Star Trek / Legion of Super-Heroes
IDW Publishing and DC Comics are proud to present the greatest tale of the 23rd century!Or is that the 31st century? As you'll see here, it's both! Eisner-nominated writer Chris Roberson and Star Trek and Legionnaires veteran artist Jeffrey Moy partner up to bring you the most bizarre partnership of any century! The crew of the Starship: Enterprise and the Legion of Super-Heroes come face to face as they deal with a changed history and timeline that neither knows the cause of. Traveling to the past and the future to find answers, both teams must work together to set things right.

Star Trek / Legion of Super-Heroes Details

TitleStar Trek / Legion of Super-Heroes
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2012
PublisherIDW Publishing
ISBN-139781613772300
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Media Tie In, Star Trek, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Comic Book, Graphic Novels Comics, Fiction, Time Travel

Star Trek / Legion of Super-Heroes Review

  • Chad
    January 1, 1970
    A very "by the numbers" crossover where universes are altered and our 2 teams must split up into away teams to deal with the crisis. The characters are all very flat with no personalities. Roberson is obviously a fan of the original Star Trek as he tries to tie in half the episodes to this series. Overall it's just too much and the book became a chore to read.
    more
  • Shannon Appelcline
    January 1, 1970
    I was excited to see these characters together, and Roberson provides a great premise for how they could end up together.Unfortunately, the story just doesn't hold up to the possibilities. The characters are very flat, and the adventure is mostly unexciting and somewhat color-by-numbers: it feels very much like Roberson is writing to a specific formula to make his storylines line up precisely, a problem that I also had with his Eternal Champion work. The overall result is a little uninspiring, t I was excited to see these characters together, and Roberson provides a great premise for how they could end up together.Unfortunately, the story just doesn't hold up to the possibilities. The characters are very flat, and the adventure is mostly unexciting and somewhat color-by-numbers: it feels very much like Roberson is writing to a specific formula to make his storylines line up precisely, a problem that I also had with his Eternal Champion work. The overall result is a little uninspiring, though probably worth reading.
    more
  • Christopher (Donut)
    January 1, 1970
    The art was top-notch. The story was serviceable.I have some kind of nerd crush on Shadow Lass that I didn't even know about.( "Three stars? Why not- four?")
  • Quentin Wallace
    January 1, 1970
    Im not a huge fan of the LOSH, and really only a marginal Star Trek fan, but this combination really worked.We see both groups tossed into an alternate universe that features parts of their own universes but is totally different. We see Vandal Savage, Flint, Q, Klingons, Khund and several other members of both the DCU and the Star Trek Universe show up. Pretty decent team up, and I think fans of both Star Trek and the Legion should enjoy this one.
    more
  • Chris
    January 1, 1970
    Fun, and I loved watching Shadow Lass deal with Kirk. A couple of good digs at the costumes of Star Trek and comics too.
  • David Caldwell
    January 1, 1970
    From Star Trek, we have Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Chekov, and Sulu. Scotty stays on the Enterprise. From the League of Super Heroes, we have Cosmic Boy, Saturn Girl, Lightning Lad, Brainiac 5, Chameleon Boy, and Shadow Lass. Both groups end up in an alternate reality where the planet Earth is the center of a conquering empire that stretches across many worlds.The story follows the time honored meetings between heroes (or groups of heroes). First they fight and then team up to fight the common f From Star Trek, we have Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Chekov, and Sulu. Scotty stays on the Enterprise. From the League of Super Heroes, we have Cosmic Boy, Saturn Girl, Lightning Lad, Brainiac 5, Chameleon Boy, and Shadow Lass. Both groups end up in an alternate reality where the planet Earth is the center of a conquering empire that stretches across many worlds.The story follows the time honored meetings between heroes (or groups of heroes). First they fight and then team up to fight the common foe. I liked how both groups are portrayed for the most part. They both poke fun at something the other group does. The league points out how annoying Spock saying everything is fascinating. Shadow Lass shoots down several passes that Kirk makes. Kirk gets in a remark about The League using codenames instead of their real names.Without giving away too much of the plot, I really like how the story took a known character from each franchise and related them to each other. Then they formed a new version for this new reality. The real answer to the puzzle of how this happened shouldn't be that big of a surprise. It is logical as Spock would say.I did have a few minor qualms though. First, the Star Trek crew tended to treat the League as subordinates. While the Trek crew is very capable in a fight, l still think the League members should have done a little better considering their powers. My other problem was with some of the artwork. For the most part, the artwork was fine. At times though, the Trek crew looked as young as the League members (late teens or early twenties). This was most common with Kirk.Like most good cross company, time travelling crossovers, once the problem was fixed, everyone forgot everything so no continuities were harmed. So it makes a nice addition to the Trek/ Dr. Who crossover and Trek/X-Men crossover (which is strangely enough not a graphic novel).
