Ashes of Honor (October Daye, #6)
It’s been almost a year since October “Toby” Daye averted a war, gave up a county, and suffered personal losses that have left her wishing for a good day’s sleep. She’s tried to focus on her responsibilities—training Quentin, upholding her position as Sylvester’s knight, and paying the bills—but she can’t help feeling like her world is crumbling around her, and her increasingly reckless behavior is beginning to worry even her staunchest supporters.To make matters worse, Toby’s just been asked to find another missing child…only this time it’s the changeling daughter of her fellow knight, Etienne, who didn’t even know he was a father until the girl went missing. Her name is Chelsea. She’s a teleporter, like her father. She’s also the kind of changeling the old stories warn about, the ones with all the strength and none of the control. She’s opening doors that were never meant to be opened, releasing dangers that were sealed away centuries before—and there’s a good chance she could destroy Faerie if she isn’t stopped.Now Toby must find Chelsea before time runs out, racing against an unknown deadline and through unknown worlds as she and her allies try to avert disaster. But danger is also stirring in the Court of Cats, and Tybalt may need Toby’s help with the biggest challenge he’s ever faced.Toby thought the last year was bad. She has no idea.

Ashes of Honor (October Daye, #6) Details

TitleAshes of Honor (October Daye, #6)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 4th, 2012
PublisherDAW
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Fairies, Fae, Magic, Fiction, Romance

Ashes of Honor (October Daye, #6) Review

  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    This installment bumped this series up to the top of my urban-paranormal series list! I am so invested in the world building and the characters now, and the looming sense that something bad is around the corner. At the same time the romance is real and awesome, but doesn't overshadow the adventure. October is such a great heroine, she's come a LONG way from the first book in the series, that's for sure! Highly recommend it, can't wait for the next! Of all the "Faerie" urban fantasy series out th This installment bumped this series up to the top of my urban-paranormal series list! I am so invested in the world building and the characters now, and the looming sense that something bad is around the corner. At the same time the romance is real and awesome, but doesn't overshadow the adventure. October is such a great heroine, she's come a LONG way from the first book in the series, that's for sure! Highly recommend it, can't wait for the next! Of all the "Faerie" urban fantasy series out there, I enjoy this one the most. If you like the Dark Fever series or Kate Daniels series, you'll def like this one.
    more
  • Denisa
    January 1, 1970
    I have been waiting for this book since the beginning of the series!Again, I have laughed and cried and yelled and smiled while reading this book. I absolutely love all the characters! It's been a while since I've found a series that makes me have so many feeling! And I absolutely love it!
    more
  • Susana
    January 1, 1970
    2nd Read: 22/09/15Still a winner!First Read: April 25 th (2012)Can I get a MEOW in Tybalt's honor? :DWOW, WHAT A STORY!!Okay, I have to admit that THIS series, is at the moment my favourite urban fantasy series ( in case the fangirling wasn't obvious enough..)What's there not to like?We have great characters, great stories, a BEAUTIFUL romance. YES, FINALLY!!! I think that everyone that has been following this series, knows what I'm talking about! They're so...perfect for one another. I just fee 2nd Read: 22/09/15Still a winner!First Read: April 25 th (2012)Can I get a MEOW in Tybalt's honor? :DWOW, WHAT A STORY!!Okay, I have to admit that THIS series, is at the moment my favourite urban fantasy series ( in case the fangirling wasn't obvious enough..)What's there not to like?We have great characters, great stories, a BEAUTIFUL romance. YES, FINALLY!!! I think that everyone that has been following this series, knows what I'm talking about! They're so...perfect for one another. I just feel like drawing tiny hearts all around them! Their dialogues: I have to say that I loved each and every single one of them.In the other reviews that I've written of the previous books of this series, I've mentioned that every single one of them has a different voice. A very unique voice.The same can be said of this one: This can be considered as the one that changes all...a new road has presented itself on Toby's path. Will she follow it? Or are the memories of a not so distant past too painful, for her to take this chance... Although Toby begins the book with a more depressive humour due to the events that happened in the last book, one cannot help noticing how distant this one's "mood" is of the first book, that had a very dark setting. Don't get me wrong, if this was a fairy tale, it would still be a dark one. But the characters have definitely grown, and one cannot help feeling the strong bonds that have developed amongst this group of friends and mainly the bonds that have developed between our two main characters. Two very stubborn, blind, leading characters....So if you like great stories, with amazing characters, I would suggest you'd give this series a try.I'm so glad I did! :)The only negative point? Is having to wait a year until the next book in the series.....A YEAR. -_-
    more
  • Ranting Dragon
    January 1, 1970
    http://www.rantingdragon.com/review-o...The sixth installment of New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire’s Toby Daye series, Ashes of Honor, returns us to San Francisco and the world of changeling October Daye.It’s been a year since the events of the previous novel, One Salt Sea, and Toby still hasn’t fully recovered from the personal losses she sustained during that time. She’s been trying to keep her focus on her responsibilities as Sylvester’s knight and putting in hours training her http://www.rantingdragon.com/review-o...The sixth installment of New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire’s Toby Daye series, Ashes of Honor, returns us to San Francisco and the world of changeling October Daye.It’s been a year since the events of the previous novel, One Salt Sea, and Toby still hasn’t fully recovered from the personal losses she sustained during that time. She’s been trying to keep her focus on her responsibilities as Sylvester’s knight and putting in hours training her squire, Quentin—not to mention trying to pay the bills—but it’s not been working so well. Things have gotten to the point where even her most supportive allies are beginning to worry at her increasingly reckless behaviors.And to top matters off, she’s just been hired to find yet another missing child—except, this time, it’s the changeling daughter of her fellow knight, Etienne. Her name is Chelsea, and, like her father, she is a teleporter, able to open portals between the various realms of Faerie and the mortal plane. She is also the kind of changeling from legend—one with all of the power and none of the control—and is opening doors that have been sealed for centuries, releasing dangers never meant to be seen again. Oh, and there’s the fact that she could destroy the entirety of Faerie if she isn’t found.Toby must find Chelsea before the world ends, facing unknown deadlines and unknown worlds in her attempts to avert complete disaster. And to further complicate matters, things are stirring in the local Court of Cats, and Tybalt needs Toby’s help with the greatest challenge he’s ever faced.The worlds next doorOne of my favorite things about this series is the sheer diversity of the various areas of Faerie that McGuire introduces us to. In each novel, she branches out a bit further, filling in a section here, revealing a bit there. It’s almost like seeing a tree from a distance and then coming closer to focus on an area of leaves and see all of the details. It’s very smooth, the way McGuire incorporates the worldbuilding of the otherworldly realms of Faerie into our own, familiar world. Some have said that urban fantasy isn’t as “good” as epic fantasy because the world is already built. I would direct those of that mindset to McGuire’s work, because not only does she create entirely new worlds, she melds them seamlessly with our world and all of its own history and character.A more straightforward plot than usualOne of the things I really started noticing about halfway through the novel is that the overall plot of Ashes of Honor isn’t all that complex compared to the last couple of installments in the series. Sure, it has its surprises—this is Seanan McGuire we’re talking about, after all—but all in all, it’s one of the most straightforward of the series. There’s no discovery of multiple plots going on at once, decisions having to be made to save one thing or the other, etc., etc., et al. Rather, the initial problem is just escalated—repeatedly. The more Toby finds out about her case, the more she realizes just how much danger they (and the world) are actually in.However, this straightforward plot isn’t a bad thing. Because of it, Ashes of Honor turns into much more of an internal journey for Toby. Many of the events that occur over the course of the novel force Toby to step back and reevaluate what she knows, how she behaves, and how she feels. As she hunts after Chelsea, so does Toby begin to establish and realize who she is as opposed to who she was. It’s a refreshing change of pace and it feels like the logical next step in Toby’s story, and I believe McGuire executed it exceptionally well.Beautifully crafted characters and relationshipsWhile Toby’s internal, personal journey is more than enough on its own to make Ashes of Honor stand apart from the rest of the series, the level of character work McGuire throws into the mix makes the book shine. As previously stated, Toby undergoes a deeply personal journey, and has to rediscover who she is. This includes her relationships with everyone around her: May, Etienne, the Ludaieg, and especially Tybalt, to name a few. We garner more insights to the workings of Faerie and the various courts and territories (such as Tamed Lightning) because of these evolving relationships. Some new faces are met, and the amount of life and utter believability McGuire manages to give them in a short time is nothing less than breathtaking. Etienne is quite thoroughly fleshed out as a character, and we get to see how Quentin has matured over the last year. Oh, and Tybalt does some decidedly badass things. Again.And speaking of Tybalt, Ashes of Honor also gives large glimpses into the workings of the Court of Cats, as well into a good chunk of Tybalt’s past. For Toby isn’t the only one going through an internal journey. For both their sakes, Tybalt has to come clean about some rather important things, putting it all out there—something that doesn’t come easily to him. It’s a wondrous thing, to see how these two characters who were once on opposite sides have grown to depend upon each other.Why should you read this book?Seanan McGuire has done it again. I always think that the most recent Toby novel will be my favorite, and every time, McGuire ups the ante and puts out a better one. Ashes of Honor finds the balance between being introspective and being action-oriented, and holds that balance exceptionally well. The worldbuilding is natural, flowing, and organic. The characters are real, dynamic, and their relationships are completely believable. With Ashes of Honor, McGuire has crafted a deeply personal and intense story that will keep you on the edge, hoping to be pushed over. In my opinion, it is, hands down, the best Toby to date.
