The Council of Mirrors (The Sisters Grimm, #9)
In the final volume in the Sisters Grimm series, Sabrina, Daphne, and the rest of the Grimms and their friends must face off against the Master to decide the fate of Ferryport Landing—and the world. When Mirror fails to escape the barrier using Granny Relda’s body, he turns to his plan B: killing all the Grimms so that the magical barrier collapses. In the meantime, Sabrina has gathered the other magic mirrors as advisors on how to deal with their mortal enemy. They tell her to join forces with the Scarlet Hand against Mirror, in exchange for offering all the citizens of Ferryport Landing their freedom. This final chapter is the end of the road for several beloved characters, but the conclusion is sure to satisfy devoted fans of the series.Book Details: Format: Hardcover Publication Date: 4/19/2012 Pages: 352 Reading Level: Age 8 and Up

The Council of Mirrors (The Sisters Grimm, #9) Details

TitleThe Council of Mirrors (The Sisters Grimm, #9)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 24th, 2012
PublisherHarry N. Abrams
ISBN141970186X
ISBN-139781419701863
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fairy Tales, Mystery, Adventure, Childrens, Fiction

The Council of Mirrors (The Sisters Grimm, #9) Review

  • Chelsy
    December 7, 2011
    Is it true that this is the last book?! NOOOOOOOOO!!! I don't want it to end!! D:*Four Months Later*Wow... I mean...Wow!This was crazy! I really can't believe it's the end! I'm gonna start them all over right now.
  • ☞Sierra☜ Bookworm☺️♪
    February 7, 2012
    OH MY GODDDDDDDDD THEY HAVE A COVER AND A NAME AND STUFF AND IT'S GORGEOUSSSS! I've been waiting far too long for this book! And May 8th 2012?! Do you wish to torture me, Mr. Buckley?!**UPDATE 5/31/12**I loved it. I really loved it. It was so awesome. I would have liked it if (view spoiler)[Sabrina had killed Mirror with her epic magical power she acquired for a few minutes instead of with kindness, but y'know, kindness is okay too (hide spoiler)] and (view spoiler)[Puck had swallowed his pride OH MY GODDDDDDDDD THEY HAVE A COVER AND A NAME AND STUFF AND IT'S GORGEOUSSSS! I've been waiting far too long for this book! And May 8th 2012?! Do you wish to torture me, Mr. Buckley?!**UPDATE 5/31/12**I loved it. I really loved it. It was so awesome. I would have liked it if (view spoiler)[Sabrina had killed Mirror with her epic magical power she acquired for a few minutes instead of with kindness, but y'know, kindness is okay too (hide spoiler)] and (view spoiler)[Puck had swallowed his pride and told Sabrina he loved her instead of...that ending.... (hide spoiler)] happened, but what can I say? It was an epic book!!Oh my oddness, I was NOT expecting them to turn into *you-know-whats-if-you-read-the-book*! And that ending! I sorta-kinda wish there was more dialogue between Sabrina and Puck and (view spoiler)[this mysterious "Bradley" person, whom I assume, after dating him and loving him enough to marry him, she left at the alter IN FRONT OF THE ENTIRE FAMILY/EVERAFTER AUDIENCE in favor of a beautiful fairy guy she hasn't seen in five years (hide spoiler)]. So, uh...yeah. I really, REALLY, loved this book. A worthy conclusion.
    more
  • Seanean
    April 25, 2012
    http://librarytalker.blogspot.com/201...It's time for the final battle. There's almost no one left to fight, but they'll fight anyway.Witches, fairies, knights, bears, princesses, and more, but what it really comes down to is two girls.Together, the Mirrors have presented a prophecy that states that the only hope to survive and defeat the First is the skills and determination of the Sisters Grimm: Sabrina and Daphne.Unfortunately, Sabrina can't bring herself to believe that she and her sister ca http://librarytalker.blogspot.com/201...It's time for the final battle. There's almost no one left to fight, but they'll fight anyway.Witches, fairies, knights, bears, princesses, and more, but what it really comes down to is two girls.Together, the Mirrors have presented a prophecy that states that the only hope to survive and defeat the First is the skills and determination of the Sisters Grimm: Sabrina and Daphne.Unfortunately, Sabrina can't bring herself to believe that she and her sister can save the 20 or so remaining Everafters from the thousands who are determined to defeat them.It's time for the final battle... and the entire world depends on two young girls.Final thoughts: I really wish I'd re-read the series before reading this one; there is just too much going on and too many references to past events going all the way back to the first book. Sabrina finally comes into her own and stops whining (esp. after others point out that fault to her), so that was nice to see. I will ALWAYS love Puck. And Daphne was a kick to see, but there was too little of her in this story. The final resolution was reminiscent of Harry Potter, which was a bit of a disappointment. The time lapse at the end was also HP familiar, but too short for me. There was also a hint of a possible second series, so I'm not sure if Buckley will push this any further. Overall, it was a solid end to the story and one, when read from start to finish with the rest of the series, that will surely satisfy.
