Shiver Hitch (Jane Bunker Mystery #3)
Jane Bunker thought she d escaped the pollution, noise, and dead bodies of the big city when she left her job as a Miami homicide detective and moved back to the idyllic town of Green Haven, Maine. But through her work as a marine insurance investigator, it appears she s left behind the bustle of the city, but not the murder.When Jane is called to the remote Acadia Island to assess the damages from a house fire, she also finds a badly burned body in the charred rubble, and it turns out that the victim is the owner of the house, a wealthy woman who just happens to be one of the most hated women in town. As Jane investigates further, she becomes embroiled in a plot as thick as New England clam chowder, which involves convicted felons, a real estate scam, and the deep conflicts between the locals and the summer folks. On top of trying to find what might be a murderer on the loose, Jane is still living with her bonkers landlords, the Vickersons, who are delighted when Jane finds out that her brother Wally (who has Down s syndrome) is going to move in with them, after losing his assisted living arrangement. It s all Jane can do to keep all the moving pieces together, much less figure out who would want to burn someone alive and why."

Shiver Hitch (Jane Bunker Mystery #3) Details

TitleShiver Hitch (Jane Bunker Mystery #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherHyperion Books
ISBN1401322360
ISBN-139781401322366
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction

Shiver Hitch (Jane Bunker Mystery #3) Review

  • Donna
    July 17, 2017
    3.5 stars. Born in Maine, Jane Bunker returns there after leaving her job as a Miami detective. She makes ends meet by working as an insurance investigator and a deputy sheriff. She rents a room from an 80+ year old couple who regard her as their family. Her boss at the insurance agency sends her out to photograph the fire of a large home and she discovers a woman's body. After arson and murder are determined, Jane has to track down a killer.The author's strong points shined as she described the 3.5 stars. Born in Maine, Jane Bunker returns there after leaving her job as a Miami detective. She makes ends meet by working as an insurance investigator and a deputy sheriff. She rents a room from an 80+ year old couple who regard her as their family. Her boss at the insurance agency sends her out to photograph the fire of a large home and she discovers a woman's body. After arson and murder are determined, Jane has to track down a killer.The author's strong points shined as she described the Maine scenery and the bitter cold of winter there. Although this is my first book in this series, I can see the set up for future books in the appearance of Jane's brother Wally and the mention of the Bunker family cemetery.
    more
  • Chris Wolak
    June 8, 2017
    Greenlaw’s sleuth, Jane Bunker, was born in Acadia, Maine and grew up in Miami, Florida. After her life in Miami as a detective falls apart she moves to Maine to start over. She’s working two jobs, as an insurance investigator and as an assistant deputy sheriff. At the opening of Shiver Hitch, she’s sent to Acadia Island wearing her insurance investigator hat to assess a house fire. At first, the fire seems rather cut and dry—an accidental fire caused by a frozen ground heave that breaks a gas l Greenlaw’s sleuth, Jane Bunker, was born in Acadia, Maine and grew up in Miami, Florida. After her life in Miami as a detective falls apart she moves to Maine to start over. She’s working two jobs, as an insurance investigator and as an assistant deputy sheriff. At the opening of Shiver Hitch, she’s sent to Acadia Island wearing her insurance investigator hat to assess a house fire. At first, the fire seems rather cut and dry—an accidental fire caused by a frozen ground heave that breaks a gas line—until Jane stumbles upon the remains of a body. On goes her assistant sheriff hat.The mystery that follows is one that expertly uses Greenlaw’s personal knowledge of Down East Maine culture, including the lobster industry and the current opioid epidemic that’s “mowing kids down like a serial killer on steroids.” A new lobster business run by a woman everyone dislikes and that’s staffed by ex-convicts is driving down property values and frightening locals and folks who own seasonal homes. Year-rounders whose families have lived on Acadia Island for decades have relied on “island justice.” They’ve taken things into their own hands to the point that law enforcement has traditionally stayed away. But not anymore with Jane Bunker on the scene. Although the murder victim died in a horrific manner (off stage), there’s not a lot of violence in this novel. It’s a solid, well-paced mystery with plenty of local flavor and intriguing elements for a mystery (I learned much about the lobster industry). There is a family element to the novel that’s a little too neatly depicted but is a refreshing departure from the typical love interest sub-story that’s depicted in many mysteries that feature a female sleuth.I like Jane’s independence, the Maine setting, and the nautical elements, all of which ring true. Greenlaw’s writing is strongest when she’s describing locals, Maine, and especially what it’s like to be aboard ship. Bottom line: A perfect summer read for those who like mysteries with a strong sense of place that is intimately connected to its criminal element, a strong female protagonist, and light on gratuitous violence or sex.Review originally posted on my blog at https://wildmoobooks.com/2017/06/07/s...