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    Yes! Finally! (That's all I'm saying so it can't be a spoiler!)What I like about this series is the development of these characters over time. Toby may still not look after herself and show a blatant disregard for her own safety, but at least her esteem has risen enough for her to know she has been and is a hero. The people who love her best are frustrated in this book by the likelihood that Toby will put everyone's wellbeing before her own. Again, she becomes embroiled in a case to save a teena Yes! Finally! (That's all I'm saying so it can't be a spoiler!)What I like about this series is the development of these characters over time. Toby may still not look after herself and show a blatant disregard for her own safety, but at least her esteem has risen enough for her to know she has been and is a hero. The people who love her best are frustrated in this book by the likelihood that Toby will put everyone's wellbeing before her own. Again, she becomes embroiled in a case to save a teenage changeling and as in previous stories, the rescue becomes a team effort. Tybalt has some political trouble of his own too.Looking forward to the next one!
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    13/04/2016 Buddy read with my fellow UF addicts over at BB&B b/c we love this series. “You can’t save everyone and leave yourself lost, October. It isn’t fair. Not to you and not to the people who care about you.” It’s been almost a year since the happening of the last book, and at the beginning of this book it would seem that the fae world has finally managed to break our October Daye. After everything she has lost, she has become reckless, having no care for the risks she takes. And all he 13/04/2016 Buddy read with my fellow UF addicts over at BB&B b/c we love this series. “You can’t save everyone and leave yourself lost, October. It isn’t fair. Not to you and not to the people who care about you.” It’s been almost a year since the happening of the last book, and at the beginning of this book it would seem that the fae world has finally managed to break our October Daye. After everything she has lost, she has become reckless, having no care for the risks she takes. And all her friends, and myself included, feared that she was just looking for the fight that would put her out of her misery. “If she opens a door all the way to the Heart of Faerie, it won’t close. The Heart wants people. It’s lonely.And that means it’s going to try to pull her toward it.” Luckily distraction comes from an unexpected source. Etienne, her fellow knight, has just found out that he has a changeling daughter and that she’s missing. But even worse is that she is a teleporter like her father, and very powerful, because she doesn’t have the restrictions that purebloods have. And years ago the fae world was almost destroyed by a powerful teleporter. Because they can open doors that was closed for a reason. This book was a lot more serious than the previous ones. Here we see Toby at a very low point in her life, and honestly, who can blame her. She has lost so much, that it would have been unrealistic if these events didn’t have an effect on her. But as the story progresses, and with help from the people who loves her, she slowly starts to find herself again, and finally realises the dangerous line she has been walking. Tybalt blinked. Then he snorted a brief laugh, and asked, “October, in the years since your return…has anything not been in some way related to what I told you before? You handed me a hope chest in a dark alley. You took my heart as collateral, and you’ve never returned it.” FINALLY the romance I have been hoping for happened. Tybalt, the King of Cats, is one of my favorite characters, and here we learn so much more about him. The reason he understands Toby so well, is that he too has experienced heartbreaking loss, and together I think these two will hopefully find the HEA that they both want and deserve. Their banter and interaction is so funny and sweet and romantic. *happy sigh* I love the world-building and plot in this series. Previously we’ve been told about changelings being so much weaker than purebloods, and finally with this instalment we see the other side of the coin. The changelings that are so powerful, that they have trouble controlling their power. And it was fantastic. There was even a fae that had the ability to read luck, and sort of manipulate it. So awesome! I absolutely adore this series. It has everything that a truly wonderful UF series needs: A strong but slightly flawed main character; secondary characters that you are going to love forever; a romance that yes unfortunately has been slow-building, but when it does finally happen it will make your heart so very happy; world-building that will blow your mind; and a plot that continues to be so interesting and ever growing; and beautiful writing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. It’s funny how people can change your life without meaning to. Even the fucked-up, crazy people leave everything different when they go away.
    more
  • Alana ~ The Book Pimp
    January 1, 1970
    This is the October Daye book I've been waiting to be written. Things that I have been wanting to see... it's there. In spades. This is book 6 in the October Daye series.As with the entire series, this is an urban fantasy, not a paranormal romance. The romance is not absent, but it takes a back seat to characters and plot. In my attempt to not spoil anything, all I can say is I am fist pumping in the air like a mofo!The overall direction of the plot left me a bit worried at first. How many times This is the October Daye book I've been waiting to be written. Things that I have been wanting to see... it's there. In spades. This is book 6 in the October Daye series.As with the entire series, this is an urban fantasy, not a paranormal romance. The romance is not absent, but it takes a back seat to characters and plot. In my attempt to not spoil anything, all I can say is I am fist pumping in the air like a mofo!The overall direction of the plot left me a bit worried at first. How many times are there going to be missing kids, and then October has to go looking for them? Sounds more than a wee bit familiar; surprisingly, McGuire was able to still keep this story line unique for the most part.LOVE LOVE LOVE Tybalt, always have, always will. Love that King of Cats! Anyone out there still early in this series, if you LOVE Tybalt like I do, hurry up and get to this book! You'll thank me later!If you haven't tried this series, I recommend it to anyone that likes snarky dialogue, funny movies references, urban fantasy that is not porn... *Re-read 9/5/2013*Still LOVE Tybalt, and getting to listen to the audio book, rather than reading was a new experience. I wasn't totally in love with Tybalt's 'voice' but I didn't hate it either. Toby was awesome, comedic delivery perfect (for those moments), and further solidified my love for this entire series. Absolutely stands up to re-reads! LOVED IT!
    more
  • Wanda
    January 1, 1970
    Yay! This is book, folks, where Toby Daye finally wakes up and smells the coffee, both literally and figuratively. Indeed, she is as obsessed with coffee drinking as I am and all the people in her life have learned to make it to her specifications. Plus, she has learned about those people in her life—she cares about them, they care about her, and she should probably get used to that.It was great to see her accept and even solicit help from her regular crew of friends and to see them all win the Yay! This is book, folks, where Toby Daye finally wakes up and smells the coffee, both literally and figuratively. Indeed, she is as obsessed with coffee drinking as I am and all the people in her life have learned to make it to her specifications. Plus, she has learned about those people in her life—she cares about them, they care about her, and she should probably get used to that.It was great to see her accept and even solicit help from her regular crew of friends and to see them all win the day as a team. No more isolation! She & Tybalt are officially great at co-operating to get things done, save each other’s lives, and defend the innocent. Not to mention their excellent chemistry! I also appreciate that this romance element to the story doesn’t over-power the novel. It’s an excellent side dish to a satisfying meal.I think the major reason that I love October is because she is a flawed main character. She has obstacles to overcome, probably as many of them in her own mind as in the real world. And, like all of us, she has to work through her issues until she reaches a place where she can claim a little more happiness. This is the series that started my serious love-affair with all things Fae. It’s a good time to love Fae fantasies, they are everywhere now, but this will always be my first love in that category. Thanks, Seanan McGuire, for hours of happy entertainment.