    more
  • Erin
    September 14, 2011
    *NOTICE: YOU MUST CLICK THE 'SEE REVIEW' BUTTON (IT'S NEXT TO THE COMMENT BUTTON) TO SEE THE AMAZING PICTURES THAT GO ALONG WITH THIS.*The Sisters Grimm and the Mystic Kettle of Nackledirk (or, why I hate two-star books): A Pompously-Titled and Overly-Italicized Review.As soon as I finished the final Sisters Grimm book, I groaned. I knew that this was going to be frickkin' long review. Why? Because I'd assigned it the rating I fear most:The dreaded 2-star.Why do 2-star ratings make me mad?"I giv *NOTICE: YOU MUST CLICK THE 'SEE REVIEW' BUTTON (IT'S NEXT TO THE COMMENT BUTTON) TO SEE THE AMAZING PICTURES THAT GO ALONG WITH THIS.*The Sisters Grimm and the Mystic Kettle of Nackledirk (or, why I hate two-star books): A Pompously-Titled and Overly-Italicized Review.As soon as I finished the final Sisters Grimm book, I groaned. I knew that this was going to be frickkin' long review. Why? Because I'd assigned it the rating I fear most:The dreaded 2-star.Why do 2-star ratings make me mad?"I give you a D-minus. Because you didn't try very hard."Yeah, that's why. It means it wasn't a bad book, but with a bit of effort it could've been a 3-star.Plus, now I have to justify my answer.Anyway, onto the review.For the last two books (8&9), I have to wonder exactly what Mr. Buckley was trying to do. Build tension?Well...Really, there were 3 main sections that contributed to the less-than-stellar rating.1.Plot.This'll probably be the shortest section because I only have two problems. Unfortunately, they're rather major.A. The Prophecy. Okay, really? He pulled a prophecy--which there was not an inkling of foreshadowing for--out of a magic mirror. MAGIC MIRRORS HAVE NEVER GIVEN PROPHECIES OUT IN THIS UNIVERSE BEFORE. EVER. You cannot pull new powers out of yourfriendly Middle-East mode of transport. In the last book. Seriously.B. The Powers. This goes along with A, but it deserves a section all its own. The coven, the book (passable), and the mirror shard. My land, the mirror shard. I was like, if he pulls one more magic power out of this air...Okay, on to 2. The Characters.I've been whining about the fact that they act 15, 11, 15 and not 11, 9, 11 for like...8 books now? But now I can say something new: instead of being 11, 9, and eleven they are now--after 8 books--12, 10, and 12. Whippie. So now I may say that they act 16, 12, and 16.Little victories.But the ages weren't even the problem here (as I tend to ignore them).SABRINA: Okay, I'm not even sure this girl had a character arc. She goes from being a slightly whiny little girl to a...slightly whiny little girl. She doesn't start taking responsibility for what she does, she doesn't stop complaining, she just...follows the plot. Grr. Our protagonist, ladies and gentlemen.DAPHNE: Nothin' to report. Other than the fact that I feel like she's a freaking one-a-book word calendar.PUCK: Ah, Puck. I don't know why I love him--oh yeah! He's a dynamic character, instead of a static like most of the other characters (though I take issue with the fact that Mr. Buckley apparently believes puberty starts--and ends--at 11. Woooow. Most guys don't start puberty 'til 13. At the earliest). My one problem are his bouts of Puck-wisdom that either come too often (so we can't believe he's as carefree as he is) or too far-apart (so it's unbelievable when it does happen). I'm still undecided (though don't get me wrong, the Puck-wisdom is awesome and totally needed). But still, Puck as a whole?*ahem*I won't go into the other characters (wow...that was really creepily worded) right now, because it's time for my biggest issue with this whole freaking book:3. The Ending.I have honestly NEVER IN MY LIFE read a book with a more unsatisfying ending. Picture this: people are dying left and right because of the 'Master'. We've had major characters (including the fiancee of a major character) die on-screen and off, the Grimms have been forced out of their home and are repeatedly on the brink of death because of this guy. He stole their baby brother (and tried to put his soul in the tiny tot) and possesed their Grandmother. THIS IS A BAD DUDE.Courtesy of Howard Tayler (author of the Schlock Mercenary comic, which I highly recommend and is online free at his website www.schlockmercenary.com), here are ways to kill characters (especially the Big Bad): "Bombs, guns, knives, poisons, drugs, falling--don't forget falling..."Here is a way not to: WITH A FREAKING HUG.[image error]I lie to you not. Sabrina hugs the big bad and "pours all her love into his soul" and the evil spirit goes out of the Grandma. "That's the power of love..." Don't lie, it's now stuck in your head. Unless you're too young to know that song.Now I can hear those who are woefully uneducated out in Goodreads going, "Wait, this girl loves Harry Potter! That's all about the power of love, too!"To those people I only have one thing to say:YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH. YOU SHUT IT RIGHT NOW.Voldemort was killed by a WAND. A stick of magic awesomeness that shoots death and kills evil. Yeah. That's BA.Sabrina's like, "You killed a lot of people I love. Let me hug you." And then the Master was like, "You're my friend. Brofist?" And she's like, "Yeah. Brofist."THIS IS POOR WRITING.To conclude, I felt this was a rather disappointing end to a rather imaginative series. Certainly the idea was good, it's just that the execution was lacking.**The Council of Mirrors, rated ages 10+, rated 2/5 stars.
    more
  • Charissa Sophia de la Rosa
    March 23, 2013
    I don’t know if I’m calm and collected enough to write a proper review. But, I promise I’ll try my best. Basically, this book is the last installment for the Sisters Grimm series and I must say, I’m completely, perfectly, undeniably disappointed on the ending. I've expected a lot of things from this book. I mean it’s the ending. It should be like a huge grand finale for the series I had loved and adored! But I was wrong. There’s still adventure and it radiated what books did when you were readin I don’t know if I’m calm and collected enough to write a proper review. But, I promise I’ll try my best. Basically, this book is the last installment for the Sisters Grimm series and I must say, I’m completely, perfectly, undeniably disappointed on the ending. I've expected a lot of things from this book. I mean it’s the ending. It should be like a huge grand finale for the series I had loved and adored! But I was wrong. There’s still adventure and it radiated what books did when you were reading ‘the final battle’ with the villain. I love how Sabrina used her skills being the Queen of Sneaks and even for such a young age of twelve, she was mature and capable enough to lead an army. The prophecy was right. I love how they outsmart the First’s troops, I was laughing at how brilliant Puck was! I love almost everything in this book! Mr. Michael didn't become selfish on Puckabrina, like I expected, instead almost every scene that Puck and Sabrina was present, I already consider it as a moment! It sure made up on the long years I've waited for the two of them to realize they were for each other. It quenched my thirst for Puckabrina! I love how at the end of the final battle, Peter Pan came with the Lost Boys, riding a pirate ship, asking Puck and Sabrina about Ferryport landing. And since, our beloved Puck hated the guy, he lied telling him Ferryport landing was actually boring and since Peter Pan likes interesting things, he left. I was laughing at that scene! XDI was really enjoying myself, and I was thinking of giving it five stars. But then, I stumbled on the ending. Oh, the annoying, cliffhanger-y, disappointing, upsetting, lousy and discouraging grand finale ending. Oh good Lord, it was one of the most disappointing endings I've ever read. The whole Sisters Grimm shouldn't have ended that way! Mr. Buckley should have liked, I don’t know, let Puck be in it? I love Puck! He should be on the ending of ’16 years later’! The ending could have been better like they would all meet up again, refreshing memories and the readers would learn what happened to them. Who went back to the Ferryport Landing? Where were Snow, Billy, Uncle Jake, Granny Relda, Daphne and the others? What happened to them? I hate how the author didn't answer the questions throughout the plot, especially the ending. It should have been better. It should have made me sigh dreamily, with a wide smile on my face as I closed the book I was reading, with happy thoughts in my mind thinking of the happily ever after of my favorite couple and my favorite characters, and will make me inspire to write a fan fiction of it. But no! I sighed in disappointment, a frown on my face as I closed the book I was reading, with thoughts of what the ending should have been to my favorite couple and favorite characters, and made me inspire to write all of the upset I felt in a book review in Goodreads. See the difference? It doesn't help that I’m also currently upset on the ending of Clockwork Princess even if I still haven’t read it yet. And now, I’d be encountering another ending to be upset on? *sighs* Conclusion: The Council of Mirrors by Michael Buckley is a good book with the same adventure-type you’ve read from the past books. The final battle is exciting, some scenes made me laugh and the Puckabrina moments were so many I was full, completely satisfied with it. The wait for some great fan-girl-squealing moments for Puckabrina was worth it (especially the kiss scene in The Inside Story). One star was deducted for how disappointing, annoying, cliffhanger-y, upsetting- you get the idea- the ending was. I should have deducted two but since I dearly love this series, I decided for just one. This is just something I can’t let pass! I rate it 4 stars. So, if you’re a Puckabrina fan, you can read this, the moments were worth squealing for, but I warn you, don’t expect too much on the ending. It’ll just bring you nothing but disappointment.
