Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)
Flirting with the Grave...Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father - the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner - are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1) Details

TitleHalfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 30th, 2007
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780061245084
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Vampires, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal Romance

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1) Review

  • Kat Kennedy
    January 1, 1970
    I remember someone explaining, chemically, how a cheese burger works. How the fatty meat combined with the fatty cheese and the white buns make a cholesterol parade in your blood stream that gives you endorphins that make you happy when you eat it. Something about that combination, seems to give our bodies a buzz. They were explaining that THAT'S why cheeseburgers and Mcdonald's in particular are so damn popular. They're addictive foods because we get addicted to the buzz of eating them.When it I remember someone explaining, chemically, how a cheese burger works. How the fatty meat combined with the fatty cheese and the white buns make a cholesterol parade in your blood stream that gives you endorphins that make you happy when you eat it. Something about that combination, seems to give our bodies a buzz. They were explaining that THAT'S why cheeseburgers and Mcdonald's in particular are so damn popular. They're addictive foods because we get addicted to the buzz of eating them.When it comes to reading, I'm not much different. Combine action + sex + supernatural and you may just have a readership. I guess I'm not the only one because publishers have jumped on this ship like it's the only one with booze and half naked young men and women grinding up against each other (see I'm trying to use subtle images to get you addicted to my reviews. Is it working?)They must have been delighted when Frost walked in the door because her novel is pretty much the combination of sex, action and supernatural elements without ANYTHING else. Most of the dialogue is about sex, arse kicking or discussing supernatural elements. This book is a cheeseburger. A big, greasy, delicious, ketchup covered cheeseburger.The sex orginates from Spike/Bones and Cat, our main protagonist who is a half vampire. Some other characters come into this story but they're not important because they're not having sex.They team up together to fight vampires. They stab, decapitate, crush, kick, punch, tear, bite, shove and knife their way through every single encounter. Kapowi! (See this is the action part of my review. Settle yourself in bitches, because you're about to get addicted!)The vampires in this book can be good or bad and their eyes glow green when they're using their Vampire Powers of Awesomeness TM. They mesmerize their prey into obediance and take "sips" out of them. (There! Bam! You're now addicted! Don't try to fight it, just give in and ride the pleasure wave)So, I enjoyed it in the guilty pleasure way that you enjoy a cheeseburger while you're eating it. Afterward though I felt vaguely dirty and lost. Life was sadly lacking in sex, action and supernatural. I went and kicked my husband in the head but to my IMMENSE surprise he didn't immedately tackle me and make love to me with blazing green eyes. I must be doing something wrong. The last part of the novel dragged a little bit until a vampire started throwing cars around - because we can't possibly go thirty pages without someone bleeding out of one or more places on their bodies...and then having sex. While being a vampire.See, I TOTALLY understand why this book was recommended to me. It's EXACTLY the kind of sexy, kinky shit I'm into and I really enjoyed it (so thanks!) but then I also recognize that this is a cheeseburger. It was SUCH a cheeseburger that I started to feel cholesterol moving through my synapses and forming some brain version of diabetes. Give it a go. It was fun, flirty, dirty, and quick (Oh my goodness, it sounds like a just described a hooker!)If I hadn't kept thinking to myself, "Damn you, Frost! Stop baiting me with supernatural smoochies!" then I would have been able to enjoy it more for what it is. Junk Food Fiction.Just remember, Kids. Junk Food Fiction is a SOMETIMES read.
    more
  • Lyndsey
    January 1, 1970
    Calling all Spikeaholics. Warning. Warning. Sexual content abounds!This book is the perfect fit to fill the Buffy-sized hole in my heart.Cat is a part vamp/part human, super-strength, vampire-slaying goddess with eyes that glow green when she gets riled up. She has been slaying since the age of 16. Bones is her sleek-and-sexy, bleach blonde, British vampire sidekick who also slays vampires for kicks. And for the bounty. Together they form a kick-ass team who love to heat things up on the dance f Calling all Spikeaholics. Warning. Warning. Sexual content abounds!This book is the perfect fit to fill the Buffy-sized hole in my heart.Cat is a part vamp/part human, super-strength, vampire-slaying goddess with eyes that glow green when she gets riled up. She has been slaying since the age of 16. Bones is her sleek-and-sexy, bleach blonde, British vampire sidekick who also slays vampires for kicks. And for the bounty. Together they form a kick-ass team who love to heat things up on the dance floor and in the bedroom.Buffy rip-off much?! YES. But if you expect that, it helps. The absence of Buffy has really been playing on my psyche lately, so this was exactly what I needed. If you go in expecting something original, you WILL be sorely disappointed.Just because it's a derivative, doesn't mean it can't be enjoyable. Plus, I was in the mood for a snarky, mindless romp, which is exactly what this is. I think mood will definitely have a huge effect on how you view this book.Gawd - every time Bones spoke, I would start having to fan myself.I felt like I was having hot flashes. Geez, why are my thighs all sweaty?If you've read any of my Fever reviews (notably Faefever or Dreamfever), you probably know that I can go a bit overboard with the love for my favorite male characters. Bones is no exception.Bones is what you would get if you mixed together two of my favorite things: soot-covered half naked firefighters and rocky road ice cream. Burning hot, dirty deliciousness.DAMN! Wish I had a visual aid for that one. Hmmm, in fact I would gladly hand over a million dollar bill for such a picture!!He had me so sexually frustrated in the first half of the book that I was pulling out all my hair.I'm pretty much down to my LAST eyebrow now.And yes, I look exactly like that.Part of my problem was that I wanted it to keep going with that much intensity. But halfway through the book, they are already getting it on. Not that it wasn't good, but I would have liked a little more tease. I wanted the to be tortured with it. But I'm weird like that.So technically, Cat is not a virgin but in the beginning she acts like one. She's very virginal. And at first, she blushes every time he says anything to her.And she's 22 and getting ragged on for staying out all night once. I can't stand her mom or her grandparents. Get the EFF over yourselves!I can barely justify giving this book four stars, but I decided that three would be too few. That doesn't mean that I didn't love it.I feel like I just need to add that unlike the Fever series where I loved Mac and cared deeply about the things happening to her, I really didn't care at all about the plot of this book or really even that much about the main character. The only thing that kept me going was the relationship between the Bones and Cat, so I really hope that this changes in the sequels.So obviously, I did love Bones (no really?). But that's the main problem. He made this book for me. If you take him out, this book is two stars, maybe. The rest of the story and the main character were not all that captivating. Cat is NO Buffy, though she tries to be.Although, I did find this artwork. It's supposed to be Buffy and Spike but it makes me think of Cat and Bones:This is your typical vampire slayin' and vampire layin' book. Besides the green glowy eyes that the vampires have, there isn't alot here that you wont find in another vamp romance, except for Bones. He makes it sooo worth it.Regardless of it's flaws, it's definitely a SUPERnatural fun ride. And really hot to boot.Oh Bones. *sigh* Oh Bones, oh BONES!! *smacks the desk with both hands*Trust me. With Bones - you wouldn't have to fake it.