    more
  • Rabidreading
    January 1, 1970
    Sooooo worth the wait! The October Day series is, hands-down, one of the best I've read. It offers everything I love - action, a rich, well-imagined world, and a fabulous cast of main & supporting characters. With the exception of A Local Habitation (which I liked, but didn't love), every book has become an instant favorite, and IMO, Ashes of Honor might just be the best yet. The story picks up about a year after the events of book 5, One Salt Sea. October is still recovering from everything Sooooo worth the wait! The October Day series is, hands-down, one of the best I've read. It offers everything I love - action, a rich, well-imagined world, and a fabulous cast of main & supporting characters. With the exception of A Local Habitation (which I liked, but didn't love), every book has become an instant favorite, and IMO, Ashes of Honor might just be the best yet. The story picks up about a year after the events of book 5, One Salt Sea. October is still recovering from everything that happened, the personal losses she sustained, and her friends are worried, both about the risks she is willing to take and the wall she's built around herself. She's there, she's functioning, but as Tybalt tells her, she's lost, and everyone is waiting for her to find her way back home. To them, and to herself. The main plot centers around October's quest to find a missing Changeling child. Whose child is a surprise, which I won't give away, but as in any McGuire novel, what seems like a straightforward job is anything but. It's one surprise and near-death moment after the other. Thankfully, October isn't alone. Her friends are with her every step of the way. All of them, it seems - everyone she's met and helped through the last 5 books. May, Quentin, Raj, the Luidaeg, April, Elliot, Walther, Etienne, Jin, Luna, Sylvester, and of course Tybalt....we see them all, some more than others, and yet the story never feels overcrowded. There's a purpose to everyone's presence, a part for all to play. For me, what really drove this novel wasn't finding the missing girl or defeating the bad guys. It was Toby and her various relationships, and seeing her transition from grieving & closing herself off emotionally, because she's afraid of losing someone she cares about (again), to fully embracing the idea that all these people who call themselves her friends & allies are, simply put, her family. They won't leave her. No matter what happens, they'll be there to watch her back, patch up her hurts, and keep her sane & smiling through good days and bad. And then there is Tybalt...ah, Tybalt. Our King of Cats is all over this book, and I couldn't be happier. Love, love, LOVE that man! I can't really say more because too much of it would be spoilery, so I will content myself with this: It's about damn time!!!! *happy dance* Final verdict: Ashes of Honor is f*cking amazing. 5 out of 5 stars.
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    MY SHIP IS FINALLY SAILING!!!!OK OK so this series really isn’t about relationships. It is much more UF than PNR and there are mysteries to be solved, plots to be uncovered and a dying Faery to save….BUT MY SHIP IS FINALLY HAPPENING….don’t judge me I’m just really excited about it.TnT (Toby and Tybalt) finally got some traction. There is kissing, some deep conversations, kissing, admittance of feelings and kissing….did I mention the kissing. *happy dancing on a table* That alone is a great reaso MY SHIP IS FINALLY SAILING!!!!OK OK so this series really isn’t about relationships. It is much more UF than PNR and there are mysteries to be solved, plots to be uncovered and a dying Faery to save….BUT MY SHIP IS FINALLY HAPPENING….don’t judge me I’m just really excited about it.TnT (Toby and Tybalt) finally got some traction. There is kissing, some deep conversations, kissing, admittance of feelings and kissing….did I mention the kissing. *happy dancing on a table* That alone is a great reason to read this book. But more than that are the other plot lines happening, character developments and a changling child to save. After the last book Toby’s friends are a bit worried that perhaps she won’t be able to be unbiased and removed from that kind of situation. “I can do my job.” “Really. You can follow a teenage changeling, stolen from her mortal parent, kept from her fae parent, and feel no personal connection that might cloud your judgment?” Toby is always ready and willing to come to the aide of her friends not matter what the trouble even when it might bring up some of her baggage. As we all know now anytime Toby gets involved there are going to be some interesting times. ”… I retained October to locate her. Unfortunately, there have been complications.” “You involved Toby. Of course there have been complications. If you don’t want complications, you buy her a bus ticket and send her to Vancouver to buy those coffee-flavored candy bars they have in Canada.” They do have a point….but then we the reader would miss out on all the fun.The Short of ItA teleporting changling teenager has been making portals all over the place and she is really strong. This wouldn’t be a great concern except she is teleporting in to Fae worlds that have been locked and opening then could destabilize the Knowes of this world and end up killing a lot of people. And then said changling disappeared whether she is lost or kidnapped is unknown, however what is known is that she is dangerous. “If you don’t find her soon, she’s going to start opening doors, and she’s not going to be able to stop. Those doors want to be open, and they’ll force her to keep on going. Killing her won’t undo the damage she has the potential to cause. If she opens a door all the way to the Heart of Faerie, it won’t close. The Heart wants people. It’s lonely. And that means it’s going to try to pull her toward it.” The other great stuff:Again I’m loving how this world just keeps opening up and becoming deeper and more vibrant. Not only do we get a look into some of the closed worlds of Faery but also we get more glimpses into The Court of Cats. But I especially liked spending some time with some past favorite characters of mine like April, Quentin, May, The Luidaeg and of course Tybalt.But even more I like digging deeper into who and what Toby is and why she seems so desperately to need to help all those around her. “Sometimes I wonder if it’s because you spent so long lost that you must insist on bringing every lost thing home.” Tybalt pushed away from the counter, covering the distance between us in a single fluid motion. He was still wearing his human disguise. I hadn’t noticed it before, not with everything else going on. The smell of pennyroyal radiated from his skin. “You can’t save everyone and leave yourself lost, October. It isn’t fair. Not to you and not to the people who care about you.” Toby has been so broken and lost since coming out of that pond and after the emotional events at the end of the last book it is clear that she has a long road back. But I totally adored all the Tybalt time we get in this book and it became clear why all that sexual tension emanated between them to this great build up. I’m really hoping that this relationship sticks since Tybalt almost always steals the page whenever he is on it.I’m desperately looking forward to the next book as each new book opens up just a little more of this fun world and its slightly dark characters.