    more
  • Talia Chronis
    March 25, 2013
    I just finished the book in one sitting, and I'm so....what.I can't explain myself.I think the beginning was pretty good, it started out well, re-introduced us to the main problems and how they were going to solve them - then, BAM, ACTION.After that, the story was a big blur of secrets and revealing and dialogue and plotting things out, but I kept n thinking as I read the book "Who is this Sabrina?" because she changes so much through the course of events. I especially love how Puck tells her th I just finished the book in one sitting, and I'm so....what.I can't explain myself.I think the beginning was pretty good, it started out well, re-introduced us to the main problems and how they were going to solve them - then, BAM, ACTION.After that, the story was a big blur of secrets and revealing and dialogue and plotting things out, but I kept n thinking as I read the book "Who is this Sabrina?" because she changes so much through the course of events. I especially love how Puck tells her that she couldn't give up on her army and had to be a leader, and from then, Sabrina became a strong leader to her army. Also, I wish we could have a little more about Bradley. If you're going to stick a random love interest, I would like a backstory in the least.Also, 41 year old Sabrina made me tear up cause it meant the series was over and my favorite character that I'd grown up with had now also grown up.but the ending was the most hilarious ever. Even though I had cried a lot, the book always had me laughing and it didn't fail this time as it ended off with it's lines of "Have you heard of the Brothers Grimm?".
    more
  • Jennifer
    September 5, 2012
    We're done! I had a love/hate--make that a like/hate--relationship with this series. After slogging through all nine books, I have grown fond of the main characters. My 9-year-old LOVED the books, and I had lots of fun reading them to her, sharing oohs and aahs and laugh-out-loud moments.BUT. Honestly. This saga could easily have been covered in 3 or 4 books, not nine. You think J.K. Rowling overwrites? If you cut out the excess verbiage in The Council of Mirrors alone, the book could be reduced We're done! I had a love/hate--make that a like/hate--relationship with this series. After slogging through all nine books, I have grown fond of the main characters. My 9-year-old LOVED the books, and I had lots of fun reading them to her, sharing oohs and aahs and laugh-out-loud moments.BUT. Honestly. This saga could easily have been covered in 3 or 4 books, not nine. You think J.K. Rowling overwrites? If you cut out the excess verbiage in The Council of Mirrors alone, the book could be reduced by 30 percent. (The final chapter in this one seems to leave open a possibility for future books, and if that happens I will personally track down Michael Buckley, imprison him and sentence him to 10 years of listening to this whole series on audiobook, over and over again.) I was particularly irritated by the sloppy editing of the hardcover edition (the only one available at this writing). The previous books had occasional typos, but this one is riddled with them: misspellings, grammatical errors, missing words. MEDIC! Get me rewrite! Where were the editors? There's no excuse for such an unprofessional presentation.
    more
  • Megan
    November 13, 2011
    FINALLY!!!!!!! I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOREVER TO FIND OUT WHAT THIS BOOK IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sad thing is it's been so long since the 8th book, I should probably reread a few books. :/
  • Collin
    December 10, 2011
    YES. YES YES YES. May 8 is my new Very Important Date. *dances* I am a happy reader.
  • Natalie Isayan
    December 26, 2011
    When I think of The Sister Grimm series i think of a series that I have "grown into." If I had picked up th efirst book at the age that I am now, I wouldn't have even considered this. (luckily I didn't)Anyway...I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE BOOK TO COME OUT!!! I mean, I really love the series and all but this is already like the ninth book in the series. Most readers will not even consider reading a series if it has more than six books in it.But, back to the main point...CAN'T WAIT 'TILL MAY 8TH!!!
    more
  • Kelly
    May 16, 2012
    **spoiler alert**First of all, I would like to say that I have read and enjoyed books 1 through 8 of the Sisters Grimm series. Most of the characters were likeable, the scenarios were entertaining, and the battle was, if nothing else, interesting. That being said, I was disappointed with the conclusion, in particular the ending. The battle/war scenes were well written, but some of the plot twists, such as the death scene after the wedding, were predictable. The ending, though predictable, could **spoiler alert**First of all, I would like to say that I have read and enjoyed books 1 through 8 of the Sisters Grimm series. Most of the characters were likeable, the scenarios were entertaining, and the battle was, if nothing else, interesting. That being said, I was disappointed with the conclusion, in particular the ending. The battle/war scenes were well written, but some of the plot twists, such as the death scene after the wedding, were predictable. The ending, though predictable, could have been written better. Through cheesy dialogue (and a good-alway-triumphs-over-evil feeling that was so overdone I felt sick to my stomach), the story ended happily as we all knew it would.But then the epilogues.The first epilogue was difficult to read. Not just because it wasn't the ending we all knew was going to happen eventually (though that may have been a small part of it), but also due to the fact that Sabrina's whole personality had changed. She wasn't the sort-of-troubled, independent girl that we had followed from "The Fairytale Detectives". Instead, she was a secretive adult who was sacrificing everything she was to marry some guy she didn't even love. Some guy who didn't even know what an everafter was. Where was the "the queen of sneaks"? Where was the girl who had risked her life to fight the Scarlet Hand? Where was the girl who had endured Puck and his pegasi army?Apparently, she got lost on her way to the altar.And towards the end, when everyone's favorite flying boy appears, it seems like the future was changed a little TOO much, because all the maturity future Sabrina promised doesn't exist. It's as if Puck heard about Sabrina's extreme personality change and decided to remind her about the good old days when he used to throw glop grenades at her and turn her green.The first epilogue was less substance and more "where everyone is now", but the entire premise felt forced and just plain wrong. By tweaking the ending of the book a little, deleting the first epilogue, and rewriting the second, Michael Buckley could have concluded the series on a much stronger and believeable note.Now to discuss the second epilogue...It starts off as the first epilogue: an update on the characters lives. But it also had Sabrina complaining about being an adult...and a a parent. She mentions a nameless danger (possibly a new book opportunity-Sisters Grimm: The Second Generation), and then finds out that her daughter has sprouted wings. Apparently, Puck has also hopped aboard the denial train, as Alison and Emma know nothing about everafters or even being a Grimm. It's like Daphne and Sabrina meeting Relda for the first time, only in Council of Mirrors, there is no excuse. Puck and Sabrina have intentionally let their daughters be ignorant to their heritage (something that hurt and troubled the original sisters Grimm) for no reason.All in all, "The Council of Mirrors" was a good book with some glaring errors, which I can only attribute to either laziness or boredom on Mr. Buckley's part. If you are a fan of the series, you should definitely read this, because whether we like it or not, this is canon. However, you may not be fully satisfied at the conclusion.
