You Get What You Get
Melvin throws fit after fit when he doesn't get what he wants. He must learn how to deal with disappointment. After all, you get what you get and you don't throw a fit.

You Get What You Get Details

TitleYou Get What You Get
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 29th, 2017
PublisherCapstone Publishing Company
ISBN1404867945
ISBN-139781404867949
Number of pages32 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Fiction, Animals, Academic, School, Back To School, Family

You Get What You Get Review

  • Melki
    January 21, 2016
    Since this is Squirrel Appreciation Day . . . (Yes - it's a REAL THING. Did you think I could make up something as bizarre as that?)I feel I must object to this author's choice of the noble furry-tailed rodent to play the part of a whiny, petulant brat in her otherwise enjoyable book.The star of this story is Melvin, a somewhat rotund squirrel who throws massive tantrums whenever things don't go his way. Over the years, I've come to know many, many squirrels and let me tell you, they are NOT can Since this is Squirrel Appreciation Day . . . (Yes - it's a REAL THING. Did you think I could make up something as bizarre as that?)I feel I must object to this author's choice of the noble furry-tailed rodent to play the part of a whiny, petulant brat in her otherwise enjoyable book.The star of this story is Melvin, a somewhat rotund squirrel who throws massive tantrums whenever things don't go his way. Over the years, I've come to know many, many squirrels and let me tell you, they are NOT cantankerous. Would they be happier if I filled the bird feeders with premium sunflower seeds and tantalizing suet cakes? Sure. Will they throw tantrums if I put out cheap, crappy seed instead? Never! They will happily eat whatever is available. And when I run raving from the garage, waving a broom to chase them away, do they get mad and stamp their little squirrel feet? Nope. They simply climb a tree and wait until I'm inside again before resuming their feast. You see what I mean? Squirrels have got to be the most GRATEFUL critters on the planet!Luckily, Melvin, the contentious squirrel in this book, learns that the same rules apply to all and that he must compromise and accept what he gets. (Oh, Melvin . . . you obviously have NO future in politics, so study something like Advanced Nut Storage Techniques or Ways to Successfully Cross a Road, instead.) So, really. Ms. Gassman, couldn't you have picked a more persnickety creature for your story, say, a chihuahua or a groundhog? (There's a grouchy animal for you! Cursing us with six more weeks of winter just because we woke it up early one day!) Nuts to you, Julie!And to all you squirrels out there,NUTS to you, as well!
    more
  • Lloyd Dewolf
    September 24, 2016
    I rated this book as much to counter balance someone I know's 1 star rating. I can't say I like this book, but my two oldest children do since they were about 3 years old (and my oldest, now 8, still enjoys it). The lesson is poorly articulated, but it resonates with my kids. The value of this, and all shared books, is the conversations they enable and, ultimately, the growth (behavior changes) they contribute to.
    more
  • Heidi
    August 20, 2015
    I found this book at the library and was so excited to read it to my class. They are hung up on "fair" and getting what they want. I have seen a lot of fits. Anyway, the other teachers were less than enthusiastic, taking the wind out of my sails. I still like it and my own children like it and understand it. I will probably still read it to my class, but I am not looking forward to it like before. Sad.
    more
  • Christina
    March 9, 2017
    Great way to teach that life isn't always fair.
  • Robert Lord
    September 23, 2016
    If I could give it a negative rating, I most certainly would. This book is about an obese bad-mannered squirrel whose parents have failed at providing their offspring with the tools for self-regulation, validating of squirrel's hard feelings or offering support through those hard feelings. Since the parents are abject failures, the school teacher drops a tautological/circular-logic fallacy-based authoritarian koan on the kid, "You get what you get and you don't throw a fit." which is a very clos If I could give it a negative rating, I most certainly would. This book is about an obese bad-mannered squirrel whose parents have failed at providing their offspring with the tools for self-regulation, validating of squirrel's hard feelings or offering support through those hard feelings. Since the parents are abject failures, the school teacher drops a tautological/circular-logic fallacy-based authoritarian koan on the kid, "You get what you get and you don't throw a fit." which is a very close neighbor of "Shut up and deal with it." The obese and useless parents are unsurprisingly surprised that anything might positively affect the unhinged kid's behavior. This is a book for adults who are cynical, jaded re children's ability to self-regulate given developmentally appropriate tools and support or criminally ignorant that such parenting exists. It's basically a manual for child mental abuse perfect that will appeal to Trump voting parents. Scholastic Books, I do expect better of you, although frankly not that much.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 23, 2014
    Soapbox time: This should be read to the majority of children today; their parents should be made to follow this rule and our world would be a better place for all!Ok, stepped down now.I have said to my daughter: "You get what you get and you don't pitch a fit" ever since she was teeny-tiny. I say this to the kids who come to my programs, when they get all demanding and whiny, "you get what you get and you don't pitch a fit." I say this over and over and over again.Now I can read the book. Maybe Soapbox time: This should be read to the majority of children today; their parents should be made to follow this rule and our world would be a better place for all!Ok, stepped down now.I have said to my daughter: "You get what you get and you don't pitch a fit" ever since she was teeny-tiny. I say this to the kids who come to my programs, when they get all demanding and whiny, "you get what you get and you don't pitch a fit." I say this over and over and over again.Now I can read the book. Maybe the message will get through to just one child? Maybe parents out there will realize that they CAN take ownership? Huh, novel concepts.
