Thoughtless (Thoughtless, #1)
For almost two years now, Kiera's boyfriend, Denny, has been everything she's ever wanted: loving, tender and endlessly devoted to her. When they head off to a new city to start their lives together, Denny at his dream job and Kiera at a top-notch university, everything seems perfect. Then an unforeseen obligation forces the happy couple apart.Feeling lonely, confused, and in need of comfort, Kiera turns to an unexpected source—a local rock star named Kellan Kyle. At first, he's purely a friend that she can lean on, but as her loneliness grows, so does their relationship. And then one night everything changes... and none of them will ever be the same.

Thoughtless (Thoughtless, #1) Details

TitleThoughtless (Thoughtless, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 11th, 2011
PublisherCreateSpace
ISBN-139781461091110
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Thoughtless (Thoughtless, #1) Review

  • Steph Bennett
    January 1, 1970
    I hate Keira.I want to punch her. Strangle her. Ram her head through a wall and then make her eat a porcupine. Kick her in the head so hard her skull shatters. Slam a baseball bat in to her face because she just SO STUPID. I HATE THE BITCH SO MUCH THAT I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO EXPRESS IT AND THIS BOOK SUCKED ASS.Now I don't normally like to write negative reviews but this piece of shit deserves to be cut up and burned and I will express my anger at wasting my time and money on this book through this I hate Keira.I want to punch her. Strangle her. Ram her head through a wall and then make her eat a porcupine. Kick her in the head so hard her skull shatters. Slam a baseball bat in to her face because she just SO STUPID. I HATE THE BITCH SO MUCH THAT I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO EXPRESS IT AND THIS BOOK SUCKED ASS.Now I don't normally like to write negative reviews but this piece of shit deserves to be cut up and burned and I will express my anger at wasting my time and money on this book through this review.First off, the stupid bitch blushed WAY to much. Whenever someone bothered to be fucking nice to the stupid girl she blushed and acted as if they had just proposed to her or something. Pull you shit together you pathetic excuse for a human being.And then there was the fact that she took so much interest in Kellen when she was dating his FUCKING BEST FRIEND. Yes sir, we have another stupid slut on our hands who can't stop eye fucking her boy friends bestie. I HATE girls like her. At the start of the book she goes on about how perfect her and her boyfriend are and then as soon as she sets her eyes on Kellen she acts as if her boyfriend doesn't fucking exist. I'm going to be honest and tell you I didn't finish this book, in fact I stopped reading it almost half way through, because I already knew exactly how it would end. The stupid bitch would get her damn fucking happy ending and I'd be left pissed off and annoyed at wasting my time on this shit.This book was a waste of time and money and I really wish I had bought it in a hard copy just so I could express my hatred for it by burning it. Keira should just go die in a bloody fucking hole and that sequel never should have happened. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THIS HAS SO MANY POSITIVE REVIEWS BECAUSE IT IS SO BAD. I want Keira to be murdered in the most gruesome way possible because she, like this whole book, is a piece of shit. Rant over.
    more
  • Stacia (the 2010 club)
    January 1, 1970
    Is it possible to have a hesitant relationship with a love or hate book? Because I think that's where my mind is at. Parts of this book were enjoyable for me, while many others were "I want to choke a bitch right now" moments. Thoughtless has been compared to Beautiful Disaster, and I can see where the comparisons are coming from. Both books are high on the back-and-forth drama. Both books have a male lead who is a lady- killer, able to bag any woman he wants, and often does. Both books feature Is it possible to have a hesitant relationship with a love or hate book? Because I think that's where my mind is at. Parts of this book were enjoyable for me, while many others were "I want to choke a bitch right now" moments. Thoughtless has been compared to Beautiful Disaster, and I can see where the comparisons are coming from. Both books are high on the back-and-forth drama. Both books have a male lead who is a lady- killer, able to bag any woman he wants, and often does. Both books feature a female lead in college, and have a roommates falling-for-each-other scenario.This review sort of has mild spoilers, but I say to read it anyway because I'm not going to divulge anything major or reveal the outcome. I just want to bitch about Kiera's insensitivity. Go on this bitch-fest with me, please. I need to rant to you strangers out in the Goodreads universe.The couple in Thoughtless was a 1 step forward, 15 steps back, type of deal. If you thought Travis and Abby were stubborn, you'll find Kiera to be stubborn, clueless, and ridiculous to the extreme. This woman has two incredible guys willing to do whatever she wants, and instead of picking one to settle down with, she strings them both along selfishly, deciding that she can take her time to make a decision and pick one person to be with. After all, cheating is the cool thing to do, right?If Kiera had figured out her shit earlier in the game, I would have enthusiastically given this book at least 3 stars. The cheating didn't bother me to start. People make mistakes. We're all human. That said, this girl should have put on her big girl pants and figured out what to do after it happened once, twice, etc. She ran out of excuses pretty early on, and I never warmed up to her because of it. Will I read the next book in the series? Uh...hell yeah. I do love me some drama, after all. I wish it had been nipped in the bud earlier on, but a little bit of drama is always fun, up to a point. Here's hoping the next book won't frustrate me as much.Who knows? You may find that Kiera doesn't grate on you the way she did with me. I actually liked both Kellan and Denny and didn't have problems with Kellan the way some others did. He was pretty upfront about who he was. Was he a bit too much of stereotypical caveman-type male? Possibly. But hey, I like my guilty pleasure men. Sue me.P.S. On a completely unrelated note - part of me really wants to rename this book to Chuckles and the Blushing Crybaby. If you read this book, you'll understand why. *edit* to add that the second installment didn't bother me as much. It did actually have one extremely funny scene (one of the only scenes to ever make me actually laugh out loud). I did end up liking where book 2 went, so my thoughts are not all negative.
    more
  • Limonessa
    January 1, 1970
    Oh. Oh, my. This the single most outrageous book I have ever read in my life. Haters of Twilight, 50 Shades, Beautiful Disaster... you have read nothing yet!This is the epitome of everything that is rotten, unhealthy.... and just intrinsecally wrong in a romantic relationship. This book takes the concept of Too Stupid To Live to a whole new level. I really don't think I've felt so strongly about a literary character EVER in my life. Loathe doesn't even cover it. I wanted to murder the book. Kier Oh. Oh, my. This the single most outrageous book I have ever read in my life. Haters of Twilight, 50 Shades, Beautiful Disaster... you have read nothing yet!This is the epitome of everything that is rotten, unhealthy.... and just intrinsecally wrong in a romantic relationship. This book takes the concept of Too Stupid To Live to a whole new level. I really don't think I've felt so strongly about a literary character EVER in my life. Loathe doesn't even cover it. I wanted to murder the book. Kiera is the most idiotic, selfish, undeserving, lying bitch in the whole world. Actually: Kiera, the only thing you deserve is to die, really.I cringed so many times. I would think, "no, she is not possibly going to say or do thaaaat" ... and then she would! If you want to know EXACTLY what never to do in a relationship, read this little 1000 page tome. It wasn't a 1000 pages? Really? 'Cause it felt like it. The story was over by the time I was 20% in. Then it only draaaagged and dragged. But I was good: I skimmed right through the end!The fact that there's a sequel to this, after all the pain and heartache and plain bad writing, and the fact that Kiera is, in fact, still alive, terrifies me to no end. Kellan, rock god, run away while you can!!!I don't wish this book on my worst enemy.