    more
  • Jordan Steinhoff
    January 1, 1970
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this series.Usually cross property comic team ups like this are pretty bad. I'm looking at you ST:TNG/X-Men.This, however, was really quite good.There is the standard moment where both sets of heroes fight each other for a while, then realize they are not the others villains and proceed with the rest of the story.There are some really good mash ups of both the Trek and Legion universes. A really great Fatal Five made up of Trek races. A Gorn as The Persuader. A I was very pleasantly surprised by this series.Usually cross property comic team ups like this are pretty bad. I'm looking at you ST:TNG/X-Men.This, however, was really quite good.There is the standard moment where both sets of heroes fight each other for a while, then realize they are not the others villains and proceed with the rest of the story.There are some really good mash ups of both the Trek and Legion universes. A really great Fatal Five made up of Trek races. A Gorn as The Persuader. An Orion woman as the Emerald Empress. Stuff like that.The choice of villain is clever as well as he really does fit the bill for a character from both TOS and DCU that could, in each universe's lore, really be doing what he's done in this mini. One of the alternate covers for issue 3 (i think) Is Kirk centered in all the women of the Legion. Took me a second to get the joke there but when I did, I laughed. There are a couple other 'Kirking it' moments as well.Overall, this is a really fun read and stands out as an actually good story in the wasteland of modern hero comics.
    more
  • Jean-Pierre Vidrine
    January 1, 1970
    This is definitely the most logical Star Trek superhero mix that could ever happen. (It certainly makes more sense than the X-Men crossovers of he '90s.) I've always referred to the Legion of Super-Heroes as a teenaged super powered Star Trek. It could have gone wrong, it could have been silly, but it didn't and it wasn't. Chris Roberson makes great use of Star Trek's and DC's history, mining them both exhaustively and blending them together. And the revelation(s) of the villain(s) here genuinel This is definitely the most logical Star Trek superhero mix that could ever happen. (It certainly makes more sense than the X-Men crossovers of he '90s.) I've always referred to the Legion of Super-Heroes as a teenaged super powered Star Trek. It could have gone wrong, it could have been silly, but it didn't and it wasn't. Chris Roberson makes great use of Star Trek's and DC's history, mining them both exhaustively and blending them together. And the revelation(s) of the villain(s) here genuinely surprised me. I was expecting one thing, and I got it . . . and more.Jeffrey Moy's artwork is excellent as he not only captures accurately, but reimagines the familiar trappings of the world of Star Trek. I can't tell you what excitement I felt seeing characters, races, and concepts from DC's rich history of science fiction blend in flawlessly with everything Star Trek. This is, quite probably, the greatest use of Star Trek; not only in comic books, but in any medium. Truly, there were no limits here.
    more
  • David Palazzolo
    January 1, 1970
    When I first heard of a Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes team-up I was overjoyed--this is the sort of thing that thrills my fanboy soul. I have to admit I was a little surprised IDW and DC Comics did not get Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning as writers given their history with both continuities, but their choice of creative teams proved to be far more than adequate. Chris Robeson did a good job in bringing together two wildly different groups of characters with mutually exclusive histories, then place When I first heard of a Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes team-up I was overjoyed--this is the sort of thing that thrills my fanboy soul. I have to admit I was a little surprised IDW and DC Comics did not get Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning as writers given their history with both continuities, but their choice of creative teams proved to be far more than adequate. Chris Robeson did a good job in bringing together two wildly different groups of characters with mutually exclusive histories, then placed them into a setting that made use of Trek and LSH lore in inventive ways. The Jeffrey Moy was a logical choice on the art given his history of illustrating both Trek and LSH. His work felt rushed in places, but overall was enjoyable. My major problem with this series is that it was not long enough. I would have enjoyed a 12 issue limited series much more. I hold out hopes for a sequel.