    more
  • Rhiannon Ryder
    August 5, 2012
    The ninth and final book, The Council of Mirrors was a strong finish to a great series. Like usual, it's hard to look at a series critically until you've read it all. When they're spread apart, a year or more between books, some of the story elements that work really well as a whole come across as weak or disappointing. Take The Inside Story, book 8, for example. I didn't love it. Not because it wasn't a good element of the greater story arc, but because I'd waited a year for that book and then The ninth and final book, The Council of Mirrors was a strong finish to a great series. Like usual, it's hard to look at a series critically until you've read it all. When they're spread apart, a year or more between books, some of the story elements that work really well as a whole come across as weak or disappointing. Take The Inside Story, book 8, for example. I didn't love it. Not because it wasn't a good element of the greater story arc, but because I'd waited a year for that book and then it left behind most of the cast and went on an adventure which branched off from the main story line. Yet now I've read The Council of Mirrors, and now that you can merrily pick up book 9 as soon as you've closed the pages on book 8, The Inside Story seems like it works much better than I had originally thought.Buckley charmed me as usual with his characters, Puck, and Daphne, are funny and whimsical enough to keep the story upbeat even in its darker moments, and Sabrina's doubts and frustration anchor the drama. The three of them make such a great match you would think anyone else would be unnecessary, however The Sisters Grimm books have always been an ensemble cast and characters like Pinnochio, Prince Charming, Mayor Heart and Mr. Canis are all given their time to shine.Although not as epic an end as say, Fablehaven, or Harry Potter, Buckley put together some excellent fight scenes and kept the tension high throughout. He takes it relatively easy on the death toll, but doesn't wimp out with one of those everyone-miraculously-survives-except-the-bad-guys end. But what I truly loved was the hysterical 13 years later, and 16 years after that, epilogues which were totally satisfying tie outs to characters I'd grown to love.An excellent series I can't recommend highly enough, The Sisters Grimm is clever, funny and well worth your reading efforts.
    more
  • silver wombat
    April 14, 2012
    *THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS*DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T READ THE BOOKi have been reading the sisters grimm since I was in primary ( quite a while ago) and to have it end is like a part of me being ripped out ( not talking about horcruxs) Well. Where do I start? I seriously thought it was one big fanfiction story, it just didn't seem right:( some characters REALLY changed (ahem red, puck) and i didn't really like it. I found this book seriously like the everafter war. It seemed to go nowh *THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS*DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T READ THE BOOKi have been reading the sisters grimm since I was in primary ( quite a while ago) and to have it end is like a part of me being ripped out ( not talking about horcruxs) Well. Where do I start? I seriously thought it was one big fanfiction story, it just didn't seem right:( some characters REALLY changed (ahem red, puck) and i didn't really like it. I found this book seriously like the everafter war. It seemed to go nowhere, but got better towards the end. I don't really like this puck i mean i agree but what happened to him? MORE PUCKABRINA is what it needed. Them becoming everafters and the wedding was totally fanfiction worthy. NOW the epilogue. WELL. I was sooo angry I was going to punch a wall with the bradley part and was reallly confused when puck came in. I need someone to explain. I have read it so many times and still confused. I was so devestated and annoyed I cried. How could they not be together? Then I discovered the SECOND epilogue and was glad to see puck and her got together although i really don't like her daughters. Anyways would have liked more of Puck in the epilogue for sure. overall-annoyed
    more
  • Brenda
    April 24, 2012
    Four years ago I began reading the Sisters Grimm. The series had begun awhile earlier so I read from book one to two to three and on with the dreaded words "to be continued" at the end. I found myself looking at the last words first just to see.This year I have a group of students reading the series - "Mrs. Eaves, I couldn't believe it when I got to the end 'to be continued.' How could they!" I went to the bookstore yesterday in search of The Council of Mirrors. I knew it was supposed to be "the Four years ago I began reading the Sisters Grimm. The series had begun awhile earlier so I read from book one to two to three and on with the dreaded words "to be continued" at the end. I found myself looking at the last words first just to see.This year I have a group of students reading the series - "Mrs. Eaves, I couldn't believe it when I got to the end 'to be continued.' How could they!" I went to the bookstore yesterday in search of The Council of Mirrors. I knew it was supposed to be "the end" but I must confess I looked at the final words just to be sure. THE END, and so I began. The twists and turns of adventure are in this volume. The pain of arrogance and pride remain, but so does the joy of devotion and friendship. Trust, self-confidence, commitment and determination are what it takes to win an epic battle. It always seems to be that way.The end is very satisfying along with the years of after story. The Grimms and Everafters will be with us for a long time - in their orginal tales and in the rewritings. They have a lot to show us about ourselves and what it means to live will in our world.