    more
  • Lesa
    May 28, 2017
    It's been nine years since Linda Greenlaw's last Jane Bunker mystery, Fisherman's Bend. Now, shebrings back the former Florida police detective who left for Maine. Jane, insurance investigator and Assistant Deputy Sheriff, narrates the story of a simple case that turned into so much more.It's Jane's first winter in Green Haven, Maine, and she's learning to cope with the snow and cold. The weather and Jane's acclimation to it is a constant source of amusement at the Harbor Cafe. The villagers are It's been nine years since Linda Greenlaw's last Jane Bunker mystery, Fisherman's Bend. Now, shebrings back the former Florida police detective who left for Maine. Jane, insurance investigator and Assistant Deputy Sheriff, narrates the story of a simple case that turned into so much more.It's Jane's first winter in Green Haven, Maine, and she's learning to cope with the snow and cold. The weather and Jane's acclimation to it is a constant source of amusement at the Harbor Cafe. The villagers are always interested in Bunker's cases, and they know more about the investigations than she does. This time, her job as insurance investigator takes her to Acadia Island to examine a house fire. Even after she finds a body, Jane believes someone was trapped when the house caught fire. It's only the next day when the newspaper and both of her bosses want more facts that she learns she's now investigating a murder.Acadia Island now has a lobster processing plant with ex-con employees. There are many islanders who might have wanted to kill the deceased, the owner of the plant. But, Jane rushes to judgment when she arrests a suspect. Her lack of island knowledge puts her in danger, threatened by some of the ex-cons, trapped on a small boat during a Nor'easter, and later, caught by the killer.Greenlaw, author of The Hungry Ocean, brings all of her knowledge of the sea to this atmospheric mystery. However, for those of us who read for character, Jane is an intriguing sleuth. She has a great deal of personal baggage with her zeal for investigating drug crimes, her family connection to Acadia Island, and her attitude. Sometimes she's cocky in her assuredness that she's right, and that she's the responsible one. She may take the easiest path to a solution, rather than investigating. She realizes she's forsaken relationships because of her obsession with work. Her life is in stark contrast to that of her brother, Wally, an adult with Down's Syndrome. It's the villagers, with their more laid-back life and their humor, that bring a human quality to Jane Bunker's life.Shiver Hitch is an atmospheric mystery populated with humorous characters. Maybe Greenlaw won't wait another nine years for Jane Bunker's return.
    more
  • Linda Baker
    May 22, 2017
    Jane Bunker was born on remote Acadia Island but her mother fled to Miami taking Jane and her infant brother, Wally, along. Jane never heard anything good about her Bunker family but when her career as a homicide detective exploded she decided to settle in Maine. The plan was to find out about the Bunkers but after nine months she has not even visited the island. Her two gigs as an insurance investigator and assistant Knox County sheriff have kept her busy and it is the depths of a Maine winter. Jane Bunker was born on remote Acadia Island but her mother fled to Miami taking Jane and her infant brother, Wally, along. Jane never heard anything good about her Bunker family but when her career as a homicide detective exploded she decided to settle in Maine. The plan was to find out about the Bunkers but after nine months she has not even visited the island. Her two gigs as an insurance investigator and assistant Knox County sheriff have kept her busy and it is the depths of a Maine winter. But when she is sent over to Acadia to investigate a house fire, she discovers a dead body in the ruins and a tangled web of murder, resentments, and big-time drug smuggling. It has been a number of years since the first two Jane Bunker mysteries, Slipknot and Fisherman's Bend. I was concerned that I wouldn't remember much about the previous two but found myself slipping into the story easily. Jane is by nature a solitary soul but has made friends in her mainland village of Green Haven, notably her eccentric landlords and her fisherman friend, Cal. After many years of Maine vacations, I find her descriptions of life on the mainland and on remote Acadia completely authentic. I can even hear the distinct Downeast accent in the dialogue. Maine is a beautiful state but has all the problems of anywhere else, especially drugs and lack of economic opportunity. And Maine can be particularly dangerous, especially in the winter. Jane makes a number of missteps in her investigation; missteps that could get her killed. Hopefully, Shiver Hitch signals more to come in the Jane Bunker series. We still don't know much about the Bunkers, and the appearance of her brother, Wally, signal more to come.Thanks to St. Martins Minotaur and NetGalley for an advance digital copy. The opinions above are my own.RATING- 4 Stars
    more
  • JoAnn
    May 9, 2017
    I received an arc via Netgalley and this is my unbiased review.Well written book with a good plot and setting. I had not read previous books and although this would work as a standalone, I wish that I had read them.