    more
  • Lynsey (A Bookish Life)
    January 1, 1970
    Toby kicks ass in this high octane addition to the October Daye series. At this point, six books into the series, we've seen October's character make quite the transformation, both emotionally and physically. From orphaned changeling kid, wandering lost in the human world. To wife and mother, trying to play Fairy Bride. And finally, where we are today; to kickass hero and knight errant to the Duke of Shadowed Hills, friend and ally to the King of Cats and Sea Witch, rescuer of lost kids, acquir Toby kicks ass in this high octane addition to the October Daye series. At this point, six books into the series, we've seen October's character make quite the transformation, both emotionally and physically. From orphaned changeling kid, wandering lost in the human world. To wife and mother, trying to play Fairy Bride. And finally, where we are today; to kickass hero and knight errant to the Duke of Shadowed Hills, friend and ally to the King of Cats and Sea Witch, rescuer of lost kids, acquirer of loyal friends, and just all-round reckless but totally lovable main character with an infectious personality. I absolutely love her! For reals.And throughout all these changes in her circumstances, and the physical changes and power-ups she's gone through that make her now almost as indestructible as May (her former Fetch and kinda twin sister), she's somehow managed to keep that wonderful glibness, that highly inappropriate wit that so often gets her in trouble, but that is hilarious to read.I have to say, Seanan McGuire's writing of Toby's dialogue is so funny, and so...random. I think her humour is quirky and possibly won't be for everyone, but it really tickles me. I often have to stop to do that silent laughing thing when she catches me off guard. I just like the silliness of it, especially when it's completely inappropriately-timed.The plot for ASHES OF HONOR was a little more simplistic than past instalments have been, which I think is a good thing because this world is complex enough without having head-bending, multi-stranded plots to try and wrap my tiny mind around. It's another missing child case; a changeling teleporter this time. Which is problematic since Toby can't exactly follow a teleporter around. But that's why it helps to have friends in high places, such as the Sea Witch who can make a spell for almost any occasion, or the King of Cats who can travel through the shadows (which is almost the same thing as teleporting, but significantly more uncomfortable for a non-Caith Sidh like Toby).There was also a separate subplot surrounding the Court of Cats which brought with it some new and very exiting developments. (You can't see me, but I'm grinning).Most of the characters from past books made and appearance with a few notable exceptions: There was no Queen of the Mists this time (not really sad about that since she's batshit crazy and hates Toby's guts), but also not much mention of Danny the Bridge Troll (who I really like), and no one from the Undersea realm either. But I was happy to see we revisited Tamed Lightning. I love April the techno-Dryad and her complete inability to understand, sarcasm, jokes, emotions or anything said that's not meant 100% literally.The best thing about ASHES OF HONOR for me was seeing the character development of many key players, but especially Toby. It's been a year since the last book (in Toby time as well as our time), and much has changed: Quentin, who's around 18 now, is growing up fast. May is becoming more and more like the twin sister people think she is. The Luidaeg still hasn't killed Toby. And maybe, just maybe, Tybalt doesn't dislike Toby as much as she once liked to believe he did. But at the start of the book, the one person who hasn't changed in the last year or moved on from the sad events of ONE SALT SEA, is Toby. Lucky for her, she's surrounded by awesome peeps who won't let that continue for much longer, and the progress she makes here in this book is immense.For fans of the series, I think this instalment will become a new favourite. It certainly has for me. I feel like McGuire delivered everything I could possibly want from a UF novel, and I simply can't wait for the next one. I still have unanswered questions, but I'm confident McGuire has a master plan set in motion for revealing the answers in due course. For example, when are we going to see Amandine again and where the hell has she been? Who the frack are Quentin's parents? And what did the Sea Witch mean about the Selkies having to pay their debt soon? All these questions and more will have me counting the days until The Chimes at Midnight, which releases September 2013. Go faster time, damn you!Highly recommended.5 Stars ★★★★★ ♥
    more
  • Choko
    January 1, 1970
    *** 4.55 ***A buddy read with the fabulous UF fans at BB&B!“It’s been a long time since I’ve loved someone, but I know what it feels like. When you turn from me, it hurts. When you think badly of me, I think badly of myself. When you do stupid, suicidal things, I want to slap you upside the head and demand to know how you can be so brilliant and so blind at the same time.” Tybalt’s expression was calm. “If that’s not love, what is it?”What a fabulous addition to the October Daye series!!! Th *** 4.55 ***A buddy read with the fabulous UF fans at BB&B!“It’s been a long time since I’ve loved someone, but I know what it feels like. When you turn from me, it hurts. When you think badly of me, I think badly of myself. When you do stupid, suicidal things, I want to slap you upside the head and demand to know how you can be so brilliant and so blind at the same time.” Tybalt’s expression was calm. “If that’s not love, what is it?”What a fabulous addition to the October Daye series!!! The # six, and the series is only getting stronger, which is not the usual norm with the long running UF series. At this point, as my buddy reader Maria says, we have gotten so emotionally invested with the series, that our reviews and ratings have gone way past the objective and deep into the subjective territory. I can honestly say, I love this series! This volume is the one that many of us have waited for and it was utterly satisfying!!! What we waited for was woven into another heartbreaking story of a lost child, new Fae realms, struggles for power, exploitation of the changelings, and a choice which always ends with loss, no matter which way it goes.... We also got to have all of our favorite cast doing their part to keep Toby safe from her own suicidal tendencies and giving her a hand when most needed... “No walking! No standing, no bending, no moving, no accessing the Shadow Roads, nothing. You don't swim for an hour after eating, you don't swan around like an idiot for an hour after narrowly avoiding death.''Toby does,' said Quentin.'Toby is genetically predisposed to swan around like an idiot,' Jin shot back. 'Now sit.”And of course, our favorite King of Cats and Chaos, Tybalt the Swoon-worthy!!! He PURRS!!! What more do I need to say? I know this is not much of a review, but we are at the point where whatever I say would be either a spoiler or just a mindless fangirling babble!!!! So, I will spare all of us this nonsense and will recommend it to all those who love imagination and fairy tales. YOU GUYS HAVE TO CHECK IT OUT!!! I wish all of you Happy Reading and may all books you read bring joy to your life!!!
    more
  • Sharon L
    January 1, 1970
    I'm coming to love the October Daye series. It is darker than most Urban Fantasy books. It touches on some hard subjects because none of the characters are safe, not even the children. There are some elements of death, torture, emotional abuse, grieving, bleeding, heartfelt moments and betrayal. Seanan McGuire has managed to creat an interesting world, heroine and a supporting cast. Choosing faerie has enabled her to touch madness and the complicated relationship between immortals, who most time I'm coming to love the October Daye series. It is darker than most Urban Fantasy books. It touches on some hard subjects because none of the characters are safe, not even the children. There are some elements of death, torture, emotional abuse, grieving, bleeding, heartfelt moments and betrayal. Seanan McGuire has managed to creat an interesting world, heroine and a supporting cast. Choosing faerie has enabled her to touch madness and the complicated relationship between immortals, who most times should live forever. Thus, nothing in the relationships is simple. Each can be infused with pain, longing, betrayal, love and tenderness. Moreover, they do not think like we do. In this book, we finally have something happening, something I wanted to happen from the beginning of Rosemary and Rue.