    more
  • Verona
    November 8, 2016
    As I said, my son with whom I share Kindle books, has been sharing the children's books that he chooses for his little kids, and I love them! They are as good as the adult and young adult fiction that I'm reading. They teach such great lessons, and in a clear, understandable way. Little kids are lucky to get taught this way while they're young and will listen. This is a good life lesson to learn about not always getting what you want in life. Thanks, Ryan.
    more
  • Amanda Walz
    November 4, 2016
    An okay bookI like that Melvin is a squirrel. I like that gave examples on what Melvin throws fits about. But over all I didn't care for this story. It felt undone, kind of flat. For this topic, it is not a bad book by I just don't see anything in this story that is going to make me want to recommend it to everyone.
    more
  • Angie
    December 22, 2016
    Good message and hoping it sticks! :)
  • Sylas O'Neil
    February 2, 2017
    great lessonawesome short story for the kiddos with a great lesson in it. we tell our kids this all the time!
  • Sarah Wiwchar
    March 20, 2017
    Best suited for grade 1 +
  • Vinnie Batiste
    October 3, 2016
    Good book!
  • Cassandra Gelvin
    January 15, 2017
    At least the author can't complain about my review. She gets what she gets.Wow. Okay. There's a bunch of different kinds of animals, but the book centers around a family of squirrels. The main character is Melvin, and he's very picky about things. I have a child who's like this. Melvin throws tantrums whenever he doesn't get what he wants (which my child sometimes does), but at school there's a rule: You get what you get and you don't throw a fit. Apparently it's just enforced by pure virtue of At least the author can't complain about my review. She gets what she gets.Wow. Okay. There's a bunch of different kinds of animals, but the book centers around a family of squirrels. The main character is Melvin, and he's very picky about things. I have a child who's like this. Melvin throws tantrums whenever he doesn't get what he wants (which my child sometimes does), but at school there's a rule: You get what you get and you don't throw a fit. Apparently it's just enforced by pure virtue of being a rule. His family doesn't know about it at home, until one day when he and his sister are arguing over what movie to watch, he smugly tells her, You get what you get and you don't throw a fit. His parents are stunned, and decide to implement that rule at home, which causes him to no longer throw fits.So, yeah. Magical solution to an actual real problem. That I really have. I'm pretty sure if I told my child, You get what you get and you don't throw a fit, (he's almost three) he would ignore me and continue throwing his fit. And it's about as condescending as Because I said so. Who gets to decide what you get? The supreme dictator of parent? Maybe the child has a valid suggestion, and this saying shuts down all discussion. In the book, after the argument about the movie, they end up watching what his sister wanted to watch. It comes off like the rule only applies to Melvin.True, children need to learn to deal with disappointment, but parroting inane cliches is not the way to teach them. Some people never learn how, and you occasionally see entitled adults demanding unreasonable things from others, but I don't think it's because nobody ever told them something like this. And telling an adult this phrase isn't going to work in the slightest. I can even imagine someone using this phrase against an adult with a reasonable grievance. Why not try, with both adults and children, respect? Explaining why something is a good idea, or must be the way it is? Empathizing when they have a real sense of frustration? Yes, it is frustrating when, like in the book, someone else has more chocolate chips in their cookie than you. It's not fair! Or someone else wants to watch a different movie than you want to. The only reason that blows up to a tantrum in children (and adults) is because of a lack of self control. Sometimes it's a long-term lack, like when children haven't learned it yet, and sometimes it's a short-term lack, like when an adult under a lot of stress hits the last straw and it happens to be something trivial. And no amount of trite sayings is going to erase the actual feelings of actual human beings.Message: You get what you get and you don't throw a fit.For more children's book reviews, see my website at http://www.drttmk.com.
    more
  • Lackluster Mom
    February 17, 2017
    Good quick kid readI liked this short kiddie book. I read it to my daughter and she liked it. She is two and a half now. So these are good things for her to start hearing.
  • EDUC535
    June 13, 2016
    Tiara DietzThis is a great story to teach the moral lesson of "you get what you get, and you don't throw a fit." This short story is great for a read aloud to teach students that sometimes, you do not get to do, play with, eat, sit where, etc. anything you want to - you need to share, take turns, and accept what is given to you without throwing a temper tantrum. In this story, Melvin starts off throwing many temper tantrums! But by the end, when he gets a new rule at school (and he slips, and ha Tiara DietzThis is a great story to teach the moral lesson of "you get what you get, and you don't throw a fit." This short story is great for a read aloud to teach students that sometimes, you do not get to do, play with, eat, sit where, etc. anything you want to - you need to share, take turns, and accept what is given to you without throwing a temper tantrum. In this story, Melvin starts off throwing many temper tantrums! But by the end, when he gets a new rule at school (and he slips, and has it carried over to home...) does he turn his attitude around!? Find out in this story by Julie Gassman as you read it aloud to your kids or students!This great lesson story is filled with repetition and also contains back-tracking!