  • Rhonda Lomazow
    June 8, 2017
    This is the third book in this series.A mystery that drew me in from first pages .I am looking forward to reading the first two Jane Bunkers &new ones in the series.Linda Grenlaw is a wonderful author I am a fan of her non fiction books also.
  • Kimiko
    June 20, 2017
    The writing was pretty good, but I didn't like the character. For being a Miami Vice cop transferred to a small town in Maine, she makes stupid early assumptions and ends up with egg on her face. Then goes against her own thought processes and goes out alone with no back up in the face of danger. I do not think she is a believable veteran cop. ( I didn't read the other books in the series and will not read the others after reading this book.)
    more
  • Kathy
    June 7, 2017
    I actually read the other books in the series, but did not even remember them until I discovered them, as part of the series, on the Internet. Needless to say, I do not recall very much about them and cannot compare this one to them. In this book, Jane Bunker, a former Miami detective whose career exploded, becomes involved in a murder mystery on Acadia Island, off the coast of Maine. Acadia Island has meaning for Jane, as she and her brother were born there. Her mother took the children and esc I actually read the other books in the series, but did not even remember them until I discovered them, as part of the series, on the Internet. Needless to say, I do not recall very much about them and cannot compare this one to them. In this book, Jane Bunker, a former Miami detective whose career exploded, becomes involved in a murder mystery on Acadia Island, off the coast of Maine. Acadia Island has meaning for Jane, as she and her brother were born there. Her mother took the children and escaped to Florida years ago, where she settled. Jane is a town detective as well as a maritime insurance investigator. In this case, Jane travels the short distance to Acadia Island to investigate a fire that destroyed a mansion. During her look through at the mansion, Jane discovers the burnt remains of the woman who owned and lived there. Thus, begins the mystery. Initially, Jane concludes the dead woman died in the fire, but further inspections shows she was killed before the fire and dragged there, with the fire set to probably disguise the murder. Jane meticulously uncovers clue by clue, trying to figure out what is going on. She comes up with a few theories, some of which prove to be false or non-starters. To complicate matters, Jane is ever haunted by the fact that her ancestry is on this island, and everyone knows it, but she has little time to figure that part out. As the story progresses, Jane plods through many clues and events, hoping to finally discover who killed this woman and why.As I said, I do not recall the other books, which I read years ago. Thus, I cannot compare them. Instead, I read this one as a stand-alone. The author writes very well and has a captivating style that provides a fantastic picture of the Maine area. However, the story drags along slowly, as Jane slowly and methodically progresses from one clue and/or idea to the next. You get a good picture of Jane, a methodical, plodding detective who refuses to leave any clue unchecked or stone unturned. However, I did wish sometimes it would move along at a faster pace, instead of slow and steady. I also found it interesting that Jane decides who the murder is slightly less than half way through the book, and then spends a lot of time trying to convict the alleged murder or figure out why she is wrong and whom she should really be looking at. This is a slow, steady book, written by an author who knows the setting and possesses a good sense of writing style. I think someone who enjoys a challenging mystery would enjoy it. I received this from NetGalley to read and review.
