The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning, #2)
After the tumultuous events of last winter, Kate, Michael, and Emma long to continue the hunt for their missing parents. But they themselves are now in great danger, and so the wizard Stanislaus Pym hides the children at the Edgar Allan Poe Home for Hopeless and Incorrigible Orphans. There, he says, they will be safe. How wrong he is.  The children are soon discovered by their enemies, and a frantic chase sends Kate a hundred years into the past, to a perilous, enchanted New York City. Searching for a way back to her brother and sister, she meets a mysterious boy whose fate is intricately—and dangerously—tied to her own. Meanwhile, Michael and Emma have set off to find the second of the Books of Beginning. A series of clues leads them into a hidden world where they must brave harsh polar storms, track down an ancient order of warriors, and confront terrible monsters. Will Michael and Emma find the legendary book of fire—and master its powers—before Kate is lost to them forever?  Exciting, suspenseful, and brimming with humor and heart, the next installment of the bestselling Books of Beginning trilogy will lead Kate, Michael, and Emma closer to their family—and to the magic that could save, or destroy, them all.

The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning, #2) Details

TitleThe Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 9th, 2012
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN0375868712
ISBN-139780375868719
Number of pages437 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Adventure, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult, Fiction

The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning, #2) Review

  • Jeff Raymond
    September 28, 2012
    Putting aside Harry Potter, the landscape of children's fantasy is...strange. You have your classics (Redwall, various magical series from Lloyd Alexander, Fablehaven, etc), plenty of modern attempts to replicate Harry Potter or Tolkien (Eragon, anyone?). The modern stuff in particular repeatedly leaves me cold, though. Especially when you're looking for fantasy books with appeal to all genders, since most of the middle grade fiction that's not about sports or various wimpy/nerdy children is gea Putting aside Harry Potter, the landscape of children's fantasy is...strange. You have your classics (Redwall, various magical series from Lloyd Alexander, Fablehaven, etc), plenty of modern attempts to replicate Harry Potter or Tolkien (Eragon, anyone?). The modern stuff in particular repeatedly leaves me cold, though. Especially when you're looking for fantasy books with appeal to all genders, since most of the middle grade fiction that's not about sports or various wimpy/nerdy children is geared, intentionally or otherwise, toward girls, you really end up wanting something to fill that gap.The Books of Beginning are absolutely some of the best middle grade fantasy written in the last decade, and not nearly enough people know it.The Emerald Atlas is a book I got to read an advance of a few years ago, and it blew my mind. A fully-formed setting, a book that didn't mind borrowing from existing tropes while finding its own voice, kids who a) acted like kids and b) were allowed to grow into their own during the course of the book. Actions had consequences for everyone involved, and it wasn't a standard heroic journey arc for me. It felt epic for an adult, and I can only imagine what it was like for a kid looking for that same epic quality.The Fire Chronicle is the long-overdue sequel. It takes place a little while after Atlas, but ultimately wastes no time. The Atlas itself is used and misused to expected and unexpected consequences, we see the story progress to the next viable part, and we again see the kids act and grow as one would expect. The voices are genuine, the story unique while being respectfully derivative, and the plot again takes chances you don't normally see in children's literature. A massive breath of fresh air.I have no idea how The Emerald Atlas did, but I know it was buzzed about constantly prior to publication and then I basically never heard about it again. I'm really hoping The Fire Chronicle renews interest in the series, because this is one I'm looking forward to sharing with my future spawn and with people who love fantasy, because it's really a hidden gem across the board.
    more
  • Jeffrey
    March 8, 2013
    After the huge success of Harry Potter, there has been a veritable explosion of fantasy novels aimed at the youth market. But like Harry Potter, some of these books have crossover appeal to teens and even adults.A case in point is John Stephens enjoyable series "The Books of Beginning", which had its start in April 2011 with the publication of the first book in the series "The Emerald Atlas". In Stephens capable hands, this fantasy comes alive and shines. If you have not had a chance to read it, After the huge success of Harry Potter, there has been a veritable explosion of fantasy novels aimed at the youth market. But like Harry Potter, some of these books have crossover appeal to teens and even adults.A case in point is John Stephens enjoyable series "The Books of Beginning", which had its start in April 2011 with the publication of the first book in the series "The Emerald Atlas". In Stephens capable hands, this fantasy comes alive and shines. If you have not had a chance to read it, or your kids are looking for something different than the upteen sequel in the Rick Riordan's series, then you should definitely try these books. The Emerald Atlas, in which we are introduced to Kate, Michael and Emma, three orphan children, who had been shifted time and time again to worst and worst orphanages, were children of destiny, who were bound to find the Books of Beginning. In that first book, ably summarized by the author herein, the three children met Stanislau Pym, a wizard, discovered the first of the books of beginning --an old green book that had the power to move people back in time or stop it on a dime, and Kate learned how to use it. The children fought evil monsters and a witch, met dwarves and were all heroes. As we start The Fire Chronicle, the children are once again hiding out at another terrible orphanage in Maryland, when they come under attack from some monsters. Kate uses the Atlas and is transported back in time, while Michael and Emma meet Pym again and try to follow the clues to find the second Book of Beginning.Stephens moves back and forth between Kate's story in the past (around the time of Separation when the magical creatures and magical humans of the world wove a great spell so that non magical mundanes of the world could not see them anymore) and Michael and Emma's search for the Fire Chronicle.Michael, who is plagued by doubts about his worthiness must somehow overcome his fears and become the Keeper of the Book, but even before that, he, Emma, Pym and Gabriel, are attacked and have close calls aplenty while searching for the Book, must fight off Rourke, the evil henchman of the main villian in the books, the Dire Magnus, meet some elves, find a dragon guarding a treasure, and an elven princess.Meanwhile in the past, Kate is thrown in with some magical orphan thieves and meets Rafe, a boy of destiny. Stephens reveals more about the history of the world, the Dire Magnus's origins and just when you think the story is going to have a happy sort of ending, leaves you with a nice little cliffhanger.Its all great fantasy for youths, and this adult as well.The characters are deeper than you expect, with real fears and emotions. The plot is twisty, and even for a quest novel, there are plenty of surprises and action.