    more
  • Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession
    January 1, 1970
    5 Hallo Kitten StarsFirst read 2/20/2014Reread 11/19/2015*Spoilers*"Is that a stake, Bones, or are you just happy with my new dress?"-Cat "Maybe he knew. Maybe on some deep, deep level, he could sense I was evil. I wish I hadn't been born this way. I wish I hadn't been born at all."-CatMy God I love this series. I loved this book the first time I read it and I love it more now. Night Huntress series is one of my all time favorites, and after years of reading it's still one of the best series I h 5 Hallo Kitten StarsFirst read 2/20/2014Reread 11/19/2015*Spoilers*"Is that a stake, Bones, or are you just happy with my new dress?"-Cat "Maybe he knew. Maybe on some deep, deep level, he could sense I was evil. I wish I hadn't been born this way. I wish I hadn't been born at all."-CatMy God I love this series. I loved this book the first time I read it and I love it more now. Night Huntress series is one of my all time favorites, and after years of reading it's still one of the best series I have ever read! God but I love me some Bones and Cat! They are my favorite book couple ever!"I've wanted you from the moment we met, and if you think sitting next to me in your bra doesn't overwhelm me with desire, you're very wrong. I just don't force myself where I'm not invited."-Bones Charlie whistled "Amazing Grace" as he drove. It was all I could do not to whip my head around and snap, Are you kidding me? Couldn't he pick something more appropriate, like "Shout at the Devil" or "Don't Fear the Reaper"? Some people had no sense of the proper music for a kidnapping.-Cat What this book is aboutCat hunts vampires. She has since she was 16. That was the day her mom told her where she came from. That her father was a vampire that date raped her mother. Having grown up with all kinds of weird abilities, Cat never fit in. Then her mom told her all the time that she came from evil, that evil lived in her, and all vampires are evil murderers. Cat went out every weekend picking up vampires. Killing every vampire she picked up so that maybe then her mom would forgive her for the way she was born. One weekend she bit off more then she could chew when she went up to a blonde vampire Bones. When she leaves with him, things don't go as planned and before she knows it she has been knocked out and chained to a cave with said vampire asking her who she works for! When she tells him her story, that she is half vamp and what her father did, he offers her a deal. Help him hunt vampires, as bait, and not only does she get to kill vampires with back up, but he will help her find and kill her father. Cat jumped on that deal. As her and Bones hunt they uncover a vampire sex, and blood slave ring. Will Cat ever let go of her vampire prejudice, and see that there are good and bad in both vampires and humans, or will she let her prejudice cost many lives maybe her own? Can Cat and Bones stop the bad vampires from killing any more young women? "I've been scared for you since I found out I was pregnant," she went on. The lights were off, but I didn't need them to see the tension in her face. "From the day you were born, you looked just like your father. Then each day after that, I watched your abnormalities grow as you did. Soon you'll leave, and I won't be there to watch over you anymore. You'll have only yourself to make sure you don't become like the monster who sired you. You can't let that happen. Finish school, get your degree. Move out of town, make some friends, it'll be good for you. Just be careful. Don't ever forget you're not like everyone else. They don't have evil in them trying to break out like you do."-Cat's mom Justina My Bones: Bones is oh so yummy! He is so sexy my panties melted. Damn that vampire got me hot! The things that vamps says Mmmm Damn!! He showed Cat that it's not being a vampire that makes a person evil, it's their heart. He loved Cat, all of her just for who she was, not even her mom did that. He kicked so much ass and embodied everything a vampire is suppose to be. I can't sing enough praises for Bones. He was smart, sweet, sexy, badass, brave, and caring. Why Bones Why aren't you real???? God but I wanna jump his bones. (lol)"I love that you did it to protect me, but next time, try aiming to wound, hmm? You know, maybe throw the knives at someone's head instead? Then they're incapacitated momentarily, but not reduced to a pile of rotting remains. Just food for thought."-Bones"I can't stand to see you do this to yourself." I regarded him with wariness. "Do what?" "Continue to punish yourself for your father's sins," he replied steadily. "How long are you supposed to pay for them? How many vampires do you have to kill until you and your mum are squared? You're one of the bravest people I've ever met, yet you're scared to death of your own mum. Don't you realize? It's not me you're hiding in a closet-it's yourself."-Bones"I know what you're thinking and you're wrong. This isn't goodbye, Kitten. I didn't survive over two hundred years to find you only to lose you within five months. I want you, but I'm not saying goodbye to you, because we will get through this."-BonesMy Cat: I so have a girl crush on Cat. I loved her every bit as much as Bones. Her mom treated her like it was her fault she was born out of a rape, and that she was evil. Cat never knew true love. She hated herself, but she still cared deeply for others. She tried to do right. She wanted to help and save others so they wouldn't end up like her mom. I could understand why Cat felt the way she did and her actions. She felt very real to me. Even having the life she had she was still an awesome person. She was brave, strong willed, sassy, smart, and straight badass! "I'm saying I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline-homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am and you're what I need. I missed you every minute this week and I don't want to spend another day without you. If my mother disowns me for being with a vampire, then that's her decision, but I've made mine, and I won't apologize or back down from it."-Cat"I want you to know that despite everything, I'm so glad I met you," I choked out. "It was the luckiest day of my life. If I hadn't, I never would have known what it was like for someone to love me, all of me, even the parts I hated. I would have gone through life empty and guilt-ridden, but you showed me a whole new world, Bones. I'll never be able to thank you for all you've done for me, but I will love you every day until I die."-Cat"You are going to wash your mouth out. If you kiss me, I don't want a face full of hepatitis."-Cat "Lucifer's bouncing balls, Kitten, not again!" Uh-oh. I squirmed, instinctively also trying to block Tony's body from his view. As if that made him any less dead. "She was going to stab you," I said in my defense. "Look in her hand!" He was looking at the ground near my feet instead. "Him, too?" I nodded, sheepish. "He jumped me." Bones just stared. "You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!"-Bones and CatThis book's pace was great. It doesn't matter how many times I read it, once I start I can't put it down. Cat and Bones together are explosively hot. The book really built up their relationship. They are one badass vampire hunting team! Their love feels real, and tangible. I couldn't help but fall in love with both of them. I fucking hate her mother. Justina treated her daughter like shit. Justina made Cat pay for her fathers sins over and over, never accepting her and loving her. Jeaniene Frost did a great job of building the paranormal world in this series. I had a great understand of the undead world and never felt lost. The plot was action packed. There was blood, guts, spit, and ass everywhere. Towards the end there is a awesome fight where Cat and Bones are just handing everyone their asses. This book had it all. It made me laugh, smile, swoon, jump up and down in excitement, and cry. There is no HEA in the end it is a to be continued. And the ending OMG ......."That's right, luv." Softly, but with unyielding resonance. "If you run from me, I'll chase you. And I'll find you."-Bones "I will never stop loving you. No one can change that. No matter what happens later, I'll still love you."-Cat
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    ★★★★★ 5 'I think I've found my new favorite PNR/UF SERIES!!' STARS. CAT: "You're not a woman. You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!" BONES: "If you run from me, I will chase you, and I'll find you…" Short summary: Catherine "Cat" Crawfield is a 22-year-old half human/half vampire. Ever since she was a little girl her mother, a human who was once date-raped by a vampire and thus became pregnant with Catherine, has told her that all vampires are evil, demonic creatures that can't be trusted and ★★★★★ 5 'I think I've found my new favorite PNR/UF SERIES!!' STARS. CAT: "You're not a woman. You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!" BONES: "If you run from me, I will chase you, and I'll find you…" Short summary: Catherine "Cat" Crawfield is a 22-year-old half human/half vampire. Ever since she was a little girl her mother, a human who was once date-raped by a vampire and thus became pregnant with Catherine, has told her that all vampires are evil, demonic creatures that can't be trusted and that they all must be killed. So, for the past six years, Cat has used her superhuman strenght to hunt down vampires in her city and kill them without mercy. Then one night she runs into he vampire called Bones who's a ruthless killer and bounty hunter. Bones turns out more powerful than her and he ends up kidnapping her and proposing her with a deal: he suggest the two of them to team up and hunt down the most dangerous vampires together, that way they'll be even more powerful. It's an offer Cat cannot refuse and soon she finds herself part of a powerful and merciless duo of vampire hunters. "There's only one way to fight, and that's dirty. Clean gentlemanly fighting will get you nowhere but dead, and fast. Take every cheap shot, every low blow, absolutely kick people when they're down, and maybe you'll be the one who walks away." What I loved: ❥ The writing: it kept me enthralled and captivated from the very first page. There was a perfect balance between the seriousness and suspense of action scenes and the humor and romance between the two main characters. The dialogue between Cat and Bones was hilarious and had me laughing out loud more than once.❥ The characters: Cat and Bones are a dynamic, fun, sexy couple that complement each other perfectly. And Bones is pretty much my new favorite alpha male book boyfriend; he's smoking hot, a ruthless killer but he his tragic past and the patiente and care with which he treats Cat (aka his "Kitten") show that he also has a soft spot. And every time he calls her "luv" with his sexy Brittish accent, I melt a little inside. *sigh* Cat, on the other hand, is a badass heroine with a very tough, "to the point" attitude, which is very refreshing in a heroine. The only character that I'm not really a fan of is Cat's mother. But maybe she'll come around during the rest of the series...eventually.❥ The action, suspense, sexual tension, passion, humor, romance and tragedy....all these elements turned out to be the perfect combination to keep me hooked from the very first page until the very last one. There were some very interesting twists towards the ending that I didn't see coming and that made me all the more curious to find out what's going to happen next in the fascinating, danger-filled lives of my new two favorite vampire hunters! "You hold the ones you love close and fight the battles you can win and that, Kitten, is how it is." There's not really a cliffhanger, but still, I'm already looking forward to starting the next book in this series soon!!
    more
  • Aestas Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of THE ABSOLUTE BEST PNR/UF series out there!! With one of the strongest long-lasting couples. Here's how I see Bones... are you drooling yet??