    more
  • Blacky *Romance Addict*
    January 1, 1970
    Why I was hesitant to read this book:1. It has (view spoiler)[cheating (hide spoiler)] in it2. It's UBER angsty (I'm not a fan of it)Why I DNF-ed?1. It wasn't because of the (view spoiler)[cheating (hide spoiler)]2. It wasn't because of the angst (I haven't gotten that far)3. It was the characters. Absolutely all of them.First you have to know that this book has the most idiotic heroine ever to be written. I pray to God I'll never ever pick up a book with a similar heroine. Never ever. Please!!! Why I was hesitant to read this book:1. It has (view spoiler)[cheating (hide spoiler)] in it2. It's UBER angsty (I'm not a fan of it)Why I DNF-ed?1. It wasn't because of the (view spoiler)[cheating (hide spoiler)]2. It wasn't because of the angst (I haven't gotten that far)3. It was the characters. Absolutely all of them.First you have to know that this book has the most idiotic heroine ever to be written. I pray to God I'll never ever pick up a book with a similar heroine. Never ever. Please!!!!!Just to show you her thought process.Example:A five year old sees a lollipop. "Uuu. A lollipop. I want one."The five year old takes the lollipop. Eats the lollipop.The end.Kiera sees a lollipop."Uuu. A lollipop. It looks yummy. I want to eat it. But no, I have an ice-cream. I can't eat the lollipop. Mmmm I love my ice-cream. *lick* It's so tasty, I don't want to eat anything else ever again. But mmm that lollipop sure does look delicious. Maybe I can just have a little taste. It won't hurt anyone if I just try and see how it is. Right? *lick* Mmm that's a yummy lollipop. But no I am a bad person for wanting to try the lollipop. I will never try the lollipop ever again in my life. Oh my dear ice-cream, how I love you. *lick* Yes, I definitely love you better than the lollipop. But why do I keep thinking about the lollipop? I am too stupid to figure it out by myself, so I guess I'm gonna have to give it another lick cause I just can't help myself.*lick* Oh no I have done it again, noooooooo!! I am such a bad person, I am hurting both the lollipop and the ice-cream but I am so indecisive I know I will never be able to pick one. Oh ice-cream I love you, you'll never know about my secret desires to try something else.But while licking the ice-cream, I still keep thinking about the tasty lollipop. Why oh why is this happening to me! I must go and lick the lollipop some more because I can't help it! *lick*Nooo bad lollipop for making me want to lick it! I don't know what to doooooooo!!!!"And this is half of the first book.Kiera...Denny...Kellan...He was what made me DNF, unfortunately :((((Everyone said he would be worth reading and I really did like him in the beginning and felt sorry for him, but as the book went on, I just disliked him more and more, and at about 50% I got to a point where I just totally didn't like him, so no point in reading a book where I don't like a single character in a book.Sorry but bad boys don't (view spoiler)[beg the idiotic female for a chance to innocently flirt with her while she's still with her boyfriend, and being fine with the fact that she sleeps with him and all. (hide spoiler)]PS: When a character in a book does one certain action over 150 times (in just one book!!!), that is called bad writing ;)I'm guessing the author couldn't think of any other reaction for Kiera to have on absolutely everything except for her to blush.Little diversity could've been nice. Just sayin'.Anyway, Thanks Rach and Shelly for reading this with me, and sorry I didn't like it :(
    more
  • Rush
    January 1, 1970
    Warning: Rant IncomingThis pretty much sums up the relationship between me and other readers of this book:I just don't get the love for this book. Reason being, the freakin' annoying and stupid characters. Ugh!! I have never, I repeat never, been so annoyed with a character in all my life like I was with Kiera. Hate is such a strong word, but yeah, I hate her. She is a selfish, cheating bitch. Yeah, that's right, I said it. Bitch wants to have her cake and eat it, too. She shouldn't be able to Warning: Rant IncomingThis pretty much sums up the relationship between me and other readers of this book:I just don't get the love for this book. Reason being, the freakin' annoying and stupid characters. Ugh!! I have never, I repeat never, been so annoyed with a character in all my life like I was with Kiera. Hate is such a strong word, but yeah, I hate her. She is a selfish, cheating bitch. Yeah, that's right, I said it. Bitch wants to have her cake and eat it, too. She shouldn't be able to have it that way but she gets it. See, even LaLa agrees with me. Gahhhh, what I wouldn't give to smack the shit out of her. And let's not forget the guys in this story. Denny, the ever faithful and blissfully unawares boyfriend:And Kellan, the douchebag musician: I'm not sure what the hell was going on with those guys. Keira must have some seriously good *ahem* or has magical voodoo powers to have them both put up with her. Can someone please tell me her appeal? The ending had me all WTF. (view spoiler)[ Denny still keeps in touch with her even though she repeatedly cheated on him and led a double life with Kellan. Kellan waits around for her even though she still couldn't make her mind up between the two of them. Of course, that is up until the very end, when the choice was made for her. Seriously, the bitch should have ended up alone at the end. This shit just does not happen. What am I saying? That asshat of a couple deserve each other. (hide spoiler)] I just can't with this book.And you mean to tell me that her story continues on in further books? Hmmm, shall I continue on to find out what happens to our lovely heroine?
    more
  • Aestas Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    6 stars!I loved, I laughed, I cried, I *squeed* This author has a gift for getting you right in the character's head and has you truly FEELING with them. I highly recommend it <3 If you are a fan of love triangles, you will looooooove Thoughtless. Basically, Keira is moving cities with her boyfriend of 2 years Denny, and they end up becoming roommates with an old friend of Denny's, Kellan Kyle, who is a local rock star. He and Keira just have this instant connection but are respectful of the 6 stars!I loved, I laughed, I cried, I *squeed* This author has a gift for getting you right in the character's head and has you truly FEELING with them. I highly recommend it <3 If you are a fan of love triangles, you will looooooove Thoughtless. Basically, Keira is moving cities with her boyfriend of 2 years Denny, and they end up becoming roommates with an old friend of Denny's, Kellan Kyle, who is a local rock star. He and Keira just have this instant connection but are respectful of the fact that she is in a relationship. But when Denny takes a job overseas for several months without really consulting Keira and stops calling etc, Kellan ends up comforting her and their denied passion/love is given room to grow.... there is SO much romantic tension in this book, its enough to drive you insane - but totally in a good way!This book will make you want to throw your book at the wall, it'll make you laugh out loud, it'll make you swoon and grin for pages on end, it'll make you feel like your heart is ripped out, and you'll love every minute of it!Kellan is one of THOSE guys - you know the ones that make you swoony and drooly and make you wish he was real?? yeah, one of those *sigh* I'm really not kidding here, if you haven't read Thoughtless, RUN out and grab your self a copy!Its weird that I would like it given how there is  a theme of cheating in book one (though none in book 2 once Keira & Kellan are officially together) but I think the reason it never bothered me was because I always just KNEW that Keira and Denny weren't right  for each other, just as strongly as I KNEW that Kellan was perfect for her in every way and that he was her HEA. So them being together, no matter what the circumstances, just always felt right.“What if I don’t choose you, Kellan? What will you do?” He looked away, a tear rolling down his cheek. “I’ll leave, Kiera. I’ll leave, and you and Denny can have your happily ever after.” He looked back at me. “You wouldn’t even need to tell him about me. Eventually, the two of you…” his voice broke and another tear fell on his cheek, “the two of you would get married, and have children, and have a great life.” I fought back a sob. “And you? What happens to you in that scenario?” “I…get by. And I miss you, every day,” he whispered.” oh and for those, who like me, won't read a book unless they know this in advance, it has a delightfully happy ending :) Here’s how I see Kellan & Keira - both the casting pics above and the pic below. (I know that Kellan is supposed to have light, sandy colored hair, but these pic just ‘felt’ like him to me):For more of my reviews, come visit my book blog at: http://aestasbookblog.com/Or come join my FB group at: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Aestas-...
    more
  • Sylvia
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this book, but I have to say, Kiera was driving me seriously insane by the 75% mark. :)
  • Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! Just finished reading Thoughtless and for everyone who said this would be a roller coaster ride— you were not kidding! The story took a little bit for me to get into; the writing was extremely (at times, overly) descriptive, more so at the start of book, and I initially found it quite distracting. However, once I got into reading—I was hooked!Thoughtless is mainly focused on an intense love triangle and all the passion, jealousy, lies, and betrayal that come along with it. There was a lot o Wow! Just finished reading Thoughtless and for everyone who said this would be a roller coaster ride— you were not kidding! The story took a little bit for me to get into; the writing was extremely (at times, overly) descriptive, more so at the start of book, and I initially found it quite distracting. However, once I got into reading—I was hooked!Thoughtless is mainly focused on an intense love triangle and all the passion, jealousy, lies, and betrayal that come along with it. There was a lot of back and forth between the characters' feelings and decisions--I swear, it  gave me emotional whiplash! The characters were so raw and real that I felt every ounce of happiness and heartache right along with them. I absolutely LOVED everything about Kellan! Kiera did anger me with her thoughtlessness and indecisiveness, but I TRIED to empathize with her and eventually came around to almost liking her. (I also feel that just because I don't admire the behavior of character(s), doesn't mean I have to like the book any less.)What I absolutely loved most about this book was how passionately detailed all of the intense scenes were...And so I became to love the author for her extreme descriptions! My stomach suffered knots and sunk through their heartache, and delighted with butterflies through their passion! I had to reread certain scenes because they were that intense. The love scenes were tasteful and so incredibly hot, and I appreciated that combo! All-in-all, it was a great—sometimes stressful—but well worth it read!  Book Stats: ▪ Genre/Category: Romance/New Adult▪ Steam Caliber: Maximum steam! ▪ Romance: Gradual. Back and forth connection. ▪ Characters: Sexiest, lovable hero. Frustrating as hell heroine.▪ Plot: Excessive angst. Intense love triangle. ▪ Writing: Extremely descriptive. Paints a vivid picture. ▪ POV: First person: Heroine▪ Cliffhanger: None▪ Next Installment: Follow up, continuing story.
    more
  • Tarryn Fisher
    January 1, 1970
    Kellaaaaaaan.....Kellaaaaan....I know he'd choose me over Kiera. I know he would. It's true, don't make that face at me. S.C. Stephen's disturbs me. Should I be in love with her, or Kellan? What rock star did she study to write this character? Can I get a piece of him? Can I lick him? Creating a realistic character is not easy. So many books are filled with stiff dialogue and cardboard characters. Not in this book. The character's were flawed, annoying, sexy and real to damn life. With that said Kellaaaaaaan.....Kellaaaaan....I know he'd choose me over Kiera. I know he would. It's true, don't make that face at me. S.C. Stephen's disturbs me. Should I be in love with her, or Kellan? What rock star did she study to write this character? Can I get a piece of him? Can I lick him? Creating a realistic character is not easy. So many books are filled with stiff dialogue and cardboard characters. Not in this book. The character's were flawed, annoying, sexy and real to damn life. With that said....Kellaaaaaan.....Kellaaaaan....Sorry, sorry. Okay, one more time....Kellaaaaaan!Good stories are supposed to torment you. They are supposed to make you frustrated. The entire time I was reading this, I felt like someone was stuffing me full of tapioca. I just kept feeling more and more sick with every page. (I cannot believe they did that with Denny in the next room!)I kind of want a piece of Griffin. Anyway, Kellan Kyle, if you're reading this; CALL ME!