    more
  • Martha
    October 9, 2012
    I actually enjoyed this book more than the first one. Probably because, of the siblings, my favorite is Michael and this is his story. I was about to give this 5 stars ... until I read the ending. Yes, I know it's not a bad ending but knowing the third book won't come out until next year (please let it be next year!) was kind of a downer. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!! lol. When I said on my Emerald Atlas review that Emma was the least I liked ... I take it back lol. She really grew on me a I actually enjoyed this book more than the first one. Probably because, of the siblings, my favorite is Michael and this is his story. I was about to give this 5 stars ... until I read the ending. Yes, I know it's not a bad ending but knowing the third book won't come out until next year (please let it be next year!) was kind of a downer. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!! lol. When I said on my Emerald Atlas review that Emma was the least I liked ... I take it back lol. She really grew on me and I thought she was cute. I also liked that there is more to the story now than just finding the three books.Anyhoo, the book is a bit predictable in some areas (like Rafe's destiny) but that wasn't so bad either because you only realize it as you read on. For die hard Harry Potter fans, yes, you will notice maybe a couple of similarities but please stop b**ching and just enjoy the story. It's not so much as the original concept but the story telling itself that I loved. I read on a novelist/screenwriter's blog that people usually come out with the same ideas but the plot develops as you write the story and I have to agree.
    more
  • Priscilla
    February 3, 2013
    Initial thoughts:1. Michael was both sweet and annoying...in that sibling/brotherly way. Lot's of great character development and introspection with his character.2. So much magic and adventure! Fun, fast-paced read. CRAZY CLIFFHANGER CHAPTERS.3. There were quite a few Dumbledore-eque moments with Dr. Pym. It was awesome. :)4. Which reminds me, there were quite a few elements that reminded me of Harry Potter and LOTR... Not too sure how I feel about that. Just something I noticed.5. Lot's of fun Initial thoughts:1. Michael was both sweet and annoying...in that sibling/brotherly way. Lot's of great character development and introspection with his character.2. So much magic and adventure! Fun, fast-paced read. CRAZY CLIFFHANGER CHAPTERS.3. There were quite a few Dumbledore-eque moments with Dr. Pym. It was awesome. :)4. Which reminds me, there were quite a few elements that reminded me of Harry Potter and LOTR... Not too sure how I feel about that. Just something I noticed.5. Lot's of fun, and interesting characters. Really added to what is already such a magical world.Check out my video review here!
    more
  • Cintya Larasinta
    February 10, 2015
    Aaah!!!! Kenapa di saat sedang seru mengakhiri bab akhir ini?! Siaaalaaan!!!! Mana novel berikutnya? Mengapa belum diterjemahin juga?! Penasaran!!!!
  • Angigames
    April 10, 2015
    Wooowww… Stephens in questo secondo volume fa un lavoro davvero degno di nota!La narrazione è ancora molto semplice e,come nel primo volume, incentrata sull’avventura e sul legame fortissimo e indissolubile che lega i tre fratelli Kate, Michael ed Emma alla ricerca dei Libri dell’Inizio, ma in questo secondo volume, il modo di raccontare dell’autore è notevolmente migliorato. Preparatevi a viaggi nel tempo, separazioni dolorose, verità spaventose, rivelazioni scottanti e a tanta tantissima avven Wooowww… Stephens in questo secondo volume fa un lavoro davvero degno di nota!La narrazione è ancora molto semplice e,come nel primo volume, incentrata sull’avventura e sul legame fortissimo e indissolubile che lega i tre fratelli Kate, Michael ed Emma alla ricerca dei Libri dell’Inizio, ma in questo secondo volume, il modo di raccontare dell’autore è notevolmente migliorato. Preparatevi a viaggi nel tempo, separazioni dolorose, verità spaventose, rivelazioni scottanti e a tanta tantissima avventura!Non c’è un fine capitolo che non ti lasci col fiato sospeso. L’introduzione di nuovi interessantissimi personaggi, che spingono il lettore stesso a farsi domande, che lo rallegrano, lo confondono, lo intimoriscono, rendono la lettura intensa e quasi senza fiato. È difficile staccarsi dalle pagine, è facilissimo leggere senza fermarsi. Ora. Il finale. Poteva un autore come Stephens non far finire il secondo volume di questa trilogia con un mega cliffahnger? Ovviamente NO! Quindi preparatevi a rimanere a bocca spalancata, perché diciamolo la narrazione non finisce… è stata proprio troncata sul più bello!Fortuna vuole che la Ce ha pubblicato già il terzo volume e quindi la sottoscritta non dovrà attendere molto… Spero che l’ultimo volume sia un degno finale, spero che le dinamiche intraviste in questo siano ampiamente rispettate e portate a termine, perché questa trilogia, che all’apparenza può sembrare semplice e in un certo senso insignificante è invece degna di essere letta e merita un finale da mozzare il fiato!
    more
  • Julianne
    February 9, 2016
    I liked it more than the first one - actually I liked it quite bit. It was sometimes overly similar to other series' though (I'm looking at HP and anything Snicket). Still, I'm definitely going to finish off the trilogy.