    more
  • Aurora
    January 15, 2012
    I've been a fan of the Sisters Grimm since the first book came out. It's the series I've stuck with the longest. I've waited seven years for the series to end, and I wasn't disappointed. Michael Buckley did an amazing job with the end.Now I freak out over the events that happened.(view spoiler)[OMGOMGOMGOMG SABRINA AND PUCK DO GET MARRIED!!! HE CRASHED HER WEDDING AT THE END AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!I figured they would become Everafters...couldn't imagine Sabrina dying and Puck living after they get I've been a fan of the Sisters Grimm since the first book came out. It's the series I've stuck with the longest. I've waited seven years for the series to end, and I wasn't disappointed. Michael Buckley did an amazing job with the end.Now I freak out over the events that happened.(view spoiler)[OMGOMGOMGOMG SABRINA AND PUCK DO GET MARRIED!!! HE CRASHED HER WEDDING AT THE END AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!I figured they would become Everafters...couldn't imagine Sabrina dying and Puck living after they get married. Plus, they were so involved in magic and all of Ferryport Landing that it seemed impossible...though I didn't imagine it happening like it did...Mr. Canis.I TOLD YOU that Peter Pan would show up at the end. I was right! Ha! I was right! That's what rereading does, folks. It heps you see things you didn't see before.Love. The center of fairytales. Yes, a good way to end the series. Didn't see that coming (thought about true love breaks the spell kinda stuff, but that wouldn't have worked), but it was totally obvious in retrospect.(hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Mackenzie
    June 8, 2012
    Oh my freaking god!!! I freaking loved this book!!! It was funny, action-packed, and so twisting. At the very end (thirteen years later) when Sabrina is about to get married to a guy ned Bradley, I was like, what the hell????!!! I thought Sabrina was going to marry Puck. But Puck ends up coming to the wedding. Then it has another thirteen years later after that part and Sabrina is married with two daughters: Alison and Emma. She hears a scream and Sabrina and her other daughter Emma rush in to Oh my freaking god!!! I freaking loved this book!!! It was funny, action-packed, and so twisting. At the very end (thirteen years later) when Sabrina is about to get married to a guy ned Bradley, I was like, what the hell????!!! I thought Sabrina was going to marry Puck. But Puck ends up coming to the wedding. Then it has another thirteen years later after that part and Sabrina is married with two daughters: Alison and Emma. She hears a scream and Sabrina and her other daughter Emma rush in to the bathroom where Alison is only to find her crying. But the story takes a shocking turn when Alison sprouts a pair of pink insect like wings (Emma squeals when she finds out she's gonna grow a pair too) That's when you realize that Sabrina never married Bradley but Puck. When Alison demands to know why she is turning into an insect Sabrina says,"you're a fairy princess. Have you ever heard of the Brother's Grimm?" best freaking ending ever!!!:)))
    more
  • Meredith
    May 6, 2012
    I like this book more than I thought I would. Lately, I have been severely disappointed by books that are last in a series, yet this is one that I can be happy with. (view spoiler)[I kinda got a little exasperated when it was all LOVE AND FLOWERS AND HAPPINESS! at the end, yet I am still good with it. (hide spoiler)] I enjoyed the ending (view spoiler)[though I do wish at the very end I could have seen Puck with his girls (hide spoiler)] I don't know what to read now… This series has been around I like this book more than I thought I would. Lately, I have been severely disappointed by books that are last in a series, yet this is one that I can be happy with. (view spoiler)[I kinda got a little exasperated when it was all LOVE AND FLOWERS AND HAPPINESS! at the end, yet I am still good with it. (hide spoiler)] I enjoyed the ending (view spoiler)[though I do wish at the very end I could have seen Puck with his girls (hide spoiler)] I don't know what to read now… This series has been around forever to keep me entertained. I am saddened that it is ending, but happy with the outcome of all the books...
    more
  • Merce
    July 9, 2012
    This is what the book would be like if I were in it. Once upon a time there was a girl named Mallory who got a call from Sabrina Grimm in Ferryport Landing. "Hello? Is this Mallory?" Sabrina said through the phone static. "It is," replied Mallory blowing out bubbles from her smoke pipe. "I could really use your help. My granny has been captured and possessed by an evil mirror. We need you to stop him and free my granny!" Sabrina cried. Mallory checked her calendar. "I suppose I have time to run This is what the book would be like if I were in it. Once upon a time there was a girl named Mallory who got a call from Sabrina Grimm in Ferryport Landing. "Hello? Is this Mallory?" Sabrina said through the phone static. "It is," replied Mallory blowing out bubbles from her smoke pipe. "I could really use your help. My granny has been captured and possessed by an evil mirror. We need you to stop him and free my granny!" Sabrina cried. Mallory checked her calendar. "I suppose I have time to run by. I'm not needed until four in the afternoon. But be prepared to pay." After she hung up she did some warm up exercises then decided to find her taser and use in on the mission. "Where did I put it," she mumbled, "Ah ha! There you are!" She picked it up and felt the smooth round surface that fit perfectly in her hand. "Now I just need one more thing."When Mallory got to the top of the hill she had a perfect view of the town. It was absolutely destroyed. She didn't so much as flinch. She had seen worse... caused by her own two hands. Trolls, goblins, and other fairytale creatures ran through the streets causing chaos. "It's probably best to stay low for now," thought Mallory, so she threw on the invisibility cloak she had stolen from Harry Potter earlier. She knew where to go courtesy of the gigantic black clouds in the middle of a blue sky and headed that way. By the time she found the old woman, who was dancing in the clearing chanting unintelligible words. It was three in the afternoon. "Hmm, I'll have to make this fast," she mused from the safety of the trees. She took out her taser. "I choose you! Pikachu!" she yelled throwing the ball at her feet. A small yellow mouse bounced out. "Pikachu," it repeated. "Pikachu, tase that fool!" Mallory commanded. Pikachu looked at her with a questioning look. "Ugh," Mallory said exasperated, " THUNDERBOLT!"The confused look left Pikachu and was replaced with determination. "PIKACHU!!!" it cried sending out electricity from its body which hit the grandma directly causing her to spasm. While Pikachu was electrocuting her, Mallory rushed up and prepared to capture her. When she got close enough Pikachu stopped and Mallory hit the old lady over the head with a frying pan then tied and blindfolded her. By this time it was three thirty. She hurried and delivered the granny to the family and was paid in more magical items. "Good luck with that, people. I don't know how to separate the two. I gotta go. I've been assigned as head of security to Aladdin and Princess Jasmine's wedding. Hopefully no other crazy relative ruins it this time." With that, she left mumbling about crazy families and relatives.Real Rating: 3.5. But for the series I give it 5 stars. This particular book wasn't my favorite (number two: Unusual Suspects was) It was just a bit too cheesy and far-fetched at some points. But all these books together make a really good story. It was about two orphan sisters, whose parents had disappeared,who came to Ferryport landing to live with their grandma. They thought their grandma was crazy but finally realized that the town was inhabited by fairytale creatures and their family was a line of fairytale detectives. Daphne took to it right away but Sabrina didn't. She was more moody and didn't want to have anything to do with it. She only wanted to find her parents and get out of there. That was somewhat annoying until Puck came along. Let's just say Puck was the greatest thing to ever grace the pages of this story. He was so funny and lived up to his name the Trickster King and often played pranks on Sabrina which made me happy to see that happen to her when she's being a spoil sport. In each book there is a mystery going on often caused the evil organization The Scarlet Hand. So the base of these books are solving mysteries with a bunch of fairytale characters. Let me just say, I absolutely love books with fairytale characters. These books were so much fun. They are like Diary of a Wimpy Kid in that they could probably get picky readers to read. Throughout the books the characters learn, grow, and change. Thank goodness Sabrina stopped crabbing about the place and people and how she didn't want to be a detective. Michael Buckley is a really good author in the sense that his writing is entertaining and easy to read. I just think he started loosing steam in the end because the books slowly seemed to go downhill. But I still love the series. Good storytelling and awesome illustrations. The epilogue of this book tied it up nicely. Questions were answered and I had the sense of closure. My only problem was the climax of this book. Cheesy. But whatever. Sabrina also seemed to have so much responsibility and growth at once that it was a bit overwhelming. She probably changed more in this book than she did through any of the others. It makes me sad that this series is finally done. The thing I will miss most is Puck. Best. Character. Ever.