    more
  • Bill
    May 19, 2017
    I won an advanced reader’s copy of “Shiver Hitch” by Linda Greenlaw, on Goodreads.com and am posting an honest review. I gave it a rating of 4 stars.Following her mother’s death, Jane Bunker moves from Florida to the small Maine coastal town of Green Haven from which her mother fled with 8-year-old Jane and her younger brother Wally some thirty-five years ago. They had lived on Acadia Island, a 40-minute boat ride across the bay. Doubly employed as an insurance investigator and an assistant depu I won an advanced reader’s copy of “Shiver Hitch” by Linda Greenlaw, on Goodreads.com and am posting an honest review. I gave it a rating of 4 stars.Following her mother’s death, Jane Bunker moves from Florida to the small Maine coastal town of Green Haven from which her mother fled with 8-year-old Jane and her younger brother Wally some thirty-five years ago. They had lived on Acadia Island, a 40-minute boat ride across the bay. Doubly employed as an insurance investigator and an assistant deputy sheriff, Jane has found enough excuses in the eight months she’s been there to avoid visiting Acadia Island and attempting to find out why her mother mysteriously severed ties to the Bunker family. With news that Wally, who suffers from Down’s Syndrome, was being evicted from his government-subsidized housing, Jane now has to find new living quarters for him.Sent by her boss to investigate a house fire on the island under frigid conditions, Jane hopes to reconnect with the estranged Bunker family if time permits. The house fire seems to be accidental, ignited by a water heater when a propane line was broken by frost heaves. Then Jane stumbles across a woman’s body in the rubble. Apparently the victim was overtaken by smoke while trying to extinguish the fire rather than summoning help.Further investigation reveals that the wealthy homeowner, Midge Kohl, was thought to be off the island. She was in the middle of a contentious dispute with island residents over the use of ex-cons working at her local lobster processing plant. When it’s determined that Mrs. Kohl died by drowning, everyone on the island becomes a suspect in the murder.Jane must battle dangerous winter weather along with hostile residents to solve the case. I was mildly disappointed that after relating the story of the estranged Bunker family, there was no resolution of the problem at all. Maybe the author is saving that for the next book of the promising series.
    more
  • Linda Munro
    May 15, 2017
    I received this book via a goodreads giveaway.Jane Bunker has moved close to her home town, a small island off the coast of Maine that her mother stole away from years earlier, moving as far from the Bunker family as possible. Jane had been a murder detective, now in the small town of Green Haven, she must work two part time jobs just to make a living. She works as an insurance investigator and a part time police officer. When Jane returns to Acadia Island to assess the damage caused by what app I received this book via a goodreads giveaway.Jane Bunker has moved close to her home town, a small island off the coast of Maine that her mother stole away from years earlier, moving as far from the Bunker family as possible. Jane had been a murder detective, now in the small town of Green Haven, she must work two part time jobs just to make a living. She works as an insurance investigator and a part time police officer. When Jane returns to Acadia Island to assess the damage caused by what appeared to be a broken propane line, she stumbles over the body of the owner. After assessing the situation, Jane feels the owner of the home had attempted to put out the fire without calling for help, only to succumb to the smoke. When one finds what they suspect, the investigation usually goes no further; but, when Jane takes a sample of what she believes is blood, airing on the side of caution, she turns the entire case and her own life upside down.Jane returns to the island to investigate further, only to be lead into her initial trap, finding what she expects to find, what will happen when she finally learns too much?
    more
  • Kathy
    May 31, 2017
    Shiver Hitch is the third book in the A Jane Bunker Mystery series by Linda Greenlaw. This is the first book in the series that I have read. It is also the first book of Greenlaw's that I have read. You do not need to read the first two books in the series to enjoy Shiver Hitch.Jane Bunker lives in small town Green Haven, Maine. She is employed as both a deputy and as an insurance investigator. In the midst of the cold Maine winter, Jane is called out to remote Acadia Island to investigate a ho Shiver Hitch is the third book in the A Jane Bunker Mystery series by Linda Greenlaw. This is the first book in the series that I have read. It is also the first book of Greenlaw's that I have read. You do not need to read the first two books in the series to enjoy Shiver Hitch.Jane Bunker lives in small town Green Haven, Maine. She is employed as both a deputy and as an insurance investigator. In the midst of the cold Maine winter, Jane is called out to remote Acadia Island to investigate a house fire as part of her job as an insurance investigator. Soon she has to don her deputy hat as she discovers a body in the ruins of the fire. The body is that of the home owner. Who would want to kill her? There is a story about Jane Bunker that has not been explored at all yet. Jane moved with her mother to Florida as a small child and knows nothing about her relatives on Acadia Island. The subject was touched on but Jane did little to find out about them. I hope that story is being saved for a later book in the series.I really enjoyed Shiver Hitch and am definitely looking forward to more books in the series! Highly recommend.