  • Aleshanee
    May 20, 2015
    4,5 SterneZum Inhalt9 Monate nach den aufregenden Ereignissen in Cambrigde Falls finden sich die drei Geschwister Kate, Michael und Emma in dem alten Waisenhaus in Baltimore wieder. Der Zauberer Dr. Pym hat sie dorthin geschickt, um sie zu verstecken, denn der grässliche Magnus ist immer noch auf der Suche nach ihnen; nach ihnen und den drei Büchern: den Chroniken vom Anbeginn.Dass ihre Eltern noch leben wissen die Kinder jetzt, doch weder, wo sie gefangen gehalten werden, noch wie sie sie rette 4,5 SterneZum Inhalt9 Monate nach den aufregenden Ereignissen in Cambrigde Falls finden sich die drei Geschwister Kate, Michael und Emma in dem alten Waisenhaus in Baltimore wieder. Der Zauberer Dr. Pym hat sie dorthin geschickt, um sie zu verstecken, denn der grässliche Magnus ist immer noch auf der Suche nach ihnen; nach ihnen und den drei Büchern: den Chroniken vom Anbeginn.Dass ihre Eltern noch leben wissen die Kinder jetzt, doch weder, wo sie gefangen gehalten werden, noch wie sie sie retten können. Aber kein Versteck ist sicher genug und nur allzu schnell werden sie aufgespürt. Auf ihrer Flucht werden die Geschwister getrennt und müssen zahlreiche, schwerwiegende Entscheidungen treffen. Meine MeinungNachdem Kate und das Buch Emerald in Band 1 im Vordergrund standen, ist jetzt Michael, der Zweitälteste, an der Reihe. Er ist der wahre Hüter des Buches Rubyn, der Chronik des Lebens. Erzählt wird wieder aus der auktorialen Perspektive, was einen guten Überblick verschafft und mich trotzdem sehr nah an die Charaktere herangebracht hat. Flüssig, für Kinder leicht verständlich, aber trotzdem mit genügend Anspruch, um mich wirklich zu begeistern, hat es der Autor wieder geschafft, mich von der ersten bis zur letzten Seite zu fesseln.Kate versucht verzweifelt, aus der Vergangenheit in die Gegenwart zurückzukommen und lernt dabei den rätselhaften Jungen Rafe kennen, der mit ihr in irgendeiner Verbindung steht. Und während sie noch herauszufinden versucht, was es mit ihm auf sich hat, müssen Michael und Emma ihre Verfolger in der Gegenwart abwehren und gleichzeitig das Buch Rubyn aufspüren. Die Kapitel wechseln sich immer zwischen den beiden Handlungsfäden ab und halten die Spannung hoch, denn sie enden fast immer mit einem Cliffhanger. Michael wächst dieses Mal noch mehr über sich hinaus, denn die Verantwortung, die er mit dem Buch zu tragen hat, ist mehr als eine schwere Bürde. Schon immer fühlte er sich nutzlos und unbedeutend, obwohl er so gerne helfen und etwas dafür tun würde, um die Chroniken vor dem grässlichen Magnus zu schützen. Die Angst zu versagen und seine Schwestern im Stich zu lassen nagt an ihm, doch er macht eine weitreichende Veränderung durch, die ihm hilft, jede Krise zu überwinden - doch zu welchem Preis?Die meisten Charaktere sind stereotyp, aber trotzdem schafft es John Stephens, interessante Nuancen einzubringen, die Spannung schaffen und Abwechslung reinbringen. Überhaupt scheut er sich nicht davor, dass sich Elfen, Trolle, Zauberer, Hexen, Wahrsager und viele andere übersinnliche Kreaturen in dieser magischen Welt tummeln, ohne dass man dabei den Überblick verliert. Mit den großen Themen wie Vorurteile, Verrat, Vergebung und Neid hat er wieder einen sehr tiefgründigen Hintergrund geschaffen.Am Ende wird es eine dramatische Wende geben und ich bin froh, dass Band 3 schon zum Lesen bereit liegt ;)Leider waren einige Rechtschreibfehler drin, die mich aber nicht wirklich gestört haben.FazitSpannender und aufwühlender zweiter Band, der dem Auftakt der Trilogie in nichts nachsteht! Dramatische Szenenwechsel, unterhaltsamer Schreibstil und sehr lebendige Charaktere machen das Ganze mit einer Mischung aus einer Prise Humor und einem Hauch von Rührung zu einem wirklich großartigen Abenteuer!© AleshaneeWeltenwandererDie Chroniken vom Anbeginn1 - Das Buch Emerald2 - Das Buch Rubyn3 - Das Buch Onyx
    more
  • Laura
    June 23, 2012
    I wasn't overly thrilled with The Emerald Atlas and even less so with this middle-of-the-trilogy book; the influences of Rowling, Tolkein, Lewis and others was just so overt and the new blend didn't work for me.Example? A Big Bad who is supposed to be dead, but somehow still lives in an incorporeal form (and is looking to find a "new" body). Example? A world of magic and a world of 'normal' that exist side-by-side but with the normals not realizing (at least, they don't after the Great Separatio I wasn't overly thrilled with The Emerald Atlas and even less so with this middle-of-the-trilogy book; the influences of Rowling, Tolkein, Lewis and others was just so overt and the new blend didn't work for me.Example? A Big Bad who is supposed to be dead, but somehow still lives in an incorporeal form (and is looking to find a "new" body). Example? A world of magic and a world of 'normal' that exist side-by-side but with the normals not realizing (at least, they don't after the Great Separation). Now that they have the Atlas, the Wibberly's are back at the Baltimore orphanage they hate; events conspire to separate them, sending Kate to turn-of-the-century New York and Michael and Emma first to Italy, then to Tierra del Fuego and on to Antarctica and a hidden valley. The Fire Chronicle is the second of the Books they're looking for, more properly known as the Book of Life - and they're looking for the final book, the Book of Death. I won't be on the quest with them.ARC provided by publisher.