  • Alex is The Romance Fox
    January 1, 1970
    I am ecstatic …….a fabulicious new series!!! Sexy vampires….what else could I ask for???? Cat & Bones are now my favorite vampire couple!!!! Cat is a sexy, kick-ass half-human/half-vampire determined to kill vampires…after all her mother was raped by an evil vampire, aka her father. “I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.” Bones is I am ecstatic …….a fabulicious new series!!! Sexy vampires….what else could I ask for???? Cat & Bones are now my favorite vampire couple!!!! Cat is a sexy, kick-ass half-human/half-vampire determined to kill vampires…after all her mother was raped by an evil vampire, aka her father. “I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.” Bones is a sexy ancient vampire, slayer of evil vampires with a fab English accent…yes, he’s British!!!! And GORGEOUS!!!!! I absolutely loved the humor and the interaction and dialogue between Cat & Bones is …let’s just say…TO DIE FOR!!! A love story…ooh I love it…. “Cat, hmmm? From where I sit you look more like a Kitten." My head jerked around and I shot him an annoyed look. Oh, I was going to enjoy this, all right. "It's Cat," I repeated firmly. "Cat Raven." "Whatever you say, Kitten Tweedy.” A great blend of supernatural and urban fantasy world building – sexy, dark, romantic, witty, action filled plot, filled with fantastic characters…those male vampires..YUM…..imgsrc=” that left me wanting more.
    more
  • Tatiana
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsI feel a little torn about this book. Can't say I didn't enjoy it in some way, but at the same time I can hardly say anything in its defense.What I liked:1) Spunky dialog. 2) Dirty talk.3) Steamy hooking-up - Bones is a very generous, attentive and giving lover, if you know what I mean.What I didn't like:1) This is not urban fantasy, this is paranormal romance. The majority of the book is dedicated to flirting, snogging, hooking up, and love confessions.2) Many complain that Bones is Sp 2.5 starsI feel a little torn about this book. Can't say I didn't enjoy it in some way, but at the same time I can hardly say anything in its defense.What I liked:1) Spunky dialog. 2) Dirty talk.3) Steamy hooking-up - Bones is a very generous, attentive and giving lover, if you know what I mean.What I didn't like:1) This is not urban fantasy, this is paranormal romance. The majority of the book is dedicated to flirting, snogging, hooking up, and love confessions.2) Many complain that Bones is Spike rip-off. Not sure about that, as I have never watched Buffy, but the story certainly reads like an indulgent fanfiction. It is a mix of non-stop snark/action/sex scenes (guess which ones I was constantly flipping to) with almost no character development or world-building to speak of. Halfway to the Grave is filled with cutesy gratuitous scenes of jealousy, sex on the stairs, and proclamations of love - the stuff that any fanfiction is full of. The characters are defined exclusively by snarky/sexy dialog with almost no back-stories - Cat, for instance, has no friends, hobbies, interests, etc.; and the story fails to create any kind of sense of place - there is barely any description of anything - clubs, apartments, cities.I understand the appeal of this series, I honestly do. I enjoyed almost-blushing-virgin Cat and dirty-mouth Bones conversations and flirting very much. But you can't sustain a book, let alone a series of books on just dirty talk, no matter how entertaining it is. As for literary quality, Halfway to the Grave has none. Not really interested in reading the sequels.
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more
    January 1, 1970
    2/7/18 - ON SALE for $2.99: http://amzn.to/2x4Rxox3.5 starsGAH. So here's the deal: NIGHT HUNTRESS by Jeaniene Frost is one of the first UF series I ever read, so it holds a special place in my heart.That being said, there are aspects that haven't aged well. At all. Things that were cornball the first time I read them in 2007 are borderline stoopid in 2015. Things like: “I thawt I thaw a putty tat.” Okay, that was always stoopid. How 'bout this: “Tell me why you registered for college?” I asked 2/7/18 - ON SALE for $2.99: http://amzn.to/2x4Rxox3.5 starsGAH. So here's the deal: NIGHT HUNTRESS by Jeaniene Frost is one of the first UF series I ever read, so it holds a special place in my heart.That being said, there are aspects that haven't aged well. At all. Things that were cornball the first time I read them in 2007 are borderline stoopid in 2015. Things like: “I thawt I thaw a putty tat.” Okay, that was always stoopid. How 'bout this: “Tell me why you registered for college?” I asked in amusement. She nodded pointedly at an attractive male who passed by us. “The boys. This place is crawling with them. It’s like an all-you-can-eat buffet!” Ugh.BUT. Bones is one of the most perfect love interests ever conceived. In fact, if he wasn't a vampire--not my favorite--he'd be a strong contender for Numero Uno Book Boyfriend (currently held by Clayton Danvers of Women of the Otherworld fame).He's a Bad Boy. A killer for hire with just a touch of vulgarity that makes him intriguing rather than crass. Or maybe it's that his rough edges are more acceptable b/c he's also daring without being reckless, loyal, and oh-so-patient with his temperamental Cat.Being a bit temperamental myself, I appreciate that. He's also dead (HA!) sexy.BUT.And I'm probably digging my own grave here (PUNS, I has 'em), but he's also very obviously modeled after Spike. As in James Marsters from BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER. You: What's wrong with that?Me: Well . . . You: *glowers menacingly*Me: HIS HEAD IS TOO BIG.It really is. And it widens oddly at his forehead. Almost like he's some Mad Scientist Super Villain. I want to like him, really, I do. And sometimes it's almost possible. But then there's this:SO. This reread I was on a mission. I was determined to find a suitable alternative for Bones-in-my-head. And I did. Behold, Justin Theroux:I was horribly disappointed to discover that he's only 5'9". BUT that's the awesome thing about Bones-in-my-head--I can stretch him to the 6'2" he's meant to be (preserving the aspect ratio, of course), and VOILÀ. Perfection. *takes a bow* *congratulates self*Catherine Crawfield is one of a kind. She's grown up knowing she was different, but any attempts to discuss her extras with her mother are met with anger and shame. So she does her best to hide her strangeness. Pretends to be "normal." Until, finally, on her sixteenth birthday, her mother tells her the truth: Catherine's father was a vampire who raped her. Five months later, Cat was born, premature but fully developed. To illustrate the point, Mommy Dearest stabbed her in the thigh to make her eyes glow. Just like her father's.The Monster.Catherine must be careful, you see. She has evil inside her and it wants out. Cat's mom . . . kind of a bitch. After that Cat makes it her mission to hunt and kill creatures like her father. Now she's twenty-two, and she's refined her technique, learned through trial and error the best ways to beguile then dispatch her prey. But one night, things don't go as planned . . . Her target isn't falling for her usual lines, and in the inevitable confrontation, he gets the drop on her and after being knocked unconscious, she wakes chained to a wall in a cave . . . Not good.That's when things get really interesting.Suffice it to say that they--Cat and Bones--form an unwilling alliance, and thus begins Cat's education about reality vs. what-she's-been-told. And this is where another of the Big Problems rears its ugly head: the slut shaming. Given what you already know about Mommy Dearest, it shouldn't come as a surprise that Cat's formative years included a rather narrow-minded "Christian" perspective on dating and relationships. So it's understandable that she has a hard time with her world being turned upside down, what with learning that vampires aren't any more evil than humans and that sex is part of a healthy adult relationship.BUT that doesn't make her self-flagellation any easier to read. The only thing I can say is that it's a realistic part of her character development, not a long-running theme. Those are my only real complaints: the corn and the shame. I acknowledge that the whole Spike thing is completely superficial and subject to individual preference. And despite those issues, HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE by Jeaniene Frost was still an entertaining read. The plot was interesting enough to hold my attention in the face of awful turns of phrase and sporadic bouts of self-loathing. It's pretty funny, too. And Bones more than makes up for any early deficiencies in Cat's character. Overall, far from a perfect first installment, but worth continuing. Recommended.
    more
  • xrysa
    January 1, 1970
    The greatest thing you can learn from love is to be loved in return. BonesCatI have no words about this book!I was aware that the series is addictive and really good but I didnt expect perfection and yes it was indeed perfect.The characters,the storyline and everything were so carefully developed and well written.Bones made me swoon so badly with his attitude/arrogance and his conversations with Cat either left me giggling or laughing out loud.“You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the The greatest thing you can learn from love is to be loved in return. BonesCatI have no words about this book!I was aware that the series is addictive and really good but I didnt expect perfection and yes it was indeed perfect.The characters,the storyline and everything were so carefully developed and well written.Bones made me swoon so badly with his attitude/arrogance and his conversations with Cat either left me giggling or laughing out loud.“You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!”I'm not going to focus on the storyline since it's full action packed.Just trust me , there is not a single boring moment.I literraly devoured the book and enjoyed every single line. The characters: CatShe is half vampire but she hates them simply because of what a vampire did to her mother.She wants to kill every vampire that will stand on her way and she is doing it with flying colours until she meets Bones.Cat is not your witty heroine.She is :a badassstrongNOT annoyingfunny/smartass“Don't kiss me like a woman if you're going to treat me like a child.”I think that I never liked a female character more.I had so much fun when I was reading her inner monologues.BonesAhhh this sexy english accent *sigh*What can I say?He is a protective vampire who is haunting someone.With Cat's help he believes that he will finally capture him.Bones is funny,ridiculously hot,quite a gentleman/or maybe not .The truth is that he will make you love him.You cant resist him or his charms.TimmieHe is Cat's neighbor and I found him very cute.He is a naive human and he has no idea that vampires exist but eitherway he doesnt have the balls to say a word at Bones.(..)"I staffed him in the closet!"I burst out in shame.Timmie's eyes goggled."Is he still there?"The ending is so unexpected and there is also a cliffhanger.I cant wait to see how things will work out for Cat and Bones.