    more
  • Veronica
    January 1, 1970
    I finished my reread of this book and it still ranks as one of my favorites in the series. But rather than an actual review, which I did for my initial read of the MMP version, I thought I'd just jot down some of my favorite quotes from the book. :-)"You can't save everyone and leave yourself lost, October. It isn't fair, not to you and not to the people who care about you." ~~ Tybalt/OctoberEvery time I was on the Shadow Roads, Tybalt had me, or Tybalt was coming to get me out of the dark. No m I finished my reread of this book and it still ranks as one of my favorites in the series. But rather than an actual review, which I did for my initial read of the MMP version, I thought I'd just jot down some of my favorite quotes from the book. :-)"You can't save everyone and leave yourself lost, October. It isn't fair, not to you and not to the people who care about you." ~~ Tybalt/OctoberEvery time I was on the Shadow Roads, Tybalt had me, or Tybalt was coming to get me out of the dark. No matter how cold it was, no matter how dark it was, I always knew someone was going to come and bring me home. There's power in that. ~~ OctoberI left my fingers balanced on the floor, letting his blood sing its song of pain and longing. Longing to live, refusal to let go of the world. Maybe that's what differentiates the Kings and Queens of Cats from the rest of Faerie. They have a cat's stubbornness and the power to back it up. So when Death says, "Go", they just refuse. ~~ October/TybaltFinally, he said, "Some of us, October, will not leave you." ~~ Tybalt"Yes, I have a car. I don't drive much, but how did you think I got out to Half Moon Bay before I met you? I sure as shit didn't fly. I don't have the figure for it." ~~ LuidaegKissing Tybalt was like standing too close to an open fire, all heat and the promise of pain if I came any closer. ~~ October"I've stood by and watched you throw yourself against the walls of the world, because I hoped the impact might shake the sense back into you. We do not raise the dead by mourning them so fiercely that we join them. I wish we could. It doesn't work that way." ~~ Tybalt/OctoberShe'd already died for me once. If she thought I was mad at her for not dying for me a second time, I was doing something unforgivably wrong. ~~ October/May“It’s been a long time since I’ve loved someone, but I know what it feels like. When you turn from me, it hurts. When you think badly of me, I think badly of myself. When you do stupid, suicidal things, I want to slap you upside the head and demand to know how you can be so brilliant and so blind at the same time.” Tybalt’s expression was calm. “If that’s not love, what is it?” ~~ Tybalt/OctoberTybalt blinked. Then he snorted a brief laugh, and asked, "October, in the years since your return...has anything not been in some way related to what I told you before? You handed me a hope chest in a dark alley. You took my heart as collateral, and you've never returned it." ~~ Tybalt/OctoberNothing stays the same for long, not in Faerie, not in the human world, not anywhere, but some things are worth starting, just like some things are worth fighting for. ~~ OctoberMaybe that was all Tybalt and I would have - a chance - but as he put his hands around my waist and pulled me closer, I found I didn't care. Sometimes a chance is more than enough. Sometimes that's all you need to have everything. ~~ October
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    Ashes of Honor4 StarsStill recovering from the aftermath of her last case, Changeling PI, Toby Daye, is struggling to live up to her responsibilities. The last thing she wants or needs is a new investigation. But things never did run smoothly for Toby, so when a fellow knight approaches her with a request to find his missing daughter, she soon finds herself in pursuit of a young girl with the power to destroy all of Faerie if she isn't stopped. Definitely the best installment in the series both Ashes of Honor4 StarsStill recovering from the aftermath of her last case, Changeling PI, Toby Daye, is struggling to live up to her responsibilities. The last thing she wants or needs is a new investigation. But things never did run smoothly for Toby, so when a fellow knight approaches her with a request to find his missing daughter, she soon finds herself in pursuit of a young girl with the power to destroy all of Faerie if she isn't stopped. Definitely the best installment in the series both in terms of plot and character development. The plot is comprised of several seemingly separate storylines that all eventually come together to form a cohesive whole. While some are predictable, others are surprising and result in some compelling twists. The action scenes are exciting and there are one or two very dicey moments for Toby and her allies. In terms of the world building, readers are introduced to several knew locations in the fae universe and the descriptions are, once again, rich in detail and symbolism. Of course, the true highlight of the story is Toby's interactions with her makeshift family. Now that Connor is out of the picture, Toby finally comes to her senses and realizes that Tybalt has always been "The One". Raj and Quentin, May and Jaz, and even the Luidaeg all put in an appearance and demonstrate just how far Toby has come in accepting that she is loved. All in all, this series is fulfilling its potential and it looks the Pure Bloods' despicable attitude toward the Changelings will be coming to a head in the next book. Looking forward to it.
    more
  • Bunnycore
    January 1, 1970
    There are so many things I can say about this book. Hands down one of my favorites so far, Toby is back. She is trying to heal from the pain of losing Connor. When Etiane shows up and asks her to find his daughter. A portal jumper that is causing she and havoc in the Faerie realm hasn't been given a choice. I feel this book was a turning point for many of our friends. Most of them good, I said it before and I will say it again. I love the family October is building. She has amazing people in her There are so many things I can say about this book. Hands down one of my favorites so far, Toby is back. She is trying to heal from the pain of losing Connor. When Etiane shows up and asks her to find his daughter. A portal jumper that is causing she and havoc in the Faerie realm hasn't been given a choice. I feel this book was a turning point for many of our friends. Most of them good, I said it before and I will say it again. I love the family October is building. She has amazing people in her life and I fall a little more in love with them all. Is just me or does anyone else get a little thrill when Tybalt calls her ' little fish'? I can't be the only one, and that has to be my favorite term of endearment any man or a cat can use on a woman. I make no secrets when I say he is my favorite character. I like many other women out there have a lot of book lusts but Tybalt is by far my top five. This book made me cry, it made me laugh a lot and it made me swoon and smile. I can't wait to see what happens next and lucky for me I don't have to. I need to see what happens to Toby and the gang, these books just get better and better. I hope y'all enjoy and happy reading!!
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I've been hooked on this series since the very beginning but it really is just getting better and better with every single book, partly because I'm so invested in the characters now but equally because Seanan McGuire is doing such a fantastic job at coming up with interesting plots and adding lots of intrigue. Ashes of Honor is definitely my favourite book so far and I'm not afraid to admit that it's mostly because we get to see so much of Tybalt in this one. I am so totally on board the Toby Ty I've been hooked on this series since the very beginning but it really is just getting better and better with every single book, partly because I'm so invested in the characters now but equally because Seanan McGuire is doing such a fantastic job at coming up with interesting plots and adding lots of intrigue. Ashes of Honor is definitely my favourite book so far and I'm not afraid to admit that it's mostly because we get to see so much of Tybalt in this one. I am so totally on board the Toby Tybalt ship and I loved the development we see between the two of them in this book, they share some really sweet and heartfelt conversations and kissing. Lots of really fantastic kissing!This book isn't all about the romance though and when Toby is asked to help locate a missing changeling child it brings back all sorts of emotions from the end of the last book. Toby has been in a dark place since the end of One Salt Sea and even though it's been nearly a year she's nowhere near close to dealing with the losses she suffered. Her actions have been verging on suicidal and her friends are all incredibly worried about her so when Etienne asks her to help him find his missing changeling daughter they worry it will push her too close to the edge. Toby isn't one to back down from a challenge though and there is no way she can leave a vulnerable child out there alone and in need of help so as usual she pushes through her own heartache to do what needs to be done.Chelsea is a rare and dangerous type of changeling, one who has received all the power of her fae parent and more but none of the control she needs to wield it safely. As a teleporter she is capable of travelling far greater distances than Etienne and her instincts have caused her to start opening doors deep into the heart of faerie, doors that were sealed shut by Oberon centuries ago and aren't meant to be reopened. An unfortunate side effect of the doors she is opening is that it is making the parts of faerie that they do have access to increasingly unstable and there is a risk of the knowes collapsing and killing anyone who gets trapped inside. It is up to Toby to find Chelsea before she can do irreparable damage and then she will have to offer Chelsea the changeling's choice, a choice that will cost her greatly no matter how she chooses to answer.Ashes of Honor is full of action and we get to see parts of faerie that we've not come across before which I found really interesting. Not only is there fantastic development between Toby and Tybalt but we get some really great moments between her and some of her many friends like May and Quentin as she starts to realise just how much she means to them and how worried they've all been. Other favourites like the Luidaeg and April all have parts to play and we meet some interesting new faces along the way too. We also get to find out a lot more about the Court of Cats, there is definitely trouble brewing there for Tybalt and it was great to see him and Toby working alongside each other to fix things. This book just left me more excited about the series than ever and I can't wait to pick up the next instalment!Source: Received from DAW Books in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Suz
    January 1, 1970
    Perfection. Non-stop action typical of this series, the beginnings of the romance we've all been waiting for wrapped in endearing tenderness and fierce loyalty, and personal growth that can only be called inspiring from a heroine that we've run the gamut with.This book was perfect, it had it all.