    more
  • Mark
    January 1, 1970
    Chris Roberson did an outstanding job melding Star Trek and Legion lore. The artwork by the Moy brothers was equal to the story. I reviewed the individual issues over at TrekMovie.com:http://trekmovie.com/2011/11/08/treki...http://trekmovie.com/2011/12/14/treki...http://trekmovie.com/2012/01/04/treki...http://trekmovie.com/2012/02/14/treki...http://trekmovie.com/2012/03/20/treki...
    more
  • Aron
    January 1, 1970
    Solid! I've never read any Legion of Superhero's stuff so I really didn't know what to expect. What I got was a nice, fun story that incorporated the two franchises in a believable way. I'm glad I read it & would recommend it to ST & Legion fans alike, it wasn't mind blowing but it was entertaining. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that while the art was good the likeness of the characters wasn't captured very well, but that was the only negative for me.
    more
  • Charles
    January 1, 1970
    I know absolutely nothing about the legion of superheroes but the Star Trek characterizations in this were pretty spot on. In general, the story was interesting and the art was quite good. I'm not a huge fan of superheroes so I didn't care that much for those characters. There probably wasn't quite as much action as I expected.
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Liked this a lot more than expected, though the two universes don't mesh all that cleanly. Still, a fun exercise in playing with two decidedly different sandboxes to see what happens.
  • M Christopher
    January 1, 1970
    I really needed some mindless fun yesterday afternoon. My 10-year old self would have been thrilled by this mash-up of Jim Kirk's crew and the Legion. My 52-year old self was mildly amused.
  • Patrick
    January 1, 1970
    A fun little read, but far from great. if you are fan of both concepts, you won't hate it. But if you are not, I doubt there is anything for you in these pages.
  • Hannah Givens
    January 1, 1970
    The bad: Characterization is shallow at best, "Kirk being gross to Shadow Lass" at worst. The plot is similarly shallow for the most part, and the characters don't get to interact on a substantive level. Also the covers, while sometimes beautiful (especially in the gallery at the end) generally show the bridge crew with a whole complement of Legionnaires, even though only a few of them are actually in the story. The good: I love the idea of putting both sets of heroes into a new timeline they do The bad: Characterization is shallow at best, "Kirk being gross to Shadow Lass" at worst. The plot is similarly shallow for the most part, and the characters don't get to interact on a substantive level. Also the covers, while sometimes beautiful (especially in the gallery at the end) generally show the bridge crew with a whole complement of Legionnaires, even though only a few of them are actually in the story. The good: I love the idea of putting both sets of heroes into a new timeline they don't recognize, a corruption of both universes. I also loved how the villain played into that structure. The two twists/reveals were really good. The volume is also really nicely made, a pleasure to hold and read.
    more
  • Martin Maenza
    January 1, 1970
    I liked the artwork but the story was a bit weak shame as I am a fan of both of these sci-if franchises.
  • Ed Gosney
    January 1, 1970
    I felt the writer, Chris Roberson, did a nice job capturing the personalities of the Star Trek characters, and enjoyed the story.