    more
  • Kerith
    March 5, 2013
    My first thought upon finishing this was dismay - oh NO, it's over and I have wait until the next one is published to find out what happened. When am I ever going to learn my lesson about the middle book in a trilogy. This was even better than the first one, even if (again) we have children of destiny and magic books and, now, elves. And the obligatory visit to Manhattan. This story is Michael's, and he doesn't disappoint. We also meet Rafe - oh man, Rafe. I should point out that I am reviewing My first thought upon finishing this was dismay - oh NO, it's over and I have wait until the next one is published to find out what happened. When am I ever going to learn my lesson about the middle book in a trilogy. This was even better than the first one, even if (again) we have children of destiny and magic books and, now, elves. And the obligatory visit to Manhattan. This story is Michael's, and he doesn't disappoint. We also meet Rafe - oh man, Rafe. I should point out that I am reviewing the audio here. Jim Dale makes everything that much better. At any rate, it means this wasn't a reading experience, exactly, but a listening one. He makes my commute more fun. And I have to say, I thought after all the Harry Potter books that I'd heard all of Mr Dale's voices. Then along comes Beetles and Jake in this book!These are fun. Read em!
    more
  • Hannah White
    May 5, 2015
    This book was amazing. It started out kind of slow, but after about 50-60 pages in, I was hooked. Haven't been able to put it down all day. So good! A lot of things were kind of predictable (at least for me) but that did not withdraw from how much I enjoyed this novel. I love the themes of this book. I love how real all the siblings are and how relatable I find them. I love Kate, how loving and selfless and kind and strong she is. I love Emma, how stubborn and brave she is, and I can't wait to s This book was amazing. It started out kind of slow, but after about 50-60 pages in, I was hooked. Haven't been able to put it down all day. So good! A lot of things were kind of predictable (at least for me) but that did not withdraw from how much I enjoyed this novel. I love the themes of this book. I love how real all the siblings are and how relatable I find them. I love Kate, how loving and selfless and kind and strong she is. I love Emma, how stubborn and brave she is, and I can't wait to see her fulfill her role in book three. I love Michael. I love how selfless he is, how determined and brave and strong. I love the bond the siblings share, and how it makes them worthy keepers of the books. I highly recommend this trilogy and cannot wait to read the conclusion!
    more
  • Luna
    January 13, 2017
    Nunca creí que le iba a dar cinco estrellas a este libro, menos todavía considerando que al primero le di como tres nada más, pero acá estoy. Es increíble, INCREÍBLE, lo bueno que es este libro a diferencia del anterior. Yo había leído el primer libro de esta trilogía hace un montón de años, y me no me había gustado tanto, justamente por eso tarde años en leer el segundo, y eso que nunca pensé que lo fuera a leer (lo compre usado en un puesto de la calle porque lo vi de casualidad y no me pude Nunca creí que le iba a dar cinco estrellas a este libro, menos todavía considerando que al primero le di como tres nada más, pero acá estoy. Es increíble, INCREÍBLE, lo bueno que es este libro a diferencia del anterior. Yo había leído el primer libro de esta trilogía hace un montón de años, y me no me había gustado tanto, justamente por eso tarde años en leer el segundo, y eso que nunca pensé que lo fuera a leer (lo compre usado en un puesto de la calle porque lo vi de casualidad y no me pude contener a saber cómo seguía la historia). Pero no me arrepiento ni un poco. No sé si es que ya pasaron tantos años que mi gusto en lectura cambió (aunque no creo), pero este libro me pareció mil veces mejor que el anterior, casi como si fuera escrito por otra persona. Es que el primero me había parecido tan aburrido, y se me había pasado tan lento, y este no es así para nada. El libro narra dos historias en vez de una; ambas pasan en tiempos muy lejanos, y al final se juntan, complementando las dos historias y formando el presente y lo que va a ser el futuro en el tercer y último libro. Esto de que haya dos historias, además de estar muy bien escrito, hace que haya un suspenso constante y que no pueda parar de leer en ningún momento (¡me leí la mitad en un día!). Estuvo muy bueno que el autor haya puesto relaciones amorosas en este libro, ya que en el primero se notó mucho la falta de estas. Me enamore de Rafe y del amor complicado y trágico que ahora tiene con Kate: que va a pasar!?!? Como van a terminar? De lo que si estoy segura, es que hay algo diferente en Rafe, y que al final él y ella van a tener el amor y la felicidad que se merecen. Y Michael con Wilamena también fue algo raro, al principio no creía que a el le gustara ella pero al final si! Son tan lindos. Me encantó el libro. Estuvo lleno de acción y amor y suspenso, muy diferente al libro anterior, no lo podía dejar de leer! Me alegro muchísimo de haberlo leído. Y quizás pasen años hasta que lea el próximo, pero mientras lo lea, sé que va a valer la pena.