    more
  • Bastard
    January 1, 1970
    http://bastardbooks.blogspot.com/2012...A few months ago I reviewed One Salt Sea by Seanan McGuire, and I praised it plenty. In particular, I made it a point to distinguish and commend McGuire for her writing skills which I felt was among the top in the genre, making her novels standout from the pack. It was with that in mind that I eagerly anticipated the next in the October Day series, Ashes of Honor , but can't help but be disappointed about a few aspects that I perceived worsened this http://bastardbooks.blogspot.com/2012...A few months ago I reviewed One Salt Sea by Seanan McGuire, and I praised it plenty. In particular, I made it a point to distinguish and commend McGuire for her writing skills which I felt was among the top in the genre, making her novels standout from the pack. It was with that in mind that I eagerly anticipated the next in the October Day series, Ashes of Honor , but can't help but be disappointed about a few aspects that I perceived worsened this time around.My main hindrance in the enjoyment of Ashes of Honor was the repetition, and it began with "coffee". I was hard pressed to go a few pages, maybe even a few paragraphs without "coffee" being mentioned on some regard. And just about every scene was framed by coffee-related topics, usually about going over and over about how much Toby loves coffee, and how her friends are the best of friends because they know to bring her coffee, and going on about how she likes her coffee served, etc. By the third of the novel, I was already coffee'd-out with no end to it in sight. I mean, was there really a need to mention coffee about 76 times in the novel? I really don't think so. We crossed the line between portraying a personality quirk and a distraction. Had a similar problem with the use of "pennyroyal and musk", used to describe Tybalt's scent, particularly when he uses his fae abilities. Though a far less egregious use than what's described above, there was one particular passage that it seemed like Tybalt couldn't take two steps without Toby using this descriptor once more, then again. The scene really called for Toby to find a more varied way to narrate and describe Tybalt's actions.The attention to detail wasn't up to standards either. Those close to Toby determined that she was suicidal, but the evidence presented in the narrative just didn't add up. Given, we knew that Toby went through a traumatic experience in the last novel, but absent of that knowledge, nothing presented should've led to these characters claiming she was suicidal. In fact, if it wasn't for that knowledge I would've thought she was doing quite well for herself. She has a very nice home, she's living with a self-made family who she cares about and they love her in return, she has her friends, and she seemed more comfortable with who she is in this world. Then they use as evidence her "going into danger alone" to conclude that she wants to get herself killed, but it's a non-sequitur. In a vacuum yes that's a good reason to suspect Toby destructive intentions; problem is that it's no different than her actions in the past, that's who she has always been. All to say a better job should've been done to lay the groundwork for the portrayal of the apparent depression Toby was going through during the time between the previous events and the start of this novel.On a similar regard, I also felt that the actions taken by the villain towards the ends were uncharacteristically convenient for our heroes. A villain who was shown to be very smart, clever, and paranoid, yet in the end this character was anything but. Some dumb unnecessary strategic mistakes were made, and it really didn't hold up well as the climax came to be.Lastly, the last contrary facet I'll mention is that there was a plot convergence towards the end that I personally didn't like. Though not a problem in any shape or form, I thought the story would have been much stronger and more powerful had they remained separate. As it were, there was a slight cheapening of some of the events, and the twist that brought it forward didn't have the weight it probably intended. I'm not going to lose any sleep over this particular objection though, just a personal preference observation. Many probably loved this particular development.Now that I've managed to get my venting out of the way, I'd like to take the opportunity to say that even with the above, I still enjoyed the book. Certainly not the best in the series, but not the worst either, and the story progression was quite favorable. In fact, quite a few interesting things are going on that I'll be interested in seeing them unfold in the coming installments.One thing I loved about Ashes of Honor was the re-focus it gave to the human world, something that has been fairly neglected until now (though we saw a bit in the previous book). There was more interaction with human characters, the police got involved, and it added a certain dynamic that really enriched all that Toby has gone through, and the world she's living in. I hope we see more of this going forward. Apart from the human world, McGuire took us to new places in the fae world, places I didn't think we'd get to experience, so that was a very nice touch as she keeps expanding this universe.Character interaction is still going strong, something that I constantly see improving with each new novel. Tybalt and Toby scenes were great, and some interesting progressions going here as well, so we'll see how McGuire handles it going forward. Though I very much am in favor of the current happenings, it's something that's quite fragile and needs to be handled with care. There's also a certain tension and maybe some animosity growing between Toby and Luna (more from the former towards the latter) which I'm finding quite curious and interesting. It's something subtle, nothing full blown, in fact, for all intents and purposes they love and care about each other, but it's a relationship I'll be paying a very close attention as the story goes along.I think my favorite aspect of the novel was the focus given to the Court of Cats. It had an interesting plot thread, and through it we learned about Tybalt's past and also of how the succession of the King works, so that added a good dimension to the story. Ashes of Honor was an overall good read, but it was overshadowed by the aforementioned problems for me. I suspect not many readers that are this far along in the series will care much for these observations, and will end up loving the novel as is. I still very much stand by the October Daye series, one of the current favorites in the genre, but can't shake the disappointment with the latest novel given that the previous two were great. That said, urban fantasy readers who have yet to give this series a try, don't be discouraged to give this series a look. I highly recommend it.
    more
  • All Things Urban Fantasy
    January 1, 1970
    The October Daye series is one of those delicious worlds that becomes more and more beloved with each visit, and ASHES OF HONOR is my favorite of this series to date. Tobey and her squire, the electric Dryad, Tybalt and Raj, Sylvester and May, all of the familiar favorites get page time in this book. Despite the pain and losses of prior books and the mystery central to this one, seeing the support network of friends and family around October makes ASHES OF HONOR a sweet interlude of happiness in The October Daye series is one of those delicious worlds that becomes more and more beloved with each visit, and ASHES OF HONOR is my favorite of this series to date. Tobey and her squire, the electric Dryad, Tybalt and Raj, Sylvester and May, all of the familiar favorites get page time in this book. Despite the pain and losses of prior books and the mystery central to this one, seeing the support network of friends and family around October makes ASHES OF HONOR a sweet interlude of happiness in the series.Part of what fed the happy tone is the fact that I was not mourning past losses as deeply as October does (though I’ll try to gloss over specifics to avoid spoilers for those behind on the series). I feel a little bad that I am willing to forget so quickly, but October’s current romantic prospects more than outweighed lost opportunities for me. October explores her romantic past and future on multiple levels in this book, and I couldn’t be happier with the way things are going.In ASHES OF HONOR more than any prior book, I felt that Tobey shared top billing with her support network of friends and colleagues. This collaborative style was incredibly satisfying, diluting the pain and isolation that so characterized Tobey’s past. Though readers new to the series would certainly be curious about past events (and miss out on some emotional impact), I think you could pick up ASHES OF HONOR and enjoy it as a standalone. October ruminates on past mistakes and takes the time to appreciate her present day in a way that I loved reading and that new readers could appreciate.Now more than ever October Daye ranks alongside Kate Daniels and Rachel Morgan as a nuanced, fascinating main character. Each of these heroines kick butt in their own unique way, but all form lasting friendships that are as rich and satisfying as any romance. ASHES OF HONOR definitely focused on developing the relationships of Tobey and her allies, and felt like a long awaited chance for Tobey to catch her breath. I enjoyed this straightforward mystery and emotionally rich story, and am looking forward to where McGuire takes the world of faerie next.Sexual Content: Kissing.