    more
  • Ros
    April 23, 2016
    Como me encantaría haber leído estos libros cuando tenia 11-12 años... De verdad.En mi constante búsqueda por buenos retelling de los famosos cuentos de hadas di con esta serie. The Sisters Grimm es una serie que cuenta la historia de Sabrina y Daphne Grimm, quienes tras estar en el sistema durante más de un año tras la desaparición de sus padres, son enviadas a vivir con su abuela a Ferryport Landing, un pueblo junto al Hudson.Sin embargo, aunque a primera vista el pueblo se ve aburrido y su ab Como me encantaría haber leído estos libros cuando tenia 11-12 años... De verdad.En mi constante búsqueda por buenos retelling de los famosos cuentos de hadas di con esta serie. The Sisters Grimm es una serie que cuenta la historia de Sabrina y Daphne Grimm, quienes tras estar en el sistema durante más de un año tras la desaparición de sus padres, son enviadas a vivir con su abuela a Ferryport Landing, un pueblo junto al Hudson.Sin embargo, aunque a primera vista el pueblo se ve aburrido y su abuela parece una loca la historia da un giro. El pueblo está lleno de everafters, el nombre que le dan a todos los personajes de cuentos de hadas. Y la niñas, son las descendientes de Wilhem Grimm, uno de los famosos hermanos Grimm.Este es el inicio de una larga serie de aventuras para las hermanas en Ferryport Landing. Cuando leí el primer libro no pude evitar pensar: "esta es una mezcla de la serie Grimm con Once Upon a Time". Sigo pensando lo mismo, sobretodo porque no puedo evitar comparar a Emma de Once Upon a Time con Sabrina Grimm.No se dejen engañar, la serie se llama The Sisters Grimm pero la serie esta enfocada en Sabrina, la mayor. Daphne es la segunda protagonista pero siempre vemos es el punto de vista de Sabrina. Particularmente no me molesta, me gustó mucho el personaje de Sabrina.La trama es muy buena y los personajes son más que sus historias de cuentos de hadas. Sobretodo Blancanieves y Caperucita Roja (esa historia es muy diferente).Por supuesto, al ser una serie para niños/jóvenes, hay muchas cosas sobretodo muy repetitivas. Al inicio de cada libro se cuenta como llegaron ellas al pueblo y las razones detrás, asi como la actitud de Sabrina y Daphne ante todo... Eso es muy fastidioso. A diferencia de Una Serie de Eventos Desafortunados, las ilustraciones de esta serie no fueron de mi agrado. Estudio arte, créanme que aprecio las ilustraciones aunque estas no son mis favoritas.Como dije, el personaje de Sabrina me encantó... De haber leído estos libro cuando era niña posiblemente me hubiese identificado mucho más con ella. Daphne, a pesar de ser más joven, tambien me agradó. Así como Sabrina tiene sus razones para comportarse como lo hace, las razones de Daphne son totalmente válidas tambien.El personaje de Puck es genial, aunque sumamente insoportable. Me encanta como de manera inconsciente va cambiando y obviamente negando todo. La abuela Relda es definitivamente un modelo de como ser una abuela cool (excepto por sus gustos culinarios). Muchos Everafters son fantásticos, como Blancanieves o su madre.Por supuesto, hay personajes no tan buenos. Y debo admitir que fueron los padres de las hermanas Grimm: Henry y Verónica. Desde que despiertan (si están leyendo esta reseña, ya llegaron al 9no libro y ya saben que pasó...) no hacen más que dificultarles las cosas a sus hijas. Henry esta empeñado en irse a cada momento, sin importar que tan peligroso. Verónica te la venden como una súper mujer, badass que no le importa contradecir a su marido pero lo que hace es medio intentar discutir con él para igual seguirlo a pesar de que no es lo correcto. Ugh.Pero en definitiva es una gran serie, con uno de los mejores libros siendo el quinto... Hay otros, pero en mi caso ese fue mi favorito.Y el final, me tuvieron preocupada por un momento pero todo terminó como esperaba. El final es lo esperado en un libro dirigido a un público infantil, asi que no es violento... O al menos no tanto y no al final final.En definitiva, muy recomendable.
    more
  • Megan (Read. Write. Ramble.)
    June 16, 2012
    This is a Middle Grade Series that I started reading somewhere around third grade. A couple of summers ago, I had read the eighth book in the series and remembered why I loved these characters so much. So when I was in Book of Wonder a few weeks ago, I could't resist picking up the last book in the series, signed by Michael Buckley.Since this is a series that I'm sad to see end, I'll list some of the things I loved about it.1. The illustrations. Just like the cover images only in black and white This is a Middle Grade Series that I started reading somewhere around third grade. A couple of summers ago, I had read the eighth book in the series and remembered why I loved these characters so much. So when I was in Book of Wonder a few weeks ago, I could't resist picking up the last book in the series, signed by Michael Buckley.Since this is a series that I'm sad to see end, I'll list some of the things I loved about it.1. The illustrations. Just like the cover images only in black and white, the drawings by Peter Ferguson are periodically spaced into the story. And they only enhance the books. I loved all of the sketches.2. The characters. Not only did I love them when I was in third grade, but they grow up enough throughout the series for me to still relate to them years later. From Daphne with her little quirks like biting the palm of her hand when she's excited to Sabrina with her moodiness and typical teenager attitudes, I loved these sisters. Granny Relda was the sweet caretaker that the girls needed. Other supporting characters were great too like Mr. Cannis and all of the other family friends from the fairy tales. I got almost as excited as Daphne every time a new fairy tale character showed up.3. Puck. He gets his own reason because I love him that much. He's the Trickster King, Prince of the Faeries, and spends every waking moment pulling pranks on people. He's immature and has a firm belief in never growing up. Why would he when he can spend all of his days driving Sabrina insane? And that's a lot of days when you're an Everafter and live forever. Let's just say that by the end of the series, Puck changes a little bit, but he's still the same character I've loved since the beginning. He just gains a little bit of maturity.4. The plot. This series had so many surprises and twists and turns that I couldn't ever see coming. Some of them broke my heart along the way. I really felt for these characters, so when they were going through a hard time I really felt for them. I liked where the story line of this series went and how it grew and changed as the characters did. Michael Buckley did a great job of creating this series.This series is just a fun, quick read that anyone can enjoy. I loved the ending, but I'm still sad that the series ended.