    more
  • Barb Middleton
    December 9, 2012
    This was hard to read after the fun I had reading The Vengekeep Prophecies and Deadweather and Sunrise. I needed another edit with more concentration on the plot and less meandering. I skipped along the surface like a rock on water. Of course I have a stack of 30 books to plow through right now, so I might be a wee distracted. Not to mention a humongous order, a two hour speech to prepare for, and lessons for next week. This book reminded me of Michael Scott's series that involve a brother and s This was hard to read after the fun I had reading The Vengekeep Prophecies and Deadweather and Sunrise. I needed another edit with more concentration on the plot and less meandering. I skipped along the surface like a rock on water. Of course I have a stack of 30 books to plow through right now, so I might be a wee distracted. Not to mention a humongous order, a two hour speech to prepare for, and lessons for next week. This book reminded me of Michael Scott's series that involve a brother and sister along with a prophecy and Harry Potter (I typed Happy Potter and Harpy Potter before I got to the goldarn wizard's correct name...) with the Screechers like Dementors and a book that has invisible ink and mucho power. This isn't just any book, it is The Book of Life, except the boy that wields it forgets about its powers to heal in the middle of a battle. Duh. But I'm getting ahead of myself. Actually I'm chasing my tail. Talk about needing an edit... I feel like Harpy Plotter. Okay... I'll quit. Promise. Kate, Michael, and Emma are searching for their missing parents and trying to find three books that will help them save the world from the evil Dire Magnus. While Kate can control time travel, Michael has The Book of Life, that heals people. The three are hidden in an orphanage by the Wizard Pym where they are quickly found by the forces of evil. Kate gets sucked back to the 1900's by using the Atlas to save her brother and sister from Screechers. Her Dickens-type world is full of orphans, sickness, suffering, and magic. Yes, magical beings live with humans and it is the Night of Separation when they are being banished from living with humans. With the help of a boy and witch, Kate works to get back to the future. Michael, is on a separate quest trying to retrieve The Book of Life. He has to fight dragons, elves, guardians, and the evil Dire Magnus and his henchman.Can you tell I don't really want to write about this story? There is plenty of action although the first chapter is just a boring retell of the last book. The author doesn't work it into the storyline while the action is happening. I did like some of the twists such as the Chronicle being able to see into a person's past. This allowed for the villain's to not be one-dimensional. Some of the plot is predictable and some wasn't. Fans of the first book probably won't be disappointed. It is really a story that is propelled by the action and not the characters or word-smithing. An entertaining read even if I had issues with the plot.Reading Level 5.1
    more
  • Cath
    July 22, 2015
    "The point of life is to be alive! To feel things. That means the good and the bad. There'll be pain. But also joy, and friendship and love!"This book. Is all that and more.Fist I wanna say that this is not the first time I read it, but the last time was 2 years ago, so I didn't remember a lot of stuff. And also, that I like this one much more than the The Esmerald Atlas, why?Beacuse: -I know the characters better -Michael gets the Chronicle -We know more about Dire Magnus -Dragons -Kate & R "The point of life is to be alive! To feel things. That means the good and the bad. There'll be pain. But also joy, and friendship and love!"This book. Is all that and more.Fist I wanna say that this is not the first time I read it, but the last time was 2 years ago, so I didn't remember a lot of stuff. And also, that I like this one much more than the The Esmerald Atlas, why?Beacuse: -I know the characters better -Michael gets the Chronicle -We know more about Dire Magnus -Dragons -Kate & Rafe FOREVER. -And more...In the last book I have already talk about each character, but I will add a little more info. First Kate; I really enojy the fact that even for a moment, she was a teenager. Enojying life and speaking to Rafe there in the bar, was also kind of romantic. Michael, I LOVE YOU, well you are actually my favourite sibling at the moment, so feel grateful. And I feel like he grew up very much in this book, (perhaps because Kate was gone) he became more brave, had more empathy with Emma and the others, etc. He had a lot more of responsibilities Although all the thing with Wilamena was soooo cute and funny. Hello, Rabbit.And lastly Emma, and the terrible end. In this book, I found her more vulnerable, scared and more like someone of her age, depending on her brother. Constantly scared beacuse of Kate and Gabriel and Doctor Pym, etc. I love the fact that she shows her feelings and always try to fight back.The whole thing of time travelling still have me completely in love; and even better if it's New York and The Separation OMG; and Rafe.Rafe. That's not fair John Stephens!! Once Kate get a guy, a hot and really nice one, you turned him evil. And I was actually falling in love of her character but suddenly, BAM, he turns into Dire Magnus.Another thing is, well, elves. I won't say I hate them, but I prefer dwarfs much more. Elves are real snobs, but well, brave and beautiful creatures too.And the end. By the Angel, it killed me. I mean I need to know what happens next. Emma and Rourke, and The Dire Magnus. And Rafe and Kate in the land of the dead. Too much for my poor head.To sum up, I entirely and absolutely loved the book. It's one of my favourites from far.