    more
  • Marcia
    January 1, 1970
    POSSIBLE VERY SLIGHT SPOILERS ALERT!(NOTE: I'm actually rating this one 5 1/2 Stars, even though it's not an actual option.)When I finished Ashes of Honor last night, I was dancing on the seat of the Comfy Chair, fist-pumping, and yelling "Yes, YES, YEEEESSSS!!!" I can guarantee that this was not a pretty sight, but what else could I do? The book was definitely a home run for Seanan McGuire, and celebration was required! And for those who have been following this very good series, may I just say POSSIBLE VERY SLIGHT SPOILERS ALERT!(NOTE: I'm actually rating this one 5 1/2 Stars, even though it's not an actual option.)When I finished Ashes of Honor last night, I was dancing on the seat of the Comfy Chair, fist-pumping, and yelling "Yes, YES, YEEEESSSS!!!" I can guarantee that this was not a pretty sight, but what else could I do? The book was definitely a home run for Seanan McGuire, and celebration was required! And for those who have been following this very good series, may I just say the reason is simple: Tybalt, Tybalt, TYBALT! There. Now you know. I love the King of Cats. LOVE. HIM. How can you not squeeeeeeeeee like a fan-girl when an author has created a character as wonderful as Tybalt?If you have read none of the Toby Daye books, you'll just have to take my word for it, until you pick up the first book, Rosemary & Rue, and start reading the series for yourself. McGuire's world building is second to none in this genre, and as the series progresses, you are taken deeper and deeper into the complexities of the world of the Fae, complete with the personification of many Celtic myths and legends, and the complicated politics of the various Royal Courts. (And by the way, for those interested in such things, like me, the very beautiful titles of the books come from Shakespeare, and the referenced quote appears on the first page of each one.)A week ago, I would have been hard-pressed to pick a favorite from this series--the one with Blind Michael, where the horrified night-whispers of "He rides...." make you shiver down to your toes? Or the one set in the vast and frighteningly beautiful undersea world of mermaids and selkies? Maybe the one that introduces the wonderful barghests and thorn goblins? I honestly would have had trouble choosing. But now I have no doubt in my mind. Ashes of Honor is far and away the best of the bunch, and that's saying a lot.I had found myself getting a bit frustrated with Toby's hard-headed refusal to see what was right in front of her through all these books, but she has finally redeemed herself and is now back in my good graces. Oh, heck...why are you wasting time reading my rhapsodical review? Just go get the book, and see for yourself, if you've been following the series right along. If not, go get all six books, listed in order below. If you love well written urban fantasy, with unique and interesting characters, you won't be disappointed. That's MY story, an' I'm stickin' TO it!Rosemary and Rue (October Daye, Book 1)A Local Habitation (October Daye, Book 2)An Artificial Night (October Daye, Book 3)Late Eclipses (October Daye, Book 4)One Salt Sea ( An October Daye Novel, Book 5)Ashes of Honor (An October Daye Novel, Book 6)Bookin' It
    more
  • Mizuki
    January 1, 1970
    Review for book 1: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 2: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 5: Review for book 1: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 4: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...It's the sixth book and I'm glad to see this series is still going strong, it took me longer than usual to finish Ashes of Honor though because Batman fanfics have sucked up much of my time...LOLHere's one of the highlights of the story: Toby th Review for book 1: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 2: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 5: Review for book 1: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...Review for book 4: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...It's the sixth book and I'm glad to see this series is still going strong, it took me longer than usual to finish Ashes of Honor though because Batman fanfics have sucked up much of my time...LOLHere's one of the highlights of the story: Toby thinks the life in the Faerie is equated to a live-action Tolkien novel!This time, Toby and Co. have to investigate a kidnapping case and bring the victimized teenage girl back, aside from the safety of the girl, the relationship between Toby and Tybalt is well...heating up (though Tybalt had been quite obvious in the previous books hahaha).To sum up, this novel is still an exciting mixture of murder mystery, romance, urban fantasy and adventures, the characters (both old and new) are a fun crew to spend your time with, plus Officer Thornton!!! I hope he will turn out okay later!!!*jumps to read the next book*
    more
  • Kelly H. (Maybedog)
    January 1, 1970
    Notes: Cool quote:Anything that changes the way you feel is habit-forming, as anyone who’s ever dealt with someone who says, “It’s not addictive, really,” while reaching for their next fix can tell you.Pretty much all homes in SF are at least a million. I live in Seattle and my parents live in an ordinary house probably 2200-2500 square feet in a normal area and several years ago it was appraised at .75 million. I love that their house is messy and cluttered. Not common for heroines in a novel. Notes: Cool quote:Anything that changes the way you feel is habit-forming, as anyone who’s ever dealt with someone who says, “It’s not addictive, really,” while reaching for their next fix can tell you.Pretty much all homes in SF are at least a million. I live in Seattle and my parents live in an ordinary house probably 2200-2500 square feet in a normal area and several years ago it was appraised at .75 million. I love that their house is messy and cluttered. Not common for heroines in a novel. I love this series. It's way past my bedtime as in several hours past, but I'm still going to finish it. I'm 40% done. I suspect I won't be going to bed tonight. Although this could be s standalone novel, it's really going to make more sense is you read the stories in order, even though a couple of the first ones wasn't very good. But just in case, the narrative manages to squeeze enough information that was revealed in earlier books, that it was easy for me to refresh my memory. It wasn't done in info dumps, nor as an prologue, not handing out things we didn't need to know. I appreciate that. Since I read about 500 books a year, I do forget some of the particulars. Two lesbian couples!It's about damned time!What the hell happened to the police officer? Did they just leave him there??4.5 rounded up because: finally!
    more
  • Dr susan
    January 1, 1970
    I have Ashes in my hands! Barnes and Noble put it out early! Oh Joy!! I have to finish Jacka's Taken and reread One Salt Sea.....It is 3am (Sept 3), I am on pg 270, and Seanan McGuire is brilliant. But I have to go to sleep... Finished- I kept finding things to do to delay reaching the end, so it took 4 hours to read 83 pages. I could have given Ashes 5 stars by the end of the first chapter. By the end of the book, I was wishing Goodreads had a 5+ rating. Although McGuire does an incredible job I have Ashes in my hands! Barnes and Noble put it out early! Oh Joy!! I have to finish Jacka's Taken and reread One Salt Sea.....It is 3am (Sept 3), I am on pg 270, and Seanan McGuire is brilliant. But I have to go to sleep... Finished- I kept finding things to do to delay reaching the end, so it took 4 hours to read 83 pages. I could have given Ashes 5 stars by the end of the first chapter. By the end of the book, I was wishing Goodreads had a 5+ rating. Although McGuire does an incredible job of sliding backstory into the plot so that Ashes can stand alone, the emotional impact of the book is so much better after reading the first 5. I knew there was more to Quentin, and I can not wait to see him grow up. I am jealous of readers discovering Toby now because they get to read the first 6 awesome books at once. Waiting for a new Toby book is hard, but Ashes makes it a little easier to be patient.September 4, 2013: Ashes is so incredibly good, even the third time. Now I get to read Chimes at Midnight!!September 1, 2015: I had forgotten what a fast read Ashes of Honor is. Fast, thrilling, breathtaking, heartbreaking, scary, and heartwarming are all adjectives that I would use to describe this book. Toby rocks!!
