describing trees, it would've been better for me. I was very easily distracted and thinking about other things.Again - massive kudos to the world building. That takes incredible skill.
    more
  • Miquel Reina
    November 24, 2014
    The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers is one of my favorite books from Tolkien books (below Hobbit, of course). The literature richness of Tolkien is something that is beyond my imagination, not only for the creation of worlds and creatures incredibly real but also because of the way of telling stories.I strongly recommend it for those readers who want to discover the meaning of "middle earth" and in general to all fantasy and good writing fans.Spanish version: El señor de los Anillos: Las dos T The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers is one of my favorite books from Tolkien books (below Hobbit, of course). The literature richness of Tolkien is something that is beyond my imagination, not only for the creation of worlds and creatures incredibly real but also because of the way of telling stories.I strongly recommend it for those readers who want to discover the meaning of "middle earth" and in general to all fantasy and good writing fans.Spanish version: El señor de los Anillos: Las dos Torres es uno de mis libros favoritos de los libros de Tolkien (por debajo del Hobbit, claro está). Totalmente recomendable para todos aquellos que quieran descubrir que significa "la tierra media" y sean fans de la fantasía y la buena escritura.
    more
  • helen the bookowl
    May 9, 2015
    4.5/5 stars. Once again an amazing book set in an amazing and very creative fantasy world. However, this sequel did drag a bit in some parts, and I had a hard time imagining some of the setting described by the end of the book. Nevertheless, and epic tale that just keeps getting more and more gruesome :)
    more
  • Aleshanee
    March 4, 2017
    Ich bin einfach Fan :)
  • Rob
    July 6, 2012
    Executive Summary: This might be my least favorite of the three, but there is still a lot to love here.Audio book: Rob Inglis once again does an excellent job. I especially enjoyed his voice for Gollum. I wonder if Andy Serkis based his voice for the movie on this performance. They seem rather similar. Once again the audio is an excellent option for doing these books, though I'd probably skip through all the songs if I could. Full Review I'm not going to spend much time reviewing this book. Not Executive Summary: This might be my least favorite of the three, but there is still a lot to love here.Audio book: Rob Inglis once again does an excellent job. I especially enjoyed his voice for Gollum. I wonder if Andy Serkis based his voice for the movie on this performance. They seem rather similar. Once again the audio is an excellent option for doing these books, though I'd probably skip through all the songs if I could. Full Review I'm not going to spend much time reviewing this book. Not really worth my time or yours. This series isn't for everyone, but I do thing all fantasy fans should read it at least once.I don't like this as much as Fellowship, but on this reread I found it less slow than I remember. Or really I should say the second half.I think one way the movie was better than the book is by blending the two halves together. I find the first half with Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas to be a lot more enjoyable than the parts with Frodo, Sam and Golem. That said, I didn't find the seconds half of this book as slow as I remember.In the first half you have Rohan, the return of Gandalf and the battle at helms deep. The second half you have a lot of walking and muttering. But there is Faramir who shows what an asshat his brother Boromir really is, if you didn't get that already in the last book. And the part with Shelob is of course excellent.Overall there is a lot to like in this book, though probably not as much as first or last books. The good parts more than make up for the slower parts for me though and this still a book I will happily reread several more times I'm sure.
    more
  • Nikki
    November 16, 2012
    Faramiiiiir. <3Um, I mean, I'm an adult with a degree and everything and I totally do not have crushes on fictional characters. Ahem.The Two Towers, of course, involves a good helping of the Anglo-Saxon analogues, the Riders of Rohan, which is always interesting. I did spend some time wondering what Grima Wormtongue would have been like if he were like Gunnlaug Wormtongue of Norse saga: a skald instead of a counsellor, twisting the court with words in a different way... I do wish more people Faramiiiiir. <3Um, I mean, I'm an adult with a degree and everything and I totally do not have crushes on fictional characters. Ahem.The Two Towers, of course, involves a good helping of the Anglo-Saxon analogues, the Riders of Rohan, which is always interesting. I did spend some time wondering what Grima Wormtongue would have been like if he were like Gunnlaug Wormtongue of Norse saga: a skald instead of a counsellor, twisting the court with words in a different way... I do wish more people appreciated where the name comes from. It's not a simple Dickensian trick: it is a name that tells us about him, but it's not actually asking people to think of a worm as we might first assume, in the dirt and sliming and wriggling... rather, "worm" in Icelandic is also "dragon" and "serpent". We're seeing something more akin to Smaug, a cunning and dangerous mind. Picturing an earthworm is kind of missing the point -- although I'm sure that image is meant to be there too.Anyway, especially enjoyed the Ents this time, thinking about the origin of those characters in Tolkien's mind -- eald enta geweorc; old work of giants -- and about Diana Wynne Jones' commentary on them.
    more
Write a review