  • Trekscribbler
    January 1, 1970
    Crossovers are not always an easy sell. What might look like a stroke of genius bringing two separate worlds together on the face of it could just as easily backfire, leaving a blemish (or a stink) on both universes. Thankfully, most writers who undertake such a complex task know more than a little bit about both sides of the intended crossover, and this greatly helps facilitate not only the reality of what such a story would, could, and should look like but also it helps suitably iron out the w Crossovers are not always an easy sell. What might look like a stroke of genius bringing two separate worlds together on the face of it could just as easily backfire, leaving a blemish (or a stink) on both universes. Thankfully, most writers who undertake such a complex task know more than a little bit about both sides of the intended crossover, and this greatly helps facilitate not only the reality of what such a story would, could, and should look like but also it helps suitably iron out the wrinkles of how to get all characters back to where they belong. However, when readers are unfamiliar with both universes (or franchises) presented, the end product really needs to be the best of both worlds … and I’m not entirely certain that’s what IDW delivered with this volume, STAR TREK/LEGION OF SUPER-HEROES (2012).(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of character and plot. If you’re the type of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last paragraph for my final assessment. If, however, you’re entirely accepting of a few hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)Captain James T. Kirk and the crew of the Starship Enterprise are no strangers to time travel or inter-dimensional travel. Nor are any of the champions serving the Legion of Super-Heroes. When a freak transporter accident AND the collapse of a bubble-craft traveling through space-time coincide at just the right (or wrong!) moment, both teams find themselves stranded on a parallel Earth, one where the Federation exists but its primary mission is to conquer strange, new worlds! Only by seeking out and finding one another can they hope to survive the resulting chaos of their displacement into a completely new universe, and only by cooperating can they hope to separate this new timeline back into separate entities so that they can return home!As I said above, crossovers had problems already built in to them that writers have to be extremely conscious of, and, unfortunately, STAR TREK/LEGION OF SUPER-HEROES’ scribe Chris Roberson bit off much, much more than any single man should ever attempt to chew. Why do I say that? Well, on the face of it, I’m not entirely sure such a crossover was even a good idea to begin with. The world of Jim Kirk and his crew of explorers represents one possible tomorrow for the people of planet Earth; this is not to say it’s a ‘reality,’ per se, but it has all the makings and variables that several significant elements of it are likely. Of course, it’s fiction (don’t send the men in white coats to my front door just yet, mother dear), but there’s a wealth of science in there – space exploration, the possibility of finding intelligent life, not to mention phasers and tricorders and transporters, oh my – that, while speculative, isn’t beyond the grasp of what’s possible if not probable. However, with the Legion of Super-Heroes … it’s just super-heroes, and, since they’re wholly licensed to the world of the fictional, then why bother?It isn’t that TREK/LEGION doesn’t have some strong writing because, to be fair, it does. Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Sulu, and Chekov come alive – at least as much as they have in any other comic book incarnation. I’m not schooled with the Legion’s crew, but, so far as I can tell, they certainly appear to be legitimate creations. The circumstances that propel these two teams into the same newly-minted universe isn’t all that new or novel, especially considering it’s a variation on themes already explored several times in the TREK world alone … but that’s a minor quibble when considering the entire story at play. As far as the villain goes, you get a solid two-fer (one from the Legion’s background, and a surprising counterpart from a different version of STAR TREK); however, I will say that so very much of the story felt like a retread of other tales already explored.Granted, this wasn’t what I expected. Still, I hadn’t expected the crossover in the first place … so there’s something to be said for making an honest attempt at a truly unanticipated pairing.STAR TREK/LEGION OF SUPER-HEROES is published by IDW Publishing. The story is by Chris Roberson; and the artwork is by Jeffrey Moy. The volume bears a cover price of $24.99, and, so far as this reader is concerned, that’s more latinum than these 152 pages are worth.MODESTLY RECOMMENDED. If you’re a tried and true STAR TREK fan like I am, then you’ll probably enjoy this one enough to make it worth a single read, but there isn’t enough substance (or greatness) to encourage me to ever pick it up again. The Trek characterizations are pretty solid (sorry, but as I’m no fan of the Legion of Super-Heroes, I couldn’t speak to the validity of theirs), and there’re enough guilty pleasure cameo-style appearances to keep in interesting. Personally, I didn’t see that much value in the crossover of these two properties; the way Chris Roberson highlighted so many parallels between the primary six characters used from each franchise, it just didn’t seem all that necessary come the conclusion.
    more
  • Shawn Russell
    January 1, 1970
    Wasn't sure what to expect going into it, but I was pleasantly surprised by it!
  • Doctor Doom
    January 1, 1970
    while the story seemed a little forced it is Star Trek & the Legion... what's not to like? Great artwork!