    more
  • Shelley
    January 1, 1970
    I will offer one piece of advise for those planning on reading this, before I spoiler tag this review: If you don't like cheating in your romance...Put the book down and follow Captain JackMajor Spoilers ahead, you have been warned. (view spoiler)[I often get asked why I didn't like this book, which I read more than a year ago. So this is for anyone who wanted to know. I really don't have the words to express my, er ... distaste for everything and everyone in the story - except Denny. Denny was I will offer one piece of advise for those planning on reading this, before I spoiler tag this review: If you don't like cheating in your romance...Put the book down and follow Captain JackMajor Spoilers ahead, you have been warned. (view spoiler)[I often get asked why I didn't like this book, which I read more than a year ago. So this is for anyone who wanted to know. I really don't have the words to express my, er ... distaste for everything and everyone in the story - except Denny. Denny was alright, weren't you baby... <--Me petting Denny. Yeah bitch, he's someone elses now!!!Poor Denny - not the brightest fella to leave his girlfriend with an obscenely gorgeous man-whore, who has no morals. I mean COME ON!Kiera and Denny.Oh. My. Freaking . Gaaaawwwd!!!! Kiera. Is. The. Worst. Heroine. Ever. Written.She might portray her little miss innocent act and defend it fiercely but she is a selfish heartlessI have no patience for deceitful heroines who harp on with useless justifications, because you know what?And Kellan Kyle... Mister oh so freaking perfect is actually a spineless twit, who needed a lesson in morals! He just made me gag with his scores of revenge fucks and poor me I'm so lonely speech!I hated this story, I hated the cheating and I hated the ending!Yes I hated it! I wanted Kiera to end up alone after tripping over and falling into a vat of acid! I do not care what happens to these two, and wished I could have got my money back! Over all this book was just This review represents my personal opinion and has no reflection on the author's talent or lack of. It was the story and protagonists I have HUGE issues with. This is a minority opinion review and should be taken as such. If you are planning on attacking me because I don't like your favorite book ... (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kenya Wright
    January 1, 1970
    WARNING: lots of curse words. :-(First of all to SC Stephens I truly apologize. I tend to have a unofficial kinship with indie authors, but sadly I alwasy do my best to provide an honest review. Besides, Simon & Schuster picked your book up so you can give a fuck what I have to say! Okay!This book sucked!Oh my god! I didn't even want to waste my time and energy searching for gifs to express how disgusted I am with this book.What the fuck???The heroine is a SELFISH WHORE!!!!!I try my best to WARNING: lots of curse words. :-(First of all to SC Stephens I truly apologize. I tend to have a unofficial kinship with indie authors, but sadly I alwasy do my best to provide an honest review. Besides, Simon & Schuster picked your book up so you can give a fuck what I have to say! Okay!This book sucked!Oh my god! I didn't even want to waste my time and energy searching for gifs to express how disgusted I am with this book.What the fuck???The heroine is a SELFISH WHORE!!!!!I try my best to be nonviolent but if I saw her I would knee her in her vagina!The way she dragged her boyfriend through the mud, whining and complaining while he tried to freakin work at a career MEANWHILE she's fucking his best friend and their (her and her boyfriend's) roommate.I hate cheaters!I've cheated in my lifetime, in high school and once during my early twenties. I am possibly one of the worst cheaters in the world because I can't sit there and lie. I tend to cheat and break up immediatly the next day, explaining that "dude, I'm a dick. I cheated."I've always believed why exert all the freakin mental energy trying to balance two guys. Additionally, I just hate the idea of sneaking around. I'm grown.So for me the constant cheating was just disgusting and disrespectful. I couldn't root for them. For me she didn't deserve happiness.She's all the names I try to avoid saying to women: cunt, Nappy dugout tramp, asshat, once-a-month-bleeding-hoe, cock burger happy meal with a side of herpe fries, Scarred-and-diseased-infected-Snatch, etcI dnf'd the book at 75%. . . .I know you are thinking, "Hey Kenya. She could have changed."I don't care.Now for the WRITING:Oh my god!*She blushed. He blushed. They blushed. The dog blushed. The blushed blushed. *HORRIFIC PACING! The book dragged so much. Fine. We get it. They like each other. They cheat. They treat each other badly. They like each oher. They cheat. They treat each other badly. They like each other. Thye cheat. . . *The writing was elementary as if my six year old sat down and wrote a novel. In fact when I read it, I raced into my daughter's bedroom and questioned her, "Lily! Did you write this?""No, mommy." She BLUSHED."Are you sure? This writing style is so similiar to yours as if you just learned English.""No." She BLUSHED. "I swear. I didn' write that, mommy.""Okay." I BLUSHED. My husband walked in and BLUSHED. "Everything okay?""Yes!" My daughter and I BLUSHED. My three cats came into the room and BLUSHED. I BLUSHED at them BLUSHING so over come with the BLUSHTIVIY of the moment. And then we all hugged each other, BLUSHING at life.:-(
    more
  • Natalie
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ! Rare epic. Major mind fuck. Addicting, spell binding, compelling. New girl Kiera is torn between loyal boyfriend Denny and sexy, local rock star Kellan Kyle.I’ve been waiting my whole life for this book. “Thoughtless” totally blew my mind away. It's easily one of the best books I've ever read if not the best. The author amazed me from page one and I couldn't for the life of me put this down. It was freaking perfection and the emotional turment...don't even get me started. A complete and u ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ! Rare epic. Major mind fuck. Addicting, spell binding, compelling. New girl Kiera is torn between loyal boyfriend Denny and sexy, local rock star Kellan Kyle.I’ve been waiting my whole life for this book. “Thoughtless” totally blew my mind away. It's easily one of the best books I've ever read if not the best. The author amazed me from page one and I couldn't for the life of me put this down. It was freaking perfection and the emotional turment...don't even get me started. A complete and utter mindfuck. That what this is. It was pure angst for the better part of the book, and no matter how heart ripping it was, I ate up every second of it. “Between pants, I continued spewing how much I hated him. Around my lips, he kept telling me I didn't.” “Thoughtless” is the most realistic and best book about love triangles I've ever read. It was a emotional rollercoaster all the way and it left me Completely. Drained.. I never really had the same problem with Kiera that most other people seemed to have had. She was young and stupid and ended up hurting two amazing men. But I did understand her difficulty. She made some really, really stupid choices but I never hated her. S C Stephens story telling sucked me in from page 1 and I will never forget the moment when I first “saw” Kellan f*ni Kyle! “I couldn’t help but notice the lead singer first. No one would be able to overlook him—he was drop-dead gorgeous. He had intense eyes that were busy scanning the crowd of adoring women clustered around the front of the stage. His light, sandy-brown hair was a thick, wild mess.”This book held a grip on me and wouldn't let go until the very end. It's very long and extremely describable. I loved that. It really allowed us to feel like we were there and to feel everything. Everything. All the pain, desire, despair, hurt, hopelessness and lust. We get tangled up in a word with lies and betrayel which makes our head spin.“I know there's something here. I know you want more. Tell me...and it's yours.” The bright and shining star of this book is of course Kellan Kyle. No one can resist the sexy rock star. He has a new girl in his bed every night. He is born to stand on the stage and his word revals around his music and steamy hookups. But what no one know is his heartbreaking past. And that he uses sex to cope with it. But when he meets Kiera everything changes and for the first time he feels like he is worth more. You can't help but fall for the tortured rock star. " When I fell in love with you.... it was like nothing I'd ever known before. It was nearly instant. I think I started falling for you, the moment you shook my hand" I would kill to read those EPIC moments from Kellan' point of view. First sight, the rain scene, the espresso stand, the hospital, the righ, the tattoo..etc I'm having a hard time seeing how any book in the future could top this. Not sure if that's a good or a bad sign...My love for “Thoughtless” grows more and more for every time. As I said, I never really hated Kiera. For me she was a young, immature and naive girl who made some stupid choices that in the end made her hurt two amazing men. She always knew in her heart who she wanted to be with, but was to afraid to follow her instinct and instead chooce familiarity and comfort. “Do you really think anyone in this world, compares to you in my eyes?” There were a lot, a lot of highly emotional scenes and tons of drama. So if you don't like books that fucks with your mind maybe you should stay clear of this one. I absolutely loved it. I adore books where the characters goes through hell before they get their happy. And years later of first reading Thoughtless' I still devour it. But my first and last time to meet Kellan is forever gone and that makes me incredibly sad. I can still remember the first time I "saw" him on stage, it was absolutely magical! The ending was absolutely heartbreaking and emotional. “It’s okay...it will be okay. You’re just young. Young and inexperienced, and Kellan is hotter than all fuck...”Of course, it’s inevitable that the the love triangle ends in a beautiful heartbreaking disaster. “I want to be someone’s everything. I want fire and passion, and love that’s returned, equally. I want to be someone’s heart … Even if it means breaking my own.”—| Hero | 5 | | Angst | High focus || Hero 2 | 4.5 || Heroine | 5 | | Romance | | High focus || Sexual tension | 5 | | Suspense | Low focus || Storytelling | 5 | | Humour |Medium focus || Plot | 5 | | Darkness | Low focus || Story ending | 5 |
    more
  • Sibylla Matilde
    January 1, 1970
    ***groan*** Kellan POV of the 'rain scene' in Thoughtless (spoilers, so don't read if you haven't read Thoughtless yet!) http://www.fictionpress.com/s/3089151/6/It has taken me a LONG time to find some photos that represent my image of Kellan... and I think I've found them... SO. FUCKING. SEXY.3/1/2013 - Even better the third time! GOD I LOVE KELLAN/JARED!10/27/2012 - And.... now that I've given y'all a good indication of my image of Kellan, here's the rest of the picture... Alibi - 30 Seconds t ***groan*** Kellan POV of the 'rain scene' in Thoughtless (spoilers, so don't read if you haven't read Thoughtless yet!) http://www.fictionpress.com/s/3089151/6/It has taken me a LONG time to find some photos that represent my image of Kellan... and I think I've found them... SO. FUCKING. SEXY.3/1/2013 - Even better the third time! GOD I LOVE KELLAN/JARED!10/27/2012 - And.... now that I've given y'all a good indication of my image of Kellan, here's the rest of the picture... Alibi - 30 Seconds to Mars (how I imagine him singing at the end of Thoughtless) What I wouldn't give for a good video clip of this...http://open.spotify.com/track/0VMGkTg...6/29/2012 - how did I manage to cry even harder the second time I read this.... geez!6/25/2012 - Just shy of a month since I read this for the first time, and I am so Kellan-crazy that I totally need to re-read it... My tummy is all butterfly-ish all over again, and I haven't even re-read the first page yet! Oh my... oh my, oh my, oh my... I know some people had problems with this book... There were so many times I wanted to say "WTF are you thinking, Kiera!?!?" I put off reading this book because of the whole cheating aspect, but I am soooooooooooooo glad that I listened to suggestions from a few other readers. Heartbreaking, raw, painful to read at times... I loved the complexity and often hated that I loved it. I was so not comfortable with the behavior of the Kiera and felt just plumb awful for Denny and fell in love with Kellan. Wow.... Great GREAT book. I just finished it and have a huge bittersweet ache in my heart and a lump in my throat. Oh my, oh my, oh my...