    more
  • Katrina Passick Lumsden
    January 1, 1970
    I'm.......Conflicted. I've been pondering for far too long regarding this book and how I feel about it. In the beginning, I dug it. I mean, I dug it! Right? I did. I mean, yeah, the writing is shallow and quick, the characters are just shoved in your face and then taken away at the author's whim, but the dialogue and action are engaging, and it keeps you reading. That's good, right? Turns out, not always. Like road trips. They're awesome until someone blindfolds you and directs you right off a I'm.......Conflicted. I've been pondering for far too long regarding this book and how I feel about it. In the beginning, I dug it. I mean, I dug it! Right? I did. I mean, yeah, the writing is shallow and quick, the characters are just shoved in your face and then taken away at the author's whim, but the dialogue and action are engaging, and it keeps you reading. That's good, right? Turns out, not always. Like road trips. They're awesome until someone blindfolds you and directs you right off a cliff. That's what I feel like this author did to me; gleefully drove me over a cliff. And I'm dead, right? I'm lying on the ground, my body is broken, my life force (soul, cosmic parasite, whatever you want to call it) has left my earthly vessel, but my conscious self is still functioning and I'm pondering how to react to this turn of events. What's most startling is that, up until about 3/4 of the way in, I had planned on giving this book three or four stars. The ending...that was the cliff. I guess I should explain. Oh yes, there will be spoilers.Now if you've read the synopsis, you know this is the story of Cat, a half human/half vampire outcast with an emotionally distant, prejudiced mother, no friends, and a hate hard-on for all vampires since her biological father was one...and raped her mom. OK, admittedly it started off on shaky ground, but the humor was good enough to force my hand into giving it a pass. Eventually Cat meets Bones, a bounty-hunting (hitman) vampire who nearly kills her, and the two of them team up to take down "bad" vamps. See, Cat is convinced all vampires are bad, but Bones helps show her the light. 'Cause he's all chivalrous and moral and shit. I dig Bones as a character (aside from his ludicrous, giggle-inducing nickname) because he's a vamp who isn't cartoonishly villainous, but neither is he the self-loathing emo type like Edward some other literary vampires. Basically, think of Spike in the 6th and 7th seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. And Cat is what would happen if you took Buffy, Faith, and Sooki Stackhouse and smooshed 'em together. So we have our premise and we have our characters, and we're ready to move on. Good sexual tension? - check.Zany, vampire-killing adventures? - check. A crime syndicate with one or two "big bads" to take out? - check.Good banter between hero and heroine? - check. An awesome bloodbath at the end? - checkA heroine who can take care of herself? - check. Sounds like this book has it all, right? Well, it does. Including a propensity for the heroine to occasionally act like a complete and total idiot! Why does this always happen to me? Why? Why can't I ever read about a female protagonist who is kick-ass and consistently smart? No, what always happens is that they're either chronically stupid the entire time or they show promise only to fall apart at the weirdest times. In the case of Cat, her great moment of Derp arrives towards the end. She'd acted dumb on occasion before then, but the one that really floored me was at the end. After taking out the big crime syndicate, Cat and Bones are separated and she ends up in the hospital, recovering. A couple of FBI guys show up (think MIB meets X-Files) and manipulate her into working for the government. They use her mom and Bones as leverage to get her to agree to this, and she understandably doesn't trust them and is pretty pissed off, but she feels she can do nothing but agree. Let's forget for a moment that I would never in a million years take that deal (seriously, if my mom were a prejudiced bitch like hers, I'd dump her ass somewhere and never look back), the important thing is that Cat thinks it's the only way to keep her mother and Bones safe, so she agrees. Never mind the fact that making those kinds of decisions for other people is supremely arrogant and self-centered....I'm getting off-track. Anyway, the reader has had it drilled into his/her head from the beginning of this story that Cat doesn't trust easily. She doesn't even seem to trust her mother. Keep that in mind. When Bones first started training Cat, he let her in on all sorts of vampire secrets, including the fact that vampire blood heals. So at the end, Cat is still all hopped-up on Bones' blood, she knows these secrets, she's cavorting with bureau men she doesn't trust (both of whom are as prejudiced against vampires as her mother and want them all dead), and what does she do? She tells them that vampire blood heals. It was at that moment that I pinched the bridge of my nose and was like Hmmmm...I can't think of anything bad the bureau could possibly do with that information....can you? Now I think I have to keep reading because if there isn't a scene in any of the later books where Cat stumbles upon the FBI's secret vampire milking room, I might die of shock.
    more
  • Kristen
    January 1, 1970
    Solid 4 Stars! It's about time I started this series!! I won't waste time writing a review for a book/series that everyone but me seems to have read. I adored Cat and Bones. Their banter, chemistry, and humor was simply fabulous. I now understand why so many readers consider them their favorite paranormal couple. Even with the lame cliffhanger ending, which is no big deal considering the series is complete, Halfway to the Grave is a great start to what looks to be an awesome series.
    more
  • Cece ❀Rants, Raves &Reviews❀
    January 1, 1970
    Welcome to the wonderful (cliche) world of vampires. TBH I read this book for the funny title but it actually surprised me.It had a great blend of supernatural and urban fantasy world building – sexy, dark, romantic, witty, action filled plot, filled with fantastic characters. So the plot *deep raspy voice* Its been years since Cat learned of her true despicable nature, and hundreds of people have died. Some by bad luck. Others by pure stupidity. I mean really, why would you CHOSE to go to a cl Welcome to the wonderful (cliche) world of vampires. TBH I read this book for the funny title but it actually surprised me.It had a great blend of supernatural and urban fantasy world building – sexy, dark, romantic, witty, action filled plot, filled with fantastic characters. So the plot *deep raspy voice* Its been years since Cat learned of her true despicable nature, and hundreds of people have died. Some by bad luck. Others by pure stupidity. I mean really, why would you CHOSE to go to a club full of vampires? But that didn't bother the Cat none, she only cared about one thing and one thing alone: killing vampires. Because in a game of life or death, you either live or you die... Our heroine Cat is a sexy, strong-ass woman who is half-vampire who is determined to kill....wait for it... other vampires! “I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.” She is brutally honest with herself about her homicidal tendencies but tends to block out any other feelings she may (but insists she doesn't) have...at least till the last possible second of denial. “Life sucks and then you die” Her can-do attitude was honestly just so overwhelmingly optimistic at times(sarcasm) but it was pretty hilarious seeing her perspective as she encounters some crazy shit. “Sonofabitch!” I shouted. Great, that was going to leave a mark. There’d be a bruise the size of my stupidity” It's always refreshing when both you and the character are reviewing their actions screaming "YOU STUPID BiTcH wHyyyyy!?!?!" Hehe. She was an entertaining character and I chuckled a couple times. While she did have a little"special snowflake" going on, her strength was also a weakness which created a nice balance between kicking-ass and learning how mortal she is. “My eyes narrowed as I considered my options. One: Put a stake through his heart. Appealing, but morally incorrect” We've all had that one bad ex, but Cat's ex might actually take the cake. He was a total douche but it did help ground her character a little bit with some history, plus his worth to her is hilariously overestimated. We all know that special moment when you meet your next possible love- the dramatic music playing in your head, how you always say the right words, and are, of course, wearing your best outfit! Cat's moment was a tad different.... "You were so nervous, you kept blushing. Never had someone try to stake me who blushed so much.” Meet Bones: sexy ancient vampire....who kills other vampires....and has a British accent! Because ya gotta have something to differentiate him from the others...i'm embarrassed to say it workedTEAM BONES AND CAT ALL THE WAY!! BACKOFF HATERS! “Are you telling me bloody caramel apples and books taught you how to kill vampires? Is that what you’re saying? Well good thing most of the recent generations are nearly illiterate or we’d all be in serious trouble. Blimey!” They had some great banter back and forth in between all the blood and gore and fighting. I couldn't help but fall in love with these two characters. Thank gawd there was no insta-love! It took a while for them to tolerate, let alone trust each other! “Lucifer’s bouncing balls, Kitten, not again!" Uh-​oh. I squirmed, instinctively also trying to block Tony’s body from his view. As if that made him any less dead.” I wish there had been a little more scenes like this, focused more on the comedy and working together. Would it be that bad to have little more character building and snark in between the death, death and more death? There comes a time in every reader's life where the repetition of action-sex-supernatural becomes dull. I know, I know, blasphemy!After several attempts and almost killing each other, the two fell in love “I love you.”My mouth fell open and my mind briefly cleared of thought. Then I found my voice.“No, you don’t.”He let out a snort and dropped his hand. “You know, pet, that is one truly annoying habit you have, telling me what I do and do not feel” But whats worse than admitting you have feelings for a dude? Admitting them to your mother!!! "Kitten, you still haven’t told her? Blimey, what are you waiting for?”