    more
  • Katja Berger
    December 16, 2014
    I denne omgang af John Stephens fantasytrilogi splittes handlingen mellem Kate, som ved et uheld ender i en tidligere tids New York, og hendes to søskende der bliver tilbage. I New York møder Kate nye allierede og spindes ind i en historie hun allerede har levet en del af. Ikke mindst finder hun den onde Magus og hans ophav.Kate besøger vi dog kun mellem de egentlige kapitler, der følger Michael og hans lillesøster Emma. Det er Michael der er denne omgangs egentlige hovedperson, og vogteren af D I denne omgang af John Stephens fantasytrilogi splittes handlingen mellem Kate, som ved et uheld ender i en tidligere tids New York, og hendes to søskende der bliver tilbage. I New York møder Kate nye allierede og spindes ind i en historie hun allerede har levet en del af. Ikke mindst finder hun den onde Magus og hans ophav.Kate besøger vi dog kun mellem de egentlige kapitler, der følger Michael og hans lillesøster Emma. Det er Michael der er denne omgangs egentlige hovedperson, og vogteren af Den Rubinrøde Krønike. Den del kunne jeg ret godt lide. Han er en sød knægt og den forvandling han går igennem for at få fingrene i bogen, samt ikke mindst for at kunne beholde den, er utrolig. Samtidig viser fundet af bogen og Michaels brug af den, en langt dybere side af ham, end man så i Det Smaragdgrønne Atlas. Han vokser, både fordi han tvinges til at være ”den store”, men også fordi hans ansvar over for Emma ændrer sig radikalt med fundet af bogen.Med Den Rubinrøde Krønike vikles der også yderligere fantasy-elementer ind i historien. Vi møder en hel hær af elvere, en drage og selvfølgelig masser af gengangere fra det første bind. Jeg må indrømme at jeg ikke var helt så vild med den nye tilføjelse. Selvom en ganske bestemt elverprinsesse bidrog til en stor del af morskaben i denne omgang, så var jeg ikke så vildt med elverne som folkefærd, sådan som John Stephens fik dem til at optræde. På en eller anden måde synes jeg at det hele blive lige en tand ”for meget” af og til, med alt det der skulle holdes styr på til sidst. Derfor holdt jeg også mest af Kates kapitler, hvor hun befandt sig i New York og forsøgte at komme tilbage til sin egen tid og samtidig håndtere den tyvebande der tager hende til sig. Og ikke mindst den flotte og charmerende Rafe. Han var nok min favorit af de nye personligheder.Alt i alt var jeg ret glad for Den Rubinrøde Krønike og sproget var godt, men jeg synes den tog lidt overhånd på visse områder, og så fandt jeg en hel del gentagelser. Mod slutningen af bogen havde jeg et virkelig brændende ønske om at forfatteren kunne få sine personer til at opleve noget action fyldt uden at de besvimede konstant.Læs alle anmeldelser her
    more
  • Serena.. Sery-ously?
    January 2, 2013
    Amanti del fantasy, dell'avventura e di una buona storia.. Non fatevi sfuggire la trilogia-to-be (il terzo uscirà in inglese a gennaio, mi pare :D) di John Stephens!!! Sono sicura che troverete pane per i vostri denti e ne rimarrete soddisfattissimi! :)Il primo volume, letto più di due anni e mezzo fa (Longanesi, vai con calma a tradurre.. Mica ci si dimentica le storie, nel frattempo!) mi era molto piaciuto ma non mi aveva convinta al cento per cento, soprattutto per alcuni elementi un po' butt Amanti del fantasy, dell'avventura e di una buona storia.. Non fatevi sfuggire la trilogia-to-be (il terzo uscirà in inglese a gennaio, mi pare :D) di John Stephens!!! Sono sicura che troverete pane per i vostri denti e ne rimarrete soddisfattissimi! :)Il primo volume, letto più di due anni e mezzo fa (Longanesi, vai con calma a tradurre.. Mica ci si dimentica le storie, nel frattempo!) mi era molto piaciuto ma non mi aveva convinta al cento per cento, soprattutto per alcuni elementi un po' buttati in caciara: pur avendone ritrovato qualcuno anche in questo episodio, devo dire che lo scrittore ha fatto un salto di qualità!Mi è davvero piaciuta la crescita di Michael che nel primo avrei picchiato per la sua idiozia galoppante.. Certo, è stato dato meno spazio alla mia adorata Emma, ma considerando che nel terzo volume sarà lei la protagonista, non mi lamento più di tanto :3Il modo in cui il secondo atlante è stato ritrovato mi è sembrato un po' semplicistico ("E' lì!". Bum, trovato.), ma anche qui: si riprende a sufficienza con la storia che c'è dietro, quindi non ho sofferto più di tanto :3Un sassolino nella scarpa che proprio non posso fare a meno di mettere in evidenza è il 'pathos per forza': il dottor Pym è un mago potentissimo che nella prima parte del romanzo si teletrasporta nemmeno utilizzasse una passaporta di Potteriana memoria (lol), ma quando serve davvero se ne esce con: "Andate avanti, io lo distraggo!"..-. MA CHE SEI SCEMO? xDVabbé, lo so, una cretinata.. Ma ci ho pensato su come un'ossessa :DMooooooolto interessante la storia e lo sviluppo del Ferale Magnus e il modo in cui tutti gli elementi sono stati incastrati insieme!! Mi aspetto graaaaandi cose dal terzo, su questo fronte!!Il libro in certi punti mi ha ricordato Harry Potter e - in misura minore - Il signore degli anelli, ma la cosa strana è che mentre solitamente poco tollero queste cose, in questo caso non è stata una presenza sgradita/pesante.. Diciamo che non stonavano, ecco!Il libro merita da solo per la scena in cui compaiono gli elfi.. Oddio che risate! Ad un certo punto mia madre è venuta a controllare che non fossi impossessata dal diavolo eh eh eh :DDPromossissimo, vorrei leggere già il terzo perché c'è il cliff-hanger che mi impensierisce.. :D
    more
  • Miss Clark
    September 21, 2012