    more
  • Tina
    January 1, 1970
    Let me start by saying that I don't want to offend the author or any reader who greatly enjoyed the book, but I feel the need to share my utter disappointment and disgust after reading it.Love triangles. Although so common in life, they still hold a great potential in regards to writing a story about one. Unfortunately, this is not the case with Thoughtless. It's probably because the author didn't want to waste her time exploring the subject, when all she could do is write about pretty girls, ho Let me start by saying that I don't want to offend the author or any reader who greatly enjoyed the book, but I feel the need to share my utter disappointment and disgust after reading it.Love triangles. Although so common in life, they still hold a great potential in regards to writing a story about one. Unfortunately, this is not the case with Thoughtless. It's probably because the author didn't want to waste her time exploring the subject, when all she could do is write about pretty girls, hot guys, steamy sex (do you see the $ sings?). Well, that's what disappointed me, because (with a little bit of hard brain activity) one could really explore the issue of love triangles, is it really possible to love two people at the same time, to keep it in my pants or not to keep it in my pants, to cheat or not to cheat with one of your boyriend's/girlfriend's closest friends (you know, that kind of stuff) and write a wonderful book.But nooooo, the author simply decided to create a perfect moron for her lead female character (and I'm putting this very mildly), put her in a love triangle situation, that is not even that complicated to begin with, and turn her into an armed madman on the loose. So, since going deeper into this would probably bring up some spoilers to this already rotten story, I would simply say that I'm disgusted by the way the author handles and presents such situations to an intended audience of young adults. I mean, come on, lady, we should not teach young women that it's ok to do what Kiera does, should we now (why is it that the word slut keeps flashing into my mind)? And one more thing: Thoughtless made me cry myself to sleep. Wanna know why? Because at some point trees have been killed for this book to be printed...
    more
  • Natasha is a Book Junkie
    January 1, 1970
    Dear S.C. Stephens, Kellan Kyle? Really?? How are we expected to have any semblance of a love life after meeting a fictional character like Goddamn Kellan Kyle? … Would anyone judge me if I tattooed his name on my chest?This is one of those books that I loved immediately but I got really REALLY frustrated while reading it. It’s the story of a young woman, Kiera, who moves across the country, away from her family and friends, to be with the love of her life and boyfriend extraordinaire, Denny. Th Dear S.C. Stephens, Kellan Kyle? Really?? How are we expected to have any semblance of a love life after meeting a fictional character like Goddamn Kellan Kyle? … Would anyone judge me if I tattooed his name on my chest?This is one of those books that I loved immediately but I got really REALLY frustrated while reading it. It’s the story of a young woman, Kiera, who moves across the country, away from her family and friends, to be with the love of her life and boyfriend extraordinaire, Denny. They move in with Denny’s childhood friend, Kellan, a local rock star. Two gorgeous hunks, one woman, same apartment, it doesn’t take a genius to guess what might happen. But this story is everything but predictable. I felt like I was emotionally whiplashed every 5 minutes.Now, I have to start by saying that I do not condone cheating, I do not forgive cheating and I judge people who cheat, so having guessed pretty early on what was going to happen made me frown a bit. However, I quickly got over my reservations once I became a Kellan Kyle groupie. I just adored his character, as broken and as troubled as he was. His past had made him an attention junkie – he had no idea what love really was so he equated it to the attention that he received from the hordes of faceless women who pursued him. Until he saw Kiera and Denny together. His attraction to Kiera is immediate but mainly because he likes the way she loves Denny, in my opinion. They start developing a friendship separate from the one that Kellan and Denny share and sparks fly. Things happen, tequila is involved, and they sleep together.Kiera is then faced with more guilt than she can process, coupled with an attraction to Kellan that grows each day and which she does not know how to fight. If there ever was an occasion to use the expression ‘You can’t have your cake and eat it too!’, this would be it. Kiera really made me want to pull my hair out, she is the only reason I am not giving this book 5 stars. I understand that she did not want to hurt Denny but once the deed is done, girl, AND you’re still playing touchy-feely with Kellan, it’s a little too late to play a saint. I actually thought she was incredibly selfish and self-centred. She did whatever she felt like regardless of whom she was hurting, and she was hurting everyone. The whole I-won’t-let-you-kiss-me-because-that-would-be-cheating but then she hugs Kellan, touches him whenever she is near him, kisses him on the cheek, holds hands with him, sleeps on his lap, plays with his hair, … argh! I really did not like her. I could not sympathise with her endless crying whenever guilt overtook her because she always always always did exactly what she wanted. I don’t judge her for sleeping with Kellan the first time because of the surrounding circumstances but I do judge her for how she behaved afterwards, towards both Denny and Kellan, especially when she hopped from one bed to another in a matter of hours. Her indecisiveness could have gotten its own postcode. I kept screaming at her, “MAKE A CHOICE ALREADY!!!!”, but she couldn’t have found her guts if her life depended on it.Denny really was the perfect boyfriend in so many ways and that made Kiera’s infidelity even uglier to watch. Every time he said to Kiera, “You are my heart”, my heart broke just a little bit more for him. His only sin was that he trusted Kiera too much. He trusted her even when every cell in his body was telling him that something was off. I did not blame him for how he reacted and I admire him immensely for the decisions he made in the end.Kellan. I just need to say his name one more time – Kellan. While I think that Kiera played with his heart recklessly and cruelly at times, I admit that some of the blame has to fall on him as well. She tried pushing his away whenever her guilt overpowered her attraction to him, but he pulled her right back.“No, please, I’ll do better, I’ll be stronger. Please don’t end this. Please don’t leave me …”He was not only a willing participant, he consciously chose to continue their secret relationship even when she seemed to want to stop. He truly fell in love with Kiera from the first moment he saw her but he had no experience with such feelings. All he recognised was the uncontrollable draw that he felt when he was around her – she was his siren. I believe that he is the character that suffered the most in this book, his pain was not sudden like Denny’s, it was long-drawn and the highs and lows in their relationship made it even more acute. And still, he never stopped loving her. I’m saying it again – Kellan.Putting aside all my Kiera-related criticism, this is really a deliciously complicated and well-written love story. As indecisive and as selfish as Kiera was during most of this book, I choose to believe that she is only guilty of being very young. She had never experienced before the overwhelming and uncontrollable attraction that she felt towards Kellan, she felt like her mind and her body had different agendas and she did not handle it well. However, she genuinely did love him – she was just unable to see what the right thing to do was under those circumstances. Part of me wanted her to experience true heartbreak in order to learn a lesson from it but it still pained me to see it happen. I believe she ended up a better person in the end.This book has a happy ending but sometimes it is not so easy to wrap things up nicely with a bow on top when there is a history of hurt.“… knowing that the person you’re with has cheated on a loved one before lends itself to additional insecurities, even if you were the person that they’d cheated with.”I am guessing that trust is going to be the biggest obstacle they will have to overcome in their relationship, not to mention finding a “balance between friendship, love and fire”. I am already licking my fingers in anticipation of reading Effortless.[4.5 STARS]~ N ♥See this review on my blog! | Follow me on Facebook!