    more
  • Ed
    July 25, 2017
    #3 in the Jane Bunker mystery series. Author Greenlaw brings back Jane Bunker after a nine year hiatus since Fisherman's Bend (2008). Greenlaw is most known for her non-fiction relating to her day job as a commercial fishing captain off the Maine coast. This background stands her in good stead as she describes small town Maine life and the freezing nor'easter that catches the small boat transporting Jane by surprise on a trip from Acadia Island to the mainland. I enjoy the series and hope a sequ #3 in the Jane Bunker mystery series. Author Greenlaw brings back Jane Bunker after a nine year hiatus since Fisherman's Bend (2008). Greenlaw is most known for her non-fiction relating to her day job as a commercial fishing captain off the Maine coast. This background stands her in good stead as she describes small town Maine life and the freezing nor'easter that catches the small boat transporting Jane by surprise on a trip from Acadia Island to the mainland. I enjoy the series and hope a sequel arrives faster than this series entry.Jane Bunker is an insurance investigator and part-time deputy sheriff in Green Haven, Maine. Her family is originally from nearby Acadia Island, but she knows little of her past. When she is asked to investigate a fire that has destroyed a home on the island, she thinks she might learn a bit about her history in the process. Then she finds a body in the house, and the case becomes murder. The dead woman, Midge Kohl, ran a lobster-processing plant and was universally disliked in the town.
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    June 7, 2017
    I'll admit It- I'm a fan girl of Linda Greenlaw, who has created a wonderful character in Jane Bunker. This latest installment in the series, which can easily and happily be read as a standalone, adds to Jane's backstory by sending her to Acadia island. More importantly, the addition of Wally, Jane's brother, creates another dimension for the story. The Vickersons, well, would you like them as your landlords? They are just so real. A fire that turns into murder scene is nothing new in the myster I'll admit It- I'm a fan girl of Linda Greenlaw, who has created a wonderful character in Jane Bunker. This latest installment in the series, which can easily and happily be read as a standalone, adds to Jane's backstory by sending her to Acadia island. More importantly, the addition of Wally, Jane's brother, creates another dimension for the story. The Vickersons, well, would you like them as your landlords? They are just so real. A fire that turns into murder scene is nothing new in the mystery field but Greenlaw has effectively used her Maine setting and Jane's ability to untangle a mystery, even when layered in family secrets, to good effect. Her background as a homicide detective will never leave her, even when she's working in the marine insurance field (which is interesting in and of itself). This is well written and entertaining- and different from the usual. Thanks to the publisher for the ARC. Try this one for a good Maine mystery.
    more
  • Conny
    March 15, 2017
    I was a First Read Winner of this book, and quite anxious to get started on it since the description had me intrigued. Overall I really liked the book, it had me guessing along with our main character and I gladly went along for the ride, but I never really felt I got to know Jane very well. Of course that could have something to do with the fact that this is the 3rd book in the series and I was not familiar with the previous ones, perhaps it would have explained more about her? All I found out I was a First Read Winner of this book, and quite anxious to get started on it since the description had me intrigued. Overall I really liked the book, it had me guessing along with our main character and I gladly went along for the ride, but I never really felt I got to know Jane very well. Of course that could have something to do with the fact that this is the 3rd book in the series and I was not familiar with the previous ones, perhaps it would have explained more about her? All I found out about her was that she was a penny pincher, a meticulous cop who handled pressure well, and pretty much a loner but who was very attached to her brother and the landlords that took her under her wing. The story moved along at a good pace and I would like to check out the other books in the series to get a better understanding of our heroine. I have my eye on Linda Greenlaw now and will gladly read any other of her books.