    more
  • Kasey
    October 2, 2012
    This book is great! I would use this book for any of the younger grades possible Kindergarten-2nd grade. A lot of younger kids get easily upset when they don't get what they want. This book helps to show them to appreciate what they get. I love the part about Melvin going home and teaching his family what he learned because I think this happens with a lot of kids when they leave school. So not only will it hit hard with these kids but who knows they could be going home and teaching this lesson a This book is great! I would use this book for any of the younger grades possible Kindergarten-2nd grade. A lot of younger kids get easily upset when they don't get what they want. This book helps to show them to appreciate what they get. I love the part about Melvin going home and teaching his family what he learned because I think this happens with a lot of kids when they leave school. So not only will it hit hard with these kids but who knows they could be going home and teaching this lesson also to their siblings. Gassman, J. (2012). You Get What You Get. Mankato: Capstone Publishing Company.
    more
  • Lynne
    May 14, 2013
    This book tackles a childhood problem in a clever and straightforward way. The main character Melvin does not deal well with disappointment and throws a fit whenever he doesn't get what he wants. Apparently this is tolerated at home and results in him always getting his way, but at school the rule is "You get what you get if you don't throw a fit." Melvin learns to control his behavior at school pretty quickly and when he spills the beans at home, his parents take on a new philosophy as well. Th This book tackles a childhood problem in a clever and straightforward way. The main character Melvin does not deal well with disappointment and throws a fit whenever he doesn't get what he wants. Apparently this is tolerated at home and results in him always getting his way, but at school the rule is "You get what you get if you don't throw a fit." Melvin learns to control his behavior at school pretty quickly and when he spills the beans at home, his parents take on a new philosophy as well. The book makes a great lesson and relevant point about behavior control that even preschoolers can understand.
    more
  • Joy
    October 4, 2014
    This book gets a five star rating simply because it is one of the major books that you should read the first week of school. All teachers should own a copy or at least have access to one.The main character in this book is a squirrel, who throws fits at home when he doesn't get his way. However, his teacher at school has this horrible rule: "you get what you get and you don't throw a fit." This rule prevents him from throwing a fit at school. Until one day, at home....The kids loved this book and This book gets a five star rating simply because it is one of the major books that you should read the first week of school. All teachers should own a copy or at least have access to one.The main character in this book is a squirrel, who throws fits at home when he doesn't get his way. However, his teacher at school has this horrible rule: "you get what you get and you don't throw a fit." This rule prevents him from throwing a fit at school. Until one day, at home....The kids loved this book and it established the "you get what you get" rule from the get go in a fun way.
    more
  • Angieleigh
    February 5, 2017
    And you don't throw a fit!!This will be a permanent part of my nephew's library so that I can remind him not to throw a fit when he doesn't get his way!Of course, I think he'll be reminding all of us to not throw a fit!
  • Kate Hastings
    January 6, 2013
    PK to K. Perfect for preschoolers and kindergarteners that have trouble when things don't go their way. We would always say "you get what you get and you don't have a fit" during storytime as we passed out scarves b/c we can't cater to color preferences. I still think my second grader could benefit from this book!
    more
  • amelia valdez
    January 5, 2016
    This is a great book to use while teaching routine and procedures at school. I read this book frequently while teaching kindergarten. Eventually, the kids will join in the refrain while correcting each other's behavior: you get what you get and you don't throw a fit.Overall, colorful and engaging, to the point.
    more
  • Hannah Kocher
    January 13, 2017
    I really like that this book teaches children that rules apply at both school and home and teaches children to appreciate what they get in life, rather than throw a fit. This would be a great book to read at the beginning of the school year to set the tone for the year and classroom behavior expectations.
    more
  • Naomi
    June 7, 2016
    Love itMy son's teacher always used this rule, so we brought it home. We never new there was a book to it, so my son was super surprised when we started reading this book. Love the lesson it's teaching.
  • Kerrikoala
    December 4, 2015
    My koala said this rule only applies to squirrels.I thought this was a good book, and in general it's good to accept what you get and not complain. But I dunno...I think sometimes it's okay to make a little noise when things are unfair.
  • Katie
    July 2, 2015
    Tantrum book about an early elementary student who doesn't throw tantrums at school because of the rule " You get what you get and you don't throw a fit."Great introduction book for parents and teachers who want to enforce a "no complaining" rule. Theme: Feelings
    more
  • Sharon
    November 14, 2016
    CuteAn enjoyable read. My Kindergartener was able to read most of the words on her own. She enjoyed the book and thought it was funny. My 4th grader thought it was funny and had a good lesson.
  • Trish
    November 10, 2013
    This book teaches kids that they can't throw a fit because things aren't going their way.
  • Davina
    January 10, 2013
    ...and you don't have a fit! A great reminder to many adults as well ;) Myself included.
  • Sarah
    June 27, 2016
    PS 152.47 GAS
  • Carolyn Booker
    April 25, 2012
    Fun to read to my little one. I wonder if she learned anything...not!
Write a review