    more
  • Ceilidh
    January 1, 1970
    I have a reputation for being something of a literary masochist. It’s my own fault, really. I began book blogging through a project where I would deliberately look for stuff that I knew I probably wouldn’t like – in this case, post-Twilight paranormal romance young adult novels – and review them in a highly critical manner not usually directed at the genre. I don’t really do this anymore (my dystopian YA review project is on hiatus due to extenuating circumstances) but the reputation remains. I’ I have a reputation for being something of a literary masochist. It’s my own fault, really. I began book blogging through a project where I would deliberately look for stuff that I knew I probably wouldn’t like – in this case, post-Twilight paranormal romance young adult novels – and review them in a highly critical manner not usually directed at the genre. I don’t really do this anymore (my dystopian YA review project is on hiatus due to extenuating circumstances) but the reputation remains. I’m fine with this because I do have this overwhelming urge to finish every book I read, no matter how much I hate the experience. I can’t remember the last time I didn’t finish a book. I’m not entirely sure why I’m prefacing my review with this weird disclaimer, but it feels necessary. I have a very high standard for books like this and I see no reason why I should lower my standards because a book’s aimed at a younger audience, or is self-published. I’ve also been very vocal in my criticisms of the burgeoning New Adult category, and the inherent exploitation of its audience within. I’ve read a lot of awful, sexist, insulting, damaging and deeply disturbing YA novels in my time. I’ve seen the worst stuff passed off as romantic or normalised as part of the sexual teen experience. But until I read “Thoughtless” by S.C. Stephens, I’d never seen rape treated as passionate and sexy. I’d never seen the heroine be kicked in the head and knocked unconscious by the man who was supposed to love her. These incidents were horrific enough, but what made it worse was the way in which they were so casually shoved aside, justified and dealt with by the characters, with almost no understanding of the real world or how basic human nature works. I’ve read a lot in my time, but nothing as truly loathsome and despicable as this book.Let’s start with the basics. Kiera, supposedly over 21 yet possessing the emotional maturity of a seven year old, moves to Washington to be with her Australian boyfriend Denny, who she is completely devoted to despite not really having anything in common with him. They move in with Denny’s friend, local rock-star Kellan, and soon sparks fly between him and Kiera. It’s not long before Kiera falls into bed with Kellan and continues an affair with him right under her boyfriend’s nose. I know many readers are automatically opposed to cheating characterised as romantic in such stories, but I hold no such prejudices. If it is handled maturely and imbued with the complex emotional and societal implications such situations involve, then it can make for an interesting story. Many great stories throughout history have included extra-marital affairs. However, what we see in “Thoughtless” is so lacking in dimensions that it’s almost invisible. Kiera and Kellan are incredibly unlikeable and immature characters, and spending over 500 pages with them is exhausting. You could write their motivations on the back of a postcard and still have enough room to write a few sonnets. Kiera is shallow, insensitive, cruel, selfish and incredibly stupid. She’s the blushing virgin without the virginity, the sort of woman who blushes at the very mention of the word “penis”, despite being over 21 and in a sexual relationship. I knew nothing about her or her interests, other than her boyfriend and her lover. She’s also a big fan of slut-shaming other women who even approach Kellan, who seems to be draped in adoring fans constantly. Kellan is your typical YA/NA tortured bad boy romantic archetype. There is nothing there that you haven’t seen a million times before. Denny, the adoring cardboard cut-out boyfriend, is entirely forgettable. His defining characteristics seem to be his devotion to Kiera and his Australian accent, which the author mentions almost every time he talks. We were hardly likely to forget. If you tell me he’s Australian once, I’ll believe you. the secondary characters are barely worth mentioning. Kiera’s sister is promiscuous and pretty, securing herself a job at Hooters, whilst Kellan’s band-mate Griffin literally does nothing but talk about sex. He’s beyond caricature. There’s a particularly charming scene about 10% into the book where he brags about shoving a bottle into an inebriated woman’s vagina. No character calls him out on this disgusting act, or enquires as to whether or not it was consensual. Here’s the scene in question. I’ll let you come to your own conclusions:"...this girl, damn, she had the best rack I've ever seen." The bassist paused to make a crude gesture with his hands, as if the guys would need that statement clarified. "And the shortest skirt too. Everybody around us was completely wasted, so I ducked under the table and shoved that skirt as high as it would go. Then I grabbed my beer bottle and stuck--"So she’s wearing a short skirt, has large breasts, and has been drinking, so that gives a man credit to do as he pleases with her? “Thoughtless” suffers from fan-fiction syndrome. While not fan-fiction, which makes a change in this genre, the book did originally start life on FictionPress.com, the original work equivalent of FF.net, and as such, the same expected problems arise. The plotting is stretched out beyond belief to fill out aimless chapters that were clearly intended to be read on a serialised basis. This also explains the characters’ actions. The relationship between Kiera and Kellan is stretched out repeatedly, with both making idiotic decisions so the story can go on another 50 pages. It doesn’t help that Kiera’s relationship with Denny is so dull and incomprehensible. I had no idea why they were supposedly so in love, or why I was supposed to sympathise with them or feel any real angst in her decision. We know she’s not going to pick Denny because that’s how this plot-line works. There’s no tension here whatsoever, which is a shame because there is a slither of interesting plot here. It would be different and truly emotional to see a story where someone comes to the realisation that their partner, the one they’ve given up so much for, isn’t the one, and that they don’t really have anything in common. However, such a story would require a skilled authorial hand, one which is entirely absent here. Now, we move onto the big glaring problem here.Kiera isn’t a whore. She’s a cheater but she’s not a whore. Such terms are thrown around to hurt women for being sexual in any way. I’ve been pretty vocal in my opposition to such anti-women tactics in fiction aimed at teens and “new adults” (but still sold as children’s fiction in Amazon, may I add) because I think that, in the 21st century, we should be more progressive and considerate in these matters. There’s no excuse for calling Kiera a whore.There’s certainly no excuse for Kellan doing so (he, of course, is a “man-whore” throughout the book, because that’s totally different).The fact that Kiera forgave him for calling her a whore made me so angry. I wish it was the worst thing he’d done to her in the book.I’ve seen one reviewer describe the car scene as “vaguely rapey”. There’s nothing vague about it. It’s rape. Kellan drags Kiera into a car and begins to undress her, despite her repeatedly saying no. there’s this bullshit “My mouth says no but my body says yes” justification coming from Kiera’s unbearable narration throughout this scene, but it’s moot. What happens is rape. She does not give her consent to Kellan. She is very vocally saying no. Later on, she cries and apologises to Kellan, saying she led him on.This is wrong on every level. In real life, women are raped, and in the shockingly low number of cases were the charge actually makes it to court, it is common for the defence to shame the woman. She’s slammed for her actions in her everyday life, be in wearing revealing clothing, being drunk on the occasion or daring to flirt with other men. All these are used as defences of rape because they’re seen as indicative of the victim having led him on. That mind-set is present in “Thoughtless”, and it’s used to normalise rape as something more akin to a display of uncontrollable passion. The scene is hastily explained through some tears where Kellan apologises but Kiera tosses this aside claiming she is equally to blame for what happened, and then they continue as normal. It’s not “vaguely rapey”. It’s rape. It’s not romantic. It’s rape.And it doesn’t end there.Once the affair is finally revealed, Denny goes from being the gormless nice boy to a full on rage machine, and practically tears Kellan to pieces. Before he can deliver a final kick to Kellan’s head, Kiera jumps in and takes the kick. She is hospitalised and almost dies. She forgives Denny. She is almost killed by a man she is supposed to be able to trust. This massive and entirely gratuitous event serves no greater purpose to the plot other than to drag out the ending for even longer. The event is barely discussed. Kiera does not seem particularly distressed by what’s happened. It’s all tossed aside.The author used domestic violence for dramatic angst purposes.This is not okay. It’s not tense or dramatic or angsty. It’s horrific, entirely unnecessary and, from a literary point of view, embarrassing to read. There is no subtlety to this story, or anything even vaguely resembling real tension. What we have here is a violent, confused and damaging mess disguised poorly as romantic drama. What we have here is the inevitable conclusion of a genre that has continued to romanticise and justify the most horrifically misogynist examples of rape culture for the sake of chasing trends and making money. I can say, without a hint of hyperbole, that this is the most loathsome and despicable thing I have ever read. From a literary stance, it’s shoddily written, badly plotted and filled with characters that make shadow puppets look well developed. New Adult literature is supposed to fill the liminal period between adolescence and adulthood, and deal with the emotional and social situations within. Instead, this book romanticises rape. Nothing could justify the content of this novel. “Thoughtless” is completely void of redeeming qualities. I’m giving this book one star here simply because that’s how the GR system of ratings works. However, to paraphrase Roger Ebert, this is a book that lives in a world where stars don’t shine.