    more
  • Kay Wright
    July 24, 2017
    Not a terrible mystery, just minimally nuanced. Greenlaw is a lobsterer who writes books, the no-nonsense world of fishing is evident in her writing, people tend to be little more than one dimension. Lots of writers get stuck in a narrower and narrower area because their characters are not nuanced enough to contain both good and bad. They become boring. Taking place in Maine in February there were lots of ways for the setting to become part of the story. In spite of a 40 minute boat-trip to reac Not a terrible mystery, just minimally nuanced. Greenlaw is a lobsterer who writes books, the no-nonsense world of fishing is evident in her writing, people tend to be little more than one dimension. Lots of writers get stuck in a narrower and narrower area because their characters are not nuanced enough to contain both good and bad. They become boring. Taking place in Maine in February there were lots of ways for the setting to become part of the story. In spite of a 40 minute boat-trip to reach the scene of the crime, the atmosphere just doesn't become part of the story. It would enrich it greatly. The main character has potential but nobody is very interesting. A mystery without characters you care about becomes a yawn.
    more
  • Macee
    July 20, 2017
    I've read the first two Jane Bunker books, and thought both were better than this one. However, I read an ARC from Netgalley, and this advance copy was the sloppiest galley I've ever read. To me, it read like an assignment that one has put off until the last minute. Lots of tense errors; incomplete character development; cliches; unsuccessful attempts to make this a standalone novel; an entire plotline (Jane's island ancestors) mentioned throughout the novel but left mostly undeveloped in the en I've read the first two Jane Bunker books, and thought both were better than this one. However, I read an ARC from Netgalley, and this advance copy was the sloppiest galley I've ever read. To me, it read like an assignment that one has put off until the last minute. Lots of tense errors; incomplete character development; cliches; unsuccessful attempts to make this a standalone novel; an entire plotline (Jane's island ancestors) mentioned throughout the novel but left mostly undeveloped in the end; and overall rushed writing. One thing I love about the Bunker novels is Jane's witty, slightly snarky personality and tone. That was present, but did not shine through as clearly in this one as in the others. I do not want to base my rating on the writing, as I did not read a final copy of the book. The plot was serviceable enough; I got a bit bored towards the end and the aforementioned plot dangler was annoying, as it is mentioned at steady intervals throughout the book. I'd do two-and-a-half stars if I could, but will round up to three, emphasizing that a review of the finished product would possibly be quite different.
    more
  • Auderoy Lin
    June 1, 2017
    FAV QUOTES:People make more of what is unsaid than what is said.Here I was, a short boat ride to the truth, but unable to climb aboard; my fear of disillusionment crippling.To my mind, only the best of friends will agree to a favor before knowing what it is.The best and worst times of my life had been defined publicly as "Fine, thanks."I always came down on the side of being good. After all, if I attributed my life to luck, I would have to believe that someday my luck would run out. And that wou FAV QUOTES:People make more of what is unsaid than what is said.Here I was, a short boat ride to the truth, but unable to climb aboard; my fear of disillusionment crippling.To my mind, only the best of friends will agree to a favor before knowing what it is.The best and worst times of my life had been defined publicly as "Fine, thanks."I always came down on the side of being good. After all, if I attributed my life to luck, I would have to believe that someday my luck would run out. And that would make it hard to get out of bed in the morning.No reason to be frightened. Dead people never harmed anyone; only the living did.
    more
  • Jaimie Hall
    June 21, 2017
    We spend time in Maine most summers, which is how I discovered Linda Greenlaw's books. I look for local authors when we visit somewhere. Though Jane was born on Acadia Island, she spent most of her life in Miami and worked as a homicide detective. Back in Maine living in Green Haven, she is working as an marine insurance investigator as well as assisting the sheriff when needed. When a body turns up in a house fire investigation on the nearby island of Acadia, Jane shifts gears from insurance ad We spend time in Maine most summers, which is how I discovered Linda Greenlaw's books. I look for local authors when we visit somewhere. Though Jane was born on Acadia Island, she spent most of her life in Miami and worked as a homicide detective. Back in Maine living in Green Haven, she is working as an marine insurance investigator as well as assisting the sheriff when needed. When a body turns up in a house fire investigation on the nearby island of Acadia, Jane shifts gears from insurance adjusting to solving the crime. Plenty of interesting locals and intrigue.