  • Fizzgig76
    January 1, 1970
    Reprints Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #1-6 (October 2011-March 2012). A crisis in time has occurred and Cosmic Boy, Chameleon Kid, Shadow Lass, Saturn Girl, Lightning Lad, and Brainiac-5 of the Legion of Super-Heroes are displaced along with Captain Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Sulu, and Chekov of Starfleet on an Earth that neither group recognizes. With aspects that resemble both of their worlds, the universe finds themselves at the mercy of the Imperial Planets run by a mysterious leader. No Reprints Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #1-6 (October 2011-March 2012). A crisis in time has occurred and Cosmic Boy, Chameleon Kid, Shadow Lass, Saturn Girl, Lightning Lad, and Brainiac-5 of the Legion of Super-Heroes are displaced along with Captain Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Sulu, and Chekov of Starfleet on an Earth that neither group recognizes. With aspects that resemble both of their worlds, the universe finds themselves at the mercy of the Imperial Planets run by a mysterious leader. Now the Legion and the members of Starfleet must work together if they hope to right the universe and return to their own times.Written by Chris Roberson and illustrated by Jeffrey Moy, Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes is a joint effort by IDW who publishes Star Trek tie-ins and DC Comics which publishes Legion of Super-Heroes. The series was released to positive reviews and has been collected.Most of these crossover series are honestly pretty weak. It generally just involves the characters meeting, saying they’ve never met, and having an adventure before going home. I wasn’t expecting much out of Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes though I do enjoy both franchises, but instead found it to be a really enjoyable series.The neat thing about this book is that it doesn’t feel tedious and forced. The reason behind the story and the solution seems quite viable in the world of Star Trek and the world of the Legion. The comic does have a bit of an obligatory fight between the groups and the “let’s split up gang” moment that they try to justify the teaming of certain members, but it feels much less of an attempt at a money-grab than other crossovers.The next part of the review is a bit of a *****Spoiler Alert*****. I have to say that I do like the aspect of the story which causes the break. Q is revealed to be the source of the problem and this not only ties in the original Star Trek but also Star Trek: The Next Generation and creates a realistic reason for all occurrences. Plus, I always loved Star Trek: The Next Generation episodes with Q so it was a bonus for me to have him show up.It is also commendable job for Jeffrey Moy who did the art. Not only do I find illustrating “real” actors difficult, but Moy had to blend them with classic comic characters in the Legion. He does a good job in this sense to keep the feel of Star Trek and the feel of the Legion. Plus, he created some great amalgams between the two universes like the Elite Guard which combined the Fatal Five with Star Trek villains and Flint with Vandal Savage.Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes is a treat for fans of both groups and might be a good segue between the two groups for fans of one or the other. I’d love to see the Legion and Star Trek reunite…or even The Next Generation. I generally don’t like these type of licensed crossovers, but this is one of the best of the bunch and worth seeking out.
    more
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    I had a surprising amount of fun with this one. I'm more than familiar with Star Trek but I've never heard of the Legion of Superheroes but given what both sides learn about each other when they meet it's a kind of cool team up. Kirk and company area heading to San Francisco so Kirk can give a commencement address and the Legion is just popping back home after a trip. Both hit the same temporal anomaly and end up in another universe which is, many times over, stated as being worse than Star Trek I had a surprising amount of fun with this one. I'm more than familiar with Star Trek but I've never heard of the Legion of Superheroes but given what both sides learn about each other when they meet it's a kind of cool team up. Kirk and company area heading to San Francisco so Kirk can give a commencement address and the Legion is just popping back home after a trip. Both hit the same temporal anomaly and end up in another universe which is, many times over, stated as being worse than Star Trek's Mirror Universe. I thought the Legion worked well with the Enterprise crew, and it seems that there are lot of similar personalities types here so you could see people paring off with counterparts but also butting heads. I couldn't appreciate much the the tie in with the villain but from what I could understand it seemed to work just fine.The only thing that kept nagging at me was Kirk's hitting on one of the female Legionaries. Kirk's reputation as a ladykiller is much more blown up than it really was in the original series and having him making a pass more than once after being told no the first time was a little jarring.Overall though this could have been bad and silly and was instead a rather fun read. Every character had their moment and stood out, which is no easy feat considering how many characters there are here.