    more
  • Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer
    January 1, 1970
    *****PERFECT TEN STARS*****February 2015 ReviewReading this series for the 4th time in preparation for the upcoming release of "Thoughtful"!!!! Most of my friends know this series is my #1 FAVE series of all time. Kellan Kyle is nothing less than PERFECT in my eyes. I have loved no other book boyfriend more than him. Some have come close, but none have been able to dethrone him.This book is beyond angsty and I know that some think I am crazy to have read this 4 times. All I can say is that Kella *****PERFECT TEN STARS*****February 2015 ReviewReading this series for the 4th time in preparation for the upcoming release of "Thoughtful"!!!! Most of my friends know this series is my #1 FAVE series of all time. Kellan Kyle is nothing less than PERFECT in my eyes. I have loved no other book boyfriend more than him. Some have come close, but none have been able to dethrone him.This book is beyond angsty and I know that some think I am crazy to have read this 4 times. All I can say is that Kellan is worth all the heart break and suffering. I was supposed to BR this with my Bestie, but she has been so busy with work and the angst from this book was putting her over the edge, and so she bailed out. I completely understood. This is not an easy read.The last time I read "Thoughtless", I said that I understood Kiera. Yea, if I was in this situation, which God I wish I was, I would have fallen for Kellan instantly. BUT, I would have let Denny go right away. Even though he messed up by taking that job in Arizona, he still didn't deserve the betrayal by Kiera and Kellan. Kellan definitely wasn't an angel, but he's my #1 and so I'm not even going to attempt to crucify him in my review. This one was so unbelievably heart breaking because of how Kiera's selfishness tore Kellan apart. The girl definitely wanted to have her cake and eat it too, and she did have it for quite a while. There are so many things that I love about Kellan. He grew up, never knowing what it was like to be loved. All he ever received from his parents was abuse and contempt. Yet, as soon as he met Kiera, this man fell so deeply in love and did so many amazingly beautiful things for her. He was so desperately in love with her that he'd take what little she would give him. This might make him sound like a weak character, but the way S.C. Stephens depicted Kellan, it only made him so much more the swoonworthy book boyfriend! "What if I don't choose you, Kellan? What will you do?""I'll leave, Kiera. I'll leave, and you and Denny can have your happily ever after. You wouldn't even need to tell him about me. Eventually, the two of you.....the two of you would get married, and have children, and have a great life.""And you? What happens to you in that scenario?""I...get by. And I miss you, every day," he whispered.I die a little every time I read that scene!! GAH!!Well I am so very excited than in five days I'm finally going to get inside Kellan's head when "Thoughtful" is released. I'm not expecting it to be an easy read, but I am so very happy to get to spend more time with my beautiful book boyfriend!!March 2013 review*****THIS BOOK WAS PERFECTION STARS*****Kellan Kyle will always be my #1!! I've read this book for the third time and it truly does get better each time.I fall more in love with Kellan. He's just that perfect!!I really hated Kiera when I first read this book but I feel like I understand her now.She was in this really impossible situation.It's quite impossible not to fall in love with Kellan and I realize at the same time how hard it would be to have to hurt someone as wonderful as Denny.He was her first love, her comfort.I think the only thing I find fault with Kiera is when she had sex with Denny right after professing her love to Kellan.Other than that I completely sympathize with Kiera.I truly love this series. It brings such utter heartbreak and joy to me :)
    more
  • L A i N E Y
    January 1, 1970
    Me: Hey hey hey, Kiera. Hey look look here, I’m about to drop my hat, see? Kiera: *Eyes welling up* Me: Dropping, dropping and therrree dropped it!Kiera: ..Like, SERIOUSLY?? How OLD are you?! Stop crying every time a guy opens his mouth!Gosh!
  • Aly is so frigging bored
    January 1, 1970
    The review is for the part that I managed to read, between 1/3 and 1/2. I didn't finish the book. I lied. I didn't drink, but I'll tell you anywayWow, this heroine is just the stupidest and the most selfish out there. Think of a crappy woman and then multiply it by 10 and you have this chick! SPOILERS!!!!! She says she loves her boyfriend and when he took a job for 2 years in another city she flips out and dumps him. That wouldn't have been so bad if she didn't get drunk(not the bad part) and TH The review is for the part that I managed to read, between 1/3 and 1/2. I didn't finish the book. I lied. I didn't drink, but I'll tell you anywayWow, this heroine is just the stupidest and the most selfish out there. Think of a crappy woman and then multiply it by 10 and you have this chick! SPOILERS!!!!! She says she loves her boyfriend and when he took a job for 2 years in another city she flips out and dumps him. That wouldn't have been so bad if she didn't get drunk(not the bad part) and THAN slept his his friend! The idiot left his job and got home to her and the crazy bitch didn't even tell him that she cheated! She just f*cks his brains out and the next morning asks his friend, Kellen, if they are still ok! My problem isn't that she cheated(ok.... about 50% it is), it's just that she pretends it never happened wants to keep things like they were before the fact, and, believe it or not, keeps cheating with the guy when her boyfriend is home! I just can't fathom such a selfish, moronic, naive, imbecile of a human being! /SPOILERSBesides this the author kept repeating the words: sweet, cute, adorable... about a dude! And she kept saying and saying and saying and saying it till she drove me cray-cray! I'm never picking this author up again. Summary: (it doesn't cover everything, but it works)
    more
  • Shannon The Show Stopper
    January 1, 1970
    I have to be honest, if this were true, I would have given the book a couple more stars...Really. I honestly hated the characters that much.I cannot for the life of me figure out how so many people love this book. I thought I would love this book. I at least expected to LIKE it!!! I started wondering around 30% and then when I reached the half-way mark I was fairly certain it was going to continue to suck. When Kiera got (view spoiler)[hit in head (hide spoiler)]I got my hopes up that she would I have to be honest, if this were true, I would have given the book a couple more stars...Really. I honestly hated the characters that much.I cannot for the life of me figure out how so many people love this book. I thought I would love this book. I at least expected to LIKE it!!! I started wondering around 30% and then when I reached the half-way mark I was fairly certain it was going to continue to suck. When Kiera got (view spoiler)[hit in head (hide spoiler)]I got my hopes up that she would die but she pulled through and then it sucked some more. First off, the book is way too long. I'm all about getting my moneys worth and reading a long book but only if something is going on and it's not the same old shit over and over and over and over and over... Secondly,the heroine (who is also the narrator I kept wishing would die a slow and painful death) has got to be the whiniest, weakest and just plain old blah character to ever grace the page of a book! Most characters will have flaws but she had zero redeeming qualities at all unless you count the fact she had a job. Seriously, I didn't hate Voldemort as much as I hated Kiera and he's the BAD GUY!!! You're not supposed to like him. Several people kept telling me Kellen would make up for it but...Ummm...NO 10 Kellens couldn't make up for this train wreck of a book. Just the fact he was sooooo attracted to such a loser knocked him down a few notches on my scale. Not to mention he had way too much of a victim mentality for me and I'm not even gonna start about Denny. I didn't connect with any of the characters and that makes for a really bad read for me.This is one of those books that will continue to baffle me as to why people like it.
    more
  • SueBee★bring me an alpha!★
    January 1, 1970
    ★★★★★! Thoughtless series, book 1 of 3. Heart-wrenching love triangle with one indecisive heroine and two beyond amazing heroes.I highly recommend that you read this series in order and as not to ruin the suspense of the love triangle in this book – it’d be best not to peek at the other two books until you have read this one.Hero 1: Denny Harris/Australian/22 years old/recent double-major college graduate-advertising intern/dark brown hair/dark brown eyesHero 2: Kellan Kyle/American/22 years old ★★★★★! Thoughtless series, book 1 of 3. Heart-wrenching love triangle with one indecisive heroine and two beyond amazing heroes.I highly recommend that you read this series in order and as not to ruin the suspense of the love triangle in this book – it’d be best not to peek at the other two books until you have read this one.Hero 1: Denny Harris/Australian/22 years old/recent double-major college graduate-advertising intern/dark brown hair/dark brown eyesHero 2: Kellan Kyle/American/22 years old/singer, musician & songwriter for D-bags/light brown hair/navy blue eyesHeroine: Kiera Allen/American/21 years old/student/part-time waitress/dark brown hair/hazel eyesSpellbinding storytelling with excellent character development! This is a love triangle and it’s a very, very emotional read!“I always knew where your heart really was anyway. I never should have asked you to make a choice...”Story is told from the heroine, Kiera’s POV. With her amazing storytelling skills Ms. Stephens has managed to very vividly paint the picture of who Kiera is; She is young and naïve and has lived a sheltered life. She is prudish, nervous, awkward and she blushes as lot. She has insecurities and sees herself as average at best, though she clearly is a very pretty girl. Compared to her outgoing, beautiful and vivacious sister Anna, Kiera has been an introvert and bookworm. But we also catch glimpses of a sex kitten. Kiera also is everything she needs to be to keep this triangle going. She fearful and indecisive. If you haven’t peeked at the next book yet this story will keep you guessing until the very end…We have two amazing heroes. Both are good looking and both fall in my category of “oh so very sweet heroes”:Denny, the boyfriend and Kiera’s first love, is the safe, secure, nurturing, loyal and loving perfect boyfriend. He is the person she knows will always love her and she is planning on spending her life with him. She has followed him all the way to Seattle so they can be together while he finishes his internship.“He was my comfort. He was my solace. Nearly everything I had faced in my young life, I had gotten through because of him, because he was always there for me, with soft words and a tender heart.”And then there is Kellan, the wildcard, that all-consuming passion that might just burn out. He is their new roommate and Denny’s good friend. He can be described as the troubled and tortured up-and-coming rock star who has had women throwing themselves at him since his adolescence. Sex, for him has never been about intimacy, just a casual and meaningless release, yet still the only time he ever felt cared for. All this stemming from a loveless and abusive upbringing.When Kellan sees Denny and Kiera interact, though he loves Denny like a brother and never wanted to hurt him, he wants what they have. He simply wants to be loved the way Kiera loves Denny. What starts as an innocent friendship quickly gets out-of-hand. I am team Kellan! But Denny is wonderful and that is why this story is so angsty.“I need you. Let me do this. I can make you forget him. I can make you forget you.”And without revealing who Kiera chooses, in closing I will make this observation: She picked the man she didn’t truly want and ended up profoundly hurting three people, INSTEAD of picking he one that she wanted and hurting mostly one. I’ll attribute this to her immaturity and her “thoughtlessness”; nevertheless I might have wished she handled the situation differently. Rest assured! I have it on good authority that she will be maturing tremendously in the next-coming books.Kudos to Ms. Stephens for writing a story that evoked so much emotion – very profound and thoughtful! And a reminder that sometimes love just isn’t enough. I loved every heart-breaking minute of it. Thank you.***Hero 1 rating: 5 stars (Denny Harris)Hero 2 rating: 5+ stars (Kellan Kyle)Heroine rating: 2.5 starsSex scenes rating: 4 starsSex scenes frequency: 4 starsStoryline concept rating: 5 starsStoryline execution rating: 5 starsStorytelling skills rating: 5 starsStory ending rating: 5 starsBook editing rating (5 = no edits spotted): 5 stars******************************Overall rating: 5 starsWould I recommend this book: Yes.Would I re-read this book: Maybe later.Would I read future books by this author: Yes.