    more
  • Bjipson
    June 21, 2017
    Fun to read a book by a Derryfield alum. Plus, the setting is downeast Maine, where we've been lucky enough to spend some time...I am not an avid mystery reader, although I find them fun from time to time -- I did guess, although was not sure, about who dun it in this one. Mostly the fun was reading the descriptions of how cold it is in Maine in the winter and what the breakfast diner culture was. I do think Richard Russo is a little better at it, but I will recommend this to anyone at school wh Fun to read a book by a Derryfield alum. Plus, the setting is downeast Maine, where we've been lucky enough to spend some time...I am not an avid mystery reader, although I find them fun from time to time -- I did guess, although was not sure, about who dun it in this one. Mostly the fun was reading the descriptions of how cold it is in Maine in the winter and what the breakfast diner culture was. I do think Richard Russo is a little better at it, but I will recommend this to anyone at school who wants a fun mystery ~
    more
  • Barbara
    July 15, 2017
    When I read the earlier books in the series, I wasn't a mystery book reader, and I enjoyed the Maine setting and the light read. This book was OK, but I would describe as mystery-lite. It's about the characters and town. Not much depth to the characters or mystery and lots of mistakes by Jane Bunker, a former experienced Miami cop.
    more
  • Lisa Morin
    May 7, 2017
    This is the first book I've read by this author.Jane Bunker is an interesting character and I enjoyed getting to know her.Investigating a simple fire turns to a murder investigation and the twists and turns in this story keep it interesting.I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Richard Becker
    June 9, 2017
    This is a good mystery. I enjoyed following the police work, getting to know Jane Bunker, sizing up the suspects and the small town Maine atmosphere. The story was exciting with plenty of danger and some quirky locals.
  • Ruth Feathers
    July 17, 2017
    Note: publication date is 2017, not 2000. This mystery started with a fire in an island that our heroine has a connection to, and ends with ice. Quick read, good pace. I didn't expect the twist at the end.
  • Judy Crudele
    June 25, 2017
    The book is not bad but neither is it good. I slogged through roughly half and just could not finish it. Too bad because Ms. Greenlaw's non-fiction is very good.
  • Pat Hulsey
    March 13, 2017
    A wonderful description of an isolated part of Maine. Jane Bunker has recently moved from Miami to Green Harbor Maine and with her police background has taken a job as an officer with the local police department. She is also the local insurance investigator. Expecting a more laid back policing duty she is surprised when she is sent to Acadia Island because there has been a house fire that needs both police and insurance investigating. The house is suppose to be empty for the winter months but tu A wonderful description of an isolated part of Maine. Jane Bunker has recently moved from Miami to Green Harbor Maine and with her police background has taken a job as an officer with the local police department. She is also the local insurance investigator. Expecting a more laid back policing duty she is surprised when she is sent to Acadia Island because there has been a house fire that needs both police and insurance investigating. The house is suppose to be empty for the winter months but turns out not to be. There are no shortage of suspects dice the victim was hated by nearly everyone from the caretakers to the lobster plant employees who are all ex-cons. In the meanwhile jane's Down syndrome brother Wally is being thrown out of his federally funded housing for lack of funds. He will be arriving from Miami in due time and Jane is not finding many suitable living quarters. The seriousness of the plot is broken up by Jane's landlords who own a gift shop of everything lobster and are delightful octogenarians. They make life fun with a different mussel dish every night for dinner. Watch out for those ingredients!The book is a delightful read and has several moments of the dramatic from a terrible storm at sea to the climax scene. Well written and very enjoyable. Hope there is more Jane Bunker and brother Wally stories coming.
    more
  • Carol Turner
    July 3, 2017
    Getting better with each book.
  • Emily
    June 12, 2017
    3.5
  • Thomas
    May 12, 2017
    GoodReads giveaway winner...Thank you!
  • Susan
    June 18, 2017
    The latest from Linda Greenlaw is another good mystery. Not as complex as the first two but fun all the same. Great for the beach!
  • Reynolds Darke
    July 7, 2017
    I enjoyed the first in this series. This is the third and there is not much to recommend it.
Write a review