    more
  • Negine
    January 1, 1970
    LOVED ❤I've inhaled the book and listened to the audiobook - yes, I'm a bit obsessed - which is how I devoured the first five books, so I continued the tradition. And Mary Robinette Kowal is the voice of Toby for me; she truly brings the characters to life.Of the numerous Urban Fantasy series I am currently reading the October Daye series has become by far my favorite. Not only did Ashes of Honor solidify that fact but after reading that last chapter? Well, it made me into a fan-girl of epic p LOVED ❤I've inhaled the book and listened to the audiobook - yes, I'm a bit obsessed - which is how I devoured the first five books, so I continued the tradition. And Mary Robinette Kowal is the voice of Toby for me; she truly brings the characters to life.Of the numerous Urban Fantasy series I am currently reading the October Daye series has become by far my favorite. Not only did Ashes of Honor solidify that fact but after reading that last chapter? Well, it made me into a fan-girl of epic proportions. ;)
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    January 1, 1970
    Ashes of Honor (October Daye #6), Seanan McGuire
  • Bonnie
    January 1, 1970
    The best one yet. 💜
  • Ina
    January 1, 1970
    "October, in these years since your return... has anything not been in some way related to what I told you before? You handed me a hope chest in a dark alley. You took my heart as collateral, and you've never returned it."Tybalt is such a sweetheart. Re-read: January 2019 I'm not going to fully review this book since I feel like my original review was pretty good and I'm standing by the points I made before. Just a few stray observations I came up with during this re-read:- Tybalt is such a swee "October, in these years since your return... has anything not been in some way related to what I told you before? You handed me a hope chest in a dark alley. You took my heart as collateral, and you've never returned it."Tybalt is such a sweetheart. Re-read: January 2019 I'm not going to fully review this book since I feel like my original review was pretty good and I'm standing by the points I made before. Just a few stray observations I came up with during this re-read:- Tybalt is such a sweetheart. I adore him with all my heart, but sometimes I find his romanticism to be a little bit too good to be true. But maybe he is that way because he grew up in an era when people wrote ballads and sang under their lovers' windows, what do I know. - May was kind of a B in this book. Wasn't a fan.- The Etienne/Chelsea/Bridget conclusion seemed a little bit too easy. (view spoiler)[If Fae can just put a geas on human that would stop them from spilling the beans about Faerie, why is it such a tabu for humans to know?? Why doesn't everyone who ever played Faerie bride use this solution? Why didn't Amandine just take her mortal lover with her? I don't understand and I found this conclusion to be a little bit too good to be true. Especially considering Bridget's life was basically unchanged since she could even continue teaching. (hide spoiler)]"I do so love how all magic comes with its share of dire warnings and unclear requirements," sighed Tybalt. "It's like being on the stage, only there's no director, and the understudies have all died of typhus."- magic in the nutshell. Original review: February 2017 Ashes of Honor begins with Toby trying to cope with the loss of Gillian and Connor. Just like everything in Toby's life, it's not going well. Some people say that Toby has always been nearly suicidal, but until now, she always did it to protect or save someone. Now, Toby is suicidal just for the fun of it. Luckily, she has Tybalt and May to help her.Fortunately, something more important than Toby's screwed up life comes up soon and Toby has something else to focus on - specifically, confused Tuatha changeling opening portals to forgotten parts of Faerie all around the world.(I have so many things I want to discuss about this book I don't even know where to begin.)First of all - missing children is obviously McGuire's favorite theme. Out of six books I've read so far, three were about kidnapped children. If it contains someone close to Toby being kidnapped, it's obviously added bonus. Don't get me wrong, I loved the idea of rogue Tuatha running around like crazy, unsealing doors that should have stayed closed. I just think that for a change, it might have been an adult who was in danger.Second thing, that's not even important by the end of the book, but I still found it interesting it is the fact that Toby mourned Connor way more than Gillian. I know that Gillian is not technically dead, but for Toby, she is. Even though they haven't lived together for a long time, I expected Toby to be more upset about Gillian. She is her mother, after all.Third, and the most important thing - Tybalt and Toby. Just like everyone else, I'm happy we finally get to see them getting closer. And even though it took them quite some time (what is it, three years now?), I'm really glad it wasn't insta-love. I found Tybalt's confession kind of rushed, but hey, he thought he was going to die, so I can't be really mad at him. Toby's feelings for him were most obvious when he was in danger, but I still liked that she considered Connor and his memory before she got involved with Tybalt. And I really liked how she kept realizing she loves him throughout this book. You'd think a place of absolute blackness where I got hypothermia would never manage to seem comforting. You'd be wrong. Every time I was on the Shadow Roads, Tybalt had me, or Tybalt was coming to get me out of the dark. No matter how cold it was, no matter how dark it was, I always knew someone was going to come and bring me home. There's power in that. On the sad note, I really miss Luna. We finally got to see her again in this book, but it wasn't the same. I really hope she and Toby will be able to reconnect in the future.Other than (view spoiler)[Officer Thornton being stranded in Annwn with Riordan - which I find really interesting and can't wait to see how it will unfold, because I believe it will come back to bite Toby in the future (hide spoiler)], I really appreciate that this installment has basically happy ending. After all the books that ended with someone dying, I think we deserved it. I especially liked how things with Etienne, Chelsea and Bridget turned out and I can't wait to see what future holds for Toby and Tybalt.
    more
  • Li
    January 1, 1970
    The not-a-spoiler part: I loved this one. ASHES OF HONOR was worth the wait.So first off - Tybalt. Obviously. I just... *flails* ah, I loved that he gets page-time in this book, and proper page-time at that. (view spoiler)[I’m thrilled that Toby and Tybalt - finally - manage to be at the right place at the right time together, and this was just such a satisfying book for readers who have been ‘shipping them from the start. (hide spoiler)]But it wasn’t just the romance subplot. One of the main re The not-a-spoiler part: I loved this one. ASHES OF HONOR was worth the wait.So first off - Tybalt. Obviously. I just... *flails* ah, I loved that he gets page-time in this book, and proper page-time at that. (view spoiler)[I’m thrilled that Toby and Tybalt - finally - manage to be at the right place at the right time together, and this was just such a satisfying book for readers who have been ‘shipping them from the start. (hide spoiler)]But it wasn’t just the romance subplot. One of the main reasons why this series works for me is the world-building - it’s very much grounded in real-world San Francisco, but there’s also this whole magical other world, and the two have been intertwined so beautifully that both feel equally real and possible. In ASHES OF HONOR, the other world suddenly expands and becomes so much more - we get major reveals, ones that created this sense of wonder and magnified the “otherness” of fae for me.Toby remains a heroine you can root for - she's still somewhat shaken by events from the previous book, but continues to hold true to her personal sense of honour and remain loyal to her friends (Toby-style, i.e. with a healthy dollop of snarky humour). The secondary characters are as three-dimensional and intriguing as ever - I have to single out Quentin especially, who is definitely growing into his own. Seeds are certainly being laid for future books.Minor niggles/observations: I thought there was some heavy-handed repetition along the lines of the “a cat may look at a king”, but that may have been a stylistic device that didn’t work for me. On a different note, I’m starting to wonder if Toby is starting to verge on being too powerful - she seems to be able to cure almost any injury. Yes, there’s a price to be paid, but still - I do have faith that Seanan McGuire knows what she’s doing though.So yes, ASHES OF HONOR is the sort of book I devoured in one gulp and I cannot wait to see where Seanan McGuire’s going next in this series.
    more
  • Keith
    January 1, 1970
    The series roster of characters is perfect; the setting and world-building details are peerless; the plot is awesome. For my money, Seanan McGuire is one of the most talented urban fantasy authors in publication. (And sci-fi! Don't get be started about FEED, which she wrote as Mira Grant. Have you read that? One of my favorite books of all time -- absolutely, utterly, amazingly brilliant stuff. One of the books I recommend often.)That said.... Oh, man, I really hate giving Seanan McGuire anythin The series roster of characters is perfect; the setting and world-building details are peerless; the plot is awesome. For my money, Seanan McGuire is one of the most talented urban fantasy authors in publication. (And sci-fi! Don't get be started about FEED, which she wrote as Mira Grant. Have you read that? One of my favorite books of all time -- absolutely, utterly, amazingly brilliant stuff. One of the books I recommend often.)That said.... Oh, man, I really hate giving Seanan McGuire anything less than a 5, but this book just doesn't have the polish that her earlier ones have.I can't help but feel that this book was missing one final pre-publication read-through, or the hand of a strong editor. There are so many, many unnecessary repetitions of (1) October's love of coffee, and (2) the fact that October can heal any wound (which is a great plot detail, but it doesn't happen a single time where the author doesn't step back to explain that she can heal almost any wound), and (3) the sort of self-indulgent humor that normally deflates an otherwise funny line (dozens and dozens of examples of a character saying something funny, followed by the author mentioning that someone else laughs/smothers their laugh/hides their laugh behind their hand/swallows their laugh; it sort of takes away from the punch of the humor when you make a point of saying that it's funny).October is best when she's hip-deep in surreal, trippy visuals. She shines in moments where a scene has genuine gravity and emotion. I would have loved to see more of that --- especially given some of the wonderful long-awaited plot developments --- rather than back-and-forth lighthearted banter that, sometimes, seemed a little too forced or flat.But, this is still better than most everything else out there, and Seanan McGuire is still one of the authors I buy immediately upon publication. And if you haven't read FEED (or the entire Newsflesh trilogy), you're missing out.
    more
Write a review