    more
  • Sara Thompson
    January 1, 1970
    How fun does this sound – mixing Star Trek with DC superheroes. I just knew I had to sample this new comic series. I have to say I was disappointed. The story opens with the Imperial forces (is that really what they were called?) attacking a peaceful planet because they refused to pay taxes. Then the introductions to the Legion of Superheroes left me uninspired. Why are there no cool superheroes in the legion? Perhaps these are the flunkies that get the worst assignments but with names like Cham How fun does this sound – mixing Star Trek with DC superheroes. I just knew I had to sample this new comic series. I have to say I was disappointed. The story opens with the Imperial forces (is that really what they were called?) attacking a peaceful planet because they refused to pay taxes. Then the introductions to the Legion of Superheroes left me uninspired. Why are there no cool superheroes in the legion? Perhaps these are the flunkies that get the worst assignments but with names like Chameleon Boy and Brainy I can see why. I wanted something cool. I loved the description of this story – who could resist the mash up of superheroes and Star Trek? I just don’t think the end result was worth it. I found the whole thing far too cartoony. Maybe they are going for a sixties nostalgic feel – a combination of Hanna Barbara and the over the top Star Trek series. I’d believe it if Captain Kirk looked more like William Shatner. As it was the Star Trek characters resembled poorly drawn versions from the television show. This series was completely lost on me. Maybe it’s because I’m not the right audience. It’s always possible but I can’t tell you who would be the perfect audience. My dad might be the target but I can’t picture him even pretending to read a comic book, let alone the entire series.
    more
  • Alan
    January 1, 1970
    I admit to guilty pleasures in my in my comics reading (well all reading in truth). Crossovers happen to be one of those guilty pleasures, and Chris Roberson pulls off a pretty good tale with this ST: TOS/LSH crossover.Surprisingly to me, Roberson nails the ST:TOS characterization. In some ways, he both gets Kirk and mocks him at the same time. Yes, that made for a grin worthy moment that an admitted ST:TOS fan like me enjoyed.Most time travel stories have an inherent paradox in them. The parado I admit to guilty pleasures in my in my comics reading (well all reading in truth). Crossovers happen to be one of those guilty pleasures, and Chris Roberson pulls off a pretty good tale with this ST: TOS/LSH crossover.Surprisingly to me, Roberson nails the ST:TOS characterization. In some ways, he both gets Kirk and mocks him at the same time. Yes, that made for a grin worthy moment that an admitted ST:TOS fan like me enjoyed.Most time travel stories have an inherent paradox in them. The paradox here is acknowledged and dealt with pretty much with a wave of the hand. From a science fiction point of view, it was not an adequate explanation. But I think I have read one good time travel paradox explanation during my years as a reader.While avoiding spoilers, the premise is that a glitch in the time stream also somehow messes with transporter technology to send our heroes to an alternate Earth, one where Terrans have formed a star spanning empire. Much in TOS style there is a goodly amount of exposition about why conquest is inferior to building through making allies and friends.Light fun mix of superheroes and space opera.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    Certainly an interesting combination, even if you know only one of these franchises. Star Trek and the Legion of Superheroes have the same values and live in very similar universes. There are some obvious correlations between certain characters like Spock and Brainiac 5, and yet as a whole the group still feels balanced. The artists enjoy handling two threads at once, and while most of the book is divided in this manner, there is never any confusion. The only blip is the rather sudden and anti-c Certainly an interesting combination, even if you know only one of these franchises. Star Trek and the Legion of Superheroes have the same values and live in very similar universes. There are some obvious correlations between certain characters like Spock and Brainiac 5, and yet as a whole the group still feels balanced. The artists enjoy handling two threads at once, and while most of the book is divided in this manner, there is never any confusion. The only blip is the rather sudden and anti-climatic ending. This history-has-been-altered plot sets a plausible stage for these two groups to interact on, because you get a little bit of both worlds combined in it. An evil federation, alien worlds with super-powered species, and a common "villain". The visuals also reach a happy medium, part realism, part comic book style to accommodate both sides. While some familiarity with these franchises will of course increase your enjoyment, they are not strictly necessary for your understanding of the story.