“The Second Coming of Christ!” I snapped. “And not a moment sooner! Here, in the closet!” The mother can fall in a hole and die for all i care. No more comments.Now for the only secondary character I actually gave a shit about: Timmie! I loved Timmie, he was so cute and college struggles(honestly I relate) “I’m sorry!” he choked, making it worse by trying to talk. More coffee emerged, spraying me in the face. His eyes bugged in horror, but I laughed so hard at seeing him leak like a thermos with holes that I started to hiccup.” I really regret him not having more of an involvement. I thought for certain he would've gotten caught up in the action. It just felt like this book's character development was limited to Cat, her love interest, and whatever bad guys she came across. Timmie was also the guy that pointed out the obvious to Cat and basically beat the sense into Cat when she started getting too "i want to but i shouldn't! Aaaaa men suck!" But after his three scenes to help Cat, he faded away. RIP Timmie screentimeMy biggest complaint is the ending. I HATE with a BURNING passion the (view spoiler)[- I have to leave you so you'll be safe, but see ya in the next 7 books (hide spoiler)]- trope. Screw that noise, its a weak-punk move. Grow a vagina and figure out your shit babe!Jeaniene Frost did a great job of building the paranormal world in this series. It was a typical vampire world with some extra details to keep it from cliche. The plot was action packed. There was blood, guts, spit, and ass everywhere. . It made me laugh, smile, swoon, jump up and down in excitement, and cry. This book had it all! Definitely Recommend
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Great book. Lots of laugh-out-loud fun. Best dialogue I've read in a very long time. Brilliant!Sexy vampires and a kick-ass heroine. Do I need to point out that the paranormal genre is NOT my favorite? It doesn't matter - this author's writing style and fantastic sense of humor sucked me right in. No need for me to write a review on this one since I am probably the last person on GR to finally read it, but I am posting a few of my favorite quotes ..."Lucifer's bouncing balls, Kitten, not again!" Great book. Lots of laugh-out-loud fun. Best dialogue I've read in a very long time. Brilliant!Sexy vampires and a kick-ass heroine. Do I need to point out that the paranormal genre is NOT my favorite? It doesn't matter - this author's writing style and fantastic sense of humor sucked me right in. No need for me to write a review on this one since I am probably the last person on GR to finally read it, but I am posting a few of my favorite quotes ..."Lucifer's bouncing balls, Kitten, not again!" <<< Still makes me laugh out loud!"Once you go dead, no ones better in bed" (Wouldn't that make a great song?)"One corpse, extra crispy! Do I hear a thousand dollars?""I am a nice young girl here to pick up your granddaughter for the weekend." ... "We're going to a Bible retreat to scare the devil out of her." (Bones to Cat's grandparents, page 173)AND"-and you don't care because you're all that and I'm just an artery in a dress." Also when Spade comes to visit and she wrestles him to the ground, when Bones shows up and deadpans ... "You'd better have a splendid explanation for her being on top of you." Reply: "I've never enjoyed a woman astride me less.AND FINALLYMy favorite quote actually comes from Timmie. After the whole "slay demons can I get an Amen" Timmie pokes his head back inside Cat's door and says, "I don't mind foreigners. God save the Queen!" Pure brilliance! Thank you Auntee and Shawna for the recommendation. =)
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Re/read
  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT: I'm adding a honorary star to the first two books in this series, just because Frost has been consistently awesome throughout.If you know me at all, you'll know about my teeny tiny obsession with a certain TV show, and one certain character in particular... even if you don't know me, anyone who's read this book has probably guessed it, right?So, let's see:Platinum blonde hair... check.Vampire... check.Killer cheekbones... check.English accent... check.Eloquently employed British slang ("so EDIT: I'm adding a honorary star to the first two books in this series, just because Frost has been consistently awesome throughout.If you know me at all, you'll know about my teeny tiny obsession with a certain TV show, and one certain character in particular... even if you don't know me, anyone who's read this book has probably guessed it, right?So, let's see:Platinum blonde hair... check.Vampire... check.Killer cheekbones... check.English accent... check.Eloquently employed British slang ("sodding, blimey, shagging & bollocks")... check.Therefore, in other words...And that is just fine by me :p
    more
  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    Buddy read with Danae, Asya, Shelly, Mariana, Lea, Vicky & Robin (our official, cape-wearing stalker) starting Feb. 13, 2015.DNF at 74%Thou art not dreaming dear friends, it happened again. I'm the freak who didn't like the book with a stellar average rating. First of all, let me say that my rating for this book has nothing to do with the book itself and everything to do with what I expected it to be. I had made some silly assumptions before reading this (don't ask me where they came from, I Buddy read with Danae, Asya, Shelly, Mariana, Lea, Vicky & Robin (our official, cape-wearing stalker) starting Feb. 13, 2015.DNF at 74%Thou art not dreaming dear friends, it happened again. I'm the freak who didn't like the book with a stellar average rating. First of all, let me say that my rating for this book has nothing to do with the book itself and everything to do with what I expected it to be. I had made some silly assumptions before reading this (don't ask me where they came from, I have no idea (view spoiler)[might be early Alzheimer's though (hide spoiler)]), which pretty much ruined everything for me. To be honest I did enjoy the first part of this book. The problem is it all went downhill very fast after I hit the 40% mark.My name is Sarah and I'm an idiot. It's my own fault if I didn't like this book. Silly assumption #1:I thought that this was dark Urban Fantasy. Oh please don't look at me like that, it's bad enough as it is. Since I'm a reformed self-spoiling queen, I no longer read book blurbs. I read somewhere this was UF, saw the title for the series (night=dark right? Right.) and my brain short-circuited. My two grey cells went from PNR to dark UF in less time than it takes to blink. So here I was, rubbing my hands in anticipation, expecting wonderfully gritty times.If this isn't PNR with Chick Lit tendencies I don't know what it is. I almost went into sugar shock from all the luuuurrrrve oozing from these pages. Oh get off your high horses will you? I'm not saying it's a bad thing and I understand a vast majority loves it but I just can't stand all that romantic crap. There, I said it. I'm the alien from outer space who wants to scream every time Bones says "I love you Kitten."Silly assumption #2:I expected Bones to be an aggravating Alpha male. Oh please don't even think about laughing okay? Most of my very good friends here go in heavy panting mode whenever he is mentioned (you know who you are people) so I logically assumed Bones was a total (hence irresistible) asshole. What I failed to take into consideration is that my dear friends are lovely girls who like lovely guys. Me? The bastards get me in heavy panting mode every time.Bones? A decaffeinated, diet alpha male. I thought he was cute at first but cute gets old really fast in my book. And I didn't think he was a particularly butt-kicking lead either. Or mysterious. Or edgy. Then he went overboard with the "I love you Kitten" machine gun and I just couldn't take it anymore. Ultimately I though he was just kind of… boring? Okay, go ahead, unleash your rage on me now. Then again, you should actually be thanking me for this. Maybe even consider throwing a party here. "Why" you ask? Consider this: that's one book boyfriend I won't be stealing away from you. WOW! Silly assumption #3:I thought Cat was supposed to be a totally awesome badass heroine. The cut, cut, cut, slice, slice, slice type. Or better said the slay, slay, slay type. I mean night + huntress + grave that surely means total badass right? Right . Silly little me also expected a complex character (she is half-vampire, half-human after all) with lots of depth.Cat? A badass? Please. So she kills vampires here and there. That doesn't make her a particularly fierce, butt-kicking character in my book. But that's not the worst of it. The problem with Cat is that she is so immature she makes me want to scream. Okay, I have to admit she's not as bad as dear Sookie. Because, frankly, no one can be as silly as Sookie. But I digress. Cat. The girl acts like a 15-year-old. With Bones, with her mom. With Bones because of her mom. With her mom because of Bones {insert scream here} I thought my eyeballs were going to pop out of their sockets from eye-rolling so much. And then Cat decided to pretend Timmie was her boyfriend. That just did me in. How old are you exactly? Twelve?So there you have it. I got to 74% and couldn't take it anymore. Mostly because of all the ♫ lovey-dovey ♫ feels but also because I was pretty much bored to death. I mean, let's be honest here, the plot is virtually non-existent. If you take out all the Bones/Cat relationship blah blah there is very little left. And what's left isn't particularly interesting.BUT. Let's end this on a more positive note. This book features pretty much everything I don't like: romance, nice male lead *shudders* and immature female lead. SO. If you like everything I don't like, there's a good chance you will LOVE this book. Besides, the mere fact that I disliked this book should give you an indication of how extremely enjoyable it is. YOU WILL LOVE IT I TELL YOU. Still unsure about this? Make sure you go and read these enthusiastic reviews: Shelly's, Danae's, Robin's, Jo's and Vicky's (if she ever gets over her laziness and finally writes it that is). After you do you probably won't believe these lovely girls and I actually read the same book. We did. It's just that I'm the cold-hearted freak who didn't get it. Come on, off you go now!