    more
  • Just My Bucking Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Don't read this review unless you have read the book, it contains a lot of the books spoilers. Also, don't read if you actually liked the book and the characters....you won't like what I have to say if you do. ^^^This picture sums up the bull shit that is this book but please, read on to find out what really pissed me off. * Warning * If you're easily offended by a foul mouthed, aggressive Irish female then DON'T read this fucking review.First off, I'm not usually this much of a bitch to slam a Don't read this review unless you have read the book, it contains a lot of the books spoilers. Also, don't read if you actually liked the book and the characters....you won't like what I have to say if you do. ^^^This picture sums up the bull shit that is this book but please, read on to find out what really pissed me off. * Warning * If you're easily offended by a foul mouthed, aggressive Irish female then DON'T read this fucking review.First off, I'm not usually this much of a bitch to slam a book to such an extent as I am about to do with this book but this isn't towards the author directly as a person, just the characters she created. I could just give this a one star rating (no stars really) but these characters got under my skin and made me fume. I have to voice my problems with them and the book in general! So, here we go.This review is a easy one for me. I definitely hated the book way more than I liked it, but yet for an unknown I kept reading it even though it put me in a foul mood. I couldn't put the fucking thing down no matter how many times I tried. The damn thing was like watching a train wreck in motion AND it was the longest read of my entire fucking life. I literally felt like I aged twenty years after I was done with this book. That's not a good thing, I like how when I read a good book and I reach the final page I get sad when I realise it's actually over. I fucking cheered when I reached the last page of this damn thing!!Now, it's not that rare for me to dislike a female character, everyone has a few who pissed them off but Kiera? She holds the grand prize for my most hated female character. Ever! I loathe her with a fucking passion. I wanted to kick her, punch her, ram her into a wall head first. I wanted to commit every type of physical assault possible on this disgusting creature. She was so damn pathetic that I found myself getting into a extremely bad mood being inside her stupid head.She is the definition of a filthy slut. She really is, she led Kellan on time and time again and just destroyed poor Denny, who I legit wanted to cry for.I know they say you can't help who you fall in love with but this bitch could, she was already in love with Denny so she knew exactly what she was getting herself into with Mr. Rock-God from the get go! Who the fuck can friendly flirt innocently when they are constantly alone and cuddled up on a couch? Clearly NOT these two mother fuckers because it leads to lots of fucking blushing and a lot of 'confusion' on Keira's part.I mean, really?Yeah, it must be terrible to have two stunners loving and lusting after you. Fuck off, you undeserving little dickhead!I disliked pretty much all the character's but don't get me wrong, I liked Kellan as character for the first 20% of the book but only to an extent because he was a bit of a bitch from 20% onwards. When he started to beg and fall over Keira he made me want to drop kick him.I originally liked how he was described. The hot, bad boy, rock star does it for me, but I really hated what an arsehole he was to his supposedly best friend Denny. Who the hell does what Kellan did to another person? Especially a person who you consider important to you?I mean shagging your best friends girl is low, very fucking low!Then to make things worse for Denny he quits his dream job to come home to Kiera aka filthy slut. I didn't even feel sorry for her during that time period when he was away and she was missing him. I knew she would be clingy, at the very start of the book it clearly states she couldn't live without Denny and applied to all the schools he did and wouldn't take no for an answer and chose to live with him. That to me she is a stage five clinger who just happens at the time to be feeling guilty but not woman enough to admit her errors - screwing her boyfriends best friend - and let the guy go be with someone who isn't a constant blushing cunt maybe?Denny was just maimed in this book. I don't care how things worked out and the end for him going back home, he literally took a blow from Kellan's not-really-father to protect him when he was younger, then when he went away (to work his arse of for himself and Kiera's future) he fully trusted Kellan to take care of her. Not to screw him over with her... literally.I HATED the message the book gave! It's NOT okay to cheat on someone and it is NOT okay to use someone to make the prick you're cheating with jealous because you're jealous of him shaggy everything with a vagina and pulse.I was not happy with the using of people like they were dirt but I hate Kiera so much that when Kellan showed his man whoring ways I cheered the bastard on.AND JESUS CHRIST! If I had to read about the filthy slut blushing one more time I was going to punch someone. No joke, her blushing at something happened on every fucking page let alone every chapter! The word blush must have been on each page at least five times and it pissed me the fuck off. Why did the author repeat that so much? If you took the blushing away, 60% of stupid fucking book would be gone!Her face was permanently red for most of the fucking book!As much as Kellan pissed me off for being the world's shittiest best friend, I was secretly hoping he and Denny would hook up, fall in love and leave the filthy slut all alone to sulk in her sluttiness. She didn't deserve either of them.I would gladly take the Australian stud of her hands and she can keep the messed up dude who is capable of lying and cheating on those he loves, he sure sounds like a dreamy guy I'd introduce to my dad... NOT!!Lord, just thinking about this bull crap book annoys me. I definitely will NOT be reading the follow up book. I would sooner gauge my eyes out that read from the perspective of that horrible creature again.Anyway yeah I hated this... Peace! Just My Bucking Book Blog
    more
  • Sita
    January 1, 1970
    I’m just gonna come out and say it. I could not finish this book. Because I couldn’t finish this book. It’s not so much a review, but a list of the things I didn’t like about the book and just my general thoughts on the book. (1) Main character is an annoying, bitchy, cheating, slutty person that I wanted to kill for most of the book. I hated being inside her head.(2) Why did she cheat? Her boyfriend was perfect(3) The guy she cheated with is a douche.(4) The writing was good.(5) There were so m I’m just gonna come out and say it. I could not finish this book. Because I couldn’t finish this book. It’s not so much a review, but a list of the things I didn’t like about the book and just my general thoughts on the book. (1) Main character is an annoying, bitchy, cheating, slutty person that I wanted to kill for most of the book. I hated being inside her head.(2) Why did she cheat? Her boyfriend was perfect(3) The guy she cheated with is a douche.(4) The writing was good.(5) There were so many slow parts. The book got really boring.(6) It was like they were repeating repeating repeating repeating repeating repeating a lot of the book. Annoying right?(7) How do I rate this? (8) Now that I think of it, this book was generally bad.(9) What is with the cover?(10) I liked the other band members, they had good characterisation.(11) I didn’t like the base idea around the story. What is it trying to say? That the other man should win the girl.(12) I disliked most things about this book.Okay, well those are my general thoughts on the book. So farewell. Happy Reading ;)
    more
  • Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy
    January 1, 1970
    ❤❦ 4 Heart-Broken... well Hearts - Rating ❤❦Finding a perfect Kellan was hard... but on try #3 I THINK I did itMy KellanMy Kiera lolMy Kellan, Kiera & Denny ~*~*~**~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~* Thoughless, I blurted out, "Him." Seriously this book messed me up!!! I am not a big fan of love triangles and this book put me through a ringer, but thankfully I had my trusty Buddy-Read system. It consisted of encouraging words, dirty pictures and passing around razor blades for especial ❤❦ 4 Heart-Broken... well Hearts - Rating ❤❦Finding a perfect Kellan was hard... but on try #3 I THINK I did itMy KellanMy Kiera lolMy Kellan, Kiera & Denny ~*~*~**~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~* Thoughless, I blurted out, "Him." Seriously this book messed me up!!! I am not a big fan of love triangles and this book put me through a ringer, but thankfully I had my trusty Buddy-Read system. It consisted of encouraging words, dirty pictures and passing around razor blades for especially towards the end. Seriously guys if it weren't for you I would have NEVER finished it.Kiera follows Denny across country. She gives up her old college (but enrolls in Seattle), gives up her family to follow him for an internship that is suppose to help advance his career.Long ago, Denny made Kellan's existence brighter. Years later they are still close. Kellan takes in both of them as his room-mates.Kellan is sex-god-rock-star-extraordinaire... in a Douchebag Rock Group... I'm not being mean, that's an actual name of the Group... fine fine it might be D-bags. But I still want a Douchebag official t-shirt though. He is a bit messed up and a whole lotta of a womanizer (of course as a coping mechanism for a shitty childhood)As Denny busy with his internship, Kiera and Kellan (KK) grow close. The more Denny is busy... the closer KK grow... where the lines blur and disappear... and between hand holding, snuggling and some of my favorite beverages (tequila & coffee) something more grows from lust.But now she has a choice to make... and I gotta say I did not envy her as both guys were wonderful and there was no fault in them. It's a complex story... made that much more complex by Kiera burying her head in the sand and letting all things crumble apart more every day. She didn't want to hurt 1 person... but she was hurting all 3. “What if I don’t choose you, Kellan? What will you do?”He looked away, a tear rolling down his cheek. “I’ll leave, Kiera. I’ll leave, and you and Denny can have your happily ever after.” He looked back at me. “You wouldn’t even need to tell him about me. Eventually, the two of you…” his voice broke and another tear fell on his cheek, “the two of you would get married, and have children, and have a great life.”I fought back a sob. “And you? What happens to you in that scenario?”“I…get by. And I miss you, every day,” he whispered. Even though, this is not my type of favorite stories the characters were real and packed an emotional punch especially around %85. There are also some really great secondary characters that I hope to see more in the next one, especially the Dbags.