    It was over a year ago that I read The Emerald Atlas and the length of time separating these two books could not have helped how I viewed this one. Still, even without coming to this volume fresh from the first, I found this one less enjoyable for three core reasons.1. I did not understand (and still am failing to grasp) the manner in which the Dire Magnus is perpetuating his life.The life of the universe is not a straight line. Rather, imagine a circle. And along the circle, the universe is bor It was over a year ago that I read The Emerald Atlas and the length of time separating these two books could not have helped how I viewed this one. Still, even without coming to this volume fresh from the first, I found this one less enjoyable for three core reasons.1. I did not understand (and still am failing to grasp) the manner in which the Dire Magnus is perpetuating his life.The life of the universe is not a straight line. Rather, imagine a circle. And along the circle, the universe is born, destroys itself, and is born again, over and over, endlessly. Just as the universe is reborn over and over, so is everything in it. And what the Dire Magnus did was to make contact with those earlier versions of the universe, to reach into them and pluck out his other selves and bring them here. But then he threw these other selves out across time, each further than the last, like stones tossed into the ocean, so that every few hundred years, another would be born into this world.So, the Dire Magnus creates this so-called "living bridge" and as each Magnus grows old, he has to go find his younger self and transfer his memories and power to that one. I am sorry, but I just don't understand it and thus I am severely frustrated.2. Love interest and future Dire Magnus Rafe. I did not find myself emotionally connected to Rafe at all. Jake and Beetles were more endearing. His instant attraction for Katherine to the point of giving himself up to become the person who will kill hundreds all in pursuit of power is just sad. *frustration level increases*3. For no particular reason, I was simply not as engaged with Katherine, Emma and Michael in this one. The story did not go in the direction that I thought it would.I did really like Michael's character development and Princess Wilamina and her elves. That was about it. It was another middle book that felt like if it was more tightly plotted could have been just two books. I will probably read the final book...
    more
  • Chris
    February 13, 2013
    Since I gave the first book in this series four stars, I feel I simply must give this one five, as the series merits at least four and this second book in the trilogy may, in fact, and most unusually, be even better than the first. It really deserves much more buzz than has come my way, and many more readers. I'm going to have to find more ways to highlight and recommend the series while we wait for the final installment.Early on, this book gives a nice little summary of the first one (though th Since I gave the first book in this series four stars, I feel I simply must give this one five, as the series merits at least four and this second book in the trilogy may, in fact, and most unusually, be even better than the first. It really deserves much more buzz than has come my way, and many more readers. I'm going to have to find more ways to highlight and recommend the series while we wait for the final installment.Early on, this book gives a nice little summary of the first one (though these bare bones hardly capture how nicely the story fleshes out): Frustrated at having had her hair pulled for the third time in one week, Emma had suggested that they tell Miss Crumley the truth: that Dr. Stanislaus Pym was a wizard, that the reason Miss Crumley couldn't find Cambridge Falls on a map was that it was part of the magical world and therefore hidden from normal (or in her case, subnormal) humans, that as far as what had happened there, the three of them had discovered an old book bound in green leather that had carried them back through time, that they'd met dwarves and monsters, fought an evil witch, saved an entire town, and that pretty much any way you looked at it, they were heroes. Even Michael. The three siblings are back in an orphanage at the start of this book while Dr. Pym is unexpectedly away on business, but they know that the Dire Magnus is still looking for them and that their quest for the Books of Beginning must continue. Oldest sister Kate has bonded with the time-traveling Emerald Atlas, so now they must find the books for Michael and Emma before the Dire Magnus's minions to fulfill their destiny and save the world. The adventure just gets bigger and the stakes get larger as they go.
    more
  • Flygaren Cederlöv
    September 25, 2014
    Författaren gör ett genidrag genom att dela upp syskonen så att det är två historier som utspelar sig parallellt. Kate som hamnar i New York i slutet av 1800-talet, en tid då magi och dess varelser fortfarande lever sida vid sida med vanliga människor. Hennes syster Emma och bror Michael är kvar i sin nutid och letar febrilt efter nästa bok i trolldomens tre skrifter. Handlingen utspelar sig ur Kates och Michaels perspektiv.Berättelsen är snabb och mycket spännande där läsaren aldrig får en tråk Författaren gör ett genidrag genom att dela upp syskonen så att det är två historier som utspelar sig parallellt. Kate som hamnar i New York i slutet av 1800-talet, en tid då magi och dess varelser fortfarande lever sida vid sida med vanliga människor. Hennes syster Emma och bror Michael är kvar i sin nutid och letar febrilt efter nästa bok i trolldomens tre skrifter. Handlingen utspelar sig ur Kates och Michaels perspektiv.Berättelsen är snabb och mycket spännande där läsaren aldrig får en tråkig stund. Denna trilogi är perfekt för de som gillar Harry Potter, här ryms också plats för gåtor och andra mysterier där läsaren ges utrymme att lösa innan boken avslöjar hemligheten. Böckerna blir mörkare då karaktärerna ställs inför svåra val där livet blir tyngre och svårare att bära framförallt för Michael. Bitvis är Michaels ångest över sitt tidigare svek mot Emma och Kate mycket tungt, samt att upptäckten av den andra boken förmåga ytterligare bördar hans axlar. Den sista boken att finna är Emmas och den kallas dödens bok vilket får mig att ana att handlingen kommer bli ännu mörkare. En rekommendation är att läsa denna tillsammans med ditt barn alternativt att ni läser den parallellt och diskuterar innehållet.