    more
  • Shawna
    January 1, 1970
    5+ stars – Vampire Romance/Urban FantasyI know a review isn’t really necessary for this book since there are already so many raves for it and lots of Cat and Bones fans, so I’ll just use my review as a means for gushing over how much I loved it!Bad-ass half human/half vampire Cat Crawfield, armed with her acerbic wit, bitchy attitude, flaming red hair, slut gear, thigh-high leather boots, and silver knives, stakes, and bullets, slays vampires with a gusto that makes Buffy look like a girl scout. 5+ stars – Vampire Romance/Urban FantasyI know a review isn’t really necessary for this book since there are already so many raves for it and lots of Cat and Bones fans, so I’ll just use my review as a means for gushing over how much I loved it!Bad-ass half human/half vampire Cat Crawfield, armed with her acerbic wit, bitchy attitude, flaming red hair, slut gear, thigh-high leather boots, and silver knives, stakes, and bullets, slays vampires with a gusto that makes Buffy look like a girl scout. She’s a kick-ass heroine who uses her barbed sense of humor and snarky personality with as much effect as her stakes and stilettos and knives and kitten heel boots!Cat’s sarcasm and internal dialogue are hilarious, and the wickedly sexy, fun, spicy banter and romance between Cat and Bones is five-alarm fire hot! There are sooo many belly-laugh-out-loud moments in this book and funny quotes (just check here on GR for some examples).Now for the foremost reason why I loved this book...Bones, Bones, Bones, Bones, Bones...wistful sigh and dreamy shudder. Bones gives Edward a major run for the money for the top yummy vampire award! He just flat-out takes the stake...cake! Need some examples? Bones in leather on a bike, Bones calling Cat “Kitten” and “luv”, Bones’s sexy mix of Aussie/English phrases (“sod off wankers”) and humor, Bones’s surprisingly sweet, tender, romantic side and fierce love for his ‘Kitten’, and most of all the scene where Bones drinks from Cat had me fanning myself and nearly fainting! He can drink from my neck any time, day, where! For you PNR lovers, it’s told strictly from Cat’s POV and does have an urban fantasy feel and slant, but the romance between Cat and Bones is sexy, sweet, and flat-out combustible...very satisfying...except for a seriously frustrating, ‘say it ain’t so’ cliffhanger ending that had me immediately starting on the next book (very glad I didn’t have to wait for it) to carry on with the Cat and Bones saga! So to pretty much sum it all up....Marry me, Bones! Very big 5 stars!
    more
  • Amy | Foxy Blogs
    January 1, 1970
    On sale for $1.99 -> http://amzn.to/1vSsSq412/15/2014---------------------------------------SERIOUSLY!!! Why’d I wait so long to read this book?! I bought it a year ago but let it sit on my kindle. Now, I’m kicking myself because this whole year I could have been experiencing BONES! Move over, Edward, there’s a new vampire in town and he’s sexy, British and has a sense of humor.•••••••I laughed so hard while reading this book. Who knew vampires could be so humorous?!•“Lucifer's bouncing bal On sale for $1.99 -> http://amzn.to/1vSsSq412/15/2014---------------------------------------SERIOUSLY!!! Why’d I wait so long to read this book?! I bought it a year ago but let it sit on my kindle. Now, I’m kicking myself because this whole year I could have been experiencing BONES! Move over, Edward, there’s a new vampire in town and he’s sexy, British and has a sense of humor.•••••••I laughed so hard while reading this book. Who knew vampires could be so humorous?!•“Lucifer's bouncing balls, Kitten, not again!” •“I am a nice young girl here to pick up your granddaughter for the weekend... We're going to a Bible retreat to scare the devil out of her. - Bones to Cat's grandparents” •“One corpse, extra crispy! Do I hear a thousand dollars? ” •“Kitty need's a tongue bath” There are a lot more funny quotes but too many to list for this review. •••••••Cat is a kick-ass half-bred. Atoning her father’s wrongdoing Cat becomes a night huntress killing vampires. After a wild meeting of Bones he convinces her to pair up with him in killing "bad" vampires. GO TEAM CATNES! (since I'm new to the series...I'm sure there is a cooler nickname for this couple than -catnes). Don't even get me started about the sexy chemistry these two have going on. *fanning myself* I've been told I haven't seen anything yet because book two's chapter 32 is EPIC. I love this couple because their banter is witty, entertaining and all-around fun. YES to seven books in this series! I feel like I hit the jackpot.I did listen to this one and it was fun putting voices to these characters. The mom has the most annoying whiny voice and Timmie has a very timid voice. Very fitting for their characters. READ THIS or LISTEN TO IT.SERIES: Ms. Frost has a recommended reading order that can be found here.Novellas: (#0.5)(#1.5)(#3.5)(#4.5)(#6.5)
    more
  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    “You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!” HahahahahaCat is a feisty red-haired heroine who usually kills someone first and introduce herself and ask questions later, i.e. normally there is no one alive to ask him questions after she finishes. Half vampire and half human (an impossible, unheard-of breed), Cat has one and only purpose in her 22 years of existence: She has to kill as many vampires as possible. Nobody told her that not all vampires are bad. No “You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!” HahahahahaCat is a feisty red-haired heroine who usually kills someone first and introduce herself and ask questions later, i.e. normally there is no one alive to ask him questions after she finishes. Half vampire and half human (an impossible, unheard-of breed), Cat has one and only purpose in her 22 years of existence: She has to kill as many vampires as possible. Nobody told her that not all vampires are bad. Nobody told her that eventually she will fall in love with a vampire and that they will chase together the bad guys, vampires and humans.Bones meets Cat before she kills herself with her stupidity and he teaches her everything she needs to know about vampires. And it is really refreshing meeting a vampire who knows what he wants and needs (Needless to say that his British accent is incredibly sexy). “You know, pet, that is one truly annoying habit you have, telling me what I do and do not feel. After living for over two hundred and forty-one years, I think I know my own mind.” In book 1 Cat and Bones have their first adventure chasing a vampire who is using young girls as take-away snack and several other characters are introduced. The end of the book is HFN and not HEA, since it is not the end that Cat and Bones want. “If you run from me, I will chase you, and I'll find you....” Please find her, soon….I am starting book 2 straight away.
    more
  • Lady Vigilante (Feifei)
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars!I recently got caught up in this awesome anime show Naruto so I lost a lot of my reading mojo but thankfully, my friend Rachel recommended this book to me and thinking that all I needed was a break from contemporary I picked it up. Though the first quarter of the story was on the slow side, once the plot moved forward and the action and steamy scenes were showcased, I could not put this book down. The spunky dialogue, the kickass main characters, and the author’s ability to captivate me 4 stars!I recently got caught up in this awesome anime show Naruto so I lost a lot of my reading mojo but thankfully, my friend Rachel recommended this book to me and thinking that all I needed was a break from contemporary I picked it up. Though the first quarter of the story was on the slow side, once the plot moved forward and the action and steamy scenes were showcased, I could not put this book down. The spunky dialogue, the kickass main characters, and the author’s ability to captivate me with her engrossing storyline deserve two thumbs up. And I think it’s amazing that as a reader who really doesn’t care for typical paranormal creatures like vampires, the vampire hero in this book stole my heart – just one more reason why this book is so worth the read.One of the high points of this book was the two very dynamic main characters. The heroine Cat Crawfield is a half-vampire, half-human badass who’s out to bury vampires in her vicinity as a way to atone for her mother’s suffering and her own salvation. On one of these excursions she runs across Bones, an infamous, full-fledged vampire bounty hunter who’s after some of the same vamps she’s looking for. Though it started off rough, pretty soon the two of them form an unlikely team taking down vamps to gather intel.All while the action is going on, a slow-burn, tentative romance develops between the two. There was a slight disconnect at the beginning because I still felt like there was some insta-love but whatever, I looked past it…if I had a hottie vampire like Bones declaring his undying love for me I’d snatch him up in an instant LOL! There was also a push/pull part to the romance, as expected since Cat struggles with self-identity most of the book and reconciling her vampire counterpart to her human one. The only reason why I can’t give it a higher rating is because the first 25% was slow. And even though I connected with the amazingly witty writing style in just the first few pages, I had to push myself a little to get through that first quarter. But the plot after that point was engaging and I had a hard time putting down the book.If you’re in a book slump and just need something ‘different’ to read, I highly recommend this book as it’s a story that’ll keep you on your toes and a good first book in what seems to be a very promising paranormal/urban fantasy series. Halfway to the Grave is the first book in the Night Huntress series and not a standalone. Cat and Bones’s story continues on in the next several books alongside a few spinoffs.