    more
  • Dolly
    September 22, 2015
    I am so happy to come to the end of this tale. It was an interesting story, but after nine books I was very eager to have this saga come to an end.This is the ninth and final book in the Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley. Our oldest loves these books and I've struggled to keep up with her. So I've resorted to listening to them on audio CD, narrated by L.J. Ganser in order to try to catch up. The story is very dramatic, with dark twists and turns throughout. We follow along as Sabrina leads I am so happy to come to the end of this tale. It was an interesting story, but after nine books I was very eager to have this saga come to an end.This is the ninth and final book in the Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley. Our oldest loves these books and I've struggled to keep up with her. So I've resorted to listening to them on audio CD, narrated by L.J. Ganser in order to try to catch up. The story is very dramatic, with dark twists and turns throughout. We follow along as Sabrina leads her army and Daphne creates her coven in order to try and save the Everafters from the Scarlet Hand. It's a sad story in many places, as beloved characters are killed off. I loved the interaction between Sabrina and Puck and the ending was very sweet. I agree with other reviewers that the series has become a serial story, a conveniently packaged tale that is exciting, but is just a mere chapter in the grand saga. I am excited to finally get to a conclusion.interesting quotes (from hardcover edition with ISBN13: 9781419701863):"'But they need to understand that Granny never treated us like little girls. She would have had us leading the rescue,' Sabrina said.'Actually, she would have made us stay home, too. It was just easier to sneak out when she was in charge.'" (pp. 26-27)"I'm always going to love you, but right now you don't deserve me." (p. 257)
    more
  • Barbara
    May 27, 2012
    I've been intrigued by the Grimm sisters, Daphne and Sabrina, ever since this series began, and while some of the titles among the nine available have been better than others, all of them have something to offer, especially to anyone who loves fairy tales or the Brothers Grimm. In this, the final book in the series, everything comes to a head in Ferryport as war breaks out, and both sisters will have to rely on their unique strengths to lead their band of Everafters. While some characters are be I've been intrigued by the Grimm sisters, Daphne and Sabrina, ever since this series began, and while some of the titles among the nine available have been better than others, all of them have something to offer, especially to anyone who loves fairy tales or the Brothers Grimm. In this, the final book in the series, everything comes to a head in Ferryport as war breaks out, and both sisters will have to rely on their unique strengths to lead their band of Everafters. While some characters are better drawn than others, there are quite a few characters to keep in mind while reading this book, and readers would be advised to start with the first one and move through the others in order in which they were written in order to be familiar with the backstory. Although the author does include some introductory information at the beginning to bring readers up to speed, there is no way he could possibly explain the relationships among all these characters. Not only are there the usual cast of characters from fairy tales, but even some from L. Frank Baum's Oz books. Most poignant of all are the main deaths that occur during the battles, deaths that seem meaningless without any emotional connection on the part of readers, and the soul-searching identity crisis of Prince Charming who doubts his love for Snow White and his own motivation once he discovers that he was a character written into her story to change how it ended. All in all, this is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful series that made me smile every time I read one of the books.
    more
  • Mymcbooks
    April 24, 2012
    My Review: Michael Buckley created a fairy tale that revolves around several well-known fairy tale characters such fairies, giants, witches, monsters, princesses, Magic Mirrors, flying carpets and many. This is the final book in the series called The Council of Mirrors. Sabrina and Daphne Grimm are descendants of one half of the Brothers Grimm and it’s their duty to keep their eyes on the Everafter Community. Everafter has taken up resident in Ferryport Landing and the town is being destroyed by My Review: Michael Buckley created a fairy tale that revolves around several well-known fairy tale characters such fairies, giants, witches, monsters, princesses, Magic Mirrors, flying carpets and many. This is the final book in the series called The Council of Mirrors. Sabrina and Daphne Grimm are descendants of one half of the Brothers Grimm and it’s their duty to keep their eyes on the Everafter Community. Everafter has taken up resident in Ferryport Landing and the town is being destroyed by an angry mob of ogres, trolls, talking animals and assorted creeps running down its streets, terrorizing people. As war rip through the town, Sabrina consults with a team of magic mirrors who told her that the only way the good guys will win is for her to lead the army in exchange for offering all the citizens of Ferryport Landing their freedom.If you haven’t read The Sister Grimm series this is the best time to start and take a journey into fairy land. Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from abrams books in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.
    more
  • Katie Bruce
    June 11, 2012
    What a finish! Great ending to a great series. In this final installment, Sabrina very much comes into her own and (finally) is the hero we were all waiting for her to become. Without giving away too much, I will say this one reminded me very much of "A Wrinkle in Time," which is awesome because that is one of my favorites. It was a dynamic I hadn't considered before, but Sabrina Grimm is very Meg Murry-like. And Daphne, with her magical abilities that Sabrina lacks is Charles Wallace-like and, What a finish! Great ending to a great series. In this final installment, Sabrina very much comes into her own and (finally) is the hero we were all waiting for her to become. Without giving away too much, I will say this one reminded me very much of "A Wrinkle in Time," which is awesome because that is one of my favorites. It was a dynamic I hadn't considered before, but Sabrina Grimm is very Meg Murry-like. And Daphne, with her magical abilities that Sabrina lacks is Charles Wallace-like and, of course, Puck = Calvin (but way, way grosser). It was also interesting to read this finale after having spent the past few months watching the "Once Upon a Time" tv series. The Snow White/Wicked Queen backstory comes to the front of the action in this book, and I kept drawing comparisons to the tv show while reading. Yay, comparisons!Something else to note, this one does get dark a'la Harry Potter. We've been sliding that way in this series for the past few books, but this one takes it up a notch. Dire circumstances come about and characters do die.I'll have to go back--someday--and reread the series. There were a few details I was fuzzy on since there was such a long wait for this final installment.