    more
  • Stefania
    August 9, 2015
    In questo libro mi è sembrato di cogliere un miglioramento per quanto riguarda la capacità dell'autore di attrarre il lettore alla sua storia. Forse saranno i numerosi colpi di scena, o forse il fatto che manca la lunga introduzione presente nel primo libro, in ogni caso mi sembrato pi coinvolgente del precedente.In un certo senso il protagonista diventa Michael, mentre le due sorelle vengono lievemente messe in disparte, ad ogni modo non vi un eccessivo "squilibrio" tra i ruoli dei personaggi.M In questo libro mi è sembrato di cogliere un miglioramento per quanto riguarda la capacità dell'autore di attrarre il lettore alla sua storia. Forse saranno i numerosi colpi di scena, o forse il fatto che manca la lunga introduzione presente nel primo libro, in ogni caso mi sembrato pi coinvolgente del precedente.In un certo senso il protagonista diventa Michael, mentre le due sorelle vengono lievemente messe in disparte, ad ogni modo non vi un eccessivo "squilibrio" tra i ruoli dei personaggi.Mi piaciuta in particolare la parte riguardante Kate perchè strettamente legata alle origini del Ferale Magnus (non smetto mai di pensare a Magnus Bane accidenti...). A volte gli autori tendono a dimenticare le origini e la storia degli antagonisti, ma non capiscono che sono importanti tanto quanto i protagonisti!
    more
  • Amanda
    July 15, 2015
    AAAUUUUGGGGGGHH! So I IMMEDIATELY need to start the final book. John Stephens, you are a very cruel man. I'm glad that I read them now so that I didn't have to wait and wait and wait for the last book. So much for development in this one and insight into what drives our characters. Rats, trying not to give anything away here. Nope it's hopeless; can't do it. Anyway, thought that this was excellent and did not suffer from what many bridging books in a series do with that tedium till you get to th AAAUUUUGGGGGGHH! So I IMMEDIATELY need to start the final book. John Stephens, you are a very cruel man. I'm glad that I read them now so that I didn't have to wait and wait and wait for the last book. So much for development in this one and insight into what drives our characters. Rats, trying not to give anything away here. Nope it's hopeless; can't do it. Anyway, thought that this was excellent and did not suffer from what many bridging books in a series do with that tedium till you get to the last book. This kept my on the edge the entire time.
    more
  • Ulliana Chase
    January 7, 2016
    OH MY GOD! IT WAS AMAZING! I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH! I could not tear myself away from it. And as a result, i've read this book in one day! 500 pages in russian in one day without long breaks. This book remings me of The Chronicles of Narnia, a little bit Harry Potter and Sisters Grimm! Truly funny, adventurous story with fantastic siblings relationship.Already started reading the third and final book.
    more
  • Reagan
    October 21, 2012
    OH. MY. GOSH. THIS BOOK WAS BEYOND WORDS AMAZING. I can't even describe my feelings for this series so far, every little bit of it is amazing, and this book just made it even better!!! Every part of this book was perfect and it's one of my favorite books OF ALL TIME. I will definetly be re-reading the first two books before book 3 comes out. I JUST REALLY DON'T FEEL LIKE WAITING!!!
    more
  • Rick Stuckwisch
    May 26, 2016
    This second book has maintained the excellence of this riveting, well-woven trilogy. Really engaging and thoroughly enjoyable. Masterful story, constantly moving forward on a complex but coherent path. Believable, realistically flawed, and sympathetic characters. I'd compare the books favorably to those of Harry Potter and the Mysterious Benedict, sitting comfortably between those two series.
    more
  • Courtenay
    October 30, 2013
    It's done, and now I have to wait for the third episode in this trilogy. Jim Dale's narration adds to the enjoyment of the three children seeking books of power as well as their parents, who went into hiding to protect their offspring as well as the books. It's a wonderful fantasy, with dwarves, trolls, elves, and wizards. It's not just for young adults!
    more
  • Ashley Brooke
    October 8, 2012
    Book three, please! On the double! (please!)While 'The Emerald Atlas' was Kate's book, 'The Fire Chronicle' is Micheal's time to shine! Don't miss out on this sequel. It is just as cleverly written as its predecessor and will stick with you well after finishing the last sentence on the last page.Book three can't come soon enough!
    more
  • Megan
    July 24, 2016
    I love The Fire Chronicle! I finished this one and started the next one immediately so I don't really what happened in which book, but I loved Jake and Beetles. I'm considering opening up a shop. Anyway this was a great sequel to and awesome first book and the whole series this far is amazing.
    more
  • Sandy Irwin
    November 3, 2012
    A very exciting adventure/fantasy novel. There were some parts that were clearly inspired by the Lord of the Rings, but otherwise, it was a very original story. I am looking forward to the final installment!
  • Megan
    August 4, 2012
    I'm consistently impressed by TV authors who take up novel writing. Minus a few awkward passages, this is an excellent follow-up to "Atlas!" Highly recommend! Truly, this is the heir apparent "Potter" fans have been waiting for.
  • Elaine Lowitz
    March 25, 2014
    Great Story! Can't wait for the final book! It is a young adult novel in the fantasy genre, with terrific characterizations of the three children who are the main characters, loaded with excitement, humor, suspense and cliff hangers. Well done by John Stephens!
    more
Write a review