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    Re-reading the Series with my friends at Buddies Books and BaublesThis held up remarkably well. Sometimes when I go back to reread a series I don't enjoy it nearly as much but Cat, Bones and the world of the Night Huntress withstood the test of time. “You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!” A female Blade in her early years as a vampire hunter. Cat has a few daddy issues, one is she doesn’t know who he is since he raped her mother and then vanished. But twe Re-reading the Series with my friends at Buddies Books and BaublesThis held up remarkably well. Sometimes when I go back to reread a series I don't enjoy it nearly as much but Cat, Bones and the world of the Night Huntress withstood the test of time. “You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!” A female Blade in her early years as a vampire hunter. Cat has a few daddy issues, one is she doesn’t know who he is since he raped her mother and then vanished. But twenty two years later and she is looking for him. Not for a hug and kiss reunion but more of a stake and kill one. She is still a little green and gets captured and propositioned but a charming dangerous and funny British bloke Bones. I will say that while the premise of the book isn’t completely original I enjoyed the story so much. The rapport between Cat and Bones and their banter was comical and had quite a few moments of dark humor. Cats transformation from a prudish little girl into a kick-ass heroine under the tutelage of Bones was entertaining and kept me hooked into the story. Bones is an interesting romantic interest and the English accent in my mind doesn’t hurt his heartthrob status. Cat’s backstory was well done and her mother was a trip. I really liked how being with Bones and learning about Vampire culture really changed how Cat saw the world after her mother planted all of her own prejudices into her daughter.This was a fun and fast read and I will be looking forward to reading the rest in this series.
    more
  • Auntee
    January 1, 1970
    Awesome F-U-N!! I loved this book--I'd rank it right up there with any of the BDB books. Jeaniene Frost writes in a similar witty style as JR Ward does, which I love. I swear I had a smile on my face for 90% of the book. And it was HOT! Not quite erotic, but plenty steamy. I knew that I was in for some steamy reading when the hero Bones was trying to train the heroine Cat not to blush when he 'talked dirty to her'. Whew! There was also tons of action with Cat as a kick-ass, yet vulnerable, lovea Awesome F-U-N!! I loved this book--I'd rank it right up there with any of the BDB books. Jeaniene Frost writes in a similar witty style as JR Ward does, which I love. I swear I had a smile on my face for 90% of the book. And it was HOT! Not quite erotic, but plenty steamy. I knew that I was in for some steamy reading when the hero Bones was trying to train the heroine Cat not to blush when he 'talked dirty to her'. Whew! There was also tons of action with Cat as a kick-ass, yet vulnerable, loveable heroine, and the hero, British bad-boy Bones...oh, be still my heart! If he isn't the sexiest, most romantic vamp of all time--and what a badd-ass sweetheart too! I won't get into the plot since there are a lot of great reviews of this book, but I will say if you are a fan of JR Ward's BDB or Kresley Cole's IAD series and you're looking for something to fill the gaps until those author's next books come out, do yourself a favor and read this series! You won't be disappointed. I even shed a few tears at the ending...poor Bones.:( And don't worry, even though this one is told in the first person, you won't even notice it. Reading the story from Cat's POV and hearing her thoughts (some of which are really funny) just makes the plot easier to understand and doesn't detract at all from the hotness of her relationship with Bones! Now on to the next one, One Foot in the Grave--I can hardly wait! 5 stars.
    more
  • Sh3lly (GrumpyBookGrrrl.com)
    January 1, 1970
    $1.99 on Amazon: June 8, 2015! I highly recommend this book for those who enjoy paranormal romance and especially those new to the genre. :)First Read: Feb 2014Second Read: Feb 2015Re-read with Buddies Books and Baubles Group. New thoughts: still loved it just as much as before. I had forgotten a lot of it. Bones is still one of the best book boyfriends EVAH! It was kind of an annoying plot device to end it the way it did (view spoiler)[ with Cat leaving Bones. Not that there was any doubt he wo $1.99 on Amazon: June 8, 2015! I highly recommend this book for those who enjoy paranormal romance and especially those new to the genre. :)First Read: Feb 2014Second Read: Feb 2015Re-read with Buddies Books and Baubles Group. New thoughts: still loved it just as much as before. I had forgotten a lot of it. Bones is still one of the best book boyfriends EVAH! It was kind of an annoying plot device to end it the way it did (view spoiler)[ with Cat leaving Bones. Not that there was any doubt he would find her. But it was still kind of irritating. (hide spoiler)] Cat's mom is such a b!otch. Great re-read, though. Still one of my favorites.Original review:So I finally got around to starting this series. Why did I wait so long?! This book was awesome. It's got an amazingly sexy male lead, Bones, that is written how a writer should write a dang vampire. Dashing, hot, strong, intelligent, lots of banter and snark between him and Cat... the protagonist is not a Mary Jane, and she slugs drinks and fists with the best of them. Usually female protagonists in these books are a tad too straight-laced for my tastes. Cat is inexperienced when it comes to socializing and dealing with "regular human situations," but she's smart and strong and a badass. It's not a complicated book and has a pretty basic get-the-bad-guys plot, but if you want a good, satisfying vampire book, this is one of the best I've read.I think I've finally found a new favorite vampire series. My last favorite, the Southern Vampire Mysteries/Sookie Stackhouse books, was basically destroyed for me by the end due to horrible decisions made by THAT author.
    more
  • carol.
    January 1, 1970
    Two and a half stars.If you love this, great. I'm happy you and Frost have found each other, and I wish you many hot and heavy installments. But I suggest moving on to another review, because I'm going to be very blunt: I remain unimpressed by paranormal romance, and Frost's Halfway to the Grave seems a rather mediocre example of the genre. I occasionally get tempted to try paranormal, searching for that one story to surprise me. In this case, a number of friend reviews, particularly Mimi's revi Two and a half stars.If you love this, great. I'm happy you and Frost have found each other, and I wish you many hot and heavy installments. But I suggest moving on to another review, because I'm going to be very blunt: I remain unimpressed by paranormal romance, and Frost's Halfway to the Grave seems a rather mediocre example of the genre. I occasionally get tempted to try paranormal, searching for that one story to surprise me. In this case, a number of friend reviews, particularly Mimi's review and the fact that Ilona Andrews, co-author of one of my favorite UF series, is besties with Frost, inspired me to give her a try. Unfortunately, Frost has done nothing to change my opinion of the genre.Writing a Paranormal RomanceCharacters1) Alienated but speshul female lead who is insecure about her looks, inexperienced with dating, and trying to build identity away from her family. Preferably has under-developed magic or physical power2) Sexxy, hawt (other modern adjective) arrogant male lead who dresses well.3) Dull/clueless boy-next-door admirer (of the female lead)4) Vampires (sparkling optional). Should include a hawt-but-naughty vampire and an Evil vampire5) Clueless government representative (evilness optional)Plotting, romantic1) Female lead needs to learn to trust rakish male lead while male lead needs to fall in LOVE with female2) Traditional sex scene3) Female needs to discover her sexual identity4) Semi-scandalous sex scene (if you are thirteen)5) Couple challenged by immortal vs. immortal issuePlotting, external conflict1) Evil versus goodWorld-building1) Substitution of 'real world' for world-buildingHalfway to the Grave is best summarized with an equation: Blade meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer, minus Buffy's compassion, intelligence and self-esteem. Writing was about average for the genre. Family backstory took a vaguely interesting angle on the heroine's background. Heroine had normal to above average amounts of TSTL moments. I did enjoy one scene with a disagreeable ghost, and even laughed out loud at the end of it. I can't say that I recommend it any more than any other PNR books. Worth noting it kept me awake on night shift, so not a waste of time.