    more
  • ★Ruth★
    January 1, 1970
    Thoughtless....the perfect description for Keira! This is where the book looses a star for me. I don't think anyone could truly be that naive! Did she really think that cuddling, holding hands and flirting innocently (is that even really a thing!) would not eventually lead to something and that the guy wouldn't eventually want more! I REALLY am not a fan of this girl! Selfish would be another word.But Kellan. Poor poor tormented Kellan. If you were a Travis fan (Beautiful Disaster then I think K Thoughtless....the perfect description for Keira! This is where the book looses a star for me. I don't think anyone could truly be that naive! Did she really think that cuddling, holding hands and flirting innocently (is that even really a thing!) would not eventually lead to something and that the guy wouldn't eventually want more! I REALLY am not a fan of this girl! Selfish would be another word.But Kellan. Poor poor tormented Kellan. If you were a Travis fan (Beautiful Disaster then I think Kellan is his long last brother!! I gotta be honest, he could do so much better.And poor Denny, the poor guy didn't do anything wrong but love her & trust her. Misplaced trust as it turns out. *shakes head*But seriously the writing in this book had me sitting on the edge of my seat, I nearly felt as torn up as Kellan did. You feel every kiss, every heated moment, every argument. I had said to myself that I wouldn't go straight into Effortless because I couldn't take anymore angst for a while & also that Thoughtless finished kinda perfect....but yet here I am 20% into it LOL.So in conclusion if, like me, you loved Beautiful Disaster or enjoyed the likes of The Vincent Boys than this is the book for you.
    more
  • Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover
    January 1, 1970
    **4.5 I LOVE KELLAN KYLE STARS**I'll admit it, I think I'm the last person on earth to read this book. What was I waiting for? I have no clue. I don't think I've ever read such an emotional story like this in my life. This story was told beautifully. I don't know how Stephens did it, but she wrote an amazing character in Kellan Kyle. She evoked emotions from me that I don't usually experience from a book. And oh the angst and the tension, the back and forth had my heart and head spinning. I was **4.5 I LOVE KELLAN KYLE STARS**I'll admit it, I think I'm the last person on earth to read this book. What was I waiting for? I have no clue. I don't think I've ever read such an emotional story like this in my life. This story was told beautifully. I don't know how Stephens did it, but she wrote an amazing character in Kellan Kyle. She evoked emotions from me that I don't usually experience from a book. And oh the angst and the tension, the back and forth had my heart and head spinning. I was so involved in the outcome that I had a hard time living in reality. Yes while reading this real life sucked! I just wanted to run home and immerse myself in Seattle with the irresistible Kellan Kyle.This was intense, consuming, passionate, engaging and heartbreaking. After reading all the reviews I was expecting to go into this hating Kiera, but surprisingly I understood her. She was torn between her old love and the luscious Kellan Kyle. What girl could resist that?! There were times when I wanted to slap some sense into her, but I definitely understood her angst and the position she was in even though I didn't agree with how things were handled.Thanks to my girl Patty cause if it weren't for her I don't think I ever would've read this. Hence why I love Goodreads:)
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    I had to FORCE myself to finish this book. I can't even tell you how many times I just wanted to stop because it was so ANNOYING. I thought it would NEVER end."DO SOMETHING!!!"...yeah, you'll find yourself yelling this in your head throughout the whole book at Kiera...Kiera, with her back-and-forth cheating w/ such little regard for anyone but herself, drove me crazy. It came to the point that I was actually upset with the author for expecting us to root for her because she's naive and torn betw I had to FORCE myself to finish this book. I can't even tell you how many times I just wanted to stop because it was so ANNOYING. I thought it would NEVER end."DO SOMETHING!!!"...yeah, you'll find yourself yelling this in your head throughout the whole book at Kiera...Kiera, with her back-and-forth cheating w/ such little regard for anyone but herself, drove me crazy. It came to the point that I was actually upset with the author for expecting us to root for her because she's naive and torn between the love of 2 men. In fact, I disliked her so much it ultimately made me dislike both the male characters too for loving her...and, let's face it, both Kellan and Denny SHOULD be desirable in any other story.Thank goodness the last few chapters were able to actually pull it together. If this book were 300 pages shorter, I would have had less time to stew over Kiera and might have been able to enjoy it a bit more.
    more
  • Jacek
    January 1, 1970
    Things I hated about this book: its length and Kiera!!! There are many long books that you don't want to miss even a sentence. This book was definitely NOT one of them. It was so repetitive that it felt more like a diary; "Kiera being infatuated with Kellan's looks. Kiera flirting with Kellan and leading him on, falsely. Kellan is hot, sensual. Kellan is a player. Kellan and Kiera say good morning. Make coffee. Add sugar. ETC..." Urg! I just wanted to slap Kiera across the face and yell at her f Things I hated about this book: its length and Kiera!!! There are many long books that you don't want to miss even a sentence. This book was definitely NOT one of them. It was so repetitive that it felt more like a diary; "Kiera being infatuated with Kellan's looks. Kiera flirting with Kellan and leading him on, falsely. Kellan is hot, sensual. Kellan is a player. Kellan and Kiera say good morning. Make coffee. Add sugar. ETC..." Urg! I just wanted to slap Kiera across the face and yell at her for being so damn eccentric! She couldn't choose because she was guilty, afraid of not being safe. Her emotions were everywhere. Such a weak heroine! She surely didn't deserve Kellan or Denny. Urg!!Thing I loved about this book: Kellan Kyle, although I still never figured out what gorgeous singer like he saw in Kiera in the first place that made him endure all of the emotional torture and hurt just to be with her. Some girls are just so damn lucky!
    more
  • Taryn
    January 1, 1970
    I am so baffled at my response for the last three books I've read. It is so unlike me to read a Young Adult/College Romance book and actually like it. But I've come to the conclusion that if done right, for me at least, then I will enjoy it very much. This book definitely satisfied my love of an emotionally angst read. I do love those kind of reads very much especially if one of the characters is unfaithful to the other. Most people don't...I guess I'm not most people then. I think it brings muc I am so baffled at my response for the last three books I've read. It is so unlike me to read a Young Adult/College Romance book and actually like it. But I've come to the conclusion that if done right, for me at least, then I will enjoy it very much. This book definitely satisfied my love of an emotionally angst read. I do love those kind of reads very much especially if one of the characters is unfaithful to the other. Most people don't...I guess I'm not most people then. I think it brings much more drama and tension to the storyline so I liked this book a lot....but yet I didn't.This is a rather lengthy novel, coming in at over 500 pages. I have no problem with the length, I've read books close to 1000 pages and read them multiple times. It's the repetitive, drawn out relationship Kiera has with both Denny and Kellan that I started to irritate me, and don't even get me started on all that blushing! This girl must be the color of tomato all the time with the nonstop blushing she did. The littlest, most insignificant thing would make her blush. It really got on my nerves. There is a lot of fat that could be cut from this book, probably a good 100-150 pages and it would have been a 5 star read. Unfortunately, I started to loath this book because of Kiera and her no regard for Denny or Kellan's mental well-being. My heart ached for both Kellan and Denny. She wanted both men to herself regardless of who she hurt along the way. Well, girlfriend, you can't have your cake and eat it too, it just does not work like that. This is another book that left me unable to form a decent review. In the end, I loved to hate this book and would still recommend it to friends.One of my favorite singers is Gavin Degraw. His voice is so sensual and full of emotion, plus he writes his own music which makes me like him even more. I think this song would be great for this book. Gavin Degraw- She Holds A Key http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UqNrt...Or even this one! How beautiful is this? Gavin Degraw- Young Love http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdzH0g...
    more
  • Sarah Toussaint
    January 1, 1970
    This book was so bad, it ruined the author and book's audiobook narrator for me.Soooo boring, superbly annoying character and an extremely mediocre story.This is the type of books I ask myself "why is it so popular?" Like why do people like this?I didn't even bother completing this crap. When I wasn't dozing off while reading, I was annoyed by the fucking heroine and her love interest.
    more
Write a review