    more
  • Merand
    June 2, 2012
    Finally, the last book in the series. I've enjoyed the Sisters Grimm series very much, although it has gone on for years. I am glad to have a finish to it all. As with any series, you begin to run into repetition and the characters quirks can begin to grow bothersome. In particular it felt as if Sabrina's character lacked growth but that could be simply due to her character. She just wasn't as lovable or enjoyable as Daphne, but that's the way it was supposed to be. There was less action, or wha Finally, the last book in the series. I've enjoyed the Sisters Grimm series very much, although it has gone on for years. I am glad to have a finish to it all. As with any series, you begin to run into repetition and the characters quirks can begin to grow bothersome. In particular it felt as if Sabrina's character lacked growth but that could be simply due to her character. She just wasn't as lovable or enjoyable as Daphne, but that's the way it was supposed to be. There was less action, or what action there was wasn't as interesting as earlier books, and there was far too much emotional drama between various secondary characters. But the greatest lack in this last book was no Granny Relda and very little Mr. Canis. These two characters and their interactions with one another and each other really helped to make the earlier books shine, in my opinion. I missed them. Buckley could have done more to give us one last encounter with Granny Relda. A great series, fun and enchanting, perfect for those who enjoy fairy tale fantasy, and now that the series is complete, a new reader can go through them at once.
    more
  • Catherine
    February 28, 2014
    I've really enjoyed reading this series to my boys. In addition to enjoying the gratuitous bathroom humor, courtesy of Puck, they've developed an interest in fairy tales. (Beyond my younger son's obsession with the Big Bad Wolf, we haven't read too many, which we're beginning to rectify.) The series has had some ups and downs, and this conclusion wasn't perfect. There were times that I felt that the author was stretching things a little, and a few continuity errors that the boys noticed, too. I I've really enjoyed reading this series to my boys. In addition to enjoying the gratuitous bathroom humor, courtesy of Puck, they've developed an interest in fairy tales. (Beyond my younger son's obsession with the Big Bad Wolf, we haven't read too many, which we're beginning to rectify.) The series has had some ups and downs, and this conclusion wasn't perfect. There were times that I felt that the author was stretching things a little, and a few continuity errors that the boys noticed, too. I wasn't very happy about how many characters died. I really liked the way Sabrina "defeated" Mirror -- which I couldn't read without tearing up a bit, and overall the conclusion was pretty good. I did not like the very disappointing direction the author took with the epilogue. Overall, it's a good series. As an English teacher, one thing drove me so crazy, I started editing as I was reading:
    more
  • Isabel
    February 5, 2013
    GOD MY CHILDHOOD ALL CAME BACK TO ME WHILE READING THIS BOOK.I was obsessed with The Sisters Grimm all throughout elementary and middle school. I wrote fanfiction about this series. Reading this book was like stepping back into those times. Holy hell. I'm really glad that Buckley found a way to save Granny, however cheesy the "defeating Mirror with love" gig was. Because I struggled forever while writing my fanfiction, and I eventually ended up having Sabrina sacrifice Granny to stop Mirror from GOD MY CHILDHOOD ALL CAME BACK TO ME WHILE READING THIS BOOK.I was obsessed with The Sisters Grimm all throughout elementary and middle school. I wrote fanfiction about this series. Reading this book was like stepping back into those times. Holy hell. I'm really glad that Buckley found a way to save Granny, however cheesy the "defeating Mirror with love" gig was. Because I struggled forever while writing my fanfiction, and I eventually ended up having Sabrina sacrifice Granny to stop Mirror from destroying everything.Anyways though I didn't exactly get the Puckabrina I wanted, and the ending was a little odd, this book was pretty decent and wrapped everything up rather nicely. Now of course I have to go write something about what happens after (view spoiler)[ Puck interrupts the wedding. Lol. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kris
    June 21, 2012
    The series as a whole was pretty good throughout, but there is a definite lack of copy editing/proofreading, especially in this last volume. And Buckley again makes errors of continuity (in one instance, Sabrina is talking to Daphne, then a group of people rushes to Sabrina's side - including Daphne.) But the fact remains that this is a book (series) written for juvenile readers, and a lot of these younger readers aren't going to care about these things. The story is good, the characters are fun The series as a whole was pretty good throughout, but there is a definite lack of copy editing/proofreading, especially in this last volume. And Buckley again makes errors of continuity (in one instance, Sabrina is talking to Daphne, then a group of people rushes to Sabrina's side - including Daphne.) But the fact remains that this is a book (series) written for juvenile readers, and a lot of these younger readers aren't going to care about these things. The story is good, the characters are fun, and there's lots of action. For you adults that want to read something along the same lines, but with more adult themes, I heartily recommend Bill Willingham's graphic novel series Fables.Finally, a big thumbs up to the illustrator in this series, Peter Ferguson. There is one double-page spread of the big battle scene in this last volume that is really awesome!
    more
  • Heather
    June 29, 2012
    As with all the other Sisters Grimm stories (except for the first one, which I read) I chose to listen to the audiobook. I really enjoy L.J. Ganser's narration, so when I saw it was in at a (semi) nearby library, I went right out to claim it!This was a very solid ending to the series. Either this book is a bit darker than the others (ie: a lot more deaths) or I am just not remembering the others correctly. Maybe they got darker as they went. Because of all the deaths, this is not for the younges As with all the other Sisters Grimm stories (except for the first one, which I read) I chose to listen to the audiobook. I really enjoy L.J. Ganser's narration, so when I saw it was in at a (semi) nearby library, I went right out to claim it!This was a very solid ending to the series. Either this book is a bit darker than the others (ie: a lot more deaths) or I am just not remembering the others correctly. Maybe they got darker as they went. Because of all the deaths, this is not for the youngest of kids, but I bet that those who who have followed the series are plenty old enough to read or listen to the final volume. And I believe that the vast majority of Sisters Grimm fans will be satisfied by this finale.
    more
  • Amber
    June 25, 2012
    This was a satisfying end to an enjoyable series. Book 8's departure from the first 7 books' formula of mishaps and adventure prepared us for the unpredictable nature of this last book. I came to like some of the newer characters a little better with this book but still missed some of the old favorites. Sabrina, Daphne and Puck are the major players in this adventure and they don't disappoint. There were some surprising developments and even the end of the conflict was unexpected. The events in This was a satisfying end to an enjoyable series. Book 8's departure from the first 7 books' formula of mishaps and adventure prepared us for the unpredictable nature of this last book. I came to like some of the newer characters a little better with this book but still missed some of the old favorites. Sabrina, Daphne and Puck are the major players in this adventure and they don't disappoint. There were some surprising developments and even the end of the conflict was unexpected. The events in the two epilogues overshadowed the conclusion a bit but every good fairy tale should end with romance, right? All in all the story was wrapped up quite well with no loose ends and there seems to be potential for further adventures.
    more
Write a review