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars This is a book I read before I started reviewing and blogging, and it's oh so special to me. Cat and Bones are my favorite PNR couple, and when I recently got myself into a horrifyingly bad book slump, I turned to them for help. I've read this book so many times I've lost count, but I always find something new to appreciate I may have never noticed the first time around. I am so very tempted to continue rereading the rest of this series, and switching to PNR books only for a while. They 5 stars This is a book I read before I started reviewing and blogging, and it's oh so special to me. Cat and Bones are my favorite PNR couple, and when I recently got myself into a horrifyingly bad book slump, I turned to them for help. I've read this book so many times I've lost count, but I always find something new to appreciate I may have never noticed the first time around. I am so very tempted to continue rereading the rest of this series, and switching to PNR books only for a while. They are my first love of the romance genre, maybe I need to go back to my roots.....
    more
  • Darynda Jones
    January 1, 1970
    WOW! I am loving this!!!
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    This is the story of two hipsters who rescued, yes re-purposed, two dogs and ironically named them "Cat" and "Bones".Freaking hipsters ruining everything! Leave our doggies alone!So, just kidding. Obviously. But, the dumb-ass names are why I have never read this book series, even though it is totally in my wheelhouse. I just couldn't handle the idea of a romantic lead being named "Bones". It's stupid, so I have held off all of these years. But, recently I read one of those .5 books where there a This is the story of two hipsters who rescued, yes re-purposed, two dogs and ironically named them "Cat" and "Bones".Freaking hipsters ruining everything! Leave our doggies alone!So, just kidding. Obviously. But, the dumb-ass names are why I have never read this book series, even though it is totally in my wheelhouse. I just couldn't handle the idea of a romantic lead being named "Bones". It's stupid, so I have held off all of these years. But, recently I read one of those .5 books where there are short stories set in a bunch of different urban fantasy worlds, and one of the Night Huntress stories was after the one I was reading, so I just kept on reading. And, lo & behold, I liked it. I was almost able to get over the name thing. So, I decided to finally get over myself and read this series.And, I'm glad I did because it is fun. It's so old-school! Every trope imaginable. Even our hot vampire master is a reminder of day's past ala Buffy. It's like taking a trip down vampire memory lane.It's a feel-good thing.I'm not even going to bother giving you a synopsis of this book that almost everyone has already read. I will just say that if you are like me and love the Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance genre, and you somehow missed this one, you should give it a go.But, I can't end my review without mentioning how much I love a female character who is such a bloodthirsty killer that a master vampire who kills for a living is trying to get her to take it down a notch. Cat is definitely my kind of girl. Bones just stared. “You’re not a woman...You’re the Grim Reaper with red hair!”
    more
  • Don
    January 1, 1970
    WHY “I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.” HAS "I thawt I thaw a putty tat" The mocking voice caused my pain to dissipate in a rush of terror. When I saw the vampire close by, I shuddered."I did , I did thee a putty tat!" ITTAKEN "Fine. I promise I won't kill him."He said it too easily. My eyes narrowed."Promise me right here and WHY “I'm saying that I'm a moody, insecure, narrow-minded, jealous, borderline homicidal bitch, and I want you to promise me that you're okay with that, because it's who I am, and you're what I need.” HAS "I thawt I thaw a putty tat" The mocking voice caused my pain to dissipate in a rush of terror. When I saw the vampire close by, I shuddered."I did , I did thee a putty tat!" ITTAKEN "Fine. I promise I won't kill him."He said it too easily. My eyes narrowed."Promise me right here and now that you will also never cripple, maim, dismember, blind, torture, bleed or other-wise inflict any injury on Danny Milton. Or otherwise stand by while someone else does as you watch.""Blimey, that's not fair!" he protested. MESO “Don't kiss me like a woman if you're going to treat me like a child.” LONGTOSTART "You're not a woman," he said finally. "You're the Grim Reaper with red hair!” THISSERIES!!! "That's right, luv." Softly, but with unyielding resonance. "If you run from me, I'll chase you, And I'll find you." Me after reading this book:
    more
  • Arlene
    January 1, 1970
    Blimey! That was bloody brilliant! Thank you so much to my Street Corner Booker friend Lora for challenging me to start the Night Huntress series. She anticipated I would love the series, but I bet she never guessed I’d need a drool bib for Bones! Whoaza! I know this guy isn’t real, but I still need to say…. IS.HE.FOR.REAL? :O Pass the laminator, I’m updating my list. XDThere is so much I enjoyed about Halfway to the Grave, where to start? It’s funny, sensitive, full of action, and bad a$$ momen Blimey! That was bloody brilliant! Thank you so much to my Street Corner Booker friend Lora for challenging me to start the Night Huntress series. She anticipated I would love the series, but I bet she never guessed I’d need a drool bib for Bones! Whoaza! I know this guy isn’t real, but I still need to say…. IS.HE.FOR.REAL? :O Pass the laminator, I’m updating my list. XDThere is so much I enjoyed about Halfway to the Grave, where to start? It’s funny, sensitive, full of action, and bad a$$ moments. This paranormal adventure had it all. I loved Cat and Bones, they were pure awesome! They make an explosive pair and when they drop their guard you go from high impact action to awwwww that was beauteous in 3.0 seconds. What a rush!In this series, Catherine Crawfield is a vampire huntress on a mission. She’s out there bringing down the baddie blood suckers in the hopes of taking down her evil father. Well, one night she goes for the wrong vamp. She captures Bones, who is a bounty hunter and after an explosive showdown, they form a pact that’s both deadly, full of gore and ultimately a bond develops between these two that no one can break.I loved the dialog and shared scenes between the two protags. Bones is funny has HALE, he makes me BLUSH and his moments of sincerity brings down my defenses in a human heartbeat! Some of his lines cracked me up and others just made me sigh with lurves struck awe. I’m big on nicknames and …. Yeah… he uses them well. Aww!! Cat is the Red Reaper and no one can stop her. I love strong female characters that won’t go down without a fight and Cat delivers every time. This story moves at a fast paced the entire time and the ending leaves you craving for more. Great series that has me officially hooked. Loved it!
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading this book months ago, read the first two chapters and dropped it. Don’t ask why. I don’t even know myself. I picked it up again and am wondering what the hell was wrong with me back then!?Halfway to the Grave was a solid UF read. For me, UF is either a hit or miss with me. I either love it or hate it and I think with the Night Huntress series, I never really gave it a chance because I dropped it all those months ago. But sitting my ass down and reading it actually paid off in t I started reading this book months ago, read the first two chapters and dropped it. Don’t ask why. I don’t even know myself. I picked it up again and am wondering what the hell was wrong with me back then!?Halfway to the Grave was a solid UF read. For me, UF is either a hit or miss with me. I either love it or hate it and I think with the Night Huntress series, I never really gave it a chance because I dropped it all those months ago. But sitting my ass down and reading it actually paid off in the end and now I know why this series is such a hit! First off, I want to talk about BONES! I loved him! He ran the show for me. With the diamonds and cream complexion, those glowing green eyes and that British accent? What’s not to love about the guy!? But what really got me was the fact that he knew exactly who he was as a person. He seemed so sure of himself the entire time, making Cat second-guess her beliefs that all vampires are bad. I expected the hero to be a tortured one who loathed himself and what he was. Sooo not the case here. Bones accepts that he’s a vampire and that fact alone causes Cat to change her perspective of the bloodsuckers. It’s refreshing. But Cat was the one reason why I put this book down the first time. Cat is a half-breed, a result of her mother being raped by a ruthless vampire. So she hates who she is, hates what happened to her mother, and runs around town killing those with no heartbeats. She is soo fucking bitter that her entire life is dedicated to ridding vampires from the world! I hate to say this but someone should have bitchslapped her and tell her to wake the fuck up and stop feeling so sorry for herself. I’ll be honest, I didn’t like Cat in the beginning. She was annoying and rash and never thought before she spoke. How could I relate to an immature girl who hunts vampires because she irrationally hates them? But halfway through, she realized her faults and THANK THE LORD FOR THAT! I nearly pulled my hair out! When she finally came to accept herself and stopped being so hypocritical, I began to respect her more. Also, Cat can be pretty badass when she wants to be! I have a feeling that she’ll continue to be a kickass heroine that I’ll grow to love more and more.I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series. With an ending like that, I can already feel my fingers itching towards One Foot in the Grave.Favourite Quote:“Right, then, mate, terribly sorry for my unspeakable rudeness, and I do beg your pardon,” he said with admirable humbleness when Timmie cracked it open. Only I could pick up the slight edge to his voice as he went on. “I can only say that it was caused by my natural affront to the notion of her as my sister. Since I’ll be shagging her tonight, you can imagine how I’d be distressed at the thought of rogering my sibling.”“You schmuck!” I brust as Timmie’s jaw dropped. “The only thing you’ll be shagging tonight is yourself.”“You wanted sincerity,” he countered. “Well, luv, I was sincere.”***Rating edited*** After reading the rest of the series, I changed this rating from 4 starts to 3 stars.
    more
Write a review