    more
  • Aaron
    January 1, 1970
    It probably wouldn't surprise most people to see me picking this one up. Besides being Star Trek, it also throws in some superheroes, though I have to admit to not being as familiar with the Legion of Superheroes, which is a team set in the 23rd century. It was a fun read, though it seemed a bit forced in combining the two groups and really didn't seem to flow particularly well in each.Members of each group find themselves having been thrown into an alternate timeline in which Earth is ruled by It probably wouldn't surprise most people to see me picking this one up. Besides being Star Trek, it also throws in some superheroes, though I have to admit to not being as familiar with the Legion of Superheroes, which is a team set in the 23rd century. It was a fun read, though it seemed a bit forced in combining the two groups and really didn't seem to flow particularly well in each.Members of each group find themselves having been thrown into an alternate timeline in which Earth is ruled by a tyrant, and the planet is the homeworld of an evil empire that rules most of the galaxy. The creators tried to merge species from each franchise as well as characters to show how easily the two could be molded together. It does work, but it seems more like it was done just to have a little fun rather than being a great story. I was glad I read it, but it is definitely not a must read.
    more
  • Steven Shinder
    January 1, 1970
    This was less fun to read than the Star Trek / Green Lantern crossover. My only experience with Legion of Superheroes is the animated series from a decade ago, but I feel like I probably wouldn't have liked it much more if I were more familiar. They both end up in an alternate universe, where they meet each other. They fight with each other, but at least it doesn't drag on. The concept of Flint and Vandal Savage being the same person ("Vandar," which is unimaginative) is kind of interesting, but This was less fun to read than the Star Trek / Green Lantern crossover. My only experience with Legion of Superheroes is the animated series from a decade ago, but I feel like I probably wouldn't have liked it much more if I were more familiar. They both end up in an alternate universe, where they meet each other. They fight with each other, but at least it doesn't drag on. The concept of Flint and Vandal Savage being the same person ("Vandar," which is unimaginative) is kind of interesting, but it's also pretty lame. And then they throw Q into the mix? And at first I didn't even realize it was Q because he doesn't look exactly like John de Lancie. And at the end, neither team remembers the events of this story. I hate when stories end that way. Then again, the events of this wouldn't have been acknowledged in anything else anyway. Such is the nature of throwaway crossovers.
    more
  • Tracy
    January 1, 1970
    Ok I only had the first chapter of this book to view, but I have to say that it did catch my attention. You have the old style Star Trek, the original characters Kirk, Spock, McCoy and the rest who seem to get caught in another time when they beam down to what should be Earth. Then you have the Legion Super-Heroes who also are beamed down to the wrong time. Both sets seem to find trouble immediately and for the rest of the book I am sure that they are figuring their ways out of trouble. I'm sure Ok I only had the first chapter of this book to view, but I have to say that it did catch my attention. You have the old style Star Trek, the original characters Kirk, Spock, McCoy and the rest who seem to get caught in another time when they beam down to what should be Earth. Then you have the Legion Super-Heroes who also are beamed down to the wrong time. Both sets seem to find trouble immediately and for the rest of the book I am sure that they are figuring their ways out of trouble. I'm sure that if you like comic books and the original Star Trek characters that this book will be one that will catch your interest and you will enjoy.Disclosure: This book was provided to me by the publisher via NetGalley. The rating, review, and all opinions are my own
    more
  • Rich Meyer
    January 1, 1970
    This trade paperback reprinted an interesting, if somewhat stretched, teaming of the crew of the original Enterprise with several members of DC Comics' oft-forgotten Legion of Super-Heroes. It works a bit better than Trek meeting with the X-Men along the same vein. The artwork is pretty good, and the story actually makes a bit of sense, considering the multitude of changes and cameos in the short series. If you're a LSH completist, you'll want this. Trek fans that are comic fans I think will als This trade paperback reprinted an interesting, if somewhat stretched, teaming of the crew of the original Enterprise with several members of DC Comics' oft-forgotten Legion of Super-Heroes. It works a bit better than Trek meeting with the X-Men along the same vein. The artwork is pretty good, and the story actually makes a bit of sense, considering the multitude of changes and cameos in the short series. If you're a LSH completist, you'll want this. Trek fans that are comic fans I think will also enjoy the book.
    more
Write a review